Sports => Trinbago, NBA & World Basketball => Topic started by: royal on April 14, 2011, 04:08:33 PM

Title: NBA 2011 Play Offs Thread
Post by: royal on April 14, 2011, 04:08:33 PM
Top storylines of 2011 NBA playoffs

Kobe Bryant and the defending champion Lakers take on the Hornets first. (AP)

After a crazy end to the season in which all 30 teams played on the final night to solidify the Western Conference standings, the 2010-11 regular season is complete. The second season — some call it the postseason – begins at 1 p.m. ET on Saturday, and as usual, a bevy of storylines will keep us entertained all the way to early June. Here are the top things to watch for in the playoffs:

Can the defending conference champs flip the switch?

Switch-flipping is a dicey thing, historically, but the Lakers and Celtics have the pedigree that suggests they can do it. Boston finished last season 27-27 before shocking even their own fans by plowing through the East and coming within a few minutes of the franchise’s 18th title. The Celtics went only 10-11 in their last 21 games this season, and though the decision to trade Kendrick Perkins to the Thunder is the easy target here, the real culprit is the team’s offense, which finished just 19th in points per possessions.

Rajon Rondo is barely shooting 40 percent since the start of March, Glen Davis’ jumper has deserted him and the Celtics generally looked helpless against elite Miami and Chicago defenses in games this month. This hasn’t been a good offensive team in two years, but it will have to be better for Boston to seriously contend.

And the Lakers? They lost five of their last seven games and nearly blew their season finale — and the second seed — in Sacramento on Wednesday. But they stumbled late last season, too, and their 17-1 run after this season’s All-Star break is a better indicator of how good this team can be — as long as Andrew Bynum’s bone bruise isn’t a lingering injury.

PREVIEWS: Lakers vs. Hornets | Celtics vs. Knicks

Are the Bulls legit? And how will they tighten their rotation?

Chicago finished with the best record, the second-best point margin and an allegedly “weak link” offense that crept to the edge of the top 10 in points per possession by the end of the season. The Bulls will need that offense to continue to improve because they will likely have to go through three of the league’s top 12 defenses just to make the Finals.

One thing to monitor: The Bulls have gone 10 deep all season, and that’s a larger rotation than most coaches prefer in the postseason. Coach Tom Thibodeau can’t lean much harder on Derrick Rose or Luol Deng, but it will be interesting to see how he divvies up minutes among guys like Keith Bogans, Ronnie Brewer, Kyle Korver, Taj Gibson and Omer Asik. All have been crucial parts of Chicago’s rise, and all bring a mix of elite niche skills (Korver’s shooting, Brewer’s defense and cutting) and limitations. Thibodeau has decisions to make, and matchups will be paramount in those decisions.

PREVIEW: Bulls vs. Pacers

• Supporting casts for those 2012 free agents you’ve heard about.

It’s a reality, even if it’s an uncomfortable one: Dwight Howard and Chris Paul could be free agents one year from now, and if their current clubs want to keep them (duh), it would be very helpful if the supporting casts in Orlando and New Orleans performed under postseason pressure.

This is especially crucial in Orlando, a title contender for two straight years that has taken a step back this season just as  its GM, Otis Smith, locked it into Hedo Turkoglu and Gilbert Arenas for the long term. Turkoglu is one of many Magic players whose performance has been up-and-down this season. Arenas has been a disaster; he’s shooting 34 percent overall in Orlando, including just 27.5 percent on an inexcusable 3.7 three-point attempts per game. Jameer Nelson’s occasional All-Star-level play only serves to tantalize; Jason Richardson hasn’t fit in quite as smoothly as the Magic hoped; and there is a lot of pressure now on the Ryan Anderson/Brandon Bass power forward combination to play huge playoff minutes.

The situation is less serious in New Orleans, which has no shot against the Lakers even if Emeka Okafor starts playing like Howard Lite. This team defends like mad, but the roster beyond Paul will have to hit shots for this series to be competitive. That has been the challenge all season, particularly for the Hornets’ committee of shooting guards and for Trevor Ariza, a key building block suffering a miserable shooting season. Paul would surely like to see progress.

PREVIEW: Magic vs. Hawks

• Are the Heat ready for this?

If you’ve watched Miami carefully, you know two things:

1) Its offense has steadily evolved into a force. It’s not a finished product, and the team has struggled in the clutch, but progress is there in the form of Dwyane Wade/LeBron James pick-and-rolls, LeBron’s improved post-up work and a host of sets that involve the three stars working with each other instead of in isolation. The Heat must stay committed to that kind of movement to score against teams like Boston, Chicago and Orlando, particularly because James and Wade are not elite jump shooters.

2) This is an elite defense capable of thwarting any offense. That should sustain.

The uncertainty here surrounds Miami’s depth, and not just at the center and point guard positions, which have been shaky all season. Mike Miller has never been 100 percent, and if he can’t play his unique all-around game in the postseason, Miami’s lineup versatility and potent small lineups take a major hit. The Heat may not need any one of their big men other than Chris Bosh to play consistently for two months, but they will need consistent production from that group as a whole to win the title.

PREVIEW: Heat vs. Sixers

Size in San Antonio

The Spurs may have to go through Memphis, Oklahoma City and the Lakers, all teams that have imposing front lines capable of hurting you on both ends. That’s notable, because this version of the Spurs has thrived on smaller lineups and three-point shooting, and it has not been able to get consistent production from a legit big man other than Tim Duncan. DeJuan Blair opened the season as a starter, but he’s undersized and has since been used off the bench. Antonio McDyess is starting now, but he’s almost 37 and averaged only 19 minutes this season. Tiago Splitter never emerged as a consistent rotation threat, though he could be a Gregg Popovich secret weapon in the playoffs.

That has left Matt Bonner to log a lot of minutes at power forward. His three-point shooting has fit beautifully with what this roster is built to do: spread the floor, run pick-and-rolls with Duncan, cut and screen everywhere, and rain triples.

Will that be enough against the West’s behemoths? Or will Popovich adjust his minutes distribution to get more size on the floor?

PREVIEW: Spurs vs. Grizzlies

With scoring champion Kevin Durant and a revamped front line, the Thunder now look to be championship material. (Garrett W. Ellwood/NBAE via Getty Images)

• The Thunder’s rise

The narrative suggests that the Thunder should be happy to win a playoff series, lose to San Antonio and come back in 2012 to take the next step in their development. But their play since acquiring Perkins suggests that they might be ready to contend for a title now. They whipped Denver (their first-round opponent) in back-to-back games earlier this month, and they’ve been playing elite defense since Perkins replaced Jeff Green in the starting lineup. Do not be shocked if they are playing in June.

PREVIEW: Thunder vs. Nuggets

• The most intriguing first-round series: Dirk’s last ride vs. Portland’s first-round jinx

To call this Dirk Nowitzki’s ”last ride” is obviously dramatic, but the future of this Mavericks team is uncertain. Jason Kidd is 38 and will be a free agent after next season along with Jason Terry. Tyson Chandler, the anchor of Dallas’ semi-revived defense, is a free agent after this season and plays the same position as Brendan Haywood, to whom Dallas has already committed more than $50 million. Caron Butler will be a free agent, Roddy Beaubois’ development has hit a snag, Shawn Marion is declining and Corey Brewer is at the edge of Rick Carlisle’s rotation.

In other words: This team badly needs a playoff run now, especially after going out in the first round in three of the last four seasons.

There may not be a more puzzling team in the league. At one point, Dallas was 43-9 with Nowitzki in the lineup, and it flattened just about every elite team it came across. Then Nowitzki got hurt, the Mavs’ defense fell off a bit and they lost nine straight games to Western Conference playoff teams before beating the Hornets in the season finale. Dallas has to recapture its early-season form in order to do any damage.

Two of those nine consecutive losses came against the Blazers, a team that hasn’t won a playoff series since 2000. Things have somehow come together after two devastating injuries (to Greg Oden and Brandon Roy) and one major trade (for Gerald Wallace), and the Blazers present serious matchup problems for Dallas. Portland is a dangerous team.

• Denver’s battle with conventional wisdom

Mike D’Antoni’s Suns became the darlings for those who root against lazy truisms that say offense-first teams can’t win championships. Denver is that team this season, but not because it’s bad at defense; it’s been one of the league’s top-three defensive clubs since swapping Carmelo Anthony to the Knicks in February.

But the Nuggets could challenge the idea that a team must have one or two go-to guys — those isolation beasts — to win in the playoffs. The Nuggets don’t really have that kind of player, though a couple of guys here could grow into that role. The Nuggets score in transition and with fast-paced movement in the half court — slipped screens, hard cuts to the hoop and along the baseline, decisive passes. Can that work in the slowed-down world of the playoffs?

• Are the revamped Knicks ready for prime time?

New York’s first playoff appearance since 2003-04 is a nice story. But remember that this team re-made itself on the fly and has had two-dozen games to undergo the sort of progress it has taken Miami a full season to get right. The reality is that the Knicks probably aren’t ready, and that the Anthony trade was not really about this season, anyway. The team has defended poorly since the deal, and Anthony and Amar’e Stoudemire are still learning how to play together.

Still: This offense can be deadly if the stars play it right — especially Anthony, whose tendency to stop the ball won’t work against an elite defense like Boston’s. This could be a super-entertaining series if the Knicks are game.

•Atlanta’s struggle for relevancy

The most depressing playoff team in the league has a chance to reinvigorate itself with a strong showing against the Magic, the same club that humiliated Atlanta in a four-game sweep last season. Since then, the Hawks badly overpaid Joe Johnson; made a half-hearted commitment to a motion offense that fell flat; failed to develop Jeff Teague; saw rookie coach Larry Drew clash now and then with Josh Smith; lost several awful blowouts at home; and put up a negative overall scoring margin normally associated with a lottery team.

The Hawks are capped out through 2013 as things stand now, and they don’t appear to be going anywhere with this group. Can they show us something now?

• Memphis, turnovers and the basketball gods

The Grizzlies, suffering a severe case of Lakers paranoia, unexpectedly tanked their final two games instead of gunning for the sixth seed. They’ll face the top-seeded Spurs instead, and that will provide a fascinating test for the Grizzlies’ unique style. Memphis defense put up one of the highest turnover rates in recent history. Guys like Tony Allen (a legit folk hero in Memphis now), Mike Conley and Sam Young gamble in passing lanes, guard you chest-to-chest and feast on steals. All those turnovers lead to easy points and make up for the fact that Memphis’ opponents shoot a decent percentage from the field — and a very good percentage from three-point range.

Whether that can work against San Antonio in the playoffs is debatable. Few teams take care of the ball as well as the Spurs, and few feature an offense better suited to making teams play for gambling. All of those backdoor cuts, surprise perimeter screens and swing passes punish overeager defenders.

But this is the matchup the Grizzlies wanted. Now they’re stuck with it.
Title: Re: NBA 2011 Play Offs Thread
Post by: weary1969 on April 15, 2011, 11:37:53 AM
LA game 1 Sunday afternoon and I not home. LOUDDDD STEUPSSSS
Post by: SUPA on April 16, 2011, 08:45:16 AM
                                             :bringiton: :bringiton: :bringiton:

Bakes, Soccerman, Knicks, Celtics supporters, etc, come on people act like all yuh know what time it is. It is playoff time massive, ah set meh alarm on meh cell fuh 5:30 AM dis morning. Ah just came back from Publix grocery store wid de wife and kid, ah will mess around here lil bit, help de wife in de house, so that she will not disturb meh later, den when de rain stop, two ah meh bois and myself will do some cleaning up around de house, we will den ketch ah fresh, eat a big plate (give thanks) and den is playoff time baby. I eh know about all yuh, but ah like ah lil kid waiting tuh open meh Christmas present. Wow ah love it, life is good (give thanks).

Before de series start, all yuh can put meh on record fuh predicting de Heat in 5 games. Ah tempted tuh say 6 games, but ah feel de Big 3 really ready and dey are not going to see 76ers at all. I am not falling fuh dat sweep mess doh, cuz de 76ers are a young athletic team (3rd youngest team in de league), that play very good defense and dey are very well coached by a very good coach. Dough Collins is my choice fuh coach of de year, Wid Tom Thibodeau (Chicago) a close second. I went wid Collins because he has turned that franchise around wid much less talent than Thibodeau have and wid basically de same group of guys from de last season. So wid dat said, is show time baby. Can u feel de Heat deep down in your soul  ;) ;D . HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Bakes on April 16, 2011, 11:04:00 AM
Lol... Supa if nothing else you's ah real kicks man dred  :D  :beermug:

I juss looking forward to seeing the Heat games and the Thunder games.  My Knicks eh doing nutten this postseason, we barely better than we was before the trade... no surprise there.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on April 16, 2011, 01:55:52 PM
the bulls had me cussing for 46 mins until they finally decide to show up, i still feel we reaching the east finals but still cant see us beating the heat or even the celtics this year in the playoffs.
Post by: Bakes on April 16, 2011, 03:12:22 PM
the bulls had me cussing for 46 mins until they finally decide to show up, i still feel we reaching the east finals but still cant see us beating the heat or even the celtics this year in the playoffs.

I'm a hater... Rose is not yet a consistent shooter to carry that team on his back.  0-9 from 3 yet Pacers defenders won't concede the jumper late.  He woulda have to beat me from outside.  Deng had a great second half, but he's too inconsistent to be a threat... Bulls very much a one-trick pony.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on April 16, 2011, 03:31:42 PM

I'm a hater... Rose is not yet a consistent shooter to carry that team on his back.  0-9 from 3 yet Pacers defenders won't concede the jumper late.  He woulda have to beat me from outside.  Deng had a great second half, but he's too inconsistent to be a threat... Bulls very much a one-trick pony.

i agree they are one-trick pony for now plus can't win the nba title with 1 scorer and boozer and deng are not consistent enough as a 2nd scorer.  if we get a legit 2nd scorer (20+ pts) then we could join the big guns (lakers, heat, celtics, spurs).  i would even rate the thunder above the bulls right now however i think rose is on his way to being the best PG in the game.

Post by: Bakes on April 16, 2011, 05:38:34 PM
i agree they are one-trick pony for now plus can't win the nba title with 1 scorer and boozer and deng are not consistent enough as a 2nd scorer.  if we get a legit 2nd scorer (20+ pts) then we could join the big guns (lakers, heat, celtics, spurs).  i would even rate the thunder above the bulls right now however i think rose is on his way to being the best PG in the game.

Ehhh... I not so sure yet.  He's the best scoring point guard w/o a doubt, with Westbrook second.  But a true PG needs to have the offense down cold and get his players in position where they could get easy buckets.  When the offense breaks down or late in the clock he then must still have the ability to score himself.  Hard to judge Rose on the first since his supporting cast is so poor... and maybe that's why he's so much of a scorer (although he's been that way since Memphis). 

Rose not even in the same class as Deron Williams, and my boy Chris Paul.  What does he do in the half-court offense other than try to break his man down 1 v 1?  He's a spectacular offensive player and I think folks letting all them dunks and drive-and-kicks bazodee they head.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on April 16, 2011, 07:23:05 PM
he is definitely not in the same league as paul (best pg IMO) and derron but he has the potential to surpass them if he can focus on being a pg and not having to shoulder the burden of being the main scorer for the bulls.  right now he does have 1 thing going for him, he has a strong desire to win (most recent example is today when his teammates were struggling).
Post by: Bakes on April 17, 2011, 04:10:21 PM
See the same shit I saying?? 

Whether or not the Hornets win this series this should put to rest all the jackass talk about Rose being "the best point guard in the league, and possibly the best player in the league."  I juss vex I didn't catch who dat tun tun was who was providing color commentary on that game.  Chris Paul showing you how the position is supposed to be played.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on April 17, 2011, 04:38:15 PM
chris paul is really ah boss, it is rumoured that MJ want him to play for his team real bad.
Post by: Bakes on April 17, 2011, 05:50:07 PM
chris paul is really ah boss, it is rumoured that MJ want him to play for his team real bad.

Yeah I read on ESPN in the week where Paul said he'd strongly think about it.  I'd love to see him in NY, but not sure we could afford it now that we waste so much money on Anthony.
Post by: Bakes on April 17, 2011, 08:11:23 PM
Poor execution on that last shot by Anthony... but horseshit officiating cost us that game at the very end.
Post by: soccerman on April 17, 2011, 09:26:47 PM
Supa boy ah missed all the games this weekend and it's probably a good thing bc my Lakers lost and ah glad I didn't witness it. Anyway I was following the scores closely on my phone and I saw the Heat pulled away late in the 4th. I'll give you props though because you guys have a game under your belt and that what counts.
Bakes I noticed the Knicks was leading by 4 I think with 39 secs remaining and lost by 2. I was shocked to see the final result, I said to myself Celtics lost but you stated a combination of poor officiating and Carmelo's poor execution cost you guys. In the playoffs you have to be able to close out games or else you'll be going fishing.
I going and take in all the highlights on sportscenter now, but de Lakers starting tuh fraustrate meh these days. We have to turn it around fast!!!
Post by: weary1969 on April 18, 2011, 02:45:02 PM
So had a long weekend got sick and had to get d Lakers game result via text. So guess what I more sick now.
Post by: Bakes on April 18, 2011, 07:15:15 PM
Bakes I noticed the Knicks was leading by 4 I think with 39 secs remaining and lost by 2. I was shocked to see the final result, I said to myself Celtics lost but you stated a combination of poor officiating and Carmelo's poor execution cost you guys. In the playoffs you have to be able to close out games or else you'll be going fishing.
I going and take in all the highlights on sportscenter now, but de Lakers starting tuh fraustrate meh these days. We have to turn it around fast!!!

http://www.google.com/search?q=knicks%2C+officiating&sourceid=ie7&rls=com.microsoft:en-us:IE-Address&ie=&oe=&rlz=1I7GPEA_en

Hear what others are saying and judge fuh yuhself.  Aside from the two early shit fouls on Anthony in the first 3 mins (forcing him to sit the first quarter out), you had a lame ass offensive foul call on him with :21 secs left.  Then on the game-winning shot Garnett trips Tony Douglas, the man guardind Allen... refs not-so-mysteriously swallow their whistles on that one... *swish*... game over.
Post by: soccerman on April 18, 2011, 07:45:04 PM
Yea I saw the highlights and it was a soft call on Carmelo for real. Even on Mike and Mike this morning, their inboxes were flooded with emails about the terrible officiating. In crunch time when the game so tight, I get pissed to see refs call those petty calls. Esp. when the defense is blocking, playing straight up and not giving the opponents any room. That cost the Knicks a road game too.
Post by: giggsy11 on April 18, 2011, 08:07:07 PM
Yea I saw the highlights and it was a soft call on Carmelo for real. Even on Mike and Mike this morning, their inboxes were flooded with emails about the terrible officiating. In crunch time when the game so tight, I get pissed to see refs call those petty calls. Esp. when the defense is blocking, playing straight up and not giving the opponents any room. That cost the Knicks a road game too.

I disagree, the Knicks still had a chance to tie it up by going for for 2, I feel Carmelo was trying tuh be a hero. The ball should have been going into Stoudemere since he was holding it down against the Celtics' bigs but to many plays when tru Carmelo instead.
Post by: daryn on April 19, 2011, 06:32:51 AM
D'Antoni just get outcoached in game 1,

1. He's always letting Chauncey take too many bad shots: long jumpers early in the shot clock sometimes not even if rhythm.
2. The play when KG score off the lob coming out the time out to bring the lead down to 1 shoulda never come off
3. When Boston called the last timeout he shoulda have a play drawn up in case we needed a basket. Them fellas clearly didn't have a plan so by default they have to give Melo the ball and let him make the decision because that's his role. He is the man who has been taking them shots for the last 2 months. And making them most of the time.

Post by: SUPA on April 20, 2011, 11:57:03 AM

8) 8) 8). HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Bitter on April 23, 2011, 06:13:00 PM
The Pacers almost choke away an 18 point lead vs the bulls, then the Mavs came out and showed them how it's done. Lose a 23pt lead in the 3rd.
Post by: soccerman on April 24, 2011, 02:00:32 PM
Mavs always choking, years now they doing so. Roy real light it up though, my boy was hitting big shots. Supa I now saying I coming to congratulate you on ah sweep but Sixers was going down wid ah fight, they didn't throw in de towel. Exciting game to watch, nuff blocks coming down to the end and two big 3's.
Post by: Bakes on April 24, 2011, 04:18:06 PM
Now that Knicks have been swept... now we can look back and see what an utter failure this trade was.  We mortgaged the future and got the same thing that we had going into the trade... first-round failure in the post-season.  We coulda get that, kept Gallo, Felton and Chandler, save we 2014 first-round pick and we $65 million and be better positioned for next season.

So it goes.
Post by: soccerman on April 25, 2011, 11:31:00 AM
Now that Knicks have been swept... now we can look back and see what an utter failure this trade was.  We mortgaged the future and got the same thing that we had going into the trade... first-round failure in the post-season.  We coulda get that, kept Gallo, Felton and Chandler, save we 2014 first-round pick and we $65 million and be better positioned for next season.

So it goes.
Denver isn't better off either cause they're on the verge of getting swept tonight. As Charles Barkley said last night "keep the (fishing) poles close, bc another team maybe going fishing soon".

But when I watch the Knicks back court and is man like Billups and Anthony Carter, two veterans with "wear and tear" to rely on next season and Denver has all the youngsters with skill and athleticism to build with.
Post by: SUPA on April 25, 2011, 01:20:11 PM

So it goes.
Denver isn't better off either cause they're on the verge of getting swept tonight. As Charles Barkley said last night "keep the (fishing) poles close, bc another team maybe going fishing soon".

But when I watch the Knicks back court and is man like Billups and Anthony Carter, two veterans with "wear and tear" to rely on next season and Denver has all the youngsters with skill and athleticism to build with.

While I must admit that I do  have some love for the Knicks, but I will also admit dat I do not lose sleep over dem cuz dey are not my Miami Heat team. However, I do understand de Garden hasn't had playoff basketball since slice bread and you all wanted a deep playoff, I do get that. However, keep in mind, that this trade was done for the future, if dey had a deep playoff run dis year, well done, but it is for the future. Trust me, all dey need is some nice pieces tuh compliment de 2 stars. I am not yet sold on their coach taking them to the big stage doh, cuz apart from de Knicks not having enough around their stars, a couple games were very close and in my opinion, Doc Rivers out coached him big time. Apart from that, de Knicks will be fine people, dey are building a team around de 2 stars, be patient, you all are on de right track.

Go back and check meh post, ah said that ah not falling fuh de sweep. Ah said in 5 games, so guess what, bad news for de 76ers on Wednesday ;). Yuh know what, at de beginning of de regular season, ah used tuh be bothered when dey lose a few games, but now ah get used tuh dem, dropping games here and there. When dat happen, ah does just say, oh well, de Heat is just being de Heat, next. Dat is why ah will not count out 6 games, but ah really strong on 5. However, one thing I am confident about is dat dey will come through when it really matter 8) 8) 8). HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: SUPA on April 25, 2011, 02:04:17 PM
Mavs always choking, years now they doing so. Roy real light it up though, my boy was hitting big shots. Supa I now saying I coming to congratulate you on ah sweep but Sixers was going down wid ah fight, they didn't throw in de towel. Exciting game to watch, nuff blocks coming down to the end and two big 3's.

Nah man, if dey did sweep de 76ers, more power tuh meh team. But like I said before, that team have enough tuh compete and win a game here and there. In my opinion, dey are just one superstar away to take dem over the top. Someone that can take over a game and be a reliable closer. De present AI dat dey have, he has tried dat closer thing a few times,he is very good player, but not a superstar. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: SUPA on April 25, 2011, 02:23:10 PM
See the same shit I saying?? 

Whether or not the Hornets win this series this should put to rest all the jackass talk about Rose being "the best point guard in the league, and possibly the best player in the league."  I juss vex I didn't catch who dat tun tun was who was providing color commentary on that game.  Chris Paul showing you how the position is supposed to be played.

Ah know yuh just probably going by what de critics said, so ah just responding tuh dat. Rose might be de MVP this year, but he is has some work to do tuh be de best player. When he start tuh fill up he stats sheet (rebounds, blocks, steals, etc) send meh ah PM. My friend, LJ was and is still de best player in de league, if yuh tell meh de people said Kobe is de best player, ah may not argue dat one at all, cuz de Mamba was and still is a problem on de court. Tuh be honest, my heart is wid Wade, Kobe then LJ, but that is my heart, dat is not reality  ;). Let us keep it real now, LJ fills up has filled up his stat sheet in de past and is still doing so. As a matter of fact he just said that he is having a career year. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Bakes on April 25, 2011, 03:28:25 PM

Dred, you getting tie up with the short term... neither of these teams was ever going to do anything this post-season, you don't blow up yuh roster as Denver and NY did and expect players to gel in time for the playoffs two months later.  These moves were all about the future... Denver got rid of a toxic presence in the locker room, a blackhole on the court and got four young players and a 2014 first round pick for their efforts.  Masai what he name run up in the Knicks with no vaseline on this trade.

-------------------------------

Supa... I have no doubt that Rose could one day be the best player in the league, but he's not that right now.  He clearly isn't even the best point guard in the league.  Rose is strong, quick, athletic all ah dat... but he's not even in the same league as Chris Paul when it comes to PG play.

Just a sample of what he's been doing this post-season:

http://www.youtube.com/v/Q9fFSBTc1OU
Post by: Bitter on April 25, 2011, 08:18:58 PM
I think we just saw the official end of the Tim Duncan era.

Tell the spurs to draft a big man Timmy, then teach him for a year and retire.
Post by: Bakes on April 25, 2011, 09:15:30 PM

They like Splitter... dai'z why they trade Scola to Houston.  So they eh drafting another big man, Splitter is de understudy.  But speaking of this series... Memphis boy... wow.
Post by: Arazi on April 25, 2011, 09:23:13 PM

Dred, you getting tie up with the short term... neither of these teams was ever going to do anything this post-season, you don't blow up yuh roster as Denver and NY did and expect players to gel in time for the playoffs two months later.  These moves were all about the future... Denver got rid of a toxic presence in the locker room, a blackhole on the court and got four young players and a 2014 first round pick for their efforts.  Masai what he name run up in the Knicks with no vaseline on this trade.

Melo is a toxic presence in the locker room?

I think you rel harsh tho, the Knicks were an incomplete team coming into the playoffs and it's hard to blame Carmelo..they need better role players if they want to be serious..the Nuggets are the exact opposite, they don't have a star who will step up to win them games in the clutch...
Post by: soccerman on April 25, 2011, 09:39:22 PM

They like Splitter... dai'z why they trade Scola to Houston.  So they eh drafting another big man, Splitter is de understudy.  But speaking of this series... Memphis boy... wow.

Memphis said they wanted the Spurs from the start, they felt confident in beating them as the 8th seed. That team has alot of talent and I think Battier gave them some stability, plus Gasol and Randolf big in the paint. According to ESPN.com "Bottoms Up" lol
Post by: Bakes on April 25, 2011, 10:17:08 PM

I think you rel harsh tho, the Knicks were an incomplete team coming into the playoffs and it's hard to blame Carmelo..they need better role players if they want to be serious..the Nuggets are the exact opposite, they don't have a star who will step up to win them games in the clutch...

Go back and check what I said... he was a toxic presence in the Denver locker room.  He was popular with his team mates but he undermined Karl in the locker room.  Karl even started tweaking him in public, talking about his selfishness (not in so many words) and his failure to commit defensively.  Same thing he went thru with Iverson.

Allyuh men also keep talking about how poor the Knicks were coming into the season... and missing the point completely.  As "incomplete" as the Knicks were there was a solid core of young players surrounding Stoudemire, a stable foundation around which to build a championship team.  I am not faulting Anthony for failing to deliver post-season wins (as implied by your comment), the most the Knicks were going to win was one, maybe two games against the Celtics... with or without Melo.  So no, I not faulting him.  I faulting the Knicks management (or if you believe the rumblings, the owner, James Dolan) for gutting the team of that solid core, in order to get spectacularly talented offensive player, who also happens to be supremely selfish.

Carmelo could have waited until the off-season to joint the Knicks and he would have had Stoudemire, Gallinari and Felton as team mates (they probably wouldn't have re-signed Chandler).  Imagine how much better that team would be next year?  Instead Dolan wanted to chase short term glory (a couple more wins and a post-season appearance this season) and Carmelo wanted to chase the $$.  Asked why he didn't wait until the off-season Anthony talk about the financial uncertainties anticipated by the CBA impasse... in other words, he wanted to get as much money now before the current agreement expired.  To heck with building a title team... he wanted to be paid.  Not me saying that... read anybody who following the situation in NY and Denver... I could post links if yuh want.

This is what trading for Anthony cost the Knicks:

Danilo Gallinari
Raymond Felton
Wilson Chandler
Timofey Mozgov
2012 Second Round pick
2013 Second Round pick
2014 First Round pick
2016 right to swap First Round picks (Denver could demand NY exchange picks with them if NY has a better pick)

In addition... we have no money to get a quality big man in the off-season... exactly what we need.  In other words, next year's Knicks will look the same as this year's Knicks because he tie up we hands.

We buy all that for what exactly?
Post by: Arazi on April 25, 2011, 11:54:08 PM

Go back and check what I said... he was a toxic presence in the Denver locker room.  He was popular with his team mates but he undermined Karl in the locker room.  Karl even started tweaking him in public, talking about his selfishness (not in so many words) and his failure to commit defensively.  Same thing he went thru with Iverson.

Allyuh men also keep talking about how poor the Knicks were coming into the season... and missing the point completely.  As "incomplete" as the Knicks were there was a solid core of young players surrounding Stoudemire, a stable foundation around which to build a championship team.  I am not faulting Anthony for failing to deliver post-season wins (as implied by your comment), the most the Knicks were going to win was one, maybe two games against the Celtics... with or without Melo.  So no, I not faulting him.  I faulting the Knicks management (or if you believe the rumblings, the owner, James Dolan) for gutting the team of that solid core, in order to get spectacularly talented offensive player, who also happens to be supremely selfish.

Carmelo could have waited until the off-season to joint the Knicks and he would have had Stoudemire, Gallinari and Felton as team mates (they probably wouldn't have re-signed Chandler).  Imagine how much better that team would be next year?  Instead Dolan wanted to chase short term glory (a couple more wins and a post-season appearance this season) and Carmelo wanted to chase the $$.  Asked why he didn't wait until the off-season Anthony talk about the financial uncertainties anticipated by the CBA impasse... in other words, he wanted to get as much money now before the current agreement expired.  To heck with building a title team... he wanted to be paid.  Not me saying that... read anybody who following the situation in NY and Denver... I could post links if yuh want.

This is what trading for Anthony cost the Knicks:

Danilo Gallinari
Raymond Felton
Wilson Chandler
Timofey Mozgov
2012 Second Round pick
2013 Second Round pick
2014 First Round pick
2016 right to swap First Round picks (Denver could demand NY exchange picks with them if NY has a better pick)

In addition... we have no money to get a quality big man in the off-season... exactly what we need.  In other words, next year's Knicks will look the same as this year's Knicks because he tie up we hands.

We buy all that for what exactly?

I get what you saying...when I heard the deal I was vex Knicks lost Felton and Galinari..and imo i found the brand NY was playing before Melo was better, they just were lacking a killer finsher ( which Melo supposed to be )... I dunno, the offseason might spring a surprise...
Post by: Bakes on April 26, 2011, 09:28:21 AM
I get what you saying...when I heard the deal I was vex Knicks lost Felton and Galinari..and imo i found the brand NY was playing before Melo was better, they just were lacking a killer finsher ( which Melo supposed to be )... I dunno, the offseason might spring a surprise...

Well I ent trying to be a prophet of doom and gloom, but we ent have no money to do anything this off-season, we hands tied.  We have an option to pick up Chauncey Billups contract for another year, which will cost us $14m.  If we do that we'll be over the salary cap and won't be able to sign anybody.  If we decline the option and let him ride we'll have to pay him $4m and save some money... but we'll only have about $8m to sign a big man.  So yeah, we might be able to spring a surprise signing fuh cheap, but ONLY if we let Chauncey go.  Who go run point fuh we then... Toney Douglas, Anthony Carter and Roger Mason?  I like dem fellas a whole lot, but none of them are starters right now.  We really kinda stuck until 2012.
Post by: SUPA on April 26, 2011, 01:12:08 PM

Supa... I have no doubt that Rose could one day be the best player in the league, but he's not that right now.  He clearly isn't even the best point guard in the league.  Rose is strong, quick, athletic all ah dat... but he's not even in the same league as Chris Paul when it comes to PG play.

Well said cuz cuz. Seriously, I feel if Rose stay healthy and keep improving on the areas that need improvement, he will definitely be the face of the NBA in a few years. Dat is cool by me, cuz by then, LJ would already have 2 or 3 rings and Wade would have 3 or 4 wid de Heat  ;).

Big and serious, Bynum look fuh dat cross, wey de azz he doing all de way up dey. His huge azz should be protecting and waiting in de paint tuh swipe CP, just like he did Beasley. De super star (Mamba) dat cud contain CP, he all de way in de back pushing another player. As good as Kobe is as a defender, he know what time it is, he not going and get some ah dat  :rotfl:. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Bakes on April 26, 2011, 01:39:24 PM
Big and serious, Bynum look fuh dat cross, wey de azz he doing all de way up dey. His huge azz should be protecting and waiting in de paint tuh swipe CP, just like he did Beasley. De super star (Mamba) dat cud contain CP, he all de way in de back pushing another player. As good as Kobe is as a defender, he know what time it is, he not going and get some ah dat  :rotfl:. HIGHLY BLESSED.

Is Kobe who was guarding him but the Hornets keep running pick and roll to force de switch... yuh eh hear Reggie Miller say at the start "they got the switch AGAIN".  Two trips down earlier Paul freak Bynum and score on him when Bynum laid back off him.  So this time big boy say he getting up and trying to swipe at ball and ting... lol  Paul put roller skates on Bynum and had him dancing.
Post by: futbolfan on April 26, 2011, 03:04:38 PM

Well said cuz cuz. Seriously, I feel if Rose stay healthy and keep improving on the areas that need improvement, he will definitely be the face of the NBA in a few years. Dat is cool by me, cuz by then, LJ would already have 2 or 3 rings and Wade would have 3 or 4 wid de Heat  ;).

Rose is ah good player, but what ah cyah take is de overhype by de media. Don't get me wrong, he is a go be great one day, but he is de new flavour of de month and he eh ready yet. Let him cuss somebody mudder or get into any type of trouble and yuh go see how quick dey go turn on him...
LBJ killing teams and dunking on man on ah regular for years. All of ah sudden because he did the "Decision"  dey bawlin all kinda man better dan him, he eh dat good, he arogant etc...
First it was Durant now is Rose, dey did even mention Love from Minnesota would be a better player dan LBJ.
Kobe is 1 and LBJ is 1a all dem other ballers cyah even hold dey jock strap...
And ah do agree wid yuh statement, when it is all said and done LBJ, Wade and Co. go win multiple titles...

Post by: dinho on April 27, 2011, 08:57:12 AM
Not a kobe fan, but that dunk he rest on Okafor last night... oh... my... laaaawd!!

Just de kinda dunk make yuh done sit up while he driving the key cause yuh seeing what going and happen before it happen. What make it worse too was the man was sleeping whole game before that, faking that ankle injury.. Then that wet just change de whole momentum. A frankoment bathe!!

http://www.youtube.com/v/dF6H1C0mw0k

.. Almost as nasty as the one Amare put on Jermaine O'Neal

http://www.youtube.com/v/C93i_KFetdw
Post by: SUPA on April 27, 2011, 10:34:28 AM

Is Kobe who was guarding him but the Hornets keep running pick and roll to force de switch... yuh eh hear Reggie Miller say at the start "they got the switch AGAIN".  Two trips down earlier Paul freak Bynum and score on him when Bynum laid back off him.  So this time big boy say he getting up and trying to swipe at ball and ting... lol  Paul put roller skates on Bynum and had him dancing.

:rotfl:. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: SUPA on April 27, 2011, 10:52:02 AM

Rose is ah good player, but what ah cyah take is de overhype by de media. Don't get me wrong, he is a go be great one day, but he is de new flavour of de month and he eh ready yet. Let him cuss somebody mudder or get into any type of trouble and yuh go see how quick dey go turn on him...
LBJ killing teams and dunking on man on ah regular for years. All of ah sudden because he did the "Decision"  dey bawlin all kinda man better dan him, he eh dat good, he arogant etc...
First it was Durant now is Rose, dey did even mention Love from Minnesota would be a better player dan LBJ.
Kobe is 1 and LBJ is 1a all dem other ballers cyah even hold dey jock strap...
And ah do agree wid yuh statement, when it is all said and done LBJ, Wade and Co. go win multiple titles...

Tuh be honest, if yuh give me a chance, Wade is de best player in de world tuh me  ;). But like I said before, and u just said it also, Kobe and LJ was and still is 1 and 1a respectively. In my opinion, de only thing I feel Kobe was and still does kill LJ wid, it is being a game closer. LJ must add that to his game and be consistent wid it also. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: soccerman on April 27, 2011, 11:29:22 AM
Supa well said, I agree totally wid what you said. One other thing between Kobe and LBJ is that Kobe don't give a sh*t and will fight to the very end, even if it means pulling his teammates socks up. De man will be 0-20 and keep shooting, going down with all guns blazing (now shot selection is a different story). LBJ now seems to be taking up that kinda mentality since his image did a 180 in the media, not sure if he can give Wade a piece of his mind on the court, the same way Kobe can talk to Odom, Gasol and even Fisher. Heck even Jordan used to yell at Pippen, Grant, etc. from time to time. If Lebron wants to be a closer, he have to forget everything and execute when it counts, even if things are not going his way. I don't know but it seems to me since his critics keep saying he's not a closer, is starting to get to his head.
Post by: futbolfan on April 27, 2011, 12:24:03 PM
Supa well said, I agree totally wid what you said. One other thing between Kobe and LBJ is that Kobe don't give a sh*t and will fight to the very end, even if it means pulling his teammates socks up. De man will be 0-20 and keep shooting, going down with all guns blazing (now shot selection is a different story). LBJ now seems to be taking up that kinda mentality since his image did a 180 in the media, not sure if he can give Wade a piece of his mind on the court, the same way Kobe can talk to Odom, Gasol and even Fisher. Heck even Jordan used to yell at Pippen, Grant, etc. from time to time. If Lebron wants to be a closer, he have to forget everything and execute when it counts, even if things are not going his way. I don't know but it seems to me since his critics keep saying he's not a closer, is starting to get to his head.
Ah think yuh right about de mental aspect of closing games, because when he was playing wid de Cavs it was never an issue. :beermug:
Post by: Bitter on April 27, 2011, 09:13:24 PM
I was now coming to talk about what the fishing report look like in the gulf of mexico when the Spurs hit a miracle 3 to send it to overtime. The patient not dead, but they still on life support. Will the Memphis death panel rule tonight?
Post by: College on April 28, 2011, 07:40:00 AM

Well I ent trying to be a prophet of doom and gloom, but we ent have no money to do anything this off-season, we hands tied.  We have an option to pick up Chauncey Billups contract for another year, which will cost us $14m.  If we do that we'll be over the salary cap and won't be able to sign anybody.  If we decline the option and let him ride we'll have to pay him $4m and save some money... but we'll only have about $8m to sign a big man.  So yeah, we might be able to spring a surprise signing fuh cheap, but ONLY if we let Chauncey go.  Who go run point fuh we then... Toney Douglas, Anthony Carter and Roger Mason?  I like dem fellas a whole lot, but none of them are starters right now.  We really kinda stuck until 2012.

http://www.nypost.com/p/sports/knicks/knicks_bring_billups_back_for_million_bR8b9Qzja5VehHp1WfZRXL
Post by: SUPA on April 28, 2011, 11:49:07 AM

Bakes, Soccerman, Knicks, Celtics supporters, etc, come on people act like all yuh know what time it is. It is playoff time massive, ah set meh alarm on meh cell fuh 5:30 AM dis morning. Ah just came back from Publix grocery store wid de wife and kid, ah will mess around here lil bit, help de wife in de house, so that she will not disturb meh later, den when de rain stop, two ah meh bois and myself will do some cleaning up around de house, we will den ketch ah fresh, eat a big plate (give thanks) and den is playoff time baby. I eh know about all yuh, but ah like ah lil kid waiting tuh open meh Christmas present. Wow ah love it, life is good (give thanks).

Before de series start, all yuh can put meh on record fuh predicting de Heat in 5 games. Ah tempted tuh say 6 games, but ah feel de Big 3 really ready and dey are not going to see 76ers at all. I am not falling fuh dat sweep mess doh, cuz de 76ers are a young athletic team (3rd youngest team in de league), that play very good defense and dey are very well coached by a very good coach. Dough Collins is my choice fuh coach of de year, Wid Tom Thibodeau (Chicago) a close second. I went wid Collins because he has turned that franchise around wid much less talent than Thibodeau have and wid basically de same group of guys from de last season. So wid dat said, is show time baby. Can u feel de Heat deep down in your soul  ;) ;D . HIGHLY BLESSED.

;)  ;D.

Dade and Broward county, pu, pu, put yuh drinks up, cuz dis is de life. Nothing tuh celebrate on my part, a quick smile and :applause: and is back tuh business, cuz we eh win nothing yet, yuh see meh. Yuh have tuh love dat 76ers team wid no superstar. Dey are well coached, entire team play hard till game over, dey play as a team, very solid defensively and wid no nasty plays. Is de first time de Heat won a playoff series and I actually felt bad for the opponent. Did u all see de class of a team and coaching staff dey have, wid all dem hugs and good words at de end. At the end Wade and James gave a very tight hug and some good words tuh Collins and de players, nice. My son looked at de game with me, and I told him, that is the way de game should be played and how u always threat your opponent. During a game u play hard, but clean, but before and after games you threat each other with love and respect. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: SUPA on April 28, 2011, 12:04:36 PM
Bakes, Soccerman and Dinho, ah see all yuh like top ah d line highlights, cool. So what happen tuh de cross Wade did last night, dat sent Turner tuh Key West, wowww. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 28, 2011, 12:15:17 PM
I was now coming to talk about what the fishing report look like in the gulf of mexico when the Spurs hit a miracle 3 to send it to overtime. The patient not dead, but they still on life support. Will the Memphis death panel rule tonight?

SA dead, no requiem mass
Post by: soccerman on April 28, 2011, 08:17:26 PM
Bakes, Soccerman and Dinho, ah see all yuh like top ah d line highlights, cool. So what happen tuh de cross Wade did last night, dat sent Turner tuh Key West, wowww. HIGHLY BLESSED.
:rotfl::rotfl: :rotfl: Like he wanted tuh go fishing early
Post by: weary1969 on April 29, 2011, 10:01:22 PM
D bugle man played 2nite. Adios SA.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 30, 2011, 06:38:53 AM
D bugle man played 2nite. Adios SA.

It's a trout, snapper, oh no, it's a spur!
Post by: giggsy11 on May 01, 2011, 04:01:55 PM
Ray Allen is a supreme player and professional. That guy can make any shot under pressure and when open!
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 01, 2011, 04:28:25 PM
Ray Allen is a supreme player and professional. That guy can make any shot under pressure and when open!

I miss de firse T on Paul, but dat second was atrocious, completely legal screen, was it jus de turmoil from de firse call?  Dis series shuld be interestin, whoever wins dis series IMO wins de east and finishes runners up in de championship  :devil:
Post by: giggsy11 on May 01, 2011, 04:36:53 PM

I miss de firse T on Paul, but dat second was atrocious, completely legal screen, was it jus de turmoil from de firse call?  Dis series shuld be interestin, whoever wins dis series IMO wins de east and finishes runners up in de championship  :devil:

I miss the first one also. But I think he got the second one possibly because of something he said and may be he was warned after the first one. I hope the Celtics win this series but they have done a poor job during the playoffs of taking care of the ball which is how the Heat jumped on them today. We will see if the Lakers can make it tru three more series, old man Kobe breaking down!  ;D
Post by: Bakes on May 02, 2011, 10:05:12 AM

The first was for a physical altercation with Jones... the second was for directing profanity at Wade, which according to Danny Crawford (head official) is "taunting" under the rules.  The capper for me was hearing Doc Rivers, a man I respect immensely, complaining that the game wasn't physical, it was "chippy".  You f**king serious?  You fuhget is de Celtics with Kevin Garnett yuh coaching or what?  Steups.  Take loss in allyuh dirty ass.
Post by: SUPA on May 02, 2011, 11:39:38 AM

I am happy for the win, but give credit where it is due, it is Boston we playing, so it will not be an easy series. However, I do expect us to win in 6, but it will be a long and hard grind sah. Two reasons why we will win dis series are (1) Wade and (2) LJ 8) 8) 8). This is my evaluation, the two best players on de court are LJ and Wade, then I will go wid KG and Rondo, dat will make a huge difference when it really matter. The good thing about de win yesterday, is dat Bosh did not have a good game and LJ just had an average game in my opinion. Dat is de luxury of having at least 2 superstars, one player can have an average or bad shooting night, while de other can pick up de bulk of de scoring. I must also add,dat I am one of de few in de city dat love Chalmers game, I just love de energy de yute brings tuh de court and his game defensively. I believe this is his third year, and you can only think he will get better and he is also getting some serious playoffs experience. HIGHLY BLESSED
Post by: giggsy11 on May 03, 2011, 08:54:31 AM
If Dallas doesn't choke this year I can see them coming out of the West. Oklahoma and Memphis don't have enough talent to beat them. I can see Kobe breaking down if he has to continue carrying the Lakers; in fact  I will enjoy seeing that happen.
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 03, 2011, 09:36:39 AM
If Dallas doesn't choke this year I can see them coming out of the West. Oklahoma and Memphis don't have enough talent to beat them. I can see Kobe breaking down if he has to continue carrying the Lakers; in fact  I will enjoy seeing that happen.

Kobe doh have to keep carryin no lakers, sometimes kobe head a lil too big.  How much success LA gets dumpin de damn basketball into de post, only chandler culd match up w/Gasol or Bynum or Lamar, obvious 1 big man advtg once 2 bigs on de floor.  Apart from dat LA love to play heart attack basketball, doh push til necessary, most of de team went to Rodeo drive after goin up 16 early in de 3rd qtr last nite.

Yes, if they keep playin dat way Dallas have more dan a chance....
Post by: sinned on May 03, 2011, 12:32:16 PM

Kobe doh have to keep carryin no lakers, sometimes kobe head a lil too big.  How much success LA gets dumpin de damn basketball into de post, only chandler culd match up w/Gasol or Bynum or Lamar, obvious 1 big man advtg once 2 bigs on de floor.  Apart from dat LA love to play heart attack basketball, doh push til necessary, most of de team went to Rodeo drive after goin up 16 early in de 3rd qtr last nite.

Yes, if they keep playin dat way Dallas have more dan a chance....

I'm a big Dallas fan and really happy with the win. But like you say, Kobe needs to realize he don't need to carry this team. He playing a brand of hero ball that is not what they need. Their biggest asset for this year and recently, has been their size and ability to create mismatches with Gasol, Bynum and Odom. Kobe can get his shot any time he wants, but doesnt mean he needs to jack up 30 shots a game and not get others involved.

Fun fact from the game: Kobe attempted 29 FGA and not a single one at rim. He only had one FGA inside 11 feet on play-by-play.

Not placing the blame on Kobe entirely though - Phil Jackson was way too reactionary in this game by not playing Gasol, Odom and Bynum enough together to force mismatches on the Dallas defensive end.

We will see what happens in Game 2 but boy am I happy the Mavs took game 1.
Post by: Dutty on May 03, 2011, 12:49:09 PM
Kobe doh have to keep carryin no lakers, sometimes kobe head a lil too big. 

:o :o ....who have access to barataria password??
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 03, 2011, 08:22:33 PM

:rotfl:  you is kix yes, good one
Post by: giggsy11 on May 04, 2011, 06:12:50 AM
Damn, the Heat have the Celtics looking old as dirt!
Post by: weary1969 on May 04, 2011, 09:27:09 AM

:rotfl:  you is kix yes, good one

Post by: Peong on May 04, 2011, 10:04:02 AM
So how KG get bat so easy?  Man forget how to jump or wa? 
I find Miami were getting a little cocky just because they make some highlight plays.  It too early for that, the game was never far from Boston's reach.   
The next 2 games are the real test.

Go Heat!
Post by: SUPA on May 04, 2011, 12:47:47 PM

8) 8) 8). HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: SUPA on May 04, 2011, 12:49:31 PM

;)  ;D. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Dutty on May 04, 2011, 01:29:15 PM

dat particular shake and bake that wade give to KG really make him look like ah grampa
Post by: giggsy11 on May 04, 2011, 01:37:35 PM

dat particular shake and bake that wade give to KG really make him look like ah grampa

And getting his shot block by James. Like Barkley and Webber both said they know how it is when yuh have tuh resort tuh pump fakin cause yuh don't have the hops anymore!
Post by: giggsy11 on May 04, 2011, 01:40:32 PM
Ah feel the best type of team tuh beat the Heat is an athletic type who will push the ball on dem and can score consistently. So I hope the Bulls get them selves together and Rose shake off that sprain ankle. Celtics making it rell easy for the Heat with their predictable, slow sets.
Post by: Bakes on May 04, 2011, 03:44:24 PM
Ah feel the best type of team tuh beat the Heat is an athletic type who will push the ball on dem and can score consistently. So I hope the Bulls get them selves together and Rose shake off that sprain ankle. Celtics making it rell easy for the Heat with their predictable, slow sets.

Incorrect... the Heat thrive on the running game.  The Celtics (and Lakers) play the ideal style (halfcourt game) of basketball to beat the Heat.  The Heat have a minimal inside presence to prevent opposing bigs from scoring and rebounding.  On offense they struggle in the halfcourt to find a rhythm and get into their sets (lack of a point guard)... the offense usually bogs down and becomes a 1-v-1 with either Wade or LeBron.  The Heat's best option is to get into the running game where their superior athleticism trumps every other team currently in the playoffs, with the exception of perhaps OKC (and Memphis, to a degree).  The Celtics are just old and slow and getting exposed against a younger, hungrier, more athletic squad.

Addendum... ANY team that can score consistently will more often than not beat other teams.
Post by: giggsy11 on May 04, 2011, 05:34:05 PM

Incorrect... the Heat thrive on the running game.  The Celtics (and Lakers) play the ideal style (halfcourt game) of basketball to beat the Heat.  The Heat have a minimal inside presence to prevent opposing bigs from scoring and rebounding.  On offense they struggle in the halfcourt to find a rhythm and get into their sets (lack of a point guard)... the offense usually bogs down and becomes a 1-v-1 with either Wade or LeBron.  The Heat's best option is to get into the running game where their superior athleticism trumps every other team currently in the playoffs, with the exception of perhaps OKC (and Memphis, to a degree).  The Celtics are just old and slow and getting exposed against a younger, hungrier, more athletic squad.

Addendum... ANY team that can score consistently will more often than not beat other teams.

While you may disagree with my OPINION it does not mean my OPINION is incorrect as you stated and YOUR OPINION is correct or a fact. The Bulls are younger, just as hungry and way more athletic than the Heat; they also have the type of players who can and have matched up against the Heat and won.
Post by: Bakes on May 04, 2011, 06:08:27 PM
While you may disagree with my OPINION it does not mean my OPINION is incorrect as you stated and YOUR OPINION is correct or a fact. The Bulls are younger, just as hungry and way more athletic than the Heat; they also have the type of players who can and have matched up against the Heat and won.

Your "opinion" is lacking in basis... try dat on fuh size.  The Bulls may or may not beat the Heat, if they even survive to meet them in the Conference Finals, but FACT is that a running team only plays to the strength of the Heat, therefore isn't the best suited style for beating them.
Post by: sinned on May 04, 2011, 08:23:58 PM
not sure how anyone could say "way more athletic than the heat". lebron and d-wade are among the most athletic players in the league. at the point guard and center position you could say the heat are not athletic, but like bakes said, i think a fast-paced open court game actually plays into the heat's favor. although i think their defense can still be stifling in half-court but their offense could struggle if wade and lebron have to settle for jumpers.

overall, i think heat will be tough to beat
Post by: Bakes on May 04, 2011, 09:51:32 PM
Brutal game 2 (to watch) between the Hawks and Bulls... both teams shot poorly from the field and the game never seemed to developed any flow.  Nice game by Jeff Teague though... if only they could get him, Crawford and Joe Johnson (two of my favorite NBA players) into a flow at the same time they'd be tough to beat.  Nice low-post battle between college team mates Noah and Horford... back at Fla. Horford was the man, but Noah more than holding his own... much as I don't like his ass too much.  Hawks only have to hold serve on their court now and it's game, set, match.  Easier said than done though.
Post by: soccerman on May 05, 2011, 09:47:32 AM
What de arse going on wid de Lakers??? I ain panicing just yet, I jus don't like how we gave away game 1. I'll take my licks in game 2 but dropping 2 games at home??? Now it looks like Ron Ron will most likely face a suspension.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 05, 2011, 11:22:54 AM
What de arse going on wid de Lakers??? I ain panicing just yet, I jus don't like how we gave away game 1. I'll take my licks in game 2 but dropping 2 games at home??? Now it looks like Ron Ron will most likely face a suspension.
u should panic,dallas destroyin them in texas
Post by: sinned on May 05, 2011, 11:37:32 AM

let's hope so! lakers d looking suspeck. dallas getting any shot they want. and no one can guard dirk.
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 05, 2011, 11:43:07 AM
u should panic,dallas destroyin them in texas[/b]

Yuh happy eh?  If our run comes to an end, which looks likely at this point, it was a helluva ride, 3 championship finals and 2 championships  :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on May 05, 2011, 12:06:40 PM

Yuh happy eh?  If our run comes to an end, which looks likely at this point, it was a helluva ride, 3 championship finals and 2 championships  :beermug:

In 06 it was a Heat Mavericks finals missed it because of Germany I will have to find something else 2 do because I eh have a horse in dat race.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 05, 2011, 12:35:48 PM

kobe want to accomplish that 3peat bad bad u know.in he mind de fuss one was shaq own.
Post by: soccerman on May 05, 2011, 02:02:48 PM
Nah doh say dat yet :nailbiting:
Post by: fari on May 06, 2011, 08:20:31 PM
chicago put the hammer down tonite boy :o     d rose is the truth for real
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 06, 2011, 10:16:16 PM
lakers deeper in de hole now.no nba team ever come back from down 3 games.
Post by: Bakes on May 06, 2011, 10:23:35 PM
Lakers lose, and all is well in the universe.
Post by: soccerman on May 06, 2011, 11:31:49 PM
Stoiakovic boy :cursing:
Post by: Bakes on May 07, 2011, 12:28:43 AM
not sure how anyone could say "way more athletic than the heat". lebron and d-wade are among the most athletic players in the league. at the point guard and center position you could say the heat are not athletic, but like bakes said, i think a fast-paced open court game actually plays into the heat's favor. although i think their defense can still be stifling in half-court but their offense could struggle if wade and lebron have to settle for jumpers.

overall, i think heat will be tough to beat

Ironically enough those are the only two positions at which the Bulls are athletic... Rose and Noah.  Name another "athletic" player on that roster... I dare you.

Stojakovic??  Allyuh better figure out how to stop Nowitzki.... and flip Gasol over while yuh at it, because de side ah him dat was guarding Dirk done cook.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on May 07, 2011, 05:37:22 AM
Lakers lose, and all is well in the universe.

the bulls won and the lakers lost last night, it was a great night.

Post by: Dumplingdinho on May 07, 2011, 05:40:03 AM

i think we can reach the east finals but the bulls can't beat heat as yet in the playoffs.  bulls need a scorer so rose can focus on being a true PG.
Post by: sinned on May 07, 2011, 08:31:40 AM
Ironically enough those are the only two positions at which the Bulls are athletic... Rose and Noah.  Name another "athletic" player on that roster... I dare you.
Luol Deng. But I right there with you that the Bulls are not more athletic than the Heat.
Post by: Bakes on May 07, 2011, 10:36:21 AM

i think we can reach the east finals but the bulls can't beat heat as yet in the playoffs.  bulls need a scorer so rose can focus on being a true PG.

Ha ha.. yuh mean allyuh need ah PG so Rose could focus on being the scorer he is  :devil:

Luol Deng. But I right there with you that the Bulls are not more athletic than the Heat.

Him being the only other remote possibility I dun figure out dat answer long time.  Deng not athletic doh... when last yuh see him break somebody ankles or put ah man on ah poster.  He not de "jump out de gym" type neither.  I mighta say Gibson... but he so awkward that it hard to use "athletic" in the same sentence with him... reminds me of Drew Gooden.
Post by: soccerman on May 07, 2011, 12:25:12 PM

Stojakovic??  Allyuh better figure out how to stop Nowitzki.... and flip Gasol over while yuh at it, because de side ah him dat was guarding Dirk done cook.
[/quote]

Gasol always fraustrates me in the playoffs, I think by now he'll learn to apapt to the physical nature of the playoffs. Phil and all like he had enough of him, ah mean his lil brother looking like the All Star right now.
Post by: Bakes on May 07, 2011, 12:39:06 PM
Gasol always fraustrates me in the playoffs, I think by now he'll learn to apapt to the physical nature of the playoffs. Phil and all like he had enough of him, ah mean his lil brother looking like the All Star right now.

Marc ballin' fuh real... I never really rate him, and he was a throw-in in the Pau trade... but this season something wake up in him.  He was always more of a center to Pau's power forward... but even so, he have a nice touch, both shooting and passing, like Pau.  Much... MUCH better position defender though.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on May 07, 2011, 02:25:43 PM

Ha ha.. yuh mean allyuh need ah PG so Rose could focus on being the scorer he is  :devil:

yeah that could wuk as well
Post by: Bakes on May 07, 2011, 07:42:56 PM
OKC is ah frigging waste... I like Westbrook but he needs discipline in order to grow and Scott Brooks just not providing that right now.  Poor coaching cost them that game... no other way to explain the lack of execution down the stretch.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on May 07, 2011, 09:05:34 PM
westbrook is good but like he does get excited and turnover de ball.
Post by: Bakes on May 07, 2011, 09:17:23 PM

Pounding de damn ball too much... by the time they were getting into their offense there was only 14 secs left on the clock and Tony Allen was doing a great job denying Durant.  But still... and Durant himself need to get some ah dat Kobe greed/selfishness.

Meanwhile in Beantown... the Heat let the Celts off the hook.  Rondo look like me dey... running arung de court with no left LOL.  Man dislocate he elbow, went back tuh de locker room and rub some spit and dirt on it and went back in de game yes.
Post by: Bakes on May 08, 2011, 02:04:23 PM
Mavs looking to break out de Swiffer...

Nowitzki vs. Gasol...  he advantaging de small man lol
Post by: Bitter on May 08, 2011, 02:13:56 PM
Right now, Dallas cyah miss.
Post by: Bakes on May 08, 2011, 02:35:01 PM
Right now, Dallas cyah miss.

Imagine if Shawn Marion actually woke up and plugged into the Matrix...
Post by: giggsy11 on May 08, 2011, 03:08:10 PM
Ron Artes jokey oui!
Post by: Dutty on May 08, 2011, 03:31:10 PM

In 06 it was a Heat Mavericks finals missed it because of Germany I will have to find something else 2 do because I eh have a horse in dat race.

(http://www.emofaces.com/en/emoticons/s/sweeping-emoticon.gif) (http://i235.photobucket.com/albums/ee267/ivan121212/emoticons/rip.gif)
Post by: Bitter on May 08, 2011, 03:37:07 PM
Bush league.
Lakers gone out like punks
Post by: giggsy11 on May 08, 2011, 03:38:35 PM
Dem Lakers players going out like the pricks that they are! Glad they gettin swept! Rub it in!  Actually they looking like the the Pistons when the Bulls swept them.
Post by: soccerman on May 08, 2011, 04:52:25 PM
That was painful to watch today. Credit to the Mavs though they executed throughout the series and were just on fire today. We had no answer as our off the ball movement in our defense with sluggish at best and Terry and Stojakovic couldn't miss from 3 point range. Tough way for Phil to go out.
Post by: Bakes on May 08, 2011, 05:15:31 PM
That was painful to watch today. Credit to the Mavs though they executed throughout the series and were just on fire today. We had no answer as our off the ball movement in our defense with sluggish at best and Terry and Stojakovic couldn't miss from 3 point range. Tough way for Phil to go out.

Please... fitting end.  As much as I can't take anything away from him as a coach, every one of them titles was won on the backs of some of the greatest players in NBA history... MJ, Kobe, Shaq... and throw in Pippen for good measure.  That and a legacy of complaining to the refs.  Good riddance.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on May 08, 2011, 05:40:45 PM

Please... fitting end.  As much as I can't take anything away from him as a coach, every one of them titles was won on the backs of some of the greatest players in NBA history... MJ, Kobe, Shaq... and throw in Pippen for good measure.  That and a legacy of complaining to the refs.  Good riddance.

as a bulls fan i not complaining abt his first 6 titles.. ;D but i cyah lie, he tried to manipluate refs more and more as time progressed and every title he won the best player in the league was on his team.  However at the end of the day he won 11 titles and nobody could take that away from him because there is no guarantee another coach would have achieved the same.  I would have liked to see him coach a good team that does not have the best player in the league.  for example how he would have fared with the hawks, thunder or even knicks this year.
Post by: Bakes on May 08, 2011, 06:00:20 PM
as a bulls fan i not complaining abt his first 6 titles.. ;D but i cyah lie, he tried to manipluate refs more and more as time progressed and every title he won the best player in the league was on his team.  However at the end of the day he won 11 titles and nobody could take that away from him because there is no guarantee another coach would have achieved the same.  I would have liked to see him coach a good team that does not have the best player in the league.  for example how he would have fared with the hawks, thunder or even knicks this year.

Sunday, May 8, 2011

Phil Jackson fined $35K for ref remarks

DALLAS -- Just before what could've been the last game of his coaching career, Los Angeles Lakers coach Phil Jackson was fined $35,000 for comments about the officiating.

The NBA sent a release less than an hour before tipoff of Game 4 in the Lakers-Mavericks series on Sunday saying Jackson was being punished for statements made Saturday. He complained about officials allowing defenders to lift their legs and use their knees to shove big man Pau Gasol out of position.

On Saturday, Jackson commended the "exceptional" help-side defense Gasol displayed in Game 3 and blamed some of his offensive woes on the officiating.

"I've resisted [saying] this the whole playoffs, but the NBA used to call a 'knee up the a--,' that's what they called it," Jackson said. "You couldn't lift a knee off the floor to run a guy off the post -- they've been doing that every time [against Gasol]. They're taking him out of the post and he can't get a tight post spot. We didn't complain about it against New Orleans, but the Mavs are doing the same damn thing and until the league goes back to the rules that they have about playing post play, Pau's got to move out and face the basket."

Los Angeles went into the game down 0-3 in the series, facing elimination. Jackson has said he's retiring after this postseason.

Information from ESPNLosAngeles.com's Dave McMenamin and The Associated Press was used in this report.

All coaches try to gain a psychological edge by getting into their opponents' heads by making statements in the press and by manipulating the officials, but Phil Jackson and Ferguson seem to have taken that shit to a whole 'nother level, LOL

You can't argue with the record... but how he got there is definitely open to scrutiny.
Post by: warmonga on May 08, 2011, 07:54:19 PM
lakers let down d nba today.. it also show dat phil jackson is a wutless f**king coach.. bets coach in the nda mi rass.. d man could only win wid a star studed team.. anyway.. since when dallas mavericks is a defensive team?... Dallas dose play run di ball game... lakers jes sucked. and so much for di bestest ball whore.. kobe...
war..
Post by: futbolfan on May 08, 2011, 08:34:32 PM

Pounding de damn ball too much... by the time they were getting into their offense there was only 14 secs left on the clock and Tony Allen was doing a great job denying Durant.  But still... and Durant himself need to get some ah dat Kobe greed/selfishness.

Meanwhile in Beantown... the Heat let the Celts off the hook.  Rondo look like me dey... running arung de court with no left LOL.  Man dislocate he elbow, went back tuh de locker room and rub some spit and dirt on it and went back in de game yes.

I think coaching cause de Heat to lose dat game. Ah one hand point guard beat dem. Any legit coach woulda set some solid screens for Chalmers and let Rondo chase him. Ah guarantee yuh dat he would not have lasted as long as he did.
I believe Miami will win the next game because ah think Boston was on an emotional high, with Shaq coming back and Rondo with he one hand. Oh and Bosh need ah purge.
Post by: Bakes on May 08, 2011, 08:52:25 PM
I think coaching cause de Heat to lose dat game. Ah one hand point guard beat dem. Any legit coach woulda set some solid screens for Chalmers and let Rondo chase him. Ah guarantee yuh dat he would not have lasted as long as he did.
I believe Miami will win the next game because ah think Boston was on an emotional high, with Shaq coming back and Rondo with he one hand. Oh and Bosh need ah purge.

Agreed. 

Against the Knicks, I forget who the analyst was that said "teams make a mistake by laying off of Rondo, daring him to shoot... because by not putting any pressure on him they give him time and room to pick apart the defense with his passing."  So very true.  Last night every time there was a screen on Rondo he'd pull up to avoid the contact on his elbow like ah vampire confronted with holy water.  Yet they didn't try to take advantage of that.  Not saying hurt  de man... but shit, he elbow bang up... make it hurt more.  Then on defense Chalmers laying off of him and letting him dribble seconds off the clock and the Heat were trailing.  Rush that man and let him dribble with he left hand... you need possessions, aka turnovers.  Ridiculous that Rondo had even one assist after that injury.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 08, 2011, 10:39:31 PM
whey weary and barataria,lakers dead,kobe cryin heself to sleep tonite.
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 09, 2011, 08:14:58 AM

Ah rite here bredda!!!  As I said to couple brederins last nite, LA will rise again, of course, franchise record speaks for itself.  We will re-group and come again.  Congrats Mavs, best of luck in de rest ah de playoffs.
Post by: weary1969 on May 09, 2011, 09:35:57 AM

Presnt Sir we will d PP we will rise.
Post by: sinned on May 09, 2011, 10:02:40 AM
Saw this on facebook:
(http://img571.imageshack.us/img571/3633/13092955.jpg)
Post by: weary1969 on May 09, 2011, 11:00:59 AM
Saw this on facebook:

Post by: Dutty on May 09, 2011, 11:01:32 AM

who go run point guard nex season, anand or spalk?
Post by: Dutty on May 09, 2011, 11:01:51 AM
Saw this on facebook:

LOL!!!
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 09, 2011, 11:02:21 AM

who go run point guard nex season, anand or spalk?

Keon Daniel  :devil:
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 09, 2011, 11:51:15 AM
Saw this on facebook:

as ah spectator......it funny though.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 09, 2011, 05:02:59 PM
ah hear ah rumour today....de talk in de laker camp is pau gasol layin pipe on kobe wife.....ah guess she is ah balls ball hog too.lol.
Post by: big dawg on May 09, 2011, 05:38:50 PM
ah hear ah rumour today....de talk in de laker camp is pau gasol layin pipe on kobe wife.....ah guess she is ah balls ball hog too.lol.

See what I like about Queens NY..yuh does hear it here first.. :rotfl:

-------------
I hope dey give Bynum about 10 games suspension next season..
Post by: giggsy11 on May 09, 2011, 06:13:28 PM

What I heard is,  one of the writers who covers the Lakers alleges that Pau stated that he 'that it is a learning experience and he needs to not let personal stuff affect him on the court'. The writer said that he Pau was referring to him not talking to Kobe because allegedly Kobe's wife told Pau's long time girlfriend to break up with Pau. Who the hell know what the real story is but some way some how it always seem to lead back to Kobe!
Post by: Peong on May 09, 2011, 09:57:42 PM
Miami :) 
Lebron's 3 from right in front the Celtics bench was sweet.
Post by: futbolfan on May 09, 2011, 10:04:03 PM
Dey say Marc Gasol work he way back into shape, de man is ah real baller but he looking like he does be eating Memphis bbq ribs every night.
Post by: Bakes on May 10, 2011, 12:34:17 AM

Despite Big Baby haranguing him in he ear right there... silenced all that noise.  Great game...

but raised one by the game OKC won over Memphis in Triple OT.  They shoulda won in regulation though... they still playing de ass with Westbrook taking too many jumpers, not enough touches by Durant when it matters... and even then, he settling for J's too.  I mean, they made most... but they needed to attack the bucket if you ask me.  That's why love Harden's game.... dude's a baller. 
Post by: Dutty on May 10, 2011, 08:30:36 AM
Shapin up to be another Dallas-Miami finals

Post by: weary1969 on May 10, 2011, 09:03:06 AM
Shapin up to be another Dallas-Miami finals

Just like 06 hoping 4 a different result but doubt it.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 10, 2011, 09:10:47 AM
de way dallas playin ball ah wish they win,dirk deserve ah championship.
Post by: soccerman on May 10, 2011, 10:09:29 AM

Despite Big Baby haranguing him in he ear right there... silenced all that noise.  Great game...

but raised one by the game OKC won over Memphis in Triple OT.  They shoulda won in regulation though... they still playing de ass with Westbrook taking too many jumpers, not enough touches by Durant when it matters... and even then, he settling for J's too.  I mean, they made most... but they needed to attack the bucket if you ask me.  That's why love Harden's game.... dude's a baller. 
Yes dread, Westbrook like he trying to prove he's a superstar or something??? It seems to me that in crunch time he's always trying to go for glory when Durant is clearly the best on the court in creating his own shot. He's being a score first, pass second point guard. De man even taking more shots than Durant in the game, maddness!!! Last night at de end of one of the overtime's Durant was even upset he didn't pass him the ball, I mean he's playing right into Memphis's strategy, keep Durant way from the ball as long as possible.
Post by: Bakes on May 10, 2011, 11:37:47 AM
Yes dread, Westbrook like he trying to prove he's a superstar or something??? It seems to me that in crunch time he's always trying to go for glory when Durant is clearly the best on the court in creating his own shot. He's being a score first, pass second point guard. De man even taking more shots than Durant in the game, maddness!!! Last night at de end of one of the overtime's Durant was even upset he didn't pass him the ball, I mean he's playing right into Memphis's strategy, keep Durant way from the ball as long as possible.

Durant's the best player on that team... and Westbrook is next in line, but to me Harden has the best all-round game.  He has Durant's shooting ability, combined with Westbrook's ability to get his own shot whenever he wants... except when he gets the shot he can make it.  Durant's still limited... not strong enough to post up, not a good enough handle to consistently create his own shot... and he still can't go strong to his left.
Post by: soccerman on May 10, 2011, 11:52:46 AM

Durant's the best player on that team... and Westbrook is next in line, but to me Harden has the best all-round game.  He has Durant's shooting ability, combined with Westbrook's ability to get his own shot whenever he wants... except when he gets the shot he can make it.  Durant's still limited... not strong enough to post up, not a good enough handle to consistently create his own shot... and he still can't go strong to his left.

Yes Westbrook is next in line but he's acting like he's the first option. I've seen on several occasions Durant run off screens and shoot with a quick release which in most cases he makes, plus he has great range. My thing is Westbrook has the ability to draw defenders towards him and dish but lately he's been trying to do a bit too much on his own. Even to agree with your point, Harden can also shoot, create his own shot and take the ball to the rack so why not get those guys involved more? Durant went 9 mins late in the game last night without touching the ball.
Post by: Bakes on May 10, 2011, 01:26:45 PM
Yes Westbrook is next in line but he's acting like he's the first option. I've seen on several occasions Durant run off screens and shoot with a quick release which in most cases he makes, plus he has great range. My thing is Westbrook has the ability to draw defenders towards him and dish but lately he's been trying to do a bit too much on his own. Even to agree with your point, Harden can also shoot, create his own shot and take the ball to the rack so why not get those guys involved more? Durant went 9 mins late in the game last night without touching the ball.

Totally agree with you... not arguing at all.
Post by: Dutty on May 11, 2011, 02:47:07 PM

Totally agree with you... not arguing at all.

:o :o...you feelin sick?
Post by: Bakes on May 11, 2011, 04:20:40 PM
Heat looking to send the Celtics into retirement tonight... and OKC going back home to try and get the edge on Memphis in their series.  Good slate of games on tap.
Post by: giggsy11 on May 11, 2011, 06:34:37 PM
Garnett cah even take weak arse Bosh and he turkey neck self! Celtics just continues to be careless with the ball!
Post by: giggsy11 on May 11, 2011, 06:37:38 PM
Ray,Ray is the man!
Post by: futbolfan on May 11, 2011, 07:36:09 PM
Ray,Ray is the man!

Nah Lebron is de man  :beermug:
Post by: giggsy11 on May 11, 2011, 07:39:43 PM
Ray,Ray is the man!

Nah, Ray was the only Celtic who stayed back tuh congratulate the Heat players; just another reason why he is the man. More class in his pinky fingernail than Lebron has in his whole body!. Another note; why the Heat act like they just won the nba title? Did something get fastfoward? :beermug:
Post by: giggsy11 on May 11, 2011, 07:45:40 PM
All this talk about Westbrook being selfish have me watching to see what all yuh talking about.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on May 11, 2011, 08:24:31 PM
Ray,Ray is the man!

Nah, Ray was the only Celtic who stayed back tuh congratulate the Heat players; just another reason why he is the man. More class in his pinky fingernail than Lebron has in his whole body!. Another note; why the Heat act like they just won the nba title? Did something get fastfoward? :beermug:

i thought it was only me who got that impression, i hope the heat don't win the title.  i am a bulls fan but we can't beat the heat right now, i feel we losing in 5 to the heat.  hopefully the west winner can take care of lebron and company.
Post by: futbolfan on May 11, 2011, 08:39:25 PM
Ray,Ray is the man!

Yeah ah respect Ray Ray, Delonte West and Doc Rivers for staying back....
Post by: giggsy11 on May 12, 2011, 07:34:24 AM
Heat were the better team and played better basketball than the Celtics. Celtics failed to execute to many times; the only person who played to his usual high standards was Ray, Ray.
Post by: Peong on May 12, 2011, 06:15:13 PM
Celtics didn't have a healthy Rondo for 3 straight games.  That surely put a dent in their play.
Giggsy a big reason for the celebrations was that the Heat take real heat  ;D from the critics this season.  Everybody was laughin at the struggles this team experienced early on but now those fellas make all the critics shut up.
Post by: giggsy11 on May 12, 2011, 06:58:15 PM
Celtics didn't have a healthy Rondo for 3 straight games.  That surely put a dent in their play.
Giggsy a big reason for the celebrations was that the Heat take real heat  ;D from the critics this season.  Everybody was laughin at the struggles this team experienced early on but now those fellas make all the critics shut up.

Ah wonder if as a result if they end up having a let down against who ever they play next?
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 12, 2011, 09:34:46 PM
http://hangtime.blogs.nba.com/2011/05/12/the-official-end-of-an-era/?ls=iref:nbahpt1

Nice summary of the "passing of the torch"
Post by: Bakes on May 12, 2011, 09:56:51 PM
Bulls finally put ATL out their misery... Hawks have so much promise, yet seem so clueless on offense when it matters.
Post by: warmonga on May 14, 2011, 11:14:21 AM
wesbrook.. wey di f**k gwan wid this man boi..  he is di new kobe bryant of di nba.. he is a f**king ball whore!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
cool yuself bredda durant is di big man not you..
Post by: warmonga on May 14, 2011, 11:19:52 AM
something for lebron and he band a man fi cry about..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jazZWXqiVBQ

Post by: SUPA on May 14, 2011, 02:24:51 PM
something for lebron and he band a man fi cry about..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jazZWXqiVBQ

Wonderful, I love de yute game, he is definitely a superstar. But let us get serious here cus, cus. De Heat have 2 superstars and a top 10 or may be 15 player, Chicago have one superstar and some very good players. Deep in yuh heart yuh feel each and every night he will score big and wouldn't get shut down a few games?. Really, I'm just saying  8) 8) 8). HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: giggsy11 on May 15, 2011, 06:39:45 PM
Wade just got posterized! Love the energy, athleticism and basketball smarts of this Bulls team!
Post by: Bitter on May 15, 2011, 08:31:27 PM
I guess Chicago is not Boston...
Post by: weary1969 on May 15, 2011, 08:33:32 PM

Hope not
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 15, 2011, 08:46:08 PM

Hope not

Send a tweet to Wade, Lebron and co, we waitin fuh dem by de chesapeake
Post by: Bakes on May 15, 2011, 08:52:26 PM
Good win by Chicago, capitalizing on some poor play by Miami.  But in many ways this win was a mirage... and folks shouldn't be too quick to overreact.  Miami shot 3-8 from beyond the arc; Chicago was 10-20.  Seven made 3-pointers more=21 points.  Final score was 103-82... 21 points, not coincidentally.  The Heat can take heart because the Bulls are usually not a very good 3-point shooting team... so in that sense Chicago got hot tonight... fortune might not favor them in Game 2.

Next factor was the rebounding... Chicago had 31 second-chance points; Miami... 8.  They need to do a much better job rebounding the ball.  Chicago's defense gets a lot of press, but Miami actually shot 47% to Chicago's 43%.  The difference was clearly the extra shots that Chicago manufactured off their hustling on the boards.

All fixable issues for Miami, but they need to focus.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 15, 2011, 09:08:14 PM
de way bulls play tonite was deadly.ah still eh write off heat.
Post by: warmonga on May 16, 2011, 08:14:53 AM
deeks you wrong brother .. Miami didnt play poor chicago defence cause miami to play poor.. gave jack he jacket man ... Bulls defence was great in the second half. Miami is no push over but gave me team a bligh nuh...
every shot miami shoot they had a hand in dey face...

Post by: soccerman on May 16, 2011, 10:55:05 AM

Hope not

Send a tweet to Wade, Lebron and co, we waitin fuh dem by de chesapeake
Post by: giggsy11 on May 16, 2011, 10:58:18 AM
deeks you wrong brother .. Miami didnt play poor chicago defence cause miami to play poor.. gave jack he jacket man ... Bulls defence was great in the second half. Miami is no push over but gave me team a bligh nuh...
every shot miami shoot they had a hand in dey face...

Chicago's effort/energy was high octane! Gibson and Noah were relentless. It will be interesting to see if they can keep it up and if they it wears Miami down.
Post by: sinned on May 16, 2011, 05:14:53 PM
Chicago's effort/energy was high octane! Gibson and Noah were relentless. It will be interesting to see if they can keep it up and if they it wears Miami down.
I'm pretty sure they will keep up the energy/effort - it's been that way all season and in Noah's case, since college.

The big question is whether the Bulls can contain the individual brilliance of Wade and Lebron. The Heat will continue to struggle with rebounding if they play their small lineup a lot(without a true center). They will struggle to execute sets against the defense of the Bulls - really the Heat will need their stars to shine.
Post by: giggsy11 on May 16, 2011, 05:19:00 PM
I'm pretty sure they will keep up the energy/effort - it's been that way all season and in Noah's case, since college.

The big question is whether the Bulls can contain the individual brilliance of Wade and Lebron. The Heat will continue to struggle with rebounding if they play their small lineup a lot(without a true center). They will struggle to execute sets against the defense of the Bulls - really the Heat will need their stars to shine.

Wade also has the task of chasing Rose after having to do the same against Ray Allen in the last series. Wonder if the legs will start to bark soon. Looking forward to these games. Derrick Rose is so chill on the court, just lets his play do the talking. I dig it!
Post by: warmonga on May 17, 2011, 08:30:18 AM
The bulls can win this series only if they stay man to man marking.. no double teaming.. Bosh gonna have a monster series because boozer is lame in defence . anyway or the other if bulls defend one on one Miami is in trouble.. all year bulls beating miami because there are no double teaming against miami.. frm you double team miami dat leaves a shooter open and  they shooters will kill you.. one on one defense and hope miami miss dats how we gonna win this one.. props to the boys but I will rest when we win 4.....

Post by: sinned on May 17, 2011, 10:57:27 AM
Can we get some Taj Gibson love up in here?

http://www.youtube.com/v/BmN-MIbvLks

Gibson to Wade: "What's the weather like down there?"
Post by: dinho on May 17, 2011, 11:10:31 AM
Can we get some Taj Gibson love up in here?

http://www.youtube.com/v/BmN-MIbvLks

Just ah disrespectful, disdainful, clobberish BATHE!!!
Post by: giggsy11 on May 17, 2011, 12:01:10 PM
Can we get some Raj Gibson love up in here?

http://www.youtube.com/v/

Raj the dermatologist- dishing out facials!
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 17, 2011, 12:03:33 PM
Plenty snapper and carrite waitin to geh hook
Post by: Bakes on May 17, 2011, 12:59:42 PM
The bulls can win this series only if they stay man to man marking.. no double teaming.. Bosh gonna have a monster series because boozer is lame in defence . anyway or the other if bulls defend one on one Miami is in trouble.. all year bulls beating miami because there are no double teaming against miami.. frm you double team miami dat leaves a shooter open and  they shooters will kill you.. one on one defense and hope miami miss dats how we gonna win this one.. props to the boys but I will rest when we win 4.....

You really think it have anybody on that Miami team who could contain either Wade or LeBron one-on-one?  Thibodeau take the same defense they used in Boston and adapt it for Chicago, in targeting James.  Anytime he come into the lane 3-4 defenders converge on him... not quite a double-team, but essentially the same.  Miami just isn't good at executing in the half-court... as I've said all along.  The best way for them to win is to get into the open court and use their superior athleticism... same as I said before.  It was interesting to hear Barkley echo my sentiments almost verbatim.  The thing is, now that they've had 3-4 days to lick their wounds and adjust to the Bulls gameplan, can they get better shots for Wade and James... and can they find room on the floor for Miller and Bibby who are defensive liabilities.  Chalmers needs to make his shots when he's open... and collectively they all have to rebound the basketball.  If they rebound and limit Chicago's second-chance points... they win.  Simple as that... but easier said than done.
Post by: SUPA on May 17, 2011, 01:05:41 PM

Firstly let meh congratulate Chicago on a job well done on Miami. Ah happy dat I did get de chance to come in here before de next game, cuz ah doh want people tuh feel ah only want tuh post when de Heat win, nice. Now let meh put ah few things out there, de chances of Chicago shooting 50 percent beyond de arc again, are how much, no I am sorry, I did not hear you, please repeat. De chances of Wade and James scoring 33 points together in this series again, are how much? okay, now we talking. De chances of Chicago having 31 second chance points (offensive rebounds) again, are how much again, thank you, nice, yuh paying attention, ah like dat.

Ah have more stats for that that game fuh all yuh, but ah see Bakes did ah nice lil job of breaking it down fuh de massive here, so ah will not try and override his numbers. Respect. Supa eh no rum drinking fan, ah does do meh lil research and match past and present stats. Ah doh know if Wade went out and had a  late night out with his folks in Chicago or what, but he wasn't in it at all. But he always come through fuh de Heat, so much love and respect to him still. ESPN please do me a favor, please keep showing de highlights of dat dunk on Wade, you will surely be helping Wade to be at his best for de rest of dis series. You all just do not know de beast, dat you all are waking up, member meh told yuh.

Ah doh if is dat dey does get too confident or relaxed, but dis Miami team love to respond under pressure or when dey ever dey get embarrassed. So wid dat said, look out fuh a huge game from Wade and or James in game 2. Fuh de people dat been following dis game fuh many years, dat know and understand how playoff basketball work. Well de Miami plan is still on track, de plan is always tuh steel one on de road and take care of business when yuh go back tuh Miami. So wid dat said, game 2 is very important. Now, I will be honest, if we lose game 2, which I do not expect at all, but if dat happen, I will start to be very, very concerned, not scared, but concerned. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Bakes on May 17, 2011, 01:34:56 PM
Yeah Supa... good talk.  The stars really align fuh Chicago that first game... Miami failed to challenge them on some of them open jumpers early and the team fell into a groove.  If you know anything about basketball you'd know that good shooting is the product of two things primarily, good mechanical form, and confidence.  Most professionals have good enough form to consistently make an open jumper... but confidence (or "the stroke") comes and goes.  Good shooting is contagious... and the team got hot, and more importantly got hot in the second half, with no intermission to cool them down.  So yeah I say they get "lucky" but in reality they made their own "luck". 

All that said, things aren't likely to repeat themselves in the same manner as game 1.  It very well could be that they win Game 2, but likely that will be for different reasons, if they do.  Should that happen, then yeah... Miami would have dug itself a deep... but not insurmountable hole.  They did concede the first two Games to Dallas back in 2006, before winning the last 4 to win the title.
Post by: Bakes on May 17, 2011, 07:08:27 PM
I like OKC, but I rather see Dirk get his ring... plus Westbrook's play has been irritating me of late.  Let's go Mavs! 
Post by: sinned on May 17, 2011, 09:58:37 PM
Jeff Van Gundy: "If I'm Serge Ibaka, I'm naming my first born son Dirk."

Nuff said. Go Mavs!
Post by: Bitter on May 17, 2011, 10:01:21 PM
Nowitski vs Durant - wow

Dirk:
   FG:12-15
   FT: 24-24
   PTS:48

Durant:
   FG: 10-18
   3PT: 2-5
   FT: 18-19
   PTS: 40
Post by: soccerman on May 18, 2011, 08:01:34 AM
I like OKC, but I rather see Dirk get his ring... plus Westbrook's play has been irritating me of late.  Let's go Mavs! 
Nothing against the Mavs but I can't handle seeing Cuban win a championship, dat man annoying....now self everything will revolve around he.
Post by: Bakes on May 18, 2011, 08:18:31 AM
Nothing against the Mavs but I can't handle seeing Cuban win a championship, dat man annoying....now self everything will revolve around he.

A lot of people grossly misperceive who Cuban is... he just let his passion get the better of him at times.  He single-handedly turn that franchise around once he bought it from Ross Perot... people forget how much of a laughing stock the Mavs was.  That aside, I have a pardna who used to work as the Mavs Dir. of Player Development, and is now the NBA's head of basketball development in Africa... his insights into Cuban was very revealing.  Finally, I've mentioned this here from time to time... 5 yrs ago I read a story about Cuban, he'd made some promise to go work at the local Dairy Queen if the Mavs made the playoffs I think it was.  He honored the promise by going there and serving ice cream for a day... the article also mentioned that he responds to every email he gets.  I send the man ah email telling him how I like how he turned the franchise around and that I root for them except when they playing mih Knicks.  5 o'clock next morning ah get ah response from him.  Made me a fan one time.
Post by: futbolfan on May 18, 2011, 08:31:10 AM

You really think it have anybody on that Miami team who could contain either Wade or LeBron one-on-one?  Thibodeau take the same defense they used in Boston and adapt it for Chicago, in targeting James.  Anytime he come into the lane 3-4 defenders converge on him... not quite a double-team, but essentially the same.  Miami just isn't good at executing in the half-court... as I've said all along.  The best way for them to win is to get into the open court and use their superior athleticism... same as I said before.  It was interesting to hear Barkley echo my sentiments almost verbatim.  The thing is, now that they've had 3-4 days to lick their wounds and adjust to the Bulls gameplan, can they get better shots for Wade and James... and can they find room on the floor for Miller and Bibby who are defensive liabilities.  Chalmers needs to make his shots when he's open... and collectively they all have to rebound the basketball.  If they rebound and limit Chicago's second-chance points... they win.  Simple as that... but easier said than done.
Spot on with the analysis that Chicago is using the same defense that Boston implemented against Wade and James. Easy solution, drive to the middle of the paint and when the 3-4 defenders converge, kick it to the open man. The main problem is that Bibby, Miller and co. have been struggling from beyond the arc. Until Miami make Chicago respect the outside shooting, clogging the middle will be the norm for this entire series. Still Like de Heat
Post by: soccerman on May 18, 2011, 08:44:01 AM

A lot of people grossly misperceive who Cuban is... he just let his passion get the better of him at times.  He single-handedly turn that franchise around once he bought it from Ross Perot... people forget how much of a laughing stock the Mavs was.  That aside, I have a pardna who used to work as the Mavs Dir. of Player Development, and is now the NBA's head of basketball development in Africa... his insights into Cuban was very revealing.  Finally, I've mentioned this here from time to time... 5 yrs ago I read a story about Cuban, he'd made some promise to go work at the local Dairy Queen if the Mavs made the playoffs I think it was.  He honored the promise by going there and serving ice cream for a day... the article also mentioned that he responds to every email he gets.  I send the man ah email telling him how I like how he turned the franchise around and that I root for them except when they playing mih Knicks.  5 o'clock next morning ah get ah response from him.  Made me a fan one time.
quote]
I really don't know much about him like that but the way he comes across rubs me the wrong way, maybe it's just the perception. He did invest in turning that franchise around, so I'll give hom credit there and to be honest he's been reserved during this year's playoffs (a first), guess he grew up a little in that dept. I just couldn't stand seeing him sitting behind his teams bench yelling, screaming, acting like an idiot when he should be bigger than that. So yea he does let his passion get the best of him at times.
Post by: Bakes on May 18, 2011, 08:58:55 AM
I just couldn't stand seeing him sitting behind his teams bench yelling, screaming, acting like an idiot when he should be bigger than that. So yea he does let his passion get the best of him at times.

Getting into it with Kenyon Martin and shit... dai'z exactly what ah mean too... lol  Cuban still mih boy doh.

Futbolfan... this is where I give Chicago credit though, when the ball was kicked out to the wings they were quick enough to recover and guard the outside shot.  I personally think Wade and James need to do two things:

1) try and create less off the dribble, pick their spots.  Have them get passes off the cuts and post ups instead.  To me this is the biggest flaw in LeBron's game... he doesn't have a stone-cold post up game like MJ did late in his career and like Kobe has now.  And LeBron more physically imposing that either of them.

2) LeBron and Wade, if they want to create their own shots need to pull up just short of the help defense and knock down the mid-range shotHe doesn't have a solid mid-range game either... is either the outside shot or getting to the cup.  If LeBron developed a game like Pierce has around the elbows... good lord. 
Post by: sinned on May 18, 2011, 09:47:47 AM
cuban does let his passion get the better of him at times but i'd rather have an owner err on the side of too much passion for his team than too little. too many owners in sports are in it for the financial gain and winning is secondary to them.

cuban pays luxury tax every year to try to get a winning product on the court - how many owners put their money where their mouth is? and it's not like cuban is madly splurging and calling the shots like Al Davis - he has a smart and savvy GM in donnie nelson who runs the show. cuban is one of the most stats-savvy and forward-thinking owners in the league - he's at the MIT Sloan Sports Analytics Conference a few years now sharing his insight on the panel.

plus as a fan, i love to see my owner behave like a fan. i want to see fist pumps and jumping up and down like a regular fan.

cuban does some things wrong but boy does he do a whole lot right.
Post by: giggsy11 on May 18, 2011, 10:42:32 AM
cuban does let his passion get the better of him at times but i'd rather have an owner err on the side of too much passion for his team than too little. too many owners in sports are in it for the financial gain and winning is secondary to them.

cuban pays luxury tax every year to try to get a winning product on the court - how many owners put their money where their mouth is? and it's not like cuban is madly splurging and calling the shots like Al Davis - he has a smart and savvy GM in donnie nelson who runs the show. cuban is one of the most stats-savvy and forward-thinking owners in the league - he's at the MIT Sloan Sports Analytics Conference a few years now sharing his insight on the panel.

plus as a fan, i love to see my owner behave like a fan. i want to see fist pumps and jumping up and down like a regular fan.

cuban does some things wrong but boy does he do a whole lot right.

Abramovich should talk to Cuban about how to not meddle.
Post by: giggsy11 on May 18, 2011, 06:49:13 PM
Miami's 3 will not be good enough to beat Chicago's starting 5 plus their bench. In my opinion that is the challenge Miami is facing.
Post by: Bitter on May 18, 2011, 07:02:07 PM
Anybody else does feel disappointed when Craig Sager shows up wearing a relatively normal looking outfit?

(http://26.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_llf3460amE1qc4izio1_500.jpg)

Oh yeah, After a good start by Miami, Chicago beginning to dominate the boards again

http://craigsagerssuits.tumblr.com/
Post by: giggsy11 on May 18, 2011, 07:05:16 PM
I aint go lie after my Sixers, I will have to adopt Chicago as my second team. I just love how they play, just love it! They also seem like a real set of likable fellas.
Post by: giggsy11 on May 18, 2011, 07:13:12 PM
Anybody else does feel disappointed when Craig Sager shows up wearing a relatively normal looking outfit?

Oh yeah, After a good start by Miami, Chicago beginning to dominate the boards again

Nah Bitter that is a walking Pepto Bismo look. I think he does get real discount on the material that everybody refuses to buy.
Post by: Bakes on May 18, 2011, 07:34:01 PM

Lol... yeah Craig come out kinda tame dey.

All de "dominate" yuh say dey dominating and game still tight.  Difference?  3-point shooting.
Post by: Bakes on May 18, 2011, 09:27:13 PM
Do away with the anomalous stats and it's a different ball game.  And before anybody talk about Haslem, anybody who's watched this dude's career would know this is what he gives you... that mid-range 'J' is his game.  That and rebounding.
Post by: futbolfan on May 18, 2011, 09:30:30 PM
Haslem back series tie, back to South Beach..... :beermug:
Post by: futbolfan on May 18, 2011, 09:35:42 PM
Do away with the anomalous stsats and it's a different ball game.  And before anybody talk about Haslem, anybody who's watched this dude's career would know this is what he gives you... that mid-range 'J' is his game.  That and rebounding.

Yeah...Haslem was a thorn in Dirk's side when Miami beat Dallas for the championship. High energy all game,
now if Bosh could play with half of his intensity.....
Post by: giggsy11 on May 19, 2011, 06:16:20 AM
Alright I am done throwing in my 2cents, just going to watch and enjoy.Plus I think I jumbied the Bulls. 
Post by: soccerman on May 19, 2011, 10:42:04 AM
Yea I enjoy Haslem's game....imagine if he played all season.
Post by: Bakes on May 19, 2011, 03:54:11 PM

Fuh Heat fans... the worry is that he's been out all season.  So is he really in form, or did he only ketch lightning in a bottle fuh dis game.  The concern has to be for Sunday's game, the downside is that he isn't fully fit, and may not be fully back to his true abilities.  The upside is that he getting what, 4 days to rest and recover?

I just like Haslem... he reminds me of another dude who played PF for the Heat, Brian Grant.  The dudes are straight up warriors on the court and true civic-minded gentlemen off the court.  I remember Haslem from his days at UF, and I was never a fan... largely because of his coach, Billy Donovan... I never liked dude, and never liked any of his teams... not Providence back in the day, not any of his ass't stints with Pitino.  So I used to "hate" (mildly) on Haslem and his teammates.  Mike Miller was his teammate at Florida... I still hating on him for that to this day, lol.  But Haslem is a good guy, grow up right there in Miami and decided to stay there instead of leaving for more money.
Post by: Bakes on May 19, 2011, 11:09:10 PM
My boys took it on the chin tonight... but good game from a neutral standpoint.   The huge talking point of course is the benching of Westbrook... is about time.  I like the kid, would definitely call myself a fan, but he has to learn the position.  Not really his fault, he was a shooting guard at UCLA and left after his sophomore season if memory serves correct.  He was never a PG.  Sometimes the toughest lessons are the best lessons.  Get the ball to Durant, you have to subjugate your own game when you have a supernova talent like that waiting on a pass.

What I say about James Harden??  Fear the beard.
Post by: soccerman on May 20, 2011, 07:53:38 AM

Fuh Heat fans... the worry is that he's been out all season.  So is he really in form, or did he only ketch lightning in a bottle fuh dis game.  The concern has to be for Sunday's game, the downside is that he isn't fully fit, and may not be fully back to his true abilities.  The upside is that he getting what, 4 days to rest and recover?

I just like Haslem... he reminds me of another dude who played PF for the Heat, Brian Grant.  The dudes are straight up warriors on the court and true civic-minded gentlemen off the court.  I remember Haslem from his days at UF, and I was never a fan... largely because of his coach, Billy Donovan... I never liked dude, and never liked any of his teams... not Providence back in the day, not any of his ass't stints with Pitino.  So I used to "hate" (mildly) on Haslem and his teammates.  Mike Miller was his teammate at Florida... I still hating on him for that to this day, lol.  But Haslem is a good guy, grow up right there in Miami and decided to stay there instead of leaving for more money.
He he was offered a big pay day elsewhere and declined it to stay in Miami for about 5mil, so I hope things workout for him. Ah wonder if he won a title at UF?
Post by: soccerman on May 20, 2011, 07:55:41 AM
My boys took it on the chin tonight... but good game from a neutral standpoint.   The huge talking point of course is the benching of Westbrook... is about time.  I like the kid, would definitely call myself a fan, but he has to learn the position.  Not really his fault, he was a shooting guard at UCLA and left after his sophomore season if memory serves correct.  He was never a PG.  Sometimes the toughest lessons are the best lessons.  Get the ball to Durant, you have to subjugate your own game when you have a supernova talent like that waiting on a pass.

What I say about James Harden??  Fear the beard.
Harden was a stud last night, I didn't even know the dude had all that ball handling skills. Plus he proved that he can definitely create his own shot, as yuh say fear the beard....
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 20, 2011, 08:48:10 AM
this dallas okc series real exciting,2 ah the best scorers goin head to head.meh money on de texans.
Post by: Bakes on May 20, 2011, 11:02:09 AM
Harden was a stud last night, I didn't even know the dude had all that ball handling skills. Plus he proved that he can definitely create his own shot, as yuh say fear the beard....

I watching Harden ball since he was at Arizona St... dude is a legitimate scorer.  Can get any shot he wants virtually whenever he wants it.  The PAC-10 wasn't nutten to watch while he was there, only real players of note were him, Dermar Derozan and Mayo at USC, Chase Budinger at Arizona and the dude who runs point for the Sixers now, Holliday (Westbrook mighta still been there too, can't remember).  Sadly what most would have remembered Harden for was when he ran over and stepped on Budinger (on purpose) and get suspended.  Even so, OKC took him with what... the 3rd pick?  Can handle, defend and shoot... everything but post-up and rebound, and even then he not terrible.

As for Haslem, nah... Noah, Horford and Brewer (Dallas) won back to back titles in 2006/7 I think it was.  Haslem was done in the League with Miami (winning a ring in 2006) by that time.
Post by: soccerman on May 20, 2011, 01:33:19 PM

I watching Harden ball since he was at Arizona St... dude is a legitimate scorer.  Can get any shot he wants virtually whenever he wants it.  The PAC-10 wasn't nutten to watch while he was there, only real players of note were him, Dermar Derozan and Mayo at USC, Chase Budinger at Arizona and the dude who runs point for the Sixers now, Holliday (Westbrook mighta still been there too, can't remember).  Sadly what most would have remembered Harden for was when he ran over and stepped on Budinger (on purpose) and get suspended.  Even so, OKC took him with what... the 3rd pick?  Can handle, defend and shoot... everything but post-up and rebound, and even then he not terrible.

As for Haslem, nah... Noah, Horford and Brewer (Dallas) won back to back titles in 2006/7 I think it was.  Haslem was done in the League with Miami (winning a ring in 2006) by that time.

:beermug: Doc Rivers even came out and admitted that the Cetics wanted Harden for Perkins but OKC wouldn't give him up so they took Green instead. Plus they confessed the deal was a bad one.
Post by: Bakes on May 22, 2011, 09:35:30 PM
This game underscores the challenge faced by the Bulls... again they kept Wade and James in check and Bosh went off like he did in Game 1, scoreline is similar too, meaning defense ruled... and yet they lost.  Boozer even came out of witness protection to make an appearance with 26 pts.  He even played into the 4th quarter, lol.  Miami just have too much talent and athleticism for them.
Post by: daryn on May 23, 2011, 04:34:30 AM
anybody else notice Miami's crowd? It have times that you can hear a loud "Let's go Heat" chant yet none of the fans that you can actually see are particularly animated. People with good seats don't like to make noise in Miami? Are they piping in artificial fan noise?
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 23, 2011, 10:09:23 PM
mavs on fire tonite.dirk is ah scorin machine.
Post by: sinned on May 23, 2011, 10:20:07 PM
dirk was just amazing down the stretch. okc really missed harden when he fouled out.
Post by: Bakes on May 23, 2011, 10:42:17 PM
My head in books... miss it.
Post by: futbolfan on May 24, 2011, 05:53:29 AM
OKC are choking dogs. KD is a great player, but like Derek Rose, he not ready.
Westbrook has received alot of criticism and deservedly so, but ah tired ah hearing people use him as an excuse when they lose. The coach have to take some blame for this one, yuh cyah have a 15 point lead with 5mins to go at home and lose.
Hats off to Dallas  :beermug:
Post by: Arazi on May 24, 2011, 06:20:50 AM
OKC are choking dogs. KD is a great player, but like Derek Rose, he not ready.
Westbrook has received alot of criticism and deservedly so, but ah tired ah hearing people use him as an excuse when they lose. The coach have to take some blame for this one, yuh cyah have a 15 point lead with 5mins to go at home and lose.
Hats off to Dallas  :beermug:

I don't think you could label them chokers yet tho, they are a young team but I agree Brooks have to take blame for this. As do Durant and Westbrook.

I blame Brooks for not drawing up good plays for the team that would have killed the clock and stretched the floor. He could have put in Maynor or even Nate Robinson to make the Mavericks think about having to guard another shooter but instead he kept with the obvious offense.

I blame Durant for making bad decisions on shots, but as Mark Jackson pointed out, the officials were letting the Mavs get away with a lot more on Durant than the Thunder did on Nowitzski, especially when you look at the very soft call Dirk get to tie the game to send it to OT. But superstars hadda learn to overcome that.

and I still blame Westbrook, as a point guard, his decision making far too suspect. In the first when Thunder couldn't miss, it was Westbrook who started to ice his own offence by making poor shot decisions then poor transition passes. Durant started the game 6 of 6, then only got two more shots for the rest of the quarter! You have look at what your point guard is doing if that happens, is not coincidence that Dallas started to chip at the league during that stretch. He started to play better in the 3rd and they got a run then he reverted again. Plus before Dirk really got out of hand, Westbrook missed two free throws that would have stretched the lead and possibly killed the steam Dirk was trying to build late.

All in all it has Harden fouling out kill the Thunder, because after his playmaking went, their offense died.

I like this Thunder team I hope they don't become perennial chokers because of this.
Post by: Bakes on May 24, 2011, 09:43:10 AM
People overreacting by calling OKC chokers... just as they did when Dallas took a 2-0 lead against the Heat five years ago, only to lose four straight and cede the title.  I ent no expert, but playoff basketball is a different breed of monster and it's next to impossible for inexperienced teams to win.  Is not me, is history say so... and for good reasons.
Post by: sinned on May 24, 2011, 10:28:47 AM
but as Mark Jackson pointed out, the officials were letting the Mavs get away with a lot more on Durant than the Thunder did on Nowitzski, especially when you look at the very soft call Dirk get to tie the game to send it to OT. But superstars hadda learn to overcome that.

I agree the last call was 'soft' (Collison had his arm draped around his waist though) but look at the shots dirk hit down the stretch - easily could have been 'and-1s'. The one from the left side, he got whacked right on his elbow as he was shooting. no call. His shot fakes at the top of the key and then fade-away j. Got hit on that too.
Post by: Arazi on May 24, 2011, 10:32:00 AM
but as Mark Jackson pointed out, the officials were letting the Mavs get away with a lot more on Durant than the Thunder did on Nowitzski, especially when you look at the very soft call Dirk get to tie the game to send it to OT. But superstars hadda learn to overcome that.

I agree the last call was 'soft' (Collison had his arm draped around his waist though) but look at the shots dirk hit down the stretch - easily could have been 'and-1s'. The one from the left side, he got whacked right on his elbow as he was shooting. no call. His shot fakes at the top of the key and then fade-away j. Got hit on that too.

tha's what made even more baffling, the facts that the ref let sooo much go prior, no just on Dirk but on both ends just the call that crucial play..but my partialism to OKC aside..Dirk went nuts..some of those shots he hit were crazy, he deserve to win if you play like that..
Post by: Arazi on May 24, 2011, 10:43:57 AM
People overreacting by calling OKC chokers... just as they did when Dallas took a 2-0 lead against the Heat five years ago, only to lose four straight and cede the title.  I ent no expert, but playoff basketball is a different breed of monster and it's next to impossible for inexperienced teams to win.  Is not me, is history say so... and for good reasons.

I agree, tha's why I rel like this team. Is a youth team and they battling out against veterans who honestly they shouldn't have any chance against, AS YET. Rel man ask me why I backing this side out of all of them, but I just love how much resilience they had shown up till last night. In game 1 and game 3 they fought to the wire despite Dallas dominatiing for most of the game forcing Dallas to play to end. I fed up see bigger stars and bigger teams give up on games like that, so it refreshing to see a young side play like that.
Post by: futbolfan on May 24, 2011, 10:54:35 AM

All de choke and gag talk aside, yuh miss ah classic game last night. Dirk and Kidd took over the game and it was compelling to see the fan reaction after the game.....
Post by: futbolfan on May 24, 2011, 10:56:59 AM

I agree, tha's why I rel like this team. Is a youth team and they battling out against veterans who honestly they shouldn't have any chance against, AS YET. Rel man ask me why I backing this side out of all of them, but I just love how much resilience they had shown up till last night. In game 1 and game 3 they fought to the wire despite Dallas dominatiing for most of the game forcing Dallas to play to end. I fed up see bigger stars and bigger teams give up on games like that, so it refreshing to see a young side play like that.

OKC is a good young team and I respect them. But like all the great teams of yesteryear they have to pay dey dues. Nothing comes easy. Good luck to them in the future  :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on May 24, 2011, 11:03:15 AM
I stop checkin d net when they were up 15 in d 4th. That is y bb is so excitin. Dirk all yuh go bring it bck 2 d west so Kidd can get his ring wit d team he strted wit.
Post by: Bakes on May 24, 2011, 12:12:17 PM
All de choke and gag talk aside, yuh miss ah classic game last night. Dirk and Kidd took over the game and it was compelling to see the fan reaction after the game.....

I know yuh wasn't being too serious... was more a general comment b/c facebook was lit up with pretty much the same sentiments.  It takes time for teams, especially teams without veterans, to learn to win in the playoffs... I've always heard it, but I've also seen it for myself.  It takes poise to run your sets and execute down the stretch, to tune out the crowd, especially on the road, to tell yuhself "no sweat, remember when we was down (      ) and we come back tuh win.  Well all of that requires that you draw on experience, the type of experience you only get thru trial and error.  Now, it's entirely possible that a team of neophytes could come and win it all in their first try... except it's never happened, in large part because experienced teams just have that edge and confidence. 

I like OKC ever since they was in Seattle... true talk, no bandwagon thing.  People like soccerman who know my college basketball loyalties would understand why I am a Jeff Green fan.  When they drafted Durant, and got Green and West in a trade I started to take notice.  They also had Chris Wilcox on that team Durant's first year (team's last in Seattle) and I remember thinking how unique it was that they had 4 players from the DMV (DC-MD-VA).  Westbrook, Harden and Ibaka means that they have a solid core of young players, and have Perkins, Mohammed and my man Collison for good balance.  I think Cook and Sefalosha is some oxygen thieves... but maybe they bringing something to the table that I ent really seeing yet.  OKC will be fine... but as I said two weeks ago

OKC is ah frigging waste... I like Westbrook but he needs discipline in order to grow and Scott Brooks just not providing that right now.  Poor coaching cost them that game... no other way to explain the lack of execution down the stretch.

Scott Brooks is not the coach to lead that team.
Post by: futbolfan on May 24, 2011, 12:38:07 PM

I know yuh wasn't being too serious... was more a general comment b/c facebook was lit up with pretty much the same sentiments.  It takes time for teams, especially teams without veterans, to learn to win in the playoffs... I've always heard it, but I've also seen it for myself.  It takes poise to run your sets and execute down the stretch, to tune out the crowd, especially on the road, to tell yuhself "no sweat, remember when we was down (      ) and we come back tuh win.  Well all of that requires that you draw on experience, the type of experience you only get thru trial and error.  Now, it's entirely possible that a team of neophytes could come and win it all in their first try... except it's never happened, in large part because experienced teams just have that edge and confidence. 

I like OKC ever since they was in Seattle... true talk, no bandwagon thing.  People like soccerman who know my college basketball loyalties would understand why I am a Jeff Green fan.  When they drafted Durant, and got Green and West in a trade I started to take notice.  They also had Chris Wilcox on that team Durant's first year (team's last in Seattle) and I remember thinking how unique it was that they had 4 players from the DMV (DC-MD-VA).  Westbrook, Harden and Ibaka means that they have a solid core of young players, and have Perkins, Mohammed and my man Collison for good balance.  I think Cook and Sefalosha is some oxygen thieves... but maybe they bringing something to the table that I ent really seeing yet.  OKC will be fine... but as I said two weeks ago

Scott Brooks is not the coach to lead that team.
Although he is ah lil up dey in age, Larry Brown would be the perfect coach for this group
Post by: Bakes on May 24, 2011, 04:01:21 PM
Although he is ah lil up dey in age, Larry Brown would be the perfect coach for this group

I beg to differ... for one thing Larry Brown has a very corrosive effect on the teams that he coaches, and more often enough leaves them in the lurch at the end.  That said, he's the last thing that Westbrook needs... if he hasn't started to second guess himself yet after all this criticism, Brown promises to erode whatever confidence he has in himself.  Larry Brown is notoriously hard on his point guards. Just as Augustine (Charlotte), Marbury (NY) and Iverson (Philly).

I'm not a fan, so it could just be my personal bias though.
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 24, 2011, 05:50:56 PM

I beg to differ... for one thing Larry Brown has a very corrosive effect on the teams that he coaches, and more often enough leaves them in the lurch at the end.  That said, he's the last thing that Westbrook needs... if he hasn't started to second guess himself yet after all this criticism, Brown promises to erode whatever confidence he has in himself.  Larry Brown is notoriously hard on his point guards. Just as Augustine (Charlotte), Marbury (NY) and Iverson (Philly).

Yeah, agree wid yuh here, Doug C. would be better, but he wrapped up at Philly.  Westbrook lose dat game fuh dem last nite, mite sound harsh, but he totally messed up on de last 3 possessions.  OKC ha nuttin to be ashamed of though, they growing niceley and will be back for sure
Post by: sinned on May 24, 2011, 06:38:39 PM

Yeah, agree wid yuh here, Doug C. would be better, but he wrapped up at Philly.  Westbrook lose dat game fuh dem last nite, mite sound harsh, but he totally messed up on de last 3 possessions.  OKC ha nuttin to be ashamed of though, they growing niceley and will be back for sure

That's real harsh. Durant took a 35 foot 3 pointer at the buzzer - no blame there? Also what Scott Brooks calling in the huddle? And is about more than 1 man executing an offensive set. Westbrook is culpable no doubt but plenty of blame to go around.
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 24, 2011, 08:07:55 PM
Sinned, Westbrook throw de ball to Durant with time winding down de clock, yeah, there is blame to go around but 3 straight posessions he had de floor cleared for an offensive push like if he is kobe or lebron.  Yeah, de coach deserve some blame too, cyar believe dat was part ah de script.  Anyway, OKC is a young team, there time ought to come not long from now...
Post by: Bitter on May 24, 2011, 09:12:36 PM
And is about more than 1 man executing an offensive set.

Tell that to the Bulls too nah!
Post by: Bakes on May 24, 2011, 10:05:53 PM
I ent go start gloating... yet.  But I call this long time... that Game 1 win was a mirage for Chicago.  Tonight they played even better defense and held Wade in check for most of the game.  Boozer even make a cameo appearance off the witness protection list and his 18 pts (or whatever it is he finish with) neutralized what Bosh offered.  Yet they lost... too much LeBron.  Miami haven't yet had a game where all three stars show up yet they up 3-1.  Just too much firepower for the Bulls and they can't rely on 21 extra points from distance, or 23 extra points from offensive rebounds every game. 

That said I won't be surprised if they come out amped up in game 5 and get Rose and Boozer going early.  They might even win it.  But until they can identify a consistent second option to Rose they not winning this series.  Tonight Rose took 25 shots and make 8.  Do the math... 32%  The pattern has been start off with Bibby guarding him and see if Bibby can make some shots to keep him honest.  Next yuh bring in Chalmers to harrass him more and make him guard both the jumper and the drive.  Second half is ah steady diet of more Chalmers before yuh finish him off with Wade and James.  He score a grand total of 2 points after LeBron switch to guarding him... when James went for the steal and Rose drove and got fouled by Anthony.  That's it.  Shut 'em down.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on May 24, 2011, 10:18:06 PM
they cant identify what they dont have...i still think we getting beat in 5, cant see us winning our next game although we at home.
Post by: Bakes on May 24, 2011, 11:23:00 PM
they cant identify what they dont have...i still think we getting beat in 5, cant see us winning our next game although we at home.

If allyuh get some ah dem calls allyuh get (on de road) tonight and the game as close as it was... allyuh winning easy.  Worst officiated playoffs since 2002... watch de ride.
Post by: Arazi on May 25, 2011, 05:54:23 AM

That's real harsh. Durant took a 35 foot 3 pointer at the buzzer - no blame there? Also what Scott Brooks calling in the huddle? And is about more than 1 man executing an offensive set. Westbrook is culpable no doubt but plenty of blame to go around.

Sinned on that play Durant and Westbrook both have to take major blame. Westbrook as point guard was to run a play to get the ball to Durant in a better position for a better shot, plus even when he did hand off the ball to Durant on that play. he stopped essentially right next to Durant inadvertently limited how many options KD had on the play and making Kidd and Marion's job of contesting and smothering Durant's attempt all the more easier.

I ent go start gloating... yet.  But I call this long time... that Game 1 win was a mirage for Chicago.  Tonight they played even better defense and held Wade in check for most of the game.  Boozer even make a cameo appearance off the witness protection list and his 18 pts (or whatever it is he finish with) neutralized what Bosh offered.  Yet they lost... too much LeBron.  Miami haven't yet had a game where all three stars show up yet they up 3-1.  Just too much firepower for the Bulls and they can't rely on 21 extra points from distance, or 23 extra points from offensive rebounds every game. 

That said I won't be surprised if they come out amped up in game 5 and get Rose and Boozer going early.  They might even win it.  But until they can identify a consistent second option to Rose they not winning this series.  Tonight Rose took 25 shots and make 8.  Do the math... 32%  The pattern has been start off with Bibby guarding him and see if Bibby can make some shots to keep him honest.  Next yuh bring in Chalmers to harrass him more and make him guard both the jumper and the drive.  Second half is ah steady diet of more Chalmers before yuh finish him off with Wade and James.  He score a grand total of 2 points after LeBron switch to guarding him... when James went for the steal and Rose drove and got fouled by Anthony.  That's it.  Shut 'em down.

I find rel ppl have been hard on Boozer, in game 3 he had 26pts and 17 rebounds and men was still saying he was anonymous in the series. Thing is he's been playing better the longer the playoffs went on, but Rose still not really feeding him. A good bit of Chicago's good offense had Boozer involved last night, but in the clutch Rose sorta pulled a Westbrook and didn't make plays for his teammates. Chicago could have won the game last night if Rose didn't think he had to do it by himself.
Post by: futbolfan on May 25, 2011, 07:03:54 AM
Great game by both teams but at the end of the day the cream rises to the top.
Not sure if Gabrielle keeping Wade up all night, but he looking energetic during the warm ups and pregame, but he has been struggling in this series. Missed dunks,layups, turnovers etc...He is due for a breakout game soon.
Post by: futbolfan on May 25, 2011, 07:07:36 AM

Looking back at game 1, take away all dem second chance points and 3 point shooting, the Bulls would have been swept .
Post by: soccerman on May 25, 2011, 09:52:04 AM

If allyuh get some ah dem calls allyuh get (on de road) tonight and the game as close as it was... allyuh winning easy.  Worst officiated playoffs since 2002... watch de ride.

Last night was the bulls game to win, Deng stepped up and provided some buckets along with Boozer (who I find is real lala). It easy to sit back and say this now but wid the game tied with 8 secs or how much it was, Rose 1 on 1 against Lebron is a difficult task. I didn't understand why they didn't run a pick or something to give Rose room to shoot or even Deng since he was having a decent game. Like the coach say "let's in bound it to Rose and everyone get out the away and be prepared to rebound", at the end of the day, Miami has too much firepower for the Bulls.
Post by: Bakes on May 25, 2011, 10:21:29 AM
I find rel ppl have been hard on Boozer, in game 3 he had 26pts and 17 rebounds and men was still saying he was anonymous in the series. Thing is he's been playing better the longer the playoffs went on, but Rose still not really feeding him. A good bit of Chicago's good offense had Boozer involved last night, but in the clutch Rose sorta pulled a Westbrook and didn't make plays for his teammates. Chicago could have won the game last night if Rose didn't think he had to do it by himself.

There's no way to really defend Boozer's play nah... the man has been a non-factor most of the playoffs.  He averaging 13 points a game in the playoffs and hardly have been on the floor in the 4th quarter.  To his credit he actually raised his average to 17 pts a game versus Miami, but that's largely on the strength of the last two games. These are his scoring totals for the series: 14 pts, 7 pts, 26 pts and 20 pts last night.  Luol Deng outplaying him and Deng ent even seeing as many touches as Boozer.  Boozer playing around 35 mins a game (invisible in the 4th as ah say) compared to Deng's 44... and Deng chasing LeBron whole game.   

Is not like they asking Boozer to play a lot of defense... he guarding Joel Anthony.  Noah is the one with the hard task of guarding Bosh. And is not like Boozer has been in foul trouble neither.  To be fair again, his numbers this season and this playoffs are right around his career figures... but they give that fella a huge contract envisioning him as being the difference-maker.  If people hard on Boozer is for good reason... ah mean, how you go refer to the Miami stars as "the Big Two"... trying to diss Bosh and Bosh outplaying yuh?  He had 26pts in Game 2, big deal... Bosh had 34.  In fact here are Bosh's point totals next to Boozers (in parentheses): 30 (14), 10 (7), 34 (26), 22 (20).  And Bosh giving Miami 41 mins per game.  Boozer is ah friggin waste... all he good for is one gallery dunk per game... somebody will drive and feed him fuh ah wide open dunk, he finally do something, den pose, scream, flex and carry on like he dominating or sumting.
Post by: soccerman on May 25, 2011, 02:45:39 PM

There's no way to really defend Boozer's play nah... the man has been a non-factor most of the playoffs.  He averaging 13 points a game in the playoffs and hardly have been on the floor in the 4th quarter.  To his credit he actually raised his average to 17 pts a game versus Miami, but that's largely on the strength of the last two games. These are his scoring totals for the series: 14 pts, 7 pts, 26 pts and 20 pts last night.  Luol Deng outplaying him and Deng ent even seeing as many touches as Boozer.  Boozer playing around 35 mins a game (invisible in the 4th as ah say) compared to Deng's 44... and Deng chasing LeBron whole game.   

Is not like they asking Boozer to play a lot of defense... he guarding Joel Anthony.  Noah is the one with the hard task of guarding Bosh. And is not like Boozer has been in foul trouble neither.  To be fair again, his numbers this season and this playoffs are right around his career figures... but they give that fella a huge contract envisioning him as being the difference-maker.  If people hard on Boozer is for good reason... ah mean, how you go refer to the Miami stars as "the Big Two"... trying to diss Bosh and Bosh outplaying yuh?  He had 26pts in Game 2, big deal... Bosh had 34.  In fact here are Bosh's point totals next to Boozers (in parentheses): 30 (14), 10 (7), 34 (26), 22 (20).  And Bosh giving Miami 41 mins per game.  Boozer is ah friggin waste... all he good for is one gallery dunk per game... somebody will drive and feed him fuh ah wide open dunk, he finally do something, den pose, scream, flex and carry on like he dominating or sumting.

Fuh real...not to mention all the 3 point plays he could've converted, I watch that man get foul and missing simple lay-ups for the and 1.
Post by: Bakes on May 25, 2011, 04:24:31 PM
On a differen note than the playoffs talk... the New York Times currently has a feature on the crossover dribble (http://video.nytimes.com/video/2011/05/25/sports/basketball/100000000831937/the-crossover-on-display.html?ref=sports), where the masters of the move talk about their technique and how they learned it.  I didn't want to create a whole new thread, and since we have a couple days between games ah figure I'd stick it in here.  Featured are Timmy Hardaway, Dwayne Wade and a couple fellow Hoyas, Allen Iverson, and his "teacher" Dean Berry. 

Dean is a pardna ah mine... we play nuff pick-up ball at Georgetown, and having been caught a couple times by him I can attest as to how deadly that crossover was.  Real cool fella (Jamaican at that, lol) from Va. by way of Queens, now living in South Florida.  I always heard that it was he who teach Iverson the crossover, but nice to actually see A.I. give him his props.  Have to give a shout out to Dwayne "Pearl" Washington too... even though he's a Syracuse Orangeman.  We went to the same HS in Brooklyn, although he was there before my time.  He, Connie Hawkins and Lenny Wilkens help put my old high school on the map, and today we finally back on top running things in New York (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=53131.0).
Post by: futbolfan on May 25, 2011, 05:44:04 PM
On a differen note than the playoffs talk... the New York Times currently has a feature on the crossover dribble (http://video.nytimes.com/video/2011/05/25/sports/basketball/100000000831937/the-crossover-on-display.html?ref=sports), where the masters of the move talk about their technique and how they learned it.  I didn't want to create a whole new thread, and since we have a couple days between games ah figure I'd stick it in here.  Featured are Timmy Hardaway, Dwayne Wade and a couple fellow Hoyas, Allen Iverson, and his "teacher" Dean Berry. 

Dean is a pardna ah mine... we play nuff pick-up ball at Georgetown, and having been caught a couple times by him I can attest as to how deadly that crossover was.  Real cool fella (Jamaican at that, lol) from Va. by way of Queens, now living in South Florida.  I always heard that it was he who teach Iverson the crossover, but nice to actually see A.I. give him his props.  Have to give a shout out to Dwayne "Pearl" Washington too... even though he's a Syracuse Orangeman.  We went to the same HS in Brooklyn, although he was there before my time.  He, Connie Hawkins and Lenny Wilkens help put my old high school on the map, and today we finally back on top running things in New York (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=53131.0).
Yooo  AI cross the sh%^& outa  Antonio Daniels in the first part of that clip. He is one player ah miss seeing play.
Post by: Bakes on May 25, 2011, 06:18:10 PM
Yooo  AI cross the sh%^& outa  Antonio Daniels in the first part of that clip. He is one player ah miss seeing play.

Make him fall down twice... just in case he didn't understand what happen de first time  :rotfl: :rotfl:

meanwhile... I dey talking 'bout we have a couple days between games, clean fuhgetting (again!) that de Mavs/Thunder game on tonight.
Post by: Bakes on May 25, 2011, 09:05:55 PM
I realize tonight what my problem with Westbrook's game is... is not that he shooting TOO much, is that too often he shoots as the first option, without passing the ball or trying to run sets.  Tonight he's taken a ton of shots, but most of those have come as a result of second touches, or from him playing off the ball.  Durant has given him a couple sweet passes... but the difference maker, not surprisingly, has been Harden running point in the 3rd quarter.

-------------------------

EDIT:  Game over, series over.  Time to go get Dirk his ring.

Tough luck OKC, take heart your time will come.  James Harden= baller!!

Post by: futbolfan on May 26, 2011, 02:39:56 PM
Ah cyah see or hear from man like warmonga since de Chi v Mia first game.... :waiting:
Post by: weary1969 on May 26, 2011, 09:21:49 PM
Repeat of the 06 finals  :praying: 4 a different result.
Post by: Bakes on May 26, 2011, 09:29:13 PM
Adios Chica(n't)go... if yuh cyah stand de HEAT get out de playoffs!!
Post by: sinned on May 26, 2011, 11:01:44 PM
Repeat of the 06 finals  :praying: 4 a different result.
cosign
Post by: soccerman on May 27, 2011, 08:41:24 AM
I cyar see Supa these days, like my boy celebrating down in South FL and forget we on here. Anyway congrats partner, you guys were impressive during the series. With 2 mins left I say to myself game over, game 6 but Chicago couldn't handle the pressure the Heat put on them and Lebron was clutch. Miami peak at the right time, should be an entertaining final series :beermug:
Post by: soccerman on May 27, 2011, 08:49:56 AM

Make him fall down twice... just in case he didn't understand what happen de first time  :rotfl: :rotfl:

meanwhile... I dey talking 'bout we have a couple days between games, clean fuhgetting (again!) that de Mavs/Thunder game on tonight.
You remember the two crossovers AI ress on Jordan in his rookie year I believe, my boy crossed him bring it back and crossed him again. MJ swung and grabbed nothing but O2, to make matters worse AI nailed the jumper and posed with the follow through....nasty!
Post by: Bitter on May 27, 2011, 02:47:54 PM
I think both these series could be characterized by experience winning out.
Especially in the case of Chicago, they had the leas in all the games i believe.
in game 4 in particular, the 2 isolation plays with Rose and Lebron was just foolishness. They should have run a play, a pick and roll, something, and look for the open man... Next year the Wizards will show them how it's done  ::)
Post by: Bakes on May 27, 2011, 06:41:50 PM
Bitter... in my humble opinion (something I almost never have, lol) the iso's were the right call.  If you look at the way that the Heat had been playing the pick and rolls, it was straight out of an old Pat Riley playbook.  As a Knicks fan I can tell you that one thing we were famous for under Benedict Riley was blitzing the ball handler on the pick and roll.  Anthony Mason or Charles Oakely would squeeze hard off the pick and send him back towards mid-court rather than letting him turn the corner.  That's exactly what the Heat did to Rose. 

Rose's strenght is in his one-on-one game, if you bring a screener into play you're also bringing another defender into the play to trap Rose.  Chicago has no one in the screening game who really threatened the Heat... you need a big (has to be a big team mate because you want to force his big defender into a mismatch covering Rose) who is a threat to shoot.  Kurt Thomas fits the bill (and again as an ex-Knick I can tell you he's deadly with that mid-range shot) but he wasn't on the court.  Boozer is a so-so spot up shooter... so the strategy on the iso wasn't that bad... the defense was just that much better.  Final note on Kurt Thomas... love that guy, his grit and hustle personified everything that was the Knicks under Van Gundy.  Was upset when we traded him to Phoenix... to me he will always be a Knickerbocker, sorry that he won't get a shot at a title, at least not for another year.
Post by: Bakes on May 27, 2011, 07:25:53 PM
I'm not going to beat my chest... but it feels kinda good to see that most of what I said early on has come to pass where it comes to this series.  Miami really just needed to focus on defensive rebounding after Game 1 and limit the second-chance opportunities for the Bulls.  The Bulls are not a good 3-point shooting team so I really didn't think they could repeat their Game 1 performance of 10-20 (making that many and making such a high percentage at that).  For the series they shot 39 for 118 (33%), which isn't great but not terrible.  Take away Game 1 however and they shot 29 for 98 (29.5%) the rest of the way.

As for Boozer, Michael Wilbon  (http://sports.espn.go.com/chicago/nba/columns/story?columnist=wilbon_michael&id=6598222) put it best on ESPN.com:

But one has to wonder about Carlos Boozer and whether work will be the answer for him. His 1-for-6 shooting performance in Game 5 was pathetic. He recorded nearly as many personal fouls (four) as points (five). Players from other teams around the league privately ridiculed Boozer for being less effective than 38-year-old Kurt Thomas, who makes a fraction of what Boozer makes. The Miami players, while saying nothing privately, couldn't wait for the locker-room doors to close to congratulate Bosh (20 points, 10 rebounds, four blocked shots) for torching Boozer, who had the nerve to refuse to include Bosh in any discussion about Miami's talented trio ("big two," Boozer said repeatedly). Bosh proved to be not only a damn good player but also a great teammate in that he continually suffered insults and indignities but shut his mouth and played at a higher level than some of the knuckleheads criticizing him. Bosh is a keeper. The Bulls had better find a couple of more guys, whatever position they play, just like him, guys short on excuses and long on performance.

5pts, 4 fouls in arguably the biggest game of his career... waste of time.
Post by: Bitter on May 27, 2011, 07:35:07 PM
Bakes,
The FIRST iso was ok, imo,  but the 2nd one was basically putting your entire season on an all-or-nothing play. In my mind before that whole thing went down I was thinking Deng would be the man to make that Kurt Thomas shot you talking about.
Post by: Bakes on May 27, 2011, 07:41:40 PM
Bakes,
The FIRST iso was ok, imo,  but the 2nd one was basically putting your entire season on an all-or-nothing play. In my mind before that whole thing went down I was thinking Deng would be the man to make that Kurt Thomas shot you talking about.

I thought about that scenario too... the only problem is that Deng not that big, so he would have been guarded by a smaller defender.  Now to be honest I don't remember who the Heat had on the floor besides Wade, Bosh and James... and to your point, yuh could argue that getting anybody else to guard him but LeBron would have been victory.
Post by: soccerman on May 27, 2011, 07:47:56 PM
Bakes,

I thought about that scenario too... the only problem is that Deng not that big, so he would have been guarded by a smaller defender.  Now to be honest I don't remember who the Heat had on the floor besides Wade, Bosh and James... and to your point, yuh could argue that getting anybody else to guard him but LeBron would have been victory.

That's what I couldn't understand as well. I didn't mind Rose getting the last shot but an iso against Lebron under 10 secs, in most cases, advantage Lebron. If someone could've screened Lebron I know Rose is quick enough to get a shot off with a little more room even if another defender has to pick him up off the dribble.
Post by: Bakes on May 27, 2011, 08:20:18 PM
That's what I couldn't understand as well. I didn't mind Rose getting the last shot but an iso against Lebron under 10 secs, in most cases, advantage Lebron. If someone could've screened Lebron I know Rose is quick enough to get a shot off with a little more room even if another defender has to pick him up off the dribble.

...or get past him to the cup for a bucket and/or foul.  I don't think either of you are wrong... just saying that I could kinda see the thinking behind the iso.  Remember, that play at the end of regulation aside (and they MUST have been thinking that was an aberration), nobody in his prior two years had shown the ability to stay in front of Rose off the dribble.
Post by: Bitter on May 27, 2011, 11:29:16 PM

...or get past him to the cup for a bucket and/or foul.  I don't think either of you are wrong... just saying that I could kinda see the thinking behind the iso.  Remember, that play at the end of regulation aside (and they MUST have been thinking that was an aberration), nobody in his prior two years had shown the ability to stay in front of Rose off the dribble.

True. I guess the thinking was that Lebron couldn't do that twice in a row. What immediately came to mind for me was the 1993 finals game 6. If Thibodeau was coaching then Jordan was the only person was going to touch the ball. After all, he was the best player on the planet. He was the only Bulls player to score in the 4th qtr. Instead, they draw up a play, then every bulls player on the court touch the ball. I will concede that man for man, that bulls team was much better than this one, and the Heat play better defense than the Suns.

http://www.youtube.com/v/GnAr4I3-Z48

Post by: futbolfan on May 28, 2011, 06:14:05 AM

True. I guess the thinking was that Lebron couldn't do that twice in a row. What immediately came to mind for me was the 1993 finals game 6. If Thibodeau was coaching then Jordan was the only person was going to touch the ball. After all, he was the best player on the planet. He was the only Bulls player to score in the 4th qtr. Instead, they draw up a play, then every bulls player on the court touch the ball. I will concede that man for man, that bulls team was much better than this one, and the Heat play better defense than the Suns.

http://www.youtube.com/v/GnAr4I3-Z48

Even  'til this day man still swearing up and down that Jordan was the one who brought the ball up, dribble and find Paxson  for the wide open jumpshot.

Post by: Bakes on May 28, 2011, 10:19:12 AM
Good call Bitter... can't say that I particular thought of that immediately (hadn't thought much of that since way back then... I was in the midst of Bulls antipathy then, lol), but yeah that might have worked too.  I could see Korver spotting up off a Deng or Rose drive.  Give Thibodeaux time though... even Phil had to have a couple years in order to hone his craft.
Post by: Controversial on May 30, 2011, 12:18:45 PM
the bulls played well despite losing to miami, it was a matter of experience and the heat having an all round better core of players.

rose is a sight to see, i enjoy watching that youth play ball, lebron however is the premier player in the league

i called it since his high school days and i will stick to it now, he will be great and will win championships

the heat surprised me this year, because they gelled as a team faster than i thought they would, so ah eating some crow with that, i thought next year would be their year, and the celts would be back to the championship, i called that wrong, the heat surprised me which was good as well

the heat will win the championship and lebron will start his path towards nba greatness 8)
Post by: Bakes on May 31, 2011, 03:17:54 PM
The one thing I will criticize LeBron for is his post game... both offensively and defensively.  There's no way a fella that big and strong shouldn't be volunteering to guard every position on the court.  Against Boston I was sure he woulda raise he hand and ask to guard KG.  Against Dallas, the Heat could win even if Dirk goes off... but to win comfortably they need to keep him in check.  They need somebody big enough, strong enough and quick enough to make life difficult for him. 

You don't want LeBron to get in foul trouble... but I'd put him on Dirk at the start and challenge him to put up 40 on LeBron.  He could shoot over him... but Miami ent have no 7-footers anyways (other than Z, who ent play in about 10 yrs), so Dirk shooting over everybody on the team.  Dirk post game still developing and he not all that strong so LeBron should be able to push him away from the paint, be athletic enough to challenge the shots and to stay with him on the drive.  Bosh could as well, but he's not that great a position defender... more a situational or weak-side help defender.  Should be an interesting series.... I'd like for both LeBro or Dirk to win their ring, but the heart telling me Dirk window of opportunity smaller.  Let's go Mavs!
Post by: daryn on May 31, 2011, 05:59:40 PM
I'd like for both LeBro or Dirk to win their ring, but the heart telling me Dirk window of opportunity smaller.  Let's go Mavs!

Exactly how I feel. LeBron playing incredible and I'm happy for him but if I had my way he'd wait one more year to get the ring.

If Dirk, Kidd and Peja could all get rings in one swoop, for me, that would be a great end to what I think was the best season I've ever followed.

edit: I forget to add Marion (and possibly Caron Butler if he makes it back) to the list of players I'd like to see win an NBA final. By my count the Mavs roster has 29 all-star appearances among players with no ring (Dirk 10, Kidd 10, Marion 4, Peja 3, Caron 2). That must be a record or close.
Post by: sinned on May 31, 2011, 07:04:20 PM
let's go mavs!

dirk, go get your ring
Post by: Bakes on May 31, 2011, 08:36:49 PM
I'd like for both LeBro or Dirk to win their ring, but the heart telling me Dirk window of opportunity smaller.  Let's go Mavs!

Exactly how I feel. LeBron playing incredible and I'm happy for him but if I had my way he'd wait one more year to get the ring.

If Dirk, Kidd and Peja could all get rings in one swoop, for me, that would be a great end to what I think was the best season I've ever followed.

edit: I forget to add Marion (and possibly Caron Butler if he makes it back) to the list of players I'd like to see win an NBA final. By my count the Mavs roster has 29 all-star appearances among players with no ring (Dirk 10, Kidd 10, Marion 4, Peja 3, Caron 2). That must be a record or close.

No love fuh Terry?

Huge win for Miami... great bench play by Haslem and Chalmers.  Still the three stars yet to show up and Miami still looking dominant.  Mavs need more from Dirk and more from the bench.
Post by: daryn on June 02, 2011, 06:30:38 AM

No love fuh Terry?

Huge win for Miami... great bench play by Haslem and Chalmers.  Still the three stars yet to show up and Miami still looking dominant.  Mavs need more from Dirk and more from the bench.

Yeah, I really shouldn't have left out Terry. Don't know how I managed that. I was actually living in Atl during most of his time there. He was a big part of the team actually being watchable.

big game tonight for the Mavs. Winning the 3 straight home games in the middle of the series is a difficult proposition.
Post by: Bakes on June 02, 2011, 09:46:28 AM
Yeah, I really shouldn't have left out Terry. Don't know how I managed that. I was actually living in Atl during most of his time there. He was a big part of the team actually being watchable.

big game tonight for the Mavs. Winning the 3 straight home games in the middle of the series is a difficult proposition.

But as we... and Dallas know, there is recent precedent for that. Tougher road to hoe with Dirk suffering the torn tendon in his finger though.
Post by: Dutty on June 02, 2011, 12:47:17 PM
do you think you could you make that sig a little bigger, ah squintin just to see it
Post by: Controversial on June 02, 2011, 12:52:05 PM
do you think you could you make that sig a little bigger, ah squintin just to see it
Post by: Bitter on June 02, 2011, 09:47:55 PM
Unreal!

The Mavs just made this a series.
Post by: Bakes on June 02, 2011, 10:10:28 PM
Unreal!

The Mavs just made this a series.

I dunno why Royal gone and make ah next thread... now we have to shift de talk over dey  :D