Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on May 06, 2011, 04:40:31 AM

Title: Warriors June 1 friendly off
Post by: Tallman on May 06, 2011, 04:40:31 AM
Warriors June 1 friendly off.
By Nigel Simon (Guardian).

New Soca Warriors coach, German Otto Pfister will have to wait until the August 10 Fifa international date to see his new charges in action.

This after it was disclosed by T&T Football Federation technical director, Keith Look Loy the federation was finding it difficult to source a suitable opponent for the June 1, international Fifa date.

Look Loy, who was part of the technical committee which selected the 73-year-old for national coach made the disclosure yesterday, when contacted by telephone.

Prior to leaving for the United Kingdom last month to hold discussions with English-born players who are eligible to represent T&T, the German said he was eager to see the Soca Warriors come up respectable opponents on June 1 and August 10.

But contacted yesterday, Look Loy said the intended encounter has been shelved as the local federation is having difficulty to source quality opposition.

Look Loy explained, “The problem is that all the top teams in Concacaf will be involved in their final preparations for the Gold Cup which runs from June 5 - 25 in the USA.

“It is the same situation with the top South American countries. They are all preparing for the Copa America in Argentina which kicks off on July 1 and will be engaged in friendly matches which have been organised already, or in some instances training camps.

“Pfister said he wanted to play a team of quality and outside of the teams in the Concacaf Gold Cup and Copa America, we don’t think there are any major teams which are available.

As an alternative Look Loy said, the coach was looking at possibly a training camp to be held overseas where the locally-based players and the players he invites will come together.

Asked if any thought was put into arranging a friendly with a team from Africa, Europe or Asia, Look Loy said it would be costly to bring such teams to T&T shores.

He further explained that part of the reason T&T was finding it difficult to attract top quality opposition was due to its current Fifa world ranking.
Title: Re: Warriors June 1 friendly off
Post by: madness on May 06, 2011, 04:50:54 AM
wow interesting
Post by: FF on May 06, 2011, 05:59:08 AM
steups dem fellas trying to organize ah friendly in 3 weeks...

get allyuh facking act together and do a yearly muddercant calender
Post by: andre samuel on May 06, 2011, 06:15:35 AM
 :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o

Here we go again!! :-[ :-\
Post by: Touches on May 06, 2011, 06:43:55 AM
Alyuh was expecting anything different...look Montserrat available.

Yuh feel dem didnt fully well know that all this time...I sure Otto must be went Europe match hunting as well on his last trip.

But in trute and in fact...playing we ent benefiting yuh at this time.

Post by: Brownsugar on May 06, 2011, 06:58:42 AM

WE GOING BRAZIL!!!

:wavetowel: :wavetowel: :party: :party:
Post by: FireBrand on May 06, 2011, 07:15:45 AM
De more things change, de more they stay de same. So much for the TTFF turning a new page... Loud flickin' steups!  ::)
Post by: D.H.W on May 06, 2011, 07:19:03 AM
Post by: socachynee on May 06, 2011, 07:20:38 AM
Same Khaki pants
last minute ting

de only ting I agree wid is de lower your ranking de less your higher rank teams want anyting to do wid yah

Post by: weary1969 on May 06, 2011, 07:29:27 AM
Alyuh was expecting anything different.

ENTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT
De more things change, de more they stay de same. Loud flickin' steups!  ::)

Fire doh sin yuh soul over dem fellas.
Post by: weary1969 on May 06, 2011, 07:29:52 AM
Was it ever on?
Post by: kicker on May 06, 2011, 07:32:55 AM
Bottom line is that no quality team wants to play us. 
Post by: trinikev on May 06, 2011, 07:46:07 AM
Bottom line is that no quality team wants to play us. 

Exactly. This is the reality of our situation right now.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on May 06, 2011, 07:53:05 AM
exactly...most quality teams have had their friendlies lined up long before..and hopefully this shows that otto was serious about not wasting time with garbage opposition
Post by: Peong on May 06, 2011, 08:44:38 AM
While they at it why don't they search for some quality administrators as well.
Post by: tempo on May 06, 2011, 09:13:46 AM
This is unbelievable on several fronts and shows the incompetence of the people running day to day football operations in T&T.

1. Even though Pfister is quoted as saying he wants to avoid playing South America and CONCACAF teams for the June friendly, Look Loy says teams from those regions were busy with their preparations for Copa America and Gold Cup and is a major cause for them not being to find an opponent

2. Having a training camp during fifa dates don't carry the same requirement for players to report as a game would. Point being that once the Europe based players' regular seasons are over, they are on vacation with their families and a national team can't force them or their clubs to report to such a camp.

3. Having a training camp in Europe would carry a significant expense itself. Why then, can't they play a team over there rather than bringing them to "T&T shores"?

4. The most stunning of the series of stunning statements is this: “Pfister said he wanted to play a team of quality and outside of the teams in the Concacaf Gold Cup and Copa America, we don’t think there are any major teams which are available.   So, I guess there are no quality teams in Africa or Asia? Not only are quality teams in Africa and Asia,  we can also meet them in England.... oh yeah, I forgot JAW completely screwed that option up. Folks, we are not seeing another World Cup and you can trace this back to the impasse. God don't like ugly.
Post by: supporter on May 06, 2011, 09:34:56 AM

HAHAHA i guess dey guyanese hook ups on holiday?
Post by: dreamer on May 06, 2011, 10:05:38 AM

Also, what makes me angry is the amount of traitor-like, self-serving sabotage that went into the facilitation of our ranking crash by Jackula and his lapdog chronies. Truly sickening. How many contracts lost because of the pathetic drop well below the rank of 70
Post by: madness on May 06, 2011, 10:06:26 AM
it's going to be difficult now but lets c what happens now
Post by: MEP on May 06, 2011, 10:41:15 AM
Here is the thing what teams are we looking to play for Mook Loy to say is due to rue FIFA rankings what about countries like Wales Ireland or the smaller eastern European countries but them fellas so inherently dishonest and disorganized.
Post by: Big Magician on May 06, 2011, 10:59:06 AM
these dates set up by FIFA for a very long time now...very long.. from what i read recently...its like 4 years...
this is terrible news....sad
Post by: DeSoWa on May 06, 2011, 12:24:58 PM
It's Latas fault!  ::)

Post by: 100% Barataria on May 06, 2011, 12:43:08 PM
Labourers ready to roll, w/o lights and all
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 06, 2011, 12:47:06 PM
Here is the thing what teams are we looking to play for Mook Loy to say is due to rue FIFA rankings what about countries like Wales Ireland or the smaller eastern European countries but them fellas so inherently dishonest and disorganized.

exactly ..... 
Post by: soccerman on May 06, 2011, 01:11:28 PM
What allyuh worried about? If we ain play in the next 2 years our rankings will improve significantly, den everybody go want tuh play we for warm ups before WC. This was a carefully designed plan, genius if you ask me.
Post by: FF on May 06, 2011, 01:44:45 PM
Labourers ready to roll, w/o lights and all

We might be a better match up than WASA or Guyana
Post by: kicker on May 06, 2011, 01:49:51 PM

I hear that and all is last minute all things being relative
Post by: Big Magician on May 06, 2011, 04:05:08 PM
Tallman...E man..Flex

please post the FIFA dates for the last 2 years and lets see if we played on them...and against which team
Post by: Controversial on May 06, 2011, 05:30:40 PM
one step forward and 2 steps back, pfister have to put up with the papyshow

why didn't we play against ireland, wales, finland or tukey or saudi arabia, i don't understand ttff logic when coming to organzing a friendly on a fifa date.

look loy was getting praise from some members on here but he has yet to impress me other than his insistance on pfister
Post by: jai john on May 06, 2011, 07:21:16 PM
This is one time i agree wid de TTFF ...we have to rush ah friendly ...de coach is 73 !

lets see ..T&T wants a friendly .....given our recent track record and the naming of a new coach it should not be too difficult ..after all we are on the up right ? we now have a german coach ...who probably is less german than at least one trini I know ...given his former assignments ... but is ah start ... we going Brazil ...once de USA team passing through POS ..with seats available !

I remember the pendulum story ...must have used it on this forum at least 5 years running ...still is on the button ....no matter how it swings it comes to rest in the same place everytime .... like de TTFF...not a new ship folks ..just the same rusty vessel with a new coat of paint ...wont take too long for the underclothes to be revealed ...

I may see a real football effort in my life time but I seriously doubt it ..not with these football enzymes running the show . IF I had my druthers I would push for William Munro for the next coaching job ...at least he could put on a good show ..
So its the same ole same ole ....from the most promising organisation in T&T ...promising and then more promises ...while another generation of young aspirants are hoping for a better future based on football ...... :'(
Post by: MEP on May 06, 2011, 08:03:06 PM
This is one time i agree wid de TTFF ...we have to rush ah friendly ...de coach is 73 !

lets see ..T&T wants a friendly .....given our recent track record and the naming of a new coach it should not be too difficult ..after all we are on the up right ? we now have a german coach ...who probably is less german than at least one trini I know ...given his former assignments ... but is ah start ... we going Brazil ...once de USA team passing through POS ..with seats available !

I remember the pendulum story ...must have used it on this forum at least 5 years running ...still is on the button ....no matter how it swings it comes to rest in the same place everytime .... like de TTFF...not a new ship folks ..just the same rusty vessel with a new coat of paint ...wont take too long for the underclothes to be revealed ...

I may see a real football effort in my life time but I seriously doubt it ..not with these football enzymes running the show . IF I had my druthers I would push for William Munro for the next coaching job ...at least he could put on a good show ..
So its the same ole same ole ....from the most promising organisation in T&T ...promising and then more promises ...while another generation of young aspirants are hoping for a better future based on football ...... :'(
Yow dude..there is an international freakin calendar..The TTFF is a set of misfits as this day for friendlies was set over a year ago....so go ahead agree with them.
Post by: royal on May 06, 2011, 08:49:44 PM
Give me ah G...... give me ah U ............ etc,etc
Post by: Big Magician on May 07, 2011, 05:32:33 AM
"This after it was disclosed by T&T Football Federation technical director, Keith Look Loy the federation was finding it difficult to source a suitable opponent for the June 1, international Fifa date"

when was this made official ??
Post by: tempo on May 07, 2011, 10:40:35 AM
It's for years now that LP's recommendations and efforts have run opposite to the direction taken by Look Loy, Corneal, Shabazz, and Groden. If there is an official change to the TD post  it only comes long after he was marginalized and undermined for years by that same group. But, that seems to be how folks like it. The deterioration of the national programs since '07 and recent confusion of the June friendly is clear sign that LP hasn't been a key player in the TTFF for years.
Post by: gawd on pitch on May 07, 2011, 11:23:45 AM
I think we will get a friendly on June 1st, if not then pretty soon after. If that ends up being the case, I guarantee it will be the usual suspects: St Vincent, Grenada, Guyana or St Kitts. 

I understand  that it comes down to money in order to play the bigger competition. However, take for instance the JA football federation, they have had much more financial difficulties than TTFF, but for some reason JA continues to generate interest for friendlies. Especially friendlies from true football nations. 

As far as I am concerned the TTFF needs to work more on their marketing and communication strategies to gain more interest for good quality international friendlies. I think they do a poor job of promoting and increasing the visibility of T&T football to the rest of the football world. Perhaps they could start by broadcasting all upcoming friendlies on their website and archiving them. Not only the fans from abroad will get to see it, but also other football federations. This will give football federations an opportunity to always refer to something when they are looking for friendlies or deciding whether or not to play T&T.

If I was a foreign coach, I too would be reluctant on scheduling a friendly with T&T. Because, I would not know what kind of team will be coming out to play. If I had to choose between JA and T&T, I could easily find videos on JA last games and make a worthwhile decision. For T&T there is not much recent evidence to convince me  to choose T&T over JA.

Trust me its a marketing and communications problem that preventing the interest for good quality friendlies. International teams will continue to go elsewhere for friendlies unless this changes.
Post by: tempo on May 07, 2011, 01:04:06 PM
It's a credibility problem as well.
Post by: reggae-fan on May 07, 2011, 02:47:41 PM
However, take for instance the JA football federation, they have had much more financial difficulties than TTFF, but for some reason JA continues to generate interest for friendlies. Especially friendlies from true football nations. 

JAmaica has higher brand recognition in global sports and cultural circles on a whole, not just football.  I believe Jamaica's qualification to France '98 got wider global media attention than any other CONCACAF nation (Save Mexico and USA)has had while qualifinging the past decade to 20 years. Put that together with the Rene Simoes story, the whole UB-40 saga and it should surprise no one that Jamaica, still today continues to feed off the lagacy of France'98...along with its 50 odd games 4 year unbeaten run in Kingston and massive jump up the FIFA charts around the same time. For those reasons, outside of the USA and Mexico, I believe Jamaica would probably be one of the most recognized football nations in CONCACAF in the past 10 years, although that is changing rapidly now. You dont get friendly games vs Brazil (twice), Argentina, England, Nigeria, Ghana, Bulgaria etc purely on the negotiations skills of your federation.
Post by: Tenorsaw on May 07, 2011, 05:00:26 PM
These fellas need to be more proactive.  Dem dates been out there for an eternity.  If they clueless about how to schedule, then hire someone with such negotiating experience.  Looks like if Jack ain't broker a deal for a game, no one else can.
Post by: gawd on pitch on May 07, 2011, 07:17:20 PM
However, take for instance the JA football federation, they have had much more financial difficulties than TTFF, but for some reason JA continues to generate interest for friendlies. Especially friendlies from true football nations. 

JAmaica has higher brand recognition in global sports and cultural circles on a whole, not just football.  I believe Jamaica's qualification to France '98 got wider global media attention than any other CONCACAF nation (Save Mexico and USA)has had while qualifinging the past decade to 20 years. Put that together with the Rene Simoes story, the whole UB-40 saga and it should surprise no one that Jamaica, still today continues to feed off the lagacy of France'98...along with its 50 odd games 4 year unbeaten run in Kingston and massive jump up the FIFA charts around the same time. For those reasons, outside of the USA and Mexico, I believe Jamaica would probably be one of the most recognized football nations in CONCACAF in the past 10 years, although that is changing rapidly now. You dont get friendly games vs Brazil (twice), Argentina, England, Nigeria, Ghana, Bulgaria etc purely on the negotiations skills of your federation.

Yeah I agree.That is one big critique of Trinidad when it comes to promoting culture. We only like to promote Carnival. But when it comes to sports we so lax. The way our football and track and field is going, it looks as if T&T will only be good at Carnival. I Love Carnival, but I hope that does not end up being the case for T&T.

From what I understand Reggaefan, some of those nations even send invites to JA, as opposed to JA sending invites. Interesting.

And yeah its credibility too with T&T.

But on the real, TTFF needs to hire some marketing and public relations people.
Post by: Tenorsaw on May 07, 2011, 09:20:54 PM
Blame it on a one-track mind fixated on oil.  If tourism was our bread and butter, we'd definitely take marketing much more seriously. 
Post by: behind-de-bridge on May 08, 2011, 05:38:25 AM
Nothing ever changes in T&T football
Post by: gawd on pitch on May 08, 2011, 10:33:32 AM
Does anyone know if the TTFF even reads some of the threads on here? It seems as if many of us here can easily identify the problems and provide solutions.

If the TTFF need help with marketing and PR contact me!
Post by: Deeks on May 08, 2011, 11:24:44 AM

Doh waste your breadth.
Post by: gawd on pitch on May 08, 2011, 01:14:57 PM

Doh waste your breadth.
:rotfl: Yeah I already did!
Post by: najee on May 08, 2011, 04:47:23 PM
It's for years now that LP's recommendations and efforts have run opposite to the direction taken by Look Loy, Corneal, Shabazz, and Groden. If there is an official change to the TD post  it only comes long after he was marginalized and undermined for years by that same group. But, that seems to be how folks like it. The deterioration of the national programs since '07 and recent confusion of the June friendly is clear sign that LP hasn't been a key player in the TTFF for years.

MIA....Lincoln Phillip TD
Post by: Socapro on May 08, 2011, 09:15:21 PM
What's new?!  ::)

Brazil 2014 here we come!!  :joker: