Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on May 11, 2011, 04:54:00 AM

Title: Shaka: T&T not ready for Brazil.
Post by: Flex on May 11, 2011, 04:54:00 AM
Shaka: T&T not ready for Brazil.
By Kern De Freitas (Express).

Trinidad and Tobago are not ready for World Cup Brazil 2014.

That is the view of 2006 World Cup goalkeeping hero Shaka Hislop, who now works with ESPN as a football analyst.

"I'm a fan of Trinidad and Tobago football, and I have the blind optimism of a fan, but the realist in me says that I don't think the team is well enough prepared," Hislop told the Express yesterday during an interview at the Hyatt Regency Hotel, Wrightson Road, Port of Spain.

Hislop explained that since the retirement of midfielders Dwight Yorke and Russell Latapy—T&T's last national coach—Trinidad and Tobago do not have the players to adequately replace them.

He also has a problem with T&T's "short-term approach" to qualification.

"It's always the same song and dance every four years," Hislop said. "It's (always) about the next World Cup, and right as the qualifiers are about to start there's a lot of money thrown at it, there's a lot of hype, there's a lot of excitement generated. We've qualified once, but clearly more times than not we've fallen just short, at times fallen way short.

"Then we look for somebody to blame, somebody to point the finger at, and then we do the same thing over again in four years' time."

Hislop, one-time top-class goalkeeper in the English Premier League, has put a big part of the responsibility for the team's performances on the shoulders of the T&T Football Federation, saying that administration has failed the team more times than not.

"Administratively," he related, "I feel we haven't been good enough over a number of years, including 2006, where I think we just had enough talent to get us by. A lot about the game, how it's played, how it's run, how the players are handled, come from the administration and I don't think we do a good enough job of that."

The former West Ham custodian feels that at the administrative level, a "steady rotation of faces" is needed for local football to grow, but lamented the fact that the same faces continue to make the "same decisions and the same mistakes".

"More disappointing, there doesn't seem to be opportunity for more faces and more ideas. As a result, we simply won't move forward," he added.

Symptomatic of these shortcomings, Hislop said, was T&T's Digicel Caribbean Cup loss to Grenada last November, which put them out of the tournament at the group stage and out of contention for the 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

"How we lose to Grenada at any level of football is beyond me," an animated Hislop stated. "It should not happen. It is inexcusable.

And as much as I defend (then coach) Russell Latapy, and he's a very dear friend of mine, and I continue to believe he has a long-term future in Trinidad and Tobago football…there is absolutely no reason why we should be losing to Grenada at any level of football. There's absolutely no excuse for it."

Hislop, along with former West Indies captain Sir Vivian Richards, was in Trinidad yesterday and Monday as Johnnie Walker's newest ambassador for their latest campaign, dubbed: "Be a Giant: Don't drink and drive".
Title: Re: Shaka: T&T not ready for Brazil.
Post by: saga pinto on May 11, 2011, 05:55:09 AM
Hahahahahaha

We Going Brazil!!!!!
Post by: Sam on May 11, 2011, 06:06:44 AM
Why Shaka dont approach or submit he bid to replace Warner instead of always barking.

He saying we need new faces, then why not Shaka, time to step in.
Post by: najee on May 11, 2011, 07:05:00 AM
Why Shaka dont approach or submit he bid to replace Warner instead of always barking.

look what you asking.... you want the man to break down a stone wall with a plastic fork
Post by: kicker on May 11, 2011, 07:32:10 AM

Maybe because he's not interested in a role in football administration. 

I don't think he's "barking".  He was asked his opinion and he gave it. 
Post by: Dansteel - The Iceman on May 11, 2011, 08:07:46 AM
You feel Shaka have time to study dem? After what TTFF do the 2006 team? Let the man do his Presspass and done yes. People saying the same thing donkey years and nothing being done, the same fellas running TTFF and nothing changes. The man right, 2006 was a fluke.

Post by: GunnerStunner on May 11, 2011, 09:39:26 AM

We would all love if the TTFF was replaced with several shaka like individuals

but first things first yuh need to remove the cancer within then put those who can handle it

but guess what

the environment that new TTFF has to survive in will not have changed

it starts with the ttff the govt min sport schools and clubs all being on the same page for football development

and end the days of jack asking for money filtered through him to build effin schools (which we need but not through him that way)
Post by: MEP on May 11, 2011, 09:59:32 AM
is the TTFF a democratic institution? ?????? No right????
 then how the hell allyuh expect honest people to take charge?
Post by: Dansteel - The Iceman on May 11, 2011, 10:05:50 AM
Honest people cyah even take charge of democratic institutions.

is the TTFF a democratic institution? ?????? No right????
 then how the hell allyuh expect honest people to take charge?
Post by: Controversial on May 11, 2011, 10:09:27 AM

we going brazil 2014, shaka didnt get the memo from jw  :D
Post by: Peong on May 11, 2011, 11:40:54 AM
Well we weren't ready for the Caribbean Cup....
Post by: Coop's on May 11, 2011, 12:05:39 PM

Well said Sam,Shaka has nothing positive to say about T&T Football,check his articles.
Post by: MEP on May 11, 2011, 12:10:27 PM
At least Shaka has the ability to separate football from football administration
Post by: frico on May 11, 2011, 12:24:07 PM
Shaka getting orn like he doh know what we like,he is more Trini than me so he must know how we operate.We got into WC 2006 in a much worse situation,at least we have a world class coach with more than 3 years to go so what's his bloody gripe,I dont think he should bring any negativity in our 2014 attempt.If I can organise a cultural transplant for 1.3 million TT people with 1.3 million Germans then things may change.
Post by: davidephraim on May 11, 2011, 01:00:15 PM
Deep down what Shaka is saying and has been saying since the 2006 debacle is that unless we have an administration who is willing to pay up on their bills - namely de 2006 WC players then they are doomed for life.
Even Shaka should know that Harp-hazard is a trini word and just like de NY Knicks (of old) we like to do it hard and late. Heartache for all involved. Trinis does throw more dice than quantum mechanics has varied possibilities.
Post by: Dutty on May 11, 2011, 03:03:24 PM
we go reach brazil if we sen ah kanaval band
Post by: College on May 11, 2011, 03:04:29 PM

Well said Sam,Shaka has nothing positive to say about T&T Football,check his articles.

Some ah we doh like to hear the truth.... Coop's tell me something positive post 2006 about T&T football.
Post by: DeSoWa on May 11, 2011, 03:06:53 PM
The man never said we "won't" qualify for Brasil...but at this present state...we are not ready! Things could change and we have enough time to get ready...the question is...can we be ready in time?

Post by: College on May 11, 2011, 03:16:35 PM
The man never said we "won't" qualify for Brasil...but at this present state...we are not ready! Things could change and we have enough time to get ready...the question is...can we be ready in time?

Post by: Deeks on May 11, 2011, 03:26:31 PM
In his opinion, it appears that the TT team not ready. I tend to agree with that. He ain't saying they would not qualilfy. He went thru the vay-kee-vay manner in which they qualify in 2006. He experienced  the crap.

I still reserving judgement on this program. We don't know what direction this team going. All we know we going Brazil. That is a nice slogan. We postponed the first friendly. Look the season almost over in Europe. There are lots of clubs who can come to TT and give our national team a run for they money. Currently anyone of the EPL team can spank any team Otto put on the field now. We don't have to have national teams to play. We can play club teams and get as much out of it as palying a national team. The only problem is if that game against a club team will count as a full international for the local players.
Post by: Coop's on May 11, 2011, 03:59:27 PM

Some ah we doh like to hear the truth.... Coop's tell me something positive post 2006 about T&T football.
        Is not a matter of we doh like to hear the truth,we know the truth,the same people who controled Football before 2006 is the same people who controlling Football right now,where was Shaka,Sancho and Jack etc why didn't they bring up all these flaws in the Federation and the preparation of our national teams and players,these guys are a bunch of jokers,we fought for Football in T&T more than they will ever do,hero's my ass,when they get their money you will see how much care they care about T&T Football.
       The thing is we can't give up or stand by and criticize everything the Federation does,no one wants to step forward as a replacement for the so called shithounds that running our Football because they afraid/scared of the same shyt they going to do,if you look at FIFA is the same shyt going on,once these guys get in power it's just to seek their personal interest,alyu talking about Shaka,Shaka eh really care about T&T Football,other than the 06 WC all he did was play College Football in T&T,never represented at youth or any level of Football in T&T,he could say anything he wants he secured in life is those that following are the ones i'm concerned about.     
Post by: Brownsugar on May 11, 2011, 04:52:00 PM
Whhhhhhaaaaaattttttt!!!!   Shaka yuh eh get the memo or wha??

WE GOING BRAZIL!!!!!

:wavetowel: :wavetowel: :party: :party: :flamethrower:
Post by: Socapro on May 11, 2011, 06:45:14 PM
What does Shaka know bout football?!

That traitor is just like his father, the boss said that so we not getting tie-up with this nonsense!  ;)

And btw, the TTFF is now on the right track!!

Brazil 2014 here we come!!  :wavetowel:
Post by: Sam on May 11, 2011, 07:26:20 PM
When Shaka got blank to play for England he finally accepted to play for T&T.

So if the TTFF was so bad in de first place why all of a sudden he mind change ?

All these men was part of it, now he retire, have a good job and does not need anyone and he barking without a bite.

Shaka out of all them players you might be de only man who could do something about the TTFF, why not take a chance and show me you really care about T&T football ?

Why not approach FIFA and let them know you willing to replace Jack and take his position ? and even if you get blank, atleast ah know yuh try.
Post by: Socapro on May 11, 2011, 07:31:52 PM
Why not approach FIFA and let them know you willing to replace Jack and take his position ? and even if you get blank, atleast ah know yuh try.

Come on Sam!! Yuh really think that Shaka that dumb?! Jack runs FIFA!!!
Post by: Sam on May 11, 2011, 07:39:24 PM
FIFA have to take action, Jack might still win, but atleast Shaka tried.

Yuh cant only come and talk, you have to have some solutions.
Post by: Small Change on May 11, 2011, 08:02:24 PM
He is DAMN right! We NOT ready for Brazil! We cannot, I repeat, we cannot beat the USA, Mex, Costa and Honduras. Those teams played in SA and since then they all played against TOP opposition at the international breaks. Who de a__ TnT played? We can't even beat Grenada and Shaka is right...........WE AT NO COURSE SHOULD BE LOSING TO GRENADA! NO WAY AT ALL. We are expected to compete with the top teams in Concacaf and we cannot beat Grenada? We are expected to beat the USA, who has played Brazil, Argentina, Columbia, Paraguay,etc, and competed very well against those teams. How the judgement are we suppose to play and match those teams? HOW????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

We not ready! TnT football is a joke!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Socapro on May 11, 2011, 08:07:21 PM

Yuh joking right?!  :joker:

Post by: weary1969 on May 11, 2011, 08:16:04 PM

Yuh joking right?!  :joker:

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNN
Post by: Coop's on May 12, 2011, 06:32:30 AM
He is DAMN right! We NOT ready for Brazil! We cannot, I repeat, we cannot beat the USA, Mex, Costa and Honduras. Those teams played in SA and since then they all played against TOP opposition at the international breaks. Who de a__ TnT played? We can't even beat Grenada and Shaka is right...........WE AT NO COURSE SHOULD BE LOSING TO GRENADA! NO WAY AT ALL. We are expected to compete with the top teams in Concacaf and we cannot beat Grenada? We are expected to beat the USA, who has played Brazil, Argentina, Columbia, Paraguay,etc, and competed very well against those teams. How the judgement are we suppose to play and match those teams? HOW????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

We was ever ready for Germany?what preperation we had?who are the big teams we played to ensure we would qualify?is not the first time we lost to Grenada and it will not be the last.T&T was always a team not guaranteed to beat anybody that's why we does celedrate every win we get.
Post by: Sam on May 12, 2011, 07:42:52 AM
 We was ever ready for Germany?what preperation we had?who are the big teams we played to ensure we would qualify?is not the first time we lost to Grenada and it will not be the last.T&T was always a team not guaranteed to beat anybody that's why we does celedrate every win we get.

Excllent question coops.... we couldn't even score a goal in de WC...

Nobody expecting us to qualify for Brazil Shaka, we know that.... we never ready... tell we something new.
Post by: Peong on May 12, 2011, 08:58:03 AM
FIFA have to take action, Jack might still win, but atleast Shaka tried.

Yuh cant only come and talk, you have to have some solutions.

What action FIFA, of which JW is a major part, supposed to take? 
Post by: Fantastic on May 12, 2011, 10:10:12 AM
Shaka father been trying for donkey years to get a lil structure to de local football legally. He may come across as arrogant to some, but he has always been a voice against the bullshit from way back when Suite and dem try dey thing. De England thing with Shaka was also a question of foreign player status in de premiership at a time when he was trying to establish himself. Shaka played for some of our youth teams Coop's. He was always competing with Russ Russell and ah think Clark from south. Not saying Shaka will give his life for Trini, but I'm pretty sure that he cares. Jack and dem so firmly entrenched, what can anyone do to change things right now. People all over de world trying and can't get rid of Jack. If Shaka, as a former player/current soccer analyst gives his opinion about the state of affairs, does it mean that he has to be willing to make this his full time gig to replace Jack and run things? C'mon people, with de dotish talk. Coop's, yuh feel any possible money Shaka get from this is life changing money for him? Allyuh really like stupid people who can't speak and don't know shit what dey talking about yes. What could be de reason for negatively attacking de man from this article?
Post by: Sam on May 12, 2011, 10:14:34 AM
Shaka father been trying for donkey years to get a lil structure to de local football legally. He may come across as arrogant to some, but he has always been a voice against the bullshit from way back when Suite and dem try dey thing. De England thing with Shaka was also a question of foreign player status in de premiership at a time when he was trying to establish himself. Shaka played for some of our youth teams Coop's. He was always competing with Russ Russell and ah think Clark from south. Not saying Shaka will give his life for Trini, but I'm pretty sure that he cares. Jack and dem so firmly entrenched, what can anyone do to change things right now. People all over de world trying and can't get rid of Jack. If Shaka, as a former player/current soccer analyst gives his opinion about the state of affairs, does it mean that he has to be willing to make this his full time gig to replace Jack and run things? C'mon people, with de dotish talk. Coop's, yuh feel any possible money Shaka get from this is life changing money for him? Allyuh really like stupid people who can't speak and don't know shit what dey talking about yes. What could be de reason for negatively attacking de man from this article?

Shaka father only care about one thing, getting Jack which is cool by me...

But what has he done for T&T football ?

As for Shaka you saying that - foreign player status in de premiership at a time when he was trying to establish himself... a bowl of shit you talking they.....

So I guess playing for England justify this.... ?

Yea right.... he was on the England team but didn't get off the bench....

If England had call him up again, is gone he gone, he came back to play for T&T in he 30's when he realise England didn't want him again.

Shaka was not a foreign player in the premiership, Shaka was born in England..

That grass yuh smoking clouding yuh brain....
Post by: Fantastic on May 12, 2011, 10:41:55 AM
Sam, I not in no personal argument with you and ah doh deal with de grass smoking, gimme my drinks. Seriously, yuh mistaken. Check de premiership rules back in dem times. Had real complications with citizenship, nationality and thing which coulda been trouble for someone trying to maintain a spot on a top team. It was possible that he could have run into problems by becoming an international player for Trinidad even though he was born in England. I not even trying to say he should have or would have chosen to play for Trinidad before England, but I understand why any professional accustomed to things being done a certain way would be wary of our football program. Anyway, it have a lot of internet analysts who always know what everybody else made of, why yuh doh leave Brooklyn yuhself and go home and do more than what Shaka and LP doing? We, who prefer to make de foreign dollar and live in somebody else country instead of we own, does want to cry down man like Shaka for weighing dey options. Why we so?
Post by: Coop's on May 12, 2011, 12:05:27 PM
        I'm not here to argue,i'm not talking about what i hear or read,i was personally involved as one of the Coaches with all those Youth teams at that times,call any GK you want Ross,Clark etc etc i can tell you Shaka was never called or was involved,he was not in the country.
Post by: Sando on May 12, 2011, 08:22:54 PM
Sam, I not in no personal argument with you and ah doh deal with de grass smoking, gimme my drinks. Seriously, yuh mistaken. Check de premiership rules back in dem times. Had real complications with citizenship, nationality and thing which coulda been trouble for someone trying to maintain a spot on a top team. It was possible that he could have run into problems by becoming an international player for Trinidad even though he was born in England. I not even trying to say he should have or would have chosen to play for Trinidad before England, but I understand why any professional accustomed to things being done a certain way would be wary of our football program. Anyway, it have a lot of internet analysts who always know what everybody else made of, why yuh doh leave Brooklyn yuhself and go home and do more than what Shaka and LP doing? We, who prefer to make de foreign dollar and live in somebody else country instead of we own, does want to cry down man like Shaka for weighing dey options. Why we so?

I am not sure about this bro ?

Shaka was born in the UK and have a UK birth paper, it shouldn't matter what country he choose, it could never work against him, NEVER.
Post by: weary1969 on May 12, 2011, 08:27:11 PM
Coops

D Under 19 team from 1985 Shaka was d back up keeper for that team. Scabby aka Sheldon Bennette had star on d under 17 and was called 2 dat team. Latas was d captin. He was at CIC dem days.
Post by: Coop's on May 12, 2011, 08:56:06 PM
Coops

D Under 19 team from 1985 Shaka was d back up keeper for that team. Scabby aka Sheldon Bennette had star on d under 17 and was called 2 dat team. Latas was d captin. He was at CIC dem days.

I stand to be corrected,what you are saying here sounds funny to me because i worked with Latas,Marcelle etc etc on that famous U16 team and Sheldon was before these guys,ah mean it could be the reason he was not called to that team,i worked with Shaka when i coached St Mary's but don't think i heard much of him after St Mary's except for Howard.   
Post by: weary1969 on May 12, 2011, 09:33:26 PM
Shaka confirmed. Remember he played intercol up 2 87 4 CIC when u coached us 2 d intercol final and we beat CIC 2-1 in Big 7. Kona scored 4 dem I blieve 
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 13, 2011, 03:30:31 AM
...however long ago it was, I asked one of the moderators why he wouldn't, in an interview with Shaka (which can't be too hard to get) come out and ask the man WHY it is he "wanted" to play for england instead of T&T instead of perpetuating all the myths and rumours that does be flyin' around about him wanting to play for england and what not....I would think, that with him and his father taking this fight to jack and the ttff the way they are and with this sentiment out here that all of Shaka's involvement has only been self-serving that this forum woutld be the ideal place to either get him to come clean and earn some credibility or be proven to be the hypocrite that he is, in his critics' eyes, at least.  It is a sad thing to see grown men offer the kinda chupid talk that men like Coop's and Sam puttin' out there (as others have before) without knowing the facts.  Why allyuh doh arkske flex and tallman and dem to call de man fuh ah interview?....why allyuh doh even put up the questions yuh would want him to answer?  If I am not mistaken, Shaka has been involved in T&T football goin' back to that Bomb Squad we had in '83 that lost to fundamentally and clinically taken PK's at the hands of the usa (some ah allyuh favourite team).  the only insane reason Anthony Clark was the starting GK for that team was because he was Issa Mohammed boy.  Plain talk, bad manners.  Clark was, IMHO, no way, shape or form a better 'keeper even back THEN, than Shaka or Ross.  follow de trail from dey and allyuh go see that Shaka and Jack/ttff been bumpin' heads since he was goin' Howard. Maybe somewhere along the way, y'all might find out why he ended up accepting a callup for england. 
Post by: fitzinho on May 13, 2011, 05:56:04 AM
...however long ago it was, I asked one of the moderators why he wouldn't, in an interview with Shaka (which can't be too hard to get) come out and ask the man WHY it is he "wanted" to play for england instead of T&T instead of perpetuating all the myths and rumours that does be flyin' around about him wanting to play for england and what not....I would think, that with him and his father taking this fight to jack and the ttff the way they are and with this sentiment out here that all of Shaka's involvement has only been self-serving that this forum woutld be the ideal place to either get him to come clean and earn some credibility or be proven to be the hypocrite that he is, in his critics' eyes, at least.  It is a sad thing to see grown men offer the kinda chupid talk that men like Coop's and Sam puttin' out there (as others have before) without knowing the facts.  Why allyuh doh arkske flex and tallman and dem to call de man fuh ah interview?....why allyuh doh even put up the questions yuh would want him to answer?  If I am not mistaken, Shaka has been involved in T&T football goin' back to that Bomb Squad we had in '83 that lost to fundamentally and clinically taken PK's at the hands of the usa (some ah allyuh favourite team).  the only insane reason Anthony Clark was the starting GK for that team was because he was Issa Mohammed boy.  Plain talk, bad manners.  Clark was, IMHO, no way, shape or form a better 'keeper even back THEN, than Shaka or Ross.  follow de trail from dey and allyuh go see that Shaka and Jack/ttff been bumpin' heads since he was goin' Howard. Maybe somewhere along the way, y'all might find out why he ended up accepting a callup for england. 
Chow u hadda understand that here in sweet T&T we just like to fight down we own people dred. WHO CARES WHEN HE DECIDE TO COME BACK "HOME". THE FACT IS HE DID!!! Ent Birchall have no chance to make England National, yet men always going on about how hard he does play for we. Steups....some men who born and grow right here don't give have as much heart and effort as these perceived "self serving outsiders" so I say if they wanna play for the flag let them and if they have opinions about the state of our game the damn well within their rights to express it.
Post by: Jayerson on May 13, 2011, 06:58:21 AM
Seriously, what is all of this about? Whether the man wanted to play for England or not, he played for TnT and he gave his best. He was always professional in his approach. He did a lot of work in the UK to kick out bad elements out of the sport and the man flew TnT's flag. And why get down on the man for stating an opinion? We're not ready for Brazil, plain and simple! But bear in mind, many said the same thing for Germany...so this bunch of players must be given the same opportunity as others.

Also, we have to bear in mind, taking on Jack as many of you saying he should, is no easy feat, nigh on impossible. The TTFF is an amatuer organisation, its voluntary....i.e. no salary. How many of you with families can devote your time to such an organisation? Anyways, for a man that served TnT, I don't expect this sort of derision. Jeez!!
Post by: weary1969 on May 13, 2011, 08:27:32 AM

That squad from 83 is what make me like football. I cry meh 1st tears dat nite when we lost on PK's. Did not remember Shaka but if he was on d bench not surprise, Latas/Marcelle 4 sure
Post by: jr sams on May 13, 2011, 09:03:25 AM
Shaka confirmed. Remember he played intercol up 2 87 4 CIC when u coached us 2 d intercol final and we beat CIC 2-1 in Big 7. Kona scored 4 dem I blieve 
Shaka last played for CIC in 86. They won NZ league and Intercol. They lost to Pres in the intercol semis. Pres went on to lose to El Do in the final. After that year he went to Howard.
Kona last played in 87. His last game was against Fatima in Big 7 where he scored a beaver trick
Post by: weary1969 on May 13, 2011, 09:08:17 AM
Shaka last played for CIC in 86. They won NZ league and Intercol. They lost to Pres in the intercol semis. Pres went on to lose to El Do in the final. After that year he went to Howard.
Kona last played in 87. His last game was against Fatima in Big 7 where he scored a beaver trick

K it was 85 that Sando Tech win everything so 86 was probably his last yr. That is nuff yrs boi. Time does real fly I remember dem games like it was yday.
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 13, 2011, 10:26:14 AM

That squad from 83 is what make me like football. I cry meh 1st tears dat nite when we lost on PK's. Did not remember Shaka but if he was on d bench not surprise, Latas/Marcelle 4 sure

Weary, to be honest with you, I and all doh remember Shaka being on the squad. Back then, I thought he was the 3rd stringer and over the years I've heard in passing conversations about the squad that he was either that or dropped from the squad, but amazingly, it has never been something I've confirmed. I heard whatever I did from other men that was on the team. My only issue (as far as the GK's were concerned) was that even if Shaka couldn't make the cut, there's no way at all that Anthony Clark was a better 'keeper individually or as an anchor to that defence, than Ross Russell was. No way! As far as the politics of the game is concerned, for men like Coop's (who always talks about HIS fight against jack) to suggest that Shaka the player, has anything to do with what he (and his father) is doing now in any attempt to do SOMETHING for TnT football and how it affects his opinion is just plain stupidity.  Coop's is supposed to be a man with inside knowledge on how things are done and the actual history of Jack's actions. Maybe he should do some research before he talk so much shit.