Sports => Football => Topic started by: FireBrand on May 22, 2011, 12:56:57 PM

Title: Coaches and Managers Status.
Post by: FireBrand on May 22, 2011, 12:56:57 PM
Ancelotti sacked.
Chelsea Statement
Chelseafc.com

Chelsea Football Club can confirm that Carlo Ancelotti parted company with the club today (Sunday, 22 May).

The owner and board would like to thank Carlo for his contribution and achievements since taking over as manager in July 2009, which included winning the Double for the first time in the club's history.

However, this season's performances have fallen short of expectations and the club feels the time is right to make this change ahead of next season's preparations.

Carlo will always be welcome at Stamford Bridge, where he will be given the reception and respect his position in our history deserves.

Chelsea's long-term football objectives and ambitions remain unchanged and we will now be concentrating all our efforts on identifying a new manager.

There will be no further comment until that appointment is made.

Title: Re: Ancelotti sacked.
Post by: royal on May 22, 2011, 01:06:00 PM
A bit harsh.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on May 22, 2011, 01:12:20 PM
Not surprised but typical classless rent boys sack a manager that won them the double last season and due to owner interference with Torres and especially the sacking of Wilkins destroyed any chance they had.... I was never a fan of Carlo but he's been full of class congratulating us and wishing us well in the Final.. cheers Carlo, you deserve a bigger club

Small minded club.. 4 titles.. absolute jokers... seeing things like this makes me love and appreciate my club even more
Post by: Reaper2004 on May 22, 2011, 01:25:51 PM
Abramovich is FULL OF $HITE!!!! The man bring yuh a friggin double last season, bring the club up to second after having a bad spell after December when they were either 5th or 6th an you going to fire him?!?!?!?! Boy take yuh blasted vodka an ego back to Russia yes cause you full of it!!
Post by: giggsy11 on May 22, 2011, 01:28:20 PM
Taxi for Ancelotti. Dude deserves better, hopefully he will end up in a better place with a more supportive and stable boss. Who is willing to step into that situation?
Post by: Blue on May 22, 2011, 01:30:56 PM
Taxi for Ancelotti. Dude deserves better, hopefully he will end up in a better place with a more supportive and stable boss. Who is willing to step into that situation?

Jose  :beermug:
Post by: D.H.W on May 22, 2011, 01:34:18 PM
oh Chelsea you never cease to amaze me  :heehee: 
Post by: giggsy11 on May 22, 2011, 01:54:58 PM

Rafa might be greedy enough and egotistical enough to bite also.
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 22, 2011, 03:52:48 PM

Rafa might be greedy enough and egotistical enough to bite also.

PLEASE, NO, NOT rafa!!!!
Post by: WarriorSaint on May 22, 2011, 04:27:43 PM
Seriously, did anyone expect differently? Typical Abramovich move.
Post by: Socapro on May 22, 2011, 04:31:01 PM
Why I'm I not surprized?!  ::)
Post by: Feliziano on May 22, 2011, 05:39:32 PM
Is Rafa allyuh getting..thats why Torres come  ;)
I think allyuh will go that extra step in Europe now
Post by: lefty on May 22, 2011, 06:39:54 PM
dis club!........ dis club! or is it dis russian! dis russian!........i fed up......... >:( sigh >:( :(
Post by: Daft Trini on May 22, 2011, 06:43:51 PM
Why is this news not posted in the Chelski "home of the champs thread"? Oh I forgot... :devil:
Post by: giggsy11 on May 22, 2011, 06:55:59 PM
Why is this news not posted in the Chelski "home of the champs thread"? Oh I forgot... :devil:

Lol! I am sure they will eventually merge it.
Post by: giggsy11 on May 22, 2011, 06:56:53 PM
Arsene lucky Roman doesn't sign his paychecks. Talk about being bless!
Post by: D.H.W on May 22, 2011, 07:01:02 PM
dis club!........ dis club! or is it dis russian! dis russian!........i fed up......... >:( sigh >:( :(

time to join a real team that win trophies  8)
Post by: Daft Trini on May 22, 2011, 07:03:20 PM
QPR was promoted, the blues fans will soon join the team's support...
Title: Bob Bradley fired as U.S. coach!
Post by: de_redman on July 28, 2011, 01:11:03 PM
www.cnnsi.com (http://www.cnnsi.com)

BRADLEY FIRED!

U.S. Soccer president Sunil Gulati announced Thursday that Bob Bradley has been relieved of his duties as coach of the U.S. men's national team.

"We want to thank Bob Bradley for his service and dedication to U.S. Soccer during the past five years," said Gulati in a press release. "During his time as the head coach of our Men's National Team he led the team to a number of accomplishments, but we felt now was the right time for us to make a change. It is always hard to make these decisions, especially when it involves someone we respect as much as Bob. We wish him the best in his future endeavors."

Bradley was named coach in January of 2007 and during his five-year tenure compiled a 43-25-12 record. During his tenure he won the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup, finished second in the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup, and advanced to the Round of 16 in the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa.

The announcement came following a meeting at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif., between Gulati, Bradley and U.S. Soccer CEO Dan Flynn.

Read more: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2011/soccer/07/28/bradley.usmnt.out/index.html#ixzz1TQcj0goT
Title: Re: Bob Bradley fired as U.S. coach!
Post by: warmonga on July 28, 2011, 01:23:10 PM
www.cnnsi.com (http://www.cnnsi.com)

BRADLEY FIRED!

U.S. Soccer president Sunil Gulati announced Thursday that Bob Bradley has been relieved of his duties as coach of the U.S. men's national team.

"We want to thank Bob Bradley for his service and dedication to U.S. Soccer during the past five years," said Gulati in a press release. "During his time as the head coach of our Men's National Team he led the team to a number of accomplishments, but we felt now was the right time for us to make a change. It is always hard to make these decisions, especially when it involves someone we respect as much as Bob. We wish him the best in his future endeavors."

Bradley was named coach in January of 2007 and during his five-year tenure compiled a 43-25-12 record. During his tenure he won the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup, finished second in the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup, and advanced to the Round of 16 in the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa.

The announcement came following a meeting at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif., between Gulati, Bradley and U.S. Soccer CEO Dan Flynn.

Read more: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2011/soccer/07/28/bradley.usmnt.out/index.html#ixzz1TQcj0goT

am Pleased with his firing..
Bring in the professor mi sey!!!!!!!!!!!!

Post by: FF on July 28, 2011, 01:25:46 PM
Hard luck they Bradley! you try your best with dem crapaud and corbeaux... ah thought dey woulda fire yuh arse after de world cup

Coaching the USA finally catches up to Bob Bradley!
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=49984.msg672835#msg672835
Post by: Trinimassive on July 28, 2011, 01:27:06 PM
That took a while, surprised they kept him that long. He wasn't capable of taking them any further.
Post by: fari on July 28, 2011, 01:41:58 PM
That took a while, surprised they kept him that long. He wasn't capable of taking them any further.

i agree...but some would argue that with the talent they have now they simply cannot go any further.
Post by: elan on July 28, 2011, 01:50:19 PM
Freddy Adu?

I think is a good move. The US showing -0 creativity. Although at the same time I think Bradley gonna lose his job this summer.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=53063.msg746423#msg746423 (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=53063.msg746423#msg746423)
Post by: Mr Fix-it on July 28, 2011, 01:52:25 PM
Freddy Adu?

I think is a good move. The US showing -0 creativity. Although at the same time I think Bradley gonna lose his job this summer.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=53063.msg746423#msg746423 (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=53063.msg746423#msg746423)
I guess he son next to hit the road :devil: :beermug:
Post by: kicker on July 28, 2011, 02:23:21 PM
Bradley did a good job- U.S. could use a foreign coach tuh culture their brand a lil bit though...
Post by: MEP on July 28, 2011, 02:24:11 PM
The only criticism I have of Bradley as a coach is that he favored his son, who to me, is an average player at best.

Post by: KND2 on July 28, 2011, 02:34:38 PM
Damn new requirements will be flown down to the youth level once a new man come on board.

I dont thing the US going with a foreign coach but you never know.

They should go with a brazilian or a mexican coach but most likely it is an america, or english or german

My picks would be Hugo Sanchez, Maradona, Dunga or Simoes

But they will probably be looking at

Jurgen, Errickson, or ziggy smith or someone like that.

They need some one who will force the issue and play some of the spanish and black youths in the country because they have plenty skillfull players up here that dont get a look in. because the national coaching staff only looks at what they know through traditional models.

Time for a change I say.
Post by: elan on July 28, 2011, 02:45:51 PM
Kellar
Post by: MEP on July 28, 2011, 04:20:07 PM
Damn new requirements will be flown down to the youth level once a new man come on board.
Nah it doesn't work like that which is a huge flaw in the us system of development. The state DOCs serve their Executive Boards, who are comprised usually of people who don't have a clue and they are there mainly to push for whatever club they come from.

I dont thing the US going with a foreign coach but you never know.

They should go with a brazilian or a mexican coach but most likely it is an america, or english or german

My picks would be Hugo Sanchez, Maradona, Dunga or Simoes

But they will probably be looking at

Jurgen, Errickson, or ziggy smith or someone like that.

They need some one who will force the issue and play some of the spanish and black youths in the country because they have plenty skillfull players up here that dont get a look in. because the national coaching staff only looks at what they know through traditional models.

Time for a change I say.
Post by: 2cents on July 28, 2011, 04:52:37 PM
I think Klinsmann would be great for the US. I love how he had germany runnin 06. He knows US players and even though he turn dem down b4 I think he might be willing to take d challenge now.
Title: Re: 2011/2012 Coaches and Manager Status.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 28, 2011, 06:50:25 PM
bradley did a good job.  the problem is the US feel dem big like germany, brazil, spain, etc so dem think they should be doing better in the world cup so bradley "not performing"

i expect a german coach or probably dutch.
Post by: MEP on July 28, 2011, 08:18:38 PM
bradley did a good job.  the problem is the US feel dem big like germany, brazil, spain, etc so dem think they should be doing better in the world cup so bradley "not performing"

But nuttin wrong wid dat , thinking dat they on the same level as Brazil or Spain, as least they eh settlin for mediocrity..
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 28, 2011, 09:56:39 PM

But nuttin wrong wid dat , thinking dat they on the same level as Brazil or Spain, as least they eh settlin for mediocrity..

nothing wrong with aspiring to be that level, but thinking you are on that level can be detrimental.  for example, we think we on the same level as cost rica, jamaica, panama, etc and as a result we suffer when we play those teams since we overestimate ourselves.
Title: United States fire coach Bob Bradley
Post by: Touches on July 29, 2011, 08:05:39 AM
Watch the difference with high standards and looking to go further. Bradley did well with this team. His record good, including winning or coming close in big games...they lorse one regional final and lose a group game and the man gone.

Compared to us...we begging to give man with losing record and no clue tactically a chance.

We does cyar qualify for nuttin and instead of holding men accountable we does recycle them in yrs to come.

Source BBC Sport (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/14335698.stm)

United States fire coach Bob Bradley

Page last updated at 19:33 GMT, Thursday, 28 July 2011 20:33 UK

Bob Bradley Bradley took over from Bruce Arena in January 2007

(http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/54329000/jpg/_54329738_54329714.jpg)

Bob Bradley has been sacked as United States coach after four and a half years in charge.

The 53-year-old took the team to the last 16 of the 2010 World Cup after drawing 1-1 with England in Group C.

Bradley was subsequently linked with the Aston Villa manager's job, before opting to sign a four-year deal extension with US Soccer.

"We felt now was the right time for us to make a change," said US Soccer president Sunil Gulati.

Bradley's departure follows a 4-2 defeat by Mexico in the Gold Cup final on 25 June.

But his reign also included a shock win over European champions Spain en route to a runners-up finish at the 2009 Confederations Cup and last summer's creditable World Cup campaign that ended in extra-time defeat by Ghana.

"It is always hard to make these decisions, especially when it involves someone we respect as much as Bob," added Gulati.

"We wish him the best in his future endeavours."

US Soccer added that it would make a further announcement on Friday, raising expectations that it may name a replacement.
Title: Klinsmann named as U.S. coach
Post by: Zeppo on July 29, 2011, 10:29:52 AM
Klinsmann Named Head Coach of U.S. Men's National Team (http://www.ussoccer.com/News/Mens-National-Team/2011/07/Klinsmann-Named-Head-Coach-of-US-MNT.aspx)
Title: Re: Klinsmann named as U.S. coach
Post by: Jayerson on July 29, 2011, 10:41:22 AM
Sunil Gulati finally got the man he wanted for the job. This is the third attempt to land Klinsman as their NMT head coach. Bradley has taken them as far as he could.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on July 29, 2011, 10:47:52 AM
That's huge...
one of my all time favourites.  Gotta give Sunil credit.

Just like that, the USMT has got some respect. (from me)
Post by: Brownsugar on July 29, 2011, 10:48:11 AM
Wow!!  That's interesting.....let's see what he can do with the US team.....
Post by: saga pinto on July 29, 2011, 10:59:59 AM
Well well well we cutarse book fuh sure now. It's interesting to see which German will succeed faster,one things for sure we'll no if it's the coach or players......   
Post by: Controversial on July 29, 2011, 11:02:24 AM
wow, they will be a force to reckon with, it will be nice to see pfister vs. klinsman  :beermug:
Post by: grskywalker on July 29, 2011, 11:32:13 AM
OMG  I knew this was just a matter of time!!!! OH WELL THE ROAD TO BRAZIL JUST GOT A LITTLE HARDER
Post by: D.H.W on July 29, 2011, 11:39:09 AM
Doesn't make much difference to the T&T side of things.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 29, 2011, 11:46:07 AM
Quick turnaround ... which means it was a done deal.

I like the choice. It challenges at least one of the assumptions on which some American soccer personalities have relied (although, obviously not Gulati). The assumption is that an American coach is essential to understanding the American player. Yet, on the ground, foreign coaches have been instrumental on the American landscape to a significant degree ... although in my estimation, decreasingly so. Curiously, in uttering this belief, those who express the view ... don't explain the viability of coaches like Wilmer Cabrera or Pia Sundhage or others. Moreover, as American players earn a living overseas, they make adjustments that perhaps would not have applied before.

Having said that, the thing about the Klinsmann selection ... aside from his pedigree as a player and success with Germany ... is that he is probably likely the least "foreign" of foreign coaches ... given his acculturation to the US.

Over the years, many prominent CONCACAF teams (including ours) have engaged in all manner of theatrics and BS in picking national team managers ... from that viewpoint, this Klinsmann selection is probably one of the most pragmatic of selections in terms of competence, fit, 'sell' and availability. Should make life interesting for Jermaine Jones.

Post by: asylumseeker on July 29, 2011, 12:08:47 PM
55 games undefeated; 25 losses ... a job done decently enough. Would this man seriously want to coach MLS right now? I doubt it.
Post by: real madness on July 29, 2011, 12:13:41 PM
All this means is Mexico will get a stronger challenge.  This has no impact on Trinidad.  Pfister vs. Klinsman  :rotfl:
Post by: D.H.W on July 29, 2011, 12:14:53 PM
All this means is Mexico will get a stronger challenge.  This has no impact on Trinidad.  Pfister vs. Klinsman  :rotfl:

ent!
Post by: elan on July 29, 2011, 12:18:04 PM
Quick turnaround ... which means it was a done deal.

I like the choice. It challenges at least one of the assumptions on which some American soccer personalities have relied (although, obviously not Gulati). The assumption is that an American coach is essential to understanding the American player. Yet, on the ground, foreign coaches have been instrumental on the American landscape to a significant degree ... although in my estimation, decreasingly so. Curiously, in uttering this belief, those who express the view ... don't explain the viability of coaches like Wilmer Cabrera or Pia Sundhage or others. Moreover, as American players earn a living overseas, they make adjustments that perhaps would not have applied before.

Having said that, the thing about the Klinsmann selection ... aside from his pedigree as a player and success with Germany ... is that he is probably likely the least "foreign" of foreign coaches ... given his acculturation to the US.

Over the years, many prominent CONCACAF teams (including ours) have engaged in all manner of theatrics and BS in picking national team managers ... from that viewpoint, this Klinsmann selection is probably one of the most pragmatic of selections in terms of competence, fit, 'sell' and availability. Should make life interesting for Jermaine Jones.

:rotfl: :rotfl: You notice that too.
Post by: Controversial on July 29, 2011, 12:59:40 PM

ent!

allyuh fellahs laughing but wait till qualifiers start and see the expertise of german coaching and pfister's ability to convert our team into a force to reckon with

crow will be served to the doubters  :devil:  :beermug:
Post by: D.H.W on July 29, 2011, 01:16:51 PM
 :rotfl: alright boss  :beermug: , ah hope yuh right
Post by: Mose on July 29, 2011, 01:21:28 PM

ent!

allyuh fellahs laughing but wait till qualifiers start and see the expertise of german coaching and pfister's ability to convert our team into a force to reckon with

I'm sure that would be the sweetest tasting crow ever!!!
Post by: Spursy on July 29, 2011, 02:01:37 PM
USA follow fashion? Meh I rather have OTTO!

May the best GERMAN win lol.
Post by: Observer on July 29, 2011, 02:25:12 PM
Remember his assistant was Lowe, who will not be at his side this time around. This is an interesting signing, because USA is very different from Germany. Just think of his stint with Bayern without Lowe at his side.
Regardless they will remain a force in CONCACAF along with Mexico, the real test is against opposition outside of USA soil.
Post by: Observer on July 29, 2011, 02:26:04 PM
Remember his assistant was Lowe, who will not be at his side this time around. This is an interesting signing, because USA is very different from Germany. Just think of his stint with Bayern without Lowe at his side.
Regardless they will remain a force in CONCACAF along with Mexico, the real test is against opposition outside of USA soil.
Post by: Controversial on July 29, 2011, 03:33:10 PM

Post by: Controversial on July 29, 2011, 03:34:52 PM

ent!

I'm sure that would be the sweetest tasting crow ever!!!

stew or curry, take yuh pick, dhw and crew will enjoy it, they could drink a stag with it 8)
Post by: Preacher on July 29, 2011, 03:35:14 PM
Dang that whole team about to change.  Great for US football.  Finally. Hopefully they'll let expertise lead the way and not propaganda.
Post by: Controversial on July 29, 2011, 03:44:04 PM
Dang that whole team about to change.  Great for US football.  Finally. Hopefully they'll let expertise lead the way and not propaganda.

real big news, but as observer noted, who will be his asst coach?

pfister has corneal the man born with the golden spoon in his mouth as his asst, that is pfister problem, however, pfister is the type of coach who may not need a high profile asst to do well
Post by: MEP on July 29, 2011, 04:16:15 PM

I don't think the whole team is about to change. What he will probably do is create a more defined structure that creates a path to the USMNT starting with having the older youth teams play the same system as the senior team.
I wonder what will happen to poster boy Landy as I somehow think he has had a hand in all this.
Post by: Zeppo on July 29, 2011, 07:56:10 PM
nothing wrong with aspiring to be that level, but thinking you are on that level can be detrimental.  for example, we think we on the same level as cost rica, jamaica, panama, etc and as a result we suffer when we play those teams since we overestimate ourselves.

Except that you're basing your viewpoint on a fallacy: practically no one in the U.S. feels that we're on the same level as Germany, Brazil, Spain, etc.
Post by: elan on July 29, 2011, 08:25:03 PM

Except that you're basing your viewpoint on a fallacy: practically no one in the U.S. feels that we're on the same level as Germany, Brazil, Spain, etc.

Who is "practically no one"?
Post by: Preacher on July 29, 2011, 10:50:38 PM

real big news, but as observer noted, who will be his asst coach?

pfister has corneal the man born with the golden spoon in his mouth as his asst, that is pfister problem, however, pfister is the type of coach who may not need a high profile asst to do well

I would bet he's bringing in his own AC.  They need to let Klinsman do his thing. 
Post by: Preacher on July 29, 2011, 11:00:29 PM

I don't think the whole team is about to change. What he will probably do is create a more defined structure that creates a path to the USMNT starting with having the older youth teams play the same system as the senior team.
I wonder what will happen to poster boy Landy as I somehow think he has had a hand in all this.

You know what?  Klisman said it plainly, on air, last WC coverage and Lalas was vex.  Klins said the US need to look beyond just the suburbs to find their players, like basketball they need to look in the city areas for the best players in the country.  If Klinesman do that, that's a complete restructuring of the team.  And I might actually become a US fan.  For a long time US has had a "We can do it ourselves" attitude but they realize that the tide is changing, good.  In my OPINION they always seemed to have a quota system in place when is comes to certain players.  I done.
Post by: warmonga on July 30, 2011, 12:03:43 AM
U facking kidding me.. someone tell me is a facking nightmare I am having.. This fuk ??
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 30, 2011, 10:38:07 AM

yeah lot of americans/american soccer fans think the US is much bigger than they actually are, reasons include reaching several world cups in a row, beating spain in the confederations cup, reaching the confed final and leading brazil 2-0, winning their world cup group that included England, fifa world ranking, etc.  these are just a few reasons.  However football fans know better.

the good ting for allyuh is klinsman knows better and i am sure he has a plan to help the american fantasy becomes a reality.  whether it happens or not, only time will tell.
Post by: Zeppo on July 30, 2011, 11:07:48 AM
yeah lot of americans/american soccer fans think the US is much bigger than they actually are, reasons include reaching several world cups in a row, beating spain in the confederations cup, reaching the confed final and leading brazil 2-0, winning their world cup group that included England, fifa world ranking, etc.  these are just a few reasons. 

Still a far cry feeling we're "big like germany, brazil, spain, etc" as you claimed. And anyone who feels that way is certainly in a minority.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 30, 2011, 11:14:32 AM
yeah lot of americans/american soccer fans think the US is much bigger than they actually are, reasons include reaching several world cups in a row, beating spain in the confederations cup, reaching the confed final and leading brazil 2-0, winning their world cup group that included England, fifa world ranking, etc.  these are just a few reasons. 

Still a far cry feeling we're "big like germany, brazil, spain, etc" as you claimed. And anyone who feels that way is certainly in a minority.

i never said majority...just remember de US is a big country so the "minority amount" can still be a large number relative to other countries.
Title: Bob Bradley to interview to be Egypt manager
Post by: Zeppo on August 09, 2011, 01:39:37 PM
Bob Bradley to interview to be Egypt manager

Recently released US national team manager Bob Bradley is set to interview for the vacant Egypt job this week, MLSsoccer.com has confirmed.

On Sunday night, Egyptian paper Al-Ahram reported that Bradley would be in competition with former Montenegro manager Zoran Filipović and former Trinidad and Tobago coach Francisco Maturana. However, an Egyptian federation spokesman indicated to MLSsoccer.com that the American was their first choice.

"The president of the federation will meet with the coach this week," Egypt's national team press officer Azmi Megahed told MLSsoccer.com on Monday. "He is maybe the top contender."

http://www.mlssoccer.com/news/article/2011/08/08/bob-bradley-interview-be-egypt-manager
Title: Re: Bob Bradley to interview to be Egypt manager
Post by: Touches on August 09, 2011, 01:55:19 PM
Appsss..."The Afro" taking his Corbeaux brand to Egypt.

Good Luck to him.

Post by: Small Change on August 09, 2011, 05:26:16 PM
This same "Corbeaux" brand beats TnT ALL the time. The man did well. He beat the mighty Spain and competed well as the TOP teams in the world. He have a rough 2006 WC, from being in a tough group, but he did well in S.A. The Corbeaux brands beat alot of teams............

What brand does TnT have??
Post by: KND2 on August 09, 2011, 07:23:45 PM
This same "Corbeaux" brand beats TnT ALL the time. The man did well. He beat the mighty Spain and competed well as the TOP teams in the world. He have a rough 2006 WC, from being in a tough group, but he did well in S.A. The Corbeaux brands beat alot of teams............

he talking about Mats.... see if you can figure it out.
Post by: elan on August 09, 2011, 08:27:08 PM

Let de man talk nah.
Post by: big dawg on August 09, 2011, 08:45:42 PM

Let de man talk nah.

DavyJenniyish perhaps...???
Post by: injunchile on August 11, 2011, 07:22:16 AM
Oh Dear= It seems like small change just appear from another planet.
 Not to understand that the Corbeaux brand was the style that Maturana , the afro Coach employed seems to me that he just drop from space.
 What is the quote again- Keep your mouth shut so that people may think that you are intelligent but open it and it will leave no doubt.
 I got out of bed and was in a good mood, now I have to ask the good lord to give me some help to make it through this day.
Title: Costa Rica football coach La Volpe quits
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 13, 2011, 01:55:37 PM
Costa Rica football coach La Volpe quits
AFP

Costa Rica's Argentinian coach Ricardo La Volpe has quit after 11 months in the job, the Costa Rican Football Federation (FCF) announced.

FCF president Eduardo Li said that the decision had been taken by mutual consent and that La Volpe would not receive a financial settlement.

La Volpe, 59, took over from Ronald Gonzalez last September with the aim of qualifying the team for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil after failing to make the previous edition in South Africa.

However, Costa Rica suffered several losses in recent friendlies as well as going out in the first round of the Copa America last month.

The former Argentina World Cup-winning goalkeeper previously coached several Mexican clubs and the Mexican national side from 2002 to 2006, as well as stints with Argentinian top flight clubs Boca Juniors and Velez Sarsfield.
Title: Chris Powell steers Charlton clear of false dawns in bid to find light
Post by: JDB on August 24, 2011, 06:26:54 AM
Chris Powell steers Charlton clear of false dawns in bid to find light
 (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/football-league-blog/2011/aug/21/charlton-chris-powell)
There is pride at The Valley after a bright start in League One that no one is taking for granted

(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Sport/Pix/columnists/2011/8/21/1313946754917/Charlton-Athletic-manager-007.jpg)

Jeremy Alexander at The Valley
guardian.co.uk,    Sunday 21 August 2011 22.59 BST

Charlton Athletic have won three and drawn one of their opening four matches in League One under their manager, Chris Powell. Photograph: PA
Charlton Athletic have come a long way in five years – a long way down. On 23 August 2006 they played Manchester United, the second of seven defeats in their first eight league games. That was the beginning of the descent. On Saturday in League One Sc**thorpe United reminded them how far back it is. Charlton were 2-0 up before the hour and on course to maintain their 100% league record, only for Sc**thorpe to get back to 2-2. To make matters worse the second goal came in the 91st minute.

Sheffield United, with a similar record, also led then drew, allowing MK Dons to spring above both on goal difference. Chris Powell, Charlton's manager since January, was sanguine. "We haven't lost yet," he said. "We can take pride in that."

But he admitted: "We have to see games out. You want to play higher but naturally tend to defend what you've got." To prove it and maybe his inexperience he went from 4-4-2 for 80 minutes to 4-5-1 (with Jason Euell for Paul Hayes), then virtually 5-5-0 in added time (with Gary Doherty for Bradley Wright-Phillips). Sc**thorpe, never outplayed, knew they were on to a good thing and Bobby Grant, scorer of their first, showed with his equaliser there was another fire in The Iron. "He's been bang on it in training," said his manager, Alan Knill. "We've tried to calm him down."

"I must applaud Sc**thorpe for playing their part in a very good game," said Powell. As a left-back for nearly 25 years, including three spells at Charlton which yielded five caps under Sven-Goran Eriksson, he earned a reputation that led to chairmanship of the Professional Footballers' Association. As he prepared last year to move from pitch to dugout he lamented the game's loss of "humility and integrity". Back at The Valley he is unlikely to see the riches that have taken players "out of touch with the common man".

Charlton, who owe their existence and home to the common man after a seven-year exile from 1985, take pains to keep in touch. "In signing 16 players this summer we've had to take wage capping into account," explains the chief executive, Stephen Kavanagh, to fans. At this level none cost anything worth disclosing. Fewer left on the same basis, though Carl Jenkinson went to Arsenal for £1m.

Danny Hollands, from Bournemouth, stood out in a bright midfield until collective legs went. His crisp cross laid the second goal on Wright-Phillips's head, his third of the season. The first followed a free-kick, Johnnie Jackson heading in.

Charlton have known false dawns before. Two seasons ago, in their first attempt to get back to the Championship with Phil Parkinson, they kicked off with six wins but finished fourth. They were fifth last January when Powell succeeded him, starting with four wins before four defeats and only two more wins in the last 19 games, but Powell can take heart from Parkinson's experience: he was engaged in 2008 after eight matches as caretaker without a win. Charlton recognise false dusks, too, as well as good men when they have them. They have learned the lesson of snap appointments that followed the Curbishley years. Powell starts in credit.

He and they value community and communication and should see a 15,505 crowd as due reward, matching last season's average. So was a letter Powell received from a lady in Coventry, who was "horrified" to find Charlton on a summer training camp in Spain sharing the hotel where she customarily spends quiet family holidays. "I am writing to congratulate your team on their behaviour and general politeness – so totally opposite to the reports generally applied in the tabloids," she wrote.

Powell had his own words about the riots which forced postponement of Charlton's Carling Cup match against Reading. "We shouldn't underestimate the role we can play in our community. I want all our fans and everyone connected with Charlton to do their bit," he said. The match is now being played on Tuesday. Charlton will have no fear of penalties and every hope of a marriage made in heaven with Powell.
Title: Bob Bradley chosen as Egypt coach
Post by: Zeppo on September 14, 2011, 12:28:28 PM
Egypt name American Bradley as coach

Egypt have appointed former United States coach Bob Bradley as national team manager, state news agency MENA said on Wednesday.

Bradley replaces long-standing coach Hassan Shehata who left in June after holders Egypt struggled in qualifying for the 2012 African Nations Cup finals. They have since been eliminated.

Bradley, fired by the U.S. in July, was on an Egyptian FA shortlist that included the experienced Francisco Maturana, who has managed Peru, Ecuador and his native Colombia, and Zoran Filipovic, the former Yugoslav striker and Montenegro coach.

(continue) (http://sports.yahoo.com/soccer/news?slug=reu-egyptcoach)
Title: Re: Bob Bradley chosen as Egypt coach
Post by: JDB on September 14, 2011, 12:53:33 PM
That is a move an a half.

The English does bawl about foreign coach, imagine the kinda pressure Bradley will get from segments of the Egyptian public.

It is good for Bradley though, a country that in a more competitive confederation. If he get them to a WC it will be a real achievement.
Post by: Andre on September 14, 2011, 01:16:45 PM
groundbreaking move yes.

i find bradley is a good coach (better than klinnsman). with egypt talent, he could probably do some damage on the continent.

of course, african football is a different beast from concacaf eh.

Post by: Controversial on September 14, 2011, 02:38:29 PM
groundbreaking move yes.

i find bradley is a good coach (better than klinnsman). with egypt talent, he could probably do some damage on the continent.

of course, african football is a different beast from concacaf eh.

african qualifying is a world apart from concacaf

bradley is a good coach, i rate him :beermug:
Title: Inter SACKS Gasperini
Post by: Spursy on September 21, 2011, 03:41:05 PM
 Current World Club Football champs Internazionale FC has sacked it's head coach Gasperini following a humbling home defeat by newly promoted side Novara, a side that spent a long time in division 3 without featuring in Serie A for 55 years WOW.

Rumors have it that Raneri is going to replace him for the next Champions League clash against CSKA.
Title: Re: Inter SACKS Gasperini
Post by: mukumsplau on September 21, 2011, 03:45:02 PM
shit club before calciopoli...is only natural deyll fall back down
Post by: Zeppo on September 24, 2011, 10:36:29 AM
Bob Bradley finally signs on to coach Egypt

Bob Bradley was presented as the new coach of the Egyptian national team Saturday in Cairo, where he signed a contract before a packed news conference and was presented with a red team jersey.

Bradley becomes just the third American-born coach of a foreign national team and certainly will operate under far more scrutiny than those who came before him — Bill Moravek, who coached the U.S. Virgin Islands in 2000, and Steve Sampson, in charge of Costa Rica in 2002-04.

(continue) (http://aol.sportingnews.com/soccer/story/2011-09-24/bob-bradley-finally-signs-on-to-coach-egypt)
Post by: Zeppo on September 25, 2011, 04:03:27 PM
(http://i54.tinypic.com/so5v1e.jpg)
Title: Manager/Coach Status Thread.
Post by: TdotTrini on January 08, 2012, 12:48:27 PM
QPR Sacked Warnock

QPR has sacked Neil Warnock, replacement to be announce by 8pm London time...

Title: Re: QPR Sacked Warnock
Post by: mukumsplau on January 08, 2012, 12:56:44 PM
k...
Post by: TdotTrini on January 08, 2012, 01:02:49 PM
Conte, Hughes, Guus is de leading candidate to replace.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2012, 03:27:34 PM
... somewhat inevitable.
Post by: mukumsplau on January 08, 2012, 05:36:09 PM

who?
Post by: TdotTrini on January 08, 2012, 07:08:14 PM

who?

Thats right Antonio Conte.
Title: Port Vale part company with chairman Peter Miller
Post by: Tallman on January 12, 2012, 08:55:31 PM
Port Vale part company with chairman Peter Miller
BBC

December 29, 2011

Port Vale have parted company with chairman Peter Miller after two-and-a-half months in charge.

Vale's board of directors carried out a review of Miller's fixed-term role, which he took up in October, and decided his tenure should cease.

Miller was appointed to raise new investment in the League Two club following the collapse of a previous takeover deal.

His departure comes five days after chief executive Perry Deakin resigned.

Miller and Deakin came under increasing pressure from supporters after the failure of their investment deal with American sports construction firm Blue Sky International.

Prior to the 2-1 victory at Hereford on Boxing Day, the club announced that they had taken out a short-term loan to help with the day-to-day running of the club.

A club statement read: "Mr Miller's specific brief was to raise new investment in Port Vale to replace investment which had not been fulfilled by the Blue Sky deal.

"It was agreed that Mr Miller's chairmanship would be reviewed at the end of December 2011, to assess the outcome of those efforts.

"At a meeting on 28 December the three other directors decided that Mr Miller's chairmanship will cease at the end of December."

The news follows complaints by the Valiants manager Micky Adams that he had not been kept informed of decisions being made by the club's board.

Following the news of the chief executive's resignation Adams told BBC Radio Stoke: "It takes me to chase people to get an answer from the people that are running the football club

"As the manager, I feel I deserve the respect of people letting me know what's happening at the club."
Port Vale: Board unhappy with £277,000 mortgage
The Sentinel

December 30, 2011

MIKE Lloyd has refused to reveal why Port Vale ended Peter Miller's term as chairman, but admits the board was unhappy at the club being saddled with a £277,000 mortgage.

Lloyd, plus fellow directors Perry Deakin and Glenn Oliver, voted to oust Miller on Wednesday, claiming his short-term appointment was up for review at the end of the year anyway.

A club statement also stated Miller was only appointed on a fixed-term basis in October, when he was handed the task of finding new investment in the wake of the collapsed Blue Sky International investment deal.

Miller, who is currently in the U.S., is due to step down at the end of the week after an assessment of his performance as Vale chairman, not that his deputy was revealing the reasons for his exit.

"I can't comment any further. We have run this past the club's lawyer and it could be subject to legal ramifications," insisted Lloyd, who has also been criticised by fans for his role in Miller's arrival at the club and election to the board without investing a penny in cash-strapped Vale.

However, Lloyd says he did not sanction or agree with Miller's decision to take out a £277,000 loan with Gibraltar-based company Continental Solutions, which was registered on December 6.

"The board were not aware that Peter arranged for the loan," added Lloyd.

"If the board wanted to take out a loan it would talk to the club's bankers about extending our overdraft facility.

"The first time the rest of the board heard about the loan was on December 16 – I was shocked as it had not been discussed at board level. The loan did not require signatures from four directors.

"A full board mandate was required to take out a loan or extend the club's overdraft facility, but it wasn't mentioned to me.

"Peter's remit was to replace the Blue Sky investment – a loan is not an investment."

A letter dated September 5 and signed by Deakin confirmed Miller's appointment as chairman on a three-year fixed term on an annual salary of £100,000, plus other lucrative perks including eight return business class flights to the UK per annum.

Lloyd claims the terms of Miller's appointment were later changed to the shorter end-of-year arrangement, although this was not mentioned when fans were in uproar on learning of his lucrative package last month.

Lloyd insists the board did nothing wrong, explaining: "The original deal involved a permanent appointment, but that was amended at a later date by the full board, including Peter, after the Blue Sky deal collapsed.

"Peter was appointed. We shouldn't have to discuss people's deals with the public.

"If a manager changes a player's agreement, you don't announce it to shareholders."

Miller's salary and perks will end with his position as chairman, but he will remain as a director until further talks with the board, Vale said.

They will not appoint a new chairman yet, with Lloyd set to preside for the time being.

And a defiant Lloyd insisted he would not step down, despite criticism of his role as acting chairman when the Blue Sky deal was negotiated and Miller was brought into the club. "I'm not due for re-election at the AGM so I'll continue as a director," he said. "My position is tenable."

(http://www.thisisstaffordshire.co.uk/images/localpeople/ugc-images/275796/Article/images/14279447/3442073.png)
Title: Re: 2012 Coach Status Thread.
Post by: Bakes on January 13, 2012, 07:30:02 AM
I was surprised when City jettisoned Hughes... I thought he was fantastic, but admittedly I wasn't following like that.  Apparently there were communication issues with Mansour and his team when they came on board.  I think he's precisely they type of manager QPR needs... positive, good rapport with the players, and more importantly, a reputation for quick results.
Title: Barcelona Boss Pep Guardiola Resigns
Post by: davidephraim on April 27, 2012, 06:36:40 AM
http://www.caughtoffside.com/2012/04/27/barcelona-boss-pep-guardiola-resigns-champions-league-and-la-liga-losses-prove-too-much/

Camp Nou boss steps down from Barcelona manager post.
Barcelona coach Pep Guardiola, architect of one the greatest eras in the club’s history, reportedly told players Friday he is leaving at the end of this season.
“Boys, I’m leaving Barca,” Guardiola told his players according to an online report by the biggest selling sports daily Marca, which did not identify a source.
The coach then announced his decision at 1.30pm (1130 GMT) at the Camp Nou along with president Sandro Rosell and football sporting director Andoni Zubizarreta, the club said online.
After spending most of his playing career at Barcelona, Guardiola coached Barcelona’s B team before taking control of the first-team squad in June 2008 from Dutchman Frank Rijkaard.
In his four years at the helm, he has led Barcelona to 13 titles and is credited with promoting some of most sublime football in the world, helped by huge talent including footballer of the year Lionel Messi.
“Pep is going” cried the front-page headline of Barcelona-based daily Sport, adding, however, that while his decision probably was already taken there was still a glimmer of hope.
“Where will you be better off than in Barca?” the paper pleaded beneath a photograph of the 41-year-old coach, head down and hands pressed together in deep reflection.
Fellow Catalan sports daily Mundo Deportivo hedged its bets with a front page that can be turned upside down to read either “Pep is going” or “Pep is not going”.
“Turn the front page around depending on what Guardiola says today,” the paper advised its readers.
Inside, however, the paper was more pessimistic. “He has practically decided to leave Barca: today he will tell the management and the team,” Mundo Deportivo said.
“Nevertheless, up to this morning the door was still open for him to carry on.”
No-one at the club was available to comment.
Chelsea knocked Barcelona out of the Champions League semi-finals this week and the Catalans’ arch rivals Real Madrid beat them in a pivotal league clash at the Camp Nou last weekend.
Real Madrid, leading Barcelona by seven points at the top of the league, are now all but certain to be crowned Liga champions.
Earlier this week the daily Sport said candidates to replace Guardiola included France coach Laurent Blanc, Olympiakos coach Ernesto Valverde and Athletic Bilbao’s Argentine coach Marcelo Bielsa.
In April last year Guardiola told Italian television Rai Sports that he felt his time as Barcelona coach was coming to a close.
“I feel good here but I believe my time at Barcelona is ending,” the coach said at the time.
“I’ve already done three years, one more will be four years. And in four years a big club needs a lot of courage to keep the same coach. Everyone should know when it’s the right time to go, as I always heard when I was a player.”
The coach extended his contract with Barcelona by a season in February 2011 and his deal expires in June this year.

Well look Baccaaaannnnalllllll! What allyuh do de man boy?
Title: Re: Barcelona Boss Pep Guardiola Resigns
Post by: Touches on April 27, 2012, 06:49:14 AM
He jess take in front.

The key performers aging, the club in debt and people figure out how to shut them down...with no plan B wha yuh go do again.

Mourinho go wine on dem.

Watch the waggonists hop off now....

Including players, I wonder how cesc feeling?
Post by: davidephraim on April 27, 2012, 06:53:59 AM
really boy Merger. Yuh really think ah man could find Pep resign which has to be hot news and dey will find dat in 2012 Manager status? It couldn't sit a bit more to let de masses know? Scene!
Post by: Observer on April 27, 2012, 07:31:33 AM
Pep hinted since October that he may step down, so it is really not all that surprising.
Sad though because Pep's Barca has given us me some of the most spectacular football I have
ever witnessed. Great run!  :applause:

PS Touches don't be surprise if that mad ass organization called Real Madrid eh fire Jose nah. Remember what they do to Del Bosque (the most successful Madrid manager in recent history), they fire the man the day after he win the league. After all he do for that club, delivering two CL itles, two leaue titles, 1 Spanish Super Cup, 1 UEFA Super Cup and a World Club Championship in 4 years. Since that decision they never bounce back.
Title: Re: Coaches and Managers Status.
Post by: fitzinho on April 28, 2012, 10:23:13 AM
Pep hinted since October that he may step down, so it is really not all that surprising.
Sad though because Pep's Barca has given us me some of the most spectacular football I have

PS Touches don't be surprise if that mad ass organization called Real Madrid eh fire Jose nah. Remember what they do to Del Bosque (the most successful Madrid manager in recent history), they fire the man the day after he win the league. After all he do for that club, delivering two CL itles, two leaue titles, 1 Spanish Super Cup, 1 UEFA Super Cup and a World Club Championship in 4 years. Since that decision they never bounce back.
To me that was the hugest mistake they made...and as u said haven't until recently started looking anything close to that
Post by: weary1969 on April 30, 2012, 11:57:04 AM

Dat is Y i am a Real hater if dey could do he dat. Ah mean come on. 
Title: Roy Hodgson appointed England Manager
Post by: boss on May 01, 2012, 08:03:36 AM
http://www.thefa.com/England/News/2012/roy-hodgson-appointed-england-manager

Roy Hodgson appointed England Manager
The 64-year-old becomes England's 13th permanent Manager.

The Football Association is delighted to announce the appointment of Roy Hodgson as England Manager.

Joining from West Bromwich Albion, Hodgson has agreed a four year deal to become the full-time Manager of the Three Lions.

Hodgson, aged 64, who has won a total of eight league titles in a distinguished career, and coached the national teams of Switzerland, Finland and United Arab Emirates, met with FA officials at Wembley on Monday.

Having taken Switzerland to the FIFA World Cup™ in 1994 – their first Finals competition for 28 years – Hodgson also achieved a FIFA ranking of third in the world as well as successfully qualifying the team for Euro 96.

His former clubs include Inter Milan, Blackburn Rovers, Grasshoppers, FC Copenhagen, Fulham and Liverpool. He has also managed in Norway and Sweden. In addition, he has been a regular member of FIFA and UEFA’s technical study groups at tournaments.

Along with his vast experience of international and European football, Hodgson is the only English manager currently working in the top flight to have won the League Managers' Association manager of the year award.

The new Manager will take charge of England at Wembley for the first time, when the Three Lions take on Belgium on Saturday 2 June at Wembley Stadium (kick-off 5.15pm). Tickets are available at www.TheFA.com/Tickets
Title: Re: Roy Hodgson appointed England Manager
Post by: congo on May 01, 2012, 08:41:25 AM
Let the circus continue..!!! ;D
Post by: Tenorsaw on May 01, 2012, 08:47:43 AM
Conservative appointment by FA.  Probably cheaper than going after Redknapp.  The deciding factor might have been his willingness to embrace the whole developmental role that now comes with being manager of England.  Redknapp supposedly had reservations about that.  Plus, Hodgson has loads of international experience.  Didn't work out for him at 'Pool, but he has a knack for getting average teams to over achieve.  Let's see how he manages the egos that come into the England fold. ;)
Post by: Touches on May 01, 2012, 08:53:50 AM
Zamora go make side now...Hodgson liked him while at Fulham.
Post by: boss on May 01, 2012, 09:29:44 AM
Zamora go make side now...Hodgson liked him while at Fulham.

Cue Big Mag in 5...4...3....2....
Post by: Andre on May 01, 2012, 10:49:01 AM
roy is have a new work every few months. this is the biggest one though.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17893439
Post by: Bakes on May 01, 2012, 11:02:25 AM
Conservative appointment by FA.  Probably cheaper than going after Redknapp.  The deciding factor might have been his willingness to embrace the whole developmental role that now comes with being manager of England.  Redknapp supposedly had reservations about that.  Plus, Hodgson has loads of international experience.  Didn't work out for him at 'Pool, but he has a knack for getting average teams to over achieve.  Let's see how he manages the egos that come into the England fold. ;)

Don't forget that Redknapp was coming with baggage too.  As much as I am happy for Roy (this is vindication for the way he was dumped at Liverpool, necessary as the firing was), I have to say that this is the most uninspired hire in quite some time.
Post by: Tenorsaw on May 01, 2012, 12:04:52 PM

Don't forget that Redknapp was coming with baggage too.  As much as I am happy for Roy (this is vindication for the way he was dumped at Liverpool, necessary as the firing was), I have to say that this is the most uninspired hire in quite some time.

Kinda goes with the personality that is Hudgson.  His training regimen is supposedly very consistent; you do the same thing over and over.  His methods often take a while to be instilled into the players, but he eventually gets what he wants out of his team. 
Post by: Andre on May 01, 2012, 02:11:50 PM
he run with finland to almost make euro 2008 was impressive eh. also switzerland 94 but that was long time now.
Post by: Big Magician on May 01, 2012, 02:22:58 PM
Post by: MEP on May 01, 2012, 02:50:57 PM
Antithetical to everything Capello was trying to achieve with English Football
Post by: D.H.W on May 01, 2012, 02:59:24 PM
shit side is a shit side
Post by: kev on May 02, 2012, 01:07:57 AM
The press will be / already are at him anyway so its not going to end well.

Simply because they had already chosen Redknapp, good old Arry one of the boys.  I think Hodgson is OK, does well with what he is given to work with, at Liverpool it was fairly obvious the players didn't want to know and got their wish.  It makes little difference England are what they are, a lot of the old guard are finsihed after the Euro's anyway, Terry, Lampard, Gerrard so younger players need to be found / brought in which should avoid a repeat of Liverpool situation. 

As for Redknapp, he buys teams, shunts players he doesn't want very quickly, the problem he would of had is that he can only work with what he has at his disposal. 

I don't give a monkeys about England to be frank, but Hodgson won't be given a chance by the press.

Post by: Brownsugar on May 02, 2012, 04:52:54 AM

........is 1??   ???   :-\

Post by: andre samuel on May 02, 2012, 05:10:07 AM
Roy is a better choice than Harry in my opinion.  Harry seems more of a hit and miss without a plan B.  I hope the media gets off the "we want 'arry" train and back their manager.
Post by: kaliman2006 on May 02, 2012, 12:25:32 PM
Roy Hodgson is decent coach, but for one to say that he is better than Sir Alex Ferguson (who led Aberdeen to a Scottish League Title, breaking the Old Firm Duopoly,and his amazing success at Man Utd), is somewhat of a stretch, to put it mildly.

Ben Foster must have consumed huge quantities of that Australian alcoholic beverage which bears his surname, prior to making such a statement.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Foster: Roy a better coach than Sir Alex
May 2, 2012

By ESPN staff

West Brom goalkeeper Ben Foster believes new England manager Roy Hodgson is the best coach he has ever worked with - better even than Sir Alex Ferguson.

Foster has spent the past year working under Hodgson, who was named as the new Three Lions coach on Tuesday, playing a key role as the Hawthorns club have established their place in the Premier League.

The shot-stopper spent five years working under Ferguson at Manchester United earlier in his career but feels, from a personal viewpoint at least, that Hodgson is actually the superior coach.

"Fergie is obviously the whole caboodle with man-management and things like that. But as far as coaches go, Roy is definitely the best I have worked under. He is fantastic," Foster told the Mirror. "He has a few of the fans and stuff to win over but I am sure he will get results to start with and that will be it, he will be flying.

"I have read a few interviews saying he is a bit of a yes-man and things like that. It is definitely not true. Those people have obviously never worked with Roy Hodgson before. He is a lovely guy and knows his stuff.

"But behind closed doors he is a tough character. He won't take any rubbish from anyone, and rightly so. You should respect your manager.

"This is the first time I have got to work with him. But the time I have been with him, he knows football in and out. He is absolutely meticulous in his preparations, and goes into the fine details of the team we are going to be playing against.

"He lives and breathes football. It is everything to Roy Hodgson."

Much has been made of Hodgson's failure at his last high-profile appointment - with Liverpool almost two years ago. Foster believes the 64-year-old has been harshly judged for a spell that, in the league at least, was not markedly different from his successor Kenny Dalglish's current run of form.

"A lot of people are hanging on to the Liverpool thing as well and bringing that up. If you look at his record and compare it to Kenny Dalglish it is pretty similar," he said. "It didn't go too well for Roy but I don't think you can keep hanging on to that. I can only go from what I have seen this season.

"He has been absolutely fantastic and a pleasure to work with."

Foster's comments may suggest that he is looking for a route back into the international setup, after declaring himself unavailable for a call-up during Fabio Capello's reign. However, he insists he will remain in international retirement despite Hodgson's appointment.

"I stick by my decision. I am happy with the decision I made. Rob Green has had a good season in the Championship and John Ruddy is up and coming and done well.

"It would be very unfair on people like that if I just changed my decision and got straight back in."

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story/_/id/1060791/ben-foster:-roy-hodgson-a-better-coach-than-sir-alex-ferguson?cc=5901
Title: Manager/Coach Status Thread.
Post by: Flex on May 18, 2012, 02:56:44 AM
Lawrence looks set for Liverpool role
By Nigel Simon

Former Soca Warriors World Cup defender, Denis Lawrence, current assistant coach at Wigan Athletic could be set for an historic coaching role at managerless English Premiership club, Liverpool FC within the coming days.

This after Roberto Martin, the coach of Wigan was given permission by his current employers to speak to Liverpool, one of England’s most celebrated clubs about a possible move to Anfield.

The 37-year-old Lawrence, who played for Wrexham before signing for Martinez at Swansea City was named the assistant coach at Wigan last season and has been part of its technical staff ever since along with Graeme Jones, another assistant coach.

Yesterday it was reported that Wigan chairman Dave Whelan had given Liverpool permission to speak to Martinez, following an approach from the Carling Cup winners.

Liverpool is seeking a manager following Wednesday’s sacking of Kenny Dalglish. Speaking to Sky Sports News yesterday, Whelan said: “If Liverpool are serious then I may lose him.” Whelan has always said he felt the Spaniard was destined to manage one of Europe's top clubs and he would not stand in his way should one come calling.

The Wigan chairman revealed the Reds made an approach earlier yesterday and he gave Martinez permission to speak with them. “When they phoned me I was actually with Roberto having a meeting on what we are doing next season,” he said.

“I did promise Roberto and I have always said when a big club comes he would have permission to talk to them and they don’t come any bigger than Liverpool.

“I gave him permission and he will be talking to them soon—I don’t know when, but quite soon. “When Liverpool sacked Kenny I have to say I thought Liverpool would be knocking on the door and sure enough they are.

“I would love to keep him but I have told Roberto he has my permission to speak with Liverpool.” Martinez will not be the only manager owners Fenway Sports Group speak to in their quest to replace Dalglish and he would be far from the populist choice.

Questions have already been asked about his suitability for a club the size of Liverpool, considering he only has experience at the bottom end of the Premier League with Wigan and in the Football League with Swansea prior to that.

Title: Re: 2012 Coaches and Managers Status.
Post by: Bakes on June 09, 2012, 01:37:04 AM
I guess we need to start a thread for 2012-2013, but until then...

Paul Lambert has left Norwich to take over Aston Villa
Chris Hughton has left Birmingham (http://www1.skysports.com/news/11095/7799515/) to take over Lambert's old job with Norwich
Title: Re: 2012 Coaches and Managers Status.
Post by: Bakes on June 14, 2012, 12:16:20 AM
Harry to leave Tottenham...

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story/_/id/1099976/tottenham-confirm-harry-redknapp-exit?cc=5901
Title: Re: 2012/13 Manager/Coach Status Thread.
Post by: Flex on July 10, 2012, 06:10:46 PM
Maradona sacked by Al-Wasl
PA News

Diego Maradona has been sacked as manager of United Arab Emirates club Al-Wasl.

The legendary Argentinian's position had been in doubt since last month when the club's entire board resigned following a trophy-less season.

Maradona was appointed boss in May last year, but after only managing eighth place in the Pro-League in his first season in charge he has been sacked after meeting the new board today.

It was decided to terminate the services of coach Diego Maradona and his technical staff. Club statement

"Following a meeting held by the board of directors of Al Wasl Football Company held today [Tuesday], to evaluate the technical staff of Al Wasl Football Team under the leadership of coach Diego Maradona, it was decided to terminate the services of coach Diego Maradona and his technical staff," a statement from the club said.

Maradona still had a year to run on his contract with the ambitious Dubai-based club.

The 51-year-old had been brought in to help boost the club's profile, both on and off the pitch, but in addition to a disappointing league campaign they crashed out of the President's Cup and Emirates Cup at the quarter-final stage.
Title: Finally Mano Menezes got fired
Post by: Dumplingdinho on November 23, 2012, 07:12:58 PM
Brazil coach Mano Menezes fired

SAO PAULO (AP) -The Brazil football federation fired coach Mano Menezes on Friday, a controversial move that pleased many Brazilians who had been calling for his dismissal but worried others who believe the change comes too close to the 2014 World Cup.

Federation director Andres Sanchez, who made it clear that he didn't agree with the decision to fire Menezes, said the decision was made by president Jose Maria Marin after a meeting in Sao Paulo on Friday.

"The president believes that the national team needs to go in a different direction and for that he needs a new coach,'' Sanchez said. "The president wants new methods and new planning for the national team next year.''

World Cup-winning coach Luiz Felipe Scolari, who is without a job, is one of the names touted to replace Menezes, but Sanchez said he doesn't think negotiations for a new coach are under way just yet.

Sanchez, as the federation director, is in charge of the national team. Though he disagreed with the firing, Sanchez said the president was being "brave'' and called it a "bold'' move to make the change.

"He is looking forward and we have to respect it,'' Sanchez said. "The president feels that this is not the national team that he wants.''

The 80-year-old Marin took over the football federation earlier this year after former president Ricardo Teixeira left his post amid widespread allegations of wrongdoing. Marin had not publicly criticized Menezes' methods, but he always stopped short of guaranteeing the coach would be in charge for next year's Confederations Cup and the World Cup that Brazil will host.

Sanchez said he personally talked to Menezes and the coach "obviously didn't like to hear'' that he was being fired.

"Nobody wants to hear that, but he will move on and is ready to coach another club or a national team,'' Sanchez said.

The director said Menezes wasn't dismissed because of poor results.

"Mano did a good job,'' Sanchez said. "He faced difficulties but the work being done was improving. If the problem was the lack of good results he would have been fired earlier. He was winning recently.''

The news came two days after Brazil beat Argentina on penalties to win the Superclassic of the Americas, a two-leg series in which the South American rivals use players from local clubs. It was Brazil's final match of the year.

Menezes was heavily criticized earlier this year because of the team's lackluster play, but good results recently had helped ease the complaints from fans and local media.

He coached Brazil for 33 matches, leading it to 21 victories, six losses and six draws. The main complaint against Menezes was that his team struggled in games against top teams and only beat the weaker sides.

He revamped the national team, replacing former stars such as Ronaldinho and Robinho by young promising players such as Neymar, Oscar and Lucas.

"The team was about 85 percent set, but what happens now will depend on the new coach,'' Sanchez said. "I respect the president's decision, but it interrupts the work that was under way and I don't think it came at a right moment.''

The calls for Menezes' firing increased significantly after he failed to lead Brazil to the 2012 Olympic gold medal despite having most of his top players available at the under-23 tournament in London. Brazil lost the final to Mexico at Wembley.

Menezes was jeered by fans in Sao Paulo when Brazil struggled in a 1-0 win over South Africa in a friendly in September.

Pele and Romario have been among Menezes' critics.

"Today is a historic day, Brazil needs to celebrate,'' Romario said on his Facebook page. "Finally the federation did something good for Brazilian football. It took a while to happen, but it did.''

Romario called for Scolari's return to the national team.

Scolari, who led Brazil to the 2002 World Cup title in South Korea and Japan, never ruled out coaching Brazil again, but he was tied with Brazilian club Palmeiras until earlier this year.

His contract with Palmeiras ended after he failed to improve the team's situation in the Brazilian league, and fans immediately called for his return to the national squad even though he accepted some of the responsibility for Palmeiras' recent relegation. The team had won the Brazilian Cup under Scolari this year.

When Brazil struggled in a recent match against Argentina, fans chanted "Goodbye, Mano,'' and "Come back Scolari.''

Menezes took over after Brazil's elimination at the 2010 World Cup, when Dunga's team fell to the Netherlands in the quarterfinals.

Muricy Ramalho was the first choice at the time, but the four-time Brazilian league champion turned down the job because of his contract with Fluminense.

Menezes had coached Gremio and Corinthians in Brazil but had no previous international experience.

Ramalho, now with Santos, is also touted to replace Menezes, as is current Corinthians coach Tite and Gremio manager Vanderlei Luxemburgo, who previously had a brief spell as Brazil coach

Source:

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2012/soccer/wires/11/23/2080.ap.soc.brazil.menezes.2nd.ld.writethru.836/index.html#ixzz2D68YETdZ

Let the speculation begin:
http://www.sambafoot.com/en/news/39181_dunga_to_return_to_work_in_2013.html

http://www.sambafoot.com/en/news/39228_santos_head_coach_muricy_ramalho_surprised_at_the_sacking_of_selecao_boss_mano_menezes_and_remained_coy_over_the_possibility_of_taking_the_role.html

Title: Re: Finally Mano Menezes got fired
Post by: giggsy11 on November 23, 2012, 07:31:45 PM
Give Pep the job!
Title: Re: Finally Mano Menezes got fired
Post by: Dumplingdinho on November 23, 2012, 07:44:02 PM
Give Pep the job!

Heard he is one of the 7 or so candidates but i cant see Brazil hiring a foreign coach especially for a world cup they hosting.  I expect Pep to take over at Chelsea when Rafa get fired at the end of the season.
Title: Manager/Coaches Status Thread.
Post by: Blue on May 07, 2013, 03:57:53 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson's future as Manchester United manager in doubt
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2013/may/07/sir-alex-ferguson-manchester-united
• Announcement expected soon from Old Trafford
• Players told to prepare for news shortly

Sir Alex Ferguson's future as Manchester United manager was shrouded in doubt on Tuesday evening, with sources claiming that there would be a statement about his position and that the squad had been told to expect an announcement.

Some of the United squad were at a golf day on Tuesday at Dunham Massey, where they played against members of the coaching staff and were told to prepare to receive news regarding their manager.

United's press department could not be reached to confirm or deny the story.

Since leading United to a 20th championship and the 13th of his 27-year reign at the club, the 71-year-old has offered no hint that he may end his tenure. Yet given that since he announced his retirement at the end of the 2001-2 season months ahead of the close of that campaign before performing a U-turn, Ferguson vowed to make any future decision at short notice.

United had earlier confirmed reports that Ferguson is booked in for hip surgery immediately after the club return from their three-week pre-season tour at the end of July. That Ferguson will have his summer break and then travel to Thailand, Australia, Japan and Hong Kong before the operation suggested he was not going to be on the sidelines for too long.

However, United must face either Manchester City or Wigan in the Community Shield at Wembley on 11 August, with their title defence due to begin the following weekend.

Title: Re: 2013 Coaches Status Thread.
Post by: Mose on May 07, 2013, 04:02:56 PM
That would be a TOUGH act to follow. If he does leave I don't expect the next manager to last more than 3yrs, 5 if he does well.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 07, 2013, 04:13:21 PM
Wha go happen when allyuh find out is Jose? lol
Post by: Blue on May 07, 2013, 04:36:18 PM
Wha go happen when allyuh find out is Jose? lol

Dat is what worrying me. Hopefully he stays on for another year. :praying:

On another note, I dont see why the thread had to be renamed so quickly, I think Sir Alex's resignation deserves its own thread
Post by: coache on May 07, 2013, 07:21:26 PM
Ferguson likes the man...I feel is Jose..
Post by: Flex on May 13, 2013, 03:58:16 PM
Mancini gets the boot from Man City
By ESPN.com news services

LONDON -- Manchester City has fired manager Roberto Mancini after conceding the Premier League title to rival Man United and finishing the season without a trophy.

The club announced the decision Monday on its website.

The Italian is departing after less than four years in charge, having ended the club's 35-year trophy drought by winning the FA Cup in 2011 and then leading the team to its first league title in 44 years the following season.

City has two games remaining this league campaign, the first of which is at Reading on Tuesday.

Post by: Deeks on May 13, 2013, 04:17:46 PM
win or die!!!!. The life of a coach. I like Mancini. I don't care what allyuh say. He is his own man. He will get a next job.
Post by: Banter Banton on May 13, 2013, 04:50:42 PM
Mancini WOAHHHHH Mancini WOAHHHHH,
WE WON OUR TROPHY BACK
AND NOW HE'S GOT THE SACK
(X100)

Last year this time "Power Shift in Manchester" Power Shift ? f**k OFF
Post by: D.H.W on May 13, 2013, 05:17:22 PM
Lol
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 14, 2013, 04:55:47 AM
Mancini had to go....he didn't know how to "manage" his players.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 14, 2013, 05:26:07 AM
... an observation you've been making a long time now. 

And, it's hard for a manager to restructure his approach to management so he'll be plagued by this likely everywhere unless a board is willing to bend the players to his will. However, in a game of inches, proper "ego stewardship" ... which is what it really comes down to ... is seemingly worth several inches versus a manager's yards of winning silverware.
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 14, 2013, 06:37:57 AM
My biggest issue with him was, of course, how he treated Balotelli and also how he and ownership (I'm sure they had a lot to do with it, too) handled the Tevez situation.  To me, he made it a point to show up Balo from on the sidelines whenever Balo was perceived to have done anything wrong on the pitch, or say some sly shit (like the national team's coach did the other day) in the media. The general consensus was that Balo was a cancer in the locker room (which, when you consider that he was a young boy amongst a team of elite veterans, sounds stupid....to me, at least) and so they got rid of him and now he's happy in Italy, scoring goals for Milan that you have to wonder if little things like that might not be among the things that grinding at the owners' craw. It would at mines.  I think his style might be better suited to his own culture in Italy.

Post by: Observer on May 14, 2013, 06:55:03 AM
win or die!!!!. The life of a coach. I like Mancini. I don't care what allyuh say. He is his own man. He will get a next job.

Deeks they all get jobs regardless, its a tight knit circle. Mancini has many good qualities, however, all indications are he has very poor people management skills. At Inter he fell out with almost everyone & had a public row with Luis Figo and the Medical staff. From the outside looking in, one of the things I notice is that it is never his fault.

On another side note Man City as an organization should have handled the situation better
Post by: Mango Chow! on May 14, 2013, 07:23:50 AM
one of the things I notice is that it is never his fault.

Ah did forget to remember dah one, too, so true. 
Post by: Bitter on May 14, 2013, 10:33:16 AM
Heynckes set to retire
Stephan Uersfeld, Germany Correspondent
http://espnfc.com/news/story/_/id/1447071/bayern-munich-boss-jupp-heynckes-set-retire?cc=5901

Bayern Munich coach Jupp Heynckes appeared to end speculation about his future by saying this season would be his last as a coach.

(http://soccernet-assets.espn.go.com/design05/images/2013/0507/juppheynckes20120518_275x155.jpg)
Jupp Heynckes has coached the second most Bundesliga games in history (PA Photos)

That means that Heynckes, 68, has three more games to complete, two of them being the Champions League final and the DFB Pokal final, which could bring the curtain down on his illustrious career with a historic treble.

"Monchengladbach will be my last game as a Bundesliga coach," Heynckes revealed during the club's open media day ahead of the all-German Champions League final against Borussia Dortmund on May 25. "There are no alternatives left in the Bundesliga after two very successful years working of working on the highest level at Bayern Munich.

"What will happen after that, we will have to wait until after our two finals. I will probably say something in June after the German Cup final."

Heynckes had recently been linked with a return to Spain, with Real Madrid, Barcelona and Athletic Bilbao all mentioned as possible destinations. However, he dismissed the prospect of a move abroad.

"If I was 10 or 15 year younger, I would consider an engagement abroad. But I am getting a bit long in the tooth and the clubs want to enforce a new generation. You can't do that with a 68-year old," he said.

Heynckes will be on the sidelines for the last time during the German Cup Final between Bayern Munich and Stuttgart on June 1. His last Bundesliga game next Saturday will take place in Monchengladbach, where he started his Bundesliga career as a player in 1965 and made his first steps as coach in 1979.
Post by: Bitter on May 21, 2013, 10:49:16 AM
Tony Pulis leaves Stoke City after seven years in charge

21 May 2013
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22614097

Manager Tony Pulis has left Stoke City following talks with chairman Peter Coates on Tuesday.
Pulis's future has been in doubt for some time and he has been told the club feels the time is right for him to leave after seven years in charge.

The 55-year-old was appointed Potters boss for a second time in 2006, and two years later he guided the club to the top flight after a 23-year absence.

Stoke have just finished 13th in their fifth Premier League campaign.

Pulis was the subject of unrest from some fans towards the end of the season as Stoke flirted with relegation, but the Welshman stated on several occasions that Premier League survival remained the club's main objective.

Stoke made a strong start to the campaign and were just four points off the top four on 1 December. However, they only managed four league wins in 23 subsequent league matches, suffering 11 defeats.
Former England international Michael Owen, who has retired from playing after a season at Stoke, praised Pulis on Twitter, writing: "No denying he did a great job getting them to the Premier League and keeping them there".

Pulis becomes the 56th manager to leave his job since the start of the 2012-13 season.
He first took over at Stoke in 2002 and stayed for three years before a season at Plymouth. He returned to the Potteries in 2006 and gained promotion to the Premier League in the second season of his second spell in charge.

Stoke never finished lower than 14th in five top-flight campaigns under Pulis and he led the club to their first FA Cup final in 2011, when they lost 1-0 to Manchester City. The defeat still offered a route into the Europa League, where Stoke were beaten in the last 32 by Spanish side Valencia.

During his second spell at the club, the former Bournemouth and Bristol City manager guided his side to 122 wins in 333 games.

Ahead of Stoke's 1-1 draw at Southampton on the final day of the season, Pulis expressed his desire to remain at the club next season.

Stoke's direct and physical style of football often drew criticism from other supporters and managers, and the club appear to be set to embark on a new direction, with director of football John Rudge also leaving this summer
Post by: D.H.W on May 21, 2013, 10:56:49 AM
Good riddance
Post by: Bitter on May 27, 2013, 08:13:44 PM
Napoli names Rafa Benitez coach
Associated Press
http://espnfc.com/news/story/_/id/1462016/napoli-names-rafa-benitez-new-coach?cc=5901

NAPLES, Italy -- Rafael Benitez was announced as Napoli's new coach Monday after concluding his interim spell at Chelsea.

Napoli president and film producer Aurelio De Laurentiis made the announcement as promised on his personal Twitter account, calling Benitez "a man of great international experience. A leader."

Benitez reportedly signed a two-year deal worth 3.5 million euros ($4.5 million) per season.

Benitez led Chelsea to the Europa League title earlier this month and formerly coached Inter Milan in Serie A for the first half of 2010-11. The Spaniard has also managed Valencia and Liverpool.

Walter Mazzarri resigned as Napoli coach eight days ago and signed with Inter.

Napoli finished second in Serie A to qualify for next season's Champions League group phase.

Benitez's first order of business with Napoli will be to convince star forward Edinson Cavani to stay. The Uruguay forward led Serie A with 29 goals this season but appears interested in a transfer.

Distrusted by Chelsea fans following his tenure at Liverpool, Benitez never settled in after he was hired on a seven-month contract in November to replace Roberto Di Matteo, who was fired six months after leading the London club to its first Champions League title.

Outgoing Real Madrid coach Jose Mourinho is expected to return to Chelsea for a second stint to coach the team.

Besides the Europa League title, Benitez guided the Blues to the semifinals of the FA Cup and League Cup and a third-place finish in the Premier League, ensuring the club's 11th straight Champions League appearance.

Napoli will be playing in the Champions League for the second time in three seasons, and De Laurentiis will want to see improvement following the southern club's impressive return to the elite competition in 2011-12 in which it reached the second round before being eliminated by Chelsea.

Napoli is also aiming to win Serie A for the first time since Diego Maradona led the team to its only Italian league titles in 1987 and 1990.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 27, 2013, 10:05:30 PM
... Ah feel Cavani should leave.
Post by: Tenorsaw on May 28, 2013, 08:42:48 AM
I always thought Rafa was suited to the Italian style of football or catenacio, as it is called.  I think he's come back a better manager, who has learned to single out good performers and give them the recognition they yearn for.  He's probably the best pure tactician of all the big name coaches out there.
Post by: Banter Banton on May 28, 2013, 09:02:33 AM
Martinez has left Wigan.. speaking with Everton.. good choice
Post by: Bitter on May 30, 2013, 09:16:26 AM
Mourinho 'signs' Chelsea deal
ESPN staff
May 30, 2013

Jose Mourinho has signed a deal to become the new Chelsea manager, according to a report in the Sun.

Mourinho and Chelsea have appeared destined to reunite for some time, with the Portuguese repeatedly tantalising the media with comments about his future.

The already raging fire was fuelled when it was confirmed Mourinho would be leaving Real Madrid, since when he has gone somewhat quiet.

Mourinho was seen at Wembley watching the Championship play-off final between Crystal Palace and Watford on Monday and the Sun is claiming that during his recent visit to London he signed a contract to take charge of the Blues.

The report claims Mourinho has put his name to a four-year contract worth £40 million, with 'a senior Blues source' quoted as saying: "It's official Jose is a Chelsea man again!

"Everyone is delighted he's coming back - the club, the players and the fans.

"We are already looking forward to next season; we are sure it's going to be very exciting."

It is being claimed that Chelsea will unveil Mourinho as their new manager next week, following Madrid's final game of the season against Osasuna this weekend.

Chelsea fans will hope for similar success to when Mourinho was previously in charge of the Blues. He won six trophies between 2004 and 2007.

When contacted, Chelsea declined to comment on the report.

Read more at http://www.espn.co.uk/football/sport/story/209678.html#Bz21zKbitTLm8iOK.99
Title: Which club manager will be under the most pressure this season?
Post by: MilkyX on August 07, 2013, 02:16:29 PM
So many new managers...so many expectations. United, Man City, Chelsea, Barca, Madrid, Bayern, the list goes on. Whose gonna bend, whose gonna break and whose gonna come out like a boss?
Title: Re: Which club manager will be under the most pressure this season?
Post by: sammy on August 07, 2013, 02:20:06 PM
hmm though call....
i think moyes will be under the least amt of pressure from that list.

The most pressure might be Real.
Title: Re: Which club manager will be under the most pressure this season?
Post by: Deeks on August 07, 2013, 02:20:33 PM
Moyes!
Post by: ragga on August 27, 2013, 08:07:52 PM
http://www.westerngazette.co.uk/Glovers-boss-heads-European-giants/story-19122674-detail/story.html

Former Jabloteh coach in the big league with Panathinaikos.

The donzi go be in the £50k+/week range.
Title: David Moyes
Post by: Football supporter on October 05, 2013, 05:40:24 AM
I have to admire David Moyes.

He spent 11 long hard years trying to get Everton above Man Utd in the EPL.

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED    :devil: :devil: :devil:

Sorry to all the Man U guys....I couldn't resist it!!
Title: Re: 2013/14 Coaches Status Thread.
Post by: Flex on January 14, 2014, 03:11:23 PM
Clarence Seedorf to coach Milan
By Ben Gladwell, Italy Correspondent

Seedorf: "There's a special feeling for AC Milan"

Clarence Seedorf has announced he is to retire from playing with immediate effect to replace sacked manager Massimiliano Allegri at AC Milan.

Seedorf, 37, has been released from his playing contract with Botafogo to allow him to pursue a coaching career with the Rossoneri, who parted company with Allegri on Monday in the wake of Sunday's 4-3 defeat at Sassuolo.

The loss left Milan languishing in 11th place in the table, 30 points behind league leaders Juventus and 20 points outside the Champions League places.

"I want to announce that I'm ending my playing career," Seedorf said at a news conference in Brazil. "It has been a difficult night for me, but I end satisfied with what I have achieved in my career. I want to thank everybody at Botafogo. This experience will help me a lot in my next step, which will be as coach of Milan."

"Football is part of my life, but it is not all of my life. I knew it would come to an end sooner or later. This is a new challenge, but I'm relaxed about it."

Seedorf returns to a club which was in a much healthier position when he left. He left in the summer of 2012 after Milan finished second to Juventus. He spent 10 years as a player at Milan, winning the Champions League twice.

Allegri was made to pay for an enduring bad spell of form, thus hastening Seedorf's anticipated summer arrival at the club. The Dutchman was contacted by Milan president Silvio Berlusconi immediately.

"Given my relationship with president Berlusconi, when he called me yesterday, I couldn't say no," said Seedorf.

"If I could have played on another five years, I would have stayed here because Botafogo have a young, competitive team. We've improved not only technically, but also as a team. Even after me, Botafogo will remain great."

Seedorf is due to arrive in Milan in time to see them face Spezia in the Coppa Italia on Wednesday evening. Mauro Tassotti will take charge of the team for the game, and he has already wished his successor all the best.

"Certainly Seedorf is not lacking the ability to do well," he said at a news conference in Milan. "He has a great personality and this will help him a great deal. I have no particular advice for Seedorf. He knows the club as well as I do. If he wants to know more about the situation of the players, then I'd be only too happy to oblige."

Seedorf's next step will be to bid farewell to his Botafogo players before boarding a plane to Milan, to embark on the next chapter in his footballing career.

"I wish I could hug all the fans one by one," said Seedorf. "My last game, scoring a goal, was incredible. I still have time to hug all of my teammates and I want to thank everybody at Botafogo."

Botafogo's president Mauricio Assumpcao also wanted to thank him, presenting the Dutchman with a framed photo, wishing him "good luck" in Italian. "We wanted him to stay with us, but football is gaining a great coach," he said. "People are going to be chasing Milan in future."

Post by: maxg on January 15, 2014, 06:31:22 PM
I think Seedorf has been one of the greatest and strongest. This man play thru it all. I wish him all the best.
Post by: Mose on February 04, 2014, 03:50:33 PM
WTF! Didn't expect this!
Swansea fires manager Michael Laudrup
Premier League club Swansea fired Michael Laudrup on Tuesday, with the widely-admired manager paying the price for a slump in the year since winning the League Cup...
More here: http://www.cbc.ca/sports/soccer/swansea-fires-manager-michael-laudrup-1.2523111
Post by: maxg on February 04, 2014, 07:32:22 PM
WTF! Didn't expect this!
Swansea fires manager Michael Laudrup
Premier League club Swansea fired Michael Laudrup on Tuesday, with the widely-admired manager paying the price for a slump in the year since winning the League Cup...
More here: http://www.cbc.ca/sports/soccer/swansea-fires-manager-michael-laudrup-1.2523111

From the time he didn't land KJ..I thought he coocoo was cook   ;)
Title: Sacked football managers: Where are the clubs now?
Post by: Tallman on April 08, 2014, 04:42:39 AM
Interesting that only Crystal Palace has improved their position.

http://www.bbc.com/newsbeat/26920629
Title: Re: Sacked football managers: Where are the clubs now?
Post by: Tiresais on April 08, 2014, 06:38:29 AM
Interesting that only Crystal Palace has improved their position.

http://www.bbc.com/newsbeat/26920629

No surprise - none of those replacements, except maybe Palace, were particularly inspired.
Title: Kluivert To Be Named Curaçao Boss
Post by: Tallman on March 04, 2015, 06:17:57 PM
Kluivert To Be Named Curaçao Boss
By Michael Bell (Curaçao Chronicle)

Kluivert left for Curaçao on Wednesday and will be presented as their new head coach on Thursday, in what will be the former Ajax, Barcelona and Newcastle United striker’s first job as a head coach.

The 38-year-old has held youth coaching positions with FC Twente, and PSV, while between 2012 and 2014 he was assistant to Louis van Gaal with Netherlands.

Curaçao became a member of FIFA in 2010 after Netherlands Antilles was dissolved, and are currently ranked 160th in the world. The Caribbean nation failed to qualify for the 2014 World Cup after finishing third in the second round group stage, behind Haiti and Antigua and Bermuda.

Kluivert will be handed the task of qualifying for the 2018 World Cup, and will have a number of Eredivisie players at his disposal with Twente defender Cuco Martina, Excelsior forward Guyon Fernandez, and Willem II’s Charlton Vicento all available for selection.

Curaçao start their qualifying campaign for the 2018 World Cup at the end of March with a first round tie against Montserrat, which will be Kluivert’s first game in charge. If they get past that tie they will then face Cuba in the next round.
Title: Re: Kluivert To Be Named Curaçao Boss
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 04, 2015, 06:55:21 PM
curious about the situation in Suriname regarding the  dual citizenship law  :)
Title: Re: Kluivert To Be Named Curaçao Boss
Post by: coache on March 04, 2015, 11:07:11 PM
They need fifteen players from Holland...
Title: Patrick Kluivert hopes to make unlikely World Cup history with Curaçao
Post by: Bitter on March 29, 2015, 05:13:30 AM
Patrick Kluivert hopes to make unlikely World Cup history with Curaçao
Nine months after reaching the World Cup semi-finals with Holland, family ties have tempted Kluivert to coach the tiny Caribbean island – and the players have followed

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2015/mar/28/patrick-kluivert-world-cup-history-curacao

There may be a parallel universe in which Patrick Kluivert can be found stalking the Old Trafford touchline with Louis van Gaal every other week, but the present cosmos will do nicely enough for now. The Caribbean island of Curaçao is best known for its blue seas, white beaches and the liqueur that bears its name, and if the former Holland striker has his way then it might yet add football to that list. Kluivert is one of Curaçao’s most celebrated descendants and he has eschewed more mainstream coaching offers in an attempt to win the tiny state an unlikely place at Russia 2018.

“My mother is from the island and I really want to give something back to it – that is why I am here,” he tells the Observer from the national team’s base in Willemstad, the capital city. “The federation asked me if I was interested in the job of head coach and I didn’t have to think. I still have a lot of family here and feel a strong connection with the place. It seems like home, and that was a big part of it for me.”

Kluivert is on an informal contract that will, in all likelihood, last for as long as the former Dutch colony’s World Cup campaign. That effort began in the early hours of Saturday morning with a 2-1 victory against Montserrat in Willemstad, leaving Kluivert’s team in a strong position before Tuesday’s first qualifying round second leg. It takes some suspension of disbelief to absorb that he is here when, nine months ago on Sunday, he was assisting Van Gaal in Fortaleza as the Oranje defeated Mexico to reach the World Cup quarter-finals. Surely that alone was enough to burnish his CV as a budding manager?

“I had offers from some clubs after that, and also the Ghana national team,” he says. “But I’m a sensitive person and if the feeling isn’t good I’m not doing it. The feeling I had about working with the people here on the island was very good and that was the most important thing when making my decision.”

Had he hoped that one of those clubs might be Manchester United? The lines can be read between. “Louis wanted to have Ryan Giggs in my position and I could understand his decision – he wanted someone who knows the club very well. He also said to me: ‘Patrick, it’s now time for you to stand on your own feet,’ and that’s why I didn’t join Manchester United. So I have made a different step towards the top and I see it as a perfect one towards being head coach of a good club team. It is a nice challenge and I’m taking it very seriously – it has come at the perfect moment for me.”

The thought occurs that Kluivert is the latest in a line of lavishly talented black Dutch footballers to feel energised for a shot at management. Ruud Gullit and Frank Rijkaard both had chances at the highest level with mixed results; Clarence Seedorf was given a brief opportunity with Milan last year; Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink is succeeding at Burton; even Edgar Davids’ spell at Barnet suggested a confidence that is not necessarily shared by British counterparts.

Kluivert’s current hand includes a squad bolstered by Netherlands-based players who fell over themselves to commit after his appointment was confirmed. There may be a place, too, for the Brighton and former Holland Under-21 midfielder Kemy Agustien. Curaçao is, in Fifa terms, the successor to Netherlands Antilles – a country that was dissolved in 2010 and of which Curaçao was a constituent part. The obvious parallels to draw would be those of Russia and Serbia, who assumed the places held by the Soviet Union and Yugoslavia respectively after those states were dissolved. There is a sense that this is an opportunity for the country to find itself a new niche on the football map.

“I think I’ve had quite an influence on the players who have joined the national team because in the past they didn’t always come,” says Kluivert. “From the moment I took the job, people wanted to join us and that’s a very good thing. I hope to make a difference here.

“I know I’ll be working with good-quality players because many have come from Holland and they know the Dutch way of playing. They are of a high standard and I think if you teach them the right system they can do very well. It is important to have them, but it is equally necessary to have good players based on the island itself and there is some great talent here. If we can combine the two and have everyone facing in the same direction then there are good possibilities.”

He will not say whether those include a remarkable run through the labyrinthine Concacaf qualifiers. It is a region with previous for fairytale stories – Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago and Haiti have all made it through before – but Curaçao will face Cuba in June if they complete the job in Montserrat, with a further knockout round and two group stages still in prospect thereafter.

“I’m not going to predict anything, I’m just going match after match, trying to analyse our opponents well and to prepare the team. We’ll aim to play organised, offensive, attractive football and go for the win every time, but I’m not a person who likes to aim for big targets. We’re just looking to go as far as possible.”
Title: Re: Manager/Coach Status Thread.
Post by: Flex on July 28, 2015, 02:57:21 PM
Miguel Herrera is out as Mexico national team manager
By Conor Dowley (sbnation.com).

The speculation is over: Miguel Herrera is out as the manager of the Mexican national team, having been fired after a vote by the Mexican Football Federation board of governors.

First reported by ESPN's John Sutcliffe, the news comes just a day after Herrera is alleged to have attacked an Azteca TV reporter at Philadelphia International Airport, which itself came the morning after Mexico's 3-1 triumph over Jamaica to win the CONCACAF Gold Cup. While winning trophies is always excellent, attacking reporters is not, and so it was that Mexico and El Piojo -- "the Louse" -- had to part ways after the startling incident.

Herrera was a fiery and passionate competitor on the pitch in his playing days, and that energy carried over into his managerial career as well. Herrera was a successful manager at club level in Liga MX before being given a chance as the interim manager of the national team two years ago after a spell when Mexico were running through managers almost every other match.

He was given the task of winning Mexico's World Cup playoff qualifier against New Zealand in order to reach the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, which Herrera did with ease, earning him the job on a full-time basis. Herrera then got Mexico through a tough group that included Brazil and Croatia. but they fell controversially in the round of 16 to the Netherlands.

Things have been a little rougher for Mexcio in recent months, as players aging and getting injured have left Herrera's squad quite thin. A poor showing in the Copa America earlier this summer put Herrera's job at risk, but he recovered by winning the Gold Cup trophy -- and then Herrera threw everything away when he threw that alleged punch.

The manager's energy and enthusiasm on the touchline was always a joy to behold, with sights like this not at all uncommon after big moments in Mexico's matches:

But all the enthusiasm in the world doesn't change reality: you just can't go around punching people. There are consequences for that, and the consequence for Herrera was losing his job.

(https://cdn1.vox-cdn.com/thumbor/zmvm59SgOMCVQ9H6eBTBSDY9RQ8=/106x538:1677x1585/709x473/filters:format(webp)/cdn0.vox-cdn.com/uploads/chorus_image/image/46852008/usa-today-8670462.0.jpg)

Post by: davyjenny1 on July 28, 2015, 04:23:05 PM
Just heard it; am not one bit surprise they gone with Herrera wicket. He had to much hanging over his head and that was a perfect excuse to get rid of him. The general Mexican community here was always complaining about him. When in come to Mexican football they are the most difficult people to please. 
Title: Guardiola to join Man City
Post by: Jumbie on February 01, 2016, 02:08:34 PM
Saw this headline trending online

Edit Source: http://www.espnfc.us/manchester-city/story/2798485/guardiola-confirmed-as-pellegrini-successor-at-man-city

MANCHESTER, England -- Manager Manuel Pellegrini will leave Manchester City at the end of the season and be replaced by Pep Guardiola.

Pellegrini revealed at the end of Monday's news conference that he has agreed to part ways with the club on June 30. Manchester City confirmed that Bayern Munich coach Guardiola will take charge for the start of the 2016-17 season.
Title: Nigerian coaches .....
Post by: ribbit on July 20, 2016, 01:22:15 PM
wow, just noticed two football coaches (amodu and keshi) that coached Nigeria passed away last month within days of each other.

check this carousel (credit wikipedia):

Jack Finch (1949)
Elliot Williams (1954–1956)
Les Courtier (1956–1960)
Dominic Taylor (1960–1961)
George Vardar (1961–1963)
Joey Blackwell (1963–1964)
Daniel Anyiam (1964–1965)
József Ember (1965–1968)
Sabino Barinaga (1968–1969)
Peter 'Eto' Amaechina (1969–1970)
Karl-Heinz Marotzke (1970–1971)
Jorge Penna (1972–1973)
Karl-Heinz Marotzke (1974)
Tihomir Jelisavčić (1974–1978)
Otto Glória (1979–1982)
Gottlieb Göller (1981)
Festus Onigbinde (1983–1984)
Chris Udemezue (1984–1986)
Patrick Ekeji (1985)
Paul Hamilton (1987–1989)
Manfred Hoener (1988–1989)
Clemens Westerhof (1989–1994)
Shaibu Amodu (1994–1995)
Jo Bonfrere (1995–1996)
Shaibu Amodu (1996–1997)
Philippe Troussier (1997)
Monday Sinclair (1997–1998)
Bora Milutinović (1998)
Thijs Libregts (1999)
Jo Bonfrere (1999–2001)
Shaibu Amodu (2001–2002)
Festus Onigbinde (2002)
Christian Chukwu (2002–2005)
Augustine Eguavoen (2005–2007)
Berti Vogts (2007–2008)
James Peters (2008)
Shaibu Amodu (2008–2010)
Lars Lagerbäck (2010)
Augustine Eguavoen (2010)
Samson Siasia (2010–2011)
Stephen Keshi (2011–2014)
Shaibu Amodu (2014)
Stephen Keshi (2014)
Daniel Amokachi (2014–2015)
Stephen Keshi (2015)
Shaibu Amodu (2015)
Sunday Oliseh (2015–2016)
Samson Siasia (2016)
Salisu Yusuf (2016)

Title: Allardyce gone already. England Fiasco
Post by: FF on September 27, 2016, 01:10:21 PM
After only one game in charge

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2016/sep/27/sam-allardyce-leaves-england-manager-role-fa

Title: Re: Allardyce gone already. England Fiasco
Post by: Tallman on September 27, 2016, 01:13:43 PM
Well at least he have ah 100% record.
Post by: SHOTTA on September 27, 2016, 01:20:01 PM
he self...watch the chupid stan up you go get ketch in bout circumvent the FA
Post by: FireBrand on September 27, 2016, 01:52:36 PM
Well at least he have ah 100% record.

Post by: Deeks on September 27, 2016, 01:55:58 PM
This has to be an English record for tenure of a national coach.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 27, 2016, 06:19:44 PM
Southgate wasn't silly enough to say no at the second bite.
Post by: Deeks on September 27, 2016, 07:59:26 PM
Honestly, if I was in Gareth shoes, I would take it. England don't have issues with their FA, venues, getting friendlies or resources. Their problem is not enough talent to challenge their peers in Euro. He might just be the man to put England on track. Who knows. Like Trump said, "there is nothing to lose".
Post by: asylumseeker on October 03, 2016, 07:34:49 PM
Soccer Talk
By Paul Gardner, Soccer America.

Poor Sam Allardyce. Well, maybe. Depends how you see things. Not long ago, Allardyce was one of the few English coaches in the English Premier League ... he had a lowly job with a lowly team -- Sunderland, which he just managed to save from relegation last season. But that background -- really, nothing more than showing he's good at teaching a poor team how to play survival soccer -- was enough to get Allardyce his dream job.

It happened quickly. On June 27 England was knocked out of Euro 2016, beaten by Iceland. A result so utterly humiliating that Coach Roy Hodgson resigned immediately. Within a month, Allardyce was installed as his replacement.

A hasty decision for sure, but maybe none the worse for that. Allardyce had been known to tout his own suitability for the job. After all, he had enormous experience of English soccer, he knew the players, and he was decidedly English.

That last point seemed important. England had appointed its first-ever foreign coach in 2001, the Swede Sven-Goran Eriksson. A move that offended many, who termed it a humiliation and an insult to the English game and in particular to English coaches.

Eriksson, having accomplished very little, departed in 2006, replaced by Steve McClaren, an Englishman. But McClaren flopped badly and lasted only 18 games. In 2008 the Italian Fabio Capello arrived.

Another highly paid foreigner and therefore not widely popular. Capello lasted until 2011. His teams won 28 out of 42 games and produced a goal difference of +54. Which ain't at all bad. Except that it didn't get England any nearer to winning the World Cup, which was the aim, albeit a fading one, of appointing expensive foreign coaches.

So, once again, the English FA decided that an English coach was necessary. Enter Roy Hodgson, whose qualifications for the post always seemed slender. But his results, like Capello's, were quite good ... until that disastrous loss to Iceland. A coach who couldn't beat Iceland was never going to lead England to World Cup glory.

And so we arrive at Sam Allardyce, who at once let it be known that this was the best of all possible worlds for him: "I am extremely honored to be appointed England manager especially as it is no secret that this is the role I have always wanted ... For me, it is absolutely the best job in English football." At nearly $4 million a year, the salary no doubt looked good, too.

But there were clear reasons for questioning the appointment. Not least because it looked too close to being a re-run of Hodgson. Hodgson had taken over at age 65; Allardyce is a tad younger at 61, but both belong to the "older" generation. Can they really understand the modern game, never mind the modern players?

Hodgson did his best to appear more modern, bringing in younger players, but it would be stretching things to say that his teams looked like a new more streamlined England. There was always a hint of same-ness, even staleness, about Hodgson's teams.

Hodgson did have one huge advantage over Allardyce. International experience. He had coached in Italy, Sweden, Switzerland, Denmark, the UAE, and Finland. He had been the national team coach of Finland and Switzerland, taking the Swiss to the 1994 World Cup. Against that, Allardyce could offer only a career that -- apart from short spells with Limerick in Ireland and 11 games with the Tampa Bay Rowdies in the old NASL -- was based entirely in England.

There was one other fault in Allardyce's portfolio, one that probably ought to have worried the FA. In 2006 Allardyce had been accused in a BBC documentary of taking "bungs" from agents -- i.e. payments in return for which he made sure that his club signed players who were on the agent's books. Allardyce denied everything. A later investigation found no evidence of bribes, but stated that he had a "conflict of interest."

Considering that the FA states that its own aims are "the highest standards on and off the field. Nothing less is acceptable," it is surprising that more attention was not given to Allardyce's history.

Then, on Sept. 26, came the bombshell. The newspaper The Telegraph published the results of an undercover investigation it had been conducting for 10 months into corruption and bung-taking in English soccer. A huge photo of Allardyce and a bold-type headline proclaiming "England Manager Sam Allardyce for Sale" dominated the paper's front page.

The gist of the Telegraph's revelation was that Allardyce had agreed to meet with people who he believed to be "businessmen" representing a cash-loaded Far East firm anxious to get in on the player transfer market. The businessmen were really Telegraph journalists.

Allardyce had been filmed making extraordinarily incautious remarks about how easy it was to circumvent the rules against third-party ownership of players -- rules that his own employers, the FA, were enforcing. He then stated that the FA was "all about money" and called them "stupid" for spending £870 million on rebuilding Wembley Stadium.

All of that could almost be dismissed as Allardyce, new to the most powerful job in his career, simply showing off. But greed also entered the picture -- Allardyce was under the impression he was also negotiating a £400,000 ($514,000) job with the fictitious Far East firm, to act as their "ambassador" and deliver the occasional keynote speech.

This was all way too much for the FA. Within 24 hours Allardyce had been fired -- officially, had agreed to an amicable parting. Indeed. Allardyce is reported to have been granted a £1 million severance payment. Count me among those who cannot see any reason at all why the FA should be giving Allardyce money. His tenure of the job, his dream job, had lasted just 67 days. He had coached only one England game, a labored 1-0 win over Slovakia. A result that will enable him to go down in the records as the only England coach to have a 100 percent winning record.

So the FA's search for a coach continues. The arguments pro and con a foreign coach are circulating again. For now, the interim coach is Gareth Southgate, certainly younger (46) but with litte coaching experience: three years at Middlesbrough, which saw the club relegated, since then, Southgate has coached the England under-21 and under-20 teams.

There are few, pitifully few, other English candidates. Maybe Eddie Howe at Bournemouth. But not really.

Foreigners? Yes. Arsene Wenger for a start, who is French but has coached in England for 20 years and might therefore be considered half English. Wenger has given coy, non-commital answers when asked if he's interested. The Argentine Mauricio Pochettino, also coaching in England, says he's not interested. The name of another Argentine, Diego Simeone, has come up -- his contract with Atletico Madrid ends with the season. Jurgen Klinsmann has been mentioned. If only. His appointment might not redress England's problems, but it would go a long way toward solving the USA's.

And there you have it. Allardyce, having been, as he put it, "silly," has fled to his villa in Benidorm, Spain.

So, as I asked when I began, is it "poor Sam Allardyce"? Should we feel sorry for this man who has seen his dream job suddenly swept away from him? He has apologized to the FA for what he admits was "an error of judgment on my part ... a silly thing to do"?

But was it merely silly? Allardyce has been pilloried in the British press, not for being silly, but mostly for "naked greed" and selfishness.

There is another possible factor: naivete. That seems unlikely in a 61-year old who has spent his entire career working within English soccer. Yet how else to explain his willingness to meet people he did not know and to discuss openly with them obviously shady topics and to mock his own employers?

That scenario becomes even more inexplicable when one recalls that virtually the same deception (getting him to talk openly with undercover journalists claiming to represent wealthy interests) was practiced on Ericksson in 2006. How could Allardyce not be aware of that?

There is also the perplexing fact that, while discussing the £400,000 "ambassador" job, Allardyce is on tape as saying that he would have to run the idea past his employers -- the FA.

That, alongside his blindness to the similarity of his experience to the Eriksson incident, sounds like extraordinary naivete. Either that, or blatant hubris.

As he headed for Spain, Allardyce remarked that "Entrapment has won on this occasion." Entrapment is generally regarded as reprehensible, an unfair, maybe illegal, way of incriminating someone. The police, aware of the problems surrounding entrapment, like to distinguish it from "enticement": entrapment involves luring some one into nefarious actions he would not otherwise have committed, while enticement is seen merely as providing the opportunity for some one to do things he is only too willing to do.

By that definition, Allardyce looks much more like a willing victim of enticement. Which does not make him a criminal. At the moment, it seems that he has broken no rules, nor committed any crime.

But the London police are investigating Allardyce (it is not clear what their interest is), and the FA will surely take action against Allardyce -- probably a limited banishment from soccer for "bringing the game into disrepute."

Naivete, stupidity, hubris and greed are all part of this mess. Plus something else: Allardyce has always come over as a gregarious, affable man who liked talking to people. He has always been good at interviews. He is a good speaker -- indeed, keynote speech-giving was part of the lure of that £400,000 ambassador job.

In short, talking comes easily to Allardyce. Too easily in this case. When it was clearly time to shut up, Allardyce simply kept talking. And was taped doing so.

I'll admit to feeling some sympathy for Big Sam. Being naive and stupid and too mouthy are not crimes. But greed may be, and is nasty business anyway. It is greed that most flavors this whole mess. How can a man earning £3 million a year seek another £400,000 from people he doesn't even know?

His actions -- whether stupid or sinister -- have caused a lot of problems for other people. No doubt losing the England job -- the job he had "always wanted" -- is a huge punishment for Allardyce himself, but in the end I find I have little sympathy left.
Post by: elan on October 03, 2016, 10:00:59 PM
Coaches are dropping left and right from this sting. These Journalist went in.
Title: Klinsman Fired
Post by: Lower St. John on November 21, 2016, 08:36:00 PM
Anyone looking for a German coach? This news will give fire to the many supporters calling for Coach Hart head. Landon Donovan must be smiling somewhere.

Blessings
Title: Re: Klinsman Fired
Post by: injunchile on November 22, 2016, 06:09:12 AM
I love the BBC report which says that they  brought Klinsman to play the free flowing German style of Football but the USA players just could not play that way. So Klinsman brought in Germany based players and the USA players did not like it so trouble in the Camp. Trouble brewing at home as well The Medical staff resigned- Hart not listening to the Doctor , lack of professional respect so he and his deputy
 rode off into the sunset. Latapy here we come. Same shit another day- Sorry that language is unbecoming of me , so let me put it this way- The more things change the more they stay the same.
 Tolerance is sinister when it reflects indifference but Anger is good when it reflects concern.
Post by: g on November 22, 2016, 06:46:40 AM
Hearing that they may bring back Bruce Arena. Back to the mechanical albeit successful approach from the 2000s.
Post by: Deeks on November 22, 2016, 07:52:15 AM
Lower St.John!! Whey you resurrect from. Is years. How things in St.John?
Post by: Lower St. John on November 22, 2016, 09:03:09 PM
Deeks - Things cool. I regularly visit the site and read up on the views of the Newbies. The more things change the more they stay the same.

I was hoping for a trip to Russia and got caught up in the quick reaction of the US Federation to firing Klinsman after two losses knowing full well that they will qualify for the World Cup.

Blessings
Post by: Errol on January 04, 2017, 12:41:13 PM
Arena added Dave Sarachan, Pat Noonan, and Kenny Arena -- his son -- as assistant coaches. His goalkeeping coach will be Matt Reis.

Post by: Flex on February 23, 2017, 04:28:32 PM
Claudio Ranieri sacked by Leicester 298 days after Premier League title win.
ESPN Staff.

Leicester City have sacked Claudio Ranieri just nine months after he led the club to their first Premier League title.

Ranieri guided Leicester to the most unlikely of title wins last season and went on to win FIFA's Coach of the Year for the achievement.

However, Ranieri and Leicester have struggled this season, with the club sitting just one point and one position above the relegation zone, having failed to score a single league goal in 2017.

Leicester are still in with a chance of qualifying for the quarterfinals of the Champions League following Wednesday's 2-1 round-of-16 first-leg defeat to Sevilla, but the club have opted to remove Ranieri ahead of Monday's Premier League clash against Liverpool.

A Leicester statement read: "Leicester City Football Club has tonight [Thursday] parted company with its first team manager, Claudio Ranieri.

"Claudio, appointed City manager in July 2015, led the Foxes to the greatest triumph in the club's 133-year history last season, as we were crowned champions of England for the first time. His status as the most successful Leicester City manager of all time is without question.

"However, domestic results in the current campaign have placed the club's Premier League status under threat, and the board reluctantly feels that a change of leadership, while admittedly painful, is necessary in the club's greatest interest."

Leicester were favourites to be relegated upon Ranieri's appointment, having been involved in a relegation fight the season before under Nigel Pearson.

However, inspired by players including Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez and N'Golo Kante, Leicester went on to challenge at the top of the table, eventually seeing off Tottenham to the title.

But Leicester were unable to keep hold of Kante in the summer, with the midfielder leaving for Chelsea, while Vardy and Mahrez have struggled to replicate last season's form, contributing to Leicester's decline.

Leicester issued Ranieri a vote of confidence earlier this month, saying he had their "unwavering support," but vice chairman Aiyawatt Srivaddhanaprabha said it was in the best interests of the club for the 65-year-old to be dismissed.

Srivaddhanaprabha said: "This has been the most difficult decision we have had to make in nearly seven years since King Power took ownership of Leicester City. But we are duty-bound to put the club's long-term interests above all sense of personal sentiment, no matter how strong that might be.

"Claudio has brought outstanding qualities to his office. His skilful management, powers of motivation and measured approach have been reflective of the rich experience we always knew he would bring to Leicester City. His warmth, charm and charisma have helped transform perceptions of the club and develop its profile on a global scale. We will forever be grateful to him for what he has helped us to achieve.

"It was never our expectation that the extraordinary feats of last season should be replicated this season. Indeed, survival in the Premier League was our first and only target at the start of the campaign. But we are now faced with a fight to reach that objective and feel a change is necessary to maximise the opportunity presented by the final 13 games."

Leicester were dumped out of the FA Cup last weekend by League One side Millwall, who were reduced to 10 men, and Ranieri hit out at his players after the game.

"I want to speak again with the players and say we have to fight every match," Ranieri said. "Who wants to fight? Tell me. I need the soldiers, I need the gladiators."

Assistant manager Craig Shakespeare and first-team coach Mike Stowell, meanwhile, will take charge of the Leicester squad until a new manager is appointed.

Ranieri's assistant manager and first-team coach Paolo Benetti, as well as his first-team sport science and conditioning coach Andrea Azzalin, have also departed with him.

Post by: lefty on February 23, 2017, 04:47:33 PM
so sad........from ecstasy one season to fighting for your life the next is remarkable........even with the strife at chelsea relegation was never really a possibility, but Leicester wow......
Post by: Flex on February 23, 2017, 05:00:09 PM
Two words,,,,, N'Golo Kanté..... they just couldn't fill the gap he left.... the man covers 3 players position. That means, a skillful but weak Riyad Mahrez had to unearth his defensive duties and that is something he's not good at, it also took away his game going forward. Even Jamie Vardy, Robert Huth and Marc Albrighton had more on their plate compare to last year. The flat-footed Morgan looks tired, still hungover from last year. It's difficult for a small team to compete in 3 major tournaments (FA, EPL and CL).... though Claudio Ranieri coaches to careful at times, he should have been given some money to beef up his team because he did put Leicester City Football Club on the map, something they may never accomplish in their lifetime,,,,, ever...

Post by: Deeks on February 23, 2017, 05:12:40 PM
Aye Flex, you are correct. Tough luck Claudio. If the owners had increase Kante salary, I don't think LC would have been in that position. Your EPL title was no fluke. Playing 40 league games in the EPL to come out on top is no fluke. Good Luck. God Bless.
Post by: lefty on February 23, 2017, 07:25:18 PM
Two words,,,,, N'Golo Kanté..... they just couldn't fill the gap he left.... the man covers 3 players position. That means, a skillful but weak Riyad Mahrez had to unearth his defensive duties and that is something he's not good at, it also took away his game going forward. Even Jamie Vardy, Robert Huth and Marc Albrighton had more on their plate compare to last year. The flat-footed Morgan looks tired, still hungover from last year. It's difficult for a small team to compete in 3 major tournaments (FA, EPL and CL).... though Claudio Ranieri coaches to careful at times, he should have been given some money to beef up his team because he did put Leicester City Football Club on the map, something they may never accomplish in their lifetime,,,,, ever...

yeah I know.....as ah chelsea man ah have to say he is d glue dat holds chelsea middle together, he somehow manages to get either side of Matic at times to help out, amazing, man is ah walking double pivot.....I'll even put my head on a block and say dat Conte should seriously consider giving Fabregas more minutes....kante needs to partner to be effective for sure, he was overrun constantly when Conte play him in d "hole" in 4-1-4-1....but I feel dat fab can contribute enough defensively to not be a liability with Kante at his side......but anyway let me digress, as Zidane once said of Maka, kante is ah engine and any machine dat had him would be lost without him for sure when he missing
Post by: soccerman on February 24, 2017, 07:26:16 AM
You hit the nail on the head, with the departure of Kante their deficiencies has been exposed. Morgan and Huth are struggling to keep up with the speed the face each game, too much ground for those guys to cover. Ranieri was just the scapegoat though he should've been given the season given what he's accomplished.
Post by: royal on February 24, 2017, 07:57:23 AM
yea.... hard luck Ranieri. Did the impossible
Post by: asylumseeker on March 15, 2017, 03:33:50 PM
Shakespeare's new chapter makes Ranieri sacking seem less sinister. (https://www.socceramerica.com/article/72651/shakespeares-new-chapter-makes-ranieri-sacking-se.html)
Post by: royal on March 16, 2017, 05:16:17 AM
BREAKING NEWS: Middlesbrough sack manager Aitor Karanka with the club sitting 19th in the Premier League. http://es.pn/2nvg6CX