Sports => Trinbago, NBA & World Basketball => Topic started by: royal on May 28, 2011, 05:24:58 AM

Title: 2011 NBA Finals Thread
Post by: royal on May 28, 2011, 05:24:58 AM
DALLAS -- No matter how fitting the chance for the Dallas Mavericks to come full circle since the 2006 Finals meltdown against the Miami Heat, forward Dirk Nowitzki has no interest in playing the revenge card.

"It doesn't really matter that much to me," Nowitzki said after Friday's practice. "We had a huge chance in '06 and let it slip away, so we've got another crack at it. You never know in this league if you ever get another chance, and we're able to get to this stage again and it feels good."

Nowitzki is so intently focused on the task at hand that he didn't even allow himself to soak in the moment of capturing a second Western Conference title. He bolted from the trophy presentation, hopping over the scorer's table and disappearing into the tunnel before he could even be interviewed on national television.

"Now we've just got to go for it and do all the things that got us here," Nowitzki said. "And that's play some defense, rebound the ball and ball movement on the offensive floor."

The Mavericks took a 2-0 lead on the Heat in the '06 Finals and took their talents to South Beach with a head of steam and championship parade plans in the works at City Hall.

Dallas led Game 3 in Miami by 13 points with 6:42 left in the game when everything went haywire. Led by Dwyane Wade's parade to the free throw line, the Heat rallied for the win and never lost again.

It might not have mattered to Nowitzki if the Chicago Bulls had come out of the Eastern Conference instead, but he has never let go of just how close the Mavs were to winning a championship or the struggles in the seasons since that have come to define the franchise and Nowitzki.

"Obviously, it was one of the toughest losses we've ever gone through as a franchise," Nowitzki said. "Me personally, to be up 2-0 and not a find a way to win another game, that was tough. But, you've got to give Miami credit ... It took us a long time to get back to this stage."

Nowitzki and Jason Terry are the only remaining members from the '06 Finals team, plus assistant coach Darrell Armstrong. Wade and Udonis Haslem, freshly returned from a season-long foot injury, are the only holdovers on the Miami side.

The Heat prospered from the offseason's free-agent coup, combining superstar LeBron James and Chris Bosh with Wade and surrounding the trio with a group of low-salaried role players. The Mavs' '06 team did not include Jason Kidd running the point, Shawn Marion making significant contributions on both ends at small forward or the emotional and defensive leadership of center Tyson Chandler.

Terry, Dallas' point guard in his second season in '06 and now a potent scoring weapon as the sixth man, has consistently contended that the '06 title rightfully belonged in Dallas. After defeating the Oklahoma City Thunder to win a second Western Conference title on Wednesday, Terry seemed a bit little conflicted about his emotions regarding the Heat.

"That's not the same team," Terry said. "Pat Riley's not even coaching. I've always said it, though, every time we've played the Heat it's always been something special, even in the regular season those five years."

Jeff Caplan covers the Mavericks for ESPNDallas.com.

Title: Re: 2011 NBA Finals Thread
Post by: Controversial on May 30, 2011, 12:13:58 PM
Go HEAT  :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on May 31, 2011, 09:55:18 PM
Me eh even realize is 2nite was game 1 is meh sis post on fb make me realize. Game 1 2 Lebron etal.
Post by: Peong on May 31, 2011, 11:51:36 PM
Lebron + Wade is a highlight machine.
Highlights for me: Lebron's charge and dunk right through the middle, Wade to Lebron for an ally-oop in all kinda traffic,  Wade's block and then run to the other end to hit a three.
Those fellas really feed off of adrenaline.
The Heat's last few 4th quarters have been fantastic.
Post by: weary1969 on June 02, 2011, 09:50:33 PM
GAME 2 MAVSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Post by: Bakes on June 02, 2011, 10:09:15 PM
Great game... almost undone by poor officiating.  Incredible poise by Dallas, not just to come back from 15 down with 6 mins left, but to overcome some really baffling and flat out horrible calls by the officials.  Spoelstra showed again why he's still growing into the role.  Miami went into celebration mode after the Wade 3 put them up 88-73 with six and change to play.  They scored 5 points the rest of the way, and three of those came with 24 seconds left in the game.  Credit to the Mavs defense, but Miami degenerated into poorly executed screen and rolls with either Wade or James forced into some near impossible shot at the end of the possesion.  Dallas did its job and broke serve... game on now.
Post by: Peong on June 02, 2011, 10:54:11 PM
At this level, poor play is punished severely.  No reason to let your opponent go on such a run.
Maybe Miami made their push too early and ran out of gas.
At the end there Dallas played like veterans while Miami ran around like rookies.
Dallas has three home games next. I would say they have the advantage.
Post by: Bakes on June 02, 2011, 11:13:58 PM
At this level, poor play is punished severely.  No reason to let your opponent go on such a run.
At the end there Dallas played like veterans while Miami ran around like rookies.

They have home court advantage... but as they know all too well, that by itself says nothing.
Post by: royal on June 03, 2011, 12:14:17 PM

Heat's cocky moves fuel Mavs' comeback

The Heat had come so far, so fast, and now here was the moment when it all came unglued, when they went right back to their worst tendencies. Oblivious. Cocky. Just unnecessary. When they play hard they reach seemingly unattainable heights. When they think things will be easy, even for just a moment, they can crater out with unfathomable fury.

http://sports.yahoo.com/nba/news?slug=dw-wetzel_heat_mavericks_collapse_celebration_game2_finals060311
Post by: Peong on June 03, 2011, 12:34:36 PM

They have home court advantage... but as they know all too well, that by itself says nothing.
Sometimes it does say something, plus they won 1 in Miami so it's not by itself.
Post by: Bakes on June 03, 2011, 04:45:19 PM
Sometimes it does say something, plus they won 1 in Miami so it's not by itself.

In 2006 they had the home court advantage, won the first two games... then proceeded to lose 4 straight, including the clinching game at home.  Home court advantage has meaning, but a deep, talented, veteran team can easily neutralize any home court advantage as Dallas showed last night.  They now need to hold serve at home, whether they can do so remains to be seen, therefore home court advantage by itself isn't going to mean a whole lot.
Post by: Bakes on June 03, 2011, 04:52:50 PM

Heat's cocky moves fuel Mavs' comeback

The Heat had come so far, so fast, and now here was the moment when it all came unglued, when they went right back to their worst tendencies. Oblivious. Cocky. Just unnecessary. When they play hard they reach seemingly unattainable heights. When they think things will be easy, even for just a moment, they can crater out with unfathomable fury.

http://sports.yahoo.com/nba/news?slug=dw-wetzel_heat_mavericks_collapse_celebration_game2_finals060311

The leaping chest bumping and punches rubbed me the wrong way too... especially with so much time left.  That said, Terry and them need to STFU... is that what they needed to wake them up from the cut-ass Miami was putting on them?  That's what they needed in order to finally  start hitting open shots or to stop giving the ball away? Forget turning the ball over... big veteran like Kidd was jumping to pass and getting caught up in the air and turning it over for fast break dunk.  A next time Stevenson cross mid-court and pass him the ball, he caught it and looked to pass it back but Stevenson had turned his back.  In holding onto it Kidd traveled for yet another silly turnover.  Some mild celebration is what they needed to finally start playing basketball with 7 mins left?  Please.

That said... great win again.  Dirk Nowitzsky showed exactly why he's such a phenomenal player.  Turned Bosh out like ah $2 hoe on that last play.
Post by: Peong on June 04, 2011, 07:31:56 PM

In 2006 they had the home court advantage, won the first two games... then proceeded to lose 4 straight, including the clinching game at home.  Home court advantage has meaning, but a deep, talented, veteran team can easily neutralize any home court advantage as Dallas showed last night.  They now need to hold serve at home, whether they can do so remains to be seen, therefore home court advantage by itself isn't going to mean a whole lot.

So yuh tune change now from "doh mean nutting" to "doh mean a lot".  Ok I will take dat.
Post by: Bakes on June 04, 2011, 08:24:35 PM
So yuh tune change now from "doh mean nutting" to "doh mean a lot".  Ok I will take dat.

Maybe you should read a little closer before you start nitpicking.  I won't even bother getting into the fact that "says nothing" and "doh mean nutting" are two different things, so since you want to equate them we'll roll with that.  Different words, same substance... reiterating my position, home court advantage by itself says nothing. 

Post by: Peong on June 04, 2011, 09:03:56 PM

Maybe you should read a little closer before you start nitpicking.  I won't even bother getting into the fact that "says nothing" and "doh mean nutting" are two different things, so since you want to equate them we'll roll with that.  Different words, same substance... reiterating my position, home court advantage by itself says nothing. 

You changed your story, now you want to revert, cool.
I not sure why you bent on talking about home court advantage by itself though.
You can talk about the Dallas situation in its entirety, you don't have to fixate on what home court advantage says all by itself.
Post by: Bakes on June 04, 2011, 11:40:30 PM

You either have a literacy problem or a cognitive one.  My statements are there for all to scrutinize and arrive at their own conclusions.  I stand by every statement I have made in this thread and in the "Playoffs" thread.  Not only that... but off the top of my head 99% of them have come to pass.  I have no reason to now start changing anything or backtracking from anything.  In a qualitative discussion (where we aren't measuring actual quantities), the difference between "nothing" and "isn't... a whole lot" is infinitissimal at best.  If that is what you want to hinge your argument on then be my guest.

I not sure why you bent on talking about home court advantage by itself though.
You can talk about the Dallas situation in its entirety, you don't have to fixate on what home court advantage says all by itself.

This is what you said.

Seems to me that you are here predicating Dallas' "advantage" on the basis of them having the next three home games.  That is what I was specifically responding to.  Having home court is an advantage only if you win at home... you still have to go out and play the game.  This I thought was explained to you by my reference to them losing four straight in 2006... history has shown that home court advantage without more means nothing... or lest you should accuse me of being inconsistent with my words, history has shown that by itself it says nothing.

If you have other factors for me to comment on besides home court, I'm more than happy to weigh in.
Post by: sinned on June 05, 2011, 02:20:32 PM
Just to get this thread back on track - Go Mavs! Interesting to see the game 3 adjustments from both teams
Post by: Bakes on June 05, 2011, 04:09:51 PM
Just to get this thread back on track - Go Mavs! Interesting to see the game 3 adjustments from both teams

Lost in all of this has been Nowitzki's rebounding... he lead all players last game with 11, and over the two games averaging 9.5, more than his season average of 7.0 and more than his career average of 8.4.  Now you could say that for a 7-footer he should be averaging more, but this is his highest figure so far for the playoffs, year and career.  I sure what happen in Game 1 of the Conference Finals against Chicago not lost on Dallas... get second chance buckets.  On the other side I expect Miami to try and get Bosh going inside early, and whether it's him or whomever Nowitzski guards, have them make him work defensively so that he can't keep carrying the Mavs at the end of games.
Post by: sinned on June 05, 2011, 04:22:24 PM
Lost in all of this has been Nowitzki's rebounding... he lead all players last game with 11, and over the two games averaging 9.5, more than his season average of 7.0 and more than his career average of 8.4.  Now you could say that for a 7-footer he should be averaging more, but this is his highest figure so far for the playoffs, year and career.  I sure what happen in Game 1 of the Conference Finals against Chicago not lost on Dallas... get second chance buckets.  On the other side I expect Miami to try and get Bosh going inside early, and whether it's him or whomever Nowitzski guards, have them make him work defensively so that he can't keep carrying the Mavs at the end of games.
Yep rebounding will be key. Dirk actually has a career playoff rebound average of 10.4 so it's not totally unexpected. Chandler and him need to continue to hit the boards hard.

Dallas needs to really limit turnovers - I know the Heat defense forces a lot of turnovers but last game, many of them were unforced - dribbling off their feet, losing the handle etc.

Dallas's D has actually been pretty good. A lot of zone in Game 1, a lot of man to man in Game 2. I expect a mix in game 3.

I'm quietly confident in this game.
Post by: giggsy11 on June 05, 2011, 06:56:04 PM
Dallas playing stupid ball!
Post by: Peong on June 05, 2011, 07:56:19 PM
This is what you said.

Seems to me that you are here predicating Dallas' "advantage" on the basis of them having the next three home games.  That is what I was specifically responding to.  Having home court is an advantage only if you win at home... you still have to go out and play the game.  This I thought was explained to you by my reference to them losing four straight in 2006... history has shown that home court advantage without more means nothing... or lest you should accuse me of being inconsistent with my words, history has shown that by itself it says nothing.

If you have other factors for me to comment on besides home court, I'm more than happy to weigh in.

Why would you assume that my reasons for saying that are ONLY what I include in my post?  That is very strange.
I don't need to touch on every reason or factor that affects why I think that Dallas has an advantage in my post.  You have ESPN and TNT for that. 
Post by: Peong on June 05, 2011, 08:05:48 PM

You either have a literacy problem or a cognitive one.  My statements are there for all to scrutinize and arrive at their own conclusions.  I stand by every statement I have made in this thread and in the "Playoffs" thread.  Not only that... but off the top of my head 99% of them have come to pass.  I have no reason to now start changing anything or backtracking from anything.  In a qualitative discussion (where we aren't measuring actual quantities), the difference between "nothing" and "isn't... a whole lot" is infinitissimal at best.  If that is what you want to hinge your argument on then be my guest.

This part I was just pulling yuh leg over the slight though definite difference in what you said.
Now that you mentioned your 99% success rate with statements that come to pass, well that is real impressive.  I'm sure somebody is interested in that.
Post by: Bakes on June 05, 2011, 09:24:37 PM
Great game for the neutral tonight... if you're a partisan you want your team to win comfortably, but if you're a neutral fan you want excitement to the end and in that light the teams did not disappoint.  I'm scratching my head trying to pinpoint a reason why Dallas lost this game, and having not looked at the stats, nothing really jumps out at me. Dwayne Wade just imposed his will on the game, even though Dallas kept him more in check near the end.  Have to tip my hat to the Heat defense overall... they made Nowitzski work for every point tonight and he missed shots that normally he'd make... like that one at the end of the game.  That's just how the ball bounces sometimes... literally.

Tyson Chandler is a beast on the boards... I personally haven't seen a rebounder that dominant since Rodman.  It seems clear now that New Orleans gave up on him too soon following his injury.
Post by: futbolfan on June 06, 2011, 06:33:39 AM
Great game for the neutral tonight... if you're a partisan you want your team to win comfortably, but if you're a neutral fan you want excitement to the end and in that light the teams did not disappoint.  I'm scratching my head trying to pinpoint a reason why Dallas lost this game, and having not looked at the stats, nothing really jumps out at me. Dwayne Wade just imposed his will on the game, even though Dallas kept him more in check near the end.  Have to tip my hat to the Heat defense overall... they made Nowitzski work for every point tonight and he missed shots that normally he'd make... like that one at the end of the game.  That's just how the ball bounces sometimes... literally.

Tyson Chandler is a beast on the boards... I personally haven't seen a rebounder that dominant since Rodman.  It seems clear now that New Orleans gave up on him too soon following his injury.
Chandler is ah beast on the boards, but Kevin Love from the T'Wolves is a much better rebounder and  contributes far more on offense. That said both New Orleans and  Chicago gave up on him too early.

This series like the previous Chicago series should have been a sweep. If Miami was not so complacement and lacking in concentration for long stretches of the game, this would not even be a contest.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 06, 2011, 02:11:48 PM

Chandler is ah beast on the boards, but Kevin Love from the T'Wolves is a much better rebounder and  contributes far more on offense. That said both New Orleans and  Chicago gave up on him too early.

This series like the previous Chicago series should have been a sweep. If Miami was not so complacement and lacking in concentration for long stretches of the game, this would not even be a contest.
Dallas eh no cakewalk,this goin to de wire.my money still on dallas.
Post by: Peong on June 06, 2011, 02:24:26 PM
Great game in truth.  Mavs had a run of calls that went there way.  The double dribble call on Lebron was that legit?  Didn't a Mavs player hit it?
Post by: soccerman on June 06, 2011, 02:28:06 PM
Well since the NBA went to the 2,3,2 homecourt format for the finals, the winner of game 3 when the series is 1-1 has never lost, so let's give Miami the trophy now and keeping everyone in suspense.

Anyway last night's games was a great one to watch, D Wade was spectacular and Dirk was impressive as usual, except for the last shot and if you recalled he hit the identical shot earlier in the game and scored. All I can say is if Dallas don't win game 4 the series is over....then again what I talking about? Miami won game 3 so the series is over ;D
Post by: sinned on June 07, 2011, 02:28:32 PM
Chandler is ah beast on the boards, but Kevin Love from the T'Wolves is a much better rebounder and  contributes far more on offense.
But Love is a below average man defender and a below (some would say poor) help defender. Chandler is very good at both.
Post by: Bakes on June 07, 2011, 05:11:40 PM
I not even sure how Love reach in this talk to be honest.  Love is a very good player, but I doubt he commands the attention that Chandler has been commanding this post-season.... let's say that again POST-season.  It matters not what you do but when you do it.... taking nothing away from Love but when he starts performing on the big boy stage then we'll bring him in the talk.

On another note... congrats to Mark Jackson on being named new Warriors head coach.  Kinda bizarre if you ask me.

As for tonight's game... Mavs need more from Terry and Marion if they are to have any chance.  Coming into the series all the talk was about the Mavs bench being better than the Heat's.  Doesn't seem to be the case now, does it?  So much for Dallas having the "advantage" too.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 07, 2011, 07:26:50 PM

kevin love gets a lot of shots because timberwolves probably miss twice as many shots as other teams so he gets some offensive rebounds and some points... ;D
Post by: Bitter on June 07, 2011, 09:35:37 PM
This is a hell of a 4th qtr. I hope the commish send down the ruling for extra games.  ;)
Post by: Bakes on June 07, 2011, 09:39:48 PM
This is a hell of a 4th qtr. I hope the commish send down the ruling for extra games.  ;)

Chandler with 16 boards... right on cue.

Bench step up too... Terry and Stevenson, but they cyah buy ah shot here at the end.  Nowitzski battling thru illness... and just tell Van Gundy tuh shut he pie hole.  "Too early" my left foot.

EDIT:

Was holding mih breath on that Miller shot... arc was perfect, aim was about 4 feet wide.  Heckuva effort by Wade to save that ball to Miller though.
Post by: Bitter on June 07, 2011, 09:47:22 PM
Stern give Wade the signal... We need a game 6!
Post by: Bakes on June 07, 2011, 10:00:30 PM

Dai'z why Wade went for the dunk with 9 secs left instead ah trying tuh tie it up?  ;)
Post by: Bitter on June 08, 2011, 09:12:44 AM

Dai'z why Wade went for the dunk with 9 secs left instead ah trying tuh tie it up?  ;)

The dribble off the foot at the end was a nice touch. Miller could have done better on his last shot. You have to miss more convincingly. Sell it!
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 08, 2011, 09:29:25 AM
ha ha, all yuh is some real conspiracy theorists yes
Post by: soccerman on June 08, 2011, 09:58:35 AM
Yea Wade did well to get a pass to Miller and get something from his blunder. Miller had time and could've ever dish off to Chalmers on top of the arc but oh well game 6 it is. I wouldn't lie, fans and analysts alike real crucify James this morning on Mike & Mike for his 8 points...ah mean de man didn't shine offensively last night and didn't need to IMO with Wade and Bosh racking up the points. I expect James to come out aggressive next game.

And yes when Love makes it deep into the playoffs, where stars are made, we'll see how good he really is and how his how many redbounds he can pull with intense defenses.
Post by: Bakes on June 08, 2011, 10:41:19 AM
The dribble off the foot at the end was a nice touch. Miller could have done better on his last shot. You have to miss more convincingly. Sell it!

True talk.... he coulda at least let de ball bounce in de back court first instead ah diving like superman as though he was really trying.
Post by: Bitter on June 08, 2011, 11:42:50 AM

True talk.... he coulda at least let de ball bounce in de back court first instead ah diving like superman as though he was really trying.

I mean Miller. The shot was so far off, people might begin to suspect something, if it had at least hit the backboard, it would have been more convincing. Wade make it look good and then Miller didn't even try, spoiling all that good work.

But serious talk though, if anybody had doubts about who the real King of Miami is... Until the meltdown in the 4th. Wade was putting on a show.
Post by: Bakes on June 08, 2011, 11:59:28 AM
But serious talk though, if anybody had doubts about who the real King of Miami is... Until the meltdown in the 4th. Wade was putting on a show.

I biased because I'm a LeBron fan... but I think people are conveniently overlooking LeBron's other contrbutions in the game.  People ar too mercurial.  Against the Bulls it was LeBron and Bosh taking turns carrying the Heat... all while LeBron was being guarded by the Bulls best defender (Deng), and while guarding the Bulls best player at the end of the game (Rose).  Now all ah sudden to hear folks (not saying you) tell it, LeBron is overrated and can't come up big when it matters.
Post by: futbolfan on June 08, 2011, 12:41:54 PM

I biased because I'm a LeBron fan... but I think people are conveniently overlooking LeBron's other contrbutions in the game.  People ar too mercurial.  Against the Bulls it was LeBron and Bosh taking turns carrying the Heat... all while LeBron was being guarded by the Bulls best defender (Deng), and while guarding the Bulls best player at the end of the game (Rose).  Now all ah sudden to hear folks (not saying you) tell it, LeBron is overrated and can't come up big when it matters.

Lebron carried the Heat in both the Celtics and Bulls series. I think is just a case that either Wade was conserving his energy for the Finals or Dallas does not have the 1 v 1 defenders that he saw in the earlier rounds.
I want Lebron to win a ring just to spite Barkley.

Post by: soccerman on June 08, 2011, 01:20:25 PM
People just getting carried away because Lebron wasn't himself the past two games, more so last night. Even though he may not have had the stats to show it, if you watched the game you would've seen is defending was on point and his passes were on the money esp in transition.
I'll give the Dallas coaching staff credit in designing a defensive zone strategy to keep him in check, they might've stifled lebron but it opened up holes for Wade to exploit. Also for all the garbage ppl (not on here)were speaking about Stevenson shutting down Lebron, this is the first time I could ever remember Stevenson having a good game against him and this is going back to when he played with the Wizards with Arenas vs the Cavs. And no, I'm not a Heat supporter just a neutral fan of this series, which has been a damn good one thus far :beermug:
Post by: Bitter on June 08, 2011, 01:27:46 PM

Lebron carried the Heat in both the Celtics and Bulls series. I think is just a case that either Wade was conserving his energy for the Finals or Dallas does not have the 1 v 1 defenders that he saw in the earlier rounds.
I want Lebron to win a ring just to spite Barkley.

As they say, is all about match ups. Dallas lets Wade get free - or maybe he's just showing why he's a former Finals MVP. I think is sad, that what he did in the last 3 games is upstaged a bit by the constant Lebron talk. The man was a beast last night (until he get the signal)

Post by: soccerman on June 08, 2011, 01:39:33 PM

As they say, is all about match ups. Dallas lets Wade get free - or maybe he's just showing why he's a former Finals MVP. I think is sad, that what he did in the last 3 games is upstaged a bit by the constant Lebron talk. The man was a beast last night (until he get the signal)
[/quote]

True...Wade had an magnificent game yet again and he does deserve credit for his performance.
Post by: Bakes on June 08, 2011, 02:30:26 PM

Truth is that Dallas have to pick their poison... they don't have the horses to run with the Heat, and specifically don't have the defenders to guard both LeBron and Wade.  Now, I give Kidd a TON of credit, the job he's doing on James should not be overlooked.  Fact is though that I haven't really seen the Heat looking to go to James... hard to when he's the one initiating the offense from up top.  Wade is looking to be aggressive, and most of his shots are coming in the paint.  Two bo' rat cyah occupy the same hole, so if Wade looking to drive LeBron can't take his defender in there to further clog up the lane.  As a result, Wade either getting buckets or kicking it out.. to LeBron.  Problem is that many of the kickouts come with time winding down on the clock so LeBron ends up putting up a rushed shot.  That affects your rhythym and confidence when you start shooting rushed bricks at the end of the shot clock time after time.  That's the main reason why he's in the mini-slump he's in.

All that said, he had 23 pts in Game 1, 20 in Game 2, 17 in Game 3 and 8 last night... for an average of 17pts per game.  To go along with 7 boards, 6 assists and 2 steals per game in the Finals.  You'd swear he was pulling a Carlos Boozer, to listen to the histrionics in the press.  I wouldn't even give Dallas credit for keeping him in check... he's just missing shots. 
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 09, 2011, 11:19:15 AM
my money on dallas.
Post by: weary1969 on June 09, 2011, 02:37:16 PM
my money on dallas.

This have 2 b Armagedon we bckin d same side.
Post by: daryn on June 09, 2011, 06:54:55 PM
winner of tonight's game gets two chances on what is close to a neutral court.
Post by: giggsy11 on June 09, 2011, 07:42:47 PM
Chris Bosh and Snoop are twins seperated at birth.
Post by: Cocorite on June 09, 2011, 07:47:30 PM
Let's go Dallas. ;D
Post by: Bitter on June 09, 2011, 09:38:24 PM
This is funny to type, But Dwayne Wade need help. Dallas reducing the Big 3 to the Big 1. is almost like they letting wade score until he bun, but starving Bosh and Lebron.

Chandler playing like a man possessed.
Post by: Bitter on June 09, 2011, 09:42:41 PM
The Heat might have let the clock run down too far there. Down 6 with more time if you foul. Down 7 now with 33 seconds left. Is all about the clock now.
Post by: Bitter on June 09, 2011, 09:46:59 PM
It would be interesting to see a breakdown of what Dallas does at the end of the 4th to go on these runs. Miami have been stifled scoring-wise in every game in this series.
Post by: weary1969 on June 09, 2011, 09:49:49 PM
OK Dallas good win close it off in game 6.
Post by: Peong on June 09, 2011, 10:49:32 PM
What de jail is dis again?
Again Miami was weak in the 4th quarter.  WE did that to the Bulls, it sucks to have the tables turned on us.
Real good series.
Post by: sinned on June 09, 2011, 10:49:46 PM
It would be interesting to see a breakdown of what Dallas does at the end of the 4th to go on these runs. Miami have been stifled scoring-wise in every game in this series.
Great insight after all the games: http://nbaplaybook.com/
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 09, 2011, 11:26:57 PM
Dallas take a king with no ring and turn him into a queen. On Sunday the front of his jersey reads P.T.A = please turn around,the back reads queen. Well.. the queen's team has arrive. ha,ha..
Post by: Bakes on June 09, 2011, 11:40:23 PM
winner of tonight's game gets two chances on what is close to a neutral court.

Hahaa... what yuh saying about de Miami fans lol

Anyways... I know more LeBron hate and criticism coming down the pike but only a superficial analysis will leave anybody with the notion that LeBron "disappeared" in the 4th again. It's really on the coach. When Wade was in the locker room getting treated what offense did they run??? LeBron on the box, set after set. Wade comes back and starts dominating the ball, driving and getting to the line every possession... or passing to a cutting big man... what's LeBron supposed to do... fight the ball out of Wade's hand?

Wade is playing the Alpha male by dominating the ball... it's Spoelstra's job to run sets for LeBron just as he did when they didn't know if Wade would come back. Had Wade not come back we'd be singing a different song because it would have been all LeBron.  There's only one ball and unless the coach calls plays involving LeBron (or even featuring him, like they did in the 3rd) then that leaves it up to LeBron to go to Wade and demand the ball from him.
Post by: Dutty on June 10, 2011, 07:42:48 AM
ah wuh de conspiracy men to tell mih how dis ting go end
Post by: sinned on June 10, 2011, 08:31:04 AM
Hahaa... what yuh saying about de Miami fans lol

Anyways... I know more LeBron hate and criticism coming down the pike but only a superficial analysis will leave anybody with the notion that LeBron "disappeared" in the 4th again. It's really on the coach. When Wade was in the locker room getting treated what offense did they run??? LeBron on the box, set after set. Wade comes back and starts dominating the ball, driving and getting to the line every possession... or passing to a cutting big man... what's LeBron supposed to do... fight the ball out of Wade's hand?

Wade is playing the Alpha male by dominating the ball... it's Spoelstra's job to run sets for LeBron just as he did when they didn't know if Wade would come back. Had Wade not come back we'd be singing a different song because it would have been all LeBron.  There's only one ball and unless the coach calls plays involving LeBron (or even featuring him, like they did in the 3rd) then that leaves it up to LeBron to go to Wade and demand the ball from him.

I understand your points and LeBron played facilitator and deflected to Wade. But 11 4th quarter pts in this series - not good enough and LeBron will tell you that too.
Post by: sinned on June 10, 2011, 08:31:37 AM
ah wuh de conspiracy men to tell mih how dis ting go end
dallas winning and mark cuban hugging the refs and david stern
Post by: truetrini on June 10, 2011, 08:38:54 AM
I saw Le Bron in Miami and said:  Hey Le Bron can I have some change?

He said yeah bro..and he gace me 75 cents.

I said what the f**k Le Bron, all that dough you making and you give a MAN 75 CENTS, CAN i AT LEAST GET A DOLLAR?

HE TURNED TO ME AND SAID SORRY BRO..i DON'T HAVE A 4TH qUARTER!
Post by: Bitter on June 10, 2011, 10:10:20 AM
That is a boss site Bakes. Very heavy on individual plays and match-ups though, less on overall strategy.

Miami doesn't really have and offensive setup right now to allow the big three to be a true triple-threat. Maybe Riley should have coached  ::)

Still trying to figure out how Dallas is able to make the points dry up in the 4th qtr. That's 4 games in a row they've been able to switch off Miami's offence. When it happens is a strategic decision, but even though Miami know's it's coming, they don't seem to have any answer.
Post by: sinned on June 10, 2011, 11:28:21 AM
That is a boss site Bakes. Very heavy on individual plays and match-ups though, less on overall strategy.

Miami doesn't really have and offensive setup right now to allow the big three to be a true triple-threat. Maybe Riley should have coached  ::)

Still trying to figure out how Dallas is able to make the points dry up in the 4th qtr. That's 4 games in a row they've been able to switch off Miami's offence. When it happens is a strategic decision, but even though Miami know's it's coming, they don't seem to have any answer.

Excuse me :)

Down the stretch isn't really about strategy as much as it is about execution of set plays. And Dallas has been good at them all season and continue to be good at them. When you have Dirk and can spread the floor with shooters and have well-practiced set plays, it's tough on the defense.
Post by: Dutty on June 10, 2011, 12:16:05 PM

Down the stretch isn't really about strategy as much as it is about execution of set plays. And Dallas has been good at them all season and continue to be good at them. When you have Dirk and can spread the floor with shooters and have well-practiced set plays, it's tough on the defense.

Yessir  dallas drawing up different zone defences....the video coordinator from the heat cyah match it, he have the talent on his team but like he eh know how to use dem

Who is de ole fellah dat does flex the bow ties behind miami bench?...ah make out bob mcadoo but ah cah figure out who he is?
Post by: soccerman on June 10, 2011, 01:00:14 PM
That old guy in the bow tie, I think is a former assistant coach of the Houston Rockets when they won 2 championships and now he's with Miami. He's always very stylish and dresses up as if he's a player or even pimp. Never knew his name but always seen him on the bench.

Anyway Dallas do have plays in the 4th where they stretch the court to draw defensive players out by moving the ball outside the 3pt line, running picks and most importantly hitting their shots. They execute well and have been doing so throughout the playoffs. Miami does well to stay in the game but they become stagnant in the final 3-4 mins. Lack of experience maybe??? Who knows but they have to design some better plays to get points in the paint intead for jacking up shots in the end of the game.
Post by: elan on June 10, 2011, 03:19:48 PM
LeBron basketball IQ is still very low and from game 2 on you can see as much. Game 4 showed perfectly how LeBron cannot/is not at the next level. Wade took the game to the next level and LeBron could not match it, so he had to be a role player and look on.

With Wade out for Game 5 at a crucial juncture, LeBron again could not maintain the level of the game that Wade had elevated it to. Maybe in a couple years he will get there, but this series has shown that 1) He can never be better than MJ or Kobe and 2) that LeBron needed Wade more than Wade needed Lebron.

If Miami are to move on and win this thing it will be inspite of "King" James.
Post by: Bitter on June 10, 2011, 03:32:08 PM

Hard luck dey, Sorry.

Boss Site. :salute:
Post by: Bakes on June 10, 2011, 10:05:14 PM
That old guy in the bow tie, I think is a former assistant coach of the Houston Rockets when they won 2 championships and now he's with Miami. He's always very stylish and dresses up as if he's a player or even pimp. Never knew his name but always seen him on the bench.

Anyway Dallas do have plays in the 4th where they stretch the court to draw defensive players out by moving the ball outside the 3pt line, running picks and most importantly hitting their shots. They execute well and have been doing so throughout the playoffs. Miami does well to stay in the game but they become stagnant in the final 3-4 mins. Lack of experience maybe??? Who knows but they have to design some better plays to get points in the paint intead for jacking up shots in the end of the game.

Dat "old guy" is Keith Askins.. and he go cuss allyuh fuh calling him "old".  He was part of the late 90s Heat teams that used to tussle with the Knicks.  He was their defensive stopper back in the day and if I remember correctly he's a member of the NOI, hence the bow tie.

LeBron basketball IQ is still very low...

I hope you realize you on ah island by yuhself in de entire basketball world (Cleveland excepted) on that one, eh?
Post by: elan on June 11, 2011, 10:44:08 PM

Dat "old guy" is Keith Askins.. and he go cuss allyuh fuh calling him "old".  He was part of the late 90s Heat teams that used to tussle with the Knicks.  He was their defensive stopper back in the day and if I remember correctly he's a member of the NOI, hence the bow tie.

LeBron basketball IQ is still very low...

I hope you realize you on ah island by yuhself in de entire basketball world (Cleveland excepted) on that one, eh?

As always, I don't know what I talking about. Guess I will have to stay on that Island by myself. While D.Wade trying hard to win a game, LBJ trying to indulge him in Children games *cough* *cough*  Deflecting his shortcoming with some comical theatrics.
Post by: Bakes on June 11, 2011, 11:18:58 PM
As always, I don't know what I talking about. Guess I will have to stay on that Island by myself. While D.Wade trying hard to win a game, LBJ trying to indulge him in Children games *cough* *cough*  Deflecting his shortcoming with some comical theatrics.

Fella I never tell yuh yuh doh know that yuh talking about, that is insecurity whispering in yuh ears not me... I just telling you that you (and his detractors) would be the only ones who follow this game to say LeBron James doesn't have a high basketball IQ.  You can see it in how he reads and plays the game... the passes he makes, the way he gets teammates involved offensively... his defensive understanding and positioning are incredible.  Not to say that he's perfect... it is clear he still needs to work on certain things, but to question his baskeball IQ... you'd have to come with some really convincing proof to convince any objective person of that.

Your criticism of the "*cough* *cough*" incident is also revealing... you say that James using that to deflect his shortcoming... when in fact it's Wade who instigated it (blown out of proportion as it is).  James clearly is going to be criticized no matter what he does.  He clowns with teammates in Cleveland and take some imaginary pictures before games... he immature and not taking the game serious enough.  Walk off the court against Orlando two years ago without shaking hands... he unsportsmanly.  Lose against Boston last year... he quit.  Win against Boston this year.. he celebrate too much.  Playfully jab Wade in the abs against Dallas in Game 3... he celebrate too early.  Struggle in Game 4... he invisible in the clutch.  Have a triple-double in Game 5... not enough, he need to do more.  He baskeball IQ low... he deflecting.

When you really listen to the criticism you see that is just petty gripe after petty gripe.  But that comes with the territory... when it's all said and done,  and barring injuries or something else unforeseen, he'll emerge in the end as one of the greatest ever.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 12, 2011, 05:39:26 AM
Serious cold front on de east coast, wonder when de heat coming back  ???
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2011, 10:02:42 AM

Heat in Miami all now  ;D
Post by: elan on June 12, 2011, 02:41:36 PM

Fella I never tell yuh yuh doh know that yuh talking about, that is insecurity whispering in yuh ears not me... I just telling you that you (and his detractors) would be the only ones who follow this game to say LeBron James doesn't have a high basketball IQ.  You can see it in how he reads and plays the game... the passes he makes, the way he gets teammates involved offensively... his defensive understanding and positioning are incredible.  Not to say that he's perfect... it is clear he still needs to work on certain things, but to question his baskeball IQ... you'd have to come with some really convincing proof to convince any objective person of that.

Your criticism of the "*cough* *cough*" incident is also revealing... you say that James using that to deflect his shortcoming... when in fact it's Wade who instigated it (blown out of proportion as it is).  James clearly is going to be criticized no matter what he does.  He clowns with teammates in Cleveland and take some imaginary pictures before games... he immature and not taking the game serious enough.  Walk off the court against Orlando two years ago without shaking hands... he unsportsmanly.  Lose against Boston last year... he quit.  Win against Boston this year.. he celebrate too much.  Playfully jab Wade in the abs against Dallas in Game 3... he celebrate too early.  Struggle in Game 4... he invisible in the clutch.  Have a triple-double in Game 5... not enough, he need to do more.  He baskeball IQ low... he deflecting.

When you really listen to the criticism you see that is just petty gripe after petty gripe.  But that comes with the territory... when it's all said and done,  and barring injuries or something else unforeseen, he'll emerge in the end as one of the greatest ever.

Me I eh insecure. I don't know much about basketball other than LeBron can NEVER be better than Kobe. Man all them excuse for someone who suppose to be KING of the NBA. The fella eh do nothing in this finals, Wade been the man setting the pace and getting things done. Is either you are good or you are not. Talk and Hype can only get you so far.

We will see tonight.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 12, 2011, 06:50:24 PM

Heat in Miami all now  ;D

I eh so sure nah bro  :beermug:  Still early doh, 2+ qtrs to go
Post by: Bitter on June 12, 2011, 08:37:20 PM
The ITCZ move north, plenty rain, the heat getting cool off.
Post by: Bitter on June 12, 2011, 08:39:14 PM
She warming up....

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_kULyk5g_g1I/S1aHHVcOJKI/AAAAAAAAFqM/rOvvfffIcdA/s320/Fat+lady+warming+up.jpg)
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 12, 2011, 08:42:54 PM
ah tell allyuh meh money on dallas.....dirk deserve this championship
Post by: elan on June 12, 2011, 08:43:43 PM
Where Bakes, the fella don't have it in him. Let me hear excuses now.
Post by: Bitter on June 12, 2011, 08:45:43 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/ttV49VF2sFU
Post by: giggsy11 on June 12, 2011, 08:46:34 PM
Taxi for the Heat! Alright Mavs! Well done, and well deserved!  :applause: :applause: :applause: The Heat went out with a whimper.......no heart!
Post by: weary1969 on June 12, 2011, 08:50:00 PM
DALLASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

CAVS 4 MAVS partying as I type.
Post by: giggsy11 on June 12, 2011, 08:59:25 PM
Poor Wade was unable to carry Bosh and James tonite. He must be wondering what the arse he get himself into with dem two. It seem like both of them was waiting for Wade to take over and win the game. Useless!
Post by: elan on June 12, 2011, 09:02:26 PM
LeBron basketball IQ is still very low and from game 2 on you can see as much. Game 4 showed perfectly how LeBron cannot/is not at the next level. Wade took the game to the next level and LeBron could not match it, so he had to be a role player and look on.

With Wade out for Game 5 at a crucial juncture, LeBron again could not maintain the level of the game that Wade had elevated it to. Maybe in a couple years he will get there, but this series has shown that 1) He can never be better than MJ or Kobe and 2) that LeBron needed Wade more than Wade needed Lebron.

Poor Wade was unable to carry Bosh and James tonite. He must be wondering what the arse he get himself into with dem two. It seem like both of them was waiting for Wade to take over and win the game. Useless!
Post by: D.H.W on June 12, 2011, 09:11:51 PM
Where was the heat tonight  ??? they were cold
Post by: soccerman on June 12, 2011, 09:25:32 PM
Congrats Mavs :beermug:
Post by: giggsy11 on June 12, 2011, 09:28:29 PM

James went to Miami so he wouldn't have to take on the responsibility of being the man. So this showing shouldn't be a surprise. As much as I don't like him Kobe is an assasin whereas James is the lookout man for the assasin.
Post by: fari on June 12, 2011, 09:29:01 PM

wade have the most heart...if he had go chicago i bet u he woulda have another ring now, b/c that chicago team full of heart (noah) and heart and talent (rose)

i am a knicks fan but as usual i grew to love a team in this playoffs--the mavs. i am glad j kidd and nowitzki get a ring, dem fellas classy, real understated, unassuming guys.  in this game 6 when i see the mavs winning half time and 3rd quarter i say, hm they not losing.   terry come out with guns blazing tonight, barea real get on too...(is he the 1st boricua to win a ring??)
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 12, 2011, 09:35:22 PM
well deserved win for mavs especially kidd, nowitzki, terry and carlisle.

heat is still my favorite to take it next year until my bulls ready to takeover if we can find a scorer to relieve the pressure on rose.

Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2011, 10:04:23 PM
I doh have time fuh de bandwaggonist Mavs fans who now finding dey voice to criticize LeBron right now... he will have many more opportunities to come.  Time to leave the spotlight where it properly belongs, on the Dallas Mavs.  Extremely happy for my boy Dirk, more than anything.  Happy still for Kidd, Terry, Chandler... man like Brendan Haywood and Caron Butler... and de Boricua Barea... on National Puerto Rican Parade Day no less!!  After party still jumping in Manhattan.

Then there's Mark Cuban... validating my support of and faith in him.

- 13 Fines for keeping the NBA honest about its officiating: $1,665,000

- 4-year contract to keep your German All-Star in Dallas: $80,000,000

- Winning the first NBA Championship in franchise history... and insisting that franchise founder Donald Carter share in the moment: Priceless

For some NBA teams there are owners who try and pretend they're above it all, for the rest of us, there's MC... Mark Cuban!
Post by: Peong on June 12, 2011, 10:36:54 PM
Taxi for the Heat! Alright Mavs! Well done, and well deserved!  :applause: :applause: :applause: The Heat went out with a whimper.......no heart!

Yeh that was a very ordinary performance on a night that called for the extraordinary.
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 12, 2011, 11:07:17 PM
I cyah even call him queen James he more like a princess if you ask to me
Post by: weary1969 on June 13, 2011, 08:10:22 AM
D FANGS ARE COMING OUT

Heat should pull plug on Big Three

Jason Whitlock

They’re done. Miami’s Big Three — LeBron James, Dwyane Wade and Chris Bosh. Add Erik Spoelstra and front-running Heat fans, too. Toast. All of them.

They can’t survive what we just witnessed, a Finals meltdown of historic proportion, an ego deflation that is being celebrated throughout the basketball world.

With their preseason celebration and postseason (cough, cough) arrogance, The Big Three set the stakes — championship or bust. Now, in the aftermath of the Dallas Mavericks taking three straight games and the title, the Heat must accept the consequences.

It’s over. Wade’s brainchild and Pat Riley’s free-agent coup is a failure. The right thing to do is to blow it up before it dies as a result of friendly fire.

Let’s start with the easy stuff. Erik Spoelstra has no business coaching a legitimate title contender. Rick Carlisle put Spoelstra in a clown suit. Does Spoelstra have a zone offense? Blessed with a superior roster in terms of athleticism and down double digits late, does Spoelstra realize you can pick up defensively full court?

Spo must go.

So must any notion that Miami is a serious sports town.

“Our fans just punked the s*** out of the Miami fans,” said Dallas owner Mark Cuban, referring to the 3,000 to 4,000 Mavericks fans inside Miami’s American Airlines Arena for Game 6.

Heat fans sold out and jumped ship. Which brings me to my main point.

LeBron James is a man without a country. He abandoned Cleveland. And Miami has no love for him. The Heat fans who sold their tickets to Dallas supporters will now unleash their vitriol on King James.

He’s a national laughingstock, a late-night punch line. He’s Charlie Brown.

Worse, because of his putrid performance in the last three games, his ability to command respect within the Heat locker room (and across the NBA) has been severely undermined. His pregame speeches will forever sound phony and hollow. There’s no reason for Wade to share the leadership role with James again.

James and Wade are the same, need-the-ball-in-their-hands player. James is better than Wade. But Wade has much bigger (basket)balls.

Today, there are people in Miami who dislike James more than people in Cleveland. In Wade, Heat fans see the intangibles missing in James. Wade is willing to do whatever is necessary to win. James? Not so much.

The last three games, he hid on the offensive end, repeatedly turning down open looks. In Game 4, he stood flat-footed and zombie-like as Dirk Nowitzki drove the lane for the game-winning basket. In Sunday’s elimination game, James basically declined to rebound, finishing with just four.

With his body and athleticism, James should snatch eight rebounds in his sleep. On nights when he doesn’t trust his jump shot, James should collect a half-dozen offensive rebounds and four put-backs.

Does pressure choke James? Maybe. More likely, James is simply moody. Kids born into family dysfunction often struggle emotionally.

All season when the Heat experienced adversity it took several games for the team to snap out of its funk. The adversity, the depression lingered. The Heat reflected James. Boston and Chicago failed to hit Miami in the mouth and force James, Wade and Bosh to question themselves and Spoelstra. Dallas didn’t.

The Mavericks hit the Heat twice. In Game 2, Dallas erased a 15-point, fourth-quarter lead, tied the series 1-1 and raised questions about the Heat’s premature celebration. In Game 4, Nowitzki drove around Bosh for the game-winner, raising questions about Spoelstra’s strategy.

The Heat crumbled. They won’t recover. How can they?

James is a villain in Miami now. Heat fans don’t trust him. They’ll chew on him throughout the offseason and take a cynical view on all of his work until the next NBA Finals. So will his teammates.

James can’t be the alpha male on a team with Wade. LeBron’s global-icon aspirations and Nike No. 1 pitchman status won’t allow him to be Wade’s clear sidekick. Complicating matters even more, the NBA is headed for a likely work stoppage next season. An abbreviated season gives the Heat less time to work out comfortable roles for Wade and James.

Replacing Spoelstra with Pat Riley won’t fix what ails the Heat. James and Wade are the same player. In eight NBA seasons, James has demonstrated no interest in developing a low-post game to take advantage of his magnificent frame. He loves his game. It earned him two MVP trophies, lifetime financial security, the nickname King James and the freedom to avoid self-awareness at times of crisis.

“The Greater Man upstairs know when it’s my time. Right now isn’t the time,” James tweeted following Miami’s Game 6 loss.

God doesn’t care about the NBA Finals. James’ teammates and bandwagon Heat fans do. They’d love for him to spend the offseason improving his obvious weaknesses.

Short of that, they’d probably like to see him traded for parts that fit. James for Dwight Howard makes a lot of sense.

The Big Three is done. It was a noble experiment. James and Wade deserve credit for trying to make it work, for being completely loyal to and unselfish with each other for an entire season.

Now it’s time to move on before they inflict further damage on their reputations.
Post by: weary1969 on June 13, 2011, 08:34:18 AM
Cavs owner can't help himselfNewsCore     
CLEVELAND
Cleveland Cavaliers owner Dan Gilbert was quick to congratulate Mark Cuban and the Dallas Mavericks on their maiden NBA championship Sunday night — and he did not miss the opportunity to take a subtle shot at his former superstar LeBron James, either.

After James' much-maligned move to Miami last year, Gilbert made a promise to Cavs fans, saying, "I PERSONALLY GUARANTEE THAT THE CLEVELAND CAVALIERS WILL WIN AN NBA CHAMPIONSHIP BEFORE THE SELF-TITLED FORMER 'KING' WINS ONE."

And after the Mavs wrapped up the series 4-2 with a 105-95 win in Miami Sunday, Gilbert had another message.

"Congrats to Mark C.&entire Mavs org. Mavs NEVER stopped & now entire franchise gets rings. Old Lesson for all:There are NO SHORTCUTS. NONE," Gilbert wrote on Twitter.

James struggled offensively throughout the series and failed again to make an impact in Game 6, despite scoring 21 points. He remained confident his day would come.

"The Greater Man upstairs know when it's my time. Right now isn't the time," he tweeted.
Post by: royal on June 13, 2011, 08:59:42 AM
Pride cometh before ah fall !!!!! to much off court antics,now take de jamming !!
Post by: weary1969 on June 13, 2011, 09:01:01 AM
Pride cometh before ah fall !!!!! to much off court antics,now take de jamming !!

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN
Post by: daryn on June 13, 2011, 09:11:09 AM
D FANGS ARE COMING OUT

Jason Whitlock

They’re done. Miami’s Big Three — LeBron James, Dwyane Wade and Chris Bosh. Add Erik Spoelstra and front-running Heat fans, too. Toast. All of them.

They can’t survive what we just witnessed, a Finals meltdown of historic proportion, an ego deflation that is being celebrated throughout the basketball world.

Whitlock really needs to stop.

On May 12th he wrote a column explaining why the Heat were no match for the Bulls.
http://msn.foxsports.com/nba/story/LeBron-James-Dwyane-Wade-Chris-Bosh-Miami-Heat-are-no-match-for-Derrick-Rose-Chicago-Bulls-051211

On May 26th he wrote a column saying that the Heat had won the "war" and predicted they would dominate the league for a few years. (He did say that they might lose to Dallas but his thesis is that the Miami dynasty was inevitable).
http://msn.foxsports.com/nba/story/Whitlock-Los-Angeles-Lakers-hope-Mike-Brown-has-intel-to-derail-LeBron-James-dynasty-052611

On June 6th he wrote a column saying that the finals were entertaining but the Mavs were done
http://msn.foxsports.com/nba/story/LeBron-James-Dwyane-Wade-Miami-Heat-toying-with-Dirk-Nowitzki-Dallas-Mavericks-in-NBA-Finals-060611

Post by: weary1969 on June 13, 2011, 10:36:01 AM
D FANGS ARE COMING OUT

Jason Whitlock

On May 12th he wrote a column explaining why the Heat were no match for the Bulls.
http://msn.foxsports.com/nba/story/LeBron-James-Dwyane-Wade-Chris-Bosh-Miami-Heat-are-no-match-for-Derrick-Rose-Chicago-Bulls-051211

On May 26th he wrote a column saying that the Heat had won the "war" and predicted they would dominate the league for a few years. (He did say that they might lose to Dallas but his thesis is that the Miami dynasty was inevitable).
http://msn.foxsports.com/nba/story/Whitlock-Los-Angeles-Lakers-hope-Mike-Brown-has-intel-to-derail-LeBron-James-dynasty-052611

On June 6th he wrote a column saying that the finals were entertaining but the Mavs were done
http://msn.foxsports.com/nba/story/LeBron-James-Dwyane-Wade-Miami-Heat-toying-with-Dirk-Nowitzki-Dallas-Mavericks-in-NBA-Finals-060611

Fair weather friend.
Post by: elan on June 13, 2011, 10:41:06 AM
I doh have time fuh de bandwaggonist Mavs fans who now finding dey voice to criticize LeBron right now... he will have many more opportunities to come.  Time to leave the spotlight where it properly belongs, on the Dallas Mavs.  Extremely happy for my boy Dirk, more than anything.  Happy still for Kidd, Terry, Chandler... man like Brendan Haywood and Caron Butler... and de Boricua Barea... on National Puerto Rican Parade Day no less!!  After party still jumping in Manhattan.

Then there's Mark Cuban... validating my support of and faith in him.

- 13 Fines for keeping the NBA honest about its officiating: $1,665,000

- 4-year contract to keep your German All-Star in Dallas: $80,000,000

- Winning the first NBA Championship in franchise history... and insisting that franchise founder Donald Carter share in the moment: Priceless

For some NBA teams there are owners who try and pretend they're above it all, for the rest of us, there's MC... Mark Cuban!

Ah feel yuh mistaking Heats fans. No one really supporting the Mavs perse ( I certainly am not), it's just that people don't like seeing a player who has done absolutely nothing strut around and talk out he arse like he is something. With every other player on the Heats team except James people would have been more amicable to the Heats. I really admire Wade, he is the type of player people like and want to see.
I told and stand by it, LeBron level is still shallow, he needs to take a head first plunge into the deep end and deal with the outcome. You cannot stand on the shore and SAY you are the best swimmer.

As I say "It matters not what you can do, if you cannot do it when it matters."
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2011, 01:11:44 PM
D FANGS ARE COMING OUT

Jason Whitlock

I stop reading Jason Whitlock three years ago... soon after he called Sean Taylor a "thug" for getting murdered by a burglar in his own home.  Of course Whitlock didn't have all the fact yet... and he rarely does... before launching into his criticism of Taylor.  When it came out that he died protecting his family, you'd think he'd have the good grace to apologize.  I used to read him before then and realized early that he was nothing but a loudmouth imps... and the occasional article I've seen since hasn't changed that any.  Blow up the Heat roster after a year... seriously?

As for the rest tearing into James... well, to the victor goes the spoils and right now LeBron ent win anything so people have the ammunition they need.  Nothing anybody say will matter until the Heat wins, which won't happen until Spoelstra becomes a better coach.  Jordan had to endure the same criticism, "arrogant", "greedy", "self-centered", "limited".  Until magically he figured it all out by beating the Lakers and became a genius.  Winning cures everything, and barring something extraordinary, James will have his title after all is said and done.
Post by: Dutty on June 13, 2011, 01:35:48 PM
D FANGS ARE COMING OUT

I readin all over de place that Miami season considered a failure…I find dem fellahs do very well for a cobbled together team that gel in one season
I suspect dais why Americans do so well in all sports, is win or nuttn!! Second or or silver medal considered not good enough

James go re-group and come stronger...Kobe and Jordan had to lose they first finals before they win too.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 13, 2011, 01:42:05 PM
D FANGS ARE COMING OUT

I readin all over de place that Miami season considered a failure…I find dem fellahs do very well for a cobbled together team that gel in one season
I suspect dais why Americans do so well in all sports, is win or nuttn!! Second or or silver medal considered not good enough

James go re-group and come stronger...Kobe and Jordan had to lose they first finals before they win too.

To me Lebrick lacks mental fortitude, based on looking at him for the past few years, performs consistently well in the season, even produces some game winners in the playoffs, but when crunch time hits, he's unavailable.  In a nutshell, he's the A. Powell of the NBA.  Next season the title goes back to the mystical land of the lakes  :devil:
Post by: sinned on June 13, 2011, 01:51:36 PM
D FANGS ARE COMING OUT

Not to nitpick but Jordan won all six of his NBA finals and Kobe won in his first finals if I'm not mistaken. Also this is Lebron's 2nd NBA finals.

Lebron is a great talent but in this series he played like just a good player. His behavior set him up for this criticism. In the end talent will probably win out and he'll get his, but for now I feel no sympathy
Post by: daryn on June 13, 2011, 02:04:14 PM

Not to nitpick but Jordan won all six of his NBA finals and Kobe won in his first finals if I'm not mistaken. Also this is Lebron's 2nd NBA finals.

this statistic is arbitrary in nature and not very meaningful.  The biggest factor is whether or not you happen to be in the same conference as the best team.

If Chicago was in the west it woulda be them losing to the Pistons in '90 instead of the Blazers. Might even have been them instead of the Lakers in '89.
Post by: sinned on June 13, 2011, 02:14:39 PM

this statistic is arbitrary in nature and not very meaningful.  The biggest factor is whether or not you happen to be in the same conference as the best team.

If Chicago was in the west it woulda be them losing to the Pistons in '90 instead of the Blazers. Might even have been them instead of the Lakers in '89.
I agree and I didn't say it was. I was making a factual correction
Post by: Bitter on June 13, 2011, 02:16:34 PM

I said what the f**k Le Bron, all that dough you making and you give a MAN 75 CENTS, CAN i AT LEAST GET A DOLLAR?

Verizon announced they have partnered with James on a new phone. The special feature: viabrate mode only - it has no ring.

The real reason why LeBron James skipped college and went straight to the NBA, because he never would have showed up for the Finals.

I heard Dallas is so excited about winning their first NBA title that they're having LeBron James Day tomorrow. Everybody gets off of work 12 minutes early tomorrow.
Post by: daryn on June 13, 2011, 02:40:22 PM

I agree and I didn't say it was. I was making a factual correction

I guess I should have responded differently. Especially in light of the fact that you opened with "not to nitpick".

I hear people making a big deal about that from time to time and it annoys me.
Post by: Dutty on June 13, 2011, 02:58:57 PM

Verizon announced they have partnered with James on a new phone. The special feature: viabrate mode only - it has no ring.

The real reason why LeBron James skipped college and went straight to the NBA, because he never would have showed up for the Finals.

I heard Dallas is so excited about winning their first NBA title that they're having LeBron James Day tomorrow. Everybody gets off of work 12 minutes early tomorrow.

Whey sah... men makin ah book arready oui ;D
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2011, 03:45:37 PM
I guess I should have responded differently. Especially in light of the fact that you opened with "not to nitpick".

Most of the criticism of LeBron is arbitrary, emotion driven and based on superficial glances at his career in convenient snapshots.  People say he's not clutch and often shrinks from the spotlight, yet he carried the Cavs over the Pistons... including something like 25 straight points at the end of the closing game, guarded by Tayshaun Prince (considered among the NBA's best defenders then), and all while chasing Rip Hamilton all over the court.  He then single-handedly carried the team against the Spurs in a losing effort, being swept in the Finals.  He again carried the team by himself as far as he could against the Magic last season... including the big shot to win one of the games in that series. 

Sometimes your shot falls and sometimes it doesn't, that's the nature of the game.  LeBron is not a very good jumpshooter... he just makes very difficult jumpshots look easy.  He has no post-up game to fall back on, unlike Kobe and Jordan... that is the biggest hole in his game right now.  He needs to work on his shot, and work on alternative ways of getting buckets... he has everything else in place as is.  The one criticism Whitlock level that might have some truth is that he probably could be a better rebounder too.  But again, dude is only 26 and the rest of these things will come.  Cleveland didn't really allow for him to grow as a player because that team was limited. 

He's surrounded by better players, and as the Heat has money to spend again, they'll be able to put better pieces (like a real PG) on their roster.  For all the Kobe comparisons... Kobe played with Nick Van Exel, Gary Payton, Brian Shaw and Derek Fisher as his PGs.  MJ had BJ Armstrong and John Paxon... without even getting into talk about the triangle offense that was designed to take advantage of Jordan's and Kobe's skills, with a skill passing big man (Longley in Chicago, O'Neal and Gasol, in LA) to facilitate it.  James has yet to benefit from either.  Like I said, Miami's only real worry is Spoelstra's learning curve, but they are more ready to compete for the 2012 title than Dallas is as presently constituted.  They'll be fine.

Now if only my sorry-ass Knicks would ever rise back up...
Post by: elan on June 13, 2011, 04:04:35 PM

Most of the criticism of LeBron is arbitrary, emotion driven and based on superficial glances at his career in convenient snapshots.  People say he's not clutch and often shrinks from the spotlight, yet he carried the Cavs over the Pistons... including something like 25 straight points at the end of the closing game, guarded by Tayshaun Prince (considered among the NBA's best defenders then), and all while chasing Rip Hamilton all over the court.  He then single-handedly carried the team against the Spurs in a losing effort, being swept in the Finals.  He again carried the team by himself as far as he could against the Magic last season... including the big shot to win one of the games in that series. 

Sometimes your shot falls and sometimes it doesn't, that's the nature of the game.  LeBron is not a very good jumpshooter... he just makes very difficult jumpshots look easy.  He has no post-up game to fall back on, unlike Kobe and Jordan... that is the biggest hole in his game right now.  He needs to work on his shot, and work on alternative ways of getting buckets... he has everything else in place as is.  The one criticism Whitlock level that might have some truth is that he probably could be a better rebounder too.  But again, dude is only 26 and the rest of these things will come.  Cleveland didn't really allow for him to grow as a player because that team was limited. 

He's surrounded by better players, and as the Heat has money to spend again, they'll be able to put better pieces (like a real PG) on their roster.  For all the Kobe comparisons... Kobe played with Nick Van Exel, Gary Payton, Brian Shaw and Derek Fisher as his PGs.  MJ had BJ Armstrong and John Paxon... without even getting into talk about the triangle offense that was designed to take advantage of Jordan's and Kobe's skills, with a skill passing big man (Longley in Chicago, O'Neal and Gasol, in LA) to facilitate it.  James has yet to benefit from either.  Like I said, Miami's only real worry is Spoelstra's learning curve, but they are more ready to compete for the 2012 title than Dallas is as presently constituted.  They'll be fine.

Now if only my sorry-ass Knicks would ever rise back up...

Dude none of that matters. The fella get to the finals and CANNOT win it TWICE. You can beat everybody in regular season, gets to the final and lose, then nothing else matters, none. Daiz like leading a race and then bun at the tape, it does not matter. Excuses, excuses, excuses, excuses. The dude did nothing when his team needed him.
Post by: SUPA on June 13, 2011, 04:24:36 PM
Greetings massive. Firstly, leh meh congratulate Dallas on a job well done. Seriously, ah too hurt and disappointed right now tuh really do a sensible post. Ah really didn't see us losing in game 6, I was really confident of at least a game 7. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Dutty on June 13, 2011, 04:29:24 PM

Lebron is a great talent but in this series he played like just a good player. His behavior set him up for this criticism. In the end talent will probably win out and he'll get his, but for now I feel no sympathy

Brain fart on my part...I remember seeing a deflated jordan when the pistons had his number and he was de starboy, but then it woudnt make sense that 2 east coast teams would be in the finals

but ah see whey yuh sayin
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2011, 05:38:37 PM
Dude none of that matters. The fella get to the finals and CANNOT win it TWICE. You can beat everybody in regular season, gets to the final and lose, then nothing else matters, none. Daiz like leading a race and then bun at the tape, it does not matter. Excuses, excuses, excuses, excuses. The dude did nothing when his team needed him.

You're right, facts don't matter and I'm only making excuses... which is why I'm surprised you still responding to me.  I stop responding to you like 10 posts ago because you have your beliefs and nothing will change that.  Not trying to be dismissive... I just recognize the situation for what it is and move on  :beermug:
Post by: sinned on June 13, 2011, 06:26:35 PM

Brain fart on my part...I remember seeing a deflated jordan when the pistons had his number and he was de starboy, but then it woudnt make sense that 2 east coast teams would be in the finals

yeah. jordan had his tribulations with the bad boys before he make it.

unbelievable how much trash talk marion and terry give lebron during the game. and lebron didn't respond on the court. michael woulda wipe the floor with them or die trying. that convince me he ent no jordan - not that level of competitiveness.

maybe he'll be great in his own way. but right now he is a king without a ring.
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 13, 2011, 08:36:30 PM

unbelievable how much trash talk marion and terry give lebron during the game. and lebron didn't respond on the court. michael woulda wipe the floor with them or die trying. that convince me he ent no jordan - not that level of competitiveness.

maybe he'll be great in his own way. but right now he is a king  princess without a ring.
Post by: elan on June 13, 2011, 09:06:25 PM

maybe he'll be great in his own way. but right now he is a king without a ring.

Kobe would have gone down with guns blazing.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 14, 2011, 06:38:24 AM
men need to stop the lebron bashing,personally i like the dude and HE WILL win championshipS,i thought miami would not have reached this far but they played well,experience won over youth.lebron faded in and out 4th quarters,but this is sports everyday eh sunday.Miami will regroup and they coming back next season blazing,BLAZING.....they need ah point guard though
Post by: weary1969 on June 14, 2011, 08:28:15 AM
men need to stop the lebron bashing,personally i like the dude and HE WILL win championshipS,i thought miami would not have reached this far but they played well,experience won over youth.lebron faded in and out 4th quarters,but this is sports everyday eh sunday.Miami will regroup and they coming back next season blazing,BLAZING.....they need ah point guard though

Dat will stop when he stop behavin like a drama queen. 2 say people have 2 go back 2 dey pitiful life while he goes back 2 his gr8 life eh go gain him any brownie pts.

WIN or SHUT UP
Post by: weary1969 on June 14, 2011, 08:30:23 AM
Greetings massive. Firstly, leh meh congratulate Dallas on a job well done. Seriously, ah too hurt and disappointed right now tuh really do a sensible post. Ah really didn't see us losing in game 6, I was really confident of at least a game 7. HIGHLY BLESSED.

Nah Supa Dallas knew it had to b game 6 it would have been extremely difficult to win game 7. How all yuh go sell tickets 2 d Dallas fans what kinda fair weather buziness is dat?
Post by: Bakes on June 14, 2011, 09:13:27 AM

Dat will stop when he stop behavin like a drama queen. 2 say people have 2 go back 2 dey pitiful life while he goes back 2 his gr8 life eh go gain him any brownie pts.

WIN or SHUT UP

He said that?  When?

Like I said... doh let facts get in the way of allyuh irrational criticism.
Post by: ribbit on June 14, 2011, 09:23:16 AM

WIN or SHUT UP

He said that?  When?

check de post-game interview. this all over the news.
Post by: sinned on June 14, 2011, 09:38:13 AM

WIN or SHUT UP

He said that?  When?

“At the end of the day,” LeBron said after the game, “all of the people that were rooting for me to fail, tomorrow they’ll have to wake up and have the same life that (they had) before they woke up today. They got the same personal problems they had today, and I’m going to continue to live the way I want to live and continue to do the things that I want to do.”

Not sure how Lebron supporters can spin that.
Post by: Peong on June 14, 2011, 10:07:56 AM
Miami Heat lookin like Real Madrid's galacticos.  It will take a while to get it right, but most likely the championships will come.
I was here for the 2006 win and I hope I can witness another one.

Lebron is kicks yes.  Send him to summer camp let him mature a little bit.
Post by: weary1969 on June 14, 2011, 10:36:37 AM

WIN or SHUT UP

He said that?  When?

“At the end of the day,” LeBron said after the game, “all of the people that were rooting for me to fail, tomorrow they’ll have to wake up and have the same life that (they had) before they woke up today. They got the same personal problems they had today, and I’m going to continue to live the way I want to live and continue to do the things that I want to do.”

EXACTLYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

WIN or SHUT UP

He said that?  When?

Did I use"" neva said I was quotin d fella verbatim but that is what his statement meant.

Compare his post gamne interview 2 Wade and Bosh where they talk bout we but he keep talkin bout I. D sayin there is no I in team has been lost on him.
Miami Heat lookin like Real Madrid's galacticos.  It will take a while to get it right, but most likely the championships will come.
I was here for the 2006 win and I hope I can witness another one.

Lebron is kicks yes.  Send him to summer camp let him mature a little bit.

Exactly same reason cyah back Real. Doh like team super teams that assemble just 2 win. Build a team and win it all.
Post by: Dutty on June 14, 2011, 11:26:13 AM
Ah sight he 'arch nemesis' Stephenson wearin a juzzy that say
"Hey Lebron how does my Dirk taste"......,,,,,,cold blooded :D
Post by: daryn on June 14, 2011, 11:50:17 AM

WIN or SHUT UP

He said that?  When?

No need to spin anything. That is an honest and true statement.

Millions of people want you to fail at your job and at one of the most disappointing moments of your career, after a year of constant criticism, you get asked a question that paraphrases to "so how does it feel to know that people will be happy that you failed?". That is actually very mild for an honest response.

Lakers get Pau Gasol for Kwame Brown. Kevin McHale giftwrap KG for the Celtics. But everybody hate LeBron for going Miami. Anybody ever check the rosters for them old Celtics and Lakers teams?
Post by: soccerman on June 14, 2011, 12:47:02 PM
I think Lebron should just avoid the media after this. When you're on the top they sing your high praises but when you fail, they can be very cruel. He should just do like what Kobe did and stay out of the public eye for a while and let his game do the talking next season, none of the gallerying or flashy expressions after a big play, just do what it take to help the team. Turn down every damn interview when reporters ask.

It would be funny to hear what kind of response Charles Barkley would've gave if asked that question in a similar situation back in his day....ESPN would've have to take an impromptu commercial break after Sir Charles start to cuss way everybody and dey mudda.
Post by: weary1969 on June 14, 2011, 01:03:19 PM

WIN or SHUT UP

He said that?  When?

No need to spin anything. That is an honest and true statement.

Millions of people want you to fail at your job and at one of the most disappointing moments of your career, after a year of constant criticism, you get asked a question that paraphrases to "so how does it feel to know that people will be happy that you failed?". That is actually very mild for an honest response.

Lakers get Pau Gasol for Kwame Brown. Kevin McHale giftwrap KG for the Celtics. But everybody hate LeBron for going Miami. Anybody ever check the rosters for them old Celtics and Lakers teams?

Apples and oranges dem comparissons. Not 2 mention Gasol was not able 2 walk into LA and get a ring. So y should Lebron oh yes I 4got he is d KINGGGGGGGGG. Rodney King probably because he was beaten up and d world saw.
Post by: Bakes on June 14, 2011, 01:29:45 PM

Thank you Capt. Obvious.

Appreciate the quote... but I am well aware of what was said and nowhere did he say the things attributed to him by Weary.  If anything it is his detractors who are trying to spin this into a condescending sneer at his critics.  There are different ways to interpret what he said, but in itself it's a factual and innocuous statement and there's no need to "spin" anything as daryn say.  Rooting for him to fail isn't going to change people's lives so why are they expending all that energy?  The most they will get from it is some kinda fleeting satisfaction... then you go back to whatever your existence was, rich, sorry or indifferent. *shrug*
Post by: Bakes on June 14, 2011, 01:33:37 PM
I think Lebron should just avoid the media after this. When you're on the top they sing your high praises but when you fail, they can be very cruel. He should just do like what Kobe did and stay out of the public eye for a while and let his game do the talking next season, none of the gallerying or flashy expressions after a big play, just do what it take to help the team. Turn down every damn interview when reporters ask.

Nah yuh mad or what... if he start tuh act like he even boycotting de media is now self they go be calling him all kinda "childish" and "immature"... like he not human and supposed to keep smiling in the face of people who trying to undermine him or sell stories at his expense.
Post by: sinned on June 14, 2011, 01:51:15 PM
Appreciate the quote... but I am well aware of what was said and nowhere did he say the things attributed to him by Weary.  If anything it is his detractors who are trying to spin this into a condescending sneer at his critics.  There are different ways to interpret what he said, but in itself it's a factual and innocuous statement and there's no need to "spin" anything as daryn say.  Rooting for him to fail isn't going to change people's lives so why are they expending all that energy?  The most they will get from it is some kinda fleeting satisfaction... then you go back to whatever your existence was, rich, sorry or indifferent. *shrug*
Isn't that all of sports? Sports doesn't change our lives. Yet we have a forum here and discuss it and some people check and post everyday. By that measure any athlete can just dismissively say that. Why he mention personal problems? Sports is about people rooting for you and against you. When he wins, does he tell his fans factually that this is a fleeting satisfaction and you will have to go back to your lives and personal problems tomorrow? Because it's equally true then.

That statement is far from innocuous in my opinion. But I done with Lebron talk. I just happy for my Mavs
Post by: ribbit on June 14, 2011, 01:56:45 PM

Thank you Capt. Obvious.

my bad. ah cyah tell when yuh oblivious or just uninformed. is a good ting yuh both most of de time.  ;)
Post by: weary1969 on June 14, 2011, 02:07:17 PM
Isn't that all of sports? Sports doesn't change our lives. Yet we have a forum here and discuss it and some people check and post everyday. By that measure any athlete can just dismissively say that. Why he mention personal problems? Sports is about people rooting for you and against you. When he wins, does he tell his fans factually that this is a fleeting satisfaction and you will have to go back to your lives and personal problems tomorrow? Because it's equally true then.

That statement is far from innocuous in my opinion. But I done with Lebron talk. I just happy for my Mavs

ENT but then again me eh know what innocuous mean. I now getting ready to go to school in August. Dey eh my Mavs but I happy 4 dem.
Post by: daryn on June 14, 2011, 03:30:28 PM

Apples and oranges dem comparissons. Not 2 mention Gasol was not able 2 walk into LA and get a ring. So y should Lebron oh yes I 4got he is d KINGGGGGGGGG. Rodney King probably because he was beaten up and d world saw.

A few things
1. What is so different about those situations and this one? Every single team in the league is putting together a team just to win. Nobody rebuilding slowly because it's the right thing to do.

In any case the NBA salary cap prevents the assembling of any clearly superior super team.

2. it have no "should" in getting rings. Their job is to play hard and they all want the ring. People assigning all kinda morality based on cliches in the media about a man they've never meet. If LBJ had ever won a ring in Cleveland it woulda be with the weakest supporting cast in league history. Some people lucky enough to be drafted by a team w other great players (Kobe, Jordan, Bird, Magic...) and other people have to move to find that (Shaq, Drexler, LeBron,...).
Sports is for entertainment and appreciation. The tone of the criticism of LeBron is unnecessarily nasty.

3. There is nothing wrong with comparing apples and oranges. In fact oranges are a very natural thing to compare apples to.  Just hours ago I was in the cafeteria at my workplace and I made the choice to have an apple with my breakfast instead of an orange. Seriously.
Post by: giggsy11 on June 14, 2011, 03:56:43 PM
Lebron needs tuh humble he self and stop acting like he reach, work on his overall game so he can at least get close enough to Jordan's jock tuh get a sniff. Talent alone will not lead to championships.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 14, 2011, 04:07:29 PM
When yuh check it, de media need stories, is not enuff Dallas, Kidd, and Dirk win dey 1st championship, need to sensationalize de Mia loss as well.  For a team jus thrown together, they did well in their 1st season, they still have alot to figure out, as an outsider doh look like their roles are completed figured out and their lack of a half court game stifles their offense.

Havin said that and not having met LBJ, doh strike me as more cocky than my franchise player and he was so since before he geh a ring.  Will still say LBJ's biggest challenge is mental strength, you need it when you are very talented, there will always be naysayers
Post by: Bakes on June 14, 2011, 06:00:22 PM

Yes that is all of sports, but the level of vitriol being directed at LeBron James is unlike anything we seen in sports, certainly in recent times... maybe Jack Johnson can relate, but that's about it.  The personal animosity seems directed.  All fanbases have villains, but the vilification of James has a distinctly personal tinge to it and that is specifically what it appears to be that he was addressing.  You say the statement "far from innocuous" and I'm sure you believe what you believe.  But the man clarified his intent today (http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/truehoop/miamiheat/news/story?id=6661305).

"Basically I was saying at the end of the day this season is over and -- with all hatred -- everyone else has to move on with their lives, good or bad. I do too," James said.

"It wasn't saying I'm superior or better than anyone else, any man or woman on this planet, I'm not. I would never ever look at myself bigger than anyone who watched our game. It may have come off wrong but that wasn't my intent."

Post by: Bitter on June 14, 2011, 06:19:31 PM
A few things
1. What is so different about those situations and this one? Every single team in the league is putting together a team just to win. Nobody rebuilding slowly because it's the right thing to do.

Like yuh ent make out the Clippers and the Wizards...  ::)
Post by: daryn on June 14, 2011, 07:27:30 PM
as far as I see the man make one mistake in this whole saga and even that I would have to say is just as much on Pat Riley as on him i.e. the hype concert where he say that the games going to be easy once they go up against each other in practice. Even the thing when he say he expect multiple championships is really just par for the course. Shaq predict a championship when he went Miami too; nobody eh say anything. European footballers does make similar proclamations when they get introduced to the fans.
 The organization shoulda never put him in a situation where he answering questions off the cuff in front of a stadium full of ecstatic fans.

For years I was hearing about how Lebron 2010 decision is news. Multiple NBA franchises based all their other personnel decisions on the probability that they could sign LeBron in 2010. After all the hype the man decide to make his announcement a news event. ESPN was glad to do it and lots of people watch, now LBJ is the villain in the piece?

People want to fall back on "oh, it's the way he went about it that have people mad" but the more I observe the level of hate for the man the more implausible that argument becomes. High school football players does make their NCAA signing day announcements live on the same ESPN.

I spend copious amounts of time and energy following the NBA and I never hear LBJ say he better than Jordan or Kobe or Dwade or whoever.
Post by: Bakes on June 14, 2011, 08:25:28 PM
I spend copious amounts of time and energy following the NBA and I never hear LBJ say he better than Jordan or Kobe or Dwade or whoever.

You have time with some ah these people?  James even went so far as to switch his jersey from #23 to #6, saying that the NBA should retire Jordan's number.  And even that he get criticize for, by some idiots who say if he honoring MJ by the switch he disrespecting Dr. J, b/c that is his old number.  Lol, madness.

It's funny to me that people criticizing him for deferring too much to this teammates and yet knocking him for being "cocky and arrogant" in the same breath.  He cocky and mentally-weak at the same time... figure that out one.  James has always been a humble dude, that and his level-headedness is what really make me start to appreciate the fella.  So what he have "Chosen One" tattoed on his arm?  That mean's he egoistic? steups.  People calling him "King James" since high school... is not he give himself the nickname.
Post by: Dutty on June 15, 2011, 07:04:50 AM
A few things

Like yuh ent make out the Clippers and the Wizards...  ::)

:D
Post by: weary1969 on June 15, 2011, 08:26:25 AM
as far as I see the man make one mistake in this whole saga and even that I would have to say is just as much on Pat Riley as on him i.e. the hype concert where he say that the games going to be easy once they go up against each other in practice. Even the thing when he say he expect multiple championships is really just par for the course. Shaq predict a championship when he went Miami too; nobody eh say anything. European footballers does make similar proclamations when they get introduced to the fans.
 The organization shoulda never put him in a situation where he answering questions off the cuff in front of a stadium full of ecstatic fans.

For years I was hearing about how Lebron 2010 decision is news. Multiple NBA franchises based all their other personnel decisions on the probability that they could sign LeBron in 2010. After all the hype the man decide to make his announcement a news event. ESPN was glad to do it and lots of people watch, now LBJ is the villain in the piece?

People want to fall back on "oh, it's the way he went about it that have people mad" but the more I observe the level of hate for the man the more implausible that argument becomes. High school football players does make their NCAA signing day announcements live on the same ESPN.

Matters not who strted d 3 ring circus but it was a 3 ring circus announcing on espn that u signing wit x is different from dissing x 2 go and sign wit y. D stadium ting is nutten as compared 2 d announcement. He must say he comin 2 win championships what else he would have said.
Post by: futbolfan on June 15, 2011, 08:50:39 AM
Face it, the NBA is basking in this publicity. TV ratings are up, fan interest has risen tremendously and all because of Lebron/Miami. Everybody and dey mother have dey two cents to add.
I have never seen an athlete's words and actions twisted and morphed into constant negativity.
I know he is an athlete and it "comes with the territory" but I wonder what type of ridicule his kids go through on a day to day basis.  :(
Post by: elan on June 15, 2011, 01:46:09 PM
LeBron and his marketing team put him in that situation, so who needs to deal with it? To tell me the fan that I have to go back to my life with my problem epitomizes the mental capacity yuh dealing with. Then he come back couple days later with some spin to say he mean something else :bs:  Very child-like.

This is PROFESSIONAL sports, not college, amatuer or High School, PROFESSIONAL. At the end of the day the only thing that matters is who won the championship > results.

Remember this :bs:

http://www.youtube.com/v/e9BqUBYaHlM&feature=related

Post by: Peong on June 15, 2011, 02:42:54 PM
This is PROFESSIONAL sports, not college, amatuer or High School, PROFESSIONAL. At the end of the day the only thing that matters is who won the championship > results.

In one fell swoop you have belittled every single team's contribution besides the champions.
Classy!
Post by: Bakes on June 15, 2011, 04:34:39 PM
Ah sight he 'arch nemesis' Stephenson wearin a juzzy that say
"Hey Lebron how does my Dirk taste"......,,,,,,cold blooded :D

Was that before or after he was getting outta jail?
Post by: elan on June 15, 2011, 05:07:43 PM

In one fell swoop you have belittled every single team's contribution besides the champions.
Classy!

Let's all hold hands and skip down the Yellow brick road. SMH

As much as LBJ did not belittle us poor folk or non superstar folks.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 15, 2011, 06:47:03 PM
imagine the heat lose and lebron is the most popular topic whil dirk and de mavs are side stories.

here is my take.

lebron statement is the truth and i dont see anything that is fundamentally wrong with it.

should he have said it?  NO....u wouldnt hear MJ or tim duncan saying what he said.
however lebron is young age wise but nba experience of 8 years makes sort of old enough but he has time to mature.  look at kobe, he has toned down a bit over the years.  his statement makes u wonder what he thinks about his fans?  he should remember that most of the ppl who hating him now are cavs fans, they same ppl who made him rich for 7 years.  so his comment can be viewed as wrong based on that fact.

his statement could be interpreted several ways and of course the press would run with the worse interpretation.

does he deserve the criticism?  NO

does de heat deserve a beatdown?  Yes

why? they promise 8 titles in their stupid party/free agent conference.

will lebron be better than MJ?  it is possible

will it happen?  i doubt.

he is the most talented player in the league but kobe and wade are still better than him right now

at the end of the day i doh care because as lebron said, my life is the same after the finals as it was before the finals.  ppl need to to leave the man alone because he is free to make DECISIONS about his own life and we are free to do the same in ours.

the same way kenwyne jones choose to lock off this website.  he made a DECISION and it is his life.

fans need to know when to draw the line and leave the athletes business alone.

Post by: Bakes on June 15, 2011, 06:58:53 PM
Kenwyne do even worse than LeBron... "The Decision" doesn't even compare to refusing to put on yuh uniform and go out and represent the club, as Kenwyne did in forcing a transfer from Southampton.  Leh we eh even bother going into what happen in Nashville 3 years ago, or get into the fact that some of the same people who was defending KJ in here now cussing LJ.
Post by: Deeks on June 15, 2011, 08:21:51 PM
Let this ball jumbie put in his 2 sense nah. Honestly I both happy and sad. I wanted Miami to win so that it would shut up LBJ detractors. Yes he should have been more sensitive when he made the move. But he gave Cleveland everything he got for 6 yrs. He was no locho. So he deserved to make a move that he thought was right for him. Also like to point out the hipocracy about Wade, Bosh and LBJ being a high money make up team. Like someone mentioned, Boston, LA and NY being doing that for years and the media would be in a joy. But who is Miami to go for all them superstars.

I really happy for Dirk and Kidd. Them fellas real good. I like watching them play. After seeing men like karl Malone, Patrick Uwing, Albert King, David Thompson, George Gerving, ok Charles Barkley not winning a ring after all their toil, I really glad for them 2. LBJ, Keep your head high, stay out of trouble and hopefully you will win one. You did not diss you fans with your comments, you dissed the detractors. Who deserved to be dissed. .......Morons!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Peong on June 15, 2011, 08:31:01 PM

Classy!

Let's all hold hands and skip down the Yellow brick road. SMH

As much as LBJ did not belittle us poor folk or non superstar folks.

He belittled you and your cronies because allyuh pourin hate on him, what is your reason for belittling all the other teams?
I know you didn't mean to, but is just the hate for Lebron that causin you to talk foolishness.
Carry on.
Post by: weary1969 on June 16, 2011, 10:22:46 AM
Your championship Mavs want their rings, Mark Cuban
By Kelly Dwyer

In an interview with NBA TV soon after the Dallas Mavericks earned their first NBA title on Sunday night, team owner Mark Cuban jokingly dismissed the idea of giving his team championship rings as a reward. Probably because he was bored. Most likely because he's Mark Cuban, and he just likes saying things like that -- pointing out that rings were "old school" and mentioning that he'd try to come up with some new sort of reward for Dallas' 8 1/2-month trek.

And, because NBA players kind of like championship rings, this isn't going over well with Maverick players. Jason Terry(notes) says Cuban talked about "a five-finger ring" and Cuban reportedly talked to his employees and players about a bracelet. Jokingly, of course, but … seriously, boss, give us a ring. It's been a long year, Cubes.

From the AP:

"We've got to talk to him about that," said Dirk Nowitzki(notes), the finals MVP. "I don't think the last word has been spoken yet. We know he always wants to do something different, something bigger. But the ring is just so classic. I think I would vote for a ring. I mean, I'm a man. I don't know how I'd feel about a bracelet."

I know how I'd feel about a bracelet. You have to take it off when you wash dishes, write at a laptop, or bathe your cats. And I've got a lot of cats to bathe. Not a euphemism.

Donnie Nelson, the longtime Maverick personnel chief, wants to help Dirk out:

"I'll pay for [the rings]," he said. "Now, they might have to be plastic."

Jason Kidd(notes), the 17-year NBA vet, probably countered Cuban's "argument" best when he pointed out that he wants a ring because he's "old-fashioned," but as has been the case for all of 2010-11, Dallas coach Rick Carlisle had the best take:

"I don't know what he's thinking," Carlisle said, laughing. "You win an NBA championship, you've got to have a ring."

Well, you don't have to have one, because they're cumbersome and hard to wear and they look a little showy. But you've certainly earned one. And you've definitely earned the right, Dallas, to pass on a championship bracelet, some sort of jewel-encrusted set of brass knuckles, or your own personalized championship yacht.

Actually, that last one doesn't sound half bad. OK, a yacht and a ring it is, rich guy.

Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 17, 2011, 07:53:38 PM
Kenwyne do even worse than LeBron... "The Decision" doesn't even compare to refusing to put on yuh uniform and go out and represent the club, as Kenwyne did in forcing a transfer from Southampton.  Leh we eh even bother going into what happen in Nashville 3 years ago, or get into the fact that some of the same people who was defending KJ in here now cussing LJ.

yeah i leaving that alone because i eh able with argue with men who defending kj and cussing lj.  logic is ah commonly use ting on dis site.