Sports => Football => Topic started by: Sam on June 12, 2011, 12:55:18 PM

Title: World Football Challenge 2011
Post by: Sam on June 12, 2011, 12:55:18 PM
Who here going and see Philadelphia Union vs Real Madrid. ?

July 23rd - Lincoln Financial Field.
Title: Re: Philadelphia Union vs Real Madrid
Post by: Bally on June 12, 2011, 01:21:12 PM
I going
Title: World Football Challenge 2011
Post by: Andre on July 13, 2011, 07:34:25 AM
gentlemen,

we have some big time club action once again.

man u playing tonight.

FC Barcelona, Real Madrid, Manchester City and Juventus in the mix too.

nothing in my hood in the ATL although i tempted to head down to meeeeami for the barca game.

http://footballfashion.org/wordpress/2011/07/12/world-football-challenge-2011-schedule-and-tv-listings/
Post by: Sam on July 16, 2011, 09:04:52 AM
Real Madrid playing LA today allyuh, what station and what time ?

Bull them hard Birchall...
Post by: giggsy11 on July 16, 2011, 09:53:15 AM

ESPN 2 @10pm Eastern Time.
Post by: D.H.W on July 16, 2011, 08:03:46 PM

ESPN 2 @10pm Eastern Time.

NOW!

http://www.streamhub.tv/ch/V4.php
Post by: Trini Madness on July 17, 2011, 01:05:54 PM
how did birchall play? didnt get to watch it last night.
Post by: Spursy on July 18, 2011, 12:39:10 PM
how did birchall play? didnt get to watch it last night.

He was the best player in the LA team. He helped win the corner that set up la to score.
Title: Re: World Football Challenge 2011
Post by: Andre on July 19, 2011, 09:37:19 AM
i just check FSC schedule for the next two weeks. club friendlies galore from asia to america.

looking forward to arsenal vs. ny red bulls. henry returns.

http://msn.foxsports.com/foxsoccer/tvschedule

also bayern vs. hamburg on espn3.com @ 2:45 PM ET today. total liga cup.
Title: FC Barcelona vs Chivas Guadalajara
Post by: Peong on August 04, 2011, 08:29:19 AM
I witnessed this beatdown last night.  Who else from here went?

I real glad Barca get licks.  It's good when big team is reminded that they can't play slack and still win.
The fans were kinda stupid.  They booed Chivas when their bench players emerged from the tunnel, and they booed whenever a Barca player got hit, whether it was a foul or not. 

Chivas had the first good chance, Barca cleared off the line.  Then Xavi took over.
The man played his game, probing, keeping possession.  Barca really played some nice ball.
What you might not see in the highlights for Villa's goal is that Barca maintained possession for a few minutes before that, going forward and then coming back if there was no room.  The short passes had Chivas on edge, then the ball went back to Pique and he hit a perfect long ball over the top.  Sweet goal.
The crowd started chanting "Barca!, Barca!" and the majority Barca crowd were enjoying themselves.

Barca created several more chances including a Villa lob that hit the top of the crossbar.  Xavi had a couple shots and Barca looked like they could score again.  But then they took their foot off the gas and ended the half with 1 goal and 68% possession.

In the 2nd half a lot of changes were made and a setta children came on for Barca.
Chivas came out of their shell and started to take risks, making more runs and supporting the strikers.
Their 1st goal was a beauty, that shot had Pinto bewildered.  It swerved late into the top corner.
The 2nd one is goal of the year. Make sure allyuh see it. Perfectly executed aerial volley.  That one knocked the wind out of Barca.  This was from the same man who scored the 1st.

At this point they only had a few starters on the pitch and they just were not able to mount a comeback.
They kept going down the left to this blonde fella who was pullin stones.  Iniesta was running around but without good support he couldn't do much.
Chivas' third goal the man actually miskick in front of goal but got a 2nd chance to slot it in.
The crowd then started chanting "Chivas! Chivas!" and the few Chivas fans were in heaven.
The 4th I think it was offside.  It looked like there was only 1 defender between the scorer and the goal when the ball was played to him.

Good win for Chivas and I guess Pep got to see some of his B squad in action.
I was vex they didn't play Sanchez or Affelay.

http://youtube.com/v/YAOfsuVAEPY
Title: Re: FC Barcelona vs Chivas Guadalajara
Post by: asylumseeker on August 04, 2011, 08:40:56 AM
I witnessed this beatdown last night.  Who else from here went?

I real glad Barca get licks.  It's good when big team is reminded that they can't play slack and still win.
The fans were kinda stupid.  They booed Chivas when their bench players emerged from the tunnel, and they booed whenever a Barca player got hit, whether it was a foul or not. 

Chivas had the first good chance, Barca cleared off the line.  Then Xavi took over.
The man played his game, probing, keeping possession.  Barca really played some nice ball.
What you might not see in the highlights for Villa's goal is that Barca maintained possession for a few minutes before that, going forward and then coming back if there was no room.  The short passes had Chivas on edge, then the ball went back to Pique and he hit a perfect long ball over the top.  Sweet goal.
The crowd started chanting "Barca!, Barca!" and the majority Barca crowd were enjoying themselves.

Barca created several more chances including a Villa lob that hit the top of the crossbar.  Xavi had a couple shots and Barca looked like they could score again.  But then they took their foot off the gas and ended the half with 1 goal and 68% possession.

In the 2nd half a lot of changes were made and a setta children came on for Barca.
Chivas came out of their shell and started to take risks, making more runs and supporting the strikers.
Their 1st goal was a beauty, that shot had Pinto bewildered.  It swerved late into the top corner.
The 2nd one is goal of the year. Make sure allyuh see it. Perfectly executed aerial volley.  That one knocked the wind out of Barca.  This was from the same man who scored the 1st.

At this point they only had a few starters on the pitch and they just were not able to mount a comeback.
They kept going down the left to this blonde fella who was pullin stones.  Iniesta was running around but without good support he couldn't do much.
Chivas' third goal the man actually miskick in front of goal but got a 2nd chance to slot it in.
The crowd then started chanting "Chivas! Chivas!" and the few Chivas fans were in heaven.
The 4th I think it was offside.  It looked like there was only 1 defender between the scorer and the goal when the ball was played to him.

Good win for Chivas and I guess Pep got to see some of his B squad in action.
I was vex they didn't play Sanchez or Affelay.

Dude deserves a turn in his luck. He spent the last month fielding questions regarding the goings-on in the hotel room with the U23s in Ecuador. Won't be long before he's torturing us on the field.
Post by: #4 on August 04, 2011, 09:06:37 AM
I was unable to attend the game, but I had a lot of friends who were there. I was able to watch on television, though, and that second half from Chivas was a thing of beauty, although it was against Barca's youth side.

On a side note, I'm happy that Barca took the "L", though, because Miami is full of Barca fanboys- not the diehard kind of fan who's been supporting Barca all his life, but the kind of fan who has only jumped on the bandwagon since Messi became big. I'm not really a fan of Barca or any other club, but I'm just saying...
Post by: Daft Trini on August 04, 2011, 09:13:31 AM
No Messi No Barca... Imagine Welbeck breed Iniesta during the Man U/Barca game....
Post by: WarriorSaint on August 04, 2011, 09:18:18 AM
ph@ck me that was a volley. Gonna hate to see him against us  :'(
Post by: elan on August 04, 2011, 09:26:28 AM
No Messi No Barca... Imagine Welbeck breed Iniesta during the Man U/Barca game....

That was Barca F squad dude. That eh no loss. Alyuh getting on like Barca was out there huffing and puffing. Yes "Barca" loss, but Barca did not lose. Wow I swear sometimes. You think that number 30 could even sniff Barca bench.

At the same time that was two amazing goal, makes Rooney bicycle looks like scooter.
Post by: giggsy11 on August 04, 2011, 09:50:39 AM
Sweet scissors kick!
Post by: elan on August 04, 2011, 09:52:20 AM
Sweet scissors kick!

Is 2 Golasso de man put down in de space ah 3 minutes yes. Talk about ah story to tell yuh kids.
Post by: Tenorsaw on August 04, 2011, 09:58:42 AM
Sweet scissors kick!

Ent.  De man lie down well before the ball reach him.  I bawl when I saw it last nite.  Gotta give props to the passer as well.  It was the perfectly weighted pass that created all that.
Post by: dinho on August 04, 2011, 10:02:58 AM
GoalS boy!!!
Post by: injunchile on August 04, 2011, 10:12:06 AM
Good report Peong. Great atmosphere and lots of Barca waggonist with Messi jerseys in abundance. One has to give credit to Chivas. They parked the bus and employed the counter attack well with two speedy wingers and two brilliant goals. I felt Chivas was in awe of Barca in the first ten minutes, I even counted forty passes with Chivas not touching the ball.Credit to Chivas coach . If the truth be told they missed Lionel but it was a good evening of entertainment. My disappointment was the way Barca wanted to walk into the goal with their passing- Small goal mentality, rather than pull the trigger in the 8 yd box. Well I was part of history 70,00080 fans. The announcer said it was the biggest turn out to a soccer game in South Florida
Post by: kicker on August 04, 2011, 10:29:23 AM
As great as Barca is, they're not that deep.  Their quality (and experience) falls off significantly after the first 16.  It was the ONE area where people generally thought Man U had the advantage over them last season...of course that advantage doh mean squat in a one-off game...

I think Pep is giving his lower level B squad a more significant run in the pre-season this summer because due to a relative lack of depth, Xavi & co. haven't really had much of a rest in the last 3 seasons..
Post by: giggsy11 on August 04, 2011, 10:32:48 AM
As great as Barca is, they're not that deep.  Their quality (and experience) falls off significantly after the first 16.  It was the ONE area where people generally thought Man U had the advantage over them last season...of course that advantage doh mean squat in a one-off game...

I think Pep is giving his lower level B squad a more significant run in the pre-season this summer because due to a relative lack of depth, Xavi & co. haven't really had much of a rest in the last 3 seasons..

What is scary is, it seems that they are actually selling players who got some run last year, to finance a possible purchase of Cesc. Which could leave them with less depth.
Post by: giggsy11 on August 04, 2011, 10:36:59 AM
Sweet scissors kick!

Is 2 Golasso de man put down in de space ah 3 minutes yes. Talk about ah story to tell yuh kids.

When he shaped up to hit the first one, it did not look like it was on target and I thought to myself he should have passed the ball. Then when it caressed the underside of the bar and dropped in you know it was sweetly hit. 
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on August 04, 2011, 01:43:08 PM

That was Barca F squad dude. That eh no loss. Alyuh getting on like Barca was out there huffing and puffing. Yes "Barca" loss, but Barca did not lose. Wow I swear sometimes. You think that number 30 could even sniff Barca bench.

At the same time that was two amazing goal, makes Rooney bicycle looks like scooter.

Barca had 6 starters from Wembley start the friendly... we had 3

better check yourself before you wreck yourself

FACT
Post by: futbolfan on August 04, 2011, 02:02:40 PM
Peong....Affelay tear he hamstring in de friendly against Man U, he go be out for about 5 weeks.....
Post by: Peong on August 04, 2011, 02:06:50 PM
Peong....Affelay tear he hamstring in de friendly against Man U, he go be out for about 5 weeks.....

Thanks.
Post by: Daft Trini on August 04, 2011, 02:55:12 PM

FACT

Small mag me eh have to argue with de man. I had front row seats to the practice and the game... During the Barca practice session Van De Sar was sittin in front of me watching the practice and taking notes. It was obvious that Xavi was going to be the engine room fuh dem. When the startin line up get name I was like Sir Alex giving dem ah win or what....

BTW Small Mag yuh know Frederico and you could pass fuh brothers...
Post by: kicker on August 04, 2011, 03:06:24 PM

FACT

Doh even start that talk because you, like anyone else who has a clue about the game knows that there is really no relationship between the CL final at Wembley and the pre-season friendly at RFK unless yuh trying to sell papers. One was a real match, one was a glorified training session in front of the fans....

FYI Man U was further into their pre-season preparation than Barca was at the time of that game....but again there's really no relationship between the two games....
Post by: Jah Gol on August 04, 2011, 03:15:47 PM
When the season starting again ?
Post by: elan on August 04, 2011, 04:20:22 PM

FACT

Post by: dumpalewie on August 05, 2011, 03:15:52 PM
I was there.

Plenty of Barca bandwagonists. Poor form booing Chivas in a friendly match tells you that the crowd didn't know much about football. Chivas has a forward #9, big, strong, fast and technical. The #8 who scored the goals was good too. They had a guy on the left wing who was eating Dos Santos in the entire first half.

Xavi is so sublime on the ball it's scary. Thiago is pressure too, just got his first Spain call up. I agree that Barca lack depth. Even their backup keeper Pinto is a snake.

Fun game!
Post by: Trini on August 05, 2011, 08:30:15 PM
If the Mexican national team that just won the Gold Cup were to play Barcelona at the peak of their season, in a home and away tie, who do you think will win on aggregate?

Mouthwatering clash.

I personally feel Mexico will dust them....
A Messi-less Barca will definitely get beat down, but with him on board, it will be much closer.

Post by: palos on August 06, 2011, 12:36:45 AM
Way sah...

Man u supporters celebratin a fete match victory like it was de CL Final

Ah guess yuh take yuh "victories" when yuh can.  Especially after de THUMPIN in May  :devil:
Post by: warmonga on August 06, 2011, 01:05:52 AM
oh shit boi dais a rell freeking goal dat man score dey boi..yow dat goal madd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!