General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Touches on June 21, 2011, 08:45:34 PM

Title: Email making the rounds down here
Post by: Touches on June 21, 2011, 08:45:34 PM
I received this from 3 different people today. No I dont have the source, I don't know who the author is and I have not attached the names from the fwd list.

Just thought I would share, Movietown is a busy area and I find the victim was real brave to put up such a fight. It saved his life, but it also coulda go terribly wrong. mods I remember we have a crime and safety thread you could merge it there

Sent: Mon, 20 June, 2011 15:13:51
Subject: MOVIE TOWNE P.O.S. - NEAR DEATH EXPERIENCE !!!

Dear Friends and Family,

This is what unfolded at Movie Towne P.O.S. on Saturday 18th June 2011 @ 11.55pm.  My bother-in-law and sister were almost brutally MURDERED on the western side of Movie Towne car park.  As the evening unfolded, I had a dinner party to attend however my son called me up and asked me to join him, my sister and my brother-in-law at Movie Towne POS to view the movie "X-men" at 9.15pm.  Without hesitation I did.  Excellent movie by the way.

The movie ended at 11.40pm and we all walked out towards the car park.  We first walked my son to his vehicle to make sure he was safe.  Then I turned to my sister and said "let me drop you to your vehicle." We were busy talking and without realising it I existed Movie Towne.  My brother-in-law then said to me "don't worry we would walk back inside, the car is just over there opposite Excellent Stores on the western side," (a stone throw away from the security booth). I pulled to the side and they exited my vehicle and proceeded to theirs.  I then called my sister on her cell phone while they were en route to their vehicle as I was feeling very uneasy for some reason.  We chatted as they walked and as they got into their car she said "ok, we're in the car, everything is cool".  I said ok, hanged up and proceeded towards the traffic lights.

In that fraction of a second as we both got off the phone and she turned towards her husband, she saw a very thin, young negro chap pointing a 38 calibre long nose at her husband's head.  The criminal shouted "open your f****ing door or ah go shoot all yuh!" On her side of the vehicle were two more negro men trying to open her door and diagonally behind was a White B-13 with a driver.  My brother-in-law at that instance put his glass down only to receive a gashing blow with the gun to his forehead.  The bandit then pushed the gun into his chest and he (my bother-in-law) grabbed it placing one of his finger behind the trigger and holding the barrel securely.  With death facing both of them in the face, the bandit continued to hit him continuously with a metal object bursting his head open in several places.  While this ordeal was taking place, my sister some how managed to call me on the cell screaming hysterically "they killing him, they killing him... help...help!" I immediately spinned my vehicle around and drove straight over the median towards Movie Towne exit.  As I approached the guard booth I saw my bother-in-law's vehicle approaching and as he came to a stop there was blood everywhere.  Blood was gushing out of his head and my sister was still screaming hysterically and shaking.  He was then hastily taken to West Shore Medical.

The security at Movie Towne was of NO HELP. One security guard said to me "these things does happen sir!" Another security guard when I asked if they were not going to ward off the area said "them fellas gone already, sir!"  CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT?  Then when I asked about the surveillance tape(s), they said "I not  sure that working  nah"  I could not believe my ears.  Is this the kind of security that Mr. Derek Chin provides at Movie Towne, P.O.S?  The safety of people that puts dollars in this man's coffers apparently seem to be insignificant to warrant proper security facilities to protect their well-being.  The restaurants and shops that are so well patronized means absolutely nothing.  Should the new branding be "Come To Movie Towne, P.O.S. At Your Risk !"

Is this the kind of place we're going to let our children and wives go too ?  Are we going to wait until one of our family members are brutally raped and murdered to do anything about this situation ?  Do you want to be brutally beaten like my brother-in-law was ? Please ask yourself these questions before venturing there !

It is obvious that the current security are either involved or not equipped or trained to ensure the safety of its patrons.  Chin needs to do something NOW about this, IT IS RIDICULOUS !!!  MY SISTER AND BROTHER-IN-LAW WAS ALMOST MURDERED . The police indicated to me that this is a regular thing that happens there and they try to keep it on the down low.

Then check this out, the very same night about one and a half hours later in the said car park when security should be on high alert due to what just previously happened, a young man is abducted at gun point, brutally beaten, tied up and thrown out of his vehicle in the Chaguaramas beach area for dead.  His car that was stolen was taken to Cocorite, to be stripped and sold I was told.

I've been informed that a group comprising of nine young men that target the Movie Towne P.O.S. is supported by a well organised "King Pin". ALL YUH HEAR WHAT I SAYING, YOU MEAN CHIN COULD NOT GET TO THE BOTTOM OF THIS !  WHO NEXT ? WHO NEXT ? CHIN THIS IS YOUR "BREAD AND BUTTER", DO SOMETHING NOW !!!!!

I simply ask my family and friends to forward this e-mail to everyone they know so that this never happens to them at Movie Towne, P.O.S.
Title: Re: Email making the rounds down here
Post by: TriniCana on June 21, 2011, 09:07:05 PM
Facebook Poster:  Funny enough I sent this post to my mother who actually knows the family! She spoke to the gentleman's brother-in-law this mornng who confirmed this crime to be authentic! They were treated at West Shore Hospital and the husband has extensive head trauma and is scheduled for an MRI today!
11 hours ago · Like ·  1 person

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_182248481809479&ap=1
Post by: zuluwarrior on June 21, 2011, 09:20:35 PM
Any cameras in the car park ?
Post by: TriniCana on June 21, 2011, 09:23:58 PM
Any camerars in the car park ?
From the last incident that a child was killed, they installed camera all over, but that doesn't mean they working!

Not the first time, certainly won't be the last.....but yet my foolish people still crowding movietown every Friday and weekends.  You think Chin cares? steupse!
Post by: Bakes on June 21, 2011, 10:17:49 PM
So... what was the objective, just to beat him on he forri'd with a gun?

Not saying it didn't happen... but sounds kinda fishy to me (Facebook "confirmation" notwithstanding).  Surprise it not in the news either.
Post by: just cool on June 22, 2011, 04:41:39 AM
Sounds more like monkey towne to me. thanx for tellin me, that means the marriott is ah no go for me and mines.
Post by: mukumsplau on June 22, 2011, 04:45:42 AM
two words.

ian alleyne.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 22, 2011, 05:09:15 AM
Facebook Poster:  Funny enough I sent this post to my mother who actually knows the family! She spoke to the gentleman's brother-in-law this mornng who confirmed this crime to be authentic! They were treated at West Shore Hospital and the husband has extensive head trauma and is scheduled for an MRI today!
11 hours ago · Like ·  1 person

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_182248481809479&ap=1

What the hell!!!    :o :o     I saw this on somebody's Facebook page last night and while part of me wanted to say is not true, I know it could be possible that it did happen....
Post by: just cool on June 22, 2011, 05:18:55 AM
Seriously though, i've been spending more time in trinidad of lately and i have to say, there's simply no way i could ever live in that place as long as it stays in the condition it's in presently. fellas speeding on local roads like it's ah gran prix track, man walking wid guns in their hands in broad day light, ppl kicking down ppl doors and shootin them down BC they don't have money in their homes, yuh can't wear jewelry or have nothing nice BC ppl eyeing yuh hard, and as for customer service....... forget it!

i know the service here in new york is nothing short of horrible, but oh my goodness, trinidad takes the cake! talk about poor service. the last time i was there  (which was two months ago) i was annoyed every single day of my stay, from the hotel staff to the doubles vendor had me stressin.

ppl just have no clue about customer service. imagine i went to watch an EPL game @ trotters and it's like all the little poor uneducated black girls who wait tables there was trying to pull rank on me with their stinkin attitudes. all i wanted was ah beverage and to be left alone to watch the game, after a while i just said fack it! i'm outa here! i went to ah lil rinkidink bar it the hood and took in the 2nd half and save some money in the process.

yeh trinidad have nice buildings improved infrastructure, ah budding economy and first world amenities, but that's about it! as far as customer service and efficiency is concerned trinidad need to upgrade to a first world mentality.

PS: dem criminals would never stop they fackry until the ministry of national security and the ministry of justice get their shyte together and come down harder on criminals!

they need to start making laws to deter criminals from committing crimes like a three strike law, a revamp of the judicial system (more effective ways of prosecuting offenders with new laws on the books) keeping criminals in jail (that's what they do here in america, keep the criminals off the streets and the crime rate goes down automatically), but this lack luster way of crime fighting will simply not work.

a scary place to live is a place where no law and order abounds, and T&T is very scary! T&T's problem is not crime, but a lack of crime fighting methods and a slim conviction record on serious crimes (keepin criminals off the streets.).
Post by: Brownsugar on June 22, 2011, 05:24:24 AM
Here's an email circulated by a co-worker in early May.....this one I can vouch for.  I sold him the vehicle in question so ah feel in a funny round about way like dey tief my car...... :'(  :'(

I am writing to share some events that happened to me this last weekend. I was car jacked and robbed of my vehicle.

I will recount the details as best I can recall in the hope of raising your awareness of the ease with which these things happen in our private residence. Hopefully, my loss can be of service to you in some way.

My wife and I were meeting someone at our Maraval apartment. We drove into the private cul-de-sac at around 2:20pm. The area was very quiet, a fact that all residents enjoy.

On pulling into the parking area, I let my wife out of the vehicle as I went to park the car. She proceeded upstairs to open the apartment. When she opened the door, we noticed a light blue vehicle (maybe an Almera or a Sentra) heading to the end of the cul-de-sac. It turned around and headed back to the main road. We observed 3 occupants in the car, but since it left the compound (or so we thought) we let our guard down.

I parked our vehicle and noticed that the blue car was no longer in sight. The road way was clear. I left my vehicle, and proceeded to the apartment. As I got to the landing on the stairs, a man came running towards me. He was running at full pace. His hand tucked under shirt as if concealing a weapon.

He yelled to get my attention, and then demanded that I give him the keys to my vehicle. Given his pace, I would not have been able to make it into the apartment in time before he was upon me. I was trapped. If I went up I would have included my wife as a target of his violence also.

Luckily my keys were still in my hand. I reacted by tossing the keys over his head into the parking area. Unfortunately, my phone went with it too, as it was in my hand also.

On realizing my action, the man left me and went in search of the keys now unprotected on the ground. He picked it up and went to my vehicle (PCE 19** – Blue Toyota Corolla).

The game was over. My only weapon – my voice. I ran to the roadway, away from the direct path of the vehicle, and yelled “Thief! Thief! Robbery! Thief! Thief!” raising an alarm. That's when I saw the second man.

They were organized. They knew what they were doing. They executed a plan that they had made in advance. One man to get the car, and the second to deal with any resistance from me. They were in complete control of the situation. Confidently they did what they had come to do. I was a bystander who could be dealt with. I could have been anyone, it made no difference.

When I saw the second man I knew my life was in danger. He too had his hand tucked under shirt concealing a weapon. He too was running toward me at full pace. His eyes focused on me alone, assessing his need to act with whatever action deemed necessary.

My life was at risk. I backed away deeper into the cul-de-sac trying to stay out of harm’s way.

After they left, I again saw the light blue car. It was now leaving the compound after the deed was done. It had hidden itself closer to the main road. The third man was in the getaway car all along ready to act had I attempted to leave with the vehicle.

The police were there within 8 minutes. Having them there helped me give over the concern of the crime to them and gave me the space to comfort my wife who thought she was watching her husband about to be shot and killed as she responded to my alarm.

Thankfully all that was lost can be replaced. A great nuisance and at significant cost, but it can be replaced. People and lives however cannot be replaced. I urge you. Be on your guard. Always alert. Even in your private residences. Even during the day.

Watch out for your neighbor's also. Protect what cannot be replaced. Life is truly fragile.
Post by: Arimaman on June 22, 2011, 06:43:08 AM
I will echo the words of JC, trini has absolutely no customer service.  Doesn't surprise me anymore and it shouldn't surprise anyone.  it's just disappointing. 
Post by: weary1969 on June 22, 2011, 07:54:28 AM
Check meh email yday and 2 peeps had sent it.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 23, 2011, 05:48:10 AM
Security to be beefed up at MovieTowne
Gun attack on patrons
By Abby Brathwaite

Chairman of Multicinemas Limited, owners of MovieTowne, Derek Chin says he is working with the police and implementing measures to enhance security at the Invader's Bay, Port of Spain cineplex in the wake of a gun attack on patrons last Saturday night.

A patron's account of the attempted robbery, which occurred at the exit link road, has been circulating via Facebook and email. The e-mail stated that three men, one armed with a gun, attempted to hijack a vehicle, but the driver resisted and was beaten on his head with the gun. The author complained about the response from MovieTowne's security.

"Something did happen, we are trying to talk to the victim who we were able to locate yesterday (Tuesday) as to whether they would come and give us further information and discuss it with the police," he said.

Chin said his senior security manager, who was on duty on Saturday night, did not report the incident and was subsequently relieved of his duty for his failure to do so.

"When I interrogated the senior manager about it he mentioned that the event did take place but that it was outside the perimeters of MovieTowne, meaning on the link road and he didn't feel it was necessary for him to come and bring that to my attention," he said.

"I told him anything that happens anywhere around MovieTowne is our business because it is our patrons. So we have rectified that he has been dismissed and removed from the position right away and we brought in a new manager."

"This is of concern to us because we try to make MovieTowne a safe environment. I think that is why we are getting so many responses from the e-mail because people are seeing their sanctuary, their place that they can be entertained being attacked by bandits."

Chin said that police were reviewing the surveillance tapes to ascertain what happened on Saturday night.

"We are doing a number of things, we are reviewing our tapes with the police ... we are looking at other measures that we can put into place to enhance and to make the place more safe."

He said reports that similar incidents happened frequently at MovieTowne were inaccurate as stated in the e-mail.

"That's the part that we have a real concern about that people make statements without any facts. The only event that we have recorded was this one from Friday to Monday so it is a mystery to us why people keep saying that these events are happening because we do have a reporting system."

One of the security measures Chin is planning to implement is security towers on the eastern and western ends of the property.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Security_to_be__beefed_up_at_MovieTowne-124397793.html (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Security_to_be__beefed_up_at_MovieTowne-124397793.html)
Post by: Bakes on June 23, 2011, 12:55:37 PM
Wow... so it DID happen? 

Not sure what that towers idea supposed to do... they need to have more lighting, cameras and patrols.  Working with police to have a weekend presence there for certain hours after dark might be a good idea too, if the manpower could be sourced.
Post by: elan on June 23, 2011, 12:58:49 PM
I received this from 3 different people today. No I dont have the source, I don't know who the author is and I have not attached the names from the fwd list.

Just thought I would share, Movietown is a busy area and I find the victim was real brave to put up such a fight. It saved his life, but it also coulda go terribly wrong. mods I remember we have a crime and safety thread you could merge it there

Dear Friends and Family,

In that fraction of a second as we both got off the phone and she turned towards her husband, she saw a very thin, young negro chap pointing a 38 calibre long nose at her husband's head.  The criminal shouted "open your f****ing door or ah go shoot all yuh!"

This person really knows guns. Was it a police/soldier that got held up?
Post by: Peong on June 23, 2011, 01:30:01 PM
Wow... so it DID happen? 

Not sure what that towers idea supposed to do... they need to have more lighting, cameras and patrols.  Working with police to have a weekend presence there for certain hours after dark might be a good idea too, if the manpower could be sourced.

If the only security presence they have currently is a guard booth near the entrance, then two more locations within the lot will help with surveilling other parts of the lot.
Once they are manned, that is. 

In the US I see malls install temporary lookout towers in the parking lots at Christmas time but they don't look like anyone is in them.  Here a couple years ago a security guard picking up cash was shot right near to one of the towers.

With all the money that MovieTowne makes, it's a shame on the management's part that it would take an incident like this for them to provide good security.
Post by: Bakes on June 23, 2011, 02:04:20 PM
If the only security presence they have currently is a guard booth near the entrance, then two more locations within the lot will help with surveilling other parts of the lot.

In the US I see malls install temporary lookout towers in the parking lots at Christmas time but they don't look like anyone is in them.  Here a couple years ago a security guard picking up cash was shot right near to one of the towers.

With all the money that MovieTowne makes, it's a shame on the management's part that it would take an incident like this for them to provide good security.

Yeah but in this case surveillance wasn't the problem since security see the thing going down and didn't do nutten... not even raise an alarm or call police.  Not saying extra surveillance is a waste, but clearly it's not much of a deterrence, especially if the guards not going to offer assistance... they might as well be cameras.  At least with roving patrols there might be the assumption (on the part of the criminals) that they'll encounter 'interference', if not resistance.
Post by: Peong on June 23, 2011, 03:02:59 PM

Yeah but in this case surveillance wasn't the problem since security see the thing going down and didn't do nutten... not even raise an alarm or call police.  Not saying extra surveillance is a waste, but clearly it's not much of a deterrence, especially if the guards not going to offer assistance... they might as well be cameras.  At least with roving patrols there might be the assumption (on the part of the criminals) that they'll encounter 'interference', if not resistance.

Are saying that security saw the attempted robbery going down?  The email didn't say that.
When security saw the aftermath, they weren't helpful, that is true.
Post by: Daft Trini on June 23, 2011, 03:06:47 PM

Dear Friends and Family,

In that fraction of a second as we both got off the phone and she turned towards her husband, she saw a very thin, young negro chap pointing a 38 calibre long nose at her husband's head.  The criminal shouted "open your f****ing door or ah go shoot all yuh!"

This person really knows guns. Was it a police/soldier that got held up?

.38's are pretty popular. I was also skeptical when they ID'ed the gun, could have been a .357...
Post by: Bakes on June 23, 2011, 03:30:13 PM
Are saying that security saw the attempted robbery going down?  The email didn't say that.
When security saw the aftermath, they weren't helpful, that is true.

Chin said his senior security manager, who was on duty on Saturday night, did not report the incident and was subsequently relieved of his duty for his failure to do so.

"When I interrogated the senior manager about it he mentioned that the event did take place but that it was outside the perimeters of MovieTowne, meaning on the link road and he didn't feel it was necessary for him to come and bring that to my attention," he said.

You're right, the article is unclear as to what security saw from what they didn't see.
Post by: Preacher on June 23, 2011, 03:46:27 PM
Who is authorized to carry a gun in T&T?   Or will permits make matters worse.  Because I can't see regular folks taking this much longer.  A good young fella go feel he need a gun to protect himself....bam trouble.   If the police cyah protect the people then make it easy for people to arm dey self. 
Post by: Daft Trini on June 23, 2011, 04:31:41 PM
Who is authorized to carry a gun in T&T?   Or will permits make matters worse.  Because I can't see regular folks taking this much longer.  A good young fella go feel he need a gun to protect himself....bam trouble.   If the police cyah protect the people then make it easy for people to arm dey self. 

The Chief (commissioner) of Police, you have to apply and meet the criteria. Given how people obey the road rules in TnT, everyday people having guns would quickly escalate into a Dodge City like state.

(I'm a gun advocate, and glock endorsed shooter, but saying things as I see them. Even though I am a 2nd amendment advocate, not everyone is ready to be armed.)
Post by: Trini Madness on June 23, 2011, 08:23:22 PM

if that were to happen everyone would be walking around with a gun. trinidad will turn into a war zone.

the root of the problem is HOW are these guns coming into the country? you kill the root, you improve gun control within the country.
Post by: Peong on June 23, 2011, 09:08:28 PM

if that were to happen everyone would be walking around with a gun. trinidad will turn into a war zone.

the root of the problem is HOW are these guns coming into the country? you kill the root, you improve gun control within the country.

Yeah but that is a lot harder than leveling the playing field.
Time for ppl to start shootin back.
Post by: Preacher on June 23, 2011, 10:10:00 PM
Good point Daft.  I guess it's a matter of whether Trinidad is responsible enough as a society to be armed.  But on the flip side I can't see bandits running into a store to rob it if he knows that patrons maybe very likely be armed to.  Its a sticky situation though and probably a bad idea. 
Post by: just cool on June 24, 2011, 03:43:42 AM

I disagree. i believe the opposite would happen, just look @ texas.
Post by: Daft Trini on June 24, 2011, 08:34:53 AM
The dynamics of Trinidad has changed. The once semi-utopian society that we grew up in is no more. A long as I know Trini's like to show off, whether it be in wealth or strength. People love to settle disputes through verbal or physical methods. Giving them a gun would only settle the disputes faster. can you imagine a football game where a ref makes a bad call...?

JC, I see your point, Meh Grandad was a cocoa man, and under TnT law he was authorized a gun based on the amount of land he had. Everyone knew he had a gun and that he was an ace shooter. Men respected our family, no one messed with his daughters or ever tried to break in to his house. My Mum, said people were afraid of her dad because people were afraid of this big black guy with a gun.

Last year ah went back home and went for a sweat in meh Army Strong, Wounded Warriors shirt. Big mistake, A yute try to tackle meh nasty, (whole time he trying to aggravate meh) ah jam him and he want to fight. Saying that he was a "no limits soldier and that they doh leave soldiers wounded, they leave them dead, yuh hunnerstan" After the game the fella went into his bag and take out a Tarus 9mm and kept pulling back the slide, even though men telling him, to let it go, he insisted that he eh go be disrespected. "he will make the gun talk for him" He was angry that I was not intimidated by him or the site of the gun. That same Caratal Ground was a place that if yuh get a bad tackle, yuh had a scuffle and went to Teddy's to have a beer, cussin... not now.

Post by: 100% Barataria on June 24, 2011, 09:33:09 AM

Folks doing this already, those I am aware of have done it legally, folks in the TT middle class who hard working, have families and have little or no trust in the protective services to protect them
Post by: Daft Trini on June 24, 2011, 09:39:24 AM

Folks doing this already, those I am aware of have done it legally, folks in the TT middle class who hard working, have families and have little or no trust in the protective services to protect them

Do you know the process to do this? I could use the info...
Post by: Touches on June 24, 2011, 09:42:32 AM
You dont need to do it legally either.

A gun easy to get.

Chin finally see the light...you don't let a few bandit, stop yuh multi million dollar earner from raking in more cash.

Watch and see the next episode in Movietown....bet yuh the next "bandit" will be killed and made an example of.

You can only do what those in power "allow" you to do....bet yuh it ent happening again.

But bandits prey on youths regular in movietown...when parents drop off their teens...a bandit knows is minimum $200 the child have in they pocket and a cell phone. Easy target.

Post by: 100% Barataria on June 24, 2011, 09:42:39 AM
Do you know the process to do this? I could use the info...

Draft, not sure of the details, I'll enquire and pass on the info I receive...
Post by: Touches on June 24, 2011, 09:44:21 AM
Look the legal way

http://www.ttps.gov.tt/Services/LicencetoCarryaFirearm/tabid/119/Default.aspx

Licence to Carry a Firearm    

Application to Carry a Firearm

You must be in possession of a valid Firearm User’s Licence issued by the Commissioner of Police to carry and use a firearm in Trinidad and Tobago.

Who can apply for a Licence?

How do I apply for a Licence?

What happens after an application is made?

Are there any associated fees?

Where can I find more information?

Who can apply for a Licence?
Any company, business group or individual can apply for a Firearm User’s Licence. You must be at least 25 years of age to apply.

How do I apply for a Licence?
The Firearm User’s Licence application process has two steps. First, you must obtain a Provisional Licence that authorises you to discharge a firearm at a specific shooting range for the purpose of training in the use of the firearm. You can obtain a copy of the Provisional Licence application form from the Firearms Section of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) at the address at the bottom of this page. The form should be completed in accordance with the included instructions and returned, together with the following documents, to the TTPS Firearms Section.

Two passport-sized photographs of the applicant.

A Certificate of Character issued by the Commissioner of Police not less than three months prior to the date of application. Please follow the link at the end of this section for information on how to obtain a Certificate of Character.

A specimen of the signature of the person to whom the Licence is to be issued.
The Provisional Licence expires two months from the date of issue. You may apply for a Firearm User’s Licence once your Provisional Licence has expired. You can obtain a copy of the Firearm User’s Licence application form from the Firearms Section of TTPS. The form should be completed in accordance with the included instructions and returned, together with the following documents, to the TTPS Firearms Section.

Two passport-sized photographs of the applicant.

A Certificate of Character issued by the Commissioner of Police not less than three months prior to the date of application.

A specimen of the signature of the person to whom the Licence is to be issued.

A Certificate of Competence issued by a licensed firearms instructor.

What happens after an application is made?
All applications are processed by the TTPS with input, where necessary, from the Immigration Authority, Customs and Excise and the Industrial Inspection Supervisor. Applicants are notified within 15 business days of TTPS’s decision. If an application for a Licence is rejected, the applicant can appeal the TTPS’s decision through the Firearms Appeal Board. More information about the appeal process can be found by following the link below.

Appealing to the Firearms Appeal Board

Are there any associated fees?
There is no fee for a Provisional Licence or a Firearm User’s Licence.

Where can I find more information?
For more information, please contact the Firearms Section of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service. You can also view the amendment Firearms (Amendment) Act 2004 .

The Firearms Section
Trinidad and Tobago Police Service
Police Administration Building
Corner of Edward and Sackville Streets
Port of Spain
Trinidad, West Indies
Tel. (868) 627-4140
Fax. (868) 623-2620
E-Mail:firearms@ttps.gov.tt
Opening hours: 8:30 am to 4:00 pm, Monday through Friday, except public holidays

Post by: Trini Madness on June 24, 2011, 09:49:24 AM

Yeah but that is a lot harder than leveling the playing field.
Time for ppl to start shootin back.

i know it is but we gotta start somewhere right? look i understand where yuh coming from, i too would do the same. if you threaten my life , i will threaten yours, simple as that.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 24, 2011, 10:41:53 AM
The victims speak out...

https://www.youtube.com/v/D4-a5DANXpY&feature=player_embedded

Chin trying to tell we that incidents like that doh happen by Movie Towne often but heself say in another report that he security manager didn't report this to him and was fired.  Ah wonder how many other incidents he security manager never report??.....steups!!
Post by: Bakes on June 24, 2011, 11:04:31 AM
"De man said 'boss, dem fellas gone arready enuh' "   :rotfl: :rotfl:

Sorry, but that part around 3:23 mins had me rollin.   Peong that also suggest that security was already aware of what happen... interpret that how you will.

Dat Roger Dwarika fella voice/accent real annoying boy.

Chin come off like ah real defensive tun tun there... "is she a gun expert??"
Post by: Daft Trini on June 24, 2011, 11:17:33 AM
In all fairness, revolvers have the make, model and calibre etched into the left side of the barrel and frame. So technically if yuh seein the gun from it's left side yuh could identify the gun.
Post by: Preacher on June 24, 2011, 01:34:09 PM
Do they have grounds to sue?  I mean in the US if anything like that happen to you, it have over 1000 lawyers standing in line to run a mock.  Chin sounding like he doesn't need to be accountable.   Telling the woman she could move to Switzerland.  Complete disregard for people's rights which is always mirrored with disregard for people's safety.  Take their money.
Post by: kicker on June 24, 2011, 02:14:02 PM
Chin come off like ah real defensive tun tun there... "is she a gun expert??"

Soldier inarticulate no arse...and lacking diplomacy bad bad.... A PR rep would do him good...
Post by: vb on June 24, 2011, 02:22:55 PM
saw the poster on FB. It is for real.
Post by: Preacher on June 24, 2011, 11:56:28 PM
Anybody know what's the grounds for using a firearm in self defense?  Does the gun need to be pointed at you or is plain sight enough? 
Post by: Bakes on June 25, 2011, 12:08:17 AM
Anybody know what's the grounds for using a firearm in self defense?  Does the gun need to be pointed at you or is plain sight enough? 

Typically in order to use deadly force you must be threatened with imminent death or serious bodily injury.  So no, just seeing the gun alone isn't a threat of "imminent death or SBI".  Having the gun pointed at you or words communicating such a threat should be sufficient to establish self-defense.

I always have to throw in the caveat that Trinidad kinda vaille-qui-vaille though... so who knows.
Post by: boss on June 25, 2011, 08:53:42 AM
2 held in 'MovieTowne' thefts
By —Gyasi Gonzales
Trinidad Express

Story Created: Jun 24, 2011 at 11:57 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jun 24, 2011 at 11:57 PM ECT

WESTERN Division detectives have arrested two men in connection with a spate of robberies near MovieTowne, Invaders Bay, over the last two weeks.

The suspects are said to be aged 32 and 48.

Police began investigating the thefts following reports that two people were almost car-jacked last Saturday night as they stopped at the traffic lights at the Audrey Jeffers Highway.

The near-victims escaped but within days embarked on an aggressive e-mail campaign, urging the management of MovieTowne to invest in more security. They also reported their ordeal to the St James Police.

A team of officers led by Insp Henry Dann began investigating the reports and on Wednesday arrested one of the men, aged 32, at his home in Cocorite.

The other suspect, aged 48, was arrested in the St James area, but police said they are unable to say where he is from since he "lived all over the place".

The two were still being questioned up to press time last night about the rest of their accomplices since the victims reported that more than two people were involved in the car-jack attempt.

Western Division detectives are continuing investigations.
Post by: fari on June 25, 2011, 09:45:02 AM
Do they have grounds to sue?  I mean in the US if anything like that happen to you, it have over 1000 lawyers standing in line to run a mock.  Chin sounding like he doesn't need to be accountable.   Telling the woman she could move to Switzerland.  Complete disregard for people's rights which is always mirrored with disregard for people's safety.  Take their money.

lord this is hyperbole...but i understand what you trying to say.  as for mr chin all i will say is that pride goeth before a fall
Post by: Preacher on June 25, 2011, 11:30:17 AM

Typically in order to use deadly force you must threatened with imminent death or serious bodily injury.  So no, just seeing the gun alone isn't a threat of "imminent death or SBI".  Having the gun pointed at you or words communicating such a threat should be sufficient to establish self-defense.

I always have to throw in the caveat that Trinidad kinda vaille-qui-vaille though... so who knows.

Thanks
Post by: Brownsugar on June 25, 2011, 02:20:52 PM
By —Gyasi Gonzales
Trinidad Express

*smdh*

If people didn't start to make a setta fuss bout de incident, police woulda find dem?? Real friggin jokey people running this place yes!!!  Chin muss be threaten the Hot Shot Top CoP from Canada.....steups!!!

Post by: Bakes on June 25, 2011, 03:32:09 PM
By —Gyasi Gonzales
Trinidad Express

*smdh*

If people didn't start to make a setta fuss bout de incident, police woulda find dem?? Real friggin jokey people running this place yes!!!  Chin muss be threaten the Hot Shot Top CoP from Canada.....steups!!!

I don't think these are the fellas from the robbery... but yuh point still valid.

Preacher... no probs  :beermug:
Post by: boss on July 07, 2011, 01:35:00 PM
Note the last paragraph  :beermug:

MovieTowne’s Derek Chin to open T&T to the world
An entertainment mecca
Published: Thu, 2011-07-07 19:55
Raphael John-Lall

Derek Chin, chairman of the three MovieTowne cineplexes, is working on another mega project: Streets of the World. “If you thought MovieTowne was great, this will be greater. My next project is worth $1 billion. The money is available and I am ready to go. This is behind MovieTowne in Invaders Bay where 80 acres of land is available. We will take the culture of a country and make streets out of them.” Chin announced his next billion-dollar project on June 22 at the Fourth Biennial International Conference on Business, Banking and Finance at the Hilton Trinidad hotel, St Ann’s. Chin gave more details at a follow-up interview on Monday at the Woodbrook office of his company, Telecom Systems (Trinidad) Ltd.

Although he originally budgeted the project to be less than $1 billion, the eventual cost will be much more. “We did the preliminary budget and the first budget came up to $780 million, but it’s going way past that.” Chin gave a breakdown of the budget. “We get approval for the lands. Then we have the infrastructure works, the drainage, the sewerage, the underground lines, electrical connections and utilities. The infrastructure works could cost a couple hundred million.” Add to those cost items planning and building. “Assuming the building is $1,200 per square feet, we have to come up with how many hundred thousand square feet it is and we multiply it by the $1,200 square feet. That could be a budget of $500 million. We are talking about building a city, after all.”

The employment benefits will be huge, said Chin, ever the entrepreneur, who only on June 29 formally opened Texas de Brazile at Fiesta Plaza, MovieTowne, Audrey Jeffers Highway. This restaurant and Ruby Tuesday are owned by the family company, Da Chin Enterprises. “I think we will generate 10,000 plus in direct employment. The construction is going to be massive,” he said. Chin is considering all financing options. “Right now, we are looking at floating a bond to seek the funding to do other things. There are foreign investors who like the idea and are willing to come to T&T and underwrite it. Some of them want to build the whole thing and just rent it out, but I don’t want to give up the local part of it.”

He is considering one serious investor from Venezuela who will provide funding for the project.
“At this time, I won’t give the name of this potential investor.” Venezuela is well known for the construction of huge malls. For instance, the five-level Sambil Mall in Caracas, Venezuela, is the fourth largest mall in Latin America.

Streets of the World
Derek Chin wants to take cultures from around the world and create a street after them. “There would be a Street of Mumbai, a Street of Hong Kong, a Street of the Middle East, a Street of Africa, and so on. There would be a fashion street for women. There would be a mini-carnival street, which (Carnival bandleader Brian) McFarlane would be involved in. These streets would be thematic streets.” There would be additional attractions, like horse and buggy. “Maybe from the (Queen’s Park) Savannah through Woodbrook straight to the Streets of the World, tourists would travel on them.”

Chin also has plans to develop a Carnival museum. “In 2011, what have we done with Carnival? We are still building a Grandstand in 2011. What is the legacy of Carnival? The answer to that is nothing. Let’s build a Carnival museum in wax. Bring them out and show the world all the eras of Carnival.” He said a tourists coming off a ship could spend two hours and spend US$50 looking at T&T’s Carnival.
He wants the Streets of the World project to be an entertainment mecca that would draw tourists from all over. “We are going to create this little mecca, so there would be MovieTowne, Streets of the World, Carnival and everything else in one. We will take T&T and make it a great tourist destination. “In the rest of the Caribbean, you see sailing, cricket and other things. Yet in T&T, we are not selling the country.”

Bureaucracy
Chin has met with the Prime Minister and many government ministers seeking approval for this project.
Before Christmas 2010, he had a meeting with the Transport Minister Jack Warner, Foreign Affairs Minister Suruj Rambachan, and other ministers, at the Prime Minister’s Office. They all supported his plans. “I have been lobbying the Government for a year now, even before the elections. I sent in the preliminary sketches about the concept; I met 19 Cabinet ministers over the last six months. The next minister I am meeting is Bhoe Tewarie, Minister of Planning. He wants to see me. I also met with Jearlean John, Udecott chairman. She also loves it, but that was three to four months ago.

“So I continue to develop in terms of the architecture, the financial aspect, providing the proper models, so it reaches a stage when I make a formal presentation, it will be in a completed form. Up to when I met the ministers a few months ago, I was still developing the plan.” He even enlisted the help of Jim Garber, an American architect designer, who has done work for Disney World. Garber came to T&T last week Tuesday to help Chin enhance some of the plans for Streets of the World. “I have spent about $2.5 million so far in getting the plans alone without any commitment from anybody. So talk about risks. This is what the country needs.” Chin is hopeful of getting approval this year.

“I would like to get the Government’s approval this year. Once we get that, it should take about four years to complete. That land has been sitting there for almost ten years and it’s now an overgrown forest. Nothing’s going on there.” Chin complained that it is difficult doing business in T&T. “I went with the Prime Minister to England to woo investors and I had to lie. It is not easy doing business in T&T. In this country, they look at successful business people as bad, not realising you hire and employ 2,000 or 3,000 people.”

Security at MovieTowne

Derek Chin spoke about the challenge of maintaining security at MovieTowne, which has become a concern in light of an attempted carjacking of a couple’s car at the traffic lights at the Audrey Jeffers Highway, outside the cineplex, on June 18. Chin said managing and ensuring that a large volume of people is safe is an ongoing challenge. “Last weekend, last Saturday, there was 6,500 people in Port-of-Spain, over 5,000 in Chaguanas and 1,200 in Tobago in one day. Saturday and Sunday were a record in Chaguanas, which was 12,000 people and these were just people who paid.”

“You have 30,000 to 40,000 people every weekend at MovieTowne. We do it everyday, seven days a week. It’s a lot of pressure. Our numbers last July for people who paid were 131,000 people. And these are not even the visitors who did not pay.”  Chin has described this latest incident a “scam,” saying there is no evidence to prove that the incident the couple reported to MovieTowne took place. Police are continuing investigations. “It took me 33 years of hard work to reach here and people are trying to bring me down.”

Post by: weary1969 on July 07, 2011, 01:43:06 PM
It good 4 we 1 wk is boycott Movietowne d next wk dey liming up 2 c Transformers.
Post by: Peong on July 07, 2011, 01:44:27 PM
Hold on, now they doubt that it took place at all?  What was his grounds for firing the security manager then?
Post by: weary1969 on July 07, 2011, 02:00:20 PM
Hold on, now they doubt that it took place at all?  What was his grounds for firing the security manager then?

U askin 2 much questions. He did not report d incident that did not happen.
Post by: Bakes on July 07, 2011, 03:05:12 PM

The employment benefits will be huge, said Chin, ever the entrepreneur, who only on June 29 formally opened Texas de Brazile at Fiesta Plaza, MovieTowne, Audrey Jeffers Highway.

Aka Fogo de Chao  ::)

Streets of the World
Derek Chin wants to take cultures from around the world and create a street after them. “There would be a Street of Mumbai, a Street of Hong Kong, a Street of the Middle East, a Street of Africa, and so on. There would be a fashion street for women. There would be a mini-carnival street, which (Carnival bandleader Brian) McFarlane would be involved in. These streets would be thematic streets.” There would be additional attractions, like horse and buggy. “Maybe from the (Queen’s Park) Savannah through Woodbrook straight to the Streets of the World, tourists would travel on them.”

Already done at Disney World in Florida... ideas lacking in originality, but sounds like it will still make money... especially if they stock it with different restaurants.
Post by: just cool on July 07, 2011, 03:11:13 PM
It good 4 we 1 wk is boycott Movietowne d next wk dey liming up 2 c Transformers.
You surprised? trinis is real fackin jokers! just look how a country wid all that money and ah mini population is being runned like ah potato farm and there's no mass unrest.

if yuh want tuh live like ah king do what yuh want and get away wid it by the ppl, then just move to "sweet" T&T.
Post by: Blue on July 07, 2011, 03:24:35 PM

The employment benefits will be huge, said Chin, ever the entrepreneur, who only on June 29 formally opened Texas de Brazile at Fiesta Plaza, MovieTowne, Audrey Jeffers Highway.

Different chains
Post by: Bakes on July 07, 2011, 03:47:37 PM
Different chains

No shit Sherlock... anything else you'd like to add?
Post by: Blue on July 07, 2011, 04:15:11 PM
Different chains

No shit Sherlock... anything else you'd like to add?

Thought you were implying that they were the same chain, guess not. What was your point then?
Post by: Bakes on July 07, 2011, 04:28:54 PM

Thought you were implying that they were the same chain, guess not. What was your point then?

My point should have been obvious in light of the "ideas lacking in originality" comment near the end... all he's doing is recycling ideas from elsewhere and repackaging them in Trinidad. The least he coulda do was go for the original churrascaria and not the knockoff version.
Post by: Blue on July 07, 2011, 04:41:28 PM

My point should have been obvious in light of the "ideas lacking in originality" comment near the end... all he's doing is recycling ideas from elsewhere and repackaging them in Trinidad. The least he coulda do was go for the original churrascaria and not the knockoff version.

but there are thousands of churrascaria chains around Brazil and the globe....the chains you named aren't copies of each other, they're just the standard Brazilian steakhouse....personally I think the concept will do well in TnT.
Post by: Bakes on July 07, 2011, 05:05:18 PM
but there are thousands of churrascaria chains around Brazil and the globe....the chains you named aren't copies of each other, they're just the standard Brazilian steakhouse....personally I think the concept will do well in TnT.

Yes, the churrascaria concept isn't original to Fogo de Chao... thanks for sharing that.  However, if you visit the two chains, understand the chronology of their founding, and appreciate where the two founding restaurants were located... then maybe you'd understand my comments better.
Post by: Blue on July 07, 2011, 05:10:53 PM

Yes, the churrascaria concept isn't original to Fogo de Chao... thanks for sharing that.  However, if you visit the two chains, understand the chronology of their founding, and appreciate where the two founding restaurants were located... then maybe you'd understand my comments better.

well like I really had to be Sherlock to know all dat lol.
Post by: Bakes on July 07, 2011, 09:02:52 PM
well like I really had to be Sherlock to know all dat lol.

Well de way yuh post tuh correct mih I thought yuh did know de background.
Post by: Bourbon on July 08, 2011, 07:12:50 AM
Well either Chin going real far to discredit dis story or someting fishy.

http://www.youtube.com/v/j1MAhGgJLn0
Post by: Arimaman on July 08, 2011, 07:49:00 AM

Hoss yuh know great food.  My favorite restaurant, bar none....
Post by: Arimaman on July 08, 2011, 08:05:06 AM
Good work by TV6......Leh we see what the police go say...
Post by: dinho on July 08, 2011, 08:10:45 AM

A few questions..

1. It seems that a major premise for doubt that the incident occurred is based on the assumption that the security officer (Ms. Charles) was paying attention/looking on/doing her job at the time it took place. Why is her simply saying "i eh see nutten" carrying so much weight, especially if she has a motive to cover her ass?

2. For an accurate re-enactment, why didn't the news reporter scream from inside the vehicle with the passenger side window up as described in the victim's account?

3. Based on the account of the victims, the attack lasted a little less than 2 minutes. Based on the footage, was it 1:23 mins between the couple passing the concessions booth and reaching to the guard booth, or 1:23 mins they saying it took for the attack to happen? Because in the grand scheme of things, that isn't a big discrepancy as is being suggested.

So what is ultimately being suggested here? That the man calmly walk out of movietowne into the car park, enter his vehicle, buss his own head then drive to the guard booth within 2 minutes with a whole make up story??
Post by: Bourbon on July 08, 2011, 08:20:08 AM

A few questions..

1. It seems that a major premise for doubt that the incident occurred is based on the assumption that the security officer (Ms. Charles) was paying attention/looking on/doing her job at the time it took place. Why is her simply saying "i eh see nutten" carrying so much weight, especially if she has a motive to cover her ass?

2. For an accurate re-enactment, why didn't the news reporter scream from inside the vehicle with the passenger side window up as described in the victim's account?

3. Based on the account of the victims, the attack lasted a little less than 2 minutes. Based on the footage, was it 1:23 mins between the couple passing the concessions booth and reaching to the guard booth, or 1:23 mins they saying it took for the attack to happen? Because in the grand scheme of things, that isn't a big discrepancy as is being suggested.

So what is ultimately being suggested here? That the man calmly walk out of movietowne into the car park, enter his vehicle, buss his own head then drive to the guard booth within 2 minutes with a whole make up story??

Me eh sure what to believe. Dahs why I said...either Chin going real far to discredit dis...or someting fishy. Initially it had doubt over the availability of the footage from the cameras ent?

It supposed to have part 2 tonite..buh I eh go be able to watch it. I didnt even watch dis..some man record it and put it up...maybe he would do dat for part 2 as well.
Post by: Bakes on July 08, 2011, 01:18:25 PM

Not saying it didn't happen... but sounds kinda fishy to me (Facebook "confirmation" notwithstanding).  Surprise it not in the news either.

From the beginning it sounded fishy to me.  Now me eh no bandit but it just doesn't make sense to me that they would act as alleged.  You's ah bandit and yuh have a gun in yuh hand... presumably pointed at the driver... driver start to fight back, but instead ah shooting him, yuh decide tuh pistol whip him instead?

Oh... but wait, de man say he was able to somehow grab de gun and block de trigger...ent?  Okay.

Oh, but wait again... so how de bandit happen to beat him on he head with the gun while he was holding it at the same time?  Ent he dragging de bandit all dis time?  And why de bandit leave him alone in de end when he had the upper hand (regaining control of the gun)?

Again... not saying it didn't happen, but the account still doesn't seem to make a whole lot of sense to me.
Post by: D.H.W on July 08, 2011, 08:51:21 PM
people sounding like they lying , all the evidence brought so far , disproves their whole story

Part 2, to the story on tv news
http://www.tv6tnt.tv/TV6_Brightcove/default2.html

edit: oh also the injuries the man sustained doesn't match the blows he say he get.
Post by: Daft Trini on July 08, 2011, 10:01:53 PM
 Playing with my Colt Python (.357) here and I can't see him blocking the trigger... especially if the robber had proper pistol grip...
Post by: Peong on July 08, 2011, 11:39:51 PM

From the beginning it sounded fishy to me.  Now me eh no bandit but it just doesn't make sense to me that they would act as alleged.  You's ah bandit and yuh have a gun in yuh hand... presumably pointed at the driver... driver start to fight back, but instead ah shooting him, yuh decide tuh pistol whip him instead?

Oh... but wait, de man say he was able to somehow grab de gun and block de trigger...ent?  Okay.

Oh, but wait again... so how de bandit happen to beat him on he head with the gun while he was holding it at the same time?  Ent he dragging de bandit all dis time?  And why de bandit leave him alone in de end when he had the upper hand (regaining control of the gun)?

Again... not saying it didn't happen, but the account still doesn't seem to make a whole lot of sense to me.

Read the email again.  Only the first blow was with the gun, while subsequent blows were with something else.

My brother-in-law at that instance put his glass down only to receive a gashing blow with the gun to his forehead. The bandit then pushed the gun into his chest and he (my bother-in-law) grabbed it placing one of his finger behind the trigger and holding the barrel securely.  With death facing both of them in the face, the bandit continued to hit him continuously with a metal object bursting his head open in several places.

Sounds like something made of metal in the bandit's other hand.

Also what dinho said, that re-enactment was useless since from the email, the woman's window was up.
Post by: Bakes on July 09, 2011, 12:44:56 AM

Read the email again.  Only the first blow was with the gun, while subsequent blows were with something else.

My brother-in-law at that instance put his glass down only to receive a gashing blow with the gun to his forehead. The bandit then pushed the gun into his chest and he (my bother-in-law) grabbed it placing one of his finger behind the trigger and holding the barrel securely.  With death facing both of them in the face, the bandit continued to hit him continuously with a metal object bursting his head open in several places.

Sounds like something made of metal in the bandit's other hand.

Also what dinho said, that re-enactment was useless since from the email, the woman's window was up.

That only strengthening my argument...

It says in the video that the bandit point a gun to him and almost simultaneously (I eh going back to read it) reach in and was trying to open the door with is other hand.  He also say that the bandit had something else in his other hand.  I find it kinda incredulous that a bandit rush up to him with both a gun and a piece ah iron in he hand (just in case de fella grab he gun nah)... and then on top of that was trying to open the door with the piece ah metal in he hand.  But anyways...

Scenario 1- The bandit right-handed

Bandit points a gun at him (presumably with the bandit's dominant right hand) and he grabs hold of the gun.  Bandit then begins bashing him with weaker left hand... bandit have to contort heself kinda funny to deliver them left-handed blows.  Maybe he was hitting him some backhand shots tuh de forrid Federer style.  Unlikely.

Scenario 2- The bandit left-handed

Bandit points a gun at him (presumably with the bandit's dominant left hand) and he grabs hold of the gun.  Bandit then begins bashing him with weaker right hand... bandit could comfortably deliver them blows with a weaker left hand... but how much force is debatable.  Maybe de bandit was ambidextrous?  And mind you... the man had bandage all in the back ah he head.  Ah guess he was ducking or turning away from de blows.

At either rate... so the bandit was beating him with the metal while he holding the gun... and he fumbling to "slap" de vehicle into gear.  So what stopped the attack?  De bandit give up?  At some point the bandit get the gun away from him because he didn't end up with it... and he never drag the bandit with the car?  So bandit get the gun away from him and just let them go... no shots?  This is what first had me skeptical.  We ent even start tuh talk about the other two nincompoop bandits by de wife window... who was helpless to help they pardna because she shatter-resistant bullet proof window was up, preventing them from harming she fuh de entire two mins.

Yeah... call me a skeptic.
Post by: Peong on July 09, 2011, 02:57:33 AM
Nah the bandit on the man's side never tried to open the door.  He ordered the man to open it.
Post by: Blue on July 09, 2011, 04:35:30 AM
maybe de gun wasnt loaded, or was fake?
Post by: D.H.W on July 09, 2011, 07:50:29 AM
the people lying, alyuh aint see the tape last nite?. Not even the video of the car had anything happening around it. None of d injuries d man claim he get consistant with blunt force trauma.
Post by: dinho on July 09, 2011, 08:53:27 AM
Playing with my Colt Python (.357) here and I can't see him blocking the trigger... especially if the robber had proper pistol grip...

Thanks for jumping all over this opportunity to advertise to the forum that you own a gun, but nowhere in the email does it mention anything about a Colt Python.

Does anyone have a link for part 2?

Until someone suggests a plausible reason why this couple would fake the incident I will give them the benefit of the doubt. At the end of the day, the email was nothing more than a knee jerk victim's recount of a traumatic incident not a court disposition. I never expected it to be an iron clad story.

If we really want to be skeptical, how about we look at the article on page 2 of this thread that shows just how close Derek Chin is with this government and align that with the media's strong motivation to help him in discrediting the victim's account?
Post by: Bakes on July 09, 2011, 10:26:18 AM
Nah the bandit on the man's side never tried to open the door.  He ordered the man to open it.

Lawd  ::)

... in the video the man demonstrate how the bandit press the gun against he chest and at the same time was trying to open the door.

That crossed my mind... and remains a possibility... although I still find it hard that he'd run up to the car with both a gun and a piece ah iron in he hand.  But anything's possible.
Post by: Peong on July 09, 2011, 12:01:23 PM

Lawd  ::)

... in the video the man demonstrate how the bandit press the gun against he chest and at the same time was trying to open the door.

That crossed my mind... and remains a possibility... although I still find it hard that he'd run up to the car with both a gun and a piece ah iron in he hand.  But anything's possible.

You're right, I forgot about that video.
Still it's easy for him to point the gun, try to open the door with one hand, then when the victim grabbed the gun, the bandit could pull something else from his pocket to hit the man with.

I not sayin it not fishy, but some things can be explained.

The weird part for me is the 2 bandits on the lady's side.  Why didn't they break the glass? Is it that they just green?   I don't think anyone said that they were armed so maybe they were hoping they would be able to pull it off easily with only one gun.  Then when the victim resisted they got deflated.
Post by: Bakes on July 09, 2011, 12:52:25 PM

You're right, I forgot about that video.
Still it's easy for him to point the gun, try to open the door with one hand, then when the victim grabbed the gun, the bandit could pull something else from his pocket to hit the man with.

I not sayin it not fishy, but some things can be explained.

The weird part for me is the 2 bandits on the lady's side.  Why didn't they break the glass? Is it that they just green?   I don't think anyone said that they were armed so maybe they were hoping they would be able to pull it off easily with only one gun.  Then when the victim resisted they got deflated.

As I say, anything is possible... "truth" as they say, "is stranger than fiction".
Post by: Brownsugar on July 09, 2011, 03:35:08 PM
So does anybody have the link to part two??!!  Ah miss both parts (thanks Bourbon for part one) and now ah curious to see part two........

Until someone suggests a plausible reason why this couple would fake the incident I will give them the benefit of the doubt.

That makes two of us.....
Post by: Arazi on July 21, 2011, 07:46:39 AM
and it continues...

Cinema boss and couple square off
Assault claimed at MovieTowne

By Kim Boodram

THE couple who last month claimed to have been assaulted at MovieTowne in Port of Spain said yesterday their are sticking to they story — even as MovieTowne boss, Derek Chin, prepares to take legal action against them for defaming his business.

Emile and Tara Dean, who were interviewed yesterday at the St Clair office of their attorney, Larry Lalla, have insisted they were the victims of a crime and said they are now being treated like criminals.

In a telephone interview yesterday, Chin maintained that the couple were being dishonest.

Both parties now want their names cleared, with the Deans saying they don't want any form of compensation from MovieTowne but they want the popular entertainment centre to own up to its security lapses.

The couple's claims were first made public in an e-mail circulated by a relative on June 20, detailing an assault incident in the western carpark of MovieTowne at Invaders' Bay.

The e-mail stated that on June 18, the couple were attacked at their car after leaving a movie around 11.40 p.m., with Emile Dean being beaten about the head with a gun and a piece of iron. The woman was already seated in the left front seat and her husband was about to settle in the driver's seat.

The couple said their attacker eventually fled, after struggling with Emile Dean for some time, by jumping into a car with other men and driving off.

They also accused the MovieTowne security guards of first ignoring their plight and then being unhelpful.

The Deans took issue with a paid advertisement of MovieTowne which claimed they have refused to cooperate with either the cinema or the police and that there are "significant discrepancies" in their story when compared to video footage of the period in question.

The couple also said they were treated badly by the police, who they claimed first accused them of lying, then suggested they apologise to MovieTowne.

"This has been a nightmare," said Emile Dean, who has the remains of stitches and lacerations around his scalp.

Tara Dean said they were traumatised in the week following the incident and were also unsure of whether they should pursue the matter.

They eventually called on attorney Lalla and a report was made at the Four Roads Police Station on July 8.

Tara Dean said the family has, in the midst of the MovieTowne affair, also had a series of serious family issues to deal with and this has made it difficult to be available at all times.

Lalla said: "They have not made any call for compensation, which points to the fact that they are telling the truth."

Chin said yesterday his lawyers, of the firm JD Sellier and Company, have sent letters to the couple and another relative, advising them of his intention to take legal action for the defamation of his facility.

He added that he has been hurt by the allegations made against MovieTowne, as he takes the well-being of his patrons seriously.

Detectives from the Four Roads Police Station CID said yesterday the matter was being investigated but declined to comment further.

Post by: kicker on July 21, 2011, 08:07:21 AM
and it continues...

Cinema boss and couple square off
Assault claimed at MovieTowne

By Kim Boodram

THE couple who last month claimed to have been assaulted at MovieTowne in Port of Spain said yesterday their are sticking to they story —

First f-ing sentence? steups...

Dunno what to say about this Chin fella nuh...  He is doing himself no favors by playing this role, even if he were right. 
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2011, 10:37:23 AM
He caught between a rock and a hard place though... do nutten and people with money go be wary of patronizing de place (ah say "people with money" because yuh know de raggamuffin go still show up), fight it and yuh end up looking heavy-handed.  One thing for sure, if this is a lie... it's one heckuva elaborate lie... and to what end?