Sports => Other Sports => Topic started by: vb on June 24, 2011, 10:55:05 AM

Title: TT boxing Classics (vids)
Post by: vb on June 24, 2011, 10:55:05 AM
Hector Constance vs. Kid Gavilan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KDZuHfERgDM&playnext=1&list=PL9D7081EEE27A4982

look to the right for links 2,3, and 4.

Gavilan was ex Welt. Champ of the world.

Title: Re: TT boxing Classics (vids)
Post by: vb on June 24, 2011, 11:00:09 AM
Tyrone Downes vs. Marcos Villasana, May 1984

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iq9R4-Ylb5s

Post by: vb on June 25, 2011, 07:18:16 AM
Yolande Pompey Kos European Champion.

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=32621

FUC&&*G  beautiful body shot.

When you go to the vid. Scroll below for other Pompey fights

Post by: vb on June 25, 2011, 07:30:19 AM
Yolande Pompey vs. Archie Moore - Lt. Heavyweight Championship

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iZradMnI8w4&feature=related

Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AAzZ7ohAd4k&feature=related

Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSs_L6owzf8&feature=related
Post by: vb on June 25, 2011, 02:57:11 PM
Claude Noel vs. Alexis Arguello 1983.

http://www.theboxingchannel.com/claude-noel-vs-alexis-arguello
Post by: vb on June 27, 2011, 11:23:07 AM
Leslie Stewart vs. Donny Lalond - WBC Lt.Heavyweight title - 1988.

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xejnso_donny-lalonde-vs-leslie-stewart_sport
Post by: daryn on June 28, 2011, 04:29:36 AM

it's easy to take the internet for granted but it's really amazing to have video footage of Yolande Pompey available. 
Post by: vb on June 28, 2011, 04:36:43 AM

it's easy to take the internet for granted but it's really amazing to have video footage of Yolande Pompey available. 

What about Constance vs. Gavilan. That is pure gold.
Post by: vb on July 31, 2011, 12:03:39 AM
Percy Lewis vs. O'Brien

British Empire Featherweight title.

http://www.britishpathe.com/record.php?id=41790

Post by: vb on August 03, 2011, 10:50:00 AM
Jimmy Joseph vs. Ramzi Hassan - June, 1994

Part one
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wx82EfIPf8s

Part two:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJt3ezemRH0&feature=related

Part three:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5u8Ea9IXTIs&feature=related
Post by: vb on August 05, 2011, 01:36:51 PM
David Noel vs. Nigel Benn - C'wealth Middleweight title - Dec. 1988.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wgf3KFh4YP8
Post by: vb on August 09, 2011, 11:48:48 AM
Carlos Marks vs. "Bad" Bennie Briscoe - 1971 (Middleweight)

http://sosoboxing.com/?s=carlos+marks
Post by: daryn on August 13, 2011, 07:02:44 AM

all of it is great. I just mean it from the aspect that I read about Yolande Pompey in my reading book in primary school. I never thought 20 something years later I would get a chance to see video footage.
Post by: vb on August 13, 2011, 12:16:12 PM

all of it is great. I just mean it from the aspect that I read about Yolande Pompey in my reading book in primary school. I never thought 20 something years later I would get a chance to see video footage.

Wow. They have Yolande Pompey in Primary school readers. Those books have changed since my day. Glad to hear it.

Post by: vb on August 14, 2011, 12:34:28 PM
Syd Vanderpool vs. Bernard Hopkins - May 2000 - IBF Middleweight Title.

http://sosoboxing.com/boxing-video-watch-online/bernard-hopkins-vs-syd-vanderpool/

Post by: vb on August 15, 2011, 11:48:18 AM
Nick Rupa vs. Kevin Pompey - USBA Welt. Title - June 1993

Each link is a round in chronological order, including the decision.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yslYiXwo2gI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DqyfPqyrnjY&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BeC9m0XFXdU&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=40FukQwBtdU&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pHuoFERuKWQ&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xsex1TC4Xw0&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZ5M7GWvtRE&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QbrqqSwRWZM&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eoy3L52w4ZM&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qAE3tg4ijOI&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mLurGcXNTN8&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fouYvHd0vAk&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VrmS7ToxXuQ&feature=related
Post by: vb on November 20, 2012, 11:23:30 PM
Leslie Stewart vs. Virgill Hill. WBA Lt. Hvy title.
Sept. 1987.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OOsI9q935VU
Post by: vb on November 20, 2012, 11:27:47 PM
Claude Noel vs. Arturo Frias - WBA Lt.Weight title. Sept. 1981.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4NJzIrAo6O4

Post by: vb on December 14, 2012, 07:56:52 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wv2xf2p0BAA

Wow! I didn't expect to find this on the net.\
Fitzroy Guisseppi vs. Sang Hyun kim for the Jr. Welt. title fo the world.
FG knocked him down twice and still lost the fight.

Looks like the entire fight, if so I want to score it.

Post by: vb on May 27, 2013, 04:14:30 PM
Leslie Stewart vs. Michael Johnson - WBA Lt. Hvy Title. - 1, Sept. 1986.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mpCrCnP0KQ4
Post by: vb on June 11, 2013, 01:48:44 AM

Matt Donovan vs Koichi Wajima - WBA Jr. Middleweight title, Tokyo, Japan, 1972

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=abfqQP2Dt38
Post by: vb on September 18, 2013, 03:52:51 PM
Leslie Stewart vs. Marvin Johnson WBA Lt. Hvyweight Championship, POS, TT.
May 23, 1987.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3diy_XOcKYw
Post by: vb on July 03, 2014, 04:31:07 PM
Leslie Stewart vs. Marvin Johnson I:Feb, 9, 1986, Indianapolis.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mpCrCnP0KQ4
Post by: vb on July 03, 2014, 04:32:39 PM
Leslie Stewart vs. Dawud Shaw: Nov. 27, 1987, National Stadium, TT.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ThGmlit3nI
Post by: vb on August 03, 2014, 04:39:11 PM
Leslie Stewart vs. Fulgencio Obelmijas, Nov. 16, 1986, POS, TT.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RpL2vpjDM-s
Post by: Sando prince on August 03, 2014, 10:32:44 PM
Who would you say is T&T most successful male boxer of all time? What has he accomplished globally?
Post by: vb on August 07, 2014, 04:06:18 PM
Who would you say is T&T most successful male boxer of all time? What has he accomplished globally?

In terms of success globally it would have to be a tie between Noeld and Stewart as they won every title available to them.
However who was the best, I believe Stewart, especially prior to 1987 as that was his prime. Closely followed by Yoland Pompey, who accomplished a lot in his day. He might have won the world title had he not picked up an injury prior to the fight which came to haunt him vs. Archie Moore.
Post by: AirMan on August 08, 2014, 04:41:35 PM

In terms of success globally it would have to be a tie between Noeld and Stewart as they won every title available to them.
However who was the best, I believe Stewart, especially prior to 1987 as that was his prime. Closely followed by Yoland Pompey, who yaccomplished a lot in his day. He might have won the world title had he not picked up an injury prior to the fight which came to haunt him vs. Archie Moore.

Good post
Post by: Sando prince on August 12, 2014, 08:12:33 PM

However who was the best, I believe Stewart, especially prior to 1987 as that was his prime. Closely followed by Yoland Pompey, who accomplished a lot in his day. He might have won the world title had he not picked up an injury prior to the fight which came to haunt him vs. Archie Moore.

Reason I ask for your opinion is because we don't really have a benchmark model type boxer for the youth. For sure we don't have one who is advertised as 'de man'. For example every cricket youth in T&T want to be the next Lara. Football youth want to be the next Yorke, Latas. Track youth want to be next Ato.. see what ah mean
Post by: Sando prince on August 16, 2014, 09:41:26 AM
Maybe Alexander will be 'de man' for the youth to emulate. Seems like he is hungry for more

http://www.tv6tnt.com/home/featured-links/Boxing-on-sporting-edition----271478191.html
Post by: vb on August 23, 2014, 05:49:43 PM

Reason I ask for your opinion is because we don't really have a benchmark model type boxer for the youth. For sure we don't have one who is advertised as 'de man'. For example every cricket youth in T&T want to be the next Lara. Football youth want to be the next Yorke, Latas. Track youth want to be next Ato.. see what ah mean

You have a very good point.
What makes this more depressing is that for the last 14 years or so the Govt. has been willing to subsidise boxing cards and yet the scene is semi dead in TT.
I remember the TTBBC Pres back when PNM was in charge, telling the promoters to have their documentation in order because boxing in TT " had never had it so good."
SO, I'm a little confused as to the lack of fistic action.

Anil frig up things more by putting Buxo Potts to run the Board via the "Special Advisor" route. Pure conflict of interest.

I hear now he and he son doh promote fighters but he in dey corner and managing.  ???

Post by: vb on August 24, 2014, 02:56:38 AM
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=0Ym_HziTiI0

Leskie stewart vs Guy Waters: Commonwealth Lt. HEavyweight title, Australia, 1992.

Post by: vb on August 24, 2014, 07:20:33 AM

Leslie stewart vs Guy Waters: Commonwealth Lt. Heavyweight title, Melbourne,Australia, Sept. 13, 1991..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Ym_HziTiI0

[/quote]
Post by: vb on December 25, 2014, 03:03:32 AM
Eddie Marcelle vs . Milton Ice Man McCrory

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LHmhJPi9XMg

Marcelle was now coming on when he get cut yes....Steeuuuppss!!!
Post by: vb on February 07, 2015, 11:20:43 AM

Leslie Stewart vs. Bobby Czyz. Lightheavyeweight. 1988.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a-1BXqGsODY
Post by: vb on February 22, 2015, 01:51:00 PM
Claude Noel vs. Rodolfo El Gato Gonzalez, WBA Lightweight title: Sept. 12, 1981.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y3W8MuJthWM
Post by: vb on September 17, 2015, 03:31:06 PM
Leslie Stewart vs Henry Maske, March 6, 1992, Berlin, Germany.

Fight at the12:20 mark.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-8yqTKhapcQ

Post by: vb on September 23, 2016, 10:34:42 PM
Leslie Stewart discusses his career.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ivuLWyLeQJM