General => Entertainment & Culture Discussion => Topic started by: Sando on July 01, 2011, 05:38:33 AM

Title: Best T&T clubs you guys ever been too ?
Post by: Sando on July 01, 2011, 05:38:33 AM
My were.

The Club (Gulf City) with DJ Lennox and Martin.
The Tunnel (Marabella).
Anchorage (Chaguaramas).
51 Degrees (Cipriani Boulevard).
Pier 1 (Chaguaramas).
The Edge (La Romain).
Screamers 2 (Gulf City).

Nice bars/food I have been to were.

Cocktails and Dreams (Marabella) - Small but a nice get away from the busy areas.
HI-RPM (Gulf City) in the early days.
The Gallery (Gulf City) - Small but was decent.
Trotters (Port of Spain).
Jenny's on the Boulevard (Cipriani Boulevard).
Soong's Great Wall (San Fernando) - Nice, but a little expensive.

How is the casinos in T&T, anyone here ever been to one, give me the run down. ?
Title: Re: Best T&T clubs you guys ever been too ?
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 01, 2011, 02:22:03 PM
sando like yuh from south  ;D

upper level was #1 for me, foll. by chez-moi, cyar fuhgeh home grown wall street  :beermug:

doh mess wid clubs no more, lass time ah was home satchmo was a nice vibe, my kind of speed these days
Post by: TriniCana on July 01, 2011, 08:30:29 PM
sando like yuh from south  ;D

upper level was #1 for me, foll. by chez-moi, cyar fuhgeh home grown wall street  :beermug:

doh mess wid clubs no more, lass time ah was home satchmo was a nice vibe, my kind of speed these days

Barataria like we showing we age group man ;D
Upper Level was it for me oui!

Base and the one by Palm Tree Hotel (cyah remember the name) was another one
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 02, 2011, 10:26:15 AM

Barataria like we showing we age group man ;DUpper Level was it for me oui!

Base and the one by Palm Tree Hotel (cyah remember the name) was another one

Ent, yeah, Base was cool, did not frequent it nearly as much, but had some good times hanging out there in meh late teens/early twenties
Post by: capodetutticapi on July 04, 2011, 03:08:42 PM
island club in grand bazaar and saracen is decent casinos,and mark ward place ah forget the name.it on tragarete rd.
Post by: Touches on July 04, 2011, 08:32:35 PM
I went 2 Dance in Baba's on d Bay in Carenage....

Pier 1 on a Fri...followed by a walk across to Base after.

But under all kicks...cyar beat a Nuts

Also on D rocks used to real pump on a sat night.

I only went Genesis once and I make a few whitey party in Rafters but them places wasn't my speed.

Mobs on a tuesday night longtime in Westmall...was also a nice lil session.

But the real hornerman scrub down spot...that still pumpin...is Attic.
Post by: soccerman on July 04, 2011, 08:59:51 PM
Ahhh boy ah man mention Upper Level dey yes....ah remember being in form 6 and going to levels on Saturday nights dress up in meh linen pants, silk shirt and clarks lol....but on de real de music was nice and realll lwoman.

Anyway back to the topic, I was a Base freak on Friday nights (this is long time ago), now when I go home I does check ou 51 Degrees, de vibes does be nice.
Post by: Arazi on July 04, 2011, 09:36:33 PM
base...Tsunami Fridays was d flick late in my secondary schoold days...Nuts (which is now Fuzion)...and 51
Post by: rotatopoti3 on July 05, 2011, 12:08:39 AM
nuts... ;D

wha about Shaymore...

ah did like d old pelican as ah mellow bar..but dem clowns gone and tear it down.... >:(

dey used to have live music in d car park though....ah remember seeing me boy Rudder dey sing ...real nice memories
Post by: TriniCana on July 05, 2011, 03:48:07 PM
nuts... ;D

wha about Shaymore...

ah did like d old pelican as ah mellow bar..but dem clowns gone and tear it down.... >:(

dey used to have live music in d car park though....ah remember seeing me boy Rudder dey sing ...real nice memories

After work on Fridays every man jack headed to Pelican right round the corner. That was ah good lime.  ;D

Coconuts
Base
Upper Level
Anchorage
Pier 1
During the coup,  I spent ah over night in this club (cyah remember the name), but it was in Roundabout Plaza aka Maritime Plaza. We got locked in. I almost got ban for life from meh parents. Dem days didn't have cell, and bar man lock he bar and gone....no phones!  Bess time ah meh life  ;D

Post by: Tallman on July 05, 2011, 07:04:37 PM
During the coup,  I spent ah over night in this club (cyah remember the name), but it was in Roundabout Plaza aka Maritime Plaza. We got locked in. I almost got ban for life from meh parents. Dem days didn't have cell, and bar man lock he bar and gone....no phones!  Bess time ah meh life  ;D

Was it Fortress?
Post by: FF on July 05, 2011, 10:00:48 PM

Was it Fortress?

Club Europe?
Post by: Boodsy on July 06, 2011, 04:49:50 AM
Wall Street?
Post by: Sam on July 06, 2011, 05:53:58 AM
Nuts was full of rasist local whites and high color people.

Ah hate they.

Who remember, de Brad Boyce (ah think that was he name) fella who kill de youth and he parents pay off de judge to get off. ? It was about 15 years ago I talking bout, he kuff down ah Indian and tell him we eh want people with your color in this club.

He shoulda mess with me. !!!
Post by: Boodsy on July 06, 2011, 06:06:29 AM

Ah hate they.

Who remember, de Brad Boyce (ah think that was he name) fella who kill de youth and he parents pay off de judge to get off. ? It was about 15 years ago I talking bout, he kuff down ah Indian and tell him we eh want people with your color in this club.

The Brad Boyce incident happened at the Edge in Long Circular Mall but I get your point  ;)
Post by: dinho on July 06, 2011, 07:52:51 AM
Besides those already mentioned, ah used to real rate up Club Chameleon in Valpark back in the day for the short stint it had. I remember it had man used to climb on the outside of the upstairs railing to get around the line fuss it was long but it was level vibes on the inside.

For a short stint, Liquid in Maritime Plaza was decent too. And Fifth Element in Arima before it went gunta.

Same right though, Base and Nuts was outright racist. Base used to have a short dark man in a cap by the door who used to brace black man at will and let white boys walk in in shorts and jersey. Also it had a big uproar in Nuts over alleged "Gollywog night". You couldn't go some ah dem place on ah Wednesday or Saturday night.

Looking back sometimes I does wonder how I used to put up with that line up and discriminate shit on ah weekly basis.
Post by: capodetutticapi on July 06, 2011, 08:15:43 PM
nobody eh mention  johnny booz place in valpark,that was the the joint back in the day.
Post by: fari on July 06, 2011, 09:02:42 PM
Besides those already mentioned, ah used to real rate up Club Chameleon in Valpark back in the day for the short stint it had. I remember it had man used to climb on the outside of the upstairs railing to get around the line fuss it was long but it was level vibes on the inside.

For a short stint, Liquid in Maritime Plaza was decent too. And Fifth Element in Arima before it went gunta.

Same right though, Base and Nuts was outright racist. Base used to have a short dark man in a cap by the door who used to brace black man at will and let white boys walk in in shorts and jersey. Also it had a big uproar in Nuts over alleged "Gollywog night". You couldn't go some ah dem place on ah Wednesday or Saturday night.

Looking back sometimes I does wonder how I used to put up with that line up and discriminate shit on ah weekly basis.

boy!   sad ting is if black men say dey ent going dem club, dem club woudnt last 2 weeks   smh
Post by: Controversial on July 06, 2011, 11:21:08 PM
nuts
base
pier 1
ah surprised the older heads aint bawl out parrot  :D
bedrock  :D
Post by: Controversial on July 06, 2011, 11:22:34 PM
nobody eh mention  johnny booz place in valpark,that was the the joint back in the day.

jay bees yuh talking about breds?

my mother and father was regulars at booz place, they always talk about it  :D
Post by: Mr Fix-it on July 07, 2011, 06:49:50 AM
Alyu loss already....Power Station was the bessssssssss :devil: :beermug:
Post by: JDB on July 07, 2011, 06:56:43 AM
This is really a show yuh age thread and I find I remembering names and locations but getting them mixed up because so much of them places change names especially the spots in Long Circular and Roundabout/Maritime Plaza. I remember edge and Power Station was Long Circular but couldn’t tell yuh the names of the Roundabout plaza places.

Chez Moi and Uppper Level was back in the day, but Chez Moi change it’s name…was that Genesis. Never went there, definitely spend more time in level, used to have a decent mix.

Never went Base or Anchorage and only went Nuts for the three years I was in UWI because it was accessible, free and yuh would know everybody there. Pier 1 was during that Nuts time too and outside of a proper Carnival fete it was just alright.

Arima was also a nice spot. Fifth Element and a more bar/type place that was on dial corner around 2000 – 2001. I find both places was a good lime and was much less of a “see and be seen, scene” than the places in the west.

Can’t talk for anything after 2001 so 51 degrees and them places never see me. Also never make a meaningful venture south, pass through the Gulf City joint once.
Post by: JDB on July 07, 2011, 07:00:04 AM
Also can't forget the alternative entertainment

Dad's dan
Villa
Copa
Limosine
de one on Broadway
Post by: FF on July 07, 2011, 07:18:38 AM

Dad's dan
Villa
Copa
Limosine
de one on Broadway

ploy ploy!! now we talking  ;D lol

Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on July 07, 2011, 07:51:35 AM

Dad's dan
Villa
Copa
Limosine
de one on Broadway

ploy ploy!! now we talking  ;D lol

Post by: Dutty on July 07, 2011, 10:54:21 AM
This is really a show yuh age thread

ENT!!...........touches call some name dey I forget yes
an ah man say Bedrock ;D.....waaay sah

For me tho, de bess was Atlantis (who remember dat?) a kiddie club in West Mall runnin Noon till 6...but man we was 15/16 years old and once yuh inside yuh feel yuh is big man like is de nighttime...no alcohol...but we in de 'VIP' section upstairs and dem lil gyirls was overly receptive to slackness.

aaah boy Memories eh?
Post by: Montjoy on July 08, 2011, 04:12:29 AM
OK let me show meh age ....... Palaver Place   8)
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 08, 2011, 08:49:24 AM

??  wha era is dis? 70s and before?
Post by: Montjoy on July 08, 2011, 10:12:48 AM

??  wha era is dis? 70s and before?

Yea in the 70's, Location: Upper Frederick Street DJ Donald (Reds) use to kill dem.

In the days of O'Brein Records on Frederick and Park

Post by: palos on July 08, 2011, 11:20:27 AM
Impact - Frederick St

Heritage - Carenage

Post by: soccerman on July 08, 2011, 12:28:37 PM
Allyuh calling some places I never hear bout in my life ;D
Post by: Dutty on July 08, 2011, 04:28:19 PM
Impact - Frederick St

Heritage - Carenage

papa yo! ah gettin visions of a teenage palos doin de robot in he white polyester bell bottom pants

My cousins use to hit heritage regular back in the day, I was tusty to go but alas, I was too small :P
Post by: palos on July 08, 2011, 06:15:08 PM
Impact - Frederick St

Heritage - Carenage

papa yo! ah gettin visions of a teenage palos doin de robot in he white polyester bell bottom pants

My cousins use to hit heritage regular back in the day, I was tusty to go but alas, I was too small :P

Nah....bell bottoms wasn't de style den.  Dat was way before.

Dem times was gun mout, gyal a rush me haircut, and button dong v neck shirt a la travolta in saturday night fever.  Too hot to wear de jacket doh.

Used to go and check out Boogsie and dem by Rolls Royce too.  Wicket pan jazz in dem times.  Berris know bout dem scenes.
Post by: STEUPS!! on July 08, 2011, 07:24:17 PM
allyuh real old dread  8)
Post by: grimm01 on July 08, 2011, 08:53:12 PM
how come nobody eh call Spectakular Forum? When ah was in Form 6, ah Saturday night ah liming by meh partner and we bored trying to figure out what to do when his brother come home and say he hear on the radio that Dr. Hyde playing in Spek... So after leaving we jewelry in the house we pick up another partner and went down there.

That was one of the nicest dance ah ever went back home. It was a nice vibe, Dr. Hyde play some boss tunes and everybody was enjoying deyself. Girls wining, nobody play Ms. Hoity-toity and trying to cut style on yuh, no wanna-be bad man from the suburbs, just pure niceness.
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 08, 2011, 08:53:31 PM
Man sey gun mouth pass and gyal ah rush me haircut, bring a smile to meh face, wey back in de day  :beermug:
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 08, 2011, 08:54:55 PM
how come nobody eh call Spectakular Forum? When ah was in Form 6, ah Saturday night ah liming by meh partner and we bored trying to figure out what to do when his brother come home and say he hear on the radio that Dr. Hyde playing in Spek... So after leaving we jewelry in the house we pick up another partner and went down there.

That was one of the nicest dance ah ever went back home. It was a nice vibe, Dr. Hyde play some boss tunes and everybody was enjoying deyself. Girls wining, nobody play Ms. Hoity-toity and trying to cut style on yuh, no wanna-be bad man from the suburbs, just pure niceness.

As yuh sey dat, wha bout dem professionals dance dem up in de east, poi poi poi
Post by: TriniCana on July 08, 2011, 09:46:24 PM

Was it Fortress?

Club Europe?

WINNER!!! That's it self ;D
Post by: TriniCana on July 08, 2011, 09:49:02 PM
nuts
base
pier 1
ah surprised the older heads aint bawl out parrot  :D
bedrock  :D

Oh shims!! Bedrock and Parrot in Valpark!!

Bedrock was in Long Circular Mall right?
Post by: weary1969 on July 08, 2011, 11:31:25 PM
allyuh real old dread  8)

ENTTTTTTTTTT
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 08, 2011, 11:57:41 PM
nuts... ;D

wha about Shaymore...

After work on Fridays every man jack headed to Pelican right round the corner. That was ah good lime.  ;D

Coconuts
Base
Upper Level
Anchorage
Pier 1

yuh open a window for some serious pong on here
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 09, 2011, 12:01:00 AM

Ah hate they.

Sorry dey pardner buh I think he woulda cuff you dong too!!
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 09, 2011, 12:11:11 AM
Impact - Frederick St

Heritage - Carenage

Heritage was in Chaguaramas not Carenage and Crawfie used to hang out dey to.

TJ's in S'do was a decent lil lime as well.

Post by: rotatopoti3 on July 10, 2011, 05:45:25 PM
Aye what about Himalaya Club....in San Juan

I see nuff fete dey....dat use tuh be d joint on ah Friday and Saturday night

Back in d dey I went and see Tiger, Sluggy Ranks ....dat place was packed inside and outside all d way down tuh Philbert Bar...at least 20,000 people

DJ's like Nayabinghi, Hyde, Starchild, use tuh spin dey all d time dread
Post by: Touches on July 10, 2011, 06:20:36 PM
Whappen to majix in Carenage.

Post by: College on July 10, 2011, 08:20:20 PM
nuts... ;D

wha about Shaymore...

Coconuts
Base
Upper Level
Anchorage
Pier 1

Was there... Europe!
Post by: College on July 10, 2011, 08:28:16 PM
Aye what about Himalaya Club....in San Juan

I see nuff fete dey....dat use tuh be d joint on ah Friday and Saturday night

Back in d dey I went and see Tiger, Sluggy Ranks ....dat place was packed inside and outside all d way down tuh Philbert Bar...at least 20,000 people

DJ's like Nayabinghi, Hyde, Starchild, use tuh spin dey all d time dread

Himalaya? .. Used to play wind ball cricket in dey, next thing man go be bawling De Triangle in Aranguez
Post by: kicker on July 19, 2011, 12:54:50 PM

I scrollin' down this thread and waiting to hear a man pull this one out...Ah know ah coulda rely on meh pardner in crime to bring back dem memories  :beermug:

I used to go all dem hoitee toitee dance - Majix, Nuts, Base, Pier 1, Anchorage, Mobs etc...but one o' de bess dance I ever went was a gunta dance in de Lair...ah bredren co-worker of mine pick meh up wid two of the rudest lookin' baddest ting from Chaguanas in the ride (I was single at the time - he wasn't but I guess it was outside woman night lol) and we real like we self  ;D .... Real rough neck and powder neck ting, pregnant woman in de dance all kinda ting... Real killer lookin' fellas too.... but the tunes was on and the flex was nice  ;D 
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 19, 2011, 05:13:54 PM
Impact - Frederick St

Heritage - Carenage

Heritage was in Chaguaramas not Carenage and Crawfie used to hang out dey to.

TJ's in S'do was a decent lil lime as well.

friday nights at tj's had a nice lil mature crowd.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 20, 2011, 04:45:19 PM
Wwwweeeellllll all I could say is whenever I made mih lil weekend trips to Trini is straight Upper Level I used to go.  Is de only club mih cousin used to go to and since he was mih chaperone, well I had no choice.  Oh and ah went Coconuts once or twice but ah find it was a bit out of the way to get to.....

I went to Anchorage once for Allyson Hinds' street party around Carnival time one year......ah real enjoy mih self.....and sleep in de people conference the next day.....dais what ah did come Trinidad for, ah conference.....

For the Tobagonians among us, who remember Club Christie's??  It was upstairs where Courts Furniture store is now.  The best and ONLY true club Tobago ever had.....an Upper Levels kinda vibe used to happen in dey.....
Post by: TriniCana on July 21, 2011, 05:32:08 PM
Wwwweeeellllll all I could say is whenever I made mih lil weekend trips to Trini is straight Upper Level I used to go.  Is de only club mih cousin used to go to and since he was mih chaperone, well I had no choice.  Oh and ah went Coconuts once or twice but ah find it was a bit out of the way to get to.....

I went to Anchorage once for Allyson Hinds' street party around Carnival time one year......ah real enjoy mih self.....and sleep in de people conference the next day.....dais what ah did come Trinidad for, ah conference.....

For the Tobagonians among us, who remember Club Christie's??  It was upstairs where Courts Furniture store is now.  The best and ONLY true club Tobago ever had.....an Upper Levels kinda vibe used to happen in dey.....

And I always thought was Michael Baker place  :rotfl:  <runs>
Post by: soccerman on July 22, 2011, 12:39:03 PM

Cousin does make dozen ;D
Post by: Controversial on July 22, 2011, 03:20:14 PM
sweetness on prince street  ;D
Post by: Controversial on July 22, 2011, 03:26:16 PM
My were.

The Club (Gulf City) with DJ Lennox and Martin.
The Tunnel (Marabella).
Anchorage (Chaguaramas).
51 Degrees (Cipriani Boulevard).
Pier 1 (Chaguaramas).
The Edge (La Romain).
Screamers 2 (Gulf City).

Nice bars/food I have been to were.

Cocktails and Dreams (Marabella) - Small but a nice get away from the busy areas.
HI-RPM (Gulf City) in the early days.
The Gallery (Gulf City) - Small but was decent.
Trotters (Port of Spain).
Jenny's on the Boulevard (Cipriani Boulevard).
Soong's Great Wall (San Fernando) - Nice, but a little expensive.

How is the casinos in T&T, anyone here ever been to one, give me the run down. ?

never went a club in south, ah hear the women is bess
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 22, 2011, 04:09:15 PM

I scrollin' down this thread and waiting to hear a man pull this one out...Ah know ah coulda rely on meh pardner in crime to bring back dem memories  :beermug:

I used to go all dem hoitee toitee dance - Majix, Nuts, Base, Pier 1, Anchorage, Mobs etc...but one o' de bess dance I ever went was a gunta dance in de Lair...ah bredren co-worker of mine pick meh up wid two of the rudest lookin' baddest ting from Chaguanas in the ride (I was single at the time - he wasn't but I guess it was outside woman night lol) and we real like we self  ;D .... Real rough neck and powder neck ting, pregnant woman in de dance all kinda ting... Real killer lookin' fellas too.... but the tunes was on and the flex was nice  ;D 

Ha ha, yeah, yuh is a fella ah culd see in de Lair and yuh describe it to a T, fuss time ah went dey de dance look jes like yuh sey, talk bout bess flex, not a spot to hit on de regular, but fuh ah once in a while flex was nice, at least, back in dem times
Post by: Brownsugar on July 23, 2011, 12:18:20 PM

And I always thought was Michael Baker place  :rotfl:  <runs>

Chups..... ;D
Post by: che on July 23, 2011, 05:07:03 PM
Atlantis(West Coast, Upper Level Club) Genesis and Fortress. As a youth.
Pier One, Anchorage and Pelican in my old age.