Sports => Football => Topic started by: FireBrand on July 01, 2011, 04:57:59 PM

Title: T&T to face Haiti in Port-au-Prince on Aug 10
Post by: FireBrand on July 01, 2011, 04:57:59 PM
T&T to face Haiti in Port-au-Prince on Aug 10

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men’s Team will help mark the return of international football to the  Sylvio Cator National Stadium in Port-Au- Prince since last January’s devastating earthquake with a friendly international against Haiti’s Senior Team on August 10.

The game will also be Otto Pfister’s first since he took charge of the “Soca Warriors” earlier this year.

TTFF Technical Adviser Keith Look Loy said the game was confirmed on Friday and the T&T team will comprise of its best available players including those based overseas. Both teams will also meet in a return match at a date to be confirmed.

“We’ve agreed to play there on August 10th in Port-au-Prince. The venue has been used a shelter since then and we are looking forward with great anticipation to that day. Despite the tragedy of the 2010 earthquake, they remain one of Caribbean football's powers. At the same time, playing the Haitian national selection in Haiti, and on such a meaningful occasion, allows us to demonstrate our solidarity with the Haitian people in a tangible manner, and via a medium that they will readily appreciate - football. This will undoubtedly be a tough match and a good measure of where we are immediately prior to the beginning of World Cup 2014 qualification” Look Loy told TTFF Media.

It had been mentioned earlier that talks had been ongoing with Central American teams but they all proved to be unavailable on the FIFA date.

“We have no problems playing against Haiti. They have proven to be formidable opponents and have started their World Cup preparations and will take this match seriously in their own backyard. It will be a massive occasion for the players and the people of Haiti on that day,” Look Loy added.

T&T last played Haiti on August 10, 2008 at the same stadium, losing the friendly 1-0.

Haiti is currently coached by Brazilian Edson Tavarez and among their recent call ups for a 1-0 loss to El Salvador in February included Jean-Francois Lescinel of English club Swindon Town as well as Kenold Versailles of US club Rochester Rhinos, same as T&T duo Kendall Jagdeosingh and  Yohance Marshall, James Marcellin of Portland Timbers, Mechack Jerome of Orlando City (team of Kevin Molino and Devorn Jorsling) and goalkeeper Steward Ceus of MLS club Colorado Rapids. Some of their other international include Sporting Braga midfielder Joseph Peterson and defender Judelin Aveska of Argentine club Independiente . Haiti defeated Qatar 1-0 in a friendly in Doha last November.

The T&T senior team has been in training twice per week at the Ato Boldon Stadium and Pfister will select his squad for the encounter later this month.
Title: Re: T&T to face Haiti in Port-au-Prince on Aug 10
Post by: noize on July 01, 2011, 06:46:35 PM
 ::) and D Bullsh!t begins..why am I not surprised that this is D best we can do!!!... :rotfl:
Post by: Deeks on July 01, 2011, 07:47:40 PM
Nothing wrong with playing Haiti. They will give our current team a good run. The issue with everyone, I suppose is, we behind all the contenders in terms of preparation and match practice. For a country that has WC experience and a FIFA official who could have used his influence to get some decent oppostion for our prep. for Brazil, we are ver much behind the curve !!!
Post by: weary1969 on July 01, 2011, 08:06:21 PM
Well get excited d morning of d 10th when I hear d game is on.
Post by: injunchile on July 01, 2011, 09:03:57 PM
Will get excited when I see who the Coach Pick.
Post by: jai john on July 01, 2011, 09:07:20 PM
haiti have grounds to train on ??? or they just travelling from game to game ??
Post by: Coop's on July 01, 2011, 09:10:59 PM
::) and D Bullsh!t begins..why am I not surprised that this is D best we can do!!!... :rotfl:
      Have patience Breds,it going to get better,TTFF/FIFA cleaning up their act,no more Bullsh!t.  
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 01, 2011, 09:13:49 PM
Don't know why men fretting.  Haiti is always a tough opposition, especially at home.  Their squad seems to be decent, and they'll probably be well coached. 
Post by: royal on July 01, 2011, 09:37:00 PM
haiti have grounds to train on ??? or they just travelling from game to game ??

it may have been better to play dat game in Trinidad or Miami ,I cyar see our foreign base risking playing in Haiti.
Post by: frico on July 02, 2011, 02:14:47 AM
Well get excited d morning of d 10th when I hear d game is on.
How allyuh so hard to please.
Post by: andre samuel on July 02, 2011, 06:33:58 AM

T&T last played Haiti on August 10, 2008 at the same stadium, losing the friendly 1-0.

Didnt we play them in the digicel cup qualifiers last year under Latapy??
Post by: Tallman on July 02, 2011, 06:53:04 AM

Didnt we play them in the digicel cup qualifiers last year under Latapy??

Yes, and we beat dem 4-0. He is referring to de last time T&T played Haiti in Haiti. Is jes dat de sentence not written properly.
Post by: president on July 02, 2011, 10:55:25 AM
Everybody wants the Warriors to play on 10 August and playing Haiti in Port-au-Prince will be as hard as the come and will be excellent preparation for the World Cup qualifiers to follow in September. Equally, the people of Haiti have suffered for centuries for reason that we will not discuss here. The ONE things that unites all of them and brings some measure of joy to their very difficult lives is Football. To participate on the reopening of their national stadium after the devastation of the 2010 earthquake - an unprecedented  natural disaster tragedy on top of the man-made disaster that is their politics and history - is an honour for the people of Trinidad and Tobago and the Warriors. Whatever one's attitude toward the TTFF it should be possible to understand all of this, to support the match, and to wish the Warriors well in it.
Post by: banton on July 02, 2011, 02:04:40 PM
Haiti in Port-au-Prince aint bad but dont hype we up with top European opponents just say friendly aug 10

Post by: president on July 02, 2011, 02:33:29 PM
Read the reports again. No-one ever referred with certainty to any specific opponent. It's all, and always, subject to availability and negotiation. In the end, as you say, Haiti in Haiti ain't bad. Not at all...
Post by: Bakes on July 02, 2011, 02:44:37 PM
it may have been better to play dat game in Trinidad or Miami ,I cyar see our foreign base risking playing in Haiti.

What "risk" would they be taking exactly?

Everybody wants the Warriors to play on 10 August and playing Haiti in Port-au-Prince will be as hard as the come and will be excellent preparation for the World Cup qualifiers to follow in September. Equally, the people of Haiti have suffered for centuries for reason that we will not discuss here. The ONE things that unites all of them and brings some measure of joy to their very difficult lives is Football. To participate on the reopening of their national stadium after the devastation of the 2010 earthquake - an unprecedented  natural disaster tragedy on top of the man-made disaster that is their politics and history - is an honour for the people of Trinidad and Tobago and the Warriors. Whatever one's attitude toward the TTFF it should be possible to understand all of this, to support the match, and to wish the Warriors well in it.

Excellent post.
Post by: president on July 02, 2011, 03:01:10 PM
Thank you Bakes...
Post by: just cool on July 02, 2011, 03:52:25 PM
What WC qualifiers , and against whom may i ask ?
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 02, 2011, 03:56:00 PM
What WC qualifiers , and against whom may i ask ?

the groups have not been drawn yet .... but WCQ starts in sept

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_%28CONCACAF%29#First_round
Post by: Big Magician on July 02, 2011, 04:50:06 PM
play de fitball
Post by: tempo on July 02, 2011, 05:05:28 PM
A match against a full-strength Haitian side would be a formidable test for a team that has been dormant for over 8 months. The fact that it is in Haiti as part of a commerative re-opening of the Haiti national stadium makes the match all the more poignant; it goes beyond being a mere exhibition. Perhaps The Clinton Global Initiative can play a role in supporting the game.
Post by: just cool on July 02, 2011, 05:10:00 PM
Ah see they have we in the same group as guatemala, what ah ting. we have tuh make sure and win every game and win big too. or else guatemala would top the group and we'll never hear nor see the end of dat sorry sap preccio.

panama        - antigua barbuda           - puerto roco

Canada             - guyana            - barbados

el salvador       - suriname            -  cauracao

grenada          - stkitts nevis        - st vincent & gren

T&T                -  guatemala         - cayman island

haiti                - dominica            - nicaragua

they just waiting for the last six teams to finish qualifying ah guess, but @ least we have 3/4 of the groups in round two as to give us and idea of who we will face.

it would be nice "if" we could top the group and be put in the cuba honduras group,  :praying: BC that USA costa rica group is the group of two deaths.

mexico - jamaica

USA  - costa rica

honduras - cuba

who allyuh think would make it into the hexogonal ?  would be interesting to see what allyuh think. fill in the blank spaces if you will ppl

i woild like it to look like this after all is said and done.

mexico       jamaica          haiti         el saldaor

USA          costa rica       panama       grenada

honduras     cuba           canada           T&T
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 02, 2011, 06:38:16 PM
Ah see they have we in the same group as guatemala, what ah ting. we have tuh make sure and win every game and win big too. or else guatemala would top the group and we'll never hear nor see the end of dat sorry sap preccio.

panama        - antigua barbuda           - puerto roco

Canada             - guyana            - barbados

el salvador       - suriname            -  cauracao

grenada          - stkitts nevis        - st vincent & gren

T&T                -  guatemala         - cayman island

haiti                - dominica            - nicaragua

they just waiting for the last six teams to finish qualifying ah guess, but @ least we have 3/4 of the groups in round two as to give us and idea of who we will face.

it would be nice "if" we could top the group and be put in the cuba honduras group,  :praying: BC that USA costa rica group is the group of two deaths.

mexico - jamaica

USA  - costa rica

honduras - cuba

who allyuh think would make it into the hexogonal ?  would be interesting to see what allyuh think. fill in the blank spaces if you will ppl

i woild like it to look like this after all is said and done.

mexico       jamaica          haiti         el saldaor

USA          costa rica       panama       grenada

honduras     cuba           canada           T&T

those are just groups based on ranking a team would be drawn at random from eat group 
Post by: just cool on July 02, 2011, 07:26:58 PM
So Trini 2014 what yuh saying is that the top teams in pot 4 from the 2nd rounds could go up against each other? if it's a random darw then you could see teams like a T&T, panama, el salvador, canada in the same group? and we could also see a cayman island , turks and cakos, bahamas and st vincent & gren group ? i seriously doubt that's how it will go down.

i think the teams in pot 4 which is raked 7 to 12th will be the six teams that will be separated and the teams ranked 13 to 18th from pot 5 will line up in rank order against the teams from pot 4 and same for pot 6 and 7.

i could be wrong but this makes better sense to me.
Post by: Football supporter on July 02, 2011, 11:41:21 PM
I spoke to Pfister today at the North East vs Joe Public friendly. Very approachable guy with lots of stories to tell. Nice sense of humour too. Had some interesting insights on player preperation and psychology.
Has a good sense of the players available to him and he said every game gets 100% dedication and he will not select a "make do" team. Every team he selects will be his strongest available, so don't expect too many local lads!

The one thing he said that struck home is that lack of facilities is no excuse. He said Ghana only has two football stadiums, so T&T have better facilities, however, African players play with immense passion for the game and he seems to feel that T&T players don't have that.

I feel if he can build a strong nucleus, he may produce the results we all want.
Post by: Bakes on July 03, 2011, 12:48:02 AM
I spoke to Pfister today at the North East vs Joe Public friendly. Very approachable guy with lots of stories to tell. Nice sense of humour too. Had some interesting insights on player preperation and psychology.
Has a good sense of the players available to him and he said every game gets 100% dedication and he will not select a "make do" team. Every team he selects will be his strongest available, so don't expect too many local lads!

The one thing he said that struck home is that lack of facilities is no excuse. He said Ghana only has two football stadiums, so T&T have better facilities, however, African players play with immense passion for the game and he seems to feel that T&T players don't have that.

I feel if he can build a strong nucleus, he may produce the results we all want.

False starter.  Ghana may lack internal facilities on par with Trinidad but their talent pool is larger and deeper than we have ever had... in part due to the fact that there is an establish pipeline of players headed off to European clubs.  One may argue that the talent is inherent and must be there before scouts evaluate it... but at the same time there must be scouts on hand to evaluate and be willing to give a player a chance.  I'm not sure that we're on an equal footing with the Ghanaians on that front. 

That said, there still is merit to his point... and perhaps it points to better support and development within Ghanaian football of whatever natural talents may be there.  In that regard we fall woefully short.  Additionally, as a people we can be dispassionate to our detriment... we're too laid back and easy going and not enough of us are hungry enough to see football as a way out.

Perhaps.
Post by: davidephraim on July 03, 2011, 02:51:01 AM
Nothing wrong with playing Haiti. They will give our current team a good run. The issue with everyone, I suppose is, we behind all the contenders in terms of preparation and match practice. For a country that has WC experience and a FIFA official who could have used his influence to get some decent oppostion for our prep. for Brazil, we are ver much behind the curve !!!

We do not have a Fifa Official!
Post by: davidephraim on July 03, 2011, 02:53:25 AM

Ah aint sure de earthquake was not man-made as well nah president. Spot on with the political mayhem though.
Post by: Deeks on July 03, 2011, 04:13:31 AM

We do not have a Fifa Official!

My bad!. When he was a FIFA official!!!!
Title: Pfister to take strong squad to Haiti
Post by: Tallman on July 03, 2011, 06:53:00 AM
Pfister to take strong squad to Haiti
T&T Express

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Otto Pfister will travel to Port-au-Prince to face Haiti on August 10, with his best available players in what will be his first friendly international since taking charge of the "Soca Warriors.'

Pfister said on Saturday that he was anticipating the encounter as he sets about the putting together of the team for the upcoming 2014 World Cup qualifiers.

"It's a good opportunity for us to get a friendly international on the FIFA date. I am happy about that because we need to be playing matches as this is the way for us to evaluate where we are in our preparations and for me to have a closer look at the players, especially the ones from overseas," Pfister told  TTFF Media.

"Okay it's going to be in Haiti and it's going to be a bit of an occasion there for them, being the first match at the stadium since the earthquake and we are honoured to be part of that but the most important thing for me and the team is the preparations for the World Cup qualification. This will not be an exhibition game for us because we have our work to focus on and that means working towards getting the best team ready for the qualification.

"Haiti will be ready for the game also because they are very passionate about football and they will not make it an easy game at home, so for me it's going to be an interesting match and a match that will be useful for our preparations," Pfister added.

Some of the overseas-based pros who have already trained under Pfister in June include the Ipswich Town duo of Carlos Edwards and Jason Scotland, as well as other European-based pros Khaleem Hyland, Lester Peltier and Darryl Roberts who is currently in search of a club. Pfister has also met with Stoke City striker Kenwyne Jones and has kept tabs on the players based in the United States as well as Kazakhstan-based defender Robert Primus.

Roberts added that he has settled in under Pfister's charge.

"It's been pretty decent training under him. Obviously he comes with a big background and track record and he knows what he is about. He knows what he wants for the team and how he would like us to play and approach the game.We as players just need to respond to that and the sessions have been useful over the past few weeks.Once we go into a game situation then we will now have a better idea of how we are progressing in terms of understanding how he wants the team to play," Roberts said.
Post by: College on July 03, 2011, 08:41:45 AM
* T&T to face Haiti in Port-au-Prince on Aug 10

* Pfister to take strong squad to Haiti

I'm optimistic .... if it all comes together, this will arguably be the best squad of players assembled in the Caribbean in the last 5 years.
Post by: MEP on July 03, 2011, 09:04:53 AM
So we find any defenders .......of quality yet?
Post by: president on July 03, 2011, 09:23:13 AM
By and large, defending is the more difficult than attacking. It isn't natural and has to be learnt. Good defenders have to be developed not found, but good question. We have had a problem for years in this department - particularly at left back but Jlloyd Samuel has stated his intention to return to the team. At centre back we have Julius James (Columbus Crew), youngsters Robert Primus (Aktobe, Kazakhstan) and Daneil Cyrus (TT Under 23 and FC Santa Rosa), Seon Power (Ma Pau). Efforts are also being made to convince Justin Hoyte (Middlesborough) to join the team. Yohance Marshall (Rochester Rhinos) is an outside possibility. Carlos may have to play right back but Power is also a possibility in that position.
Post by: College on July 03, 2011, 09:29:33 AM
By and large, defending is the more difficult than attacking. It isn't natural and has to be learnt. Good defenders have to be developed not found, but good question. We have had a problem for years in this department - particularly at left back but Jlloyd Samuel has stated his intention to return to the team. At centre back we have Julius James (Columbus Crew), youngsters Robert Primus (Aktobe, Kazakhstan) and Daneil Cyrus (TT Under 23 and FC Santa Rosa), Seon Power (Ma Pau). Efforts are also being made to convince Justin Hoyte (Middlesborough) to join the team. Yohance Marshall (Rochester Rhinos) is an outside possibility. Carlos may have to play right back but Power is also a possibility in that position.

Dont think attacking players will agree with you on this one ...
Post by: president on July 03, 2011, 09:31:16 AM
Whether they agree or not pal. The first thing any little boy wants to do is score...not prevent you from scoring...
Post by: College on July 03, 2011, 09:37:33 AM
Dont want to derail the thread, but the topic is certainly worth debating...
Post by: MEP on July 03, 2011, 10:03:19 AM

In case yuh eh realize this is a national team...so I don't know where you're coming with defending is more difficult as it isn't natural....maybe you could use that excuse for your U-14 rec team
Post by: president on July 03, 2011, 10:12:19 AM
Believe me I know better than you realize that we are talking about a national team friend...
Post by: MEP on July 03, 2011, 12:30:04 PM
Believe me I know better than you realize that we are talking about a national team friend...
so with that said you don't develop players at the national level
Post by: president on July 03, 2011, 12:40:15 PM
If THAT is what you understand from my response to a minor comment on my original point I can't help you. Sorry...
Post by: maxg on July 03, 2011, 01:28:44 PM
I disagree..however, I think at the National team level, improper individual and ultimately team selection, would lead to exposure of weakness in team structure, which would lead to results, which could be easily although incorrectly blamed on what might be perceived to be weak defensive individuals...Football is a team sport, irregardless of how great any individual is, his/her team could be the worst in the world...thus the coach, the manager, the selectors and even the fans are all part of the team...the higher the level of the game, the more critical the cohesion and ability of each individual part...as we do not live in a perfect world, in some cases a extremely strong part may be able to carry the burden of weaker parts, however, at the highest levels, the weakest links will be eventually exposed , to the detriment of the whole team, reflected in the final result...and in football , in many cases, even sometimes, the better team loses. Maybe, that's what ultimately make this game so fun....the best defenders (or attackers) in the world, does not translate into National team success..but a correct balance, that at the national level has to be selected, the development & training must come pre-national selection....just my opinion
Post by: maxg on July 03, 2011, 01:44:26 PM
Add(sorry iPad post) : Familiarity of the level to be achieved, the timeframe involved, and the ingredients in hand, would determine what missing ingredients are necessary to be obtained or developed, that the recipe for successful achievement of results can be followed...like a cake, one may see what it looks like, know what it is made off, and even, if every household follows the same recipe, it may come out different, some better than some....it is however those who, keep trying, slightly adjusting, slightly changing the combinations, striving for excellence, and learning, would consistently produce the best treat...doh mean they won't miss now and then..
Post by: Touches on July 03, 2011, 05:48:37 PM
Like somebody cyar read a Atlas or wha...since when Haiti in Central America  ::)

Good lil test...I sorry we cyar see the game.
Post by: elan on July 03, 2011, 05:54:57 PM
Hope we eh take it easy on them because is ah reddeication of the stadium. With Stern, Scotty, Carlos, and the other we should be able to put on ah nice lil display.
Post by: Football supporter on July 03, 2011, 06:14:42 PM
"By and large, defending is the more difficult than attacking. It isn't natural and has to be learnt." 

Sorry, Mr President, I don't agree. Yes, players want to score, but once you take 10 year olds (or younger, overseas) into a team game, most find it naturally easy to play the way they face, i.e forwards. Hence, defenders launch the ball forward for strikers to chase. The development comes in teaching defenders to play the way they face and strikers to play with their back to goal. I don't believe that coaching players to defend is harder than coaching players to attack. IMO, the hardest position to coach is a decent defensive midfielder who can break down attacks and begin attacking moves a la Makelele.

And before you ask, I spent a good part of last season helping to re train a striker who played overseas into a wing back who Pfister is now looking at.

Also, please enlighten us about this statement..."Believe me I know better than you realize that we are talking about a national team friend..."
Post by: elan on July 03, 2011, 06:21:13 PM
"By and large, defending is the more difficult than attacking. It isn't natural and has to be learnt." 

Sorry, Mr President, I don't agree. Yes, players want to score, but once you take 10 year olds (or younger, overseas) into a team game, most find it naturally easy to play the way they face, i.e forwards. Hence, defenders launch the ball forward for strikers to chase. The development comes in teaching defenders to play the way they face and strikers to play with their back to goal. I don't believe that coaching players to defend is harder than coaching players to attack. IMO, the hardest position to coach is a decent defensive midfielder who can break down attacks and begin attacking moves a la Makelele.

And before you ask, I spent a good part of last season helping to re train a striker who played overseas into a wing back who Pfister is now looking at.

Also, please enlighten us about this statement..."Believe me I know better than you realize that we are talking about a national team friend..."

Daiz KJ or what?    ;D
Post by: Football supporter on July 03, 2011, 06:31:16 PM

Daiz KJ or what?    ;D

LOL, nah man. That was a defender retrained as a striker!!
Post by: College on July 03, 2011, 07:04:19 PM
Leave president with that ole talk... from the time he come with reasoning about all little boys want to score, I done the talk one time. :devil: :devil:
Post by: just cool on July 03, 2011, 07:46:43 PM
Hope seon power never gets selected to play for us again. that fella eh ready for international football, him aklie and makkan.
Post by: fitzinho on July 03, 2011, 09:39:28 PM

Daiz KJ or what?    ;D

LOL, nah man. That was a defender retrained as a striker!!
Sound more like Carlos lol
Post by: trini_stallion on July 04, 2011, 12:23:16 PM
We geh ah game....daiz wuh we talking bout....Haiti in Haiti any day is a good match!
Post by: Controversial on July 04, 2011, 12:37:31 PM
good match and test for the team in prep, i want to see the squad selected by pfister
Post by: Small Change on July 04, 2011, 10:23:53 PM
We in a MESS! Haiti?? Stwps. Is that the best we can do? There is NO way we are going to beat Mexico, USA, Costa Rica or Honduras? We in a MESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Bakes on July 04, 2011, 10:44:42 PM
We in a MESS! Haiti?? Stwps. Is that the best we can do? There is NO way we are going to beat Mexico, USA, Costa Rica or Honduras? We in a MESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

No there isn't... because guess what smarty, those teams aren't interested in playing us right now.
Post by: reggae-fan on July 05, 2011, 04:30:38 AM
if it all comes together, this will arguably be the best squad of players assembled in the Caribbean in the last 5 years.

What exactly do you mean by that? Do you mean the strongest side put together by a caribbean nation in the past 5 years? Aside from Jones, who else in contention for selection?

Its a FIFA date, but quite frankly, the English leagues would have restarted by then, and teams will be jostling for positions early...Dont be surprised if key players chooses to stay with their clubs instead of making a 9 hr flight back to the caribbean to face Haiti.

Jamaica will be travelling to the Far East for a game that same day vs China in Shangai...minus players from the English leagues.
Post by: just cool on July 05, 2011, 07:49:50 AM
if it all comes together, this will arguably be the best squad of players assembled in the Caribbean in the last 5 years.

What exactly do you mean by that? Do you mean the strongest side put together by a caribbean nation in the past 5 years? Aside from Jones, who else in contention for selection?

Its a FIFA date, but quite frankly, the English leagues would have restarted by then, and teams will be jostling for positions early...Dont be surprised if key players chooses to stay with their clubs instead of making a 9 hr flight back to the caribbean to face Haiti.

Jamaica will be travelling to the Far East for a game that same day vs China in Shangai...minus players from the English leagues.
Well good for you.   :talktothehand:
Post by: Midknight on July 11, 2011, 07:13:48 PM
Like somebody cyar read a Atlas or wha...since when Haiti in Central America  ::)

Think somebody cyar read period...

Folllowing the usual rule of thumb, when we announce european african, asian or south american opponents we end up with central american. When we announce central american opposition, we end up with caribbean opposition. So by my calculations, we should be playing a college 11 in Miami on the 10th August...
Title: Haiti v. Trinidad - A warm welcome to the warriors.
Post by: Toussaint on July 15, 2011, 07:02:36 AM
ANNOUNCEMENT:

The FHF invites the Haitian public to offer a warm welcome to the "Soca Warriors" who show us their friendship by accepting this invitation for the first international match to play in Haiti for many years.

For this occasion, the two federations of FHF and the TTFF have decided to show up with their best available players.

Full Note in French:

Note De FHF

La Fédération Haïtienne de Football a l'avantage d'annoncer qu'avec le concours de la DIGICEL et de plusieurs autres sponsors internationaux elle organise un grand match amical international le mercredi 10 Aout 2011, journée internationale FIFA au stade Sylvio Cator contre son historique et excitant challenger TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO

Bien que les travaux du stade en cours actuellement ne seront pas achevés avant septembre-octobre mais tenant compte de l'urgente nécessité de bien préparer l'entrée d'Haïti dans les éliminatoires de la coupe du monde BRESIL 2014 la FHF a fait l'effort d'inviter l'une des meilleures équipes de la Caraïbe à se produire en Haïti pour relancer la fièvre et la passion du football international.

Pour la circonstance les deux Fédérations la FHF et la TTFF ont décidé de présenter leurs meilleurs joueurs disponibles  à cette date.

L'Entraineur National EDSON TAVARES a décidé, vu qu'Il s'agit du dernier match de répétition FIFA avant la Coupe du monde qui commence pour nous le 2 septembre, de faire appel , à coté des joueurs évoluant dans la Ligue DIGICEL en Haïti, tous les professionnels internationaux expatriés disponibles dans le but de construire une forte sélection nationale.

La FHF remercie d'abord le Président de la République SE Michel Martelly de s'être impliqué directement dans le processus de récupération des espaces du Stade Sylvio Cator ce qui a permis d'avancer dans la poursuite des travaux de rénovation et surtout de l'intérêt public qu'il a manifesté à l'endroit du football pour l'assister financièrement à mener ses programmes de développement de football; ces sentiments de gratitude vont aussi à l'endroit de notre sponsor DIGICEL et aussi des nombreux partenaires qui ont manifesté la volonté d'être à nos côtés dans cette quête de maintenir notre football conquérant malgré un environnement peu propice.

Cette rencontre Haïti Vs Trinidad and Tobago est aussi le témoignage de la détermination de la FHF à faire tout ce qui est possible pour que les efforts de la famille du football en Haïti contribuent effectivement à maintenir le sport roi en Haïti a des sommets qu'Ill n'a jamais connus.

La FHF a décidé de faire appel à beaucoup de personnalités de divers horizons pour constituer un Comité d'organisation BRESIL-2014 chargé de conduire avec ses structures la campagne pour une qualification au Mondial du Brésil

L'équipe de Trinidad and Tobago organise un camp d'entrainement en Floride et arrive en Haïti le 9 Aout.

La FHF d'ores et déjà invite le public haïtien à offrir un accueil chaleureux aux "Socca Warriors" qui nous manifestent leurs amitiés en acceptant cette invitation pour le 1er match international à se disputer en Haïti depuis plusieurs années.

Grenadiers à l'assaut!
Title: Re: Haiti v. Trinidad - A warm welcome to the warriors.
Post by: weary1969 on July 15, 2011, 08:10:33 AM
ANNOUNCEMENT:

The FHF invites the Haitian public to offer a warm welcome to the "Soca Warriors" who show us their friendship by accepting this invitation for the first international match to play in Haiti for many years.

For this occasion, the two federations of FHF and the TTFF have decided to show up with their best available players.

Full Note in French:

Note De FHF

La Fédération Haïtienne de Football a l'avantage d'annoncer qu'avec le concours de la DIGICEL et de plusieurs autres sponsors internationaux elle organise un grand match amical international le mercredi 10 Aout 2011, journée internationale FIFA au stade Sylvio Cator contre son historique et excitant challenger TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO

Bien que les travaux du stade en cours actuellement ne seront pas achevés avant septembre-octobre mais tenant compte de l'urgente nécessité de bien préparer l'entrée d'Haïti dans les éliminatoires de la coupe du monde BRESIL 2014 la FHF a fait l'effort d'inviter l'une des meilleures équipes de la Caraïbe à se produire en Haïti pour relancer la fièvre et la passion du football international.

Pour la circonstance les deux Fédérations la FHF et la TTFF ont décidé de présenter leurs meilleurs joueurs disponibles  à cette date.

L'Entraineur National EDSON TAVARES a décidé, vu qu'Il s'agit du dernier match de répétition FIFA avant la Coupe du monde qui commence pour nous le 2 septembre, de faire appel , à coté des joueurs évoluant dans la Ligue DIGICEL en Haïti, tous les professionnels internationaux expatriés disponibles dans le but de construire une forte sélection nationale.

La FHF remercie d'abord le Président de la République SE Michel Martelly de s'être impliqué directement dans le processus de récupération des espaces du Stade Sylvio Cator ce qui a permis d'avancer dans la poursuite des travaux de rénovation et surtout de l'intérêt public qu'il a manifesté à l'endroit du football pour l'assister financièrement à mener ses programmes de développement de football; ces sentiments de gratitude vont aussi à l'endroit de notre sponsor DIGICEL et aussi des nombreux partenaires qui ont manifesté la volonté d'être à nos côtés dans cette quête de maintenir notre football conquérant malgré un environnement peu propice.

Cette rencontre Haïti Vs Trinidad and Tobago est aussi le témoignage de la détermination de la FHF à faire tout ce qui est possible pour que les efforts de la famille du football en Haïti contribuent effectivement à maintenir le sport roi en Haïti a des sommets qu'Ill n'a jamais connus.

La FHF a décidé de faire appel à beaucoup de personnalités de divers horizons pour constituer un Comité d'organisation BRESIL-2014 chargé de conduire avec ses structures la campagne pour une qualification au Mondial du Brésil

L'équipe de Trinidad and Tobago organise un camp d'entrainement en Floride et arrive en Haïti le 9 Aout.

La FHF d'ores et déjà invite le public haïtien à offrir un accueil chaleureux aux "Socca Warriors" qui nous manifestent leurs amitiés en acceptant cette invitation pour le 1er match international à se disputer en Haïti depuis plusieurs années.

Grenadiers à l'assaut!

Thanks Toussaint glad 2 hear from yuh even it is mainly in French. Nuff bright peeps somebody translate 4 we nah.
Post by: Dutty on July 15, 2011, 08:16:42 AM
ah tink only Toussaint and Midnight could handle all dem setta green verb on dat paper
Post by: grskywalker on July 15, 2011, 08:25:27 AM
With the current state of the national team, any team in a the Caribbean is a threat
Post by: Tallman on July 15, 2011, 07:07:53 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/0FOFCuXkrQM
Post by: AirMan on July 16, 2011, 09:42:05 AM
I rhel curious to see what does team look like ? We aready know most of the usual suspects from the pro league has failed to impress on the national team in recent years, and few of our foreign based have been playing consistently at their clubs.
Post by: Midknight on July 16, 2011, 05:41:03 PM
Note De FHF

Grenadiers à l'assaut!

TRANSLATION BY MIDKNIGHT

The Haitian Football Fédération is pleased to announce that with the patronage of DIGICEL and several other international sponsors we are organising a great friendly match on the 10th August 2011, a FIFA date, at the Sylvio Cator Stadium against its historic and exciting challenger Trinidad and Tobago.

Although the work on the stadium will not be finished before september-octobre but taking into account the urgent necessity to well prepare the entry of Haiti into the Brazil World Cup 2014 qualifiers, the FHF has made the effort to invite one of the best teams in the Caribbean to play in Haiti to jump start the fever and passion for international football.

For the occasion, the FHF and the TTFF have decided to present their best players available on this date. The national coach Edson Tavares a decided, seeing that it is the last practice match before the World Cup qualifiers which begin the 2nd September to call all the players in the Digicel League in Haiti and all foreign based internationals in the goal of constructing a strong national selection.

First, the FHF thanks the President of the Republic SE Michel Martelly for involving himself directly in the process of recovering the space of the Sylvio Cator stadium... (insert sucking up here)

This meeting between Haiti and T&T also bears witness  of the determination of the FHF to do everythign possible so that the efforts of the football family in Haiti contribute effectively to keeping the sport king at heights it has never known.

The FHF has decided to call on a lot of personalities from diverse horizons to consitute an organising committee for 2014 in charge of driving the campaign for qualification for Brazil.

The T&T team are organising a training camp in Florida and arrive in Haiti the 9th August.

The FHF therefore invites the Haitian public to offer a warm welcome to the "Socca" Warriors""
who are showing their friendship by accepting this invitation for the first international match to be disputed in Haiti for several years.

Grenadiers Charge!
Post by: College on July 17, 2011, 06:10:16 AM
So is Grenadiers vs Warriors....  for a friendly
Post by: Deeks on July 17, 2011, 09:32:49 AM

I hope you no mixing up Grenadians and Grenadiers.
Post by: College on July 17, 2011, 10:32:41 AM

I hope you no mixing up Grenadians and Grenadiers.

Of course not, hence my mention of it being a friendly. We have two warlike nicknames.....steups.. dont even know why ah responding to this