Sports => Football => Topic started by: royal on July 15, 2011, 03:02:30 PM

Title: Daneil Cyrus Thread
Post by: royal on July 15, 2011, 03:02:30 PM
Cyrus goes on loan to Kansas.

Trinidad and Tobago defender Daneil Cyrus has been signed on loan with American Major League Soccer’s Sporting Kansas FC.

Local club FC Santa Rosa FC agreed to load the Tobago-born former National Under 17 and Under 20 player to the club which invited him to a trial in January. The loan transfer was completed today (Friday 15 July 2011) and Cyrus will join the  club on Saturday.

"It's an opportunity that I have been patiently waiting on for some time," Cyrus told TTFF Media. "And I'm really grateful for the opportunity being presented to me by Kansas and also Santa Rosa FC. This is a new chapter in my career and I will work as hard as I can to perform at my best and help the club achieve the best results possible," he added.

Sporting Kansas City has pursued Cyrus’ services since December 2010 when he was spotted by the MLS club’s coaches at a series of trial matches staged for the club in Trinidad by FC Santa Rosa.

The 20-year-old Cyrus joined Sporting Kansas on trial in January 2011 but the clubs did not agree transfer terms. Discussion continued and the player will now Sporting Kansas until the end of 2011, according to a statement from Santa Rosa which had also loaned Cyrus to Caledonia AIA last season.

Sporting currently occupies fifth place in the MLS Eastern Conference standings with 22 points from 18 matches.

Cyrus has 13 international appearances after making his debut for the T&T Senior team in May, 2010. He also appeared at the 2007 FIFA Under 17 World Cup in South Korea and  the 2009 FIFA Under 20 World Cup in Egypt.
Title: Re: Cyrus joins Sporting Kansas
Post by: College on July 15, 2011, 05:26:37 PM
yes ...
Post by: Spursy on July 15, 2011, 06:03:30 PM
Where is the like button?
Post by: Sando on July 15, 2011, 07:29:28 PM
Cant believe Shaun wrote this...

Cyrus goes on loan to Kansas.

Trinidad and Tobago defender Daneil Cyrus has been signed on loan with American Major League Soccer’s Sporting Kansas FC.

Local club FC Santa Rosa FC agreed to load the Tobago-born former National Under 17 and Under 20 player to the club which invited him to a trial in January. The loan transfer was completed today (Friday 15 July 2011) and Cyrus will join the  club on Saturday.

"It's an opportunity that I have been patiently waiting on for some time," Cyrus told TTFF Media. "And I'm really grateful for the opportunity being presented to me by Kansas and also Santa Rosa FC. This is a new chapter in my career and I will work as hard as I can to perform at my best and help the club achieve the best results possible," he added.

Sporting Kansas City has pursued Cyrus’ services since December 2010 when he was spotted by the MLS club’s coaches at a series of trial matches staged for the club in Trinidad by FC Santa Rosa.

The 20-year-old Cyrus joined Sporting Kansas on trial in January 2011 but the clubs did not agree transfer terms. Discussion continued and the player will now missing word Sporting Kansas until the end of 2011, according to a statement from Santa Rosa which had also loaned Cyrus to Caledonia AIA last season.

Sporting currently occupies fifth place in the MLS Eastern Conference standings with 22 points from 18 matches.

Cyrus has 13 international appearances after making his debut for the T&T Senior team in May, 2010. He also appeared at the 2007 FIFA Under 17 World Cup in South Korea and  the 2009 FIFA Under 20 World Cup in Egypt.
Post by: Sando on July 15, 2011, 07:30:22 PM
Big up to Cyrus hope he does well to secure a permanent deal.
Post by: AirMan on July 15, 2011, 08:31:06 PM
Good luck to him..hopefully this
 club make him even better...the better players we have will result in more quality for T&T national coach to choose from..
Post by: ZANDOLIE on July 15, 2011, 09:49:48 PM
Good stuff.
Post by: Ngozi on July 16, 2011, 03:39:38 AM
Good deal  probably why he isnt on the u23 team!
Shaun fuentes need to stay off the weed .... jeeez who edits his shit!!!!
Post by: mukumsplau on July 16, 2011, 04:01:35 AM
look loy yuh prodigies gettin tru too late fuh yuh...save d money fuh next year eh

good luck to cyrus...a good team is built from d back so im glad our defenders getting this opportunity
Post by: Errol on July 16, 2011, 09:12:48 AM
 :applause:

Happy for the youth.

Good job by Keith Look Loy, we cant let some of our best players leave for nothing.

If they really want him they will have to pay up.
Title: Sporting KC acquires defender Daneil Cyrus
Post by: Tallman on July 16, 2011, 11:24:25 AM
Sporting KC acquires defender Daneil Cyrus
By Kurt Austin (sportingkc.com)

Trinidad and Tobago National Team defender Daneil Cyrus will join Sporting Kansas City on loan for the 2011 season, the club announced Saturday.

"Daneil is a young player that we have had our eye on for a while and we're glad to now have him join our club," Sporting Kansas City Manager Peter Vermes said. "He brings a new dimension to our defensive depth with his size and athleticism and we think he has a bright future ahead of him."

Cyrus, 20 years old and 6’3”, joined Sporting Kansas City for the 2011 pre-season after being identified by the club’s technical staff at a combine in Trinidad and Tobago in December 2010.  He appeared in each of Sporting Kansas City’s first four pre-season matches in Arizona.

"It's an opportunity that I have been patiently waiting on for some time," Cyrus said. "And I'm really grateful for the opportunity being presented to me by Sporting Kansas City and also FC Santa Rosa. This is a new chapter in my career and I will work as hard as I can to perform at my best and help the club achieve the best results possible.”

He comes to Kansas City from FC Santa Rosa, whom he joined in March 2010 before being loaned to Caledonia AIA of the Trinidad and Tobago Pro League for the last two seasons.

Cyrus has 13 appearances for the Trinidad and Tobago National Team since debuting against Chile in May 2010. He also represented his country in the 2007 FIFA Under-17 World Cup in Korea and the 2009 FIFA Under-20 World Cup in Egypt, appearing in all three of the team’s group stage matches at each tournament.
Cyrus has been added to the team’s roster and will occupy an international roster spot. In keeping with team policy, terms of the contract will not be disclosed.

Transaction: Sporting Kansas City (MLS) acquires Daneil Cyrus on loan.

VITALS
Daneil Cyrus  (http://www.sportingkc.com/player/daneil-cyrus)
Defender
Number: 25
Height: 6-3
Weight: 150
Born: 12/15/1990
Hometown: Plymouth, Trinidad and Tobago
Birthplace: Plymouth, Trinidad and Tobago
Citizenship: Trinidad and Tobago
Last Club: FC Santa Rosa (Trinidad and Tobago)

(http://www.sportingkc.com/sites/default/files/imagecache/primary_image-620x350/image_nodes/2011/07/Cyrus%20DL.jpg)

(http://www.sportingkc.com/sites/default/files/image_nodes/2011/07/Cyrus%20Player%20Profile.jpg)
Post by: frico on July 16, 2011, 11:40:43 AM
Next stop the EPL,lets hope he puts on a few more pounds,6ft.3ins,another Lawrence.
Post by: dwn on July 16, 2011, 06:04:53 PM
What league is Santa Rosa FC in? I find it strange that they own his contract.
Post by: Rastaman on July 16, 2011, 09:08:36 PM
The club is owned by Keith Lok Loy. They own some players and loan then out untill they can get into the Pro League. Not a bad business plan, either they get in and have players or they get money by selling the players and get money to develop the club more.
Post by: dwn on July 16, 2011, 09:37:48 PM
The club is owned by Keith Lok Loy. They own some players and loan then out untill they can get into the Pro League. Not a bad business plan, either they get in and have players or they get money by selling the players and get money to develop the club more.

That's what I figured. I just hope they don't price this guy out of a move.
Post by: supporter on July 18, 2011, 10:41:23 AM
Good deal  probably why he isnt on the u23 team!
Shaun fuentes need to stay off the weed .... jeeez who edits his shit!!!!

The english standard of his articles has always been like that unfortunately
Post by: Big Magician on July 18, 2011, 04:28:24 PM
well done dan...and SR Fc

play de fitball
Post by: Tallman on July 19, 2011, 01:01:13 PM
But Sporting Kansas City (1-2-2) responded seven minutes later as central defender Daneil Cyrus, acquired on Saturday, found space on the right side of the penalty area and slipped a pass to trialist Dwayne James for the finish from close range.
http://www.sportingkc.com/news/2011/07/reserves-drop-2-1-decision-against-chicago

(http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/284600_10150263014022042_45625502041_7431456_8027470_n.jpg)
Post by: PATRIOT on July 19, 2011, 06:04:29 PM
But Sporting Kansas City (1-2-2) responded seven minutes later as central defender Daneil Cyrus, acquired on Saturday, found space on the right side of the penalty area and slipped a pass to trialist Dwayne James for the finish from close range.
http://www.sportingkc.com/news/2011/07/reserves-drop-2-1-decision-against-chicago

(http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/284600_10150263014022042_45625502041_7431456_8027470_n.jpg)
And so it begins!!! This youth has tremendous potential... looking forward to him getting into the 1st team sooner rather than later!
Post by: Tallman on July 20, 2011, 06:00:31 PM
He's on the bench for tonight's game against Newcastle United.
Title: New signee Cyrus ready to make a mark for Sporting KC
Post by: Tallman on July 22, 2011, 05:25:27 PM
New signee Cyrus ready to make a mark for Sporting KC
By Andrew Wiebe (MLSsoccer.com)

Buried in hoopla surrounding the addition of another Designated Player — Brazilian playmaker Jéferson — to the fold, Sporting Kansas City picked up a lesser-known talent they’ve been circling patiently for more than a year.

Kansas City signed 20-year-old defender Daneil Cyrus on loan from Trinidad and Tobago side FC Santa Rosa last week, ending manager Peter Vermes’ year-and-a-half-long struggle to bring the young international stateside.

Sporting tried to sign Cyrus prior to the 2010 season but couldn’t get the required visa. After impressing the technical staff during a combine on the island in December, the defender then spent most of the preseason with the team before returning home when a deal couldn’t be reached.

Despite those struggles, Cyrus finally made his debut for the club this week in a reserve game before playing the second half against Newcastle United on Wednesday, an experience he said was well worth the wait.

“My time here at the beginning was great,” Cyrus said, “but a misunderstanding happened and I went back home. I am so happy to be here and play my first game with Kansas City against a big club like Newcastle. Everything is going great so far, and I’m so proud to be here and represent Sporting KC.”

Likewise, Vermes is delighted to have him in Kansas City for at the very least the remainder of this season before the club decides whether or not to exercise its option to purchase Cyrus outright.

“He’s young enough and he’s got such an upside that — within our situation now and having the players that we do — he can grow in this environment and not have pressure on him to make an impact at a young age,” Vermes said.

And, make no mistake, Vermes expects Cyrus to continue to improve.

The versatile 6-foot-3 defender may be relatively young, but he has plenty of experience after playing on loan with Trinidad and Tobago Pro League side Caledonia AIA for the last two seasons and making his debut for the T&T national team against Chile in May 2010. He has since racked up 13 appearances with the senior side in addition to representing his country in the Under-17 and Under-20 World Cups at the youth level.

And following a 45-minute performance in which he matched up favorably against some of the Premier League’s most talented and physically imposing strikers in Shola Ameobi and Demba Ba, Cyrus said he is just happy to continue his steady progression in the game.

“Everything is just another experience for me,” he said. “I’m so happy to get the chance to play against Ameobi. He’s a great player. We came out in the second half and kept a clean sheet, and I had him a little bit frustrated so I’m proud of my performance and the team’s.”

Vermes said Cyrus’ integration into the squad should be relatively seamless — apart from getting to know some of the club’s more recent acquisitions — since he spent most the preseason with Kansas City. The immediate plan is to give him plenty of opportunities with the reserves with the chance of appearing with the first team should circumstances (injury, suspension, etc.) dictate it.

In the meantime, Kansas City’s fitness staff will certainly want to put some more bulk on his lanky frame — he is currently listed at 150 pounds — but Cyrus already has the kind of physical gifts that are impossible to teach.

“He’s very fast,” Vermes said. “He rarely gets beat on the floor. If someone takes off, he somehow finds a way to track that guy down. I call it street smarts, but he has lots of field smarts, too. He manages situations really well. I think that is because of his upbringing.”

Predictably, Cyrus also drew on his roots to get an idea of what to expect in MLS. Though he is known as a “skillful” defender back home, he said his teammates on the national team told him he would have to adjust his style of play to adapt to the rough-and-tumble style in his new surroundings.

“They said in MLS as a defender, it is just down to business,” Cyrus said. “Mash up the play and organize. There isn’t time to always be skillful because most forwards tackle like defenders. There is no easy play. I might not be the biggest defender, but I use my head and ability to read the game well. I’m not really afraid of competition. That is why I came to the league.”

(http://www.mlssoccer.com/sites/league/files/imagecache/620x350/image_nodes/2011/07/cyrus.jpg)
Title: Re: New signee Cyrus ready to make a mark for Sporting KC
Post by: Tallman on July 22, 2011, 05:32:45 PM
“They said in MLS as a defender, it is just down to business,” Cyrus said. “Mash up the play and organize. There isn’t time to always be skillful because most forwards tackle like defenders. There is no easy play. I might not be the biggest defender, but I use my head and ability to read the game well. I’m not really afraid of competition. That is why I came to the league.”

Ah wonder if is Ian Alleyne tell him dat.  Mash dem up! :devil:
Post by: Cocorite on July 22, 2011, 07:11:26 PM
Great to see. Maybe Tallest at Wigan should try to get him a bligh.
Post by: chelsealife on July 22, 2011, 07:42:35 PM
i am so happy about this move. Wow good to see a young person from my village doing well. Marked Demba Ba off the scoresheet :beermug: prem defenders had problems with him last season
Post by: Sam on July 23, 2011, 07:31:29 AM
Love this youth...

Good luck to him.
Post by: Sam on July 26, 2011, 11:00:51 AM
6. How impressive where the dual debutants, J´ferson and Daneil Cyrus?

J´ferson, somewhat surprisingly, went the full 90 picking up an assist. Cyrus entered in the 62nd minute after Collin had to be withdrawn for a back injury and had a giveaway that directly led to a Toronto goal.

J´ferson is the real deal, in my opinion. It's only been a little over 100 minutes, but he has a very keen eye for the game and spatial relationships -- he was constantly looking to thread passes between defenders into space. He also draws attention in the middle, creating space out wide.

Given more time to develop a rapport with the front-line, and I think the Brazilian will be a valuable player in this lineup.

Cyrus had a rockier game, but was impressive in his own right. Even though he's only 20, he's incredibly composed on the ball and on the tackle. He's got ample physical gifts and needs a few seasons to develop the mental tools for the job of a central defender -- like knowing not to chest the ball in front of you about 30 yards from the box facing the wrong way when you're the last man back.

Read more: http://www.kansascity.com/2011/07/26/3037316/the-eleven-asking-questions-about.html#ixzz1TEQ9UtFR
Post by: kicker on July 26, 2011, 11:12:38 AM
love it!

Tallman - what's our total MLS contingent?

Birchall, Cyrus, Daniel,...Is Julius James still out there?  Who else if any?
Post by: Tallman on July 26, 2011, 11:22:14 AM
love it!

Chris Birchall - LA Galaxy
Daneil Cyrus - Sporting Kansas
Keon Daniel - Philadelphia Union
Thorne Holder - Philadelphia Union
Julius James - Columbus Crew
Scott Sealy - San Jose Earthquakes
Post by: FireBrand on July 26, 2011, 01:33:32 PM
love it!

Chris Birchall - LA Galaxy
Daneil Cyrus - Sporting Kansas
Keon Daniel - Philadelphia Union
Thorne Holder - Philadelphia Union
Julius James - Columbus Crew
Scott Sealy - San Jose Earthquakes

Scratch Thorne off the list (for now hopefully).  http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=54310.0 (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=54310.0)
Title: Daneil Cyrus to miss rest of 2011 season
Post by: Tallman on August 09, 2011, 02:03:20 PM
Daneil Cyrus to miss rest of 2011 season
By Kurt Austin (sportingkc.com)

Sporting Kansas City central defender Daneil Cyrus will miss the remainder of the 2011 season after suffering a broken fifth metatarsal in his left foot during the team’s Reserve League match on Monday. The injury, also commonly referred to as a Jones fracture, will require surgery and Cyrus is expected to be out for four months, the club announced Tuesday.

Cyrus, a Trinidad and Tobago international, was signed by Sporting Kansas City in July and made five appearances in all competition, including two MLS matches and the club’s international friendly against Newcastle United FC.

The injury came in the final moments of Sporting Kansas City's 1-0 win over the Colorado Rapids on Monday at the Sporting Club Training Center in Swope Park. Cyrus, who was immediately replaced following the injury, was making his second appearance in the MLS Reserve League, after earning an assist in Sporting Kansas City's 2-1 loss to the Chicago Fire at LIVESTRONG Sporting Park.

(http://www.sportingkc.com/sites/default/files/imagecache/primary_image-620x350/image_nodes/2011/08/Cyrus%20vs%20Rapids%20DL.jpg)
Title: Re: Daneil Cyrus to miss rest of 2011 season
Post by: dwn on August 09, 2011, 02:11:15 PM
I'm sorry to hear this. Hope he recovers quickly.
Post by: royal on August 09, 2011, 02:12:33 PM
oh boy !!!!!
Post by: Tallman on August 09, 2011, 02:42:05 PM
The injury, also commonly referred to as a Jones fracture, will require surgery and Cyrus is expected to be out for four months, the club announced Tuesday.

Ent Rooney had ah similar injury in 2006, and came back after 6 weeks to play in de World Cup against we?
Post by: g on August 09, 2011, 04:00:58 PM
The injury, also commonly referred to as a Jones fracture, will require surgery and Cyrus is expected to be out for four months, the club announced Tuesday.

Ent Rooney had ah similar injury in 2006, and came back after 6 weeks to play in de World Cup against we?

He play real shit tho,

I figure let the thing heal and rehab properly and come back fresh for next season.
Post by: Deeks on August 09, 2011, 04:32:10 PM
Not the thing you want to hear. Here is to a speedy and good recovery. God Bless!!!!
Post by: Storeboy on August 09, 2011, 04:34:19 PM
Oh no! Now we will know what this guy is made of!
Post by: Trini Madness on August 09, 2011, 05:04:07 PM

He play real shit tho,

I figure let the thing heal and rehab properly and come back fresh for next season.

not to mention he was placed in an oxygen chamber to speed the recovery. i hope he recovers and comes back twice as strong.
Post by: Ngozi on August 09, 2011, 11:50:32 PM
damn thats a real bad luck ting .. speedy recovery!!!
Title: Cyrus targets late November for training resumption
Post by: Tallman on September 13, 2011, 06:07:26 AM
Cyrus targets late November for training resumption
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Defender Daneil Cyrus is likely to return to training in late November after suffering a fractured metatarsal in a reserve game for Sporting Kansas in August.

The Tobago-born player underwent surgery and has been ruled out for the rest of the MLS season. But he remains optimistic that he will return to first team football by early next year.

“The recovery is going a bit faster than we thought it would and that’s a good sign but it will take me until the end of November before I can resume any kind of serious training,” Cyrus said on Friday.

Cyrus joined Kansas on loan on July 16th and made his debut against Newcastle United four days later prior to the injury.

“I want to be back as strong as I possibly can. Playing for the first team is my main aim but I know I need to be patient and ensure the recovery takes place. I also want to be fit again in order to have a chance of returning to the national team,” added Cyrus.

He has 13 appearances for T&T and also represented T&T at the 2007 FIFA Under 17 World  Cup and Under 20 World Cup in 2009.
Post by: Madd Ras#13 on September 13, 2011, 06:25:10 AM
Speedy recovery youth, de hardest part will be the early stages when u can't do much on the leg...hope the boredom don't kill you. Best ah luck
Title: Daneil Cyrus back for 2012
Post by: Tallman on December 28, 2011, 03:37:27 PM
Daneil Cyrus back for 2012
thefrontmen.blogspot.com

21 year old defender Daneil Cyrus will be back for the 2012 season. Sporting Kansas City has told me that as of right now, the Trinidad and Tobago international will be reporting to KC along with the rest of the team for the 2012 pre-season.

This was a very fuzzy area for many of the Sporting Kansas City fans seeing as Sporting's press release from July (http://www.sportingkc.com/news/2011/07/sporting-kc-acquires-defender-daneil-cyrus) did not state whether or not Daneil would go back to FC Santa Rosa or stay on with Sporting. A source close to Sporting Kansas City has told me that he will stay.

This does however also contradict FC Santa Rosa's press release that says that the Trinidadian would be back to FCSR at "the end of 2011". But obviously the two clubs have hammered out something.

Keeping Cyrus is a huge boost for SKC due to their lack of depth at the center back position, which as of right now, consists of 2 players. I have not heard if Daneil has been bought from FCSR or if his loan deal has been extended, but I would think it's the latter.

Also, just to humor the FO of Sporting Kansas City, they had originally said Cyrus was 6'3 (http://www.sportingkc.com/news/2011/07/sporting-kc-acquires-defender-daneil-cyrus) but apparently he has shrunk 2 inches (http://www.sportingkc.com/players/daneil-cyrus).
Title: Daneil Cyrus on the up again.
Post by: Flex on March 20, 2012, 03:25:53 AM
Daneil Cyrus on the up again.

Daneil Cyrus is working round the clock to regain full fitness and force his way into the T&T start team for the CONCACAF Olympic qualifiers later this month in Carson, California.

Cyrus was sidelined by injury since last September and only returned to play a few weeks ago.

“I’m getting there. I’m maybe 85 percent there but I’m feeling better every match and I’m focusing on making sure I can contribute to the team’s cause in the competition,” Cyrus said.

“This training camp is helping me to get back to a good level. We’ve been able to train twice daily here and get some good match practice.

“The experience at Sporting Kansas also benefitted me a lot. It was hard work day in and day out. And it showed me that nothing comes easy.

Everything happens for a reason and although the club waived me, I see it as me getting an opportunity to show my worth with the national team in this tournament.

And at the end of the day, while we have some difficult opponents, all of us are training hard and it all comes down to what happens on the day. Everyone is like a family here… we live together and die together,” Cyrus said.

VIDEO - Interview with Daneil Cyrus - T&T training camp in Fort Lauderdale (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=myzHAvk57Y4).

Title: Cyrus: Gold Cup qualification is best Christmas gift.
Post by: Flex on December 27, 2012, 08:54:39 AM
Cyrus: Gold Cup qualification is best Christmas gift.
By Shaun Fuentes.

National senior defender Daneil Cyrus described this country’s qualification for the 2013 Concacaf Gold Cup as the best Christmas present he could have hoped for.

The Tobago-born forward turned defender played in all of T&T’s five matches at the Caribbean Cup Finals in Antigua earlier this month after rejoining the team from his first stint in Vietnam. Cyrus missed the semifinal round in Tobago due to club commitments but fitted right back into the set-up on his return in Antigua.

“It wasn’t difficult fitting back into the team because I’ve played with all the guys before and I knew the system the coaches were using. We didn’t get off to a great start but we got better with every game and I think that was one of the good things about this team in that we stuck together and improved as the tournament went along,” Cyrus said.

Read More (http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/12063-cyrus-gold-cup-qualification-is-best-christmas-gift.html)

Title: Re: Cyrus: Gold Cup qualification is best Christmas gift.
Post by: Fyzoman on December 27, 2012, 06:28:30 PM
Dis fellah rel impress me de few times I see him, he eh falling by de wayside when de foreign-based return.

Forward turned defender, dat explains a lot:)
Title: Daneil Cyrus Thread
Post by: Sam on July 15, 2013, 09:38:11 PM
What a wonderful player.

Title: Re: Daneil Cyrus thread
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on July 15, 2013, 09:40:10 PM
Has the potential to be a very very good player.
Post by: fordy on July 15, 2013, 09:40:36 PM
Him and Jovein Jones played really well.
Post by: palos on July 15, 2013, 09:41:27 PM
What a wonderful player.

Agreed. Plenty potential there with a huge engine as well.

Post by: sammy on July 15, 2013, 09:42:07 PM
added some much needed attack on the wing.
Post by: royal on July 15, 2013, 09:46:25 PM

cosign
Post by: Bally on July 15, 2013, 09:54:06 PM
he have a  litlle mad streak doe
Post by: Bally on July 15, 2013, 09:55:28 PM
Like him he could also play as ahh defensive midfielder
Post by: mal jeux on July 15, 2013, 09:58:02 PM

JJ at times seems to run out of ideas and/or options
Post by: Big Magician on July 15, 2013, 10:00:07 PM
"IF" he have a lil mad streak ???....

Post by: Tenorsaw on July 15, 2013, 10:01:35 PM
Pace to burn on the overlap, with good skill too for a fullback.
Post by: trini_stallion on July 15, 2013, 10:07:50 PM
Anddd he hv a good attitude. ..always smiling!! Looked like he was enjoying the beautiful gamee
Post by: Socapro on July 15, 2013, 10:12:08 PM
Yep, man prove that he deserves his own thread in that game tonight!!  :beermug:
Post by: Banter Banton on July 15, 2013, 10:16:11 PM
love his attitude but he is a liability at times

He is not a right back.. he is not a left back

He can do a job there but If he is to play I like him as a CB.

Very young still so hopefully he can get out the pro league and polish up because he needs to polish and quickly

Do not overrate him yet at all.. he is very very raw still.. great heart and engine but raw as hell

Post by: Nashy on July 15, 2013, 10:17:52 PM
Cyrus has come a very long way as a player and he is a genuine fella and a great team mate.

Over rate him?  stupes. some of you fellas here just like to back talka nd analyse what allyuh dont understand.
Post by: ckhan on July 15, 2013, 10:19:25 PM

cosign

Agreed.  :beermug:
Post by: Banter Banton on July 15, 2013, 10:20:16 PM
Cyrus has come a very long way as a player and he is a genuine fella and a great team mate.

Over rate him?  stupes. some of you fellas here just like to back talka nd analyse what allyuh dont understand.

he definitely has come a long way... but no where near the finished article

All you young guys have to keep your feet planted and grow and learn from the experience.... nobody doubting his talent and heart...

Post by: Gazza on July 16, 2013, 06:17:46 AM
Good game daneil. Played very well. And he is a more than decent dm eh. Not yet quite mature for CB as yet. Just my opinion. That position needs more calmness. Maybe in time to come. But RB or DM. Will put in a good shift all the time
Post by: sjahrain on July 16, 2013, 07:50:51 AM
Played like we had a spine
I could tell the Warriors enjoyed themselves
Now the coach has to keep them motivated,the mission is not over
Abu boy you surprised me..pleasantly
Big up you Mighty Warriors....the journey continues
Post by: royal on July 16, 2013, 07:51:35 AM
fellas I really like his attitude,very refreshing !!!
Title: Cyrus on trial at Genk following Beenhakker’s tip
Post by: Socapro on August 24, 2013, 04:00:18 AM
Cyrus on trial at Genk following Beenhakker’s tip
T&T Guardian Reports

T&T defender Daneil Cyrus is now on trial with Belgium Premier Division club Racing Genk. Cyrus, currently attached to local club W Connection began his trial on Thursday and will be seen by head coach Mario Been.

Cyrus’ national teammate Khaleem Hyland is currently one of the starters and featured players for Genk. The trial followed after recommendation from TTFA Director of Football Leo Beenhakker following Cyrus’ solid showing at the 2013 Concacaf Gold Cup

“I got my visa to travel earlier this week and I’m ready for it. It’s an opportunity like this I’ve wanted and I intend to give it my best shot,” Cyrus said.

Racing Genk plays in the Belgian Pro League and they have won 3 Belgian champion titles in 1998–99, in 2001–02 and in 2010–11 as well as 4 Belgian Cups, most recently in 2008–09 and in 2012–13. In 2012 Genk made a profit of 28 million euro after participating in the Champions League group stage, and the Sales of players like Thibaut Courtois and Kevin De Bruyne to Chelsea FC.

Title: Re: Cyrus on trial at Genk following Beenhakker’s tip
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on August 24, 2013, 04:38:30 AM
Awesome news. Prayin fuh DC to make it, da boy need to be outside showcasing his talents for all of Europe to see. If he get in I hope he gets some run in their Europa League fixtures.
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 24, 2013, 05:38:05 AM
Good stuff. Hope something work out.
Post by: trini_stallion on August 24, 2013, 06:31:57 AM
This is great news...I hope he get thru
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 24, 2013, 07:30:05 AM
Great new for Cyrus. One thing about him he needs to address that I saw in the GC is his apparent casualness in possession at the back when pressed, maybe it's just confidence, don't recall him losing possession but if he did the counter could be deadly. As BM would say play the football  :beermug:
Post by: futbolfan on August 24, 2013, 08:31:39 AM
Great news and good luck!

On a side note, these are some of the benefits you receive when working with a national coach/manager who has some pedigree and is well respected in Europe.

The trial followed after recommendation from TTFA Director of Football Leo Beenhakker following Cyrus’ solid showing at the 2013 Concacaf Gold Cup
Post by: ZANDOLIE on August 24, 2013, 08:46:15 AM
good stuff, hope you make it.
Post by: Deeks on August 24, 2013, 10:27:31 AM
There is a downside though. It will be difficult for TTFa to get for some internationals. Remember the Hyland issue.
Post by: OutsideMan on August 24, 2013, 10:34:40 AM
Beat of luck to Cyrus.  Hope he gets signed.   :beermug:
Post by: fitzinho on August 24, 2013, 11:48:23 AM
Beat of luck to Cyrus.  Hope he gets signed.   :beermug:
We don't know the details of that situation
Post by: dreamer on August 24, 2013, 11:58:40 AM
Well done Cyrus. You're the real deal in defense. Put your best foot forward at Genk and they won't be able to refuse snatching you up. Good job Beenie for putting in the recommendation. Thanks to W Connection for giving him this opportunity and I hope you get a nice juicy transfer fee too.
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2013, 01:58:27 PM
he is one of the defenders that really impressed me at the gold cup... :beermug:
Post by: Peong on August 24, 2013, 05:11:43 PM
There is a downside though. It will be difficult for TTFa to get for some internationals. Remember the Hyland issue.

That was really a TTFA management staff issue, they didn't request him in time.  Or so I gathered.

Good luck to Cyrus!
Post by: sammy on August 24, 2013, 09:33:29 PM
good luck DC. U deserve to be constantly playing on a bigger stage
Post by: dreamer on August 25, 2013, 08:28:52 AM
Flashback: http://ttffonline.com/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1276&Itemid=27
for those who forgot some interesting details about this promising player
Genk, if y'all snooping on this message board and reading this, take note of the pedigree.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 25, 2013, 08:47:48 AM
Thanks, dreamer. Well done, Cyrus! Handle yuh stories.
Post by: breezers on August 25, 2013, 09:36:38 AM
All d best youngster!
Post by: dreamer on August 25, 2013, 06:51:04 PM
http://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/en/daneil-cyrus/leistungsdaten-vereindetail/spieler_122357.html
Post by: E-man on May 23, 2014, 06:20:15 PM
Ha Noi T&T sign up Trinidad and Tobago footballer
vietnamnet.vn

VietNamNet Bridge - Ha Noi T&T have signed a one-and-a-half year contract with Cyrus Daneil, a footballer from Trinidad and Tobago (TT).

He will play as a defender for the V-League side Ha Noi T&T, on loan from W Connection who have won the TT Pro League, Super League and the National Cup.

"We are very glad to recruit this 23-year-old player," said Nguyen Quoc Hoi, chairman of Ha Noi T&T.

Daneil used to play for the Kansas City Club in the Major League Soccer in 2012 and had been summoned to TT's U17 and U20 teams to take part in the U17 world event in 2007 and the U20 event in 2009.
According to Hoi, Daneil's salary is US$6,000 per month.

At present, Ha Noi T&T have three foreign players, the other two being Hughtun Hector who is also from TT and Gonzalo Damian Marronkle from Argentina.

"Domestic players play very well. With the combination of domestic and foreign players, we hope that our club will defend its title during this year's football season," said Hoi.

Source: VNS

(http://img.cdn2.vietnamnet.vn/Images/english/2014/05/21/16/20140521165341-sport3.jpg)
Ha Noi T&T have signed a one-and-a-half year contract with Cyrus Daneil, a footballer from Trinidad and Tobago (TT). — Photo thanhnien
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 24, 2014, 12:22:29 PM
US 6000 a month .. !!!!
Post by: chelsealife on May 24, 2014, 12:32:46 PM
US 6000 a month .. !!!!
Too much? or too little?
Post by: Tallman on August 11, 2014, 06:29:02 AM
WATCH Daneil Cyrus score his debut goal for Hà Nội T&T in a 5-2 win over Thanh Hóa.

https://www.youtube.com/v/29zP-a_r08Y?start=73
Post by: Tallman on April 29, 2015, 06:56:07 AM
WATCH Daneil Cyrus display his midfield prowess as he assists on Hanoi T&T’s first three goals in their 4-3 win over Hoang Anh Gia Lai. Pay attention to the second goal as he weaves his way through two defenders before providing a pinpoint cross.

https://www.youtube.com/v/On10YKkG6-8
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 29, 2015, 01:36:56 PM
WATCH Daneil Cyrus display his midfield prowess as he assists on Hanoi T&T’s first three goals in their 4-3 win over Hoang Anh Gia Lai. Pay attention to the second goal as he weaves his way through two defenders before providing a pinpoint cross.

https://www.youtube.com/v/On10YKkG6-8

this guy should have been in a  top league in europe ... so depressing look at him playing here
Post by: trini_stallion on April 29, 2015, 06:23:07 PM
I was thinking the same thing...why does this happen to alot of our talent? Poor managers?
Post by: asylumseeker on July 12, 2015, 07:13:26 PM
Cyrus, good shift, baller. Love the composure on the ball. The road ahead won't have every day like today. Stay focused, hungry and humble. :thumbsup:
Post by: Storeboy on July 12, 2015, 07:27:31 PM
With a good Gold Cup he will get there. The biggest problem for our players is that we play so few International Friendlies that big clubs have a hard time really seeing the talent much less appropriately assessing it. Our football body needs to et its act together.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 15, 2015, 09:55:15 PM
Imagine! All of this happened versus Mexico without Cyrus.
Post by: Controversial on July 15, 2015, 10:57:23 PM
Imagine! All of this happened versus Mexico without Cyrus.

Was now thinking that... Hart wants him rested for Panama... I believe our defence would have been solid if bakr and Cyrus played, but we need to blood other players..
Title: Cyrus sorry for penalty miss.
Post by: Flex on July 21, 2015, 02:09:27 AM
Cyrus sorry for penalty miss.
T&T Newsday Reports.

LONG AFTER Panama’s Jaime Penedo saved Lester Peltier’s spot kick to win the shootout following Sunday’s 1-1 draw, the Trinidad and Tobago players and technical staff were still struggling to get over the disappointment of elimination from the Gold Cup at the quarter-final stage. While expressing regret, many of the key TT figures at the Met Life stadium in New Jersey also chose to look ahead.

Defender Daneil Cyrus apologised to his teammates and the country for missing a kick that would have taken them into the semi-finals. During the “sudden death” stage of the shootout, Marvin Phillip made a vital save to put TT in the driver’s seat, but Cyrus blasted the next kick over bar, thus bringing Panama back into it.

“I am sorry. I want to apologise to the nation and my team for that miss,” the tall Vietnam-based defender said. “I hope we made the country proud and that they can now support us when the next campaign starts for us. This whole experience was a really good one for us.

It brought us closer as a team and it made us believe more in our ability. It took a lot out of us but we have a lot to take from it. The entire team gave a lot of effort and was dedicated throughout. We would have liked to go all the way but we still can hold ourselves up and move on from here,” Cyrus ended.

Even in defeat, the Soca Warriors earned rave reviews in the international media, and news from the CONCACAF suggested there was a “strong likelihood” TT could move on to the 2016 Copa America Centenario — the South American championship which includes six CONCACAF teams.

Meanwhile, TT skipper Kenwyne Jones, though disappointed, said there was every reason for optimism. “It’s an ironic feeling really, because we lost on penalties in the Caribbean Cup,” said the Cardiff City striker. “And tonight I thought we had this one, but it wasn’t to be. But I think we have a lot to take from this as a team going forward.

“I want to thank the staff and the players for every bit of effort during this tournament. We got closer with every day, every session and every match that passed and this augurs very well for us going into the World Cup qualification.

“My hope and the hope of everyone in the team is that we can get the right preparations for the future. All along, we have been told that we needed to perform, and hopefully we would have done something now to warrant the kind of support that we deserve. If not, then we would be going back to square one and that is what makes the difference with the other countries moving ahead of us,” Jones concluded.

National coach Stephen Hart commended his players for the effort, saying he felt fatigue was a factor in their performance Sunday.

“I think at the end of the day the two days extra rest for Panama showed,” he reflected. “We were completely exhausted. But I have to give credit to my players. They gave me everything. I extracted every drop of juice out of that orange. But penalties are a cruel way to decide a game, but it’s how the game ends.

“I think fatigue was a big factor. We could not get up and down the field as a unit like we did against Mexico, and as the game went further and further forward, we just couldn’t keep possession of the ball. We ran out of legs,” Hart added, saying it was a different proposition kicking penalties in front of thousands, as compared to doing so in the quiet of practice. “Yesterday (Saturday) nobody missed (in practice) and today we had three chances to take it, and we missed.

“A lot of what we have to work on comes with experience and playing matches. A tournament like this would have done a lot for our young players, and hopefully with the right preparation, we can continue to grow and improve as a team,” Hart concluded.

Fourteen members of the squad were scheduled to arrive at Piarco International Airport at 9.00 pm yesterday.

Title: Re: Cyrus sorry for penalty miss.
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 07:47:07 AM
Cyrus sorry for penalty miss.
T&T Newsday Reports.

LONG AFTER Panama’s Jaime Penedo saved Lester Peltier’s spot kick to win the shootout following Sunday’s 1-1 draw, the Trinidad and Tobago players and technical staff were still struggling to get over the disappointment of elimination from the Gold Cup at the quarter-final stage. While expressing regret, many of the key TT figures at the Met Life stadium in New Jersey also chose to look ahead.

Defender Daneil Cyrus apologised to his teammates and the country for missing a kick that would have taken them into the semi-finals. During the “sudden death” stage of the shootout, Marvin Phillip made a vital save to put TT in the driver’s seat, but Cyrus blasted the next kick over bar, thus bringing Panama back into it.

“I am sorry. I want to apologise to the nation and my team for that miss,” the tall Vietnam-based defender said. “I hope we made the country proud and that they can now support us when the next campaign starts for us. This whole experience was a really good one for us.

It brought us closer as a team and it made us believe more in our ability. It took a lot out of us but we have a lot to take from it. The entire team gave a lot of effort and was dedicated throughout. We would have liked to go all the way but we still can hold ourselves up and move on from here,” Cyrus ended.

Even in defeat, the Soca Warriors earned rave reviews in the international media, and news from the CONCACAF suggested there was a “strong likelihood” TT could move on to the 2016 Copa America Centenario — the South American championship which includes six CONCACAF teams.

Meanwhile, TT skipper Kenwyne Jones, though disappointed, said there was every reason for optimism. “It’s an ironic feeling really, because we lost on penalties in the Caribbean Cup,” said the Cardiff City striker. “And tonight I thought we had this one, but it wasn’t to be. But I think we have a lot to take from this as a team going forward.

“I want to thank the staff and the players for every bit of effort during this tournament. We got closer with every day, every session and every match that passed and this augurs very well for us going into the World Cup qualification.

“My hope and the hope of everyone in the team is that we can get the right preparations for the future. All along, we have been told that we needed to perform, and hopefully we would have done something now to warrant the kind of support that we deserve. If not, then we would be going back to square one and that is what makes the difference with the other countries moving ahead of us,” Jones concluded.

National coach Stephen Hart commended his players for the effort, saying he felt fatigue was a factor in their performance Sunday.

“I think at the end of the day the two days extra rest for Panama showed,” he reflected. “We were completely exhausted. But I have to give credit to my players. They gave me everything. I extracted every drop of juice out of that orange. But penalties are a cruel way to decide a game, but it’s how the game ends.

“I think fatigue was a big factor. We could not get up and down the field as a unit like we did against Mexico, and as the game went further and further forward, we just couldn’t keep possession of the ball. We ran out of legs,” Hart added, saying it was a different proposition kicking penalties in front of thousands, as compared to doing so in the quiet of practice. “Yesterday (Saturday) nobody missed (in practice) and today we had three chances to take it, and we missed.

“A lot of what we have to work on comes with experience and playing matches. A tournament like this would have done a lot for our young players, and hopefully with the right preparation, we can continue to grow and improve as a team,” Hart concluded.

Fourteen members of the squad were scheduled to arrive at Piarco International Airport at 9.00 pm yesterday.

I always supported you Cyrus, from day one when you first played national football, you're forgiven but don't make that mistake again, learn from it and do better next time...
Post by: soccerman on July 21, 2015, 07:51:48 AM
What was the issue when it was Cryus turn to kick? Did we try to replace his order and couldn't?
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 07:53:35 AM
What was the issue when it was Cryus turn to kick? Did we try to replace his order and couldn't?

I believe so.. Bouchard wanted it I think but the ref wouldn't allow it... But nonetheless, Cyrus has to convert, mentally he needs to be ready
Post by: Cowen on July 21, 2015, 07:56:54 AM
I believe Cyrus' name was next on the list to kick. they tried to change it but the ref said "list is final".

Guessing they didnt think it would go to a sudden death so there wasnt much forward thinking in terms of order.

Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 07:59:39 AM
I believe Cyrus' name was next on the list to kick. they tried to change it but the ref said "list is final".

Guessing they didnt think it would go to a sudden death so there wasnt much forward thinking in terms of order.

Williams is another defender that should apologize as well for missing... Had he scored we would have been in a better position prior to Cyrus
Post by: Cowen on July 21, 2015, 08:11:15 AM

Williams is another defender that should apologize as well for missing... Had he scored we would have been in a better position prior to Cyrus

I dont think its a situation where men need to apologise.......a penalty is the hardest and yet easiest thing in football. Nerves will always play a factor...even for some of the greatest. (Baggio).

IMO the order of kicks was the problem no so much the kickers.

Post by: Sando prince on July 21, 2015, 08:18:06 AM
Good he apologized. He understand what was at stake. I will not just blame him because before the game even reached penalties T&T was OUTPLAYED. The team as a collective did not play well on the day they should have given their best performance.
Post by: Tallman on July 21, 2015, 08:29:17 AM

Yuh getting tie up. Williams converted his penalty kick, it was Bateau who had his shot saved.
Post by: royal on July 21, 2015, 08:50:32 AM
Cyrus was so roast in dat game it was the first time ah see him play without a smile on his face
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 21, 2015, 08:55:39 AM
I doh need no apology from my Warriors.  If Messi could miss (fail to convert) penalties and life goes on, then this too shall pass!
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 08:56:59 AM

Yuh getting tie up. Williams converted his penalty kick, it was Bateau who had his shot saved.

My bad, thank you tallman...
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 08:57:54 AM
I doh need no apology from my Warriors.  If Messi could miss (fail to convert) penalties and life goes on, then this too shall pass!

Okay Ramses.. So shall it be written, so shall it be done..  :D
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 21, 2015, 09:02:11 AM

Okay Ramses.. So shall it be written, so shall it be done..  :D
You relly is ah clong in troot yuh kno lol :rotfl:
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 21, 2015, 09:18:16 AM
Nothing wrong with criticism, but allyuh going on like some spoil child. You already get much more food than anybody expected and instead of expressing thanks for de bounty, all allyuh could talk about is no ice cream.

That is not criticism. That is bare ungratefulness.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 21, 2015, 09:22:49 AM
^ :beermug:
Post by: Controversial on July 21, 2015, 09:23:28 AM
Nothing wrong with criticism, but allyuh going on like some spoil child. You already get much more food than anybody expected and instead of expressing thanks for de bounty, all allyuh could talk about is no ice cream.

How you go rob a big hard back man of dessert just so?
Post by: sjahrain on July 21, 2015, 09:51:59 AM
Jokes.... :devil:
But all of that was just the appetizer,main course yet to served
Post by: pull stones on July 21, 2015, 03:56:12 PM

that referee and his assistants were against our team from the beginning and gave some questionable call to panama, and it was the referee who unsettled cyrus when he walked up to kick the penalty he send him back to the huddle only to have him come back again after an argument with our players, i believe if the ref didn't unsettle cyrus we would be in the semi finals. those hispanic referees should not officiate when there's a hispanic team in action. that is why you don't see a whole lot of hispanic referees officiating world cup games.
Post by: AB.Trini on July 21, 2015, 06:20:10 PM
This may have been a crucial miss but youknow what - there were other players who had an opportunity to make a difference- supposed all our kickers had made their shots? Then one man does not have to beascapegoat! Say what- I could see the surprised lookouts ma face when his number was called - I want to lay claim that thi layer onthe future would not make this mistake again . I believe that this game , may not be the result we all wanted but may just be the game that would change the approach for each player,coach and hopefully - administrators.
We showed a resiliency, a potential to score and a ho.ding defence like never before . So Mr. Cyrus can't cry over spilled milk-
TTFA and MOS should apologies for the adverse conditions our players and coach have to deal with i additional having to face this level of adversity.

If that nonsense could be off our players minds then think of the what can be achieved when a player does not have to deal with how he go feed he fami.y or make ah living while taking personal time and risk of professional career to represent TnT.

Post by: Tiresais on July 22, 2015, 12:40:43 AM
No need to apologise for that - it's part of the game. Next time he'll be stronger.
Post by: maxg on July 22, 2015, 10:21:39 AM

that referee and his assistants were against our team from the beginning and gave some questionable call to panama, and it was the referee who unsettled cyrus when he walked up to kick the penalty he send him back to the huddle only to have him come back again after an argument with our players, i believe if the ref didn't unsettle cyrus we would be in the semi finals. those hispanic referees should not officiate when there's a hispanic team in action. that is why you don't see a whole lot of hispanic referees officiating world cup games.

Don't know what went down.. but if a list is made, then during the kicks the man get so cramp he can't kick right then..medical staff called...the rules state, NOBODY else can kick until that man can be revived and kick? It kinda don't make sense..or is it, was somebody else to kick, but Cyus wanted to go instead ? to which I would have said noooo..but then again, if he was the best taker in practice, I mighta have to say yes, go an buss the net man. Well, good effort regardless, cyah love yuh less..but miss yuh overlap doh
Post by: weary1969 on July 22, 2015, 10:35:30 AM

CO-SIGN
Post by: weary1969 on July 22, 2015, 10:35:53 AM
No need to apologise for that - it's part of the game. Next time he'll be stronger.

COSIGNNNNN
Post by: weary1969 on July 22, 2015, 10:36:17 AM

C0-SIGNNNNN
Post by: Peong on July 22, 2015, 12:49:06 PM
It's a team sport, there's no one scapegoat.  Collectively, they just have to know they can do better, and doing better collectively starts with each player handling their own business.
Three men missed penalties but before that happened defenders gave up a goal and many other chances that could have scored, Cummings acted like he had all the time in the world in the box.  Plus the less direct incidents; what if players had made better passes in the attacking third, or made a better run, or made a better tackle.
There's no player who can say they played a perfect game and therefore should not shoulder blame.

The analogy with a hungry child getting food and wanting dessert doh resonate with me.

Title: Chicago Fire acquire defender Daneil Cyrus
Post by: Tallman on August 06, 2015, 02:51:28 PM
Chicago Fire acquire defender Daneil Cyrus
Chicago Fire Communications

The Chicago Fire announced Thursday that the club has acquired defender Daneil Cyrus on loan from TT Pro League side W Connection. Per MLS and team policy, terms of the deal were not disclosed. In the most recent Gold Cup, Cyrus started three matches for Trinidad and Tobago, helping his side top Group C with a 2-0-1 record before falling in penalties to Panama in the quarterfinal round. Cyrus will be added to the Fire’s roster upon receipt of his ITC and P1 visa.

“Daneil is a player we’ve been monitoring for a while,” said Chicago Fire Head Coach and Director of Soccer Frank Yallop. “He trained with us earlier in the year and had a number of impressive performances in the recent Gold Cup, so we’re pleased to add him to our side to shore up our defensive line as we head into the second half of the season.”

A Trinidad and Tobago youth international, Cyrus represented the Soca Warriors in the 2007 FIFA U-17 World Cup in Korea and the 2009 FIFA U-20 World Cup in Egypt. The Plymouth, Trinidad and Tobago native made his senior debut against Chile in May 2010 and has since earned 42 caps and took part in the 2013 and 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cups and the 2010, 2012 and 2014 Caribbean Cups.

Cyrus began his professional career with FC Santa Rosa in 2010 before joining Sporting Kansas City on loan on July 16, 2011. Cyrus made his MLS debut in a 4-2 win over Toronto FC on July 23, 2011. Cyrus made two appearances for Sporting KC before suffering a broken fifth metatarsal in a Reserve League match on Aug. 8, 2011.

On July 5, 2012, Cyrus signed with TT Pro League side W Connection, teaming up with current Fire defender Joevin Jones with the Savonetta Boys. In 2012, W Connection finished second in the CFU Club Championships, qualifying for the 2012-13 CONCACAF Champions League. In 2013, Cyrus helped W Connection to their fifth Pro League title.

Cyrus joined Vietnam V-League side Hanoi TT on loan on May 15, 2014 where he scored one goal in 26 appearances across all competitions, helping Hanoi finish second in the V-League in 2014.

Full Name:         Daneil Nicholas Cyrus
Position:            Defender
Height:               6’3”
Weight:              170 lbs.
Birthday:            Dec. 15, 1990
Place of Birth:   Plymouth, Tobago
Citizenship:       Trinidad & Tobago
Acquired:           On loan from W Connection on Aug. 6, 2015
Title: Re: Chicago Fire acquire defender Daneil Cyrus
Post by: dreamer on August 06, 2015, 03:09:22 PM
Wow!!
It don't get better than that. Congrats Cyrus.
They saw class like we did and could not refuse.
Post by: Sam on August 06, 2015, 03:14:48 PM
Glad for him.

This is the benefits of playing for your national team.

Hope others take note and doh only study de penny.

It does pay off in de long run.

Post by: palos on August 06, 2015, 03:18:58 PM
Congrats and best of luck to Cyrus!  Now put them in a position where they cannot help but give you a full time contract.

Post by: Deeks on August 06, 2015, 03:25:07 PM
Nice one, Cyrus. Good luck.
Post by: Sando prince on August 06, 2015, 03:47:39 PM

Congrats Mr Cyrus  :beermug:

Go to Chicago and improve and develop your skill and give your best for your club. When your country T&T call upon you again for your service you will be ready and even better player than you are today
Post by: Banter Banton on August 06, 2015, 05:00:42 PM
Brilliant. Would be great to see the likes of Cummings, Guerra and at least one of Jan or Marvin get out of here into the MLS as well.
Post by: davyjenny1 on August 06, 2015, 05:57:11 PM
It was just a matter of time. He played in two GC tournaments and showed what he is made of.
Post by: weary1969 on August 06, 2015, 06:20:13 PM
 :beermug: great news instead of the pissing competition with Tim Key and Sanko.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 06, 2015, 07:23:03 PM
Congrats to Chicago! :)
Post by: ckhan on August 06, 2015, 08:41:01 PM
Congrats Mr. Cyrus!
Post by: Controversial on August 06, 2015, 09:05:41 PM
Happy for him... He's destined to be a world class defender..
Post by: soccerman on August 06, 2015, 09:12:16 PM
Congrats Cyrus, you deserve it.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on August 06, 2015, 09:32:24 PM
 :applause:  :applause: :applause: FANTASTIC news. Go and show them what you can do. Thank God for Lincoln Phillips vision of investing in proper youth development.  If I remember correctly Phillips idea of entering the 2006 U-15 team in the Dallas Cup was the genesis of that generation's back to back WC appearances. Now its paying dividends. I can't ever remember a time when we had this kind of quality and depth of defensive options.
Post by: vb on August 07, 2015, 01:59:03 AM
Great for Cyrus. Inevitable really.
Post by: Jack Horner on August 07, 2015, 07:38:59 AM
Another Joe Public product.

Post by: Tenorsaw on August 07, 2015, 08:28:26 AM
My favorite national team full back.  Great on the overlap!
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on August 07, 2015, 10:16:50 AM
Great move for him, hopefully being in a truly professional environment will help him in the same way it helped Joevin. Chicago is at the bottom of the table and has former Jamaican international Lovel Palmer starting at RB, and a CM playing CB so there should be many opportunities for him to play.
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 07, 2015, 07:16:59 PM
Good move for his career. I knew this kid was special after seeing him play center back in the CFU final against Jamaica.

Cummings could be next.
Post by: Flex on August 13, 2015, 02:16:13 AM
Cyrus eager to join Chicago Fire.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

National senior defender Daneil Cyrus is awaiting a work permit before jetting off to join American MLS club Chicago Fire on loan.

The former Vietnam-based player is still at home after completing the move to Fire where he will team up with countryman Joevin Jones.

“I’m just waiting on the work permit and then I will be off to Chicago,” Cyrus said.

“I think it’s a great move for me especially right after the Gold Cup. I know I need to play playing regularly and keeping fit. I think the level of the MLS will be good for me. And there’s nothing better at this time than linking up with my brother Joevin at the same club. I think this will help both of us for the period coming up with the national team.”

Cyrus said he has gotten over the pain from the defeat to Panama at the CONCACAF Gold Cup quarterfinals.

Title: Cyrus still not in Chicago
Post by: Tallman on August 25, 2015, 08:39:48 PM
Cyrus still not in Chicago

The Fire acquired defender Daneil Cyrus on loan just before the close of the transfer window but he has yet to join his new teammates. Cyrus is still in Trinidad & Tobago awaiting clearance on paperwork. "You've got to file for the work permit, you've got to give them your passport, and then you've got wait for it to come back," Yallop explained regarding the delay. "They said fours days, and it's day three (Monday). We're expecting it either today or tomorrow but the problem is he's getting called up by Trinidad as well, so the timing is not perfect. But again, we sign players to hopefully keep them as long as we can but its up to him to play well and do okay here and move forward from there. We expect him in camp after the Trinidad international games."

http://www.chicagonow.com/fire-confidential/2015/08/fire-notebook-transfers-injuries-and-blackouts/
Post by: royal on September 09, 2015, 04:42:13 PM
Cyrus finally hook up with Chicago Fire today

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/COfmz2JWEAEaZQz.jpg)
Post by: bingie man on September 09, 2015, 04:45:56 PM
 :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Tallman on September 09, 2015, 05:08:08 PM
Cyrus finally hook up with Chicago Fire today

Actually he's been there training since at least Monday.
Title: New Chicago Fire defender Daneil Cyrus ready to make his mark
Post by: Tallman on September 09, 2015, 07:52:50 PM
New Chicago Fire defender Daneil Cyrus ready to make his mark
By Danny Michallik (CSN Chicago)

It’s been quite the whirlwind month for the Fire’s newest signing.

After enjoying a training stint with the club prior to this summer’s CONCACAF Gold Cup and having been closely monitored by head coach Frank Yallop and the technical staff throughout the tournament, Daneil Cyrus sealed a loan move from TT Pro League side W Connection to the Fire on the last day of the MLS secondary transfer window.

Since then, the Trinidad and Tobago international has spent the better part of the last four weeks in paperwork limbo. Despite acquiring his International Transfer Certificate on Aug. 12, the 24-year-old was forced to remain in his native country to await the receipt of his P1 visa. Upon receiving his passport, his entry into the Fire fold was halted yet again after being summoned by Stephen Hart to face Mexico in an international friendly on Sept 4. in Sandy, Utah, a 3-3 draw in which Cyrus featured 90 minutes.

“JJ [Joevin Jones] and the guys wanted to know if my loan deal was for next year,” said Cyrus, who communicated his frustration with the long-drawn-out process to reporters on Wednesday.

You couldn’t blame his teammates' inquisition.

In the time between the announcement of Cyrus’ purchase on Aug. 6 and Monday – his first official day of training with the club – the Men in Red played seven games, bowing out of the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup and taking just five points from 18 available. Although he’s only had a few days to get his bearings, the Trinidadian leaves no doubt as to which area of the field he would prefer to ply his trade in should his services be required heading into the final stretch of the season.   

“Anywhere the coach would want me to play, I will play, but I prefer playing center back,” Cyrus added, “because of my vision to see the field, but as well as right back. My strength is my speed, so I don’t mind playing right back as well.”

Whether Cyrus impresses enough to guarantee a spot in Yallop’s starting lineup for Friday night's clash with New York Red Bulls (6 p.m. CT; UniMás) remains to be seen. What is certain, however, is that at 6-foot-4, his stature alone will supply the back line with a different, and perhaps more imposing presence.

“It’s nice to add a player,” Yallop said via Monday via teleconference. “It took a while with the permit and all the red tape and paperwork we had to get through and waiting. It’s been kind of frustrating, but he’s here now. He’s a young international player who’s done well for his country, and we’re trying to integrate him into MLS once we get him training with us and get him playing games. I expect him to see the field for sure. I don’t know exactly when. We just have to make sure he’s up to speed on everything, but there’s no time like now, because we need to get a result Friday.”

For now, Cyrus is hoping to take the experience gained from his brief spell with Sporting Kansas City on loan in the summer of 2011, and fine-tune his game to adapt to the physical demands of the league to make for a better adjustment in the Windy City.

“Of course it’s a conversation that I had," Cyrus said when asked if he'd held talks with the coaching staff about extending his stay with the club beyond 2015. "The environment is nice, Chicago is a very lovely place, the team is a very big team in the league over the years,” he said. “I don’t mind making a permanent move.”
Post by: gawd on pitch on September 09, 2015, 08:11:38 PM
His size and ability to play both CB and RB makes him a valuable player for any coach/team.

Watch how this MLS experience turns him into a BOSS player.
Post by: Cocorite on September 09, 2015, 10:46:56 PM
His size and ability to play both CB and RB makes him a valuable player for any coach/team.

Watch how this MLS experience turns him into a BOSS player.

I sure hope so. . . He's a decent player. But something about his play (focus?) needs  to sure-up!
Post by: noize on September 11, 2015, 04:19:25 PM
Cyrus looks like he's on the starting 11 tonight
Post by: asylumseeker on September 11, 2015, 05:26:18 PM
Important game for the club. Success breeds success.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 11, 2015, 05:36:19 PM
What a raaas goal!!!
Post by: Deeks on September 11, 2015, 07:01:38 PM
Chicago lost 3-2. The Trini were not spectacular, but we're good.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 11, 2015, 08:13:06 PM
Chicago lost 3-2. The Trini were not spectacular, but we're good.

True, but this! (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v8EJvlHhH74) was spectacular.
Post by: Flex on September 17, 2015, 02:33:29 AM
Cyrus finally gets his Chicago start.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

National defender Daneil Cyrus made his starting debut for Chicago Fire in a 3-2 loss to New York Red Bulls in American MLS action on Friday night.

Having waited just under a month due to a work permit delay, Cyrus put on a solid showing, playing the entire match and also receiving a 74th minute booking. T&T midfielder Joevin Jones also played the full match.

Fire coach Frank Yallop said he was looking forward to having Cyrus in his team on a regular basis

“Absolutely, we signed them to play them,” Yallop told reporters this week when asked if he sees teammate Ty Harden and Cyrus seeing much game time in the final seven games.

“Ty has been unlucky with his hamstring injury but he looks 100 percent now, and Cyrus is another kid that had a good Gold Cup. He’s been training but not 100 percent with his [international] squad, he just played a game and did OK in the game,” Yallop said. “They’re going to come into it and be featured, whether it’s Friday or moving forward, but we’ll figure out what’s good for them.”

Cyrus said he was keen to play as much as possible before the season ends.

“It was a bit frustrating not being able to play because of the work permit but I think I did okay in my first match.

I’ve been in the MLS before but now it’s a new environment.

I’ve been to Chicago before because I was here with the national team for the Gold Cup and it’s great being here with Joevin (Jones) who I consider to be a brother.

Hopefully we can both stay injury free and help the team finish the season on a high note,” Cyrus said.

Both Jones and Cyrus are expected to be back in the national team for the October 8 friendly away to Panama and then for the 2018 World Cup qualifier against Guatemala in Guatemala City on November 13 and United States in Port of Spain on November 17.

Post by: Tallman on September 23, 2015, 05:59:54 AM
The MLS Disciplinary Committee has fined Chicago Fire defender Daneil Cyrus an undisclosed amount for violating the League's policy regarding Hands to the Face/Head/Neck of an Opponent in the 56th minute of Chicago's match versus Orlando City SC on September 19, 2015.
http://www.mlssoccer.com/video/2015/09/22/daneil-cyrus-incident-vs-orlando-city-sc-disciplinary-committee-decision
Post by: lefty on September 23, 2015, 06:48:40 AM
The MLS Disciplinary Committee has fined Chicago Fire defender Daneil Cyrus an undisclosed amount for violating the League's policy regarding Hands to the Face/Head/Neck of an Opponent in the 56th minute of Chicago's match versus Orlando City SC on September 19, 2015.
http://www.mlssoccer.com/video/2015/09/22/daneil-cyrus-incident-vs-orlando-city-sc-disciplinary-committee-decision
link fixed
Post by: soccerman on September 23, 2015, 10:21:32 AM
link fixed
The true Trini came out in him there :devil:
Post by: vb on September 23, 2015, 04:56:07 PM
The man pick up for he small padnah, dat is all.

That is what he get disciplined for??
Post by: maxg on September 23, 2015, 06:54:33 PM
The man pick up for he small padnah, dat is all.

That is what he get disciplined for??
so if he did just pelt a drop kick on the man chest..no face, head or neck..no fine ?  :devil:
Post by: ribbit on September 26, 2015, 12:40:38 PM
Lawd, Cyrus getting abuse by Giovinco.
Post by: ribbit on September 26, 2015, 06:00:00 PM
Lawd, Cyrus getting abuse by Giovinco.

Twice in the first half Daneil get back down to the touch line by Giovinco who is much smaller. Both times he give up the corner kick. Second time, Giovinco turn CK into a tying goal.

Some technical deficiencies unfortunately. Bradley round Daneil to score another tying goal in the second half. Daneil somehow lose Altidore on a FK l letting him grab the game-winner. Bad game. Chicago D need some work.
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 26, 2015, 06:28:22 PM
See that is the result of going  to vietnam and playing  a low standard..he has to adjust
Title: No place like home for Trinidad and Tobago’s Cyrus
Post by: Tallman on November 16, 2015, 04:57:55 PM
No place like home for Trinidad and Tobago’s Cyrus
FIFA.com

“It’s never easy playing away,” Trinidad and Tobago’s young Daneil Cyrus told FIFA.com, reflecting on their 2-1 win in Guatemala that kick-started 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ qualifying for the Soca Warriors. “The fans were so noisy and they got on us from the first minute. We didn’t have much of the ball and we had to defend most of the game.”

The versatile right-back, still just 24, is talking about the complexities of playing away, something all footballers know. But Cyrus might well be talking about his own fledgling career. The speedster, who can be regularly seen barrelling down the wing on the overlap and swinging in crosses, has had his troubles settling anywhere very long. He’s had a tough time finding a place to call home.

He began on his native island Tobago, the smaller of the two, before a move to Sporting Kansas City in USA’s Major League Soccer. But he was on his way out after only a few months, having played just two games. And after arriving back home, he was soon packing his bags again – this time for a more exotic destination than Missouri. The Vietnamese Premier League was calling.

Long road to Hanoi
“It happened really, really fast,” Cyrus chuckled, explaining how he ended up in Hanoi. “The money was good so I couldn’t say no,” he said, reflecting the tough decisions and hard facts of a life in football outside the spotlight. “The players were smaller over there, so I was able to push a few guys around,” he added with a smile. Cyrus measures in at well over six foot and, though lean, he’s quite sturdy.

After a sparkling display in this summer’s CONCACAF Gold Cup, Cyrus returned to MLS and a loan deal with Chicago Fire. But even that move wasn’t smooth. Work permit woes and visa red tape delayed his debut, and he only made six appearances in 2015.

It is with the national team where Cyrus has found a real home, true continuity and community. He is part of a core of young players, like Sheldon Bateau, Aubrey David, Mekeil Williams, Kevin Molino and Khaleem Hyland, that came through the youth ranks together. This young crop is the beating heart of a Trinidad and Tobago side that many are comparing to the greats of years past.

Up next is a date with USA at home. “The US game will be quite interesting,” Cyrus said, admitting to a personal desire to show high-paid MLS stars like Michael Bradley and Jozy Altidore what he can do. “They usually have the edge on us, but it’s a team we’d like to beat. It’s a rivalry that goes back a long way.”

The rivalry does indeed have deep roots. Cyrus wasn’t even born when American Paul Caligiuri looped home the so-called shot heard ‘round the world in Port of Spain to send USA to Italy 1990. It was a goal that began a soccer boom in the States that continues today. But on the islands, it broke hearts and a dark cloud descended. “I never heard the end of it as a kid,” Cyrus said. “It was like they stole something from us. All the American guys I know are obsessed with it. It started something big for them. But for us it cast a shadow.”

T&T eventually found their way to a first and only World Cup in Germany in 2006 under Dutchman Leo Beenhakker. “That was an exciting time to be a young player coming up on the islands,” said Cyrus, who started his career as a forward before switching to defence. “I watched those guy, like Dwight Yorke and Russell Latapy and I wondered how amazing it would be to play before a huge crowd.

“And now to be playing on the same stage, competing in the same shirt, it’s just amazing,” added Cyrus, preparing for his 40th cap.

Link to the past
A link to that 2006 team remains. Dreadlocked skipper Kenwyne Jones was the youngest player in the team that famously drew with Sweden in Dortmund ten years ago. And he connects those glory days with a present bursting with possibility. “You can’t believe how much he [Jones] brings to the team,” Cyrus said of his captain, who scored the winner in the 2-1 win in Guatemala City.

So when Jones tells Cyrus and his mates that they “have the potential to be even better than that team in ‘06,” it’s more than just hot air. “He makes us believe because he’s the man who knows,” the defender said, aching to realise that boyhood dream of reaching a World Cup.

Training at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Cyrus is feeling right at home. “We’re very comfortable here,” he said, surrounded by the familiar sounds and smells of Port of Spain. Among his mates from the junior ranks and with a veteran hero guiding the way, the old adage may never have been truer: there’s no place like home.
Post by: dreamer on November 16, 2015, 05:10:36 PM
Nice. Nicin' up de vibes
Title: No Place Like Home for T&T's Cyrus
Post by: Storeboy on November 19, 2015, 10:32:14 AM
http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/y=2015/m=11/news=no-place-like-home-for-t-t-s-cyrus-2733072.html
Trinidad and Tobago
No place like home for T&T’s Cyrus
(FIFA.com) 16 Nov 2015
Daneil Cyrus #19 of Trinidad & Tobago controls the ball against Honduras
© Getty Images

“It’s never easy playing away,” Trinidad and Tobago’s young Daneil Cyrus told FIFA.com, reflecting on their 2-1 win in Guatemala that kick-started 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ qualifying for the Soca Warriors. “The fans were so noisy and they got on us from the first minute. We didn’t have much of the ball and we had to defend most of the game.”

The versatile right-back, still just 24, is talking about the complexities of playing away, something all footballers know. But Cyrus might well be talking about his own fledgling career. The speedster, who can be regularly seen barrelling down the wing on the overlap and swinging in crosses, has had his troubles settling anywhere very long. He’s had a tough time finding a place to call home.

He began on his native island Tobago, the smaller of the two, before a move to Sporting Kansas City in USA’s Major League Soccer. But he was on his way out after only a few months, having played just two games. And after arriving back home, he was soon packing his bags again – this time for a more exotic destination than Missouri. The Vietnamese Premier League was calling.

Long road to Hanoi
“It happened really, really fast,” Cyrus chuckled, explaining how he ended up in Hanoi. “The money was good so I couldn’t say no,” he said, reflecting the tough decisions and hard facts of a life in football outside the spotlight. “The players were smaller over there, so I was able to push a few guys around,” he added with a smile. Cyrus measures in at well over six foot and, though lean, he’s quite sturdy.

After a sparkling display in this summer’s CONCACAF Gold Cup, Cyrus returned to MLS and a loan deal with Chicago Fire. But even that move wasn’t smooth. Work permit woes and visa red tape delayed his debut, and he only made six appearances in 2015.

It is with the national team where Cyrus has found a real home, true continuity and community. He is part of a core of young players, like Sheldon Bateau, Aubrey David, Mekeil Williams, Kevin Molino and Khaleem Hyland, that came through the youth ranks together. This young crop is the beating heart of a Trinidad and Tobago side that many are comparing to the greats of years past.

Up next is a date with USA at home. “The US game will be quite interesting,” Cyrus said, admitting to a personal desire to show high-paid MLS stars like Michael Bradley and Jozy Altidore what he can do. “They usually have the edge on us, but it’s a team we’d like to beat. It’s a rivalry that goes back a long way.”

The rivalry does indeed have deep roots. Cyrus wasn’t even born when American Paul Caligiuri looped home the so-called shot heard ‘round the world in Port of Spain to send USA to Italy 1990. It was a goal that began a soccer boom in the States that continues today. But on the islands, it broke hearts and a dark cloud descended. “I never heard the end of it as a kid,” Cyrus said. “It was like they stole something from us. All the American guys I know are obsessed with it. It started something big for them. But for us it cast a shadow.”

T&T eventually found their way to a first and only World Cup in Germany in 2006 under Dutchman Leo Beenhakker. “That was an exciting time to be a young player coming up on the islands,” said Cyrus, who started his career as a forward before switching to defence. “I watched those guy, like Dwight Yorke and Russell Latapy and I wondered how amazing it would be to play before a huge crowd.

“And now to be playing on the same stage, competing in the same shirt, it’s just amazing,” added Cyrus, preparing for his 40th cap.

Link to the past
A link to that 2006 team remains. Dreadlocked skipper Kenwyne Jones was the youngest player in the team that famously drew with Sweden in Dortmund ten years ago. And he connects those glory days with a present bursting with possibility. “You can’t believe how much he [Jones] brings to the team,” Cyrus said of his captain, who scored the winner in the 2-1 win in Guatemala City.

So when Jones tells Cyrus and his mates that they “have the potential to be even better than that team in ‘06,” it’s more than just hot air. “He makes us believe because he’s the man who knows,” the defender said, aching to realise that boyhood dream of reaching a World Cup.

Training at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Cyrus is feeling right at home. “We’re very comfortable here,” he said, surrounded by the familiar sounds and smells of Port of Spain. Among his mates from the junior ranks and with a veteran hero guiding the way, the old adage may never have been truer: there’s no place like home.

Post by: Flex on November 30, 2015, 04:43:50 PM
Chicago Fire Soccer Club Exercises Options on Four Players
Chicagofire.com

CHICAGO (Nov. 30, 2015) – The Chicago Fire Soccer Club announced today a series of roster decisions. The Club has exercised options on midfielders Kingsley Bryce, Matt Polster and Harry Shipp, as well as defender Patrick Doody.

The Fire also declined options on nine players, including: Adailton, Jon Busch, Razvan Cocis, Greg Cochrane, Jason Johnson, Alec Kann, Jeff Larentowicz, Lovel Palmer and Chris Ritter. The loan deal for Daneil Cyrus has expired.

“History has shown that the key to having a successful team in MLS requires a solid nucleus of players who have been together for some time,” said Fire general manager Nelson Rodriguez. “Returning Harry, Matt, Kingsley and Patrick and combining them with the players we already have under contract begins to move us in that direction. The players adversely affected are talented individuals as well, who we thank for their contributions to our Club and wish well in their careers going forward.”

The Fire retained the services of their entire rookie class -- Bryce, Doody, Fernandez and Polster -- for the first time since 2010.

Nine players were already under guaranteed contracts for 2016, including: David Accam, Collin Fernandez, Eric Gehrig, Gilberto, Kennedy Igboananike, Sean Johnson, Joevin Jones, Patrick Nyarko and Michael Stephens.

The following players are currently out of contract: Ty Harden, Mike Magee and Matthew Watson.

Busch, Larentowicz, Magee and Harden will be eligible for Free Agency. Palmer and Watson are eligible to participate in MLS’ Re-Entry process.

Post by: Deeks on November 30, 2015, 05:15:24 PM
The life of a professional footballer eh easy !!!!! Chin up, Daniel.
Post by: Adam Lake on November 30, 2015, 05:36:51 PM
When one door closes an even Bigger one opens... Keep d Faith bro!  :beermug:
Post by: Insider on January 28, 2016, 05:28:27 AM
Heard that Daneil Cyrus and Jomal Williams will head to Minnesota United FC on trials soon.

Post by: Sando on January 28, 2016, 10:20:09 AM
Heard that Daneil Cyrus and Jomal Williams will head to Minnesota United FC on trials soon.

Word !!

Post by: Trini _2026 on January 28, 2016, 02:11:06 PM

oh cyrus
Post by: asylumseeker on January 30, 2016, 09:56:55 AM

http://www.hottimeinoldtown.com/2015/11/11/9711886/marry-boff-kill-the-2015-chicago-fire-daneil-cyrus
Post by: asylumseeker on January 30, 2016, 10:05:28 AM
(https://cdn3.vox-cdn.com/thumbor/VYS24YykxhTEsCN_4mmWdNXRIEE=/0x45:3678x2497/709x473/cdn0.vox-cdn.com/uploads/chorus_image/image/47635181/usa-today-8815614.0.jpg)
Post by: Rastaman on February 01, 2016, 09:54:42 AM

http://www.hottimeinoldtown.com/2015/11/11/9711886/marry-boff-kill-the-2015-chicago-fire-daneil-cyrus
I actually think 36% is high. MLS Fans known as some of the toughest around.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 01, 2016, 11:26:14 AM

I actually think 36% is high. MLS Fans known as some of the toughest around.

My thought exactly.
Post by: chelsealife on February 01, 2016, 08:29:20 PM
Cyrus needs a reality check. Getting a bit swell headed. This living on the block with he boys n drinking when he in Plymouth should be a thing of the past. Should want to set a positive example for the youths down here. I doubt he would but I hope he reads this. Its time to make the next step in ur career brother. Had a bad last two games for the National team but if he wise up and apply himself then could be a world beater. Still backing him to come good as a man from yard but he getting too big for he boots
Post by: Tallman on June 14, 2016, 03:40:07 PM
Daneil Cyrus on trial with MLS club, Vancouver Whitecaps (http://blogs.theprovince.com/2016/06/14/whitecaps-take-a-look-at-trialist-daneil-cyrus/).
Post by: Mose on June 15, 2016, 08:09:12 AM
Best of luck to him!
Post by: g on June 16, 2016, 07:59:41 AM
Daneil Cyrus on trial with MLS club, Vancouver Whitecaps (http://blogs.theprovince.com/2016/06/14/whitecaps-take-a-look-at-trialist-daneil-cyrus/).

Cyrus have a super agent, he always gets trials it seems.
Post by: palos on June 16, 2016, 11:54:46 AM
Saw him on Vancouver local news last night when they did a feature on the Whitecaps
Title: Who does Cyrus play for in the pro league, answer that question...
Post by: Controversial on November 27, 2016, 03:41:54 PM
So if you want to blame Hart or say Cyrus not good, check when his performance dropped and which man pays his bills...

Everything was done intentionally to sabotage our chances for the World Cup ... so don't give me this nonsense how our team can't play defense, that's bull...
Title: Re: Who does Cyrus play for in the pro league, answer that question...
Post by: MEP on November 27, 2016, 04:10:05 PM
that's a pretty strong allegation and I'm hoping that Cyrus has some integrity.
Post by: Controversial on November 27, 2016, 04:36:48 PM
that's a pretty strong allegation and I'm hoping that Cyrus has some integrity.

Don't blame Cyrus... blame the man orchestrating everything...
Post by: coache on November 27, 2016, 08:10:15 PM
..The question should be ...Why is Cyrus playing in the Pro League when he should be playing in the amateur league...
Post by: pull stones on November 27, 2016, 09:23:12 PM
For the record cyrus is not a bad player, he's just not a good defender. I am of the opinion that Cyrus is played out if position. This player should be used as a defensive midfielder or a right winger because he puts more crosses in the box than jovin, cato and Levi Garcia combined.
Post by: coache on November 27, 2016, 11:22:39 PM
Cyrus couldn't play professional football in Kiribati because the man is never fit..has never been fit ..he wouldn't pass their fitness test.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 28, 2016, 01:17:34 AM
Cyrus couldn't play professional football in Kiribati because the man is never fit..has never been fit ..he wouldn't pass their fitness test.

:)

Post by: Tobago28 on November 28, 2016, 04:45:17 AM
For the record cyrus is not a bad player, he's just not a good defender. I am of the opinion that Cyrus is played out if position. This player should be used as a defensive midfielder or a right winger because he puts more crosses in the box than jovin, cato and Levi Garcia combined.

Sporting Kansas City sign Cyrus as a Defender then released him
Chicago Fire signed Cyrus as a Defender then released him

Cyrus plays as a defender for W Connection. Based on the above results and WC Qualifying you maybe correct that he is not a good defender.

Ah know is your opinion but a midfielder or winger, REALLY?
Post by: pull stones on November 28, 2016, 07:03:47 AM

Sporting Kansas City sign Cyrus as a Defender then released him
Chicago Fire signed Cyrus as a Defender then released him

Cyrus plays as a defender for W Connection. Based on the above results and WC Qualifying you maybe correct that he is not a good defender.

Ah know is your opinion but a midfielder or winger, REALLY?
lets not get it twisted daniel cyrus is a skillfull player but he does not care about his craft. I've watch him from the under 23 level to club and senior team and he's filled with potential. It's my opinion that this player has much to offer our national team but not as a defender.

There could be many arguments made that hyland or kavan george would be mauled as defenders and that might be true, but they are very good midfielders non the less.

defenders are one in a million and it's the hardest position on the pitch to master.  Cyrus will suffer as long as he pursue this position, he's a terrible defender and to add insult he makes very poor decisions and cannot concentrate for 30 minutes let alone 90 plus, and defenders in order to be world class must have the ability to consentrate on and off the field even in their sleep.
Post by: Tobago28 on November 28, 2016, 07:54:10 AM
As a Tobagonian I more than most want Cyrus to succeed but you hit the nail on the head, concentration and decision making thus why I can not see him in the midfield.

At 25 plus, it will be hard for him to be cast as other than a defender. Sadly, football tends to pigeon hole some players and unless they work VERY hard they are unable to change peoples perception of their position.

Is he pursuing the position or coaches and technical directors see it as his best position for some of the reasons you stated?

I
Post by: Deeks on November 28, 2016, 09:16:38 AM
After seeing Cyrus play in GC a couple yrs ago, many of us on the forum liked him a lot.... but voice concerns about certain part of his play. everyone was optimistic that he would improve. We liked his coolness, his height and his attacking ability. But we have seen no improvement on the international stage. He bounced around the MLS, and was let go. If you can't cut it in the so-called US "bush league " then you come back home. And it appears that any of the pro clubs will take him. He can play in our league because at this time, he good enough. Right now it too late to experiment with Cyrus in any other position in this Hex. If the TTFA get a couple friendlies and have him play in mid field, and he look good ... that may alright. But we need a more consistent right back. I say Cato because he has played at that position for his club.
Post by: Controversial on November 28, 2016, 01:12:20 PM
Jan just state the ttfa affected their performance and Cyrus under connection and allyuh big hard back men still talking about his drop on performance..

Cyrus can be world class and has played some very good football, when David get in power that all changed... if people could sabotage a defense of a team, the coach will look bad..

Allyuh use your god given brains nah and open your eyes to what is really going on.., is either allyuh naive or just pretending not to see what's going on
Post by: gawd on pitch on November 28, 2016, 01:44:26 PM
Jan just state the ttfa affected their performance and Cyrus under connection and allyuh big hard back men still talking about his drop on performance..

Cyrus can be world class and has played some very good football, when David get in power that all changed... if people could sabotage a defense of a team, the coach will look bad..

Allyuh use your god given brains nah and open your eyes to what is really going on.., is either allyuh naive or just pretending not to see what's going on

So what you're saying is that DJW tell or encourage Cyrus, in some shape or form, to sabotage the defense? If you told me this when DJ W was elected, I would have doubted it. But now things like that ain't too far fetch with DJW.

Just another thought to add.. Ever wonder why Cyrus always got a call up despite playing like tata? Maybe DJW tell Hart to always include Cyrus. The plot thickens
Post by: Controversial on November 28, 2016, 01:59:50 PM

So what you're saying is that DJW tell or encourage Cyrus, in some shape or form, to sabotage the defense? If you told me this when DJ W was elected, I would have doubted it. But now things like that ain't too far fetch with DJW.

Just another thought to add.. Ever wonder why Cyrus always got a call up despite playing like tata? Maybe DJW tell Hart to always include Cyrus. The plot thickens

William Wallace alluded to the fact that after every session players were being called and the coach would be questioned and they would Bad talk Hart... so it is not far fetched that djw whispering sweet something's in Cyrus ear and also making sure that Hart plays him, hence Hart pointed out that they have different ways of thinking and philosophy, but David is not a compromising man..
Post by: pull stones on November 28, 2016, 03:04:53 PM

William Wallace alluded to the fact that after every session players were being called and the coach would be questioned and they would Bad talk Hart... so it is not far fetched that djw whispering sweet something's in Cyrus ear and also making sure that Hart plays him, hence Hart pointed out that they have different ways of  and philosophy, but David is not a compromising man..
are you for real with this cockamamie rubbish about player sabotage? I joked with the idea but it seem like you're crazy serious about it.

on the real though mate, cyrus has been under performing long before DJW came in the picture. In the last gold cup I was there to witness the nifty Panamanian left wing who ate him up every time they met, for that matter it was their favorite erea of attack because they found a weak spot and was exploiting it.

the problem is trinidadian ballers have very inflated egos especially when they are shown genuine attention then they believe to th mselves that they don't need to try any harder, just look at the players who fell prey to that mind set.

Jovin jones was once venerated for his skill set and was hailed as the best baller in trini a few years ago same with attulla guerra when he was referred to as the trini Ronaldinho after that the lad stopped trying and fell off terribly, same with kenwin when he was herald as the next drogba, a year after that kenwin was walking around the pitch like he won everything that there was to be won and that is the Dian fall of most trini athletes.
Post by: Controversial on November 28, 2016, 04:06:07 PM

William Wallace alluded to the fact that after every session players were being called and the coach would be questioned and they would Bad talk Hart... so it is not far fetched that djw whispering sweet something's in Cyrus ear and also making sure that Hart plays him, hence Hart pointed out that they have different ways of  and philosophy, but David is not a compromising man..
are you for real with this cockamamie rubbish about player sabotage? I joked with the idea but it seem like you're crazy serious about it.

on the real though mate, cyrus has been under performing long before DJW came in the picture. In the last gold cup I was there to witness the nifty Panamanian left wing who ate him up every time they met, for that matter it was their favorite erea of attack because they found a weak spot and was exploiting it.

the problem is trinidadian ballers have very inflated egos especially when they are shown genuine attention then they believe to th mselves that they don't need to try any harder, just look at the players who fell prey to that mind set.

Jovin jones was once venerated for his skill set and was hailed as the best baller in trini a few years ago same with attulla guerra when he was referred to as the trini Ronaldinho after that the lad stopped trying and fell off terribly, same with kenwin when he was herald as the next drogba, a year after that kenwin was walking around the pitch like he won everything that there was to be won and that is the Dian fall of most trini athletes.

Are you reading and listening to what the former coaching staff and players are saying and what djw is doing , or are you just listening to yourself?

You can't be that hard headed and harden or are you brother? Like this whole thing gone over your head and you never talk about any players throwing match, that's a big lie...

Like it have some egoist and sociopaths on the board claiming to say things that was stated by me first and I was doubted many moons ago.. get real brother, yuh talking some high level tata
Post by: gawd on pitch on November 28, 2016, 05:18:37 PM
The Cyrus situation raises a lot of questions..

Pull stones, I with you on that.. I don't believe the players decided collectively to sabotage the performance of the team. But do I believe one player under the guidance of DJW might be involved with doing so? Absolutely.

If you look at the past 3 games, Cyrus was responsible for lapsing on at least 4 of the goals scored. I wondered why he continued to get picked after Martinique. Then I thought the same thing after the CR game. If you check the posts from the other games, many of us wondered why Cyrus was still being picked. Some of us even poinyed it out by suggesting that Hart favored Cyrus much more than the others.. hmm.
Post by: Controversial on November 28, 2016, 06:41:45 PM
The Cyrus situation raises a lot of questions..

Pull stones, I with you on that.. I don't believe the players decided collectively to sabotage the performance of the team. But do I believe one player under the guidance of DJW might be involved with doing so? Absolutely.

If you look at the past 3 games, Cyrus was responsible for lapsing on at least 4 of the goals scored. I wondered why he continued to get picked after Martinique. Then I thought the same thing after the CR game. If you check the posts from the other games, many of us wondered why Cyrus was still being picked. Some of us even poinyed it out by suggesting that Hart favored Cyrus much more than the others.. hmm.

Never said collectively as a team they did it, I said some players, it only takes one or two players to create problems for our team...
Title: Re: Daneil Cyrus Thread
Post by: asylumseeker on January 02, 2017, 03:45:23 AM
“I wasn’t really at my best for the last two [World Cup qualifying] games and everybody knows that,” said Cyrus. “I know that too. Sometimes a player might be going through a good patch and sometimes a player is going through a bad patch.

“For the Guatemala match [on 2 September 2016], I thought I had an okay game but for the last two games I really wasn’t at my best. I am not hiding. I just had two bad games.”

Cyrus plays central defence for Connection but was a regular at right back under former National Senior Team coach Stephen Hart. And, in his two outings under Saintfiet, he appeared in central midfield.

“I can play anywhere on the field, once I get time to adjust to the position,” he said. “A footballer should be able to play anywhere on the field. In the last game [against Nicaragua], I even got a chance one on one [with the opposing goalkeeper] and I missed…

“I do prefer to play centre back, honestly. But any position they let me play, I play it to the best of my ability.”

http://wired868.com/2017/01/02/cyrus-i-had-a-flat-tyre-and-didnt-touch-alcohol-tt-defender-responds-to-saintfiet/
Post by: asylumseeker on January 02, 2017, 04:09:08 AM
I remember when Cyrus was one of our more reliable players and was getting props on here on the regular, it seems like since the missed penalty vs Panama it's just been downhill in terms of performance.
Back to the topic, JC I agree we always find ways to detract us from our goals, it's always some type of drama along the way. I feel it for Hart because it looks like he struggles to get the full support of the board, not a conducive environment to be productive. I hope we can get rid of all the negative influences surrounding the team and move forward with the players and staff who's fully committed to the task at hand. If everyone's not on the same page both on and off the field we may end up dead last in the HEX and even miss out on the GC.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 02, 2017, 02:28:45 PM
Tantie Phyllis weighs in to defend Daneil: He had one glass of Bailey's. (http://wired868.com/2017/01/02/aunt-phyllis-saintfiet-is-defaming-cyrus-tt-defender-had-just-one-glass-of-baileys/)
Post by: maxg on January 02, 2017, 06:40:36 PM
so here nah, he was in Camp and break out ? He leave he family for Christmas, leave for New Year, reach a hour late for a camp start, not during..and only had one or a few drinks, he lucky he didn't get arrested by police for d&D..and hammer drop on the man for that,a hour an half..nah allyuh not serious..a 1 1/2 hr and alcohol make a difference in team discipline and training ? ok.. bet we have a whole new team by next year .

as the lady say, drop the boy if u want to drop the boy, but 'rumcork' persona..all the service he give, he don't deserve no waste down, even if is the case
Post by: palos on January 02, 2017, 09:00:55 PM
so here nah, he was in Camp and break out ? He leave he family for Christmas, leave for New Year, reach a hour late for a camp start, not during..and only had one or a few drinks, he lucky he didn't get arrested by police for d&D..and hammer drop on the man for that,a hour an half..nah allyuh not serious..a 1 1/2 hr and alcohol make a difference in team discipline and training ? ok.. bet we have a whole new team by next year .

as the lady say, drop the boy if u want to drop the boy, but 'rumcork' persona..all the service he give, he don't deserve no waste down, even if is the case

I get the sense is more a case of lasana's headline "rum cork" that was the waste down factor and not anything de coach say.

I'm hoping that in reflection, and if he had a do over, Lasana would choose much less sensational terminology to describe the players actions
Post by: Flex on April 17, 2017, 05:11:51 PM
Cyrus’ club search in on!
TTFA Media.

Campbell says T&T defender will only get better with full time training

Daniel Cyrus will be hoping to secure a new club deal in the not too distant future as he aims to maintain the form which saw him start both of this country’s recent 2018 World Cup qualifiers against Panama and Mexico.

Cyrus put in a solid shift in both affairs but is club-less at the moment even though there is word that a couple clubs in American Major League Soccer (MLS) and Asia are keeping firm eyes on him.

The 26-year-old Cyrus played four games for MLS club Chicago Fire while on loan from W Connection in 2015. The Plymouth-born player has 66 appearances for T&T after making his international debut under Russell Latapy in a friendly against World Cup bound Chile in 2010. He played for T&T at both the 2007 FIFA Under 17 World Cup and the 200 FIFA Under 20 World Cup.

Former England defender Sol Campbell, an assistant coach in the T&T Senior Team, has worked with Cyrus and the other national team defenders extensively in the residential training camp leading up to the Panama and Mexico matches. And his observations were positive.

Cyrus has played in eight of T&T’s 2018 World Cup qualifying matches.

“Since I’ve been with the Trinidad Tobago team Daneil Cyrus has showed great attitude and determination and willingness to learn and over the two games Panama and Mexico has played extremely well considering he hasn’t had full time training (with a club),” Campbell told TTFA Media .

The former Portsmouth man said it was important that the defender finds himself a club as soon as possible.

“So once that has been resolved (his club situation) with full time, proper hard  training and playing in a great team, good performances will continuing come,” Campbell added.

Post by: Tallman on June 17, 2017, 08:50:47 AM
Defender Daneil Cyrus joins compatriot Jan-Michael Williams at Honduran club, Juticalpa FC. (http://www.diez.hn/liganacionaldehonduras/1081040-498/juticalpa-fichaje-trinidad_tobago-daneil_cyrus-honduras)
Post by: Flex on July 04, 2017, 02:05:55 AM
Cyrus plays first match for Honduran club.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago Senior team defender Daneil Cyrus made his first appearance for Honduran La Liga club Juticalpa on Saturday, running out for the full ninety minutes in a preseason encounter against fellow League side UPNFM. T&T goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams also saw action, entering the match at the start of the second half as Juticalpa finished the match without conceding.

Cyrus signed a one-year deal last month with the option to extend and appears to be settling in at the club, although his spanish speaking skills may not yet be as good as Williams who held his own fairly well during an interview on camera with a Honduran reporter last week.

“I am not as good in Spanish as Jan as yet but so far things have been very good at the club,” Cyrus told TTFA Media

“We had a game on Saturday in which I played the full ninety minutes and Jan came on for the second half. The players and the staff have embraced us and made us feel very comfortable. And the fans have been good so far.

“The league starts at month end but the preseason preparations have been intense and there is a lot happening. Before coming here, I heard a lot of good things from Jerrel Britto and  being here now,I have seen it for myself that the clubs are very organised and at our club in particular the level is good. I think it’s definitely a step up for me and I am looking forward to a good, solid season,” Cyrus added.

T&T’s next World Cup is at home to Honduras on September 1st with both teams seeking full points to maintain their qualifying chances. T&T needs to capture the win before moving on to Panama City to face Panama four days later.

“At the moment I think everyone understands the importance of that game against Honduras. Both myself and Jan can sense here also that they (the Hondurans) know how big the match it is and of course they know us as national players from Trinidad Tobago as we played here last year. But for us, the focus while we are here,  is Juticalpa and doing well in the league. So far the people here have welcomed us and we are part of them.

“But the focus for us is also the Honduras game which is in the back of our minds at the moment. We are working hard on our fitness levels and always trying to better our game to take to the national team when we are called for duty. We are always working towards being at our best and it’s going to be no different for those two games in September,” Cyrus added.

Cyrus at age 26, has made 68 appearances for T&T and is on his fourth overseas deal, having previously played for Chicago Fire and Sporting Kansas in the MLS as well as Hanoi T&T in Vietnam in a professional career that dates back to 2010 with him having played for FC Santa Rosa, Joe Public, Caledonia AIA and W Connection.

“At the moment I think my game is at a decent level but there’s always work to be done. I think the last few weeks with the national team has been good for me, working under the head coach (Dennis Lawrence) and taking things on board in every session. We were a bit unlucky with the two results but we have a lot of reasons to believe we can turn things around in the next two games,” Cyrus added.

Post by: Tallman on August 08, 2018, 08:24:58 AM
Defender Daneil Cyrus has signed with Saudi First Division club, Al-Orubah FC.
Post by: Cocorite on August 08, 2018, 02:36:19 PM
Defender Daneil Cyrus has signed with Saudi First Division club, Al-Orubah FC.

All the best to Cyrus. You have developed into an very good defender.

Ah feel it for our players having to go far and wide to ply their trade.

"Justice exalts a nation but injustice is a reproach to any people" My version of this biblical quote

Purge the corruption from the system.
Post by: Flex on August 18, 2018, 03:52:27 AM
Look Loy: Cyrus’ contract was not a Pro League one.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

DANEIL CYRUS’ deal with FC Santa Rosa, from March 1, 2010 to December 31, 2012, was strictly a club contract and not a Pro League one, according to the club’s owner and president Keith Look Loy.

Cyrus, a member of the national football team, joined Santa Rosa after a brief stint as a youth team player with the now-defunct Joe Public.

The central defender played with the T&T teams in the 2007 FIFA Under-17 World Cup in South Korea and the 2009 FIFA Under-20 World Cup in Egypt.

A copy of Cyrus’ contract was obtained by Newsday, with stipulations under the rules of the club, the TT Football Federation (now TT Football Association) and the Pro League.

FC Santa Rosa have never been involved in the Pro League, at any level, during their 25 years of existence.

Look Loy, in an interview on Tuesday, pointed out, “That is not a Pro League contract, that is a Santa Rosa contract. If you look at the first page, the Pro League has a standard contract.”

Look Loy, who is currently the president of the TT Super League, continued, “Any club is free to have a contract with anybody.

There (are) no guidelines.

They will agree what the content of the contract is.”

Asked if the Pro League mentions were typographical errors, Look Loy responded, “The player was loaned to Caledonia (AIA from March 2010 until July 2011) and therefore would have been playing under the rules of the Pro League.”

In 2010, FC Santa Rosa men’s team were in their infancy, and were competing in the Eastern Football Association (EFA) second division.

Look Loy said after the loan agreement with Caledonia AIA ended, Cyrus was loaned to Sporting Kansas City in the American MLS (Major League Soccer).

Sporting Kansas City paid a nominal fee of US$5,000 for Cyrus.

“That didn’t work out,” said Look Loy. “When he came back (in March 2012), W Connection approached Santa Rosa. He was under contract (with Santa Rosa) but I told them they could have him for free. I told them they could take him and that was the end of that.”

Post by: Deeks on August 18, 2018, 10:57:22 AM
So what’s this all about?
Post by: Tallman on August 14, 2019, 01:14:01 PM
Daneil Cyrus signs with Indian I-League club, Mohun Bagan (http://Defender Daneil Cyrus signs with Indian I-League club, Mohun Bagan.
https://themohunbaganac.com/mohun-bagan-announce-arrival-of-fifth-foreigner/).
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 14, 2019, 01:30:12 PM
Daneil Cyrus signs with Indian I-League club, Mohun Bagan (http://Defender Daneil Cyrus signs with Indian I-League club, Mohun Bagan.

no wonder our national team struggling look at the the teams these guys are playing for
Post by: Cowen on August 14, 2019, 01:32:17 PM

no wonder our national team struggling look at the the teams these guys are playing for

one can only work for a company when an offer is made.  :beermug:
Post by: Deeks on August 14, 2019, 08:28:20 PM

At this moment, the I- league is better than the Ascension league.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 14, 2019, 08:35:39 PM

Post by: Deeks on August 15, 2019, 02:20:36 PM

Breds, honestly, I was not trying to be funny. I was dead serious. But seeing that your belly almost buss with laughter, I  :rotfl: too.
Title: Re: Daneil Cyrus Thread.
Post by: Tallman on August 17, 2019, 08:25:40 AM
Some ppl keep being mystified by Cyrus and his selection, but if you see the player there ought to be no mystery about him being selected to the NT.

I am one of those people, so please demystify his continued selection.
Title: Re: Daneil Cyrus Thread.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 17, 2019, 01:43:55 PM
Some ppl keep being mystified by Cyrus and his selection, but if you see the player there ought to be no mystery about him being selected to the NT.

In terms of his past continued selection, the things I suspect that may have recommended Cyrus taking the field are his experience, his confidence (leadership to a degree), his adaptability and his ambition to advance the ball rather than just to deny chances.

Considering  the future, his continued selection is a function of position by position competition, versatility in alternatives and whether there is mounted trust in less experienced players (in the role of CB) rather than in Cyrus per se making an overarching compelling case for selection.

Certainly, as has David Luiz, he's been at the center of some unfortunate muck-ups on the field, but on a comprehensive level there's little denying that he merited NT selection relative to his peers. And apparently that's  been the case for some time. Gilbert Bateau told me at a young age Cyrus was already demonstrating his versatility and could play anywhere on the field.

Once he's kept finding a decent club abroad, it's been hard to ignore him. If he gets stuck in T&T that might be a different outcome. At club level, I think of him as a player who tries to fit in where he can get in and keep it moving, but still I would have thought that he would have looked to consolidate his career in Saudi Arabia.

The issues that have influenced perception of Cyrus are notable errors (awareness and decision-making) and positioning. His reaction time/speed may be on the verge of being a liability. Other than that, he puts in a reasonably good but not remarkable shift.

Although it is left to be seen whether he can convince other coaches that he adds value in another playing position, that could be possible for a coach coming to TT from outside but unlikely to be the route taken by a coach inside the country where Cyrus playing at CB would be the preference of many and is viewed as settled. His passing isn't elaborate but he has moments of accuracy over long range.

An authoritative source describes him as "active in defensive actions, takes a lot of challenges and makes [them] with high effectiveness." Same source: "doesn't make a lot of passes per game".

That source also says ... "reads the game well" ... I don't doubt that ... but reacting to the reading?

Subjectively, I think we should have been getting more out of his headers on both ends of the park (say if you compare him to Yohance who heads the ball true).

Mixed bag.

A mixed bag has been good enough to do it.

Post by: Tallman on August 28, 2019, 10:51:37 AM
Daneil Cyrus has arrived in Kolkata, India to take up his contract with Mohun Bagan.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EDElb0EW4AE5mpD?format=jpg&name=medium)
Post by: Deeks on August 28, 2019, 01:59:52 PM
Glad for you, Breds. Make what little money you can, outside of TT national football.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 02, 2019, 09:07:58 PM

In terms of his past continued selection, the things I suspect that may have recommended Cyrus taking the field are his experience, his confidence (leadership to a degree), his adaptability and his ambition to advance the ball rather than just to deny chances.

Considering  the future, his continued selection is a function of position by position competition, versatility in alternatives and whether there is mounted trust in less experienced players (in the role of CB) rather than in Cyrus per se making an overarching compelling case for selection.

Certainly, as has David Luiz, he's been at the center of some unfortunate muck-ups on the field, but on a comprehensive level there's little denying that he merited NT selection relative to his peers. And apparently that's  been the case for some time. Gilbert Bateau told me at a young age Cyrus was already demonstrating his versatility and could play anywhere on the field.

Once he's kept finding a decent club abroad, it's been hard to ignore him. If he gets stuck in T&T that might be a different outcome. At club level, I think of him as a player who tries to fit in where he can get in and keep it moving, but still I would have thought that he would have looked to consolidate his career in Saudi Arabia.

The issues that have influenced perception of Cyrus are notable errors (awareness and decision-making) and positioning. His reaction time/speed may be on the verge of being a liability. Other than that, he puts in a reasonably good but not remarkable shift.

Although it is left to be seen whether he can convince other coaches that he adds value in another playing position, that could be possible for a coach coming to TT from outside but unlikely to be the route taken by a coach inside the country where Cyrus playing at CB would be the preference of many and is viewed as settled. His passing isn't elaborate but he has moments of accuracy over long range.

An authoritative source describes him as "active in defensive actions, takes a lot of challenges and makes [them] with high effectiveness." Same source: "doesn't make a lot of passes per game".

That source also says ... "reads the game well" ... I don't doubt that ... but reacting to the reading?

Subjectively, I think we should have been getting more out of his headers on both ends of the park (say if you compare him to Yohance who heads the ball true).

Mixed bag.

A mixed bag has been good enough to do it.

Whomp, there it is!
Post by: pull stones on October 03, 2019, 11:22:46 AM
Please could some body fire dennis lawrence so we could stop watching cyrus making all these dotish basic errors? how on earth could we continue with a coach who hasn’t won a match in a year, what kind of nonsensical flawed thinking is that?
Post by: asylumseeker on October 04, 2019, 01:43:45 PM

There is talk about talks. Maybe Mohun Bagan will be moving to the Indian Super League.

... the meeting between the national and continental committee is to solve the longstanding muddle over the two leagues in India – Indian Super League (ISL) and I-League. The Indian FA have prepared a roadmap and will submit the same in the Asian territory. They have invited all concerned parties to Kuala Lampur from the ISL and I-League to resolve this conundrum.

The AIFF leadership group including the president Praful Patel and general secretary Kushal Patel has held meetings with AFC General Secretary Dato Windsor John when he visited India.

When the AFC officials met the AIFF officials in Malaysia last week, all grievances from all clubs were taken into account and the roadmap was completely formulated. The AIFF had early communicated its decision to make the ISL the defacto top league in India by handling the AFC Champions League preliminary round spot, which the I-League clubs had enjoyed, from the 2019/20 season.

https://www.thesportsrush.com/isl-news-mohun-bagan-and-east-bengal-set-to-join-indian-super-league/

Also this article (https://www.goal.com/en-in/news/aiff-afc-isl-i-league-indian-footballroadmap-october-14/vu7cfbyeous01r20w5voue6ad).
Post by: Tallman on October 23, 2019, 12:09:39 PM
WATCH: Daneil Cyrus gets off the mark for his new club when he scores the opening goal in Mohun Bagan's 2-0 win over TC Sports Club

https://www.youtube.com/v/ZFUoCFP6Y_o?start=434
Post by: asylumseeker on October 23, 2019, 01:11:06 PM
Look how Cyrus welcomes his international retirement ...

Anyhow Cyrus go on ah goal scoring streak, some man loss dey wuk. :)
Post by: soccerman on October 23, 2019, 01:30:13 PM
Good for Cyrus, happy for him. Might be worth a shot to should try him in the midfield.
Post by: Tallman on October 23, 2019, 01:32:56 PM
Good for Cyrus, happy for him. Might be worth a shot to should try him in the midfield.

He was a striker at the U-17 level.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 23, 2019, 01:37:25 PM

Nah, that ship sailed. As de older folks use to say ... before time, but not now.

In the past I've thought he could play in MF, but I think he's too slow now. In my view that window of opportunity passed. As it is, we need the middle to be playing at a faster clip than we have been witnessing. That is, if progress is the ambition.
Post by: Tallman on January 10, 2020, 06:28:14 AM
WATCH: Defender Daneil Cyrus scores with a left-footed volley from 20-yards out to give Mohun Bagan a 1-0 win over Indian Arrows

https://www.youtube.com/v/DRUNT0fuUHg?start=105
Post by: soccerman on January 10, 2020, 01:11:23 PM
How you mean Cyrus!!! Boss goal, like yuhself!
Post by: Flex on July 19, 2020, 03:21:06 PM
Mohun Bagan releases Daneil Cyrus.
T&T Guardian Reports.

National defender Daneil Cyrus, 29, has been released by Mohun Bagan after helping the club to the I-League crown.

Last month, I-League winners Mohun Bagan merged with three-time Indian Super League (ISL) champions ATK, which has ensured their participation in the Indian Super League (ISL) from the 2020-21 season.

In the merged entity, ATK, the original ISL franchise owned by Sanjiv Goenka’s RPSG Group, would have 80 per cent stake while the remaining 20 per cent would be with Mohun Bagan, who bagged the I-League title with four rounds to spare.

However, most of Mohun Bagan's players inclusive of Cyrus contracts ended on May 31, with only six of them having a year or multiple years left.

Post by: Flex on July 20, 2020, 06:20:45 AM
FYI.

Daneil Cyrus was not release by Mohun Bagan as stated in the above Guardian article, he chose to leave for personal reasons.

Title: Cyrus mulls quitting T&T team over border exemption
Post by: Tallman on August 03, 2020, 01:25:41 PM
Cyrus mulls quitting T&T team over border exemption
By Narissa Fraser (T&T Newsday)

SIX T&T footballers – who were previously stuck in India and granted provisional exemptions – are now stranded in Barbados. They say since arriving, they have received no official communication from the National Security Ministry.

The players – Daneil Cyrus, Taryk Sampson, Marcus Joseph, Andre Ettienne, Marvin Phillip and Nathaniel Garcia – play in the Hero-I-League in India. The league eventually cancelled its remaining matches in April owing to the covid19 pandemic and they – along with three other players – were stranded.

After writing to the National Security Ministry for weeks, they were granted provisional exemptions to return home. This means: they must provide their confirmed route home, commitment to be quarantined and choice of quarantine – state or supervised – before final exemptions are granted.

The group of six managed to get a flight to get them to Barbados and had updated the ministry about this. They arrived last Tuesday.

Recently, five T&T students who were also stuck in India were repatriated to T&T and had used Barbados as their final stop point before home.

Cyrus told Newsday the group is frustrated, especially since accommodation is costing $US 400 a night.

“It have a flight with cricket (Caribbean Premier League) players from Barbados (to T&T) on Monday (at 6 pm) and these people not allowing us to come home.

“It have no excuse now ‘bout we too far. I’m tired now, we are just here and don’t know what going on.”

He added, “I e-mailed them about our situation and the response we got was to send everyone’s bio page on our passport and that’s it – nothing else. I ready to see my family.”

He said it is unfair that national footballers “who have done so much for this country” are being treated like this.

“I feel after this, I not going to play for the country again after this... It’s almost four months we fighting this to get closer to home. Now we’re in Barbados and nobody helping we.”

All six players were tested for covid19 on Saturday and received negative results on Sunday.

The players still in India include Radanfah Abu Bakr, Robert Primus and Willis Plaza.

Questions related to covid19 and exemptions were posed to National Security Minister Stuart Young at a press conference on Sunday morning, but he made it clear he was not there to discuss such matters.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 04, 2020, 11:31:26 AM
COVID-19 to the rescue, oui ... where a weeping and a moaning and a gnashing of teeth didn't work.  :)
Post by: Flex on December 23, 2020, 04:00:41 PM
Cyrus thanks Hadad: 'He lived up to his word'
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday).

T&T men’s senior footballer Daneil Cyrus said he respects chairman of the normalisation committee Robert Hadad for sticking to his word and paying national footballers their salaries.

Among those who were liaising with the normalisation committee concerning salaries was the Coaches Steering Committee which includes Jefferson George, Wayne Sheppard, Angus Eve, Clayton Morris and Richard Hood. A member of that committee told Newsday at 5.30 pm on Tuesday that he had been paid.

Approximately 40 coaches and technical staff members of national senior and junior teams were owed money for various periods.

The coaches that had three-month contracts were paid in full, but coaches and staff with longer contracts received 50 per cent of their salaries. All the players are expected to get paid in full.

Cyrus, who could not recall the length of time he was not paid, said the footballers are breadwinners for their families and he was grateful. “To be honest the main focus for the players is to be fathers where they have to take care of their families.”

The defender said not being paid can affect team performance.

“It was kind of hampering with our performance in a way. I don’t want to make excuses where we were losing games and we were not doing good.”

Cyrus is delighted for the local players especially. “At the end of the day I was playing outside, but what about the other guys who were playing home where the (TT Pro League and TT Super) League were not playing for a while where plenty players did not get a salary for a long time and they were looking out for this money…Hadad came in and as he came in he started to show progress.”

Over the last two years, Cyrus has had stints with Mohun Bagan AC in India and Erbil SC in Iraq.

The payment of salaries is a Christmas gift, according to Cyrus. “I am happy to see some of the players receive this money because it is close to Christmas where you have a family and everything (to take care of).”

Cyrus, 30, has 90 caps for T&T after making his debut in 2010.

Cyrus was satisfied that Hadad stayed true to his word. “I spoke to Hadad and I asked him if I could hold him to his word and he said, ‘Yes.’ Most of us had a conversation and he lived up to his word, so I respect him full 100 (per cent) for this.”

This is the first time national players and coaches will be paid since the normalisation committee was formed by FIFA in March to run local football. The normalisation committee inherited a debt of over $50 million and the committee has been trying to reduce that debt and pay outstanding salaries.

In November, FIFA lifted a two-month suspension on the TTFA and T&T are now free to compete in FIFA-sanctioned tournaments such as World Cup qualifiers that begin in March. The TTFA, formerly led by William Wallace, was involved in an eight-month court battle with FIFA over its decision to appoint the normalisation committee and remove the TTFA executive.

With the suspension being lifted and players and coaches being paid, Cyrus said local football is on the right path.

“The direction is good, everything going good so far,” he said.

Defender Radanfah Abu Bakr will not benefit from the payment of salaries as he last played for T&T in 2017.

He said if the situation continued it could have had a negative impact on players.

“The reality is that is your job as well. That is how you take care of your family…as much as you try to cross the white line and forget about those things it is inevitable when it is dragging on and on. It must take a toll on you mentally as well. For some guys it does inhibit you a bit when you are playing and when you training and maybe it does affect your commitment to the team.”

Post by: asylumseeker on December 23, 2020, 05:50:43 PM
Dayum, son ... I missed de Iraq run. How long was that stint?
Post by: maxg on December 23, 2020, 06:18:01 PM
So How much funding did FIFA see it fit to give the normalization committee to make these payments? How much was disbursed? How much is left ? What are the outstanding debts ? What is the status of present long term contracts? How are they to be honoured? Where is funding for up coming tournaments and for how many teams ? Is there a women’s team payment and any up coming programs/camps ? What about creditors and current court cases/debts ?

Nice to know ppl getting paid, but is it all secrets? Till next time ? Do we have another sponsor other than FIFA? Should the ppl of TT care where the money comes from and going ? Is taxes withheld or all money in and out of TT tax exempt?

Why I does have to declare whatever funds over 10 k I NOT travelling with on a form ? If I had, could I say , I got it from FIFA?
Post by: Tallman on December 23, 2020, 06:33:14 PM

I missed it too, but I don't know if he has actually played yet.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 23, 2020, 08:16:44 PM

I missed it too, but I don't know if he has actually played yet.

Oh! The way Alibey wrote that I thought he meant after Saudi Arabia and before Mohun. I missed it either way.  :)
Post by: kounty on December 24, 2020, 11:13:56 AM

I was also harsh on Cyrus when emotions we high and he keep muckin' up, but I remember 'Seeker and a couple other's comments when I re-watch this match recently - that coaches keep picking him for a reason.
https://www.youtube.com/v/aln_y3LUXVY
He remind me of Dennis Lawrence so much - a huge f**k up (in my opinion) and inconsistent character until Beenhaker straighten him out in his twilight years. Maybe lightning will strike twice and the right coach will put him in the right place.
But to me his control and speed with the ball here (at least in this over 5 yr old video)  *for a tall fella* isn't too bad. 
Of course everything in context with what other options we have if any.
Post by: Tallman on July 08, 2021, 01:31:27 PM
Defender Daneil Cyrus has joined Thai League 2 club, Chainat Hornbill FC.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E5zCkbPXMAMcbhT?format=jpg&name=large)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E5zClhiXMAI4d9D?format=jpg&name=large)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E5zCnTmWYAIiXQU?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 08, 2021, 03:36:08 PM
T&T Guardian Reports

T&T defender Daneil Cyrus is now on trial with Belgium Premier Division club Racing Genk. Cyrus, currently attached to local club W Connection began his trial on Thursday and will be seen by head coach Mario Been.

Cyrus’ national teammate Khaleem Hyland is currently one of the starters and featured players for Genk. The trial followed after recommendation from TTFA Director of Football Leo Beenhakker following Cyrus’ solid showing at the 2013 Concacaf Gold Cup

“I got my visa to travel earlier this week and I’m ready for it. It’s an opportunity like this I’ve wanted and I intend to give it my best shot,” Cyrus said.

Racing Genk plays in the Belgian Pro League and they have won 3 Belgian champion titles in 1998–99, in 2001–02 and in 2010–11 as well as 4 Belgian Cups, most recently in 2008–09 and in 2012–13. In 2012 Genk made a profit of 28 million euro after participating in the Champions League group stage, and the Sales of players like Thibaut Courtois and Kevin De Bruyne to Chelsea FC.

From a guy who had this opportunity
Post by: asylumseeker on July 08, 2021, 07:49:29 PM
T&T Guardian Reports

From a guy who had this opportunity

From Plymouth to Genk to chain-up Chainat?
Post by: Tallman on October 25, 2021, 04:04:12 PM
WATCH: Defender Daneil Cyrus plants a heade into the far corner of the net to score the opening goal in Chainat Hornbill FC's 3-1 win against Chiangmai FC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Mk-C3IYE1rc?start=69