Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on August 04, 2011, 08:44:04 PM

Title: Strike Squad Thread (Videos Included).
Post by: Flex on August 04, 2011, 08:44:04 PM
vs Peru (http://vimeo.com/27318026)

vs Panama (http://vimeo.com/27694315)

vs Republic of Ireland (http://vimeo.com/27318587)

vs Aruba (http://vimeo.com/27687545)

vs Leicester City FC. (http://vimeo.com/27686787)

Kerry Jamerson vs Guatemala in Guatemala (http://vimeo.com/27350007)

Kerry Jamerson vs Guatemala in Trinidad (http://vimeo.com/27358399)

Philbert Jones vs Guatemala (http://vimeo.com/27358216)

Philbert Jones vs Costa Rica (http://vimeo.com/27695311)

Leonson Lewis double over El Salvador (http://vimeo.com/27401767)

Floyd Lawrence vs Paraguay (http://vimeo.com/27673989)

Marlon Morris vs Paraguay (http://vimeo.com/27673473)

Hutson Charles vs Honduras (http://vimeo.com/27672881)

Dexter Skeene vs Canada (http://vimeo.com/27671979)
Title: Re: VIDEO: Strike Squad vs Peru & Ireland.
Post by: theworm2345 on August 04, 2011, 09:14:37 PM
Thanks for the Ireland vid Flex (though in fact this is not the Irish national team but a League of Ireland XI)!  Nice strike by Latas too.  Would be interesting to see T&T's 2-1 win over Ireland in 1982 as well, though I doubt there is video of that.
Post by: dinho on August 05, 2011, 07:50:27 AM
Good stuff...

That Latas goal vs Peru. I wonder if men understanding that slight feint of body and quick push to create the space to unleash that bullet.

Pure class. It don't have a player in Trinidad capable of that right now.
Post by: Sam on August 05, 2011, 08:11:13 AM
This is really some good stuff.

Great job Flex, like how yuh edit it.

Big up to Gally.
Post by: frico on August 05, 2011, 12:06:24 PM
I remember studying in the 80s and there was this Irish student who was football mad,when I told him that we beat the Irish Rep he said in my dreams,I had no proof coz a friend told me bout it.I didn't believe at first but I eventually bought a magazine called World Soccer and found it,I showed him and what a relief that was for me.The thing is he and many British people didn't know we had good ballers in the Caribbean,at least they started finding out when TT got so far in 89.
Post by: Dutty on August 05, 2011, 12:14:10 PM
aah boy...Gally open up the vault to flex

Great nostalgia guys
Post by: vb on August 05, 2011, 01:45:45 PM
Flex,

ah nearly dead when I see something like Star Trek in the middle of the Peru match.

Rep. of Ireland had a shit team in the 80s. ASL beat them in the mid 80s.

Title: Re: VIDEO: Strike Squad vs Peru, Guatemala & Ireland.
Post by: Flex on August 05, 2011, 02:44:23 PM

Post by: theworm2345 on August 05, 2011, 03:27:42 PM
Rep. of Ireland had a shit team in the 80s. ASL beat them in the mid 80s.
Thats not true at all.  Almost qualified for WC '82 but missed by a hair on goal difference to France.  There was a weak period when Ireland came to T&T in '82 and lost 2-1 and to Brazil where they lost 7-0, to this day thats the record loss.  Jack Charlton took over in in 1986 and the next decade was a great one with a victory over Brazil in '87, qualifying for Euro '88, beating the English and drawing with the Soviets there.  Then qualified for WC '90 in '89 and made the quarterfinals.
Post by: Flex on August 05, 2011, 07:22:21 PM
Philbert Jones vs Guatemala (http://vimeo.com/27358216)
Title: Re: Strike Squad Thread (Videos Included).
Post by: Peong on August 05, 2011, 08:18:56 PM
Thanks for the videos.  I was at that return Guatemala game.  We went down by 1 early on and then scored 2 to win.  Good memories.
That side we had with Yorke, Stern, Latas, Eve, Elcock, Nakhid and Dwarika was a good one.  Really unfortunate that we couldn't do better.
Post by: Errol on August 06, 2011, 04:14:38 AM
This is breath taking.

Imagine, the current under 20 team men and women never seen these guys play.

Cherish these moments.

Flex, Gally,  :applause:
Post by: behind-de-bridge on August 06, 2011, 06:16:45 AM
Good job Flex. Gally was de greatest!
Post by: kaliman2006 on August 06, 2011, 07:16:30 AM
 :notworthy: :notworthy:

Flex, you're the greatest! I have been looking for the Jameson goal vs Guatemala at the Hasely Crawford Stadium (Just the National Stadium back then) for 20 years.

I remember watching that match on television with my father and his cousins. It was nuff hand-wringing and cussing going on, until that amazing Jameson bullet!

That bullet sparked the europhia which ultimately proved to be premature.

For that magical period though, the T&T became truly united and we seemed to have forgotten all our problems.
Post by: dinho on August 06, 2011, 08:49:01 AM
My pores raising watching them videos, even replaying it over and over I get the same feeling.

Was about 10 years old when my pops took me to the stadium to see those games.. Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala then the USA game. It is here that my love for the national team was born.

Keep them coming..

I wish there was a way we could source the full video tapes of those games from back then and digitize for download.
Post by: kicker on August 06, 2011, 09:44:19 AM
BESSSSS!!!!!!!!!  Lord the memories!!!

After that, in Trini the lay off and shoot from distance was "de Kerry".... The one in Guatemala was great technique, outside of the foot with the ball taking a slight hop before he hit it....and the one in the Stadium...no words can describe - it was like the perfect ending to a movie...We press and press and press and when de pressure finally buss the pipe with a bess goal to boot....I eh think Trini had ever exeperience that kinda Euphoria before (Hasely in 76 maybe?)...as a 12 yr old impressionable and naive youth I couldn't imagine that there was anything that could touch our Strike Squad...I still think I experienced more pure joy with the Strike Squad through the '89 campaign than the Warriors qualification in 2005 - because I was an adult by 2005, and more jaded and more realistic about what our squad could do...in '89 I honestly thought T&T could take on the world -t'was pure fantasy...

Thanks for the vids Flex - Great work!

Jamerson pass tuh Leo for the cross on Philbert first goal in the Guate game was sublime....

Post by: Jack Horner on August 06, 2011, 11:08:44 AM
Well I must compliment Mr Flex Mohammed for this.

Mr Gally Cummings did well to, I am surprised he gave Flex these vids, this says a lot, he is very paranoid and to himself kind of fella. He is a person to don't trust many.

Great good on getting Gally to open to you Flex, you might be the few to have ever done so.

Jack will raise again !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Trinitozbone on August 06, 2011, 01:00:22 PM
Maybe Flex seems like a trustworthy guy to Gally since he seems like a true patriot! Jack Horner you should try and be the same!
Post by: Flex on August 06, 2011, 04:48:55 PM
Gally wanted me to let you guys know that he released all these videos so one can see and understand the connection or continuation of our footballing history, especially our youth, because, to date, the TTFF has never done an analyses or have asked him anything about his team and philosophy.
Post by: kaliman2006 on August 06, 2011, 05:59:59 PM
Gally wanted me to let you guys know that he released all these videos so one can see and understand the connection or continuation of our footballing history, especially our youth, because, to date, the TTFF has never done an analyses or have asked him anything about his team and philosophy.

Thank you again for posting the link. Just one slight quibble. In the description, the venue for the Jamerson goal is listed as Queen's Park Oval on the site. It was actually at the National Stadium.

Post by: Cocorite on August 06, 2011, 06:05:44 PM

Thank you both for keeping the future teams in mind. We have a crop of leaders who care only for their own pockets and are therefore shortsighted. People in the mold of Gally are models to be emulated. T&T are fortunate to have resources like him. I know it is hard but, don't be weary in well doing; for, you shall reap if you faint not. To instill national pride in a generation of people, wow! May his tribe increase.
Post by: frico on August 07, 2011, 04:36:48 AM
If Gally was the greatest we would have qualified for 1990,instead he couldn't find a way to do so.TT was playing against the most boring and defensive team in COCCACAF...USA,they couldn't score a goal to save their bloody lives and had the worst record of goals scored to qualify for a WC.
Gally messed up by not playing one of our best players and only professional Nakhid,that was a mistake.I saw that match and our players were holding on to the ball much too long giving the US defence to nuff time to re-group,didn't Gally see that and try to change,the TT wingers were also trying to dance to the calypso beat to much,we lost coz Gally come up against a team that planned to defend and Gally should have known that and not opened up so dam early in the game to give the US their chance of scoring,which they did.
Post by: Flex on August 07, 2011, 12:46:27 PM

Turn your speakers on.....
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 07, 2011, 04:01:26 PM

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 07, 2011, 06:26:14 PM
Personally gave up on football after de 1990 campaign, was nice that we resurrected things in 06 and now we are where we are.  The sinusoidal "progress" continues.  Thanks Flex  :beermug:
Post by: grskywalker on August 08, 2011, 05:39:11 AM
WOW the strike squad was no joke. NEVER MISSED A GAME BACK IN THE DAY. Wish they could find the game against Norway from the Oval
Post by: Sando on August 08, 2011, 06:45:05 AM

This was my first game I ever saw T&T play in real life.

Brings back alot of memories.

Thanks Flex, love the back ground music at the end, it bring tears to my eyes.
Post by: weary1969 on August 08, 2011, 08:02:28 AM

Dem goals does still make meh SCREAMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
Post by: weary1969 on August 08, 2011, 08:04:25 AM
Personally gave up on football after de 1990 campaign, was nice that we resurrected things in 06 and now we are where we are.  The sinusoidal "progress" continues.  Thanks Flex  :beermug:

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN
Post by: grskywalker on August 08, 2011, 09:24:47 AM
The only man who benefitted from 1990 and 2006 campaigns was Jackula. Passion,euphoria, pride and patriotism means nothing. It's scary but we may not have hit rock bottom yet! :nailbiting: :frustrated:
Post by: weary1969 on August 08, 2011, 09:26:54 AM
The only man who benefitted from 1990 and 2006 campaigns was Jackula. Passion,euphoria, pride and patriotism means nothing. It's scary but we may not have hit rock bottom yet! :nailbiting: :frustrated:

Always remember we iz d land of d limbo so we low very low.
Post by: Burn Boots on August 09, 2011, 07:19:31 AM
frico, why all yuh so? The man was kind enough to release these videos for the world to see and i know you enjoying it. He did a good job,the greatest coaches and players does lose. Have you really, really see this team play. Don't forget that Leo put Latas on the bench in Germany, 2006.
You mentioned gally's name five times. He must be great. 
 get real nah man?
Post by: Sando on August 09, 2011, 07:36:08 AM
frico, why all yuh so? The man was kind enough to release these videos for the world to see and i know you enjoying it. He did a good job,the greatest coaches and players does lose. Have you really, really see this team play. Don't forget that Leo put Latas on the bench in Germany, 2006.
You mentioned gally's name five times. He must be great. 
 get real nah man?

You will get the negatives sometimes, everybody looses, even the greatest.

Big respect to Gally for these class videos, a world class team and a boss coach who I believe if he had stayed on, T&T football would have been in a better place.

Gally should get a few men now and go challenge the TTFF to replace all heads there.
Post by: Deeks on August 09, 2011, 09:14:09 AM
If Gally was the greatest we would have qualified for 1990,instead he couldn't find a way to do so.TT was playing against the most boring and defensive team in COCCACAF...USA,they couldn't score a goal to save their bloody lives and had the worst record of goals scored to qualify for a WC.
Gally messed up by not playing one of our best players and only professional Nakhid,that was a mistake.I saw that match and our players were holding on to the ball much too long giving the US defence to nuff time to re-group,didn't Gally see that and try to change,the TT wingers were also trying to dance to the calypso beat to much,we lost coz Gally come up against a team that planned to defend and Gally should have known that and not opened up so dam early in the game to give the US their chance of scoring,which they did.

Frico, yes, blame Gally for the lose. But Gally did one of the best preparation for a WC squad TT have ever seen. He had them men from start to finish. He made them believe in themselves. Them men was going Central American and taking on them teams with confidence. Our present can't do that.

Beenieman came in midway and perform the ultimate miracle. Hooray. Can't complain. The team Gally had on the field was the perfect for him and everybody else. They were winning with that team right thru. Should David have been on the team. I say yes, but Gally said otherwise. Is his team. He in control. If you were the coach you would have had David and drop someone else and you would have gotten flak for that.

I think Gally's mistake in 89 was not to bring the team in POS the night before the match. That long  ride from deep south with people stopping them on the way was what I think did them in. They were emotionally spent by the time they reach the stadium. They took too long to settle down. The rest is history. The strike squad was a great team. Yes I have meh bias with the 74 team because I was around with them. But I would not take anything away from them and Gally. I think that team was probably more talented that the 06 team but the lessons of the Strike Squad unfilled journey propelled the Warriors to find the will to win. Plus Dwight and Latas who were on the Strike Squad were the perfect foundation stone for The Warriors.
Post by: Cocorite on August 09, 2011, 09:19:37 AM

Frico, yes, blame Gally for the lose. But Gally did one of the best preparation for a WC squad TT have ever seen. He had them men from start to finish. He made them believe in themselves. Them men was going Central American and taking on them teams with confidence. Our present can't do that.

Beenieman came in midway and perform the ultimate miracle. Hooray. Can't complain. The team Gally had on the field was the perfect for him and everybody else. They were winning with that team right thru. Should David have been on the team. I say yes, but Gally said otherwise. Is his team. He in control. If you were the coach you would have had David and drop someone else and you would have gotten flak for that.

I think Gally's mistake in 89 was not to bring the team in POS the night before the match. That long  ride from deep south with people stopping them on the way was what I think did them in. They were emotionally spent by the time they reach the stadium. They took too long to settle down. The rest is history. The strike squad was a great team. Yes I have meh bias with the 74 team because I was around with them. But I would not take anything away from them and Gally. I think that team was probably more talented that the 06 team but the lessons of the Strike Squad unfilled journey propelled the Warriors to find the will to win. Plus Dwight and Latas who were on the Strike Squad were the perfect foundation stone for The Warriors.

Ditto. And this we all know only in hindsight. Gally should be emulated. May his tribe increase.
Post by: kaliman2006 on August 09, 2011, 09:48:05 AM

Agreed. That trek from Forest Reserve in a hot maxi to the Stadium played a major factor in the defeat. Having to deal with the crowds along the way placed additional pressure on them.
Post by: Burn Boots on August 09, 2011, 10:51:28 AM
So,Gally should just take up the team and head into Port of Spain with the  place like a carnival, no place to stay, food, etc.
The Govt. gave a holiday before the game even play and Gally wasn't into all that NAR politics that the team encountered along the way.
sources have it that Ollie Camps was the manager who told Gally and the squad that the TTFA said that they had no money. After the lost, Jack became president of CONCACAF  and Ollie President of TTFA.
Gally was the "FALL GUY."
Remember the overcrowding of the stadium?
Allyuh still believe that we coulda win that game?
Remember the Philbert Jones penalty that wasn't given?
Is the same Jack who just had to resign from FIFA.
Is over twenty -years we talking about, not nine days.
come fellas, get real, is 2011.

Post by: Deeks on August 09, 2011, 11:44:24 AM
Boots we can argue all your points. Some may have merits!. Overcrowded stadium. Ok. TTFA fault all the way. The penalty!  Well the ref did not give it. I thought I was a penalty. The man in charge thought differently.
But As far as I saw, there was no conspiracy. We lost that game fair and square.
Post by: Flex on August 13, 2011, 08:57:04 PM
Floyd Lawrence vs Paraguay (http://vimeo.com/27673989)

Marlon Morris vs Paraguay (http://vimeo.com/27673473)

Hutson Charles vs Honduras (http://vimeo.com/27672881)

Dexter Skeene vs Canada (http://vimeo.com/27671979)
Post by: OutsideMan on August 13, 2011, 09:59:48 PM
WOW the strike squad was no joke. NEVER MISSED A GAME BACK IN THE DAY. Wish they could find the game against Norway from the Oval

Actually the Strike Squad never played Norway.  They played Finland at the oval. 
Post by: OutsideMan on August 13, 2011, 10:03:44 PM
I went to all those Strike Squad games in T&T as a teen, including that damn one vs the USA on Nov 19th 1989.  20 yrs later I still steuppsing.  *smh*

That original Strike Squad will always be my team though, and Gally, my favorite coach.

Good job posting this Flex. 
Post by: Ngozi on August 14, 2011, 05:33:33 AM
I been searching for that Jamerson goal vs guatemala in the stadium for years.
Flex  allyuh have access to highlights of the game vs vilnius zalgiris that they won 4-2 and the game vs Finlnd that they won 2-0?
Inspired shit.
Post by: Sando on August 14, 2011, 08:41:14 AM
Flex, Gally -  :applause:
Post by: Flex on August 14, 2011, 11:48:35 AM
T&T 11 vs Aruba 0 (http://vimeo.com/27687545)

T&T vs Leicester City FC. (http://vimeo.com/27686787)
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 14, 2011, 12:41:26 PM

flex you got the games against Costa Rica and the big one nov 19 1989 ... i want to see that game over
Post by: Flex on August 14, 2011, 02:43:04 PM

Post by: theworm2345 on August 14, 2011, 10:33:52 PM

flex you got the games against Costa Rica and the big one nov 19 1989 ... i want to see that game over
Why do you want to see it?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m0JfllXY4bk
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SaycfnZSW0c&feature=related
Post by: Sam on August 15, 2011, 07:10:24 AM

Wait nah, Dexter Francis score a bicycle on Panama they - SWEET !!!!!!!!!!!

Allyuh eh see de beat Hutson Charles put on de Costa Rican....  :rotfl:
Post by: Ngozi on August 16, 2011, 11:58:05 AM
Nobody could tell me this team wasn't good!!!
Post by: Deeks on August 16, 2011, 06:06:07 PM
Great team!!!!!!
Post by: santacruz on August 16, 2011, 07:47:08 PM
i was a ball boy fuh ken elie in dem days! will never fuhget that guatemala game! get buff from jamerson in that game fuh not handing him the ball quickly enough! memories!!!!!!
Post by: Preacher on August 16, 2011, 08:38:38 PM
 :'(  We had players and a will.  Fight own Warriors.  We will rise again. 
Title: Leonson Lewis bicycle vs USA.
Post by: Flex on August 20, 2011, 02:13:12 PM
Well, actually part off.. ...  :angel:

Here is the video (http://vimeo.com/27950341)

PS: Post will be merged with the others soon.
Title: Re: Leonson Lewis bicycle vs USA.
Post by: kaliman2006 on August 20, 2011, 02:28:13 PM
Thanks for posting Flex. This brings back memories of my childhood. I remember hearing this song almost 24/7 for two months leading up to November 19.
Post by: Conquering Lion on August 20, 2011, 02:29:43 PM
Thanks for posting Flex. This brings back memories of my childhood. I remember hearing this song almost 24/7 for two months leading up to November 19.

I like the credits....... ;D :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: frico on August 20, 2011, 04:23:26 PM
How things have changed. :(
Post by: Sando on August 20, 2011, 06:02:44 PM
Oh my gosh !!!!!

I love this..... like how you edit this vids ttt Flex.

Thanks Flex, big up to Gally for providing the vids...
Post by: kicker on August 20, 2011, 06:13:15 PM
When yuh see Latas just rippin' through sides in the region, it's just a harsh reminder that we doh have players like that again jed....Nobody on T&T side doin' dem ting again...
Post by: College on August 20, 2011, 06:35:13 PM
Flex nice one ... This further reinforces my belief that at present, no one comes close to replacing Latas in the center mid...
Post by: Ngozi on August 20, 2011, 08:12:06 PM
Flex leonson scored a bicycle kick vs us in the gold cup and we lose 2-1 in that game do you have that video I dunno if it was the 95 gold cup  ...cant find it on the web at all :(
Post by: Sando on August 20, 2011, 08:23:06 PM
Ngozi, that Lewis goal was vs USA
Post by: vb on August 21, 2011, 02:10:45 AM
Flex,

you really know how to give a man a tabanca eh.

I had already left TT by then so I never really go to see these kinds of clips. Makes them more special for me.

Post by: Flex on August 21, 2011, 04:27:52 AM
When yuh see Latas just rippin' through sides in the region, it's just a harsh reminder that we doh have players like that again jed....Nobody on T&T side doin' dem ting again...

Actually, the side he rip through that played in white was Honduras, where he beat 4 man and then got foul in the box.... 8)
Post by: Ngozi on August 21, 2011, 09:42:26 AM
Ngozi, that Lewis goal was vs USA

Yep you're correct I actually said us but since I cyah type to save meh life I really meant USA.
Post by: kaliman2006 on August 21, 2011, 09:51:30 AM

And have to deal with other countries in the region ridiculing us.

But, in our own Trini parlance, "we look fuh dat"
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 21, 2011, 10:09:19 AM
they should show this vid to the current crop...

whey, this bring back memories...
 :beermug: Flex
Post by: kicker on August 21, 2011, 12:02:55 PM

Actually, the side he rip through that played in white was Honduras, where he beat 4 man and then got foul in the box.... 8)

Yeah - meant CONCACAF region...  :beermug:
Post by: Quags on August 21, 2011, 12:33:25 PM
Well, actually part off.. ...  :angel:

Here is the video (http://vimeo.com/27950341)

PS: Post will be merged with the others soon.
Classic !!!
Post by: Sam on August 22, 2011, 05:57:11 AM
Niceness Flex  !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Zeppo on August 22, 2011, 02:18:32 PM
Flex leonson scored a bicycle kick vs us in the gold cup and we lose 2-1 in that game do you have that video I dunno if it was the 95 gold cup  ...cant find it on the web at all :(

I think it was the 1991 Gold Cup:

http://www.rsssf.com/tables/91gc-full.html
Post by: Deeks on August 22, 2011, 04:38:52 PM
Looking at that video clips showed that Gally did do a great job with that team. I was really impressed with Alibey. I did not see much of him until that game against the US in Torrance. Alibey had speed to burn and was giving the US players thunder. It is a pity he did not feature more prominently in the remaining games. I honestly was hoping Gally would have brought him on earlier in that fateful game. But it was not be. Hail the Strike Squad!!!!
Post by: Ngozi on August 22, 2011, 07:14:45 PM

I think it was the 1991 Gold Cup:

http://www.rsssf.com/tables/91gc-full.html

Yep thats the one!
Post by: Flex on August 24, 2011, 11:01:16 AM
I been searching for that Jamerson goal vs guatemala in the stadium for years.
Flex  allyuh have access to highlights of the game vs vilnius zalgiris that they won 4-2 and the game vs Finlnd that they won 2-0?
Inspired shit.

Sorry, dont have that game....
Post by: Flex on November 19, 2011, 07:23:02 AM
Happy November 19th 1989 Anniversary.

Though, it was sorrow at the end, but for most parts it was unbelievable joy and unity.

Gally really brought the best out of the entire country and region.
Post by: weary1969 on November 19, 2011, 07:39:05 AM
Happy November 19th 1989 Anniversary.

Though, it was sorrow at the end, but for most parts it was unbelievable joy and unity.

Gally really brought the best out of the entire country and region.

Thanks 2 Nov 16 2005 2day is just another day.
Post by: kaliman2006 on November 19, 2011, 12:36:21 PM
The highs and lows of T&T football have all occurred in November.

This is a day of reflection
Post by: Trini on November 22, 2011, 11:18:45 AM
I could remember exactly what part of the stadium I sat in for most of them games...

I personally find that more people connect with the Strike Squad than the Soca Warriors, or even the 1973 team...
November 19th stirs more emotions for the football public than Nov 16th (I even had to double check the date).

What was it about this team ?  Was it  simply the first time the country was taken on a footballing adventure where they could be part of it (unlike the Haiti tournament which was a one-off tournament played away from home over a very short time)....or did they become immortal by actually losing that game? Kinda like when a hero dies at the end of a movie...
Post by: Tallman on September 20, 2016, 12:56:58 PM
WATCH: Former Strike Squad forward Philbert Jones comments on the state of Trinidad and Tobago football

https://www.youtube.com/v/Gl6Lz3K8Ytw
Post by: Tallman on October 06, 2019, 09:06:47 PM
WATCH: The Strike Squad - 30 Years Later

https://www.youtube.com/v/A8Jz_DZ-ENw