Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on August 09, 2011, 07:05:58 AM

Title: Khaleem Hyland signs with Belgian champions Racing Genk
Post by: Tallman on August 09, 2011, 07:05:58 AM
Khaleem Hyland to Racing Genk
essevee.be

SV Zulte Waregem and Racing Genk have reached an agreement on the transfer of midfielder Khaleem Hyland.

Hyland (06/05/1989) came in January 2009 to Zulte Waregem and debuted on Feb. 7 with a stunning 1-2 away win, precisely visiting ... Racing Genk.

The International of Trinidad & Tobago (27 caps) came into action for 72 times and scored five times Essevee, all during the past season.

Khaleem Hyland: "Of course I am happy with my transfer. As a young player you live with the ambition to the highest possible level to be active. Now that the opportunity came, I did not leave. I developed me to Zulte Waregem the player I am today. "

"When I arrived I was only a few months away from my homeland, but people in Waregem have ensured that I'm able to adjust quickly. I would like both the people of the club and supporters to thank for all the help and support during the last 2.5 years. "

During the last days of play was suspended Khaleem Hyland watched his mates took 4 to 6 against Lokeren and OH Leuven. Steve Colpaert and Jonathan Delaplace played centrally in midfield. With the game almost fit René Sterckx and Olafur Skulason Essevee has two strong irons in the fire at those positions.

(http://www.krcgenk.be/images/news/584X386/hylandsite_1312888803.jpg)
Title: Re: Khaleem Hyland signs with Belgian champions Racing Genk
Post by: Jayerson on August 09, 2011, 07:23:35 AM
This is a clear endorsement of Hyland's talent. Genk are the current champions and face Macaiba Haifa (if I remember correctly) in a play-off for a UCL spot. Would love to see a Trini in the UCL this season.
Post by: #4 on August 09, 2011, 07:28:09 AM
 :applause: Congrats Kid!

This is a clear endorsement of Hyland's talent. Genk are the current champions and face Macaiba Haifa (if I remember correctly) in a play-off for a UCL spot. Would love to see a Trini in the UCL this season.

They play August 23rd.
Post by: Observer on August 09, 2011, 07:30:26 AM
Good for him. Genuine talent and seems to have a good head on his shoulders. Genk is a good club and he can only grow in this environment.
Post by: ribbit on August 09, 2011, 08:05:28 AM
very nice to hear about this. ah love how hyland focussing here on de team and de fit. best of luck yute!!

:applause: :applause: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Rastaman on August 09, 2011, 08:26:56 AM
Good news for him......would be intresting how soon before he would be allowed to play for the National Team.

Anybody think Genk sending him to play unless we make it to the Hex  :devil: :devil:
Post by: Peong on August 09, 2011, 08:34:38 AM
Great news to start the day.  I know that he has put in good performances, but I didn't know he was getting noticed by the big clubs.  Congrats to him, and I hope this means we'll get more chances to see him in action.
Post by: andre samuel on August 09, 2011, 08:47:16 AM
Massive massive news!!

Congrats to him!!
Post by: Storeboy on August 09, 2011, 08:49:26 AM
Great news! Congratulations, young man.  Seems like a translated article as some of those sentences were poorly constructed (and funny). For example: "When I arrived I was only a few months away from my homeland..." or "Of course I am happy with my transfer. As a young player you live with the ambition to the highest possible level to be active. Now that the opportunity came, I did not leave. I developed me to Zulte Waregem the player I am today. "  Wish him well though and hope he can be a benefit to the Warriors.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 09, 2011, 09:04:27 AM
CONGRATS TO KHALEEM!!! :applause: :applause: :applause:

Good news for him......would be intresting how soon before he would be allowed to play for the National Team.

Anybody think Genk sending him to play unless we make it to the Hex  :devil: :devil:

This is one of the problematics of our football. In most ascendant football nations, a player in Hyland's circumstances ordinarily would not be pressed into national service, but would be allowed to consolidate as a player and professional and gradually incorporated into the NT scheme in a systematic manner.

I'm not suggesting that we should underutilise our available talent, but if we are honest about the experience of players in starter leagues, this is not an uncommon approach. In any event ... we are not an "ascendant" nation, so our battle with this is destined to be uneven in the absence of a more global or holistic approach to engaging players who are seeking to establish themselves abroad.
Post by: fari on August 09, 2011, 10:50:52 AM
storeboy... tall man like he try a ting with google translator, ease him up nah  ;D

this is excellent excellent news, this youth has impressed me every time i have seen him play.  look at his eyes in the pic, the boy have a quiet determination about him.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on August 09, 2011, 11:15:32 AM
Is ah good thing Maturana saw how talented he was even when he was playing for UNATTACHED and use to have him sweatin regular.  If was up to some here this day would not have come (or at least not so soon) for Hyland because they were fiercely opposed to unattached players getting a run in the NT!

Big up Hyland, yuh always had talent now show dem dat determination to be the best yuh could be!
Post by: FireBrand on August 09, 2011, 11:24:55 AM
Hyland signs 5-year deal with Genk.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Khaleem Hyland has signed a five-year contract with Belgium Pro League champions Racing Genk.

The former San Juan Jabloteh midfielder put pen to paper on Tuesday and could be in action as early as this Saturday against his former club SV  Zulte Waregem.
The 22-year-old Carenage-born player has  made 27 appearances for the T&T Senior Team and also represented the country at the 2009 FIFA Under 20 World Cup in Egypt.

“It’s a great opportunity for me to play for a bigger club and to have the opportunity to play in the European Champions League. That’s every player’s dream once you make it on a European club. I feel privileged to have signed a five-year deal,” Hyland told TTFF Media on Tuesday after his first session with Genk.

“But I have to say a special thanks to management, coaching staff, teammates and fans of Waregem for welcoming me into their club when I first signed to play in Belgium and for the opportunity they presented to me.”

Hyland made 72 appearances for Waregem and now he hopes to stake his claim in Genk colours.

“The opportunity to play in the Champions League playoffs is something I’m really looking forward to. I hope I can have a positive impact on the team’s performance and help the club progress into the Champions League. There is a massive following here for the club and I’m really looking forward to being part of everything at Genk,” Hyland added.

Genk  have won 3 Belgian champion titles in 1998–99, 2001–02 and in 2010–11. They’ve also captured three 3 Belgian Cups, most recently in 2008–09. They are one of the 5 Belgian clubs to advanced to the  UEFA Champions’ League group stage, with Lierse, Anderlecht, Club Brugge and Standard Liège. They made it through in the 2002–03 season, finishing fourth in their group with 4 points.
Post by: dinho on August 09, 2011, 11:28:24 AM
Racing Genk FOREVER!
Post by: Mose on August 09, 2011, 12:01:44 PM
Congrats to the young man!
So who starting the Genk thread ;-)
Post by: Tallman on August 09, 2011, 12:03:38 PM
Racing Genk FOREVER!

If it was ah Trini club, it would be Racing Quenk FOREVER!
Post by: Mose on August 09, 2011, 12:04:45 PM
Racing Genk FOREVER!

Post by: Jah Gol on August 09, 2011, 12:10:00 PM
Quenk going and stick .

When last a Trini play in the group stage of the CL?
Post by: Controversial on August 09, 2011, 12:15:25 PM
congrats to hyland :beermug:
Post by: Cowen on August 09, 2011, 12:16:01 PM
See what one Spanner on Gerrard does do ..... ;D

Congrats  :beermug:
Post by: Trinidogg on August 09, 2011, 01:19:49 PM
Great news our midfield been seriously lacking at recent times Khaleem's continuous growth in becoming a top class Midfielder would be such a big asset to our team...
Post by: mukumsplau on August 09, 2011, 03:53:15 PM
ah nex team to adopt..ah love it..
Post by: D.H.W on August 09, 2011, 04:14:17 PM
Big team
Post by: Zeppo on August 09, 2011, 04:27:24 PM
Interesting news. He could soon be playing with this youth:

American Exports: Youth phenom Bijev inked by Liverpool (http://www.mlssoccer.com/news/article/2011/07/24/american-exports-youth-phenom-bijev-inked-liverpool)
Post by: D.H.W on August 09, 2011, 05:02:36 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/65biJkPxfCU
Post by: Dutty on August 09, 2011, 05:05:28 PM
Racing Genk FOREVER!

LOL!!!
Post by: fari on August 09, 2011, 05:38:43 PM

i like how he making an effort to speak the language.  i find it interesting that he say that he willing to play anywhere on the pitch to help the team...good mindset.
Post by: Jah Gol on August 09, 2011, 06:07:14 PM

i like how he making an effort to speak the language.  i find it interesting that he say that he willing to play anywhere on the pitch to help the team...good mindset.
Showing dedication to making it. It can't be easy being a Trini out there . Food , language, climate,colour you just won't fit in easily. Full props to Hyland on his professionalism and dedication out there not just finding  a place but moving to one of the best clubs in the country. All the best to you if you're reading this.
Post by: mukumsplau on August 09, 2011, 06:27:04 PM
i used to fight up with online streams to see this man play and khaleem have what it takes to be a very very good box to box midfielder..hoping he helps his side to the UCL group stages and i have no doubts that he'll impress against the 'big guns'..im that confident..
Post by: andre samuel on August 09, 2011, 06:44:56 PM
See what one Spanner on Gerrard does do ..... ;D

Congrats  :beermug:

LOLOLOLOLOL

I thought i was de only man who remember that, LOL
Post by: spideybuff on August 09, 2011, 06:49:44 PM
Imagine a man gone Belgium to learn how to speak english with a foreign accent... ???

LOl...finally we have a real pro again as opposed to men who overseas but not really with no decent side.
Post by: Deeks on August 09, 2011, 07:55:39 PM
Racing Quenk!!!!!! ;D
Post by: Jah Gol on August 09, 2011, 08:02:03 PM
Imagine a man gone Belgium to learn how to speak english with a foreign accent... ???

LOl...finally we have a real pro again as opposed to men who overseas but not really with no decent side.
He have a dutch accent  ;D
Post by: MEP on August 09, 2011, 09:04:01 PM
Well ah like de poise, maturity and professionalism de yute showin...still trying to digest the English Dutch accent or is that the Dutch English accent
Post by: Bakes on August 09, 2011, 09:21:26 PM

For real... how old is this yute again... 20-21?  He's incredibly poised and well-spoken, and diplomatic.  He hit all the right notes in that interview.  Dutch is supposedly one of the most difficult languages to learn so kudos to him on the effort, obviously he's been making the most of his 3 yrs in Belgium.

I notice that too... he still eh learn that it have ah 'h' in "think" and "thank" doh LOL
Post by: BESBRAHN on August 09, 2011, 09:47:06 PM
Great news...good box to box mid,played in the same Mucurapo side some years back with Atulla Guerra...actually thought Guerra was the better player but attitude play a big part where you reach...when we played England in the stadium Capello singled out Highland and wanted to know his name..
Post by: Controversial on August 09, 2011, 10:06:09 PM
Great news...good box to box mid,played in the same Mucurapo side some years back with Atulla Guerra...actually thought Guerra was the better player but attitude play a big part where you reach...when we played England in the stadium Capello singled out Highland and wanted to know his name..

guerra is a better player, corneal ruined guerra's chances by benching him because he from john john and they hold that against the youth

why you think men dislike corneal so much, guerra should have been out of trini long time playing football with a big club >:(
Post by: soccerman on August 09, 2011, 10:07:01 PM
All the best Hyland. Make the best of it :beermug:
Post by: Tenorsaw on August 09, 2011, 10:44:08 PM

I think men does forget a lot of people don't really speak standard English in Trini.  Our dialect could be very far from formal English, so when men go abroad and they have to speak English, is like learning a new language, and you pick up the accent of the local tongue.  Not defending de man, but it happens.
Post by: Jay10 on August 09, 2011, 11:19:38 PM

guerra is a better player, corneal ruined guerra's chances by benching him because he from john john and they hold that against the youth

why you think men dislike corneal so much, guerra should have been out of trini long time playing football with a big club >:(

Guerra was dropped for that match because the 'skipper' decided that he wanted a sweat...
Post by: Big Magician on August 09, 2011, 11:35:27 PM
well done youth

play de fitball ( thats why you got this move)

Ladies and GENKelemen...My Khaleem Hyland
Post by: Big Magician on August 09, 2011, 11:41:24 PM

why you think men dislike corneal so much, guerra should have been out of trini long time playing football with a big club Angry

Contro...dais shit...if you only know how much Anton did to get Guerra on that U 20 team....

and YES..i do think that Guerra is a better player than Hyland... but latas better than kenwyne Jones...so what the ass yuh saying   
Post by: Ngozi on August 09, 2011, 11:45:48 PM
lol @ this guerra thing .... anyway it's great to see Hyland moving up ... is a real reflection on the youth well played ... well played!!!
Post by: Arimaman on August 10, 2011, 07:27:22 AM
Well spoken young man.... I like this kid... Hopefully he could really do well at Genk and above all help T&T....
Post by: Babalawo on August 10, 2011, 07:44:40 AM
 :applause: :applause:
Post by: Midknight on August 10, 2011, 09:20:25 AM
Finally some good news...

I wouldn't get on his case too much for the accent. When I had to speak english to native french speakers for whatever reason I found myself automatically speaking it with a French accent.

Is only bosses like Jason Scotland could continue to do what they normally does under any circumstances  ;D

Congrats man. Keep up the hard work and represent.
(when we start to cuss yuh for not coming back for meaningless friendlies with India and Wasa FC I hope yuh back broad)
Post by: Sam on August 10, 2011, 09:30:47 AM
De man have a fresh water something accent and is only 2 years he they....

Lard....

Anyhow, good luck and doh fraid to bull them Belgium thing until they belch.
Post by: Dutty on August 10, 2011, 10:15:13 AM

I wouldn't get on his case too much for the accent. When I had to speak english to native french speakers for whatever reason I found myself automatically speaking it with a French accent.

really?!!..well that is...odd
 the human brain is a hell of ah ting yes.....
Post by: asylumseeker on August 10, 2011, 10:59:45 AM

For real... how old is this yute again... 20-21?  He's incredibly poised and well-spoken, and diplomatic.  He hit all the right notes in that interview.  Dutch is supposedly one of the most difficult languages to learn so kudos to him on the effort, obviously he's been making the most of his 3 yrs in Belgium.

I notice that too... he still eh learn that it have ah 'h' in "think" and "thank" doh LOL

Many Dutch when speaking English ... often say "tink" ...
Post by: jai john on August 10, 2011, 11:06:17 AM
Big team

I am glad for de man ..but aren't we going a little overboard here ? " Big team " Racing Genk ?? ...
Post by: Sando prince on August 10, 2011, 12:49:38 PM
Congrats to dis man  :beermug: Hope he takes all this improvement from club to country.
Post by: D.H.W on August 10, 2011, 12:55:14 PM
Big team

I am glad for de man ..but aren't we going a little overboard here ? " Big team " Racing Genk ?? ...
arent they d Belgian champions  ???
Post by: Bakes on August 10, 2011, 01:17:20 PM

Fresh water FrancKee...

Many Dutch when speaking English ... often say "tink" ...

Oh okay... didn't know that.  But that said, even his 'phrasing' in English, the intonation, rhythm, vocal inflection... seems to be tinged by the Dutch, so if what you say is indeed true then it only adds to my initial suspicion that the "accent" is genuine.
Post by: vb on August 10, 2011, 02:45:30 PM
Was a bit surprised by the accent but when you spend a long time abroad surrounded  by second lang. Eng. speakers and have to speak the local dialect a lot, it does affect your accent a bit depending on how intense the situation is.

However, the depth of his accent was still quite a surprise.

Post by: jai john on August 10, 2011, 08:16:24 PM
Big team

sorry I forgot big like small is relative ... guess when I use the words " big team " i refer to something different ....my bad .
Post by: Midknight on August 10, 2011, 09:05:31 PM

ves, ze uman maind vorks in meesteerius vays...
Post by: Midknight on August 10, 2011, 09:08:43 PM

Fresh water FrancKee...

nice one
Post by: asylumseeker on August 10, 2011, 09:26:04 PM

I think men does forget a lot of people don't really speak standard English in Trini.  Our dialect could be very far from formal English, so when men go abroad and they have to speak English, is like learning a new language, and you pick up the accent of the local tongue.  Not defending de man, but it happens.

Quite true. Not sure if it applies to Khaleem, but quite true.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 10, 2011, 09:28:28 PM

Sometimes this is expedient. Sometimes it just happens.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 10, 2011, 09:32:12 PM
De man have a fresh water something accent and is only 2 years he they....

Lard....

Anyhow, good luck and doh fraid to bull them Belgium thing until they belch.

Post by: Socafan on August 10, 2011, 09:33:38 PM
Big team

sorry I forgot big like small is relative ... guess when I use the words " big team " i refer to something different ....my bad .

Big team...yuh mean like River Plate  :devil:
Post by: Midknight on August 10, 2011, 10:13:38 PM
Big team

Big team...yuh mean like River Plate  :devil:

:six:
Post by: jai john on August 11, 2011, 07:27:05 PM
" Big  team " ...Racing Genk ...I following them from now on ...I have to put them on my list along with Villareal, Boca Juniors, AC Milan and Spurs ....   :devil:
Post by: Tallman on August 13, 2011, 07:47:42 PM
(http://static1.hln.be/static/photo/2011/12/14/6/album_large_4315311.jpg)

(http://static0.hln.be/static/photo/2011/2/4/11/album_large_4315301.jpg)

(http://static0.hln.be/static/photo/2011/0/2/9/album_large_4315299.jpg)

(http://static2.hln.be/static/photo/2011/3/5/12/album_large_4315302.jpg)

(http://static1.hln.be/static/photo/2011/13/15/7/album_large_4315312.jpg)

(http://static1.hln.be/static/photo/2011/10/12/4/album_large_4315309.jpg)

(http://static1.hln.be/static/photo/2011/15/0/9/album_large_4315314.jpg)

(http://static2.hln.be/static/photo/2011/16/1/10/album_large_4315315.jpg)
Post by: Peong on August 13, 2011, 08:23:46 PM
Looks like he was not in the squad today.  It hard to find good coverage.
Post by: theworm2345 on December 16, 2012, 10:43:48 AM
Didn't know where to post this, but he scored today (late consolation goal)
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 16, 2012, 12:28:23 PM
His old team give them licks? I wonder how that does feel? They higher up de table too.