Sports => Football => Topic started by: 100% Barataria on August 14, 2011, 11:54:00 AM

Title: La Liga Season 2011-2012
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 14, 2011, 11:54:00 AM
Commences today w/the super cup at 4pm EST
Title: Re: La Liga Season 2011-2012
Post by: Peong on August 14, 2011, 02:46:36 PM
Pretty football on display.  2 very good goals so far.
Xavi, Pique, Puyol on the bench and Real have had the better and more numerous chances.
Post by: giggsy11 on August 14, 2011, 02:48:30 PM
No formula for Messi! Poison!
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 14, 2011, 02:50:46 PM
Funny eh, this is the most disorganized I have seen us look for a while even w/Pique, Puyol, Xavi and others on the bench, 2 chances, 2 goals, actually, 1.5 chances, 2 goals...Madrid's fitness is way up, very fast game, exciting season lies ahead
Post by: Peong on August 14, 2011, 02:54:28 PM
Yuh can't have any slackness around Messi nah.
Villa goal was a precision strike, beauty of a shot.
Benzema had a a couple chances to put the ball on frame, but once he couldn't find his feet and the other time the defender blocked.

I didn't realize how good Benzema's pass to Ozil was.  Boss play.
Post by: giggsy11 on August 14, 2011, 03:07:31 PM
Damn Sanchez has been impressive-he beatsin and jumpin rope like nothing!
Post by: Peong on August 14, 2011, 03:18:04 PM
2-2!   And now Pepe make Alves feel it lol dat good for him.

How does Cristiana manage to disappear in these games?
Post by: Toppa on August 14, 2011, 03:41:59 PM
Will this match go to PKs if it ends in a draw?

Come on Madrid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Bitter on August 14, 2011, 03:46:47 PM
This ref have balls of stone. I suppose that is in the top criteria to ref a Barca - Real match.
Post by: Peong on August 14, 2011, 03:47:26 PM
Yuh see these dirty Barca men?  I can't stand it.  Valdez now trip Cristiano and then pretendin that Cristiano dive.
Post by: Bitter on August 14, 2011, 03:51:02 PM
Yuh see these dirty Barca men?  I can't stand it.  Valdez now trip Cristiano and then pretendin that Cristiano dive.

CR feel a breeze on his foot and tumble over like he get shot. It was a good no-call. Lots of good no-calls by this ref I think.
Alonso making some brave tackles though.
Post by: Toppa on August 14, 2011, 03:53:01 PM

:D
Post by: Peong on August 14, 2011, 03:54:11 PM

CR feel a breeze on his foot and tumble over like he get shot. It was a good no-call. Lots of good no-calls by this ref I think.

Are you saying there was no contact?  I didn't see the contact for sure, but Valdez did intend to trip him.  
Now look Alves kickin away men and can't believe that the ref would penalize him.  If yuh do yuh ting own up to it like a big man.
Post by: Toppa on August 14, 2011, 03:56:54 PM
Peong I never knew you were a Madrid fan! Or do you just hate Barca?
Post by: STEUPS!! on August 14, 2011, 04:00:08 PM
good game. real pace. alot of wild tackles from both teams tho
Post by: Bitter on August 14, 2011, 04:01:10 PM

Are you saying there was no contact?  I didn't see the contact for sure, but Valdez did intend to trip him.  
Now look Alves kickin away men and can't believe that the ref would penalize him.  If yuh do yuh ting own up to it like a big man.

CR feet get tangle up with VV and then when he step out of that, he see VV put his hand out, he decide to fall over it. To me those are not fouls. Men diving so much we beginning to think that all kinda ticky-tack thing is fouls and penalties.
Post by: Peong on August 14, 2011, 04:55:03 PM

CR feet get tangle up with VV and then when he step out of that, he see VV put his hand out, he decide to fall over it. To me those are not fouls. Men diving so much we beginning to think that all kinda ticky-tack thing is fouls and penalties.

Bitter, Valdez was having dark thoughts and wanted to trip him.
And if a goalie or defender actually tries to trip you, CR or not, TAKE THE FALL, I will not begrudge anyone for that.  You wanted CR to hurdle it?

Toppa I love football and I love the underdog, that's all it is.
Post by: Bakes on August 14, 2011, 04:59:06 PM

And if a goalie or defender actually tries to trip you, CR or not, TAKE THE FALL, I will not begrudge anyone for that.  You wanted CR to hurdle it?

Toppa I love football and I love the underdog, that's all it is.

Looks to me like he clip him on the ankle... he was definitely living dangerously there.  In all fairness the ref coulda (shoulda?) award Pedro a penalty on the Marcelo tackle on the other end... but I like the no-call.  Slightest touch and dem men does drop and grab they foot like they get lash wid ah 2 x 4.
Post by: Bitter on August 14, 2011, 06:49:33 PM

CR wasn't getting the ball unless he was Usain Bolt, it was out past the 18 with a barca defender closing in on it. Why would the ref call that near-foul a penalty? because Valdes intended to foul him?

My point is, that it was mostly nothing. Certainly in the context of the game and the way the ref was calling it, that wasn't a penalty.
Post by: Peong on August 14, 2011, 10:43:59 PM
CR wasn't getting the ball unless he was Usain Bolt, it was out past the 18 with a barca defender closing in on it. Why would the ref call that near-foul a penalty? because Valdes intended to foul him?

My point is, that it was mostly nothing. Certainly in the context of the game and the way the ref was calling it, that wasn't a penalty.

First of all, if CR didn't go down, that ball was his.  It was not past no 18, and the nearest defender was behind CR.  You obviously need to re-watch the incident.
Second, the ref would give a penalty because Valdez hit him with his arm intentionally.  It wasn't a sledgehammer blow, but he did hit him, and it was intentional. One without the other might be excuseable, but not both together.
Third, did you see me say anything about penalty? That wasn't my point.  My point was that Valdez is a nasty player, and as I watch them more I see that the nasty play is definitely a trait that is shared within certain members of the squad. Busquets, Valdez play today and the biggest crybaby Alves.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on August 15, 2011, 09:40:12 AM
Commences today w/the super cup at 4pm EST

Been meaning to start this thread for some time now. Thanks!!

Real Madrid 2-2 FC Barcelona
1-0 : Özil 12'
1-1 : Villa 36'
1-2 : Messi 45'
2-2 : Xabi Alonso 53'

(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Barcelona/1b84694b4443f8812ad7b647902d9efc-getty-505055924.jpg)
(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Barcelona/ap-201108141746639789478.jpg)
(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Barcelona/e0ec3eccac0ed33cc4c7e490cf040c67-getty-505056336.jpg)

http://www.youtube.com/v/R_Pi6DyO7cA
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 15, 2011, 10:42:10 AM
Got to love Puyol, hands down the best person w/whom to go into battle, takes no prisoners!
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on August 17, 2011, 09:41:15 AM
Spanish Supercup 2nd Leg

Wenesday the 17th of August 2011

23:00 CET (Barcelona Time)
5:00 PM (Trinidad Time)

I am only seeing it scheduled on DirecTV.

Camp Nou, Barcelona

First Leg Result
Real Madrid 2-2 FC Barcelona

1-0 : Özil 12'
1-1 : Villa 36'
1-2 : Messi 45'
2-2 : Xabi Alonso 53'

Video Highlights of the Match:
http://www.youtube.com/v/39qJj6sK9Us

Sanchez eating up wild man Marcelo food.
http://www.youtube.com/v/4AERzljAMYQ
Post by: GunnerStunner on August 17, 2011, 03:15:34 PM
ride pine cesc ride pine!
Post by: kaliman2006 on August 17, 2011, 03:20:39 PM
Nice goal by Iniesta on the midfield pass by Messi.

1-0 Barca.
Post by: 2cents on August 17, 2011, 03:21:57 PM
1-1. why did we buy fabregas and need a defender sooooo badly?
Post by: GunnerStunner on August 17, 2011, 03:29:15 PM
ask xavi pique iniesta pep puyol et al :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: DeSoWa on August 17, 2011, 03:45:57 PM
Messi is a beast!

Post by: giggsy11 on August 17, 2011, 03:47:46 PM
Messi literally and figuratively brings Ronaldo to his knees! ;D
Post by: giggsy11 on August 17, 2011, 03:48:42 PM

Bitter much?  ;D
Post by: Peong on August 17, 2011, 03:49:45 PM
Messi is a killer boy.  Big assist by Pique.

Cristiano strugglin vs Alves.  I think he rushin it too much.  He makin his move to early, givin Alves time to tackle.
Alves just waitin for him and pickin him off every time.
Post by: GunnerStunner on August 17, 2011, 04:04:45 PM

Bitter much?  ;D

nope i love cesc but thats what he will be doing

i hope barca fail to win anything this season
Post by: giggsy11 on August 17, 2011, 04:14:57 PM
Seems like everytime Marcello comes up against Messi he leaves him writhing on the ground. A rake here a stamp there; very suttle how he does it to!
Post by: giggsy11 on August 17, 2011, 04:17:55 PM
For some reason Cesc looks like more of man and less of a boy wearing that Barca kit.
Post by: GunnerStunner on August 17, 2011, 04:30:37 PM
For some reason Cesc looks like more of man and less of a boy wearing that Barca kit.
stfu  :devil:
Post by: elan on August 17, 2011, 04:34:32 PM
That should have been a yellow on Messi, blatant kick.
Post by: giggsy11 on August 17, 2011, 04:36:02 PM
stfu  :devil:

Why yuh takin it personally Gunner? :devil:  The fella jus look like he aged dise all! Any way Cesc safer on the bench cause Real aint takin no prisoners!
Post by: elan on August 17, 2011, 04:36:13 PM
Done supporting Barca, to much calls going their way and they playing just as nasty.  #don'tlikeatall
Post by: giggsy11 on August 17, 2011, 04:37:02 PM
Real look like dey give up and dey decide tuh jus take out men now!
Post by: giggsy11 on August 17, 2011, 04:37:54 PM
Done supporting Barca, to much calls going their way and they playing just as nasty.  #don'tlikeatall

Both sides playin stink!
Post by: kaliman2006 on August 17, 2011, 04:42:43 PM

I see what you mean about Barca's defending. The Barca marking was awful on that Real equalizer.

2-2.
Post by: Bakes on August 17, 2011, 04:43:41 PM

Yeah I kinda came to that realization earlier this year too (the return game against Arsenal specifically) ...that I'm no longer comfortable rooting for them.
Post by: giggsy11 on August 17, 2011, 04:48:56 PM
It only took Cesc 15minutes to win a trophy with Barca; mean while at Arsenal  :whistling:
Post by: DeSoWa on August 17, 2011, 04:53:05 PM
It only took Cesc 15minutes to win a trophy with Barca; mean while at Arsenal  :whistling:

Steupss, I knew someone was going to say something like that :devil:....look fight, Fab get hacked down oui...now he is a MAN lol  red passing left right and center!

Post by: elan on August 17, 2011, 04:54:58 PM
Very poor officiating. Marcelo, has been doing really well. I realize that he is a quality player.
Post by: GunnerStunner on August 17, 2011, 04:55:11 PM

took manu 18 YEARS until fergie came rolling down from scotland
Post by: giggsy11 on August 17, 2011, 04:57:36 PM
Waitin tuh see who is the first player tuh get seriously hurt when these two play. It is coming like Christmas.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on August 17, 2011, 04:59:31 PM
Fighting Aside these two teams are the best in the world and have been the best since last yr in my opinion. Hopefully they get to meet in the Munich final this yr.
Post by: Bakes on August 17, 2011, 05:00:10 PM
Very poor officiating. Marcelo, has been doing really well. I realize that he is a quality player.

Marcelo deserve that red though... on the replay he scythe him down from behind.

I kinda tired ah Pep and he tight clothes... but Mourinho is ah real tun tun, de man walk up behind Tito Vilanova and twist he ears in de middle ah de thing.  Vilanova pelt ah Gervinho and ketch him back on he face.  Real li'l boy thing.
Post by: elan on August 17, 2011, 05:03:05 PM

Marcelo deserve that red though... on the replay he scythe him down from behind.

I kinda tired ah Pep and he tight clothes... but Mourinho is ah real tun tun, de man walk up behind Tito Vilanova and twist he ears in de middle ah de thing.  Vilanova pelt ah Gervinho and ketch him back on he face.  Real li'l boy thing.

Yeah did not see the tackle, but I guess as much. Just in general I was talking. Can't believe Mourinho do that. SMH
Post by: giggsy11 on August 17, 2011, 05:04:30 PM

Steupss, I knew someone was going to say something like that :devil:....look fight, Fab get hacked down oui...now he is a MAN lol  red passing left right and center!

Look Ray steal meh line! ;D
Post by: DeSoWa on August 17, 2011, 05:09:54 PM

Look Ray steal meh line! ;D

Yuh shoulda copyright it  :rotfl:

I think Fab did win ah trophy with Arsenal though, FA cup in 2005/06?  :-\

Post by: elan on August 17, 2011, 05:10:58 PM
Match Stats
Barcelona                    Real Madrid
11 (8)        Shots (on Goal)         16(6)
17            Fouls                             17
7            Corner Kicks             7
5            Offsides                     6
60%        Time of Possession     40%
2            Yellow Cards             6
1            Red Cards                     2
4            Saves                     5
Post by: DeSoWa on August 17, 2011, 05:12:41 PM
Once again Barca win ah match against Real when they get a red card  :devil:

Post by: Jah Gol on August 17, 2011, 05:21:29 PM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: oh shit  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Bakes on August 17, 2011, 05:36:23 PM
Yeah did not see the tackle, but I guess as much. Just in general I was talking. Can't believe Mourinho do that. SMH

http://www.youtube.com/v/ck0zKU9TNr0

Tito is Pep bulldog... Pep refuse to engage Mourinho in de back and forth so he have Tito doing the talking fuh him.  Ah guess Mourinho decide tuh treat him like ah misbehaving chile in return, lol
Post by: Observer on August 17, 2011, 06:28:44 PM
The game in general was not played in a good spirit. Far to many deliberate fouls and way too much diving from both teams. Pepe & Marcello are way too talented to play such wild ass football. Marcelo lucky to have been on the field to receive the red. That was a malicious tackle
Post by: Peong on August 17, 2011, 07:14:09 PM
Great games and some beautiful goals.  This matchup was a real treat for the start of the season. 
These losses real hurtin Real Madrid, they are always the first to lose their tempers.
Barca is still the better side by a good margin.
Post by: kicker on August 17, 2011, 07:36:33 PM
Game was good until the 75th when it got chippy.  Madrid couldn't keep up the high line for 90 mins...they got tired and their defensive play got a bit sloppy (and rough)...Pretty even match overall but Barca was more clinical and precise.  I like that Madrid is playing them high up the field and attempting to outplay them instead of bunkering down and countering like we saw last season...looking forward to the clasicos during the season, though I'm afraid that they are degenerating into some serious alley fights where the good football either gets overshadowed or eventually disappears when the legs get a bit tired...
Post by: Observer on August 17, 2011, 08:12:50 PM
Game was good until the 75th when it got chippy.  Madrid couldn't keep up the high line for 90 mins...they got tired and their defensive play got a bit sloppy (and rough)...Pretty even match overall but Barca was more clinical and precise.  I like that Madrid is playing them high up the field and attempting to outplay them instead of bunkering down and countering like we saw last season...looking forward to the clasicos during the season, though I'm afraid that they are degenerating into some serious alley fights where the good football either gets overshadowed or eventually disappears when the legs get a bit tired...

I have to agree on the point about Real's defending. Mourinh obviously worked on this tactical approach for 2011-12. Barca are clearly not up to their best in terms of physical standards, but dam they are technically precise.
This was arguably the best defensive display I have ever witnessed from Danny Alves.
Post by: Jah Gol on August 17, 2011, 08:41:08 PM
I've been watching Madrid's preseason closely. In terms of speed of play and sharpness I was very impressed with them. To be honest I was ready to concede the cup before the  whistle blew for the first leg. The fact that Barca beat Madrid when they are far ahead of us in terms of preparation says something about the technical ability of Barcelona. Lionel Messi is an anomaly that is very difficult neutralize. 
Post by: Dumplingdinho on August 17, 2011, 09:00:09 PM
jose try to ride out quietly before tito saw him.... :rotfl: :rotfl: he move like he in standard 2.
Post by: kicker on August 18, 2011, 07:45:01 AM
I have to agree on the point about Real's defending. Mourinh obviously worked on this tactical approach for 2011-12. Barca are clearly not up to their best in terms of physical standards, but dam they are technically precise.
This was arguably the best defensive display I have ever witnessed from Danny Alves.

Yeah Barca still has a gear or two in reserve - They are still the team to beat. 

Alves read every one of Cristiano Ronaldo's moves like a book...

Messi tips the scale as well - He adds a dynamic of unpredictability that no other team has the luxury of.... without him they would be a totally different team. 
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on August 18, 2011, 09:04:28 AM
FC Barcelona 3-2 Real Madrid
1-0 : Iniesta 15'
1-1 : C.Ronaldo 20'
2-1 : Messi 45'
2-2 : Benzema 82'
3-2 : Messi 88'

Barcelona wins 5-4 on aggregate.

Highlights:
http://www.youtube.com/v/yJcSmC1SpEs

Fracas:
http://www.youtube.com/v/UNajyNeem3w

Somebody fart??
http://www.youtube.com/v/tCYqIwmVI1g

(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Barcelona/BarcelonavRealMadrid08172011Vlad6.jpg)
(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Barcelona/BarcelonavRealMadrid08172011Vlad11.jpg)
(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Barcelona/BarcelonavRealMadrid08172011Vlad19.jpg)
(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Barcelona/BarcelonavRealMadrid08172011Vlad29.jpg)
(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Barcelona/BarcelonavRealMadrid08172011Vlad23.jpg)
Post by: dinho on August 18, 2011, 09:15:39 AM
Always been one of the biggest fans of Mourinho but really and truly it gone past the point where I can even think of defending his conduct..

Some things bigger than football, like respect for the opponent regardless and for him to condone what Marcelo did at the end of the game is reprehensible.. Furthermore his conduct in joining in the melee instead of trying to hold back his own players is rhell low for a man in his position..

He really dragging Real Madrid name through the mud.
Post by: kicker on August 18, 2011, 09:31:27 AM

With Mourinho yuh take the good with the bad - good manager, stands by his players and supposedly an incredible motivator...the bad is that he's a gamesman who loves to live in front of the camera and doesn't know when to shy away from the circus....sometimes at the expense of his own perceived integrity. 
Post by: Peong on August 18, 2011, 10:02:31 AM
So what happened to Pinto?  He need to keep quiet after Chivas ress 4 on him.
And I seein rumours about Villa and Ozil, I wonder what really happened between them.
Post by: sammy on August 18, 2011, 10:16:22 AM
And I seein rumours about Villa and Ozil, I wonder what really happened between them.

what rumors?
Post by: sinned on August 18, 2011, 10:26:23 AM
Always been one of the biggest fans of Mourinho but really and truly it gone past the point where I can even think of defending his conduct..

Some things bigger than football, like respect for the opponent regardless and for him to condone what Marcelo did at the end of the game is reprehensible.. Furthermore his conduct in joining in the melee instead of trying to hold back his own players is rhell low for a man in his position..

his conduct real poor. every single call against him during the game he remonstrating on the sidelines. at some point he have to tell his team live with the calls and play the damn game. and then when a melee break out he instigating thing too.

tactically he have madrid looking good but he playing with fire with his behavior.
Post by: Peong on August 18, 2011, 10:56:41 AM

his conduct real poor. every single call against him during the game he remonstrating on the sidelines. at some point he have to tell his team live with the calls and play the damn game. and then when a melee break out he instigating thing too.

tactically he have madrid looking good but he playing with fire with his behavior.

Out of these two teams you think Real need to learn to live with the calls?  You sure about that?
Mourinho must have learnt it while at Barca because he wails about every call just like a Barca player.
Post by: sinned on August 18, 2011, 11:18:38 AM
i think both needs to live with the calls. as a coach you have to set the example. pep is jumping up and down at every call and crying conspiracy in the press is he?
Post by: Peong on August 19, 2011, 03:06:50 PM

what rumors?

That Villa insulted Ozil's religion. (Islam)
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on August 29, 2011, 07:54:05 AM
FC Barcelona v Villarreal CF • 29 August 2011

Barcelona 9:00pm
Trinidad 3:00pm

Camp Nou, Barcelona

Previous Meetings:
02/04/11 PRD Villarreal 0 - 1 Barcelona
01/05/10 PRD Villarreal 1 - 4 Barcelona
02/01/10 PRD Barcelona 1 - 1 Villarreal
10/05/09 PRD Barcelona 3 - 3 Villarreal

Puyol, Piqué, Maxwell, Adriano injured, and Alves suspended.

The La Liga race start off hot and sweaty.

Real gave Zaragoza a rout and CR7 scored a hattrick.

Let's see if Messi can answer back and keep pace with him.

Oh and Small Mag and the rest of the ManU bandwagon - all yuh like phoqing advantage. Run up against Barca with the likes of Evans, Jones, Smalling, and Cleverley and we go show yuh what is advantage.
Post by: mukumsplau on August 29, 2011, 12:10:01 PM
delicious match...im sure v'real gonna be up to it...i rel like that side..
Post by: TRUwarrior on August 29, 2011, 12:27:56 PM

Camp Nou, Barcelona

Previous Meetings:

Oh and Small Mag and the rest of the ManU bandwagon - all yuh like phoqing advantage. Run up against Barca with the likes of Evans, Jones, Smalling, and Cleverley and we go show yuh what is advantage.

Wenger bring food...men eat :rotfl:
Post by: Toppa on August 29, 2011, 12:28:19 PM
Buh wha de arse.

*ahem*

Madrid spanked Zaragoza for 6 and it have easily been 12.

That it all.
Post by: Peong on August 29, 2011, 12:31:54 PM
Who see Kaka's golaso???
I hope he scores a lot more.

http://video.rutube.ru/27e51e8050139b727a10295ab508c0c5
Post by: Toppa on August 29, 2011, 01:06:31 PM
Yes, Kaka's goal was very bess.

Post by: kicker on August 29, 2011, 01:15:52 PM
Good start to the season for RM - Not sure how good Zaragoza is, but six is six, on to the next one.

Not really on Kaka but glad to see him finding the net...Very Kaka-like goal - seen him score a bunch like that. 
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 29, 2011, 01:26:54 PM
 :yapping:
Post by: Toppa on August 29, 2011, 01:38:47 PM
:yapping:

:bringiton:
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on August 30, 2011, 08:16:24 AM
FC Barcelona 5-0 Villarreal CF
1-0 : Thiago 25'
2-0 : Fàbregas 45'
3-0 : Alexis 47'
4-0 : Messi 52'
5-0 : Messi 74'

(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Barcelona/20.jpg)
(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Barcelona/148.jpg)
(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Barcelona/1210.jpg)
(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Barcelona/2110.jpg)

Highlights:
http://www.youtube.com/v/5X9VPhGjeeM
Post by: Peong on August 30, 2011, 09:00:45 AM
I want Barca to hand out these kinds of beatings to the English clubs, especially Man U.
Make it happen.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on August 30, 2011, 09:20:51 AM
I want Barca to hand out these kinds of beatings to the English clubs, especially Man U.
Make it happen.

I go make a call and see wha I could arrange.
Post by: Fyzoman on August 30, 2011, 09:57:09 AM

Camp Nou, Barcelona

Previous Meetings:

Wenger bring food...men eat :rotfl:

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: ENT?!?!?!!
Post by: Toppa on August 30, 2011, 11:26:55 PM
Villarreal on shit ah wha?!? steupsssss
Post by: palos on August 31, 2011, 12:00:57 AM

Ask jai john  :devil:
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on September 07, 2011, 11:48:48 AM
Enzo Zidane training with the senior squad.

http://www.youtube.com/v/Zsh3EYvveHM
Post by: jai john on September 07, 2011, 12:32:29 PM

Well we run into the best team in de world when we are not yet up to our best. As a selling club we will always struggle after a successful year. I remember Ajax winning the European cup one year and lost most of their players the next. needless to say what happened to them then. After finishing 4th in La Liga and qualifying for the European play offs last year we had to sell playmaker and spanish International Santi Cazorla. when a small side like Villareal loses an influential player they really feel it ...we are not like the big clubs with cover in every position. this year villareal had to sell a " big player " simply to survive. The same was happening to south american clubs until recently.
It is all about the money ....if you dont have it ..you will struggle to survive. Look at how many big clubs are bordering on arbitration ... If you have good players they wont stay when the big cluba come calling .
..But the season is long and we will rise to the surface like any good submarine ...in the end we are always there ...we are not even attractive as a club for some rich arab ...population too small ...we eh even a good buy over..but we are a good team as we have demonstrated ...we are in the European Cup competition ...many big clubs cant say that .... villareal ...the world's biggest small side !! :rotfl:
Post by: kicker on September 10, 2011, 11:48:46 AM
Barca drop 2 points today...Not even a desperate Messi dive in the dregs could rescue them today...

Post by: giggsy11 on September 10, 2011, 01:30:11 PM
Ball by Ronaldo for the third!
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 10, 2011, 09:16:23 PM
Barca drop 2 points today...Not even a desperate Messi dive in the dregs could rescue them today...

No seen, we could afford RM at most a 5 point gap prior to our two meetings  :devil:
Post by: Bitter on September 17, 2011, 12:48:28 PM
Who scheduled a practice game during the season?

Barca 5 - Osasuna  :'(

... in the first half.
Post by: Observer on September 17, 2011, 03:21:19 PM
Who scheduled a practice game during the season?

Barca 5 - Osasuna  :'(

... in the first half.

Lard!! They get 8. Talk about Sampat!!!
Post by: mukumsplau on September 17, 2011, 05:27:06 PM
honestly, i rarely find this league entertaining.
Post by: giggsy11 on September 18, 2011, 12:47:13 PM
Real lacks discipline and always seem tuh be involve in drama! Some of these players in La liga must take acting lessons on the side!
Post by: Observer on September 18, 2011, 01:56:25 PM
Her nah Real under pressha. Ah man just rest a stink stink drag on Carvalho.
Post by: Jah Gol on September 18, 2011, 02:12:00 PM
Her nah Real under pressha. Ah man just rest a stink stink drag on Carvalho.

They replayed it 3 times
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on September 19, 2011, 10:01:18 AM
FC Barcelona 8-0 Osasuna
1-0 : Messi 5'
2-0 : Fàbregas 13'
3-0 : Villa 34'
4-0 : Rovérsio (o.g.) 40'
5-0 : Messi 41'
6-0 : Xavi 57'
7-0 : Villa 76'
8-0 : Messi 79'

(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Barcelona/1210-1.jpg)
(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Barcelona/251.jpg)
(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/Barcelona/171.jpg)

http://www.youtube.com/v/--928-v0hIo
Post by: Controversial on September 19, 2011, 03:33:56 PM
i have always loved la liga in comparison to the epl

imo the epl is scrappy football, while la liga imo is more free flowing and entertaining football to watch

too bad i have not taken in too many matches this season, maybe later on i will, has any started a fantasy league la liga season?
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on September 21, 2011, 12:10:24 PM
Valencia CF v FC Barcelona | 21 Sep 2011

Estadio Mestalla, Valencia

Barcelona (CEST), 22:00
Trinidad, 4:00 pm

Past Meetings:
Wed 02/03/11 PRD Valencia 0 - 1 Barcelona
Sat 16/10/10 PRD Barcelona 2 - 1 Valencia

http://www.youtube.com/v/UrlIGXzBw9M
Post by: Dansteel - The Iceman on September 22, 2011, 11:18:08 AM
A good article on an excellent young coach.

La Liga a better place after Valencia's rise to the top of the table
Never mind the top two, Barcelona and Real Madrid are not even in the top three, after another dramatic night of action

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2011/sep/22/la-liga-better-place-valencia (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2011/sep/22/la-liga-better-place-valencia)

It was well past one in the morning and the votes were still pouring in. TV station La Sexta had asked the question and they were answering in their thousands. Can Valencia win the league? Not Real Madrid, not FC Barcelona: Valencia. Never mind the 25-point gap that separated them from the top last year or the 28 points by which they missed out on the title the year before, never mind the obligatory departure of their best players or the fact that the Sevilla president, José María Del Nido, had dubbed this a "shit league" that could only be won by the big two, the answer was "yes". And by some distance, too: 73% of viewers said that Valencia can win the league.

A few hours before, Real Madrid had drawn a desperately dull match in Santander 0-0 against Racing; now Valencia had drawn 2-2 with Barcelona in a fantastic, frenetic and fascinating game. After the opening weekend, it had appeared all over already: Madrid had won 6-0 and Barcelona 5-0. A revolution was launched and immediately crushed. Now, four weeks into the season, La Liga has a very different look. Madrid have dropped five of the last six points, Barcelona four of the last nine. Never mind the top two, they're not even in the top three. On Thursday morning Real Madrid sit in seventh and Barcelona are fourth. Above them, Real Betis – who will go top if they get a point against Real Zaragoza – and Málaga. And above them, sitting unbeaten, Valencia. So much for a two-team league.

Now, a little advice from Harvey Keitel wouldn't go amiss. At this stage last season, Barcelona were also fourth; two weeks later, Valencia were top and Real Madrid third. And the league finished the way it finished. But you could understand the enthusiasm. Valencia, after all, have done it again. This summer Juan Mata departed. Economic and footballing reality bites. Like Sergio Agüero, his departure underlined that the best players at Spain's other clubs have one of two choices: sign for Madrid or Barcelona or leave the country. It also followed a trend; Mata followed David Silva and David Villa out of Mestalla. Raúl Albiol and Carlos Marchena had gone too: none of Valencia's World Cup winners are left.

Yet by the time next summer's European Championship comes round, Valencia may once again have players in the Spain squad. Roberto Soldado has scored 17 in his last 13 games, giving him the best goals-per-game ratio of any Spanish striker in 2011, and both Jordi Alba and Sergio Canales could get opportunities. Nor are they alone. Valencia have again sold their best player for a huge profit – they have made €120m (£105m) on Silva, Villa, Albiol and Mata alone – and reinvested the money wisely, while also continuing to service their debt. They will certainly miss Mata, just as they missed Villa and Silva but they have once again rebuilt intelligently.

In total, 14 players left this summer, but eight came in. The average age dropped from 28 to 24 – the departure of the 40-year-old goalkeeper César Sánchez helped – and the overall impression is of a squad that has got stronger. The centre-backs Edil Rami and Víctor Ruiz in particular have given them the solidity that they lacked, complementing each other well and proving to be a hugely effective partnership, and they have been joined by Canales, Diego Alves and Dani Parejo. Meanwhile, Ever Banega, Tino Costa and Mehmet Topal are still around. Even Miguel has stayed – and he is promising to be good too.

Just as importantly, the manager, Unai Emery, is still around. That alone is a miracle. Every year, Valencia debate whether or not to renew Emery's contract and every year they do. There always seem to be doubts – occasionally Emery fuels them with defensive changes that do not please supporters or directors – and this summer he took a pay cut to continue. Yet this is his fourth season at Mestalla and only two coaches have ever lasted as long. Every year he has to rebuild his side. Every year, he succeeds too.

So now Valencia sit top. But it is not just that they are top that has fuelled the optimism, it is how they got there and how they stayed there: beating Atlético Madrid, Sporting and Racing and now this.

Last season Valencia were top until they faced Barcelona. Unluckily beaten 2-1 at the Camp Nou, they lost the leadership of the league and never got it back. But this was different. On the night that Rafa Benítez returned to Mestalla for the first time since 2004, there was something redolent about this performance. Benítez won Valencia's first league in 31 years; there was a feeling that emulating that might not be so impossible after all. Before the game, Emery insisted: "If Barcelona play to their best the only choice you have is how you die." Instead, it was Barcelona feeling thankful to have survived. The Valencia newspaper Super Deporte led on: "That's the way we like it." Inside, the headline ran: "A magnificent Valencia make Barcelona suffer."

They certainly did: even the Catalan media were cheering the draw. Unlike Madrid's 0-0 in Santander, 2-2 at Mestalla was, said the cover of El Mundo Deportivo, "a puntazo" – a hell of a point. In fact, according to Sport, it was "más que un punto". Not strictly true of course – Barcelona's lead over Madrid is just one point when it could have been a three-point lead that would look hugely significant even as early as this – but there was a certain logic to the argument.

Before every game, Emery gathers his players in a small, white room equipped with rows of chairs like a tiny cinema. There, with the help of a whiteboard, a marker and an old sock to wipe away his workings, he talks them through what they have to do – reinforcing the work done in training during the week, leaping to the board to scribble arrows and circles. Before they leave, he hands each one of them their "homework": a USB pen-drive containing individual instructions, details of what he expects from them and what they can expect from the opposition – the right-back is told about their left-winger, the centre-forward about their centre-back. The man who took Almería to a miraculous eighth place in 2008, an obsessive tactician who can be found at grounds all over the country furiously scribbling on scraps of paper, Emery pores over every detail trying to get his tactics right.

On Wednesday night, he did. Guardiola on the other hand didn't. Before the match, Guardiola had insisted that playing with three at the back was "risky"; he had so much respect for Valencia, he said, that never mind four, last year he played with five. But when it came to it, he opted for a back three in a 3-3-1-3 formation with Javier Mascherano as a kind of narrow right-back and Dani Alves as a right-winger miles away up at the other end of the pitch. "What a game Mascherano had," Guardiola said afterwards, forgetting to include the word "terrible". Exposed, out of position and alone, the Argentinian could not cope. Emery pushed Jérémy Mathieu up on the left-hand side – and it was from there that both of Valencia's goals came as they took a 1-0 lead through an Abidal own goal and a 2-1 lead through Pablo Hernández (even if the ref's report gave it to Miguel, who was miles away). It was from there too that the chance was created for Soldado's extraordinary miss. At half-time Guardiola moved Alves back to full-back; he had taken his time.

Emery pushed his side high, played with speed and intensity and sought to rob the ball, giving Barcelona "as little possession as possible". Midway through the second half the statistics read: Barcelona 53%, Valencia 47% – startlingly low for a Barcelona team which averages closer to 65%. Xavi rarely settled, Sergio Busquets was hurried and Seydou Keïta was irrelevant. Banega in particular was hugely impressive. "They took the ball off us and we really suffer when that happens," Puyol said afterwards, "it was a great game with two great teams." "Having less possession than normal meant that we had to work harder and that led to far greater defensive tiredness," Guardiola admitted. "Valencia were wonderful; Mathieu and Alba always caused us problems."

For Valencia there was just one issue: Barcelona have Cesc Fábregas and, above all, they have Leo Messi. He provided a superb assist for Pedro to get the first equaliser, got bundled over for a penalty that was ignored, and then provided another assist for Cesc to score his fifth in five games. With Barcelona finally finding their rhythm and with Alba sent off in the 92nd minute, Valencia were forced to hang on for the 2-2 draw. "I am," Emery said, saying it all, "half-satisfied." He still has not defeated Barcelona but few have so come close so often; and few have impressed like Valencia did, clinching a draw that La Liga need almost as much as they did in the aftermath of Mata's departure. As Guardiola put it: "This result may reconcile people with the league."

Back in the spring of last year, Emery was explaining his approach. Leaping to his feet, a marker in his hand, he drew a cross on the whiteboard. "If you have Messi here, he dribbles past five and scores," he said, frantically adding more crosses and circles and arrows. "Great. But if you don't have Messi, or some other amazing player, you have to look at the move again. Messi starts here, and the ball ends up in the net. So, let's start there and try to end at the goal too. What's the aim? What's the best path? A one-two, a movement from this side, an overlap? There's no Messi so, this guy has to play inside, he returns it, he overlaps, he crosses … we might not have the one player who can complete that journey but with three we can do it."

The enthusiasm defines Emery and the phrase defines Valencia. With each passing season, they have sold their best player, their quickest route to goal – Silva, Villa, Mata – but with each passing season they have brought in three more. With each passing season, Emery has been forced to find another route and every year that journey becomes harder, but he keeps on making it. For all the optimism, winning the league is almost certainly beyond Valencia but they have journeyed to the top of the table. And La Liga is a better place for it.
Post by: Peong on September 24, 2011, 12:04:31 PM
Valencia gone and do shit to lose today.

Now Real Madrid down 1-0 in the 1st minute  :rotfl:
Post by: Bakes on September 24, 2011, 12:09:25 PM
Valencia gone and do shit to lose today.

Now Real Madrid down 1-0 in the 1st minute  :rotfl:

Kanoute goal should have stood anyways... so all's well that ends well.
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 24, 2011, 01:14:26 PM
Di Maria have the IQ of a raisin, game on now for the underdogs

Edit: RM responds, but ah like this side, knockin a nice brand, this Lass fella from Guinea lookin like a bright prospeck
Post by: dinho on September 25, 2011, 07:55:07 AM
Messi just advantageous right now.. Rough up Chelsea on-loan goal keeper yesterday.

http://www.goalsarena.org/video/spain-liga-bbva/24-09-2011-barcelona-atletico-madrid_en.html
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on September 27, 2011, 07:40:49 AM
FC Barcelona 5-0 Club Atlético de Madrid
1-0 : Villa 9'
2-0 : Miranda (og) 15'
3-0 : Messi 26'
4-0 : Messi 78'
5-0 : Messi 90'

(http://www.fcbarcelona.com/web/Galeries/futbol/temporada11-12/09/partits/fcb-atletico/2011-09-24_FCB_-_ATLETICO_DE_MADRID_017.jpg)

http://www.youtube.com/v/jai_FVbZmkc
Post by: Toppa on October 03, 2011, 12:44:35 PM
Great goals by Higuain for his hat-trick. What's mourinho going to do once Benzema recovers?  :-\

http://www.youtube.com/v/ON1Gq-1KHbI

Post by: Toppa on October 15, 2011, 02:57:14 PM
Another hat-trick by Higuain and another Golazo by Kaka.

http://www.youtube.com/v/VqCEjRlVmRI
Post by: mukumsplau on October 23, 2011, 11:33:21 AM

rel cracked up when i saw this during the game...dem is real gladmen yes

http://www.youtube.com/v/hmRdRbqfmpg&feature=related
Post by: Toppa on October 23, 2011, 01:41:07 PM
^__^

Yes, it was very funny.

Ronaldo hat-trick.

And they tremble in the Camp Nou!
Post by: Peong on October 23, 2011, 04:29:39 PM
So Messi is a mortal after all.
Iniesta with one big swan dive.  Good for allyuh.

Post by: Toppa on October 23, 2011, 11:21:17 PM
What really going on with Levante at all???? Dey over-doing it now.
Post by: mukumsplau on October 24, 2011, 01:48:28 AM
What really going on with Levante at all???? Dey over-doing it now.

i scope d game against villareal...they play some really enterprising football..off course its still early in the season but its nice a team can come and just shake up things a bit
Post by: Raul on October 24, 2011, 03:53:29 AM
So Messi is a mortal after all.
Iniesta with one big swan dive.  Good for allyuh.

Same thing Messi did earlier in the season... When facing a draw, I guess the tactic is a 90th minute dive... Still very early in the season but it's good to see a team holding Dive-alona scoreless in Noucamp Aquatic Centre...
Post by: Observer on October 24, 2011, 05:26:20 AM
Real look frighteningly good. They are in the moment!

Post by: Peong on October 25, 2011, 02:10:47 PM
Are Barca struggling?  1-0 over Granada who played 35 mins with 10 men.
Anybody saw the game?  How Barca played?
Post by: Bitter on October 25, 2011, 02:20:12 PM
Are Barca struggling?  1-0 over Granada who played 35 mins with 10 men.
Anybody saw the game?  How Barca played?

Like Barca. the goal was a free kick. Granada had good chances.
Barcelona looking like they bored with these games. Them playing like Jesse Eisenberg in Zombieland - stay alive, don't get bitten.
Real playing like Woody Harrelson, if you see a zombie kill it with much violence and great relish.
Post by: Toppa on October 25, 2011, 05:57:48 PM
Ah wonder if Villarreal frighten fuh tomorrow...
Post by: Toppa on October 26, 2011, 04:02:40 PM
Real Madrid won by a disappointing 3 - nil.  :bs:
Post by: Toppa on October 26, 2011, 06:46:15 PM
Bess goal by Kaka.

http://www.youtube.com/v/umRQUxv35qU
Post by: Raul on October 27, 2011, 04:32:31 AM
Levante scored a 93rd minute winner at home to stay top of the table yes... After 10 rounds this can't be no flukes thing  :o
Post by: dinho on October 27, 2011, 07:24:44 AM
Guardiola rejects Yaya Toure snub claim

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story/_/id/975477/barcelona-coach-pep-guardiola-rejects-yaya-toure%27s-snub-claim?campaign=rss&source=soccernet&cc=3888

Barcelona coach Pepe Guardiola has denied that he froze Yaya Toure out of the club, insisting that the midfielder asked for a transfer and that the Catalans "tried to convince him to stay".

Toure, 28, left Camp Nou in July 2010 for big-spending Manchester City in a dealt worth around £24 million and enjoyed a fine first season, winning the FA Cup and helping Roberto Mancini's side qualify for the Champions League for the first time.

The Ivory Coast international has since claimed he was forced out of Barca and this week reiterated that stance, insisting Guardiola "ignored" him and that he "did not want to leave".

"When I spoke with Guardiola he left me blank," Toure said. "His explanations were a bit strange and he ignored me up until I had the offer from City. My family were laughing because they thought my situation at the club with Guardiola was a joke.

"At the end Guardiola spoke to me, but initially he never said anything. He had no confidence in me. I wanted to stay and he did not. If Guardiola had spoken to me I would have stayed at the club. I did not want to leave. I wanted to finish my career at Barca."

But Guardiola has responded by rejecting Toure's comments, with the Barca boss recalling events towards the end of Toure's spell at Camp Nou differently to his former player.

"The doors of my office were always open," Guardiola said. "The reality is that he asked president Joan Laporta to leave and that we tried to convince him to stay. If we face City in the Champions League I'll talk to him."
Post by: Toppa on October 27, 2011, 08:09:44 AM
Levante scored a 93rd minute winner at home to stay top of the table yes... After 10 rounds this can't be no flukes thing  :o

lol Ent. But they go must run out of gas and Real Madrid ready and waiting.
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 27, 2011, 09:09:41 AM

lol Ent. But they go must run out of gas and Real Madrid ready and waiting.

Toppa girl, yuh had to watch dat typin in yuh sleep business  ;D
Post by: lefty on October 27, 2011, 10:17:52 AM

seriously weys apart from d obvious few it real hard to pick females on dis board boy........ assuming yuh not being facetious   
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 27, 2011, 12:18:43 PM

seriously weys apart from d obvious few it real hard to pick females on dis board boy........ assuming yuh not being facetious   

Nah, Toppa is female, unless somebody tief she IP address and impersonatin....
Post by: Toppa on October 27, 2011, 12:52:58 PM

Buh ent you'se a girl too? Or no?  ???
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on October 27, 2011, 01:49:38 PM

So is ova hea yuh does be campin out eh?  Yuh wha ah lil sweat laytah aought?
Post by: Toppa on October 27, 2011, 02:50:19 PM

So is ova hea yuh does be campin out eh?  Yuh wha ah lil sweat laytah aought?

How later is later? It go look rel bad if ah get ketch playing All Fours on work, but I down! lol
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on October 27, 2011, 03:40:26 PM
How later is later? It go look rel bad if ah get ketch playing All Fours on work, but I down! lol

Wha time good fuh u?
Post by: lefty on October 27, 2011, 04:32:27 PM

fullashit :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :laugh:
Post by: Toppa on October 27, 2011, 06:57:34 PM

fullashit :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :laugh:

So dise ah yes or ah no?  ???
Post by: lefty on October 27, 2011, 07:32:19 PM
guess
Post by: Bitter on November 06, 2011, 08:18:25 AM
Real Madrid 7- Osasuna 1
http://www.youtube.com/v/OKw4TBjcn1Q

Real like they mashing ants.
The next super classico will be the games of the year.
Post by: giggsy11 on November 06, 2011, 08:31:07 AM
Real Madrid 7- Osasuna 1
http://www.youtube.com/v/OKw4TBjcn1Q

I think that will depend on if Jose doesn't decide to close up shop against Barca. The last time he decided to open it up dey get 5. It would be nice to see him trust that his talent good enough to take on Barca man for man.
Post by: Toppa on November 06, 2011, 09:52:13 AM
Right now, Real is in much better form than Barcelona.
Post by: Raul on November 06, 2011, 11:35:59 AM
Real Madrid 7- Osasuna 1

I think that will depend on if Jose doesn't decide to close up shop against Barca. The last time he decided to open it up dey get 5. It would be nice to see him trust that his talent good enough to take on Barca man for man.

I think JM found the right formula considering the 7 clasicos over the last 12 months. Compare the 5-nil blowout in the 1st clasico (first league meeting last season) to the 5-4 aggregate Dive-alona win in the last two clasicos (this season's Supercup). Anyhow, once both teams remain injury free, I am sure we in for some action...

Btw, with the victory today, cr7 is the first to score 4 hattricks in the first 11 games of any La Liga season.
Post by: Bitter on November 06, 2011, 02:42:07 PM
I doh know why Pep take off Pique. He was on a hat-trick!
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 06, 2011, 02:53:34 PM

ha ha, play w/pepto bismol today
Post by: Toppa on November 06, 2011, 03:29:46 PM

Hahahaha @ these two comments. Whoooo and the lead extends!
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 06, 2011, 05:54:37 PM

Yeah, all yuh lookin betta right now, but is early days yet, will see how it unfold.  Toppa, is 3 points yuh gloatin bout so
Post by: Toppa on November 06, 2011, 08:25:20 PM

Yeah, all yuh lookin betta right now, but is early days yet, will see how it unfold.  Toppa, is 3 points yuh gloatin bout so

How much allyuh won the league by last year? All we need is one point eh know - and maybe not even that!  :bringiton:
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 06, 2011, 09:05:34 PM
Real Madrid 7- Osasuna 1

I think JM found the right formula considering the 7 clasicos over the last 12 months. Compare the 5-nil blowout in the 1st clasico (first league meeting last season) to the 5-4 aggregate Dive-alona win in the last two clasicos (this season's Supercup). Anyhow, once both teams remain injury free, I am sure we in for some action...

Btw, with the victory today, cr7 is the first to score 4 hattricks in the first 11 games of any La Liga season.

dize awright, let metronaldo play he self.  He chasin' dong scoring title, takin' every free-kick, every penalty, and still divin' (a tad bit less, but still doin' it all the same), he could have dat.  He STILL cyah shine Messi boots.  (and dat KILLIN' him!)
Post by: Toppa on November 06, 2011, 10:52:35 PM
Real Madrid 7- Osasuna 1

dize awright, let metronaldo play he self.  He chasin' dong scoring title, takin' every free-kick, every penalty, and still divin' (a tad bit less, but still doin' it all the same), he could have dat.  He STILL cyah shine Messi boots.  (and dat KILLIN' him!)

Ummm...nobody not on Messi...
Post by: Mango Chow! on November 06, 2011, 11:53:59 PM
Real Madrid 7- Osasuna 1

Ummm...nobody not on Messi...

Yuh mean nobody wearin' allyuh shirt!  :D
Post by: Toppa on November 07, 2011, 03:36:47 PM
ToBarataria who was wondering what I was crowing about...and to Mango Chow - just because.

Madrid extended their lead over Barca on Sunday to three points after the champions could only draw at Athletic Bilbao. And Guardiola has never been that far behind before. In fact, you have to go back 125 games since Madrid held such an advantage over Barca.
Post by: Raul on November 21, 2011, 11:12:07 AM
They found the idiot though...

La Liga match between Granada and Mallorca abandoned after official is hit by an object from the crowd

http://www.goal.com/en/news/12/spain/2011/11/20/2766802/la-liga-match-between-granada-and-mallorca-abandoned-after (http://www.goal.com/en/news/12/spain/2011/11/20/2766802/la-liga-match-between-granada-and-mallorca-abandoned-after)

http://m.youtube.com/index?desktop_uri=%2F&gl=US#/watch?v=QLQbkT9sN9c (http://m.youtube.com/index?desktop_uri=%2F&gl=US#/watch?v=QLQbkT9sN9c)

Post by: Toppa on November 27, 2011, 06:07:10 PM
Ah find Disgruntled stop post is dis thread eh!

Anyway...SIX POINT LEAD!!!!!!
Post by: Raul on November 27, 2011, 06:21:50 PM
Just some stats... this is Barca's worst start under Pep after 13 rounds -> 2008/09 (32 points), 2009/10 (33 points), 2010/11 (34 points) and 2011/12 (28 points). On the flip side, Real Madrid's +36 Goal Difference is the best they had in their history, and the best La Liga has seen in the last 81 years -> 1930/31 (Athletic Bilbao +37).
Post by: Peong on November 27, 2011, 08:14:15 PM
Yeh when Barca win Disgruntled used to come with all kinda long ass match summary with pics and vids.  Now what happen?
Post by: Toppa on November 27, 2011, 08:16:03 PM
Yeh when Barca win Disgruntled used to come with all kinda long ass match summary with pics and vids.  Now what happen?

Dise wey I saying...wey Disgruntled??? :worried:
Post by: dinho on January 09, 2012, 12:16:36 PM
Took in the Barca v Espanyol game yesterday...

That game was pure entertainment. Barca came out looking lacklustre and off key.. Probably suffering from hangover from the World Club Championship or jet lag or something, but they didnt look like themselves at all. Messi more than anybody look totally out of the game.

Espanyol take the game to them and the midfield was battling, but the side on a whole was comedy. The keeper and the defender try to gift Barca goals in the first 15 minutes with hospital back passes and bad clearance. Then if i had a dollar for every miskick, bad trap, wild shot dem Espanyol forwards try when they was in decent positions to score i woulda be rich. They have a man name Thievy who is the very epitome of shitong, and a next man name Verdu who was just as bad if not worse. I thought them men get pay off or something.

Anyway, after Fabregas score it was end to end action whole game, but in truth the Espanyol goal was always coming.. A poisoner in the 85th minute. Then in injury time, Pique rock the crossbar and a defender save the follow up off the lines with hands, but the ref miss it.

Bess game though. Barca 5 points behind with work to do.
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 09, 2012, 12:56:40 PM
Yeah Dinho, yuh hit de nail on de head, we look like we jus leave smokey and bunty and gears up.  5 points adrift, wuk to do
Post by: FF on January 09, 2012, 01:15:37 PM
Took in the Barca v Espanyol game yesterday...

That game was pure entertainment. Barca came out looking lacklustre and off key.. Probably suffering from hangover from the World Club Championship or jet lag or something, but they didnt look like themselves at all. Messi more than anybody look totally out of the game.

WCC was almost a month ago!

More like too much christmas ham and grog
Post by: elan on January 18, 2012, 03:19:59 PM
Page 3, no one interested in the clash today? Where Toppa?

Ronaldo just buss up Pinto nets.
Post by: Peong on January 18, 2012, 03:22:12 PM
Sanchez with a superb header. 
Now Pepe doin what he does best, causin pain.
Post by: Bitter on January 18, 2012, 03:23:21 PM
I was hunting for this thread all in page 4 and 5, only to find it on page 1.

Real ketch them on the break, but like they wake up the beast.
Post by: elan on January 18, 2012, 03:30:58 PM
Daiz pace........................we currently have any player to play at such a pace?
Post by: Bitter on January 18, 2012, 03:32:20 PM
Madrid going to lose this game. Barca dominating possession and making some  :drool: passes.

.. and only throwing away.
Post by: Bitter on January 18, 2012, 03:33:24 PM
Daiz pace........................we currently have any player to play at such a pace?

Steups, why yuh cyah just enjoy the game yuh watching? yuh go see pace vs Finland.
Post by: Peong on January 18, 2012, 03:34:02 PM
Yeh Barca goin to score.  Same story as every game. 
I can't believe Pepe so dumb he will go and get yet another early yellow.
Hatchet man to de bone yes.
Post by: elan on January 18, 2012, 03:36:45 PM

Me eh think daiz ah yellow card tackle............I think it proactive reffing more than anything.
Post by: Peong on January 18, 2012, 03:38:42 PM

Me eh think daiz ah yellow card tackle............I think it proactive reffing more than anything.

He came in very late, he had every opportunity to pull out of that tackle because there was no way he was goin to get to the loose ball first.  I woulda give him the yellow too.
Post by: Bitter on January 18, 2012, 04:08:43 PM
...and there it is.

Real playing too defensive so far. The counter-attack only work once. Fro the rest of the time they've been under too much pressure.
Post by: Bitter on January 18, 2012, 04:22:55 PM
When is the last time Ronaldo name call in this game?
Post by: Bitter on January 18, 2012, 04:28:37 PM
Sanchez with a superb header. 
Now Pepe doin what he does best, causin pain.

Pepe lucky to still be on the field.
Post by: giggsy11 on January 18, 2012, 04:37:49 PM
Real will always beat dem selves by losing focus against Barca. You can't lose focus and try tuh beat Barca. Real talented but mentally weak compared to Barca.
Post by: Bitter on January 18, 2012, 04:38:29 PM
Madrid going to lose this game. Barca dominating possession and making some  :drool: passes.

I selling lottery numbers!
Post by: Peong on January 18, 2012, 04:40:27 PM
What a finish!  No white shirts in the vicinity, nice defending.
Salt for RM once again.
Post by: Bitter on January 18, 2012, 04:50:39 PM
What a finish!  No white shirts in the vicinity, nice defending.
Salt for RM once again.

Nah, that whole move was sweet. I feel is Ronaldo who lapse dey, b/c moments before Abidal was cutting off a pass to him.
Real was concentrating too hard on bottling up Messi - and get exposed by Messi.
Post by: Bitter on January 18, 2012, 04:55:27 PM
Murinho have to release the hounds. Yuh have thoroughbreds and playing them like is Clydesdales.
Defending like that vs Barca is just inviting trouble. The few times they put them under pressure they look dangerous.

Oh well, licks again.  :whip:
Post by: Tenorsaw on January 18, 2012, 05:04:32 PM
Barca knock too powerful...plain and simple.  You see dem Real men just skating all over the place trying to win back the ball.  Mourinho look like he want to cry.  He just don't know how to stop this team. 
Post by: Jah Gol on January 18, 2012, 05:05:57 PM
Mourinho have that side playing real stink. They damaging the brand. A big club shouldn't be getting on so.
Post by: breezers on January 18, 2012, 05:33:58 PM
Mourinho have that side playing real stink. They damaging the brand. A big club shouldn't be getting on so.

Yup! Fuh madrid tuh beat barca dey hav tuh re-invent deyself and dat means tellin HM thanks and his efforts is no longer needed! He hav no cure fuh barca....right tru he tryin tuh stifle d middle wid wild men wid lots of brawn and no brain and rapist's touch. He philosophy will neva work against barca...if he come tuh play ball he would get ah much better result...cyar leave Kaka on yuh bench and wanna win....dais jus playin into we hands. Yuh feel puyol by pique by daniel by abidal wanna defend kaka....hell no! Dais d type ah relentless players HM hatta roll with to beat barca...come tuh play! So cuz of he stubbornish....madrid would continue tuh pay dearly...he dependin on too much ah shithounds! lol. OH how we love tuh play in we home away from home!
Post by: mukumsplau on January 18, 2012, 05:59:50 PM
i get disapponted with madrid..its like they forget to play proper ball when facing barca...the quality of this classico may drop and it would jus be a swanky old firm derby..
Post by: Peong on January 18, 2012, 06:29:31 PM
I wonder how it feels to be part of such an elite group of players yet almost every time they meet they just get shat upon by Barca.
Post by: Observer on January 18, 2012, 06:52:56 PM
Imagine Mourinho playing defensive football at home once again.
Formula: Intimidation, break rhythm with tactical fouls, counter Alves side.

I really hope the Spanish FA show some balls and give Pepe a well deserve ban.
That is pure tata in this day and age, know 40 cameras on yuh, yuh look down
and stamp on the man hand.

Nice game Barca, Pep I  :notworthy: to you. 9 or 10 meetings now 1 loss. Back to back to back wins in they dam yard.
Post by: Bitter on January 18, 2012, 06:53:47 PM
I wonder how it feels to be part of such an elite group of players yet almost every time they meet they just get shat upon by Barca.

They did beat them for the Copa last year and are currently on top of the league. They might not be feeling too bad.
Post by: elan on January 18, 2012, 06:55:46 PM
When is the last time Ronaldo name call in this game?

Scored and disappear right away
Post by: Observer on January 18, 2012, 07:21:00 PM
Really Bitter? Really!  ;D The great Real Madrid happy with the Copa Del Rey & being on top of the League.
When in truth Real just lost the League, CL, Super Cup & three straight games to Barca, all of which were in their own yard.
Post by: Bitter on January 18, 2012, 07:23:08 PM
Really Bitter? Really!  ;D The great Real Madrid happy with the Copa Del Rey & being on top of the League.
When in truth Real just lost the League, CL, Super Cup & three straight games to Barca, all of which were in their own yard.

I trying to present a positive spin. They ent loss ALL the games...  ::)
Post by: FF on January 18, 2012, 09:24:06 PM
After one time is two time
Post by: kicker on January 18, 2012, 09:57:48 PM
Barca v Real dese days come like watching the same game over and over... As long as they have the same personnel and the same managers, iz bess they doh play - just replay one of the matches on a big screen for everyone tuh watch....and with the amount of times they playing each other these days it kinda getting tiring.

That said we on top of the league and 2-1 eh no score tuh sleep on in a two-legged tie. 

On to the next one.
Post by: Observer on January 19, 2012, 07:18:51 AM
Barca v Real dese days come like watching the same game over and over... As long as they have the same personnel and the same managers, iz bess they doh play - just replay one of the matches on a big screen for everyone tuh watch....and with the amount of times they playing each other these days it kinda getting tiring.

That said we on top of the league and 2-1 eh no score tuh sleep on in a two-legged tie. 

On to the next one.

Well Kicker I have to agree with you. You have to admit that at least it brought some respect to the Copa del Rey, which in the past, is a Cup that no one really took an interest in. Not long ago Atl Madrid only sold 24 pre game tickets for their Copa.
Just once I will like to see Jose send his team out and say allyuh go play, express yuh self and enjoy. Real players look like dem thinking too hard, and playing like a Ferrari with water in the gas tank.
Post by: kicker on January 19, 2012, 08:23:38 AM

Well Kicker I have to agree with you. You have to admit that at least it brought some respect to the Copa del Rey, which in the past, is a Cup that no one really took an interest in. Not long ago Atl Madrid only sold 24 pre game tickets for their Copa.
Just once I will like to see Jose send his team out and say allyuh go play, express yuh self and enjoy. Real players look like dem thinking too hard, and playing like a Ferrari with water in the gas tank.

I hear you aout Jose - not my favorite manager - He's gotten alot of praise but IMO he's just riding on alot of talent -I don't think that he has done too much special with the side so far that another "good" manger wouldn't have done.  IMO Pelligrini ran Barca closer in a way more open matches, and had pretty much the same avg league record as Jose...with less fire power, and more political obstacles. 

Barca under the pep era is really special, and yuh could argue that no amount of management, could beat the chemistry that has been built by their core of (extremely talented) players for years and years, but when yuh watch the two teams on paper, yuh not supposed to have that huge gap in class that we seeing in these match ups...
Post by: Marcos on January 19, 2012, 11:41:06 AM
Allyuh doh study it. Madrid beating dat this year. Mourinho just not gonna tip his hand as the Cop del Rey is essentially a relegation prize. He waiting for the big games - La Liga return and Champions League. At this point he is still experimenting.

When he unleashes the Ronaldo - Di Maria - Kaka - Ozil - Benzema - Higuan combination it go be real trouble.

Each game has been closer in my opinion. The pattern and results have been similar, but Barca getting more and more stressed man. No denying that.
Post by: dinho on January 19, 2012, 06:29:00 PM
Absolutely despicable...

http://www.youtube.com/v/SpMhYp0BxOg
Post by: elan on January 19, 2012, 10:55:26 PM
 :-\
Post by: Peong on January 20, 2012, 08:28:41 AM
RM need a player who is tough like Pepe but not so damn stupid.
If I was on the board I would make this season his last there.
He's too much of a liability.
Post by: kicker on January 20, 2012, 08:49:21 AM
The spirit of Pepe's hand stamp was inexcusable, but lewwe put things in perspective... it was just a mash hand...no real harm done.  Messi shake up he hand and bawl like a man light him on fire, and 2 minutes later was running at men normal... All games if yuh ask me.  That no where in the class of rough tackling that could break man foot or even end a career.  I see Rooney blowin' up he twitter criticising Pepe and I could only shake my head. 

Dem kinda ting does pass in football right through- from intercol all the way up.

Post by: Jah Gol on January 20, 2012, 09:17:11 AM
The spirit of Pepe's hand stamp was inexcusable, but lewwe put things in perspective... it was just a mash hand...no real harm done.  Messi shake up he hand and bawl like a man light him on fire, and 2 minutes later was running at men normal... All games if yuh ask me.  That no where in the class of rough tackling that could break man foot or even end a career.  I see Rooney blowin' up he twitter criticising Pepe and I could only shake my head. 

Dem kinda ting does pass in football right through- from intercol all the way up.
What was Messi to do, pretend he didn't get stamped with the heel studs of a football boot ?

Post by: Observer on January 20, 2012, 09:19:55 AM

maybe but for me not acceptable. Ok late tackle, rash tackle ok it happens. Like Carvalho kick down from behind, which in my eyes was a  straight red.

(http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s320x320/403685_360700903956795_205609529465934_1475668_1625111954_n.jpg)
Post by: Marcos on January 20, 2012, 09:20:59 AM
If a man stepped on his hand while he was pipsin' a ting on the beach you really feel he was reactin so? BIG STEUPS
Post by: kicker on January 20, 2012, 10:15:05 AM
What was Messi to do, pretend he didn't get stamped with the heel studs of a football boot ?

I dunno, but my point is just that it wasn't really that bad.  As I say, the intent was inexcusable but the actual act was kinda bleh.  Yuh know how much times in school boy football man ring my ears, intentionally mash my foot, hit me a quick elbow to my ribs...all kinda gamesmanship roughness in smart - growing up that was part of football - If the referee sees it, yuh pay the price...if not yuh bear the short-lived pain and just keep playing.  These days yuh have thousands of cameras covering the game from every angle, youtube, twitter etc etc, yuh can't get away with anything and that's fine, but it doh change the fact that football could be a dirty game during the run of play, and even in the down moments...and the way grown men in football carry on about stuff like that these days is kinda lame in my opinion - watch rugby or NFL and see the kinda physical treatment dem men is get without blinking an eyelid... Just because the rules different doh mean footballers hadda act like they made of paper...A man sneak in a mash hand and he labeled as despicable? Iz a mash hand that's all!! Seriously think about it.

If he got a red, he deserved it, but he got away with it, and it didn't really alter the game in any way, so lewwe move on...Maybe I old school but that was blown out of proportion in my opinion, and I'd say the same thing if a Barca player did it to a Madrid player. 

Post by: Jah Gol on January 20, 2012, 10:22:35 AM
I can't relate with that at all nah. Messi's reaction was appropriate for stamp I thought.
Post by: Peong on January 20, 2012, 12:30:35 PM
Pegs hurt a lot more than rubber soles fellas.
Gettin stepped on hurts like a bitch.  I got nerve damage in one foot from getting stepped on.
Post by: Mango Chow! on January 20, 2012, 01:41:34 PM

I dunno, but my point is just that it wasn't really that bad.  As I say, the intent was inexcusable but the actual act was kinda bleh.  Yuh know how much times in school boy football man ring my ears, intentionally mash my foot, hit me a quick elbow to my ribs...all kinda gamesmanship roughness in smart - growing up that was part of football - If the referee sees it, yuh pay the price...if not yuh bear the short-lived pain and just keep playing.  These days yuh have thousands of cameras covering the game from every angle, youtube, twitter etc etc, yuh can't get away with anything and that's fine, but it doh change the fact that football could be a dirty game during the run of play, and even in the down moments...and the way grown men in football carry on about stuff like that these days is kinda lame in my opinion - watch rugby or NFL and see the kinda physical treatment dem men is get without blinking an eyelid... Just because the rules different doh mean footballers hadda act like they made of paper...A man sneak in a mash hand and he labeled as despicable? Iz a mash hand that's all!! Seriously think about it.

If he got a red, he deserved it, but he got away with it, and it didn't really alter the game in any way, so lewwe move on...Maybe I old school but that was blown out of proportion in my opinion, and I'd say the same thing if a Barca player did it to a Madrid player. 

Kicker, I agree with you on the issue of men rolling around and fakin' injury and all d drama queen nonsense, but lemme arkske yuh dis, yuh know how painful it is fuh a man to mash yuh hand wit a football boots on?  Like Jah Gol say, WTF was Messi supposed to do, get up and shake pepe hand with he imps-ness?  But here is what ah doh understand with you as a Madrid fan, yuh goin' een on Messi and sayin' all what yuh say about how he over-react and what not, and yuh even say yuh woulda say d same if was a Madrid player...so wha happ'm, yuh miss de action when pepe was tryin' to act like he had get shoot in he face and was rollin' around on d pitch fuh about 5 minutes or wha? And, in HIS case, he really had zero cause for his semantics because I don't even think anyboy touched him, far less stamp on he hand.  Be fair nuh. Please.
Post by: kicker on January 20, 2012, 01:48:25 PM
Pegs hurt a lot more than rubber soles fellas.
Gettin stepped on hurts like a bitch.  I got nerve damage in one foot from getting stepped on.

lol pegs vs rubber soles was never the point so thanks, but what you're saying is obvious. 

I not saying that Messi didn't feel any pain - just pointing out that it obviously wasn't that bad, and by that token the Pepe hand step is being blown out of porportion.  Other than the spirit in which it was intended, it was really a minor offense in the whole scheme of things...

You and Jah Gol focussing the wrong thing as far as my post is concerned. 
Post by: kicker on January 20, 2012, 01:57:38 PM

Kicker, I agree with you on the issue of men rolling around and fakin' injury and all d drama queen nonsense, but lemme arkske yuh dis, yuh know how painful it is fuh a man to mash yuh hand wit a football boots on?  Like Jah Gol say, WTF was Messi supposed to do, get up and shake pepe hand with he imps-ness?  But here is what ah doh understand with you as a Madrid fan, yuh goin' een on Messi and sayin' all what yuh say about how he over-react and what not, and yuh even say yuh woulda say d same if was a Madrid player...so wha happ'm, yuh miss de action when pepe was tryin' to act like he had get shoot in he face and was rollin' around on d pitch fuh about 5 minutes or wha? And, in HIS case, he really had zero cause for his semantics because I don't even think anyboy touched him, far less stamp on he hand.  Be fair nuh. Please.

I was talking about Pepe's stamp... the point I was making had nothing to do with Pepe play-acting.

If you want my view on Pepe's play-acting, yes it was very laughable...didn't think it was worth debating or discussing because it was so obviously comical and embarrassing.

Again, the Messi reaction (over-reacting or not) is not the point - point is despite the roll and agony, he was back on his feet playing his normal game short moments after - i.e. Pepe's hand mash was barely a game changer, and all the labels that being thrown at him because of this is a bit much if you ask me... but that's just my opinion.  I think his reputation for being rough in his challenges and borderline insane at times is preceding him on this one...
Post by: Mango Chow! on January 20, 2012, 02:16:07 PM

I was talking about Pepe's stamp... the point I was making had nothing to do with Pepe play-acting.

If you want my view on Pepe's play-acting, yes it was very laughable...didn't think it was worth debating or discussing because it was so obviously comical and embarrassing.

Again, the Messi reaction (over-reacting or not) is not the point - point is despite the roll and agony, he was back on his feet playing his normal game short moments after - i.e. Pepe's hand mash was barely a game changer, and all the labels that being thrown at him because of this is a bit much if you ask me... but that's just my opinion.  I think his reputation for being rough in his challenges and borderline insane at times is preceding him on this one...

I know it had nothing to do with his play-acting, but under the broader issue of affecting the credibility of the game, especially when you refer to rugby and the nfl (the latter of which is beginning to take a page out of football's book with the play-acting) it belongs in the conversation.  Whether or not Messi got up moments later is of no importance, IMHO, because that's how pain works sometimes.  A knock or injury can give you a sharp pain that subsides quickly, or a terrible one that doesn't.  Just because Messi got up within a few moments doesn't mean he was not feeling pain in he hand, and again, I will refer you to actually try gettin' yuh hand stepped on with a pair of boots, rubber or not, and tell meh dat shit doh hurt....don't tell me you are not going to react.
Post by: kicker on January 20, 2012, 02:31:48 PM
Ok cool... It hurt (was never debating that) and he reacted to the pain...

Again, not my point, but I hear you...

Post by: Raul on January 20, 2012, 07:32:07 PM
Ok, with 1 madrid win in 9 el clasicos over the last 14 months (compared to Barca's 5 and 3 draws), and on behalf of all madridistas on this site, I officially concede and acknowledge Barca's dominance over us.

Our strategy for the rest of the season will be (a) hope for a 2-0 loss (or better) in the Copa return leg, (b) win every game in la liga except the away game to Barca and (c) hope not to bounce up in th champions league.

Sincerely

Raul
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 20, 2012, 09:23:08 PM
Best Madridista post yet Raul  :beermug:
Post by: kicker on January 21, 2012, 11:01:52 AM
Best Madridista post yet Raul  :beermug:

haha wateva hoss...
Post by: giggsy11 on January 21, 2012, 01:47:30 PM
I think Real's reputation has been damaged since Jose became manager not just from this match.  I think the best manager they had in recent times was Pelligreni (excuse spelling).

Posted by
Sid Lowe in Madrid
Thursday 19 January 2012 08.50 EST guardian.co.uk

Real Madrid damage image, reputation and status in defeat to Barcelona

Madrid's ill-tempered one-dimensional showing in the clásico was evidence of regression, not progression under Mourinho

As José Mourinho prepared to leave the Santiago Bernabéu press room and the clock ticked towards one in the morning, he had one last message to deliver. "Victory," he said for the third time, "has many fathers; defeat has only one and that is me. That's the way football is and I am used to it." Then he added a request: "Hit me, not my players – leave them alone." In part, he got what he wanted but only in part. They did indeed hit Mourinho but they hit his players too.

Players? Player. Two things dominated the post-match agenda: Mourinho's Madrid losing the game and Pepe losing his head. There was a familiar feel to both of them. Pepe is a repeat offender and so are Madrid. They lost another clásico; Pep Guardiola is unbeaten in seven trips to the Santiago Bernabéu, winning five of them. Since Mourinho took over at Madrid, he has not once been able to defeat Barcelona in 90 minutes. The solitary victory came via an extra-time winner in last season's Copa del Rey final. Madrid also lost something less tangible. Image, reputation, status.

When Madrid won the Copa del Rey, it appeared to be a stepping stone towards a real challenge on Barcelona. Defeat in the Champions League last season was justified with Mourinho's conspiratorial discourse – and Pepe's supposedly unlucky red card. The Spanish Super Copa at the start of this season offered up a Madrid side closer than ever to Barcelona, despite a 5-4 aggregate defeat. But now the sensation is one of regression not progression.

Defeated in the league last month, defeated here, Madrid offered virtually nothing. A midfield designed only to stop Barcelona – in which Xabi Alonso was nudged right, away from the area where he could truly influence the game – that did not stop Barcelona and certainly did not attack them. It was built around Pepe. If he defined Madrid's approach, most did not like what they saw. "Pepe returned to the midfield and brought out his entire repertoire of misdemeanours," said AS. One in particular would stand out, when he deliberately trod on Messi's hand. It was not as if, assault aside, he had helped much, either.

Mourinho complained about one of the goals his side conceded, describing it as "not normal". He also contradicted his 'blame me' message to snap: "Some players who normally play well played badly." And yet he admitted that part of his plan consisted simply of running the clock down. By the final whistle Barcelona's superiority was overwhelming. Madrid had 28% of the possession in their own stadium and just one shot on target.

And, asked the media, for what? For what Marca's cover described as "the never-ending story". "Mou," it added, "still hasn't found the right key and he is left without excuses." AS saw Mourinho "coming up against the wall". Its cover was clear: "Madrid offered dirtiness; Barcelona offered football."

Santiago Segurola wrote: "Madrid committed treason against their own history. Mourinho threw away all Madrid's history and instead insisted on a lamentable match from which he got no benefit for Madrid. It was all bad: the result, the play, the violence." In Público, Kike Marín saw the white flags by fans before the game as the perfect metaphor for Mourinho's management. El País led on "Madrid sully themselves for nothing". AS's editor Alfredo Relaño asked: "If you're just going to keep losing what's the need to lose your decorum too?"

The lasting image of this game was not so much defeat but Pepe's apparently calculated and cowardly stamp on Leo Messi. He was booked for a bad challenge on Sergio Busquets in the 17th minute and the surprise was that it was the only yellow card he saw. Ricardo Carvalho was fortunate to escape greater punishment too, for a wild hack at Messi. Xavi Hernández described Pepe's stamp as "senseless" and "lamentable". Carles Puyol called it "not normal" and insisted that something "has to be done". Mourinho hid behind the fact that he had not seen the incident but, pushed on the issue, admitted that if Pepe had deliberately trodden on Messi's hand that would be "censorable".

If Mourinho did not see it, everyone else did – except the referee, César Muñiz Fernández. TV cameras showed the incident clearly and Pepe is on the cover of all four sports dailies. Marca called it "unacceptable" and "shameful", its editorial admitting: "The episode with [Getafe midfielder Javi] Casquero cannot be seen as isolated, but the sad reality. Pepe is not worthy of Real Madrid."

As for the Catalan daily El Mundo Deportivo, there was indignation and enjoyment. Its cover talked of "Heroes and villains: Barcelona imposed their football on Madrid's violence". "Pepe, a danger to the public," the paper added, "was the greatest expression of a Madrid side that was impotent and out of control." Inside, Fernando Polo insisted: "Good had beaten evil." And that, he said, "is not melodrama, it is the truth: Barcelona wanted the ball and attacked and beat a Madrid side that has a complex, a violent team lost in its own lack of control and adrift thanks to Mourinho – the man that was supposed to end Barcelona's hegemony."

Post by: Toppa on January 21, 2012, 11:25:16 PM
Leh Sid Lowe hul he Cule arse.
Post by: Toppa on January 21, 2012, 11:26:50 PM
Ok, with 1 madrid win in 9 el clasicos over the last 14 months (compared to Barca's 5 and 3 draws), and on behalf of all madridistas on this site, I officially concede and acknowledge Barca's dominance over us.

Our strategy for the rest of the season will be (a) hope for a 2-0 loss (or better) in the Copa return leg, (b) win every game in la liga except the away game to Barca and (c) hope not to bounce up in th champions league.

Sincerely

Raul

Ditto
Post by: giggsy11 on January 23, 2012, 05:40:37 PM
All may not be well in paradise!

Sid Lowe-Uk Guardian

Mourinho meltdown and hints of civil war at Real Madrid
The Portuguese wants to know who plunged the knife into his back after a training ground conversation was leaked to the press

There were just hours to go until Real Madrid's match against Athletic Bilbao and Madrid were about to finish the first half of the season five points clear at the top of the table with 16 wins in 19 games. Favourites to win the title, they were about to score their 67th goal and Cristiano Ronaldo would soon be on 23, one ahead of Leo Messi. But it was not about that all that. Not now and not later. It would not even be about the 4-1 win – a brilliant game, open, exciting and end-to-end, between two sides that can be great to watch. The focus was elsewhere. Even José Mourinho's focus was elsewhere. The team meeting at Madrid's Mirasierra Suites Hotel wasn't so much about formation as about information.

Mourinho wanted to know one thing above all and he wanted the players to know that he would find out. Who had plunged the knife in his back? Who had leaked a conversation from the training ground? Who was the mole? Mourinho claimed to have banned newspapers from the team hotel – "there is internet, you know", one player said with a smile later – and insisted that he had not read Marca on Sunday morning, but of course he had. Few coaches are so aware of the media as Mourinho, a man with his own press officer, a man who is delivered a dossier of cuttings every morning; one for whom the message is part of the match. Mourinho had read it, so had everyone else and it did not make for happy reading.

Marca's cover showed Mourinho and Sergio Ramos face to face. Word for word, they reproduced a conversation between the two men, and Iker Casillas, at Real Madrid's Valdebebas training ground on Friday morning – two days after Madrid, playing ultra-defensively, had again been beaten by Barcelona; two days after Ramos had noted: "We follow the coach's tactics. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't." According to Marca, the conversation started with Mourinho turning towards Ramos and saying: "You [plural] killed me in the mixed zone." To which Ramos replied: "No, mister, you only read what it says in the papers not everything we said."

Mourinho replied: "Sure, because you Spaniards have been world champions and your friends in the media protect you … and because the goalkeeper …" At that point there is a shout from Casillas, training 30 metres away: "Eh, mister, round here you say things to our faces, eh!"

Another part of the conversation starts with Mourinho saying: "Where were you on the first goal [against Barcelona], Sergio?"
"Marking Piqué"

"Well, you should have been marking Puyol."

"Yes, but they were blocking us off [using basketball style screens] with Piqué and we decided to change the marking."

"What? So now you're playing at being coach?"

"No," replies Ramos, "but depending on the situation in the game, sometimes you have to change the marking. Because you've never been a player, you don't know that that sometimes happens."

Suddenly, the lid had been lifted. Just a little, but lifted. The conversation – which was impeccably polite, Ramos even using the formal form of "you" – revealed Mourinho's irritation at the Spaniards and his belief that they are protected by the press; by extension, it hinted at his suspicion that they are the ones responsible for the leaks to the media – this report came in the context of a year in which El País's Diego Torres has written a number of stories about events within the dressing room and in a week in which Marca had correctly reported that Angel Di María would miss the clásico, despite the coach's attempts to keep that quiet.

From a player's point of view, it revealed the one flaw in Mourinho's long career: he was never a player. Somehow, he just doesn't know what they do. That is a feeling exacerbated by a mutual lack of comprehension, a sense of distrust and division, and by poor results against Barcelona. It also revealed something else, one of the greatest obstacles that Mourinho has encountered: Madrid is not Inter or Chelsea or Porto, the Spanish media are not the English or Italian media, and Spanish players are not the same as English ones, or Italians or Portuguese. One of Mourinho's greatest and most often lauded skill – dressing-room relations – has not been as easy to apply here.

It was not just the story itself that was interesting but the fact that it was published, how it was published and when it was published. After all, other stories have been written before. They were more easily (which is not to say honestly) dismissed; this story was not. The detail, the precision in the quotes, the specifics of it; the fearlessness with which it was put out and the silence with which it was met. Context is key, especially when the relationship between certain sections of the media and certain parts of the club is so instrumental. The shift was palpable. Columnists who were among Mourinho's most aggressive defenders had repositioned themselves. In the aftermath of the Barcelona defeat that was always likely. After Pepe's behaviour in the clásico – and the laughable, hostage-style video apology he was obliged to offer up on Thursday – it was more likely yet. But still the move was telling, hinting at a political realignment. And for Mourinho, that could be the most worrying thing of all.

Throughout Sunday, the story was chewed over; fans debated it, the media too. Not just the comments on the cover but the ones inside: the player complaining that Mourinho will not let them talk; the player insisting: "you got annoyed with Iker because he apologised to [Barcelona's] Xavi [after the Super Copa clásico], but what did Pepe do in that video?"; the player complaining that "it's impossible to win a game with eight defenders". The day before, El País had reported on the tensions between Mourinho and some players over the tactics; some players demanding a more expansive approach, Mourinho reproaching them for doing so.

The tension at the hotel grew. So, everywhere else, did the theories. It was hard not to go all conspiratorial. Who could it have been? And was Mourinho barking up the wrong tree? He was not the only one turning detective; everyone else was too. The assumption that it absolutely had to be a player seems flawed. Players have friends and agents. So do managers. And teams have people around them. Lots of people. Clubs do too, at all sorts of levels. Information is delivered in various forms and the form here was telling – this did not smell like whispers but something much more tangible. Marca's presentation of the conversations suggested not just that they had a story but that they had the proof that they had a story. Madrid, a club usually quick to deny, said nothing. After Sunday night's game, Mourinho would refuse to deny it. Three players would come out with the exact same phrase: "We're not here to say whether it's true or not." Anyone would think they are told what to say in the mixed zone.

Madrid versus Athletic Bilbao was presented as a plebiscite. On defeat to Barcelona. On Madrid's image under Mourinho. On the division – on whose side you were on, players or coach? On the signings, now down to Mourinho and of which only the substitute José Callejón has really succeeded. On Mourinho himself. By Sunday night, some at the Santiago Bernabéu decided, quite rightly, that the crime was not so much the leak as the content of the leak: the tension inside the dressing room, the defeats, the image of the club. And who was responsible for that? Mourinho. The question was what would happen next, where would this end?

The game was scoured for clues – was it significant that Ronaldo turned and gave Xabi Alonso a look that could kill? – and so was the starting lineup. Every action was analysed, counter-analysed and, let's face it, probably over-analysed. Mourinho left out five players who had played against Barcelona. Coentrão, Pepe, Carvalho, Lass, Higuaín, and Altintop. He included six who hadn't played against Barcelona: Ozil, Kaká, Marcelo, Arbeloa, Varane. Even Esteban Granero got a game. The lineup could not be any different; the polar opposite of what Mourinho had done in midweek: for virtually every hard-working but limited player taken out, a talented ball-player had been put in. You could see meaning in everything. Three Portuguese players had been taken out, two Spaniards put in. This was the team that some players had apparently demanded.

Had Mourinho given in? Or was he sticking them on the pitch knowing that it was almost a no-lose situation for him: if Madrid won, they won; if they lost, he could say: "see, that's what you get when we play your way." Had he also prevented the players from "making the bed" for him? They couldn't very well effectively down tools and turn him over precisely on the day that he did what they wanted. Or was he simply preparing for Wednesday night when there would now be no option but to attack Barcelona? Mourinho, normally so active, only left his bench once in the entire game – a game that had five goals, two penalties, a red card, and a couple more penalty shouts. Was that a clue too? Was he fearful of how the fans might react to him? Was he hiding? Or trying to keep a low profile? Was he trying to show his disconformities with the side he (?) had chosen, a kind of "this is your team, not mine"?

Or was he, as he insisted afterwards, just so confident that he never felt the need to get up and correct anything? Even though Madrid went 1-0 down and Athletic were the better side for the first half an hour.

There were many questions and few answers – least of all from Mourinho. There were, though, hints. Glimpses of a guerra civil. No more than hints perhaps, but hints nonetheless. When Granero was taken off on 72 minutes, the player who more than anyone else represented a shift in approach – the Madrid that Mourinho had turned his back on and some Spaniards had wanted – got a massive ovation. And then, with 10 minutes to go, it happened. The fans who had chanted Mourinho's name all season – something that has never happened for a coach before – chanted it once more.

Well, some of them did. More of them did not. In fact, they did the opposite. The Ultra Sur began chanting Mourinho's name. And the rest of the stadium – 30%? 50%? 80%? – whistled their disapproval.

It was not so much an attack on Mourinho per se as an attack on the decision to chant his name, to do it now, in this context, and with this backdrop. It was a symbol of disapproval of those that did so too – the Ultras who had chanted "Pepe, kill him!" and "Journalists, terrorists!" Divisions at Real Madrid had been laid bare. This time among the fans. And there was no escaping that there they were: whistles. Win on Wednesday and all will be right with Madrid's world again; Mourinho will be a genius again. Now, he is not. This has been perhaps his most difficult week as Madrid coach. Not that he admitted as much.

"Difficult? Why?" the coach asked. "I lost a game on Wednesday, I prepared one on Friday. Today we won. Tomorrow is Monday. Why is that hard? It is the first time that I have been whistled but it's not a problem. There is a first time for almost everything. If I had been whistled at Chelsea where they don't even whistle the opposition manager, it would be a problem. Here they whistled Zidane and Ronaldo and now Cristiano Ronaldo. This stadium whistles the best in the world – why shouldn't it whistle me?"

Post by: Raul on January 23, 2012, 07:01:05 PM
Yeah dread, that glare from cr7 to Alonso was frightening... Even I get uneasy...
Post by: Peong on January 25, 2012, 02:59:19 PM
Game on.  More licks for Madrid?  Most likely but I want to at least see them put up a good fight.

Throw away king already miss a sitter inside of 10 seconds.

Barcelona's staring XI : PINTO - ALVES - PUYOL - PIQUÉ - ABIDAL- BUSQUETS - XAVI - INIESTA - MESSI - CESC - ALEXIS

Real Madrid : CASILLAS - COENTRAO - ARBELOA - PEPE - RAMOS - XABI ALONSO - LASS - OZIL - KAKA - RONALDO - HIGUAIN

WHAT A SHOT!!!!!
Ozil just hit one from about 30 yards off the crossbar, the post, almost on the line then back out.
Shots like that deserve to score every time.
Post by: elan on January 25, 2012, 03:43:46 PM
Barca making some dirty challeneges and the ref turning a blind eye. That last yellow on Ramos was a proper blade. Diarra "tackle" was also fair and he got a yellow, but nothing for Alves when he launch into the defender, plus the no call on the handball from the corner.
Post by: elan on January 25, 2012, 03:45:33 PM
Sergio, knee high studs up, barely a whistle. Almost take CR knee.
Post by: Peong on January 25, 2012, 03:46:55 PM
"That was very, very tasty!" lol
Messi bamboozle them.

Lord fadda what a goal!
Diarra is a next crazy man.
Post by: dinho on January 25, 2012, 03:52:46 PM
LAAAWWWDDD!!!!   :o :o :o

A demon from Alves up in the jep nest to make it 2-0.
Post by: Mango Chow! on January 25, 2012, 04:37:00 PM
Barca making some dirty challeneges and the ref turning a blind eye. That last yellow on Ramos was a proper blade. Diarra "tackle" was also fair and he got a yellow, but nothing for Alves when he launch into the defender, plus the no call on the handball from the corner.

All dat is payback from all d nasty play Real been carryin' on with the last few seasons.  It's been a while now sice Real come to really "play football" against Barca as opposed to using....."stop them" tactics.  Turnabout is fair play.
Post by: Peong on January 25, 2012, 04:56:04 PM
Even though they draw, Real doh wah nuttn with Barca.
Post by: dinho on January 25, 2012, 05:00:12 PM
I'm not a Real Madrid fan.. But the amount of decisions that go against them is borderline criminal.

Ref calling a setta soft fouls for Barca once the Barca players embellish it.. and Busquets/Dani/Pedro/Pique and co all too happy to go to ground and cry.

Then blowing off the game without letting them take the last free kick was the icing on the cake.

Post by: soccerman on January 25, 2012, 05:14:39 PM
Why was Ramos's goal disallowed? Did the ref call a foul on that play?
Post by: Mango Chow! on January 25, 2012, 05:15:46 PM

Yes...he did grab Alves' arm and tug on him like a small town church bell.
Post by: Toppa on January 25, 2012, 05:58:06 PM
Small ting.

Let them have the Copa. We will take the league and the CL.
Post by: elan on January 25, 2012, 06:23:19 PM

Yes...he did grab Alves' arm and tug on him like a small town church bell.

well after a couple of Barca Basketball player made a guest appearance in the box.
Post by: elan on January 25, 2012, 06:25:23 PM

All dat is payback from all d nasty play Real been carryin' on with the last few seasons.  It's been a while now sice Real come to really "play football" against Barca as opposed to using....."stop them" tactics.  Turnabout is fair play.

Their was no stop them football today, just fast, physical play. Good hard tackles that the refs only seeing as fouls. It eh no turnaround. As a ref you cannot come to a game with ideas. That is spoiling the game.
Post by: Mango Chow! on January 25, 2012, 06:38:41 PM

Their was no stop them football today, just fast, physical play. Good hard tackles that the refs only seeing as fouls. It eh no turnaround. As a ref you cannot come to a game with ideas. That is spoiling the game.

I never said anything about the referee coming to the game with ideas.  I said what I said based on what I have seen coming from Real the past couple seasons.  So what if they came to play football...."today"?  their tactics and wild play over the past couple seasons suggest that they weren't always interested in that as much as they were in stopping Barca by any means necessary.  I have seen men like Adebayor and Diarra get away with virtual muder on the pitch in recent games...so if aa few Barca players get away with murder today, I reiterate, "turnabout is fair play".
Post by: elan on January 25, 2012, 09:16:58 PM
Why did Ramos get sent off? That was a fair contest for the ball, no way that's a yellow.
Post by: Peong on January 25, 2012, 09:38:59 PM
Yeah the ref wasn't impressive.  Diarra shoulda been sent off, Ramos 2nd yellow was nothing.  Good thing the ref didn't affect the outcome of the tie.
Post by: Toppa on January 25, 2012, 11:26:19 PM
Why was Ramos' goal called off?
Post by: Peong on January 25, 2012, 11:31:25 PM
Why was Ramos' goal called off?

He pulled Dani Alves down by the arm.
Post by: kicker on January 26, 2012, 09:07:44 AM
Good game overall... The ref loved Barca yesterday. They got the calls - can't argue that... I count two handballs in the box (Busquets and Abidal) - one o' dem had to stick- I doh get it...Also alot of the foul calls were not fair, and they broke Madrid's momentum when Barca was unsettled - it changed the game alot because Barca's game is all about rhythm - on the rare occasions that yuh manage to break it, they get rattled and look ordinary - it's why they hardly dominate the first 15-20 mins of a game against a big side - it takes some time to settle into their game...IMO the ref halted the game with silly foul calls and allowed Barca to settle at crucial times when they were rattled...

Ramos eh tug down Alves like no church bell, he did hold his arm, but Alves embellish with a dive worthy of the Olympic springboard competition...My wife and all make out de scene and get hype..I tell her "yuh could tell you only now start tuh watch football"...Can't complain about that call though - it was a foul but I've seen worse go uncalled because the foul recipient tried to play instead of looking for a call...but yuh also can't blame Alves, contact or not he woulda been beaten to the ball and it was a matter of goal or no goal, so he had to make sure the ref saw the contact...

Lass foul wasn't no card - but the ref do sh*t by giving Messi a yellow on the play right before so it look bad...People (including the refs) iz get tie up when men bend up dey body, sommersault and flail dey arms like they got shot...Neither Messi's foul on Pepe, nor Lass' foul on Messi were cardable offenses - not a scratch was suffered, and there was no immediate danger.... they were just fouls, and fouls happen in football - full stop.  I really get frustrated by how cheap cards are these days.  Ronaldo had a fair tackle on Alves - the replay showed it was all ball...But Alves leap and roll like it was the end of the world - yellow card ...steups....

All in all it was a good game though....Other than Higuain missing two sitters, and the ref leaning toward Barca, Madrid hadda be happy with how they acquit themselves..they put some good pressure on Barca and made it a proper contest for a change.  As long as Pep in charge, and Barca has the personnel they have right now, they will always be a dominant looking side, and the team to beat - yuh take what yuh could get against them...  I think Iniesta was missed even though Barca's goals came after he got injured - what he adds in the run of play is priceless. 
Post by: Marcos on January 26, 2012, 09:42:41 AM
I don't mean to sound like a stuck record but, we beatin dat this year. Every single game Barca seeing more stress. Now they resorting to theatrics, on their own field no less.

Pressure in Champions League. Boom
Post by: Peong on January 26, 2012, 10:25:49 AM
kicker boy that Diarra tackle was late and clumsy.
Apart from violent tackles, I see late tackles get penalised the most.
Easy second yellow.
Post by: kicker on January 26, 2012, 02:11:35 PM
Easy second yellow.

I hear what you're saying, but i personally just not on red cards except for in extreme circumstances... Too many games for me does get kill with these officiate-to-rule red cards that in reality very very ridiculous if yuh pull yuhself away and actually try tuh make sense of the ruling given the actual scenario that took place...

I'm not sure if the stricter red card rulings in the modern game have made the game safer, as much as they've exposed the game to alot more game-spoiling antics...
Post by: Mango Chow! on January 27, 2012, 04:09:27 AM
Easy second yellow.

I hear what you're saying, but i personally just not on red cards except for in extreme circumstances... Too many games for me does get kill with these officiate-to-rule red cards that in reality very very ridiculous if yuh pull yuhself away and actually try tuh make sense of the ruling given the actual scenario that took place...

I'm not sure if the stricter red card rulings in the modern game have made the game safer, as much as they've exposed the game to alot more game-spoiling antics...

rules is rules, Jed.....the men who playing this sport professsionally (and even us armchair critics) have been playing the sport with basically the same rules all their lives.  the players have to adjust to the rules.  the kinds of tackles I does see men like Diarra, Pepe, Essien, De Jong (and too many more to mention) are tackles that I KNOW they know go beyond the boundaries of decent and fair play.  Same for the play actors that Barca is accused of having on their team and the golden boy of play-acting, Mr. Mertonaldo himself.  You can"t blame the referees for their own interpretations/applications of the rules as much as you should blame the players for testing the referees' discretion.  If yuhh ridin' on a yellow card arready and d ref seem a little strict, then don't go tryin' to outdo your last offense and expect, or even worse, demand that the ref then be patient. 
Post by: Toppa on January 27, 2012, 09:54:59 AM
Mango Chow ress yuh mouth nah or carry that in a Chelsea thread or something. I'll post the match highlights later. Ozil was very bad!
Post by: Toppa on January 27, 2012, 12:21:26 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/Uc98GG842P8
Post by: Toppa on January 28, 2012, 05:16:25 PM
Look - Barcelona cah even beat Villarreal.
Post by: triniairman on January 28, 2012, 06:09:37 PM
Came across this video and thought I share it on here. I am not a Barca fan, and really don't care who wins between them and Real Madrid, but this is just too funny!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=DhYU_znLSRk#!
Post by: Bitter on January 29, 2012, 08:38:18 AM
The should fire Murinho now! Seven points clear, but he cyah beat Barca.  Fire Him!  :banginghead:
Post by: Toppa on January 29, 2012, 08:25:53 PM
Dey saying he intends to resign at the end of the season. Taking infront before infront take him.
Post by: Observer on January 30, 2012, 09:17:18 AM
Barcelona and in particular Messi, Fabragas and Xavi looked exhausted. League done now, so Jose gets his La Liga title.

Best game I have seen this year from La Liga, Rayo Vallecano vs Atl Bibao, what a match. End to end stuff and very technical football. The pace of the match was outstanding.
Post by: Toppa on January 30, 2012, 11:14:27 PM
So they say Joachim Low on Madrid's shortlist to replace Mourinho.  :beermug:
Post by: Raul on February 12, 2012, 05:26:49 PM
Is Madrid's 10 point lead unassailable? According to La Liga history it is... so those Barca fans who want to concede, please feel free to do so here...

Also, not only did that phenomenal goal by Cr7 bring up his hattrick, but it also brought Madrid's tally in all competitions to 4000... What a way to etch your name into Madrid history... Well deserved Cristiano...
Post by: Toppa on February 12, 2012, 07:56:45 PM
Just read Ronaldo has scored 119 goals out of 122 matches for Madrid, compared to 118 out of 292 matches for ManU. That's incredible.
Post by: kicker on February 12, 2012, 10:05:24 PM
Barataria - The number for today is 10... 
Post by: Toppa on February 12, 2012, 10:31:45 PM
Aie yie yie!
Post by: Marcos on February 13, 2012, 12:08:48 PM
Just read Ronaldo has scored 119 goals out of 122 matches for Madrid, compared to 118 out of 292 matches for ManU. That's incredible.

And I think that was before the hat trick
Post by: Toppa on February 13, 2012, 12:45:00 PM
Allyuh See Ronaldo goal of the season and Benzema bess goal?

http://www.youtube.com/v/_fU9snOJgIM
Post by: Peong on February 13, 2012, 01:20:47 PM
No respect for the keeper. 
Post by: Observer on February 13, 2012, 02:46:23 PM

Toppa I don't mean any disrespect just asking a question, to a passionate supporter of the League.

Does it mean that it is easier to score goals in La Liga vs Premier?

IMHO the toughest league to score goals in remains Italy, second France. Now I am not saying the
Leaues are better, just their approach to the game. Tactical fouls are a Premium in Italy and France, while in general play is far more cautious.
Post by: Toppa on February 13, 2012, 02:59:17 PM

Toppa I don't mean any disrespect just asking a question, to a passionate supporter of the League.

IMHO the toughest league to score goals in remains Italy, second France. Now I am not saying the
Leaues are better, just their approach to the game. Tactical fouls are a Premium in Italy and France, while in general play is far more cautious.

Well...I guess if a great many other strikers had a similar goal-scoring rate...but perhaps it's not a matter of it being 'easier' to score goals but just a reflection of the different footballing philosophies or cultures. Spain is very driven by attacking football so perhaps that accounts for his astonishing strike-rate.

This reminds me of what Sid Lowe said about the fact that Madrid has been granted 10 penalties this season. He said it probably wasn't a matter for refs favouring them but more likely a reflection of their attack-minded approach (minus the Barca matches).

I hope I made sense.
Post by: Big Magician on February 13, 2012, 04:05:46 PM
remember Ronaldo first 2 seasons at UTD..not much goals..

Fergie made a bet with him to score 20 the next season or something like that... fergie was pushing him to become a scoring winger...then it all bust loose after that...my take
Post by: Deeks on February 13, 2012, 04:20:14 PM

I agree with you there. I wonder if Cristiano had gone to Levante, Valencia, ATletico, would he score all those goals.
Post by: kicker on February 13, 2012, 04:40:27 PM
Ronaldo is by and large a more developed and polished player now, than when he was at Man U.  Also as Big Mag said, at the beginning of his career at Man U, he wasn't the goal-scoring type of player that he was towards the end of his Man U career (and as he is at Madrid)....

I don't know if scoring in Spain is easier on average than in England.  I think individual tallies in general at the end of the season are comparable between the two leagues.  With the recent dominance of Madrid and Barca in Spain though, being the go-to goal scorer on any one of those teams is more of a blessing than it used to be... So maybe scoring at Barca or Madrid is easier than scoring in England (and in the rest of Spain)
Post by: Deeks on February 13, 2012, 04:54:58 PM
With the recent dominance of Madrid and Barca in Spain

Recent!!!! Madrid and Barca have dominated the Spanish forever. Real won it 31 times. Barca 21. And the rest divided up for the other teams.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Spanish_football_champions
Post by: kicker on February 13, 2012, 05:11:38 PM
With the recent dominance of Madrid and Barca in Spain

Recent!!!! Madrid and Barca have dominated the Spanish forever. Real won it 31 times. Barca 21. And the rest divided up for the other teams.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Spanish_football_champions

It's more of an uncontested two-horse race in the past couple seasons than it's been in a while... That's what I'm talking about.  No question that they are historically the two dominant teams in the league.
Post by: Toppa on February 15, 2012, 11:10:03 AM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/419425_10100878672754652_10127346_58251660_1590688352_n.jpg)
Post by: Toppa on February 18, 2012, 04:03:07 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/5usk6SFMo88
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 18, 2012, 04:22:07 PM

Steups, we guh give all yuh de league, ah mean, all yuh deserve at least dat, but as de Bajans does say, "all else is mhine"
Post by: Toppa on February 18, 2012, 06:58:05 PM

Steups, we guh give all yuh de league, ah mean, all yuh deserve at least dat, but as de Bajans does say, "all else is mhine"

Yuh know allyuh not winning no CL.
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 18, 2012, 07:09:52 PM
Whey yuh buy dem grapes Toppa?  :devil:
Post by: Toppa on February 18, 2012, 08:15:39 PM

Ah buy it fuh you to eat at the end of the football season.
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 18, 2012, 09:02:44 PM

Ah buy it fuh you to eat at the end of the football season.

:rotfl:  awrite sistren, we guh see how dis pan out, but I eh friten, we comin strong for CL and CDR
Post by: Observer on February 19, 2012, 04:27:35 PM
Madrid running on all cylinders and look a very well oiled machine. So much power, pace and technique it eh funny. With deMaria back they have an added dimension of penetration & goal scoring on both wings. Kaka is beginning to show signs of recovery and they have no injuries to talk about. Dam scary
Post by: Jah Gol on February 19, 2012, 05:14:16 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/41aLI1iWNf8
Post by: Peong on February 19, 2012, 06:31:59 PM
That is a comeback with style.
Post by: kicker on February 20, 2012, 10:16:35 AM
Madrid running on all cylinders and look a very well oiled machine. So much power, pace and technique it eh funny. With deMaria back they have an added dimension of penetration & goal scoring on both wings. Kaka is beginning to show signs of recovery and they have no injuries to talk about. Dam scary

Madrid pretty steady, consistent and very organized...Defensively more compact than I've seen in a long long time, and plenty pace in the attack.  We will probably never get to the level at which Barca played last night, but it doh matter at this point because the consistency this season is paying off...
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 20, 2012, 10:27:15 AM

Madrid pretty steady, consistent and very organized...Defensively more compact than I've seen in a long long time, and plenty pace in the attack.  We will probably never get to the level at which Barca played last night, but it doh matter at this point because the consistency this season is paying off...

Good fuh madrid....Jose bringing something to the team that all the better coaches couldn't bring in recent years: something for the Madrid fans to be happy about for a change.  Now if they could just outplay and beat Barca......
Post by: Toppa on February 20, 2012, 11:35:09 AM
Doh frighten Mango Chow, it will happen sooner than yuh think.
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 20, 2012, 12:41:34 PM
Doh frighten Mango Chow, it will happen sooner than yuh think.

Nothing to fear, Toppa....when yuh enjoyin' SO much cake as Barca fans have been in recent times, it is ok to share a lil' slice or two once in a while.  Jes make sure yuh exercise proper etiquette when yuh eatin' it and doh shove d whole ting dong yuh throat like if allyuh starving.  :devil:
Post by: Raul on February 21, 2012, 08:45:15 AM
Anyone heard Chutney Soca Monarch KI's remix for La Liga?

We don't have to buy no trophy...
We don't have to influence no referee...
We don't have to dive like Barceeeelooonaaaaa...
Ooohoooo
We goh be Real Madrid forevaaaaa
Post by: Toppa on February 21, 2012, 01:57:49 PM

Ooohoooo

Post by: fitzinho on February 21, 2012, 02:24:42 PM

Ooohoooo

:rotfl: :beermug:
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 21, 2012, 08:12:49 PM
Dat sound culd not even make de Caronia village competition finals list
Post by: Toppa on February 22, 2012, 12:54:16 PM
Dat sound culd not even make de Caronia village competition finals list

Dat song winning Chutney SM next year. Doh tote.
Post by: Toppa on February 26, 2012, 05:22:06 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-dcxOEOBzU
Post by: dinho on February 27, 2012, 01:58:51 AM

That was an amazing goal!

http://www.youtube.com/v/f-dcxOEOBzU
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on February 27, 2012, 12:23:47 PM

Madnesssssss!!!!!!
Post by: Toppa on February 27, 2012, 12:30:47 PM
Lol yeah he bad, he bad.
Post by: dinho on February 27, 2012, 12:42:14 PM
Messi free kick versus Atletico Madrid.

http://www.youtube.com/v/gzw1R3J3-hw

Post by: Bitter on February 27, 2012, 12:47:19 PM

Madnesssssss!!!!!!

Nice, too bad they cyah beat Barca.
But when you talking backheel goal, yuh still have to top Grafite vs Bayern.

http://www.youtube.com/v/e8eLSpDa_1E
Post by: elan on March 05, 2012, 10:07:51 PM
Barcelona news: Barca hit back at refs' chief  (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story/_/id/1031494/barcelona-hit-back-over-refereeing-standards?cc=5901)
March 5, 2012
By ESPNsoccernet staff

Barcelona have hit back at referees' chief Victoriano Arminio over his criticism of Gerard Pique and revealed they will not attend Tuesday's Spanish football federation (RFEF) meeting.

Barca believe they have had poor luck with decisions throughout the season, and a row has erupted after Gerard Pique said he had "a feeling of premeditation" in relation to his dismissal during the weekend's 3-1 victory against Sporting Gijon.

Referees' chief Victoriano Arminio expressed outrage over Pique's comments and said the defender would be reported, but Tony Freixa, a spokesman for the Barca board, told a press conference that Arminio's comments represent "an opportunistic show for the benefit of the media that provoke discriminatory treatment in a top-level competition".

Freixa insists Barca are not blaming refereeing decisions for the fact they trail Real Madrid by ten points in La Liga but feels they have every right to be unhappy.

"Our place in the table isn't solely down to the officials," he said. "All I am saying is that we are not having any luck, but hopefully in the remainder of the season we will have no grounds to feel how we feel now."

He added: "We are talking about referees, but not criticising them. The job of a referee is very difficult. They make mistakes because it's a tough job. We stand by our policy of not discussing referees, but this year we have found that we are not having much luck."

Freixa added that Barca's response did not amount to a "tantrum" and said all at the club could be proud of their behaviour. "It should be noted that the behaviour of our players and coaching staff has been and is impeccable for Barcelona and the Spanish team," he said.

Freixa also said the club would not attend Tuesday's RFEF general assembly after their request to the Copa del Rey final at the Bernabeu had been declined.

Fellow finalists Athletic Bilbao had backed Barca's bid to play the final in the capital, but Real Madrid have claimed building work means it is not possible to do so, and it now appears likely the game will take place in Seville.

"We have agreed that we will not attend the meeting tomorrow regarding the venue for the Copa del Rey final," Freixa said. "We felt that our arguments weren't being taken into account."
Post by: Toppa on March 05, 2012, 10:27:51 PM
Dem shameless yes.

And why Madrid must let dem play the final at the Bernabeu? Go so eh!
Post by: Observer on March 10, 2012, 04:54:46 PM
Without a doubt the best League in football, simply for the quality on view. The game Real vs Betis, today, was a display of exceptional
technical and tactical quality, peppered with individual invention  :cheers: :applause:
Post by: kicker on March 10, 2012, 06:58:17 PM
Without a doubt the best League in football, simply for the quality on view. The game Real vs Betis, today, was a display of exceptional
technical and tactical quality, peppered with individual invention  :cheers: :applause:

That was pace!!

Betis showed Madrid no respect - took the game to them - game coulda gone either way. 
Post by: Toppa on March 10, 2012, 09:46:00 PM
That match was therapy oui! I was too happy when that whistle blow.  :-\
Post by: Observer on March 11, 2012, 09:01:15 AM
That match was therapy oui! I was too happy when that whistle blow.  :-\

For me I did not want the match to end. Montero was rinsing man at will.
Post by: Andre on March 20, 2012, 12:21:58 PM
barcelona getting in the war business.

i never see such schupidness.

http://sports.yahoo.com/soccer/news;_ylt=Aq1oAP85Gk.XH1VjM9Om.H8mw7YF?slug=ro-rogers_barcelona_syria_coded_messages_al-dunya_031912

Syria’s state-run television channel has made the astonishing claim that the Barcelona soccer team is assisting a group of rebel fighters by delivering coded messages via its tactical formations.

At least it seems astonishing. Some believe it was an elaborate hoax, and that wouldn’t be surprising given the content.

According to Syrian state TV accusations, Lionel Messi and his Barca teammates were part of an elaborate rebel plot.

Syria continues to be stricken with internal strife, as forces backing President Bashar al-Assad combat several rebel groups hoping to overthrow the government. Yet the long struggle might have caused widespread paranoia, even on the officially sanctioned news network
Post by: Toppa on April 01, 2012, 08:41:59 PM
Goals and the season by Benzema and Ronaldo.

http://www.youtube.com/v/8xXLhouqZEg&feature=related

Post by: giggsy11 on April 03, 2012, 01:08:16 PM
Benzema vs Van Basten

http://youtu.be/o7-sQaebuG8
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 08, 2012, 03:29:44 PM

Kicker, Toppa, FFA de # for today is 4  :beermug:
Post by: kicker on April 09, 2012, 07:15:47 AM
hahahahaha

Yeah boy we let allyuh back in the race - 3 f-ing draws!! Yesterday I can't get too vex - Valencia real play and they actually coulda beat us...but the other 4 points we drop...

This is the toughest stretch of our season, and we didn't get off to a great start. 
Post by: Toppa on April 09, 2012, 12:49:43 PM
I was too vex to come in this thread yesterday.

Not goan read Sid Lowe blog.

Not listening to Football Weekly.

I cah believe this shit.
Post by: FF on April 09, 2012, 01:28:49 PM

I cah believe this shit.

Go through strong and with faith... Real taking the league with games to spare.

Also Sid Lowe article this week is about Rayo... so doh frighten

Post by: Toppa on April 09, 2012, 01:30:54 PM

I cah believe this shit.

He always has 'Talking Points' - which is always what I scroll to when the article isn't about Madrid. :D
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 09, 2012, 03:57:48 PM

I cah believe this shit.

Toppa, if yuh only know FF, is quake he quaking!!
Post by: Toppa on April 09, 2012, 04:09:54 PM

I cah believe this shit.

lol FF can't quake! He needs to be strong for me!
Post by: FF on April 09, 2012, 07:53:04 PM

I cah believe this shit.

girl you studying he... me and he from de same hometown, de same secondary school AND de same college.
(i ent know how he end up a barca fan, musbe primary school)

People like we doh quake... he grabbing at straws and he know it  ;D
Post by: Toppa on April 10, 2012, 10:37:41 AM
Now I hadda miss de match. Cah take dem Cules at all boy!

Barcelona's game with Real Madrid at Camp Nou has been brought forward by a day to 21 April.

El Clásico, which will take place between the two legs of the Champions League semi-finals, has been moved from Sunday to Saturday.

Barcelona travel to Stamford Bridge to face Chelsea in the first leg of their last-four meeting three days earlier on Wednesday 18 April, with the return fixture on Tuesday 24 April.

Madrid face Bayern in the other semi-final on 17 and 25 April.

A statement on Madrid's website read: "Real Madrid will face Barcelona at the Nou Camp on Saturday, April 21 at 2000 in the 35th round of the season."

Barça trail Madrid by four points with seven rounds of league games remaining, opening the possibility of José Mourinho's side winning La Liga at their arch rivals' home ground.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 11, 2012, 09:19:06 AM

I cah believe this shit.

girl you studying he... me and he from de same hometown, de same secondary school AND de same college.
(i ent know how he end up a barca fan, musbe primary school)

People like we doh quake... he grabbing at straws and he know it  ;D

Good come back  :beermug:
Post by: Blue on April 11, 2012, 02:27:40 PM
Ronaldo just scored a ridiculous free kick from miles out.... not that much pace but ball bending all over the place...keeper didnt even move
Post by: Toppa on April 11, 2012, 02:32:13 PM
Ronaldo just scored a ridiculous free kick from miles out.... not that much pace but ball bending all over the place...keeper didnt even move

Just two matches ago they were talking about his not having scored very many free-kicks this season. I guess he heard them.
Post by: dinho on April 11, 2012, 03:36:35 PM
Big header by Falcao to equalize but then a venomous bullet from Ronaldo to take the lead...

Good to see him stepping up to the plate under pressure.
Post by: dinho on April 11, 2012, 03:39:08 PM
.... And completes his hattrick with a PK.
Post by: Toppa on April 11, 2012, 05:07:27 PM
Two very bess goals.  :o
Post by: Toppa on April 11, 2012, 05:40:48 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/1cV4_YExGEw
Post by: Observer on April 14, 2012, 01:51:26 PM
Real have some serious scoring power, besides Ronaldo.
Higuain 16 games 21 Goals
Benzema 20 games 18 goals
Post by: Bitter on April 14, 2012, 03:01:57 PM
Barca vs Levante on ESPN.
Shaka doing colour commentary
Post by: Toppa on April 14, 2012, 03:05:55 PM
Levante up 1 nil oui!! Come on, guys!
Post by: Bitter on April 14, 2012, 03:30:02 PM
Hard luck dey Levante.
That is 2 soft penalties from this ref.

Messi tied with CR7 on 41 goals
Post by: D.H.W on April 14, 2012, 03:30:45 PM
Cheat!
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 14, 2012, 03:33:07 PM
Hard luck dey Levante.

I agree it was kinda soft because the froward played it up a little, (ah didn't see d first penalty) but the devender used his ands/arms to push the player off the ball.....yuh cyah do dat and get vex if d ref call it. use yuh body to get in front de man and keep pace with him but once yuh shove with yuh arms, yuh arkskin' fuh trouble.....
Post by: Toppa on April 14, 2012, 04:32:47 PM
Hard luck dey Levante.

I agree it was kinda soft because the froward played it up a little, (ah didn't see d first penalty) but the devender used his ands/arms to push the player off the ball.....yuh cyah do dat and get vex if d ref call it. use yuh body to get in front de man and keep pace with him but once yuh shove with yuh arms, yuh arkskin' fuh trouble.....

Make excuses fuh dem nah...
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 14, 2012, 05:02:35 PM
Hard luck dey Levante.

Make excuses fuh dem nah...

dize not a excuse, Babes, is d trute.  If a defender do d same ting to ronaldo, I would say d same exact ting.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 14, 2012, 05:08:27 PM
Both penalties was garbage calls, final score should have been 1-0 Barca
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 26, 2012, 11:38:50 AM
according to reports within Spain, Pep is going to walk... he had a 3 hour meeting with the club today and was told to sleep on it, he wants to leave and has been thinking about it for 6 months

Interesting...
Post by: D.H.W on April 26, 2012, 12:22:58 PM
Barcelona's Pep Guardiola 'on brink of leaving club'

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17855980
Post by: Deeks on April 26, 2012, 03:02:36 PM
Wha happen to Pepe, he can't stand the pressure?!!!!
Post by: Big Magician on April 26, 2012, 11:31:55 PM
Pep for Superstar Rangers ???
Post by: D.H.W on April 27, 2012, 05:11:18 AM
Pep has resigned.
Post by: Observer on April 27, 2012, 05:35:04 AM
He hinted mid-season that he may not renew the contract. Which suggest
that regardless of the outcome he was thinking of leaving. Its a shame! I asy
that not for Barcelona, but for football in general. Lets hope its just a meditation
phase and he does not leave football all together.
Post by: D.H.W on April 29, 2012, 01:32:06 PM
Athletico get stunned by betis, last 5mins to give up d lead lol
Post by: D.H.W on April 29, 2012, 01:37:06 PM
Sweet last second equaliser by athletico.
Post by: kicker on May 02, 2012, 04:09:56 PM
Barataria, the word for today is congratulations... Say it. 
Post by: Toppa on May 02, 2012, 04:11:57 PM
Post by: Toppa on May 02, 2012, 04:16:18 PM

No, no, no - the number for the day is 32 - League Championships.
Post by: Observer on May 02, 2012, 05:00:16 PM
Congratulations to Real Madrid, good season overall  :applause: Many people are very critical of Benzema and Higuain, yet both players have a phenomenal strike rate (games played, goals scored). Real have 3 players in the top five in scoring in La Liga, amazing and one of the major contributions to them winning the league.   :applause:
Post by: kicker on May 03, 2012, 07:19:25 AM

No, no, no - the number for the day is 32 - League Championships.

;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: kicker on May 03, 2012, 07:20:06 AM
Congratulations to Real Madrid, good season overall  :applause: Many people are very critical of Benzema and Higuain, yet both players have a phenomenal strike rate (games played, goals scored). Real have 3 players in the top five in scoring in La Liga, amazing and one of the major contributions to them winning the league.   :applause:

Imagine Higuain wasn't even a regular starter this season too...
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 03, 2012, 08:02:24 AM
Yeah man, all deserve de title, well played. 

We'll re-group and come again, under new mgmt.  13 of out of 16 in de last 4 years is not too shabby
Post by: Raul on May 06, 2012, 04:35:24 AM
Congrats to Messi on 50 league goals!

Umm errr I mean congrats to Xavi, Iniesta, the referees and to all the Barcelona dives in the 18-yard area that resulted in penalty kicks...
Post by: FF on May 14, 2012, 12:05:06 PM
APB FOR JAI JOHN!!

AMBER ALERT!!

Villareal get relegated yesterday... that is pressure... dem never finish lower than 7th or 8th de last decade.
Post by: D.H.W on May 14, 2012, 01:09:11 PM
Yikes!
Post by: Toppa on May 14, 2012, 05:16:51 PM
Congrats to Messi on 50 league goals!

Umm errr I mean congrats to Xavi, Iniesta, the referees and to all the Barcelona dives in the 18-yard area that resulted in penalty kicks...

Post by: jai john on May 14, 2012, 08:45:49 PM
APB FOR JAI JOHN!!

AMBER ALERT!!

Villareal get relegated yesterday... that is pressure... dem never finish lower than 7th or 8th de last decade.

Real sad day ...more than a relegation but rather a statement to illustrate that money is now controlling football ..... every team succeeding today has to spend hundreds of millions to attract the best players ...and those with lots of it ...buy players and farm them out so other competitors cant get them. So its like I dont really need him but you cant have him either !

Villareal lost the prize because they are forced into the wrong model ...they really did not have an option but to sell their best players . You cant do that and survive any decent league but what choice did they have ? If they buy big players they have to increase the wage bill ...they have a tiny stadium and will never attract large crowds at home because they simply cannot accommodate them.

So the world's biggest small side that shared  second round points  with barcelona and Real madrid now have a big task at hand ...how to keep their players who would obviously want first team football. If they could play with this team they would be back up next season ...just like Manchester united some years ago ....but I really cant see  Rossi, Nilmar etc playing second tier football and expecting to play for their country . So it looks like the end of a good run finally unless FIFA goes the basketball and soccer salary cap way that the Us has put in to avoid just what has happened here .
I wonder who can really celebrate when a team like Villareal which plays the football that we the afficionados love, gets relegated with little hope to rise again soon ?
Can Villareal build from their youth team .? ..with a good coach they can ...can they keep their best players ...not even the best coach can help them there ...and no Arab is going to buy a club from a small town and with a small stadium ...unless he wants to take up the challenge ...when you have  money to blow you own 10 cqrs ...who can understand the ways of the rich and famous ...not I . Calling Sheik al Thani ....S.O.S
Post by: kicker on May 15, 2012, 08:09:05 AM
Losing Capdevilla and Cazorla, on top of injuries to Nilmar and Rossi, and the lack of a proper replacement for the aging Senna just killed that side -they don't have a deep roster, and they were playing in more than one competition this season too - was too much for them to handle.

It real sad, but I think they will be back.  They have a good philosophy at that club.  They were one major piece of silverware away from becoming a force to be reckoned with.  If they managed to win a major championship in their prime days and got that influx of cash from it, they woulda never looked back.