Sports => Football => Topic started by: Peong on August 23, 2011, 11:50:29 PM

Title: Birchall, Hyland called up to T&T squad
Post by: Peong on August 23, 2011, 11:50:29 PM
Birchall, Hyland called up to T&T squad
By Ian Prescott (Express)

Story Created: Aug 24, 2011 at 12:45 AM ECT

Story Updated: Aug 24, 2011 at 12:45 AM ECT

UNITED STATES-based Chris Birchall and Belgium-based midfielder Khaleem Hyland are among 11 foreign-based footballers called up by Trinidad and Tobago's German head coach Otto Pfister for back-to-back 2014 World Cup qualifiers.

T&T host Bermuda on September 2, before travelling to Barbados for another qualifier five days later.

The first of the foreign-based players will begin to arrive in Trinidad on Sunday.

Trinidad and Tobago will be captained by Stoke City striker Kenwyne Jones. Also called up is England-born York City midfielder Andre Boucard, who has six caps for T&T and last played against Iceland just prior to the 2006 World Cup finals.

Joining the national team is another Englishman, 22-year-old Jake Thompson, who is now playing minor league football with Kettering Town.

Veteran utility player Carlos Edwards, defender Ronald Primus, Lester "Corn Curls" Peltier, Keon Daniel, Julius James and Clyde Leon make up the rest of the foreign-based professionals.

England-born defender JLloyd Samuel has asked to be excused for Trinidad and Tobago's first two matches as he is currently in the process of securing a new club.

Following his team's 3-0 win over India in a friendly on Sunday, head coach Pfister was confident of having a strong team to face Bermuda.

"Next week we have a player camp and we work together," Pfister said on Sunday. "I now know who of the local boys I can use and who I cannot use. Football is a very easy game. I will collect the overseas players and we make two, three, four training sessions and we are ready for the next game."

And striker Stern John thinks that Trinidad and Tobago will be better prepared for Bermuda, who scored a shock 2-1 road victory over the Soca Warriors to start the 2010 World Cup qualifying campaign. T&T advanced when winning the away leg 2-0 in Bermuda.

"I think the last time our team was not as strong as (the one) we have right now," said John. "We went into that game a bit over confident, a bit cocky, and we were defeated in Trinidad. We went to Bermuda and we had to grind out a result. And that is what football is about."

T&T FOREIGN-BASED PLAYERS CALLED UP:

Kenwyne Jones (Captain), Carlos Edwards, Andre Boucard, Khaleem Hyland, Chris Birchall, Jake Thompson, Ronald Primus, Lester Peltier, Keon Daniel, Julius James, Clyde Leon.
Title: Re: Birchall, Hyland called up to T&T squad
Post by: Peong on August 23, 2011, 11:55:02 PM
No Scotland or Sealy.
Post by: Midknight on August 24, 2011, 12:11:27 AM
No Scotland or Sealy.

You surprised?

In truth and in fact, the team could pick itself from the time Pfister decided he going with a majority foreign based. Certain posters on here keep going on about the wealth of talent we have, but aside from the possible debate that you could have about bringing back man who in the conference - I would give Thompson the bligh because ah he age (btw, what the jail going on with Silvio Spann?) is a set ah USL men yuh left with aside from the two you mention.

I thought Kerry Baptiste woulda get a bligh though
Post by: Spursy on August 24, 2011, 12:28:58 AM
BIRCHALL!!! BOOM!
Post by: Cocorite on August 24, 2011, 01:19:21 AM
Now yuh talking. This makes me feel better. Now if they could get some good practice time together we might be able to give ourselves a fighting chance to get out of this group.

Concerns:
Don't know how best to use Jones in a T&T side. Keon Daniel and Carlos Edwards will have to be feeding him some good balls in the box.

Who will play left back?

Creative Mid?

This should be good.

DR/Peltier              Stern/Jones

Daniel           Hyland/Hector          Birch           Jake         

Power        Primus        Julius           Edwards

Phillips

Post by: Peong on August 24, 2011, 01:51:51 AM
Phillip

Thompson
Primus
James
Power

Daniel
Hyland
Roberts
Birchall
Edwards

Jones

Post by: davidephraim on August 24, 2011, 02:04:01 AM
Phillip

Thompson
Primus
James
Power

Daniel
Hyland
Roberts
Birchall
Edwards

Jones

Peong, yuh aint hear the man say de wokkin 4-3-3

[/list]
Post by: davidephraim on August 24, 2011, 02:21:38 AM
                      Philips

Edwards     Primus    James     Power

Thompson       Birchall             Daniel

Hyland

Roberts 
                 KJ

**Lloyd not there so Carlos have to hold**

Tinto for Thompson
Peltier for Daniel
Clyde Leon for Birchall
Stern for KJ
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 24, 2011, 04:52:09 AM
Birchall, Hyland called up to T&T squad.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

T&T foreign-based players called up:

Kenwyne Jones (captain), Carlos Edwards, Andre Boucard, Khaleem Hyland, Christopher Birchall, Jake Thompson, Robert Primus, Lester Peltier, Keon Daniel, Julius James, Clyde Leon.

these batch of players can get us to brazil .???.
Post by: D.H.W on August 24, 2011, 04:57:15 AM
thompson and birchall :beermug:
Post by: big dawg on August 24, 2011, 05:20:48 AM
On Paper, this is a bomb squad no doubt.... The intention perhaps is to give Bermuda about 6, and bring our confidence back ?..... but then again, remember what happen the last time we play Bermuda. :thinking:
Post by: Ngozi on August 24, 2011, 05:32:16 AM
Allyuh see a team on paper and already predict we giving a team six ? allyuh good yes it really have paper coaches here yes.
this same team get 4 from Costa Rica so lets wait and see nah!
Post by: Sam on August 24, 2011, 05:36:26 AM
No Scotland or Sealy.

And rightfully so !!!!.... Sealy and Scotland are not international players or maybe not yet.

These are some good players de TTFF called, now lets hope de TTFF get they airline tickets together this time, we dont want another Jlloyd Samuel or Kevin Molino incident to happen.

Ngozi, good point, them men done celebrating, like they forget Bermuba buss we ass last time too and we nearly eh beat them in de return.
Post by: Sam on August 24, 2011, 06:04:33 AM

UNITED STATES-based Chris Birchall and Belgium-based midfielder Khaleem Hyland are among 11 foreign-based footballers called up by Trinidad and Tobago's German head coach Otto Pfister for back-to-back 2014 World Cup qualifiers.

T&T host Bermuda on September 2, before travelling to Barbados for another qualifier five days later.

The first of the foreign-based players will begin to arrive in Trinidad on Sunday.

Trinidad and Tobago will be captained by Stoke City striker Kenwyne Jones. Also called up is England-born York City midfielder Andre Boucard, who has six caps for T&T and last played against Iceland just prior to the 2006 World Cup finals.

Joining the national team is another Englishman, 22-year-old Jake Thompson, who is now playing minor league football with Kettering Town.

Veteran utility player Carlos Edwards, defender Ronald Primus, Lester "Corn Curls" Peltier, Keon Daniel, Julius James and Clyde Leon make up the rest of the foreign-based professionals.

England-born defender JLloyd Samuel has asked to be excused for Trinidad and Tobago's first two matches as he is currently in the process of securing a new club.

Following his team's 3-0 win over India in a friendly on Sunday, head coach Pfister was confident of having a strong team to face Bermuda.

"Next week we have a player camp and we work together," Pfister said on Sunday. "I now know who of the local boys I can use and who I cannot use. Football is a very easy game. I will collect the overseas players and we make two, three, four training sessions and we are ready for the next game."

And striker Stern John thinks that Trinidad and Tobago will be better prepared for Bermuda, who scored a shock 2-1 road victory over the Soca Warriors to start the 2010 World Cup qualifying campaign. T&T advanced when winning the away leg 2-0 in Bermuda.

"I think the last time our team was not as strong as (the one) we have right now," said John. "We went into that game a bit over confident, a bit cocky, and we were defeated in Trinidad. We went to Bermuda and we had to grind out a result. And that is what football is about."

Kenwyne Jones (Captain), Carlos Edwards, Andre Boucard, Khaleem Hyland, Chris Birchall, Jake Thompson, Ronald Primus, Lester Peltier, Keon Daniel, Julius James, Clyde Leon.

What school Ian Prescott went to allyuh, meh eh no scientist eh, but them names he spell they wrong and this printed on national newspapers, no wonder people in Penal and Toco does still wipe they ass with guardian paper...... this man getting paid allyuh... ?

Who de hell is, JLloyd (should be Jlloyd), Jake Thompson (should be Jake Thomson), Ronald Primus (should be Robert Primus).

Ronald Primus retire now, he robbing people in San Juan market....
Post by: Touches on August 24, 2011, 06:09:07 AM
Can't wait to see my team in action next Friday...

State of Emergency cutarse for Bermuda.

Birchall alone is the difference.
Post by: Tallman on August 24, 2011, 06:09:42 AM

Why?
Post by: saint27 on August 24, 2011, 06:10:24 AM
On Paper, this is a bomb squad no doubt.... The intention perhaps is to give Bermuda about 6, and bring our confidence back ?..... but then again, remember what happen the last time we play Bermuda. :thinking:
Bomb squad ?.....what foolishness u talking with the exception of Jones hyland and Carlos (maybe) none of these players playing proper high quality football......so don't say bomb squad when it is average by Caribbean standards
And no where near the quality of the top 4 in concacaf
Post by: Sam on August 24, 2011, 06:14:15 AM

Why?

Good one Tallman..  :devil:
Post by: Deeks on August 24, 2011, 06:16:47 AM
I thought JLLoyd born in Sando.
Post by: Coop's on August 24, 2011, 06:23:04 AM
Bomb squad ?.....what foolishness u talking with the exception of Jones hyland and Carlos (maybe) none of these players playing proper high quality football......so don't say bomb squad when it is average by Caribbean standards
And no where near the quality of the top 4 in concacaf
        :thumbsup: once who we like on the team it's a bomb squad,what we have to do though is to bomb some of these teams.
Post by: Touches on August 24, 2011, 06:24:58 AM
You know what is good about this squad.....it is our best squad on paper. No if only so and so was on the side etc.

No wondering what coulda happen or what shoulda been.

We winning or losing with the best available talent we have...no excuses, time to perform.

Post by: Coop's on August 24, 2011, 06:45:37 AM
I like when the forum is in this mode,there had been so much negatives for so long it's nice to breed some fresh air again,although i know it may not last too long,i'll just enjoy it for as long as it lasts.Having said that i would like to take the opportunity to give the supporting technical staff some credit for what's going on so far in our preparation,Pfitser might be the main man but the supporting cast plays an important role (Corneal,Barber,George),some how it seems only when we don't get what we want their names are called.
Post by: Socafan on August 24, 2011, 06:58:53 AM
You know what is good about this squad.....it is our best squad on paper. No if only so and so was on the side etc.

We winning or losing with the best available talent we have...no excuses, time to perform.

Bess post...we about to see where we stand.
Post by: saint27 on August 24, 2011, 06:59:23 AM

Shouldn't be a problem in that first round ..... But we need to be as good as we have ever been in that next round ......u see that Mexico side ....not easy at all ....they have so much quality ...especially in those two youth teams that now play in those world cups . Time for jones to step up
Post by: Socafan on August 24, 2011, 07:00:11 AM

What school Ian Prescott went to allyuh, meh eh no scientist eh, but them names he spell they wrong and this printed on national newspapers, no wonder people in Penal and Toco does still wipe they ass with guardian paper...... this man getting paid allyuh... ?

Who de hell is, JLloyd (should be Jlloyd), Jake Thompson (should be Jake Thomson), Ronald Primus (should be Robert Primus).

I nearly choke to death early in the morning... :D
Post by: Jayerson on August 24, 2011, 08:09:51 AM

And England-born Jlloyd Samuel, as far as I know he was born in San Fernando, Trinidad & Tobago. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Post by: weary1969 on August 24, 2011, 08:17:34 AM

And England-born Jlloyd Samuel, as far as I know he was born in San Fernando, Trinidad & Tobago. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Sando born  UK bred
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 24, 2011, 08:41:59 AM

Shouldn't be a problem in that first round ..... But we need to be as good as we have ever been in that next round ......u see that Mexico side ....not easy at all ....they have so much quality ...especially in those two youth teams that now play in those world cups . Time for jones to step up

next round the players who otto when in England to scout may  join ....
Post by: royal on August 24, 2011, 09:22:15 AM
Molino had a good USL season should have been on the squad.Warner would have push Phillip
Post by: Midknight on August 24, 2011, 09:28:31 AM

Why?

Just because he good at bobolising Caribbean minnows. I was going to say it, then I thought somebody would figure I trying to knock the man. The problem is I have no clue what he up to right now. USL?
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on August 24, 2011, 09:30:24 AM
I agree with davidephraim Carlos will have to play RB. when i look at this team the 1st thing that pops out to me is the the lack of wingbacks. We have two good center backs and a good one injured. But without Jlloyd playing Carlos must play RB. I dont understand why people have Jake playing RB. Carlos plays RB week in and week out regardless if he likes the position. Jake just got a club. Why would you have an inexperienced, probably unfit player playing RB. Yeah he did play RB during the U-20's but that is because we had no better options. This time we do. Hopefully in the next round Gavin Hoyte will decide to join us, cause i tired begging his older brother.

As for a prediction ill take 2-0 on friday because its the 1st time that they are playing together. But for tuesdays game (even tho its on the road) I'll take 5-0  ;D.
Post by: Trinidogg on August 24, 2011, 09:31:29 AM
Villaroel, Kevon shoulda get a bligh but like the USL getting salt this time around...
Post by: palos on August 24, 2011, 09:31:46 AM
I like when the forum is in this mode,there had been so much negatives for so long it's nice to breed some fresh air again,although i know it may not last too long,i'll just enjoy it for as long as it lasts.Having said that i would like to take the opportunity to give the supporting technical staff some credit for what's going on so far in our preparation,Pfitser might be the main man but the supporting cast plays an important role (Corneal,Barber,George),some how it seems only when we don't get what we want their names are called.

Wha boy Coop's.  Yuh is a DON!  How much time yuh breed it so?  :devil:
Post by: palos on August 24, 2011, 09:32:24 AM
Villaroel, Kevon shoulda get a bligh but like the USL getting salt this time around...

Villaroel is a wild man.  He VERY fit though....but very few footballing skills.
Post by: Tallman on August 24, 2011, 09:37:06 AM

Why?

Just because he good at bobolising Caribbean minnows. I was going to say it, then I thought somebody would figure I trying to knock the man. The problem is I have no clue what he up to right now. USL?

He's played 5 minutes of competitive football since leaving Joe Public in January. FC Tampa Bay is his new team.
Post by: FireBrand on August 24, 2011, 09:38:31 AM

That may include Justin Hoyte.
Post by: Tallman on August 24, 2011, 09:40:10 AM

Why?
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 24, 2011, 09:40:26 AM

And who are the other unknowns
Post by: Trinidogg on August 24, 2011, 09:43:21 AM

Why?
Because he constantly starting for his USL team and we eh got no other true left back from overseas with Jlloyd not coming...
Post by: FireBrand on August 24, 2011, 09:48:11 AM

And who are the other unknowns

Your guess is as good as mine there.
Post by: palos on August 24, 2011, 09:57:16 AM

Why?
Because he constantly starting for his USL team and we eh got no other true left back from overseas with Jlloyd not coming...

Yuh ever see Villaroel play hoss?
Post by: Trinidogg on August 24, 2011, 10:01:16 AM

Why?

Yea i see him play in a couple of games during the Concacaf Championship he didn't look bad from what i saw but allyuh probably see him way more than i did...
Post by: palos on August 24, 2011, 10:13:28 AM

Why?

Yea i see him play in a couple of games during the Concacaf Championship he didn't look bad from what i saw but allyuh probably see him way more than i did...

I see him on a few occasions.  Each time he failed to impress.  No real footballing ability....but as ah say before...he fit.  He naturally left footed which is why I feel he playin left back.  But de left foot eh sayin nutting.

I eh have nutting against de fella.  I jes doh feel he anywhere near remotely capable.
Post by: Sam on August 24, 2011, 10:16:36 AM
Villaroel should be no where near T&T team, he need wok first.

De only person is de USL who could make T&T side right now is maybe Devon Jorsling.

Molino is good, but let him develop further, he could do that on the under 23 team.
Post by: supporter on August 24, 2011, 10:20:40 AM
If Scotland and Sealy arent called up because of their form and lack of playing time then Birchall should be held to the same criteria. I dont agree with his call-up.
Post by: Sam on August 24, 2011, 10:26:03 AM
If Scotland and Sealy arent called up because of their form and lack of playing time then Birchall should be held to the same criteria. I dont agree with his call-up.

So !!!

Dont agree.

Sealy is a forward, ask yuh self when last he score ah goal.

Scotland train under Pfister last month and shit down he self and I hear that from good source.... de man shape like a hamburger, besides, he is not an international player, he is decent at club level, he eh score ah goes for T&T in years now....

I will pick Birchall over any T&T players right now, Birchall, James, Hyland, Peltier, Phillip and Edwards is 6 key players for T&T right now, and if Keon up to it, but yuh know how he does fall out of de game and sleep away on de field....
Post by: banton on August 24, 2011, 10:43:27 AM
best overseas players we have nice squad
Post by: Jayerson on August 24, 2011, 10:51:09 AM

La Galaxy has played 25 games so far this season, Birchall has played in 19 of them and started 14 of them. He's 9th in terms of minutes on the field for the Galaxy. I don't think Sealy and Scotland can come anywhere close to those stats. And I think he has 1 goal for the season, probably more than them both combined. Lol.
Post by: STEUPS!! on August 24, 2011, 10:53:36 AM
best squad (on paper) i have seen since d blacklist. looking forward to seeing dem next friday. i done apply for a day  off
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on August 24, 2011, 11:05:33 AM
My boy is back! Birchallllllllll

Good squad , nice balance

Only area that has me concerned is LB ... Akeem Adams was poor and he is young and nervous .. Hopefully Otto can integrate him but I have my fears

J.Jones would have been ideal but according to my sources he has been banned from selection for breaking curfew in Mexico with the U20's .. Wouldnt be surprised if they lift the ban as the LB is a "limited state of emergency"

Maybe Power can play it

Post by: Tongue on August 24, 2011, 11:08:48 AM

Why?

I see him on a few occasions.  Each time he failed to impress.  No real footballing ability....but as ah say before...he fit.  He naturally left footed which is why I feel he playin left back.  But de left foot eh sayin nutting.

I eh have nutting against de fella.  I jes doh feel he anywhere near remotely capable.

allyuh doh like nobody nah! ;D
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 11:23:14 AM

Phillips
Power
James
Primus
Edwards
Daniel
Hyland
Birchall
Thomson
Roberts
Jones

i suspect this could be the starting team
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 11:26:03 AM
the return of samuel and as firebrand pointed out hoyte and maybe warner the team can change

however, right now we have a fight in the midfield

we have an abundance of options to choose from, i believe pfister will use different combinations throughout the matches  :beermug:
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 11:29:18 AM

if so that is good news, if we get both of them, our defense is solid :beermug:
Post by: vb on August 24, 2011, 11:32:41 AM
Just curious was Jagdeosingh ever invited to train with the team.

Abu Bakr Jr. is he over his inury?

Anybody take a look at Javed Mohammed?

All three are defenders - wouldn't hurt to take a look at them.

We could have organized some ehibition games over the summer Possible vs. Probables.

Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 11:35:56 AM
if hoyte, samuel and warner come for next round, the team may look like:

Warner
Samuel
Primus
James
Hoyte
Daniel
Birchall
Hyland
Edwards
Jones
Roberts

Pfister has a lot of options to play with to get the right combo
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 24, 2011, 11:56:58 AM

Phillips
Power
James
Primus
Edwards
Daniel
Hyland
Birchall
Thomson
Roberts
Jones

and we doh have the strongest team in the Caribbean?
Post by: FireBrand on August 24, 2011, 12:23:27 PM

Phillips
Power
James
Primus
Edwards
Daniel
Hyland
Birchall
Thomson
Roberts
Jones

I wouldn't say dat until we give dem yardies and Grenada (for good measure) ah good planass.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 24, 2011, 12:28:44 PM

Phillips
Power
James
Primus
Edwards
Daniel
Hyland
Birchall
Thomson
Roberts
Jones

I wouldn't say dat until we give dem yardies and Grenada (for good measure) ah good planass.

Yeah...our time coming.

We have a stronger team.  Just need to get the house back in order and we will see.
Be positive.  No one could beat we in the region but ourselves
Post by: lefty on August 24, 2011, 12:32:03 PM

I would take good wins over Jamaica I feel dem not planass ...um.... able ??? by us anymore an' deserve dat respec', grenada on d odder hand given d two performances that dey put together to beat us might be ripe for dat (cautious optimism) woulda love to check d Bermuda game, but d time table go be too tight................. no car and living south :(
Post by: Preacher on August 24, 2011, 12:34:15 PM
Maybe I haven't seen Hyland enough.  But to me it seems like him and Birchie is a bad idea.  None of them are play makers.  So in all honesty, say what you want but Theobald and Birchie would have to do for me until we get a driver from somewhere.  Honestly, I think that might be Carlos.
Post by: jai john on August 24, 2011, 12:42:22 PM

Have you been following the career/season of Chris Birchall ? I suggest you check Mr google if you missed the friendlies of the Galaxy this season and their present season results. Birchall plays in a 4 man midfield with Juninio ( Brazil ) Donavan (USA) Beckham ( England)  week in week out . Did you see him vs Real Madrid this season ??????????????
You should apologize for the statement you made above ...lack of form ? ...lack of playing time ?
Post by: FireBrand on August 24, 2011, 01:19:09 PM
Maybe I haven't seen Hyland enough.  But to me it seems like him and Birchie is a bad idea.  None of them are play makers.  So in all honesty, say what you want but Theobald and Birchie would have to do for me until we get a driver from somewhere.  Honestly, I think that might be Carlos.

We actually have 4 foreign based holding mids in Leon, Birch, Hyland and Boucaud, so it would be interesting to see how Pfister uses them. If only one is used I would pair him up with Hector instead of Theobald (Mr inconsistent)... Boucaud is capable in that creative mid role as well.
Post by: supporter on August 24, 2011, 01:45:54 PM

So !!!

Dont agree.

Sealy is a forward, ask yuh self when last he score ah goal.

Scotland train under Pfister last month and shit down he self and I hear that from good source.... de man shape like a hamburger, besides, he is not an international player, he is decent at club level, he eh score ah goes for T&T in years now....

I will pick Birchall over any T&T players right now, Birchall, James, Hyland, Peltier, Phillip and Edwards is 6 key players for T&T right now, and if Keon up to it, but yuh know how he does fall out of de game and sleep away on de field....

Right, my point was that i dont think Sealy, Scotland, or Birchall shouldve gotten a call-up
Post by: supporter on August 24, 2011, 01:48:49 PM

La Galaxy has played 25 games so far this season, Birchall has played in 19 of them and started 14 of them. He's 9th in terms of minutes on the field for the Galaxy. I don't think Sealy and Scotland can come anywhere close to those stats. And I think he has 1 goal for the season, probably more than them both combined. Lol.

So he starts a little more than half of their games on a team where Becks misses matches due to injury, Donovan for USA duty, and Mike Magee starts a lot in mid. That doesnt say much, does it?

My point wasnt to argue for the inclusion of Sealy and Scotland, but rather to question the inclusion of Birchall. If Sealy and Scotland dont deserve a call-up, then how does Birchall?
Post by: supporter on August 24, 2011, 01:51:20 PM

Have you been following the career/season of Chris Birchall ? I suggest you check Mr google if you missed the friendlies of the Galaxy this season and their present season results. Birchall plays in a 4 man midfield with Juninio ( Brazil ) Donavan (USA) Beckham ( England)  week in week out . Did you see him vs Real Madrid this season ??????????????
You should apologize for the statement you made above ...lack of form ? ...lack of playing time ?

I dont need to google a team i follow closely. Birchall is not a regular starter, and when he does play its usually of the shit variety. Did i see him vs Real Madrid this season? Is that a serious question, or are you just trying to sound like a clown? For one, I did, and secondly, whats your point? He didnt stand out against a preseason side that demolished LA. And why are you putting '(Brazil)' or '(England)' next to Juninho and Beckham? Juninho has never played for Brazil and Becks hasnt for England in a while.
Post by: FF on August 24, 2011, 01:54:14 PM

So he starts a little more than half of their games on a team where Becks doesnt play a lot and Mike Magee starts a lot in mid. That doesnt say much, does it?

My point wasnt to argue for the inclusion of Sealy and Scotland, but rather to question the inclusion of Birchall. If Sealy and Scotland dont deserve a call-up, then how does Birchall?

(http://i1205.photobucket.com/albums/bb426/kidnamedsteve/carl_winslow.gif)
Post by: supporter on August 24, 2011, 01:59:08 PM

So he starts a little more than half of their games on a team where Becks doesnt play a lot and Mike Magee starts a lot in mid. That doesnt say much, does it?

Haha

Im just saying none of them deserve a call-up. Just like we can accept Sealy and Scotland do not, so it should be for Birchall. Why he getting a free pass?
Post by: kicker on August 24, 2011, 02:01:06 PM
Supporter, they can't call everyone - The coach will call on players depending on his needs - not just based on who is getting regular playing time for their club team. Birchie eh no striker, and Sealey/Scotland ent midfielders...so arguing for the inclusion of them on the basis of Birchall's inclusion doesn't really make sense...  At this point, the message from the coach seems to be that he doesn't need additional strikers -right or wrong that seems to be the case.  If we're struggling in front of goal with the guys we have up top, those two that you call may get a shot in the future.

I haven't been following Birchall's progress at the Galaxy, but from what I know he's def more than a fringe player, and from what I read, it sounds like he puts in a good workman-like shift, even if he's not impressing you.  In our nat'l set up he's sorta labeled as our work horse, and he's proven to function well in that capacity whenever he puts on the nat'l colours....  
Post by: supporter on August 24, 2011, 02:18:55 PM
Supporter, they can't call everyone - The coach will call on players depending on his needs - not just based on who is getting regular playing time for their club team. Birchie eh no striker, and Sealey/Scotland ent midfielders...so arguing for the inclusion of them on the basis of Birchall's inclusion doesn't really make sense...  At this point, the message from the coach seems to be that he doesn't need additional strikers -right or wrong that seems to be the case.  If we're struggling in front of goal with the guys we have up top, those two that you call may get a shot in the future.

I haven't been following Birchall's progress at the Galaxy, but from what I know he's def more than a fringe player, and from what I read, it sounds like he puts in a good workman-like shift, even if he's not impressing you.  In our nat'l set up he's sorta labeled as our work horse, and he's proven to function well in that capacity whenever he puts on the nat'l colours....  

Kicker, please see my above posts on this page as I address the point you bring up in your first paragraph (altho i can accept that we are dire in the midfield as is). Im not arguing for the inclusion of Sealy or Scotland. As for the second paragraph, well, if hes coming in solely to be a high work-rate man, and nothing else, and if thats the only characteristic contingent on starting for our natl side then good luck to us.
Post by: Reggaefan on August 24, 2011, 02:19:12 PM
I would take good wins over Jamaica I feel dem not planass ...um.... able ??? by us anymore an' deserve dat respec', grenada on d odder hand given d two performances that dey put together to beat us might be ripe for dat (cautious optimism) woulda love to check d Bermuda game, but d time table go be too tight................. no car and living south :(

Tell your peeps to get in touch with the JFF, Iam sure something could be arranged to host you guys in Kingston.
Post by: just cool on August 24, 2011, 02:19:19 PM

Haha

Im just saying none of them deserve a call-up. Just like we can accept Sealy and Scotland do not, so it should be for Birchall. Why he getting a free pass?
Breds, i could understand yuh callin for the sealy inclusion since the fella eh get ah call up since beenhakker rode out, but MDCNT scotland??!! :o

that man played in almost every game last WC campaign, from the bermuda game to the 2nd to last game in the hex against costa rica, and he eh score one solitary fackin goal, why on earth do we need ah forkin striker who cant penetrate bc he's too slow, he don't terrorize defenders, his assist rate is next to zero, and he don't score, :frustrated: so why in the fack are you callin for his inclusion??

leff scotland right where de fack he dey! we don't MDCNT need him, even andre toussant more reliable and capable than scotland.  sstttuueeeppppssssssss!
Post by: supporter on August 24, 2011, 02:21:22 PM

Haha

Breds, i could understand yuh callin for the sealy inclusion since the fella eh get ah call up since beenhakker rode out, but MDCNT scotland??!! :o

that man played in almost every game last WC campaign, from the bermuda game to the 2nd to last game against costa rica in the hex, and he eh score one solitary fackin goal, why on earth do we need ah forkin striker who cant penetrate bc he's too slow, he don't terrorize defenders, his assist rate is next to zero, and he don't score, :frustrated: so why in the fack are you callin for his inclusion??

leff scotland right where de fack he dey! we don't MDCNT need him, even andre toussant more reliable and capable than scotland.  sstttuueeeppppssssssss!

Oh lord, how so many fellas think im arguing for Sealy or Scotland?? Thank god the two of dem didnt get call up
Post by: Reggaefan on August 24, 2011, 02:26:53 PM

I recognize 4 names on that squad, one play in the Prem (Jones), two in the MLS(Daniel, Birchall)  and one in Belgium (Hyland). As a comparison, Jamaica currently rotates between 6 MLs players, 5 guys in Scandinavia, and about 6 playing various leagues in England, together with the top local 3 from the domestic leagues...

I'd think based on that the strongest team in the caribbean is the Reggaeboyz...followed by you guys.

Post by: che on August 24, 2011, 02:32:53 PM

I recognize 4 names on that squad, one play in the Prem (Jones), two in the MLS(Daniel, Birchall)  and one in Belgium (Hyland). As a comparison, Jamaica currently rotates between 6 MLs players, 5 guys in Scandinavia, and about 6 playing various leagues in England, together with the top local 3 from the domestic leagues...

I'd think based on that the strongest team in the caribbean is the Reggaeboyz...followed by you guys.

I must be ill. I actually agree with something Raggafart said.. :o
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 02:33:48 PM

We actually have 4 foreign based holding mids in Leon, Birch, Hyland and Boucaud, so it would be interesting to see how Pfister uses them. If only one is used I would pair him up with Hector instead of Theobald (Mr inconsistent)... Boucaud is capable in that creative mid role as well.

good suggestion, hector and birchall may be a good idea :beermug:
Post by: just cool on August 24, 2011, 02:34:07 PM

Haha

that man played in almost every game last WC campaign, from the bermuda game to the 2nd to last game against costa rica in the hex, and he eh score one solitary fackin goal, why on earth do we need ah forkin striker who cant penetrate bc he's too slow, he don't terrorize defenders, his assist rate is next to zero, and he don't score, :frustrated: so why in the fack are you callin for his inclusion??

Oh lord, how so many fellas think im arguing for Sealy or Scotland?? Thank god the two of dem didnt get call up
Breds , come on. yuh ask why is sealy and scotland not in the team and birchall is, so i felt the need tuh inform yuh that scotland is ded weight, that's all, yuh asked ah question and i answered it, and from what i remembered so did sam.

scotland is not ah proper striker, how long do we keep insisting on this fella when he exposed himself in the last campaign to be incapable on an international level, so it's time to try someone else, that's all. what more yuh want!
Post by: supporter on August 24, 2011, 02:42:09 PM

Haha

Breds , come on. yuh ask why is sealy and scotland not in the team and birchall is, so i felt the need tuh inform yuh that scotland is ded weight, that's all, yuh asked ah question and i answered it, and from what i remembered so did sam.

scotland is not ah proper striker, how long do we keep insisting on this fella when he exposed himself in the last campaign to be incapable on an international level, so it's time to try someone else, that's all. what more yuh want!

I dont think I ever asked that. I used the criteria for their exclusion and applied it to Birchall to show that he was in a similar state as the two. I agree S&S dont belong on the team at the moment. I'm adding that Birchall doesnt either.
Post by: kicker on August 24, 2011, 02:45:17 PM

Kicker, please see my above posts on this page as I address the point you bring up in your first paragraph (altho i can accept that we are dire in the midfield as is). Im not arguing for the inclusion of Sealy or Scotland. As for the second paragraph, well, if hes coming in solely to be a high work-rate man, and nothing else, and if thats the only characteristic contingent on starting for our natl side then good luck to us.

Ok I hear you but yuh confusing the talk by bring them into your argument....Sealy and Scotland eh get call up, so if yuh doh think they deserve a call up, how their names even reach in the talk?  If you're using them as basis for disagreeing with Birchall's call up, then the reverse has to hold as well, otherwise what's the point even mentioning dem men....  So even though yuh not saying they deserve a call-up, by your reasoning it has to be implied that if Birchie get call, dem supposed to get called...as yuh say earlier, why Birchie alone getting a free pass?

That aside, I think it comes down to what the coach looking for and those are obviously different types of players we talking about.  Coach thinks he can use Birchie even if you think he's not in good form for his club.  
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 02:49:41 PM

Phillips
Power
James
Primus
Edwards
Daniel
Hyland
Birchall
Thomson
Roberts
Jones

we are having a problem deciding a midfield right now im my opinion

the strikers are set for me, jones and roberts starting, stern and touissant off the bench

our back line is pretty much determined with players returning from abroad with edwards at right back, samuel at left back, center backs for now are james, primus and power.

the hoyte brothers are defenders, right back/center backs if both play, i would opt for a backline with samuel, edwards and the hoyte brothers or push edwards up to right wing and play primus at the back with james as a sub and power

our problem lies in the midfield, who do we play?

we have leon who is a holding mid, birchie the ball winner, hector a creative mid, theobald a defensive mid, daniel a left winger, tinto a right winger, thomson can play either right wing or center as creative, primarily hyland has played a defensive role in the mid as well.

as fire points out, what will pfister do?
Post by: just cool on August 24, 2011, 02:50:37 PM

Allyuh getting forkin senile on this site or what, you agreeing with this slop! the man just insulted us again wid he stink arse, that's all he does come here tuh do, haul he mudda cant and tuh hell wid he and de reggae girls!

yuh eh see de man just marginalize we players. "so what allyuh have 4 top players, we have far more than allyuh" so jones eh nothing? the same man who pulis put more faith in than fuller,

so hyland eh nothing either ? show me one jamaican player who is playing, or good enough tuh play on ah champions league team, so birchall eh shyte either ? and he playing more games and have more minutes than daily or cummings,

daniels eh nothing either ? he went philly as ah temp fill in and now is in the main team and doing great.

de man eh even acknowledge julius james, one of the best central defenders in the MLS, and he's playing with one , if not the top team in MLS "the crew".

this man just brush we player under ah stink jamaican rug and you like ah lil wimp went running in his arms?? man fack RF and de cobo he flew in on, haul he stinkin mudda cant!!!!!!!!
Post by: injunchile on August 24, 2011, 02:54:13 PM
When the coach is picking his team, two players will automatically be penciled in for the midfield position. Birchall and Daniel. The Question is which of the others to play along side Birchall. My guess as the starter is Hylandl
Post by: supporter on August 24, 2011, 02:57:37 PM

Ok I hear you but yuh confusing the talk by bring them into your argument....Sealy and Scotland eh get call up, so if yuh doh think they deserve a call up, how their names even reach in the talk?  If you're using them as basis for disagreeing with Birchall's call up, then the reverse has to hold as well, otherwise what's the point even mentioning dem men....  So even though yuh not saying they deserve a call-up, by your reasoning it has to be implied that if Birchie get call, dem supposed to get called...as yuh say earlier, why Birchie alone getting a free pass?

That aside, I think it comes down to what the coach looking for and those are obviously different types of players we talking about.  Coach thinks he can use Birchie even if you think he's not in good form for his club.  

Apparantly it was confusing bringing S&S into the argument, but it shouldnt be. They were brought into the discussion for the Birchy getting a free pass point of view. Either way, yes, if de coach feel he can use Birchy in a certain capacity despite club form then ok i can accept that.
Post by: just cool on August 24, 2011, 03:00:04 PM
When the coach is picking his team, two players will automatically be penciled in for the midfield position. Birchall and Daniel. The Question is which of the others to play along side Birchall. My guess as the starter is Hylandl
I doh know bout that, my feelin is allyuh not being realistic, i think nuff ah allyuh go get allyuh feelings hurt bc from what i read right here, if i'm not mistaken, someone mentioned that this coach love "sh!tsnake" clyde leon a lot, and don't be surprise if he starts houton hector in front of de golden boy which IMO would be ah great move since i rate houton hector very much.
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 03:09:17 PM

we also have to see who is the best right winger for us, since edwards will play right back

so its either thomson or tinto on the right wing, the center mid will most likely be hyland, boucard, leon or theobald

since we have a ball winner in birchie, we need a creative mid that can hold possession and drop back as well, as you said hyland seems to be the fit as i indicated in an earlier thread i started but who knows, pfister may change his mind because hyland has played a more defensive role in europe since being there

hector comes to mind as creative and can hold possession, don't be surprised if pfister brings hyland off the bench to lock down the mid after we have scored and hold a lead
Post by: Fyzoman on August 24, 2011, 03:17:14 PM
Why include Brichall???

Because he ummm...white!!
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 03:19:40 PM

Allyuh getting forkin senile on this site or what, you agreeing with this slop! the man just insulted us again wid he stink arse, that's all he does come here tuh do, haul he mudda cant and tuh hell wid he and de reggae girls!

yuh eh see de man just marginalize we players. "so what allyuh have 4 top players, we have far more than allyuh" so jones eh nothing? the same man who pulis put more faith in than fuller,

so hyland eh nothing either, show me one jamaican player who is playing, or good enough tuh play on ah champions league team, so birchall eh shyte either ? and he playing more games and have more minutes than daily or cummings,

daniels eh nothing either ? he went philly as ah temp fill in and now is in the main team and doing great.

de man eh even acknowledge julius james, one of the best central defenders in the MLS, and he's playing with one , if not the top team in MLS "the crew".

this man just brush we player under ah stink jamaican rug and you like ah lil wimp went running in his arms?? man fack RF and de cobo he flew in on, haul he stinkin mudda cant!!!!!!!!

reggaefan vigor in his attack has been lessened because our players are coming back on board and we have a world class coach

not to mention, samuel, warner and hoyte will join the team next rounds, so reggaefan will be mute

his attacks on our team is dependent upon our disarray and our admin not being able to have a competent coach or getting our best players available

if this is not the case, reggaefan starts talking nonsense and his attacks lessen because he is insecure and feels threatened by a full strength tt team with a world class coach
Post by: Spursy on August 24, 2011, 03:21:00 PM
Sealy and Scotland we don't need. Darly, Stern combo worked really well... Why change that? Ok so we get Jones now but he hasnt really worked out for us yet... Kinda like the Yorke effect of old.. Doing well for United but eh doing shit for we.

As far as Birch is concern.. he is our best holding work horse midfielder hands down, he is second in perfomance charts behind Edwards.. So please stop with the scotland and sealy nonsense.. both of them are a waste of bloody time and the coach knows this.. MANNNNNNNN.

At the moment I rather have stern start over Jones b.c he working well with Roberts and we getting results and he scoring goals with Roberts. 
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 03:21:30 PM
Why include Brichall???

has nothing to do with colour

birchall is the best ball winner we have, hes a workhorse in the mid, he has improved over the past 3 years and that is great for the team

right now he is the only ball winner other than jagdeosingh imo
Post by: FireBrand on August 24, 2011, 03:24:09 PM
Pfister invites 11 overseas pros for World Cup qualifiers.

Warner in, Primus out.

Trinidad and Tobago’s head coach Otto Pfister has invited eleven overseas-based professional to join the National Team for upcoming back to back 2014 World Cup Qualifiers against Bermuda and Barbados.

Pfister will begin training with these players on August 28 with a couple players arriving a day later due to club commitments. Pfister will also hold sessions this Friday and Saturday with the home-based players who have been invited for the training camp.

Leading the pack is team captain and Stoke City striker Kenwyne Jones along with Carlos Edwards (Ipswich Town), Khaleem Hyland (Racing Genk, Belgium), Chris Birchall (LA Galaxy), Keon Daniel (Philadelphia Union, USA), Julius James (Columbus Crew, USA), Jake Thomson (Kettering Town, England), Andre Boucaud (York City, England), goalkeeper Anthony Warner (Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand), Clyde Leon (Corporacion Deportiva Itagui, Colombia) and Lester Peltier (AS Trencin, Slovakia).

Defender Robert Primus, based in Kazakhstan, was not considered having sustained an injury which requires that he visits Moscow for treatment. English-based defender Jlloyd Samuel has been excused as he remains in search of a club.

Warner last played for T&T in a 2-0 win over Iceland in 2006. Among the clubs he has played with include Celtic, Liverpool, Norwich and Fulham among others. Boucaud was part of the T&T squad in the early stages of the 2006 campaign, last appearing in a 3-0 loss to Mexico in Puebla. He has six caps for T&T.

“We will have three or four training sessions with the overseas-based players in the team. That happens everywhere in international football today. I’m not worried about it. We have been monitoring the progress of these players every week with their clubs and we will do this again this weekend just to have an idea of the fitness of each player. Then we train here with the entire squad of players and prepare for the match against Bermuda,” Pfister told TTFF Media.

Ipswich Town’s Edwards says he raring to kick off the campaign, which will be his fourth World Cup qualifying campaign with 78 international appearances to his name

My game face is already on,” Edwards told TTFF Media. “I’m looking forward a whole lot to returning and joining the team. I believe our squad is strong and once we prepare well and put our minds and hearts to it then I see no reason why this team cannot advance in the qualifiers and get to Brazil. We know that Bermuda made things rough for us in the first match of the last campaign so we definitely know what to expect this time around. We will deal with them accordingly,” he added.

The final squad inclusive of the home-based players will be announced later this week.

The qualifier versus Bermuda kicks off at 4:30pm at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on September 2 . T&T will then travel to meet Barbados September 6 in another qualifier in Bridgetown.
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 03:25:18 PM
Sealy and Scotland we don't need. Darly, Stern combo worked really well... Why change that? Ok so we get Jones now but he hasnt really worked out for us yet... Kinda like the Yorke effect of old.. Doing well for United but eh doing shit for we.

As far as Birch is concern.. he is our best holding work horse midfielder hands down, he is second in perfomance charts behind Edwards.. So please stop with the scotland and sealy nonsense.. both of them are a waste of bloody time and the coach knows this.. MANNNNNNNN.

At the moment I rather have stern start over Jones b.c he working well with Roberts and we getting results and he scoring goals with Roberts. 

exactly breds  :beermug:
Post by: davidephraim on August 24, 2011, 03:35:04 PM

lolololololololololohahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahhahahahaaaaaaaaa
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 03:39:00 PM
Pfister invites 11 overseas pros for World Cup qualifiers.

Warner in, Primus out.

Trinidad and Tobago’s head coach Otto Pfister has invited eleven overseas-based professional to join the National Team for upcoming back to back 2014 World Cup Qualifiers against Bermuda and Barbados.

Pfister will begin training with these players on August 28 with a couple players arriving a day later due to club commitments. Pfister will also hold sessions this Friday and Saturday with the home-based players who have been invited for the training camp.

Leading the pack is team captain and Stoke City striker Kenwyne Jones along with Carlos Edwards (Ipswich Town), Khaleem Hyland (Racing Genk, Belgium), Chris Birchall (LA Galaxy), Keon Daniel (Philadelphia Union, USA), Julius James (Columbus Crew, USA), Jake Thomson (Kettering Town, England), Andre Boucaud (York City, England), goalkeeper Anthony Warner (Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand), Clyde Leon (Corporacion Deportiva Itagui, Colombia) and Lester Peltier (AS Trencin, Slovakia).

Defender Robert Primus, based in Kazakhstan, was not considered having sustained an injury which requires that he visits Moscow for treatment. English-based defender Jlloyd Samuel has been excused as he remains in search of a club.

Warner last played for T&T in a 2-0 win over Iceland in 2006. Among the clubs he has played with include Celtic, Liverpool, Norwich and Fulham among others. Boucaud was part of the T&T squad in the early stages of the 2006 campaign, last appearing in a 3-0 loss to Mexico in Puebla. He has six caps for T&T.

“We will have three or four training sessions with the overseas-based players in the team. That happens everywhere in international football today. I’m not worried about it. We have been monitoring the progress of these players every week with their clubs and we will do this again this weekend just to have an idea of the fitness of each player. Then we train here with the entire squad of players and prepare for the match against Bermuda,” Pfister told TTFF Media.

Ipswich Town’s Edwards says he raring to kick off the campaign, which will be his fourth World Cup qualifying campaign with 78 international appearances to his name

My game face is already on,” Edwards told TTFF Media. “I’m looking forward a whole lot to returning and joining the team. I believe our squad is strong and once we prepare well and put our minds and hearts to it then I see no reason why this team cannot advance in the qualifiers and get to Brazil. We know that Bermuda made things rough for us in the first match of the last campaign so we definitely know what to expect this time around. We will deal with them accordingly,” he added.

The final squad inclusive of the home-based players will be announced later this week.

The qualifier versus Bermuda kicks off at 4:30pm at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on September 2 . T&T will then travel to meet Barbados September 6 in another qualifier in Bridgetown.

heres the revised team now that warner is in the picture:

Warner
Power
James
Wolfe
Edwards
Daniel
Birchall
Hector/Hyland
Thomson/Tinto
Jones
Roberts

feel free to change :beermug:
Post by: palos on August 24, 2011, 03:40:43 PM
When everybody available...this could well be T&T's team.  And ON PAPER...not bad at all.

Marvin Phillip - Tony Warner as backup
Carlos Edwards (right wing back) - Jake Thomson as backup
Julius James (centre back) - Robert Primus as backup
Seon Power (centre back) - Dexter Cyrus as backup (yes ah know he currently injured)
Jlloyd Samuels (left wing back) - Akile Edwards as backup
Christopher Birchall (defensive midfielder) - Clyde Leon as backup
Keon Daniel (wide midfielder) - Hughton Hector as backup
Khaleem Hyland (midfielder) - Densil Theobald as backup
Andre Boucaud (midfielder) - Lester Peltier as backup
Darryl Roberts (striker) - Andre Toussaint as backup
Kenwyne Jones (striker) - Stern John as backup

Daz a solid 22 right dey.  If is true de Hoyte brothers decide to join de team, then that would make us that much stronger at both corners, positions where we've traditonally been particularly weak.

Also in de mix would be players like Thorne Holder, Abu Bakr, Jovin Jones, Kevin Molino, Atullah Guerra, Kevon Carter (I really hopin & praying dis fella come back strong.  What an asset he would be if he could), Devon Jorsling, Kerry Baptiste, Hayden Tinto, and Juma Clarence.

Post by: FireBrand on August 24, 2011, 03:51:06 PM
When everybody available...this could well be T&T's team.  And ON PAPER...not bad at all.

Seon Power (centre back) - Dexter Cyrus as backup (yes ah know he currently injured)
Jlloyd Samuels (left wing back) - Akile Edwards as backup  :nailbiting:

Daz a solid 22 right dey.  If is true de Hoyte brothers decide to join de team, then that would make us that much stronger at both corners, positions where we've traditonally been particularly weak.

Also in de mix would be players like Thorne Holder, Abu Bakr, Jovin Jones, Kevin Molino, Atullah Guerra, Kevon Carter (I really hopin & praying dis fella come back strong.  What an asset he would be if he could), Devon Jorsling, Kerry Baptiste, Hayden Tinto, and Juma Clarence.

True dat, but... ah gettin Nashville flashbacks.  :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :nailbiting:
Post by: Spursy on August 24, 2011, 03:53:13 PM
The problem is Hyland and Birchall is kind of the same type of player, difference is Birch has a wicked shot. So I would take CrackerJACK Birch over Hyland in the defensive midfield role and put Tinto infront of him, worked well vs Mexico IMO. We can play with three strikers and put hyland in the LM position.

The backline is a mess wont even start to even try to go there lol.... without Samuel to solidfy that rb position we kinda compromised....  Been impressed with out goalie..

If you look at German tactics, the use over lapping defenders alot and depend on a solid defensive style of play without a playermaker... only recently we seen muller included to change thier style of play which has worked out for them.

Edwards as Lb is like meh.. he is our attacking winger and he does it well. Why change that when there is no one good enough to fit that role ? The rest is elementary.

One more thing, i dont like the idea of Jones been captain, edwards or birch should wear the armband. He is just to shy and not outspoken on the pitch.. he is very quiet when he plays for tnt.
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 03:56:03 PM

our team will be solid, i have no doubt when it is fully assembled in the coming year, we will advance to brazil 2014 :beermug:
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 03:59:42 PM
The problem is Hyland and Birchall is kind of the same type of player, difference is Birch has a wicked shot. So I would take CrackerJACK Birch over Hyland in the defensive midfield role and put Tinto infront of him, worked well vs Mexico IMO. We can play with three strikers and put hyland in the LM position.

The backline is a mess wont even start to even try to go there lol.... without Samuel to solidfy that rb position we kinda compromised....  Been impressed with out goalie..

If you look at German tactics, the use over lapping defenders alot and depend on a solid defensive style of play without a playermaker... only recently we seen muller included to change thier style of play which has worked out for them.

Edwards as Lb is like meh.. he is our attacking winger and he does it well. Why change that when there is no one good enough to fit that role ? The rest is elementary.

One more thing, i dont like the idea of Jones been captain, edwards or birch should wear the armband. He is just to shy and not outspoken on the pitch.. he is very quiet when he plays for tnt.

rolls royce is right back breds, samuel is left back

birch will play in the middle but i believe its a toss up between hyland and hector, tinto is in competition with thomson for the right wing
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 24, 2011, 04:07:36 PM
Man arguing Sealey, Scottie and Birchall. How Jlloyd get call up?
Post by: Peong on August 24, 2011, 04:16:42 PM
HOLD ON, Primus pulls out, and we don't call a replacement?
I really don't know anything about Wolfe and Mitchell, but I thought they would call Yohance Marshall.
Wasn't Wolfe a winger?
The only bright spot in defense is James.
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 04:57:53 PM
I really don't know anything about Wolfe and Mitchell, but I thought they would call Yohance Marshall.
Wasn't Wolfe a winger?

james and edwards are the bright spots in the backline for now

in all honesty we don't need the full backline to beat b'dos and bermuda
Post by: jahkingdom on August 24, 2011, 05:09:48 PM
Jamaica can easily play with 4 different teams. people who talking about players in champions league, don't worry yourself it wont be too long before we have not only one or two, but many. we currently have two players in Valencia academy.  we don't even need to call up old players like; fuller, Ricardo Gardner, Claud Davis etc.
Post by: just cool on August 24, 2011, 05:17:20 PM
Wasn't Wolfe a winger?

Breds, gimme some of what ever yuh smoking nah. did you see bermuda the last time out?  well they ran fackin rings around hislop and tallest right in we back yard, and it didn't help that we had kareem smith and ancil farria as full backs either.

i was ah bit scared and ah bit nervous when J.LLoyd pulled out, but i'm even more nervous and scared that primus is a no show as well. lets face it bro, our defense is and has always been our frakinstein monster, and until we can sort that out, we will always concede some text book dotish a$$ goals.

up front we have world class strikers, jones , john, roberts. we are also solid in the middle with hyland edwards, birchall, hector, daniel. but that defense needs tuh tighten up, and right now the only class we have in the back line is julius james.

can't wait for cyrus to heal and have JLLoyd and hopefully J. hoyte on that right side of defense in the near future.
Post by: just cool on August 24, 2011, 05:19:40 PM
Jamaica can easily play with 4 different teams. people who talking about players in champions league, don't worry yourself it wont be too long before we have not only one or two, but many. we currently have two players in Valencia academy.  we don't even need to call up old players like; fuller, Ricardo Gardner, Claud Davis etc.
Good for you! but until then, go sit yuh a$$ in ah corner and let grown folks talk.
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 05:36:46 PM
Wasn't Wolfe a winger?

Breds, gimme some of what ever yuh smoking nah. did you see bermuda the last time out?  well they ran fackin rings around hislop and tallest right in we back yard, and it didn't help that we had kareem smith and ancil farria as full backs either.

i was ah bit scared and ah bit nervous when J.LLoyd pulled out, but i'm even more nervous and scared that primus is a no show as well. lets face it bro, our defense is and has always been our frakinstein monster, and until we can sort that out, we will always concede some text book dotish a$$ goals.

up front we have world class strikers, jones , john, roberts. we are also solid in the middle with hyland edwards, birchall, hector, daniel. but that defense needs tuh tighten up, and right now the only class we have in the back line is julius james.

can't wait for cyrus to heal and have JLLoyd and hopefully J. hoyte on that right side of defense in the near future.

i know what happened last time

im not a bit worried, watch and see breds :beermug:
Post by: g on August 24, 2011, 05:54:45 PM
if the quality players we have at our disposal are of a similar mould, then we play a system that simply best leverages their abilities.

In the post prime Latapy era we have relied on our creativity coming from the flanks, i see with this crop it being no different.

I prefer we take the two best central midfielders we have based on form assessed by the coach, i dont care if they are both defensive minded, it just means their role is to shut down the opposition midfield and win posession to distribute to the flanks where we can create.

We win the midfield, we win the game. Plain and simple.
Post by: PATRIOT on August 24, 2011, 05:56:01 PM

Did you include THAT name just to taunt people like me, weary and brownsugar??? And FYI it's DANIEL Cyrus eh.. Dexter is a former national striker and now Assistant Coach at T&Tec FC.... On a serious note the back-up for left-back position would be Akeem Adams/Joevin Jones/Uriah Bentick... ALL U-23 players...other than that I agree wid ya.. I like the Coach's call-ups EXCEPT Clyde Leon! I would have brought back Collin Samuel instead... interesting to see WHO will play left-back? I suspect CARLOS... with James and Power in the middle and Thomson at right-back
Post by: weary1969 on August 24, 2011, 06:04:08 PM
Palos

What I do u boi I have 2 run out of d stadium 2 get home and yuh want me 2 watch Akile b4 I do that. WHAT AH DO U?
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 06:15:21 PM

Did you include THAT name just to taunt people like me, weary and brownsugar??? And FYI it's DANIEL Cyrus eh.. Dexter is a former national striker and now Assistant Coach at T&Tec FC.... On a serious note the back-up for left-back position would be Akeem Adams/Joevin Jones/Uriah Bentick... ALL U-23 players...other than that I agree wid ya.. I like the Coach's call-ups EXCEPT Clyde Leon! I would have brought back Collin Samuel instead... interesting to see WHO will play left-back? I suspect CARLOS... with James and Power in the middle and Thomson at right-back

thomson won't play right back, i believe he has only played there once before

he will be in contention for right wing with edwards at right back, they may gamble and play wolfe at left back and power and james in the center

i guess we will see, its better to have options than have none  :beermug:
Post by: Big Magician on August 24, 2011, 06:23:16 PM
listen...blow de frigging whistle..play de fitball ..and give me my 6 points please.

also..someone please print the starting 11 ( and subs) from that last Bermuda match when they won...thanks

tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt

and yea..nearly forgot...F#CK Jamaica
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 06:23:52 PM
Palos

What I do u boi I have 2 run out of d stadium 2 get home and yuh want me 2 watch Akile b4 I do that. WHAT AH DO U?

excuse palos weary, the fall season is coming and the cold weather up north is numbing his brain
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on August 24, 2011, 06:25:19 PM
Cyrus Injured, Primus Injured, Samuel excused, Marshall not active enough with his new club, Jovin Jones on a ban from selection for breaking curfew

When these players come back our defense along with Juilas, Power and maybe Carlos or Jake as the RB will be as strong a Defense since 2006

Back 4 for me vs Bermuda...

Jake...James..Power...Adams  

major doubts over Adams though.. hopefully he can come good
Post by: Tallman on August 24, 2011, 06:26:20 PM
also..someone please print the starting 11 ( and subs) from that last Bermuda match when they won...thanks

Clayton Ince
Makan Hislop
Dennis Lawrence
Kareem Smith (75' Stephan David)
Osei Telesford
Keon Daniel
Carlos Edwards
Khaleem Hyland (46' Ancil Farrier)
Aurtis Whitley (capt.)
Stern John
Jason Scotland

Unused subs:
Jan-Michael Williams
Kern Cupid
Keyeno Thomas
Hayden Tinto
Darryl Roberts
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 06:30:02 PM
Cyrus Injured, Primus Injured, Samuel excused, Marshall not active enough with his new club, Jovin Jones on a ban from selection for breaking curfew

When these players come back our defense along with Juilas, Power and maybe Carlos or Jake as the RB will be as strong a Defense since 2006

Back 4 for me vs Bermuda...

Jake...James..Power...Adams  

major doubts over Adams though.. hopefully he can come good

jake ain't playing right back, edwards will play right back and tinto and jake will fight for the right wing position

jake has limited experience in the right back role, i wouldn't slot him into a wcq on his first game back to the national team when edwards has been playing the wing back position on the regular in england

wolfe ....... james......power.....edwards

as wolfe has experience i bet pfister will opt to play him and gamble with him on the left

bookmark this post...

Warner
Wolfe
James
Power
Edwards
Daniel
Birchall
Hyland/Hector
Thomson/Tinto
Jones
Roberts

Post by: Cocorite on August 24, 2011, 06:35:11 PM
T&T may be weakest on the left defense, therefore playing Birch on the center left (as opposed to center right) to strengthen the weak left defense might be a helpful strategy
Post by: Big Magician on August 24, 2011, 06:35:55 PM
thanks Tallman
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 06:39:03 PM
T&T may be weakest on the left defense, therefore playing Birch on the center left (as opposed to center right) to strengthen the weak left defense might be a helpful strategy

without samuel we are weak on the left, thats why i placed birchall on centre left to stop the transition through the left side
Post by: palos on August 24, 2011, 06:45:52 PM

Typically when you providing cover for a weak wide defense, it's your wide players that provide that cover.  The central defensive midfielders typically protect the defence, as in the central defence....not wide.
Post by: Cocorite on August 24, 2011, 06:53:01 PM

Typically when you providing cover for a weak wide defense, it's your wide players that provide that cover.  The central defensive midfielders typically protect the defence, as in the central defence....not wide.

True enough Palos. . .but if we're gonna use Keon Daniel, he isn't particularly strong in covering ground and defending either, hence the switch with Birch.
Post by: College on August 24, 2011, 07:36:19 PM

Jlloyd Samuels (left wing back) - Akile Edwards as backup  :nailbiting:

True dat, but... ah gettin Nashville flashbacks.  :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :nailbiting:

Akile Edwards ... lol.  Now that was funny :rotfl:
Post by: Fyzoman on August 24, 2011, 07:39:51 PM
Why include Brichall???

birchall is the best ball winner we have, hes a workhorse in the mid, he has improved over the past 3 years and that is great for the team

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!!

Like we really need to be having a discussion about Birchall, de man does play like if every effing game is de last sweat he getting...running dong man and ball like if ah Laventee gangster running him dong to shoot him!!!

Well said Contro:)
Post by: weary1969 on August 24, 2011, 07:52:41 PM
thanks Tallman

BM yuh on yuh own wit dat thxs I get a flashback of Kareem Smith running in super slo mo.
Post by: Peong on August 24, 2011, 09:00:24 PM

True enough Palos. . .but if we're gonna use Keon Daniel, he isn't particularly strong in covering ground and defending either, hence the switch with Birch.

He does all that at PU.
If yuh never see him play recently do it, he's like a new man.
Post by: Controversial on August 24, 2011, 09:03:32 PM
Why include Brichall???

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!!

Like we really need to be having a discussion about Birchall, de man does play like if every effing game is de last sweat he getting...running dong man and ball like if ah Laventee gangster running him dong to shoot him!!!

after just watching the match against india online

i have a few conclusions, hector, roberts, stern, tinto, touissant and powers can remain, the rest could ride pine imo, not up to par for intl football

the midfield should consist of daniel, birchall, either hyland or hector (creative presence) and thomson, tinto will come on in 2nd half as a sub

the backline with james and edwards back in the fold is a relief, the left wing is a concern, wolfe is not a defender so i hope pfister can find a player to fill the role until samuel returns, powers will have to do in the center back position until primus or hoyte joins the team

right now our main concern is the left back and i have confidence pfister will sort that out before next week
Post by: Peong on August 24, 2011, 09:07:01 PM

So supporter, who do you think should be called instead if Birchall?
Post by: OutsideMan on August 24, 2011, 09:25:54 PM
Guys, what about Shandon Winchester?  Has he been considered at all by the coach?

Haven't been in the loop in awhile, so set me straight here.
Post by: theworm2345 on August 24, 2011, 09:32:33 PM

:rotfl: :rotfl: I miss Family Matters
Post by: vb on August 25, 2011, 02:43:30 AM

I used to push for KD in the left mid or Left Back position but he has been so ineffective in that position except for a game vs Mex.  Should I assume you want  Bouc to play on the right? Has anyone seen him play recently. We need someone in that position who can cross. Tinto and CE are pitiful when it comes to crosses.

One might want to think of DR and Stern jup front with KJ on the right. He has pace, defense and cah be worse than the rest when it come to crossing. It would be a very solid right side.

JS, James and CE as three of the defenders  bodes well.

Post by: Storeboy on August 25, 2011, 08:28:59 AM

I dont need to google a team i follow closely. Birchall is not a regular starter, and when he does play its usually of the shit variety. Did i see him vs Real Madrid this season? Is that a serious question, or are you just trying to sound like a clown? For one, I did, and secondly, whats your point? He didnt stand out against a preseason side that demolished LA. And why are you putting '(Brazil)' or '(England)' next to Juninho and Beckham? Juninho has never played for Brazil and Becks hasn't for England in a while.

Those arguments make no sense because they play different positions.  You cant call up Sealy and Scotland because you already have Stern, Kenwyne, Roberts and Peltier.  Birchall is head and shoulders above most of the mids whether he starts or not.
Post by: Storeboy on August 25, 2011, 08:33:36 AM

I am a Trini and an ardent Soca Warriors supporter but I agree with you.  We are not better on paper and until we start doing something on the field I will humbly agree that we are at best the second best Caribbean team.  Confidence is one thing but reality is what its all about.
Post by: Storeboy on August 25, 2011, 08:43:05 AM

I agree! Jones is not a good  choice as captain, but I suspect that was a political move to ensure his release. 
Post by: Jayerson on August 25, 2011, 09:01:38 AM

I agree! Jones is not a good  choice as captain, but I suspect that was a political move to ensure his release. 

Captain or no captain, Jones would have had to be released from his club. Its a FIFA date, there are no EPL or Championship games.
Post by: Touches on August 25, 2011, 10:00:24 AM
Why include Brichall???

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!!

i have a few conclusions, hector, roberts, stern, tinto, touissant and powers can remain, the rest could ride pine imo, not up to par for intl football

So yuh finally see for yuhself that Bleeder ent able...righto
Post by: madness on August 25, 2011, 11:42:12 AM
i think the team(oversees players) that selected is very good. everyone needs to look at football differently now. Having KJ is not a political move as a captain . Currently he is the country's icon now just like Yorkie. I think few of the guys need to watch the oversees players while playing for the club and how they are a plus to there team. I would like to c more videos of tnt practice sessions,
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on August 25, 2011, 12:17:47 PM

I used to push for KD in the left mid or Left Back position but he has been so ineffective in that position except for a game vs Mex.  Should I assume you want  Bouc to play on the right? Has anyone seen him play recently. We need someone in that position who can cross. Tinto and CE are pitiful when it comes to crosses.

One might want to think of DR and Stern jup front with KJ on the right. He has pace, defense and cah be worse than the rest when it come to crossing. It would be a very solid right side.

So who u have KJ crossing to in the box breds?
Post by: madness on August 25, 2011, 12:37:35 PM
KD or birchall for cross d ball u guys crazy
Post by: Controversial on August 25, 2011, 12:51:09 PM
Why include Brichall???

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!!

So yuh finally see for yuhself that Bleeder ent able...righto

finally breds? bleeder is a good player but has declined since 2006 and right now he can sit imo, right now we have players who are above him in terms of skill, he has experience so he can be around the team and mentor the younger players but starting is a no no.

i give players a chance to prove themselves, especially if i see some potential. bleeder's form fades in and out, consistency is what is needed, especially with a player of his experience.
Post by: Controversial on August 25, 2011, 01:06:32 PM

right now we have to gamble and place daniel on the left, pacheco has regressed since i last saw him play, right now pfister will gamble with daniel on the left wing, thats a guarantee

he will also play thomson on the right wing, tinto sits for me and can come on as a super sub in the 2nd half

the centre mid other than birchall is up in the air, it depends how pfister wants to start this match, with a player like hector (creative mid) or hyland (defensive mid). i would take the risk and play hector, we need a player who can distribute the ball to the strikers up front, who most likely will be roberts and jones
Post by: vb on August 25, 2011, 01:18:16 PM

Who KJ should be crossing to is already stated.

Althought CB should be THE defensive midfielder, the fact is he can cross better than most on that team and played wide early in his career.

We need to do what is best for the team. If Tinto and CE start on the right, Lord help us, crosses wise. We MIGHT get one good cross a game. If we get one a half, I'll be ecstatic.

A team like TT needs to have as many strengths as possible. KJ and Stern are strong in the air.
Caros and KJ have speed. James and SAmuel give our defense beef.
KJ<, Stern and CB can shoot from the outside.
KJ and Hyland can bamboozle them and draw fouls, I believe so can CE.
Hector, Peltier and Leon give us depth in their respective positions.

With Tinto and CE on the right together, we've made it easier for the defense with a limited number of good crosses. We might gallery against Bermuda but what happens when we play against real opposition.

Don't even get me started on FKs.

Post by: Controversial on August 25, 2011, 01:20:22 PM

Althought CB should be THE defensive midfielder, the fact is he can cross better than most on that team and played wide early in his career.

We need to do what is best for the team. If Tinto and CE start on the right, Lord help us, crosses wise. We MIGHT get one good cross a game. If we get one a half, I'll be ecstatic.

A team like TT needs to have as many strengths as possible. KJ and Stern are strong in the air.

With Tinto and CE on the right together, we've made it easier for the defense with a limited number of good crosses. We might gallery against Bermuda but what happens when we play against real opposition.

tinto is not starting over Thomson who is a far better crosser of the ball

i don't know where you men are getting the notion that tinto will start over thomson

tinto is coming off the bench, our problem is daniel on the left, will he be able to cross the ball from the left flank
Post by: vb on August 25, 2011, 01:28:43 PM

i don't know where you men are getting the notion that tinto will start over thomson

tinto is coming off the bench, our problem is daniel on the left, will he be able to cross the ball from the left flank

Tinto coming off the bench is a much better idea.

Has anybody actually seen Thomposn play?
The man getting bounce from club to club and is currently in the lower echelons of Eng. football.
I not knocking his club so much but rather do we know what he brings to the table.
Perhaps some of you do.

Post by: just cool on August 25, 2011, 01:31:21 PM
Breds, have you ever seen thompson play beside that mexico game in the hex where he played in the right full back position?  the fella is ah relative an unknown.

TBH i like hector as ah better option, he's skillful and could penetrate and put in ah better crosses than tinto.

PS: VB yuh take the word right out off my fingers, yuh also beat tuh it, it's like while i was typing you was posting. ;D
Post by: Controversial on August 25, 2011, 01:42:11 PM
Breds, have you ever seen thompson play beside that mexico game in the hex where he played in the right full back position?  the fella is ah relative an unknown.

TBH i like hector as ah better option, he's skillful and could penetrate and put in ah better crosses than tinto.

PS: VB yuh take the word right out off my fingers, yuh also beat tuh it, it's like while i was typing you was posting. ;D

saw hector yesterday in the replay, i was impressed, in fact i even suggested he start over hyland in center mid, but on the wing? hell no

why take your creative mid and slot him on the wing? when you have thomson who has shown his ability and i have seen him play, Hector is very effective in the middle of the park, surround him with senior players and he will blossom.

its like taking dinho and playing him on the wing, pointless imo, bad strategy

dont stick on the wing when we have other players to fill that role, doesn't make sense, especially when jones and roberts need service from a guy like hector in the middle.

let daniel and thomson prove themselves on the wing

oh and yes i have seen him besides the mexico match play, plus i got the lowdown on him when he practiced/trained with the team.
Post by: Controversial on August 25, 2011, 01:48:11 PM

Tinto coming off the bench is a much better idea.

Has anybody actually seen Thomposn play?
The man getting bounce from club to club and is currently in the lower echelons of Eng. football.
I not knocking his club so much but rather do we know what he brings to the table.
Perhaps some of you do.

thomson is a the real deal, he has been unlucky with the clubs, but hes young and getting these caps will help his cause locally in england

he is the best option we have for the right wing, tinto is a great sub in the 2nd half, edwards playing right wing is a memory of the distant past imo
Post by: soccerman on August 25, 2011, 01:51:37 PM
listen...blow de frigging whistle..play de fitball ..and give me my 6 points please.

tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt

and yea..nearly forgot...F#CK Jamaica
:applause: :applause: I wid you Big Mag....blow de whistle and play de fitball. Who ever the coach decides to start I supporting.
Post by: supporter on August 25, 2011, 02:00:45 PM

I suppose given our limited talent pool that he should be called up. However, he should not start, especially since Hyland is a similar-type player. I'd pair Hyland with Tinto or Guevera.
Post by: Big Magician on August 25, 2011, 07:34:41 PM
thanks Soccerman...no one understands this is a movie.....
press fu$king play and relax yuh fu$king self..oh 442 and 532 and target man and sub for who and cover for the left side
all eh tired??
play de facking fittball
Post by: Quags on August 25, 2011, 09:08:44 PM

I suppose given our limited talent pool that he should be called up. However, he should not start, especially since Hyland is a similar-type player. I'd pair Hyland with Tinto or Guevera.
Has he ever had a bad game for us ,maybe you should wait till he has one to class him with Scotty .