Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on September 01, 2011, 10:55:46 AM

Title: 10 reasons we can make it to Brazil 2014
Post by: Tallman on September 01, 2011, 10:55:46 AM
10 reasons we can make it to Brazil 2014
By Dennis Ramdeen (Pepper Advertising & Experiential Marketing)

1. Because some people believe so. (Crawford and maybe one or two other people expected him to win the 100 metres at the Olympics; you should hear him tell his story about his time with the other athletes just before they went on the track on that faithful day.  He first psyched them out and then he ran them out of town.  Crawford believed in himself and took on the world almost by himself.)

2. We are playing for 3 1/2 places.

3. Coach Pfister’s philosophy to look local first and then global

4. Strong penetration of our nationals playing professional football abroad in “A” leagues

5. Coach’s experience working with small countries and similar ethnics (he has said the players have “music in them” – I like that he seems to want to understand them rather than impose his methodology on them)

6. Funding appears to be in place ($45mm committed publicly by Anil Roberts)

7. First stage could be a blessing in disguise; we are not accustom playing in this stage of the Qualifiers and it will give Pfister a lot more time than Beenhakker had with the team

8. We have a world class striker

9. T&T public will join the march to Brazil once they see results (we are fair weather fans, not passionate loyalists)

10. Our under dog status.  (might cause an opponent to take us lightly while giving us a reason to prove them wrong)
Title: Re: 10 reasons we can make it to Brazil 2014
Post by: MEP on September 01, 2011, 11:21:57 AM

Who?  Ah tort Yorke retired?

KJ good he's not world class yet......
Post by: elan on September 01, 2011, 11:41:05 AM

You mad or what  ???  Is Stern John they talking!!!!
Post by: Mose on September 01, 2011, 11:58:49 AM
As far as I'm concerned there will be only one reason and that is coach Pfister and the fact that we have him from the start of the qualifiers as opposed to half way through the final stage.
Post by: Controversial on September 01, 2011, 12:00:39 PM
As far as I'm concerned there will be only one reason and that is coach Pfister and the fact that we have him from the start of the qualifiers as opposed to half way through the final stage.

correct  :beermug:
Post by: kaliman2006 on September 01, 2011, 12:18:39 PM
Once our team does not take any other team for granted and work hard as a unit, we should be in with a chance to make it to the hex.
Post by: supporter on September 01, 2011, 12:36:04 PM
Alright, now ah beggin Shaun to post some more vids!

And btw, two words to put a damper on this fun, optimistic article: Costa Rica
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on September 01, 2011, 12:41:39 PM
once upon a time we jus had to beat bahrain to go world cup in germany and we did it.
Post by: injunchile on September 01, 2011, 01:22:18 PM
Well Done Dennis- I hope the World class forward will produce the goods. KJ and Roberts at least have experience and then John so we should be well represented in the frontline..
Post by: Trini on September 01, 2011, 02:12:24 PM
Is one thing to have a world class forward, a next thing for him to be in form at the right time.
Ask the T&T campaigns from 1994-2002 how come we never make a WC with a World Class striker leading the ranks.....

I always maintain, if we ever qualify for a WC, we need a striker to find the form of his life.
OR
a couple offensive players hit top form at the right time, like Latas and Stern for 2006
Post by: Controversial on September 01, 2011, 02:31:22 PM
Alright, now ah beggin Shaun to post some more vids!

And btw, two words to put a damper on this fun, optimistic article: Costa Rica

we will beat them with pfister and advance to the hex  8)
Post by: sub1 on September 01, 2011, 03:04:03 PM

you guys are missing the most important reason, which is that JW cannot interfere with how things will run. Thank God for Chuck Blazer. He is the channel God used to free us from the shackles of JW. What we do with this new-found freedom is a different story. but I honestly believe we will qualify and will vindicate us all who considered JW nothing more than a millstone around T&T"s football neck.
Post by: Deeks on September 01, 2011, 03:15:30 PM
Is one thing to have a world class forward, a next thing for him to be in form at the right time.
Ask the T&T campaigns from 1994-2002 how come we never make a WC with a World Class striker leading the ranks.....

I always maintain, if we ever qualify for a WC, we need a striker to find the form of his life.
OR
a couple offensive players hit top form at the right time, like Latas and Stern for 2006

I beg to differ here Bro. Mid-field and defence are our problem. When TT has strong middle and good defence we do well. But I am not sure about this bunch. After 2006, Our mids have been woefull. Hence KJ and Stern lack of goals.
Post by: masterblaster on September 01, 2011, 04:24:58 PM
I wonder what does be goin thru the minds of our young defenders.  Year after year the warrior defense does be our major issue, but nobody steppin up and commanding de backline.  I hope Otto could create good defenders out of this lot in the short space of time that he has!!

OR

I beg to differ here Bro. Mid-field and defence are our problem. When TT has strong middle and good defence we do well. But I am not sure about this bunch. After 2006, Our mids have been woefull. Hence KJ and Stern lack of goals.
Post by: College on September 01, 2011, 05:54:33 PM

By industry standards, KJ IS a world class striker. He plays in the top tier of one one of the top leagues in the World. Or, maybe John Terry dont know what he talking about?
Post by: AirMan on September 01, 2011, 06:27:54 PM
I see some good reasons why we should make it to Brazil but there are some obstacles that may cause failure. As of right now our defence is weak. Regardless who we rotate in and out defence it looks weak. We dont have enough talented defenders playing outside T&T at the moment and we have no real depth in defence. With that being said I feel we have a good enough team to qualify (hopefully the young defenders take this opportunity to step up and a good club which can develop them realize their potential )
Post by: Sando prince on September 01, 2011, 06:32:17 PM
ah agree KJ is a world class striker. buh every world class striker needs a good team (especially good midfielders) behind him to be successful
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 01, 2011, 06:47:33 PM

4. Strong penetration of our nationals playing professional football abroad in “A” leagues

9. T&T public will join the march to Brazil once they see results (we are fair weather fans, not passionate loyalists)

Decent points except the above two (1) Pfister is not currently picking anyone from the A-League (2) We are not fair weather fans. We have seen a cabal of greedy people destroy the game in this country and we damn fed up. However we have fair weather, can't-spell, journalists, who stood by and watched and never had the balls to call these same people out.
Post by: injunchile on September 01, 2011, 06:52:14 PM
Kj will only be effective if being fed by the wingers. He needs some good crosses in the Air, that is his strength.
 The test will be in this rounds of qualifications.
Post by: Sando prince on September 01, 2011, 07:10:12 PM
I see some good reasons why we should make it to Brazil but there are some obstacles that may cause failure. As of right now our defence is weak. Regardless who we rotate in and out defence it looks weak. We dont have enough talented defenders playing outside T&T at the moment and we have no real depth in defence. With that being said I feel we have a good enough team to qualify (hopefully the young defenders take this opportunity to step up and a good club which can develop them realize their potential )

In the past we defence does look good against bermuda and guyana but when we face stronger opposition like  Costa Rica and Honduras that is when we see the weakness. ah hope this is not same story for this WC campaign.
Post by: jai john on September 01, 2011, 07:10:58 PM
10 reasons we can make it to Brazil 2014
By Dennis Ramdeen (Pepper Advertising & Experiential Marketing)

1. Because some people believe so. (Crawford and maybe one or two other people expected him to win the 100 metres at the Olympics; you should hear him tell his story about his time with the other athletes just before they went on the track on that faithful day.  He first psyched them out and then he ran them out of town.  Crawford believed in himself and took on the world almost by himself.)

2. We are playing for 3 1/2 places.

3. Coach Pfister’s philosophy to look local first and then global

5. Coach’s experience working with small countries and similar ethnics (he has said the players have “music in them” – I like that he seems to want to understand them rather than impose his methodology on them)

6. Funding appears to be in place ($45mm committed publicly by Anil Roberts)

7. First stage could be a blessing in disguise; we are not accustom playing in this stage of the Qualifiers and it will give Pfister a lot more time than Beenhakker had with the team

10. Our under dog status.  (might cause an opponent to take us lightly while giving us a reason to prove them wrong)

I feel dennis drinking too much pepper sauce dese days yes ! Man just having fun .... Dennis was up front and centre in the Primier League of Arthur Suite and knows you dont throw even all the right ingredients up in the sky and expect a cake to falls down.

What we have here is a virtual "hope"  situation... No one knows how the team will play ...not even the coach,  as he is only now getting some key players ...good morning .,.,. you must be kenwyn ..you're the captain for friday so congratulations. Hi you must be Chris ....( that one was easy ) ... Kaleem ..I've been hearing a lot about you ...have you played 90 mins with your new team yet ? I hope you guys come in fit as we have no time to get you fit !! So in the day or so that we have to understand what type of football we are supposed to play ...let us .....

Oh by the way ..my name is Coach ...easy to pronounce .... I love this country ...I get to say very little ...keeps the experts guessing ...worked for me in the other underdeveloped countries in which I worked previously. You all know I am german though I sometimes wonder since I have lived outside germany for so many years .... therefore if you all are expecting german football style I am sorry to disappoint as I cant say that I know what that is anymore.

So just give of your best guys and remember your country needs you now ..... and that is good for me folks ...clean ...honest and about as much as I am expecting from the coach given the circumstance in which he is placed ..
underpromise ...overdeliver is my motto . All this we going Brazil talk is way premature in my book ...Brazil ???
Post by: Cocorite on September 01, 2011, 07:14:17 PM
KJ isn't too bad with his feet either. . .He is being used in the EPL as a big target man. . .so we seeing plenty goals with his head. But he has decent skills on the ground too
Post by: Socapro on September 01, 2011, 07:28:29 PM

You mad or what  ???  Is Stern John they talking!!!!

Just work it out by asking yuhself, how many does KJ have for T&T & is it anywhere near 70?!  ;)
Post by: palos on September 01, 2011, 07:34:31 PM
All we need to GUARANTEE qualification for Brazil 2014 is Troy Marquis

Pfister MUST be holding him back for the Hex.
Post by: Storeboy on September 01, 2011, 07:54:52 PM

That is if we do fire him before this roud of qualifiers.

Oh sorry ah forget that Jack not involved again!
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 01, 2011, 08:02:34 PM
All we need to GUARANTEE qualification for Brazil 2014 is Troy Marquis

Pfister MUST be holding him back for the Hex.

I see Troy Marquis play every position on the field at the same time, even referee. When they score against him, he just disallow it.
Post by: BESBRAHN on September 01, 2011, 08:29:39 PM

Uriah Bentick and Robert Primus our 2 under-20 stoppers from the WC team of 2009. We should be looking to those 2...i understand Primus is injured.
Post by: Small Change on September 01, 2011, 08:53:31 PM
TnT CANNOT beat the USA, Mexico, Costa Rica, Honduras!! They are 2 or 3 levels above us, with WAY more international experience that us. We play one effin game in 2011 against, India! Look at the opponents Mex and USA have played against since the WC ended in South Africa. Mex sent there under 23 team to the Copa America to play against other A class teams there. Who de f___K TnT play? U think TnT can compete in Copa America? We NOT ready and that is a fact!!! We operating on "guess" and false hope!
Post by: Socapro on September 01, 2011, 09:11:17 PM
TnT CANNOT beat the USA, Mexico, Costa Rica, Honduras!! They are 2 or 3 levels above us, with WAY more international experience that us. We play one effin game in 2011 against, India! Look at the opponents Mex and USA have played against since the WC ended in South Africa. Mex sent there under 23 team to the Copa America to play against other A class teams there. Who de f___K TnT play? U think TnT can compete in Copa America? We NOT ready and that is a fact!!! We operating on "guess" and false hope!

Yuh speak ah lot ah truth there but why yuh trying to spoil the good vibes round here for men like Coop's and dem?!

Mankind want ah little relief from SOE and curfew and thing in T&T right now and our national team beating up against fellow football minors is a great escape!!
Don't be a spoilt sport man!! In fact hold ah burn for that post yuh just make!!  :flamethrower:
Post by: AirMan on September 01, 2011, 09:50:35 PM

I understand where yuh coming from. This article editor right now really just guessing
Post by: fitzinho on September 01, 2011, 11:01:42 PM

Decent points except the above two (1) Pfister is not currently picking anyone from the A-League (2) We are not fair weather fans. We have seen a cabal of greedy people destroy the game in this country and we damn fed up. However we have fair weather, can't-spell, journalists, who stood by and watched and never had the balls to call these same people out.
That was a joke right?
Post by: Fyzoman on September 01, 2011, 11:03:38 PM

So ummmm (or is it "ammmm") what to do boss??? Tell we nah???
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 01, 2011, 11:07:34 PM

That was a joke right?

Yes, and a bad one at that....just making a flippant comment on some of these journalists reporting skills.

Then again he's not really a journalist, just a paid marketer
Post by: fitzinho on September 01, 2011, 11:15:09 PM

That was a joke right?

Yes, and a bad one at that....just making a flippant comment on some of these journalists reporting skills.

Then again he's not really a journalist, just a paid marketer
lol...seen. Technically u wrong tho eh...Tony Warner playing in the A-League lol
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 01, 2011, 11:32:51 PM

lol...seen. Technically u wrong tho eh...Tony Warner playing in the A-League lol

i just get buff on another thread for complaining that pfister chupid for not picking A-league players. so i go take meh licks for being wrong twice on the same topic  :devil:
Post by: fishs on September 02, 2011, 01:46:57 AM

To be honest a football miracle have to happen for this bunch to qualify.
It so easy to predict the final HEX and unfortunately TT not there.
But where there is Pfsiter there is hope. Or maybe he will end up under the coconut tree also.
Post by: fitzinho on September 02, 2011, 04:27:38 AM

i just get buff on another thread for complaining that pfister chupid for not picking A-league players. so i go take meh licks for being wrong twice on the same topic  :devil:
:rotfl: :rotfl: Doh study it, we all have our moments
Post by: davidephraim on September 02, 2011, 05:29:01 AM

To be honest a football miracle have to happen for this bunch to qualify.
It so easy to predict the final HEX and unfortunately TT not there.
But where there is Pfsiter there is hope. Or maybe he will end up under the coconut tree also.

i must be blind or something but I don't see this as A. our shabbiest team and B. a team that can't make it to as far as their brave hearts can carry them. Personally, I think this team is filled with talent. If Otto can lay down de Iron Pfist and get this bunch together along with a couple other defenders coming into the fold and some practice games under we belt.. (and I say dat loosely) I strongly believe this team is the one too watch. No there is no Latapy and Dwight Yorke, marvin andrews or Tallest but we woulda say de same when there was no longer a faustin, Leonson, Nakhid or Elcock, Angus & dawrika. Truth be told, we always have talent; wayward or not. What we do have is a pretty good football culture in TnT (caribbean-ically speaking) and if we can gather from that strength to propel ourselves forward maybe we can go all the way. Go warriors Go!
Post by: Deeks on September 02, 2011, 06:22:40 AM
All being said. If mid-field and defence don't step up in a big way, we eh going noway. I wish these guys all the best. They have my utmost and patriotic support. But I seeing reality as it is.  I will listen attentitive on ah pin cushion to the score today :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :nailbiting:
Post by: reggae-fan on September 02, 2011, 08:51:44 AM
What you guys really need to do is test your team (and Pfister) against Central American (Or South american) opponents. I like the optimism following the victory over India, but to be honest, that game, along with the upcoming games vs Bermuda, Guyana and Barbados will only give you a false sense of the superiority...you really need to play at least a couple of the top teams in CONCACAF to get a real feel for where you are.

But quick question, how would you guys compare the team currently assembled for the Bermuda game to the team that played in the qualifiers for South Africa 2010? Would you say you have a better core of players now? I know the general feeling is that the coach is way better, and that Jack is out the picture, but it all comes down to the 11 that takes the field. Its always going to be hard replacing experienced guys like Yorke, Lawrence, etc.
Post by: Deeks on September 02, 2011, 09:15:59 AM
We can't compare. This is the first game they playing together. Am I wrong? No comparison!!!!!!
Post by: King Deese on September 02, 2011, 10:58:37 AM

4 Reasons why TnT may not make it.

1)USA
2)Mexico
3)Costa Rica
4)Honduras

Let us forget Jamaica, El Salvador, Guatemala and this is where you should be directing your prayers that they eliminate themselves so that we don't have to play them.
Post by: Midknight on September 02, 2011, 11:59:33 AM
Sometimes I does really wonder if people realise how hard it is to qualify for a World Cup when you're not an established football nation...
Post by: reggae-fan on September 02, 2011, 12:14:37 PM

4 Reasons why TnT may not make it.

1)USA
2)Mexico
3)Costa Rica
4)Honduras

Let us forget Jamaica, El Salvador, Guatemala and this is where you should be directing your prayers that they eliminate themselves so that we don't have to play them.

I noticed you conveniently left out Panama...Take note of what they did in the last Gold Cup! I'll be honest with you, qualification for Brazil will be EXTREMELY tough. In fact, I wouldnt even name Costa Rica in the top 4 CONCACAF right now, that alone tells you how much competition there is. You also get the feeling that Canada is past due for a return to the world cup.
Post by: Deeks on September 02, 2011, 10:37:20 PM
Sometimes I does really wonder if people realise how hard it is to qualify for a World Cup when you're not an established football nation...

Is not that we are not an established football nation. We playing WC since 66. We have a bit of pedigree. But each WC is always some issue with preparation and money. After 2 near misses and and a solitary appearance in 2006, you honestly think we should be in this pathetic position. Only one practice against India(no disrespect) before the Bermuda. Read all the comments of the game and you wonder why people skittish about our campaign. But goodluck. They have my support. But I on pins and needles for the campaign. I think we go thru Rio claro before Rio de janeiro. Hope we though get stuck in claro.
Post by: Midknight on September 03, 2011, 01:48:30 PM

Is not that we are not an established football nation. We playing WC since 66.

you being pedantic, not to mention that we playing FOOTBALL long before that...
India qualified for a World Cup in the 30s. That don't make them an established  football nation:

These are what I mean by established football nations:
Brazil, Argentina, England, Germany, France, Italy, Netherlands,  Spain, Mexico
These is the teams you get shocked to not see in a world cup, especially one with 32 countries.

For historical reasons you could put Portugal, Uruguay, Russia, Czech Republic, Serbia, Hungary, Greece, Denmark, Sweden, Belgium, Scotland, Poland, Austria, Chile, South Korea  although they are all hit and miss these days
To a certain extent you could put Cameroon, Nigeria, USA, Paraguay, Egypt, Japan as emerging nations but none of anybody who not on the first list could think they guaranteed to qualify for a World Cup, let alone two little islands that barely have 2 million people to choose from.
Post by: Deeks on September 03, 2011, 05:08:31 PM

India qualified for a World Cup in the 30s. That don't make them an established  football nation:

These is the teams you get shocked to not see in a world cup, especially one with 32 countries.

For historical reasons you could put Portugal, Uruguay, Russia, Czech Republic, Serbia, Hungary, Greece, Denmark, Sweden, Belgium, Scotland, Poland, Austria, Chile, South Korea  although they are all hit and miss these days
To a certain extent you could put Cameroon, Nigeria, USA, Paraguay, Egypt, Japan as emerging nations but none of anybody who not on the first list could think they guaranteed to qualify for a World Cup, let alone two little islands that barely have 2 million people to choose from.

Since 66 we playing WC football. This years prep for Bermuda look more like South Sudan preparing for African CL. Them is first comers. We been thru dat. We play in a WC already. We have the experience. Leave that kind a prep for countries who don't have resources and technical skill. We have all a that.
Post by: King Deese on September 03, 2011, 05:16:22 PM

My bad, I forgot about Panama. More fire, dread.
Post by: Socapro on September 03, 2011, 07:01:56 PM

Since 66 we playing WC football. This years prep for Bermuda look more like South Sudan preparing for African CL. Them is first comers. We been thru dat. We play in a WC already. We have the experience. Leave that kind a prep for countries who don't have resources and technical skill. We have all a that.

Watch here, yuh got a point but nothing is going to improve in the preparation department until Scamps & them have been pushed out of office!

This is why we must keep booing the Scamps & dem at all our games especially when the cameras are rolling because they are 100% responsible for this totally shambolic world cup qualification campaign!
Post by: Midknight on September 04, 2011, 04:03:47 AM

Ah sarcasm...my bad. I now get it.
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on September 04, 2011, 06:13:19 AM
What you guys really need to do is test your team (and Pfister) against Central American (Or South american) opponents. I like the optimism following the victory over India, but to be honest, that game, along with the upcoming games vs Bermuda, Guyana and Barbados will only give you a false sense of the superiority...you really need to play at least a couple of the top teams in CONCACAF to get a real feel for where you are.

But quick question, how would you guys compare the team currently assembled for the Bermuda game to the team that played in the qualifiers for South Africa 2010? Would you say you have a better core of players now? I know the general feeling is that the coach is way better, and that Jack is out the picture, but it all comes down to the 11 that takes the field. Its always going to be hard replacing experienced guys like Yorke, Lawrence, etc.

where we are really rite now is unknown, an come game day only God knows, but you can be the best in the world like Usain Bolt and on race day only God knows, what is knows is somehow we got to a world cup in our history an history repeats itself.
Post by: truetrini on January 09, 2013, 06:59:34 PM
Lord reading this giving me indigestion.
Post by: Deeks on January 09, 2013, 07:41:12 PM
TT you is a real like to torture peopl. you just come from Abu grabe or wha?