Sports => Football => Topic started by: Sam on September 07, 2011, 06:43:22 AM

Title: Keon Daniel Thread.
Post by: Sam on September 07, 2011, 06:43:22 AM
De f00cker does talk and look lazy, but he could play, ah like how he step up !!!

http://www.youtube.com/v/B0SEtkD4SeM&feature=related
Title: Re: Keon Daniel Thread.
Post by: palos on September 07, 2011, 09:28:55 AM
Keep it up Skilla!
Post by: kicker on September 07, 2011, 09:47:24 AM
hahaha soldier real mellow jed lol...He could use some PR training to help him express himself better, but he has the composure to give a professional interview with some polishing up. 

As far as football goes, his raw talent seems to finally be shining through - I hope he can have a long term career outside of T&T (MLS or better)...
Post by: benedicts bwoy on September 07, 2011, 10:05:35 AM
Pass the kushunpeng peng dred!!!! Lol
He comes across rel mellow like he juss bun ah ting but like that his game and mindset has clearly improved since he is with the Union.

Go Skilla
Post by: vb on September 07, 2011, 01:15:05 PM
Nice interview.

he over mellow.

I want to know if the man just get up.

Post by: Spursy on September 07, 2011, 01:16:46 PM
Nice interview.

he over mellow.

He living and playing in Philly.. the city with the highest rate of suicide in teh country as well as the most rainfall /gloomy weather u can find ... besides the rainforrest
Post by: just cool on September 07, 2011, 03:04:33 PM
I eh go lie, the fella really shined in the past two games, he's making me a fan. another big improvement is tinto, that boy have some touches and could run and pass the ball well, hope tuh see more of them.
Post by: vb on September 07, 2011, 03:20:47 PM
I was a big fan of KD in the last qualifiers.

Advocating for him to play on the left. He usually let me down except for one or two games. I was of the wait and see opinion this year. He doing well against Barbados and Bermuda.

I'll withhold my enthusiam for the next rounds. I know he's capable of great things. He had a fine game in the Azteca vs. Mexico.

What I want to see is his consistency ala Birhcall and Carlos.

Post by: palos on September 07, 2011, 03:28:53 PM
I was a big fan of Hyland in the last qualifiers.

Advocating for him to play on the left. He usually let me down except for one or two games. I was of the wait and see opinion this year. He doing well against Barbados and Bermuda.

I'll withhold my enthusiam for the next rounds. I know he's capable of great things. He had a fine game in the Azteca vs. Mexico.

Hyland or Daniel?
Post by: saga pinto on September 07, 2011, 03:29:32 PM
Nice interview.

he over mellow.

He living and playing in Philly.. the city with the highest rate of suicide in teh country as well as the most rainfall /gloomy weather u can find ... besides the rainforrest

Nah breds you thinking about Washington state aka Seattle!!
Post by: Tallman on September 08, 2011, 08:48:30 AM
Man saying Keon getting fight down, and Tobago players getting leave out. Discuss  :devil:

http://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=10150365667769314&id=197865659313&notif_t=wall
Post by: fish on September 08, 2011, 09:46:42 PM
Nice interview.

he over mellow.

Nah breds you thinking about Washington state aka Seattle!!

I want to know what rain forest it have in Philly padna? Philly almost have the same weather pattern as DC and NY. No glooms dere.
Post by: fitzinho on September 08, 2011, 09:52:37 PM
Nice interview.

he over mellow.

So that explains why i does be feeling so
Post by: vb on September 09, 2011, 03:20:34 AM
I was a big fan of Hyland in the last qualifiers.

Hyland or Daniel?

Thanks, I just edited it.
Post by: royal on September 09, 2011, 06:46:49 PM
T&T's Keon Daniel hit with VISA issues.
By Scott Kessler (Brotherly Game).

Philly Soccer Page and Philly.com are reporting that Philadelphia Union midfielder Keon Daniel is unavailable for Saturday's game against the Portland Timbers due to visa issues.

Daniel's situation was originally reported on by Philly Soccer Page, who tweeted the information earlier today (via @PhillySoccerPg). Kerith Gabriel of the Philadelphia Daily News and Philly.com, later tweeted he had received similar news from a source of his own. Both sites have since posted stories on the situation.

A source told Philly Soccer Page that the issue was directly related to Daniel's immigration status, making his return from Trinidad and Tobago muddied.

The PSP has since learned that Daniel's unavailability stems from problems with the US Immigration Service.

Gabriel had this to say about what he Union had told him about confirming or denying the situation:

While team officials would not confirm or deny the claim, one team source said simply Daniel will "not be available for tomorrow's match. We are working to examine and resolve the issues, and hope to have a prompt solution."

The Trinidadian midfielder featured in two games for the country in World Cup Qualifying games, playing 54 minutes in his first appearance, then going the full 90and scoring a goal versus Barbados in the second.
Post by: FF on September 10, 2011, 01:32:37 PM
I ent want to cause no drama, but I hearing from MLS sources that what happened with Keon was not visa issues and that it was a legal issue. He is actually in philadelphia now. I cannot speculate what he would have been detained for.
Anybody have connections with keon to ascertain the facts.
Post by: Savannah boy on September 11, 2011, 07:46:46 PM
VB, why yuh want de man on de left? Dat was never his natural position. Leave dat for Collin Samuel when he get fit.
Post by: vb on September 12, 2011, 01:58:01 AM
VB, why yuh want de man on de left? Dat was never his natural position. Leave dat for Collin Samuel when he get fit.

I've always found Samuel to be a mediocrity whilst playing for TT. And what do we do while we wait for CS to get fit??

the left may not be Daniel's naturaly position but a lot of TT players play out of position to help the team.
At the end of the day you do it to help the team. You think Wolfe want to play as RB or Carlos as LB?

Post by: elan on September 12, 2011, 08:41:37 PM
So any news on if he playing again or they sort it out?
Post by: weary1969 on September 12, 2011, 08:47:35 PM
So any news on if he playing again or they sort it out?

Co-signnnnnnnnnnnn
Post by: Socapro on September 12, 2011, 10:14:19 PM
De f00cker does talk and look lazy, but he could play, ah like how he step up !!!

http://www.youtube.com/v/B0SEtkD4SeM&feature=related

Wha kinda dotishness is dat?!

Message says this video is private when I try to play the interview!!   ???
Post by: Savannah boy on September 12, 2011, 10:48:49 PM
VB, ah wonder if France woulda arks Zidane to play on de left.  Should T&T have used Latas on de left too as he kicked extremely well with both feet back in de day.
Post by: vb on September 12, 2011, 11:06:28 PM
VB, ah wonder if France woulda arks Zidane to play on de left.  Should T&T have used Latas on de left too as he kicked extremely well with both feet back in de day.

We've played Sancho on the left, Cyd Gray on the left, Leonson Lewis on the left, Yorke on the left, etx.

We have a number of talented midfielders, we dont' have a number of players who can adapt to the left. Obviously Carlos Edwards can't. It's not the best postion for KD. But you do it for the team.
I had hoped D. Roberts on the left might work out but not so.

But prhaps you right, KD is a buss on the left, and we should just look at someone else. But notice nobody says that about poor Wolfe they keep forcing him to play out of his natural position and nobody on this forum takes that into account when they criticize him.

At the end of the day it's not about KD it's about the team.
Post by: trini supporter on September 24, 2011, 10:37:47 AM
Any update yet ? :(
Title: Keon Daniel in 2012
Post by: BrotherlyGame on January 26, 2012, 01:26:26 PM
Hello all,

It's been a little bit since I last poked my head in here to talk to you about Keon Daniel and the Union. The team's training camp had physicals today, but as of now the club has said nothing about his status.

I happened upon this article: http://www.thetobagonews.com/sports/Boucher_earns_Soca_Warriors_call-up-137734243.html

It says there that Daniel "plys his trade with the Puerto Rico Islanders in the Puerto Rico Professional League and has been the only Tobagonian on the squad for some time was not called because newly appointed technical director, Anton Corneal who recently replaced former technical director Otto Pfster, told the Tobago News that they are giving the local players an opportunity to prove their worth hence the reason they have limited the number of overseas based players."

After confirming that there was a friendly against Finland four days ago, I searched around and couldn't find anything that would confirm Daniel had moved back to the Islanders.

Any chance someone knows of his status, or knows of such a transfer? Much appreciated if I could get a bit of help here. Nothing in Philly is pointing towards him having returned to America yet.

Thanks,

Scott Kessler
www.brotherlygame.com
Title: Re: Keon Daniel in 2012
Post by: Sam on January 26, 2012, 02:15:02 PM
Good luck with that, no one knows what is going on with Keon, maybe he have had trouble with the law but I am only assuming as this is a very strange case

I don't think Trinidad will play him either as he is clubless
Post by: just cool on January 26, 2012, 04:36:30 PM
Daniel had some work permit issues, and after that just faded since the last WCQ against guyana which we lost. he's probabaly training with one of the local clubs staying fit waiting for the work permit issues to be sorted out, but my guess is as good as any.
Post by: Dinner Mints on January 26, 2012, 04:40:44 PM
Lol, meanwhile we're here waiting on word from Philly about him.
Post by: Deeks on January 26, 2012, 04:41:31 PM
Keon and his "problems"  is a mystery to us. We just don't know!
Post by: CK1 on January 26, 2012, 10:02:46 PM
He did not transfer anywhere, as was reported sometime ago there is an unresolved visa/ work permit issue...that's all.
Post by: soccerman on January 26, 2012, 10:26:53 PM
Professional athletes usually get a special type of visa to play sports in the US. I don't understand why he's having so much issues when he was a key contributor on the team, not like he was riding pine during his stint there. Only if he was playing and getting paid without having the proper work authorization but this is just speculation on my part.
Post by: BrotherlyGame on January 27, 2012, 08:16:51 AM
I know all about the P-1 visa situation, but for a while the news was coming out of T&T, not the US. Was hoping something had been leaked through your side. I guess not. 'tis discouraging.
Post by: soccerman on January 27, 2012, 04:23:11 PM
I know all about the P-1 visa situation, but for a while the news was coming out of T&T, not the US. Was hoping something had been leaked through your side. I guess not. 'tis discouraging.
Maybe it's an opportunity for you to do some investigative reporting with the club and shed some light to us on the matter.
Post by: BrotherlyGame on January 28, 2012, 07:16:05 PM
Maybe it's an opportunity for you to do some investigative reporting with the club and shed some light to us on the matter.

Club won't say anything, but I have been trying to look into things. Just tough since he's probably still in T&T and I don't have access to much outside of the US.
Post by: Quags on January 29, 2012, 12:51:17 PM
Keon needs assistance in this matter ,he maybe should seek out the Minister of Sport in this problem ,Anil might be able to help him .
Post by: BrotherlyGame on February 02, 2012, 12:07:53 PM
Update:

http://www.brotherlygame.com/2012/2/1/2763747/keon-daniel-kyle-nakazawa-youth-sports-complex-philadelphia-union-preseason-camp
Post by: just cool on February 02, 2012, 11:06:40 PM
Keon and his "problems"  is a mystery to us. We just don't know!
He's another Kenwyne jones prototype, play great in one game and then drop ah stink bomb in the next.
Post by: FireBrand on February 06, 2012, 03:16:49 PM
Mwanga, Daniel arrive at Union preseason in Orlando
philadelphiaunion.com   

As the Union begin the second leg of 2012 preseason training in Orlando, Florida, forward Danny Mwanga and midfielder Keon Daniel have arrived in camp, while Supplemental Draft selections Thomas Brandt and Brandon Zimmerman have not been invited to remain with the club.

Mwanga spent 10 days training with English Premier League side Aston Villa. The first overall pick in the 2010 MLS SuperDraft was the seventh member of the Union to train abroad in the offseason. Mwanga scored five goals and added four assists in 2011 after scoring seven goals with four assists as a rookie in '10.

Daniel has joined the club for the first time since departing to play for the Trinidad and Tobago national team on August 26, 2011. In 2011, Daniel scored a goal and added two assists in 888 minutes over 18 appearances, including nine starts.

Brandt, a 21-year-old defender, was the 13th overall selection in the 2012 MLS Supplemental Draft out of the University of Pennsylvania.

Zimmerman, a 21-year-old midfielder, was the 52nd overall selection in the 2012 MLS Supplemental Draft out of UC Santa Clara.

Post by: BrotherlyGame on February 06, 2012, 03:27:47 PM
Should hopefully have info on what happened to him over the last six months soon.

http://www.brotherlygame.com/2012/2/6/2775936/keon-daniel-joins-union-in-florida-two-supplemental-picks-not-invited
Post by: theworm2345 on February 06, 2012, 03:38:44 PM
Its too bad, thought back when he was probably the best player in the second stage of the 2010 campaign (not necessarily saying much) he could do much better than the MLS, maybe at least Championship quality league if not higher (as I recall he went on trial with West Ham) though I think many would say he has gone backwards since then.  However, he is still young and could still be an important player for T&T.
Post by: Mose on February 06, 2012, 04:01:55 PM
Apparently the Union need someone to take their freekicks now that Le Toux has been traded. Hopefully KD gets a chance to show what he can do and takes it!!
Post by: kounty on February 06, 2012, 04:59:08 PM
Should hopefully have info on what happened to him over the last six months soon.

http://www.brotherlygame.com/2012/2/6/2775936/keon-daniel-joins-union-in-florida-two-supplemental-picks-not-invited
good news  :beermug:
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 06, 2012, 07:40:44 PM
he could do much better than the MLS, maybe at least Championship quality league
I know you're Bizarro Zeppo and everything, but it's generally accepted that, on average, there's not much difference between MLS and Championship standard any more.
Post by: soccerman on February 06, 2012, 07:49:43 PM

Finally a positive sign for Keon, glad he's back on track...the MLS pushes him above his comfort zone and keeps him assertive.

Didn't know his nickname was predator in Philly lol
Post by: BrotherlyGame on February 06, 2012, 07:57:44 PM

Finally a positive sign for Keon, glad he's back on track...the MLS pushes him above his comfort zone and keeps him assertive.

Didn't know his nickname was predator in Philly lol

I don't know who first coined it, but it was early into the '11 MLS season when it caught on as a nickname.
Post by: theworm2345 on February 06, 2012, 07:58:49 PM
he could do much better than the MLS, maybe at least Championship quality league
I know you're Bizarro Zeppo and everything, but it's generally accepted that, on average, there's not much difference between MLS and Championship standard any more.
::) Generallly accepted by who?  MLS fans?

I don't want to muck up Keon's thread with this argument as you know I can go until I'm blue in the face on that one...if you want me to lay it out as I see it please PM me.
Post by: fitzinho on February 07, 2012, 06:10:33 AM
I live in Philly and was talking to some people...a man up here bawl KD should be playing Premiership ball yes. That one surprise me.
Post by: JRtheWriter on July 14, 2012, 04:30:11 PM
Keon Daniel is starting tonight!   

The last time he started was last month, and we got this...http://www.mlssoccer.com/video/2012/06/30/goal-early-equalizer-daniel

I saw it in person and was Super happy I got to see it live.

Games at 7 Pm (EST) and if you need a link to see it, send me a message in my inbox

Let's go Soca Warriors!  :beermug:
Post by: elan on July 14, 2012, 07:56:33 PM
Scored an OG
Post by: JRtheWriter on July 15, 2012, 07:05:19 AM
Scored an OG

Def did, I love Keon but he doesn't really fit that Union system well if they're playing Hoppenot and Jack who are to really fast guys who just like big lobs over the top.  Keon plays too forward and would like to see him facilitate the midfield a little more.
Title: Questions For Keon?
Post by: JRtheWriter on August 21, 2012, 09:42:42 AM
Keon is gonna be on the radio today in Philly.  I know the host and was wondering did any of you guys have any questions for him.  I'll pass them along and post a link to the radio stream tonight.  :beermug:
Title: Re: Questions For Keon?
Post by: Trinimassive on August 21, 2012, 10:29:14 AM
Ask Keon if he intends to represent T&T at the 2012 Caribbean Cup in order to help improve our chances of making the next Gold Cup
Post by: Sam on August 21, 2012, 10:31:32 AM
Ask him which hand he does jock with ?

Post by: Tallman on August 21, 2012, 12:55:06 PM
Can you elaborate on the reason for your 7-month (Aug 2011 - March 2012) absence from the Union?

During your time away from the Union, what did you do to stay in shape? Did you train with a local team?

What do you think were the main reasons for the Soca Warriors bowing out of World Cup 2014 qualification at such an early stage?

Will you be available for the Soca Warriors for the Digicel Carribean Cup competition later this year?

Sheanon Williams has indicated his willingness to represent Trinidad and Tobago? Have you discussed this topic with him, and if so, what sort of topics were discussed?

The Soca Warriors have been relatively inactive in 2012. What was the mood like when you all got together for the recent friendly against Canada?

The team played very well for the first 15-20 minutes of the match, but then things fell apart. What happened?
Post by: FireBrand on August 21, 2012, 01:12:08 PM
You have played on the left wing as well as in attacking midfield behind the striker for T&T. What is your favorite position on the field?

In your opinion, which aspects of your game needs improvement?
Post by: JRtheWriter on August 22, 2012, 09:18:51 AM
So they screwed me over and barely asked any of the questions I sent over.... but it's okay. 
Here is the interview if you want to listen anyway.  http://philadelphia.cbslocal.com/audio/953-angelo-cataldi-and-the-morning-team/?utm_medium=dl&utm_campaign=sportsradio-94-wip-podcasts

Keon appears at the 17:30 mark.

I have a podcast weekly on refinedhype.com called "Off The Bench" I will answer all your questions if I get him to appear in the future.
Post by: ribbit on August 22, 2012, 09:55:23 AM
Ask him which hand he does jock with ?

sam, your interview technique a little different.
Post by: madness1969 on August 22, 2012, 10:01:26 AM
Do you think your game has improve being on the team? What is you weakness on the field?
Title: Daniel drops a gem
Post by: Tallman on October 07, 2012, 07:57:07 AM
Daniel drops a gem
By Andy Jasner (philadelphiaunion.com)

There have been some good moments for Keon Daniel in his two seasons with the Philadelphia Union.

This might have been the best, most complete effort in 38 career games.

Correction, it was the best.

“I do,” manager John Hackworth said of Daniel's effort being the best of his career following the Union’s 1-0 victory over the New England Revolution Saturday night at PPL Park. “I think he played both sides of the ball with class. He was really good in position going forward. He got forward a lot. He joined the attack. His service, especially on set pieces, was excellent. He did a lot of work to get back and his intensity was right. I think that’s been something Keon has struggled with, the intensity of our league.”

Daniel did anything but struggle against New England. In fact, he was arguably the best player on the field.

Daniel was crisp with his passing and sharp with his crosses. It was Daniel’s cross off a free kick which Jack McInerney headed home in the 73rd minute that made the ultimate difference in compiling three points against the Revolution.

When it was over, Daniel’s play had his manager smiling.

“Keon is a fantastic player,” Hackworth said. “He’s always been a fantastic player. But Keon, I think has shown in the last two games, is everyone in the locker room, everybody on that coaching staff, feels that way. Two consecutive games, he’s contributed in every possible way. He’s a class soccer player. I’ve watched him in the CONCACAF  qualifying for Trinidad and he was easily the best player on the field in so many games I’ve watched. I’m happy for him that he’s doing it for us as well.”

Last season, Daniel played 18 games and started nine with one goal. Daniel left the United States after a match in late August to join up with the Trinidad & Tobago national team, and wasn’t allowed back into the country because of visa issues.

Daniel returned this season and has scored once in 20 games. In recent games, he has become more confident in the midfield.

Check that, he’s been more confident in all aspects of his game – and his life.

“I’m just happier on the field and in my life personally,” Daniel told philadelphiaunion.com. “I’m becoming more and more confident on the pitch and the coaching staff has shown a lot of trust in me. I think my game has come along slowly and now, I’m feeling as good as I ever have. I’m happier than I ever have been and my family support has been great.”

Daniel referenced his two-year-old daughter who especially has given him a boost.

“It was tough when she was really young because I missed my family so much,” said Daniel, who has 51 caps and nine goals for Trinidad and Tobago. “She’s two now and I hope to have my family here soon. That would mean a lot. Over the past couple of years, I think I have grown as a person and as a player. But now, I’m trying to do it on a consistent basis. I feel great physically and mentally and I’m playing with a great deal more of confidence.”

So are the Union, who have suddenly won three of their last four matches. And Daniel has played a large role in the resurgence.

“We’re getting better every game,” Daniel said. “I’m trying to stay within my role on the club and contribute what I know I can. My confidence is very high and I’m going to finish the season like that. I think we have a lot of potential and we are starting to come together.”

(http://www.philadelphiaunion.com/sites/philadelphia/files/imagecache/620x350/image_nodes/2012/10/Keon%20header%20vs.%20NE.jpg)
Title: Union's Daniel showing late-season fire
Post by: Tallman on October 07, 2012, 07:59:40 AM
Union's Daniel showing late-season fire
philly.com

After lauding midfielder Keon Daniel for having his best game of the year in Saturday’s 1-0 Major League Soccer win over the New England Revolution, Union team manager John Hackworth gave some insight into while there haven’t been more of these performances.

“He did a lot of work to get back (defensively) and his intensity was right,” Hackworth said. “That has been something Keon has struggled with a little bit, the intensity of our league. He is certainly stepping up in that regard.”

While MLS isn’t the most skilled league in the world, the players are known for their fire.

That’s not to say that the 25-year-old Daniel hasn’t hustled in the past, but there is a difference between showing intensity in spurts and doing it for an entire game.

“I am getting more comfortable,” said Daniel, in his second year with the team.

He said that a performance such as this was a true confidence builder.

Not only did he earn the assist on Jack McInerney’s goal with a service off a free kick, but Daniel also played a strong defensive game.

“I am glad it is going in the right direction,” Daniel said. “I think from here, for me it will be good and I will keep working hard and doing the things I can do to help my teammates.”

Hackworth feels that Daniel has put together consecutive strong games, which included Wednesday’s 3-1 win in Bridgeview, Illinois against the Chicago Fire.

“Keon is a fantastic player and he always has been a fantastic player,” Hackworth said. “Keon has shown in the last two games why everybody in the locker room and coaching staff feel that way.”

Hackworth said that Daniel has contributed in every possible way during the last two games.

The Union obviously need a bigger sample size to see if Daniel will be a prominent part of the Union’s future, but he’s certainly making a favorable late impression as this season winds down.

(http://media.philly.com/images/100612-keon-daniel-400.jpg)
Title: Re: Daniel drops a gem
Post by: asylumseeker on October 07, 2012, 01:37:40 PM
Read 70+ times and not one comment. Well, lehme start it ...

In one corner yuh have John Hackworth and in another corner yuh have the naysayers. I suppose in the other corners are different Keon Daniels.
Post by: Cocorite on October 07, 2012, 02:46:27 PM
People tired dread!
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 07, 2012, 02:53:18 PM
Read 70+ times and not one comment. Well, lehme start it ...

In one corner yuh have John Hackworth and in another corner yuh have the naysayers. I suppose in the other corners are different Keon Daniels.
I mean, I ain't a naysayer but Hackworth saying the same thing they do. Very talented, but not intense enough often enough.
Post by: Peong on October 07, 2012, 03:53:35 PM
Nazarite vow, there's strength in the locks.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 07, 2012, 06:00:46 PM
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=56234.0
Title: Daniel: I don’t really hear the critics.
Post by: Flex on July 18, 2013, 02:14:14 AM
Daniel: I don’t really hear the critics.
By Shaun Fuentes.

Keon Daniel upped his ante in the United States with a fine strike against El Salvador at the Red Bull Arena last Monday.

Daniel got his name into the headlines in the US press, particularly in Philadelphia and is sure to be popular in the Union dressing room when he returns to the MLS club at the end of the Concacaf Gold Cup campaign.

The Tobago-born midfielder was not a regular member of the T&T side following the Caribbean Cup, making a single appearance against Belize and came in for some stick for his absence from the team. That hasn’t fazed him though.

“I don’t see it as criticism. Some people were not actually pleased with me but I don’t worry too much about the media or the critics. I just try to focus on football and doing the best I can on the field of play. That’s what I did against El Salvador,” Daniel said.

Of course he understands that being a professional requires more than scoring a goal or two.

“It’s a process and being out here with Philadelphia has helped me a lot. I’m hoping to maintain my position in the professional world outside and hopefully I can continue to improve,” Daniel said.

“I know that it’s a big deal for us to qualify for the quarterfinals and hopefully this can be a start of really good things for our football and for us as players,”

Title: Re: Daniel: I don’t really hear the critics.
Post by: maxg on July 18, 2013, 06:45:16 AM
Yuh could fix the Arena name
Post by: OutsideMan on July 18, 2013, 07:29:48 AM
Yuh could fix the Arena name

Ah make that out too... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: ckhan on July 18, 2013, 08:25:00 AM
hahahaha...freudian slip
Post by: D.H.W on July 18, 2013, 09:02:28 AM
Hahaha
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 18, 2013, 10:59:54 AM
Shaun Fuentes cyah do it all by himself. how's that for a laugh  ;D
Title: The Keon Daniel enigma
Post by: Tallman on August 23, 2013, 08:56:45 PM
The Keon Daniel enigma: Are the Philadelphia Union winning games because of him or in spite of him?
By Dave Zeitlin (the700level.com)

It’s not very often you see a coach respond to a blog on Twitter. But earlier this week, Philadelphia Union assistant Jim Curtin felt compelled to do so when The Philly Soccer Page (by far, the best Union blog out there) posted a piece on the team’s midfield woes (http://www.phillysoccerpage.net/2013/08/21/moreno-martino-explain-the-union-midfield/).

His reason: to defend oft-maligned midfielder Keon Daniel.

The tweets have since been deleted but Curtin’s main point was a good one. Simply put, the Union are winning when Daniel plays and losing when he doesn’t.

The stats: The Union are 8-3-4 in games when Daniel starts (4-0-1 since the start of June), 1-2-1 in games when he comes on as a sub, and 1-2-3 in games in which he hasn’t played at all.

Now, it’s true that you can’t necessarily correlate wins with the inclusion of one player in an 11-man starting lineup. And it’s also true that some of the games Daniel didn’t play in were also games that leading scorer Jack McInerney missed because of the Gold Cup.

Read More... (http://www.socawarriors.net/foreign-based/foreign-based-news/foreign-based-news/12789-the-keon-daniel-enigma-are-the-philadelphia-union-winning-games-because-of-him-or-in-spite-of-him.html)
Title: Re: The Keon Daniel enigma
Post by: Cocorite on August 24, 2013, 08:12:15 AM
Interesting. Good choice of words, though.
Post by: KND2 on August 24, 2013, 08:55:54 AM
Keon does not play a creative role for them he just keeps the ball moving allows them to maintain possession
their penetration come from the left winger.

rarely loses the ball, keeps it simple

trinidad should possibly try him in this role and push hyland further forward.

He looks good for philly
Post by: MEP on August 25, 2013, 07:45:17 AM
The problem with Americans is that if you're not running 100 mies per hour you're not working. They're talking about him not being a box to box modfielder as if every mid should play like that. Rather than analyze his play from what he does when he doesn't have the ball or what he does when he has the ball they chose to focus on his movement.....
Post by: spideybuff on August 29, 2013, 07:09:30 AM
From  a trini perspective...he still slow, on the ball, off the ball. And it looks like laziness to me too.Plus, his final pass is always one step too late for our attackers. Maybe more playing time with him might allow them to understand when he going to pass because it always seems to be at the wrong time.

Molino is the better prospect right now...
Title: Underachiever of the Year: Keon Daniel
Post by: Tallman on November 11, 2013, 02:05:01 PM
Underachiever of the Year: Keon Daniel

While featuring almost exclusively on the left flank in previous seasons, the Trinidad & Tobago international was moved to center of the field in an advanced role in support of the strikers. For whatever reason, be it poor discipline, lack of positional experience, or something else, he would routinely end up playing level or behind defensive mid Brian Carroll, leaving the strikers with no support play and the only form of service coming from streaking runs down the wing. The frustration level of the fans was increased, knowing that a player of Kleberson's ability was sitting on the sideline, unused.

http://www.brotherlygame.com/2013/11/11/5088072/the-brotherly-awards-2013-philadelphia-union-season-awards
Post by: Tiresais on November 11, 2013, 02:39:27 PM
Just sad to throw away your skills. Might be some personal issues behind the scene...
Post by: Sam on November 14, 2013, 07:49:46 AM
Daniel jump ship again, he blank T&T for de Jamaica games.

We should never call this man again.

He send you ontop de tree to pick coconut and while you up there, he cut down de tree.

Post by: Tiresais on November 14, 2013, 09:03:43 AM
Seriously what is his malfunction?
Post by: SWF Reporter on November 14, 2013, 11:12:27 AM
AWOL again: Keon Daniel’s Warrior future in doubt
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868)

Port Vale midfielder Chris Birchall might not be the only Trinidad and Tobago midfield star who waves goodbye to his international future in the upcoming home and away friendly series against Jamaica.

“Soca Warriors” head coach Stephen Hart had hoped to use the international get-togethers to have a long chat with 26-year-old Philadelphia Union midfielder Keon Daniel about his future with the national team.

Instead, Hart might have to make that decision without him as the talented United States-based player again skipped international duty and failed to show for duty in the build-up to the Warriors’ fixture at the Catherine Hall Stadium in Montego Bay tomorrow.

Photo: Trinidad and Tobago and Philadelphia Union midfielder Keon Daniel.
Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) general secretary Sheldon Phillips confirmed that Daniel did not make his flight to Jamaica and that Hart has no idea why.

“It is very disappointing,” Phillips told Wired868. “Hart contacted me by email yesterday to tell (Daniel) missed his flight (and) we have had no reason (for it) whatsoever.

“Hart has tried to reach him but has not been able to get on to him so far.”

In the last 13 months, Daniel was invited to 20 Trinidad and Tobago games—excluding the Warriors’ home friendlies against Peru and New Zealand—by a combination of coach Hutson “Barber” Charles, the dual stewardship of Jamaal Shabazz and Charles and then by current boss, Hart.

Daniel showed up for only five of those matches, or just 25 percent of the times he was summoned.

The left footed playmaker skipped the 2012 Caribbean Cup semi-final and final rounds but was allowed to rejoin the squad for friendlies away to Belize and Peru in March without apologising to the team or local fans.

Photo: The Trinidad and Tobago national football team booked its place at the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup without Keon Daniel's help in the semifinal and final qualifying rounds. (Courtesy Allan V Crane/Wired868)
Photo: The Trinidad and Tobago national football team booked its place at the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup without Keon Daniel’s help in the semifinal and final qualifying rounds.
(Courtesy Allan V Crane/Wired868)
Daniel played against Belize but pulled out of the game in Peru and then declined the chance to play against Romania and Estonia in June.

Still, he was invited to play at the Gold Cup finals; possibly at the expense of either Caledonia AIA attacker Keyon Edwards or Central FC winger Jason Marcano.

Daniel scored Trinidad and Tobago’s first goal of the Gold Cup, in a 2-2 draw with El Salvador, and replaced the absent Khaleem Hyland in central midfield for the Warriors narrow 1-0 quarterfinal loss against Mexico.

However, his form wavered throughout the tournament and he did not feature at all in the Warriors’ only 2013 Gold Cup win, which was a 2-0 triumph over Honduras that assured them of only their second ever appearance in the knockout round.

Daniel subsequently ruled himself out of the OSN Cup and games against United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia.

Hart responded by not selecting Daniel in the squad that drew goalless with New Zealand last month. At the time, the coach told Wired868 that Daniel did not appear sufficiently enthused about representing his country.

Photo: Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Keon Daniel goes around El Salvador goalkeeper Dagoberto Portillo during the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup (Courtesy YahooSports)
Photo: Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Keon Daniel goes around El Salvador goalkeeper Dagoberto Portillo during the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup
(Courtesy YahooSports)
The Jamaica games were supposed to be an opportunity for Daniel and DIRECTV W Connection defender Daneil Cyrus to confirm their commitment to the national cause.

“Cyrus contacted me and we discussed what we had to discuss,” said Hart, in a previous interview. “I told him we will talk further in camp on not just his missing Saudi Arabia but his future with the national team. It is the same for Daniel.”

Cyrus will have that chat with Hart in Jamaica. But Daniel, who has an impressive 58 full international caps with 13 goals, was again a no-show.

Trinidad and Tobago has opted not to call a replacement for the Philadelphia player and Hart will have just 17 players to choose from tomorrow.

Point Fortin Civic midfielder Marcus Joseph and Defence Force winger Kevon Carter are among the top potential candidates to replace Daniel in the squad that will face the “Reggae Boyz” from 8 pm on Tuesday November 19 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain.

England-born right back Justin Hoyte, who just completed a transfer to England Championship team Millwall, will not play in the Trinidad leg against Jamaica after Hart agreed to allow him more time with his new club.

Photo: Mllwall defender Justin Hoyte (centre) made his international debut for Trinidad and Tobago against Romania in June 2013. (Courtesy Shaun Fuentes/TTFF Media)
Photo: Mllwall defender Justin Hoyte (centre) made his international debut for Trinidad and Tobago against Romania in June 2013.
(Courtesy Shaun Fuentes/TTFF Media)
Hoyte is expected to start tomorrow though as the Warrior tackle a Jamaican team that should be fired up by its new German coach Winfred Schafer, who won the 2002 African Cup of Nations with Cameroon and recently coached Thailand.

“It’s quite natural that they will try to be very difficult opponents because they are at home and the rivalry between the two countries is one of the biggest in Concacaf,” Hart told the TTFA Media. “They are coming off a campaign that didn’t go too well for them and they are in the process of preparing for 2018, in a similar position to us at the moment. But we’re (…) fully aware of what this game means to us and our people and the players are always ready for this kind of challenge.

“I know a lot of the boys are quite keen to get a good result and we will approach the game in a manner that it deserves.”

Trinidad and Tobago squad to face Jamaica in Montego Bay:

Goalkeepers: Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic);

Defenders: Justin Hoyte (Millwall—England), Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), Radanfah Abu Bakr (Vostok—Kazakhastan), Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver Whitecaps—Canada), Sheldon Bateau (KV Mechelen—Belgium), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Aubrey David (Caledonia AIA);

Midfielders: Andre Boucaud (Notts County—England), Kevan George (Columbus Crew—US), Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA), Lester Peltier (Slovan Bratislava—Slovakia), Ataullah Guerra (RoPS—Finland), Joevin Jones (W Connection);

Forwards: Kenwyne Jones (Stoke City—England), Rundell Winchester (Central FC).

Additions for Trinidad leg: Carlos Edwards (Ipswich Town—England), Chris Birchall (Port Vale—England), Trevin Caesar (North East Stars).
Post by: D.H.W on November 14, 2013, 11:29:37 AM
He gets enough chances, at some point you have to let go
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 14, 2013, 11:46:42 AM
look at Daniel a no show .... but yet   Tiresais fights down deleon bostock etc ....
Post by: D.H.W on November 14, 2013, 11:50:36 AM
look at Daniel a no show .... but yet   Tiresais fights down deleon bostock etc ....

Post by: lefty on November 14, 2013, 12:01:04 PM
 :( :( :( :( ........... >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead: :yellowcard: :yellowcard: :yellowcard: :yellowcard: is time to just give up
Post by: socalion on November 14, 2013, 12:34:14 PM
Gosh ah have alot a patience , but ah damn p..sed off with this keon daniel  fella , wha  wrong wid da  ok ok , let me  cool down lil bit ....  aye keon daniel if yuh listening and reading  this , ah know yuh probably laffing at we while hugging up tight wid yuh lil yankee ting and having ah drink ah babash, aint nuttin wrong wid dat star, but doh disrespect we coach, we flag  and country so nah boss....what's up wid yuh no show again  mister missing in action ??? dis is about the umpteeth time yuh pull da kinda ting on we wha happen ....? if yuh doh want to play for the red white and black  say so ..... just be honest and say so ... but  doh disrespect yuh like dat ...  wha happen yuh have ah invitation spite  playing for yuh country .....   understand something meh breddar   yuh people appreciate  yuh talent and love yuh skills and you.. so show ah lil respect nah .... and some appreciation in return is that too much to ask.....ah gone yes... cause ah doh  wanna be on yuh case too much .. that is not to say ah will not call yuh out on frequent no shows .....whats up ??
Post by: Bakes on November 14, 2013, 12:51:11 PM

He keeping he Tobago options open...
Post by: g on November 14, 2013, 12:57:08 PM
Once Hart is the coach he probably will not be called again. SH look like he will give players a second chance if warranted but i think we are past that at this stage.
Post by: diamondtrim on November 14, 2013, 01:54:21 PM
Why all the fuss about Daniel? Is he THAT integral to our national team? He probably does more for his club(s), but he has never done anything of serious note for the national team and definitely not on a consistent basis
Post by: maxg on November 14, 2013, 02:05:50 PM
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=59944.msg858737#msg858737
Post by: Coop's on November 14, 2013, 02:07:11 PM
Why all the fuss about Keon Daniel,just because he dissapoint some folks on the website people making him an issue,to each his own,players are there to use T&T if they get the opportunity as well as T&T uses them as they see fit,look how players are forgotten when they fall by the wayside so if Keon chooses to play the fool and T&T still wants to beg him so be it.
Post by: Thomo on November 14, 2013, 02:44:33 PM
Cant defend the indefensible - poor judgement by the lad!! Spoke to my mum and she's trying to get in touch with her brother-in-law (Keon's uncle) to see what is up. But even they can't get a hold of him!!
Post by: Tiresais on November 14, 2013, 03:51:06 PM

Well lets be clear, I have a problem with Bostock's lack of loyalty and poor attitude throughout his career, that doesn't improve because Keon Daniel's an even bigger tool. My problem with DeLeon is that I view his decision not to accept a call-up to T&T as a calculated pragmatic decision about his possibility of getting international football, and that he should instead commit to the country closest to his heart.

Daniel will get no defence from me, my point has always been taht international football should be the highest privilege afforded a footballer, and disrespecting that position is a slap in the face to your fellow countrymen.

So in short, no Bostock, no DeLeon, no Daniel. Of course everyone entitled to their opinion :)
Post by: Fyzoman on November 14, 2013, 05:04:51 PM
Cant defend the indefensible - poor judgement by the lad!! Spoke to my mum and she's trying to get in touch with her brother-in-law (Keon's uncle) to see what is up. But even they can't get a hold of him!!
I have always been this fellah biggest defender, because I saw him live in the scrimmage we had against the USA some years ago, and he was the only man I wanted to see on de damn ball.

But lately jed I dunno nah, he trying even my patience.

Now as to why I quoting Thomo response is cause after I read today that he was a no-show, I start wondering, like dis man eh ha no friend or family or what???? Thomo kinda answer dat question of family trying to contact him.

Like he is ah loner (no padna to call him and say boy WTF yuh doing?) or what, also one or two men mention dat de fellah could have some personal (mental?) issues too going on.

It has to be something more, yuh cah love football enough to be playing pro and when yuh get call for Nashy duty yuh eh come??? I hope Hart show him ah lil compassion and dig lil deep to find out what is really up wid Keon

Title: Re: Re: Keon Daniel Thread.
Post by: D.H.W on November 14, 2013, 05:07:13 PM
I have always been this fellah biggest defender, because I saw him live in the scrimmage we had against the USA some years ago, and he was the only man I wanted to see on de damn ball.

But lately jed I dunno nah, he trying even my patience.

Now as to why I quoting Thomo response is cause after I read today that he was a no-show, I start wondering, like dis man eh ha no friend or family or what???? Thomo kinda answer dat question of family trying to contact him.

Like he is ah loner (no padna to call him and say boy WTF yuh doing?) or what, also one or two men mention dat de fellah could have some personal (mental?) issues too going on.

It has to be something more, yuh cah love football enough to be playing pro and when yuh get call for Nashy duty yuh eh come??? I hope Hart show him ah lil compassion and dig lil deep to find out what is really up wid Keon

Compassion? How much chances he deserve?
Post by: Tiresais on November 14, 2013, 06:17:59 PM
Not sure it's Hart's place to show him compassion really - he needs his friends, family, and coaches to deal with him in that fashion. Hart's position is more of an outsider when it comes to this situation - the player has disrespected and undermined his position and there should really only be one response - dropped and forced into early retirement until the situation changes
Post by: Big Magician on November 14, 2013, 07:29:21 PM
oh gosh man Skilla...gosh man

to think we fly the man into Trinidad...and he did not bother to make the trip...at first I thought he failed to meet the team in jamaica "from" USA...mama...come bago...nah man
Title: Re: Re: Keon Daniel Thread.
Post by: D.H.W on November 14, 2013, 07:42:07 PM

to think we fly the man into Trinidad...and he did not bother to make the trip...at first I thought he failed to meet the team in jamaica "from" USA...mama...come bago...nah man

Wait he was in Trinidad? Nah boy, that even worse
Post by: fari on November 14, 2013, 08:31:52 PM

Wait he was in Trinidad? Nah boy, that even worse

ent...he coulda take de panorama and still reach in time

Post by: Fyzoman on November 14, 2013, 08:48:28 PM
Not sure it's Hart's place to show him compassion really - he needs his friends, family, and coaches to deal with him in that fashion. Hart's position is more of an outsider when it comes to this situation - the player has disrespected and undermined his position and there should really only be one response - dropped and forced into early retirement until the situation changes
Clearly we look at life and the treatment of people differently bredda, but dais to be expected, cause we two different people right :)

Now-and more importantly-on to the question of we (TTFA) flying him home???
Is this true?
If so, why didn't he go to Jamaica with the rest of the team?
Did he tell them that he would meet them in Jamaica?

Something wrong wid me yes, i always questioning (or waiting for the rell story to come out) things...maybe it might be easier for me to just  past judgment (yankee spelling) before I know all the facts ;)
Post by: socalion on November 14, 2013, 09:06:05 PM
Forumites  just watch coach stephen hart  at his press conference in jamaica ... then you'll get a solid idea  how rediculous keon daniel  no show really is ... imagine 2 tickets  booked   for a player and nada feedback from keon .. nah ah doh want to hear no bs excuse .....  save it .. he is a grown ass man now, no one should stand for that ..... its real disrespectful to his team mates and the coaching staff ..   nuff said ..
Post by: Fyzoman on November 14, 2013, 09:08:03 PM
Forumites  just watch coach stephen hart  at his press conference in jamaica ... then you'll get a solid idea  how rediculous keon daniel  no show really is ... imagine 2 tickets  booked   for a player and nada feedback from keon .. nah ah doh want to hear no bs excuse .....  save it .. he is a grown ass man now, no one should stand for that ..... its real disrespectful to his team mates and the coaching staff ..   nuff said ..
Yeah boy I now done watch de video...something really wrong with Keon jed, like he piping or what?
Post by: AB.Trini on November 14, 2013, 09:51:14 PM
Look nah this has been the m.o. Of this player. Is not like he is a game breaker in my opinion. What is an issues for me is that there may his actions may have jeopardize an opportunity for a local or another player. DISCIPLINE- or lack there of. End of story. How does the TTFA collect the  $$$$$ for the tickets?
Post by: Tiresais on November 15, 2013, 02:47:36 AM
Surely it'd be a breach of contract, and they could pursue this in America (it's unlikely the PFA will back him in this situation)
Post by: Sam on November 15, 2013, 05:15:34 AM
I know SH, Keon eh getting call again, one time, two times, three time, de line draw now.

Coops, is not de matter off running down players bro, you have to give a man a chance to, you cant just vex just so, but now after 3 times, its go be de coach fault if he call him again.

Post by: CAPITANO on November 15, 2013, 09:12:31 AM
Steups!!!! who the hell cares...No Keon Daniel....big fricking Deal!!!! give me a break 
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on November 15, 2013, 09:48:26 AM
This is my assumption if all of what I read is true about this fella

Keon just not serious.
He take things too easy.

The man has talent, but he's happy coasting. I was always a fan of this guy

Keon if you read this (which I doubt you do, cuz you may not care), one day you will be dropped.  People can't keep paying you for potential when younger, quicker and hungrier guys coming every year.  Hope you have a back up plan, cuz that Philly Union salary ain't covering you the rest of your life. You should be in your prime now.  You getting old....and tired.  Man up and take care of yourself and your career before it's too late.  You're not like Dwight, Stern, Latas, Carlos or Kenwyne.

If you don't like playing football, you could always flip burgers.
Post by: Controversial on November 15, 2013, 10:19:21 AM
he get a free trip to trinidad, so he liming...

au revoir... that is the last of keon...
Post by: de_redman on November 15, 2013, 10:43:29 AM
Good riddens!!! The real question is why has he always been rated so highly?  :loser:
Post by: Sam on November 15, 2013, 11:00:57 AM
I hope the TTFA go after him for the money the paid to fly him to T&T.

Post by: Coach on November 15, 2013, 11:32:05 AM
he get a free trip to trinidad, so he liming...

au revoir... that is the last of keon...
Probably had a big time hangover! Could of still made up a feeling sick excuse.

Sometimes players coming from a small third world country and making a pro team overseas just can't deal with a little fame.

Hopefully KD can realize the opportunity to represent his country is an honor and you only have this opportunity for a short period of time.

The respect the country is showing Chris and Carlos may make KD think about his childish actions and an apology can show he is a genuine rasta.
Post by: chelsealife on November 15, 2013, 12:04:26 PM
Good riddens riddance !!! The real question is why has he always been rated so highly?  :loser:
Because he's a very good player, this is not about football, it cannot be. He needs to see a shrink
Title: A Year in Review: Keon Daniel
Post by: Tallman on November 25, 2013, 06:59:35 AM
A Year in Review: Keon Daniel
By Matt Reppert (brotherlygame.com)

Midfielder

2013 Stats – 0 Goals, 1 Assist, 27 Shots, 5 Shots on Goal, 4 yellows and no red cards in 1,721 Minutes played, also appeared in 24 games starting 20 of them.

Salary - $80,004 Base Salary / $80,004 Guaranteed Compensation

Review of 2013 Performance – Simply put, Keon Daniel wasn’t that good this past season. His paltry stats attest to that. He often appeared lethargic and unable to properly link the midfield to the attack. Daniel became one of the focal points of fan rage and one of the faces for the Union’s lack of production during the season. Hackworth’s continued loyalty to Daniel despite numerous calls for his benching only further enraged many in the fan base. However, a sign that Daniel’s time with the first team could be ending came during the October 12th match at D.C. United, as he was subbed at the 45th minute - a huge departure from John Hackworth’s usual method of subbing players out.

Expectations for 2014 – It would be a surprise if Keon Daniel is still with the Union by the time the 2014 season kicks off. If he is, I expect him to be a sub option brought in to use his larger size to try and play a more possession oriented game in order to help protect a lead. Nothing more.

(http://cdn0.sbnation.com/uploads/chorus_image/image/23905093/20130316_krg_aq3_057.0_standard_709.0.jpg)
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 25, 2013, 07:04:10 AM
TM, I believe this was asked before and sorry I don't recall the answer, but do the franchises provide subsidised housing for players?

Title: John Hackworth lukewarm on Keon Daniel's future with the Union
Post by: Tallman on February 27, 2014, 06:39:38 PM
John Hackworth lukewarm on Keon Daniel's future with the Union
By Jonathan Tannenwald (philly.com)

Few players on the Union's roster generates as much consternation among observers of the team as Keon Daniel. The Trinidadian midfielder has never lived up to expectations at PPL Park, whether playing in the center of the park or on the left wing.

Now, as Major League Soccer's March 1 roster compliance deadline looms, it looks like Daniel's job is under real threat.

He has made just one appearance in the Union's three Disney Pro Soccer Classic games, playing 21 minutes in a 1-0 loss to the Columbus Crew. In the team's two other exhibitions against MLS teams, Daniel played 30 minutes against the New England Revolution and 45 minutes against the New York Red Bulls.

During John Hackworth's weekly conference call with reporters Thursday. I asked the Union's manager to address why Daniel hasn't played much so far this year. Hackworth asnwered:

There’s been a lot of competition for those spots. We think we’ve upgraded our midfield, and there has been a lot of competition in training for those positions. Right now he's behind those guys that are being featured. It doesn’t mean Keon has done anything wrong, it just means that his role on this team has changed from what it was last year.

You don't have to be much of a politician to see a message between the lines there. So I asked Hackworth whether Daniel could be left out when the Union trim their roster to 30 players at the end of the week. Hackworth answered:

It’s a good question, but it’s also a really hard question to put in the context of Keon. We are going to have to make some really tough decisions in the next two days. Some of those are already made for us because of contractual obligations, and our salary cap affects that equally as much.

Also, how many guys can we have on the senior roster versus the supplemental roster? All of these [factors] are going into those decisions, and one way or another we are going to have to release guys that are really valuable. We don’t want to lose those guys, but it’s part of the business.

It will be very interesting to see whether Daniel survives.
Post by: JRtheWriter on February 27, 2014, 06:44:22 PM
I'm curious what y'all think of Keon.  I think because he doesn't appear to be always running and isn't box to box, he gets a bad rep. At the same time though, he had horrible crosses from corners last year, gave up the ball a lot, and the only passes he made was backwards. As a Union fan and season ticket holder, I'm pretty much the only one waving my Trini flag for him but he disappoints.  Then I see him play in the Gold Cup and see the productivity. Is it just he's in the wrong position? Formation? Would love to hear y'all thoughts.
Post by: Sam on February 27, 2014, 07:13:18 PM
I'm curious what y'all think of Keon.  I think because he doesn't appear to be always running and isn't box to box, he gets a bad rep. At the same time though, he had horrible crosses from corners last year, gave up the ball a lot, and the only passes he made was backwards. As a Union fan and season ticket holder, I'm pretty much the only one waving my Trini flag for him but he disappoints.  Then I see him play in the Gold Cup and see the productivity. Is it just he's in the wrong position? Formation? Would love to hear y'all thoughts.

The man have everything to be a top player expect the common sense and the curse of going into zones feeling sorry for himself because of past personal problems.

He not realizing how lucky he is to have God given talent and a decent job better than playing in the Pro League.

Yes, he lost his parents, but he needs to get over than and make a name for himself, they would have want de best for him and would be happy to see him in the position he is now, well, a year ago with Philly.

Maybe, he should just quit and go and plant peas in Tobago.

He needs a reality check.

And 10 years down de road, he could live with more pain when he realize how de decision he is making now will affect his future and then he go want man to feel sorry for him.

Life is hard but it could always be worst.

I hope he wake's up and fast.

Post by: Mose on February 28, 2014, 10:38:55 AM
John Hackworth lukewarm on Keon Daniel's future with the Union
By Jonathan Tannenwald (philly.com)

I'd noticed that Philly brought in a few new midfielders in the offseason and I was wondering when this would come up. Hopefully Keon survives and if not I hope he gets picked up by another MLS team at least. Either way, he really needs to get his head together. And I honestly believe that he is not capable of doing that by himself, so I hope he's getting help in handling whatever 'demons/issues' he's dealing with. I am concerned though, that if he get's released or even traded by Philly, he might go into one of his zones which would have a negative effect on his performance for any other teams.
Post by: JRtheWriter on April 08, 2014, 09:33:39 AM
Well it finally happened... Keon cut

http://www.philadelphiaunion.com/news/2014/04/union-part-ways-midfielder-keon-daniel
Post by: Zeppo on April 08, 2014, 11:11:40 AM
The arrival of Maurice Edu probably sealed his fate.
Post by: Tiresais on April 08, 2014, 12:29:52 PM
With his attitude problems in the popular press, I fear for his ability to seal another deal in the US...
Post by: Tallman on April 08, 2014, 01:01:06 PM
Well it finally happened... Keon cut

http://www.philadelphiaunion.com/news/2014/04/union-part-ways-midfielder-keon-daniel

Surprised it didn't happen sooner.
Post by: elan on April 08, 2014, 02:48:11 PM
Come on Central snap him up.
Post by: Tiresais on April 08, 2014, 02:51:49 PM
I ain't seen him play, but is he better than Central's current midfielders?
Post by: elan on April 08, 2014, 03:22:55 PM
I ain't seen him play, but is he better than Central's current midfielders?

His nickname is/was skillaz as in Schillaci
Post by: JRtheWriter on April 08, 2014, 03:31:09 PM
He hasn't played at all this season and last season he didn't play well but at the same time he was played at the wrong position for a formation that definitely doesn't fit his style...

I think he'll get a trial from another MLS team at least for depth purposes.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 08, 2014, 03:32:21 PM
Who is his agent?
Post by: dreamer on April 08, 2014, 05:17:22 PM
Come on Central snap him up.

Somehow ah feel that Fenwick and his non-empathetic, socially-distant roughness might be be too toxic for Daniel with his current mysterious unpredictability and secret personal issues. Might be better off with Shabazz and Caledonia where man might be more used to getting a bligh and second chances.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 09, 2014, 09:37:38 AM
There's always Asia, but brodda ah hope dahis not fuh you right now. Best wishes. :beermug:
Post by: Sam on April 09, 2014, 10:19:08 AM
He is his own enemy.

Idiot.

Post by: maxg on April 09, 2014, 10:55:17 AM
His management team couldn't find him..they managed to do a half decent job, turning him around. When all thought, including i, he was a lost cause, though obviously talented..Did he fire them ?
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 09, 2014, 02:24:20 PM
Union coach John Hackworth says retooled midfield led to Keon Daniel's departure.
By Dave Zeitlin (MLSsoccer.com).

Keon Daniel was an important part of the Philadelphia Union’s midfield last season, starting 20 games while often being deployed in a central attacking role.

But Daniel didn’t score any goals and recorded just one assist through 1,721 minutes, leading to the team overhauling the midfield in the offseason with the acquisitions of Maurice Edu, Vincent Nogueira and Cristian Maidana.

Those moves promptly made Daniel expendable, and after the Trinidadian didn’t even crack the 18-man gameday roster through five games this season – let alone get into a game – the Union cut ties with him Tuesday, calling it a “contract termination by mutual consent.”

“Keon is still a player that probably has a lot more potential than what he showed here,” Union manager John Hackworth said during his weekly press conference Wednesday. “With us making the acquisitions in the midfield that we did, it kind of left Keon on the outside.”

Throughout the 2013 season, Hackworth seemed to be constantly on the defensive about his reliance on Daniel and how he often played him ahead of seemingly more creative players like Kléberson and Michael Farfan, who are both also now playing elsewhere.

The Union manager used to say that Daniel was one of the team’s most technical players, but he also realized that the Trinidadian didn’t bring enough to the attack and would often drop back too deep.

After signing with the Union before the 2011 season, Daniel had just two goals and four assists in 4,126 minutes, before his playing time dried up this season.

“He was understandably upset that he wasn’t going to get the opportunities, so it was a mutual agreement that if he wasn’t going to be in our plans that we were going to try to find a way to put him in a place where he could play and where it could be beneficial for us too,” Hackworth said. “And we were able to work that out.”

Considering he has been an MLS starter for much of the last two seasons and seemingly has some value, the Union did shop him around to other teams in the league.

But, in the end, trading him was not something that worked out.

“It’s complicated,” Hackworth said. “I wouldn’t say there was absolutely no trade [market]. But the situation had to be good for both parties. And we didn’t find that situation.”

Post by: SWF Reporter on April 09, 2014, 03:23:42 PM
Philadelphia releases Keon Daniel; maverick cannot join Pro League race
By Wired868

Maverick Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Keon “Skillachi” Daniel will be on the lookout for a new employer after he was released by United States Major League Soccer (MLS) outfit, Philadelphia Union, yesterday.
The Union announced that the decision was made by mutual consent after the Tobago-born playmaker failed to appear in any of the team’s five fixtures so far this season.

“We think this move is the best decision for both Keon’s career and our club,” Union manager John Hackworth told the club website. “We wish him luck and thank him for his contributions to the Union.”
There is no chance of the 27-year-old former United Petrotrin and Caledonia AIA midfielder joining the million dollar Pro League race as his release comes after the close of the FIFA transfer window.

Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) official Sharon O’Brien and Pro League secretary Julia Baptiste both confirmed that Daniel will not be allowed to play competitively on home soil in the 2013/14 season.

However, FIFA exemptions keep the United States and Finland transfer windows open until the end of April or first week in May and Daniel can still find a club there while he considers his future options.

Daniel’s fall from Union was not altogether unexpected as the player returned no goals and just one assist from 24 MLS outings last season while, in four seasons and 64 matches at the club, he only managed two goals and four assists. But then hardly anything about Daniel would surprise knowledgeable football fans.

At Petrotrin, he was habitually late to practise or never showed at all and famously once disappeared for two weeks to have a trial with English club, West Ham United, without informing his employer.

His international career has had its highs and lows too.

Daniel was the top scorer for Trinidad and Tobago’s 2010 World Cup qualifying campaign where he stood out in company that included an ageing Dwight Yorke and Russell Latapy. His total of five World Cup qualifying goals places him in the country’s top ten all-time scorers and joint seventh alongside Warren Archibald, Arnold Dwarika and Marvin Andrews.

However, his commitment to the “red, black and white strip” has been repeatedly questioned over the past two years.

Read More (http://wired868.com/2014/04/09/philadelphia-releases-keon-daniel-maverick-cannot-join-pro-league-race/)
Post by: JRtheWriter on April 09, 2014, 03:30:29 PM
He never got to play his natural position in Philly. I feel like he'll be put on a team somewhere else in the MLS even for depth purposes.

He's already been contacted by some NASL teams according to rumors.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on April 09, 2014, 07:00:42 PM
Not a good season for either trini in philly. Keon cut and Sheanon benched this season.
Post by: Tallman on April 10, 2014, 04:47:38 AM

He is currently training with Arizona United.

(http://www.gannett-cdn.com/-mm-/1d03b7de614c1d03d2bcd04ec42c3ec0f825629f/c=42-0-959-688&r=x404&c=534x401/local/-/media/Phoenix/2014/04/07/pniarizonaunitedsc04082.jpg)
Arizona United coach Mike Dellorusso talks to players during a Monday training
session in Peoria.
Post by: diamondtrim on April 10, 2014, 08:33:32 AM
I could be wrong here...very wrong.....but I really can't see why Keon Daniel is referred to in terms like 'enigma', 'maverick', and so on. Even in the pics of him in training his body language is poor....head down, seemingly inattentive to what the coach is saying. Why would anyone want him on their team eludes me. He doesn't contribute and obviously has serious personal issues.
Post by: Sam on April 10, 2014, 10:20:36 AM

He is currently training with Arizona United.

(http://www.gannett-cdn.com/-mm-/1d03b7de614c1d03d2bcd04ec42c3ec0f825629f/c=42-0-959-688&r=x404&c=534x401/local/-/media/Phoenix/2014/04/07/pniarizonaunitedsc04082.jpg)
Arizona United coach Mike Dellorusso talks to players during a Monday training
session in Peoria.

Tallman, it anything to cah find.

You is de forum macco.

Post by: Tallman on April 10, 2014, 03:37:32 PM
Tallman, it anything to cah find.

You is de forum macco.

Somebody hadda be peeping.
Title: Pondering the legacy of Keon Daniel
Post by: Tallman on April 10, 2014, 03:38:13 PM
Pondering the legacy of Keon Daniel
By Matthew De George (Union tally)

Few players in Union history left as confusing an imprint as Keon Daniel, whose three-plus year stint with the club officially came to an end Tuesday with the termination of his contract by mutual consent.

His presence has elicited hopefulness, exasperation, devotion, confusion and dissatisfaction, among a wide continuum of other sentiments. Finding a simple summary for Daniel's 64 MLS appearances is well-nigh impossible for a player that has embodied both a major tactical problem and significant solution at versions points in his career.

The contradictions begin with Daniel's very stature. At a formidable 6-1, he was often the most physical of presences among slighter midfielders like Roger Torres and Brian Carroll. Yet he rarely played like it.

His 14 goals in 59 appearances for Trinidad & Tobago indicate his offensive aptitude. His two goals and four assists in 64 games for the Union suggest otherwise. At various times, he's represented for the Union their most attack-minded option, or their most physical, or their most technical.

His two goals are evidence of the promise that has always been so seductive for two Union coaching staffs. The first, June 11, 2011, against Real Salt Lake, was the kind of heads-up hustle goal a player of his stature would find on a somewhat regular basis based on his physicality alone. Instead, it stood alone for him. Statistically, that 2011 season in which he had a goal and two assists in 18 games (nine starts) is remarkably his most productive.

The goal he scored June 30, 2012, is what you'd expect from the technical side of Daniel, flashes of which were also few and far between. Back from the purgatory of Peter Nowak's doghouse as one of John Hackworth's many reclamation projects, Daniel proved why he had a claim to playing time against Houston with a superb goal you'd expect an "attacking" midfielder to score.

Fittingly, the biggest contribution of what would be his final season with the Union was a big miss. For a Union team mired in a losing streak with a faltering offense in the dog days of the summer of 2013, Daniel appeared to deliver the spark that he'd so long promised to, scoring what looked to be a stunning floater of a free kick Sept. 14 vs. Houston to give the Union what it thought was an early 1-0 lead. The goal, however, was called back on a perplexing offside/foul call that was much to the liking of Hackworth.

The blame for Daniel's ill fit doesn't belong entirely on the player, as neither Nowak nor Hackworth devised a suitable way to use him. When deployed wide out right (for lack of space in the center) or left (for lack of other options on the left), he lacked the speed, crossing ability and general interest in taking on players 1-v-1.

Centrally, there was a constant frustration with Daniel's tendency to sit level with Carroll instead of living out the "attacking" mandate in his position's description. Though he did show the ability, especially early last year, to pick out the correct long pass from deep in midfield, his reticence to shoot in attacking positions could border on the maddening. As such, he averaged one shot every 76 minutes with the Union and one shot on goal every 375 games. That’s, amazingly, ones every fifth game.

The irony is that a midfield construction like this year's, with a central operating trio, would've been worked with he and Gabriel Gomez or Michael Farfan ahead of Carroll (apologies for the flashbacks). On this year's team, though, he was so far down in the pecking order for those two spots ahead of Carroll – to name a few, he was behind Maurice Edu, Vincent Noguiera, the emergence of Leo Fernandes, the threat of Cristian Maidana being moved centrally with Danny Cruz on the wing, even Fred or Pedro Ribeiro seemed closer to the field – that it would've taken a cataclysm for him to play.

The truth has become obvious that Daniel is no longer an MLS regular, as the purchasing power of clubs and the talent in the league increases. He could find himself a solid career in the NASL, especially if he finds that potential Hackworth believes is still within him. But the player that Daniel has proven to be for the last three years isn’t up to snuff in MLS any longer.
Post by: KND2 on April 11, 2014, 12:50:31 PM
Used to play very deep for the union. Must have been coaches direction won't think they were trying to use him to get goals hopefully he can get on another team , maybe even in uk
Title: Keon Daniel lands in Poland
Post by: Tallman on May 19, 2014, 01:48:34 PM
National midfielder, Keon Daniel, has signed a preliminary three-year contract with Polish I Liga club, MKS Miedź Legnica, subject to passing medical tests.
http://www.miedzlegnica.eu/index.php/news/pilne-daniel-keon-blisko-miedzi-legnica/

http://www.socawarriors.net/foreign-based/foreign-based-news/foreign-based-news/13940-keon-daniel-joins-miedz-legnica.html

Title: Re: Keon Daniel lands in Poland
Post by: mukumsplau on May 19, 2014, 02:08:00 PM
good. doubt he would want to go AWOL across there lol. play ball son and best of luck
Post by: maxg on May 19, 2014, 02:34:10 PM
good. doubt he would want to go AWOL across there lol. play ball son and best of luck
Oh really. Is Poland yuh know. The opposing teams/fans will try to make him as uncomfortable as they possibly can, and his own might not care either way. Yet, everything I say about this guy he manages to find a way to prove me wrong. I say, he not lasting past the 1st year. Hopefully he doesn't go into a shell and play good enuff to get a transfer somewhere with less racial hangups. The thing is, exactly where in heavens name is that in Europe.    ;)
Post by: soccerman on May 19, 2014, 03:53:43 PM
Those Eastern European countries are rough to live in but seems like Peltier's doing well in Slovakia, which borders Poland. Having visited that country, apart from Warsaw and maybe Krakow, diversity is slim to none. All the best KD!!! Play well and win over the fans :beermug:
Post by: maxg on May 19, 2014, 04:36:35 PM
Those Eastern European countries are rough to live in but seems like Peltier's doing well in Slovakia, which borders Poland. Having visited that country, apart from Warsaw and maybe Krakow, diversity is slim to none. All the best KD!!! Play well and win over the fans :beermug:
everywhere, admittedly. old story
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/england/2324973.stm?storyLink=%252523
Post by: Tiresais on May 19, 2014, 05:40:50 PM

Diversity lacking, but the women in Warsaw are absolutely gorgeous - when I visited I swear down it was 75% women to 25% men.
Post by: vb on May 19, 2014, 06:39:06 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/england/2324973.stm?storyLink=%252523

Some Eastern Euro countries might surprise you. Budapest is quite nice.
Don't know much about Poland though. But what Kiev and Budapest taught me was to not assume.

Post by: soccerman on May 19, 2014, 07:00:35 PM

Don't know much about Poland though. But what Kiev and Budapest taught me was to not assume.

Budapest is actually my favorite Eastern European city, enjoyed it a lot and the people were nice. Some of the locals don't like it at all, they said mainly due to the economy and gov't, I told them I like the place and they said it was bc I was a visitor and I don't actually live there.
Post by: maxg on May 19, 2014, 08:15:43 PM
Funny, Jan didn't seem to like it as much.
Post by: Tallman on May 21, 2014, 12:06:06 PM
WATCH Keon Daniel participate in a fitness test at MKS Miedź Legnica.
https://www.facebook.com/socawarriors.net/posts/10152471734159314
Post by: Tallman on May 23, 2014, 07:15:52 AM
After passing his medical tests, 27-year old midfielder Keon Daniel is now officially an MKS Miedź Legnica player.
(https://scontent-b-iad.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash4/t1.0-9/10371490_10152475688374314_3876317485291808083_n.jpg)
Post by: TdotTrini on May 23, 2014, 08:32:04 AM

Good to know, heading there in the fall.  :beermug:
Post by: asylumseeker on May 23, 2014, 08:44:38 AM
This club plays in the second tier of Polish football. Stadium capacity of about 6300.

(http://cache.images.globalsportsmedia.com/soccer/venues/600x450/5855.jpg)
Post by: mukumsplau on May 23, 2014, 10:40:21 AM
neat lil stadium

always wondered y proleague clubs aint invest in somthin small n intimate like this and create a decent product to bring in ppl from surrounding communities
Post by: maxg on May 23, 2014, 11:36:27 AM
neat lil stadium

always wondered y proleague clubs aint invest in somthin small n intimate like this and create a decent product to bring in ppl from surrounding communities
Cause it doesn't generate billions to thief   :devil:
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 23, 2014, 04:26:55 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/-CyTa4j0Xqw
Title: The Real Story, Keon Daniel and the Union
Post by: Tallman on May 27, 2014, 07:13:29 PM
The Real Story, Keon Daniel and the Union
soccersportnetwork.com

After spending almost 3 seasons with the MLS team Philadelphia Union, midfielder Keon Daniel has turned his career, believe or not, downside UP.

Just after having been recognized by the Union for the last two seasons when he was a regular part of the starting 11, the player received the unfortunate news by his coach Hackworth that he would not play due to the big signings the coach had arranged for the team. The coach's decision to hire numerous midfielders for exorbitant salaries had tremendously affected Keon's relation with the Union.

If we take a look today at the MLS Eastern Conference standings, the Union holds the 9th position among the 10 teams, only 2 wins so far. So, unfortunately, the coach's plan is not working as he'd expected. And to add insult to injury, he just let one of his best players go.

After learning of the decision by the Union to hire so many midfielders, Keon agreed with his agent Cleiton Bernardes to look for better opportunities. So, player, agent and technical staff had come to a decision for Keon to find another team. During the negotiations for the change, the Union's technical staff dropped several offers arranged by Soccer Sport Network as they were claiming they were not satisfying enough for the club's interest. So, the Union offered to let Keon go but only to Arizona SC from the USL. That was the deal. During the whole process the Union did not waive the player, and consequently other MLS teams could not indicate their interest to hire the player.

After signing with Arizona SC, Keon learned that he could not play for the team because of pending visa issues. Arizona then let Keon go after just one week.

After these unfortunate series of events for the athlete, he finally received an excellent opportunity. Cleiton from Soccer Sport Network arranged a chance for him to play in Europe.

"I'm very grateful for the Union for everything they've done for me but, unfortunately, it did not work out the way I expected. I was very disappointed and did not expect the technical staff not to support me after my progress and everything I've built while with them. On the other hand, Legnica has already showed me a lot of interest and has fulfilled my expectations as a hard-working player. A lot of thanks to my agent Cleiton Bernardes who believed me and supported me when everyone turned against me. Cleiton, you're the one who put me back on track and never gave up on me, I can never thank you enough".
Title: Keon Daniel’s first interview with Miedź Legnica
Post by: Tallman on May 27, 2014, 07:41:44 PM
Keon Daniel’s first interview with Miedź Legnica
miedzlegnica.eu

Meet Trinidad and Tobago midfielder, Keon Daniel, Miedź Legnica’s first roster addition for the upcoming season.

How did you end up here at Miedź?
KEON DANIEL:
- I found out from my manager that Miedź Legnica was interested in me. Things moved very quickly, and I boarded a plane and here I am.

People from Trinidad and Tobago may view Poland as a rather strange destination. What did you think when you first heard about the interest from Miedź Legnica?
KD:
I thought it was a dream! When I started playing football as a kid, I dreamt of going to Europe. I have always been interested in European football, so when I learned of the offer to play in Europe, in Poland, I was very happy. I immediately knew that I wanted to give it a shot.

Did you know anything about Poland before coming to Legnica?
KD:
Not much about the country, but for example, I really like Robert Lewandowski’s game, and one of my coaches in the MLS was Peter Nowak. Before coming to Legnica I did a little research on the Internet (laughs). Since I’ve been here I’ve spoken to a lot of people involved with the club, and I have learned that you have good ski jumpers in Poland (laughs). I play football, but I'm interested in many sports which I watch on TV. I immediately liked Legnica - it’s a little bigger than my island of Tobago, but the weather here is very similar.

It is not everyday that you get this type of heat in Poland.
KD:
So it seems that I’ve brought this weather to Legnica (laughs). In my country, we have this weather throughout the year.

Have you heard about the Polish winter?
KD:
I’ve heard that it is very cold, but during that time we get a break in the league. Before I went to the United States I had never seen snow live. There is a first time for everything in life (laughs). You can get used to anything, and I'm a person who never complains. For me, the most important thing is playing football and winning. I learned in the MLS that if you want to call yourself a professional, you must do everything to the best of your ability, do not complain, and set high goals for yourself. If you want to win, work hard and focus on your goals. Then there will be a chance to achieve them.

Did you watch the match between Miedź Legnica and Olimpia Grudziadz? How do you like Legnica team?
KD:
I like Legnica’s style of play, and I think that it will not take me long to fit in. Overall, the game is a little different from the MLS. I cannot wait to play with Legnica. It seems to me that we have a very good and skillful football team. I also know that the team has a number of very experienced players, some of whom have represented the Polish national team. I can always learn something from those players.

You say that the game in Poland is different than in the MLS. What are the differences?
KD:
I have not seen many Polish teams play, but from what I’ve seen so far, Polish football is more patient in its buildup. In addition, there is a lot more pressing in the game. As for the similarities, both stress on good physical conditioning and a high workrate.

What position suits you the best?
KD:
I’m a central midfielder. In the national team I play behind the striker as an attacking midfielder. But in the MLS I adapted to being a defensive midfielder where you have much more defensive work to do. I can play both positions, depending on what the team needs.

You will not make your debut for Miedź Legnica until next season. What will you do until then?
KD:
I will train and get to know the team better. I will also learn some of the language. I have already mastered a few basic words: Thank you, good morning, hello (laughs). I learn quickly, and all the people around me are very helpful. When it comes to communication with the guys from the team, I have no problems with that. Many of them know some degree of English. Besides, on the field we speak the language of football.

The FIFA World Cup in Brazil will be starting soon. Neither Poland nor Trinidad and Tobago is involved. Who are you rooting for?
KD:
I’ve always been a fan of Brazil. I especially liked Rivaldo’s game, he was my favorite player. When I was growing up, I wanted to emulate him and play like him. As far as European clubs go, I really like Barcelona.
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on May 27, 2014, 08:09:13 PM
From speculating he was a "bum" to reading the "real story" ..........players does need their own PR machine to create balance yes.........hope it works out for him........
Post by: FF on May 28, 2014, 04:06:13 AM
Nice interview... I kinda get take by surprise. Keon never strike me as being so talkative
Post by: King Deese on May 28, 2014, 10:07:30 PM

Keon Daniel.........ah hard working player? Never dat..... my yute.
Post by: Sam on May 29, 2014, 03:21:46 AM
What position suits you the best?
KD: I’m a central midfielder. In the national team I play behind the striker as an attacking midfielder. But in the MLS I adapted to being a defensive midfielder where you have much more defensive work to do. I can play both positions, depending on what the team needs.

Keon defensive?

They go find out soon.

When he start to day dream on heself.

Post by: Dinner Mints on May 29, 2014, 05:52:43 AM
How much Philly Union games allyuh ever watch? Or allyuh still stick on WC games from 3-4 years ago when he was lazy on the left wing?

He is a very competent central midfielder. He does disappear now and then, but most of the time he in there doing a solid, steady job.

Since he so talkative, I'd love to hear his explanations on the national side.

I a introverted fella myself, so I bias towards trying to understand wha his scene is exactly.
Post by: elan on June 10, 2014, 09:16:29 PM
Union name Curtin interim manager (http://www.espnfc.us/major-league-soccer/story/1872113/philadelphia-union-name-jim-curtin-interim-manager)

Conor Casey helped Philadelphia come back in style until a late penalty kick from Pedro Morales ended the match in a 3-3 draw.
The Philadelphia Union on Tuesday sacked manager John Hackworth and appointed assistant coach Jim Curtin as interim team manager.

Curtin, 34, a former Chicago Fire player, was named an MLS All-Star and the Fire's defender of the year in 2004. He helped the squad to two U.S. Open Cup titles in 2003 and 2006, as well as the 2003 MLS Supporters Shield.

Curtin played his final two seasons in the League with Chivas USA before retiring in 2009.

"We are an ambitious club and although we are just in our fifth season we expect to win and be in the top tier of MLS," said Union CEO operating partner Nick Sakiewicz. "We have begun an ambitious and global search for a team manager who will help guide us to our goal of competing to win the MLS Cup."

Curtin's first game as interim team manager will be on June 17 when the Union host the Harrisburg City Islanders in the fifth round of the U.S. Open Cup.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 11, 2014, 06:16:32 AM
Forward ever, backwards never.
Post by: Tallman on July 10, 2014, 05:36:49 PM
Poor Keon Daniel cannot get a good mango in Poland. On another note, he’s compared to Toni Kroos.

http://www.przegladsportowy.pl/pilka-nozna/i-liga,keon-daniel-z-trynidadu-i-tobago-gra-w-barwach-miedzi-legnica,artykul,483080,1,359.html
Post by: asylumseeker on November 24, 2014, 02:05:51 PM
Is it time to bring KD back to (or to start thinking about reintegrating him within) the NT?
Post by: Deeks on November 24, 2014, 05:22:35 PM
Is it time to bring KD back to (or to start thinking about reintegrating him within) the NT?

:-\
Post by: Tallman on November 24, 2014, 05:43:31 PM

I don't see the reason. He's not getting much playing time in Poland. 9 appearances (3 starts and 6 as a sub). Of the 3 starts, he got subbed twice.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 24, 2014, 07:43:01 PM

I don't see the reason. He's not getting much playing time in Poland. 9 appearances (3 starts and 6 as a sub). Of the 3 starts, he got subbed twice.

Yeah, ah wondering wha it is ... any word on whether injury has been a factor? Could it be adjustment to the setting?

Much of the recent dynamic on the NT (payment, professionalism etc.) brought to the fore items that concerned de brodda. He came to mind due to that, and his openness to returning to the NT.

Miedz has added to the squad. Here's hoping his future there is secure. Too much talent to languish.
Post by: Majestic on November 25, 2014, 08:54:24 AM

Yes, the young man has quality dat we need. Even if he cyah make the startin 11, he is capable of changin- and winnin- the game if introduced...dat game against Jamaica showed that we not as deep as some are claimin because aside from Guerra our proven attackin options were thin.

He adds a natural balance and a silent, rude boy confidence..."give me d ball and I go make sumting happen".

Coachman, call him up for some games before the GC and go from dey.
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 25, 2014, 09:37:50 AM
I recall Hart saying while he's NT coach, KD would not be called up again b/c of his non-response to 2 call ups for NT duty.  Anything happened since then behind or in front of the scenes? 
Post by: asylumseeker on November 25, 2014, 10:52:47 AM

Yes, the young man has quality dat we need. Even if he cyah make the startin 11, he is capable of changin- and winnin- the game if introduced...dat game against Jamaica showed that we not as deep as some are claimin because aside from Guerra our proven attackin options were thin.

He adds a natural balance and a silent, rude boy confidence..."give me d ball and I go make sumting happen".

Coachman, call him up for some games before the GC and go from dey.

Ah know Plaza and Winchester were absent, buh yuh highlight de other consideration that was bubbling in my thoughts. Ah curious as to what de "behind the numbers" (see TM's post) vibe iz with him.

An argument in his favour would be that there's a reasonable period of time between now and the Gold Cup.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 25, 2014, 11:10:32 AM
I recall Hart saying while he's NT coach, KD would not be called up again b/c of his non-response to 2 call ups for NT duty.  Anything happened since then behind or in front of the scenes? 

From what I gather, KD is a serious, reflective fella who speaks his mind and doh like folly ... although generally silent. This seems to have played a part in some of the reports/narrative on how he's been portrayed ... because yuh cyah fully read a man if he doh choose to respond in public to folly.

Dem negative runnings eh have nutten to do with Hart, but with issues of principle and professionalism that played out poorly from a NT management/admin/organizational perspective  ... and were divergent in expectation from allegedly clear, direct and straight requests de baller made.

Unless he cross SH directly, seems to me worthy of investigation because ah man doh jes hold he corners comfortable so on principle, without more. If ppl gehhin pay, and things improving ... all hands on deck?
Post by: Coach on November 25, 2014, 04:25:24 PM
You only have a short time in life to represent your country don't ever miss out! Also after GC is WC qualifications and every player dream is to represent his country at WC. Later on in life if you know you had the ability to represent your country at WC and you did not go for it trust me it will be your biggest regret.

Keon is a good baller and representing your country will only help to increase his value.

Keon needs to man up, give SH a call and move on.
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 25, 2014, 05:50:45 PM

From what I gather, KD is a serious, reflective fella who speaks his mind and doh like folly ... although generally silent. This seems to have played a part in some of the reports/narrative on how he's been portrayed ... because yuh cyah fully read a man if he doh choose to respond in public to folly.

Dem negative runnings eh have nutten to do with Hart, but with issues of principle and professionalism that played out poorly from a NT management/admin/organizational perspective  ... and were divergent in expectation from allegedly clear, direct and straight requests de baller made.

Unless he cross SH directly, seems to me worthy of investigation because ah man doh jes hold he corners comfortable so on principle, without more. If ppl gehhin pay, and things improving ... all hands on deck?

You probably closer to the situation and know the runnings beyond what is portrayed in public,  but this is the sequence in the public eye unless I am mistaken

(1) SH calls KD twice for national team duty and each time he does not show or respond to the calls

(2) SH is interviewed and asked about KD and makes statements to the effect that he will not represent the national team under his tenure unless he comes forward and clears the air re-his non-responses to prior calls

What are we missing?  Being reflective, quiet and ignoring mauvais langue is all well and good and we all have our issues from misc circumstances so his tragedies I completely empathize with and wish him nothing but the best.

But is it true what Hart has stated in public?  In which case, as Coach said, he needs to man up, call SH and explain himself
Post by: asylumseeker on November 25, 2014, 06:40:38 PM
(1) SH calls KD twice for national team duty and each time he does not show or respond to the calls

(2) SH is interviewed and asked about KD and makes statements to the effect that he will not represent the national team under his tenure unless he comes forward and clears the air re-his non-responses to prior calls

What are we missing?  Being reflective, quiet and ignoring mauvais langue is all well and good and we all have our issues from misc circumstances so his tragedies I completely empathize with and wish him nothing but the best.

But is it true what Hart has stated in public?  In which case, as Coach said, he needs to man up, call SH and explain himself

Ah cyah disagree, some kinda conversation should be in order ... in the national interest. :)
Post by: maxg on November 25, 2014, 08:17:04 PM
sorry I think that ship sailed...who yuh have him replacing at this conjecture ? remember to bring him in, yuh have to leave someone out..we won't be flying in everyone and then making a best choice.
I not leaving out these guys who been coming every time called, irregardless of all that KD himself felt was wrong, and a coach who went for months under the same tata he couldn't stand..and leave out those guys for someone who might come, and might show up, if everything is allright, and the birds whistling that day.. especially, if I'm not to sure that his game will make all that much a difference...but if he want to push for a place, thru performance where he is, I won't ignore him.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 26, 2014, 09:09:25 AM
sorry I think that ship sailed...who yuh have him replacing at this conjecture ? remember to bring him in, yuh have to leave someone out..we won't be flying in everyone and then making a best choice.
I not leaving out these guys who been coming every time called, irregardless of all that KD himself felt was wrong, and a coach who went for months under the same tata he couldn't stand ..and leave out those guys for someone who might come, and might show up, if everything is allright, and the birds whistling that day.. especially, if I'm not to sure that his game will make all that much a difference...but if he want to push for a place, thru performance where he is, I won't ignore him.

Leh we call that a conversation starter. :devil:
Post by: sjahrain on November 27, 2014, 06:01:34 PM
This youth crossed my mind while were playing Jamaica,I think he should be given another chance,we need more talented soldiers
If we intend on putting our best foot forward,he could and should in the pool of players ..... :devil:
Post by: socalion on November 27, 2014, 06:45:13 PM
Interestingly enough  when coach stephen hart  in charge of the canadian youth team  .... he actually made special mention about a talented youth in trinidad  at the time .... the youth was indeed keon daniel...... hart admired  the  youth's talent ... and liked him ..so keon if yuh reading this ,  you still have time on ur side .... the competition for places on the national team  is getting   keener now but understandably you've got  to prove you want to be back in mix... no one ever doubted your  talent !! best wishes!!  show what you're blessed with
Post by: Dinner Mints on November 27, 2014, 08:44:59 PM
After Hyland and Boucaud, I eh really see much depth in that position for we. Last time I checked, is back there Keon does play now.
Post by: Tallman on March 02, 2015, 06:16:03 AM
Miedź Legnica’s Keon Daniel will most likely be heading out on loan to MKS Flota Świnoujście.
http://sport.lca.pl/legnica,news,51663,Keon_Daniel_wiosna_w_Miedzi_nie_zagra.html
Post by: Majestic on April 02, 2015, 10:47:59 AM
Coachman, maybe d next game??
Post by: Tallman on May 18, 2015, 03:13:54 PM
Keon Daniel returns to Miedź Legnica after his loan spell at Flota Świnoujścieis was cut short due to the dissolution of the club as a result of financial problems.
http://www.90minut.pl/news/250/news2507198-Keon-Daniel-trenuje-z-Miedzia.html
Title: Is Keon Daniel available for selection
Post by: Coach on September 11, 2015, 10:43:04 AM
A while back when I saw Keon Daniel played he looked like he had the ability to help the national team but somehow things didn't work out with him playing for TT.

I don't know if he improved or regressed but if he is playing, kept his form and is willing to play for TT under coach Hart he should be looked at. Sometimes players mature with age and at 28 he is in his prime.
Post by: Tallman on October 19, 2015, 05:28:48 AM
WATCH: Keon Daniel scores his first goal in Poland (and first club goal since 2012) in Miedź Legnica’s 3-2 loss to Sandecja Nowy Sącz
https://www.youtube.com/v/MxPrCo21KHg?start146
Post by: Sam on October 19, 2015, 06:19:43 AM
What a f00cking waste of a good player.

Post by: dreamer on October 19, 2015, 07:50:35 AM
Correct. Mentally something is probably seriously damaged and that's the way life is. Not everybody is cut out for the same destiny and stresses in life. Let's celebrate him as an international professional club player, daiz it.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 19, 2015, 08:29:09 AM
After Hyland and Boucaud, I eh really see much depth in that position for we. Last time I checked, is back there Keon does play now.

These days he is starting and playing at "left back" ... which on the face of it, presents somewhat of a proposition given that the national team has growing pains in this position.
Post by: dreamer on October 19, 2015, 09:50:12 AM
Too slow for Concacaf level. Any wing back must have blistering speed so as not to eat beats regularly
Them Guats, Mexicans and other Central Americans eh eatin' easy.
Post by: Sam on October 19, 2015, 10:11:40 AM
To slow, weak and lazy to play on this T&T team.

But have skills to make yuh fart underwater.

Hart have them fellas playing, leave de side.

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on October 19, 2015, 10:34:01 AM
Surplus to requirements.  Where exactly would he play and who does he displace?  What crucial skills does he bring that is currently lacking or entirely absent?
Post by: Coach on October 19, 2015, 11:37:52 AM
Let say we down in the 2nd half he can be effective coming off the bench as an attacking midfielder. Then again he showed a lack of respect to the coaching staff so unless he man up and apologize he done as we are not short attacking players.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 19, 2015, 12:22:05 PM
Are we playing with consistently overlapping flank defenders?
Post by: asylumseeker on January 07, 2016, 08:01:41 PM
http://www.phillysoccerpage.net/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/1-5-16-Exhibit-C-Tab-1.pdf

Read between pages 75 and 85 (top of the document pagination, not bottom of each page) for a sample of what Peter Nowak was gehhin on with during KD's time at Philly. The coach is described as a "loose cannon". Ah wonder if dis flying in Antigua?

Regarding a 10-12 mile run mandated by Nowak due to a loss to Toronto:

"No f**king water put the water back, water will make you lose focus, and if you are thirsty you are weak."
Post by: Sam on January 07, 2016, 08:05:05 PM
F00ck him, a waste of good talent.

Everybody had a bad childhood including me, but do I grow up like a asshole especially if I had de talent this f00cker have.

Leave him they.

He throw away he career because he brain dead.

Post by: Quags on January 08, 2016, 12:18:19 AM
http://www.phillysoccerpage.net/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/1-5-16-Exhibit-C-Tab-1.pdf

Read between pages 75 and 85 (top of the document pagination, not bottom of each page) for a sample of what Peter Nowak was gehhin on with during KD's time at Philly. The coach is described as a "loose cannon". Ah wonder if dis flying in Antigua?

"No f**king water put the water back, water will make you lose focus, and if you are thirsty you are weak."
Water gives you cramps when running , you need your second wind.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2016, 06:54:29 AM

Water gives you cramps when running , you need your second wind.

Because players who hydrate during matches are interested in cramping. And because endurance runners find that hydration stations along marathon courses are a nuisance. Even players who experience injury during games are at a loss as to why they are handed water bottles.
Post by: Majestic on January 19, 2016, 08:47:36 AM
Flex...care to share any info about the relationship between Keon and Coach Hart? Has there been any contact from either end to hopefully fix this? Is a recall even an option?
Post by: Flex on January 19, 2016, 08:54:29 AM
Flex...care to share any info about the relationship between Keon and Coach Hart? Has there been any contact from either end to hopefully fix this? Is a recall even an option?

I am not sure about the current situation.

Hart is not a coach that is quick to shoot down anyone.

From my sources, I heard that Keon messed up more than once, tickets and arrangements were made and he just took it on his own to be a no show, to date he never even bothered reaching out.

Calls were also made to him, no answer and he did not bother to return them either.

Not sure what has caused this, if its true.

Post by: Majestic on January 19, 2016, 10:13:15 AM
much thanks. Ah still in yuh corner Skilla...organise nah
Post by: Coach on January 19, 2016, 10:39:57 AM
Would he be able to get in the starting 11 if everyone is available including Molino and Cummings?
Post by: maxg on January 19, 2016, 11:03:56 AM
I not leaving out these guys who been coming every time called, irregardless of all that KD himself felt was wrong, and a coach who went for months under the same tata he couldn't stand..and leave out those guys for someone who might come, and might show up, if everything is allright, and the birds whistling that day.. especially, if I'm not to sure that his game will make all that much a difference...but if he want to push for a place, thru performance where he is, I won't ignore him.
Unfortunately not much has changed on both sides of the coin..still head game or (haul) tails
Post by: Sam on January 19, 2016, 11:07:49 AM
3 strike out, very unreliable.

Leave him they.

We don't need day dreamers on de field either.

Post by: asylumseeker on January 21, 2016, 06:31:07 PM
Does Nowak's move to the Ekstraklasa hold any implications for Daniel? Could be.
Post by: Tallman on February 23, 2016, 01:02:26 PM
Keon Daniel underwent successful surgery on Monday for a fractured cheekbone suffered in a friendly match against Ukrainian club, FC Zirka Kirovohrad last Thursday in Alanya, Turkey. Here he is surrounded by his Miedź Legnica teammates who paid him a visit in the hospital. We wish him a speedy and complete recovery.

(https://scontent-atl3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/12509223_10153977590284314_5351194749425891572_n.jpg?oh=3803115cd42e6050eee3bd7a72ae1136&oe=5765B48C)
Post by: asylumseeker on February 23, 2016, 02:43:11 PM
Well that settles that: Keon won't be available for a call up. :devil:
Post by: asylumseeker on December 30, 2016, 05:13:29 AM
Keon Daniel underwent successful surgery on Monday for a fractured cheekbone suffered in a friendly match against Ukrainian club, FC Zirka Kirovohrad last Thursday in Alanya, Turkey. Here he is surrounded by his Miedź Legnica teammates who paid him a visit in the hospital. We wish him a speedy and complete recovery.

(https://scontent-atl3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/12509223_10153977590284314_5351194749425891572_n.jpg?oh=3803115cd42e6050eee3bd7a72ae1136&oe=5765B48C)

According to a media report (also verified independently), Keon had another surgery recently. This one for a growth in the area near his meniscus. This occurred in late November and the projected healing/rehabilitation period is 7 weeks. He was treated by the physician who treats the Polish national team.

http://m.sportowefakty.wp.pl/pilka-nozna/648922/keon-daniel-przeszedl-zabieg-kolana
Post by: Tallman on January 10, 2018, 06:20:52 PM
Midfielder Keon Daniel will be on trial next week with Polish I Liga club, GKS Tychy (http://katowickisport.pl/pilka-nozna/katowickisport-pl-pilka-nozna-nice-i-liga,i-liga-keon-daniel-przejdzie-do-gks-u-tychy-,artykul,840549,1,12476.html)
Post by: Tallman on January 23, 2018, 01:01:47 PM
Midfielder Keon Daniel has signed with Polish I Liga club, GKS Tychy for the remainder of the 2017/18 season with the option of extending it for an additional year (http://gkstychy.info/pilka/113,wiadomosci/13223,doswiadczony_pomocnik_wzmocnil_gks_tychy/).

(http://gkstychy.info/pliki/keon2.jpg)
Post by: skins on January 23, 2018, 01:19:33 PM
Good going
Post by: kounty on January 23, 2018, 01:46:20 PM
not bad at all!
Just noticing the otherday that Poland ranked in the top 10 in the last FIFA rankings.
Post by: Tallman on January 24, 2018, 01:53:32 PM
WATCH: Keon Daniel announces his arrival to the GKS Tychy supporters.

https://www.youtube.com/v/1rm88dVA8zo
Post by: Tallman on November 24, 2018, 04:37:04 PM
WATCH: Keon Daniel breaks his three-year goalscoring drought with an absolute scorcher during GKS Tychy's 4-0 win over GKS Katowice.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Fg-Z2y9emcI?start=147
Post by: asylumseeker on November 24, 2018, 06:00:09 PM
Three years?
Title: Keon Daniel: Life in Poland and playing with Yorke and Latapy
Post by: Tallman on August 30, 2020, 11:25:14 AM
Keon Daniel: Life in Poland and playing with Yorke and Latapy
By James Rowe (cfbfootball.com)

JR ”You signed for Polish team GKS Tychy in 2018.How are you enjoying your time at the club so far and how would you describe a club such as GKS Tychy?”

KD ”For me my time at GKS Tychy so far has been great.I always stay positive in everything that I do.I have been enjoying my time at the club so far. As in life there are always circumstances of up’s and down’s but you have to make it work.I enjoy being around the players and backroom staff at GKS Tychy.We have a good mix of young and also experienced players.I am not a guy who speaks a lot and for some players that may seem strange but it is just may way of living.I was born on the small island of Lambeau in Trinidad & Tobago and coming from this island we are very easy going people”

JR ”You played for Philadelphia Union do you look back on your time in at the club and in the MLS and do you have any particular highlights or memories?”

KD ” Of course, Philadelphia is like home to me to be honest. I was loved there by many and I did great for this club. Philadelphia Union will always be in my heart.Playing there meant a lot. The people and the fans at the club were fantastic. It is such a beauty to see that when you go to warm up to play games that 15,000 people are enjoying you while you warm up and your adrenalin is pumping things like this mean so much and I really appreciated my time in Philadelphia and it is a lifetime memory for me.”

JR ”You have been capped by your country of Trinidad & Tobago.How do you look back on representing your country and do you have any special memories and highlights?”

KD ” Yes of course, First of all representing your country is an honour. It has always been an honour for me. I got a chance and without my country and playing for the national team maybe I may never have gone outside of the country. I made my debut at the age of 19 playing alongside some of the best players that country has ever produced in my opinion such as Dwight Yorke and Russell Latapy and being able to play matches in the Azteca Stadium in Mexico and also in the United States and Costa Rica these are highlight games. Being a player that played locally in my country and having the opportunity to go on to play against opponents who were playing for some of the biggest clubs in world such an experience can only make you better as a player. It opened my eyes to a lot of things in life and in football and I really appreciate everything single time I played for my country.During all of my 55 caps I have always worked hard and done my best. My country is always in my heart.”

JR ”You mentioned with playing with some great players whilst on international duty with Trinidad & Tobago.With your experience at club and international level could you say who are among the best players you have played alongside so far in your career?”

KD ”I have been fortunate to play with a lot of great players to be honest.I played with Dwight Yorke and Russell Latapy. They are two of Trinidad and Tobago’s most decorated players.They are also two of the most highly talented that I know of. Dwight Yorke did great things at Manchester United and I had the opportunity to train with him every day and to talk to him and understand a lot of things about football. Russell Latapy also played for FC Porto and Glasgow Rangers and Hibernian in Scotland.At club level I played with Brazilian Kleberson and Faryd Mondragon at Philadelphia Union but I also respect every other player that I played with regardless of level.”

JR ”I can imagine in your position as a midfielder that you have played against some difficult opponents through the years. Are there opponents that stand out for you in terms of talent and ability?”

KD ”Yes there are a lot , Playing international matches against the likes of Bryan Ruiz and Rafael Marquez.Even when I played in the MLS I played against Thierry Henry , David Beckham and Landon Donavon. I am sorry for the players that I hav not mentioned because it has been a great journey for me as a young player growing up and playing against so many great players. During my time in the MLS I played against Real Madrid and you know the caliber of players that they have Xabi Alonso , Cristiano Ronaldo the full works and having the chance rub shoulders with these guys means a lot.”

JR ” Finally Keon. Could you say who are the managers and coaches who have meant a lot to you and who have played a key role in your development as a professional footballer? ”

KD ” First of all I want to say thanks to Mr BERTILLE ST CLAIR. He was a great man he is the first coach that really discovered my talent when I was growing up as a kid.He was the first coach to being me around the national team so I grew with him from the age of 4-15 years old and the things that he taught me were priceless because he is also a good friend of Sir Alex Ferguson. He used to run the football coaching school in the island that I was born. He spotted my talent at the age of 4 years old and he also gave me great affection and love.At times he had to be very tough on me but I understand that this is what he had to do. He also coached Dwight Yorke to go on to become the play that he became so I want to make sure that his name is included in this interview in capital letters because he is the person who took me as a young kid and taught me the ways , life and discipline of football and the hard working ways of football too.I view him as like a father of all fathers and he showed me the way. I could not do an interview without mentioning his name.There are other coaches such as Leo Beenhakker and Francisco Maturana who managed Colombia at the 1994 World Cup in the United States. These coaches also showed me many things and gave me so much confidence to become what I am now. I also cannot leave the other coaches out even if their names are not as big as the coaches that I mentioned because you have to respect everyone and everyone players a part in your life to become what you are. I want to be able to send the good words out for the younger kids to read and let them know that working hard is always a priority in order to reach where you want to reach.”
Post by: Tallman on March 19, 2022, 09:26:34 AM
With Cunupia FC now.