Sports => Football => Topic started by: Sam on September 07, 2011, 06:52:45 AM

Title: Playing players out of position.
Post by: Sam on September 07, 2011, 06:52:45 AM
Why foreign coach does feel they could come here and do what they want ?, now, I for one prefer a foreign coach because them locals does whine and cry to much and they dont like to improve themselves as coaches, they dont like to do homework either.

But some of these foreign coach does get me sah...

This is not Africa, South America or Europe where they have an abundance of talent to choose from.

We have de talent but not de program.

You mean Otto Pfister believe that we MOST attacking player Carlos Edwards is a left back ? so if we come of of this group, he go make Mexico and Costa Rica poison we.

We have no left footers who play on we starting team ? (Adams, Pacheco, Collin Samuel, Joevin Jones, Noel Williams, Bentick, Javed Mohammed, Kevon Neaves  ,,,nobody could make de team) ?

Ah cant wait for Jlloyd Samuel to come back..... but ah worried, we always need back up...

I cant get de memory of Anthony Wolfe game as a right back against USA, how they toy him out off meh head.

Mr Otto, you do not use important games to experiment.

So far, Otto look decent as a coach and I like how he is de only coach so far to take a chance and put Keon in de center of we midfield, but come on Otto.
Title: Re: Playing players out of position.
Post by: Arimaman on September 07, 2011, 07:05:52 AM
I don't understand yuh frustration.  Doesn't Carlos play right back fuh Ipswich and he have a left foot?  Fuh pete's sake man he is a professional and he plays where the coach asks.  That's what committment is. 

Regarding Anthony Wolfe, I was at that game in Nashville but I also saw Cyd Gray shit down he self in a game against CR and tallman play tata against Canada, so one game don't make the man good or bad.

As fuh left back, I believe Jlloyd Samuel is the solution but he some issues to resolve.

All this to say relax nah.  We have 6 points out of 6.  Wham you is chicken little o' wha?
Post by: trinikev on September 07, 2011, 07:07:23 AM
I disagree that Carlos is our most attacking player. Maybe 2-3 years ago, but not anymore.

Also, I must ask...if Pfister had put him at right back, would you have had the same issue? Because Carlos has played at right back quite a few times for T&T, and as far as i'm aware he also plays there for Ipswich. So to me, it's really not that big a deal. Right back really not that different to left back....same duties, just on the other side of the field.

I just see it as Pfister finding a way to get his best players on the field.
Post by: kicker on September 07, 2011, 07:13:20 AM
The idea of converting players, or enhancing a player's versatility by using him in more than one area of the field is nothing new...that's football.  It's a way of increasing depth without adding to the roster, and for some players it's even lengthened their career.

I with Arimaman on this one - Sam yuh need tuh relax. 

If we can't afford to "experiment" against Bermuda and Barabados, we in real trouble. 
Post by: Sam on September 07, 2011, 07:18:59 AM
Fellas, allyuh not understanding meh..

I am happy we have 6 points, I looking at down de road.

We need a solid left back, leave Carlos on the wing, either wing.

And if allyuh cool with experimenting with we opening two games, then that is fine, because really and truly Otto didn't get no games to prepare he team, thanks to de TTFF.

Time go tell though..

I still dont like the idea of Carlos in left back !!! but we go see.
Post by: davidephraim on September 07, 2011, 07:21:21 AM
I with arimaman on dis also  as well as the other 3 subsequent posts because they all made sense.
Leh we wait for otto to really make a mistake before we cry Shame because so far, de man just being a coach. If anything, I would rather see our players suck it up and try their best in whatever position the coach need them at this junction. De coach clearly say that every game is a different game and as we proceed things will be made more clinical.
Post by: kicker on September 07, 2011, 07:25:33 AM

I still dont like the idea of Carlos in left back !!! but we go see.

I agree it's not ideal, but yuh know how these long campaigns go - depth and flexibility is a good thing - getting Carlos comfortable in the LB position could prove to be a blessing in disguise.  I think the problem is that he looked very uncomfortable there his first time out, so ppl were concerned...Let's see if he grows into it.  

As yuh say, we go see...
Post by: dinho on September 07, 2011, 07:27:29 AM
I happy with the results, but I also not a big fan of Carlos at LB.

I doh mind trying players in different positions but the players have to have the attributes to adapt to the position.

For example, when we were short of right back cover in Germany and subsequent to that, we could have put Carlos there because he is defensively sound and he is fast going up the wing and tracking back.

That said, to play someone out of position at left back the key requirement is that they need to be fully confident with the left foot and that is not what I saw from Carlos in the Bermuda game and it showed. He kept cutting inside to favor his right and that narrows the field and upsets the formation. Furthermore, i not really keen on wasting our best right sided player out on the left.

All said though, I think having to chook him there is more an indictment of our left back situation than on the coach or anything else, it says we don't have one good left back in the country who could come in and do a job.

Jlloyd Samuel gonna be key.
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 07, 2011, 07:33:38 AM
Those who have SEEN the youthman Joevin Jones play at LB, what are your thoughts on him?

I agree w/most posters above BTW, no issue w/CE playing there if we have difficulty filling that role w/JLS unavailable, particularly if at RB we have decent (AW) options...
Post by: doc on September 07, 2011, 07:36:37 AM
I happy with the results, but I also not a big fan of Carlos at LB.

I doh mind trying players in different positions but the players have to have the attributes to adapt to the position.

For example, when we were short of right back cover in Germany and subsequent to that, we could have put Carlos there because he is defensively sound and he is fast going up the wing and tracking back.

That said, to play someone out of position at left back the key requirement is that they need to be fully confident with the left foot and that is not what I saw from Carlos in the Bermuda game and it showed. He kept cutting inside to favor his right and that narrows the field and upsets the formation. Furthermore, i not really keen on wasting our best right sided player out on the left.

All said though, I think having to chook him there is more an indictment of our left back situation than on the coach or anything else, it says we don't have one good left back in the country who could come in and do a job.

Jlloyd Samuel gonna be key.
Maybe that is what the coach asked of him ::)
Post by: Trinidad Sports Reality on September 07, 2011, 07:39:56 AM
relax pro league starting Friday the coach will be at the games at he will unearth new talents so he should be better equipped for the games in October big double header Friday too 5pm NE VS T&TEC and 7pm Cale vs DF Marvin Lee Stadium
Post by: davidephraim on September 07, 2011, 07:44:29 AM
relax pro league starting Friday the coach will be at the games at he will unearth new talents so he should be better equipped for the games in October big double header Friday too 5pm NE VS T&TEC and 7pm Cale vs DF Marvin Lee Stadium

A sobering thought dey Palmer. On another note, I find the team seem to be a little more friendly toward each other than in the past. Like one unit. Dont know if dat is Otto or KJ but someone got the team heart beating together. Now they have to play together more and everything will be everything.
Blast from the past...  Latas and yorke moving in de rover and everybody else in the team bus. Talk about team cohesion!
Post by: madness on September 07, 2011, 07:44:45 AM
guys remember, the coach haven't seen these players in action at a international level. so putting players in there incorrect positions is for the the coach to analysis the players ability. i believe the players knows there roles. and the next game they will do better.  
Post by: Touches on September 07, 2011, 07:46:15 AM
But a right-footed man on a left...enables you to cut in and slap with yuh stronger foot.

But is primary school or wha...the man is a professional. If he cannot play with both feet competently he does not deserve to be on a national football team, Or any pro team for that matter.

JJloyd is d man to hold down that spot and will be there by the next round.

Sam...Carlos real slow down...he ent have it like before. It might be better he sit back and tackle than play he running line, losing ball and cyar recover.

Joevin Jones ent stand out for me when he was under Latapy...and that was the same calibre of opposition.

Post by: FF on September 07, 2011, 07:46:54 AM
I forget I was going and make ah thread on this topic...

it was going to be... "WHAT IS THE BIG DEAL WITH CARLOS PLAYING LEFT BACK?"

Maybe I biased... because I am right footed and I grow up playing left back and right back predominantly...
i also played stopper... and later on started playing left and right wing which is where i play now... I can also play up front... I does also goalkeep... because I is ah ball peong... and I believe anybody who have ambitions to play top level ball should understand every position and be at least capable at it, notwithstanding physical limitations.

Now I played against Carlos Edwards and I distinctly remember my coach switching me from left to right to help neutralize Carlos for st anthony's because he was playing on de left!! he used to switch too but he was coming down de left!!
De man is athletic and have all de tools to play ah wing back... so his left foot may not be his strongest asset but it is capable and he has de awareness and football brain to compensate on dat side... and get de job done

At de end of de day, I would prefer Carlos elsewhere eh... but in 2006 Avery John get a red card and Cyd Grey had to go over and excel at left back... what we go do when we in a tight spot against Mexico in de Azteca and J'lloyd get a red or injured and we done make all we subs?

Edit: I vote "it depends" btw

Also I don't believe Carlos at left back is an experiment... he was asked to do a job
Post by: asylumseeker on September 07, 2011, 07:53:49 AM
The idea of converting players, or enhancing a player's versatility by using him in more than one area of the field is nothing new...that's football.  It's a way of increasing depth without adding to the roster, and for some players it's even lengthened their career.

If we can't afford to "experiment" against Bermuda and Barabados, we in real trouble. 

Precisely.
Post by: weary1969 on September 07, 2011, 08:05:34 AM

Precisely.

EXACTLYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN
Post by: asylumseeker on September 07, 2011, 08:16:19 AM
Any coach taking over a squad holds the prerogative of aligning players as he or she sees fit regardless of what occurred under prior management. What's so difficult about that?

Coaching is an art, it's not an exact science ... although there are some "scientific" tools that help the process along.

If rigidity and orthodox wisdom were the order of the day, a Jose Luis Chilavert free kick or a Rogerio Ceni free kick would never have become part of the collective institutional wisdom of football. Similarly, there was a time when it was unorthodox to play a predominantly left-footed player on the right. Once the benefits of that became apparent, the naysayers grew to silence. There are other examples of innovation.

Leh we let coachman do he wuk nah. Any coach getting paid $45-50K a month should be able to flex in the interest of us getting our $$$'s worth.

Thus far the most "revolutionary" thing Otto has done is to begin to unify what was not too long ago a disheveled, tattered national shame AND to neutralize any rumblings of rebellion and discontent. Other than that, at this stage, any purported reconfiguring of players is not revolutionary.

Post by: Deeks on September 07, 2011, 08:31:18 AM
Allyuh making me feel sorry for the coach. We only had one practice game before Ber. and B'dos. He is not experimenting. This is for real guys. Real deal. Carlos is a pro. If he is not up to it, the coach should find someone else. But the choices are very few. Just remember he getting advice from his assistance coaches.
Post by: Football supporter on September 07, 2011, 10:01:50 AM
To be fair, we don't know what Pfisters long term plans are for the team. I know he's interested in Kevaughan Connell on the left and Samuel could play there too. But remember, when you have a small squad, which we have, players need to interchange.

Lets say Samuel starts at left back and pulls a hamstring....Carlos can slot straight in. Also, by Carlos cutting inside from the left, this leaves space for a wideman to exploit. If he plays straight up the line, your wideman must cut inside. Another benefit of cutting inside is that it creates a two wing option, with the wide left man and the central midfielder moving wide right.

Running in direct lines reduces your ability to create diagonal movement, which is the most potent way of getting behind defenders.

Finally, right footed left backs tend to show their opponent inside so they can tackle easier. This reduces their crossing options and forces them into traffic.
Post by: weary1969 on September 07, 2011, 10:04:42 AM
To be fair, we don't know what Pfisters long term plans are for the team. I know he's interested in Kevaughan Connell on the left and Samuel could play there too. But remember, when you have a small squad, which we have, players need to interchange.

Lets say Samuel starts at left back and pulls a hamstring....Carlos can slot straight in. Also, by Carlos cutting inside from the left, this leaves space for a wideman to exploit. If he plays straight up the line, your wideman must cut inside. Another benefit of cutting inside is that it creates a two wing option, with the wide left man and the central midfielder moving wide right.

Running in direct lines reduces your ability to create diagonal movement, which is the most potent way of getting behind defenders.

Finally, right footed left backs tend to show their opponent inside so they can tackle easier. This reduces their crossing options and forces them into traffic.

His long term plans would emerge if he gets paid. 
Post by: Controversial on September 07, 2011, 10:14:31 AM

Maybe I biased... because I am right footed and I grow up playing left back and right back predominantly...
i also played stopper... and later on started playing left and right wing which is where i play now... I can also play up front... I does also goalkeep... because I is ah ball peong... and I believe anybody who have ambitions to play top level ball should understand every position and be at least capable at it, notwithstanding physical limitations.

Now I played against Carlos Edwards and I distinctly remember my coach switching me from left to right to help neutralize Carlos for st anthony's because he was playing on de left!! he used to switch too but he was coming down de left!!
De man is athletic and have all de tools to play ah wing back... so his left foot may not be his strongest asset but it is capable and he has de awareness and football brain to compensate on dat side... and get de job done

At de end of de day, I would prefer Carlos elsewhere eh... but in 2006 Avery John get a red card and Cyd Grey had to go over and excel at left back... what we go do when we in a tight spot against Mexico in de Azteca and J'lloyd get a red or injured and we done make all we subs?

Also I don't believe Carlos at left back is an experiment... he was asked to do a job

good post  :beermug:
Post by: Midknight on September 07, 2011, 10:24:06 AM
storm in a teacup.
Post by: Mose on September 07, 2011, 10:25:22 AM

I remember having a discussion with an old footballer from Diego Martin (a fella dey used to call Che) who remembers watching Carlos play as a youngster and him telling me that Carlos is actually a leftie. And I remember seeing him switching wings from time to time since he was at Sunderland.
Post by: Tenorsaw on September 07, 2011, 10:34:45 AM
I don't understand yuh frustration.  Doesn't Carlos play right back fuh Ipswich and he have a left foot?  Fuh pete's sake man he is a professional and he plays where the coach asks.  That's what committment is. 

Regarding Anthony Wolfe, I was at that game in Nashville but I also saw Cyd Gray shit down he self in a game against CR and tallman play tata against Canada, so one game don't make the man good or bad.

As fuh left back, I believe Jlloyd Samuel is the solution but he some issues to resolve.

All this to say relax nah.  We have 6 points out of 6.  Wham you is chicken little o' wha?

Just remember that Carlos shot to prominence playing as a full back for Luton Town.  He is older now, so he may not have that energy as five years ago, but he was doing OK defensively and still getting forward and scoring playing that way for Luton.  Gullit was a big midfielder and finished his career playing as a sweeper for Chelsea, so nothing is wrong with the conversion.  It's usually the quality players that are able to make that sort of transition later in their playing careers.
Post by: Controversial on September 07, 2011, 11:00:21 AM

I remember having a discussion with an old footballer from Diego Martin (a fella dey used to call Che) who remembers watching Carlos play as a youngster and him telling me that Carlos is actually a leftie. And I remember seeing him switching wings from time to time since he was at Sunderland.

vidale and them other relics in the broadcast booth talking nonsense, they can't compare themselves with pfister's experience and achievements, they are insecure.

pfister is developing a team that is versatile and is also experimenting against the weaker sides in the wcq.

Post by: soccerman on September 07, 2011, 11:05:26 AM
Carlos is a versatile player and can handle that role this rounds of WCQ
Post by: Ngozi on September 07, 2011, 12:43:30 PM

Just remember that Carlos shot to prominence playing as a full back for Luton Town.  He is older now, so he may not have that energy as five years ago, but he was doing OK defensively and still getting forward and scoring playing that way for Luton.  Gullit was a big midfielder and finished his career playing as a sweeper for Chelsea, so nothing is wrong with the conversion.  It's usually the quality players that are able to make that sort of transition later in their playing careers.

Solid point I saw the conversion with Matthaus as well
Post by: Big Magician on September 07, 2011, 12:48:07 PM
what about playing bad players "IN" position ??
Post by: Socapro on September 07, 2011, 12:52:39 PM
what about playing bad players "IN" position ??
:D

That too! If the coach is good enough to get rid of all bad players "IN" any position even on the bench we will do just fine!!

A good player by definition is versatile and can always adapt and play decent in most positions! :beermug:

Guess our player pool and right selection by the coach of the best available players is the key here!!
Post by: jai john on September 07, 2011, 12:54:36 PM
Yorke was a forward then midfielder at youth level and finally ended up as a forward ..kenwyn went to england as a defender , could not make the team was loaned out to a team needing a forward and the rest is history ...think he scored in about 7 consecutive games ...anthony rougier played forward for his club and central defender for T&T ...at the same time ! according to his club teammates that was a big joke as according to the comments >>." he could not defend to save his life " yet we know differently . latapy played left back trying to make an english team ...
dexter francis was a reserve right back for the defence force while playing for the national team in a central defensive position.... Jb was  a right back for most of his youth playing days ..yet was the central defender for the strike squad ....
...and densil theobald captained T&T !!! so it is good if it works is the bottom line ..if in switching around players we get a better team i have no problem wid dat. Its about team folks ...fabregas go play anywhere once he on de team ...it is about winning and team. let us stop this individual glory type of analysis ...he play good //he eh play good ......how did the team play should be the focus ? is the team better balanced ? is the team too slow ..not he running too slow ...TEAM folks TEAM!!!
How many folks remember de kaizer played midfield for germany yet ended up as a football great playing sweeper!

Specificall now I am sure old footballers will know that wing back is a specialist position you just cant put anyone there ...it is different to playing central defender where you have cover ...you on your own out there and all your mistakes are glaring ... you alone on de TV ...when you get ripped de whole world sees . It is sometimes better to put a player who knows what to look for in that postion even if he plays on de other side . Teams often set their trickiest players to rip the wingbacks ..look at where Real plays ronaldo..where Barcelona plays Messi .....look at barcelona ...abidal could play right or left wing back ..even central ..in fact abidal could play anywhere in defence and middle as well. I doh see man saying ..how you could do abidal dey when you play him on the left or de right ... So you see ...as someone said storm in a teacup !!
Post by: Controversial on September 07, 2011, 01:00:28 PM
Yorke was a forward then midfielder at youth level and finally ended up as a forward ..kenwyn went to england as a defender , could not make the team was loaned out to a team needing a forward and the rest is history ...think he scored in about 7 consecutive games ...anthony rougier played forward for his club and central defender for T&T ...at the same time ! according to his club teammates that was a big joke as according to the comments >>." he could not defend to save his life " yet we know differently . latapy played left back trying to make an english team ...
dexter francis was a reserve right back for the defence force while playing for the national team in a central defensive position.... Jb was  a right back for most of his youth playing days ..yet was the central defender for the strike squad ....
...and densil theobald captained T&T !!! so it is good if it works is the bottom line ..if in switching around players we get a better team i have no problem wid dat. Its about team folks ...fabregas go play anywhere once he on de team ...it is about winning and team. let us stop this individual glory type of analysis ...he play good //he eh play good ......how did the team play should be the focus ? is the team better balanced ? is the team too slow ..not he running too slow ...TEAM folks TEAM!!!
How many folks remember de kaizer played midfield for germany yet ended up as a football great playing sweeper!

Specificall now I am sure old footballers will know that wing back is a specialist position you just cant put anyone there ...it is different to playing central defender where you have cover ...you on your own out there and all your mistakes are glaring ... you alone on de TV ...when you get ripped de whole world sees . It is sometimes better to put a player who knows what to look for in that postion even if he plays on de other side . Teams often set their trickiest players to rip the wingbacks ..look at where Real plays ronaldo..where Barcelona plays Messi .....look at barcelona ...abidal could play right or left wing back ..even central ..in fact abidal could play anywhere in defence and middle as well. I doh see man saying ..how you could do abidal dey when you play him on the left or de right ... So you see ...as someone said storm in a teacup !!

excellent points boss :beermug:

tell that to vidale and crew on i95 that asking for pfster head because he played edwards at left back ::)
Post by: Spursy on September 07, 2011, 01:05:47 PM
Why foreign coach does feel they could come here and do what they want ?, now, I for one prefer a foreign coach because them locals does whine and cry to much and they dont like to improve themselves as coaches, they dont like to do homework either.

This is not Africa, South America or Europe where they have an abundance of talent to choose from.

You mean Otto Pfister believe that we MOST attacking player Carlos Edwards is a left back ? so if we come of of this group, he go make Mexico and Costa Rica poison we.

We have no left footers who play on we starting team ? (Adams, Pacheco, Collin Samuel, Joevin Jones, Noel Williams, Bentick, Javed Mohammed, Kevon Neaves  ,,,nobody could make de team) ?

Ah cant wait for Jlloyd Samuel to come back..... but ah worried, we always need back up...

I cant get de memory of Anthony Wolfe game as a right back against USA, how they toy him out off meh head.

So far, Otto look decent as a coach and I like how he is de only coach so far to take a chance and put Keon in de center of we midfield, but come on Otto.

Some of you people are really dumb for been around football so long as they claim to be.

For one the international gap have been really close, there is no easy teams anymore. Every nation understands its 11v11 and that shows in every single game, both teams have a chance of winning. The difference is the Coach, and its players and how well they play together. Preparing a team is the first step, discipline is the other and having a good defense goes a long way.

With Otto we have that, he has given us the little things that other coaches in the past didnt, this is been overlooked by some of the people on here but its pretty clear to me that we have a real team at this point in time. His decsions as coach is just that, critise him all you want, tnt are getting the results we need with the quality we have. Lets be realistic, this bunch of players need this coach with experience and tactically we are there. So if the player implement the style of play the coach has introduced we will be a very competitive team.

Other notes as well, we have pro players vs mediocre teams with wild kicks and disturbing playing conditions, no one wants to get injured and the other teams dont want to get trashed. I see nothing wrong with players been proactive and vesatile enough to switch positions.

The coach said his team any plaeyr can score and over lapping wing backs will expose the backline in a big way, been able to adapt and fit in for the overlapping player is important in this style of play.

If you dont know wtf u talking about or how this coach operates then please shut the hell up and watch and learn. Everyone wants to be the coach but only the coach is responsible for the team and how it represents its country/club.

I am pleased with the work our coach has put in, and he has given us a solid start to a very dangerous wcq with NO EASY TEAMS.

3 games, no yellows, no goals against, 3 wins. We actually have a decent wall now and defending corners properly.. something that we havent seen in a long long time...even with yorke 2006 team.

I like the solid defensive style of play because we can score goals. Atleast been able to defend for 90+ minutes will ensure we get atleast a draw. If you play well defensively there will always be chances at the other end if you have good players, inter underlined this with Jose at inter. We are not at a level to play total football yet so for now we can settle for been the best defensive team in the region. I happy with that, not alot of goals to cheer for but atleast we wont get trashed.  :beermug:

Ending notes, Otto is a world class coach and is very old. He has seen and done more than we can imagine, more so than vidale and the other rehabs that claim to know everything about football. Unprofessional fools bussing the man salary and knocking our head coach in the media and we are okay with this to let it continue.

I have no respect for vidale and the other rehabs and if any of you have any sense you would feel the same. I trust this coach even more than don leo because he is actually building a team and not trying to make shift to get wholesale results. We as a people are supporting our team and we dont need to bring down the spirits of the coach because we think we know better SHUT THE @#$!@ UP . Let the man do his bloody job.

If we dont qualify we can appoint the corneals or even rehire latas so everyone in the vidale bandwagon go be happy our money going to local coaches  ::) ::) ::) ::) bloody haters
Post by: madness on September 07, 2011, 09:59:00 PM
i totally agreed with your comments. let d coach do his thing and he has the experience and the knowledge of the game. i can't wait for the next match soon....
Post by: Controversial on September 07, 2011, 10:21:07 PM

Some of you people are really dumb for been around football so long as they claim to be.

For one the international gap have been really close, there is no easy teams anymore. Every nation understands its 11v11 and that shows in every single game, both teams have a chance of winning. The difference is the Coach, and its players and how well they play together. Preparing a team is the first step, discipline is the other and having a good defense goes a long way.

With Otto we have that, he has given us the little things that other coaches in the past didnt, this is been overlooked by some of the people on here but its pretty clear to me that we have a real team at this point in time. His decsions as coach is just that, critise him all you want, tnt are getting the results we need with the quality we have. Lets be realistic, this bunch of players need this coach with experience and tactically we are there. So if the player implement the style of play the coach has introduced we will be a very competitive team.

Other notes as well, we have pro players vs mediocre teams with wild kicks and disturbing playing conditions, no one wants to get injured and the other teams dont want to get trashed. I see nothing wrong with players been proactive and vesatile enough to switch positions.

The coach said his team any plaeyr can score and over lapping wing backs will expose the backline in a big way, been able to adapt and fit in for the overlapping player is important in this style of play.

If you dont know wtf u talking about or how this coach operates then please shut the hell up and watch and learn. Everyone wants to be the coach but only the coach is responsible for the team and how it represents its country/club.

I am pleased with the work our coach has put in, and he has given us a solid start to a very dangerous wcq with NO EASY TEAMS.

3 games, no yellows, no goals against, 3 wins. We actually have a decent wall now and defending corners properly.. something that we havent seen in a long long time...even with yorke 2006 team.

I like the solid defensive style of play because we can score goals. Atleast been able to defend for 90+ minutes will ensure we get atleast a draw. If you play well defensively there will always be chances at the other end if you have good players, inter underlined this with Jose at inter. We are not at a level to play total football yet so for now we can settle for been the best defensive team in the region. I happy with that, not alot of goals to cheer for but atleast we wont get trashed.  :beermug:

Ending notes, Otto is a world class coach and is very old. He has seen and done more than we can imagine, more so than vidale and the other rehabs that claim to know everything about football. Unprofessional fools bussing the man salary and knocking our head coach in the media and we are okay with this to let it continue.

I have no respect for vidale and the other rehabs and if any of you have any sense you would feel the same. I trust this coach even more than don leo because he is actually building a team and not trying to make shift to get wholesale results. We as a people are supporting our team and we dont need to bring down the spirits of the coach because we think we know better SHUT THE @#$!@ UP . Let the man do his bloody job.

If we dont qualify we can appoint the corneals or even rehire latas so everyone in the vidale bandwagon go be happy our money going to local coaches  ::) ::) ::) ::) bloody haters

good points  :beermug:

to add to that, pfister imo is the 2nd best coach in the region after klinsman, so TT has an excellent chance of qualifying
Title: Edwards wasted at left back
Post by: Tallman on September 08, 2011, 04:50:06 AM
Edwards wasted at left back
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

THE creative talent of Carlos Edwards is wasted in defence - especially as left back.

Since Russell Latapy left the game, the Trinidad and Tobago have struggled to get a creative force in central midfield. Densill Theobald, Khaleem Hyland and Chris Birchall can all pass the ball around on their day, but which one can break down a defence a la Lionel Messi?

The closest may be Hughtun Hector on a good day, but definitely Edwards, who has done it at times when he abandoned left back and pushed up centre field.

Edwards has that ability to turn multiple players with simple feints. He passes the ball well, can find his teammates, and can also score goals. Shouldn't he be tried further upfield?

Young left-back Akeem Adams was obviously nervous in the friendly against India, but is surely good enough to play against the likes of Barbados, freeing Edwards to push further up the field.

Think about the prospect of Edwards linking with Hayden Tinto and any of Keon Daniel, Hector or Lester Peltier on either side. At the same time Birchall, Clyde Leon, Theobald, or even Hyland are possible substitutes for Edwards, or can play behind him as a defensive midfielder.
Title: Re: Edwards wasted at left back
Post by: andre samuel on September 08, 2011, 04:56:24 AM
Edwards wasted at left back
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

THE creative talent of Carlos Edwards is wasted in defence - especially as left back.

Since Russell Latapy left the game, the Trinidad and Tobago have struggled to get a creative force in central midfield. Densill Theobald, Khaleem Hyland and Chris Birchall can all pass the ball around on their day, but which one can break down a defence a la Lionel Messi? The closest may be Hughton Hector on a good day, but definitely Edwards, who has done it at times when he abandoned left back and pushed up centre field.

Edwards has that ability to turn multiple players with simple feints. He passes the ball well, can find his teammates, and can also score goals. Shouldn't he be tried further upfield?

Young left-back Akeem Adams was obviously nervous in the friendly against India, but is surely good enough to play against the likes of Barbados, freeing Edwards to push further up the field.

Think about the prospect of Edwards linking with Hayden Tinto and any of Keon Daniel, Hector or Lester Peltier on either side. At the same time Birchall, Clyde Leon, Theobald, or even Hyland are possible substitutes for Edwards, or can play behind him as a defensive midfielder.

I feel Ian Prescott is "Sam"..............wha allyuh tink?

The funny ting is, if he played Akeem Adams and he is found wanting in the position, then they will blame de coach...........LOL.

Post by: madness on September 08, 2011, 05:17:18 AM
trinidad and tobago is winning there games. but it seems like they want to see more goals score. i think the coach is planning something. when tnt win out this group, i think he going to place edwards in his right position or maybe. lets c. the media is to negative on the coach decision. the coach has an winning formula, and plus i haven't seen the game, so i can judge edwards performance. i think everyone have their own way of thinking.   
Post by: Jay10 on September 08, 2011, 07:38:41 AM
Carlos is not a natural defender, but can defend. His left side was never his strongest. If the team needs him there at the moment, then he plays there.

He is STILL the most dangerous right sided player we have, and we need him there.

Touches pointed out that he can cut in and give the wide area to the winger. Problem is the winger (Roberts) is also right footed.
Post by: ZURITRESS on September 08, 2011, 08:50:05 AM
Experience, there is no better teacher in life. If you have a brand new team with alot of question marks that you have not been given time to address, what do you do?. You put your most experienced players in positions that are of concern because they are better equipped to handle it and that makes your goal of giving structure and direction a better chance of succeeding. The simple minded wakes up and sees $5.00 in his pocket and thinks i will go hungry today. A man of vision uses what he has to put $10.00 in his pocket and not go hungry. I grew up hearing from our wonderful T&T government that yes we stole the money, he, she ,all of we stole the money and yet still today a man like Jack Warner can win public office because he told you what he could do for you today, not where i will be or my children will be in 3-5 years time. And everybody knows who the man with the pitchfork is. If the goal is Brazil 2014 why are you complaining about successfully growing in 2011.
Post by: Ngozi on September 08, 2011, 09:16:39 AM
Akeem Adams is seriously overated ... personally I was of the impression that Carlos might have slowed down a little but if he could still run the wings I don't mind but he have to be replaced by decent cover namely Samuel also that could leave Roberts out the mix which i really don't want to do.
I think though playing him at the left midfield is affecting is influence on the game.
Post by: just cool on September 08, 2011, 09:38:50 AM
Akeem Adams is seriously overated ... personally I was of the impression that Carlos might have slowed down a little but if he could still run the wings I don't mind but he have to be replaced by decent cover namely Samuel also that could leave Roberts out the mix which i really don't want to do.
I think though playing him at the left midfield is affecting is influence on the game.
I don't think the coach will play roberts on the left wing again, and i also don't believe that he will be left out the team either, since he's taking his half chances. i believe roberts will pair up jones in the middle since he works well of of KJ. JMO though, don't quote me.  ;D
Post by: Spursy on September 08, 2011, 11:41:00 AM

to add to that, pfister imo is the 2nd best coach in the region after klinsman, so TT has an excellent chance of qualifying

No Klinnsman not a better coach, for many reasons, 1) inexperience( germany was home when they reach the semis) (at munich he failed to reach the players) 2) relies on young talent  too much

I saw USA vs Bel and CRC.. Wasn't impressed. I don't think usa will make it past second round and he may get sacked.. true story.
Post by: Controversial on September 08, 2011, 11:44:23 AM

No Klinnsman not a better coach, for many reasons, 1) inexperience( germany was home when they reach the semis) (at munich he failed to reach the players) 2) relies on young talent  too much

I saw USA vs Bel and CRC.. Wasn't impressed. I don't think usa will make it past second round and he may get sacked.. true story.

i also thought of the inexperience part as well compared to pfister, even if the WC was at home, it is still a feat nonetheless, i believe the costa rica match was an experiment imo

he is also known to experiment a lot, so we will see in the next rounds how it goes
Post by: madness on September 08, 2011, 12:36:29 PM
great point guys, usa may have problems too. tnt coach has more experience than the usa coach. i believe tnt will do fine. we just need to support the team. the team needs to focus on the current rounds and win all there games and focus on the other round.