Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on September 08, 2011, 05:16:19 AM

Title: Football alert — watch for Shaquell Moore
Post by: Tallman on September 08, 2011, 05:16:19 AM
Football alert — watch for Shaquell Moore
T&T Newsday

THE national football hierachy is alerted to keep an eye out for Shaquell “Shaq” Moore.

This 14-year-old youngster, the son of ex-Signal Hill standout Wendell Moore, has earned a call up to the United States Under-17 Soccer Residency Programme.

He is one of 40 top soccer starlets called to begin training shortly with a view to selection on the United States under-17 national squad.

According to information, only the very best players are asked to join this under-17 residency programme which has become a symbol of United States soccer.

From age four, Shaquell became the protege of Tobago-born coach Bertyl “Plep” Baird, who is credited with forming his early football years at Lauderhill, Florida.

Also playing a part in Shaquell’s development were Trinidadian Garvin Quamina and Signal Hill, St Clair’s Coaching School and ex-national coach Bertille St Clair, who also coached his dad Wendell.

Shaquell comes from an eminent Tobago family which include attorney Deborah Moore-Miggins and nursing administrator Karen Moore-Nicholson.

Added to this, his sporting genes were also derived from his mother Michelle Goddard of Calder Hall,

The young “Shaq” as he is popularly called, said his international exposure began with a tour to the United Kingdom in 2008 through advisor Paul Maye.

Already, “Shaq” who is currently playing for Cobb Futbol Club/GI-SA Soccer Clubs and is a member of the Region III US Olympic Development Programme, has undergone training at Norweigan team Sogndal, and English teams Arsenal along with coaches from the Premiership Academy of Coaches for Manchester City, Blackburn and Aston Villa.

A central midfielder, “Shaq” started all 15 matches in the ODP and has been ranked among the top five players in Georgia.

His team has won the last six major Georgia Youth Soccer Association under-12 tournaments together with the Atlanta Cup during which “Shaq” was named Most Valuable Player.

A brilliant academic student, “Shaq” is being courted by Austrian Red Bulls and received an invitation to visit Salzburg for trials with the team.
Title: Re: Football alert — watch for Shaquell Moore
Post by: madness on September 08, 2011, 05:33:18 AM
i have a friend you has a son whose going to play for the us team. Ted W. Burnett, Congratulations to my son, Josh Burnett. See among Defenders: http://www.ussoccer.com/News/U-14-National-Development-Program/2011/08/Boys-U14-NDP-Identification-Camp-Underway-in-Carson.aspx

I know Wendall Moore very well, because i played with him when he was living in ny.
Post by: Arimaman on September 08, 2011, 06:07:58 AM
Big time player folks, big time....
Post by: Ngozi on September 08, 2011, 06:17:54 AM
Very cool kid too!!!
Flex remember I told you about this kid?
Post by: madness on September 08, 2011, 06:28:59 AM
which kid????
Post by: asylumseeker on September 08, 2011, 07:33:59 AM
Good luck to them.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 08, 2011, 07:36:03 AM
Someone told somebody to go out and find middies.
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 08, 2011, 12:16:52 PM
Very cool kid too!!!
http://www.youtube.com/v/amFEl7mbi0w
yup there was a post on him years ago on this forum ...
So when does tnt next under 17 team  screening start  ???
Post by: vb on September 08, 2011, 12:56:03 PM
I seem to remember Wendell Moore as a very decent player  back in the 80s.

Title: Roster finalized for Fall 2011 semester of U.S. soccer residency program
Post by: Tallman on September 30, 2011, 09:10:18 AM
Roster finalized for Fall 2011 semester of U.S. soccer residency program
ussoccer.com

The roster for the fall semester of U.S. Soccer’s Under-17 Men’s National Team Residency Program has been finalized with 32 players training in Bradenton, Fla., under head coach Wilmer Cabrera.

The group of players, all born in 1996, is at the beginning of a two-year cycle that will culminate with the 2013 CONCACAF U-17 Championship with the goal of qualifying for the 2013 FIFA U-17 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates. The U.S. is the only nation to have qualified for all 14 previous editions of the FIFA U-17 World Cup and is coming off a Round of 16 appearance in the 2011 event in Mexico.

The new group brings a range of experience with the U.S. U-15 Boys’ National Team and the U.S. Soccer Development Academy. Of the 32 players joining the Residency Program, 25 were part of the most recent U-15 BNT camp in July at The Home Depot Center, and 10 traveled with the team to Zagreb, Croatia, in May. DeAndre Robinson, Corey Baird, Wesley Wade and Tyler Turner all scored for the United States in a 4-1 win against Croatia on May 10.

There are 24 players representing Development Academy clubs, including Vernon Bailey, who was one of the youngest players at 2011 Finals Week, where he helped the Dallas Texans to a seventh place finish in the U-15/16 age group before joining FC Dallas this year. There are an astounding seven players on the roster representing the New York Red Bulls Academy and two each from Academy clubs Chivas USA, Concorde Fire, New England Revolution and San Jose Earthquakes.

NC Alliance and Westside Metros are the only other clubs with two representatives on Cabrera’s roster.

The U.S. players live on campus at the IMG Academies in Bradenton, Fla., and train in the morning under the guidance of Cabrera and assistant coaches Paul Grafer and Erik Imler. In the afternoon, the players attend classes at St. Stephens Episcopal School.

While in the full-time residency program, the U.S. team not only trains daily under Cabrera, but also has access to the IMG Academies facilities. The team regularly uses the state-of-the-art strength-training facilities, as well as brand new dormitories and meal rooms.

Beginning in 1999, the Residency Program has given players an opportunity to grow and move up the ladder in the world of soccer and become professionals in Major League Soccer, some of the biggest clubs in Europe and even make an impact on the full U.S. Men's National Team. The program in Bradenton provides players with an environment where they can prosper as individual players and come together as a team ahead of regional and world competition.

Since its inception, more than 300 players have been through the full-time Residency Program, and more than 100 of those players have moved on to Major League Soccer, or the professional leagues in Europe. Twenty-four players have also registered at least one cap with the full MNT: Freddy Adu, Gale Agbossoumonde, Juan Agudelo, Jozy Altidore, DaMarcus Beasley, Kyle Beckerman, Michael Bradley, Bobby Convey, Landon Donovan, Eddie Gaven, Omar Gonzalez, Eddie Johnson, Eric Lichaj, Justin Mapp, Chad Marshall, Dax McCarty, Oguchi Onyewu, Heath Pearce, Santino Quaranta, Robbie Rogers, Brek Shea, Jonathan Spector, Danny Szetela and Anthony Wallace.

U.S. U-17 Men’s National Team Roster by Position

GOALKEEPERS (4): Paul Christensen (Seattle Sounders FC; Woodinville, Wash.), Alek Gogic (New York Red Bulls; Fort Lee, N.J.) Evan Louro (New York Red Bulls; South River, N.J.), Nedin Tucakovic (San Jose Earthquakes; San Jose, Calif.)

DEFENDERS (9): Vernon Bailey (FC Dallas; Dallas, Texas), Conor Donovan (NC Alliance; Fuquay Varina, N.C.), Elijah Martin (Cal Odyssey; Fresno, Calif.), Matt Nance (Vardar SC Freiburg; Washington, Mich.), Kevin Politz (New York Red Bulls; Morganville, N.J.), John Requejo (Real So Cal; Carpinteria, Calif.), Bruno Scodari (Olney Boys and Girls Club; Silver Springs, Md.), Brandon Tetro (New York Red Bulls; Colts Neck, N.J.), Thomas Ziemer (Atletico Santa Rosa; Glen Allen, Calif.)

MIDFIELDERS (11): Adonis Amaya (Chivas USA; Westminster, Calif.), Jorge Calix (D.C. United; Alexandria, Va.), Steven Echevarria (New York Red Bulls; Slate Hill, N.Y.), Angel Heredia (San Jose Earthquakes; San Jose, Calif.), Guyllian Kabala (New England Revolution; Manchester, N.H.), Christopher Lema (New York Red Bulls; Ridgefield, N.J.), Declan McCabe (New England Revolution; Weston, Mass.), Herber Mejia-Flores (McLean Youth Soccer; Manassas Park, Va.), Shaquell Moore (Cobb FC; Powder Springs Ga.), Dean Rutherford (NC Alliance; Fuquay Varina, N.C.), Tyler Turner (South Central Premier; West Haven, Conn.)

FORWARDS (8 ): Corey Baird (San Diego Surf; Escondido, Calif.), Bradford Jamieson (Chivas USA; Los Angeles, Calif.), Danya Kafai (Juventus Sports Club; Redwood City, Calif.), DeAndre Robinson (Concorde Fire; Atlanta, Ga.), Rubio Rubin (Westside Metros; Beaverton, Ore.), Alejandro Segovia (Westside Metros; Beaverton, Ore.), Wesley Wade (New York Red Bulls; South Orange, N.J.), Dembakwi Yomba (Concorde Fire Academy; Lithonia, Ga.)

National Team Staff
Head Coach: Wilmer Cabrera (Lakewood Ranch, Fla.)
Assistant Coach: Paul Grafer (Sarasota, Fla.)
Assistant Coach: Erik Imler (Bradenton, Fla.)
Program Manager: Tim Ryder (Lakewood Ranch, Fla.)
Program Coordinator: Sam Pugsley (Bradenton, Fla.)
Equipment Coordinator: Jason Peters (St. Petersburg, Fla.)
Athletic Trainer: James Spinale (Sarasota, Fla.)
Athletic Trainer: Rory Blevins (Bradenton, Fla.)
Post by: Arimaman on September 30, 2011, 09:30:02 AM
Well done young man... Wish you all the best. 
Post by: Ngozi on September 30, 2011, 10:05:42 AM
Excellent stuff Shaquell  !!!!
Post by: Richard G. on September 30, 2011, 01:06:14 PM
Well done nephew. Congrats and keep up the good work.

Lata, blessings and enjoy de day
Richard G.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 30, 2011, 01:43:54 PM
Have we even begun to scout players yet?
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 30, 2011, 01:55:03 PM
Have we even begun to scout players yet?

:(
Post by: frico on September 30, 2011, 02:52:03 PM
If they playing for USA what that have to do wid TT,the interest is purely academic.
Post by: Ngozi on September 30, 2011, 04:50:38 PM
If the kid is to develop US is the place to do it .... ultimately for him to play for TT ... their house have to be in order ... else he becomes another wasted talent in a TT national team that bows out in round 1 of a qualifying competition.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 30, 2011, 07:10:18 PM
If the kid is to develop US is the place to do it .... ultimately for him to play for TT ... their house have to be in order ... else he becomes another wasted talent in a TT national team that bows out in round 1 of a qualifying competition.

sad but true...
Post by: davidephraim on September 30, 2011, 09:28:08 PM

not to mention this kid came to TnT and our screening committee said that he should pick up something else other than football. But you know how our standards in TnT are so very high. I fully understand why he could make de US U-17 but not even get a shot in the TnT set up. I continue to stand by our bias, prejudice undeveloped facilitators of our upcoming athletes. Those that pick yuh because it is politically correct too and shun many that have the genuine talent. Our selection processors are renowned worldwide for turning gold into cobalt and that has to be better than the water into wine trick meh mammy told me about in growing up. Long live de TnT selectors who forever hold a monopoly on de system and is hell bent on only introducing those that fit the criteria.  To find out what that criteria is... please subscribe to Iisahasshole.com for further details.

Quick note; Well done Tallman for the cover story!
Post by: Tallman on October 01, 2011, 06:41:36 AM

Is long time ah know bout him, but peeps wanted tuh kinda keep it under wraps fuh a lil while. Big up Garvin wit he dotish self  :laugh:
Post by: davidephraim on October 01, 2011, 08:18:00 AM

Is long time ah know bout him, but peeps wanted tuh kinda keep it under wraps fuh a lil while. Big up Garvin wit he dotish self  :laugh:

True dat and big up to coach G for real for doing a great job with dis yuteman!
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 01, 2011, 08:21:59 AM

not to mention this kid came to TnT and our screening committee said that he should pick up something else other than football. But you know how our standards in TnT are so very high. I fully understand why he could make de US U-17 but not even get a shot in the TnT set up. I continue to stand by our bias, prejudice undeveloped facilitators of our upcoming athletes. Those that pick yuh because it is politically correct too and shun many that have the genuine talent. Our selection processors are renowned worldwide for turning gold into cobalt and that has to be better than the water into wine trick meh mammy told me about in growing up. Long live de TnT selectors who forever hold a monopoly on de system and is hell bent on only introducing those that fit the criteria.  To find out what that criteria is... please subscribe to Iisahasshole.com for further details.

If they say he eh good he eh good
Post by: Arimaman on October 03, 2011, 06:15:31 AM

True dat and big up to coach G for real for doing a great job with dis yuteman!
LOL....  Tallman call Garvin dotish....ah go tell him.... 
Post by: fordy on October 03, 2011, 12:08:22 PM
hahahaha...Tallman alyuh good oui!! I'm sure Garvin go call yuh soon!!! :rotfl:
Post by: Tallman on November 30, 2011, 07:12:27 PM
You can see him right now on Fox Soccer Channel in the game between US U-17 and France. He's wearing #4.
Post by: Flex on November 30, 2011, 07:23:09 PM
Very cool kid too!!!

I pass his name a long time ago to the TTFF but they just ignored my email...
Post by: Tallman on November 30, 2011, 07:46:21 PM
You can see him right now on Fox Soccer Channel in the game between US U-17 and France. He's wearing #4.

Man jes take ah nice shot dat rock de crossbar.
Post by: MEP on November 30, 2011, 08:16:48 PM
I seem to remember Wendell Moore as a very decent player  back in the 80s.

Wendell wasn't a decent player he was an extremely good player who anchored a great Signal Hill team.....he should have gone to a D I school not CW Post but I guess is who makes the best offer. Definitely should have played at a higher level.
Post by: Deeks on November 30, 2011, 08:59:16 PM
In my honest opinion Wendell's son did the right thing in playing for the US at this point. TT football has to have it's house in order. Yes we use foreign born players, but on a vay-ki-vay basis. I don't know how they go about looking at foreign born players. We have Cameron Roget, how did this come about. But there is Deleon, Moore, Ranjitsigh fella from Canada. There is also a kid with Tobago parents from Maryland who is in Germany, Shaquille Phillips. And there are some we don't even know about. Right now we take almost all the foreign born girls because we lack good local girls who have experience. But if our local girls improve, we probably will use less and less foreign-born.

One thing is, we not seeing some of these foreign born regularly. Is mostly video tapes and snippets from youth and college games. I just happen to looking for a game on fox and saw the Big East with young Deleon. I think he is one we should pursue. I just feel Dilly son should play for TT. Just like if Latas or Dwight sons should do the same. But it don't always work out that way.  The foreign-born then have to come home and try out. It hard for yutes from Erin,Moruga, Bago to come to Ttini to tryout. What allyuh expect from  kids from LA, TO, Chicago, etc?
Post by: Tallman on November 30, 2011, 09:28:39 PM
One thing is, we not seeing some of these foreign born regularly. Is mostly video tapes and snippets from youth and college games. I just happen to looking for a game on fox and saw the Big East with young Deleon. I think he is one we should pursue. I just feel Dilly son should play for TT. Just like if Latas or Dwight sons should do the same. But it don't always work out that way.  The foreign-born then have to come home and try out. It hard for yutes from Erin,Moruga, Bago to come to Ttini to tryout. What allyuh expect from  kids from LA, TO, Chicago, etc?
Steups. Right here on this site we does keep track of over 100 college players every year. Is 2011, if ah player performing well, dey could call or e-mail de coach. All dem games does be taped, so dey could get full games. Potential players (male and female) in all age groups does contact we, and we does pass on de info. But is like de TTFF doh have ah sustained and systematic approach tuh scouting. Look at Sheanon Williams who is ah starting defender for de Union and a US youth international. We interview de man ah few years ago, and find out dat he used to go tuh Joe Public camps regularly over de August holidays. Since 2007 we profiling De Leon son.
Post by: CK1 on December 02, 2011, 10:47:52 AM
In my honest opinion Wendell's son did the right thing in playing for the US at this point. TT football has to have it's house in order. Yes we use foreign born players, but on a vay-ki-vay basis. I don't know how they go about looking at foreign born players. We have Cameron Roget, how did this come about. But there is Deleon, Moore, Ranjitsigh fella from Canada. There is also a kid with Tobago parents from Maryland who is in Germany, Shaquille Phillips. And there are some we don't even know about. Right now we take almost all the foreign born girls because we lack good local girls who have experience. But if our local girls improve, we probably will use less and less foreign-born.

Add the two brothers from Raleigh,NC to the list (names not to be released yet), one already in US u-15 pool, the other 9 and at a very high standard already. T&T needs a US based training program where these players could be brought in several times a year to train under US based Trini coaches.
Post by: elan on December 02, 2011, 12:49:48 PM
What's the benefits to playing for T&T?
Post by: Socapro on December 02, 2011, 01:38:56 PM
What's the benefits to playing for T&T?

Fans like us will love & worship him and the stadiums at home will be filled with adoring fans with female posters like Brownsugar throw their knickers at him?!  :-\
Title: US U17
Post by: Observer on March 23, 2013, 08:10:43 PM
The captain of the US U17 team is none other than the son of T&T's own Wendell Moore.

He looks a very good player, composed, defends well & makes good decisions in possession.
Title: Re: US U17
Post by: Richard G. on March 23, 2013, 08:42:34 PM
Nephew of mine  :) He's done very well.

Reppin for the Goddard-Moore clan :)

Post by: Trini _2026 on March 24, 2013, 05:17:38 AM
Moore is ranked #1 on top draw soccer players list ... Richard is tnt in his plans?
Post by: Richard G. on March 24, 2013, 11:12:43 AM
Highly unlikely. I haven't chatted with him concerning playing for T&T but let's be honest. Why would he venture into the unknown and very complicated world of T&T football when there's a certain amount of stability in US soccer? Can't see it happening to be honest.

Blessings and enjoy the day.
Richard G.
Post by: elan on June 06, 2013, 11:43:41 PM
This yuteman is class. Just watching him against Honduras from the qualifiers. The man understanding of his position is brilliant. Technically advanced and has very, very, very good timing in going forward. His speed is real.

Honestly I haven't seen a Fullback on our senior team for a while with this fella qualities......matter of fact he look like he could give Catillo some good competition for a fullback position on the USMNT.
Post by: Fyzoman on June 07, 2013, 07:07:34 AM
This yuteman is class. Just watching him against Honduras from the qualifiers. The man understanding of his position is brilliant. Technically advanced and has very, very, very good timing in going forward. His speed is real.

Honestly I haven't seen a Fullback on our senior team for a while with this fella qualities......matter of fact he look like he could give Catillo some good competition for a fullback position on the USMNT.

elan why yuh ha to come and try to spoil my morning :)

As everybody on here know (and probably fedup wid me?) this is ah man we REJECTED and mere months later he went on to CAPTAIN (!!!!) the USA US-17 (or one ah dem team)!!!!

So everytime I see did dis youth play, apart from admiring his poise/touch/skill/man everything man (!!!!) it just irks me that we allowed him to escape >:(

But yeah he is absolute class!!!!!
Post by: Rastaman on June 07, 2013, 07:16:58 AM

As everybody on here know (and probably fedup wid me?) this is ah man we REJECTED and mere months later he went on to CAPTAIN (!!!!) the USA US-17 (or one ah dem team)!!!!

So everytime I see did dis youth play, apart from admiring his poise/touch/skill/man everything man (!!!!) it just irks me that we allowed him to escape >:(

From my information we did not reject this player.....it was his older brother who was trying out for the U20 team. Shaquell was always going to play for the US Team.

In addition to this, he played in a training scrimage in Tobago, along side my son who was at the time training with the U17 team and i can tell you that i saw nothing special in him. Coaching, and playing in a better team is what made the difference.
Post by: Fyzoman on June 07, 2013, 03:53:50 PM
Thanks for the correction i was going on what has been repeatedly relay on de forum.

I also respect your opinion that coaching and a better team (probably) made the difference...but not because YOU didn't see nothing special in him doesn't mean that he wasn't special back then, unless you see him play when he was like 13/14? Just saying.
Post by: kaiser on June 07, 2013, 06:14:07 PM
He was rejected from the TnT u17 team  that is a fact. the coach said he was too small and not on par with the other players, keep in mind he was about 14 at the time. Nothing wrong with that  every coach is entitled to his opinion but that is what happened.
Post by: Fyzoman on June 07, 2013, 08:45:43 PM
He was rejected from the TnT u17 team  that is a fact. the coach said he was too small and not on par with the other players, keep in mind he was about 14 at the time. Nothing wrong with that  every coach is entitled to his opinion but that is what happened.
Yuh see dais I will stay being diplomatic and try not to sound like a know-it-all on dis forum, cause de minute yuh come on here and say something with yuh chest in air, here comes a forumite who might actually know different/or the truth about a situation...I learn dat from being on here on these years.

Seriously though ah doh know who to believe now :)
Post by: Rastaman on June 08, 2013, 10:50:00 PM
Thanks for the correction i was going on what has been repeatedly relay on de forum.

I also respect your opinion that coaching and a better team (probably) made the difference...but not because YOU didn't see nothing special in him doesn't mean that he wasn't special back then, unless you see him play when he was like 13/14? Just saying.
Saw him play in December.
Post by: Fyzoman on June 09, 2013, 08:57:28 AM

Saw him play in December.
Rastaman I does really, really try to keep away from doing de personal back and forth thing with peeps on here but dred...you see him play in December and he eh impress you at all??

Ok I guess everyone entitled to their opinion, but every time I have I have seen him he has impressed the hell out of me, so much so that I get why he has been given the captaincy of the US team...but maybe he had an off day when you saw him bredda.
Post by: Deeks on June 09, 2013, 10:24:15 AM
I am almost Shaq decision to play for the US had imput from his dad. Shaq is not the first Moore to deal with TT football. He dad played for TT and has plenty of stories to tell his son of his "wonderful" experience with the TTFA. Give it a rest, we probably was never going to get him anyway. Leh we just enjoy the ride.
Post by: Fyzoman on June 09, 2013, 03:32:52 PM
How yuh mean give it ah rest??

Is not like I expect him to turn tail and play for we, my thing is-and has always been-how come he can impress me and others who matter and not have impressed de clowns who pass themselves off as coaches et al in we football.

But I will take heed to your somewhat condescending advice and give it a rest.
Post by: Zeppo on June 10, 2013, 09:51:45 AM
Shaquell is currently in Germany undergoing trials with pro teams:

http://www.yanks-abroad.com/content.php?mode=show&id=10448
Post by: Fyzoman on June 10, 2013, 10:39:13 AM
Shaquell is currently in Germany undergoing trials with pro teams:

http://www.yanks-abroad.com/content.php?mode=show&id=10448

Zeppo doh get in dis nah, we in TnT have enough quality defenders so if one happen to fall in we lap and get rejected it's really no biggie;) Oh and if he doesn't 'impress' anyone at any of those German clubs, there's always Viet Nam or Cambodia? Ok that was uncalled for.

Ok I officially 'giving it ah rest' from now!!
Post by: Tallman on August 26, 2013, 03:11:46 PM
(https://sphotos-a-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash4/998629_715640741785756_1785831296_n.jpg)
Post by: Tallman on November 19, 2013, 05:01:51 PM
Shaquell Moore has been named as a finalist for the 2013 US Soccer Young Male Athlete of the Year Award.
http://www.ussoccer.com/About/History/Awards/2013-Young-Male-Athlete-of-the-Year-Finalists.aspx
Post by: Fyzoman on November 19, 2013, 05:22:49 PM
Shaquell Moore has been named as a finalist for the 2013 US Soccer Young Male Athlete of the Year Award.
http://www.ussoccer.com/About/History/Awards/2013-Young-Male-Athlete-of-the-Year-Finalists.aspx

I have nothing to say ;)
Post by: KND2 on November 19, 2013, 07:31:58 PM

Let we wait until he ready to get cap for the us national team before we get excited and put we name in the hat.

Only 10% of youth players make it to the senior team so who knows how good he will be

What happen to that other youth maung or what ever his name was..........

On another note....Tallman you getting old man the grays showing.....lol
Post by: Tallman on November 19, 2013, 08:17:47 PM
On another note....Tallman you getting old man the grays showing.....lol

Yeh boy, mankind getting old in dis rongs.
Post by: loyalist on November 19, 2013, 10:15:48 PM
I completed and passed my USSF National C License this summer, and Shaquille Moore was the main player discussed. We had to do a technical study on the US vs Guatemala in the u17  world cup qualifiers which was held in Panama. Trust me the way he is being touted by the US, I cant see him playing for another country, he was the captain of the US u17 team and he was named as their best player on that team during the tournament.
Post by: madness on November 20, 2013, 02:28:23 AM
There is a lot of Trinidadian player who didn't play at a high level but they are very good. We live in the US and we never look back for a simple fact that Trinidad and tobago don't have any foundation of building a good soccer or football program. They are very small mind.  i hope it change soon. There are a lot of ex players have there son playing at a high level. Trinidad needs to invest and show interest for these players
Post by: asylumseeker on November 20, 2013, 05:59:02 AM
I completed and passed my USSF National C License this summer, and Shaquille Moore was the main player discussed. We had to do a technical study on the US vs Guatemala in the u17  world cup qualifiers which was held in Panama. Trust me the way he is being touted by the US, I cant see him playing for another country, he was the captain of the US u17 team and he was named as their best player on that team during the tournament.

:applause:
Post by: Fyzoman on November 21, 2013, 04:56:40 PM
Once yuh know football, yuh coulda see dis youth, 3 (ok, ok, 2 1/2) years ago and know he is ah baller!!!

Why ah say 3 years is cause, when yuh see him play NOW, yuh done know he eh get so good in 3 years time, he had to have had that potential for those with a discerning eye to see ;)
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 26, 2013, 11:28:14 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/H_oTCcHL5Bk
Title: US teen star dreams of Manchester City move
Post by: Tallman on February 26, 2014, 01:19:12 PM
US teen star dreams of Manchester City move
By Eurosport

(http://l1.yimg.com/bt/api/res/1.2/Gy0U724m_Ln8zkXi6lRuAA--/YXBwaWQ9eW5ld3M7cT04NTt3PTYzMA--/http://media.zenfs.com/en-GB/blogs/euroscout-uk/Moore_2602.jpg)

US junior national team star Shaquell Moore is dreaming of playing for Manchester City but accepts he may have to start somewhere else first.

Moore, who is just 17 but turns out for his country’s under-20 side already, has turned heads in Europe with his fine performances both for the national team and at the IMG Academy in Florida.

The highly-rated midfielder is set to skip the traditional College soccer route into the professional game, and wants to earn a move to a European club as soon as possible.

He told Eurosport's Reda Maher:
“My dream team is Manchester City but I’ll probably have to start up somewhere else. The idea is Europe – England, Italy, Spain, Belgium or another European league.

“England may be tough initially because of work permit regulations, but Spain would be amazing, whether at a big club’s academy or a smaller team’s first team set-up.”

American sports has a culture peculiar to the country in that, traditionally, athletes of all sports are selected via the college draft system.

As a result, most MLS clubs do not have a comparable level of youth coaching facilities to their European counterparts.

This is where the IMG academy steps in, offering high-quality training for US athletes of senior high school age while allowing them to continue their education.

Some of its graduates continue through the College system, but Moore is eyeing a swift transition to club football, a transition which he hopes will see him earn senior national team colours for the United States and not Trinidad and Tobago, for whom he is also eligible.

He added:
“I want to go straight into the pro system, so IMG is the best place for me to maximise my talent.

“Three years ago I tried out for the Trinidad U15 team, getting ready for the World Cup cycle for this year.

“But that didn’t work out so I became involved with the US and joined the residency programme (where U16 and U17 prospects are coached full-time at IMG).

“I’m not really sure why it didn’t work out for Trinidad, it’s up to the coach, but there are no hard feelings.

“I’m still eligible if it doesn’t work out with the US. I’m not going to rule them out because of what happened at youth national.”

Moore’s dual eligibility comes from his father Wendell, who played for the Trinidad and Tobago national team.

There is no familial pressure to turn out for the Soca Warriors, though.

“My dad has completely left it up to me. I was born and raised in the US so (playing for the US) has always been a dream for me – but my dad played for TT so it’s in his heart.

“My brother also played for the TT U20 system – he’s in the College system now – so my dad is leaving it up to us.”

In addition to his pace, touch and reading of the game, Moore is also hugely versatile, able to play in a number of positions across the back and midfield.

His long-term hope is to cement his career in a role that many European clubs struggle to fill – the anchorman.

“My preferred position is defensive midfield, as I am able to both win and distribute the ball. I can also play as a full-back, as I enjoy overlapping and joining up with the attacks.

“I’m currently am playing right back for U20s, but I’m happy to play anywhere to help the team and improve my game.”

Indeed, you can watch his performances in an unfamiliar position, and make your own mind up about his potential. For now, things are looking good for Shaquell Moore.
Post by: futbolfan on February 26, 2014, 04:25:05 PM
Good luck in all of your future endeavors.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 26, 2014, 05:01:47 PM
Fyzo (or TM) ... who was the "guilty" coach?
Post by: Fyzoman on February 26, 2014, 05:35:02 PM
Asylum yuh done know ah was coming???

I honestly not too sure who it was, Eve/Cornmeal-The-Younger/Tallman Alma Mater coach?/some other CLOWN (!!!!)...I'm sure somebody on here knows though.

Good to hear it, 'from the horses mouth' though and best of luck to him!
Post by: asylumseeker on February 26, 2014, 05:42:40 PM
Asylum yuh done know ah was coming???

I honestly not too sure who it was, Eve/Cornmeal-The-Younger/Tallman Alma Mater coach?/some other CLOWN (!!!!)...I'm sure somebody on here knows though.

Good to hear it, 'from the horses mouth' though and best of luck to him!

But, of course ... ah hear de bugle sounding.

P.S. There's a reason ah put TM in (TM) form. My next move is PM form. :devil:
Post by: asylumseeker on February 26, 2014, 05:44:32 PM

From my information we did not reject this player.....it was his older brother who was trying out for the U20 team. Shaquell was always going to play for the US Team.

In addition to this, he played in a training scrimage in Tobago, along side my son who was at the time training with the U17 team and i can tell you that i saw nothing special in him. Coaching, and playing in a better team is what made the difference.

So ... am, Rastaman ... what say you iyah?
Post by: elan on February 26, 2014, 09:04:33 PM
T&T coaches quickly gaining a reputation of not seeing the diamond in the rough. In many case they not seeing de diamond.

Something wrong......
Post by: kounty on January 11, 2015, 05:40:31 PM
he playin in this game.
Post by: elan on May 07, 2015, 10:51:34 AM
Shaq Moore off to another WC.
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 10, 2015, 09:35:40 AM
US Under-20 World Cup call-up Shaquell Moore goes pro with Huracan Valencia in Spain's third division
http://www.mlssoccer.com/news/article/2015/05/10/us-under-20-world-cup-call-shaquell-moore-goes-pro-huracan-valencia-spains-t

United States Under-20 international Shaquell Moore, bound for the 2015 U-20 World Cup in New Zealand this month, will travel with a professional contract in hand after signing with Spanish outfit Huracan Valencia on Saturday. Moore broke the news via his Twitter account

Moore, an 18-year-old defender from Powder Springs, Georgia, linked up with the Spanish third division outfit earlier this season. He originally trained with the club's Juvenil A (U-19) team, but has recently been training with the first team by request of head coach Toni Seligrat.

LISTEN: Tab Ramos joins ExtraTime Radio to discuss U-20 World Cup roster
Moore has been a regular presence at right back under US U-20 head coach Tab Ramos. He started and went the full 90 minutes in five of the United States' six games in January's CONCACAF U-20 Championship, including the 2-0 win over El Salvador that sent them to the World Cup.

Huracan are a recently-established team, having been founded in 2011, and are based in Torrent, a suburb of the city of Valencia on Spain's Mediterranean coast. They have finished in the top half of Spain's Segunda Division B, Group 3 in each of their three seasons of existence and are currently in the running to claim a playoff place in the 2014-15 season, which could in turn yield a spot in the Segunda Division – one level below La Liga.
Post by: Tallman on May 26, 2015, 03:17:40 PM
After year in flux, Shaq Moore assumes leadership role for US U-20 World Cup team
http://www.mlssoccer.com/u20worldcup/2015/news/article/2015/05/25/after-year-flux-shaq-moore-assumes-leadership-role-us-u-20-world-cup-team
Post by: asylumseeker on September 28, 2016, 07:38:42 AM
Excerpt about Shaquell Moore:

Moore won a contract with Huracan, a team in Spain’s third tier, but the club soon hit financial problems that would ultimately lead to its demise as a professional club in late 2015. Moore then won a deal with Real Oviedo, playing for its reserve team, before he signed with Levante at the end of the recent August transfer window.

“Huracan, and not getting paid, was one of the times when I asked, do I really want to be here?” Moore says. “But those experiences do make you stronger.”

Moore as dropped off the national team radar after signing for Huracan and not playing for its first team. Speaking via phone from Valencia (after taking a Spanish lesson), he says he has no regrets about shunning MLS and moving to Europe. His education is not just tied to language classes.

“The culture here is soccer, soccer, and soccer,” he explains. “The people are crazy about it and everyone is enthusiastic – even at the reserve team games. Spain is a soccer country.

“The other difference with the US is the technical ability of the players. At home, the focus is on bigger players and who can run the fastest and be the most physical. Here, you can be physical but you also have to have a brain for the game and good technique. It’s more competitive because there are a lot of players and everyone is good. Even in the lower divisions.”

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2016/sep/28/americans-abroad-us-soccer-pros
Post by: soccerman on August 20, 2017, 02:50:25 PM
Taking in the Barca game today, all of a sudden the commentator Phil Schoen start talking about this player. He said he's a right back for Levante's reserve team and is on the verge of breaking in to the first team. He he does, he might be the first US (Trini :devil:) player in La Liga.
Post by: Tobago28 on August 20, 2017, 03:12:00 PM
Wishing him all the best, he deserves all the success coming his way.
Title: Shaq Moore bucks the odds to make debut for La Liga's Levante
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 28, 2017, 04:22:57 AM
 Shaq Moore bucks the odds to make debut for La Liga's Levante
by Paul Kennedy @pkedit, Yesterday
Spain has been a difficult move for Americans, and players who started out in the lower divisions have often had a particularly difficult time of navigating them.

But 20-year-old Shaq Moore has hung in there and debuted for La Liga's Levante in its 2-0 win at first division rival Girona in the first leg of their Copa del Rey series on Thursday.

Moore is a product of the U.S. U-17 residency program. He captained the team that failed to qualify for the 2013 U-17 World Cup and played for the USA at the 2015 U-20 World Cup. Shortly before heading to U-20 World Cup tournament he signed with Spanish Segunda A Division (third level) club Huracan Valencia.

Moore lasted half a season at Huracan Valencia, moving after the club stopped paying its players. He spent the rest of the 2015-16 season at Real Oviedo Vetusta, Real Oviedo's B team, in the Tercera Division (fourth level). His third club was Levante II, another Segunda A team.

"It’s hard to be an American playing in Europe," he told Marca in December 2015 after leaving Huracan Valencia, "and this mess complicated things. It’s not what I expected and it is a shame that happens at a big club like Huracan Valencia. But this exposes me to what you can happen in the football business, and that will help me in the future if I go again.”

Moore played 27 games in the third division last season and joined the first team for the 2017-18 preseason. Since right back Ivan Lopez was injured in September, Pedro Lopez has started at right back for Levante and Moore dressed as his backup in the last three games.

Moore -- or "Shaq" as the Spanish simply call him -- was one of four players who earned their first starts of the season for the Gi
Post by: RichGFootball on October 31, 2017, 02:01:42 AM
http://sbisoccer.com/2017/10/who-is-shaq-moore-the-young-american-making-strides-in-la-liga (http://sbisoccer.com/2017/10/who-is-shaq-moore-the-young-american-making-strides-in-la-liga)

Who is Shaq Moore? The young American making strides in La Liga

Post by: Tallman on October 31, 2017, 05:24:39 AM
I've met and spoken to him before. Seems to be a humble youth.
Post by: trini_stallion on October 31, 2017, 08:35:42 AM

Would he reconsider representing the red black and white? I mean the TTFA is a shitttt storm eh...not expecting him to say yes, he hv a good thing going, but you never know!
Post by: Deeks on October 31, 2017, 09:28:07 AM

Would he reconsider representing the red black and white? I mean the TTFA is a shitttt storm eh...not expecting him to say yes, he hv a good thing going, but you never know!

Look we should get pass Shaq. When Shaq interviewed, the TTFA was in shambles. And the association still in shambles. We could not even get Bostock. Bostock came down and practice. He could not get a run because of some misunderstanding. He refused to come back. Why would Shaq come back to TT, when there is no solid ongoing program for the future. The US is all geared to retool their entire system. His chances of making the US national team  much better, seeing that he is playing in LaLiga. If the US don't include him in their upcoming friendlies, then  TTFA should put out a serious request. But they must have a serious 4year program. Otherwise, doh waste the young man's time.
Post by: RichGFootball on November 19, 2017, 03:02:41 PM
Started his first match for Levante at right back. Levante 2 vs Las Palmas 0.

Post by: soccerman on November 19, 2017, 11:42:44 PM
Started his first match for Levante at right back. Levante 2 vs Las Palmas 0.
Post by: Flex on November 30, 2017, 04:27:17 AM
T&T miss out on La Liga defender Moore.
By Jelani Beckles (Newsday).

Former national Under-17 coach Shawn Cooper said he has no regrets over snubbing then 14 year old Shaquell "Shaq" Moore who now plies his trade in La Liga against global stars such as Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo.

Shaq, now 21, was born in the US to Tobagonian parents Wendell and Michelle Goddard-Moore who migrated to the United States several years ago.

Shaq, who playd with Levante, is believed to be the first player with TT roots to play in Spain’s top flight – one of the best football leagues in the world.

The defender has switched allegiances though and has captained the US Under-17 team and played for their Under-20s. He made his fourth appearance for the Levante senior team in a 5-0 loss to Spanish powerhouse Atletico Madrid on Sunday.

As a 14-year-old, the talented player returned to TT to try out for the national Under-15 team that was preparing for the upcoming Under-17 World Cup cycle, but he did not make the cut.

Cooper, who was the coach of the national youth team at the time, said he saw the talent in Shaq but felt he was too frail in stature to make an impact.

“He came as a 13-year-old on the Under-17 team so he was a bit young then but had some potential. When he came, physically he was a bit small compared to the other guys. At 13, he definitely would not have made the team then,” Cooper said.

Asked if he believes T&T could convince Shaq to reconsider playing for his parents’ country, Cooper said those chances are slim to none.

“I don’t think so, because we had other youngsters playing for our youth teams (who switched allegiances). I think Aaron Maund was one who went to the World Cup with our Under-17 team and then when approached to go with the Under-20 team, he chose to go with the US team. I think when the boys get a little older and they live and they get in the system up there, they will tend to gravitate to the US when they get the opportunity at a senior level.”

Shaq, a right-back with Levante, returned to the US and continued working on his game under the guidance of his father and some TT coaching colleagues who resided in their Georgia neighbourhood. He was also a member of the Lauderhill Youth Programme in Ft Lauderdale.

As his progress continued, Shaq received an invitation based on the recommendation of the youth programme’s directors, to try out for the US Under-17 residency programme, in Florida, and was successful. He later represented and was named captain of the US squad in the CONCACAF Under-17 championships in Panama. He was selected for the Under 20s that participated in the Under-20 CONCACAF Championships in Jamaica 2015. The US won the championships and defeated T&T in the process to qualify for the FIFA Under-20 World Cup finals in New Zealand in 2015.

As Shaq continued to develop, his manager and agent Paul Maye was successful in arranging for him to play in a tournament in Manchester, England. There were a number of scouts from English Premiership League teams interested but work permit issues were a challenge. His agent then decided to take his charge to Spain and the rest is history.

After approximately one year in Levante, he is now in contention to be a regular on the first string team as he continues to develop his craft. Shaq’s father had an illustrious football career. He was one of the standouts with Dwight Yorke, Rensl Dillon, Colvin Hutchinson and others, who, under the guidance of coach Bertille St Clair, made Signal Hill Secondary a force in national football. He had stints with the national senior and youth teams.

Post by: Trini Madness on November 30, 2017, 06:50:57 AM
He's not coming back, he wanted to play for us before and wasn't given the chance, now look at him. We have a small pool of players compared to other countries, EVERYONE should get a chance, it doesn't matter how "frail" a player is. For me in this game, talent over strength.
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 30, 2017, 07:54:38 AM
So he came as an under 13 to try out for our under 17
Post by: Rastaman on November 30, 2017, 08:52:36 AM
So he came as an under 13 to try out for our under 17
Not under 13...he came as a 13 year old.
Post by: Rastaman on November 30, 2017, 09:00:12 AM
I was around this team at the time and I can vouch for the coach......AT THAT TIME he could not make the team. What has happened since is due significantly to the fact that he was in a better development program since then. Take any school boy from Trinidad and Tobago and put them in the development program that he was exposed to and the results would be the same.

Remember that this is the same coach and team that harnessed and developed the skill of Levi Garcia......look where he is now.
Post by: Sam on November 30, 2017, 09:41:42 AM
I was around this team at the time and I can vouch for the coach......AT THAT TIME he could not make the team. What has happened since is due significantly to the fact that he was in a better development program since then. Take any school boy from Trinidad and Tobago and put them in the development program that he was exposed to and the results would be the same.

Remember that this is the same coach and team that harnessed and developed the skill of Levi Garcia......look where he is now.

I eh know Shawn Cooper develop him...

Levi came from Siparia Spurs, T&TEC FC and Shiva Boys Hindu College, Shawn wasn't there.

Levi played under Derek King at Under 20 level.

He played with Dexter Cyrus for T&TEC

Dennis Cox help Levi develop.

Post by: Sam on November 30, 2017, 09:58:47 AM
So Shaq couldn't make we under 17 team at 13, but then a couple years later he play for de US under 20 team that knocked out de same T&T U17 team (at Under 20 comp) he was trialing with.

Levi was 15/16 years ole and playing for de under 16/17 and under 20 teams at de same time.

Post by: Tallman on November 30, 2017, 11:29:06 AM

De ting is, Shaq was trying out for de T&T U-15 team. He was called up to the USA U-17 team in 2011. He was the captain of the USA squad at the 2013 CONCACAF Championship. The same T&T squad he got rejected from, was also at that tournament.

Let's say for argument sake he had a terrible tryout, yuh mean tuh say dey couldn't leave de doors or keep tabs on him? At that age, Shaq was already known in the US circles. It wasn't just somebody appearing out of nowhere. His father is Trini, one of his developmental coaches is Trini. There could and should have been communication.
Post by: soccerman on November 30, 2017, 12:49:14 PM
Well put TM :applause:
Post by: Deeks on November 30, 2017, 01:50:07 PM
Look all of allyuh hear  to dissing  the association because the man playing for Levante. You win some and you lose some. Allyuh know I eh no mouth piece for the TTFA. At the youth level, is a hit or miss with young players. And seeing the ineptitude of the football association, many good players are discarded. Look how many good local players dropped out because of the short comings of the TTFA. Shaq good where he is right now. He don't have to deal with a cash-trapped TTFA. Can't get warm-up games,etc.  He will just be wasting his time. Ask his father how "wonderful" it was when he played for TT. I for one is happy for the yute. He getting to do what I  or any of us dream about doing when we were his age. We just were not good enough. We have plenty yute in TT who could achieve. But all parties involve in football have to be in sync. Is the same old thing. Why would he want to be in that?
Title: Re: Football alert — watch for Shaquell Mooreis
Post by: asylumseeker on November 30, 2017, 05:19:24 PM
Look all of allyuh hear  to dissing  the association because the man playing for Levante. You win some and you lose some. Allyuh know I eh no mouth piece for the TTFA. At the youth level, is a hit or miss with young players. And seeing the ineptitude of the football association, many good players are discarded. Look how many good local players dropped out because of the short comings of the TTFA. Shaq good where he is right now. He don't have to deal with a cash-trapped TTFA. Can't get warm-up games,etc.  He will just be wasting his time. Ask his father how "wonderful" it was when he played for TT. I for one is happy for the yute. He getting to do what I  or any of us dream about doing when we were his age. We just were not good enough. We have plenty yute in TT who could achieve. But all parties involve in football have to be in sync. Is the same old thing. Why would he want to be in that?

Disagree. Key indicators suggest otherwise.

One has to know what one is looking for in the longer term scheme of things. In this regard it's better to discard one's preferences or emphases and work with the items that reflect/bring out the dimension and quality of the player. Some of the things you won't and can't see directly, but you have to realize that they are like transferable skills (perhaps not directly identifiable as relevant, but they can get the job done).

If you were to see footage of Danny Wellbeck at 7 and compare it with him executing at 19 (which I was shown), you would see a clear path to his pro future. The same for Rashford (which I was shown).

In his year group at United, there was one player in the cohort who was considered superior to Rashford but that player quit football at ~ 15 or 16. There might have been intangibles with that player but there were "tangibles" with Rashford that were already evident when he was in the youth ranks. Of course its easy to assert all of this in retrospect, but when one watches the footage it is as plain as day.

There was a session with van Nistelrooy working with Wellbeck's cohort and VN asked the players to execute an intricate movement involving both feet. Wellback wasn't able to execute it first time, but you could see that he was close to pulling it off. (The other players had struggled and failed). Wellbeck asked to do it again and pulled it off. In the next video clip, many years later, Welbeck scores a goal in an England shirt executing the same action. None of the other players sought to do it twice and Wellbeck is said to have been very comfortable with VN rather than in awe of him.

In the case of U-17 WC selection, the NT decision-makers had certain qualities in mind. It seems that the coaching staff imposed a relatively higher valuation on physical strength (we tend to value this in our playing culture) than others might have. The Japanese might have come to a different conclusion (but to to be fair this is also influenced by playing position).

EDIT: new content added primarily in the second-to-last and third-to-last paragraphs and here and there.
Post by: soccerman on November 30, 2017, 10:38:18 PM
I'm not saying he should play for T&T and I'm not even saying he should've made the youth team at that time but I do feel like we assess and evaluate youth players inappropriately. I feel like we don't focus on the long term potential in regards to players capabilities. We disregarded the player for whatever reason and the US capitalized because the saw differently (they have a higher number of players to evaluate) and look at where he's at today.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 30, 2017, 11:38:59 PM
Who was/were the player(s) who made the U-17 NT in Shaq Moore's position, and what is he/are they doing now (other than watching him on TV?)
Post by: Deeks on December 01, 2017, 08:16:23 AM
but I do feel like we assess and evaluate youth players inappropriately. I feel like we don't focus on the long term potential in regards to players capabilities. We disregarded the player for whatever reason and the US capitalized because the saw differently (they have a higher number of players to evaluate) and look at where he's at today.

I agree that there are shortcomings with the association when in comes to assessment and evaluation of youth players in TT. It is disengnuous to to say they don't focus on long term potential. Like their American, South American and Euro counterparts, they have it all writtrn down on paper. The difference is, our association are unable to follow thru with these "well designed" plans because of financial contraints, plus a serious dose of ineptitude and favoritism.

Meanwhile the US have all the moneys to run their programs. Our U-17 women just had a "thankgiving" camp and played two games against JA. They moving in the right direction. But is that enough?  I don't think so. Hart was here for over two years. He had all the know how etc. He was always, always hampered by TTFA lack of funding. When everything appeared to going inorder, in comes DJW with his plans. He runs a youth program also. By TT standard, think he has had some success. The only thing is, his program is geared for his club, not necessarily TT national team.

If you guys were the coaches at the time, you all would have been faced with the same dilema as Shawn Cooper. His assessment that Shaq was not physically ready at the time may have been incorrect. But he was limited by TTFA constrainst. Now could he have said, "well Shaq, we need for you to go to the weight room because we feel it will help in the long, etc". Maybe. I don't know.

Post by: Rastaman on December 01, 2017, 09:29:06 AM

De ting is, Shaq was trying out for de T&T U-15 team. He was called up to the USA U-17 team in 2011. He was the captain of the USA squad at the 2013 CONCACAF Championship. The same T&T squad he got rejected from, was also at that tournament.

Let's say for argument sake he had a terrible tryout, yuh mean tuh say dey couldn't leave de doors or keep tabs on him? At that age, Shaq was already known in the US circles. It wasn't just somebody appearing out of nowhere. His father is Trini, one of his developmental coaches is Trini. There could and should have been communication.
He was already on the USA Team radar but decided to tryout with TnT....... I will keep saying from personal knowledge that AT THAT TIME and the players that we had ..........he was not better. When he went back to the US he just fell went back into their system and continued his development.
Post by: Rastaman on December 01, 2017, 09:32:18 AM
I'm not saying he should play for T&T and I'm not even saying he should've made the youth team at that time but I do feel like we assess and evaluate youth players inappropriately. I feel like we don't focus on the long term potential in regards to players capabilities. We disregarded the player for whatever reason and the US capitalized because the saw differently (they have a higher number of players to evaluate) and look at where he's at today.
And they have the resources to evaluate and develop that high number..... we don't
Post by: asylumseeker on December 01, 2017, 11:11:24 AM
And they have the resources to evaluate and develop that high number..... we don't

Whether high or low, we should have the resources to develop OUR number, whatever it is.

AND, I'm not totally buying the financial restraint argument, because we don't do basic tracking and monitoring of players well. We are firmly in a model of subjective analysis (feelings, opinions, nah boi me eh like he) when some tools for objective analysis (measure something!) would not cost much or anything other than innovatively compiling data.
Post by: FF on December 01, 2017, 03:04:55 PM
In my opinion, it is a joke that he was not considered better than what he had.
Something went wrong.

Cooper's remarks are telling. Physically he wasn't ready. We still stuck in the past
Post by: Deeks on December 01, 2017, 03:59:10 PM
So if the US is so great about analysis and evaluation, why the hell they struggled in just completed Hex? They have this big pool of players. They had a big time WC coach. Why did they not put Shaq to play right back instead of the Gonzales who score the own goal? After that loss, the US media and "poondits", where going beserk on tv. Taylor Twellman, Lalas were call for blood. The US development needs revamping, too much pay for play, etc. They called for the Sunil Gulati's head. This man guided the US thru thick and thin for over 25 years. The US was qualifying for previous WC all this time. The US football fed has a surplus of cash that the TT govt could only wet-dream about.

I am not  making any excuses for TTFA developmental process. It needs massive improvement. But to jump on Cooper, and say he  just another one of them "know nothing" local coaches is disingenuous. The local coaches have to deal with all the crap for little or NO money. I am amazed that we can still produce guys like, Garcia, Gomez, Winchester, Molino, JJ and some who plying their trade overseas. Go talk to Grosvenor(present QRC coach), Mike Grayson(Trinity East), Hayden Martin(Fatima U-14, U-16). Let them tell you the crap they does have to deal with. Do local coaches need to improve? A big FAT YES! Absolutely.

I glad for Shaq. We could not have prepared him for his current sojourn in Spain. He went back to the US development system which is currently better than ours. He fit in quite comfortable. The verdict is still out. Let's see how the US proceed with their new plan and how he fits in it. What is TT's plan? We don't know. We not wasting a breath on it.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 01, 2017, 06:01:42 PM
He was in action again tonight versus Málaga.
Post by: RichGFootball on December 01, 2017, 06:30:24 PM
He was in action again tonight versus Málaga.

Levante 0 vs Malaga 0. Played the full 90.
Post by: RichGFootball on December 09, 2017, 05:42:31 AM
Shaq Moore signs contract extension with Levante through 2020.

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: asylumseeker on December 09, 2017, 07:27:55 AM

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

... with the option/possibility on top of that of taking it to 2022 (which on paper makes him the only player in the squad with contractual obligations extending/possibly extending to 2022). A handful of players have obligations touching 2021. Two others have unilateral considerations that may touch 2022.

However, having received his chance due to significant injuries to players presumably ahead of him in the depth chart, he will have to defend his starting spot with ah strong "mental" because Levante has been looking at bringing in Coke Andujar from Schalke. But, Andujar has been seeing marginal minutes in the Bundesliga.
Post by: soccerman on December 09, 2017, 03:43:09 PM

Congrats, tremendous accomplishment :beermug:
Post by: RichGFootball on January 07, 2018, 09:08:31 AM
Levante vs Barcelona @ 11:15 TT time (10:15 EST)

Shaq Moore starting at right wing back
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 07, 2018, 11:20:19 AM
Had a phenomenal Game, though they (perhaps expectedly)  lost he was very impressive, brought out the best in Ter Stegen
Post by: coache on January 07, 2018, 11:38:25 PM
Good to see de son of a Soca Warrior makin it big even though he reppin for de USA. Dat says a lot fuh how dese Soca Warriors feel about T+T.

I thought dis site was fuh die hards and patriots and de people who will give everyting fuh Trinidad and Tobago football .

Anyway big up Shaq Moore maybe one ah  dese days he might wear de red white and black.
Post by: maxg on January 08, 2018, 02:03:27 AM
"I thought dis site was fuh ..."

ahhmm.. can't find the toilet paper emoji, and don't know how to put the White Cloud image..

Anyways..Go Shaq Moore Go.   :wavetowel:
Title: Levante's Moore hopes Spanish experience lands him U.S. debut
Post by: Tallman on January 31, 2018, 06:12:35 AM
Levante's Moore hopes Spanish experience lands him U.S. debut
By Richard Martin (Reuters)

Levante full back Shaquell Moore took the daunting step to move from the United States to Spain on his own aged 17 and while the journey has not been without its pitfalls, the gamble is slowly paying off.

After three years toiling in the lower leagues, Moore became only the fourth American to play in La Liga after Kasey Keller, Jozy Altidore and Oguchi Onyewu and this month found himself facing Lionel Messi and Luis Suarez when Levante visited Barcelona.

The runaway league leaders won 3-0 but struggling Levante and Moore put up an admirable fight.

"It was a dream come true playing against Barcelona in the Nou Camp against the best players in the world, it's an experience I'll never forget and something I'll cherish for the rest of my life," Moore told Reuters.

The 21-year-old, known as "Shaq", was used to playing to crowds of around 100 people in the Tercera Division and was suddenly thrown into the 99,000 capacity Nou Camp against the best players in the world.

"It's definitely a big difference, just the atmosphere being in the Nou Camp, the fans there are crazy, it's a very hostile environment, but playing against Messi and Suarez, these guys are the best players in the world so it was definitely a learning experience," he said.

Moore came agonisingly close to stamping his name on the game when the ball fell his way in the Barcelona area in the second half when the score was 2-0, but he was denied a first Liga goal by towering German goalkeeper Marc-Andre ter Stegen.

"I didn’t really sleep well after that," he said.

"I was just thinking if I would have scored that things would be a lot different but everything happens for a reason and hopefully next time I'll put it away."

Moore grew up in the town of Powder Springs, Georgia in an environment where soccer was a minority sport but as his father Wendell was a former professional, playing internationally for Trinidad and Tobago, he spent his Saturday mornings as a child watching La Liga and the Premier League.

PRESTIGIOUS ACADEMY

His favourite players were Ronaldinho, Messi, Dani Alves and Yaya Toure and he supported Manchester City after spending two weeks on trial with the Premier League club.

Moore was eventually picked by the U.S. national team's youth set-up, which took him to the prestigious IMG sports academy in Florida where the likes of tennis players Serena Williams, Andre Agassi and footballers Landon Donovan and Altidore had thrived.

He was soon snapped up by Major League Soccer side FC Dallas but he did not spend long there, deciding to try his luck across the Atlantic on Spain's east coast.

"You go through a lot of emotions, thinking should I go or not? You have to leave home but from a young age, but I knew I wanted to play in Europe at some stage so I figured the earlier the better," Moore said.

His main obstacle to settling in was getting to grips with the Spanish language, which he has since mastered.

"Anywhere you go that’s the hardest thing to pick up because if you can't communicate with anyone it can be a bit difficult but once I learned that everything came smooth," he said.

Just as Moore was settling down at third-tier Huracan Valencia the club were kicked out of the league for financial irregularities, leaving him stranded. He escaped to Real Oviedo’s reserve side, returning to Valencia six months later to sign for Levante.

FAMOUS EXPORT

Moore is one of a minority of Americans to play in Europe, along with Stoke City’s Geoff Cameron, Fulham’s Tim Ream, Newcastle United’s Deandre Ledlin and Borussia Dortmund winger Christian Pulisic.

"He (Pulisic) is the example everyone’s following (showing people) it’s possible you can make that jump. I’m definitely proud of him, definitely supporting him and hopefully he can keep on going," Moore said.

Moore knew Pulisic from the U.S. team's youth set-up and after captaining his country at Under-17 level and playing at the Under-20 World Cup, his next goal is to make his full international debut.

With opponents like Messi, Suarez, Antoine Griezmann and Cristiano Ronaldo, it is hard to think of a better place for Moore to keep learning.

"Sooner or later it will come but I've just got to be patient, keep on working and keep on focusing on getting better every day. Playing in one of the best leagues in the world always gives you the opportunity to rise," he said.

"I'm just trying to get better in all the aspects of my game. Being in the best league in the world and playing against top players always helps."
Post by: Deeks on February 03, 2018, 03:11:21 PM
Shaq left off today’s game against Real. Don’t know why. Don’t know if he is injured or not. 1-1 is the score. Levantine fighting to the end.

By the way, a Ray Hudson quotei in this game: “ aye ..... he got away from his man like toilet paper Leaving the roll”.
Post by: Deeks on February 03, 2018, 03:21:01 PM
Well ...... to good to be true Real 2-1.
Post by: Deeks on February 03, 2018, 03:30:03 PM
2-2
Post by: Deeks on February 03, 2018, 03:37:53 PM
Final 2-2. Navas "saved" Real.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 04, 2018, 01:31:58 PM
Shaq left off today’s game against Real. Don’t know why. Don’t know if he is injured or not. 1-1 is the score. Levantine fighting to the end.

By the way, a Ray Hudson quotei in this game: “ aye ..... he got away from his man like toilet paper Leaving the roll”.

Based on how the team trained in the lead-up to the match, the decision appears to be based on tactical preference.

Coke is on loan from Schalke with the expectation of getting game time he was not getting in Germany. He was an influential player when he was at Sevilla. Big derby next week Sunday. Every player will want a part of that.
Post by: soccerman on February 04, 2018, 02:25:40 PM
I knew he was playing due to the main RB being injured, I think the player is back in the lineup now. I watched that Real game yesterday and it looks like they've lost their mojo this season.
Post by: Deeks on February 04, 2018, 02:56:48 PM
it looks like they've lost their mojo this season.

Them Madrid fans doh want to hear that. As far as they are concern, this season is a failure so far. Spoiled brats. They really doh know what is guava season,
Post by: asylumseeker on February 04, 2018, 06:00:35 PM
I knew he was playing due to the main RB being injured, I think the player is back in the lineup now. I watched that Real game yesterday and it looks like they've lost their mojo this season.

Two different players. The Schalke player started yesterday. Played the preceding match also. The injured player hasn't played a La Liga match since mid-December.
Post by: soccerman on February 04, 2018, 10:19:09 PM

Two different players. The Schalke player started yesterday. Played the preceding match also. The injured player hasn't played a La Liga match since mid-December.
Post by: Bianconeri on February 06, 2018, 11:04:46 PM
https://www.football-espana.net/69798/moore-learning-coke

United States Under-20 full-back Shaquell Moore believes he has improved a lot at Levante and has learnt a lot from new signing Coke.

His new teammates, signed from Schalke in January, won three Europa League titles with Sevilla while 20-year-old Moore has acted as his understudy.

“I have built up a good relationship with Coke,” Moore told an interview with Marca.

“It is important to have players like him coming in as it is vital for me to learn from those sorts of players who have achieved so much and won a lot, I have learned a lot from him.

“Everything here has been a whirlwind…to play against Messi was incredible, but I must focus on improving as a player.

“There was an option for me to leave on loan but it was agreed from everyone that I stay here, that I make the most of my minutes on the pitch and my time in training.

“I am only focused on Levante and not on the USA, but of course it would be fantastic to be in a generation of players for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.”

Moore played in the youth teams of Huracan and Real Oviedo before joining the Valencia-based side last year.
Title: Shaq Moore — the young American trying to make it in Europe
Post by: Tallman on March 05, 2018, 12:41:50 PM
Shaq Moore — the young American trying to make it in Europe
Associated Press

Shaq Moore knew he was well-adapted to life in Europe when he went home to the United States and felt strange that his family wanted to have dinner so early.

"It's crazy, I feel like I'm Spanish now because they eat dinner so late," the young American soccer player said. "I end up eating dinner at 9 p.m. or 10 p.m. now. And I went home for summer or Christmas and everyone was eating at like 5 p.m. or 6 p.m., and I'm like, 'You guys are eating too early, you know.'"

There was another good sign when he started dreaming in Spanish.

"That's when I kind of knew I was integrating myself with the culture a little bit better," the broad-smiling Moore said.

Instead of staying back home and going through the local ranks to make it to the national team and eventually attract the attention of European clubs, Moore went abroad as a teenager to join smaller teams and try to move up in his career like other European youngsters. He was proud to compare himself to the "canteranos," the home-grown players who go through the youth squads of Spanish teams.

Now, three years into his venture, after many ups and downs, Moore is having a chance to play against Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo in the Spanish league.

The 21-year-old full back is playing for first-division club Levante, having already made a few appearances as a starter with the first team, including against Barcelona at the Camp Nou. He has become one of the few Americans to ever play in the Spanish league, along with Kasey Keller, Jozy Altidore and Oguchi Onyewu.

"If you can make it in La Liga, then maybe you can play anywhere in the world," Moore said in an interview with The Associated Press at Levante's training center outside of Valencia. "In the U.S., maybe I would have been too comfortable coming from the youth teams and coming up. I just wanted to fight it out with the best."

Born from parents from Trinidad and Tobago in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, Moore is hoping his time in Europe will help him earn a first-team spot with the U.S. national team. He was one of the most experienced players when he was with the U.S. under-17 squad, appearing in nearly 40 international friendlies, and was also in the Under-20 World Cup roster in 2015.

"I want to focus on getting better every day here with Levante and hopefully the national team will come," he said. "Maybe sooner, maybe later, but I know if I'm patient, it will come."

Moore, a vigorous right back with sound defensive skills, decided to "test the waters overseas" after getting a first glimpse of Spain in a tournament in the Canary Islands with the national team's under-18 squad. He attracted the attention of some Spanish clubs and returned for a trial before eventually signing with third-division club Huracan Valencia in 2015.

"It was kind of a big jump, especially because it wasn't one of the biggest clubs, so there was a lot of risk, something that I wasn't really sure if I wanted to do," Moore said. "But I was like, 'You know what? It's a risk I'll take.'"

He made the move despite having a chance to stay in the U.S. with FC Dallas on a home-grown contract, and knowing he could easily be forgotten back home if he didn't get to play much in Spain.

"Obviously, being a little bit farther, maybe they can't see as much games, as much everyday routines as I'm going through," he said. "But I think I'm in a good place right now, a good environment. It's a good league, I think the word will get around eventually."

Moore, who went to live near Atlanta with his family when he was 10, said he adapted well to life in Europe, especially after overcoming the language barrier, which "was one of the hardest parts" as it kept him from being able to communicate with coaches and teammates.

"Playing-wise there was also an adjustment," he said. "The level, the style, how they play... But once I had the Spanish down I was able to integrate myself more to the culture. Then, being on the field was much easier."

There were challenges on the field as well, though, and his hope of making it in Europe took a big hit when Huracan was expelled from the league because of financial irregularities, keeping him without a salary and facing an uncertain future.

"It was a sticky situation and not something ideal you would want as your first professional experience," Moore said. "You are always thinking, 'Maybe you should have done this or that ...' But I just wanted to stick it out. I knew mentally, if I stayed in it, if I was strong enough, I knew it would turn around eventually."

Moore spent time with second-division club Oviedo after leaving Huracan, then signed with Levante in 2016, spending time with the team's "B'' squad. He made his Spanish league debut last year, and recently extended his contract with Levante until 2020. Now the goal is to try to get as much playing time as possible with the first team.

Moore said his move to Europe was extra special for his father, Wendell, who moved to the U.S. to play soccer on a scholarship with Fairleigh Dickinson University in New Jersey. He eventually played professionally and had a few appearances with Trinidad and Tobago's national team.

"Seeing me on the big stage playing against the best players in the world is definitely special for him," Moore said. "And not just for him, but my whole family and friends back home. They really support me and they are kind of living their dream through me."

Moore's biggest moment in Europe came earlier this year when he started against Barcelona and faced Messi, which he called "a big reward in itself."

"Just being here, the training sessions, the atmosphere, the stadiums, everything ...," he said. "Just the other day, watching Ronaldo play, just being in a locker room watching him walk right by me. All that little stuff, it kind of plays with your head and you just know that if you keep working, you can actually get there."
Post by: maxg on March 06, 2018, 02:09:32 AM
 :beermug:  :applause:
Good thing he parents didn’t give him to much TT coconut water, otherwise all now like many of our potential players he woulda dun run back home for more. We can’t seem to stick it out when things get tough, especially when our boys ave sweet T &T to runback to .
Kes  doh sing Hola Hola in Europe yuh know  ;D

Hoping for JJ to get thru, boatrides could come later
Post by: soccerman on March 07, 2018, 09:40:49 AM
Not sure why I'm having difficulty embedding this.

https://www.youtube.com/v/KU1yyDKa9TE
Post by: Trini Madness on March 18, 2018, 12:43:39 PM
I saw he got called up for the US friendly against Paraguay. It's taking place March 27 I believe. I guess this might be it, unless he refuses to go.
Post by: Deeks on March 18, 2018, 01:35:12 PM
Why should he refuse. That was  his goal. Don’t you think.
Post by: soccerman on March 18, 2018, 04:09:34 PM
I saw he got called up for the US friendly against Paraguay. It's taking place March 27 I believe. I guess this might be it, unless he refuses to go.
US will certainly cap him to ensure he does not play for anyone else (I really mean T&T)
Post by: Fyzoman on March 20, 2018, 06:57:18 AM
Ummm, did I miss something over the past few years?

Why would there even be a question that he wouldn't play for the US at senior level? (Unless club commitment or injury?)

The below article came from the U.S Soccer website.

FIVE FIRST TIME CALL-UPS WHO COULD MAKE AN IMPACT WITH THE MNT

SHAQ MOORE | DEFENDER | LEVANTE (ESP)

Shaq Moore is blazing a unique trail as just the fourth American to play in the Spanish first division. He’s broken through this season at Valencia’s Levante after spending most of the 2016 campaign on Las Granotas’ B-squad. While other MNT players have come to La Liga as established pros, Moore has worked his way up through the country’s lower ranks.

After captaining the U-17 Men’s National Team at the 2013 CONCACAF U-17 Championship, and was part of the U.S. squad that advanced to the quarterfinals at the 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup. The son of Trinidad & Tobago international Wendell Moore, Shaq came up through IMG Academy and spent time with FC Dallas.

Post by: Fyzoman on March 20, 2018, 07:01:28 AM
Can the U.S cap him to prevent him from ever playing for us? Maybe but maybe the precedent has been set by the records of the following list of US players in Spain? Except for Lagos' measly three caps :)

Internationals in Spain:
Tab Ramos (Figueres D2, 1990-92; Real Betis D2, 1992-95),
Peter Vermes (Figueres D2, 1991-96)
Manny Lagos (Lleida D2, 1992)
Kasey Keller (Rayo Vallecano, 1999-2001)
Ante Razov (Racing Club de Ferrol D2, 2000-01)
Jozy Altidore (Villarreal, 2008-2011; Xerez D2, 2009)
Carlos Bocanegra (Racing Santander D2, 2012-13)
Oguchi Onyewu (Malaga, 2012-13)
Post by: Tallman on March 20, 2018, 10:46:38 AM
Can the U.S cap him to prevent him from ever playing for us?

Only if they cap him in an official competitive match. Friendlies don't count.
Post by: soccerman on March 20, 2018, 12:31:47 PM
I don't think we're a viable option for him at this moment but he can still represent us, in the US eyes they know there is a possibility (slim to none) that he can play for T&T in Concacaf. I'm certain they will want to seal the deal on this.
Post by: Deeks on March 20, 2018, 04:52:58 PM
Let Shaq play for his home country.
Post by: Trini Madness on March 21, 2018, 10:40:04 AM

Of course I do. It bothers me how we have good players out there that we let fall through the cracks. I hope he does well with the US and doesn't end up capped once just to prevent T&T from getting him.
Post by: maxg on March 22, 2018, 03:50:01 PM

Of course I do. It bothers me how we have good players out there that we let fall through the cracks. I hope he does well with the US and doesn't end up capped once just to prevent T&T from getting him.
is this a "fall thru the cracks" or inability to compete with a more feasible and financially sound program ? All our certified sporting athletes have had major issues, especially with funding and basic support. I have experienced this 1st hand. T &T simply cannot afford to pursue many potential trialist. Only alternative it seems is they develop and attain the high standards outside, and we hope to get the leftovers of those foreign developments, and we may not even be able to afford those. Even if we can afford those, would they want to come ? Also had to deal with that, they love their heritage, the reality of the country, culture, critical and finicky nature of our support is still very foreign to them. They ain't drink that coconut water.
Post by: Tallman on March 29, 2021, 02:45:41 PM

Since the new rules came into effect last September, I think he may no longer be able to represent us. Even though he has not represented USA in official competition, he has played in five matches for them. Amongst other things, the limit is three.
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 29, 2021, 02:57:58 PM

Since the new rules came into effect last September, I think he may no longer be able to represent us. Even though he has not represented USA in official competition, he has played in five matches for them. Amongst other things, the limit is three.

the only way to be sure is for the ttfa to put in a request ....
Post by: Tallman on July 01, 2021, 09:29:54 AM
He has been included in USA's 2021 Gold Cup squad.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E5N0YWRVoAoxMdj?format=jpg&name=4096x4096)
Post by: Tallman on July 11, 2021, 06:51:55 PM
Shaq starting tonight for USA against Haiti.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E6DZHBLXsAMkngJ?format=jpg&name=4096x4096)
Post by: Deeks on July 12, 2021, 12:31:34 AM
He played very well. At least up to what I saw.
Post by: Fyzoman on July 12, 2021, 08:19:21 AM
I came into the game in the second half and saw this guy dribble past a Haitian quite easily on the line and wondered who is that? Come to find our it was Moore, played pretty well for the time he was on. Interesting read on ESPN today about training on his own (with  a trainer) since his season ended in May.
Post by: kounty on November 25, 2022, 02:37:42 PM
well we boy playing in the WC. Looks like a no-brainer now (in retrospect).