Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on September 29, 2011, 06:33:36 AM

Title: Scotland announces international retirement
Post by: Tallman on September 29, 2011, 06:33:36 AM
Scotland announces international retirement
TWTD.co.uk

Town striker Jason Scotland has announced his retirement from international football with Trinidad and Tobago to concentrate on playing for the Blues. The 32-year-old won 41 caps and scored eight goals, including a hat-trick in a 9-0 friendly victory over the Dominican Republic in 2008.

Scotland said: “I’ve decided to retire from international football to concentrate on my career with Ipswich. I’ve had a great time with Trinidad and Tobago and I wish them all the best in their quest to get to the next World Cup finals in Brazil.

“At the moment I just want to concentrate on Ipswich. I’m back in the team, we’re doing well and I’m really enjoying a new partnership with Michael Chopra. Helping Ipswich back into the Premier League is what I want to do and I need to concentrate all my efforts on that.”

Scotland’s last international was a World Cup qualifier against the US in September 2009 but his recent form for Town has led to speculation in the Caribbean that he could be recalled.
Title: Re: Scotland announces international retirement
Post by: elan on September 29, 2011, 06:36:03 AM
Well JC yuh get yuh wish.

Scotty all de best fella, thank you for your years of service. I hope the TTFF has the foresight to get you involved into actually working with strikers on how to play that position. We badly need INTELLIGENT forwards.

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Arazi on September 29, 2011, 06:51:00 AM
All the best to him...I really hope his decision wasn't inspired by some of our less informed fans yes...
Post by: weary1969 on September 29, 2011, 07:03:12 AM
All the best to him...I really hope his decision wasn't inspired by some of our less informed fans yes...

We he will b super dumb if that is d case.

All d best all thou yuh is 1 ah Mike Berry bois who eh stand up 2 Jack in my book that is part of yuh legacy.
Post by: Bourbon on September 29, 2011, 07:37:15 AM
Well all the best Scottie and thanks for everything!  :beermug:
Post by: Socapro on September 29, 2011, 07:49:26 AM
Good luck to JS!

On a related note this will mean that Car-loss will be under some serious pressure to do the same, ah just hope you guys realise that eh?!
Post by: frico on September 29, 2011, 07:56:09 AM
Soon nobody go want to play for TT coz that lessens their chances of making themselves a club first choice.Most TT players abroad especially in England always show some discomfort when asked to come back and play,they think about their livelihood first and foremost and who can blame them.The story is different with the Africans though,why is that,I think as Caribbean countries we are nearly not considered.
Post by: spideybuff on September 29, 2011, 08:07:58 AM
I doh feel Scotty was under pressure by the club. This is more likely an intelligent personal decision. Especially when he start to hear rumours he might get a call up cause Kenwyne injured.

He just didn't feel like being used at our convenience. Remember how much time he fly down here to bench? He will be 34(at least) for Brazil so he know he hardly likely making that trip. So what is the point of sweating now and keeping back a younger player? And lose his club spot as a result?

Carlos spot on national team safe, so he less inclined to see it as a waste of time at this point.

Jorsling is the main Kenwyne substitute anyway.
Post by: Trinidogg on September 29, 2011, 08:21:13 AM
I feel like this is really the worst time for Scottty to retire, Jones Injured and Jorsling coulda barely start a game for his USL team, will be interesting to see what happens next who the coach uses to replace these payers.
Post by: PATRIOT on September 29, 2011, 08:26:40 AM
I feel like this is really the worst time for Scottty to retire, Jones Injured and Jorsling coulda barely start a game for his USL team, will be interesting to see what happens next who the coach uses to replace these payers.
He could start by trying ANTHONY WOLFE in his NATURAL position of Striker, if not, Touissant, Juma Clarence and Stern were/are in the squad and Colin Samuel if fit, is another option to recall...all the same GOOD LUCK with your club career Scotland!
Post by: Feliziano on September 29, 2011, 09:06:33 AM
We wish you well Scotty..thanks for the effort over the years  :beermug:
Post by: grskywalker on September 29, 2011, 09:44:02 AM
Good luck to JS!

On a related note this will mean that Car-loss will be under some serious pressure to do the same, ah just hope you guys realise that eh?!

:rotfl: Car-loss 
very funny
Post by: FireBrand on September 29, 2011, 09:57:12 AM
Thanks and blessings Scotty!!!
Title: Scotland opts out of international football
Post by: FireBrand on September 29, 2011, 10:05:53 AM
Scotland opts out of international football.

Ipswich Town striker Jason Scotland has revealed that he has retired from international football in an effort to concentrate on his professional career at the club level.

Scotland made the announcement ahead of the National Men’s team for the upcoming 2014 World Cup qualifiers against Bermuda (October 7) and Barbados on October 11.

Currently strikers Kenwyne Jones and Darryl Roberts are both out through injury and Pfister, who saw an overweight Scotland in training during the summer, has caught form for Ipswich Town, causing Ipswich boss Paul Jewell to credit him for shedding a few pounds in preseason.

Through his agent Mike Berry, Scotland advised the TTFF that he decided to retire and as such will not accept any invitations to join the national team.

“As his resignation letter states he has retired, after due deliberation, in order to concentrate fully on his career in the UK and has informed the TTFF accordingly,” Berry stated on Wednesday.

“ Since being omitted from the last WCQ's squad and having earned his place back in the Ipswich FC team as a regular starter together with wanting to spend more time with his young family, he felt the time  was right to hang up his International boots.  In his letter he wishes the T&T team all the best in the quest for WC2014 qualification and will be supporting them in all the upcoming games and hopes they do well.”

"I’ve decided to retire from international football to concentrate on my career with Ipswich. I’ve had a great time with Trinidad and Tobago and I wish them all the best in their quest to get to the next World Cup finals in Brazil," Scotland added.

“At the moment I just want to concentrate on Ipswich. I’m back in the team, we’re doing well and I’m really enjoying a new partnership with Michael Chopra. Helping Ipswich back into the Premier League is what I want to do and I need to concentrate all my efforts on that.”

Ipswich midfielder Carlos Edwards is also likely to miss the two matches while Anthony Wolfe is reportedly injured and miss Wednesday’s training session at the Ato Boldon Stadium. Joe Public defender Carlyle Mitchell also left the country on Wednesday to join MLS club Vancouver Whitecaps.

Some of the new faces entering the current training squad include US-based trio Kevin Molino, Kendall Jagdeosingh and Devorn Jorsling as well as Jerrel Britto and Shahdon Winchester and former under 20 defender Mekeil Williams.

Pfister will announce his final squad on Friday.
Title: Re: Scotland opts out of international football
Post by: Arimaman on September 29, 2011, 11:03:44 AM
No real loss there.......
Post by: fish on September 29, 2011, 11:08:54 AM
Good luck to Scotland!

Wasn't stellar for the national side compared to his club career.

That being said, hopefully you find back your scoring boots!
Post by: Arimaman on September 29, 2011, 11:12:26 AM
All the best but I don't recall he doing anything special fuh trini anyway.  He's a good club player but in my opinion a below average international player at best.
Post by: Peong on September 29, 2011, 11:23:51 AM
All the best.  Makes sense to me after the frustration of last campaign.
Post by: de_redman on September 29, 2011, 11:31:30 AM
Allyuh look for dat!  :P Good luck Scotty!
Post by: Spursy on September 29, 2011, 12:43:06 PM
Meh.. Bye? Lol.
Post by: Storeboy on September 29, 2011, 12:58:02 PM
I am glad he decided to retire.  Now it will force the coach to do what he should have been doing all along - look for and develop young players for the future of the game.  It is a better decision to develop a younger player to be ready for Brazil than rely on players like Stern and Scotty who are over the hill.  But we thank him for his service to his country!
Post by: asylumseeker on September 29, 2011, 03:43:52 PM
... or it could be the shortest int'l retirement ever.  :devil:

I think it's a reasonable move by Scotty. How many more caps could he realistically put under his belt? Thanks for your service.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 29, 2011, 03:45:05 PM
Two threads?
Post by: Deeks on September 29, 2011, 05:33:46 PM
I swore the nation of Scotland was going to retire for international football. I get real ketch. I still can't read and comprehend.
Post by: Socapro on September 30, 2011, 12:11:32 AM
I swore the nation of Scotland was going to retire for international football. I get real ketch. I still can't read and comprehend.

The rivalry between Scotland and England in football is such that Scotland will never retire from football while England is still playing and doing better than them!!  ;)
Title: Jewell: Jason's been superb
Post by: Tallman on September 30, 2011, 05:39:55 AM
Jewell: Jason's been superb
TWTD.co.uk

Town manager Paul Jewell has paid tribute to striker Jason Scotland’s attitude in the wake of the Trinidadian’s retirement from international football. The Blues boss has been delighted with the 32-year-old’s attitude since pre-season.

Joking about Scotland’s decision to give up international football, Jewell said: “Last year I thought he’d announced his domestic retirement!

“He’s been superb Jason. I actually thought he’d retired [from international football] anyway. He’s come back in good shape, he’s lost a lot of weight, lost a lot of body fat and he’s been one of our main players, he’s been terrific.

“Not just when he’s in the team but when he’s been out of the team. He hasn’t sulked, he’s had a positive effect on players, he’s very loud round the training ground and he’s good to have.

“I think last year he found it difficult, as a lot of us did, for whatever reason. This year, he’s in the final year of his contract, he knows he’s at a big club, he’s knuckled down and I can’t speak highly enough of him and I hope he continues to play like that.”

The Blues manager says that ideally the rest of his squad would follow Scotland’s lead: “I’d quite like all our players to retire from international football, to be honest with you! The international break is a tough time for managers because you don’t know how players are going to come back.

“Jason Scotland deserves a big pat on the back but we’ll keep on pushing him. He’s been terrific for us.”

(http://www.greenun24.co.uk/polopoly_fs/wjp_hammers_v_ips2_1_1075468!image/361389099.jpg_gen/derivatives/landscape_490/361389099.jpg)
Post by: Midknight on October 01, 2011, 08:10:57 PM
Jewell: Jason's been superb
TWTD.co.uk

Joking about Scotland’s decision to give up international football, Jewell said: “Last year I thought he’d announced his domestic retirement!

“He’s been superb Jason. I actually thought he’d retired [from international football] anyway.

I’d quite like all our players to retire from international football, to be honest with you!

Jewell should audition with Learie and Tommy....Ouch

Best of luck and thanks for the years of service... :-\
Post by: KND2 on October 02, 2011, 07:04:57 AM
he will unretire once we advance to further rounds or oce he secures his next big contract.
he just needs to do the sound and dance to try to get his next contract.
Post by: Socapro on October 02, 2011, 05:00:33 PM
he will unretire once we advance to further rounds or oce he secures his next big contract.

Has anyone ever called you a cynic KND?!  :heehee:
Post by: Daft Trini on October 03, 2011, 10:34:30 AM
De-friended his ass from my facebook friends list.  :cursing:
Post by: Jack Horner on October 05, 2011, 05:35:48 AM

Excellently said !!!!
Post by: Socapro on October 05, 2011, 05:40:29 PM
De-friended his ass from my facebook friends list.  :cursing:

:pissedoff:  :justkidding:  :wavetowel:  :applause:
Post by: andre samuel on October 05, 2011, 05:48:52 PM

The Blues manager says that ideally the rest of his squad would follow Scotland’s lead: “I’d quite like all our players to retire from international football, to be honest with you! The international break is a tough time for managers because you don’t know how players are going to come back.

Imagine a former footballer actually making a statement like that!  All the great players have respect for international football, but Paul Jewell didnt have a chance of making a provisional 500 man England squad in his playing days so now he making statements like this as a manager!