Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on October 07, 2011, 07:24:24 PM

Title: Bermuda sink Soca Warriors.
Post by: Flex on October 07, 2011, 07:24:24 PM
Bermuda sink Soca Warriors.
By: Inshan Mohammed.

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior footballers got their first taste of defeat in it's 2014 World Cup qualifying campaign after going down 2-1 to Bermuda at the National Sports Centre in Hamilton, Bermuda on Friday.

Both teams were deadlocked in the first half before Antwan Russell and Nakhi Wells' goals in the 53rd and 63rd minutes respectively- did it for the 'Gombey Warriors'.

T&T got a consolation item from rising-star and Orlando’s City talented midfielder Kevin Molino in the 81st minute.

Now T&T's 2014 World Cup qualifying campaign has come under some scrutiny as Guyana is now leading the race to progress to the next stage of qualifiers after they defeated Barbados 2-0 earlier today.

The win for Bermuda is not their first over T&T, as they also managed a shocking 2–1 win over the Soca Warriors in their last 2008 World Cup qualifying campaign at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Trinidad.

This is the first defeat in four games under head-coach Otto Pfister as well as the first time T&T has conceded any goals under his leadership.

Pfister’s record shows a 3-0 win over Asian minors (India) in an international friendly game, then two slim victories over Bermuda (1-0) and Barbados (2-0), and now a 2-1 defeat to Bermuda.

T&T will now regroup and head to Port of Spain where they will entertain Barbados in 4-days time.

Recap

Full Time

Bermuda 2 (Antwan Russell 53', Nakhi Wells 63') v T&T 1 (Kevin Molion 81')

Teams

Bermuda: - Frederick Hall, Khano Smith (capt), Keman Tucker, Taurean Manders (Seion Darrell 85th), Devrae Tankard, John Barry Nusum, Tyrell Burgess, Kwame Steede, Lashan Dill (Damon Ming 65th), Antwan Russell (Yellow 70'), Nakhi Wells (Chris Casey 68th).

Unused Subs: - Tahj Bell (Red 37'), Quadir Maynard, Angelo Simmons, Jesse Seymour.

Coach: - Devarr Boyles (Bermuda).

Trinidad & Tobago: - Marvin Phillip, Julius James, Seon Power, Akeem Adams, Khaleem Hyland (vice-capt) (Yellow 39'), Osei Telesford, Lester Peltier, Hayden Tinto (Hughtun Hector 34th), Keon Daniel (Kevaughn Connell 65th), socawarriors.net, Kevin Molion, Stern John (capt) (Devorn Jorsling 60th).

Unused Subs: - Jan-Michael Williams, Andrei Pacheco, Clyde Leon, Mekeil Williams.

Coach: - Otto Pfister (Germany).

Venue: - National Sports Centre, Hamilton (Bermuda).

Standings.

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
Guyana  3  3  0  0  6  1  9
Trinidad  3  2  0  1  4  2  6
Bermuda  3  1  0  2  3  3  3
Barbados  3  0  0  3  8  0  0

Full report to follow.
Title: Re: Bermuda sink Soca Warriors.
Post by: dreamer on October 07, 2011, 08:28:07 PM
If we beat Barbados 3-0 ah go be happy. Doh frighten. Then we go ress dong 2 on Guyana and we will top de group. Pressure is good for dis team to develop. We may fail but we may also survive. Hang on fuh de ride.
Post by: Anbrat on October 07, 2011, 09:12:14 PM
If we beat Barbados 3-0 ah go be happy. Doh frighten. Then we go ress dong 2 on Guyana and we will top de group. Pressure is good for dis team to develop. We may fail but we may also survive. Hang on fuh de ride.

dreamer, ah dreaming and hanging on fuh de ride!
Post by: elan on October 07, 2011, 09:36:31 PM
This should go in de joke section. This to funny.   :-[  :'(
Post by: Controversial on October 07, 2011, 10:34:30 PM
small thing, 3 wins and were in the next round

good wake up call :beermug:
Post by: vb on October 08, 2011, 12:12:31 AM
Sadly, I can't say I'm surprised.

Post by: Football supporter on October 08, 2011, 12:57:27 AM
Interesting to note that Connell came on at 2-0. Wonder if he made a difference going forward?
Post by: Flex on October 08, 2011, 05:07:57 AM
'Warriors' slip to first defeat in qualifiers.

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior footballers put themselves in a familiar position  having to win all three remaining matches in the current CONCACAF group phase if they are to realize their ambitions of qualifying for Brazil 2014.

And all it took to cause some discomfort for Otto Pfister’s men was a 2-1 victory by Bermuda over T&T at the National Sports Centre, Hamilton on Friday night.

The win left T&T second in the group on six points behind Guyana (9pts after beating Barbados 2-0) with Bermuda third on three and Barbados pointless.

John Nusum did the damage to T&T back in 2008 and his return to the Bermuda line up today brought back winner’s luck as the hosts took their chances perfectly with Antwell Russell hitting home past Marvin Phillip in the 53rd minute and Bradford City striker Nahki Wells punishing  them with a blistering shot following an error at the back ten minutes later.

The game itself seemed odd from the start as the Bermudan anthem was never played as instead the sounds of United States’ own started playing shortly after T&T’s anthem.

That was the second time of such an occurrence at the same venue at a meeting between both teams.

Added to that, there was an announcement over the PA that the game time would be pushed back because  fans were still trying to get into the stadium.

Quite odd, considering that there was maybe just under 3,000 fans and extra seating at the venue and about 100 were trying to get in at the time of the announcement ten minutes before the scheduled start. The game eventually kicked off 18 minutes late.

The Bermudans showed spirit on the pitch against a T&T team that was missing five regular starters but still managed to move the ball around with some zip early despite struggling to create clear cut chances on goal.

When Kevin Molino pulled a goal back  in the 81st minute, T&T could not complete a comeback despite their valiant efforts in the closing stages

Lester Peltier had an effort on 12 minutes and Stern John’s low drive from a free kick went wide two minutes later.

Bermuda slowly got into their own and once they realized they were in a position to challenge for result their spirits lifted and they began to believe.

Skipper and mainman Khano Smith, playing in the left wingback position, forced a corner with a good effort and Kwame Steede shot into the side netting soon after.

Pfister played Hayden Tinto on the left and Peltier on the right but the former never settled and forced the German to replace him with Hughtun Hector in the 34th.

John was up top with Khaleem Hyland, Molino and Keon Daniel in the middle. Seon Power and Julius James played in central defence with Akeem Adams on the left and Osei Telesford on the right

Lashun Dill caused a scare for T&T when his effort rocked the crossbar in the 36th minute and Bermuda’s confidence kept growing. All the while T&T appeared comfortable despite not mounting countless pressure on the Bermudan  goal.

As the second half started, Bermuda went in early search of a goal with Wells’ shot saved by Phillips.

They got the go ahead item when a soft exchange between Keon Daniel and Osei Telesford allowed Andre Manders to pick up possession and he found Russell who clinically got the ball past Phillips.

The goal certainly woke T&T up with Hector proving to be a force on the left side but it wasn’t too long before Bermuda put a further dent on T&T.

Another lapse at the ball saw the end result being Wells picking up and unleashing a rocket which left Phillip hapless between the sticks. The Bermudans celebrated  like  never before.

John had a header denied and his replacement Devorn  Jorsling brought some additional force up front for T&T. Molino brought back some hope for T&T when he bundled the ball over the line for a 2-1 scoreline after Kevaughn Connell played one in that caused some mayhem in the box.

Pfister’ men  pressed and hustled after every ball,  keeping Bermuda on the backfoot for much of the remaining half but could not force an equalizer.

Julius James had a header cleared on the line and Peltier also muffed an opportunity inside the box while Hector curled one wide of the far post late in the game.

When the final whistle came after three minutes injury time, the result hurt the T&T team. But Bermuda began partying like Brazil was only now a booking away and rightly so. It was maybe their biggest ever victory on home soil.

The T&T faithful living in Bermuda, commendably, kept on waving the T&T flags more than half hour after the game was over, ensuring that the rhythm section was  still going as the T&T bus exited the venue.

Pfister will hold a session on Saturday morning prior to the team’s departure to Port Spain where they will face Barbados from 5pm on Tuesday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

A revived Bermuda will host Guyana. T&T will also face Guyana on the road and at home with everything to play for in what hopefully will be a November to remember. For the right reasons of course.

Pfister: No reason to press panic button

Head coach Otto Pfister said this was no time or reason for pressing the panic button as this country heads into its next three 2014 World Cup qualifying matches needing to win all to stay ahead in the race for a semi-final round spot.

Speaking after Friday’s 2-1 defeat to Bermuda in Hamilton, Pfister said: “Bermuda were a good team today.

Okay I never look for excuses but we had three or four key players that didn’t play today and we had three players that played for me for the first time today. This was difficult for the coordination.

We slept in the first half because I was only happy with the last twenty minutes.  It was our plan to press from the begin but we didn’t. We have to work and make corrections.

In two days we have the next game. I think the competition is open. Bermuda also has their next game at home. This is football. We have to respect the defeat and we go again.”

“No need (to press the panic button). In football you have three possibilities. You draw, you win or you lose. Today we lose. The first two games we win and now we have to try and win again.

“The weather was the same for the two teams. They had two opportunities and they took them. This is football.”
Post by: mukumsplau on October 08, 2011, 05:30:14 AM
i wake up..went and run some laps..do some abripper x...jog home...check mail...check sw.net and I NOW REMEMBER WE LORSE TO BERMUDA LAST NIGHT!!!!
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 08, 2011, 06:17:11 AM
small thing, 3 wins and were in the next round

good wake up call :beermug:
small thing and we cannot beat Bermuda  :o
Post by: asylumseeker on October 08, 2011, 06:21:11 AM
I hoped he would comment about the closed training session that became an open training session ... that seemed out of character.
Post by: weary1969 on October 08, 2011, 06:33:24 AM
Once upon a time I would b depress.
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 08, 2011, 07:13:54 AM
Soca stars forced to dance to Gombey beat.
By Stephen Wright (Royal Gazette).

Bermuda proved lightning can strike twice with another famous victory over Caribbean powerhouse Trinidad and Tobago to keep their World Cup qualifying hopes alive.

The night may have started in an inauspicious fashion with the public address system playing the US rather than the Bermudian national anthem, but it was the Soca Warriors who were made to dance to a Gombey beat at a jubilant National Sports Centre.

Thankfully that embarrassing mistake by the PA announcer was just about the only thing that went wrong for Bermuda whose feel-good victory was no more than their workaholic display deserved.

Second-half goals from Antwan Russell and Nahki Wells provided Devarr Boyles with his first win as Bermuda coach and breathed fresh life into their qualifying campaign.

Bermuda have become somewhat of a bogey team for Trinidad in recent years, having beaten them by the same scoreline in a qualifier in Port of Spain three years ago.

While they were forced to spend the majority of that backs-to-the-walls win repelling wave after wave of Trinidad attacks, it was a very different story last night with the hosts outplaying their more decorated counterparts for large portions for the game.

Trinidad, for all of their physical threat and professional experience, rarely troubled Freddy Hall's goal with Bermuda creating by far and away the better scoring opportunities.

They drew first blood midway through the first period when Lashun Dill's right wing cross picked out Russell who probably should have done better, putting a free header over the bar.

Bermuda were then denied by the woodwork when Wells released Dill with a defence-splitting pass, with the pacey winger driving into the Trinidad box only to see his curling effort cannon off the crossbar.

Trinidad, missing five players from the side which defeated Bermuda 1-0 last month, were struggling to find any passing fluency with their top all-time goalscorer Stern John cutting an isolated figure upfront.

Such was their attacking impotency, Trinidad coach Otto Psfister didn't even wait for the half-time whistle before shuffling his pack, hauling off the ineffectual Hayden Tinto for Hughton Hector.

The switch made little difference, though, and at half-time Bermuda's only real concern was that their substitute keeper Tahj Bell had been bizarrely dismissed for relieving himself at the far corner of the NSC while warming up.

With the wind on their backs, Bermuda started the second half with real purpose and their endeavour was rewarded when they broke the deadlock on 53 minutes with a goal that sent the NSC crowd wild with delight.

Taurean Manders robbed Trinidad defender Akeem Adams in a perilous position, and with the Trinidad defence static, pulled the ball back for Russell who supplied a close range finish.

Ten minutes later the shell-shocked visitors found themselves further behind when Kwame Steede teed up the superb Nahki Wells on the edge of area who hammered a first-time effort into the top corner.

Trinidad poured forward in the closing stages and set up a tense finale when Bermuda conceded a dangerous free kick which pinballed around the box before Kevin Molino scrambled it home on 83 minutes.

But with Bermuda's defence impressively marshalled by the imperious John Barry Nusum, Trinidad were unable to find an equaliser, which left a serious dent in their qualifying aspirations.

While Bermuda's victory will mean nothing unless they beat Guyana at home on Tuesday, Boyles side are at least firmly in the race claim the all-important Group B top spot.

“We're over the moon, this is big, this is new ground for us. I'm pleased for the boys this is a great result for us and it sets us up nicely, now it's just a matter of us being disciplined tonight, tomorrow, and Monday in preparation for Tuesday,” said Boyles.

“It's very rewarding, we felt that on the balance of the play we deserved it, so all credit to us. Trinidad are very powerful and it was a good game.”

A disgruntled Trinidad coach Psfister bemoaned the fact he missing several key players but he insisted he would not be pressing the panic button just yet. The Soca Warriors are now three points behind Guyana who defeated Barbados 3-0 last night.

“I think this Bermuda team played a very good game and we were not 100 percent concentrating. Okay, I know I look for sorry or something but we have three key players who don't play today, and three players who play the first time with me in a game,” said Psfister

“I don't see them in a game before, Devorn Jorsling, Osei Telesford and (Kevin) Molino, it was difficult for the co-ordination. We sleep in the first half and I was only happy with the last 20 minutes when we pressed which was our plan from the beginning.

“Football you have three possibilities, you draw, you win, or you lose. Today we lost, the first game that we win and we have to try in three days to win again.”
Post by: jahkingdom on October 08, 2011, 08:38:01 AM
 :whistling:
Post by: sjahrain on October 08, 2011, 09:20:36 AM
Today its me
Tomorrow it will be you..... :yellowcard:
Post by: Tallman on October 08, 2011, 09:22:29 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/fDj5SS9JeDU
Post by: kicker on October 08, 2011, 10:01:19 AM
Wow... This is really poor.
Post by: elan on October 08, 2011, 10:12:29 AM
I hoped he would comment about the closed training session that became an open training session ... that seemed out of character.

Exactly
Post by: elan on October 08, 2011, 10:15:26 AM

He talking rel shyte. 20 secs and already with excuses. We missing 3 key players to play BERMUDA  ???  You have to be joking. YOU (de coach man) pick ah team and then saying 3 of the players meet for the first time in a game and that you never see them play in a game before. What a F@#king joke of a response from a TOP coach.

Post by: breezers on October 08, 2011, 10:18:48 AM
ah tryin not tuh be too harsh eh but idk...dis thing otto hav bout throwin men str8 into d fyah without seein too much of dem is kinda he fault. Ah mean dais d choice he make...so is he wuh hatta bite d bullet instead of throwin odda ppl under d bus. He say how is 3 new players he had in d team and how molino 1st half wasnt up to par and all dat jazz but dais his fault cuz he choose tuh omit hector from d startin team...as well as leave out toussaint from d squad...clearly men who deserve more and men who he more familar wid....is d exact same mistake he make wid Warner and Phillip smh. So it seems like otto like tuh get burn b4 he learn..so lehwe see wuh he learn from dis mistake now...
Post by: Sam on October 08, 2011, 10:19:53 AM
Missing two players my ass !!!!!!!!!!!

There is no excuse for loosing to Grenada, St Lucia, St Vincent, Jamaica, Haiti, Cuba, Suriname, Martinique, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Barbados and Bermuda.... even with a few regular players missing.

NONE !!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: reggae-fan on October 08, 2011, 10:20:59 AM

There is no excuse for loosing to Grenada, St Lucia, St Vincent, Jamaica, Haiti, Cuba, Suriname, Martinique, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Barbados and Bermuda....

NONE !!!!!!!!!!!!

Take Jamaica off that list brother
Post by: elan on October 08, 2011, 10:24:07 AM

There is no excuse for loosing to Grenada, St Lucia, St Vincent, Jamaica, Haiti, Cuba, Suriname, Martinique, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Barbados and Bermuda....

NONE !!!!!!!!!!!!

Haul yuh arse, we will beat alyuh into ah ackee anytime we meet alyuh.
Post by: reggae-fan on October 08, 2011, 11:04:39 AM

Okay! I'll take your word for it brother.
Post by: just cool on October 08, 2011, 11:08:08 AM

NONE !!!!!!!!!!!!

He talking rel shyte. 20 secs and already with excuses. We missing 3 key players to play BERMUDA  ???  You have to be joking. YOU (de coach man) pick ah team and then saying 3 of the players meet for the first time in a game and that you never see them play in a game before. What a F@#king joke of a response from a TOP coach.

[/quote]Yuh sure is not you who's guilty of talking up ah pile? but lemme ask ah sensible question against my better judgement, when did this man have enough time to asses his players? like you forgetting that his first game in charge was 10 days before qualifying started? and from there on he had to experiment during qualifying bc of the lack of friendlies.

do you think ah coach could just appear out of thin air and put ah winning team together that he's never seen, and to add insult, ah team that's been inactive for almost a year?? are you fackin kidding me??

allyuh must remember that this is almost the identical team that flunked out the degicel cup? the only players who were absent from this team were power , stern and hyland, plus these men don't know how tuh fackin score goals, peltier, jorslin, tinto! so how the fack yuh could blame the coach for that!

the fact is, most of these players are incapable of competing on this level, and i believe if the coach had enough time to work with these guys he would've known the usual suspects.

bottom line, talent alone don't always bring success, as ah matter of fact talent only accounts for 30% of success, the main ingredient in the formula for success is cohesion! if you feel talent alone is sufficient, then brazil or argentina would've won the last copa america, that's bc they have talent tuh bun.

IMO this coach is gettin ah raw deal , and it stinks to the high heavens! if allyuh would step aside for ah minute and take off the xenophobic glasses off yuhs face then allyuh would see that this coach is not to blame, but who am i kidding, it's real emotional reactive ppl i dey mongst. 
Post by: Peong on October 08, 2011, 11:20:28 AM
We were actually missing 4 key players, Roberts, KJ, Carlos and Birchall.
Just Cool and friends why was yuh boy Toussaint left out?
Post by: just cool on October 08, 2011, 11:26:30 AM
Yuh ever stop tuh think, maybe he was just unavailable?
Post by: elan on October 08, 2011, 11:51:38 AM

NONE !!!!!!!!!!!!

Yuh sure is not you who's guilty of talking up ah pile? but lemme ask ah sensible question against my better judgement, when did this man have enough time to asses his players? like you forgetting that his first game in charge was 10 days before qualifying started? and from there on he had to experiment during qualifying bc of the lack of friendlies.

do you think ah coach could just appear out of thin air and put ah winning team together that he's never seen, and to add insult, ah team that's been inactive for almost a year?? are you fackin kidding me??

allyuh must remember that this is almost the identical team that flunked out the degicel cup? the only players who were absent from this team were power , stern and hyland, plus these men don't know how tuh fackin score goals, peltier, jorslin, tinto! so how the fack yuh could blame the coach for that!

the fact is, most of these players are incapable of competing on this level, and i believe if the coach had enough time to work with these guys he would've known the usual suspects.

bottom line, talent alone don't always bring success, as ah matter of fact talent only accounts for 30% of success, the main ingredient in the formula for success is cohesion! if you feel talent alone is sufficient, then brazil or argentina would've won the last copa america, that's bc they have talent tuh bun.

IMO this coach is gettin ah raw deal , and it stinks to the high heavens! if allyuh would step aside for ah minute and take off the xenophobic glasses off yuhs face then allyuh would see that this coach is not to blame, but who am i kidding, it's real emotional reactive ppl i dey mongst.

I not even talking about winning JC, just that he talking about who missing and who he eh see but they playing, don't understand that. Plus how long he have a group training and apparently it eh to effective, maybe I'm wrong. Where we fellas playing that he cyah see them play and know who to pick? USL just finish, English leagues on, Europe leagues on, PFL on.
Post by: Peong on October 08, 2011, 11:55:31 AM
Yuh ever stop tuh think, maybe he was just unavailable?

Yes, I also thought that he might be injured, but I really don't know.
I figured that since you're such a big fan you might know or at least want to know.
Post by: kicker on October 08, 2011, 12:00:16 PM
We only edged them 1-0 at home with all of our players... And from the sounds of it, it wasn't the most convincing display...so losing 2-1 away from home is not that far fetched. 

I think we have to look in the mirror and concede that we lack quality, and quit it with the superiority complex.  We're stuck in a mindset that we're supposed to beat teams like Bermuda just by showing up...that's obviously not the case - they beat us at home a few years back, so this is not exactly a new development - so it really confuses me to hear the heads bark in shock at this result.  How many awful results is it gonna take?   

The shirt doesn't win games by itself - We have plenty plenty work to do...and I fear that all the work in the world isn't going to be enough.  We need our players to exhibit true quality, and there's nothing so far to suggest that that quality even exist.... 
Post by: Socapro on October 08, 2011, 12:14:50 PM

I'm beginning to feel we have another Maturana on our hands!!
Maybe he's passed his best and is just in T&T to collect his last paycheck before full retirement?!
I think T&T taxpayers deserve a better explanantion for that performance and his player selections so far!
Post by: FireBrand on October 08, 2011, 12:17:28 PM
We only edged them 1-0 at home with all of our players... And from the sounds of it, it wasn't the most convincing display...so losing 2-1 away from home is not that far fetched. 

I think we have to look in the mirror and concede that we lack quality, and quit it with the superiority complex.  We're stuck in a mindset that we're supposed to beat teams like Bermuda just by showing up...that's obviously not the case - they beat us at home a few years back, so this is not exactly a new development - so it really confuses me to hear the heads bark in shock at this result.  How many awful results is it gonna take?   

The shirt doesn't win games by itself - We have plenty plenty work to do...and I fear that all the work in the world isn't going to be enough.  We need our players to exhibit true quality, and there's nothing so far to suggest that that quality even exist.... 

Sense.
Post by: dwn on October 08, 2011, 12:29:32 PM
I think we have to look in the mirror and concede that we lack quality, and quit it with the superiority complex. We're stuck in a mindset that we're supposed to beat teams like Bermuda just by showing up...that's obviously not the case

Exactly.

I wonder if the players think like that too and go into these game overconfident/complacent.
Post by: madness on October 08, 2011, 12:44:57 PM
@Socapro the soca warriors doesn't have the talent to play good football, we had a handful of coaches in the past and it seems like its the same results. the federation is not putting money to develop a good team. it needs to start from young until senior level in trinidad and tobago. the media of trinidad and tobago need to love the game so that it can b aired. Trinidad comes like US once upon a time, it was difficult to c football on any major network in the us, but now, it's soccer like crazy, trinidad is going backward never forward in the development of the game. THIS MUST STOP!!!!!
Post by: fitzinho on October 08, 2011, 01:26:18 PM
I think we have to look in the mirror and concede that we lack quality, and quit it with the superiority complex. We're stuck in a mindset that we're supposed to beat teams like Bermuda just by showing up...that's obviously not the case

Exactly.

I wonder if the players think like that too and go into these game overconfident/complacent.
I does wonder myself u know. Despite all recent results alot of forumites seem to still think we are the team we once were back in the late 80s-mid ninety's. Even when Beenhaker was coaching it took the eventual return of Latapy for us to really start looking dangerous. That alone shows me that we didn't then and don't now have all the tools for a top regional team.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 08, 2011, 01:48:23 PM

Maybe he's passed his best and is just in T&T to collect his last paycheck before full retirement?!
I think T&T taxpayers deserve a better explanantion for that performance and his player selections so far!

How many games has Pfister had? Four? At least two things could resolve this: 1) have Mourinho guest coach for 4 games or 2) play a series of friendlies versus Moldova (one of the least competent UEFA squads) on four match dates with Pfister at the helm.
Post by: fitzinho on October 08, 2011, 02:53:53 PM

How many games has Pfister had? Four? At least two things could resolve this: 1) have Mourinho guest coach for 4 games or 2) play a series of friendlies versus Moldova (one of the least competent UEFA squads) on four match dates with Pfister at the helm.

If Mourinho dont do well men on this board will come and say Mourinho is a shit coach who past he best and we need a local coach etc. etc...even he said if u want a great omelette u need great eggs
Post by: Peong on October 08, 2011, 03:01:57 PM
This performance is consistent with our form in the last 2 years or so.
Post by: fatimarima on October 08, 2011, 03:08:13 PM
dis is real too too...........plenty madness here with T&T football......the glory days done before dey could even start
Post by: andre samuel on October 08, 2011, 04:01:14 PM

Well said my brother!!

You take the words out of my mouth! The gap has closed tremendously!! The writing was on the wall when we couldnt qualify for the Gold Cup.  If we cyar make it as one of the top four in the Caribbean, then why should we think that we can seriously challenge for a top 3 spot in Concacaf.

Post by: Preacher on October 08, 2011, 07:22:24 PM
T&T set up 4-3-3.  Throw away a set of goals.  Anyone who is fighting down this coach is obviously a football dunce. 
Post by: Small Change on October 08, 2011, 08:21:34 PM
WHile we ketch we arse to beat Bermuda, Costa played Brazil in a friendly, and "A" Brazil team and lost 1 -0. We WILL NEVER reach the level of Mex, USA, Costa Rica and Honduras. NEVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: santacruz on October 08, 2011, 09:14:28 PM

Well said my brother!!

You take the words out of my mouth! The gap has closed tremendously!! The writing was on the wall when we couldnt qualify for the Gold Cup.  If we cyar make it as one of the top four in the Caribbean, then why should we think that we can seriously challenge for a top 3 spot in Concacaf.

it aint think the gap close nah. if yuh check the rest of the qualifying matches you will see teams that deserve tuh get 5 and 7 get exactly that. trinidad and tobago football has just regressed tremendously. as kicker say, we simply dont have the quality to convincingly compete in concacaf. simple as that!
Post by: ZANDOLIE on October 08, 2011, 09:34:56 PM
This forum is pure kicks. Bermuda beat us so the coach and players are shit. So all of a sudden dis Bermuda nobody coach better than Pfister? All of a sudden the same players we were bigging yesterday now shittier than these Bermudans?

Wim get fired and we hire Maturana. We get licks from Grenada and kick out the gold cup. We fire Mats and hire Latapy. We get licks and get kick out the gold cup again. We fire Latapy and hire Pfister. If we get beaten by Guyana under Jamal Shabazz then we will fire Pfister and hire another coach.

As for the players, not one of them gave any indication of being overconfident. And hands down they are better than Bermuda ON PAPER and we dominated possession in the game.

So coaches have come and gone, players have come and gone, but the results are the same. So what's the problem?  If we players so shitty why are we wasting time, money and resources trying to qualifiy? Here's a hint...there is one organization whose members have not come and gone in any meaningful way. It happens to be the same organization that has not given our team a game for a almost a year, then fed us India. INDIA! Then no further preparation for World cup Qualifying.

Allyuh does cuss Socapro and others for 'negative vibes' but the fact remains that T&T will NEVER TRULY SUCCEED with Camps  et al in power. We may win a few battles here and there, but the cost has been and always will be tremendous and crippling to us. They are serial loosers, nothing they do or have done will ultimately be long lasting or of future benefit.

The TTFF are masters of the 'hope springs eternal' technique. They cynically appeal to our patriotism and love of the game to relieve us of our money, and we fall for it every damn time.  Technical staff and players have not been paid for months, but you can be damn sure Caps getting compensated. Like a good woman, we tell ourselves its the lot of us fans to endure. Hell no.

Until we rid ourselves of these people, get off the FIFA qualifying hamster wheel, stop reaching for carrots and begin to build structures to develop football, until we pay our respect to the game, NOTHING WILL CHANGE. Lets keep supporting the players but like kicker said, doh fraid to look in the mirror.

Carry on.

Post by: Socapro on October 08, 2011, 09:47:44 PM
This forum is pure kicks. Bermuda beat us so the coach and players are shit. So all of a sudden dis Bermuda nobody coach better than Pfister? All of a sudden the same players we were bigging yesterday now shittier than these Bermudans?

Wim get fired and we hire Maturana. We get licks from Grenada and kick out the gold cup. We fire Mats and hire Latapy. We get licks and get kick out the gold cup again. We fire Latapy and hire Pfister. If we get beaten by Guyana under Jamal Shabazz then we will fire Pfister and hire another coach.

As for the players, not one of them gave any indication of being overconfident. And hands down they are better than Bermuda ON PAPER and we dominated possession in the game.

So coaches have come and gone, players have come and gone, but the results are the same. So what's the problem?  If we players so shitty why are we wasting time, money and resources trying to qualifiy? Here's a hint...there is one organization whose members have not come and gone in any meaningful way. It happens to be the same organization that has not given our team a game for a almost a year, then fed us India. INDIA! Then no further preparation for World cup Qualifying.

Allyuh does cuss Socapro and others for 'negative vibes' but the fact remains that T&T will NEVER TRULY SUCCEED with Camps  et al in power. We may win a few battles here and there, but the cost has been and always will be tremendous and crippling to us. They are serial loosers, nothing they do or have done will ultimately be long lasting or of future benefit.

The TTFF are masters of the 'hope springs eternal' technique. They cynically appeal to our patriotism and love of the game to relieve us of our money, and we fall for it every damn time.  Technical staff and players have not been paid for months, but you can be damn sure Caps getting compensated. Like a good woman, we tell ourselves its the lot of us fans to endure. Hell no.

Until we rid ourselves of these people, get off the FIFA qualifying hamster wheel, stop reaching for carrots and begin to build structures to develop football, until we pay our respect to the game, NOTHING WILL CHANGE. Lets keep supporting the players but like kicker said, doh fraid to look in the mirror.

Carry on.

:applause: :applause: :beermug:
Post by: Storeboy on October 08, 2011, 10:21:31 PM
So we continue to play terribly and lose matches under the last four coaches.  And people keep blaming the coach.  Who do you all really want?  Let's face it!  The TTFF has done nothing to develop talent for the last 20 years.  It is only by accident that we had a few natuarally gifted players that came together at the same time and they were developed overseas - Yorke, Latapy, Dog, Stern, Hislop.  Coincidence and Fate smiled on us and we got lucky.  The last time we were very successful we had a Brazilian coach that developed several players at San Fernando Technical in the 60's and a few other talented players - De Leon, Cummings, Archibald, and a few others.  We recently had a team that went to the Under 19 World Cup and we have not heard about them since.  We have not played a decent Friendly in more than two years, so we have players but no team.  This is a team game where players have to learn to play with each other.  Meanwhile the US plays quality competition every month with games against Spain, Mexico, Italy, Costa Rica, Brazil, Argentina, etc.  What is the TTFF doing? Nothing, but fleecing the game.
Whether we change coaches or not, change players or not, we will achieve nothing until we have a soccer administration that cares about the development of the ganme rather than stroking their own egos and liniing their own pockets.
Post by: Preacher on October 08, 2011, 10:54:22 PM
TTFF argument valid.  But you can't blame TTFF when you line up out there.  Our team throw away the match.  I did not see the game but from what I heard we were given the opportunity to succeed.   They need to dig deeper.  They can do it.  They will do it.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on October 09, 2011, 12:36:57 AM
TTFF argument valid.  But you can't blame TTFF when you line up out there.  Our team throw away the match.  I did not see the game but from what I heard we were given the opportunity to succeed.   They need to dig deeper.  They can do it.  They will do it.

They will do what Preacher, beat B'dos and Guyana? At full strength, no doubt. But people acting like they EXPECT this particular T&T side to beat Bermuda with NO PREPARATION and minus Jones, Roberts, Birchall and Carlos Edwards. On top of that we could have a B side with JLloyd, Carlyle Mitchell, Andre Toussaint, Theobald, Leon, Daniel Cyrus, Joevin Jones, Jamal Gay, Kerry Baptiste and plenty more MIA.

The federation supposed to secure our preparations. As storeboy pointed out in the last two years the US has played Czech Republic, England, Netherlands, Colombia, Turkey, Poland, Chile, Parguay, Argentina, Mexico, Spain, Brazil. They playing Ecuador next Tuesday.

In the last year Mexico played Columbia, Ecuador, Bolivia, the US, Uruguay, Peru, Chile, Poland and Costa Rica. They playing Brazil in Mexico Tuesday.

Honduras has played South Korea, Guatemala, JA, Mexico, Venezuela, Colombia and Paraguay.

We play India...

To say this T&T side just supposed to line up and magically win every game against so-called minnows regardless of preparation is plain wrong. And its doubly wrong when you realize its not just one game. Loosing to minnows has become the norm for us.

Maybe we have unrealistic expectations of these players and coaches. Maybe the lack of preparation, poor morale, fighting between local and foreign, coaching merry go-round, not paying players and staff is taking its toll. I believe it is, and if so these are issues the federation, not the players and coach, have to address before we can move forward.

The problems dogging the team for years, but instead of genuinely seeking solutions Jack, Camps and the boys sweeping dirt under the carpet and throwing pee out the window to fool us into thinking everything 'normal'. Football is a mental game. How motivated would you be to play for the same men who blatantly tief from you, causing you to loose money, endangering your career, offer no help if you get injured, calling you a mercenary. If you not 100% in yuh head that makes a big difference on the field.

Not making excuses, just my speculation as to why we went from world cup heroes to a laughing stock.
Post by: davyjenny1 on October 09, 2011, 01:17:40 AM

Sense.
move yuh table and chair ahead of the class
Post by: asylumseeker on October 09, 2011, 02:49:13 AM
Don't want to lose against minnows? Want to protect the national team rep? Then don't play minnows!
Post by: reggae-fan on October 09, 2011, 05:24:29 AM
Can I ask football lovers on this forum a question? Who really is the top dog at the TTFF? Jack Warner is out of the picture now in all capacities, so we will no longer assume it is him pulling the strings behind the scenes. I've been reading these forums for around ten years now, and I still can't tell you guys who your federation president is (outside of Jack Warner). Is it Camps or LookLoy? Or Lincoln Philips. Who is your General Secretary? Who is your National Technical Director? Is it Pfister or is he senior national team coach only? Putting a 70 year old coach at the helm of your football program to do the job on his own in my mind is questionable.  It becomes even more questionable when for the first 3 months or so of his job, he basically collected his paychecks without having to do any work at all, then your federation gives the guy a game to kick off his appointment against India of all teams to give him a false sense of where the team is. And who is he accountable to? Who is the one who will eventually fire him if he doesn't get the job done? Dont tell me its the minister of Sports (I believe he threatened to fire Latapy,and eventually did)

So, back to the question, who is the man that is responsible for negotiating international friendly games and all that? Because I think this is always going to be the most crucial role in the development of any national team programme. You cant do well in international sport in general without a solid Administration behind the team. And while my own JFF is not at the level we would like them to be, Horace Burrall and Horace Reid are beacons in the Caribbean when it comes to managing the football at all levels, hiring and firing of coaches, and liasing with regional and international Football Federations to arrange friendly games on FIFA match dates.

I think you guys should give this Pfister guy a decent friendly game at some point to test his true mettle. You cant just assume that because he's coached Cameroon etc with good success he's going to get the same results here. These African teams are blessed with more natural talent than the average team in CONCACAF, so coaching them might be a little bit different than coaching a Caribbean team.

I expect you guys to win this group, but even with Kenwyn Jones in the starting lineup, I feel you will struggle in the later rounds...of course i say this in the context of your results so far.

Post by: asylumseeker on October 09, 2011, 07:06:38 AM
Friendlies to test his mettle? That would be like asking Warren Buffet to prove his worth by showing he could run a corner rum shop. All this conflating and confusing and equating coaching competence with player ability is bullshit.
Post by: FireBrand on October 09, 2011, 09:36:50 AM

No...the 5th is Jlloyd Samuel.
Title: Guyana, Antigua march on
Post by: Socapro on October 09, 2011, 11:06:00 AM
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/Guyana__Antigua_march_on-131403953.html

Guyana, Antigua march on
Story Created: Oct 9, 2011 at 12:40 AM ECT

T&T, only the second English-speaking side to qualify for a World Cup finals after reaching Germany 2006, were a shadow of themselves and lost 2-1 in Hamilton on a cool and blustery night at the National Sports Centre.

After a goal-less first half in the Group B contest, Antwan Russell fired Bermuda ahead in the 53rd minute and ten minutes later Nahki Wells doubled their lead before

Kevin Molino pulled a goal back in the 81st minute.

Guyana had no such problems but left it late before they could dispose of hapless Barbados 2-0 at the National Stadium in Bridgetown.

Substitute Anthony Abrams put the visitors ahead in the 73rd and captain Christopher Nurse added a second three minutes from time to send Guyana to the top of Group B on nine points.

The defeat for Barbados was their third straight and it virtually eliminated them from the qualifying series.

Elsewhere, Haiti swamped the US Virgin Islands 7-0 on the road to remain unbeaten and head Group F on nine points.

Impressive Antigua and Barbuda also remained unbeaten, edging Curacao 1-0 in Willemstad through a Tamarley Thomas 74th minute strike, to keep pace with Haiti in Group F.

Grenada were also in winners' row, beating Belize 4-1 in Belmopan, but there were heavy losses for other Eastern Caribbean countries as Dominica were thrashed 5-0 by Panama in Roseau and St Lucia were swamped 7-0 by Canada in Gros Islet, with Jamaica-born striker Simeon Jackson netting a hat-trick.

–CMC
Title: Bermuda stuns Soca Warriors 2-1
Post by: Socapro on October 09, 2011, 11:18:17 AM
http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2011/10/09/bermuda-stuns-soca-warriors-2-1

Bermuda stuns Soca Warriors 2-1
Published: Sun, 2011-10-09 05:05

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior footballers put themselves in a familiar position having to win all three remaining matches in the current CONCACAF group phase if they are to realise their ambitions of qualifying for Brazil 2014. And that’s all it took to cause some discomfort for Otto Pfister’s men who went down 2-1 to Bermuda at the National Sports Centre, Hamilton on Friday night. The lost left T&T second in the group on six points behind Guyana (9 pts after beating Barbados 2-0) with Bermuda third on three and Barbados pointless. John Nusum did the damage to T&T, back in 2008, and his return to the Bermuda line-up on Friday night brought back the winner’s luck as the hosts took their chances perfectly with Antwell Russell hitting home past Marvin Phillip in the 53rd minute and Bradford City striker Nahki Wells; punishing them with a blistering shot following an error at the back ten minutes later. The game itself seemed odd from the start as the Bermudan anthem was never played but instead the sounds of United States’ own started playing shortly after T&T’s anthem. That was the second time of such an occurrence at the same venue at a meeting between both teams.

Added to that, there was an announcement over the PA system that the game time would be pushed back because fans were still trying to get into the stadium which seats just under 3,000 fans. The game eventually kicked off 18 minutes late. The Bermudans showed spirit on the pitch against a T&T team that was missing five regular starters but still managed to move the ball around with some zip early despite struggling to create clear cut chances on goal. When Kevin Molino pulled a goal back in the 81st minute, T&T could not complete a comeback despite their valiant efforts in the closing stages. Lester Peltier had an effort on 12 minutes and Stern John’s low drive from a free kick went wide two minutes later. Bermuda slowly got into their own and once they realised they were in a position to challenge for result their spirits lifted and they began to believe. Skipper and mainman Khano Smith, playing in the left wingback position, forced a corner with a good effort and Kwame Steede shot into the side netting soon after.

Pfister played Hayden Tinto on the left and Peltier on the right but the former never settled and forced the German to replace him with Hughtun Hector in the 34th. John was up top with Khaleem Hyland, Molino and Keon Daniel in the middle. Seon Power and Julius James played in central defence with Akeem Adams on the left and Osei Telesford on the right. Lashun Dill caused a scare for T&T when his effort rocked the crossbar in the 36th minute and Bermuda’s confidence kept growing. All the while T&T appeared comfortable despite not mounting countless pressure on the Bermudan  goal. As the second half started, Bermuda went in early search of a goal with Wells’ shot saved by Phillips. They got the go ahead item when a soft exchange between Daniel and Telesford allowed Andre Manders to pick up possession and he found Russell who clinically got the ball past Phillips. The goal certainly woke T&T up with Hector proving to be a force on the left side but it wasn’t too long before Bermuda put a further dent on T&T.

Another lapse at the ball saw the end result being Wells picking up and unleashing a rocket which left Phillip hapless between the sticks. The Bermudans celebrated  like never before. John had a header denied and his replacement Devorn Jorsling brought some additional force up front for T&T. Molino brought back some hope for T&T when he bundled the ball over the line for a 2-1 scoreline after Kevaughn Connell played one in that caused some mayhem in the box. T&T pressed and hustled after every ball, keeping Bermuda on the backfoot for much of the remaining half but could not force an equalizer. Julius James had a header cleared on the line and Peltier also muffed an opportunity inside the box while Hector curled one wide of the far post  late in the game. When the final whistle came after three minutes injury time, the result hurt the T&T team. But Bermuda began partying with what maybe the team’s biggest ever victory on home soil. Pfister will hold a session on Saturday morning prior to the team’s departure to Port-of-Spain where they will face Barbados from 5 pm on Tuesday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Pfister: No reason to press panic button
Head coach Otto Pfister said this was no time or reason for pressing the panic button as this country heads into its next three 2014 World Cup qualifying matches needing to win to stay ahead in the race for a semi-final round spot. Speaking after Friday’s 2-1 defeat to Bermuda in Hamilton, Pfister said: “Bermuda were a good team today. Okay, I never look for excuses but we had three or four key players that didn’t play today and we had three players that played for me for the first time today. This was difficult for the co-ordination. “No need to press the panic button. In football you have three possibilities. You draw, you win or you lose. Today we lose. The first two games we win and now we have to try and win again. “The weather was the same for the two teams. They had two opportunities and they took them. This is football.”

Teams

Bermuda:  Frederick Hall, Khano Smith (captain), Taurean Manders (Seion Darrell, 85th), Keman Tucker, Devrae Tankard, Tyrell Burgess, Kwame Steede, Lashan Dill (Damon Ming, 65th),John Barry Nusum, Antwan Russell,Nakhi Wells (Chris Casey, 68th).

Subs not used:  Tahj Bell (Red 37'), Quadir Maynard, Angelo Simmons, Jesse Seymour.

T&T: Marvin Phillip,Seon Power, Julius James,  Akeem Adams, Osei Telesford, Lester Peltier, Khaleem Hyland,  Keon Daniel (Kevaughn Connell, 65th), Hayden Tinto (Hughtun Hector, 34th),Kevin Molino, Stern John (capt) (Devorn Jorsling, 60th).
 Subs not used: - Jan-Michael Williams, Andrei Pacheco, Clyde Leon, Mekeil Williams.
Post by: Trinitozbone on October 09, 2011, 12:15:50 PM
Reggae Fan I agree with your comments. we the fans have to take the blame too! We take anything that is given to us without question!I doubt whether Jamaica would have accepted that decision to bring a 73 year old in charge of their team with qualified ex national players or coaches around! Jamaicans are a proud people but we are fool-fool as they call us! Too much crap going on in Trinidad and Tobago football and we are talking about who shittier than we! t &t inspired Jamaica to go to the World Cup after our outstanding performane in 1989 and the whole of Jamaica including Patterson at the time supported us! Now we struggling in the preliminaries ! It is such a shame!
I like what Jamaica is doing with their local coach and I wish them all the best! Because the way it is looking even if we squeeze through it would not be easy in the next round!
Post by: asylumseeker on October 09, 2011, 12:25:19 PM
So dahis it now? Scapegoat Pfister because of his age? Ridiculous.
Post by: Preacher on October 09, 2011, 12:50:53 PM

They will do what Preacher, beat B'dos and Guyana? At full strength, no doubt. But people acting like they EXPECT this particular T&T side to beat Bermuda with NO PREPARATION and minus Jones, Roberts, Birchall and Carlos Edwards. On top of that we could have a B side with JLloyd, Carlyle Mitchell, Andre Toussaint, Theobald, Leon, Daniel Cyrus, Joevin Jones, Jamal Gay, Kerry Baptiste and plenty more MIA.

The federation supposed to secure our preparations. As storeboy pointed out in the last two years the US has played Czech Republic, England, Netherlands, Colombia, Turkey, Poland, Chile, Parguay, Argentina, Mexico, Spain, Brazil. They playing Ecuador next Tuesday.

In the last year Mexico played Columbia, Ecuador, Bolivia, the US, Uruguay, Peru, Chile, Poland and Costa Rica. They playing Brazil in Mexico Tuesday.

Honduras has played South Korea, Guatemala, JA, Mexico, Venezuela, Colombia and Paraguay.

We play India...

To say this T&T side just supposed to line up and magically win every game against so-called minnows regardless of preparation is plain wrong. And its doubly wrong when you realize its not just one game. Loosing to minnows has become the norm for us.

Maybe we have unrealistic expectations of these players and coaches. Maybe the lack of preparation, poor morale, fighting between local and foreign, coaching merry go-round, not paying players and staff is taking its toll. I believe it is, and if so these are issues the federation, not the players and coach, have to address before we can move forward.

The problems dogging the team for years, but instead of genuinely seeking solutions Jack, Camps and the boys sweeping dirt under the carpet and throwing pee out the window to fool us into thinking everything 'normal'. Football is a mental game. How motivated would you be to play for the same men who blatantly tief from you, causing you to loose money, endangering your career, offer no help if you get injured, calling you a mercenary. If you not 100% in yuh head that makes a big difference on the field.

Not making excuses, just my speculation as to why we went from world cup heroes to a laughing stock.

Yeah Z we didn't prepare as we should have no doubt.  But hopefully we can get a peak at the game because from what i heard we should have won that game.  It's not like we got out played.  We give up two goals and throw away 5 or 6.  What you expect?  With the match summery I think the expectations of beating Bermudas were valid for the players and the coaching staff.   
Post by: ZANDOLIE on October 09, 2011, 02:04:04 PM
We must have standards and expectations but we have to put in the work to achieve it. The team will still get support til the end. Either way its all good (1)It would be a great accomplishment for the guys to make it with all the odds against them (2) If we bow out the federation will done. No way Ollie and dem sticking around for another 6 years. (3) Anil Roberts stated any money left over from the campaign/future monies will be directed to development. If we don't install competent people and immediately invest in the U-15, U-17 and U-20 teams, come 2017 we will find ourselves back to the mindless cussing of yet another set of 'shitong' players and coaches.
Post by: Socapro on October 09, 2011, 03:05:11 PM

Interviews like this doh help his case!!

Post by: Preacher on October 09, 2011, 05:44:29 PM

Interviews like this doh help his case!!

What's wrong with the interview?  All I see is a frustrated coach.  What is he saying that's wrong in your opinion?
Post by: Socapro on October 09, 2011, 06:23:13 PM
@Preacher

Unacceptable excuses:-

1. 3 Key players missing!!
Come on, who we playing Mexico/USA or Bermuda?

2. Had to use 3 new players he never saw before!
Come on, who's fault is that? One friendly against Indian before this round start but he was here 3 months before that drinking cocktails on the beach!

To me a top notch coach values his reputation so much that he would not have allowed this situation to arise, i.e no friendlies to see players and build-up team chemistry between local and foreign base etc for over 3 months and world cup qualifiers coming!

As much as we may wish to blame the TTFF for no freindles, Mr so-called ‘Iron’ Pfister as a previously respected world cup coach should have demanded more friendless or tended his resignation!
In this regard Pfister is starting to remind me very much of Maturana who blamed the TTFF for undermining him after he had lost any chance of qualifying the team for SA and was asked to leave!
Post by: Observer on October 09, 2011, 06:38:47 PM
unfair assessment of the coach. No preparation = Cannot evaluate talent = cannot build a team, in a competitive environment. What do people really expect ???
Post by: Socapro on October 09, 2011, 06:48:39 PM
unfair assessment of the coach. No preparation = Cannot evaluate talent = cannot build a team, in a competitive environment. What do people really expect ???

I agree with you there Observer but Pfister was here for 3 months and tolerated it, i.e having no friendlies to evaluate players and build a decent team.

Maybe Pfister looked at the name of the other teams in our group and underestimated them and thought that we could get away with topping our group without playing any friendlies so he tolerated the lack of friendlies that the TTFF offered him!

We could still top our group but I could do without those two lame excuses he offered in the interview especially seeing what he was prepared to tolerate from the TTFF!

Anyway I am sure Pfister knows that if T&T don't win our group he will be out of a job with a damaged reputation so let’s see what happens for our remaining 3 games.

I don't see Guyana rolling over easily to T&T with the big incentive that their players have to win the group and they are already half way there!
Post by: elan on October 09, 2011, 06:57:21 PM

Who fault is it that he cannot evaluate talent? Go with what you know then  ???
Post by: royal on October 09, 2011, 07:41:25 PM
Unspectacular Daniel

http://www.brotherlygame.com/2011/10/9/2479660/keon-daniel-unspectacular-in-trinidad-and-tobagos-2-1-loss-to-bermuda
Post by: Football supporter on October 09, 2011, 09:15:38 PM
I've been watching the usual mix of panic, defeatism, namecalling and a little bit of hope.

In my opinion you could blame the players if you wish. Maybe the individuals are not good enough, but saying that, the 2006 squad was mainly English lower league players or Pro League players. Those that weren't were not exactly household names. Kenwyne was fairly unknown, Latapy was unknown outside Scotland and T&T, same as Marvin. Yorke had passed his best. The biggest name was Shaka. Stern had a good rep as a Championship goalscorer and Carlos was known as a good potential for smaller Premiership clubs.
So, todays squad isn't really much different. Yes, Stern and Carlos may be past their best, but Kenwyne is a better player and Birchall has matured nicely. Given the right preperation, coach and momentum, these players are good enough.

So, maybe we should blame the coach? Yes, he's 73, but he's not senile. He now has more experience and knowledge than ever before. He's the most experienced coach T&T have ever had with the best track record. Maybe he has lost some of the hunger and passion? It's possible, but this will probably be his last national position and I believe he wants to succeed. People say he did nothing for 3 months. First, he has to acclimatise to the culture. He had no Pro League to watch. He began gathering the players for training sessions and scouted overseas talent. He was probably promised some warm up games. By the time August came and he realised he was getting no warm ups, he probably spit out his dummy and the India game was arranged. Then, BANG, first qualifier. What were his options? Resign? That would be a failure. Instead he continued to observe the training, pull players in and push some out. He watches every Pro League match as well as Pro League friendlies. His aim is probably to get through this round and put pressure on TTFF to get him some serious friendlies.

Blame TTFF? Well, actually, yes. It is their key role to project T&T football via international competition. They have failed miserably. From not paying players and staff to mismanaging their budget, to failing to develop a strong youth programme, TTFF have failed at every level. It is disgusting that the same people are still in place. TTFF should be completely dismantled and replaced, using some of the useful TTFF staff if required. (Don't throw out the baby with the bathwater). TTFF appoint the coach, and they have made some poor decisions. Latapy would have been an excellent asst coach and could have been groomed for the top spot in 5-7 years. He should also take some responsibility for stepping up before he was ready and effectively smash his coaching career. It is only TTFF who can arrange and fund friendly matches, and without reasonable opposition, there is no way to blood youngsters or gauge the teams standard. TTFF have repeatedly let down this country since September 2006.

And, of course, we have to consider our Jack in the Box, Mr Warner. Singlehandedly, Mr Warners dishonesty has led us to this situation. Had he adhered to his deal with the players, we may have performed better in the 2010 qualifiers and hopefully the Gold Cups. A gradual handover would have occurred between the old school and the new young bucks. A structured rebuilding would have taken place. Instead, his petulance led to the smashing up of T&T's most successful ever squad. For 5 years Mr Warner (according to Mr Camps affidavit) has witheld a large amount of TTFF funds. Funds that could have been used for youth development and to help the new squad mature and develop. He appears in court on tuesday and its a shame he can't be tried for crimes against the state, for his constant involvement in international football scandals have brought shame upon the shores of T&T. Through his controversies, including the blacklisting of players, he has overseen the transition of T&T football from proud warriors to untouchables. How many nations have blankly refused to play T&T in friendlies? We don't know, but it seems very strange that teams like Honduras get quality opposition. Nations are looking for friendlies, but the lack of quality opposition over the last few years points to Federations not willing to be tarnished by associating with Mr Warner. And what demands did he make? We don't know if approaches were made but Warners demands were too high or just not acceptable. Remember the allegation by the Scottish F.A. that Warner asked for the match fee to be paid to his personal account?

2014 may not be possible, but its looking good for 2018 (and we should always be planning two world cups in advance a la Canada). Hopefully, this court case will finally cut the ties between Camps, Warner and the other jokers and our national football. We have an exciting crop of youngsters coming through, and although it may be ambitious for the Olympic squad to reach London, some of those boys will blend into the senior team. By 2015, that team will be blooded and ready for the 2018 qualifiers.

Providing we have a nice handover from Pfister to his replacement (who should already be in place as assistant coach so he can learn Pfisters secrets) and the new TTFF can arrange friendlies with the likes of Mexico, Canada etc and we reach a Gold Cup finals, the future looks bright.   

Post by: Preacher on October 09, 2011, 09:54:46 PM
@Preacher

Come on, who's fault is that? One friendly against Indian before this round start but he was here 3 months before that drinking cocktails on the beach!

To me a top notch coach values his reputation so much that he would not have allowed this situation to arise, i.e no friendlies to see players and build-up team chemistry between local and foreign base etc for over 3 months and world cup qualifiers coming!

As much as we may wish to blame the TTFF for no freindles, Mr so-called ‘Iron’ Pfister as a previously respected world cup coach should have demanded more friendless or tended his resignation!
In this regard Pfister is starting to remind me very much of Maturana who blamed the TTFF for undermining him after he had lost any chance of qualifying the team for SA and was asked to leave!

Nah you just sharing licks from a side.  Put it this way, give the man 1% of the bligh you give Latas and we'll be good.  At least respect the man credentials.  What his comment implied to me is that he didn't personally pick them fellas.  Which tells to much more than I care to know at this point.  Nonetheless, Otto is a professional.  This loss on the players. They were good enough but didn't get the job done.
Post by: Socapro on October 09, 2011, 10:53:40 PM
@Preacher

Nah you just sharing licks from a side.  Put it this way, give the man 1% of the bligh you give Latas and we'll be good.  At least respect the man credentials.  What his comment implied to me is that he didn't personally pick them fellas.  Which tells to much more than I care to know at this point.  Nonetheless, Otto is a professional.  This loss on the players. They were good enough but didn't get the job done.

If that is the case then I will lose all respect for Pfister and hope that he leaves now!!
That's the same excuse we heard from Maturana for his failure when he left; that he was not in charge, was being undermined and was not picking the team!!
Please don’t get me mad now, as that sounds to me like history repeating itself!!

You can’t be taking big head coach salary (which is T&T taxpayers money by the way) and then turn around and tell me that you are not picking the team and calling the shots especially so early in the campaign! 
Please tell me that you are misinterpreting Pfister’s comments because I refuse to believe that you will find that an acceptable excuse!

That's excuse is even worse than the two weak excuses Pfister actually gave us in the interview!

Btw I am not trying to condemn Pfister as a bad coach but with the salary he is on he needs to come with a better explanation than that in an interview if we lose a game to a team on the level with Bermuda!
The missing key players thing doh really hold too much water for me at this level!!! Who did we play, Mexico or Bermuda?! ???

Let’s hope that was the first and last time we get that key players missing excuse in this round as it is not Mexico, USA or Costa Rica we playing in this group!

Finally I can agree with you that the players failed to get the job done! I would have preferred to hear that from the coach in the interview rather than him saying key players were missing and he used players he never saw before!! Them sort of comments does get me worried!!
Post by: elan on October 09, 2011, 11:00:26 PM
Men eh watching the speed, strength and power with which the USA attacking and defending with. These fellas fit and serious. We fighting up with Bermuda and donkey Just Cool talking about Barbados and Guyana. Jokers.
Post by: Sando prince on October 10, 2011, 01:44:58 AM
man in here really defending this shit performance ? I could care less which players top foreign players were missing. So we have no depth !!! ???...So wait these are not top players from our Pro League ??? !!! and its not the national team coach job to develop players..Its the football clubs job to develop players ..Pro league aint producing shit right now..
Post by: CarenageBoy on October 10, 2011, 04:09:41 AM
Anyone know if a Youtube video of the game is available?
Post by: just cool on October 10, 2011, 08:01:48 AM
I've been watching the usual mix of panic, defeatism, namecalling and a little bit of hope.

In my opinion you could blame the players if you wish. Maybe the individuals are not good enough, but saying that, the 2006 squad was mainly English lower league players or Pro League players. Those that weren't were not exactly household names. Kenwyne was fairly unknown, Latapy was unknown outside Scotland and T&T, same as Marvin. Yorke had passed his best. The biggest name was Shaka. Stern had a good rep as a Championship goalscorer and Carlos was known as a good potential for smaller Premiership clubs.
So, todays squad isn't really much different. Yes, Stern and Carlos may be past their best, but Kenwyne is a better player and Birchall has matured nicely. Given the right preperation, coach and momentum, these players are good enough.

So, maybe we should blame the coach? Yes, he's 73, but he's not senile. He now has more experience and knowledge than ever before. He's the most experienced coach T&T have ever had with the best track record. Maybe he has lost some of the hunger and passion? It's possible, but this will probably be his last national position and I believe he wants to succeed. People say he did nothing for 3 months. First, he has to acclimatise to the culture. He had no Pro League to watch. He began gathering the players for training sessions and scouted overseas talent. He was probably promised some warm up games. By the time August came and he realised he was getting no warm ups, he probably spit out his dummy and the India game was arranged. Then, BANG, first qualifier. What were his options? Resign? That would be a failure. Instead he continued to observe the training, pull players in and push some out. He watches every Pro League match as well as Pro League friendlies. His aim is probably to get through this round and put pressure on TTFF to get him some serious friendlies.

Blame TTFF? Well, actually, yes. It is their key role to project T&T football via international competition. They have failed miserably. From not paying players and staff to mismanaging their budget, to failing to develop a strong youth programme, TTFF have failed at every level. It is disgusting that the same people are still in place. TTFF should be completely dismantled and replaced, using some of the useful TTFF staff if required. (Don't throw out the baby with the bathwater). TTFF appoint the coach, and they have made some poor decisions. Latapy would have been an excellent asst coach and could have been groomed for the top spot in 5-7 years. He should also take some responsibility for stepping up before he was ready and effectively smash his coaching career. It is only TTFF who can arrange and fund friendly matches, and without reasonable opposition, there is no way to blood youngsters or gauge the teams standard. TTFF have repeatedly let down this country since September 2006.

And, of course, we have to consider our Jack in the Box, Mr Warner. Singlehandedly, Mr Warners dishonesty has led us to this situation. Had he adhered to his deal with the players, we may have performed better in the 2010 qualifiers and hopefully the Gold Cups. A gradual handover would have occurred between the old school and the new young bucks. A structured rebuilding would have taken place. Instead, his petulance led to the smashing up of T&T's most successful ever squad. For 5 years Mr Warner (according to Mr Camps affidavit) has witheld a large amount of TTFF funds. Funds that could have been used for youth development and to help the new squad mature and develop. He appears in court on tuesday and its a shame he can't be tried for crimes against the state, for his constant involvement in international football scandals have brought shame upon the shores of T&T. Through his controversies, including the blacklisting of players, he has overseen the transition of T&T football from proud warriors to untouchables. How many nations have blankly refused to play T&T in friendlies? We don't know, but it seems very strange that teams like Honduras get quality opposition. Nations are looking for friendlies, but the lack of quality opposition over the last few years points to Federations not willing to be tarnished by associating with Mr Warner. And what demands did he make? We don't know if approaches were made but Warners demands were too high or just not acceptable. Remember the allegation by the Scottish F.A. that Warner asked for the match fee to be paid to his personal account?

2014 may not be possible, but its looking good for 2018 (and we should always be planning two world cups in advance a la Canada). Hopefully, this court case will finally cut the ties between Camps, Warner and the other jokers and our national football. We have an exciting crop of youngsters coming through, and although it may be ambitious for the Olympic squad to reach London, some of those boys will blend into the senior team. By 2015, that team will be blooded and ready for the 2018 qualifiers.

Providing we have a nice handover from Pfister to his replacement (who should already be in place as assistant coach so he can learn Pfisters secrets) and the new TTFF can arrange friendlies with the likes of Mexico, Canada etc and we reach a Gold Cup finals, the future looks bright.   

First off, i want tuh say Thanx for making plenty sense, and secondly, thanx for saving me all that precious time typing, since i've been meaning to do that since friday, but couldn't find the right words to say.

i notice every time we lose ah game ppl does abandon good common sense and go on long psychotic tirades throwing all manner of reasoning in the garbage in order to vent their frustration, ah hope ppl on here paying heed to your post, bc it was right on the chin, POW!!!!!

DUM DUM ELAN AND CO dogging the coach who was only in charge for a short time, and amid all the chaos with the TTFF and funding / bankruptcy and lack of friendly games, and expects great results like if the man is ah MDFKN magician!

it takes time to build ah team with good chemistry, especially when the team was incapacitated for 5 long a$$ yrs, chemistry comes with yrs of practice and dedication,  just ask capello.

anyway thanx for making ah world of sense! best post in ah very long while. :applause:   :cheers:
Post by: CarenageBoy on October 10, 2011, 08:54:32 AM
The information (below) does not look too encouraging for our team’s performance. It appears that at some point during the game the Bermuda team was playing a man down and we could not take advantage of this situation!

http://www.islandstats.com/sport.asp?assoc=1&sport=2 (http://www.islandstats.com/sport.asp?assoc=1&sport=2)

Friday, October 07, 2011
Bermuda Win and Stay Alive in the World Cup

IslandStats.com
Bermuda 2 Trinidad 1

Bermuda Starting Line Up - Fredrick Hall, Tyrell Burgess, Kamen Tucker, John Barry Nusum, Devrae Tankard, Andre Manders, Khano Smith, Lashon Dill, Nahki Wells, Kwame Steede, Antwan Russell - Trinidad Starting Line Up - Marvin Phillip, Akeem Adams, Julius James, Osei Telesford, Khaleem Hyland, Hayden Tinto, Kevin Molino, Lester Peltier, Stern John, Keon Daniel, Seon Power

The game started with Trinidad going with a strong breeze at their back, both team struggled early with the conditions, Trinidad won the games first corner. Trinidad was forced to make an early substitute with Hayden Tinto replaced by Hughtun Hector, while Bermuda’s substitute goalkeeper Tahj Bell was shown the red card by the referee after consulting the fourth official. Trinidad’s Khaleem Hyland was shown the yellow card in the 40th minute for dangerous play. Minutes later Lashun Dill had a right footed shot come crashing back off the crossbar and Nahki Wells’ shot that followed went over the crossbar. At the half the score remains 0 – 0.

Wells had a right footed shot from just outside the box that was saved by Trinidad goalkeeper Marvin Phillip. Five minutes into the second half Manders had a shot go just over the bar following a Bermuda Corner. Bermuda went infront in the 53rd minute when Antwan Russell scored from close range, a ball forward from Manders found Russell in the middle he held off his marker and scored from inside the six. In the 57th minute Trinidad came close to equalizing however Stern John’s shot was saved by Frederick Hall, one minute later John was replaced by Devorn Jorsling. In the 63rd minute Nahki Wells doubled the Bermuda lead with a left footed shot that flew into the net giving the Trinidad goalkeeper no chance. In the 68th minute, Trinidad’s Kevaughn Connell replaced Osei Telesford and Bermuda’s Damon Ming replaced Lashon Dill. In the 79th minute Chris Caisey replaced Nahki Wells. In the 81st minute Trinidad pulled a goal back for Trinidad as Kevin Molino bundled the ball over the line. One minute later Seion Darrell replaced Andre Manders. The referee blew the final whistle as Bermuda get their first three points of the group.
Post by: FF on October 10, 2011, 09:21:22 AM
Carenage boy.. go back and read that article and the bolded part especially and tell me if you come to the same conclusion again
Post by: elan on October 10, 2011, 11:01:19 AM

First off, i want tuh say Thanx for making plenty sense, and secondly, thanx for saving me all that precious time typing, since i've been meaning to do that since friday, but couldn't find the right words to say.

i notice every time we lose ah game ppl does abandon good common sense and go on long psychotic tirades throwing all manner of reasoning in the garbage in order to vent their frustration, ah hope ppl on here paying heed to your post, bc it was right on the chin, POW!!!!!

DUM DUM ELAN AND CO dogging the coach who was only in charge for a short time, and amid all the chaos with the TTFF and funding / bankruptcy and lack of friendly games, and expects great results like if the man is ah MDFKN magician!

it takes time to build ah team with good chemistry, especially when the team was incapacitated for 5 long a$$ yrs, chemistry comes with yrs of practice and dedication,  just ask capello.

anyway thanx for making ah world of sense! best post in ah very long while. :applause:   :cheers:

You have mouth diarrhea or what all that ish yuh talking. Nobody saying the coach eh good or is he "fault" we lorse. What we saying is doh come wid that dum arse excuse he come with. For being ah big coach he should be a lil more technical with his post match interview (maybe he think de fans eh at that level  :-\  ). You  rel chupidy yes.
Post by: elan on October 10, 2011, 11:02:47 AM
The information (below) does not look too encouraging for our team’s performance. It appears that at some point during the game the Bermuda team was playing a man down and we could not take advantage of this situation!

http://www.islandstats.com/sport.asp?assoc=1&sport=2 (http://www.islandstats.com/sport.asp?assoc=1&sport=2)

Friday, October 07, 2011
Bermuda Win and Stay Alive in the World Cup

IslandStats.com
Bermuda 2 Trinidad 1

Bermuda Starting Line Up - Fredrick Hall, Tyrell Burgess, Kamen Tucker, John Barry Nusum, Devrae Tankard, Andre Manders, Khano Smith, Lashon Dill, Nahki Wells, Kwame Steede, Antwan Russell - Trinidad Starting Line Up - Marvin Phillip, Akeem Adams, Julius James, Osei Telesford, Khaleem Hyland, Hayden Tinto, Kevin Molino, Lester Peltier, Stern John, Keon Daniel, Seon Power

The game started with Trinidad going with a strong breeze at their back, both team struggled early with the conditions, Trinidad won the games first corner. Trinidad was forced to make an early substitute with Hayden Tinto replaced by Hughtun Hector, while Bermuda’s substitute goalkeeper Tahj Bell was shown the red card by the referee after consulting the fourth official. Trinidad’s Khaleem Hyland was shown the yellow card in the 40th minute for dangerous play. Minutes later Lashun Dill had a right footed shot come crashing back off the crossbar and Nahki Wells’ shot that followed went over the crossbar. At the half the score remains 0 – 0.

Wells had a right footed shot from just outside the box that was saved by Trinidad goalkeeper Marvin Phillip. Five minutes into the second half Manders had a shot go just over the bar following a Bermuda Corner. Bermuda went infront in the 53rd minute when Antwan Russell scored from close range, a ball forward from Manders found Russell in the middle he held off his marker and scored from inside the six. In the 57th minute Trinidad came close to equalizing however Stern John’s shot was saved by Frederick Hall, one minute later John was replaced by Devorn Jorsling. In the 63rd minute Nahki Wells doubled the Bermuda lead with a left footed shot that flew into the net giving the Trinidad goalkeeper no chance. In the 68th minute, Trinidad’s Kevaughn Connell replaced Osei Telesford and Bermuda’s Damon Ming replaced Lashon Dill. In the 79th minute Chris Caisey replaced Nahki Wells. In the 81st minute Trinidad pulled a goal back for Trinidad as Kevin Molino bundled the ball over the line. One minute later Seion Darrell replaced Andre Manders. The referee blew the final whistle as Bermuda get their first three points of the group.

De sub keeper............meaning the keeper on the bench.
Post by: Controversial on October 10, 2011, 11:14:55 AM

from a poster who I respect and knows his football  :beermug:
Post by: elan on October 10, 2011, 12:20:18 PM

That is level mess Observer talk there.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on October 10, 2011, 01:17:28 PM
Pathetic...

this is the biggest decline ever in our football.  Losing against Bermuda?  Paying so much for a big coach?
Lacking basic talent to beat up on these minnows?

Bermuda and the rest of the region did NOT catch up.  We declined.  those 11 players and coach on that field are to blame.  I am disgusted and embarrassed.

Who is Bermuda? ...we should not lose against them with even our U-20 team.  You can't excuse and defend mediocrity.
Post by: fatimarima on October 10, 2011, 02:50:06 PM
Goals win matches!  They score two,  we only score one...so dey win!   Score dee blasted goals an dem and stop talking.  No more excuses!   Claim yuh spot if yuh deserve it
Post by: kicker on October 10, 2011, 03:43:50 PM

lol Elan why yuh so?

The man make a very very reasonable and realistic statement.
Post by: CarenageBoy on October 10, 2011, 05:19:47 PM
Carenage boy.. go back and read that article and the bolded part especially and tell me if you come to the same conclusion again

FF, enlighten me please! I didn't see the game. Was the substitute goalkeeper shown the red card before or after getting on the pitch? From my very very very limited understanding of football over the years, if you get a red card, you leave the pitch. May be I'm wrong; I do not claim to be an expert at all things. If that wasn't what happened (since I didn't see the game), then tell me what happened please.
Post by: FF on October 10, 2011, 05:26:42 PM

FF, enlighten me please! I didn't see the game. Was the substitute goalkeeper shown the red card before or after getting on the pitch? From my very very very limited understanding of football over the years, if you get a red card, you leave the pitch. May be I'm wrong; I do not claim to be an expert at all things. If that wasn't what happened (since I didn't see the game), then tell me what happened please.

With all due respect...
I didn't see the game and the article wasn't written very clearly... but there are certain indicators present that should enable you to discern what really happened... albeit with the application of some common sense.

I ent trying to insult yuh... I know this is an emotional period, but please take the time to read the article. For one... you will see that the starting goalkeeper is still making saves late in the game. Amongst other indicators.
Post by: CarenageBoy on October 10, 2011, 05:42:44 PM
FF, someone else was nice enough to make the point that the substitute goalkeeper was still on the bench.

As far as that newspaper article is concerned, the indicators are not there to show that the #1 was between the sticks at the beginning of the game. Let me put it to you another way, the #2 goalkeeper could have been used earlier in the game. I wasn't there! So you could have made your response a lot less snarky if you had simply said that he was still on the bench!

Believe me, speaking about being emotional, I put a noose around me tongue before responding to your little "common sense" remark!!!
Post by: FF on October 10, 2011, 05:46:22 PM
FF, someone else was nice enough to make the point that the substitute goalkeeper was still on the bench.

As far as that newspaper article is concerned, the indicators are not there to show that the #1 was between the sticks at the beginning of the game. Let me put it to you another way, the #2 goalkeeper could have been used earlier in the game. I wasn't there! So you could have made your response a lot less snarky if you had simply said that he was still on the bench!

Believe me, speaking about being emotional, I put a noose around me tongue before responding to your little "common sense" remark!!!

Bermuda starting line up is the first thing detailed in your original post!
allyuh fellas does get too emotional man... yes i was "snarky" but all the answers to your questions are in your own post
Post by: Bakes on October 10, 2011, 06:22:43 PM

Without getting into who more right or wrong... I think if nothing else, Observer has earned the benefit of the doubt where these types of discussions are concerned.
Post by: Brownsugar on October 10, 2011, 06:30:32 PM
All I going to say on this is Fail to prepare = Prepare to fail.......we will beat Barbados.......Guyana will be tougher but we will prevail.....

At the next stage well......all yuh know my refrain.......

WE GOING BRAZIL!!!

:wavetowel: :wavetowel: :flamethrower: :whip: :challenge: ::) ::)

Post by: kicker on October 10, 2011, 06:58:09 PM
Without getting into who more right or wrong... I think if nothing else, Observer has earned the benefit of the doubt where these types of discussions are concerned.

tru dat.
Post by: elan on October 11, 2011, 11:00:04 AM

Bakes you read what he write?

You working for ah company and they put you in charge of a project. You are told in an effort to complete your project successfully you need to make applications for resources.

Time to present your project, it fails miserably. When ask for insight your reply is that resources that YOU sourced and employed was not of standard. The resources could have been observed at other locations in use prior to employing said resources.

Pfister brought players in and placed them on the field, Observer contention is that Pfister had NO WAY to evaluate talent  :bs:  How then did Pfister come to choosing these players? Yes you cannot know exactly how a player will play in a given game, but Obserever saying you have to abdicate Pfister for choice of player and I am saying that is :bs:
Post by: Anbrat on October 11, 2011, 11:22:20 AM
These are the words of a proud Trini friend who lives and works in Bermuda......nuff said!

"I was appalled at the recent showing of the T&T football team. We should be ashamed of ourselves for such a pathetic display of the the beautiful sport. To be beaten by Bermuda is an insult to the country and the beautiful game. Bermuda footballers stink, so we in turn must be simply rotten.
Those so called footballers were downtown Bermuda on the day of the game shopping / sightseeing instead of resting and planning strategy. The government should stop funding football, if so, and put the money into other things more worthy".

Post by: elan on October 11, 2011, 12:26:31 PM
These are the words of a proud Trini friend who lives and works in Bermuda......nuff said!

"I was appalled at the recent showing of the T&T football team. We should be ashamed of ourselves for such a pathetic display of the the beautiful sport. To be beaten by Bermuda is an insult to the country and the beautiful game. Bermuda footballers stink, so we in turn must be simply rotten.
Those so called footballers were downtown Bermuda on the day of the game shopping / sightseeing instead of resting and planning strategy. The government should stop funding football, if so, and put the money into other things more worthy".

Not true.  :o
Post by: Socapro on October 11, 2011, 12:36:12 PM

If that is true then we can only blame the coach and management team for over confidence and allowing that just before the game!! You only take it easy and go shopping for tourist memorabilia after you have secured victory not before!

Now I glad they get their asses whipped, honestly! It’s a great wakeup call at the right time and now we have to win our 3 remaining games or be happy to watch Jamaica and other more serious teams on TV contest the next round to try to make the Hex!
Post by: elan on October 11, 2011, 12:40:55 PM

If that is true then we can only blame the coach and management team for over confidence and allowing that just before the game!! You only take it easy and go shopping for tourist memorabilia after you have secured victory not before!

Now I glad they get their asses whipped, honestly! It’s a great wakeup call at the right time and now we have to win our 3 remaining games or b e happy to watch Jamaica and other more serious teams contest the next round on TV trying to make the Hex!

Again I say watch the first 45 sec in this video and it will tell what scene them fellas on.

http://www.youtube.com/v/SN6Ba8ZUEr8&feature=player_embedded
Post by: kaliman2006 on October 11, 2011, 12:53:55 PM

Like the warriors eh learn from the defeat the first time around or what?

If this is true, then that is dotishness of the highest order.
Post by: elan on October 11, 2011, 01:48:50 PM

Like the warriors eh learn from the defeat the first time around or what?

If this is true, then that is dotishness of the highest order.

Yuh understand. How them fellas could just leave camp and go shopping and site seeing? I sure the coach was mad.