Sports => Football => Topic started by: Sam on October 14, 2011, 06:06:43 AM

Title: Ataulla Guerra Thread.
Post by: Sam on October 14, 2011, 06:06:43 AM
I just come back from Trinidad.

I hear this asshole Ataullah Guerra still on bad boy vibes.

W Connection wanted him and he sister run down in Couva talking big money talk about transfer and pay like she is some agent.

Now he lost he chance, they was housing him too but de idiot prefer to hustle on de streets and lime on de block. Now he is a free agent and on de streets, next thing de curfew catch him....

He head swell and he love de bad boy thing, expect to see us lose another good player.

Anybody from Jemmott area real chupid sah. !!!!!! like they curse.

Jomal Williams is another one, he friending bad boys but he redeem heself and went central to live and end up signing for W Connection, so he might rebound heself.
Title: did Tulla Guerra get kicked out Cali ??
Post by: Big Magician on May 22, 2012, 08:31:00 AM
checking if Tulla Guerra still with Cali

noticed he was not on the last few sqaud lists...also not on the CFU squad ...is he injured ??..or is this a next one ???
Title: Re: did Tulla Guerra get kicked out Cali ??
Post by: Big Magician on May 22, 2012, 09:48:24 AM
ok...no response...

let me try this...did Drogba leave Chelsea ??
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on May 22, 2012, 09:51:30 AM
Post by: injunchile on May 22, 2012, 11:23:46 AM
BBC News Today. Drogba leaving Chelsea. End of a Era, Good Decision after 8 years and not wanting to sit on the bench.
Post by: Mose on May 22, 2012, 11:31:52 AM
Any word on where he going?
Post by: Cocorite on May 22, 2012, 12:10:27 PM

"Sweet Sweet T&T, Oh How I Luve Up Meh Country, Sweet Sweet T&T, Nowhere In this World I'd Rather Be"
Post by: ZANDOLIE on May 22, 2012, 03:14:42 PM
Lord fadder
Post by: palos on May 22, 2012, 04:16:01 PM
ok...no response...

A man respond yes :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: D.H.W on May 22, 2012, 05:53:29 PM
Hahahaha
Post by: Tallman on May 22, 2012, 08:57:10 PM
checking if Tulla Guerra still with Cali

noticed he was not on the last few sqaud lists...also not on the CFU squad ...is he injured ??..or is this a next one ???

The information I got is that he is injured.
Post by: just cool on May 22, 2012, 09:36:05 PM
ok...no response...

Nice one big mag, if i was home i woulda buy yuh ah rounds. they not interested in dat, cali and jablo dem eh have no glory to be gotten. sowa ah takin ah borrow,                   big up.    :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on May 22, 2012, 09:44:17 PM
ok...no response...

LUV U BIG MAG
Title: Re: Ataullah Guerra Thread.
Post by: Big Magician on May 23, 2012, 08:32:14 AM
Thanks Tallman..

.sounds weird..but glad he injured...at least he foot could fix
Post by: Flex on May 31, 2012, 04:54:43 PM
Guerra returns to the training pitch.
ttproleague.com.

Talented Caledonia AIA midfielder Ataullah Guerra has returned to the training pitch this week after being sidelined by a knee injury for nearly two months.

It was feared that the 24 year-old Trinidad and Tobago international would only return until next season when the 2012-13 season kicks off in August after suffering a Medial Collateral Ligament (MCL) sprain.

However after weeks of rehabilitation under the care of team physiotherapist Dave Issac and following an on field assessment on Tuesday, Guerra rejoined his teammates in preparation for the Caribbean Football Union(CFU) Club Championship final leg in either June or July hosted in Trinidad.

“I’m confident that he will be ready for the CFU final leg,” Issac said.

Guerra joined Caledonia in December from neighbouring rivals San Juan Jabloteh—the club he started his professional career with back in 2007—when his contract expired last November.

He made a huge impact at Caledonia helping the club to a third place finish in the Digicel Pro League and winning the FA Trophy and Lucozade Sport Goal Shield since his arrival.

However the knee injury saw Guerra miss the Digicel Pro Bowl knockout tournament and Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Club Championship Group Four matches contested in the Cayman Islands from May 21-25.

Caledonia went on to reach the Final of the Pro Bowl but suffered a 2-6 against Defence Force. That however, didn’t affect the club’s preparation in qualifying for the CFU final round by holding two-time defending champions Puerto Rico Islanders to a 0-0 draw and registering a 5-0 win over Cayman Islands club George Town.

Caledonia, W Connection and United Soccer Leagues (USL) sides Puerto Rico Islanders and Antigua Barracudas are into the CFU Club Championship final four round robin stage with the winner crowned the champions and the top three advancing into next season’s CONCACAF Champions’ League.

Post by: Big Magician on May 31, 2012, 07:23:30 PM
keep working big man
Post by: Bourbon on June 01, 2012, 07:02:47 AM
keep working big man

Endorsed.
Post by: Mose on June 01, 2012, 08:06:08 AM

Endorsed.
Copyright that!!   :beermug:
Title: TULA TULA TULA
Post by: Big Magician on November 06, 2012, 04:54:50 PM
just happy to see Attula Guerra fit again and playing.... hope he get s a full year on the National Team...come on kid...this is your time...

TULA TULA TULA
Title: Re: TULA TULA TULA
Post by: Tallman on November 06, 2012, 04:58:57 PM
De question is, does he want it tuh be his time? He gotta get moving.
Post by: Sam on November 06, 2012, 06:25:19 PM
Guerra is a ghetto footballer and he good on de field but mentally he happy just being Jemmot Junior.

Post by: just cool on November 06, 2012, 10:32:30 PM
Theobald is the only town baller that's not a head case.
Post by: Big Magician on November 07, 2012, 05:59:48 AM
well Im sure he will be happy for your encouragement boys....
Post by: injunchile on November 07, 2012, 06:07:50 AM
Big Magician go seek out the brother and use your words of wisdom to help him stay on the straight and narrow. Most of the town ballers are decent productive citizens, one or two fell through the cracks . Let us not paint town ballers with a wide brush.
Post by: Big Magician on November 07, 2012, 09:04:18 AM
you know what Chief...you right...I will do that
Title: Guerra's brother murdered
Post by: Tallman on February 20, 2013, 08:33:54 PM
Among those killed last weekend was Marvin Guerra, younger brother of notorious gang leader, Mark Guerra, who was murdered at Wallerfield in March 2003.

Thirty-three-year-old Marvin Guerra lived at Rodney Street, Laventille, and on Sunday evening he walked over to St Paul Street—which is not far from Rodney Street—and was ambushed and shot dead for being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

"He used to encourage children from around the area to play football and one week ago he even bought equipment and supplies to start a league in his neighbourhood," said his mother at the Forensic Centre yesterday.

"He was not in any gang thing, just a cool, outgoing person, but it was just that he crossed the border and they gun him down," she stated.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Gang_leader_s_brother_gunned_down-191752551.html
Post by: theworm2345 on February 20, 2013, 09:18:33 PM
Among those killed last weekend was Marvin Guerra, younger brother of notorious gang leader, Mark Guerra, who was murdered at Wallerfield in March 2003.

Thirty-three-year-old Marvin Guerra lived at Rodney Street, Laventille, and on Sunday evening he walked over to St Paul Street—which is not far from Rodney Street—and was ambushed and shot dead for being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

"He used to encourage children from around the area to play football and one week ago he even bought equipment and supplies to start a league in his neighbourhood," said his mother at the Forensic Centre yesterday.

"He was not in any gang thing, just a cool, outgoing person, but it was just that he crossed the border and they gun him down," she stated.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Gang_leader_s_brother_gunned_down-191752551.html
That's Guerra's brother right?
Post by: Deeks on February 20, 2013, 09:25:17 PM
Tell me, why in east POS a man can't walk from one neighbourhood to another. Is only black people living in East POs. Why nigger people hate one another so????
Post by: ZANDOLIE on February 20, 2013, 11:34:41 PM
Condolences...Keep yur head up and continue to distinguish yourself on the field Guerra. Earn a foreign contract and get yourself the hell out of T&T.
Post by: Deeks on February 21, 2013, 09:28:15 AM
I calm down now. Condolences Attullah. Get to hell out TT and forget this country for a while. Your life is more important.
Post by: chelsealife on February 21, 2013, 02:53:30 PM
Didnt he already sign for the team in Finland? Think i saw that somewhere on this site
Post by: Anbrat on February 24, 2013, 11:48:38 AM
I calm down now. Condolences Attullah. Get to hell out TT and forget this country for a while. Your life is more important.
Sound advice!
Post by: just cool on February 24, 2013, 08:07:11 PM

That's Guerra's brother right?
Yes it is, he also lost his oldest brother "mark guerra" in 2004, he was a real handful.
Title: Ataullah "Bow" Guerra.
Post by: Sam on June 04, 2014, 05:10:54 PM
De man make meh real laugh when he see Messi, allyuh post de video.

Ah like him, he coulda score too.

Jones shouldn't get a penalty.

Jan playing de ass.

Mitchell suspect.

Yohance is boss.

Peltier, Hyland, Joevin star struck.

Boucaud need to cool down.

We players need to make themselves available for a pass and shoot nah man.

Plenty nerves, but them to shake that off now.

Molino !! Molino !! Molino !!

Title: Re: Ataullah "Bow" Guerra.
Post by: Tiresais on June 04, 2014, 05:13:44 PM

Mitchell suspect.

Yohance is boss.

Molino !! Molino !! Molino !!

You had me at boss :) There are positives and negatives here, but this team looks much better than years gone past :)
Post by: Tiresais on June 04, 2014, 05:15:44 PM
Also, picture; https://twitter.com/caribbeanftbl/status/474328319669067776

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BpUnF7RIQAESO4w.jpg:large)
Post by: Bakes on June 04, 2014, 06:06:37 PM
^^^f**king embarrassing.
Post by: Tiresais on June 04, 2014, 06:07:51 PM
^^^f**king embarrassing.

Yuh such a hard-ass - you not have people you admire? You meat Dalglish, Ian Rush, and Paisley fresh from the grave and you ain't bowing?
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 04, 2014, 06:10:43 PM
If it was a game of significance, I'd be more annoyed. Is a friendly. Best he get dem kinda starry eyes out he system when it doh matter.
Post by: Quags on June 04, 2014, 06:11:31 PM
  :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:
Post by: Bakes on June 04, 2014, 06:14:13 PM
^^^f**king embarrassing.

Yuh such a hard-ass - you not have people you admire? You meat Dalglish, Ian Rush, and Paisley fresh from the grave and you ain't bowing?

I not bowing to no-f**king-body, that is shit.  Worse yet, he not on he own time... he representing the country.  f**k dat.
Post by: Tallman on June 04, 2014, 06:19:58 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/qlWuSctlhcE
Post by: royal on June 04, 2014, 06:28:52 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/qlWuSctlhcE

dis making de rounds on twitter right now
Post by: vb on June 04, 2014, 06:31:05 PM
^^^f**king embarrassing.

I not bowing to no-f**king-body, that is shit.  Worse yet, he not on he own time... he representing the country.  f**k dat.

A sign of respect befoe the game to a legend. No big deal.

This was an exhibtion. Not competition.

I'm sure for a real serious encounter he woulda have he game face on.

Post by: Sando on June 04, 2014, 06:31:15 PM
It did not affect his game.

I see nothing wrong with that Bakes.

Messi is great and deserve respect.

Good gong Ataullah.

Post by: Quags on June 04, 2014, 06:37:03 PM
Oh he's trending on twitter ,is he.
Post by: najee on June 04, 2014, 06:43:32 PM
I wouldn't bow ah mean respect due but wouldn't bow....it's your country you representing 
Post by: soccerman on June 04, 2014, 06:44:33 PM
I wouldn't bow ah mean respect due but wouldn't bow....it's your country you representing 
Agreed  :beermug:
Post by: sjahrain on June 04, 2014, 06:48:50 PM
Signs of a man who is not conscious
I bow only to the creator
If you want to bow to legand,bow to the highest...Pele
What has Messi achieved at the highest level
As an African that is embrassing.... :devil:
That is a  fine example of a mind still in chains
Post by: vb on June 04, 2014, 06:49:23 PM

Most ppl wouldn't bow. But the few that do, would only do it for those they hold in the highest esteem.
Post by: Quags on June 04, 2014, 06:55:41 PM
With the trending thats going on,by tomorrow this might go viral ,and the whole world would know the name Atuhlah Guerra.
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 04, 2014, 06:56:25 PM
Lawd, de man eh bow down and crying and kissing foot. He humourously acknowledge a man who is/will be a legend. Some ah allyuh well sour, boy.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 04, 2014, 07:02:16 PM
Could be worse allyuh see how the Casablanca players worshiped Ronaldinho after the World club match.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8tQtib1WD6k
Post by: Quags on June 04, 2014, 07:04:34 PM
https://www.google.ca/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&ei=J8GPU8DtNM-TyASAz4GIAg&url=http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2086495-trinidad-and-tobago-player-bows-to-lionel-messi-before-friendly-versus-argentina&cd=1&ved=0CCEQFjAA&usg=AFQjCNGLicZ5AdgBkH6S0wJih1l9GO5vkw
Longer vid .he was smiling  just  joking around messi gave him much love back.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 04, 2014, 07:07:35 PM
With the trending thats going on,by tomorrow this might go viral ,and the whole world would know the name Atuhlah Guerra.

Dahis wha ah saying.
Post by: elan on June 04, 2014, 07:20:19 PM
What the hell, man cyah enjoy they self ah little. chups. Enjoy the experience, soak it up and drink it in man.
Post by: Quags on June 04, 2014, 07:35:06 PM
What the hell, man cyah enjoy they self ah little. chups. Enjoy the experience, soak it up and drink it in man.
Maybe messi send him a signed shirt and and some boots ect.We boys not rich so maybe he gets some swag.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 04, 2014, 07:48:59 PM
Lawd, de man eh bow down and crying and kissing foot. He humourously acknowledge a man who is/will be a legend. Some ah allyuh well sour, boy.

Iz not like he's Kamla.  :devil:

Memorable moment. Presumably within FIFA protocol.
Post by: Big Magician on June 04, 2014, 07:58:12 PM
allyuh really serious ??... Tulla could be shot dead every day in tnt...he reach the Monumental on the same field with Messi and hail de man with a bow...dais someting ??..really ???...man hear nah
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on June 04, 2014, 08:08:17 PM
Like when Kamla bow in India...........shameful
Post by: maxg on June 04, 2014, 08:08:53 PM
ah find.. he could do that because he have no inferiority complex..it's recognition of the man playing ability...the only place that is acceptable..is on the field, where the MAN Guerra is a humble participant, and meet one of the greatest in his sport in the world...it's a joke..Who don't want to bow. make joke or have fun, is your business..u go an hit Messi a slap from the word go man..doh hold back.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 04, 2014, 08:15:36 PM
ah find.. he could do that because he have no inferiority complex..it's recognition of the man playing ability...the only place that is acceptable..is on the field, where the MAN Guerra is a humble participant, and meet one of the greatest in his sport in the world...it's a joke..Who don't want to bow. make joke or have fun, is your business..u go an hit Messi a slap from the word go man..doh hold back.

Precisely. Showed a measure of confidence.
Post by: Controversial on June 04, 2014, 10:07:12 PM
he disappoint meh there.. shake his hand.. guerra still dont realize how good he can be... but say wha, looked like he was joking...
Post by: congo on June 04, 2014, 10:26:43 PM
This is the same Argentina that proudly boasts that there is no such thing as a "black" Argentinian and he goes there as a black man and bows before their idol whilst representing his country? Can't agree with that at all. They need to better educate and inform themselves. Go back and dig up some history books and wrap their hard and nutty heads with it.

I hope that this would raise his profile and give him a better chance at being scouted. Life can be funny that way.
Post by: Football supporter on June 04, 2014, 10:30:00 PM
I think it was a smart move by Tulla. Whether he thought Messi may remember him at the end and give him his jersey or whether he realised that this one action could guarantee that he, of all T&T players, would be remembered, however he performed on the pitch, I think it showed his confidence before the biggest game of his life. 
Post by: mukumsplau on June 04, 2014, 10:34:16 PM
make we look small man...steups...gush after messi in your own damn time and space

Post by: Controversial on June 04, 2014, 10:46:10 PM
make we look small man...steups...gush after messi in your own damn time and space

typical local trini attitude.. foreign is the best, insecure and lack of confidence... but when a foreign trini step in to help,, iz pure attitude...

the players need a reality check... they can play just as well as argentina if they believe in themselves and apply themselves
Post by: Controversial on June 04, 2014, 10:49:02 PM
it is all mental.. mentally if you have the confidence and drive you can achieve anything.. our players lack that self confidence.. some don't realize how good they are until a foreigner make them see it..
Post by: Peong on June 04, 2014, 11:18:56 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/VQqwea8ZSbk
Post by: frico on June 05, 2014, 02:28:39 AM
What is so wrong in bowing to someone you personally regard as one of the best ballers in the world,that is up to the person and,how he or she feels about the person they are bowing to,their perception and emotions isn't the same as yours,why laugh at them,also it was probably just a "bit ah fun",not as serious as some people are taking it.
I'll say this much,if I ever had the opportunity of meeting Brian Lara in his pomp,I would bow to him,I would also bow to Pele,who want to laugh,laugh...that's their business.
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 05, 2014, 05:09:43 AM
who want to laugh,laugh
Guerra heself laughing. Lil joke de man making and these fellas all up in they feelings. Man talking bout 'insecurity' while insecurely concerned bout how big or small we look to the world. Steups.
Post by: D.H.W on June 05, 2014, 05:30:48 AM
Whatever get over it
Post by: Errol on June 05, 2014, 08:03:52 AM
I see nothing worng with this.

Some of you guys need to lighten up.

Bow showed his respect and was being funny at it.

Good going Bow.

Post by: Sanchez on June 05, 2014, 08:05:12 AM
Seems like some people definitely have some inferiority complex on this thread. Doesn't matter if he's black, white, yellow, red, latino, asian, indian.  Messi  is a living legend.  Would man be upset if Messi was from Nigeria.  Don't see a problem with this gesture, have a problem with people always bringing race into every conversation.  Guerra is Trinidadian of African and European descent period.
Post by: frico on June 05, 2014, 08:20:17 AM
Seems like some people definitely have some inferiority complex on this thread. Doesn't matter if he's black, white, yellow, red, latino, asian, indian.  Messi  is a living legend.  Would man be upset if Messi was from Nigeria.  Don't see a problem with this gesture, have a problem with people always bringing race into every conversation.  Guerra is Trinidadian of African and European descent period.
"Straight up mate",yuh got that 100%right.
Post by: elan on June 05, 2014, 08:48:06 AM
Long time ah tell alyuh men fragile, alyuh seeing it now.
Post by: elan on June 05, 2014, 08:51:52 AM
This is the same Argentina that proudly boasts that there is no such thing as a "black" Argentinian and he goes there as a black man and bows before their idol whilst representing his country? Can't agree with that at all. They need to better educate and inform themselves. Go back and dig up some history books and wrap their hard and nutty heads with it.

I hope that this would raise his profile and give him a better chance at being scouted. Life can be funny that way.

Actually this showed me that Guerra comfortable in his skin and confident too. It's not about "them" it's about "us". People who walk around with hang ups about those that have problem with black people have big problem themselves. Big man is big man, and when you can give props for being good at something to someone, a people, who "don't like you", you ah big man.
Post by: oconnorg on June 05, 2014, 09:14:50 AM
This was very embarrassing. Dont give your opponents power over you..

He should have been subbed right after.
Post by: Controversial on June 05, 2014, 09:27:21 AM
who want to laugh,laugh
Guerra heself laughing. Lil joke de man making and these fellas all up in they feelings. Man talking bout 'insecurity' while insecurely concerned bout how big or small we look to the world. Steups.

not about the world but yourself and how you view yourself... he is insecure... bow to God, not a man who is on your level...

and if you don't care what the world think about your country.. then you really don't care about yourself and your nation, which means you are insecure... which also means the nation can go to pieces, which is what is happening..
Post by: Deeks on June 05, 2014, 09:54:49 AM
What, boy Tullah! You and Kamla have something in common!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Controversial on June 05, 2014, 09:59:24 AM
What, boy Tullah! You and Kamla have something in common!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:D
Post by: Deeks on June 05, 2014, 10:03:09 AM
I see both sides of the argument. But I will give Tullah a bligh because I am a fan of his. This was a friendly, so I go let it pass. Tullah eh no slouch. He is a hard player and gives his all. It is unfortunate that he still playing at home. He was  decent yesterday. But he and the rest of the team need to look at the film of this game and look at their defficiencies. It is important for TT players to do this. They don't get this opportunity this often against high profile teams. They don't practice as often as they should. Always some blasted excuse. The club cah relwase them. They quite in Vitnam and Thailand. This team needs to play and practice more together. They should be preparing for the Caribbean Cup. Win it Mo' Bay. This should be our immediate goal. Think about GC after.
Post by: maxg on June 05, 2014, 10:06:23 AM
who want to laugh,laugh

not about the world but yourself and how you view yourself... he is insecure... bow to God, not a man who is on your level...

and if you don't care what the world think about your country.. then you really don't care about yourself and your nation, which means you are insecure... which also means the nation can go to pieces, which is what is happening..
well that last post stump me... to much to cover, to much time.. them Japanese and other asians, doh respect deyself, bowing all the time ?..meanwhile the world buying everything from there, and they have a strangle hold on world economy and issues...and dem did get send to hell on a lone bomber...maybe if we show ppl respect, we will get some...maybe if we had respect for each other, we will acquire some ourselves...maybe the world will be more interested in that...you think they were really interested in our football..KJ coulda score four, the world will still buy Maxi Rodriguez before him.. as far as football is concerned, we're just an accessory, nice but not the main interest or event...get used to it...we need to show respect, for others and for each other, before we can collect respect for ourselves..I'm even more impressed with Guerra strength,wheter incidental or deliberate, him knowing how his ppl are..and then equating a sign of respect to Honoring God..hmmnnn..go kiss the pope and bishops ring...go bow to the iman and the Guru, bow to the President and the rulers...say they in God service so all is alright...but let your heart be hateful and or disrespectful to others, and God will be ok, cause u bowing only to him/her/it,  who you not seeing, yet meeting everyday..

shim..ah still went off...probably won't make sense to some anyway
Post by: Sanchez on June 05, 2014, 10:17:56 AM
Don't see anything wrong with this.  Guerra wasn't bowing to Messi the man, he was bowing to Messi the football player...  just acknowledging the man's talent...bowing is a sign of respect..and not always of insubordination....
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 05, 2014, 10:18:45 AM
Man tell mih being overly concerned about other people's perceptions of me is a sign of true security, yes. Ah learn a new life lesson!
Post by: congo on June 05, 2014, 10:36:27 AM
You mean all those players to ever encounter messi after all these years and only one player actually bow to him? Everyone respects and admires the genius that is Lionel Messi but when you are acting on behalf of your country in a competitive capacity you don't have to bow to anyone. The man bowing and acting all giggly at the other players coming after Messi showing thumbs up etc.

You feel if any other serious country had a player that made this gesture and then gone on to lose the game wouldn't be in uproar. This is already trending, meaning it's not an ordinary gesture to make before competition. I don't care that it is a friendly but you are representing your country. This wasn't a fete match or charity game.
Post by: Controversial on June 05, 2014, 11:05:08 AM
who want to laugh,laugh

well that last post stump me... to much to cover, to much time.. them Japanese and other asians, doh respect deyself, bowing all the time ?..meanwhile the world buying everything from there, and they have a strangle hold on world economy and issues...and dem did get send to hell on a lone bomber...maybe if we show ppl respect, we will get some...maybe if we had respect for each other, we will acquire some ourselves...maybe the world will be more interested in that...you think they were really interested in our football..KJ coulda score four, the world will still buy Maxi Rodriguez before him.. as far as football is concerned, we're just an accessory, nice but not the main interest or event...get used to it...we need to show respect, for others and for each other, before we can collect respect for ourselves..I'm even more impressed with Guerra strength,wheter incidental or deliberate, him knowing how his ppl are..and then equating a sign of respect to Honoring God..hmmnnn..go kiss the pope and bishops ring...go bow to the iman and the Guru, bow to the President and the rulers...say they in God service so all is alright...but let your heart be hateful and or disrespectful to others, and God will be ok, cause u bowing only to him/her/it,  who you not seeing, yet meeting everyday..

shim..ah still went off...probably won't make sense to some anyway

since when is Guerra Japanese? :D I didn't realize that is a part of trinidad cultural customs.. and he not in a dojo... secondly I wouldn't kiss anyone ring or bow to a president or monarch.. i respect everyone but they are equal with me... if you want to big him up for bowing to another man, that is your opinion... if i was coach, none of my players would conduct themselves in that manner, or they won't play for me..

when i represent my country i want the world to know i have pride in what i am doing and that trinidad can beat and compete with the best.. so it works like this.. you may not care what i do but i'll let you know i am not insignificant and i am equally valued as the rest... so the next time you will show some respect for our team and see the pride in which we have when we play and rep those colours.. and the next time you will not thread carefully bc i will hand you a loss in your own backyard..

football is war... football is 80% mental...
Post by: maxg on June 05, 2014, 11:07:17 AM
lawd  ..ok
Post by: Controversial on June 05, 2014, 11:10:58 AM
Man tell mih being overly concerned about other people's perceptions of me is a sign of true security, yes. Ah learn a new life lesson!

equality and mental strength is equated with false security?  :bs:

pride and personal achievement is equated with that as well?  :bs:

there is no overly concerned dialogue going on here... just plain insecurity with local trinis and not realizing their value...

so that diatribe you just write is  :bs:
Post by: Bakes on June 05, 2014, 11:11:06 AM
You mean all those players to ever encounter messi after all these years and only one player actually bow to him? Everyone respects and admires the genius that is Lionel Messi but when you are acting on behalf of your country in a competitive capacity you don't have to bow to anyone. The man bowing and acting all giggly at the other players coming after Messi showing thumbs up etc.

You feel if any other serious country had a player that made this gesture and then gone on to lose the game wouldn't be in uproar. This is already trending, meaning it's not an ordinary gesture to make before competition. I don't care that it is a friendly but you are representing your country. This wasn't a fete match or charity game.

This right here sums up my objections perfectly.  I not too concerned with how secure or insecure Ataullah Guerra is within himself... the issue is that he wasn't representing himself out there he was representing his nation.  You want to clown, genuflect, make friend, hero-worship... fine, do that on your own time.  Yuh want to be a fan, then buy a ticket like everybody else in the stands.  This to me is no different from players swapping shirts at half-time of a match... not serious enough.  For TnT football right now there is no such thing as a "friendly", everybody auditioning, including the TTFA.  We have to be more serious, more dedicated and more professional than that.
Post by: congo on June 05, 2014, 11:15:02 AM
The funny thing is that on a field of play, everyone is equal. That is probably one of the few instances where everyone taking the field is subject to the same laws and rules. The before game greeting and hand shakes are already there as signs of mutual respect.
Post by: Controversial on June 05, 2014, 11:15:21 AM

This right here sums up my objections perfectly.  I not too concerned with how secure or insecure Ataullah Guerra is within himself... the issue is that he wasn't representing himself out there he was representing his nation.  You want to clown, genuflect, make friend, hero-worship... fine, do that on your own time.  Yuh want to be a fan, then buy a ticket like everybody else in the stands.  This to me is no different from players swapping shirts at half-time of a match... not serious enough.  For TnT football right now there is no such thing as a "friendly", everybody auditioning, including the TTFA.  We have to be more serious, more dedicated and more professional than that.

some very valid points  :beermug:

the only thing i feel is still an issue and it is limited to myself in terms of my perspective is that insecurity can hamper a player's ability to perform.. once again jmo.. but great points nonetheless
Post by: maxg on June 05, 2014, 11:21:11 AM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/the-pope/10276319/Pope-breaks-with-protocol-by-bowing-to-Queen-Rania-of-Jordan.html
Post by: elan on June 05, 2014, 11:22:44 AM
Alyuh fellas have some real soft feelings boy whey sah.

Yuh will swear Tulla kneel down and kiss Messi foot crying and washing Messi foot with he tears. The man make a simple gesture.

Much ado about nothing.
Post by: elan on June 05, 2014, 11:24:35 AM

Explain how what Tulla did affected the outcome of his game, the team game and how you know that he was not dead serious about the game. What, perception is everything right.
Post by: elan on June 05, 2014, 11:27:36 AM
When we play Iran KJ should walk with ah box ah 3 plumes and when the skipper give him the pennant blaze fire on it to show how serious the game is.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 05, 2014, 11:29:44 AM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/the-pope/10276319/Pope-breaks-with-protocol-by-bowing-to-Queen-Rania-of-Jordan.html

Daz de Japanese pope  :rotfl:
Post by: Bakes on June 05, 2014, 11:35:56 AM

the only thing i feel is still an issue and it is limited to myself in terms of my perspective is that insecurity can hamper a player's ability to perform.. once again jmo.. but great points nonetheless

Explain how what Tulla did affected the outcome of his game, the team game and how you know that he was not dead serious about the game. What, perception is everything right.

I don't have to explain anything beyond what I've already explained.  Disagreement is your right.
Post by: elan on June 05, 2014, 11:41:07 AM

I don't have to explain anything beyond what I've already explained.  Disagreement is your right.

Yep, it is.
Post by: Quags on June 05, 2014, 11:46:19 AM
Wait a sec ,I thought that gesture meant "we're not worthy".
From that skit in Wayne's World ,did not know it still had so many other meanings in this digital age.
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 05, 2014, 11:55:53 AM

equality and mental strength is equated with false security?  :bs:

pride and personal achievement is equated with that as well?  :bs:

there is no overly concerned dialogue going on here... just plain insecurity with local trinis and not realizing their value...

so that diatribe you just write is  :bs:
As far as equality and mental strength go, I see a youth who ent fraid to be himself and make a humourous ironic gesture. De man with the hard pan for no good reason but to show he hard? That's de man who you might want to have de 'insecurity' talk with.

Allyuh does twist up when man wearing sneakers with suit, though. So, I shouldn't really be surprised by dis stodgy, false pride foolishness.
Post by: FF on June 05, 2014, 12:13:46 PM
When we play Iran KJ should walk with ah box ah 3 plumes and when the skipper give him the pennant blaze fire on it to show how serious the game is.

:pissedoff:  :pissedoff: :pissedoff:

Post by: Andre on June 05, 2014, 01:38:00 PM
Massa Day Done
Post by: Socapro on June 05, 2014, 01:53:36 PM
This was very embarrassing. Dont give your opponents power over you..

He should have been subbed right after.
The shaking on hands happened before the match started.
Post by: Socapro on June 05, 2014, 02:33:45 PM

Yuh will swear Tulla kneel down and kiss Messi foot crying and washing Messi foot with he tears. The man make a simple gesture.

Much ado about nothing.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 05, 2014, 02:45:40 PM
Ah wish ah had seen the pre-match formalities as they were happening. I didn't .. so ah doh know what my reaction to the Guerra/Messi moment would have been instinctively. Having seen it a few times ... and hours later, ah doh seem to have any beef wid Guerra.

On to Sao Paulo and Iran!

Post by: Bitter on June 05, 2014, 03:07:48 PM
football is war
No.

Also:
(http://englishwithatwist.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/Weather-Blog_Storm-in-a-Teacup_www.hotels.ng_.jpg)
Post by: Flex on June 05, 2014, 03:18:54 PM
Rowley: T&T doesn't bow to anyone
...Kamla wrong to kiss Indian president's foot
By Stories by Joel Julien (Express).

Jan 18, 2012

"THE ultimate subservient of superiority and inferiority being demonstrated".

This was how Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley described Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar touching the foot of Indian President Pratibha Patil during a State visit earlier this month.

Persad-Bissessar returned from a two-week trip to India on Sunday.

Rowley raised the issue which he described as "unacceptable" during a political meeting held by the People's National Movement (PNM) at Febeau Open Bible Church Tuesday night.

"I am a citizen of Trinidad and Tobago and I take umbrage at my Prime Minister going to anybody's country and kissing any office holder's foot," Rowley said to loud applause.

"I am not concerned about her religious persuasion in this country... We are very tolerant," he said.

Rowley said Persad-Bissessar was representing the country and should not have bowed to touch Patil's foot.

"Nobody sent the Prime Minister abroad to represent her religion or her race. She went abroad to represent all the people of Trinidad and Tobago and, however, she feels when she stands in front of the head of government or the head of state she must stand there proud representing the people of Trinidad and Tobago," Rowley said.

"That is the ultimate subservient of superiority and inferiority being demonstrated. We past that stage since the world was told by Eric Williams (former prime minister) that we will not be doing that again and India was in the forefront of that," he said.

Rowley referenced a Times of India newpaper story which stated Persad-Bissessar "went too far to demonstrate her Indian-ness".

"India's independence was the first of the British colonies. All of us followed after and I am sure they did not expect that our Prime Minister would come and kiss their leader's foot," Rowley said.

"So of course now we expect according to her logic if (US President Barack) Obama ever goes to Kenya he will bend down and kiss the foot of somebody in Kenya because his grandfather came from Kenya," Rowley said.

"That is unacceptable and we dismiss the excuse makers, we are a proud nation. When India votes at the United Nations if we vote differently we cancel out India's vote, one billion people against one million people. We are equal in the eyes of the world. Size and power are no longer your station in this world," he said.

Rowley said if Persad-Bissessar went in a private capacity he would not have raised the issue.

"That is personal, that is private, if you go there on your private capacity you could do that. If you go there in your personal capacity you can do that...I will have no argument with it but when you represent all the people of Trinidad and Tobago, do not go and kiss anybody's foot on my behalf. Do not do that," he said.

"And when you wear Trinidad and Tobago red, white and black we do not defer or bow down to any nation in this world. We meet you on the cricket field we beat you, we meet you on the race track we beat you, we meet you in the university we beat you, that is Trinidad and Tobago. We are equal to all and inferior to none that is how we are building this nation," Rowley said.

Post by: vb on June 05, 2014, 03:38:29 PM
Rowley doh take it so hard boy.

It's just a traditional Hindu custom. She did't kiss anybody foot. She simply did what comes naturally to Hindus after more than 2000 years of custom. She didn't stop being Hindu because she became PM.

I could see how non Hindus would be offended by this from their PM.
But some ppl don't throw away their culture just so.

I am here in Turkey and it's the norm as a sign of respect to make a motion as if to kiss the hand and bring it to your forehead as a sign of respect to elders.

Sometimes older ppl do it to the younger ones if really grateful for something.

Is not like the woman does bow and scrape everywhere she go.

You would swear she was on her knees performing a toejob the way Rowley bawling.

Post by: maxg on June 05, 2014, 03:47:44 PM
Post by: Flex on June 05, 2014, 03:56:56 PM
I (IMO) saw nothing wrong with Guerra did...

Post by: triniairman on June 05, 2014, 05:59:04 PM
Guerra say the man is a "Football God" ... So I guess the bow was appropriate. He was just being a star struck dummy, that's all!
Post by: dinho on June 05, 2014, 06:31:36 PM
(http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc62/trini_omar/guerra.jpg)
Post by: royal on June 05, 2014, 06:32:05 PM
T&T midfielder Ataullah Guerra, who grabbed headlines for the way he greeted The Barcelona star during the meeting of the teams, said he had no regrets over his action.

“He is a football God. This was an amazing experience for all of us. Just to be on the same field with him was great. To see the way he controlled the ball and his team was something we will never forget. I think we all learned a lot from this game today. I thought my greeting to him was a mark of respect also and he seemed to appreciate it. There was no problem with that,” the Central FC and former Finnish-based professional told TTFA Media.
Post by: Football supporter on June 05, 2014, 06:41:25 PM
I think you all need to get a little perspective here. I don't recall Maradona being ripped apart by Argentinians when he kissed Ronaldinho's hand. I mean, he KISSED the man's hand! That gesture was applauded.
This season, Caledonia lined up to applaud W.Connection as they took the pitch after winning the Pro League. I don't think it had a negative effect on Caledonia's performance.
I've seen plenty of teams in rugby, cricket even the EPL applaud other teams before they "went to war" against them.
Damn, even the British and Germans shook hands and played football on Xmas day during the First World War.
Tullah's actions are certainly worth commenting on, but it would appear that some people feel he committed treason!
Post by: Football supporter on June 05, 2014, 06:42:24 PM

Yuh beat me to it, Dinho  :beermug:
Post by: congo on June 05, 2014, 07:48:18 PM
I relll not seeing those comparisons though. I would like to see Jack Wilshire bow to Nasri whilst representing the national team before competition then see and hear what the British and french societies make of it. Those comparisons are BS.
Post by: Bakes on June 05, 2014, 08:09:28 PM

This meme is both pointless and stupid.  If ah man want to bow while wearing he club uniform then that is on he and the club.  If Maradona, long after he retired and clearly in his private capacity want kiss ah next man hand then that is his prerogative.  Neither of those situations compares to what Guerra did.
Post by: SWF Reporter on June 05, 2014, 08:53:52 PM
Guerra-gate: Live Wire identifies the Warriors’ real sense of shame
By Mr Live Wire (Wired868)

An act of humility towards an Argentine man with a supposed gateway to divinity continues to mystify and discomfort cynics in the wake of Trinidad and Tobago’s friendly international against Argentina in Buenos Aires last night.

But enough about the habitual greeting for Pope Francis; what about Ataullah Guerra’s pre-kick off bow to football legend Lionel Messi?

It is customary to genuflect before the Pope since Catholics believe him to have the ear of God. But how do you greet the little Barcelona player who might have Jesus’ left foot?

Well, Guerra hailed Messi with a bow and grin before kick off; the sort of thing that pardners sometimes do on the street corner. And, from the social media meltdown that followed, one might have thought that the Central FC midfielder and former John John resident had invited the Argentina captain up to room 201.
It turns out that Trinidad and Tobago is quite interested in what its footballers get up to, which might pleasantly surprise the “Soca Warriors” who usually play in front of near deserted 90 stadia at home and can barely rely on public or private sector funding to even have training camps. Who knew?

But Guerra was not the only national football team member to display mistimed subservience this week.
On Sunday, the Trinidad and Tobago national football team turned up at the Piarco International Airport to travel to Buenos Aires; only to be told that the Ministry of Tourism’s chartered flight had struck goalkeeper coach Michael Maurice, a former “Strike Squad” player with over four decades of service to his country, and therapist Dave Isaac off the travelling list.

So, a Government that considers sisters and mistresses to be appropriate taxpayer-funded travel companions decided that the Warriors should do without two important staff members for two days while president Anthony Carmona and wife, Brian Lara, the Siparia Rhythm Section and dozens of even less relevant persons boarded.

At times like this, a national coach should ask himself: “What would Leo Beenhakker do?”
Beenhakker, the renowned former Real Madrid and Netherlands coach, famously asked the local football body for three pairs of Copa Mundial Adidas boots, 10 FIFA-approved balls and a movable goalpost for his first training session with Trinidad and Tobago.

Instead, he got Kaiser Adidas boots, non-FIFA balls and a verbal assurance that the goalpost would be sourced soon and he should continue with what was available for now.

Beenhakker supposedly replied that he would start only when he had the tools he deemed necessary; and, within a day, then TTFF special advisor Jack Warner sourced the relevant goalpost and had boots and balls delivered via Fed Ex. The coach went on to lead Trinidad and Tobago to a historic 2006 World Cup place.

Tobagonian Bertille St Clair has form for such defiance too.

His first chance to coach a national senior team came in the mid-1990s when German Jochen Figge selected him as an assistant. Then TTFF president Oliver Camps told St Clair the good news but warned him that there was no money to pay a salary and he would have to settle for a stipend.

“Is Figge getting a salary?” asked St Clair, who was the first coach to take Trinidad and Tobago to a FIFA tournament back in 1991.

“Yes,” replied Camps.

“When allyuh find money to pay me too, call me,” said St Clair, who got up and headed straight for the airport to catch a flight back to Tobago.

A few years later, the TTFF offered St Clair the head coaching job; and he remains the only person to take Trinidad and Tobago to a CONCACAF Gold Cup semifinal place.

Neither Beenhakker nor St Clair would have bowed to such disrespect at Piarco and boarded that flight to Buenos Aires. The Ministry of Tourism would have had to either get Maurice and Isaac on board or put Carmona in goal to demonstrate his powers against Messi.

But Trinidad and Tobago head coach Stephen Hart took his team on the chartered plane. And, three days later, his words might have had a hollow ring when he urged his players to stand up for themselves against Argentina.

Hart is an affable gentleman and possesses a sound tactical mind. But neither attribute is as key to success in these parts as stubborn, single-minded vision and a refusal to go with the flow.

He has been warned.

As for the Trinidad and Tobago citizens who are more concerned with Guerra’s courtesy to Messi than his promising performance once the game kicked off, Mr Live Wire offers a short tutorial about what shame really is:

Shame is when men come to kidnap your wife and you run and dive to save your maid;

Shame is when the acting Police Commissioner says the best Minister he ever worked with it is under investigation from every integrity body and law agency in the country and a few internationally too;

Shame is when the Opposition Leader blasts the Chaguanas West MP all over the place for ‘thiefing’ the footballers’ money and it is the PNM treasurer that helped him get away with it;

Shame is when your Prime Minister auditioned to be a Laker girl when a retired NBA star visited but never showed up to watch a local basketball game yet;

Shame is when the Government handing millions to former murder convicts in the Life Sport program and then cancelling leave for policemen and soldiers so they can act like they’re trying to fight crime;

Shame is when the Sport Minister and coach of a top Olympian lectures everybody about morality and still cannot explain what Minister Two Pull was rolling in a home video;

And shame is when the Port of Spain mayor is too busy to meet his environs in a town meeting then runs off for five days in Buenos Aires to see Lionel Messi play; and everybody thinks it is a 26-year-old Trinidad and Tobago footballer who acted like a groupie.
Post by: Preacher on June 05, 2014, 09:53:35 PM

Much ado about nothing.

Yep!!!!    :beermug:    The man was just pumped and ready for the game. 
Post by: Football supporter on June 05, 2014, 11:55:36 PM

This meme is both pointless and stupid.  If ah man want to bow while wearing he club uniform then that is on he and the club.  If Maradona, long after he retired and clearly in his private capacity want kiss ah next man hand then that is his prerogative.  Neither of those situations compares to what Guerra did.

You know, Tullah's story is the kind of story that films and documentary's are made about.

To break away from his family background, to overcome the family murders, to play overseas and make the national team and then to grace the same field as the greatest footballer in the world is some achievement. His story is the kind of story we should be proud of and tell those young boys who feel that they can't break the cycle of gangs, drugs and violence.

Guerra is living proof that dreams can come true. Maybe he was star struck, maybe he was overcome with emotion, maybe he was thinking of his lost relatives. Who cares? He did nothing wrong aside from expressing himself.

You're right, neither of those situations above compares to what Guerra did. Not even close. I just feel people should cut him some slack, instead of ridiculing one of T&T's feel good story's.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 06, 2014, 05:41:27 AM
So, a Government that considers sisters and mistresses to be appropriate taxpayer-funded travel companions decided that the Warriors should do without two important staff members for two days while president Anthony Carmona and wife, Brian Lara, the Siparia Rhythm Section and dozens of even less relevant persons boarded.

The Ministry of Tourism would have had to either get Maurice and Isaac on board or put Carmona in goal to demonstrate his powers against Messi.

SWF, ah think yuh off base with the comments regarding President Carmona. As a matter of fact, I find them distasteful. NT personnel didn't make the flight? Yes! However, there should be NO association with that fact and the President of the Republic's seating or presence on the plane.

Second, I find the conflation between "mistresses" and "wife" to be poorly conceived. 

The thrust of the article would have survived the omission of this nexus.

(By the way, if BL paid his way, why should he come off de plane? If he was there in an ambassadorial capacity, why should he come off de plane? I find his mention also tenuous. Regardless of how BL went, it's a reach).

Post by: asylumseeker on June 06, 2014, 05:51:02 AM
You mean all those players to ever encounter messi after all these years and only one player actually bow to him? ...

Iz not like he gehhin to see him on a regular during La Liga fixtures. Part of this moment was the fact that it likely was a singular moment. Jah forbid, but if something happen to Messi tomorrow ...
Post by: asylumseeker on June 06, 2014, 06:06:07 AM

You know, Tullah's story is the kind of story that films and documentary's are made about.

To break away from his family background, to overcome the family murders, to play overseas and make the national team and then to grace the same field as the greatest footballer in the world is some achievement. His story is the kind of story we should be proud of and tell those young boys who feel that they can't break the cycle of gangs, drugs and violence.

Guerra is living proof that dreams can come true. Maybe he was star struck, maybe he was overcome with emotion, maybe he was thinking of his lost relatives. Who cares? He did nothing wrong aside from expressing himself.

You're right, neither of those situations above compares to what Guerra did. Not even close. I just feel people should cut him some slack, instead of ridiculing one of T&T's feel good story's.

:applause: :applause: :applause:

(although, ah not endorsing the bolded ... yet). Talk to me on July 13.
Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2014, 08:08:26 AM

Trinis doh be happy unless they unhappy. They must have something to gripe about.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 06, 2014, 09:08:32 AM

Trinis doh be happy unless they unhappy. They must have something to gripe about.

Perfectly said
Post by: frico on June 06, 2014, 09:33:08 AM

I didn't realize that,maybe I've been away too long,anyway that is a characteristic of the English...we inherited it from them. ;D
Post by: supporter on June 06, 2014, 10:24:41 AM
^^^f**king embarrassing.

I agree...you are representing the nation. Bow to him after the match or on your own time. Dont make us look like some amateur, low-level program.
Post by: Controversial on June 06, 2014, 10:49:36 AM
hear nah, none of allyuh who condemning my stance on this issue could really talk about guerra, even FS because the only other poster who knew about him and his talent was big mag, other than myself, from hearing about him from family to hardest..

so when people talk about guerra they talking after the fact... before was a set of fight down and keeping him off the team and most was condemning him...

if anyone supports guerra is myself and a few others 200% to do well.. do i support him bowing to another player, hell no... as a youth from my family's area in pos, the area many wish would just disappear, he has come too far to bow to anyone... he needs to prove to the world how good he really is and earn respect from the greats because he too can be there...

mentally and psychologically he needs to be prepared for world football and matches like these... everyone is entitled to an opinion... this is my opinion and i don't give a damn about johnny come lately that think i wrong...
Post by: Controversial on June 06, 2014, 10:54:59 AM

so i guess we can expect to see you bowing to patos sometime soon then :D :D :D or even better rowley  :D
Post by: congo on June 06, 2014, 10:58:16 AM
I don't think the bowing itself was bad. I think that the timing of the gesture was inappropriate. If after the game he wanted to stoop and kiss his feet then I don't care but before the game he shouldn't even be in that groupie mindset. I think some of us lack a basic level of sophistication when dealing with situations. That's the same lack of sophistication that resulted in everyone rushing for a seat on the flight whilst leaving two members of the football staff stranded. He didn't just bowed, he also clapped, cheered and "thumbs up" on the other players coming after Messi. He looked seriously overwhelmed by the occasion.

Anyone talking about where Guerra come from etc. His story is not that different from the countless other sportsmen who cam from humble and rough backgrounds. 

All this is just talk. Next time we playing USA, a player should bow to Michael Bradley or something so. Let's hear what people have to say again.
Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2014, 11:09:38 AM

so i guess we can expect to see you bowing to patos sometime soon then :D :D :D or even better rowley  :D

Right after u bow 2 Kamla so your move.
Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2014, 11:15:51 AM
 wonder if somebody had done that to Yorke or Latas (doh them was not in d class of Messi) would be our take on d situation?
Post by: congo on June 06, 2014, 11:21:35 AM
I wonder why no one has ever done that to Yorke or Latapy... ;) ;)
Post by: Socapro on June 06, 2014, 11:22:07 AM
I don't think the bowing itself was bad. I think that the timing of the gesture was inappropriate. If after the game he wanted to stoop and kiss his feet then I don't care but before the game he shouldn't even be in that groupie mindset. I think some of us lack a basic level of sophistication when dealing with situations. That's the same lack of sophistication that resulted in everyone rushing for a seat on the flight whilst leaving two members of the football staff stranded. He didn't just bowed, he also clapped, cheered and "thumbs up" on the other players coming after Messi. He looked seriously overwhelmed by the occasion.

Anyone talking about where Guerra come from etc. His story is not that different from the countless other sportsmen who cam from humble and rough backgrounds. 

All this is just talk. Next time we playing USA, a player should bow to Michael Bradley or something so. Let's hear what people have to say again.
Congo, I think you made your point but since it was a friendly and Ataullah Guerra said he heard some of the negative feedback but has no regrets then I think it is time to move on.

If anyone is to condemn Ataullah Guerra for bowing its his coach and the team management but since we don't hear any condemnation from them towards the player then I believe you are blowing this out of proportion.

If the game was not a friendly then I think the bow of respect to Messi before the game by Guerra would have been inappropriate.
Post by: Socapro on June 06, 2014, 11:24:58 AM
I wonder why no one has ever done that to Yorke or Latapy... ;) ;)
And how do you know that no one has ever done that to Yorke or Latapy?!
Post by: Bakes on June 06, 2014, 11:31:45 AM

Do you see anyone condemning the youth for what he did?  Does "cut[ting] him some slack" mean that people can't express disagreement with what he did?  I am yet to see anyone making this personal about Ataullah Guerra, most of the debate has been philosophical in nature... i.e. "I don't have a problem with it and this is why" and "I disagree with it and this is why".  No offense to Ataullah Guerra but I don't need to consider his journey and his family background and all of that in order to express an opinion on the propriety of his actions.  Had he shaken hands, bowed ,swapped shirts,  all of that after the game then that would have been another matter.
Post by: congo on June 06, 2014, 11:36:52 AM
What if we are playing England in a friendly at Wembley and in meeting the English Fa officials one of our players were to bow to Prince William? What if Prince William is that player's idol? Would we have the same reaction?
Post by: Football supporter on June 06, 2014, 11:43:25 AM

Do you see anyone condemning the youth for what he did?  Does "cut[ting] him some slack" mean that people can't express disagreement with what he did?  I am yet to see anyone making this personal about Ataullah Guerra, most of the debate has been philosophical in nature... i.e. "I don't have a problem with it and this is why" and "I disagree with it and this is why".  No offense to Ataullah Guerra but I don't need to consider his journey and his family background and all of that in order to express an opinion on the propriety of his actions.  Had he shaken hands, bowed ,swapped shirts,  all of that after the game then that would have been another matter.

I feel that "I don't have a problem with it and this is why" and "I disagree with it and this is why" are very appropriate responses, while "I not bowing to no-f**king-body, that is shit.  Worse yet, he not on he own time... he representing the country.  f**k dat." is  less helpful.
Post by: Controversial on June 06, 2014, 11:49:39 AM

if i was hindu you might have a case... unless part of my ethnicity qualifies me automatically in your books? :D
but of course you would never admit that as your target, would you?  ;)
Post by: Controversial on June 06, 2014, 11:52:00 AM

im happy you can pinpoint the hypocrisy  :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on June 06, 2014, 12:02:38 PM
I feel that "I don't have a problem with it and this is why" and "I disagree with it and this is why" are very appropriate responses, while "I not bowing to no-f**king-body, that is shit.  Worse yet, he not on he own time... he representing the country.  f**k dat." is  less helpful.

It is "less helpful" because you insist on viewing it out of context... look at the post that I was responding to.  The "f**k dat" has more to do with me personally bowing to some Liverpool legend because that asshat Tireasis feels that throwing club loyalty into the mix would somehow change my opinion.  My comments about him being on his own time stands... that is not personal condemnation of the player, whether you feel it's "helpful" or not.  Whatever genuflecting he wants to do on his own time then let him do that.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 06, 2014, 12:32:06 PM
I don't think the bowing itself was bad. I think that the timing of the gesture was inappropriate.

This I can accept
Post by: palos on June 06, 2014, 01:08:26 PM
Much ado bout lil bit.....if so much.
Post by: Big Magician on June 06, 2014, 01:51:47 PM
I wonder why no one has ever done that to Yorke or Latapy... 

wonder if somebody had done that to Yorke or Latas (doh them was not in d class of Messi) would be our take on d situation?

well I see this with my own 2 eyes ...of course they did not bow...but TnT play Dominicain Republin in a WCQ in the Oval...we score 8...and as that final whistle blew..bout 8 DR men rush latas and Yorke and start hugging them and grabing them and make some bech men take real pics...full hero worship...i was in the stands saying..wow you just get 8...but also saying..at least some people know genius...a bit different but similar...and hear a sceret..DR football getting better and better...we have much more football problems to worry about...nodody "develop" Guerra...he could play...lets worry about the young ones to "develop"
Post by: Tiresais on June 06, 2014, 02:00:12 PM

It is "less helpful" because you insist on viewing it out of context... look at the post that I was responding to.  The "f**k dat" has more to do with me personally bowing to some Liverpool legend because that asshat Tireasis feels that throwing club loyalty into the mix would somehow change my opinion.  My comments about him being on his own time stands... that is not personal condemnation of the player, whether you feel it's "helpful" or not.  Whatever genuflecting he wants to do on his own time then let him do that.

Bakes you're real miserable aren't ya? How was that not an acceptable question - I was questioning your perspective, and you replied, end of. Everything with you is some massive ego-trip.
Post by: Bakes on June 06, 2014, 02:19:16 PM
...well I see this with my own 2 eyes ...of course they did not bow...but TnT play Dominicain Republin in a WCQ in the Oval...we score 8...and as that final whistle blew..bout 8 DR men rush latas and Yorke and start hugging them and grabing them and make some bech men take real pics...full hero worship...i was in the stands saying..wow you just get 8...but also saying..at least some people know genius...a bit different but similar...and hear a sceret..DR football getting better and better...we have much more football problems to worry about...nodody "develop" Guerra...he could play...lets worry about the young ones to "develop"

Which is perfectly fine.
Post by: Deeks on June 06, 2014, 04:01:36 PM
a player should bow to Michael Bradley or something so

Michael Bradley? he is a very good player, but .........
Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2014, 04:13:53 PM

if i was hindu you might have a case... unless part of my ethnicity qualifies me automatically in your books? :D
but of course you would never admit that as your target, would you?  ;)

You continue to show you are this site BACKSIDE. So continue 2 play yuh role.
Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2014, 04:16:13 PM
I wonder why no one has ever done that to Yorke or Latapy... 

well I see this with my own 2 eyes ...of course they did not bow...but TnT play Dominicain Republin in a WCQ in the Oval...we score 8...and as that final whistle blew..bout 8 DR men rush latas and Yorke and start hugging them and grabing them and make some bech men take real pics...full hero worship...i was in the stands saying..wow you just get 8...but also saying..at least some people know genius...a bit different but similar...and hear a sceret..DR football getting better and better...we have much more football problems to worry about...nodody "develop" Guerra...he could play...lets worry about the young ones to "develop"

After yuh get real licks in a WCQ it ok to hero worship not not b4 a friendly. THAT MAKE PLENTY SENSE
Post by: Anbrat on June 07, 2014, 09:21:30 AM
Much ado bout lil bit.....if so much.
Agree with you totally, Palos! My take on Guerra's gesture is that he was merely jesting with Messi as one footballer to another. They both probably had a good chuckle over it. It is rather amusing to hear reactive remarks such as "as an African.....", "he representing the country...", "^^^f**king embarrassing", etc, etc....

Hats off to Guerra for having/displaying a sense of humour!!!!
Title: President made own way to Argentina; touched by Guerra’s bow to Messi
Post by: SWF Reporter on June 10, 2014, 02:09:32 PM
President Carmona made own way to Argentina; touched by Guerra’s bow to Messi
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868)

Trinidad and Tobago President Anthony Carmona, despite being the patron of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), did not travel with the Ministry of Tourism’s chartered flight to Buenos Aires.

Theron Boodan, the Information Officer for the Office of the President, told Wired868 today that, contrary to reports in this website, Carmona took a commercial trip to Argentina to watch the “Soca Warriors” tackle the host team in an international friendly on June 4. Argentina defeated Trinidad and Tobago 3-0 at the Estadio Monumental in Buenos Aires.

The mix-up occurred because the TTFA sent a shot of Carmona’s arrival in Argentina alongside photos of members of the Government’s chartered flight.

Boodan said that Carmona landed in Buenos Aires at roughly the same time as the Warriors and was photographed at the airport with the Government’s delegation. However, the information officer claimed that the President took a commercial flight to Argentina, specifically because he did not want to displace any supporters.

“When they invited him, he said that, from experience, he knew a lot of people would want to go and about five or six people would be displaced because he would need his security detail,” Boodan told Wired868. “So he told them that he appreciated the gesture; but he made his own arrangements via a commercial flight and even spent four hours in transit in Panama.”

Two members of the Trinidad and Tobago national football technical staff, goalkeeper coach Michael Maurice and therapist Dave Isaac, did not leave Piarco with the “Soca Warriors” as they were told, at the airport, that there was no room for them on-board. There were, according to TTFA press officer Shaun Fuentes, over 100 fans on the flight to Argentina.

Boodan said Carmona would never have allowed his trip to negatively impact upon the team.

“Even if he said he was going on the flight and found out another fan would be displaced,” said Boodan, “he is the type of person who would have said ‘take that person’.”

According to Office of the President, Carmona turned his excursion into an “official trip” by visiting Argentina President Cristina Fernandez de Kirchner during his stay. However, the highlight of his time in Buenos Aires was said to be the high profile football match and, in particular, Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Ataullah Guerra’s unusual greeting to Argentina football captain and global superstar Lionel Messi.

“(Carmona) is a passionate football fan,” said Boodan. “His cousin is former Trinidad and Tobago player Selwyn Murren (who was a defender during the country’s 1974 World Cup qualifying campaign)…

“The Excellencies paid an impromptu visit to the players at their hotel, on the evening before the game, to offer words of encouragement. And he said after that he felt it was a touching moment when Ataullah Guerra gave Messi a slight bow and a hug.”

Title: Re: President made own way to Argentina; touched by Guerra’s bow to Messi
Post by: asylumseeker on June 10, 2014, 08:46:52 PM
Wha ah tell yuh?!
Title: Re: Ataulla Guerra Thread.
Post by: Tallman on July 12, 2015, 12:46:58 PM
Meet Trinidad and Tobago national midfielder, Ataulla Guerra
https://www.youtube.com/v/hQ1OaMpG2cc
Post by: Tallman on July 07, 2016, 09:00:54 AM
WATCH: Midfielder Ataulla Guerra scores his first goal for Charleston Battery (http://www.wect.com/clip/12575927/video-battery-fall-to-rangers-fc) in a 2-1 loss to Glasgow Rangers
Post by: Peong on July 07, 2016, 10:00:09 PM
That's a good goal, creative and well executed.
Post by: Tallman on August 31, 2016, 08:47:27 PM
Charleston Battery midfielder Ataulla Guerra named to the United Soccer League Team of the Week (#23). USLsoccer.com said “Guerra was strong in midfield all game, and notched the assist on Maikel Chang’s winner in a 1-0 victory against the Charlotte Independence.”

(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/t31.0-8/14207651_10154489297914314_5203543897478349424_o.jpg)
Post by: Deeks on August 31, 2016, 09:27:58 PM
Good. Keep it up. You may be in play for the Hex.
Post by: Tallman on September 11, 2016, 09:12:26 AM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra scores a goal in Charleston Battery’s 2-1 win over Bethlehem Steel. He also provided the assist on the first goal.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Nr_S8Zb4jB4?start=37
Post by: sjahrain on September 11, 2016, 09:23:20 AM
Keep your head up my youth
Good things will be added
Post by: pull stones on September 11, 2016, 09:22:03 PM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra scores a goal in Charleston Battery’s 2-1 win over Bethlehem Steel. He also provided the assist on the first goal.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Nr_S8Zb4jB4?start=37
too little too late.
Post by: SHOTTA on September 12, 2016, 12:29:29 AM
the other attacking midfieders playing at a higher level.... i think the spot on the 23 for the back up to molino is between him hector and cummings

who knows what hart will do for the cfu games tho
Post by: maxg on February 23, 2017, 10:11:26 AM
et tu KD
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-8jcXvB90CQ

:devil: :devil: :rotfl: :beermug:
Post by: Tallman on April 10, 2017, 06:23:32 AM
WATCH: Midfielder Ataulla Guerra scores his first goal of the season in Charleston Battery’s 2-1 loss to Pittsburgh Riverhounds

https://www.youtube.com/v/tx8Z7M0GNLw?start=1085

Post by: Deeks on April 10, 2017, 07:25:33 AM
He has all the attributes. Maybe is a mental thing. I really doh know.
Post by: palos on April 10, 2017, 10:54:09 AM
He has all the attributes. Maybe is a mental thing. I really doh know.

Then he cannot have all the attributes
Post by: Controversial on April 10, 2017, 11:34:58 AM
He should be selected again and given another shot .... he's far above hyland in terms of skill which includes dribbling, passing and playmaking
Post by: palos on April 10, 2017, 12:22:24 PM
He should be selected again and given another shot .... he's far above hyland in terms of skill which includes dribbling, passing and playmaking

Guerra and Hyland don't perform the same role Contro

He would be in competition with the likes of Molino and Cummings,
Post by: Dinner Mints on April 10, 2017, 12:35:45 PM
Hyland is the only one out of these three to 'make it.': http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11781/2665828/bhoys-target-tt-trio
Pretty sure that's why he stay on Contro mind so much.
Post by: Controversial on April 11, 2017, 04:23:48 AM

Guerra and Hyland don't perform the same role Contro

He would be in competition with the likes of Molino and Cummings,

I'm aware of that Palos but guerra imo can fill that role much better if he was given the opportunity to do so..

Hyland commits too many fouls and loses posssesion too much, he doesn't add anything substantial to the mid imo

I think guerra would defend better than hyland and make our mid a lot more fluid , cohesive ...I don't think he's fully suited to a Molino or Cummings role as he has now matured
Post by: Controversial on April 11, 2017, 04:25:27 AM
Hyland is the only one out of these three to 'make it.': http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11781/2665828/bhoys-target-tt-trio
Pretty sure that's why he stay on Contro mind so much.

No, I'm happy for him, he plays well for his club, but he's not a good international..

He has never impressed me in the slightest.. some players are good at club football but not at international ball and vice versa
Post by: Sam on April 11, 2017, 06:42:57 AM
Guerra cant even make Joe Public side.

One good game in every 20 is not a baller.

De man does play like he running with a bata.

Get real bra. Yuh picking man because they from ova de hill by you...

Post by: palos on April 11, 2017, 10:09:50 AM
I think guerra would defend better than hyland

We completely disagree on this
Post by: Controversial on April 11, 2017, 12:23:06 PM

Most would and I wouldn't blame them for thinking that way, because we've never tried him in hylands role...it would be an experiment yes but why not ...
Post by: asylumseeker on April 11, 2017, 03:08:55 PM

Most would and I wouldn't blame them for thinking that way, because we've never tried him in hylands role...it would be an experiment yes but why not ...

Contro, not even Guerra wants Hyland's role.
Post by: Deeks on April 11, 2017, 03:27:02 PM
Well let's experiment with Guerra in the next friendly. That is if he is chosen.
Post by: Controversial on April 12, 2017, 03:23:50 AM

He wants it more than hyland, I'll say that
Post by: pull stones on April 12, 2017, 04:21:32 AM

you all have time with this mad brute? it's quite obvious that this man needs psychiatric help pronto. the forum was very much at peace when this wanker took the week off to let our nerves rest.

it's also quite clear that he has not a clue of the modern game by the way he is constantly on hyland who happens to be the best defensive midfielder we had in years......him and kevan George. had it not been for these two we would be getting blown out like we used to when we faced teams the like of Mexico and Costa Rica. so let the jackass bray when he's tired he will eventually stop........hopefully.
Post by: Controversial on April 12, 2017, 12:18:04 PM

you all have time with this mad brute? it's quite obvious that this man needs psychiatric help pronto. the forum was very much at peace when this wanker took the week off to let our nerves rest.

it's also quite clear that he has not a clue of the modern game by the way he is constantly on hyland who happens to be the best defensive midfielder we had in years......him and kevan George. had it not been for these two we would be getting blown out like we used to when we faced teams the like of Mexico and Costa Rica. so let the jackass bray when he's tired he will eventually stop........hopefully.

Boucaud and George are the best defensive mids we have had in years, hyland excels against smaller nations and doesn't show up against bigger nations...he plays well for his club but does not play well for his nation..

That is my personal opinion.. that's not a psychiatric problem, if your mind is not complex enough to comprehend creative solutions or experiment you will deem it as madness..

People with simple minds would think like you do but that's okay, I never took you for a person with an above average iq or could debate a topic logically...

Actually I'll ask you a relevant question, what is the skill set needed to be a defensive mid? What is their role in the formation Tallest is currently employing .....

Post by: Controversial on April 12, 2017, 12:29:16 PM
Further to this, you have men on here calling for Cyrus to play striker, he plays defense for us nationally.. did you call them mad men?

Make sure to stay consistent pull stones or you will forever be a pull stones ....
Post by: Sam on April 12, 2017, 02:10:38 PM
He should change he name to Ataulla de Butcher.

Post by: Tallman on April 15, 2017, 09:58:40 PM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra scores his second goal of the season in Charleston Battery’s 5-0 win over Rochester Rhinos

https://www.youtube.com/v/YqFKxIop3R0?start=2490
Post by: Controversial on April 16, 2017, 04:47:54 AM
Keep doing your thing brother..

Post by: Tallman on May 09, 2017, 11:39:09 AM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra’s goal gives Charleston Battery a 1-0 win over Bethlehem Steel

https://www.youtube.com/v/ffspLPgseT0?start=1605
Title: Guerra named to USL Team of the Week
Post by: Tallman on May 09, 2017, 11:55:22 AM
Guerra named to USL Team of the Week
By Sarah Cardamone (charlestonbattery.com)

Charleston Battery midfielder Ataulla Guerra was named to the USL Team of the Week after scoring the only goal in the team’s 1-0 win over Bethlehem Steel FC last Saturday.

Guerra’s 18th minute goal was his third of the 2017 season. The Trinidadian attacker has already surpassed his 2016 goal total after only seven matches. Quinton Griffith supplied the cross that resulted in the goal after a blinding run down the right flank. Griffith served a cross to the near post and Heviel Cordoves flicked it on to Guerra who tapped it in.

Head Coach Mike Anhaeuser has deployed Guerra further forward this season than last. Guerra is playing just off the striker, typically behind Romario Williams who missed last week’s match due to illness. Guerra and Williams have combined for nine of the team’s 16 goals scored this season.

The Battery will look to extend their unbeaten streak to five games this Saturday against Saint Louis FC at MUSC Health Stadium. Charleston enters the game in first place with a two-point lead and a game in hand on second place Tampa Bay Rowdies. Kickoff for Saturday’s match is scheduled for 7:00 PM. Tickets are available at charlestonbattery.com/tickets. All active duty military, veterans, and families receive free tickets to the match courtesy of Geodesicx. 
Post by: Deeks on May 09, 2017, 11:37:00 PM
Everytime I see this guy play, I does just shake meh head in sadness. Why this guy can't be on the national team is sad. Why the people in football can't figure out a way to help this yute reach his potential.
Post by: Tallman on May 10, 2017, 05:22:53 AM
Everytime I see this guy play, I does just shake meh head in sadness. Why this guy can't be on the national team is sad. Why the people in football can't figure out a way to help this yute reach his potential.

Maybe he's a late bloomer. He'll be 30 this year.
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 10, 2017, 06:31:47 AM

late bloomer nah.. he was suppose be signed at portsmouth when rednapp was in charge and it fell through due to work permitt  ..he  hyland and peltier
Post by: asylumseeker on May 10, 2017, 08:15:08 AM

late bloomer nah.. he was suppose be signed at portsmouth when rednapp was in charge and it fell through due to work permitt  ..he  hyland and peltier

His professional future turned on misfortune associated with ONE club?
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 10, 2017, 11:10:11 AM

His professional future turned on misfortune associated with ONE club?

no i was just implying that he is a not late bloomer ... as tallman suggested .... things never fell in place for him after i dont know why cannot comment on that ...

link to an old interview done when was 19

Jabloteh starlet seeks new legacy.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=32053.0;wap
Post by: Tallman on May 10, 2017, 03:18:04 PM

When I say late bloomer, I mean that he has only now seemed to grabbing hold of an opportunity and making the most of it.
Post by: Tallman on May 10, 2017, 03:22:23 PM
Ataulla Guerra Highlights (2016)

https://www.youtube.com/v/tZIavvFZrL4

Ataulla Guerra Highlights (2017)

https://www.youtube.com/v/dmwTqPGZXGc
Post by: asylumseeker on May 11, 2017, 12:32:31 PM
Meanwhile, practically a decade later, our players remain in work permit jeopardy and not much has changed ... except Redknapp is closer to retirement. By now we should have been in a position to be feeding him ballers to meet his needs in the Midlands. Shame on us. Not any closer to getting our act together.
Post by: Thomo on May 11, 2017, 02:41:09 PM
It's the first time I've known him to have such a "lengthy" good spell outside the TT Pro League. At Jabloteh,  Fenwick always lamented his inability to concentrate throughout 90 mins. Glad to see his playing well and doing what we all knew he was capable of doing consistently. Keep it up Guerra. 
Title: USL Insights – Guerra’s Boosted Threat
Post by: Tallman on June 21, 2017, 11:14:08 AM
USL Insights – Guerra’s Boosted Threat
By Nicholas Murray (uslsoccer.com)

It’s no big secret why the Charleston Battery currently sit on top of both the USL Eastern Conference standings and the goals leaders chart this season; the play of Romario Williams in his second year on loan in Charleston has reached another level.

But maybe an underrated factor in Williams’ success has been that of Trinidad & Tobago international Ataulla Guerra, who appears to have settled into the club’s system in his second year with the Battery. Guerra’s four goals this season put him tied for second on the team alongside set-piece threat Forrest Lasso, making the 29-year-old a player opposing defenses must account for when he’s on the field.

Under Head Coach Mike Anhaeuser, the Battery have typically played a 4-4-1-1 system for a number of years, with the second striker role previously played by the likes of former Battery standouts Jose Cuevas, who earned USL Rookie of the Year in 2012, or current players Ricky Garbanzo and Maikel Chang.

This season Guerra has already amped up his production as he has grown into his role underneath Williams. His four goals and 13 shots on goal are already superior to those totals in the 2016 season despite playing less than half as many regular-season minutes.

ATAULLA GUERRA, CHARLESTON BATTERY
2016/2017 SEASON COMPARISON

GamesMinutesGoalsAssistsShotsShots on Goal

Guerra’s lack of assists so far this season shouldn’t be a disappointment either. While he’s upped his shooting frequency, he’s also taking care of the ball very well and creating chances. Guerra’s pass completion rate sits at 79.8 percent overall, and 73.9 percent in opponents’ halves. He has also created 11 scoring chances in addition to his own goals.

The presence of Guerra on the field, through the increased production he’s brought so far this season, in addition to the other threats the Battery have at their disposal behind Williams, are the reason Charleston is on well on course to surpass its best attacking output since the USL began in 2011, when the Battery scored 48 goals in the 2013 season.
Title: Charleston midfielder Ataulla Guerra crucial to Battery's attack
Post by: Tallman on August 11, 2017, 09:00:01 PM
Charleston midfielder Ataulla Guerra crucial to Battery's attack
By Andrew Miller (The Post an Courier)

Ataulla Guerra does all the dirty things on a soccer field that don’t always show up in the boxscore.

If there’s a loose ball, Guerra is usually there to win it. If the opposition is building an attack, Guerra is there to break it up. If the Battery needs a pass to free up a teammate for a quality scoring chance, it’s normally Guerra’s flick that starts the play.

Guerra might only have four goals on the season, but there might not be a more valuable player for the Battery than the lanky midfielder from Trinidad & Tobago.

Looking to end a recent winless streak, the Battery will take on the New York Red Bulls II Saturday night at MUSC Health Stadium beginning at 7 p.m.

For the first two months of the season, the Battery was among the top scoring teams in the USL. Much of the credit for the Battery’s offensive success can be directly traced to the feet of Guerra.

“He’s the player that is our link from our defense in the midfield to the forwards up front,” said Charleston Battery coach Mike Anhaeuser. “He’s very important to our attack. He’s huge. He has the technical ability to make a good pass and the dribbling ability to breakdown a defender and he has the ability to finish.

“If a defender doesn’t step to him he can slide a pass by them or shoot. If they step up on him, then he can get by them, take the shot or make that final pass that leads to a goal.”

When teamed with striker Romario Williams, who has 14 goals on the season, the two make a lethal combination.

“Those two have such great chemistry and they feed off of each other,” Anhaeuser said. “Romario creates space, but so does Ataulla. They create space and scoring chances for each other.”

The Battery’s attack has been anemic of late, scoring just three times in their last six matches.

Guerra injured his groin against Jacksonville in the U.S. Open Cup in late May, forcing him to miss all of June and the better part of July. It’s no coincidence that while Guerra was rehabbing and working his way back onto the field, the Battery's offensive struggles began. Charleston has won just one time during the month of July and is 0-3-3 in its last six matches.

“One player shouldn’t make that much of a difference and all of our struggles of late are not only because we were missing Ataulla, but he’s a big part of what makes our attack go," Anhaeuser said. "We need to have him back on the field.”

Guerra returned to the lineup, playing 60 minutes in a 1-0 loss to Toronto FC II last week. Guerra said he’s close to getting his timing back and should return to early-season form in the next couple of weeks.

“I’m feeling more comfortable out there, it’s progressing,” Guerra said. “The biggest thing is getting my confidence back. I’m 75-80 percent of where I was at the beginning of the season. I still don’t have full confidence in my right leg. I can shoot, but not like at the beginning of the season.”

A year ago, Guerra played all over the field for the Battery. He saw extended time at holding midfield, but was also used as an attacking midfielder, outside midfielder and forward during the 2016 season. He admits he’s most comfortable playing just behind the forwards in the Battery’s attacking formation. It’s there that the 29-year-old can best take advantage of his ability to set teammates up for scoring opportunities.

“I like to get the ball in dangerous positions,” Guerra said. “If I’m right behind the striker I can free up my teammates and be on the ball as much as possible. I prefer to be more of an offensive player, but I’ll do whatever the coaches ask me to do.”

Guerra said the Battery just needs to find its confidence again, and scoring early against New York on Saturday night will be the best way to get out of their scoring funk.

“It doesn’t matter what kind of goal it is, an ugly goal will do,” Guerra said. “We just need to get an early goal to get our confidence back and start scoring like we were in the beginning of the season.”
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 12, 2017, 07:38:39 AM
he would even get a look
Post by: Tobago28 on August 12, 2017, 08:51:53 AM
Live Stream of Guerra and Hackshaw vs. Powder or NYRB tonight at 7PM

http://www.uslsoccer.com/charlestonbattery-newyorkredbullsii-905744
Post by: Tallman on October 08, 2017, 12:06:06 PM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra scores in Charleston Battery’s 3-0 win over Harrisburg City Islanders

https://www.youtube.com/v/-8x94WLOn0E?start=52
Post by: Tallman on October 14, 2017, 09:38:59 PM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra’s deft chip earns all three points for Charleston Battery in their 1-0 win over Charlotte Independence

https://www.youtube.com/v/5pdutOUGcpg?start=21
Post by: Tallman on March 21, 2018, 01:55:41 PM
WATCH: Charleston Battery’s Ataulla Guerra featured at #6 on the top 10 USL Skills of the Week - Week 1.

https://www.youtube.com/v/yaAlg2Zysd0?start=15
Post by: Tallman on March 24, 2018, 08:17:40 PM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra is ah wicked fella. Look what he does to the defender before he scores the game-winning goal in Charleston’s Battery 1-0 win over Penn FC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/ZAtNy797lW4?start=31

“It was just a touch of experience and composure in front of goal,” said Guerra. “I just relaxed myself because I knew I was going to get a chance; and when I got it, I took it to the best of my ability. It was a nice finish with my weaker foot. I’m working everyday to try to improve in my finishing and my goal-scoring, so I’m happy with the goal.”
Post by: Cocorite on March 24, 2018, 08:49:07 PM
We can see he's improved and settled a bit. Wonder if he is finally ready for the National Team?
Post by: Tallman on March 24, 2018, 10:14:50 PM
We can see he's improved and settled a bit. Wonder if he is finally ready for the National Team?

I think he was ready to be recalled since early last year.
Post by: Cocorite on March 25, 2018, 04:50:15 PM

I think he was ready to be recalled since early last year.

Agreed!
Post by: asylumseeker on March 25, 2018, 08:20:29 PM
Although ah almost afraid to tamper with the wave he's riding, I agree with the recall sentiment.

In 2017 was reliably told that the player had set performance goals. Got his mind on his curren¢y and his curren¢y on his mind. I imagine it's the same for 2018.

At this stage, he rightly should be focused on enjoying his football and making coin. Anything involving the national team should be timely-paid icing on the cake. Emphasis on timely-paid.

Post by: Tallman on April 21, 2018, 09:26:16 PM
WATCH: Charleston Battery midfielder Ataulla Guerra scores his second goal of the season to earn a 1-1 draw with Penn FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/AEcM0UaMscs?start=70
Title: Guerra's goal gives Battery 1-0 win
Post by: Tallman on April 29, 2018, 12:36:10 PM
Guerra's goal gives Battery 1-0 win
live5news.com

In their first home game in over a month, the Charleston Battery defeated the Tampa Bay Rowdies, 1-0, Saturday night to extend their unbeaten streak to four games.

The Rowdies and the Battery traded possession throughout most of the first 45 minutes, with the Battery creating the more dangerous chances. Charleston’s attacking four had several near misses in the opening 20 minutes, but it was the Rowdies who went closest to breaking the deadlock. Hunter Gorskie out-lept a Battery defender on a set piece in the 24th minute, but his header went inches wide.

The Battery opened the scoring in stoppage time of the first half after Neveal Hackshaw slipped a pass into Ataulla Guerra at the corner of the 18-yard box. With the defender on his hip, Guerra turned and fired a low shot through a group of bodies. The ball took a slight deflection and found the back of the net.

“Ataulla has been tremendous,” said Battery Head Coach Mike Anhaeuser. “He’s been the player who’s been the catalyst for us. He played three games in seven days and scored two goals. He knew going in that we were going to limit his minutes, so him getting that goal at the end of the first half was huge.”

Carrying the momentum from the stoppage-time goal into the second half, Charleston pressed for more. Ian Svantesson had an opportunity to double the Battery’s advantage in the 61st minute, connecting with a cross from Nico Rittmeyer, but a last-ditch effort by a Rowdies defender kept the ball out of the net.

Tampa attacked hard in the final ten minutes pushing for an equalizer. The Battery back four absorbed the pressure and thwarted the Rowdies’ attacks before they entered the defensive third. Joe Kuzminsky, who earned his first ever professional start Tuesday night in Atlanta, made two saves in the match and earned his second shutout in as many games.

“I’ve worked really hard to get here,” said Kuzminsky after the match. “Now it’s time to show what I’ve got. Being able to play my first game here at home tonight was amazing and then to get the shutout on top of it is great.”

The win extends Charleston’s unbeaten streak to four games and their win streak to two. The Battery returns home to take on the Charlotte Independence next Saturday, May 5 at MUSC Health Stadium.

https://www.youtube.com/v/zLoy8EV9RdE?start=43
Post by: Tallman on May 05, 2018, 09:40:39 PM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra scores his third goal in four games during Charleston Battery’s 2-0 win over Charlotte Independence.

https://www.youtube.com/v/mH_8-SBACHw?start=20
Post by: Tallman on May 12, 2018, 08:36:49 PM
WATCH: It’s that man Ataulla Guerra again with his fourth goal in five games during Charleston Battery’s 2-1 win over Bethlehem Steel.

https://www.youtube.com/v/EBLilGbiD8c?start=27
Post by: Tallman on May 27, 2018, 10:55:55 AM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra notches his sixth goal of the season to earn Charleston Battery a 1-1 draw against Nashville SC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/p540dFIH3_I?start=45
Post by: soccerman on May 27, 2018, 09:42:24 PM
With his current form he does deserve a NT call up.
Post by: Tallman on May 28, 2018, 06:57:50 AM
With his current form he does deserve a NT call up.

De man deserved to be call up since a year ago.
Post by: Tallman on May 28, 2018, 09:23:28 AM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra - 2017/18 Highlights

https://www.youtube.com/v/G32WvTyFqtU
Post by: Tallman on May 30, 2018, 08:39:10 PM
WATCH: Another game, another goal by Ataulla Guerra. His seventh of the season helps Charleston Battery to a 3-3 draw against Indy Eleven. He also provides the assist for the game equalizer.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Xa5i9bKoRnI?start=131
Post by: Dinner Mints on May 30, 2018, 09:40:13 PM
Don’t just call him up. Find out how they’re using him.
Title: Guerra named to USL Team of the Week (#12)
Post by: Tallman on June 05, 2018, 03:57:22 PM
Guerra named to USL Team of the Week (#12)

Charleston Battery forward Ataulla Guerra has been named to the USL Team of the Week for Week 12 following his performance in the 3-3 draw with Indy Eleven last Wednesday at Lucas Oil Stadium.

Guerra scored his team-leading seventh goal of the season in the 80th minute against the Eleven to momentarily put the Battery ahead. Indy scored two goals in quick succession to edge themselves in front before Guerra set up Tah Brian Anunga’s 94th minute equalizer.

The Team of the Week honor is Guerra’s first this season. The Trinidadian attacker was named as a reserve in the Week 8 team.

Guerra’s performance in Indianapolis helped the Battery extend their unbeaten streak to eleven games in all competitions. Guerra and the Battery will put that unbeaten streak on the line tomorrow night against Atlanta United in the U.S. Open Cup. The fourth round match is scheduled to kick off at 7:30 PM at Fifth Third Bank Stadium in Kennesaw, Georgia.
Post by: Tallman on July 02, 2018, 08:03:57 AM
WATCH: Atualla Guerra scores his 8th goal of the season in Charleston Battery’s 4-0 rout of Toronto FC II.

https://www.youtube.com/v/V44ch62F8xQ&start=12
Post by: Tallman on July 07, 2018, 07:43:38 PM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra just can’t stop scoring. His 9th goal of the season earns Charleston Battery a 1-1 draw on the road against North Carolina FC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Zkt9AvuipPg?start=44
Post by: Tallman on July 13, 2018, 01:22:00 PM
WATCH: In the race for the 2018 USL Golden Boot, Ataulla Guerra is currently part of a seven-way tie at the top of the USL scoring chart. Take a look at all of his nine goals he has scored so far during 2018.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Hh-GMPfLoyQ
Post by: Deeks on July 13, 2018, 03:39:40 PM
Good Luck, Atuallah!! What if ...... What ....if!!!!!!
Post by: Cocorite on July 13, 2018, 03:44:27 PM
So many of our guys develop so late. Tulla's been around for some time now. He has been given chances at the NT. But  he may be coming into his own too late in his career.

The Administration always starting and stopping with their "Programs" and fail to followthrough.
Post by: Tallman on July 14, 2018, 10:57:56 PM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra's league-leading 10th goal of the season in Charleston Battery's 2-1 win over Louisville City FC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/5wTgJYuh1VE&start=15
Post by: Tallman on July 21, 2018, 08:04:47 PM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra scores for the fourth consecutive game, in Charleston Battery’s 1-0 win over Pittsburgh Riverhounds. Guerra is in a two-way tie at the top of the scoring charts with 11 goals for the season.

https://www.youtube.com/v/f7gwH6LDQlY?start=131
Post by: soccerman on July 21, 2018, 08:29:50 PM
Way to go Guerra. Is he playing as a stricker or AM?
Post by: Tallman on July 21, 2018, 08:32:51 PM

Striker (#10)
Post by: soccerman on July 21, 2018, 08:57:31 PM

Striker (#10)
He might be the best striker we have at the moment.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 23, 2018, 09:11:30 AM

He might be the best striker we have at the moment.

Might?!!  U seem unsure :yellowcard:
Post by: Jefferz on July 23, 2018, 03:00:06 PM
I have a feeling that he'd play well with Joevin and Molino. From what i've seen of recent Cato, they may all work really well together in time. I certainly think his form warrants another chance.
Post by: Cocorite on July 23, 2018, 05:25:17 PM
I have a feeling that he'd play well with Joevin and Molino. From what i've seen of recent Cato, they may all work really well together in time. I certainly think his form warrants another chance.

Tulla might be too old (30s) if we're looking to the future. He good for next 2-3 years if he stays fit.

He plays kinda in the mold of Molino . . . so more attacking power. Great to run at defenders and create havoc with he, Molino, Joven and Garcia.
Post by: Deeks on July 23, 2018, 10:45:53 PM
He he is a student of the game and look at CR7, he could could be around for Qatar. But ....................????????
Post by: Tallman on July 29, 2018, 12:15:54 AM
WATCH: The King of Charleston, Ataulla Guerra, scores for the fifth consecutive game, his 12th goal of the season. Leland Archer with the assist. Charleston Battery 3-0 Richmond Kickers.

https://www.youtube.com/v/rj2QSt6UXDM?start=89
Post by: Cocorite on July 29, 2018, 03:11:25 PM
Get ready Tulla, MLS team will be calling soon. Hopefully you will help T&T in the upcoming Gold Cup and Nations Cup as well
Post by: Deeks on July 29, 2018, 04:09:36 PM
Tulla and Keron will be good combination.
Post by: Sando prince on July 29, 2018, 08:57:30 PM
Get ready Tulla, MLS team will be calling soon. Hopefully you will help T&T in the upcoming Gold Cup and Nations Cup as well

wait you mean first help T&T try qualify for the Gold cup  :D

results in recent years should remind you
Post by: FF on July 29, 2018, 10:45:39 PM
We are automatically qualified for next year's Gold Cup
Post by: soccerman on August 08, 2018, 06:01:02 PM
Playing live on ESPN News right now
Title: Guerra named USL Player of the Month
Post by: Tallman on August 09, 2018, 08:51:28 PM
Guerra named USL Player of the Month

Charleston Battery forward Ataulla Guerra has been named the USL Player of the Month after scoring five goals in six games in July. Guerra’s Player of the Month honor comes one day after head coach Mike Anhaeuser was named USL Coach of the Month.

Guerra scored a goal every 85.4 minutes to lead the Battery to a 5-0-1 record in July. The Trinidadian forward tallied two game winners including an 88th minute header that handed the Pittsburgh Riverhounds their second loss of the season. Guerra’s goal scoring form through the month of July moved him into a two-way tie for first place in the USL Golden Boot race with 12 goals.

“As a coach it is always great to see players perform like Ataulla did in July,” said Head Coach Mike Anhaeuser.  “He really worked hard in preseason and the offseason and has proved to himself and the league that he can do more than just set up his teammates. We hope that he can keep this going all season.” 

Guerra received 43 percent of a weighted poll that included the USL Technical Committee, a national panel of independent media representing every USL market and an online fan vote held at USLSoccer.com. Fresno FC’s Juan Pablo Caffa finished second with 25 percent.

USL Player of the Month – July
NomineeFan VoteWeightMedia VoteWeightUSL Technical VoteWeightTotal Weighted Vote
Ataulla Guerra (CHS)12%6%48%11%100%25%43%
Juan Pablo Caffa (FRS)37%19%24%6%0%0%25%
Foster Langsdorf (POR)30%15%15%4%0%0%19%
Aodhan Quinn (OC)15%8%4%1%0%0%9%
Jared Stroud (NY)6%3%9%2%0%0%5%

Guerra and the Battery return to action Saturday night when they take on Atlanta United 2 at MUSC Health Stadium.
Post by: Tallman on August 25, 2018, 09:16:46 PM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra with his 13th and 14th goals of the season in Charleston Battery’s 4-4 draw with New York Red Bulls II

https://www.youtube.com/v/l6P4-jlGmgA
Post by: Flex on September 01, 2018, 12:59:56 AM
Guerra vows to ‘work hard’ for Lawrence.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

AFTER two years in the wilderness, Ataulla Guerra said he feels honoured to earn a recall to the national football team.

The 30 year old Guerra was named in a 20-member TT team who will travel to Girona, Spain to face the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in a friendly international on September 6.

Guerra, who plays for Charleston Battery in the United Soccer League (USL) in the United States, last played for the national team on July 12, 2015 in a 2-0 victory over Cuba at the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup in the US.

He has a total of 39 internationals since making his national debut a decade ago.

National coach Dennis Lawrence said Guerra’s work rate on the defensive end has always been an issue for him, but decided to give him a chance as he has been doing great with his club.

Answering questions from Newsday via email, Guerra said, “It’s always an honour. I’m always willing to represent my country. It’s a pleasure to be back there. I’m just going to go and work hard.”

Guerra has forced himself back in the reckoning by banging in 14 goals and putting in electrifying performances during the 2018 USL.

About his season thus far, the slimly-built attacking midfielder said, “For me, we just have a lot more work to do in getting the results. We have been doing quite well so far. We just have to pick it up for these last seven or eight games so we can go into the playoffs on a high. We just have to keep our focus and work harder every day.” Khaleem Hyland, Kevin Molino, Andre Boucaud and Kevan George have been the regular choices in central midfield but, with Molino injured and Boucaud nearing the end of his international career, Guerra is hopeful that he can get be an automatic choice in Lawrence’s starting line-up.

He said, “I bring a lot of my experience and my ability to help win games. I always try to play at the highest level with Trinidad (and Tobago) and try to achieve winning a major tournament.

“For us coming up, that’s the Gold Cup which I’m looking forward to playing in next year,” he continued. “Any major tournament we have to participate in, I’m just looking forward to being back with the team. It’s an honour to be back.”

Guerra said he is not bitter that he has been overlooked by Lawrence and his predecessors Stephen Hart and Tom Saintfiet during the past three years.

“I’ve just been focusing on what I have control over – which is my football,” he pointed out. “I just keep enjoying my game and playing well for the Battery and then leave everything else in control of God and the decision that the coaches make.

“I’m always happy to be back playing for my country and it’s an honour to be there.”

Concerning his future ambitions, the former San Juan Jabloteh and Central FC player said, “To play at the highest level that I could ever play at – World Cup, Champions League – that’s my goal, that’s my dream. I’m never giving up on that. I’m just keeping focused and working hard. Who knows where I can be in the next two years.”

Post by: Tallman on September 01, 2018, 07:18:21 AM
WATCH: He didn’t score in this game, but Ataulla Guerra provided both assists in Charleston Battery’s 2-2 draw with Louisville City FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/xy4zk7pGPEk
Post by: Tallman on September 30, 2018, 08:06:23 AM
Ataulla Guerra is Charleston Battery's 2018 Offensive Player of the Year

2,168 minutes played
28 matches started
14 goals (leads team)
30 chances created (leads team)
4 assists (leads team)
USL Player of the Month in July

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DoNGmmoWsAEbl5_.jpg:large)
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on October 01, 2018, 08:19:04 AM
Niceness!
Post by: asylumseeker on October 01, 2018, 10:27:42 AM
Congrats to Ataulla! Through the grapevine I heard he had set personal goals last year and it must be rewarding to be reaping positive vibes!
Post by: gawd on pitch on October 01, 2018, 04:15:10 PM
Is he ready for MLS?
Post by: Cocorite on October 01, 2018, 04:48:34 PM
Is he ready for MLS?

Skillwise? or Head wise?

We can see he has grown professionally. His skillset has never been in question.

I'd like to see him get the opportunity with a reasonable manager in MLS or a Championship side in England.

Congrats Tulla! Well deserved bro
Post by: Tallman on October 01, 2018, 06:25:51 PM
Is he ready for MLS?

Skillwise? or Head wise?

We can see he has grown professionally. His skillset has never been in question.

I'd like to see him get the opportunity with a reasonable manager in MLS or a Championship side in England.

I eh think MLS will give up an international spot for what they would consider an unheralded 31-year old. And no Trini eh getting any run in England anytime soon, because of the work permit issue among other things.
Post by: Cocorite on October 01, 2018, 08:46:42 PM
Is he ready for MLS?

Skillwise? or Head wise?

I eh think MLS will give up an international spot for what they would consider an unheralded 31-year old. And no Trini eh getting any run in England anytime soon, because of the work permit issue among other things.

I keep forgetting his age, oui.

So what are his realistic options? Continue to thrive in USL? Vietnam, India et. al, ain't much better.
European teams ain't want no ole man either.

It's unfortunate our skilled payers develop into their potential so late . . . Our scouting seems non-existant. Jury still out on Dennis Lawrance's capability.

I'm really hoping that people with backbone the likes of Look Loy continue to shake-up the establishment to force transparency and credibility in T&T football.
Post by: gawd on pitch on October 01, 2018, 08:50:36 PM
31. I thinking de man still 27.. Looks like the only way in is if his team go from USL to MLS.
Post by: Tallman on October 08, 2018, 06:20:17 AM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra with his 15th goal of the season in Charleston Battery’s 2-1 loss to Atlanta United 2

https://www.youtube.com/v/nY54-dlkSro?start=10
Post by: maxg on October 08, 2018, 09:32:17 AM
Back on track. Almost seem to easy. Raise the bar. Give the guy ah call nah MLS. Amen.
Post by: Tallman on November 05, 2018, 01:18:19 PM
Ataulla Guerra selected to the 2018 USL All-League Second Team.

Guerra led the Battery with 15 goals and also notched five assists alongside 32 chances created from open play to help lead Charleston back to the USL Cup Playoffs for an eighth consecutive season.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DrQwB8TWsAExpAN.jpg:large)
Post by: asylumseeker on March 06, 2019, 04:59:32 PM
WATCH: Ataullah Guerra speaking about club and national team football during preparations for the March 20, 2019 match between Wales and Trinidad and Tobago to be held at Racecourse Ground, Wrexham.

https://youtube.com/v/xocfyDF-p40
Post by: Tallman on July 24, 2019, 02:38:52 AM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra scores his first goal of the season in Charleston Battery's 3-2 win over Hartford Athletic. Defender Leland Archer provided the assist.

https://www.youtube.com/v/a889Zin-Jr4?start=95
Post by: Deeks on August 17, 2019, 02:22:29 PM
What is the deal with Atuallah?
Post by: Tallman on August 17, 2019, 09:22:05 PM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra with his second goal of the season in Charleston Battery's 2-1 loss to Louisville City FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/NWdsQ3h5Xn8?start=33
Post by: Peong on August 18, 2019, 12:09:53 PM
Nice goal
Post by: asylumseeker on September 22, 2019, 10:47:54 AM
Ataulla hasn't been on the field much as he was last year. Since returning to the Battery it has been difficult to put together a string of matches. Subject to correction, I think if he plays today (Battery face Andre Fortune and North Carolina in Charleston), he would be playing three matches consecutively for the first time in 2019.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 22, 2019, 06:51:55 PM
Ataulla hasn't been on the field much as he was last year. Since returning to the Battery it has been difficult to put together a string of matches. Subject to correction, I think if he plays today (Battery face Andre Fortune and North Carolina in Charleston), he would be playing three matches consecutively for the first time in 2019.

Battery won 2-1 on a stoppage time goal. Ataulla played the final 15 to 20 minutes. Fortune did not play  (was not on the match sheet, not sure why) and Archer was not available due to injury.
Post by: Tallman on October 19, 2019, 03:00:55 PM
WATCH: Ataulla Guerra gets on the scoresheet by converting a penalty during Charleston Battery's 5-1 thumping of Bethlehem Steel

https://www.youtube.com/v/gk0WcpPbabM?start=63
Post by: Tallman on November 14, 2019, 12:42:18 PM
WATCH: One on One with Ataulla Guerra

https://www.youtube.com/v/pLR2K_mkgOo
Post by: andre samuel on November 14, 2019, 01:32:39 PM
Nice interview!! Ataulla has come a long way.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 14, 2019, 02:33:43 PM
Shaun wukkin! This is simply one of the best interviews by a T&T player. Honest, no BS, direct and insightful. And it was just the tip of the iceberg. Ah real like how he raised up Trendsetter Hawks and Jerry Moe/Caledonia. Respect!

Beyond that, yuh could see de personal growth. Each one teach one.  :applause:
Post by: Tallman on November 14, 2019, 03:31:10 PM
32nd Earthstrong today!

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EJXHs0hXYAUmMWn?format=jpg&name=medium)
Post by: pull stones on November 15, 2019, 03:16:08 AM
He was awful last night. gave away the ball a little too much for my taste and has lost quite a few steps. no wonder these lads never made it into a halfway decent league, nor progressed from the mediocre leagues that they find themselves playing in. I’m just really bummed at the state of our football on every level, we need good developmental programs ASAP. this is just too disparaging.
Post by: Peong on October 06, 2020, 07:07:25 AM
So is Guerra retired or out of contract or what?
Post by: Tallman on October 06, 2020, 07:22:30 AM
So is Guerra retired or out of contract or what?

He's been without a club since December.
Post by: kounty on October 07, 2020, 10:30:08 AM
Scrap and take what you could get 'Tulla. You are definitely a crowd favorite. Tell your agent and you yourself think outside the box. What on par with (or just slightly higher than) USL in Central & South America? (lower divisions). You could leverage American name recognition for a shot in quite a few places. Please don't settle for the India or ProLeague route. Make use of the last few productive years of your career. Still room to grow.
Post by: Deeks on October 07, 2020, 10:38:59 AM
He should go to Carrington ManUTD and tell OGS, I is de man that you really need in that mid-field. I could do better than Pogba. I come here to wuk ..... sign me up.
Post by: Tallman on October 07, 2020, 10:56:10 AM
Scrap and take what you could get 'Tulla. You are definitely a crowd favorite. Tell your agent and you yourself think outside the box. What on par with (or just slightly higher than) USL in Central & South America? (lower divisions). You could leverage American name recognition for a shot in quite a few places. Please don't settle for the India or ProLeague route. Make use of the last few productive years of your career. Still room to grow.

Man go be 33 next month, so his options are limited. Adn to make things worst, he hasn't played in a year.