Sports => Football => Topic started by: FireBrand on November 05, 2011, 12:33:17 PM

Title: Jones, Birchall, Edwards back in T&T squad to face Guyana in crucial WCQ
Post by: FireBrand on November 05, 2011, 12:33:17 PM
Jones, Birchall, Edwards back in T&T squad to face Guyana in crucial WCQ.
By: Shaun fuentes (TTFF).

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Otto Pfister on Saturday announced a 20-man squad for this country’s back to back upcoming 2014 World Cup qualifiers against Guyana which includes four returning players who missed the two previous encounters due to injury or other reason.

The squad will train at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Monday and Tuesday before departing for Georgetown, Guyana on Wednesday morning.

Peltier, T&T’s hattrick scorer in the recent 4-0 shut out of Barbados, is seeing the upcoming clashes as possibly the most important of his international career thus far and certainly the most crucial for T&T at this stage.

“I think this is possibly the most important set of games for me in my international career so far,” Peltier told TTFF Media. “And we need to go out there and give it everything in the first game in Guyana. I think the entire team realizes that this is like a crunch period for us,” he added.

“The coach is a passionate, die hard guy when it comes to his work and he told us in the last game that we were not doing enough. He said we had to go out there and really put our best and score goals. We did that and we know we have to continue this if we are to bring home results and get the crowds filling the stadium again,” Peltier added.

In a Fifa.com interview earlier this week, Peltier went on to say :“Me and other young boys are looking to step it up and show the way. “We know everything there is to know about each other and we’re young and hungry. When you put this together with the experience of guys like Kenwyne [Jones] and Edwards, we have a serious team.”

Facing elimination with the wrong kind of result on Friday in Georgetown doesn’t dampen Peltier’s youthful spirit. “Sure, it’s a tough moment for us right now, but when we get through it, I can see this team going all the way back to the World Cup.

It’s been a long time since you’ve seen a Trinidad and Tobago team playing the game we’re playing – putting the ball on the ground and passing it around,” he added, an enthusiasm and conviction entering into his voice. “We’re bringing the style back to Trinidad and Tobago.”

T&T 20-man squad

Goalkeepers:
Marvin Phillip (Joe Public), Jan Michael Williams (W Connection).

Defenders:
Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver Whitecaps), Seon Power (North East Stars), Akeem Adams (T&TEC), Andrei Pacheco (T&TEC), Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Julius James (Columbus Crew), Osei Telesford (Puerto Rico Islanders), Carlos Edwards (Ipswich Town).

Midfielders:
Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Hayden Tinto (Joe Public) Khlaeem Hyland (Racing Genk), Lester Peltier (AS Trencin), Kendall Jagdeosingh, Kevin Molino (Orlando City), Christopher Birchall (LA Galaxy), Keon Daniel (Philadelphia Union).

Strikers:
Stern John (North East Stars), Kenwyne Jones (Stoke City).
Title: Re: Jones, Birchall, Edwards back in T&T squad to face Guyana in crucial WCQ
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 05, 2011, 12:45:49 PM
T&T 20-man squad
Marvin Phillip (Joe Public), Jan Michael Williams (W Connection), Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver Whitecaps), Seon Power (DirecTV North East Stars), Akeem Adams (T&TEC), Andrei Pacheco (T&TEC), Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Julius James (Columbus Crew), Keon Daniel (Philadelphia Union),Osei Telesford (Puerto Rico Islanders), Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Hayden Tinto (Joe Public) Khlaeem Hyland (Racing Genk), Lester Peltier (AS Trencin), Carlos Edwards (Ipswich Town), Kendall Jagdeosingh, Kevin Molino (Orlando City),Chris Birchall (LA Galaxy), Stern John (North East Stars) and Kenwyne Jones (Stoke City)

How much goals he score this season ?
Title: Re: Jones, Birchall, Edwards back in T&T squad to face Guyana in crucial WCQ
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on November 05, 2011, 12:47:46 PM
No Roberts. Is he still injured or on a trial?
Post by: PIMP on November 05, 2011, 12:53:00 PM
J Lloyd done wit we awa?
Post by: theworm2345 on November 05, 2011, 12:55:02 PM
How much goals he score this season ?
Two for North East Stars, one in the Citizen's Cup I think, one a penalty against Jabloteh last week.  Also the one against India.
Post by: mukumsplau on November 05, 2011, 01:26:13 PM
forza soca warriors!
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 05, 2011, 01:34:51 PM
No Roberts. Is he still injured or on a trial?

Broken arm he suffered right?  Will be a bit before he's back.  Not sure what de deal is wid J. Lloyd
Post by: injunchile on November 05, 2011, 01:47:41 PM
J Lloyd coming for the next rounds. One step at a time.
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 05, 2011, 01:50:16 PM
J Lloyd coming for the next rounds. One step at a time.

As small as a mustard seed
Post by: dreamer on November 05, 2011, 05:01:39 PM
T&T 20-man squad
Marvin Phillip (Joe Public), Jan Michael Williams (W Connection), Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver Whitecaps), Seon Power (DirecTV North East Stars), Akeem Adams (T&TEC), Andrei Pacheco (T&TEC), Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Julius James (Columbus Crew), Keon Daniel (Philadelphia Union),Osei Telesford (Puerto Rico Islanders), Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Hayden Tinto (Joe Public) Khlaeem Hyland (Racing Genk), Lester Peltier (AS Trencin), Carlos Edwards (Ipswich Town), Kendall Jagdeosingh, Kevin Molino (Orlando City),Chris Birchall (LA Galaxy), Stern John (North East Stars) and Kenwyne Jones (Stoke City)

Good team selection.
My only regret is that Bleeder geh abducted into Vietnam and cyah return and that Roberts geh he hand break up.
Nevertheless, Iron Pfist is showing he eh playing arong atall atall.

Iz war people. Warr.
Post by: g on November 05, 2011, 05:15:17 PM
What is Keon Daniel's current immigration status these days?
Post by: just cool on November 05, 2011, 05:54:24 PM
Boy, ah hope they eh play stern and kenwyne together, since this is the perfect recipe for goalessness.  we seen it the in last hex and the hex before, they just don't complement each other. hope he pairs up jones with a more mobile striker.
Post by: g on November 05, 2011, 06:23:50 PM
Quote from Birchy twitter acct

chrisbirchall7 Chris Birchall
“@RaviHarrypersad: @chrisbirchall7 Will you be playing in the T&T vs Guyana match?” yes I will fly to Trinidad straight after the game 2moro
Post by: najee on November 05, 2011, 06:57:24 PM
any TV coverage of the away and home game of my beloved socawarriors
Post by: Preacher on November 05, 2011, 07:49:13 PM
good question   :praying:
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 05, 2011, 08:19:47 PM
All yuh serious?  Steups, all yuh betta geh ready to take in de heart attack commentary on de radio
Post by: Jay10 on November 05, 2011, 09:47:18 PM
Boy, ah hope they eh play stern and kenwyne together, since this is the perfect recipe for goalessness.  we seen it the in last hex and the hex before, they just don't complement each other. hope he pairs up jones with a more mobile striker.

Hope that does not happen...
Post by: Controversial on November 05, 2011, 10:46:40 PM
i wonder what the team will look like

phillip,
T&T 20-man squad

Good team selection.
My only regret is that Bleeder geh abducted into Vietnam and cyah return and that Roberts geh he hand break up.

Iz war people. Warr.

does mitchell play center back?
Post by: Controversial on November 05, 2011, 11:11:55 PM
lets see what the line-up will look like

Phillip
Adams
James
Hyland
Edwards
Jagdeosingh
Birchall
Hector
Molino
Jones
Peltier

tough call, lets see what pfister does ???
Post by: just cool on November 06, 2011, 05:57:32 AM

Phillip
Adams
James
Hyland
Edwards
Jagdeosingh
Birchall
Hector
Molino
Jones
Peltier

Why pair up jones with peltier when lester was far more effective on the flanks. in bermuda he played the striker role and bummed, but in the barbados game he played out wide and had more room tuh roam and ruh @ defenders.

i think wolf should be paired up with KJ, or even jagdeosingh.
Post by: trini_stallion on November 06, 2011, 06:59:36 AM

Phillip
Adams
James
Hyland
Edwards
Jagdeosingh
Birchall
Hector
Molino
Jones
Peltier

We have ah clip here that cld relly nice up guyana...bess team...

I feel Daniel starting infront ah jaggy, and powers infront ah adams....
Also,  ah know we go hadda wait and see if Otto-matic go be starting Hyland in defense....even tho thats his place in Genk....I think he more efective in de mid field...but ah eh no coach....

I agree with you tho Contro, Jonesie and Peltier could be ah stinging combo up top...i looking forward to seeing them start together...cuz Jones big and strong, could hold up play well, but he don't relly put him self out there as being to mobile, whilst, Peltier is rel pace and foot work...so i feel one ah dem will pick up in what the other lacks... :beermug:
Post by: dreamer on November 06, 2011, 07:50:03 AM
i wonder what the team will look like

phillip,
T&T 20-man squad

Good team selection.

Iz war people. Warr.

does mitchell play center back?

Mitchell is definitely centre back

1. Goal: Marvin (Jan as back up)
2. L back: Adams (No other specialist L back, so we vulnerable dey and Shabbazz knows this)
3. L centre back: Julius. Covers for and double teams with Adams.
4. R centre back: Mitchell. Air Power. Free Power to be R back. Power on standby for injuries here and then Carlos or Wolfe for R back in case.
5. R back: Power. Carlos on standby for attacking plan B in 2nd half.
6. Def mid: Birch or Hyland. (Pacheco on standby as hatchet man)
7. Creative mid: Molino. Finally a true creator.
8. L wing mid: Hector (Daniel on standby)
9. R wing mid Tinto. Instructed to go easy on excessive dribbling & causing turnovers
10. Striker & target man receiving crosses from Hector, Tinto and Peltier and laying off to Peltier: Jones (Stern on standby)
11: Striker exploding from mid, peltin' in breakaway: Peltier (Jagdeosing on standby)

Go Warriors. Go Iron Pfist!
Post by: Cowen on November 06, 2011, 10:28:50 AM

Phillip
Adams
James
Hyland
Edwards
Jagdeosingh
Birchall
Hector
Molino
Jones
Peltier

We have ah clip here that cld relly nice up guyana...bess team...

I feel Daniel starting infront ah jaggy, and powers infront ah adams....
Also,  ah know we go hadda wait and see if Otto-matic go be starting Hyland in defense....even tho thats his place in Genk....I think he more efective in de mid field...but ah eh no coach....

I agree with you tho Contro, Jonesie and Peltier could be ah stinging combo up top...i looking forward to seeing them start together...cuz Jones big and strong, could hold up play well, but he don't relly put him self out there as being to mobile, whilst, Peltier is rel pace and foot work...so i feel one ah dem will pick up in what the other lacks... :beermug:

that's not his place in Genk. Been playing there due to injuries in the team. Just happen to fit there for now
Post by: Cocorite on November 06, 2011, 10:40:26 AM
Hear nah. T&T winning this yuh know.

Here's why:

Iron Pfister's emphasis on defense

T&T rises to the occasion when our backs against the wall (We need to be quadrant II team)

We're better, period!

T&T, T&T, T&T.

Oh, an' dem young boys HUNGRY.
Post by: Controversial on November 06, 2011, 12:22:53 PM

Phillip
Adams
James
Hyland
Edwards
Jagdeosingh
Birchall
Hector
Molino
Jones
Peltier

Why pair up jones with peltier when lester was far more effective on the flanks. in bermuda he played the striker role and bummed, but in the barbados game he played out wide and had more room tuh roam and ruh @ defenders.

jaggy has played left winger before and can beat with both feet, he can also cross with both feet, playing him on the left will be a good idea

he will cause a lot of problems for guyana on the left

jones needs a player like peltier to play off of, peltier pace and ability to go forward will create room for jones

hector and molino can switch from center to right wing because hector can also cross and play the right wing, i think pushing hyland in the back will strengthen our defense, he plays that role well for genk, despite filling in, like i have always said, hyland is a defensive mid or defender imo

i will drop birchall back in a holding mid/sweeper position up top of hyland and james. too bad you can't do that with the line-up button.

hector will create along with molino on the right and an attacking jaggy on the left, playing peltier with jones may be a stroke of genius

the formation will really and truly look like this on paper

phillip

edwards          hyland       james        adams

birchall

molino                 hector                 jagdeosingh

peltier

jones
Post by: trini_stallion on November 06, 2011, 12:45:42 PM

Phillip
Adams
James
Hyland
Edwards
Jagdeosingh
Birchall
Hector
Molino
Jones
Peltier

jaggy has played left winger before and can beat with both feet, he can also cross with both feet, playing him on the left will be a good idea

he will cause a lot of problems for guyana on the left

jones needs a player like peltier to play off of, peltier pace and ability to go forward will create room for jones

hector and molino can switch from center to right wing because hector can also cross and play the right wing, i think pushing hyland in the back will strengthen our defense, he plays that role well for genk, despite filling in, like i have always said, hyland is a defensive mid or defender imo

i will drop birchall back in a holding mid/sweeper position up top of hyland and james. too bad you can't do that with the line-up button.

hector will create along with molino on the right and an attacking jaggy on the left, playing peltier with jones may be a stroke of genius

the formation will really and truly look like this on paper

phillip

edwards          hyland       james        adams

birchall

molino                 hector                 jagdeosingh

peltier

jones

Ehhh that making rell sense...ah wonder if we cld get that to otto lol... :beermug:
Post by: dreamer on November 06, 2011, 12:50:51 PM
More T&T / Guyana history

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9H8f1ZxVPqk&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A_2ftEGOBOI

and ... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e-i8gyJ05w0
Post by: Touches on November 06, 2011, 01:04:23 PM
The back 4 is edwards left back, mitchell/power and james center and  wolfe/telesford right

Mid is birchy, hyland,  hector and peltier

Jones and stern up top.

dat is quality dey and proven men to get the job done...d rest audition long enough and were found wanting.

If subs coming on is tinto for stern...and peltier going up top....pace in d 2nd half.

No chances in dese two games....edwards is d left back
Post by: Controversial on November 06, 2011, 01:15:15 PM
The back 4 is edwards left back, mitchell/power and james center and  wolfe/telesford right

Jones and stern up top.

dat is quality dey and proven men to get the job done...d rest audition long enough and were found wanting.

If subs coming on is tinto for stern...and peltier going up top....pace in d 2nd half.

if pfister plays edwards again at left back, wolfe will have to play right back, telesford too shaky for me right now

i quicker play hyland in the back over mitchell or power with james. in all honesty hyland ain't saying anything in the attacking mid since inception, he is a holding mid or center back, he proved that to me in the champions league

peltier should not come off the bench, pfister doesn't seem to be the guy who will play for a draw and stern has no business playing over a young set of legs like peltier

stern for bench
Post by: Controversial on November 06, 2011, 01:19:29 PM

Jones and stern up top.

stern and jones combo is not a combo you want in a crucial game, experience or no experience, we need goals and a striker to run at their defense, stern will hold up the ball and depends on the mid to create for him, right now peltier seems the best fit with jones
Post by: trini_stallion on November 06, 2011, 01:37:57 PM

Jones and stern up top.

You mad o what??? who going and run down ball der??
Post by: sealo on November 06, 2011, 02:15:28 PM

Hope that does not happen...

We need fit mobile strikers, we need natural strikers who can convert a "one-on-one" chance with the goalie; strikers who know how to play the offside trap and who have been scoring goals lately and regularly (local or foreign based); strikers who put the ball in the net on a routine basis (clinical marksmen); strikers who have vision and can play "one-twos" among themselves and with the midfielders and thereby contribute to creative play.

Why are we not playing guys like Shahdon Winchester (young; very good creative vision and could score goals), Jerrel Britto (young natural striker who can score goals)? What about Juma Clarence (skillful, natural striker)? They are all young, fit & talented and are capable of the above. All of these players will play a much harder game, give a much better effort and have better than Chemistry, which is sorely lacking between Kenwyn & Stern (as mentioned above: they don't complement each other). Kenwyn is not a natural striker & his finishing is not clinical. How has his goal scoring performance over the past few seasons? Based on Stern's 2nd half performance (poor control, poor passing and failure to convert a "one-on-one" with the goalie) in our last game against Barbados in Trinidad, it would be better to give his spot to one of the youger guys (natural strikers) who is currently in form. He was the weak link (especially in the 2nd half) and it seems as though he still doesn't know how to play the offside trap. 

Players need to earn their spot on the team based on their recent performance in games......In terms of the future of Trinidad's football (upcoming qualifiers, Brazil 2014 and beyond), it is more worth our while to invest in a couple more of the younger talented players - they are the future. I hope Mr. Pfister sees this comment and does something about it....
Post by: Touches on November 06, 2011, 02:52:16 PM
Goalscoring is an art...poaching is one as well.

Getting into the correct position  at the right time is a skill...that only stern has.

In a do or die....i backing stern over anybody else.

Dat  offside ting is a ploy...only the uninitiated cannot spot it.  Stern always gets a chance every game to score.

Do or die time is when stern does deliver

Post by: Controversial on November 06, 2011, 03:04:13 PM

Getting into the correct position  at the right time is a skill...that only stern has.

Dat  offside ting is a ploy...only the uninitiated cannot spot it.  Stern always gets a chance every game to score.

this is not the african safari, so i not into poaching

stern does throw away, disgruntled used the derogatory term of an abortionist the best describe his failed finishes

stern is good coming off the bench when the game is secured and in the bag, in do or die situations you use the players with the most hunger, and right now, peltier studying to eat a food, in particular a guyanese pepper pot
Post by: dreamer on November 06, 2011, 03:19:40 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gLlehC3CJkE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UAlEpP4-Osk
Go Otto
Post by: Preacher on November 07, 2011, 01:28:39 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gLlehC3CJkE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UAlEpP4-Osk
Go Otto

Hmmm.....that Ghana team remind me of ..... ::)
Post by: Tallman on November 07, 2011, 06:16:36 AM
Why are we not playing guys like Shahdon Winchester (young; very good creative vision and could score goals), Jerrel Britto (young natural striker who can score goals)? What about Juma Clarence (skillful, natural striker)? They are all young, fit & talented and are capable of the above. All of these players will play a much harder game, give a much better effort and have better than Chemistry...

While I happen to like all of those players you have mentioned, they have not exactly made a case for themselves recently. Winchester and Clarence have been involved with the senior team before, earning two caps each, but Clarence has not really been playing any ball for a while. I don't think he has even made an appearance for Caledonia this season. Britto and Winchester have been getting regular playing time with Connection, and Winchester is on the U-23 team but not a starter, and Britto has not made the final cut for the U-23 team so far.
Post by: frico on November 07, 2011, 01:12:12 PM
I dont mean to be in any way disrespectful of Guyana's football but I cannot see how they can beat this TT team and yes,I know bout Bermuda against TT.Its a 3 -0 away and 2-0 at home in TT.
Post by: Marcos on November 07, 2011, 04:55:34 PM

My have we come a long way. Had a time you never wanted to see "Half-slab" on a field. And that was in his prime
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 07, 2011, 05:01:22 PM
I cant see him going with a 4-4-2 away in a game we cannot lose... we have to keep more of the ball and Silence the crowd and cause Guyana to panic under the massive pressure they will feel. They will be the team going for it as 3 points at home guarantee them qualification ... we are going to keep calm and hit them when they open up

Phillip
Telesford
James
Power
Carlos
Hector
Birchall
Hyland
Molino
Jones
Peltier

B: Jan, Mitchell,Adams, Wolfe, Tinto, Daniel, Stern

T&T 2-0
Post by: dreamer on November 07, 2011, 05:09:50 PM
Small Mag, yuh mean well, but although Telesford is very useful and hungry, he is a little too slow to be defending in the wing back position against speedy wingers like Richardson. C'mon. Didn't you see when he was eatin' beats just the other day on the right wing.
Similarly, good ol Birch who used to play right wing for his lower division team in England, does not have the speed to be a true winger at international level. He is great in the center. Telesford is good in the center.

Post by: truetrini on November 07, 2011, 05:24:52 PM

My have we come a long way. Had a time you never wanted to see "Half-slab" on a field. And that was in his prime

Are you even aware why we call the man half slab?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 07, 2011, 05:25:49 PM
I rather trust the desire and determination in Telesford playing LB than the young immaturity and lack of ability and desire from Adams in a game we cannot lose.. also Wolfe to me never looks comfortable and Edwards looked pretty atrocious as a Left Back...

This game is about finding that one individual who can put his hand up and give it a go even though out of position and bleed for 90 minutes and I've never been let down by Telesford

Post by: dreamer on November 07, 2011, 05:35:00 PM
Yeah Smalls,
I hear you, and I think we understand eachother's thrust / concern. Iz all about the risk we're prepared to take. Shabazz is looking for a counter attack option as he knows damn well we're coming with the whole kitchen sink in attack in Guyana which your formation also represents. We cyah afford to have have no hole in defense and Guyana is going to counterattack on de wing. Daiz our only hole with rock solid Julius and Mitchell. The concerrn for Adams is real. If daiz de case we have to shuffle others around.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 07, 2011, 06:12:30 PM
another option is James Left back and Mitchell Power CB with Carlos RB

I want to see a 4-2-3-1 with Hyland Birch as the 2 deep lying mids with Hector on top of them flanked by Molino and Peltier with Jones up top even though Stern is the ideal front man with his ability to bring others into play but KJ is captain and will play so hopefully he can do what is required and play 100%
Post by: dreamer on November 07, 2011, 06:26:32 PM
Better Smalls, but ah cyah see Iron Pfist removing his rock of Gibraltah from cental defense. There is no current equivalent to Julius there. So try again. I am looking forward to your notes.
Post by: Controversial on November 07, 2011, 06:58:48 PM
the question remains, how many times has julius played at left back for our national team, as well as telesford?

whether small mag thinks edwards looks atrocious at left back is not the case, its about getting the job done, not a beauty contest.

the fact remains when edwards played left back, we conceded zero goals during those games, with wolfe at right back as well. so who the hell is small mag to say pfister's positioning is off?

another thing to note as well is hyland is a better defensive mid than attacking mid, it has been proven many times on the pitch, why waste his natural ability to play in the back where we need him most.

we have molino, hector and peltier, along with jagdeosingh who can play the attacking midfield role, with birchall playing the ball winner

why ruin that chemistry? and just imagine this is the same small mag who said i was talking rubbish when i suggested experimenting with the hoyte brothers as center backs if they opted to play for us, what a joke.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 07, 2011, 07:07:53 PM
Ah liking this exchange between SM and dreamer. Two thumbs up. :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 07, 2011, 07:37:44 PM
Dreamer, I for one would rather James CB too.. just saying he has played LB before so its an option

I still going with the back 4 I originally opted for but I think Otto will go with Adams LB James Power and Carlos filling in the rest.. If the kid plays I hope he leaves nothing on the pitch, time to become a man Akeem
Post by: dreamer on November 07, 2011, 08:54:10 PM
Reasonable comments Smalls.

Yuh damn right that Julius can play L back. We've watched him do it for Toronto and he is probably better at it than any L back prospect we have. But dat eh what we need him for. He's needed for warrrr at the crucial last "buck-stops-wit'-you" stopper role. No nervousness, yellow card causing moves, no blade-inclined wildness in de box or in front de box. Everybody trusts Mr responsible composed Julius dey as last stopper and you know that too.

This will be exciting. On another note, good luck with your effort and Big Mag's to reach de stadium in Guyana.
Crossroads moment for T&T. We will prevail but it won't be easy. I feel de hunger in T&T. Scary yes, but it will do T&T good in de short, medium and long term. Go warriors.