Sports => Football => Topic started by: Socapro on November 11, 2011, 10:33:35 PM

Title: Where does Otto Pfister go from here?
Post by: Socapro on November 11, 2011, 10:33:35 PM
I'm inclined to go with options 3 & 4.

How about you guys?

Btw folks, you can vote for up to two options!!
Title: Re: Where does Otto Pfister go from here?
Post by: davyjenny1 on November 11, 2011, 10:36:29 PM
4 plain and simple
Post by: weary1969 on November 11, 2011, 10:37:15 PM
3 AND 4
Post by: davyjenny1 on November 11, 2011, 10:47:22 PM
Headliner should be Otto Pfister should go from here
Post by: palos on November 11, 2011, 10:52:06 PM
I believe Pfister has a lot to offer T&T football

But one hand cyah clap and he spinnin top in mud by stayin here.  Sadly, T&T football (now officially classified as an oxymoron) has nothing to offer in return.

So hiyo pancho Otto.  Doh waste yuh time here.  Find a football crazy & football LOVING nation that actually cares about it's football to share your vast knowledge and experience with.

GOD speed and all de bess and leff dis footballing wasteland to waste
Post by: elan on November 11, 2011, 10:54:49 PM
Never liked this guy. Yes he know plenty, but he cannot instill an agressive, assertive type of mentality in the team. He' does not have any "gumption" left in him. There needs to be someone who can get on the field and hammer these boys. Every video Pfister siddong on ah crate of cooler like is ah lime. Can't repect that, sorry. The team reflected Pfister personality and input now, just as they reflected latas, Maturana and Beenhaker.

Yes our players lacking and I have always said that, but it have men who think many of our players should be playing for Real, Barca, Chelsea and Man United. Look at France vs USA today wenger in the crowd looking at his players. When you big you large and don't really need an agent to sell you.

Our player are far behind and need to make a concerted effort and decide what they really want to do. Eat ah food, or own the grocery. Looking at the PFL and the level of play is a serious joke, yet men bigging up player in that league like is La Liga. There is so much that can be shown that need deveolping in our level of play, but as long as many in T&T and on this board keep getting erections for mediocrity cause they want to say they are the bigeest Patriot then we will forever struggle.

Look at our team and look at our fans, no difference really.
Post by: Socapro on November 11, 2011, 11:01:57 PM
Never liked this guy. Yes he know plenty, but he cannot instill an agressive, assertive type of mentality in the team. He' does not have any "gumption" left in him. There needs to be someone who can get on the field and hammer these boys. Every video Pfister siddong on ah crate of cooler like is ah lime. Can't repect that, sorry. The team reflected Pfister personality and input now, just as they reflected latas, Maturana and Beenhaker.

Yes our players lacking and I have always said that, but it have men who think many of our players should be playing for Real, Barca, Chelsea and Man United. Look at France vs USA today wenger in the crowd looking at his players. When you big you large and don't really need an agent to sell you.

Our player are far behind and need to make a concerted effort and decide what they really want to do. Eat ah food, or own the grocery. Looking at the PFL and the level of play is a serious joke, yet men bigging up player in that league like is La Liga. There is so much that can be shown that need deveolping in our level of play, but as long as many in T&T and on this board keep getting erections for mediocrity cause they want to say they are the bigeest Patriot then we will forever struggle.

Look at our team and look at our fans, no difference really.

What yuh trying to say? Mediocre team means mediocre fans or vice versa?  :-\

Talking about mediocre fans, where is Contro? Somebody put him on suicide watch please!!  :worried:
Post by: Deeks on November 11, 2011, 11:26:32 PM
3 and 4
Post by: just cool on November 12, 2011, 01:30:40 AM
Allyuh fackin mad oui! this man should stay and start buliding ah new team for the gold cup and other tourneys! do you ppl truly believe that this was the coaches fault??!! this team was thrown together in september october folks, not even pep coulda do better with the lack of prep.

i say keep this man around as ah TD/ coach and let him help biuld ah new team for the future. what's the use in letting him go to start with another coach in four yrs. this is not the end folks, we still have to improve on our fifa ratings and by slowing down, it will only hurt our chances in the future.
Post by: Deeks on November 12, 2011, 01:33:55 AM
Allyuh fackin mad oui! this man should stay and start buliding ah new team for the gold cup and other tourneys! do you ppl truly believe that this was the coaches fault??!! this team was thrown together in september october folks, not even pep coulda do better with the lack of prep.

i say keep this man around as ah TD/ coach and let him help biuld ah new team for the future. what's the use in letting him go to start with another coach in four yrs. this is not the end folks, we still have to improve on our fifa ratings and by slowing down, it will only hurt our chances in the future.

Not with that kind of salary. The salary he getting is for getting into the WC. Unless the plan to make him the Olimpic coach. The most important is, if he wants to stay.
Post by: Trinitozbone on November 12, 2011, 04:50:36 AM
Option 4 is the obvious choice! Pfister cannot do anything for our football ! That man is too old! At this point we need to consolidate and work with our own resources. We have the expertise right here! Bring back Gally to lead our football and bring us back to be the leader in the Caribbean . He came to the rescue when we were doing very badly at international competition and lifted our standard where we competing in Latin America and English first division teams! The wickedness has been going on long enough! Trinidadians are a bunch of hypocrites! Too many persons unqualified and with little technical knowledge and talentless who clearly cannot recognize talent making decisions on our football or was just carrying out Jack's wishes. This thing is so embarrassing and disgusting at the same time! Where is the minister of Sport.? His mouth was so big when he was on Spalk and like he has gone into hiding! Jack is still telling him what to do . Let me see if he will stand up for what is right and stop putting this whole country to such shame and disgrace !
Post by: elan on November 12, 2011, 06:16:41 AM
Gally is exactly what we do not need.
Post by: injunchile on November 12, 2011, 06:37:09 AM
Even Eve Big up Terry Fenwick. Give Terry the wuk
Post by: reggae-fan on November 12, 2011, 07:02:43 AM
I am assuming Pfister's entire salary package is being paid by the Government of T&T - given the recent meltdown of the TTFF, in which case, it would be a decision for the sports minister / T&T Government (How does this work with FIFA by the way?). Rene Simoes was promptly fired after the game in Honduras when Jamaica lost 2-0 away in the last campaign, and many before him got the Axe at 0100 hours by the former soldier Horace Burrell...You dont pay a coach US$50K per month to lose to Bermuda and Guyana...Pfister should have, and perhaps will do the honorable thing of resigning at the end of the series vs Guyana.

The writing was on the wall after the last game where Pfister let loose in that now infamous "THEY TREAT THE BOY LIKE ANIMALS" post game interview.

With little or no football at the senior team level for the next 12 months or so, no point keeping him around on that hefty salary.
Post by: Deeks on November 12, 2011, 07:06:18 AM
This local coach/foreign coach issue driving me f--king crazy. With this current admin. it don't make a difference. I bet if Angus or Shabazz was coaching it would have been same crap.
Post by: Socapro on November 12, 2011, 07:17:47 AM

Consider this, he may not want to stay now and further damage his reputation, not with the current administration in place!!

Just think about that!!
Post by: reggae-fan on November 12, 2011, 08:33:11 AM

Consider this, he may not want to stay now and further damage his reputation, not with the current administration in place!!

Just think about that!!
at his age reputation should be the least of his worries. Actually, his failure as t&t head coach will not affect his resume..would have been more of an impact if he had failwith a higher profile team
Post by: Coop's on November 12, 2011, 08:34:12 AM
Even Eve Big up Terry Fenwick. Give Terry the wuk
       :worried: :worried: :banginghead: :banginghead: :shameonyou: :shameonyou: :shameonyou: :nailbiting: :nailbiting:
Post by: Trinitozbone on November 12, 2011, 08:51:04 AM
Reggae fan making more sense than all of you trinis! That is why we will stay fool fool like they call us!
Post by: asylumseeker on November 12, 2011, 08:56:08 AM
Enter a political union with Guyana with a disband date of August 2014 at the latest.
Post by: Football supporter on November 12, 2011, 09:02:13 AM
Ok, so heres your reasons for sacking Pfister......

He's too old. I believe he is 73. So should Man U get rid of Ferguson because he's 70? Bobby Robson was in his 60's at Barca, PSV and was 70 at Newcastle.

We have no competetive football for 12 months. Ok, so we bring in some local coach who can learn on the job. Once we get mashed up in the Gold Cup everyone will want him sacked because he has no experience.

He doesn't work on the training pitch  Why should he? He could be in a wheelchair and still be a great coach. In top level football, its the assistants who work on the pitch. Yes, the boss is on the sidelines, but he doesn't run the session. This is how assistant coaches learn the trade, by putting into practice the coaches ideas. In UK head coaches are titled as managers, because they manage. Managers have people to do the grunt work for them.

In my opinion, Pfisters salary was always far too high and there should have been an element of performance bonus included. Whether we keep him or not, we need an experienced coach to mould a complete new team. Our focus should be 100% on 2018 & 2022. Develop a young squad sprinkled with some experience. Meanwhile, develop your 12-15 year olds.

This is where TTFF fails so miserably. There should be a long term football philosophy ingrained at all levels. That way, you can take a 16 year old from your youth team and drop him into the seniors and he will know the system. It doesn't matter who plays as left wing back....every other player will know what he will do because every left wing back in the system will play the same way.

Gone are the days when a local player can be given a T&T shirt and a bowl of tripe and go out to represent the country. TTFF are so out of touch, its embarrassing.

Post by: Deeks on November 12, 2011, 09:30:44 AM
Ok, so heres your reasons for sacking Pfister......

He's too old. I believe he is 73. So should Man U get rid of Ferguson because he's 70? Bobby Robson was in his 60's at Barca, PSV and was 70 at Newcastle.

We have no competetive football for 12 months. Ok, so we bring in some local coach who can learn on the job. Once we get mashed up in the Gold Cup everyone will want him sacked because he has no experience.

He doesn't work on the training pitch  Why should he? He could be in a wheelchair and still be a great coach. In top level football, its the assistants who work on the pitch. Yes, the boss is on the sidelines, but he doesn't run the session. This is how assistant coaches learn the trade, by putting into practice the coaches ideas. In UK head coaches are titled as managers, because they manage. Managers have people to do the grunt work for them.

In my opinion, Pfisters salary was always far too high and there should have been an element of performance bonus included. Whether we keep him or not, we need an experienced coach to mould a complete new team. Our focus should be 100% on 2018 & 2022. Develop a young squad sprinkled with some experience. Meanwhile, develop your 12-15 year olds.

This is where TTFF fails so miserably. There should be a long term football philosophy ingrained at all levels. That way, you can take a 16 year old from your youth team and drop him into the seniors and he will know the system. It doesn't matter who plays as left wing back....every other player will know what he will do because every left wing back in the system will play the same way.

Gone are the days when a local player can be given a T&T shirt and a bowl of tripe and go out to represent the country. TTFF are so out of touch, its embarrassing.

Otto age is not the problem for our failure. The problem is Otto walked into the worst scenario with Jack and his FIFA imbroglio. Otto had to figure out who will make up his squad. Off course he had to rely on local(Anton, etc). At the the mean no set of friendly/practice. Then the Sport Minister and them come with the Indian team(no disrepect) as our first friendly before Bermuda. From that game could we not see the writing on the wall. Actually we all knew it, but We kept faith that the players,  especially Carlos, Birchall and KJ's leadership would have pull us thru. But people, this can't work any more. Guyana outplayed us, plain and simple.  So if we did not pick up queue from last night game that that we eh all that, then I don't know what else to say.

It will be interesting to see what Otto will do. What incentive for him to stay. The next GC or the Olimpic with Angus. Maybe that may work. If he and Angus get put heads to gether for the Olimpic qualifiers that may be good. But I ent betting on that. Although I think Angus is doing a good job, I still find our U-23 still lack cohension. We do good counter attack but is still unable retain effective prossesion for parts of the game. maybe Otto can help Angus with that. But I don't know.
Post by: rippin on November 12, 2011, 09:35:17 AM
Men here just as SHORTSIGHTED as the federation. This knee jerk reaction is the reason we in a continuous cycle of failure. When we figure out what is the long term plan, then and only then should we assess whether Pfister fits it.

Otto fix one part of the game ... ball posession. Men was trapping on the run and laying off. It kinda hard to work on offensive play when you have to work on technical defeciencies. Watch the training videos. Pfister was working on football basics. The few shooting drills I saw from Fuentes videos men was missing wide and over in the HIGHLIGHTS.

Otto is not solely to blame. Fire Otto and then what? Same cycle right b4 the next set of qualifiers? Ah disappointed but honestly I told dtool this even before the loss to Bermuda  ... same pile diff day. We need a TD to lay out a plan and work with the national team coaches at all levels to start working toward reasonable achievable goals.  Well first we need a TD ....
Post by: CK1 on November 12, 2011, 10:02:49 AM
I am available ! I will fix the federation and everything else that needs to be fixed with the football. My only problem is that I may not be given the opportunity because I am a foreign based Trini :banginghead:
Post by: banton on November 12, 2011, 10:33:43 AM
germany
Post by: Spursy on November 12, 2011, 10:49:44 AM
 Local coaches are still crap, Shabazz it's easy to find things wrong with a country u lived in, best of luck with Guyana. It all comes down to Roberts our best player during this WCQ and whomever sent him to SA really screwed us over because then we had to play Lester.

Otto was right but we not seeing that, Shabazz or w/e his name is Mexico and CRC will deal with you. Guyana tried to injure our players and the ref was completely baised with most of the calls, guyana is not going anywhere anyway once mex and crc get their hands on them.

but congrats and go get ur cutarse the new whipping boys of group b. :)

Post by: Deeks on November 12, 2011, 11:12:26 AM
Local coaches are still crap, Shabazz it's easy to find things wrong with a country u lived in, best of luck with Guyana. It all comes down to Roberts our best player during this WCQ and whomever sent him to SA really screwed us over because then we had to play Lester.

Otto was right but we not seeing that, Shabazz or w/e his name is Mexico and CRC will deal with you. Guyana tried to injure our players and the ref was completely baised with most of the calls, guyana is not going anywhere anyway once mex and crc get their hands on them.

but congrats and go get ur cutarse the new whipping boys of group b. :)

Gosh man, Shotta. You saying that in angst. Give them men credit. The beat us fair and square. Warriors just don't have that "it" that they use to have. Plain and simple. Direct you angst to Camps and Jack!!!!!
Post by: kicker on November 12, 2011, 11:14:55 AM
Keep Pfister.  Let him continue to work with the program and help us build something.

We have a chance to build on some medium-long term goals without the distraction of a pressing need for immediate results.
Post by: davyjenny1 on November 12, 2011, 11:27:07 AM
Keep Pfister.  Let him continue to work with the program and help us build something.

We have a chance to build on some medium-long term goals without the distraction of a pressing need for immediate results.

There are so many issues facing Trinbago that need building and correcting right at this moment but football cyah be the first priority bro.. 50K US a month just went down the drain.   
Post by: Bakes on November 12, 2011, 11:47:18 AM

Biggest argument against keeping him is his salary.  To be sure, it is shocking that we should ever lose to the likes of Guyana and Bermuda... that's not arrogance, that's common sense talking.  We have more talented players and more resources at our disposal, so any failure falls at the feet of the coaches and administration.  It's not all Pfister's fault and I think he should continue, but there's simply no way to justify paying a coach that kind of money to re-build a program.  Let's face it, that's where we are today... rebuilding.
Post by: kicker on November 12, 2011, 12:16:42 PM

Biggest argument against keeping him is his salary.  To be sure, it is shocking that we should ever lose to the likes of Guyana and Bermuda... that's not arrogance, that's common sense talking.  We have more talented players and more resources at our disposal, so any failure falls at the feet of the coaches and administration.  It's not all Pfister's fault and I think he should continue, but there's simply no way to justify paying a coach that kind of money to re-build a program.  Let's face it, that's where we are today... rebuilding.

What's the going rate for someone in his position?
Post by: Preacher on November 12, 2011, 12:23:06 PM
Why blame the TTFF when we seem to be equally short sighted.  Keep the man on.  Otto had this team playing a brand I  haven't seen T&T play in a while and it's not like he was building on someone's work.  4 years from now is 4 Gold Cups plus other competitions.  I'm confident that we can regain some prowess under Otto.  I know some might be into Angus but he's just not in the same class.  To rebuild you need consistency, keep him on for the next for years and pay him.   
Post by: Spursy on November 12, 2011, 12:25:21 PM
blame the ref. happy our boys and fans are safe after visiting the jungle.
Post by: elan on November 12, 2011, 12:41:18 PM
Pfister is not the man for the job. It's better we pool our PFL coaches together and start building from back to front - as it should be - instead of front to back. Get our youth teams solidified, with proper development programs, establish a national curriculum on youth development and a mandate that all clubs follow the curriculum, establish a National youth league for all youth teams who believe they can play. This can be done similar to SSFL, win your district, win your county, win your region, play in a National Championship. Players then selected by a National Coaching Committee joins National Academy with PFL coaches to play against regional teams in CFU (even if it's just a club team). Select players from these games to the National pool.

We need proper development and it starts with the club, therefore the clubs needs assistance with how to approach modern training session and player dvelopment. This is where the TTFF has failed. Allowing a coach to do a license does nothing really for the clubs, start maybe, but implimentation, observation, evaluation and reformation needs to play a bigger part in the assistance to clubs.
Post by: just cool on November 12, 2011, 12:58:09 PM
Shotta yuh need tuh calm down. after all, plenty ppl coulda say that about us and probably did after their demise, the likes of bahrain, mexico, guatemala,canada, sweden...... yuh get my drift. let us keep it in prospective, we lost the game bro, and as hard as it may seem to cope with and accept, it not coming back, no matter how much we vent.   :'(
Post by: Dinner Mints on November 12, 2011, 02:00:14 PM
Why blame the TTFF when we seem to be equally short sighted.  Keep the man on.  Otto had this team playing a brand I  haven't seen T&T play in a while and it's not like he was building on someone's work.  4 years from now is 4 Gold Cups plus other competitions.  I'm confident that we can regain some prowess under Otto.  I know some might be into Angus but he's just not in the same class.  To rebuild you need consistency, keep him on for the next for years and pay him.   
This.

Only argument I have against keeping him is his salary.
Post by: socalion on November 12, 2011, 02:23:30 PM
 This is in response to some  of what is being belted out at the moment with regards to the coach ......... but .here is  what i personally think is for cool heads to prevail no one here sees or knows what work is put in by the coach and what his objective plans are we can continue the  same reactive responses by getting rid of the present coach , but i do not believe thats what needs to be done , ...) what i do believe is first of all is there are many ills  that needs addressing,::::::: beginning with administrators and an  administration that lacks imaginative foresight , jack and camps u know who am talking about please catch a ride out and thanks ,  but leave the football business to  those  competent . with the collective unifying abilites to oversee the future of the game locally . there many bright  prospects that come to mind a few i will name .. e.g shaka hislop . he being a pro players rep in the  uk pevious so he knows abit about what it takes,  another being brent sancho who appears to be doing a good job in that capacity already.. also there other knowledgeable veterans ex players we can;t ignore that fact people the likes of >>>>leroy de leon<< >>jan steadman<< david williams<<<>>  just to name a few ......notice i did not mention any corneal  its a because they are part an parcel of the same old same old ...  a progressive long term plan is needed  let all voices be  heard we can surely affect the necessary changes needed please please fellow forumites ah begging lets do something with clear heads   ttff house needs to be cleaned out  a lil dettol for disinfecting  might help.. will add more later  am out  forgive me ppl i was on the  for sometime now so i have waiting my time to comment, but ah real serious ... about what i am saying oh gosh boy ah still upset  this ting hurt as if  someone dead oui   ,,, ah just getting started i'll save the rest for later respect  y'all
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 12, 2011, 02:28:11 PM
This.

Only argument I have against keeping him is his salary.

otto is 73 lets get real here people he is not going to stick around .....
Post by: Bakes on November 12, 2011, 03:32:46 PM
What's the going rate for someone in his position?

I don't know... but I do know that his position change from one of qualifying us for Brazil, to one of gutting and rebuilding our program.  Necessarily, the terms of his contract have to change to reflect the change in scope.  That being said, paying him US $250k a month or whatever it is he getting for such a long-term project is not sustainable.
Post by: Preacher on November 12, 2011, 06:00:45 PM
Bakes that's a fair argument to have and I'm sure there are contingencies within his contract the will lead to such discussion.   The JD don't have to change much you'll have many tourneys coming up.

Dinner Mints all the more reason to consider this is because it's already in the budget.  Since it's a line item it makes more sense to exploit the situation.  The fact that he is 73 says what?  I see this as an opportunity for us. 

Heck give the U23s and make Angus the Assistant.
Post by: warmonga on November 12, 2011, 07:10:40 PM
keep the coach .. let him and eve wrk together .. bring in the under 23 team... Honeslty I feal this team is good enough to wrk with ..

I cant believe I on this forum .. I told myself dats it.. i rell Hurting after this lost to Guyana.. anyway I man Up and am back...

Post by: Preacher on November 12, 2011, 09:30:03 PM
keep the coach .. let him and eve wrk together .. bring in the under 23 team... Honeslty I feal this team is good enough to wrk with ..

I cant believe I on this forum .. I told myself dats it.. i rell Hurting after this lost to Guyana.. anyway I man Up and am back...

Yuh learn to take sting.    ;D
Post by: Socapro on November 13, 2011, 12:06:39 AM

Really?!  :bs:

Did you see the game?!! No lame excuses, hands down Guyana was the better team!!

Please stop with the lame & shameful excuses!!   :-[