Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on December 07, 2011, 06:36:55 AM

Title: Kenwyne Jones developing head for heights
Post by: Tallman on December 07, 2011, 06:36:55 AM
Kenwyne Jones developing head for heights
The Sentinel

KENWYNE Jones has bad news for defenders all over Europe... his giant leap is getting even higher.

It was with a trademark towering jump against Dynamo Kiev last Thursday evening that the 27-year-old netted his sixth goal of the season – all of them headers.

That healthy return, progress in the Europa League and an away win at Everton has enabled the striker to walk around with an extra spring in his step this week.

And Jones, once famously described by John Terry as the best header of a ball in the Premier League, reckons there is plenty more to come.

"I would like to be scoring from 30 yards every week, but heading is where the goals come from," he said.

"With Jermaine Pennant and Matty Etherington playing well it's great for strikers and I've always been able to jump quite high. If anything my bounce is getting better.

"I don't really realise how high I am at the time, if it's a big jump I wouldn't know until I had seen it on TV.

"To me, it feels like I'm only jumping six inches off the ground. The Europa League has been fantastic and that win at Everton was great.

"We've a lot going for us at the club at the moment. It's a good place to be."

The origins of Jones's mammoth jump can be traced back to his school days in Trinidad and Tobago, where his uncle, Philbert Jones, was an international football star.

Uncle Philbert helped the Caribbean country to within a point of qualifying for the 1990 World Cup – and passed on his own stupendous back flip goal celebration to his nephew.

Jones was at St Werburgh's Primary School, Kingsley yesterday as part of the Potters' Co-Operative Bank Football Roadshow, telling children how they might replicate his gymnastic dexterity.

"You have to be fearless," he told an awestruck group of pupils.

The former Sunderland man admitted he had the same reaction when he was at that age and Dwight Yorke would pay the occasional visit to his school.

He said: "My uncle and my dad (Pamphile) were my heroes as a boy. They both were both famous for playing football in Trinidad and I looked up to them.

"I was at talent college for sport from when I was young and Dwight Yorke used to come in and see the youth teams. It was great to see the stars.

"I never look at myself in that way, I'd never consider myself a star. I'm just really lucky to be doing what I'm doing."

But, despite the broad grin on his face, he admitted nothing could prepare him for a brisk December afternoon in the windy Staffordshire Moorlands.

"Let's get inside," he near-screamed after finishing posing for photographs, beating the children in a rush to get inside the school hall, laughing and shivering as he went.

St Werburgh's assistant headteacher Alex Brayford was thrilled by the guest addition to the school's skills session.

He said: "All the children were absolutely made up to see Kenwyne. It's been a terrific day."
Title: Re: Kenwyne Jones developing head for heights
Post by: Mose on December 07, 2011, 09:51:30 AM
All well and good but I wish he'd make more of an effort to get to the ball instead of just standing and waiting for it to come to him.
Post by: maxg on December 07, 2011, 11:56:05 AM
All well and good but I wish he'd make more of an effort to get to the ball instead of just standing and waiting for it to come to him.

Doh tell meh yuh doh like how he does just stand, wait, jump up and dem men does bounce it off he head and it go in.  ;)
Post by: Preacher on December 07, 2011, 01:32:42 PM

Doh tell meh yuh doh like how he does just stand, wait, jump up and dem men does bounce it off he head and it go in.  ;)
Post by: frico on December 07, 2011, 01:38:39 PM
KJ has done nothing for TT and may never do,good luck to him and Stoke.
Post by: Mose on December 07, 2011, 01:46:26 PM

Nah ah feel he does depend too much on dem fellas ability to bounce it off he head instead of his own ability to get to the ball. Ah feel he could be scoring more with a little more effort.
Post by: just cool on December 07, 2011, 04:39:25 PM
Come off the fackin bredder back nah you!!! the man scored 3 goals in four appearances in this last qualifying with two assist, what de fack more yuh want??!! :pissedoff:
Post by: palos on December 07, 2011, 04:47:09 PM

LOL! Allyuh so does make haters seem like super fans yes
Post by: Fyzoman on December 08, 2011, 03:47:04 PM
Ah know de old saying "if yuh eh ha nothing good to say, then say nothing", but seriously KJ could rock so wid he stupid warning to "Eurpoean" defenders, what about "Caribbean-minnows" defenders....steups!!!!!

Yuh could imagine facking Ricky Shakes and de facking Cort broddas dem reading dat shit?!?!?

Post by: just cool on December 08, 2011, 05:51:11 PM
Ah know de old saying "if yuh eh ha nothing good to say, then say nothing", but seriously KJ could rock so wid he stupid warning to "Eurpoean" defenders, what about "Caribbean-minnows" defenders....steups!!!!!

Yuh could imagine facking Ricky Shakes and de facking Cort broddas dem reading dat shit?!?!?

You should take your own advice.
Post by: just cool on December 08, 2011, 06:08:13 PM
Man takin bout the cort brother and rickie shakes like if they stood in KJ's way @ all, stuepppsssssss!!

KJ scored two goals on cort, and shakes did not out score KJ in the past campaign, so what de fack allyuh talking bout!!

if messi and ronaldo does catch hell tuh score for their countries, and allyuh does be up their arse when they play for their clubs, what then in de fack allyuh want from KJ, miracles??

in the last failed campaign KJ played four games and scored three goals with two assist, what in de MDCNT more allyuh want from him, is like ppl expected jones tuh put the team on his back and carry it!!

i think allyuh pressuring the wrong ppl, i believe allyuh should be looking @ man like power and mitchell who made some bad defensive errors that caused us to concede, like power heading the ball straight to shakes who scored ah classic spirit goal, and also the defensive midfielders who allowed cort tuh escape them for ah simple text book goal, or the offensive midfielders for not putting in the crosses for KJ to head home!

ppl who continue to blame KJ for our failed campaign have to be nuts! and it's ah clear indication that they don't know shyte bout the modern game, bc in today's football, especially on and international level, one man cannot carry ah fackin "TEAM"!!  just ask rooney!

Post by: frico on December 09, 2011, 02:22:26 AM
Sure he scored 3 goals but as usual in should have been 7 or 8,memba one ah de goal didn't matter coz it was scored with a few seconds to go.I understand why you blokes are vex with what I say coz we have nothing to look forward to for the next few years,so a good word for KJ is indirectly a good thing for TT football.
Post by: Peong on December 09, 2011, 10:50:48 AM
JC you talkin about KJ's 2 goals vs Guyana after they already spank we!
I agree that others in the team didn't do their share though.
Post by: fitzinho on December 09, 2011, 01:33:55 PM
KJ boy it would seem that on this forum yuh damned if yuh do and damned if you dont...Men was bawling oh he dont score for T&T. He come back and schore 3 in 4 and had assists and now they saying still not good enough...smh. I not saying the man is a star but he is ours so show a little support instead of trolling threads with the man name on it to shit on him nah.
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 09, 2011, 02:55:52 PM
KJ boy it would seem that on this forum yuh damned if yuh do and damned if you dont...Men was bawling oh he dont score for T&T. He come back and schore 3 in 4 and had assists and now they saying still not good enough...smh. I not saying the man is a star but he is ours so show a little support instead of trolling threads with the man name on it to shit on him nah.
Man talking all kinda shit bout Ricky Shakes like if KJ was marking him.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on December 09, 2011, 03:07:42 PM
Man talking all kinda shit bout Ricky Shakes like if KJ was marking him.

Allyuh ha to learn to ignore deze contholes ino! 
Post by: andre samuel on December 09, 2011, 03:37:54 PM
Sometimes i does want to know if some of the people who posting on this forum are adults.
Post by: Fyzoman on December 09, 2011, 04:43:40 PM
Yo if allyuh feel ah certain way bout KJ, daiz allyuh!!!!

I used to be one ah he biggest defendes here, BIGGEST!!!!   

So if I change my facking mind on him, facking allow me to nah!!!

1.Ronson Williams, 2.Jake Newton, 4.Leon Cort (Yellow 82), 5.Walter Moore, 16.Kayode McKinnon, 7.Dwain Jacobs (3.Christopher Bourne 75th), 13.Charles Pollard, 8.Chris Nurse (capt), 10.Carl Cort, 21.Ricky Shakes, 11.Gregory Richardson (17.Vurlon Mills 58th) (Yellow 68).

Somebody (somebodies) in dat lineup (at some point) manners facking KJ...allyuh men really eh easy nah.

I find he should just hush he damn mouth and play!!! Daiz how I (!!!!) feel.
Post by: Fyzoman on December 09, 2011, 04:45:13 PM

You should take your own advice.
Dis old country boy head too hard ;)
Post by: just cool on December 09, 2011, 07:18:35 PM
Yo if allyuh feel ah certain way bout KJ, daiz allyuh!!!!

I used to be one ah he biggest defendes here, BIGGEST!!!!   

So if I change my facking mind on him, facking allow me to nah!!!

1.Ronson Williams, 2.Jake Newton, 4.Leon Cort (Yellow 82), 5.Walter Moore, 16.Kayode McKinnon, 7.Dwain Jacobs (3.Christopher Bourne 75th), 13.Charles Pollard, 8.Chris Nurse (capt), 10.Carl Cort, 21.Ricky Shakes, 11.Gregory Richardson (17.Vurlon Mills 58th) (Yellow 68).

Somebody (somebodies) in dat lineup (at some point) manners facking KJ...allyuh men really eh easy nah.

I find he should just hush he damn mouth and play!!! Daiz how I (!!!!) feel.

My hard headed friend, the easiest thing to do in football or in any sport for that matter is to mark ah key player out of ah game, but that don't work all the time, especially if ah team is full of talent, like spain, germany, argentina, uraguay who have other players to step into that role and come through,

but albeit, that same tactic worked against many great players, and as recent as the last world cup where players like luis fabiano and robinho were totally rendered ineffective bc they were checked by the dutch coach leaving them no room to get going.

in that game KJ had two players on him @ all times, and it was up to the other attacking players to step up @ that point. for example , jon walters is almost left free to roam about while jones is double teamed in almost every game situation and waters benefits from this by scoring and stepping up, same with darren bent and cise, they benefited quite ah bit from their partnership with jones who allowed them to be natural pochers and clean up men, but you can't expect jones to be doubled and triple teamed and then come through!

if robinho, kaka, fabiano, messi, kuit, roben, ronaldo, rooney and analka don't get ah sniff @ goal bc they are marked out ah game, then who in the mamee tun tun is lowly off the radar KJ. stuepppsssss!!

PS: your problem is, you don't have respect for the guyanese team, that's why the beatin eating at yuh so much! lets face it bro, guyana dun we, bc we was arrogant and didn't feel the need to prepare properly, same with grenada who dun we twice in ah row bc we were ill prepared with cheap inexpensive labor.

what can i say, if yuh want tuh be amongst the elite then yuh have to invest and invest in the best! or else yuh wasting yuh time. just wait and see, i like angus eve, but he will get real licks from those other teams who will be investing in top class grade A coaches. 

i glad we loss, we need tuh get serious with sports and invest in greatness.