Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on December 08, 2011, 07:21:29 PM

Title: Thread for the T&T U-23 vs Panama U-23 Game (03-25-2012).
Post by: Flex on December 08, 2011, 07:21:29 PM
Greetings.

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the Olympic qualifying game vs Panama (March-25th, 16:30) in California will be posted here, this way, we can help maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

Live Links.
To be updated.

Possible TV Viewing.
To be updated.

T&T Squad

Goalkeepers:
To be updated.

Defenders:
To be updated.

Midfielders:
To be updated.

Strikers:
To be updated.

Panama Squad From
To be updated

More updates to follow so keep checking back.
Title: Re: Thread for the T&T U-23 vs Panama U-23 Game (03-25-2012).
Post by: Flex on March 16, 2012, 06:27:55 PM
Panama U-23 Roster:

GOALKEEPERS: Luis Mejía (Fénix, URU), Alex Rodríguez (Sporting SM)

DEFENDERS: Alberto Quezada (Chepo FC), Carlos Rodríguez (FC Dallas, USA), Edward Benítez (Sporting SM), Harold Cummings (River Plate, URU), Sergio Thompson (Sporting SM), Roderick Miller (San Francisco FC), Rolando Algandona (San Francisco FC)

MIDFIELDERS: Érick Davis (Fénix, URU), Javier Cedeńo (Alianza FC), Aníbal Godoy (Godoy Cruz, ARG), Juan De Gracia (Chepo FC), Marcos Sánchez (Tauro FC), Roderick Paul (Árabe Unido), Manuel Asprilla (Tigres UANL, MEX)

FORWARDS: Cecilio Waterman (Fénix, URU), Yairo Glaize Yau (Sporting SM), Amir Waithe (San Francisco FC), Víctor Barrera (Titán de Texistepeque, SLV)

Panama U-23s include Gold Cup quartet

Panama manager Julio Dely Valdes will return four members of his Canaleros side that reached the semifinals of last year's Gold Cup when "La Marea Roja" attempts to qualify for the London Olympics.

Dely Valdes on Thursday chose goalkeeper Luis Mejia, defender Harold Cummings and midfielders Erick Davis and Anibal Godoy for his 20-man roster that will begin play next week at the CONCACAF Olympic qualifying tournament.

Along with Mejia, Cummings and Davis, the team also includes six members of Panama's team that finished fourth at the 2010 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship in Guatemala.

Besides Panama, Dely Valdes has drawn players from clubs in Uruguay, the United States, Argentina, Mexico and El Salvador.

As with several teams in the March 22-April 2 event in Nashville, Tennesse; Carson, California; and Kansas City, Kansas, Panama will have some notable absences, including Allan Hernandez of Italian first-division club Chievo and Rolando Blackburn of Senica in Slovakia.

Clubs are not obligated to release players for CONCACAF Olympic qualifying since it is not part of FIFA's coordinated international fixture calendar.

Panama will play in Group B at CONCACAF qualifying in The Home Depot Center in Carson, facing Mexico, defending champion Honduras and Trinidad and Tobago. Panama has never qualified for the Olympics, finishing as high as fourth in the inaugural CONCACAF qualifying event in 1964.

CONCACAF.COM
Post by: Flex on March 20, 2012, 05:41:20 PM
Rodriguez, Panama aiming Olympic high.
By Michael Lewis (CONCACAF.com).

Panama has never been to the World Cup or Olympics. Defender Carlos Rodriguez thinks he and his Canaleros teammates can change that - at least the latter.

Interested not only in London, they want to win the CONCACAF U-23 championship as well.

"You play every tournament to win. We feel like we have a very good chance to win this tournament and to play really, really well," Rodriguez said with Panama's opening game in CONCACAF Olympic qualifying set to start Thursday. "Regardless of what happens, we're going to play well and show the world that we're growing as a country in soccer."

Rodriguez, who joined FC Dallas in Major League Soccer from Tauro in his native country in January, likes the Central Americans' chances.

"We feel a lot better than we have before," he said. "We are getting better and better. We feel like we have made a lot of progress as a country and as a team. I feel like we're going to play better. In this upcoming tournament, we're going to show that we got better."

The 21-year-old Rodriguez is one of eight foreign-based players brought in by coach Julio Dely Valdes, a Panamanian hero with "La Marea Roja".

Rodriguez is joined by foreign legionnaires: goalkeeper Luis Mejia (Fenix, Uruguay), defender Harold Cummings (River Plate, Uruguay), midfielders Erick Davis (Erick Davis (Fenix), Anibal Godoy (Godoy Cruz, Argentina) and Manuel Asprilla (Tigres, Mexico) and strikers Ceciclo Waterman (Fenix) and Victor Barrera (Titan de Texistepeque, El Salvador).

Mejia, Cummings, Davis and Godoy also add experience, having helped Panama to the CONCACAF Gold Cup quarterfinals last year. The team also boasts six players from Panama's side that took fourth at the CONCACAF U-20 Championship in Guatemala in 2010.

Yet, no one has to remind Rodriguez of how difficult Group B is with Mexico, which has dominated the senior and youth levels in the confederation the past two years, Honduras and Trinidad & Tobago.

Panama meets heavily favored Mexico in the final game of Group B at The Home Depot Center in the Los Angeles suburb of Carson on March 27 after the team opens against Honduras on Friday and plays Trinidad on Sunday.

"They play really fast. They have good players," Rodriguez said of El Tri. "We have good players who can play right with them, play fast like they do. I like their team a lot. They're a great team."

Panama has a ways to go before it is considered in Mexico's class, but its national teams have made strides at the senior and Under-23 levels the last two years. In 2011, Los Canaleros handed the United States its first group stage loss at the Gold Cup last year and the Central American side won all four matches during preliminary World Cup qualifying, outscoring its foes 15-2.

"There's already a lot of good players on the U-23 team that's that are going to help with the older team this year," Rodriguez said. "I'm going to continue that. Hopefully, with more and more Panamanian players playing on a global scale more players will step into those roles and next generation will be even better than this one."

Regardless how Panama fares during qualifying, Rodriguez sees the country continuing becoming a force in CONCACAF.

"Soccer's growing as a sport in Panama at all levels," he said. "It has a lot to do with the structure of the sport as it is being played by [more] teams. More kids are being motivated to play soccer in Panama and that is helping the talent level at all levels. That's why we have been seeing the growth in the last couple of years. It's just been a bigger focus on it."
Post by: Big Magician on March 20, 2012, 08:39:13 PM
is bakkle royale
Post by: elan on March 24, 2012, 08:42:12 AM
I think if the boys pick themselves up they can give a better showing in this game.
Post by: Hebaldo on March 24, 2012, 01:52:39 PM
I think that if Eve can rally the troops, we can get a positive result in this game and move forward
Post by: Brownsugar on March 24, 2012, 02:36:37 PM
 :yawning: :yawning:
Post by: socachynee on March 24, 2012, 07:31:22 PM
http://www.concacaf.com/page/MOQ/NewsDetail/0,,12813~2690864,00.html
Marchan go have to sit this one out, if it is a concusion.

Title: T&T U-23s get set for Panama
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 25, 2012, 05:53:39 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/UF1-EIsHaTs&list=UUYjTv-40_nhaU5HVy5er3Ug
Post by: Jack Horner on March 25, 2012, 08:56:34 AM
My prediction.

Panama 2 vs T&T 1

Post by: Trinimassive on March 25, 2012, 10:22:00 AM
The team is in a must win situation, they've been in that situation before. They'll be playing for a win and a win is expected.

Get a win or go home trying :chilling:
Post by: Spursy on March 25, 2012, 11:59:02 AM
cmon tnt... wonder why they drop roch etc for sean.. and the "so called" overseas pros... i felt that the team was good enough to make last minute and wholesale changes, it showed against mexico...
Post by: E-man on March 25, 2012, 12:04:10 PM
Rain showers just started here and are forecast to get stronger throughout the afternoon. It's gonna be a wet and slippery one.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 25, 2012, 01:02:29 PM
Dely is an attack-minded coach.  I expect Panama to take risks and for their attackers to overelaborate more than the Mexicans. My view is that this game is a good environment for Cato and Winchester. I also think that Panama will attempt to unsettle the new keep really early. This game shouldn't be a high scoring affair ... if for no other reason than some of Dem Panas real indisciplined in front of goal.
Post by: D.H.W on March 25, 2012, 01:14:27 PM
Cautiously optimistic.
Post by: pioneertrini on March 25, 2012, 01:57:36 PM
I registered on concacaftv website and they says they are showing it live?
Post by: FireBrand on March 25, 2012, 02:03:25 PM
Prematch updates - Live from Tallman in Cali:

It's cold, windy and rainy. Players warming up on the field.

Marchan on the field warming up.
Post by: FireBrand on March 25, 2012, 02:11:14 PM
Marchan working on distribution.

Team doing shuttles.
Post by: FireBrand on March 25, 2012, 02:13:06 PM
Team split in two and working on keeping possession.
Post by: FireBrand on March 25, 2012, 02:17:47 PM
Warm up is over and they are back in the locker room.
Post by: FireBrand on March 25, 2012, 02:19:00 PM
Crowd scanty and Tallman made out about 10 Trini supporters so far.
Post by: FireBrand on March 25, 2012, 02:27:29 PM
Tallman, Eman and davyjenny reppin' SW.net/ Warrior Nation at the game. Feliziano was there for the first game against Mexico, but returned home this morning.
Post by: pioneertrini on March 25, 2012, 02:29:33 PM
http://www.concacaftv.premiumtv.co.uk/page/forcelogin/WatchLiveEvent/0,,12907~715125,00.html

stream looks good teams commin out, ill see if i spot allyuh firebrand
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 02:33:46 PM
How much is it to watch on concacaf TV?
Post by: pioneertrini on March 25, 2012, 02:34:47 PM
free bro, go register
Post by: pioneertrini on March 25, 2012, 02:35:33 PM
looks like they showin every game live
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 25, 2012, 02:35:46 PM
de silvia on the bench  i see but Jason Joseph also man
Post by: FireBrand on March 25, 2012, 02:36:53 PM
Match about to begin. Now over to our match commentators on Telemundo.  ;D
Post by: Dinner Mints on March 25, 2012, 02:39:04 PM
http://www.concacaftv.premiumtv.co.uk/page/forcelogin/WatchLiveEvent/0,,12907~715125,00.html

stream looks good teams commin out, ill see if i spot allyuh firebrand
Oh, men didn't know bout dis?
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 02:40:37 PM
Thanks watchin it now.  come on T&T....
Post by: FireBrand on March 25, 2012, 02:45:56 PM
The bad passing killing our game.
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 02:47:12 PM
Not to bad so far.....   Fire what's the scene?  ..yeah bad giveaways.
Post by: FireBrand on March 25, 2012, 02:49:51 PM
Not to bad so far.....   Fire what's the scene?  ..yeah bad giveaways.

I cool man. Just watching and hoping for the best.
Post by: truetrini on March 25, 2012, 02:55:18 PM
Why does it look like we playing with 9 men only?  steups

No composure, frenzied ball..and whats with the boots?  Like dey eh see it was raining and adjust the studs to suit?
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 02:57:11 PM
They need to keep it wide and try to get around the backs...we got the speed.
Post by: truetrini on March 25, 2012, 02:58:17 PM
Is like we doh loke have possession of ball??? WTF?  Pure give away under absolutely no pressure???????
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 03:00:21 PM
I don't understand the unwillingness to push down the left side? 
Post by: truetrini on March 25, 2012, 03:01:52 PM
We should hit this Panamanian team 3 at the least
Post by: truetrini on March 25, 2012, 03:02:34 PM
check the play..knock it around the back and then...BOOM KICK down field
Post by: Trinimassive on March 25, 2012, 03:03:43 PM
I have ah feeling T&T go score soon
Post by: Socafan on March 25, 2012, 03:04:40 PM
I'm still shocked, amazed, perplexed,  at the poor passing of the team. Its scandalous. Men under no pressure whatsoever and just passing straight to a Panamanian, not even outside or something,just like Mexico. Dat eh good at all. I doh get it. No composure.

We are better than Panama BTW, its already showing.

Whats also showing in the slow pace of this game is why we are where we are. The team is organized in that men keeping their spot and know where they play, but as a team, there does not seem to be a clue about how to defend or attack. In defence, the whole team drops off the ball and giving space and time. Rather than compress in our half, the entire backline steps back and opens up space when the ball is lost. Its a passive defence rather than aggressive. There is absolutely no "get stuck in"!!.

In attack every single play is breaking down with a bad pass.

How the hell this team got to this?

GET RID OF EVE!!!
Post by: D.H.W on March 25, 2012, 03:05:43 PM
I've seen trinidad play better than this in d last WC. But it looks like we actually regress, than going forward. Fellas cah keep d ball.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 25, 2012, 03:06:44 PM
some decent plays in our half but they bypassing the center and pushing right in a predictable manner. no activity down the left flank or penetration up thru the middle
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 03:07:13 PM
Stream dead...scheuups...
Post by: D.H.W on March 25, 2012, 03:08:22 PM
Stream gone.
Post by: morvant on March 25, 2012, 03:09:22 PM
stream gone?
Post by: Socafan on March 25, 2012, 03:11:25 PM
The TV broadcast failed for a few seconds too, but it came back. Maybe the stream will return. If we lose this game well boy....we gone to the dogs...
Post by: Socafan on March 25, 2012, 03:13:20 PM
Men not even marking properly in the 6 yard. This is crazy. Men totally free in yuh penalty area?? On yuh NT?? Nonsense..
Post by: maxg on March 25, 2012, 03:13:53 PM
Stream dead...scheuups...
ah know ah shouldn'tah register using meh realname...Jack last act was to blacklist meh rass..soon as a log on...stream dead oui... ;)

hmmmnnn..it come back...now say I going on put on Lasagna..somebody mussbe here Lasana
Post by: truetrini on March 25, 2012, 03:14:55 PM
movement off the ball is horrible!  ~~~sigh~~~
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 25, 2012, 03:15:15 PM
back on!
Post by: Trinimassive on March 25, 2012, 03:16:38 PM
Molino is definitely the most composed player in this team he bout the only player up to the job. Ah find Gay have a lazy way about him.
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 03:17:16 PM
u need to beat your man on the side 18 no excuse beat or cross.  What these fellas waiting for? 
Post by: truetrini on March 25, 2012, 03:17:25 PM
SHIIIITTT is real shiiit we playing...so far...
Post by: FF on March 25, 2012, 03:18:09 PM
I ent know why we playing all this long ball garbage...

next ting... I don't know why we wingers are loathe to take on their markers when in position to do so.

Panama ent good
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 25, 2012, 03:18:24 PM
we scored when the stream was off?
Post by: Socafan on March 25, 2012, 03:19:00 PM
Every single attack ends in a bad pass....there is no excuse for this, its worse than even our usual standards. Horrible....WHY!!??
Post by: truetrini on March 25, 2012, 03:19:26 PM

next ting... I don't know why we wingers are loathe to take on their markers when in position to do so.

Panama ent good

ut they better than we so far.  They passing better, they looking much more dangerous in the attacking third
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 25, 2012, 03:20:01 PM
Molino's style of play for an AM is interesting, does not seem very attacked minded, but perhaps that's the least of our worries
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 03:21:27 PM
It look like the conditions real nasty on the field. 
Post by: Socafan on March 25, 2012, 03:22:09 PM
again every single attack ends in a bad pass or cross, Panama do even have to challenge for the ball. Its laughable.

On the upside we are EXTREMELY competent with crosses and air balls at the back. 'Bout the only good thing.

Enough.
Post by: truetrini on March 25, 2012, 03:24:12 PM
I find we giving their wingers way too much space.  and our midfielders...well the men who supposed to be in the middle, them absent
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on March 25, 2012, 03:25:42 PM
Very Impressed with Mekiel Williams, a CB by trade but he playing composed in the middle of the field, trying to pick out passes and taking descent corners. George looking ok too.
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 25, 2012, 03:29:57 PM

Panama ent good

ut they better than we so far.  They passing better, they looking much more dangerous in the attacking third

because panama is weaker that Mexico thats why  . a draw/win here and a victory against Honduras would see us through ... i cannot see Honduras or panama  beating Mexico .... I think head to head may count here
Post by: saint27 on March 25, 2012, 03:32:13 PM
Very Impressed with Mekiel Williams, a CB by trade but he playing composed in the middle of the field, trying to pick out passes and taking descent corners. George looking ok too.
growing up (until under 18) williams was a very good attacking player ....usually on the wing and center of the field ...... thats why he is looking comfortable in the middle ....he is playing well !
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 03:33:17 PM
It's good that we're better handlers of crosses.  In the past it's been a weak spot for us.  So that's good considering it's Panama. 
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 03:48:51 PM
See how Panama working around the back.  wingers and strikers must be dribblers....
Post by: andre samuel on March 25, 2012, 03:54:26 PM
still 0-0???

how much time has elapsed?
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 03:56:22 PM
15-20 into the 2nd half
Post by: Socafan on March 25, 2012, 04:01:02 PM
Why DaSilva didn't start again? Kneejerk reaction? This would have been a bess game for him I feel.
Post by: just cool on March 25, 2012, 04:01:34 PM
The TV broadcast failed for a few seconds too, but it came back. Maybe the stream will return. If we lose this game well boy....
Men not even marking properly in the 6 yard. This is crazy. Men totally free in yuh penalty area?? On yuh NT?? Nonsense..
Bro we eh gone no where, it's just that every body up and left us. when the rest of the world was spending money and raising the level of their game, we was stuck in the same mode using the same "failed" tactics, and not spending ah dime on football.

every time we have a tournament we spend ah lumpsum to qualify, and then after the tournament we go back tuh doing the same ole Bulldung, this is not progress, it's quick fixes.

take forinstance, who did this eve guy coach again, before they made him head coach??

same old product form yesteryear.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on March 25, 2012, 04:01:41 PM
Where Elan?
Post by: Dinner Mints on March 25, 2012, 04:02:21 PM
New keeper required.
Post by: D.H.W on March 25, 2012, 04:02:39 PM
LOL
Post by: FireBrand on March 25, 2012, 04:03:00 PM
Piss poor keeping.
Post by: Socafan on March 25, 2012, 04:05:14 PM
Geez Marchan......

Sigh...

I've finally succumbed to it. There's no hope for us. If this was supposed to be our best side in ages been all over the world, play in how many WC and tournament, and THIS is the best they could play...losing to some nondescript Panama side.

I give up.
Post by: just cool on March 25, 2012, 04:06:24 PM
SAME OLE PRODUCT. WEH ALLYUH EXPECT.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fkas7MpxxdU
Post by: Socafan on March 25, 2012, 04:10:37 PM
The TV broadcast failed for a few seconds too, but it came back. Maybe the stream will return. If we lose this game well boy....
Bro we eh gone no where, it's just that every body up and left us. when the rest of the world was spending money and raising the level of their game, we was stuck in the same mode using the same "failed" tactics, and not spending ah dime on football.

every time we have a tournament we spend ah lumpsum to qualify, and then after the tournament we go back tuh doing the same ole Bulldung, this is not progress, it's quick fixes.

take forinstance, who did this eve guy coach again, before they made him head coach??

JC...I hear yuh breds. Its just that ah had some hope for this team at least. Fellas HAD a different attitude and flavour in their prior incarnations. But now I give up. What I seeing out there is unjustifiable incompetence in football, especially coming from a team with their experience.

I now give up...done.
Post by: truetrini on March 25, 2012, 04:13:13 PM
Jones is de best attacking option and he is ah defender
Post by: just cool on March 25, 2012, 04:13:20 PM
DEM SPANISH OWN WE, AND RIGHT NOW WE CYAR BEAT NONE AH DEM! NOT ON AH JUNIOR OR SENIOR LEVEL, WE MUST GET RID OF THIS PRODUCT, IT'S PASSED IT SELL DATE.
Post by: Dinner Mints on March 25, 2012, 04:13:25 PM
a team with their experience.
Ah seeing this repeated over and over and nobody eh answer mih question yet. How many of dese men was actually on the WC teams. From what I see is bout 4 men and de rest either new or was on de fringes.
Post by: g on March 25, 2012, 04:15:29 PM
Score?
Post by: D.H.W on March 25, 2012, 04:16:36 PM
The team that playing in this tournament is totally different for the WC teams , first time i seeing some of these fellas
Post by: D.H.W on March 25, 2012, 04:16:48 PM
Score?

1 nil Pan
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on March 25, 2012, 04:17:16 PM
1-0 Panama
Post by: truetrini on March 25, 2012, 04:18:32 PM
Coaching!!!!!

This team can do better.  The signs are there...the coaching sucks ass.
Post by: Dinner Mints on March 25, 2012, 04:19:45 PM
The team that playing in this tournament is totally different for the WC teams , first time i seeing some of these fellas
That's what I thinking too. Men getting their hopes up based on 'experience' when most of these fellas ain't that experienced at all.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on March 25, 2012, 04:20:59 PM
That was a good chance!
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 25, 2012, 04:21:16 PM
a team with their experience.
Ah seeing this repeated over and over and nobody eh answer mih question yet. How many of dese men was actually on the WC teams. From what I see is bout 4 men and de rest either new or was on de fringes.

the coach felt these newer men performed better than the men with experience. and that was borne out to some extent in the pan-am games and the result against Suriname. not being borne out now
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 25, 2012, 04:21:20 PM
my gosh look at that opportunity by Winchester and molino
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 04:21:53 PM
these fellas have all the raw skill but we does play like we mentally abused.  What's going on? 
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on March 25, 2012, 04:22:18 PM
WOW get a NEW GOALKEEPER!
Post by: FireBrand on March 25, 2012, 04:22:27 PM
Butterfingers.
Post by: saint27 on March 25, 2012, 04:22:35 PM
well done marchan
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 25, 2012, 04:22:54 PM
lord have mercy look at this a good chance to tie it
Post by: truetrini on March 25, 2012, 04:23:40 PM
Ref jes rob Panama a good goal..Marchand have worms
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 25, 2012, 04:23:51 PM
well that about it folkes!!!
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on March 25, 2012, 04:25:51 PM
GOOOAAAAAALLLL
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 25, 2012, 04:25:59 PM
goal winchester!!!
Post by: saint27 on March 25, 2012, 04:26:14 PM
new life.... i taking dat
Post by: DeSoWa on March 25, 2012, 04:26:26 PM
I saw that one coming...it's the least we deserve lol

Post by: Dinner Mints on March 25, 2012, 04:27:00 PM
Panama get tief, though.
Post by: D.H.W on March 25, 2012, 04:27:08 PM
fella aint even know where d ball went lol  :rotfl: hahaha
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 04:27:13 PM
SCheuuuupsss!   
Post by: truetrini on March 25, 2012, 04:27:48 PM
GOALLLL

Ball bounce of he left knee...he did not know ah ting about dat  lol but ah go take it.
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 25, 2012, 04:27:56 PM
Que Golasso, asso asso asso  :rotfl:

Dread, whey we geh Marchan from?  Call Tenor saw to help now
Post by: D.H.W on March 25, 2012, 04:28:01 PM
last kick of the game  :rotfl:
Post by: just cool on March 25, 2012, 04:28:40 PM

JC...I hear yuh breds. Its just that ah had some hope for this team at least. Fellas HAD a different attitude and flavour in their prior incarnations. But now I give up. What I seeing out there is unjustifiable incompetence in football, especially coming from a team with their experience.

I now give up...done.
Breds, we had no right to be in this position, but we have some real selfish ppl living in T&T, who does only teef, and fail tuh do what the ppl put them there for, it's like the only reason they there is to raid the barn.

right now jack warner is soley to blame, bc for twenty something yrs the man eh build one academy or ah single school dedicated to football, there's no place to develop kids into proper footballers in trinidad, and whatever momentum we had just before and right after the WC 2006 was destroyed with all his ediotic actions, with black list and cheap coaches, fighting with the sports ministers, changing coaches like he changin clothes.

breds, you have any idea how backward, dunce and idiotic our administrators does behave ? bro, them ppl does real shame we in the eyes of the develop world.  is real clueless ppl running that place , trust meh.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 25, 2012, 04:28:48 PM
well that about it folkes!!!
despite everything this is why we love this team, they have fight when you least expect it.
Post by: Dinner Mints on March 25, 2012, 04:31:22 PM
We woulda still had a outside chance if we did lose, though.

If Mexico beat everybody and we beat Honduras by bout 10.

So yeah... thank goodness for de draw.
Post by: Socafan on March 25, 2012, 04:31:35 PM
Steups.......

Yuh know why that goal score? Because is the first time the team and players looked like they wanted to keep the ball and advance down the field with it at their feet. Desperation scramble goal.

A lucky tie with Panama....we certainly gone thru.

We have a tremendous coaching problem.
Post by: just cool on March 25, 2012, 04:32:26 PM
these fellas have all the raw skill but we does play like we mentally abused.  What's going on? 
Skills,? ??? you must be talking bout panama right??
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 04:37:42 PM
Steups.......

Yuh know why that goal score? Because is the first time the team and players looked like they wanted to keep the ball and advance down the field with it at their feet. Desperation scramble goal.

A lucky tie with Panama....we certainly gone thru.

We have a tremendous coaching problem.

They score because more players took responsibility for their God given abilities.  More running at men in the attacking third, more bodies pressing, for more options.  These fellas seem hindered but that just me. 
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 04:40:03 PM
Skills,? ??? you must be talking bout panama right??

Jamal and Molino and Shadon are players but they seems not willing to take the risks in the attacking third.  What's all this nice flick at the top of the box?  That's when you become a monster.  I've seen them do it and this Panama team ain't special. 
Post by: saint27 on March 25, 2012, 04:43:33 PM
shandon end up working out ..... until that goal he lose the ball 5 out of 6 times . well we needed a goal and he got it so we will take dat
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 05:13:47 PM
Hope allyuh watching the Mexico game.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 25, 2012, 05:20:45 PM
First off, a point in this game is a win.. because the real must win is vs Honduras(If Mexico beat them) so the draw keeps us alive

Now, Angus Eve have to be a total madman.. In the 1st game we set up with PERSONNEL intended to OUTPLAY AND OUTPOSSESS Mexico in California(Basically Mexico).. as a result our midfield was no existent and it was like 5 Mexicans vs our 4 defenders over and over again and of course comical goalkeeping

Now against Panama he adopts the gameplan and possibly the personnel he should have vs Mexico..  so he get 2 games wrong

His selection is baffling... Moses looked very assured and much better than Russell in CB.. Bateau is a shithong but he will give you some spirit and he is captain so he have to start but I rather hm where where he was today.. at RB or CB he very very suspect, thats why Vranes didnt use his ass at all.. Gonsalves was the right pick at RB today so I hope that back 4 remains the same...  against Honduras we should adopt the same formation to start with but tweak the team a bit.. I dont find Williams had the best game in the middle there, he real wild too, recklessly all over the floor.. I want composure out there, not f**king wild men

So having said that the team I think can contain Honduras and give us the best chance of hitting them on the counter or via a set piece or any piece of luck we may need should be:

4-2-3-1

Marchan( my fingers hurt to type that but time to man the f**k up and be a hero kid.. get serious buddy)

Gonsalves
Moses
Cyrus
Jones

Bateau
George

Winchester
Molino
Joseph

Gay

Bench: 2nd keeper, Williams, Russell, De Silva, Jeromie, Jomal, Cato, Lewis, Trevin

Post by: Socafan on March 25, 2012, 05:23:03 PM
Hope allyuh watching the Mexico game.

Yeah...they eh looking like anything special against Honduras ent? In fact Honduras playing all the ball right now. I'll say it time and again, Mexico can't cope with outright speed and instinct dribbling. They does lose focus quick and make mistakes. They very technically strong though thats their strength.
Post by: Socafan on March 25, 2012, 05:23:46 PM
And jess so Mexico score on a breakout. Competent individual players.
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 05:24:48 PM
Socafan you see that goal?  You telling me T&T ain't have players to pull a man and strike?   Nah!!!!
Post by: Socafan on March 25, 2012, 05:27:41 PM
Socafan you see that goal?  You telling me T&T ain't have players to pull a man and strike?   Nah!!!!

Exactly...simple shit...how come men not doing what they HAVE TO BE capable of doing?
Post by: Preacher on March 25, 2012, 05:30:03 PM
They not mentally loose it seems. 
Post by: saint27 on March 25, 2012, 05:37:31 PM
what yal tlkin? this mexico team is very good in the middle of the park .... you don't jus win a world cup and be nun special ... the fact is this mexico team is made up of players who won the most recent U-17 and players who came 3rd in the most recent U-20 ....very good squad....and missing some key players like d boy who chelsea sign
Post by: andre samuel on March 25, 2012, 05:51:07 PM
what yal tlkin? this mexico team is very good in the middle of the park .... you don't jus win a world cup and be nun special ... the fact is this mexico team is made up of players who won the most recent U-17 and players who came 3rd in the most recent U-20 ....very good squad....and missing some key players like d boy who chelsea sign

EXACTLY!!!
Post by: che on March 25, 2012, 05:51:43 PM

Is Troy Marquis to old for this team ?
Post by: D.H.W on March 25, 2012, 06:03:48 PM

lol  :rotfl:
Post by: Dinner Mints on March 25, 2012, 06:09:49 PM

Troy Marquis is old enough for any team he pleases.

Troy Marquis could play on both teams at once.
Post by: che on March 25, 2012, 06:19:17 PM
Mexico leading Honduras 3 nil 47min .If we beat Hon is goal difference or head to head the first tie breaker? If it is goal difference then we need Mex to score a few more.
Post by: pioneertrini on March 25, 2012, 06:26:51 PM
Mexico leading Honduras 3 nil 47min .If we beat Hon is goal difference or head to head the first tie breaker? If it is goal difference then we need Mex to score a few more.

goal difference wont matter, we are on 1 point they are 3 points. so once we win we will be ahead of them. only goal difference could be with panama if they was to beat mex. not sure about the tiebreaker but i think in all fifa competitions they are back to goal difference?
Post by: asylumseeker on March 25, 2012, 07:40:27 PM

Exactly...simple shit...how come men not doing what they HAVE TO BE capable of doing?

Perhaps the system does not fit their attributes. Perhaps they are being restrained by something (instructions? fear?). But, even in saying so ... I know what allyuh mean ... men still hadda geh on when the opportunity presents itself!!! These players lacked expression on the field.

I lost the feed just as one of the players broke into the 18 for a 1 v 1 with the keeper ... I have no idea what he chose to do but based on the general lack of aggression and composure that characterised our play, I wasn't surprised not to see the ball in the centre when the feed returned.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 25, 2012, 08:03:45 PM
First off, a point in this game is a win.. because the real must win is vs Honduras(If Mexico beat them) so the draw keeps us alive

Now, Angus Eve have to be a total madman.. In the 1st game we set up with PERSONNEL intended to OUTPLAY AND OUTPOSSESS Mexico in California(Basically Mexico).. as a result our midfield was no existent and it was like 5 Mexicans vs our 4 defenders over and over again and of course comical goalkeeping

Now against Panama he adopts the gameplan and possibly the personnel he should have vs Mexico..  so he get 2 games wrong

His selection is baffling... Moses looked very assured and much better than Russell in CB.. Bateau is a shithong but he will give you some spirit and he is captain so he have to start but I rather hm where where he was today.. at RB or CB he very very suspect, thats why Vranes didnt use his ass at all.. Gonsalves was the right pick at RB today so I hope that back 4 remains the same...  against Honduras we should adopt the same formation to start with but tweak the team a bit.. I dont find Williams had the best game in the middle there, he real wild too, recklessly all over the floor.. I want composure out there, not f**king wild men

So having said that the team I think can contain Honduras and give us the best chance of hitting them on the counter or via a set piece or any piece of luck we may need should be:

4-2-3-1

Marchan( my fingers hurt to type that but time to man the f**k up and be a hero kid.. get serious buddy)

Gonsalves
Moses
Cyrus
Jones

Bateau
George

Winchester
Molino
Joseph

Gay

Bench: 2nd keeper, Williams, Russell, De Silva, Jeromie, Jomal, Cato, Lewis, Trevin

Those are salient issues. I would love to see someone in the media corps step up to ask specific questions relating to what was the coach's intent. Even if the questions come after the tournament, I think they need to be asked and answered. It would go a long way to understanding Eve's perspective. We deserve more than general platitudes like "de fellas tried their best".

Next thing: on the 4-2-3-1. I have the impression that we entered this tournament with one (read: a limited) playing approach in mind ... come hell or high water. It would be encouraging to see modifications but ah ent too sure that we shall be encouraged.

In both games we have had a problem incorporating numbers into the attack ... both versus a superior Mexico ... and versus a decidedly more generous Panama ... we had problems doing so in a 4-4-2 ... That 4-2-3-1 will not resolve that getting numbers into the attack issue
(I know you didn't raise it for that purpose, ah jes building on your observation) ... In fact, no system of play strictly speaking could guarantee incorporating numbers into the attack merely because yuh playing that system ... planning is one thing, execution is another.

I fully understand yuh rationale. As noble as it is, the lingering issue there is how to effect an effective counter-attack  given our problems going fwd.
Post by: dwolfman on March 25, 2012, 08:07:16 PM

This is probably the most instructive statement into why we continue to struggle at these regional qualifiers. Men does give me real licks for saying that we are not a footballing nation, but it's true. Our youth football is not good, so our secondary schools football is not good. Our youth national teams can't be good and we keep expecting them to somehow produce. Our athletes put in 20 hour plus training weeks in the 3-6 month period leading up to tournament, but where is the prep work before that? Until our athletes develop professional attitudes all year round with administration that encourages their development we will always be chasing the game (on and off the field).

A local coach first told us this and I've since heard foreign ones say the same thing. A professional doesn't start being one with his first pay cheque, he starts that process long before because employers don't want to waste money training a player to have habits that he should have developed years before.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 25, 2012, 08:31:36 PM
That's true, but we don't have any evidence that these players lacked professionalism in anticipation of this tournament ... at least I don't. I think the question here really resolves around how well or poorly the technical staff integrated this squad ... and how well or poorly the technical staff approached key tactical moments during these matches. It's clear they did some things well. It's also clear that many of our on field deficiencies came from the sidelines.

While I accept the issue you raise is fundamental, based on the performance indicators on Friday and today I don't see our long-term development deficiencies as being the decisive problem in either game.

Frankly, I get the sense that the key problem for us is our inability to manage the dimensions of the football field. Yeah, we couldn't convincingly solve the puzzle of how to move the ball and keep it ...Tellingly, we also couldn't move personnel up, down and across the field. I think that's a symptom of poor field management. The speed of play in both games was different, yet we still had the same problem ... how to conduct the ball and players up and down the field in a consistent way.

I would love to see some thoughtful, balanced attacking/defensive football verus Honduras ... even if ah hadda dream about it.
Post by: andre samuel on March 25, 2012, 08:34:57 PM

IF we beat Honduras, then we would have 4pts and they would have 3pts.

The equation is simple, beat Honduras and we are in the semis
Post by: Dinner Mints on March 25, 2012, 08:40:10 PM

IF we beat Honduras, then we would have 4pts and they would have 3pts.

The equation is simple, beat Honduras and we are in the semis
Assuming Panama don't beat Mexico.
Post by: elan on March 25, 2012, 08:57:57 PM
Where Elan?

Didn't have time for this, took my daughter to distress the top U17 girls team in the state today (their ODP team - U14 international, U15 Travel - scrimmaged them). She scored two easy goals, didn't even go into 2nd gear.
Post by: dwolfman on March 25, 2012, 09:01:04 PM
That's true, but we don't have any evidence that these players lacked professionalism in anticipation of this tournament ... at least I don't. I think the question here really resolves around how well or poorly the technical staff integrated this squad ... and how well or poorly the technical staff approached key tactical moments during these matches. It's clear they did some things well. It's also clear that many of our on field deficiencies came from the sidelines.

While I accept the issue you raise is fundamental, based on the performance indicators on Friday and today I don't see our long-term development deficiencies as being the decisive problem in either game.

Frankly, I get the sense that the key problem for us is our inability to manage the dimensions of the football field. Yeah, we couldn't convincingly solve the puzzle of how to move the ball and keep it ...Tellingly, we also couldn't move personnel up, down and across the field. I think that's a symptom of poor field management. The speed of play in both games was different, yet we still had the same problem ... how to conduct the ball and players up and down the field in a consistent way.

I would love to see some thoughtful, balanced attacking/defensive football verus Honduras ... even if ah hadda dream about it.

I hear you, but you ignored the first point I made about the quality of local football being poor. That takes care of any field management issues you raised. If domestically they don't manage the dimensions of the football field how will they do it internationally? If they've never been exposed to concepts of managing the field how, long run or short run, can we expect better?

Again, professionalism means that they will be preparing themselves for high level football/sport and that goes beyong technical ability (which is all we focus on). Technically they seem to be in a good place, but we didn't struggle as much technically as we did tactically. That is part of the preparation to be a professional athlete and that is not something that changes in a few months prior to a tournament. So that is still (in my humble opinion) vital to the long term development of our game.
Post by: elan on March 25, 2012, 09:09:55 PM

Would you attribute this inability or lack of addressing this defficiency (field management and transitioning across the field) on the quality of teams - minus Canada and even then some of the key guys were rested - we competed against in the build up phase to the tournament, which may have masked these phases of the game?

Or do you think the technical staff was incapable of recognizing such transitional moments within the smaller moments (big picture now) of the game and how this would have affected future strategies during the tournament?
Post by: just cool on March 25, 2012, 11:30:41 PM
Bottom line, cookie monster is way over his head and it showed his lack of coaching experience when he got his arse handed to him on friday, and he almost had it handed to him again on sunday, lucky winchester was there to salvage something from this tournament or else he woulda went home wid no cookies in his baggy.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 26, 2012, 06:12:14 AM

Would you attribute this inability or lack of addressing this defficiency (field management and transitioning across the field) on the quality of teams - minus Canada and even then some of the key guys were rested - we competed against in the build up phase to the tournament, which may have masked these phases of the game?

Or do you think the technical staff was incapable of recognizing such transitional moments within the smaller moments (big picture now) of the game and how this would have affected future strategies during the tournament?

I agree with the sentiment Kicker expressed on another thread: I don't think our players are dumb. Similarly, I don't think that Angus Eve or Anton Corneal are idiots. Both have been around the game long enough to be observant of match situations. It would be unfair to the technical staff to speculate without knowing more or without having observed what was emphasized during the road to Cali. I don't think a lack of recognition re: transition is what hampered Eve. However, sometimes coaches overcompensate tactically out of caution rooted in a team's perceived liabilities.

While transition issues could definitely be masked while playing slower opponents or even during internal team practices, I think here there was likely a recognition prior to competition that we would have problems transitioning. Hence, the tactical deployment we saw applied.

Our lines were static. The back four was rigid. The flank defenders rarely got forward. Where this happens, the midfield tends not to have an attacking outlet aside from the 2 players playing in advanced positions ... so most of the dynamic play must emanate from the middle. Essentially, everything falls on the midfield and the central mids in particular, as a result. Where either or both get(s) "sucked in" - attacking or defensive wise - space is conceded for the opponent to play into.

We witnessed large areas of vacant space 20 yards north and south of the center circle during the first game. Static lines playing against a dynamic opponent that transitioned at will. This also likely explains the absence of improvisation by attacking players (unwillingness to take on their markers, unwillingness to dribble, concern of what would happen defensively if they lost the ball, unwillingness of support players to get too far forward etc.)     

Field size is an inherent aspect of field management. A horrible transition team can look great on a small field ... say, Barbados playing @ home in WC qualifying versus playing that atrocious game they played away v the US ... an extreme example? yes but the point is where the solution boils down to stringing effective passes together rather than movement/running ... you're  faced with 2 prospects: (1) the need for more passes to get into a dangerous position or (2) the need for passes of longer range to get dangerous ... consequences: predictable play, interruption of passes and the long ball outlet solution that is over-relied on as a solution.

I suspect we overcompensated defensively and paid the price by having the scoreline magnified when the opponent realized we were uni-dimensional in our play.

+++

Question: how many offside calls did we get in our favour?
Post by: madness on March 26, 2012, 06:41:40 AM
Firstly, the team need to have more confident in themselves to win games. Moving the ball the field is very important. so i hope they can upset Honduras.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 26, 2012, 06:56:01 AM

I hear you, but you ignored the first point I made about the quality of local football being poor. That takes care of any field management issues you raised. If domestically they don't manage the dimensions of the football field how will they do it internationally? If they've never been exposed to concepts of managing the field how, long run or short run, can we expect better?

Again, professionalism means that they will be preparing themselves for high level football/sport and that goes beyong technical ability (which is all we focus on). Technically they seem to be in a good place, but we didn't struggle as much technically as we did tactically. That is part of the preparation to be a professional athlete and that is not something that changes in a few months prior to a tournament. So that is still (in my humble opinion) vital to the long term development of our game.

Agreed.
Post by: injunchile on March 26, 2012, 10:19:16 AM
Wonderful analysis and it makes good reading. You know why I like  small Touissant and Cornell Glen.?
 When they get the ball in the opposition third is off to the races- Keeper save- Goal or Over bar/ Wide
 We need forwards who are ball Jumbies
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 26, 2012, 05:26:52 PM

EXACTLY!!!

saint yuh wrong there are no players from the Mexican  side that won the recent under 17 world cup however  there are 6 players from the under 20 world cup team that came 3rd... again the Mexican players who were born between 1989 -1990 progressed and new players came on the scene  ...eg  Marco Jhonfai Fabian who scored the hat trick  on us  never represented Mexico at under 17 or under 20 level ... only at under 23 and senior ... those Mexican players play first team football
Post by: Deeks on March 26, 2012, 06:01:45 PM
Some of you guys really baffle me. Mex. is in our zone and we seem to know everything about them and yet knows nothing about them.  I know for a fact the Mex. national team can give Spain a run for their money and probably beat them in Spain. That is how confident I feel about Mex. football in this genration. Mex. clubs are the best in Concacaf by far. They play in Concaf clubs and win it most of the time. They Conmebol and play very good. They 1st X1, 2ndX1, 3rdX1..... the 10thX1 could probably beat us.

Allyuh fixated on Euro. ball. Watch some Mex. football for a change , nah! We just might learn something. Maybe TTFF should hire a Mexican coach.
Post by: dumpalewie on March 26, 2012, 08:09:33 PM
Where did we find this keeper?
Post by: Tallman on March 26, 2012, 08:19:14 PM

He played in de SSFL with Carapichaima and he was in the squad that went to the 2009 U-20 World Cup in Egypt.
Post by: dumpalewie on March 26, 2012, 08:30:48 PM

He played in de SSFL with Carapichaima and he was in the squad that went to the 2009 U-20 World Cup in Egypt.
I saw the highlights of both games. This guy is way to excitable and error prone.