Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on December 09, 2011, 08:32:00 AM

Title: School children & Senior Citizens go free with North East
Post by: Tallman on December 09, 2011, 08:32:00 AM
School children & Senior Citizens go free with North East
North East Stars Media

DIRECTV North East Stars will be offering free entry for school children in uniform and senior citizens at their next home game vs San Juan Jabloteh on Tuesday 13th December.

The incentive is designed to encourage young people into supporting their local teams and to thank our senior citizens for their lifetime contribution to our society.

"Young people are the lifeblood of any football club" said North East Stars Operations Director, Kevin Harrison. "These are our potential supporters of the future. Once you can get young people into the habit of attending North East Stars matches, they will become supporters for life. Its very rare that supporters change their loyalties, so we have to interest them at a young age." Harrison said that although many school children are attracted to overseas leagues such as those in Italy, Spain and England, this should not be discouraged. "There's nothing wrong with a young boy from Sangre Grande or Arima supporting Barcelona or Chelsea. However, its very unlikely that that boy will ever watch those teams in a live match, and he probably won't get to play for those teams. What he can do is absorb the performances of those teams and aspire to become a better footballer. The Pro League teams offer a route to overseas football, so it makes sense to become involved with your local professional team. Football on TV is great, but its much more exciting to be at a game, cheering on your team."

School children in uniform will be admitted free to the North East Stars match at Larry Gomes Stadium and an accompanying adult will be charged just $10. Senior Citizens, upon production of valid I.D. will also be admitted free.

"We often forget our senior citizens" said Harrison. "But it is they who have shaped our nation. After working all of their lives to provide a better life for the next generation, they often struggle financially in their retirement years. This is our way of offering a small Christmas gift to the young and old in our community."

North East Stars, off the back of a 1-0 win over St Anns Rangers are hoping to have several new signings on display, including Ryan Stewart who scored with a sublime free kick, 5 minutes into his North East debut.

"Ryan's been training with us for the last 6 weeks and it was great to finally see him in a Stars shirt" said Director of Football Kevin Jeffrey. "He certainly announced his intentions with that free kick....what a great way to start your career with a new club." Jeffrey, who has just passed the C licence course provided by TTFF, said the Sangre Grande outfit are excited about their first home match at Larry Gomes. "Its a nice stadium and the staff are really supportive. It feels like home to us now and we hope to convert that feeling into points, with the help of our supporters, The Estrellas."

North East are hoping to build on their existing support from Sangre Grande by attracting regular supporters from Arima, Santa Rosa, Valencia and the surrounding areas. "At Tuesdays match we will have a DJ, our usual Matchday Lottery and half time entertainment from a top soca artist from our Soccer Fete line up. We really hope the local community comes out in numbers to support the Stars" said Harrison "We've been holding Friday night Soccer fete promotions at various Japs restaurants and they have attracted lots of people. The interest in the Soccer fete is really intensifying." The fete, on January 1st, will feature Bunji Garlin, Faye-Ann Lyons, 3 Suns, Denise Belfon, Shal Marshall, Benjai and Sherwayne Winchester & You. There are still a few early bird tickets available at Japs outlets priced at $120.

Tuesdays match vs San Juan Jabloteh kicks off at the Larry Gomes Stadium at 6pm. Admission is $20, with ladies free before kick off, senior citizens free (upon production of valid I.D., and school children in uniform free (accompanying adults $10)   
Title: Re: School children & Senior Citizens go free with North East
Post by: Sando on December 09, 2011, 08:41:23 AM
Great going !!!!!!
Post by: soccerrama on December 09, 2011, 10:08:04 AM
I applaud North East Stars with this initiative, however I don't think it wise to have school children attend in their school uniforms, these matches are usually played between 5 p.m. & 7 p.m. and I don't think the schools' management would take too kindly to that, also some schools may be closed for the Christmas and can you really ask these students to put on their uniforms to come watch a football match.
I think students should only attend school events (e.g College football matches etc) with their school uniforms.
Most students have school identification cards and maybe they should be allowed to use that instead of attending in their school uniforms.
As a parent I would not allow my son to attend a non school event after school hours in his school uniform.
Post by: Football supporter on December 09, 2011, 10:30:30 AM
I applaud North East Stars with this initiative, however I don't think it wise to have school children attend in their school uniforms, these matches are usually played between 5 p.m. & 7 p.m. and I don't think the schools' management would take too kindly to that, also some schools may be closed for the Christmas and can you really ask these students to put on their uniforms to come watch a football match.
I think students should only attend school events (e.g College football matches etc) with their school uniforms.
Most students have school identification cards and maybe they should be allowed to use that instead of attending in their school uniforms.
As a parent I would not allow my son to attend a non school event after school hours in his school uniform.

Good points. I think the idea is that is makes it easier at the gate to let kids in. I don't know why parents wouldn't like their kids in uniform? I think most schools start closing from the 15th.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 09, 2011, 11:06:02 AM
Good stuff Stars. Hope you soon reap the fruits of your labours
Post by: soccerrama on December 09, 2011, 11:20:20 AM

Good points. I think the idea is that is makes it easier at the gate to let kids in. I don't know why parents wouldn't like their kids in uniform? I think most schools start closing from the 15th.

Are you aware that anyone can put on a school uniform?, however with their school picture ID which has an expiration date which does not go beyond the students' tenure at the said school (I know because my son has one which I had to pay $10.00 for). Better still since NE has basically identified the areas they are targetting, why don't they go to the schools in these areas and give tickets to the Principals who would then make it available to the students who so desire to attend the said match. Take a survey and you would be surprised that not even the students would want to attend a non school event in their uniforms. As a matter of fact give some of our students a choice and they wouldn't even want to attend school in uniforms. Food for thought!!!
Post by: Football supporter on December 09, 2011, 12:45:45 PM

Are you aware that anyone can put on a school uniform?, however with their school picture ID which has an expiration date which does not go beyond the students' tenure at the said school (I know because my son has one which I had to pay $10.00 for). Better still since NE has basically identified the areas they are targetting, why don't they go to the schools in these areas and give tickets to the Principals who would then make it available to the students who so desire to attend the said match. Take a survey and you would be surprised that not even the students would want to attend a non school event in their uniforms. As a matter of fact give some of our students a choice and they wouldn't even want to attend school in uniforms. Food for thought!!!

It would be nice if people are that keen to see North East, they would go to all of that trouble to sneak in!!  I am advised that not all schools use an I.D. system. Also, tickets are the best idea, but you then have to target certain schools or print a helluva lot of tickets!
Post by: Coop's on December 09, 2011, 12:59:57 PM
You see all this thing man talking about there, if NE go to study that they eh do nothing,i appreciate the fact that they are trying to do something,if it works fine but if it don't forget it try something else,stay positive guys.
Post by: dinho on December 09, 2011, 01:33:53 PM
You see all this thing man talking about there, if NE go to study that they eh do nothing,i appreciate the fact that they are trying to do something,if it works fine but if it don't forget it try something else,stay positive guys.

Exactly... Men talking about school uniform now.

Steups, this is Trinidad not the USA. Go to any Intercol game or after school sporting event where school children are allowed in free and is a school uniform that we go by. I could understand if its outside of the school calendar, but besides that is just making a mountain out of a mole hill.

Sometimes i feel allyuh does just gripe for griping sake oui..

Good stuff from North East Stars.
Post by: soccerrama on December 09, 2011, 03:07:04 PM
You see that is our problem as a nation we are reactive instead of proactive. So we jump into things and then when problems arise we tend to react. Instead of looking at the pros & cons before hand and fixing or adjusting we rush in.
I applauded the initiative but I am looking beyond. I dare all my critics to poll students and get their reactions before you fight down what I am saying.
Post by: Bakes on December 09, 2011, 03:30:38 PM

Soccerrama... yuh concerns are well-noted, but somewhat exaggerated.  I think the point isn't to provide an incentive to school children, but to children of school age.  So if they borrow a uniform or not, big deal.  No need to confirm that they actually attending school.  That being the case though, one has to question the need for the uniform policy at all :thinking:
Post by: soccerrama on December 09, 2011, 03:45:46 PM
My point is exaggerated, do you not live in T&T, can you not recall a couple years ago that some young men (who were not students) put on uniforms of a certain school and attacked other students of another school and in one case there was a fatality, and these young men are still to be apprehended. So don't tell me that I am exaggerating, I am just being REAL!!!!
I rest my case and I hope that I am proven wrong & that many students will attend the said match in their school uniforms.
Post by: Bakes on December 09, 2011, 03:53:11 PM
My point is exaggerated, do you not live in T&T, can you not recall a couple years ago that some young men (who were not students) put on uniforms of a certain school and attacked other students of another school and in one case there was a fatality, and these young men are still to be apprehended. So don't tell me that I am exaggerating, I am just being REAL!!!!
I rest my case and I hope that I am proven wrong & that many students will attend the said match in their school uniforms.

No I don't live in TnT... yes, I remember the incident.  Read the article again... school children in uniform accompanied by an adult.
Post by: soccerrama on December 09, 2011, 04:23:19 PM
You read the article again, here is what it says:

School children in uniform will be admitted free to the North East Stars match at Larry Gomes Stadium and an accompanying adult will be charged just $10. Senior Citizens, upon production of valid I.D. will also be admitted free.

It says "and an accompanying adult" this is very different from "accompanied by an adult", so the student can be admitted on their own.
If that was their intention it should have read "school children in uniform, accompanied by an adult will be admitted free & the adult will be charged just $10. "
I now definitely rest my case!!!
Post by: Mango Chow! on December 09, 2011, 05:11:24 PM

It says "and an accompanying adult" this is very different from "accompanied by an adult", so the student can be admitted on their own.
If that was their intention it should have read "school children in uniform, accompanied by an adult will be admitted free & the adult will be charged just $10. "

Soccerma, I can see where you're coming from but all things considered, it's not the worst thing that NES are doing and with it being the last week of school before the Christmas break, it really isn't too bad for school children to be out and about for the time window of that game.  I'm sure that the kids of too minor of an age that may want to go, won't BE able to go unless they ARE accompanied by a responsible adult and as far as the secondary school-age children, is no scene.  The only thing I CAN suggest, though, is that you don't "rest your case" just yet.  King jackass is somewhere, pedalling his spinning wheel, coming back to tell yuh how yuh cyah read and how d moderators could help yuh. 
Post by: Deeks on December 09, 2011, 05:33:03 PM
Oui foote!!!!
Post by: Socapro on December 09, 2011, 08:13:29 PM
School children & Senior Citizens go free with North East
North East Stars Media

DIRECTV North East Stars will be offering free entry for school children in uniform and senior citizens at their next home game vs San Juan Jabloteh on Tuesday 13th December.

The incentive is designed to encourage young people into supporting their local teams and to thank our senior citizens for their lifetime contribution to our society.

"Young people are the lifeblood of any football club" said North East Stars Operations Director, Kevin Harrison. "These are our potential supporters of the future. Once you can get young people into the habit of attending North East Stars matches, they will become supporters for life. Its very rare that supporters change their loyalties, so we have to interest them at a young age." Harrison said that although many school children are attracted to overseas leagues such as those in Italy, Spain and England, this should not be discouraged. "There's nothing wrong with a young boy from Sangre Grande or Arima supporting Barcelona or Chelsea. However, its very unlikely that that boy will ever watch those teams in a live match, and he probably won't get to play for those teams. What he can do is absorb the performances of those teams and aspire to become a better footballer. The Pro League teams offer a route to overseas football, so it makes sense to become involved with your local professional team. Football on TV is great, but its much more exciting to be at a game, cheering on your team."

"We often forget our senior citizens" said Harrison. "But it is they who have shaped our nation. After working all of their lives to provide a better life for the next generation, they often struggle financially in their retirement years. This is our way of offering a small Christmas gift to the young and old in our community."

North East Stars, off the back of a 1-0 win over St Anns Rangers are hoping to have several new signings on display, including Ryan Stewart who scored with a sublime free kick, 5 minutes into his North East debut.

"Ryan's been training with us for the last 6 weeks and it was great to finally see him in a Stars shirt" said Director of Football Kevin Jeffrey. "He certainly announced his intentions with that free kick....what a great way to start your career with a new club." Jeffrey, who has just passed the C licence course provided by TTFF, said the Sangre Grande outfit are excited about their first home match at Larry Gomes. "Its a nice stadium and the staff are really supportive. It feels like home to us now and we hope to convert that feeling into points, with the help of our supporters, The Estrellas."

North East are hoping to build on their existing support from Sangre Grande by attracting regular supporters from Arima, Santa Rosa, Valencia and the surrounding areas. "At Tuesdays match we will have a DJ, our usual Matchday Lottery and half time entertainment from a top soca artist from our Soccer Fete line up. We really hope the local community comes out in numbers to support the Stars" said Harrison "We've been holding Friday night Soccer fete promotions at various Japs restaurants and they have attracted lots of people. The interest in the Soccer fete is really intensifying." The fete, on January 1st, will feature Bunji Garlin, Faye-Ann Lyons, 3 Suns, Denise Belfon, Shal Marshall, Benjai and Sherwayne Winchester & You. There are still a few early bird tickets available at Japs outlets priced at $120.

Tuesdays match vs San Juan Jabloteh kicks off at the Larry Gomes Stadium at 6pm. Admission is $20, with ladies free before kick off, senior citizens free (upon production of valid I.D., and school children in uniform free (accompanying adults $10)   

Great idea!! Hope it works!!
Post by: Bakes on December 09, 2011, 10:43:23 PM

Hmmn... so your opposition to the gesture is founded on the wording of the release, which you interpret to mean that school aged kids will be admitted without adult supervision?  I dunno... as my first statement indicates, I understand your concern, but still think it's overblown.  I'll let NE Stars speak for themselves, but I interpreted the statement to mean kids accompanied by an adult... rather than on their own OR with an adult.