Sports => Football => Topic started by: Roopie10 on December 13, 2011, 11:06:03 PM

Title: If you have any connections for a tryout link me.
Post by: Roopie10 on December 13, 2011, 11:06:03 PM
If you have any connections for a tryout please link me. I want to play for T&T.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w8eZqE10n0c

^^
CHECK OUT THIS LINK ITS ME PLAYING FOOTBALL, 20 YEARS OLD, TRINIDADIAN, IF YOU HAVE ANY CONNECTIONS FOR A TRYOUT PLEASE MESSAGE ME.

Thank you.
Title: Re: If you have any connections for a tryout link me.
Post by: Sam on December 14, 2011, 08:03:19 AM
Good luck youth, yuh not looking to bad.

More than likely you may have to email the federation and asked them and if they agree you will have to pay your way for the trail.

Go to de official TTFF website and contact them.

www.ttffonline.com/home
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on December 14, 2011, 08:23:36 AM
yuh might want to get rid of that dancehall track in the background if is T&T you say you want to play for.......and the lyrics man jeez
Post by: Bitter on December 14, 2011, 08:35:03 AM
The wedding video good too...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0She-QSrWl0&feature=related

.. it say it was related.  ::)

Seriously, I agree with Agent Jack. The track eh helping yuh cause. If you think of it as your football resume, then that come like sending out a good cv on copybook paper.
Post by: Bakes on December 14, 2011, 08:47:16 AM
Nice touches... surprised yuh coach and dem not all over yuh case fuh lingering on the ball, as they see it.  Good luck with getting a trial.
Post by: Tallman on December 14, 2011, 09:01:08 AM
He didn't mention it, but his name is Mike Roopchandsingh.

(http://www.herkimertelegram.com/archive/x1270136916/g26c2e200000000000011fba3557119aa17be65bd226acfbc88d88389b2.jpg)

(http://www.herkimergenerals.com/sports/msoc/2011-12/photos-kickoff_retrospective/MS09aDut-036.jpg)
Post by: Controversial on December 14, 2011, 09:32:29 AM
If you have any connections for a tryout please link me. I want to play for T&T.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w8eZqE10n0c

^^
CHECK OUT THIS LINK ITS ME PLAYING FOOTBALL, 20 YEARS OLD, TRINIDADIAN, IF YOU HAVE ANY CONNECTIONS FOR A TRYOUT PLEASE MESSAGE ME.

Thank you.

not bad, reach out to fuentes (ttff media officer) and let him see the video
Post by: mukumsplau on December 14, 2011, 09:40:19 AM
Nice touches... surprised yuh coach and dem not all over yuh case fuh lingering on the ball, as they see it.  Good luck with getting a trial.

yea not too many coaches like that...but i think he is definitely someone that should get a look at...especially against an organised team defence...
Post by: Texastrini on December 14, 2011, 10:04:38 AM
Shades of Evans Wise anybody ..... the repeated beat of the same defender on the same play.  Good luck with building a football career and the tryout Roopie
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on December 14, 2011, 10:25:54 AM
Shades of Evans Wise anybody ..... the repeated beat of the same defender on the same play.  Good luck with building a football career and the tryout Roopie

Shades?!!!  Mash brakes fella!!  Is Wise yuh relly say dey?!! :rotfl:

Roopie yuh have good touches and dribbling ability, I imagine you should be useful probably in the middle behind the forwards. 
Post by: kicker on December 14, 2011, 10:45:34 AM
Shades of Evans Wise anybody ....

I see the comparison...particularly in Wise's younger days. 
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on December 14, 2011, 10:57:52 AM
Shades of Evans Wise anybody ....

I see the comparison...particularly in Wise's younger days. 

Allyuh eyes need checking.  Not taking anything away from Roopie but Wise was more sublime and a ball hog to some extent specifically because he wanted to embarass players.  He would deliberately wait at times for them to come to him to share beats.  Roopie have touchies that could conjure up such visions yeah, but his approach doesn't seem even close to being similar. 
Post by: lefty on December 14, 2011, 11:34:42 AM
hope he has more "industry" in his play though .............Wise was a showman but little else
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on December 14, 2011, 11:35:45 AM
hope he has more "industry" in his play though .............Wise was a showman but little else

Really?!! 
Post by: dinho on December 14, 2011, 11:43:50 AM
When next you on vacation, PM me.. My fete match side has a vacant spot on the left wing for a youth of your demonstrated talents....

Kicks aside, are you just interested in a national team tryout, or are you looking at club level/pro league/asl/mls/europe etc?

Good luck, technical skill is always a welcome commodity.
Post by: Daft Trini on December 14, 2011, 11:47:36 AM
DC United has open trials in the spring....
Post by: Mr Fix-it on December 14, 2011, 11:54:11 AM
Nice touches, good speed, nice left foot, have good football presence.  For me, good dribbling skills, but holds onto the ball too long and that equates to nuff kick and wild man tackles (As seen in the vid).  Would have liked to see you use your right foot more, would be a good addition if given the chance. :beermug:
Post by: andre samuel on December 14, 2011, 11:56:43 AM
Very good technical ability........the opposition doesnt look too good, but still, plenty confidence on the ball.  However, at the higher level, that kinda showboating will get u injured very badly.

An addition to our U23s maybe??...........it will be good if a representative from a team like W Conn sees this and gives this guy a look in. 

Post by: lefty on December 14, 2011, 11:58:35 AM

Really?!! 

d story would almost always end same way

beats down d line at a feverish pace and with great skill reach d flank with 3-4 to four red shirts in d box and den would 9 frustrating times outa ten go back for d fullback and whoever else get trap in corner between 4 man....get out like Houdini...as normal den delivery ah poor cross dat goes nowhere good or a goodish cross when d opposin defense done lockup .......for all his skill and speed no one and I mean no one could kill ah good play faster.................but we like beats an shit so...........
Post by: asylumseeker on December 14, 2011, 11:59:01 AM
When next you on vacation, PM me.. My fete match side has a vacant spot on the left wing for a youth of your demonstrated talents....

Kicks aside, are you just interested in a national team tryout, or are you looking at club level/pro league/asl/mls/europe etc?

Good luck, technical skill is always a welcome commodity.

Damn, de man playing in that spot now confidence buss. ;D

Post by: kicker on December 14, 2011, 01:04:26 PM
I disagree Lefty - Wise developed into a respectable footballer who made a decent career in the game...one that could not have materialized if he simply the player you describe.

He definitely had his bad habits but...
Post by: andre samuel on December 14, 2011, 01:25:37 PM
I disagree Lefty - Wise developed into a respectable footballer who made a decent career in the game...one that could not have materialized if he simply the player you describe.

People forget that he played in the Bundesliga
Post by: DeSoWa on December 14, 2011, 01:35:49 PM
Sounders FC has tryouts early next year!

http://www.soundersfc.com/Team/Open-Tryouts.aspx

Post by: Tallman on December 14, 2011, 01:55:27 PM
Philadelphia Union Tryout (http://www.philadelphiaunion.com/news/2011/11/union-islanders-host-second-annual-joint-tryout) (December 19-20)
Orlando City Tryout (http://www.orlandocitysoccer.com/team/tryouts/) (February 4-5)
NASL Combine (http://www.nasl.com/index.php?id=3&newsid=1608) (February 10-12)
Rochester Rhinos Tyrout (http://rhinossoccer.com/news/rhinos/index.html?article_id=172) (February 13)
Post by: fitzinho on December 14, 2011, 02:20:54 PM

BUndesliga 2 fella...thats like rating a man for playing in the championship in england. I will never forget Evans Wise back in the 90s, man rip 4 men on the wing, had Yorke waitin in the middle, stop, turn and beats back down to the half way line...Yorke watch the man like if he goin mad oui...after all that he loss the ball. That is my most vivid memory of Wise.
Post by: Texastrini on December 14, 2011, 02:37:02 PM
Ah din mean to hijack the man thread :-\  I was only half serious about the Wise comparison, he was in a class by heself.  For all the bad habits he made for some memorable viewing.  Ppl still talking bout him ent.

This youth showing promise and is not like every tree yuh shake in TNT a few good players fall down.
Post by: Mr Fix-it on December 14, 2011, 03:13:07 PM
Ah din mean to hijack the man thread :-\  I was only half serious about the Wise comparison, he was in a class by heself.  For all the bad habits he made for some memorable viewing.  Ppl still talking bout him ent.

This youth showing promise and is not like every tree yuh shake in TNT a few good players fall down.

Is your fault :devil: :devil:
Post by: fari on December 14, 2011, 05:02:10 PM
good luck youth!  someting about ur stature, pace and touches remind me of aaron lennon
Post by: Fyzoman on December 14, 2011, 05:50:53 PM
Somebody contact Eve yes, I like how he eh fraid to just run at people breathless, breathless, ah rel like dat!!!!

He look like he could go places wid the right coach, he could at least get ah tryout back home, just on dat video alone!!!

And yes, yes ah know is junior college football, but still:)
Post by: FireBrand on December 14, 2011, 06:14:58 PM
His information was passed on to the TTFF and they have made contact with him. Let's see where things go from here. All the best kid.
Post by: lefty on December 14, 2011, 06:17:11 PM

BUndesliga 2 fella...thats like rating a man for playing in the championship in england. I will never forget Evans Wise back in the 90s, man rip 4 men on the wing, had Yorke waitin in the middle, stop, turn and beats back down to the half way line...Yorke watch the man like if he goin mad oui...after all that he loss the ball. That is my most vivid memory of Wise.

dem is d kinda ting I remember too vividly
Post by: Bally on December 14, 2011, 06:18:41 PM
He did play in the Bundesliga check yah facts before yah talk
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2011, 06:18:47 PM
Somebody contact Eve yes, I like how he eh fraid to just run at people breathless, breathless, ah rel like dat!!!!

He look like he could go places wid the right coach, he could at least get ah tryout back home, just on dat video alone!!!

And yes, yes ah know is junior college football, but still:)
I'll have tuh totally agree with you on that there country bookie. no one took into consideration that with ah little time with ah best coach to break bad habits and cultivate his skills, this yute could be ah great addition to any team.
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2011, 06:22:29 PM
yuh might want to get rid of that dancehall track in the background if is T&T you say you want to play for.......and the lyrics man jeez
Allyuh really know how tuh welcome ppl yes! ::) BTW ah notice you eh say nothing about the hip hop track, but the dancehall bother yuh right? ah sure if he had ah led zeplin track on his demo yuh wouldn't have said squat. allyuh west indian ppl have real issues boy.
Post by: Preacher on December 14, 2011, 06:24:00 PM
U have very good vision and the ability to execute what you are seeing.  Those two things alone should earn you an national tryout.  You also have an ok touch and could keep the ball.  The dribbling thing is so so.  Only certain kind of players getting ketch with them kind of close beat and they won't be national players.    I would advise you to be assessed by several coaches and have them give you recommendations in addition to your youtube video.   If I were to speak to a younger me I would say focus on developing your weaknesses.  Every player has them.  If the distance between your strengths and weaknesses is to noticeable you won't have a career.  Technically balanced players are more attractive overall.  What you have to start with is plenty, do your best to grow it and best of luck.   :beermug:
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2011, 06:27:12 PM
Is this kid trini born or trini-american?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on December 14, 2011, 06:32:03 PM
good stuff man.. you came to right place for help.. at least we will try for your case

I will personally pass it on to my contacts

Post by: lefty on December 14, 2011, 06:32:46 PM
just look at d video no utube in d office, d fellah could distribute man good...... style with industry I like
Post by: giggsy11 on December 14, 2011, 06:42:15 PM
Good luck with attaining your goal. I would say work on your right foor so as not to be so predictable but I think you have some tools to work with. It seems like you may be a CRonaldo fan based on your style I saw in the vid.  :beermug:
Post by: Quags on December 14, 2011, 06:43:51 PM
jesus skills .u think u could do that against st kiitts ,st vincent ,costa rica or panama ?
Post by: Quags on December 14, 2011, 06:44:56 PM

(http://www.herkimertelegram.com/archive/x1270136916/g26c2e200000000000011fba3557119aa17be65bd226acfbc88d88389b2.jpg)

(http://www.herkimergenerals.com/sports/msoc/2011-12/photos-kickoff_retrospective/MS09aDut-036.jpg)
Damn thats the bads indian ever come out trinidad n tobago .
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2011, 06:46:56 PM
Good luck with attaining your goal. I would say work on your right foor so as not to be so predictable but I think you have some tools to work with. It seems like you may be a CRonaldo fan based on your style I saw in the vid.  :beermug:
Ah bet yuh anything he's ah dinho fan by the way he dribbles and wears his hair.  ;D      no seriously.
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2011, 06:48:19 PM

Damn thats the bads indian ever come come trinidad n tobago .
He could also be ah half breed, does kendell jagdeosingh ring ah bell?
Post by: Quags on December 14, 2011, 06:51:09 PM
I know eh ,he look like a halfa .He look more indian than meh cousin  kendall tho lol .
Post by: giggsy11 on December 14, 2011, 07:10:34 PM
Ah bet yuh anything he's ah dinho fan by the way he dribbles and wears his hair.  ;D      no seriously.

Maybe both? :)
Post by: Bitter on December 14, 2011, 07:47:47 PM

Allyuh know he could hear allyuh, right?  ;)
Post by: giggsy11 on December 14, 2011, 07:52:06 PM

Allyuh know he could hear allyuh, right?  ;)

Ah know right! ;D
Post by: giggsy11 on December 14, 2011, 07:53:47 PM
All right Roopie-who yuh try tuh pattern yuh game after? I say is ah mix off CRonaldo and Dinho.
Post by: elan on December 14, 2011, 08:04:58 PM
All right Roopie-who yuh try tuh pattern yuh game after? I say is ah mix off CRonaldo and Dinho.

Daiz all dinho......body shape, body movement, beat selection, positioning, attire and demeanor.
Post by: Bakes on December 14, 2011, 08:05:53 PM
Damn thats the bads indian ever come come trinidad n tobago .

Nigel Jugroop was nasty too... but what I talking about he was doing in SSFL.

Ronaldinho cross my mind from jump but didn't want to say nutten lest the thread to the way the Wise comments took it.

Firebrand, Tallman and Small Mags... good looking out   :beermug:
Post by: warmonga on December 14, 2011, 08:19:37 PM
yute mi nah look pon di video dem but if yu live a fareign or born a fareign TNT does feal like dey have a rell big pool of players dey does gave dem di cold shoulder.. ask ricky shakes..anyway Yu have any link to jamaica I could say sumthing for you.. but then again i hear yu doh even need a link to be a jamaican International wid wat dem fellas saying bout di background music dont be suprise if Reggaeboyz gave yu a call.. I know of at least one player with no connection to Jamaica played  for them ..anyway I go check di video out mi computer rell slow...
Good luck ...

warmonga
Post by: Deeks on December 14, 2011, 08:37:27 PM
War, that ain't really tru. You know foreign born has played for Trini already.
Post by: MEP on December 14, 2011, 09:05:58 PM
Yute yuh definitely have talent. However, my advice to you is that if you do go to an open tryout DON'T do what you did on that video clip.
American coaches run the other way when they see players doing that. In their minds a player who dribbles is not a team player and is an individual who can't be controlled. The other part is that you need another clip that shows what you can do defensively and clean up your video lose the music.
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 14, 2011, 09:07:23 PM
Allyuh really know how tuh welcome ppl yes! ::) BTW ah notice you eh say nothing about the hip hop track, but the dancehall bother yuh right? ah sure if he had ah led zeplin track on his demo yuh wouldn't have said squat. allyuh west indian ppl have real issues boy.
Was thinking de same.
Post by: warmonga on December 14, 2011, 09:19:20 PM
mi jes look pon di video dey.. di indian bad.. Yute I neva hear bout yu.. But trus mi man.. yu gwan bad.. Yu have nuff talent yu hold di ball a lil too long but yu passes dey  nice.. I eh see why yu eh get a bligh yet  .. Like yu is one a dem Trini's who jes hearing dat Yu have sum trini in yu? anyway Yu good.. How come this yute nuh  dey pon di under 23 team.. Like TNT want america tek him or what.. Wid dat skill I suprise I eh see this yute or heard bout him.. wey him frm ? wey he live? wey he go to school? ... flex tallman we look like we find di next latapy .. this yute badd.. 
Post by: warmonga on December 14, 2011, 09:22:32 PM
War, that ain't really tru. You know foreign born has played for Trini already.
yeah but I does only remember di one we dispose of who come back and had meh facking crying like a indian man who jes get horn....
Post by: fitzinho on December 14, 2011, 11:34:57 PM
Sorry Bally, that I didn't consider 9 caps in the Bundesliga that significant.
Post by: Preacher on December 15, 2011, 12:53:47 AM
Just watched the clip again bro.  You getting nice penetration.

Two ?s
1. With all that penetration why don't the coach play you as a striker or a central mid? 
2. Where are your shots on goal?
Post by: madness on December 15, 2011, 07:36:28 AM
de man has very good touches, he needs to check out any mls team. and try to connect with any european teams too, is he playing at a college now?????
Post by: fari on December 15, 2011, 07:37:22 AM
MEP and Preacher i was thinking the same thing.
Post by: royal on December 15, 2011, 07:45:18 AM
anybody with ah decent average left foot should be seen in ah try out for T&T.
Post by: Peong on December 15, 2011, 08:14:59 AM

29.08.1999 - Bundesliga Matchday 3, SSV Ulm vs Borussia Dortmund

Line-up: SSV Ulm 1846
4-4-2:
Philipp Laux - Tamás Bódog    , Janusz Góra    , Uwe Grauer    , Janos Radoki    , Joachim Stadler    , Oliver Unsöld    - Oliver Otto    , Evans Wise    - Dragan Trkulja    , Hans van de Haar   

Line-up: Borussia Dortmund
3-4-3:
Jens Lehmann    - Evanilson    , Dedê    , Wolfgang Feiersinger    , Jürgen Kohler    , Christian Wörns    - Christian Nerlinger    , Miroslav Stevic    - Fredi Bobic    , Victor Ikpeba    , Giuseppe Reina   

http://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/en/ssv-ulm-1846_borussia-dortmund/index/spielbericht_18176.html

Yuh rate him now fitz?
Post by: Tallman on December 15, 2011, 08:17:29 AM
Hello there, Newburgh's Mike Roopchandsingh
By Justin Rodriguez (varsity845.com)

September 16, 2008

Newburgh Free Academy's Mike Roopchandsingh is a slick two-footed striker, capable of quick moves and pretty goals.

And Roopchandsingh, a senior, is also stylish off the field: Just check out his long, flowing black locks. For Roop, just like his game, his hair is a form of expression.

We talked to Roopchandsingh, who already has six goals and five assists this year, about his game and his hairdo.

So what happened to the Manny Ramirez braids you were sporting early in preseason? "I had to take them out. I like having my hair loose. Braids kind of mess up my flow."

I know it's all in good fun, but you seem to catch some flack from your teammates about your hair. "Yeah, I hear 'You look like a girl, cut your hair.' But everybody has their own style. This is my style."

Where do you get your style from? "I like Ronaldinho. I just like how he plays, distributes the ball, his touch. His tricks. I also like Anderson (from Manchester United). I did the box braids like him."

Has an opponent ever tried to pull your hair during a game? "Yeah, not too often, but it has happened. I've gotten really mad about that. I was just like, 'Don't pull my hair.' That's something you just don't do."

What would it take for you to cut your hair? "Nothing, I'm never cutting it. I've had it for three years."

How about a state championship in exchange for a haircut? "No. I can't see myself doing it, I just can't."

(http://www.recordonline.com/apps/pbcsi.dll/bilde?Site=TH&Date=20080916&Category=SPORTS31&ArtNo=809160328&Ref=AR&MaxW=570&MaxH=370&title=1&border=0)
Post by: Quags on December 15, 2011, 08:38:37 AM
mi jes look pon di video dey.. di indian bad.. Yute I neva hear bout yu.. But trus mi man.. yu gwan bad.. Yu have nuff talent yu hold di ball a lil too long but yu passes dey  nice.. I eh see why yu eh get a bligh yet  .. Like yu is one a dem Trini's who jes hearing dat Yu have sum trini in yu? anyway Yu good.. How come this yute nuh  dey pon di under 23 team.. Like TNT want america tek him or what.. Wid dat skill I suprise I eh see this yute or heard bout him.. wey him frm ? wey he live? wey he go to school? ... flex tallman we look likewe find di next latapy .. this yute badd.. 
Is latapy you say ,this kids runs tru sides like those old latas vids ,been a while since I seen a trini player do that .

Was thinking de same.
The song not right for the TTFF but it is appropriate cause he really is a bad man  .
Post by: Quags on December 15, 2011, 08:40:55 AM
Angus eve should have this kid info, he should be on the team immediately ent it.he might be the missing piece am excited over this prospect .
Post by: andre samuel on December 15, 2011, 08:58:52 AM

It isnt that significant??

Steups......................you acting like if we have this big pool of players that normally play in the major leagues in european football.

So what i am getting here is that i said that he played in the Bundesliga.......then u corrected me and said that he didnt because he only played nine games there and that wasnt significant???

???  ???  ???  ???  ???  ???

The point that i was making when i said that he played in the Bundesliga was that he cannot be as "shitty" as some of u guys are making him out to be if he played at the highest level of Geman football.

Even playing in the 2nd tier of German Football is no disgrace, because right now, with the exception of a 32yr old Carlos Edwards, we dont have any players starting for teams in the top 2 tiers in any major football country.

If this player (Roopie) reaches the levels that Wise reached, then it would be a massive achievement.

Post by: fitzinho on December 15, 2011, 09:00:18 AM

29.08.1999 - Bundesliga Matchday 3, SSV Ulm vs Borussia Dortmund

Line-up: SSV Ulm 1846
4-4-2:
Philipp Laux - Tamás Bódog    , Janusz Góra    , Uwe Grauer    , Janos Radoki    , Joachim Stadler    , Oliver Unsöld    - Oliver Otto    , Evans Wise    - Dragan Trkulja    , Hans van de Haar   

Line-up: Borussia Dortmund
3-4-3:
Jens Lehmann    - Evanilson    , Dedê    , Wolfgang Feiersinger    , Jürgen Kohler    , Christian Wörns    - Christian Nerlinger    , Miroslav Stevic    - Fredi Bobic    , Victor Ikpeba    , Giuseppe Reina   

http://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/en/ssv-ulm-1846_borussia-dortmund/index/spielbericht_18176.html

Yuh rate him now fitz?
nope lol
Post by: fitzinho on December 15, 2011, 09:13:11 AM

It isnt that significant??

Steups......................you acting like if we have this big pool of players that normally play in the major leagues in european football.

So what i am getting here is that i said that he played in the Bundesliga.......then u corrected me and said that he didnt because he only played nine games there and that wasnt significant???

???  ???  ???  ???  ???  ???

The point that i was making when i said that he played in the Bundesliga was that he cannot be as "shitty" as some of u guys are making him out to be if he played at the highest level of Geman football.

Even playing in the 2nd tier of German Football is no disgrace, because right now, with the exception of a 32yr old Carlos Edwards, we dont have any players starting for teams in the top 2 tiers in any major football country.

If this player (Roopie) reaches the levels that Wise reached, then it would be a massive achievement.

Listen fellas, I apologise if I got my facts wrong, but at the end of the day I just don't rate Evans Wise, sorry...
Post by: MEP on December 15, 2011, 09:20:17 AM
Some of allyuh watch ah man play a JUCO game and now calling for him to be on the National team...allyuh good oui
Post by: Quags on December 15, 2011, 09:22:52 AM
Some of allyuh watch ah man play a JUCO game and now calling for him to be on the National team...allyuh good oui
whats a juco game . and dont u think he good ?
Post by: Quags on December 15, 2011, 09:45:00 AM
Besides how else can find and recruit players ,roopie might be a flash in the pan or he might be the real deal ,but unless Angus takes the chance for a try out we will never know .It not like we have a pro scouting program .Like how MLbaseball find talent in the dominican and vene .What a coach like Angus has to consider is if he wants to keep his job ,he has to add players to help him win games .And if  that means ,trying out unknown commodities then so be it .
Post by: soccerman on December 15, 2011, 09:57:44 AM
Juco means junior college
Post by: lefty on December 15, 2011, 10:02:29 AM

but andre d word shitty was never used....not by me anyways....I specifically remember using d phrase "lack of industry"........and I have never seen him in in his Bundesliga days, maybe he tempered dat annoyingly bad habit of killing plays for d sake ah personal gratification but I saw him mostly in d national setup and saw many many potentially deadly plays killed dead at his feet because he put his little circus act ahead of team goals, again in D NATIONAL SETUP

but ah goh stop now dis not what d thread is about.
Post by: Quags on December 15, 2011, 10:04:40 AM
oh ok ,So for a 20 yr old like roopie is he at the approcriate level cause mep giving me the impression that hes at a lower standard than our 20 year olds .
Post by: maxg on December 15, 2011, 10:38:21 AM
Want to say so much about all the BS negative post from so many so-called professional evaluators, scouts and coaches, who have all this experience and background to do proper assessments. However I would only be contributing to the BS within the wrong post..so best I jstfu,  bout that, as i self not in a position to link nobody right now... Will just say, good luck young fella, your trying here indicates some measure of desire & determination..positive
Post by: Bakes on December 15, 2011, 10:50:05 AM
... i self not in a position to link nobody right now... Will just say, good luck young fella, your trying here indicates some measure of desire & determination..positive

This is me right here... I not no professional evaluator or nutten, I juss like what I seeing from de yute and applaud him for putting himself "out there" opening himself up to criticism.  From the piece Tallman posted from 3 years ago it clear that pardna ent lacking in confidence, which is a great thing.  Stay humble and grounded, but have ultimate belief in yourself and your destiny and nobody will ever take that from you.
Post by: tempo on December 15, 2011, 11:26:50 AM
The kid actually has shades of Sherwood. Nice first touch, good vision, ok speed. It would be interesting to see him play behind the forwards. Piece of advice though, be mindful of the music on your videos and also have a separate youtube channel from your personal footage. No need to handicap yourself.
Post by: Football supporter on December 15, 2011, 11:28:46 AM
IMO this guy has a lot of potential. He should have tried professional football at 17 or 18, but 20 is not too late. He has natural ability and has added a repetoire of his own moves (maybe copied, but still his own.) He has good vision, runs well on and off the ball and can pass well (from what we've seen). What stands him out for me is his energy and willingness to take a gamble and make a run off the ball. I'd like to see him in the ProLeague for half a season, learning the game and then we can see his true potential.
Post by: FireBrand on December 15, 2011, 11:39:31 AM
IMO this guy has a lot of potential. He should have tried professional football at 17 or 18, but 20 is not too late. He has natural ability and has added a repetoire of his own moves (maybe copied, but still his own.) He has good vision, runs well on and off the ball and can pass well (from what we've seen). What stands him out for me is his energy and willingness to take a gamble and make a run off the ball. I'd like to see him in the ProLeague for half a season, learning the game and then we can see his true potential.

Sign him up FS! ;D  He will be in T&T in January.
Post by: Controversial on December 15, 2011, 12:09:17 PM
nice touches and vision... :beermug:

i have some connects, youthman link meh
Post by: Mango Chow! on December 15, 2011, 01:03:43 PM
I like d yute man touches....ah go refrain from saying just yet that he does hold on to d ball too long....hadda see the rest of the team play.  He might be their most talented player and only real attacking option and may have a lot of resposnibility in taking the game to their opponents, so.....but he DEFINITELY have some vision and he did seem to pass the ball off just as often as he kept it himself.  Two things I WOULD recommend he work on is his speed and his shooting.  you can never have enough speed and the better the shooter, the more lethal a player like this will be.  A man who can pass well, dribble good and shoot, too, he go mash up defenses! Good luck, young man.
Post by: Eldo man on December 15, 2011, 01:50:40 PM
Michael Roopchandsingh (Roopie). Dan you are very talanted. Nice left foot. Where do you play at right now? i saw your Junior college won national championship this year. Seem like you are not playing there any more. Are you at another college finishing up your last two years. I looked at your face book page, if it's the correct page based on your name. I  really hope yuh will not turn out to be another wasted talented. Don't want to sould like i passing any judgment king but de way ah man present himself is very important expecially if yuh trying to mak it at a professional level. Remember yuh not there yet and you are trying to get there. Good luck and looking forward to a response. If yuh need some help[ and you are serious i know a few people that might be willing to help you. link meh back!!!
Post by: MEP on December 15, 2011, 01:52:45 PM
oh ok ,So for a 20 yr old like roopie is he at the approcriate level cause mep giving me the impression that hes at a lower standard than our 20 year olds .
If you read my very first post I did say de yute has some talent. However, let's not get ahead of ourselves. Let's understand the level of the clip that was posted. What he does in that game is impressive but against stronger opponents and smarter players how does he adjust his game? Is he locked into a mode where he always has to dribble? buh dat is besides the point. I could tell you most coaches when they look at a clip they look at it from the standpoint of what they don't see.
Post by: Coop's on December 15, 2011, 02:08:04 PM
Sorry but i really have to laugh here,i still trying to understand why this post get so long,all the kid ask for is some connections for a tryout and is like he is being tried right here on the forum,peeps look at two pieces of video and could tell you he ready for national team duty,he like Evans Wise,Ronaldinho etc etc It have a lot of guys in T&T with that same kind of ability and more is just that they can't make a vidoe and send for nobody,go down in Toco,Manzanilla,Valencia,the North Coast etc etc  ;D
Post by: Mr Fix-it on December 15, 2011, 02:12:11 PM
Sorry but i really have to laugh here,i still trying to understand why this post get so long,all the kid ask for is some connections for a tryout and is like he is being tried right here on the forum,peeps look at two pieces of video and could tell you he ready for national team duty,he like Evans Wise,Ronaldinho etc etc It have a lot of guys in T&T with that same kind of ability and more is just that they can't make a vidoe and send for nobody,go down in Toco,Manzanilla,Valencia,the North Coast etc etc  ;D

Coops yu wicked LOL.  All jokes aside who have links, help the brudda out.  Sometimes das all yu need to make it big and in the end we could say we help someone.  :beermug:
Post by: Eldo man on December 15, 2011, 02:15:32 PM
My mom accused me of being a liar. I looked at her in the face & said, “tooth fairy, Santa Clause, Easter bunny.” & walked away like a boss.

Attitude is everything king!!! base on what you post on your Face book page above says alot about you. Change yuh ways youth man and then yuh might have some luck!! As said before yuh ent reach yet. good luck
Post by: MEP on December 15, 2011, 02:22:54 PM
I is old school Trini...if yuh could talk to yuh mudder like dat and post it on facebook...what then would you tell a coach who is not related to you? Yuh jes raise a red flag dey.
Post by: Quags on December 15, 2011, 02:44:29 PM
detectives on the case boy .
Post by: DeSoWa on December 15, 2011, 02:48:08 PM
Ppl taking FB post and walking with it like is gospel oui...lawd...what next!  ::)

Post by: Eldo man on December 15, 2011, 02:54:21 PM
Nah it ent that!! My thing is how ah man carry about him self says alot about him. De man good I never say he not good. However how many ballers come from trini that never make it because of attitude.
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 15, 2011, 02:59:21 PM
Detectives will lose dey wuk, cause dey investigations uninformed.
That is not a quote from de youth. That is a common joke going around de internet.
Post by: Bakes on December 15, 2011, 03:17:03 PM
Allyuh realize that FB thing is part of an email chain joke... right?
Post by: Football supporter on December 15, 2011, 03:19:25 PM
That is not a quote from de youth. That is a common joke going around de internet.

True....but you hear youths quoting people like 50 cent "Get rich or die tryin" and you look at them differently. Youth humour will always push boundaries but when your looking to get work, you have to keep that side private. The man put himself under a spotlight, but he should be advised on how to present himself. One comment like that can make a coach decide to go with a "clean cut" youth rather than a gangsta wannabe. I'm not saying the man is bad, but you don't get a second chance to make a first impression.
Post by: Quags on December 15, 2011, 03:21:36 PM
haha good thing you guys up to speed cause ,they done brand the kid already.
this is getting beyond ridiculous .
Post by: Quags on December 15, 2011, 03:23:35 PM
6 runs there coops ,yep let me double check .I think that shot went beyond the boundary .
Post by: Daft Trini on December 15, 2011, 04:07:54 PM
Fax Number for DC United Open try outs and camps. 

202-587-5411

Nolan Sheldon
Director, D.C. United Camps
202-587-5447
nsheldon@dcunited.com

Chad Ashton is the TD and you will want to contact him.

D.C. United  |  2400 East Capitol Street, SE  |  Washington, D.C. 20003  |  202-587-5000

Also hit the gym, what's your stats in de weight room....?

Brian Wiese is the Coach at Georgetown University.

Lee Reed   Director of Athletics   687-6513   athletics@georgetown.edu
Post by: Trinimassive on December 15, 2011, 04:15:57 PM
Nah it ent that!! My thing is how ah man carry about him self says alot about him. De man good I never say he not good. However how many ballers come from trini that never make it because of attitude.

Correct!

But I ent no defender of the fella but he "attitude" is what also make him decide to post here looking for help.

Ah think he probably like to play the a** in he down time, yuh know...kinda like Balotelli lol.
Now if he ent buss the net like Balotelli then he go ha tuh get Mutombo finger wave
Post by: just cool on December 15, 2011, 05:07:02 PM
Christ boy, this board could be real fackin annoying yes! listen ppl, the bredder reached out to us for help, so if allyuh feel the youth helpable, then help him, if not, then just ignore him, but please don't put the fella on ah chopping block ppl, bc if that was me, i would just close the window to this site and never return!

for crying out loud, why all the fackin scrutiny? just help the kid will yuh!
Post by: Quags on December 15, 2011, 05:15:37 PM
so u think the music choice wont affect him negatively ?
Post by: just cool on December 15, 2011, 07:56:40 PM
so u think the music choice wont affect him negatively ?
@ all! and if that's the case, then they are hypocrites big time and is seriously suffering from the bertille st clair syndrome!

hypocrisy bc their press officer (sean fuentes) presents training sessions with the said genre of music, and to besides, the TTFF need all the fackin help they can get. the last i checked, beggars can't be choosers!
Post by: Fyzoman on December 15, 2011, 08:13:17 PM
Men could talk all dey want bout JUCO dis and JUCO dat, and it ha youth like Roopie "ah dime ah dozen" in TnT... I cyah remember de last time I see ah TnT youth displaying dat level of skill and running-at-men-ability. Men getting on like if JUCO players start playing football big and eh have no skill at all.

We won't even get into talking bout how some rel good high school players never make it to/at 4-year colleges for whatever reason or de other

Give de youth ah bligh, who knows he might end up being we lil diamond in de rough, or he could end having Eve or some other coach embarrass him de way Anton Corneal did embarrass dat one US-player some years ago:)
Post by: Mango Chow! on December 15, 2011, 09:54:28 PM
I really doh see the music being an issue......if the boy is good enough and can be an on-field asset to any team, They aren't going to care one bit what music was on his YouTube video. 
Post by: Controversial on December 16, 2011, 08:56:56 AM
man chatting about his musical choice? ???

focus on the football, something most on here can't do, always straying off topic with some out of timing nonsense.

roopie forget the fools who are talking about your musical choice, send the info to the ttff and people who have reached out to you thus far.

Post by: Controversial on December 16, 2011, 08:59:13 AM
I like d yute man touches....ah go refrain from saying just yet that he does hold on to d ball too long....hadda see the rest of the team play.  He might be their most talented player and only real attacking option and may have a lot of resposnibility in taking the game to their opponents, so.....but he DEFINITELY have some vision and he did seem to pass the ball off just as often as he kept it himself.  Two things I WOULD recommend he work on is his speed and his shooting.  you can never have enough speed and the better the shooter, the more lethal a player like this will be.  A man who can pass well, dribble good and shoot, too, he go mash up defenses! Good luck, young man.

and what makes you think he is slow and needs to work on his speed?
Post by: Controversial on December 16, 2011, 09:03:50 AM
My mom accused me of being a liar. I looked at her in the face & said, “tooth fairy, Santa Clause, Easter bunny.” & walked away like a boss.

Attitude is everything king!!! base on what you post on your Face book page above says alot about you. Change yuh ways youth man and then yuh might have some luck!! As said before yuh ent reach yet. good luck

allyuh fellahs is real macco men...

why you trying to damage the youths character on ah public forum? ::)

he ask for help for football and you bringing up the youth's family business, what does this have to do with football and you?

are you his father to scold and discipline him or mother?

stick to the football, no wonder The HERD get pong so much the other day, same foolishness
Post by: Controversial on December 16, 2011, 09:08:09 AM
my friend who works with the chicago fire said there are open try outs this weekend

if you can reach chicago you can get a look, let me know if its possible, if not, there are other options
Post by: Daft Trini on December 16, 2011, 09:49:46 AM
Send Brent Sancho yuh video...
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on December 16, 2011, 12:05:48 PM
Dis forum rell full ah some self righteous kakaholes bad oui!  MAn here gettin on like dey have opportunies to offer and screening.  So go on de yute facebook and see ah f**kin joke but so outtatimin dat yuh come back to hold it against de yute like is he sentiments.  I swear is like some ah allyuh is cont dat drop from f**kin space oui!!  If yuh ha links offer, if yuh ha none hush yuh cont caw none ah allyuh eh coachin no f**kin national team
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 16, 2011, 12:57:07 PM
some real womanish man on this forum. the young man ask for allyuh help. help out or STFU. man running on facebook and downcrying the boy music yes. unbelieveable

yute you have good skills and athletic ability, keep knocking on doors. but just remember inT&T things move very slowly and people will often get back to you at the last minute, if at all. good luck to you
Post by: asylumseeker on December 16, 2011, 01:33:15 PM
my friend who works with the chicago fire said there are open try outs this weekend

if you can reach chicago you can get a look, let me know if its possible, if not, there are other options

That door is now closed ... and as a slightly cracked door it is, at best, mostly an income generating mechanism.
Post by: lefty on December 16, 2011, 01:38:01 PM
some real womanish man on this forum. the young man ask for allyuh help. help out or STFU. man running on facebook and downcrying the boy music yes. unbelieveable

yute you have good skills and athletic ability, keep knocking on doors. but just remember inT&T things move very slowly and people will often get back to you at the last minute, if at all. good luck to you
:thumbsup:
Post by: Quags on December 16, 2011, 02:00:11 PM
I want updates from roopie tho ,hope he stays in contact with us .even tho coop say he could find many like him .Coops u need bring these men sar,even doh i think roopie is better than you where  ;D

btw he should should contact latapy ,send the vid ,latas need to show him how to ride tackles a little better .and hook him upin scotland one time .
Post by: kiffysmooth on December 16, 2011, 02:57:38 PM
On a side note, I call DC United to find out when d next open trials is, and d man run me off d phone.  He tell meh it eh have no open trials.. is by invite only.  My new year resolution was to hit d gymn and goh and goh d trial.  Dat real dampen meh spirits oui! Hopefully philly union have one in d spring, I goh try for dah one.  I know ah wouldnt mek d team, but ah goh mek d forum proud.  Ah goh tek two chree picture and send it for all yuh when ah reach!
Post by: Quags on December 16, 2011, 02:59:45 PM
On a side note, I call DC United to find out when d next open trials is, and d man run me off d phone.  He tell meh it eh have no open trials.. is by invite only.  My new year resolution was to hit d gymn and goh and goh d trial.  Dat real dampen meh spirits oui! Hopefully philly union have one in d spring, I goh try for dah one.  I know ah wouldnt mek d team, but ah goh mek d forum proud.  Ah goh tek two chree picture and send it for all yuh when ah reach!
get ah link up for India .
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 16, 2011, 03:05:12 PM

kiffy why yuh doh try out for dempo, ah hear they looking for midfielders ;D
Post by: Quags on December 16, 2011, 03:08:37 PM
ah telling yah this man could have links for Vietnam and India on speed dial lol .
Post by: MEP on December 16, 2011, 03:49:21 PM

I really don't know what rock you're living under but examining a person's facebook page is the norm as it gives an insight as  to what that person is like. Nobody is downcrying the boy but I could tell you what most coaches that I know including myself are turned off when someone sends you a clip or a dvd where the music is loud as you find yourself trying to zone out the music. It take too much effort.
Post by: DeSoWa on December 16, 2011, 03:59:24 PM

I really don't know what rock you're living under but examining a person's facebook page is the norm as it gives an insight as  to what that person is like. Nobody is downcrying the boy but I could tell you what most coaches that I know including myself are turned off when someone sends you a clip or a dvd where the music is loud as you find yourself trying to zone out the music. It take too much effort.

Um, there are volume controls and mute buttons.... ::)

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on December 16, 2011, 04:00:43 PM

guess you musse never learn about de mute button ent?!!  Allyuh rell f**kin schupid oui.  So you would miss out on ah potential talent because you cah lower de volume?  dat songin like some kinda half ah cont syndrome  ::)
Post by: MEP on December 16, 2011, 04:05:13 PM

guess you musse never learn about de mute button ent?!!  Allyuh rell f**kin schupid oui.  So you would miss out on ah potential talent because you cah lower de volume?  dat songin like some kinda half ah cont syndrome  ::)

yeah yuh right because yuh really doh want to listen or see if you could catch the players saying or giving instruction on the field
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 16, 2011, 04:13:36 PM

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on December 16, 2011, 04:19:57 PM

yeah yuh right because yuh really doh want to listen or see if you could catch the players saying or giving instruction on the field

Hoss de video is simply to give yuh ah glimpse of the players skills.  Think of it as an ice breaker/ introduction. It isn't by any stretch nor should it be used as a comprehensive evaluation tool.  So unless you name sir alex and is schneider or modric you linin up, all dat shyte yuh talk from before was ah jumbo size pack ah f**kry.  If yuh see something that garner yuh interest then yuh try out de yute plain and simple.   
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 16, 2011, 04:30:09 PM
i guess we have to run on facebook to make sure we have no womanizers, bad johns and pot smokers and overconfident yutes on we teams eddah! thank god it never had facebook in yorkie and latas time.
Post by: Quags on December 16, 2011, 04:31:04 PM
i guess we have to run on facebook to make sure we have no womanizers, bad johns and pot smokers and overconfident yutes on we teams eddah! thank god it never had facebook in yorkie and latas time.
Fassbook
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on December 16, 2011, 04:40:01 PM

Imagine dis shit eh?!!!
Post by: Football supporter on December 16, 2011, 06:42:18 PM
While allyuh fighting each other down, you should consider that there are some very good - and real- points being made. A football coach gets sent dozens, if not hundreds of player videos. Time dictates that you glance through and maybe select a few for closer scrutiny. Human nature dictates that if your first impression of the first 30 seconds is negative, you will move on. Fellas here just trying to help the guy.

Personally, I'm wondering why the youth not responding to PMs after 3 days if he's so keen to play. That may be the biggest negative so far.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 16, 2011, 07:20:10 PM
While allyuh fighting each other down, you should consider that there are some very good - and real- points being made. A football coach gets sent dozens, if not hundreds of player videos. Time dictates that you glance through and maybe select a few for closer scrutiny. Human nature dictates that if your first impression of the first 30 seconds is negative, you will move on. Fellas here just trying to help the guy.

Personally, I'm wondering why the youth not responding to PMs after 3 days if he's so keen to play. That may be the biggest negative so far.

BINGO!!!!!
Post by: Quags on December 16, 2011, 07:29:32 PM
how many he has to answer ,tell him next time to do yours first .
Post by: Quags on December 16, 2011, 07:30:48 PM

BINGO!!!!!
ah feeling hate ,

BINGO!!!!!
how dare he .
Post by: Preacher on December 16, 2011, 08:30:37 PM
This thing reach all here?  Roops way yuh.  Doh mind them fellas.  We would all like to know you and support your career bro.  Ain't no scene feel welcome.

Post by: Football supporter on December 16, 2011, 09:38:51 PM

BINGO!!!!!
ah feeling hate ,

BINGO!!!!!
how dare he .

Whats your point? Now people are being a nuisance because they are interested in helping with his request?

Not sure what planet you're from, but if you send out your c.v. and get responses, the smart thing to do is check them frequently and respond, either in the positive or with a polite "no thanks". Football is a business and your window of opportunity opens and closes quickly. If he has any interest in playing in the Pro League, the transfer window closes in January and everything shuts down from next week until after New Year. Also, the football world is very small, and a polite "no thank you" goes a lot further than no response at all.

Your sarcasm isn't helpful when people are trying to behave professionally.
Post by: Bakes on December 17, 2011, 12:56:08 AM

BINGO!!!!!
I wouldn't read too much into that just yet. He has a grand total of... wait, let me call check... one post! Obviously he's new to the forum and probably hasn't gotten around to checking yet.
Post by: elan on December 17, 2011, 01:12:11 AM

That door is now closed ... and as a slightly cracked door it is, at best, mostly an income generating mechanism.

Meh pardna went today and get the fees and everything waived. Made it through the first set of cuts.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 17, 2011, 03:08:16 AM

BINGO!!!!!
I wouldn't read too much into that just yet. He has a grand total of... wait, let me call check... one post! Obviously he's new to the forum and probably hasn't gotten around to checking yet.

There is no correlation here between posts and PMs. I can assure you that the number of his PMs sent exceed the number of his posts made. I stand by FS and his response to Quags.

This thread has an excess amount of speculation and tangential shit, and tempting as it is to engage some of it with a more suitable, less measured, more informed response, I will keep the focus on what really matters here. Suffice it to say ... until FS rendered that comment in public space, I had a substantial enough basis on which to arrive at a similar opinion privately.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 17, 2011, 03:21:28 AM

Meh pardna went today and get the fees and everything waived. Made it through the first set of cuts.

Lucky bastard  ;D.
Post by: kicker on December 17, 2011, 07:46:51 AM
After 5 pages of ole talk, anyone knows if this fella get a proper link?
Post by: elan on December 17, 2011, 11:24:55 AM

Lucky bastard  ;D.

Yes he is
Post by: Preacher on December 17, 2011, 09:49:11 PM
Who is yuh pardnar?..   Are you refering to Roops?
Post by: elan on December 17, 2011, 10:24:52 PM
Who is yuh pardnar?..   Are you refering to Roops?

Nah.....
Post by: Mango Chow! on December 18, 2011, 08:10:34 AM

and what makes you think he is slow and needs to work on his speed?

Nah, jed, I don't think he is slow nor do I think that he NEEDS to work on his speed.  I simply suggested it from a purely impartial and non-judgmental perspective which is why I said "...you can never have enough speed...".  I hope the youth didn't see my post and take it as me jusdging/evaluating him, either.  I am in no position to do either.  I just suggested something ah know cyah hurt him if he took it well to heart.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 18, 2011, 08:52:49 AM
Elan, yuh pardna live in dem parts?
Post by: Eldo man on December 18, 2011, 09:30:47 AM

he ask for help for football and you bringing up the youth's family business, what does this have to do with football and you?

stick to the football, no wonder The HERD get pong so much the other day, same foolishness
Controversal nobody ent trying to dam de man bridge. I acknowledge de youth man have talent. I never say de man is ah shyt hound. What you fail to realize is that is thousands and hundreds of nen looking to make it at the next level. First impression counts king! If you don't thing de way a man present himself is not important will then I hope yuh ent have ah fuc*ing daughter!!  What i trying to tell yuh is de vibes ah man bring is very important. I play with nuff talented players and their vibes/ the way they carry about then selves was a hinder them from making it to the next level.  What i want to know from Roopie is where he is playing at right now. He went to Junior College. Is he playing at a division one program, or division 2? With all that talent on the video I am sure lots of other coaches like what they saw. I want de man to update we on his progress. If I am a college coach and I see ah man showing up he middle fingure for de world to see, talking bout he was drunk and all ah that the first thing I thinking is, is this youth level headed. Yes everyone does drink yes, everone does cuss but doh display it all over ah website. What yuh telling me is i don't give ah shyt about what people think i will do me!! That ent no attitude to have. If you think Social Media will not fuc**k up ah man chances in making it in life yuh living under ah rock pal.. Remember this feller trying to make. All men trying to do is tell de man carry about yuh self in ah more professional way and with de talent yuh have doors will open for yuh. Simple as that!!!
Post by: Quags on December 18, 2011, 10:06:10 AM

Controversal nobody ent trying to dam de man bridge. I acknowledge de youth man have talent. I never say de man is ah shyt hound. What you fail to realize is that is thousands and hundreds of nen looking to make it at the next level. First impression counts king! If you don't thing de way a man present himself is not important will then I hope yuh ent have ah fuc*ing daughter!!  What i trying to tell yuh is de vibes ah man bring is very important. I play with nuff talented players and their vibes/ the way they carry about then selves was a hinder them from making it to the next level.  What i want to know from Roopie is where he is playing at right now. He went to Junior College. Is he playing at a division one program, or division 2? With all that talent on the video I am sure lots of other coaches like what they saw. I want de man to update we on his progress. If I am a college coach and I see ah man showing up he middle fingure for de world to see, talking bout he was drunk and all ah that the first thing I thinking is, is this youth level headed. Yes everyone does drink yes, everone does cuss but doh display it all over ah website. What yuh telling me is i don't give ah shyt about what people think i will do me!! That ent no attitude to have. If you think Social Media will not fuc**k up ah man chances in making it in life yuh living under ah rock pal.. Remember this feller trying to make. All men trying to do is tell de man carry about yuh self in ah more professional way and with de talent yuh have doors will open for yuh. Simple as that!!!
Where the hell u seeing the man showing middle finger and drinking now .What the hell is wrong with you man .
Post by: Quags on December 18, 2011, 10:09:35 AM
Roopie don answer nobody them men sabotaging u ,but indian yah bad ,u already get the links from firebrand hes cool so are flex and tallman . I wish u can do that for our national team ,first Indian in 3 decades if u make it .good luck .
Post by: Daft Trini on December 18, 2011, 11:15:31 AM
Roopie yuh info was passed on to Brent Sancho, American University and Howard University... hopefully if they find yuh nice they might give yuh ah call.

Daft Dubya Trini.
Post by: Roopie10 on December 18, 2011, 12:05:03 PM
I really appriciate EVERYTHING, I really feel like my career can kick off, I am new to this website so I dont really know how to work this, but i have got emails and information, my direct email is Roopchandsingh7@aol.com, I will take the replys all as positive and work on what I think I lack in, you can only better yourself as a footballer. Apologies for anything on facebook, now that I am getting some recognition, now i know i cant slip up and give things for people to point out. Bless..1 love
Post by: Football supporter on December 18, 2011, 12:31:09 PM
I really appriciate EVERYTHING, I really feel like my career can kick off, I am new to this website so I dont really know how to work this, but i have got emails and information, my direct email is Roopchandsingh7@aol.com, I will take the replys all as positive and work on what I think I lack in, you can only better yourself as a footballer. Apologies for anything on facebook, now that I am getting some recognition, now i know i cant slip up and give things for people to point out. Bless..1 love

:beermug:     Youths allowed to make mistakes bro.....but the best ones learn from them! I'm seeing you maturing and developing a more professional attitude. You may have taken a few licks here, but if you're big enough to accept that the majority of criticism is well meaning, then I believe you have seen the value in this site. Looking forward to seeing more of you on the ball in the New Year.
Post by: Bakes on December 18, 2011, 01:56:45 PM

There is no correlation here between posts and PMs. I can assure you that the number of his PMs sent exceed the number of his posts made. I stand by FS and his response to Quags.

This thread has an excess amount of speculation and tangential shit, and tempting as it is to engage some of it with a more suitable, less measured, more informed response, I will keep the focus on what really matters here. Suffice it to say ... until FS rendered that comment in public space, I had a substantial enough basis on which to arrive at a similar opinion privately.

I honestly have no idea what you're going on about. I made no correlation between the number of his posts and his PMs "sent" (received?)". My point is he obviously doesn't visit the forum a whole lot as can be inferred (though not definitively) from his lone post. The implication being we don't know that he's received notification of his PMs.

In fact, reading his post now it seems to confirm what I am alluding to.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 18, 2011, 02:06:12 PM

I honestly have no idea what you're going on about. I made no correlation between the number of his posts and his PMs "sent" (received?)". My point is he obviously doesn't visit the forum a whole lot as can be inferred (though not definitively) from his lone post. The implication being we don't know that he's received notification of his PMs.

Go and do this ... :banginghead: We? Inferred? Probably? Implication? Anyhow ...

Post by: Bakes on December 18, 2011, 02:09:47 PM

I thought you had more sense.

What you think is pretty immaterial, now isn't it?
Post by: asylumseeker on December 18, 2011, 02:22:55 PM

That's ironic.
Post by: Eldo man on December 18, 2011, 02:41:24 PM

Roopie, great reply! Don't want you to think that fellers was just trying to fight you down. Just wanted to let you know that it is important to carry about your self in a respectable way. You are a talented kid and hope things work out for you. Just take everything from this forum in a postive way. Bless
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 18, 2011, 06:37:34 PM

Roopie, great reply! Don't want you to think that fellers was just trying to fight you down. Just wanted to let you know that it is important to carry about your self in a respectable way. You are a talented kid and hope things work out for you. Just take everything from this forum in a postive way. Bless

eldo man, like ah peg yuh wrong...great post!
Post by: soccerman on December 19, 2011, 02:40:08 PM
:beermug: All the best. Keep the positive attitude and you stand a chance the excel, from your response I can tell you have the drive and determination.
Post by: Flex on January 12, 2012, 05:31:09 PM
I manage to get Mike a trial with the Under 23 team also.

He should be in T&T month end.

Again, King and Ferguson was very cooperative.
Post by: soccerman on January 12, 2012, 07:54:54 PM
What Flex yuh wuking....just now yuh's ah big time agent.
Post by: triniairman on January 23, 2012, 02:58:49 PM
Just notice this youth among the U23 team for the Finland game on the 25th. Good job Roop and good looking out Flex!!
Post by: boss on January 24, 2012, 05:32:19 AM
Just notice this youth among the U23 team for the Finland game on the 25th. Good job Roop and good looking out Flex!!

:applause: :beermug:
Post by: D.H.W on January 24, 2012, 06:00:59 AM
Mash dem up Roop
Post by: Ngozi on January 24, 2012, 07:37:14 AM
I manage to get Mike a trial with the Under 23 team also.

He should be in T&T month end.

Again, King and Ferguson was very cooperative.

Great stuff Flex !!! great stuff!!!   :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Fyzoman on January 24, 2012, 11:48:49 AM
YO!!! Dis forum is de best!!
So December 13th de ole Roop decide to post on here, and thru man like Flex he getting ah chance to rep the Red, White and Black!!!

If he make it dis will be a boss story...especially as play JUCO ball;)
Post by: Flex on January 24, 2012, 03:46:18 PM
So December 13th de ole Roop decide to post on here, and thru man like Flex he getting ah chance to rep the Red, White and Black!!!

He contacted me first and I was the one who advised him to post his video here.

I heard that he is doing ok, but he is feeling a little off as the other players not welcoming him to much.

He said the guys there are at a very high level, nothing he has experience before.
Post by: kev on January 24, 2012, 04:50:34 PM

I heard that he is doing ok, but he is feeling a little off as the other players not welcoming him to much.

He said the guys there are at a very high level, nothing he has experience before.

Well thats what learning is all about, if nothing else he will get a feeling for where the bar is set.

It is a good place this, nice to see the lad got a helping hand.

I watched the video and he has some nice bits of skill, if he is still reading I would point out one thing which coaches will tell him and won't like.  He gets his head up and uses the ball niceley a couple of times in the video in the middle of the park.  But on a couple of occasions at the edge of the box he beats his man 2, 3 or 4 times.  Theres no need, its a waste use the ball better quicker and get it across, its the forwards job to be there.  If you look you'll see the forwards end up waiting and marked when it gets in, you also don't need to get past to cross just get a yard and put it around the full back.  The forwards will appreciate it more and the coaches will like it a lot more, but its all down to learning and experience.  Hope you do well. 
Post by: Daft Trini on January 24, 2012, 04:56:30 PM
It will be insane if Roopie Score  ;D

Best of luck brother (war say he buying a shirt with yuh name on it)
Post by: just cool on January 24, 2012, 06:07:58 PM

Local based trinis have ah real problem being welcoming to foreigners, even if it's xpats. this is one of the reasons i hate going home, to much red eye. ah hope the kid hang in and don't allow that tuh deter him from the national set up. good luck mike, sooner or later they'll have to come around.      hang tight.
Post by: Peong on January 24, 2012, 06:44:24 PM
Well thats what learning is all about, if nothing else he will get a feeling for where the bar is set.

I watched the video and he has some nice bits of skill, if he is still reading I would point out one thing which coaches will tell him and won't like.  He gets his head up and uses the ball niceley a couple of times in the video in the middle of the park.  But on a couple of occasions at the edge of the box he beats his man 2, 3 or 4 times.  Theres no need, its a waste use the ball better quicker and get it across, its the forwards job to be there.  If you look you'll see the forwards end up waiting and marked when it gets in, you also don't need to get past to cross just get a yard and put it around the full back.  The forwards will appreciate it more and the coaches will like it a lot more, but its all down to learning and experience.  Hope you do well. 

If all a player wants to do is cross then yes, a yard will do.  But if a player can get past his marker and bear down on the penalty area, he will draw a defender away from a striker. Plus he won't have to hit and hope from 25 yards, he can play a shorter pass that is easier to make accurate. 
English play vs Brasileiro play.
Post by: truetrini on January 24, 2012, 07:24:59 PM

Local based trinis have ah real problem being welcoming to foreigners, even if it's xpats. this is one of the reasons i hate going home, to much red eye. ah hope the kid hang in and don't allow that tuh deter him from the national set up. good luck mike, sooner or later they'll have to come around.      hang tight.

I don't think that has anything to do with it!

I think this is a case of a NEW man joining late on in a program where the players have been together for many years and have been through the fire.  Now here is a new man coming to take the place of one of the comrades.

Think about it.
Post by: triniairman on January 24, 2012, 07:31:40 PM

When I read that, forgive me, but the first thing that came to my mind was his race of being Indian decent. Now I could be wrong, but isn't he like the only Indian player on the team? I know it does not sound right, but in this generation of youths we have,anything is possible. Or maybe it's the fact that they made it this far, and here comes this fellar trying to play like Ronaldinho and might just take somebody spot.
Post by: truetrini on January 24, 2012, 07:32:22 PM
maybe it's the fact that they made it this far, and here comes this fellar trying to play like Ronaldinho and might just take somebody spot.
Post by: morvant on January 24, 2012, 08:48:38 PM
allyuh forget this team together since them was like 13-14
Post by: Fyzoman on January 24, 2012, 09:44:29 PM

When I read that, forgive me, but the first thing that came to my mind was his race of being Indian decent. Now I could be wrong, but isn't he like the only Indian player on the team? I know it does not sound right, but in this generation of youths we have,anything is possible. Or maybe it's the fact that they made it this far, and here comes this fellar trying to play like Ronaldinho and might just take somebody spot.
I don't think he's the only new addition, no?
This is where a good coach earns his keep...(ah doh like saying this) but if it was me and ah man get drafted in and ripping, he could be indian, Carib, or Arawak he getting ah bligh!!!

But before we all get carried away, leh we wait and see what happen....like ah said after I see de man video, I LOVE how he running at people like he feel he could beat anybody, ah effing love dat!!!
Post by: Bakes on January 24, 2012, 10:06:08 PM
allyuh forget this team together since them was like 13-14

Good point... Roopie need to just recognize the situation for what it is and don't let it get him down.  God-willing he gets a chance to try out for a professional club (especially a foreign one) and it will be pretty much the same thing he'll be facing, only much more cut-throat.
Post by: Cocorite on January 25, 2012, 12:12:01 AM
Speculations
Post by: elan on January 25, 2012, 12:21:51 AM
Look how easy locals does get a bad name.
Post by: kev on January 25, 2012, 03:56:57 AM

If all a player wants to do is cross then yes, a yard will do.  But if a player can get past his marker and bear down on the penalty area, he will draw a defender away from a striker. Plus he won't have to hit and hope from 25 yards, he can play a shorter pass that is easier to make accurate. 
English play vs Brasileiro play.

Peong thats not the point I was trying to make and obviously failed.  A couple of times he is at the byeline and does 2/3/4 turns with people waiting / running in having already made the opportunity to put it in, in those instances he should put it in rather than do the extra turns. What tends to happen in those instances is that the players waste opportunities because the defender has 2/3/4 bites of the cherry to win the ball back, block the cross.  Its all about opinions, experience and learning, but most coaches will say having done the hard work, don't waste the opportunity.   I agree with you defenders hate nothing more than players running into the box at an angle towards goal at pace and twisting and turning, a lot of times it can result in a penalty. 

It does come down to experience, coaching and personal preferences and lads that are trying to get noticed do like and need to show their skills off, but they also need to show an end product and understanding of the game.  Personally I couldn't be happier that we (English) seem to be finally grasping the idea of skill over physical attributes and coaching the youngsters accordingly.
Post by: just cool on January 25, 2012, 04:15:40 AM
Look how easy locals does get a bad name.
Wid all dat, you eh going back home and live doh! ppl like allyuh only puttin on ah show so folks could think that yuh so lovveeee yuh stone age country, but allyuh eh foolin no one BC action speaks louder than words.

it have nuff trini livin abroad who luv tuh talk bout trini nice bc they does go for ah two weeks and shake they tail and come right back to the comfort and safety of north america and the UK, but ask them if they want tuh give up their immigration status and move back "nice" and lovely trinidad, yuh will see how much they think trini nice then.

Post by: Sam on January 25, 2012, 06:55:48 AM
truetrini SC, I hope that is de case, because when de traitor Aaron Maund join T&T he did not help them qualify and just came in and play for T&T in the WC and his teammates welcome him with open arms.

I really hope de youths mind in T&T was not corrupted with de indian vs creole thing.

Bull them hard Roopie !!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Peong on January 25, 2012, 07:12:49 AM
Peong thats not the point I was trying to make and obviously failed.  A couple of times he is at the byeline and does 2/3/4 turns with people waiting / running in having already made the opportunity to put it in, in those instances he should put it in rather than do the extra turns. What tends to happen in those instances is that the players waste opportunities because the defender has 2/3/4 bites of the cherry to win the ball back, block the cross.  Its all about opinions, experience and learning, but most coaches will say having done the hard work, don't waste the opportunity.   I agree with you defenders hate nothing more than players running into the box at an angle towards goal at pace and twisting and turning, a lot of times it can result in a penalty. 

It does come down to experience, coaching and personal preferences and lads that are trying to get noticed do like and need to show their skills off, but they also need to show an end product and understanding of the game.  Personally I couldn't be happier that we (English) seem to be finally grasping the idea of skill over physical attributes and coaching the youngsters accordingly.

:thumbsup:
Post by: andre samuel on January 25, 2012, 07:39:01 AM
truetrini SC, I hope that is de case, because when de traitor Aaron Maund join T&T he did not help them qualify and just came in and play for T&T in the WC and his teammates welcome him with open arms.

I really hope de youths mind in T&T was not corrupted with de indian vs creole thing.

Bull them hard Roopie !!!!!!!!!!

Two points i want to make here

1.  When Maund came into the side, they were alot younger and a little more impressionable as youthmen.  But now having matured a little as well as having the experience of Maund going on the play for USA (although i have heard that it was lack of interest from the TTFF that cause him/his father to make the switch), they would be once bitten, twice shy to open their hearts/arms to a newcomer.

2.  I see no place for a race issue...........triniairman brought it up (apparently it was in his thoughts)

Post by: Quags on January 25, 2012, 08:54:23 AM
they need goals ,that is paramount .ifhe scores he joins there crew.that is all.
Post by: warmonga on January 25, 2012, 09:35:54 AM
It will be insane if Roopie Score  ;D

Best of luck brother (war say he buying a shirt with yuh name on it)
Dats right ... :beermug:

Post by: Flex on January 25, 2012, 04:57:16 PM
Unfortunately Mike did not make team.
Post by: triniairman on January 25, 2012, 05:00:01 PM
Of course not!! Don't give up Roopie, the U.S always looking for good players!!
Post by: Cocorite on January 25, 2012, 05:01:59 PM
Hopefully this doesn't mean that's it's over for him where T&T is concerned. He didn't makt this team, now.
Post by: Quags on January 25, 2012, 05:03:27 PM
idiot coaches ,know nothing about generating excitiment ,or promoting hype to sell a product .Had a chance to start selling the great brown hype and just skipped it .
Post by: Mango Chow! on January 25, 2012, 05:06:14 PM

...he didn't make it this time....he did damned good to get as far as he did.....the other day, the Seattle Sounders were conducting "tryouts" in Trini.....some "select" players were present, among whom I would LIKE to think were some of our finest national players.  From what I saw, if Mike keep up the good attitude and continue working hard, he will be making our national teams with ease in the future.   
Post by: Quags on January 25, 2012, 05:11:10 PM
This why the olmpic program always broke ,they cant sell cake to a starving man .Use your players to make money in shirt sales .But u need a marquee player or players .
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on January 25, 2012, 05:30:19 PM
This why the olmpic program always broke ,they cant sell cake to a starving man .Use your players to make money in shirt sales .But u need a marquee player or players .

Not taking away from your point eh, but a marquee player have to play to get that kind of status.  While we like what we saw with Roopie, that doesn't mean that even if he made the squad he would instantly become that.  I hope he doesn't give up tho because he have some very serviceable tools that can prove useful
Post by: Quags on January 25, 2012, 06:43:34 PM

Not taking away from your point eh, but a marquee player have to play to get that kind of status.  While we like what we saw with Roopie, that doesn't mean that even if he made the squad he would instantly become that.  I hope he doesn't give up tho because he have some very serviceable tools that can prove useful
Your right marquee is the wrong word .Maybe marketing tool for target market .
Post by: Football supporter on January 25, 2012, 08:55:56 PM
idiot coaches ,know nothing about generating excitiment ,or promoting hype to sell a product .Had a chance to start selling the great brown hype and just skipped it .

Whatever we think of the coaches, they have spent months developing the players to play a specific system. The system does not accomodate a player like Roopie. It is based on short passing and long balls if needed. They do not encourage running with the ball.

Roopie has the potential to force a change in this system. You wouldn't order Ronaldo not to run with the ball! So, first, Roopie has to earn the coaches faith and then they can accomodate him.

Also, remember, he is in a foreign country with no friends. He is an outsider. He probably feels uncomfortable and unloved and will be treated as a threat by most players.

In my opinion, he should not have attended the camp until he had a few games in Trini and found his feet. Had I been his agent, I would have told the coach that he had a slight tweak and wasn't quite ready to train, but is really excited about linking up with the team soon. But, of course, Roopie has no agent, I believe, so he needs some good advice to help his career.

Roopie is the kind of player a coach will build his team around. Him on the left mid, another speedy AM on the right and a couple of target men through the middle. Passing is pretty, but theres nothing like a good winger in full flight!
Post by: Coop's on January 25, 2012, 09:48:16 PM

Whatever we think of the coaches, they have spent months developing the players to play a specific system. The system does not accomodate a player like Roopie. It is based on short passing and long balls if needed. They do not encourage running with the ball.

Roopie has the potential to force a change in this system. You wouldn't order Ronaldo not to run with the ball! So, first, Roopie has to earn the coaches faith and then they can accomodate him.

Also, remember, he is in a foreign country with no friends. He is an outsider. He probably feels uncomfortable and unloved and will be treated as a threat by most players.

In my opinion, he should not have attended the camp until he had a few games in Trini and found his feet. Had I been his agent, I would have told the coach that he had a slight tweak and wasn't quite ready to train, but is really excited about linking up with the team soon. But, of course, Roopie has no agent, I believe, so he needs some good advice to help his career.

Roopie is the kind of player a coach will build his team around. Him on the left mid, another speedy AM on the right and a couple of target men through the middle. Passing is pretty, but theres nothing like a good winger in full flight!
      I'm surprised this topic has gone on for so long,you all tried your best to get Roopie on the team he just could not make it,all kind of reasons were given now the Coaches don't know what they doing.The bottom line is Roopie eh ready for international Football,he has to much hang ups as far as the game is concerned and if you coming at that level to complain about who like and eh like you forget it,at that level it rough to each his own because everybody wants to make it.
Post by: Quags on January 25, 2012, 09:52:54 PM

I'm surprised this topic has gone on for so long,you all tried your best to get Roopie on the team he just could not make it,all kind of reasons were given now the Coaches don't know what they doing.The bottom line is Roopie eh ready for international Football,he has to much hang ups as far as the game is concerned and if you coming at that level to complain about who like and eh like you forget it,at that level it rough to each his own because everybody wants to make it.
No worries eh coops like you say a player of his skill are a dime a dozen according to you .Hater lol
Post by: Quags on January 25, 2012, 09:54:51 PM

I have to blame the coaches cause we have no marketing people to blame ,its not a coaches job .I knew they would not of picked him .
Post by: Big Magician on January 25, 2012, 10:08:04 PM
hold on...this is a decision for Mr Angus Eve... until he comes out to say why ...then everything else is speculation.
Post by: dinho on January 25, 2012, 10:10:58 PM
Why allyuh not willing to consider that this kid simply may not have been good enough to make the cut?
Post by: Quags on January 25, 2012, 10:34:18 PM
yeah ok just trust there judgement .Well they already decided anyway, hope they right and another diamond in the rough didnt just wash away.
Post by: Quags on January 25, 2012, 10:39:00 PM
won"t it be funny if it was a staged video ,and he couldn do any thing  :rotfl: .he look short to.Cant wait for angus take.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on January 25, 2012, 11:27:00 PM

He might wish to focus on finishing school or tying up loose ends in the U.S. then hooking up with a local pro-leagu/super league outfit. Something like what Cameron Roget did.  Not an easy descision, especially considering the state of local football.
Post by: Sam on January 26, 2012, 04:20:05 AM
Once Angus Eve is coach no foreign born making T&T side. Look at the line up vs Finland and see how many foreign born played.

Them local coaches (Gally, Eve and Anton, Coops etc....) is anti American and anti foreign born.....

Sorry, hopefully Roopie will use this experience to his benefit, he have the talent, but he needs some fine tuning.

Maybe he should consider playing for a Pro League team in Trinidad, it will do him some good, he will be in a better enviorment for sure.

Post by: FF on January 26, 2012, 07:22:26 AM
Why allyuh not willing to consider that this kid simply may not have been good enough to make the cut?

Thanks dinho... nobody never see him play but for some clips of JUCO football...

Post by: Coop's on January 26, 2012, 07:23:06 AM
This old talk about anti American,foreign born and hater is a load of crap,did any one ever know or heard about Roopie before he sent that video and asked for a Tryout?that's all we had of that guy until he got to T&T and they really got to look at him,nobody knows why he did not make the team we can only speculate,could be a number of reasons,this is a national team you talking about,you want to put someone on a national team to see how they look?
If Roopie is a diamond in the rough why isn't he tracked in the US like Deleon and others,may be only in T&T he could be a diamond.Lets keep tabs on Roopie and see what the future holds for him,does anyone know what team,club,league etc he plays in at the moment?   
Post by: Sam on January 26, 2012, 07:30:57 AM
This is not about Roopie, one cannot judge a player by ONE clip but check de stats under these coach.....
Post by: Peong on January 26, 2012, 09:06:04 AM
The difference between CC soccer and Olympic qualifiers is huge.  The way he dominated in those clips suggests he can play at a higher level so hopefully now that he knows he could be part of the national team, he will be motivated and have a better idea of what is required get to this level.
I see he's listed as assistant coach at the CC he played for.  He needs to find a serious club and continue training.
Post by: kev on January 26, 2012, 11:04:10 AM
No shame in that at all, I would remind him of Craig Johnston, Boro and Liverpool.

From his biography

But first let's go back to Johnston at his crappest, when he was a 15-year-old who had just flown 12,000 miles from Australia for a trial with Middlesbrough FC. "In my first youth team game, we were playing Leeds United and we were losing 3-0. The manager at the time was Jack Charlton and in the dressing room at half time he was seething. He had a go at everyone and then he said to me: 'And as for you, you kangaroo, you can f**k off right now. You're the worst player I've seen in my life.' "

So, unknown to the rest of the club, Johnston devised himself a training regime and devoted himself to it single-mindedly. "I would get garbage cans and put them in a row and run through them with a ball in 10 seconds. If I touched a can, I would start again. I would put on a blindfold and sense the football with my feet as I dribbled. I put two small crosses on the wall and hit them with my left and then my right foot. If I was good and concentrated hard it would take me three hours. If I was poor, it would take me six hours. It always seemed to be bitterly cold and wet in Middlesbrough."

The training paid dividends: he was recruited into Middlesbrough's first team and scored in his debut match against Everton. "I remember reading Charlton saying, 'I always knew the kangaroo would bounce back.' We've met up since and had a good laugh about it." Five years after his dressing-room dressing-down by Big Jack, the 20-year-old Johnston was snapped up by Liverpool FC for a then record fee of £570,000. "For a day I was the most expensive footballer in England, then the following day Liverpool bought Mark Lawrenson for £900,000."

The lad needs to get feedback on why and go on from there.  Its easy to make a show reel, players are sometimes vastly different when its real.  Whatever it is, he has more than the basics to build on.

Wish the lad well
Post by: Bakes on January 26, 2012, 11:11:41 AM
Nice post Kev... lol@Charlton's kangaroo comment  :rotfl:

Mike needs to continue taking whatever criticism he gets in a positive light, let it motivate him to work on his game and not let this disappointment define him.  He should also know to pick sense from nonsense and not pay too much attention to some of the comments in this particular thread... which I'm sure will echo comments he's heard before, and will hear in future.
Post by: andre samuel on January 26, 2012, 02:29:25 PM

Thanks dinho... nobody never see him play but for some clips of JUCO football...

The youth looked a good player......but did anyone look over the clips and see the movement of the teams that he played against?  Even Roopie said that the skill level of the players while on "trial" was at a level he has never seen before.   

The player probably just wasnt good enough........we just need to take that as it is.  That Olympic squad has been together too long to add any "squad players", they need players that can improve the team.

nb: The guy got some talent, so hopefully he can play at a higher level and develop some more.  I hope the TTFF keep him on their radar
Post by: Peong on January 26, 2012, 02:58:56 PM
Eve probably had no intention of putting him on the team this trip, no matter how good he turned out to be.  It was prob just a chance to have him train with the group and have look.
Post by: Football supporter on January 26, 2012, 03:59:07 PM

The youth looked a good player......but did anyone look over the clips and see the movement of the teams that he played against?  Even Roopie said that the skill level of the players while on "trial" was at a level he has never seen before.   

The player probably just wasnt good enough........we just need to take that as it is.  That Olympic squad has been together too long to add any "squad players", they need players that can improve the team.

nb: The guy got some talent, so hopefully he can play at a higher level and develop some more.  I hope the TTFF keep him on their radar

We have a coach from St Johns over here to look at some guys. He doesn't know of Roopie, but he said the Herkimer College is a good source of talent and he has had a few guys from there who have moved on to the MLS. Basically, he said if Roopie is a stand out player there, he has a good chance of progressing.
Post by: diamondtrim on January 26, 2012, 07:06:45 PM

A few clips and he supposed to be on a national team????????????????????

Is jus so man does make side now?

A 7 page (and countin) thread about a kid who run thru some players in a low level competition?

I have a neighbour who does advantage man in d road....Flex could link him wit a call up?

We not serious at all....either as posters or as fans.....we jus desperate
Post by: Football supporter on January 26, 2012, 08:48:17 PM
Ian Wright was nearly 22 when Crystal Palace signed him, Ian Cox was 23 when Palace spotted him. Both players had given up on playing football professionally and were both spotted playing in the minor London leagues (similar, I guess to Eddy Hart League). English clubs often employ dozens of scouts, most only being paid a stipend of £20 or £30 per week (TT$200-$300).

T&T clubs do not have this scouting network. So if it means we have to get excited by a dvd or video clip, whats the problem? For every Ian Wright or Ian Cox a scout discovers, there will be dozens a year who go on trial and fail. A scout, as good as he may be, is still only one guy, with one guys opinion. Dozens of people have seen Roopies video (including foreign coaches) and most feel he is worth a look.

Maybe, after this, sw.net will receive many more, and maybe one of these guys will be the next Dwight Yorke. T&T has talented players, but not all of them have been given an opportunity. Bring 'em on, I say, the more the merrier. I would never get tired of seeing exciting young kids showing their potential.

One diamond is all we hope for.   
Post by: FF on January 26, 2012, 08:50:40 PM
Ian Wright was nearly 22 when Crystal Palace signed him, Ian Cox was 23 when Palace spotted him. Both players had given up on playing football professionally and were both spotted playing in the minor London leagues (similar, I guess to Eddy Hart League). English clubs often employ dozens of scouts, most only being paid a stipend of £20 or £30 per week (TT$200-$300).

T&T clubs do not have this scouting network. So if it means we have to get excited by a dvd or video clip, whats the problem? For every Ian Wright or Ian Cox a scout discovers, there will be dozens a year who go on trial and fail. A scout, as good as he may be, is still only one guy, with one guys opinion. Dozens of people have seen Roopies video (including foreign coaches) and most feel he is worth a look.

Maybe, after this, sw.net will receive many more, and maybe one of these guys will be the next Dwight Yorke. T&T has talented players, but not all of them have been given an opportunity. Bring 'em on, I say, the more the merrier. I would never get tired of seeing exciting young kids showing their potential.

One diamond is all we hope for.   

nobody not saying no...

but if he ent make... he ent make... why people have to see something sinister behind dat, other than he not good enough at this moment or he is not what de coaches looking for?
Post by: Deeks on January 26, 2012, 08:52:41 PM
I honestly hope this young man can improve to the point of making the TT team. Because in my brief like time I have seen some "real diamonds" who turn out to be plexiglass. On the other hand, I remember Eulilia Davis(former PNM minister) husband, Ken  in QRC who was not the best of players when he entered school. But by his senior year played a hell of a game in defence against St. Joseph College to save we from getting demoted. i wish the yute all the best.

While quite a few raving about this yuteman, I am wondering what is being done to encouraged the local Roopchands, Maraj, Khans, Sookrams(both male and female) to take their football to the next level.
Post by: Peong on January 26, 2012, 09:02:13 PM
So wait, it was so easy to make Liverpool side back then?  Hit two targets and dribble some cans?  I could do all dat.
Post by: Errol on January 28, 2012, 09:25:02 AM
I spoke to one of the guys from Herkimer County Community College and he said Mike is really a good player, he is probable one of the best on the team. He said the coach loves him to.

He told me, that he will improve once he keep training at a higher level.

So if Mike read this, a message to you, keep your head up and go for it 150%, forget party and gal for now, that will come.

The current T&T Under 23 team is very good and have been together for a long time and maybe you cant make the team as yet, but I am sure you will be there one day.

Angus Eve is a good coach and he will turn you into a better player, I am not sure if you are still in T&T, but if you are, keep trying, we want to see you in the red, black and white.

You have nothing to loose and all to gain, the ball is in your court, so play well and be not only a start boy player, but smart and discipline, fight like a Soca Warrior.

Fitness is also a main factor.
Post by: Football supporter on January 28, 2012, 08:16:45 PM
For those of you who have bombarded me for details of Roopie's try out for North East Stars.....heres an update.

Senior team played the Reserves today up by St Johns, St Augustine.

Roopie played from the start for Reserves (same team who beat Army Reserves last week, which included many 1st team players including Richard Roy and Ross Russell jnr).

North East play in a 4-2-2-2 formation and this is replicated in the Reserves so players can interchange within the system. This means that Roopie played on the left, but quite narrow, which is not really his position.

They played 3 x 30 minute sessions. Roopie settled in ok with some nice first touches and solid short passes. Worked hard closing down the opposition. Most of the time he played against Marc "Passion" Leslie, who is a solid player.

Only once did Roopie manage to take a run down the left with the ball, but skipped past a couple of players and very nearly nutmegged Charles Pollard.

Roopie sat out the second session as he had a thigh muscle pull, but after some physio work he played the third session.

Much of the same in the third session.

Roopie never really had the chance to show his best stuff. Some of this was due to the formation and some due to being new to the team with no real chance to build understanding.

Aside from the North East coaches - Alcantara & Jeffrey and Sancho, there was also an assistant coach from St Johns University in USA who has spent a few days with North East looking for talent. All of the coaches confirmed Roopie as a quality player.

He will now train with the Reserves to get acclimatised and then obviously, if he shines through, will move up to the senior squad.

He's a hard working player (which obviously didn't show on the dvd) and can take licks. It was full body contact today and Roopie took some knocks but got on with his game.

Most refreshing was his enthusiasm, and he's a genuinely nice guy.

Looking forward to him settling in and setting the Pro League alight, but first, I can't wait to see him in the Reserves, maybe even this week!

Will keep you all updated. I think you guys have taken him to your hearts as its only through this site that he's in T&T. So I truly hope he can make the grade so we can all be proud of the small part we've played in contributing to T&T football.
Post by: Bakes on January 28, 2012, 09:42:29 PM
Good stuff... thanks for the report :beermug:
Post by: ZANDOLIE on January 28, 2012, 10:29:24 PM
Great stuff FS  :thumbsup:
Post by: Dutty on January 30, 2012, 10:44:07 AM
nice one FS,allyuh doh make joke

once he learn the system I glad too bad fuh dat fellah, man prove online vids does work to get wukk
Post by: warmonga on January 30, 2012, 11:18:32 AM
I hope Roopie eh get introduce to dwarika..Cause allyuh go have to pick him up frm one a de local rum shops...... Play yu ball Roopie when yu Deck di national colours I going and buy 5 jersey wid yu name on it....

Post by: 41laromain on February 07, 2012, 11:27:11 AM
Yo Roopie, I hope you are keeping your head up high, you know, cause some TRINIS done start to put you down aready, me i going and give you credit for leaving your family in the US as a 20 year old kid taking some time off from collage to come to TRINIDAD to play ball homeboy.

If that is you passion then youth man go for it, it reminds me of all the millions of people thats comes to AMERICA to fulfill thier dreams it is what it is when someone has a desire to acheive something in life the things they go through to acheive that gold.

FLEX I have to give you much credit man the youth did not make the under 23 team but you did link him with NE Stars just think in life people like FLEX you have open the doors for this kid he will live with that great felling for the rest of his life.

I hope many of us can do the same and also Roopie can be able to help and assist many others, it does not have to be the KHANS, THE SINGHS, THE SOOKRAM we are one people just struggling to make it.

I wish the youthman all the best, if your desire is to play ball for TNT youth, go for it, hope some other coaches see you and push you to the next level, some of we TRINIS act like we produce ball players like BRASIL, ARGENTINA, SPAIN, ETC.

TRINIDAD football has gone backwards 20yrs from the days of DOM BASIL MATTHEWS, the real St Benedicts when we had guys who had a passion for the game, until we have guys like that again TRINIDAD football will be right where it is, you have guys who have a game tomorrow and they in the club partying till 4am, then you want to play ball and win matches like them youth who not reach the top level yet but want big money.

Ask men like DE LEON, CAVE, ARCHIE, BREWESTER, LENARD, CUMMINGS, ETC how much them ever get paid in them days TRINIDAD football and they was the best, almost the whole of TRINIDAD team was from St Benedicts, politics and sports dont mix, man like JACK and CORNEALS kill TRINIDAD football.

I hope the unnder 23 team can hold thier heads togather and make themself proud wearing your national colours. Roopie keep your head up any time there is a tryout keeping on the doors as long as you are determined to make it your day will come, bless.

One Love
Post by: Sando on March 05, 2020, 06:35:55 AM
Wonder where Roopie playing now?

I feel we lost out on a good player here.

Post by: Tiresais on March 05, 2020, 08:17:04 AM

Tried googling, does he have a brother and lvie in Newburgh? If so there's a potential story here; http://www.timeshudsonvalley.com/stories/life-of-a-conqueror,11052 (http://www.timeshudsonvalley.com/stories/life-of-a-conqueror,11052) - says he's a carer for his brother. He alos has a defunct page as a staff member at Herkimer Generals, a school he played at.
Post by: Flex on March 05, 2020, 03:50:19 PM

Tried googling, does he have a brother and lvie in Newburgh? If so there's a potential story here; http://www.timeshudsonvalley.com/stories/life-of-a-conqueror,11052 (http://www.timeshudsonvalley.com/stories/life-of-a-conqueror,11052) - says he's a carer for his brother. He alos has a defunct page as a staff member at Herkimer Generals, a school he played at.

Yes, that's his brother.

Post by: Deeks on March 05, 2020, 06:58:35 PM

Yes, that's his brother.

As much as we love football. this situation is bigger than football. His love and dedication to his brother is a great blessing. He will be Blessed. As Shorty sang. Who God Bless No man shall ever curse .... He shall be first.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 05, 2020, 08:01:48 PM

Yes, that's his brother.

As much as we love football. this situation is bigger than football. His love and dedication to his brother is a great blessing. He will be Blessed. As Shorty sang. Who God Bless No man shall ever curse .... He shall be first.

Ent.