Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on January 23, 2012, 03:21:14 PM

Title: Cordell Cato Thread
Post by: Tallman on January 23, 2012, 03:21:14 PM
A stop and chat with Cordell Cato
By Joshua Mayers (Seattle Times)

After weeks of speculation, the Sounders signed 19-year-old Trinidadian Cordell Cato last week. He practiced with the team for the first time on Monday and reporters caught up briefly with the speedy forward/midfielder afterward:

(How was your first day?) "It's a lot cooler than where I came from. ... It's the first day and I was a little winded, but it'll get better each day."

(Is everyone kind of at different fitness levels, yourself included?) "They are. The training level is high intensity and it's tough. But it's good. I'm a young guy, so I'll get used to it."

(When was your last game?) "My last match was with the national U-20 team in Guatemala."

(Was it a good experience?) "Yeah, it was definitely good experience -- national level."

(What are your expectations with your new team?) "The Sounders are a great organization. I was here last summer and the fans are crazy. The team is a very good team and I know this year they will be pushing for the title again. My expectation is just getting here each day and training on time. I will try as hard as I can to make the team."

(Have you met any of the guys yet?) "I met David Estrada, Patrick Ianni, just a little bit of the guys."

(What was it like having to wait all these months after your trial before signing?) "I was actually very tough because I was thisclose, like two weeks after leaving, to signing and then it just broke down. ... I was a little mad, but I had faith in God and everything worked out."

(Was this a team you'd been wanting to join since then?) "Definitely. The last game I watch was against New York last season. They won 4-2 and it was like unbelievable."

(Where do you think you might be playing this year?) "My strengths are my speed and skill on the ball, so I play forward or on the wing. It all depends on where the space is, where I can get in behind the defense and set up my teammates and score goals myself."

(What do you think about the group?) "This group is definitely one of the best in the league, so I'll just work hard. Time will come. He's a good coach and as long as you're ready for it, he's going to give you the opportunity."

(It's cold out here. Do you own a pair of gloves?) "Actually, no. But I willl after today."

(And you've just bought a big jacket?) "It's going to help me a lot. (smiles)."
Title: Re: A stop and chat with Cordell Cato
Post by: DeSoWa on January 23, 2012, 03:50:55 PM
Hopefully I will get to see him play sometime this season! :beermug:

Post by: Big Magician on January 23, 2012, 07:14:46 PM
play de fitball
Post by: Cocorite on January 24, 2012, 12:47:37 AM
Yeah beats the fitball and score the fitball  ;D
Post by: Big Magician on January 24, 2012, 10:26:24 AM
all dat
Post by: Tallman on January 27, 2012, 06:26:21 PM
Cato, the second fastest in Sounders speed test.
http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/soundersfcblog/2017351820_academy_alum_darwin_jones_wins.html

Cordell Cato. We know he's fast, but I didn't know he had that kind of endurance, so that was a positive to see that from him, as well.
http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/soundersfcblog/2017341341_ucla_duo_sweeps_endurance_test.html
Title: Cordell Cato: Just warming up
Post by: Tallman on January 27, 2012, 07:44:00 PM
Cordell Cato: Just warming up
By Matt Gaschk (soundersfc.com)

In his first week of training with the Sounders FC, Cordell Cato is already displaying his quickness.

Cordell Cato has never owned a pair of gloves or a winter coat.

After his first day in Seattle, that changed in a hurry.

The Trinidadian speedster fought through the biting cold on Monday in his first training session since signing with the Sounders FC and was all smiles after word, laughing off questions about the chilly temperatures and focusing on the play on the field.

“Training is high intensity,” said Cato.  “But I’m a young guy, so I’ll get used to it.”

Cato trained with the younger players in a morning session on Monday, then joined the full squad on Tuesday.  At just 19 years old, he knows his best years are ahead of him though and he’s willing to be patient for his opportunity to shine in Major League Soccer.

That’s why he was easily able to put it behind him when he wasn’t signed immediately following a trial with the Sounders in June of 2011.

“It was tough because I was close and it just broke down,” he said.  “I’ll just work hard and the time will come.  He’s a good coach.  As long as you’re ready, he’s going to give you the opportunity.”

As it turns out, a primary reason why he wasn’t signed with the club last year was the rules of MLS and not a lack of interest from the club or lack of talent from Cato.  Because of the salary cap and roster limitations, there just wasn’t room for him on the roster.

“He was somebody we looked at last year.  In order to add somebody during the season, you have to get rid of somebody.  We kept our eye on him in the offseason and he was definitely someone we wanted to bring in and join us through preseason,” Sounders FC head coach Sigi Schmid said.  “We felt he had a good shot at playing.”

In his first official session, he displayed his explosiveness, giving the Sounders another dynamic speed option to go with Mike Fucito, Steve Zakuani, Christian Sivebæk and even supplemental draft pick Jason Banton.

With that much speed in the in the Seattle attack, it’s no wonder Schmid is grinning after each training session, particularly when that unteachable element is combined with the work ethic of someone willing to learn the tricks of the trade.

“He’s a good kid, he would have done everything we asked him to do,” Schmid said.  “I thought for the little bit he played, you could see his quickness.  He’s got some speed, and he’s a lot stronger than you’d think for a guy his size.  He’ll be good.”

(http://www.soundersfc.com/~/media/3B059DD081474989B042F30E235D0CA3.ashx?w=591&h=318)
Title: Re: Cordell Cato: Just warming up
Post by: DeSoWa on February 15, 2012, 12:40:03 PM
Cordell scored today in a pre-season game against Crew in a 2-0 Win!  :beermug:

Post by: truetrini on February 15, 2012, 12:58:25 PM
Cordell scored today in a pre-season game against Crew in a 2-0 Win!  :beermug:

niceness.
Post by: saint27 on February 15, 2012, 01:05:50 PM
Yea I just see dat well done youth . Keep playing d fitball

Post by: dreamer on February 15, 2012, 02:23:41 PM
Big up to de yout'
Title: 1 V 1: Cordell Cato
Post by: Tallman on February 21, 2012, 10:10:05 AM
The youngest member of the Sounders FC Cordell Cato goes 1v1 with Matt Gaschk to talk about growing up in Trinidad and signing his first professional contract.

http://www.soundersfc.com/media/Flash/soundersEmbedVideoPlayer.swf?videoPath=http://serve.castfire.com/video/874179/874179_2012-02-20-092519.2263.flv&imagePath=http://serve.castfire.com/video/874179/874179_2012-02-20-092519.jpg&title=1 V 1: Cordell Cato&link=http://www.soundersfc.com/News/Video-Landing.aspx
Post by: Cocorite on February 21, 2012, 08:47:28 PM
Excellent Cato. Good job. Just put your head down and grab your opportunity with both hands.
Post by: rippin on February 25, 2012, 07:27:29 PM
Best interview from a Trini I have seen in a while. Sounds level headed with his feet planted firmly on the ground and his eyes on the prize. I wish him luck.
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 26, 2012, 03:59:40 AM
The youngest member of the Sounders FC Cordell Cato goes 1v1 with Matt Gaschk to talk about growing up in Trinidad and signing his first professional contract.

http://www.soundersfc.com/media/Flash/soundersEmbedVideoPlayer.swf?videoPath=http://serve.castfire.com/video/874179/874179_2012-02-20-092519.2263.flv&imagePath=http://serve.castfire.com/video/874179/874179_2012-02-20-092519.jpg&title=1 V 1: Cordell Cato&link=http://www.soundersfc.com/News/Video-Landing.aspx

Yankee accent already :laugh:
Title: Cordell Cato Thread
Post by: triniairman on April 26, 2012, 04:34:03 PM
Met the youth today at the airport, he was traveling with his team (Sounders). I asked him about the Olympic qualifiers, he said his absence on the field was due to an injury just before the first game. He said that he visit the site often, but hasn't had time to check it out since he came back, but likes the site. I recommended Pam's kitchen to him for his Trini food out here in Seattle..not much places around here for that unless you cooking for yourself. I plan on going a couple Sounders games, hope he gets a run out during that time.

Title: Re: Cordell Cato
Post by: DeSoWa on April 26, 2012, 04:36:40 PM
He mainly plays in the reserves team for now. He scored in the last one. Look out for him maybe in the cup runs!  :beermug:

Post by: Big Magician on April 26, 2012, 11:25:38 PM
nice..TAMan
Post by: Tallman on May 09, 2012, 08:11:06 PM
He made his Seattle Sounders debut tonight, coming on in the 66th minute against Scott Sealy and FC Dallas.
Post by: triniairman on May 09, 2012, 09:53:27 PM
He made his Seattle Sounders debut tonight, coming on in the 66th minute against Scott Sealy and FC Dallas.
He also assisted on the first goal. Did not look too bad.
Post by: Tallman on May 10, 2012, 05:17:42 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/8uN448aKq4k

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/08vKh1FaAJbED/610x.jpg)
(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/05lCfsc75h7nF/x610.jpg)
(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/07zQdpe3Ga8yd/x610.jpg)
Post by: FireBrand on May 10, 2012, 07:10:54 AM
Well done kid! Keep it up.
Post by: Mose on May 10, 2012, 10:27:28 AM
Good news!! With all these fellas starting to get regular runs I have to start checking my Impact schedule for games to go see.
Post by: triniairman on May 10, 2012, 12:21:41 PM
James hit the cross bar with a header.. He would have scored if it wasn't for the keeper getting a hand on the ball.
Post by: Big Magician on May 10, 2012, 10:14:39 PM
play it
Post by: Mose on May 11, 2012, 08:14:19 AM
James hit the cross bar with a header.. He would have scored if it wasn't for the keeper getting a hand on the ball.

James???
Title: Cato wants one, too
Post by: Tallman on June 28, 2012, 05:06:33 PM
Cato wants one, too
By Matt Gaschk (soundersfc.com)

Cordell Cato is hungry to bring home Seattle's unprecedented fourth-consecutive US Open Cup trophy.

Cordell Cato may be new to the Sounders FC and Major League Soccer, but that doesn’t prevent him from taking a veteran’s attitude toward winning championships.

After scoring the game-winning goal in Seattle’s 1-0 triumph over the San Jose Earthquakes in the U.S. Open Cup quarterfinal on Tuesday, Cato said that helping the Sounders to a fourth straight Open Cup title would be a tremendous accomplishment for him, especially considering he hasn’t tasted that championship success yet.

“It’s tremendous, winning it three years in a row and having the opportunity this year to write history and be the first team to win it four years in a row,” Cato said.  “For me, it’s even more important because I haven’t won it yet.  I’m even more fired up than the whole team.”

The 19-year-old, first-year midfielder from Trinidad used his speed and strength to get the best of a San Jose team that he trialed briefly with before signing with the Sounders.

On his 19th minute goal, he took control on a misplayed ball by the San Jose defense and raced up the right side, getting around defender Justin Morrow on the endline and sliding the low-angled shot past goalkeeper David Bingham for his first competitive goal for the Sounders.

“I just caught the defender flat-footed and got a little bit of space,” Cato said.  “When you get that little bit of space and you hit it, sometimes it goes in and sometimes it doesn’t.  This time, I was fortunate.”

His description may sound a bit humble considering his blazing speed and ball skills that seem well beyond his age.  Those are the same skills that earned him his first MLS assist in his first appearance, coming off the bench and setting up Fredy Montero for one of his two goals in a 2-0 road win over FC Dallas on May 9.

He has made four more substitute appearances since then in MLS play, notching 85 minutes.  As he shows more consistency, those minutes will grow, too, according to head coach Sigi Schmid.

“He’s a player I think we can count on.  It started a little slowly for him in preseason,” Schmid said, noting the ankle injuries that kept him from seeing more playing time early in the season.  “We always had a lot of faith in him because of his physical capabilities.  He’s a very humble kid.  He comes to work when he comes to train.  He’s a guy who can help us because he brings speed onto the field.  He can impact the game because of his strength on the ball and his speed.”

As he works towards more playing time in league action, Cato is also thrilled with the opportunity to contribute in the US Open Cup, where he had a pair of assists in Seattle’s convincing wins over the Atlanta Silverbacks and Cal FC before his goal-scoring heroics against San Jose.

That leaves Cato hungry for even more as Seattle will meet Chivas USA in the semifinals in less than two weeks.

“We’re going to push hard and do whatever we can coming up in the semifinal to get to the final for the fourth year in a row,” he said.

The Sounders will meet the New England Revolution on Saturday, then draw Real Salt Lake on July 4 before their next home match on July 7 against the Colorado Rapids.  The Open Cup semifinal is scheduled for July 11 at Starfire against Chivas USA.  Tickets are available at SoundersFC.com starting tomorrow at 10 a.m.

(http://www.soundersfc.com/~/media/732e79bf5fca443ebb9869eec6ef2ac8.ashx?w=591&h=507)
Title: Earthquakes midfielder Cordell Cato finds new home in defense
Post by: Tallman on April 10, 2015, 04:31:52 PM
Earthquakes midfielder Cordell Cato finds new home in defense
By Elliott Almond (San Jose Mercury)

Although Cordell Cato played fullback on an emergency basis last year he didn't train as a defender in the offseason.

"I don't like the position at all," he said.

Why?

"I'm a winger."

Cato, 22, didn't need many words to make his point. But when the Earthquakes play host to first-place Vancouver on Saturday night at Avaya Stadium the self-described attacking player could be the focus of a makeshift defense.

The 5-foot-9 Trinidadian has become an invaluable commodity on a team suddenly scavenging for fullbacks. Cato, who normally tries to race past defenders on the right flank, has been asked to play out of position while regular backs Shaun Francis (fractured cheekbone), Jordan Stewart (calf strain) and Marvell Wynne (hamstring strain) are out.

Cato is the probable choice at left back for coach Dominic Kinnear while Francis and Stewart remain sidelined.

Wynne is available Saturday after missing about two weeks because of the left hamstring injury. But if he were to need a little more time, Kinnear could call upon center backs Ty Harden or Paulo Renato, who also returned from injury this week.

Cato started Sunday on the right but moved to the left when Francis had to depart after a head-to-head collision in the first half. Midfielder JJ Koval rushed in to defend the right side.

The Earthquakes (2-3-0) find themselves in this predicament after cutting ties with right backs Brandon Barklage and Pablo Pintos before the season.

But the versatility of the midfielders has helped. Cato said it's difficult to make the transition from an attacker to a defender, but he could have fooled his coach.

"He does well," Kinnear said. "So, it is not too big of an accomplishment for him. Sometimes you have to play out of position to get on the field."

Playing time became a premium for Cato a year after starting a career-high 16 games. The Quakes signed two promising right-side midfielders in Sanna Nyassi and Leonardo Barrera. It seemingly dropped Cato to third in the depth chart.

Cato, who came to San Jose from Seattle in a 2013 trade, wants to be on the field wherever Kinnear puts him.

"You have to set your mind to play it," he said of defense. "I'm not going to go out there disappointed because I am not in my position. The team wants and needs me there right now."

But the versatility of the midfielders has helped. Cato said it's difficult to make the transition from an attacker to a defender, but he could have fooled his coach.

"He does well," Kinnear said. "So, it is not too big of an accomplishment for him. Sometimes you have to play out of position to get on the field."

Playing time became a premium for Cato a year after starting a career-high 16 games. The Quakes signed two promising right-side midfielders in Sanna Nyassi and Leonardo Barrera. It seemingly dropped Cato to third in the depth chart.

Cato, who came to San Jose from Seattle in a 2013 trade, wants to be on the field wherever Kinnear puts him.

"You have to set your mind to play it," he said of defense. "I'm not going to go out there disappointed because I am not in my position. The team wants and needs me there right now."

Cato isn't worried about the opponent or where he might play -- as long as he plays.

"If they need me to go, I'm ready," he said.

At this point, the Earthquakes need him.
Title: Cordell Cato's role with T&T leaves San Jose Earthquakes with hole to fill
Post by: Tallman on July 09, 2015, 04:01:09 PM
Cordell Cato's role with Trinidad & Tobago leaves San Jose Earthquakes with another hole to fill
By Geoff Lepper (MLSSoccer.com)

Fretting about Chris Wondolowski’s national-team absences has become a rite of summer for the San Jose Earthquakes. But this year, they’re suffering a Gold Cup double-whammy on the attacking side of the ball.

In addition to Wondolowski, who scored five goals for the US in the 2013 edition of the tournament, elusive Trinidadian winger Cordell Cato also left the Quakes on the eve of last weekend’s road trip to face the Portland Timbers.

And while everyone around MLS knows what kind of hole the absence of Wondolowski – who has scored nine of San Jose’s 19 league goals this season – will blow in the Quakes’ lineup, Cato’s departure could have a sneaky impact on their offense.

The 22-year-old scored his first goal of the season as the final nail in San Jose’s 3-1 victory June 27 against LA Galaxy before more than 50,000 fans at Stanford Stadium. But Cato has been making contributions since long before that, and doing so from three different positions – right wing, right back and left back – as the Quakes’ injury situation has dictated.

“Wherever they’ve asked him to play, he’s done a great job,” San Jose midfielder Khari Stephenson said. “It’s helped his confidence a lot, and it shows on the field. He’s playing with a lot of confidence; he’s not afraid to take a risk, to take on a guy and do his thing one-v-one, which he’s very good at.”

Cato originally popped up on the Quakes’ radar as a teenager and Trinidad & Tobago youth international in 2012. But Seattle held his MLS rights via a Discovery tag – a fact that took on an ironic bite when Cato scored the only goal in the Sounders’ USOC win over the Quakes that summer. San Jose eventually engineered a trade with Seattle and brought Cato south the following season. He had four goals and four assists in a combined 2,600 minutes over the 2013-14 seasons, but had to prove himself all over again after Mark Watson was let go near the end of last year in favor of returning hero Dominic Kinner. Only assistant Ian Russell remains of the staff that initially brought Cato to the Bay Area.

“I think he’s done great this year,” said Kinnear, who rejoined the club this winter after spending nine seasons leading Houston. “In preseason, he was one of the guys I didn’t really know too much about. And sitting here now, seeing how he’s played and accepted each position and each opportunity given to him, I think he’s definitely one of the bright spots on the team this year. He’s earned every single minute that he’s been given, and he’s made the most of his opportunities.”

"Accepting each position" has meant a greater emphasis on defense, along with what appears to be a gradual transition at right back. Cato has been targeted by opposing teams when he lines up on the back line, but has held up well, using his speed and quickness to handle most 1-v-1 attackers while learning the ropes of combination play.

He's also turned into something of a ballhawk, as the numbers show:
Cordell Cato is averaging 5.89 tackles+interceptions per 90 minutes this season. That is the most on the 'Quakes and 32nd most in MLS.

That success has landed Cato in his first major tournament for Trinidad & Tobago, who face Guatemala in the teams' opener Thursday (7 pm ET; Fox Sports 2), and it might not simply be a group-stage vacation. T&T, who sit 67th on FIFA’s ranking list, are the second-highest team in Group C, trailing favorites Mexico (No. 23) but comfortably ahead of Guatemala (No. 93) and Cuba (No. 107).

Cato’s loss was keenly felt in Portland, a 1-0 Timbers win. Right winger Sanna Nyassi, who has started 15 of 16 league matches thus far, was serving a one-game suspension due to yellow card accumulation. But Cato wasn’t around to fill in – or help make up for Wondolowski’s absence.

“Cordell’s been playing really well,” Quakes midfielder Tommy Thompson said. “It’s difficult to lose any full international, but we have a lot of depth in the squad, so we’re going to fill the holes and do our best to get results going forward.”
Post by: Deeks on July 10, 2015, 02:27:28 PM
Cato, El Gato!!!!! Well done Yuteman. You create havoc in the first half.
Title: Re: Cordell Cato Thread
Post by: Tallman on August 19, 2015, 09:28:47 PM
WATCH: Cordell Cato scores a brace in San Jose Earthquakes’ 5-0 rout of Sporting Kansas City. Cordell’s goals can be seen at 0:24 and 2:19.
https://www.youtube.com/v/jBz9RcNC36o?start=24
Post by: Peong on August 20, 2015, 12:50:33 PM
Tallman yuh like that word brace eh.

Cato's second was a nice finish.
Post by: Tallman on August 20, 2015, 01:38:59 PM

Yuh still remember dat?  :rotfl:
Post by: Mose on August 20, 2015, 02:50:26 PM

Yuh still remember dat?  :rotfl:

As though anybody could forget it!  ;D
Post by: Flex on September 10, 2015, 02:16:29 AM
Cato’s on top of his game.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

United States-based forward Cordell Cato is enjoying the best stint of his career and at age 23 he still has a whole deal to look forward to.

The San Jose Earthquakes player was a first team starter for T&T at the Concacaf Gold Cup in July, scoring against Guatemala and he was also involved in T&T’s 3-3 draw with Mexico in Utah last Friday.

Cato said the belief in him from head coach Stephen Hart has helped pave a way for his international career.

“I mean it’s been fun coming into the national team and being able to start after watching on for a while under the different coaches like (Jamal) Shabazz and they. Hart really believes in young players and it definitely helps us. The international stage is a lot higher than the club level. The level of everything intensity, quality of play, you always take that back to the club and it’s been working so far I’ve been getting a bit more goals in recent games. Everything has just been working out lately for me,” Cato said.

Cato, who did not play a season in the T&T Pro League before making the jump to Seattle Sounders, was previously a member of San Juan Jabloteh and Defence Force. He was also part of the T&T Under-20 team during the 2011 Concacaf U-20 World Cup qualifying campaign.

His advice to upcoming players is to be in tune with the game and to keep themselves ready for when opportunity comes knocking.

“It’s a little bit difficult at first but the most important thing is being prepared for that one opportunity when it comes,” said Cato.

“Everybody is so into school football which is good but again you have to see yourself playing in the European Leagues and all the other leagues and prepare yourself for that so you’re ready when you go out there.

“So much of our countrymen go out and they come back. You just have to go out and show the team what they exactly want. And as long as you figure out that then trials become easier. As a striker, you go on a trial you have to go and score goals and as a defender you have to do the opposite.

“As Trinidadians you know we’re laid out well like myself, I am laid back, You jut have to do the extra work, not just training with the team, but do the extra work, either on the beach or whatever it takes to make it out and then everything can fall into place because then you have things going for you whether it be the coaches or the right facilities to build you game which has proven well in my case.

“My game has jumped a lot in the couple years . I will say to any player trying to go on my path it’s not a problem not playing in the T&T League, you can skip past it but you just have to be ready.”

Post by: Tallman on September 10, 2015, 04:43:18 PM
WATCH: Catching up with Cordell Cato

https://www.youtube.com/v/teLTEOdUYKs
Title: Cato prepared for the biggest game of his career against the USA
Post by: Tallman on November 16, 2015, 06:15:42 PM
Cato prepared for the biggest game of his career against the USA
By Paul Dewhurst (sjearthquakes.com)

Growing up, Earthquakes midfielder Cordell Cato would make the 10 minute trek from his Carenage home down the road to Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain, the heart of soccer in the country’s capital.

In the same stadium he once paraded around as a fan and aspiring professional, Cato will suit up for Trinidad and Tobego in Tuesday night’s highly anticipated FIFA World Cup Qualifying match against the United States.

For 23-year-old midfielder, ‘highly anticipated’ may be a bit of an understatement.

“It’s going to be the biggest game of my career, especially on the international stage,” Cato said Monday morning. “Especially if we come out victorious. To [get a win against the United States] in front of our fans, this is something that they’ve been waiting to experience for years now.”

The seaside, 23,000-seat venue is expected to be sold-out in anticipation of Tuesday’s bout. The Soca Warriors have always challenged the United States at Hasely Crawford Stadium, but considering their recent form, they could be due for one of the most memorable matches at the country’s storied stadium.

“The anticipation and support is beyond what we expected,” Cato said of the host nation's support. “There’s just so much behind this game for the fans and it’s exciting for them to come out and see a game of this magnitude. It’s going to be a packed stadium, so it’s going to be a fun environment. We’re going to give them a good game.”

Cato and the Soca Warriors kicked off their qualifying campaign Friday with a 2-1 win against Guatemala. Coming on as a substitute in the 65th minute, Cato, along with teammate Kevan George, ignited a second half push that led to their two second half goals.

“When you talk about Guatemala, they’re always a tough team to face at home,” Cato explained. “We managed the game pretty well. Halfway through the second half we found space, started playing better football and started creating a couple scoring opportunities. In a tough situation and a tough country against a good team, we came up with a 2-1 victory.”

After back to back wins against a stout Guatemala side and a glowing 2015 Gold Cup cameo this past summer in the United States, Cato and the Soca Warriors are soaking in this golden era of soccer in the Caribbean.

“The chemistry has never been better,” Cato said. “Some of the other guys have even said they’ve never been a part of a closer group than what we have now. We just want to win. We play for each other, we have fun together, we love each other, and we have fun every time we step on the field.”

Sure, the Soca Warriors' top form on the field perfectly aligns with Tuesday’s home match in Port of Spain, but they’ll have a lot of work to do in coming up victorious against Jurgen Klinsmann and the United States.

“We are going to expect a tough game against a tough team,” Cato said about Tuesday’s clash with the U.S. “For us, we’re home. We just have to be ourselves and be comfortable. We’ve been playing well so we just have to continue what we’re doing. If we go out and play our game, we will be tough for the U.S. to beat."
Post by: palos on November 16, 2015, 06:58:50 PM
Growing up, Earthquakes midfielder Cordell Cato would make the 10 minute trek from his Carenage home down the road to Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain, the heart of soccer in the country’s capital.
Cato must have been a real ball ho to leff Carenage midnight on a Sunday to go to de Crawfie.

10 minutes?  :o :)
Post by: Flex on December 04, 2015, 06:27:47 AM
Cato helps feed families in San Jose.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

National forward Cordell Cato joined with members of his San Jose Earthquakes team to distribute food items to 3,000 families for Thanksgiving at the Avaya Stadium in San Jose on Tuesday.

The San Jose Earthquakes football team, the workers from Cityteam Ministries and an army of 600 hearty helpers put the 8-month old stadium to excellent use as a food distribution center that served thousands of grateful people happily getting boxes and bags of food for this week's traditional holiday meal, the Contracosta Times reported.

As for the presence of the Earthquakes, the very first player on display was the popular Cordell Cato. The smiling, whippet-thin, midfielder was packing groceries at the head of a pair of superefficient distribution lines moving through the belly of the 18,000-seat stadium, which opened in March. The only “person” to upstage Cato was the famed Quakes mascot.

“I always notice when I see families that look like they are struggling,” said Cato, 23, who worked alongside the fuzzy, blue mascot. “My childhood was not so great, so I want to use today to help make sure that these people have a good Thanksgiving.”

Post by: 100% Barataria on December 04, 2015, 08:37:49 AM
Bravo Cato  :applause:
Post by: vb on December 04, 2015, 11:37:38 AM
 :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Title: Earthquakes sign midfielder Cordell Cato to new contract
Post by: Tallman on February 04, 2016, 07:52:38 PM
Earthquakes sign midfielder Cordell Cato to new contract
Earthquakes Media Relations

The San Jose Earthquakes announced today that the club has signed midfielder Cordell Cato to a new multi-year contract.

Cato, 23, is coming off a career year in 2015, where he set career highs in games played (28), starts (18) and minutes (1,814) and tied his career highs in goals (three) and assists (two). He notched his first multi-goal game in a 5-0 win over Sporting Kansas City on August 19 and tallied the third goal for the Quakes in their 3-1 win over rivals LA Galaxy during the California Clasico. Cato was also the only player on San Jose last season to make at least one start at four different positions – left back, right back, left midfield and right midfield.

“Cordell is an excellent young player and we believe he has a very bright future ahead of him,” said Earthquakes general manager John Doyle. “It's easy to forget that, given all the experience he already has, Cordell is only 23. We are delighted to secure his services and look forward to seeing him in a Quakes jersey for a long time to come.”

Cato originally signed with Seattle Sounders FC prior to the 2012 season, appearing in eight matches during his first season in MLS. He was then traded to San Jose on March 1, 2013 for the Quakes final selection in the 2014 MLS SuperDraft. Cato has appeared in 83 matches, making 44 starts, with seven goals and seven assists to his credit over the past four seasons. He is also a regular with the Trinidad and Tobago National Team and recently helped his country earn a point against the United States in 2018 World Cup Qualifying with a scoreless draw last November.

Transaction: San Jose Earthquakes (MLS) – San Jose Earthquakes sign M Cordell Cato to a new multi-year contract.
Post by: soccerman on February 04, 2016, 08:43:58 PM
Congrats Cato :beermug:
Post by: asylumseeker on February 04, 2016, 09:28:58 PM
Well done, Cordell.

Quite correct re: his youth v. experience. However, precisely what we need other players to amass: a credible body of experience, early out the gate.

Would like to see his decision-making match his speed on the park. Would also like to see deliveries connecting from wide and advanced areas.

Dahis yuh homework (NT, if not club) Cordell.
Title: Cordell Cato excited for next chapter in Earthquakes career
Post by: Tallman on February 09, 2016, 03:28:41 PM
Cordell Cato excited for next chapter in Earthquakes career
By Mike Keegan (sjearthquakes.com)

Cordell Cato has one word to describe signing a new, multi-year contract with the San Jose Earthquakes:

“Amazing,” the 23-year-old midfielder said.

The new deal caps an eventful and successful year for Cato in which he made a career-high 18 starts, scored three goals and provided two assists. He also represented Trinidad and Tobago in a 0-0 draw against the U.S., 10 minutes away from where he was raised, and welcomed a new baby boy into the world.

It also provides the versatile former Seattle Sounder with an opportunity to further establish himself as a fans favorite at Avaya Stadium.

“To know that I am somewhat secure and I am going to be moving forward with the Quakes for a couple more years is amazing,” Cato added. “This is my fifth season and it has been a journey.”

When announcing Cato’s new deal, San Jose general manager John Doyle pointed out that, despite appearing in 83 matches, time is on his side.

And the player agrees.

“Yes, I have experience but I am still pretty young,” he said. “There is definitely work there to be done.”

Cato was speaking from the Quakes preseason training camp in Tucson, Arizona. He will be part of a squad that takes on South Korean outfit Seongnam FC on Tuesday morning, before heading back to California on Wednesday. The final scores haven’t gone the Quakes way in their first two matches in the desert against the New England Revolution and Houston Dynamo, but the team is beginning to gel as the regular season approaches.

“The results haven’t been for us,” Cato said. “We have created a lot of chances – we just need to take them and then things will change."
Title: Earthquakes winger Cordell Cato has hamstring strain
Post by: Tallman on February 24, 2016, 11:17:09 AM
Earthquakes winger Cordell Cato suffered a hamstring muscle strain in a game last weekend and is expected to miss two to three weeks, coach Dominic Kinnear said Tuesday.
http://www.mercurynews.com/sports/ci_29553510/earthquakes-winger-cordell-cato-has-hamstring-strain
Post by: Tallman on September 29, 2016, 07:06:43 PM
San Jose Earthquakes midfielder Cordell Cato made his 100th appearance in Major League Soccer during a game against Montreal Impact at Saputo Stadium, Montreal, Canada on Wednesday, September 28th 2016.

(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-0/p370x247/14479702_10154576019334314_8083967787452122529_n.png?oh=6d1336457ca793c4c3a0f898f8fddceb&oe=5865BC13)
Post by: Deeks on September 29, 2016, 07:12:53 PM
Good Go, Cordell! Good Luck in the future.
Post by: Tallman on February 07, 2017, 07:28:35 PM
WATCH: Cordell Cato wraps up preseason in Tucson, Arizona with a goal for San Jose Earthquakes in a 1-0 win over Seattle Sounders

https://www.youtube.com/v/ChilkAGhkQM
Title: why do we insist on cordell Cato?
Post by: pull stones on March 28, 2017, 10:47:04 PM
I don't want to knock the lad but this dude is a serious liability to the offense in every way. his first touch is awful, he runs with the ball into a wall of players all the time, he gives away possession he kills the attack quite often and he's a very poor finisher who puts in very little crosses in the box, in a nutshell he's simply a hinderance an impediment on the offense.

could the coach please leave this guy on the bench and use him sparingly only to help out the defense close out games after we gain a lead by trying to protect it because Cato is no offensive threat, he's just a waste of a a good playing position.
Title: Re: why do see insist on cordell Cato?
Post by: Deeks on March 28, 2017, 11:02:40 PM
I don't want to knock the lad but this dude is a serious liability to the offense in every way. his first touch is awful, he runs with the ball into a wall of players, he gives away possession he kills the attack quite often and he's a very poor finisher who puts in very little crosses in the box, in a nutshell he's simply a hinderance an impediment on the offense.

could the coach please leave this guy on the bench and use him sparingly only to help out the defense close out games after we gain a lead by trying to protect it because Cato is no offensive threat, he's just a waste of a a good playing position.

While your assessment might be correct on some of the things you mentioned, I rather have him on or as a sub. I don't think his first touch is bad, but he do make some bad plays. But he asset is that he comes back and help the defense a lot. But he needs an offensive minded coach to work with one on one with his offensive flaws. like improvement on his crosses. Develop or improve on quick shot when he is close to the box.  His short corners are a waste. He should mix them. Some short. Some long. We cant afford to dash him under the bus. We need players like him and JJ.
Title: Re: why do see insist on cordell Cato?
Post by: asylumseeker on March 29, 2017, 06:05:32 AM
I don't want to knock the lad but this dude is a serious liability to the offense in every way. his first touch is awful, he runs with the ball into a wall of players, he gives away possession he kills the attack quite often and he's a very poor finisher who puts in very little crosses in the box, in a nutshell he's simply a hinderance an impediment on the offense.

While your assessment might be correct on some of the things you mentioned, I rather have him on or as a sub. I don't think his first touch is bad, but he do make some bad plays. But he asset is that he comes back and help the defense a lot. But he needs an offensive minded coach to work with one on one with his offensive flaws. like improvement on his crosses. Develop or improve on quick shot when he is close to the box.  His short corners are a waste. He should mix them. Some short. Some long. We cant afford to dash him under the bus. We need players like him and JJ.

Improvement is one thing, non-existence is another. They are not even on an endangered species list.

Disagree on his touch being bad. Agree with most of the prior comment. However,  he has undeniable ability. The challenge is getting him to hone his decision-making to mesh with the conditions.

Cato is a handful. He made Mexico uncomfortable, but he is never a 90 minute baller. He is an "Energizer bunny" that creates situations but he doesn't capitalize on enough of them before running out of steam.

Still not hard to see the mirror image qualities he provides with Joevin.

If both players are on song, we are potent.
Post by: Deeks on March 29, 2017, 08:46:49 AM
I wish Jomal Williams would step up to the plate and show massive improvement. Our mid field ran out of ideas when the fast break was not present.
Post by: Tallman on April 14, 2017, 03:58:14 PM
WATCH: 90+ featuring Cordell Cato

https://www.youtube.com/v/ZrMZ8uLgnzQ
Title: Cordell Cato makes case for San Jose starting spo
Post by: Tallman on May 02, 2017, 01:41:55 PM
Cordell Cato makes case for San Jose starting spot after shining vs Minnesota United
By Jeff Rueter(MLSsoccer.com)

The San Jose Earthquakes used a tidy defensive performance in Minnesota this weekend to snap their six-match unbeaten streak, but it was made all the more impressive by the fresh face at right back.

According to head coach Dom Kinnear, regular right back Nick Lima picked up a dead-leg injury in training during the week leading up to the match, leading to winger Cordell Cato moving back to fill in. For Kinnear, the Trinidad & Tobago international more than held his ground.

“The one thing about Cordell is that he can play a lot of positions,” Kinnear said. “He attacks well from deep, he defends well, so I thought he had a good game for us.”

Cato kept Minnesota’s wide players at bay all day, containing compatriot Kevin Molino and also pressing up the right-hand side. He also moved around the pitch to great effect, giving the Loons headaches all over the pitch.

“I’m an attacking player, so in playing defense, I was trying to be simple,” Cato explained “I pressed forward in the attack, tried to create chances and be dangerous. I thought I did that tonight.”

Cato also generated what was likely the best chance of any player on the field in the first half, curling a left-footed shot that beat the goalkeeper and struck the underside of the crossbar only to bounce away from goal.

His captain and teammate Chris Wondolowski was impressed. MLS's leading-active goalscorer appreciated the additional spark that Cato provided.

“Cordell did really well,” according to the US international. “We played a new lineup in a 4-2-3-1 in a sense. Cordell was at right back with a lot of ground to cover. He’s so quick and dynamic with the ball. He provided a nice spark for us.”

Lima eventually subbed into the match for the last nine minutes, but he came in at left back. Given Cato’s strong performance in Minnesota, Kinnear is keeping his fullback options open.

“It’s possible [Cato] starts next week [Saturday vs. Portland Timbers],” said Kinnear. “We’ll see ... lots of stuff can happen between then.”
Post by: gawd on pitch on May 02, 2017, 05:00:34 PM
This man is going to be key to our campaign. He has all of the attributes to be one of the best players on our national team. He continues to improve bit by bit. I think this is the year that he makes his mark. . for club and country.
Post by: E-man on June 16, 2017, 01:57:42 AM
Cordell Cato scored the 2nd goal vs San Francisco Deltas in the U.S. Open Cup Fourth round, Wednesday, June 14, 7:30 PM, Avaya Stadium

https://www.youtube.com/v/XLBEaP9aids

https://www.mlssoccer.com/post/2017/06/14/cordell-cato-doubles-quakes-lead?autoplay=true
Post by: Brownsugar on June 16, 2017, 01:11:16 PM
This man is going to be key to our campaign. He has all of the attributes to be one of the best players on our national team. He continues to improve bit by bit. I think this is the year that he makes his mark. . for club and country.

He'll be remembered this year for sure..... :whistling:
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 19, 2017, 08:24:39 AM

I still say we missed him these last 2 games.  Is too bad he lost focus and had to be disciplined.
Post by: Deeks on June 19, 2017, 08:44:05 AM
too bad he lost focus

That's correct!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ACuzbzcw4HI
Post by: maxg on June 19, 2017, 09:45:39 AM

I still say we missed him these last 2 games.  Is too bad he lost focus and had to be disciplined.
I would say I missed the potentiality, but Nathan Lewis did a fine job. I do think Cato is capable of more, but it doesn't come to the fore. Maybe he is just Ntl team unlucky, as far as getting that killer game in.
nb: this opinion is just based on the games I have seen. Not worried about that discipline error doh, unless he is made to feel offended. Hope he still in the mix and can challenge Lewis (and Hector) for the spot.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 19, 2017, 11:58:18 AM

I would say I missed the potentiality, but Nathan Lewis did a fine job. I do think Cato is capable of more, but it doesn't come to the fore. Maybe he is just Ntl team unlucky, as far as getting that killer game in.
nb: this opinion is just based on the games I have seen. Not worried about that discipline error doh, unless he is made to feel offended. Hope he still in the mix and can challenge Lewis (and Hector) for the spot.

I would hope not!
Post by: pull stones on June 20, 2017, 12:21:43 AM

I would hope not!
nothing against cato but Lewis in my estimation is much better going forward with better touches better vision better decision maker, but cato might be a better defensive player......might. thank you cordell for bringing your lady to practice now we got to see what another winger had to offer and lewis reminds me very much of keron cummings.
Post by: g on June 20, 2017, 09:38:58 AM
This is the beauty of sport, when one door closes another one opens. If Cato was compliant we probably would have never seen Lewis for any significant game time over the last 2 games. Now i didn't think he was a standout, but for me we know that we have yet another option in that wide position we can call on. He is not a young fella, I think 26 or 27 but if he can keep his form he can be productive over the next 3-4 years.

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 20, 2017, 09:49:35 AM
This is the beauty of sport, when one door closes another one opens. If Cato was compliant we probably would have never seen Lewis for any significant game time over the last 2 games. Now i didn't think he was a standout, but for me we know that we have yet another option in that wide position we can call on. He is not a young fella, I think 26 or 27 but if he can keep his form he can be productive over the next 3-4 years.

Same for me.  He wasn't great in Colorado but he was better in CR so it's a mixed bag.  What I do know is that with Cato on the field in CO molino would have had less to do defensively and quite possibly been more available as an outlet to KJ on some of those possessions where he was on a deserted island.  For me Cato offers more, maybe in time we'll see more from Lewis and be able to properly compare them.  Right now comparing them would be premature in my eyes.
Post by: soccerman on June 20, 2017, 10:54:37 AM

Same for me.  He wasn't great in Colorado but he was better in CR so it's a mixed bag.  What I do know is that with Cato on the field in CO molino would have had less to do defensively and quite possibly been more available as an outlet to KJ on some of those possessions where he was on a deserted island.  For me Cato offers more, maybe in time we'll see more from Lewis and be able to properly compare them.  Right now comparing them would be premature in my eyes.
Post by: andremartinsc on February 07, 2018, 06:25:11 AM
You guys have any idea where he is going to play this year?
Post by: Tallman on February 16, 2018, 07:45:55 AM
Former San Jose Earthquakes midfielder Cordell Cato is on trial with the LA Galaxy. He came on as a substitute yesterday in the 62nd minute of the Galaxy’s 3-1 win over Fresno FC in a pre-season friendly.

(https://scontent-lax3-2.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/28055954_10156242555604314_3800261830433624680_n.jpg?oh=def3af0f892ea132b1a322d45aacf297&oe=5B05F3ED)
Post by: asylumseeker on February 16, 2018, 10:11:30 AM
At this stage ah de dance, Cato shouldn't be "on trial" anywhere. He should be signing on reputation.

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on February 20, 2018, 09:17:41 AM
At this stage ah de dance, Cato shouldn't be "on trial" anywhere. He should be signing on reputation.

100% agreed!
Post by: Deeks on February 20, 2018, 07:48:24 PM
Right now, all Trini ballers on survival mode. Those with reputation advanced in age. So is trial time.
Post by: palos on February 20, 2018, 11:27:57 PM
Right now, all Trini ballers on survival mode. Those with reputation advanced in age. So is trial time.

Correct.

We are back to pre Yorke, Latapy days.

And I talking about when they were playing U12 football with Lara for T&T

These days, the reputation of our players with reputable foreign clubs, generally lower than the white line in the road.
Title: Cato joins Charlotte Independence
Post by: Tallman on March 09, 2018, 12:55:54 PM
Trinidad and Tobago International, MLS veteran Cordell Cato joins Charlotte Independence
By James Thomas (charlotteindependence.com)

On Friday, the Charlotte Independence, a United Soccer League (USL) professional soccer team announced the signing of midfielder Cordell Cato, pending league and federation approval. The 25-year-old becomes the second Trinidad and Tobago International player signed to the 2018 roster joining teammate Kevan George. Over the past five season, Cato has played for Major League Soccer (MLS) side San Jose Earthquakes.

“To get a player with so much experience in the MLS is fantastic,” said Independence Head Coach Mike Jeffries. “We're trying to bring in a mix of guys, and he's somebody that's in the prime of his career and offers us a high-level of play and is a guy that has the ability to take on players one-v-one. I think it's a fantastic signing for us and a guy we're really excited to have here.”

Cato began his professional career in 2009, signing with top division, Trinidad and Tobago side San Juan Jabloteh. As a 19-year-old, Cato made his MLS debut with the Seattle Sounders during the 2012 season. The following season, his rights were acquired via trade by the San Jose Earthquakes where he would log 6,950 minutes in 111 games, scoring seven goals with 10 assists in five seasons. 

“I feel like my experience helps me relate to the older guys, as well as the younger guys,” said Cato. “I'm still learning, but at the same time, I can pass on information and knowledge I've gained in the MLS over the last six years.”

Since 2014, Cato has made 20 appearances for the Trinidad and Tobago National Team. During the 2018 FIFA World Cup CONCACAF qualification, Cato made starts in “The Hex” versus Costa Rica, Honduras, Panama and Mexico. The Carenage, Trinidad and Tobago native has two goals for the Soca Warriors including a 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup score versus Guatemala in front of a crowd of 54,126 at Soldier Field in Chicago, Illinois. 

Cato joins a lengthy list of Independence signings with international backgrounds such as South Korean Jungsoo Lee, Swiss native Kay Voser, Cameroonian Calvin Doum, and Liberian international Joel Johnson.

“I think it's fantastic for us this off-season to bring in different cultures and look to integrate them into how we play,” said Jeffries. “I think it speaks a lot about the city, community, and the direction we want to go in as an organization. Those types of players are finding Charlotte a desirable place to be and to play.”

For Cato, his arrival in Charlotte marks his first visit to the city noting novelty as an importance in his decision to sign with a club. He credits Trinidad and Tobago teammate Kevan George for persuading his choice, as well.

“Joining Charlotte had a lot to do with Kevan and him being here,” said Cato. “We were always talking and I was back home with my family and we were talking about the possibilities of where I'm going to go next. We just started talking and [Kevan] talked to Mike, Mike [Jeffries] reached out to me, and it was pretty simple from there.”

Charlotte Independence, a United Soccer League professional soccer team, will kick off the 2018 season at the Sportsplex at Matthews on Saturday, March 17th when the Independence hosts Ottawa Fury FC. Single-game tickets are now available. For details on the upcoming schedule and Season Memberships visit charlotteindependence.com or call 704-206-1515.
Post by: Tallman on March 18, 2018, 08:11:09 AM
WATCH: Cordell Cato nets a brace on his debut for Charlotte Independence in their 4-1 win over Ottawa Fury.

https://www.youtube.com/v/SvPn_CiLBPE
Post by: soccerman on March 18, 2018, 10:15:52 PM
Was that Cato who scored the 2nd goal? It looks like him.
Post by: Tallman on March 19, 2018, 05:01:52 AM

Yes, de commentators just call de wrong name.
Post by: soccerman on March 19, 2018, 12:14:22 PM
Yes, de commentators just call de wrong name.
I almost went to this game too...Cato looking fit, that was pure pace and determination for the 2nd goal.
Title: Cato named to USL Team of the Week
Post by: Tallman on March 20, 2018, 12:40:18 PM
Cato named to USL Team of the Week
By James Thomas (charlotteindependence.com)

Charlotte Independence, and Trinidad & Tobago international midfielder Cordell Cato earned USL Team of the Week Honors behind a two-goal performance in a 4-1 victory over Ottawa Fury FC. Saturday night's, Season Opening win marked the USL debut for Cato.

The 25-year-old has made 20 appearances for the Trinidad & Tobago National Team in addition to six seasons, with over 100 games played in the MLS. During the 2018 FIFA World Cup CONCACAF qualification, Cato made starts in “The Hex” versus Costa Rica, Honduras, Panama and Mexico. Cato has two goals for the Soca Warriors including a 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup score versus Guatemala in front of a crowd of 54,126 at Soldier Field in Chicago, Illinois.

Swope Park Rangers forward Kharlton Belmar has been voted the USL Player of the Week for Week 1 of the 2018 season. Belmar scored two goals and recorded two assists, including the game-winner in stoppage time, as the Rangers took a 4-3 victory against Reno 1868 FC on Saturday afternoon at Greater Nevada Field.

Belmar received 88 percent of the poll conducted by a national panel of independent media representing every USL market. Charlotte Independence midfielder Cordell Cato finished second with eight percent and New York Red Bulls II midfielder Andrew Tinari third with four percent.

USL Team of the Week

GK – Jake Fenlason, Saint Louis FC: Fenlason recorded four saves to help Saint Louis claim a point on the road in its opening game of the season against Rio Grande Valley FC.

D – Paco Craig, Louisville City FC: Craig made four tackles, four interceptions and eight clearances to lead Louisville to a shutout victory against Nashville SC.

D – Dekel Keinan, FC Cincinnati: Keinan notched 11 clearances and won five of eight duels as he played a key role in FCC’s 1-0 road victory against the Charleston Battery.

D – Taylor Hunter, Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC: Hunter won five of six duels, completed 85.7 percent of 28 passes and registered seven clearances as the Switchbacks held the LA Galaxy II to only one shot on goal.

M – Nick Hinds, Seattle Sounders FC 2: Hinds capped his professional debut with the game-winning goal in S2’s 2-1 victory against the Portland Timbers 2 and also won two tackles and five of eight duels in the midfield.

M – Cordell Cato, Charlotte Independence: Cato scored the opening two goals as the Independence romped to a 4-1 victory against Ottawa Fury FC in their home opener.

M – Andrew Tinari, New York Red Bulls II: Tinari scored twice and recorded five key passes as the Red Bulls II rallied to take a 2-1 victory against Toronto FC II.

M – Jack Blake, Tampa Bay Rowdies: Blake completed 35 of 45 passes, registered two tackles and two clearances and capped the Rowdies’ 3-1 win against North Carolina FC with a fine long-range goal.

F – Brandon Allen, Bethlehem Steel FC: Allen notched a pair of goals in his debut for Steel FC as the hosts pulled away for a 4-1 victory against the Richmond Kickers.

F – Matt Thomas, Las Vegas Lights FC: Thomas’ goal after 70 seconds set a record for the opening goal in a USL expansion club’s history and paved the way for a 3-2 road win against Fresno FC.

F – Kharlton Belmar, Swope Park Rangers: Belmar had two goals and two assists, including the stoppage-time game-winner, as the Rangers took a 4-3 victory on the road against Reno 1868 FC.

Bench: Cody Mizell (TBR), Francis Atuahene (OKC), Niall McCabe (LOU), Carlos Alvarez (LV), Solomon Asante (PHX), Hadji Barry (SPR), Villyan Bijev (SAC)
Post by: Tallman on May 12, 2018, 08:56:21 PM
WATCH: Cordell Cato turns at the top of the penalty area and rifles a shot into the roof of the net to open the scoring in Charlotte Independence’s 4-1 win over FC Cincinnati.

https://www.youtube.com/v/vllUrcOU8VI?start=16
Post by: Tallman on May 29, 2018, 01:50:15 PM
WATCH: Cordell Cato bags a brace and assist in Charlotte Independence’s 3-1 win over Richmond Kickers

https://www.youtube.com/v/GLagWp7GSOY?start=84
Post by: Jefferz on May 30, 2018, 02:07:22 PM
Cato need to find this form for Trinidad in bigger matches. I see him do a lot of the hard work and then he seems to lose conviction when in the finishing zone when he plays against bigger concacaf opponents. He's an excellent player. Still has loads of potential. I can only hope that he continues this form, gets that constant goal scoring in his blood heads back up to the MLS or elsewhere and goes where he should. He has so much pace and at times his touch is actually really clever. He could be a goal fiend if he just got his head on in the right way. I've been a particular fan of his for a while.

Come on Cordell, you're a champ keep at it.
Post by: Tallman on June 09, 2018, 08:53:07 PM
WATCH: Cordell Cato scores the opening goal in Charlotte Independence’s 4-2 loss to New York Red Bulls II

https://www.youtube.com/v/DMB7kCIHLXM?start=7
Post by: Tallman on June 24, 2018, 08:40:18 AM
WATCH: Cordell Cato scores the equalizer in Charlotte Independence’s 1-1 draw with Richmond Kickers.

https://www.youtube.com/v/1eDt4_2FgW8?start=45
Post by: Tallman on June 28, 2018, 01:12:02 AM
WATCH: Midfielder Cordell Cato scores his eighth goal of the season in Charlotte Independence’s 2-2 draw with Tampa Bay Rowdies. He also recorded an assist.

https://www.youtube.com/v/qtr5EvbG11A?start=45
Title: Energy FC sign Trinidad and Tobago star, MLS veteran Cordell Cato
Post by: Tallman on January 09, 2019, 01:55:08 PM
Energy FC sign Trinidad and Tobago star, MLS veteran Cordell Cato
By Tyler Vaughn (energyfc.com)

Energy FC have signed forward Cordell Cato, Head Coach Steve Cooke announced today. Cato joins the club after spending 2018 with the Charlotte Independence, where he made 24 appearances, scoring eight goals and providing four assists.

Prior to joining Charlotte Independence, Cato made 135 appearances over five seasons in Major League Soccer with Seattle Sounders FC in 2012 and the San Jose Earthquakes from 2013-2017. During the 2014 season, he and Energy FC defender Atiba Harris were teammates.

In addition to playing in the top flight in the United States, Cato has featured for the Trinidad and Tobago national team on 27 occasions, scoring two goals and helping the Soca Warriors advance to the quarterfinals of the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup. He also made starts against Costa Rica, Honduras, Panama and Mexico during 2018 FIFA World Cup CONCACAF qualification in “The Hex”.

“Cordell is another player with significant MLS experience,” said Cooke. “I think it’s important to note that he’s been in some pretty good teams and over the years has played with some really good players. Cordell, in terms of an attacking sense, has great quality and has a real eye for getting behind defenders and going at players 1-v-1. He’s an exciting threat going forward, and I think he’s also a real big goal threat. We can’t wait to see what Cordell can bring. We think he can be one of the most exciting players in USL this season.”

Energy FC begin the 2019 season on the road against expansion club El Paso Locomotive FC Saturday, March 9. The first home match will be against Las Vegas Lights FC Saturday, March 16 at Taft Stadium.
Post by: Deeks on January 09, 2019, 04:03:13 PM
Damn!
Post by: Sam on January 10, 2019, 06:42:44 AM
All we players going down a level except Greg and he cant make T&T team....

Dennis real good.

Post by: Dinner Mints on January 10, 2019, 07:30:19 AM

Dennis real good.

Both teams in the same league.
Post by: Tallman on January 10, 2019, 08:34:36 AM

Dennis real good.

In case you missed it, Greg has moved to Orlando City in the MLS.
Post by: Tallman on March 10, 2019, 08:30:29 AM
WATCH: Cordell Cato rounds off the scoring in Oklahoma City Energy FC's 3-1 win over El Paso Locomotive FC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/C79n3V3Po8Y?start=133
Post by: Dinner Mints on March 11, 2019, 08:17:05 AM

Dennis real good.

In case you missed it, Greg has moved to Orlando City in the MLS.
I meant Cato. The team he left and the team he went to are in the same league. He didn't 'drop down a level.'
Post by: Tallman on April 06, 2019, 09:06:42 PM
WATCH: Cordell Cato nets his second of the season in OKC Energy FC's 3-2 loss to Portland Timbers 2.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Dt8qvZSXWDM?start=26
Title: Kickin’ it with Cordell
Post by: Tallman on August 24, 2020, 01:49:15 PM
Kickin’ it with Cordell
By Caitlynne Miller (oklahomacity.momcollective.com)

With three little boys who have played soccer, I was so excited to have the opportunity to chat with OKC Energy player, Cordell Cato and his wife, Jonelle Cato, who is also a soccer star! Cordell and Jonelle have two children and have lived in OKC for about a year. The couple was living long-distance before moving here and made their relationship work with lots of video calls!

What was your first impression when you found out you were coming to Oklahoma City?

Cordell: To be fair, it was up in the air. I didn’t know what to expect. A lot of people didn’t do Oklahoma justice; there were a lot of people that asked “Why are you going there?” But it has been good since we’ve been here!

Tell us about your team!

Cordell: The team is better than last year. There are a lot of talented guys on the team this year; they come from a lot of different backgrounds. A lot of us get along well, which is a bit strange to be honest! If you bring a lot of personalities into one environment, sometimes the vibe doesn’t work out that way. But this is a really good team.

Tell us about raising your kids in Oklahoma City!

Jonelle: I think it’s a nice place to raise kids. It’s definitely family-friendly.

Cordell: Last year was a lot of getting to know Oklahoma, but this year was a lot more different parks, and the kids love being outside so it’s nice! In the neighborhood we’re in, a lot of people are walking around (when it’s not 100 degrees) and that is something that’s really top-quality here. I’m really grateful for that.

Where is your kids’ favorite place in OKC?

Jonelle: Chuck E Cheese!

Cordell: Chuck E Cheese is at the top of the list. My daughter points out Main Event every time we pass. We went there once, and I think the other one is Fun Zone. I actually really like that place too.

Why are you proud to represent Oklahoma City?

Cordell: When we go out, we are not just representing the OKC Energy team, but I feel that we’re representing the entire city at once. Oklahoma City welcomes us, so I feel like in a sense I need to do my best and give back to them in that way.

What does a typical day look like for you? Specifically, people want to know what you eat for breakfast (I was totally hoping he would answer Wheaties to this question).

Cordell: This year my breakfast consists of walnuts, blueberries, blackberries, mangoes, dates and bananas. It’s unusual, but that’s what I eat every morning for breakfast.

Our daughter wakes us up in the morning, she’s usually up first. We set them up with breakfast, that’s usually our first duty. I usually have to wake my son up; he’s the lazy one. Now that I’m injured, I get to practice around 11 when it’s just about getting done to kind of get set. We usually eat lunch in the car since it’s about 1:30 and then they come back home and shower, 3:00 is nap time. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. 6:00 is dinner and the kids have 7:00-9:00 to watch whatever they want, whether it’s TV, the iPad, whatever. That’s the typical day right now, but it will change when I start back going at the regular time to practice.

What is your proudest soccer moment?

Cordell: The first time I scored for the National team. That was the first game we played in the 2015 Gold Cup against Guatemala.

Do your kids dream of being soccer stars like their parents?

Cordell: We’ve never pushed them to play. My son will play when I’m playing. He’ll kick the ball all the time, or at practice, he will run around and play. He doesn’t want to play for a team yet, but he’s only four. When I ask my daughter, “do you want to go play for a team?” she’s like “yeah”. They’re so close that she kind of mimics what he does, so maybe if it actually happens and he says no, she’ll probably be like “I don’t want to do this”. As they get older, we’ll see how it ends up.

What does a kid who dreams of being a soccer star needs to know?

Jonelle: I think they need to know that it is a long road. They have to be disciplined. They’re going to have those days when you wake up and don’t feel like playing, especially when they’re young. Just to be humble, and not to get too cocky. Also – just practicing for 5 minutes or 10 minutes can improve your game a lot!

Cordell: It is also important to enjoy the journey. When we’re kids, we tend to have fun with everything, no matter what we do. You can be playing with a shoe box as a kid and still have fun. But I think as you grow and get older into those adolescent years, it becomes “Ok I want to be great at this,” and you become obsessed with it and forget to have fun. Then it becomes more difficult. So I would say to keep having fun while you’re trying to become the best.

What advice do you have for parents?

Jonelle: It is so important to speak positivity into them. I make them say positive things about themselves every single day. They have five specific things they say to themselves every day: they are black and they’re beautiful, they are strong, they are capable and they can do anything. I think it’s important to pray with your kids as well.

Cordell: You get so caught up in work, it’s very important, no matter how tired you are, no matter how driven you are, whether for money or a higher position, we tend to look so far ahead that we tend to miss what’s in front of us. Like my wife said, it’s so important to spend that quality time because your kid is only going to be three for one year. All kids want is that time and that affection or for you to have compassion for them. I think that’s important as a parent, and that’s why I try to spend as much time as possible with them.

So there you have it: two award-winning soccer stars that have lives a lot like ours. They have kids that love Chuck E Cheese and waking up early and hate napping. They worry about spending enough time with their kids and stress about building them into amazing little people. Sure, they are more athletic and talented than most of us will ever be, but they wake up and eat their walnuts and fruit just like the rest of us.
Post by: Tallman on September 30, 2020, 09:02:55 PM
WATCH: A counter attack sees Cordell Cato scores his first goal of the season in Oklahoma City Energy FC's 3-2 loss to Tulsa Roughnecks.

https://www.youtube.com/v/McIYSaVKuaM
Post by: Peong on October 03, 2020, 07:34:08 PM
Cato scored to level the game 1-1. Nice link up play for the goal.
Post by: Tallman on October 03, 2020, 09:34:45 PM
WATCH: Cordell Cato scores for the second consecutive match during Oklahoma City Energy FC's 4-2 loss to Rio Grande Valley FC Toros

https://www.youtube.com/v/0aMcWqpjDj4?start=43