Sports => Quizz Time & Facts => Topic started by: vb on February 06, 2012, 09:01:34 AM

Title: Trinis fighting for world titles in the 90s
Post by: vb on February 06, 2012, 09:01:34 AM
Three Trinidadians fought for world titles in the 1990s.

Who were they, who did they fight and which world titles?

These are men, limited to the WBC/WBA/WBO/IBF titles.

Tallest you may attempt. :)

Title: Re: Trinis fighting for world titles in the 90s
Post by: Tallman on February 06, 2012, 01:59:51 PM
Learie Bruce
Alric Johnson
Jimmy Joseph
Post by: vb on February 07, 2012, 02:23:02 AM
Learie Bruce
Alric Johnson
Jimmy Joseph

Damn Tallest. You eh even get one right.

Post by: Tallman on February 07, 2012, 05:24:15 AM
Learie Bruce
Alric Johnson
Jimmy Joseph

So de WBO Inter-Continental ..., and WBC International ... are not world titles?
Post by: vb on February 07, 2012, 07:34:27 AM
Learie Bruce
Alric Johnson
Jimmy Joseph

So de WBO Inter-Continental ..., and WBC International ... are not world titles?

No they are regional titles; eg. Intercontinental (originall) meant the American continent, Leslie Stewart won one of these around 1985.

Post by: vb on February 08, 2012, 08:38:34 AM
Hint,

two of these fighters were  based in Canada.

Post by: Tallman on February 08, 2012, 08:40:13 AM
Hint,

Nick Rupa is one.
Post by: vb on February 08, 2012, 08:48:06 AM
Hint,

Nick Rupa is one.

Yep.
Post by: vb on February 16, 2012, 12:55:31 PM
My apologies, I made a mistake with the dates, so I'll just give the answers.

Nick Rupa did fight for the WBC/IBF Lt. Mddle title in 1997 vs. Terry Norris.

Mistake was Leslie Stewart fought Michael Moorer for the WBO Lt. Hvy title in 1989 not 1990.
And Syd Vanderpool fought Bernard Hopkins for the Middlweight title in 2000, not the late 90s as I had thought.

Post by: Tallman on February 21, 2012, 06:30:26 AM

Steups! It have ah clout waiting wit yuh name on it  ;D
Post by: vb on February 21, 2012, 09:41:15 AM

Steups! It have ah clout waiting wit yuh name on it  ;D

I was only off by one year  ;D