Sports => Trinbago, NBA & World Basketball => Topic started by: royal on April 28, 2012, 05:44:14 AM

Title: 2011-2012 NBA Play offs
Post by: royal on April 28, 2012, 05:44:14 AM
Heat/Knicks in key match up

http://www.nba.com/news/features/2012-series-preview-east2/index.html?ls=iref:nbahpt1
Title: Re: 2011-2012 NBA Play offs
Post by: weary1969 on April 28, 2012, 07:22:29 PM

http://www.nba.com/news/features/2012-series-preview-east2/index.html?ls=iref:nbahpt1

Somebody need 2 tell d knicks d playoffs strt. 100-67
Post by: royal on April 28, 2012, 07:46:26 PM

Somebody need 2 tell d knicks d playoffs strt. 100-67

dey look real bad,as if dey not suppose to be there.Let's see how dey respond Monday
Post by: Bitter on April 28, 2012, 09:41:46 PM
Derrick Rose will miss rest of NBA season and Olympics after tearing ACL
• Derrick Rose tears anterior cruciate ligament
• Bulls star will miss rest of season and Olympics
• Chicago Bulls beat Philadelphia 76ers
• Miami Heat dismantle New York Knicks

Derrick Rose of the Chicago Bulls will miss the rest of the season and the Olympics after tearing his anterior cruciate ligament in the fourth quarter of Game 1 in the first round of the NBA basketball playoffs against the Philadelphia 76ers Saturday, April 28, 2012, in Chicago.

Rose was helped off the court late in Chicago's 103-91 playoff-opening victory over the Philadelphia 76ers on Saturday, a staggering blow for a team eyeing a championship run.

He scored 23 points and was playing more like the league's reigning MVP after missing 27 games because of injuries during the regular season, but his season came to an end as the Bulls were wrapping up an impressive win.

Rose crumbled to the ground after he drove the lane with about 1:20 left and the Bulls leading by 12. He was going for a layup when he came to a jump-stop and seemed to change his mind as the 76ers' Spencer Hawes and Lavoy Allen rotated over, passing off to a teammate before an awkward landing.

Medical personnel tended to Rose for several minutes as he was writhing in pain near the baseline before helping him to the locker room. Rose was taken to the hospital, where MRI results confirmed the Bulls' worst fears.

In the game, Rose found his touch after a slow start and also contributed nine rebounds and nine assists. Richard Hamilton added 19 points, Luol Deng scored 17 and Joakim Noah (12 points, 13 rebounds) had a double-double for Chicago.

Elton Brand led Philadelphia with 19 points. Jrue Holiday scored 16, and Thaddeus Young had 13 points. Chicago product Evan Turner scored 12 and was booed mercilessly after acknowledging he thought the Miami Heat would be a tougher first-round matchup.
Post by: Bakes on April 28, 2012, 11:00:36 PM
Was on the mat all day and missed the Knicks blowout... crushing blow losing Schumpert to the ACL tear.  Hope he regains his explosiveness after the surgery.

Same for Rose... not really a fan, but never wishing that on any athlete.
Post by: weary1969 on April 29, 2012, 08:03:48 PM
Atlanta beat Boston and Rondo do worse tan Artest he bump an official. Knuckleheads aboumd in d NBA.
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 29, 2012, 08:51:58 PM
Atlanta beat Boston and Rondo do worse tan Artest he bump an official. Knuckleheads aboumd in d NBA.
weary watch de hilite nah....he trip and gently nudge de ref.
Post by: Bakes on April 29, 2012, 09:26:00 PM

Yeah he trip over he brain... dai'z at least one, possibly two games.
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 29, 2012, 09:30:43 PM
them refs aint makin joke....if u fart too hard u might get ah T
Post by: Bakes on April 29, 2012, 10:23:36 PM
Clippers vs. Grizzlies... wow, what a effin' game.  Grizzlies lead whole game, up by as much as 27, raining threes from all over... fancy passing... highlight reel dunk... talking trash. Even with six minutes left they still up 16... den Nick Young ketch fire with three threes in about a one minute span.  Next thing yuh know they loss by one yes... lol.

Go Clippers.
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 29, 2012, 10:28:13 PM
Clippers vs. Grizzlies... wow, what a effin' game.  Grizzlies lead whole game, up by as much as 27, raining threes from all over... fancy passing... highlight reel dunk... talking trash. Even with six minutes left they still up 16... den Nick Young ketch fire with three threes in about a one minute span.  Next thing yuh know they loss by one yes... lol.

Go Clippers.
boy...drama.....i tired....good win in memphis......they end the game 28-3....twenty eight to tree
Post by: Bakes on April 29, 2012, 11:34:06 PM
boy...drama.....i tired....good win in memphis......they end the game 28-3....twenty eight to tree

I now coming to say this... 28-3 is crazy.  I trying hard not to blame Lionel Hollins... nice fella... but yuh cyah let dat happen under yuh watch.  Young teams often take time to learn how to close out playoff games... thing is, de Clippers might'n be as young, but they just as inexperienced. No excuse.
Post by: warmonga on April 30, 2012, 10:19:32 AM
I get drunk and fell asleep nx thing I wake up to hear clippers won? bumboclawt wah this fadda.. Like reggie miller playing for them or what??? wey boi I miss a serious come back dey..
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 30, 2012, 10:29:25 AM
I get drunk and fell asleep nx thing I wake up to hear clippers won? bumboclawt wah this fadda.. Like reggie miller playing for them or what??? wey boi I miss a serious come back dey..
yuh miss ah thriller indian
Post by: soccerman on April 30, 2012, 11:23:01 AM

I now coming to say this... 28-3 is crazy.  I trying hard not to blame Lionel Hollins... nice fella... but yuh cyah let dat happen under yuh watch.  Young teams often take time to learn how to close out playoff games... thing is, de Clippers might'n be as young, but they just as inexperienced. No excuse.

Yea that was the best game so far but Kenny "the jet" was right, Memphis like they got shell shocked when Clippers gained momentum and went on that run. They allowed Evans to score an easy lay up down the center in crunch time, then with .08 secs left Gay ran out the clock before he shot when down by one. First thing, Memphis don't know that in the playoffs you have to earn your baskets, esp simple lay-ups with the game on the line, man foul Evans no freebee's....also you're down one with 8 secs, get of a quick shot and worse case senario if you don't score, try to grab the rebound for a 2nd attempt or foul and put LA at the line. You still give yourself a chance to tie the game with one more opportunity.

With all that said, letting LA out score them 28-3 is no excuse
Post by: weary1969 on April 30, 2012, 11:26:02 AM

Just read it online I mean did not expect dat from Rondo meh partner Artest ...
Post by: Peong on April 30, 2012, 02:34:35 PM
So the Knicks fans ready for tonight?  We probably won't be as ruthless now that we know NY not ready.
Post by: giggsy11 on April 30, 2012, 05:25:25 PM
Lebron so sickening and mentally weak! Always lookin for approval/validation and everything he does seems so staged!
Post by: Bitter on April 30, 2012, 06:17:44 PM
Lebron so sickening and mentally weak! Always lookin for approval/validation and everything he does seems so staged!

Lebron managing the Lebron brand. The nature of the NBA means that players get more attention even though is a team game.
I soccer, is just as likely that these same type of things going on, but Martin Tyler not bringing that up in a game, and they won't feature it as part of the pre-game hype.
Post by: giggsy11 on April 30, 2012, 06:26:53 PM

Lebron managing the Lebron brand. The nature of the NBA means that players get more attention even though is a team game.
I soccer, is just as likely that these same type of things going on, but Martin Tyler not bringing that up in a game, and they won't feature it as part of the pre-game hype.

Everybody tryin tuh be like Mike! The difference is Mike's game and championships feed his brand. One of the reasons I can't stand the NBA no more, all hype and no substance including the media!
Post by: Bitter on April 30, 2012, 06:58:22 PM

Everybody tryin tuh be like Mike! The difference is Mike's game and championships feed his brand. One of the reasons I can't stand the NBA no more, all hype and no substance including the media!

The irony is that Mike is the one who take it to the next level, and he was getting the hype before he won the rings. The rings validate the hype, they didn't create it.

Besides all that, the real culprit is David Stern, who took a moribund NBA and set out to make it what it is today, by highlighting stars ahead of teams.
Post by: Bitter on April 30, 2012, 07:30:26 PM
The Knicks coach have an impressive goatee. That thing so thick and luxurious. I feel is really a sentient being with basketball abilities that controlling him like a puppet. It does crawl off he face at night and sleep in its own bed.
Post by: soccerman on April 30, 2012, 08:58:46 PM
The Knicks coach have an impressive goatee. That thing so thick and luxurious. I feel is really a sentient being with basketball abilities that controlling him like a puppet. It does crawl off he face at night and sleep in its own bed.
Post by: Bakes on April 30, 2012, 09:27:54 PM
We not winning a game this rounds unless the refs grow a pair and call the game fair.  That and we learn to defend better Anthony and Stoudemire are a disgrace to every Knick player who has ever given their all on both ends of the court.
Post by: soccerman on April 30, 2012, 09:59:09 PM
Stoudemire punched a galss and cut his hand after the game. They say he maybe out for the next game and possibly the series.
Post by: Peong on April 30, 2012, 10:15:03 PM
Knicks gettin so much licks they start cuttin.
Post by: Peong on April 30, 2012, 10:15:37 PM
Ey this Mavs-OKC game has been neck-and-neck since the 3rd quarter.
Post by: Dutty on May 01, 2012, 12:00:57 PM
:D :D
Post by: Bakes on May 01, 2012, 12:44:51 PM
Stoudemire punched a galss and cut his hand after the game. They say he maybe out for the next game and possibly the series.

More punch dan he show on defense all night.  The League need tuh fine de Heat fuh not having one ah dem "in case of emergency break glass" hammer on hand.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 01, 2012, 04:15:40 PM
By Scottie Pippen | 05.01.2012 | @scottiepippen

An open letter to the 2011-12 Chicago Bulls:

With what happened to Derrick in Game 1, it would be easy to hang your heads right now. You could lose sight of the ultimate goal and give up before the rest of the games have even been played. But I know that’s not even a consideration for this group. And that’s exactly why you’ll make me, Derrick, the organization, and the city of Chicago so proud.

To a man, it’s time for each of you to take a look in the mirror. Decide who you really are and what you represent as a basketball player. Reflect on what you have brought to the table for your team all season long and why you’re a valuable member of the Bulls. Because all of you have contributed to this team’s incredible success. Ask yourself what you can do for the team moving forward. Whether it’s through your verbal leadership or diving on the floor after a loose ball, it’s going to be all about grinding it out moving forward. If there is one piece of advice I can offer you, it’s to put every last ounce of effort you have out there to make everyone proud—Derrick, the fans, and first and foremost, yourself.

Your team has come a long way in terms of what it has been able to achieve this season. And that was done collectively, as a group. It has never been about any one individual. Yes, Derrick was the reigning NBA MVP, but he epitomizes the team concept and you all followed his lead. So it’s been the effort of the group, as well as a tremendous job by the coaching staff, which has gotten us to this point. And it’s exactly why I feel good about this team right now. You’re a group that remains together. You’ve repeatedly lifted each other up when a teammate has fallen. Now, it comes down to continuing to give your best effort every time you step on to the basketball court. It’s easy to say you’re doing that, but are you really dedicating yourself to another two months of basketball? As a player, that’s what I always wanted out of my teammates. Just make sure you arrive on gameday focused and full of energy. If guys want to just show up and take on the 76ers or whoever, well, that might not be enough to get the job done. It takes locking in on the task at hand and honing in on what you need to do in order to be successful in the NBA postseason.

While I dealt with my share of injuries throughout my career, I was fortunate to have been healthy for the majority of our run in the 1990’s. The same can be said about Michael Jordan. But, when Michael retired for the first time to play baseball in 1993, we were faced with a similar challenge to what you’re up against—playing without your best player and leader. Granted, Michael chose to step away from the game and Derrick is sidelined because of his injury, but it comes down to the players who are still out there coming together to collectively rise up as a group and win games. We exceeded a lot of expectations in the regular season, finishing 55-27. But as we entered the postseason, a lot of people had written us off and said we didn’t have a chance without Michael. There was a lot of talk about how we wouldn’t make it out of the first round and might even get swept. But we didn’t listen to any of that. We believed in ourselves and we went out to play the type of basketball that we knew we were capable of playing. We swept Cleveland in the first round and it was a great feeling. Even though we ultimately fell short and lost to New York in a second round Game 7, we all believed we could have—and should have—done better. My point is that there was never a moment where we felt sorry for ourselves or let anyone push us into any self-doubt. We stayed positive and believed that if we stuck together and played good, hard defense, we could beat any team out there. That’s what I believe you can do as well.

You lost a very important piece to the puzzle, there is no denying that. But having dealt with Derrick’s injuries during the regular season, as well as those as some of the others, gave members of the bench an opportunity to step forward as you did all season long. And every single individual on this roster has shown that they can make positive contributions to winning. Obviously the other starters in Richard, Luol, Carlos and Joakim—all All-Star caliber players in their own right—need to raise their level of game across the board to compensate for missing Derrick. But it’s the bench too that will be as important as ever in answering the call. And as we’ve seen these last two seasons, the Bench Mob is up for that challenge. You all believe in yourselves and the coaching staff believes in you too. You’ve already demonstrated you can have success without Derrick in the lineup. Now it’s time to do it when it matters the most.

As you all know, this is when it pays extra dividends to have a coach like Thibs. To me, his preparation is what separates him as one of the league’s very best coaches. It’s got to be his greatest strength. Having watched him coach night in and night out these last two seasons, this team comes ready to play, whether it’s a back-to-back or three games in four nights. He’s always ready and the job that you as players do reflects that. It’s an underrated asset to have a group that truly knows its personnel and the intricate schemes of a gameplan. Thibodeau has you ready to go every night and battle and that’s because of his attention to detail. He’s also kept you focused and prevented you from looking ahead. That’s the mentality you need as the playoffs continue—one game at a time. Execute. Play good, hard defense. Protect the ball. Even without a great player like Derrick, you are still capable of doing those things.

For the fans who don’t know, Derrick was at practice on Monday and I got a chance to catch up with him as well. Just being able to see him with our own eyes, it lifted everyone’s spirits. I could see that in each and every one of you. I could see that it was reassuring to you to know that your teammate is going to be OK, first and foremost. You become so close to a teammate like that and when you’re hearing all sorts of things through the media, it’s discomforting. But I’m glad Derrick made it to Berto and showed everyone he is hanging in there. As we look ahead to Game 2 and beyond, though, now you can realize exactly what you have to play for. With or without Derrick, the ship has to continue to sail. And as he told many of you, it’s time to re-dedicate yourselves to staying on track. I know none of you are ready to stop working and you want more than anything to win for Derrick. That’s the best tribute you could make for him. And in a way, it would very much make him a part of it. He’ll be with you the rest of the way whether he’s in the gym or not, watching and supporting. While you hate to see what happened happen, adversity often brings a team together even more than they were before. It’s all about how you react to that adversity.

As for Derrick, I truly believe he will come out of this better and stronger. If anything, it will be an eye opening experience for him. Remember, he’s still a very young player in this league. Now he knows that injuries are a part of the game. As a young player, I always thought I was doing everything I could. But the longer you play, the more you learn, and the better you’re prepared for what this game throws at you.

Just go out there and play hard. Play your best. Leave everything you’ve got on the floor. Yes, you lost one of your brothers—a warrior in every sense of the word—but I know and you know you’ve still got a lot of fight left. You’re still the best team in the NBA until an opponent proves otherwise. So go out there and play like it. You’ve earned that much with Derrick along the way, but you also won a lot of games without him. It’s time to meet the challenge.

Wishing you all the best of luck on a long postseason run.

Post by: Peong on May 01, 2012, 09:23:29 PM
The seas are parting for the Heat to make the final.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 03, 2012, 02:54:22 PM
lets see if the knickerbockers could get back into this series with a blowout of miami in de garden tonite.
Post by: Bitter on May 03, 2012, 07:48:45 PM
The Knicks is a nice warm up for the real playoff games.

You can't fault the effort. The Heat is just a better team.
Post by: Bakes on May 03, 2012, 07:52:46 PM

Being 'better' ent have nothing to do with it... even better teams lose playoff games.  The Knicks playing with one arm tied behind their backs with the injuries to Schumpert, Lin and Stoudemire.  With those three we at least would have a better chance to win at least one game at home.  Factor in the free-throw disparity and we have no chance.  Mike Woodson needs to be fired, he needs to teach his players how to play defense without fouling... the way Miami apparently does.
Post by: Bitter on May 03, 2012, 08:00:54 PM

Being 'better' ent have nothing to do with it... even better teams lose playoff games.  The Knicks playing with one arm tied behind their backs with the injuries to Schumpert, Lin and Stoudemire.  With those three we at least would have a better chance to win at least one game at home.  Factor in the free-throw disparity and we have no chance.  Mike Woodson needs to be fired, he needs to teach his players how to play defense without fouling... the way Miami apparently does.

Them fellas ent playing, the Heat is the better team on the floor right now.
Post by: Bakes on May 03, 2012, 11:13:13 PM
Them fellas ent playing, the Heat is the better team on the floor right now.

The Heat is the better team... period, as reflected in the seeding.
Post by: fari on May 04, 2012, 07:59:16 AM
  knicks were soooo tired last night...you could tell they left it all on the floor.  credit to the heat though, they executed better on both ends of the court.     
Post by: warmonga on May 04, 2012, 12:07:30 PM
as I say in my post on the NBA 2011-2012 topic..
well tomorrow party on..  let di thing start..
bulls in 6  Match up problems wid 76ers from long time
miami in 5 Knicks players have no facking balls dey play like a bunch of bitches
pacers in 5 (no howard)
Thunder in 6  west "brick" gonna tear dem up
spurs in 4 just to good
lakers in 6  Kobe cya do it by himself at all other players have to step up
cletics in 7 man to man match up in this game 

 Knicks players have no f**king balls!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Bakes on May 05, 2012, 08:25:28 PM
Wow... Mavs got swept a season after winning it all.  Probably my third favorite team coming into the season behind NY and OKC.  At this rate they might find deyself slipping beneath the Clippers.

Meanwhile all the support I gave Miami last season gone out the window, if they never win another championship I good.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 05, 2012, 08:53:16 PM
still hoping for a OKC bulls final.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 06, 2012, 04:49:18 PM
Anthony helps Knicks end 13-game playoff skid

By BRIAN MAHONEY
Posted May 06 2012 6:44PM
NEW YORK (AP) Carmelo Anthony scored 41 points, Amare Stoudemire had 20 points and 10 rebounds in his return from a cut hand, and the New York Knicks snapped an NBA-record, 13-game postseason losing streak by beating the Miami Heat 89-87 Sunday in Game 4 of their first-round series.
Anthony made a tiebreaking 3-pointer with 54.5 seconds left as the Knicks overcame another serious injury, this one to Baron Davis, to win a playoff game for the first time since April 29, 2001.
Davis dislocated his right patella in the third quarter, just as the Knicks were making the run that got them back into the game after a dismal first half.
LeBron James scored 27 for the Heat, who will try to close it out in Game 5 at home on Wednesday.
Post by: fari on May 06, 2012, 05:03:53 PM
anthony like he put the team and the city on his back tonight boy...knicks stand up!
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 06, 2012, 07:13:41 PM
anthony like he put the team and the city on his back tonight boy...knicks stand up!
we comin back hard.
Post by: Bakes on May 06, 2012, 07:44:53 PM

Doh sell Amare short... 20 and 10.  Carmelo was huge though.  Sad injury to Baron Davis though... dislocated knee cap, looked nasty.
Post by: weary1969 on May 06, 2012, 10:16:03 PM
3-1 2 my LAKERS. Lets close it off at d forum.
Post by: Bakes on May 07, 2012, 01:07:22 AM
Baron Davis dislocated his kneecap... hopefully no other structural injuries.

http://www.youtube.com/v/_qqYwgFt_fY&feature=relmfu

... meanwhile, elsewhere on Planet Neptune this intrepid space cadet goes onto the court in search of Kenyon Martin

http://www.youtube.com/v/lGyvUETgSUc
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 07, 2012, 06:36:40 AM
Yeah, dat look nasty when it happen.  Soldier have real heart though, he smile throughout de ordeal, know he was in some pain dread, feel it fuh him.

Shapin up nicely, Capo, Chi town goin fishin
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 07, 2012, 07:25:41 AM
Yeah, dat look nasty when it happen.  Soldier have real heart though, he smile throughout de ordeal, know he was in some pain dread, feel it fuh him.

lakers go keep them company soon.
Post by: weary1969 on May 07, 2012, 08:07:09 AM

Stop drink d haterade.
Post by: warmonga on May 07, 2012, 09:01:57 AM
Trust me hear what war say..Bulls roaring back taking this thing to seven watch and see and we winning too terrible terrible refs in di last 2 minutes of play in dat lost aginst Philly...

Post by: Bakes on May 07, 2012, 03:41:05 PM
Trust me hear what war say..Bulls roaring back taking this thing to seven watch and see and we winning too terrible terrible refs in di last 2 minutes of play in dat lost aginst Philly...

Hush yuh ass and go eat ah bulla wid cheese... allyuh frontrunning Bulls fans could climb down off de bandwagon now.
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 08, 2012, 04:37:52 AM
Bulla wid cheese  :rotfl:  wha bout gizarda  :rotfl:

Stop drink d haterade.

Ha ha, leave him nah weary, ah driving thru queens soon if we only pull off dat upset against OKC and dropping off a # 24 and # 8 juzzy
Post by: warmonga on May 08, 2012, 11:29:52 AM

Hush yuh ass and go eat ah bulla wid cheese... allyuh frontrunning Bulls fans could climb down off de bandwagon now.
Bakes watch and see war sey suh.. Bulls taking this in seven .. Ripp (hamilton) has to play though .. he is di only championship player on both teams and di jackass coach have him siddung on di bench .....

war ..
Post by: weary1969 on May 08, 2012, 01:39:07 PM
Bulla wid cheese  :rotfl:  wha bout gizarda  :rotfl:

Stop drink d haterade.

Ha ha, leave him nah weary, ah driving thru queens soon if we only pull off dat upset against OKC and dropping off a # 24 and # 8 juzzy

Post by: Peong on May 08, 2012, 09:04:54 PM
The halftime score between Philly and Bulls was 26-35.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 09, 2012, 11:26:01 AM
hopin NY could tief one in miami tonite.
Post by: Bakes on May 09, 2012, 06:56:02 PM
These Knicks players don't deserve to wear the uniform.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 09, 2012, 07:37:04 PM
cant stand that fukker bosh....he does look like voldemort
Post by: Bakes on May 09, 2012, 07:41:01 PM
cant stand that f**kker bosh....he does look like voldemort

...or as one of my friends (Heat fan) does call him... Jiminy Cricket  ;D
Post by: Peong on May 10, 2012, 07:17:34 AM
cant stand that f**kker bosh....he does look like voldemort

...or as one of my friends (Heat fan) does call him... Jiminy Cricket  ;D

He looks like the Geico gecko!

NYK allyuh get yuh first playoff win in more than a decade, give thanks for that.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 10, 2012, 07:51:01 PM
no. 8 seed knock out no. 1 seed....bulls gone
Post by: soccerman on May 10, 2012, 10:04:37 PM
no. 8 seed knock out no. 1 seed....bulls gone
Bulls and Hawks both choked at the free throw lines with the games on the line. Those guys who missed, Horton and the other guy are going to have a loooonnnnngggggggg summer.
Post by: Bitter on May 11, 2012, 12:55:27 PM
All day I clicking in here looking for Lakers fans.
I guess they preparing for game 7. I hear them closeout games are kind of easy.

Kicks aside. I think the return of Metta World Peace might make the difference for the Lakers, but Charles Barkley was saying since game 2 that  Denver is not a side to be taken lightly. No matter what though, Bynum getting schooled by a fella whose highlight reel is bloopers on youtube.

Javale!
Post by: soccerman on May 11, 2012, 01:48:22 PM
All day I clicking in here looking for Lakers fans.
I guess they preparing for game 7. I hear them closeout games are kind of easy.

Kicks aside. I think the return of Metta World Peace might make the difference for the Lakers, but Charles Barkley was saying since game 2 that  Denver is not a side to be taken lightly. No matter what though, Bynum getting schooled by a fella whose highlight reel is bloopers on youtube.

Javale!
Bitter as a Lakers fan I think 1) Gasol should just retire, how many playoff series has this guy been apart of??? That man is just soft, gets out hustle, lacks confidence, I could go on and on but I don't have the energy for him right now. 2) The supporting cast or lack thereof is horrific, seems like everyone's stagnant with very little movement off the ball. Kobe's the only player capable to creating his own shot and when the others do get shot it's bricks most of the time. 3) Mr. Bynum is very immature, sulking and whining when things are not going his way to the point where he's sabotaging the team with his selfishness. He has to key to be a key contributor in other areas (rebounds, blocks) when he's not getting points or as many touches as he would like if he intends to be a superstar or dominant player in the league one day.

I've always had a lot of respect for Denver and I was surprized when we had a 3-1 lead. Yes Metta will help but the team needs to come out and play with some intensity and pride if we want to advance to the next round. The entire country knows that the Nuggets best chance of winning is by playing with high engery, sprinting up and down the floor, out hustling us on the boards, etc. and for us to counteract that, we must match their play from the start and gradually dictate the paste of the game. If we allow them to get a jump start like we've been doing in the last couple of games, they'll thrive on momentum and we'll struggle to play catch up....and more than likely they'll win game 7.
Post by: Peong on May 12, 2012, 10:50:35 PM
Wicked game between Lakers and Nuggets right now.  Nuggets fightin tooth and nail!
Post by: Bitter on May 12, 2012, 11:19:06 PM
Wicked game between Lakers and Nuggets right now.  Nuggets fightin tooth and nail!

They fight hard to pull ahead, but didn't have anything left for the finish.
Post by: Bakes on May 12, 2012, 11:59:27 PM
Metta was the difference in the game... he and Blake.  Even with monster games by Gasol and Bynum (combined 30+ pts, 20+ rebounds and 10 blocks)... the Nuggets were right there.  Refs let Metta manhandle fellas... if that go on next series OKC eh have a prayer, especially since he'll likely be on Durant most of the time.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 13, 2012, 08:44:51 AM
Metta was the difference in the game... he and Blake.  Even with monster games by Gasol and Bynum (combined 30+ pts, 20+ rebounds and 10 blocks)... the Nuggets were right there.  Refs let Metta manhandle fellas... if that go on next series OKC eh have a prayer, especially since he'll likely be on Durant most of the time.
u is ah madman to think lakers beatin OKC
Post by: Bakes on May 13, 2012, 10:33:22 AM

I didn't say Lakers beating OKC... ah say is refs allow Metta to manhandle Durant OKC eh winning. 
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 13, 2012, 11:10:36 AM

I didn't say Lakers beating OKC... ah say is refs allow Metta to manhandle Durant OKC eh winning. 
means lakers winnin.
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 13, 2012, 12:00:39 PM

On Pau, is long time Pau hot and cold, I stop gehin vex, sheep cyar generate leopard spots.  Only way Pau will get rough/aggressive consistently is either to be born again or pick up a baddest from south central
Post by: weary1969 on May 13, 2012, 03:40:41 PM

On Pau, is long time Pau hot and cold, I stop gehin vex, sheep cyar generate leopard spots.  Only way Pau will get rough/aggressive consistently is either to be born again or pick up a baddest from south central

Post by: Bakes on May 13, 2012, 08:21:48 PM
means lakers winnin.

Yes... qualified by the "if" part ah de statement dat yuh leaving out  ;)
Post by: soccerman on May 13, 2012, 08:51:24 PM

Boy dat man does fraustrate me in de playoffs...if he could give us that type of agression/intensity some more in the playoffs we will reach far and his name will not be on the trading block. During de playoffs last year he gyal leave him and he didn't show up atall, my boy had ah serious tabanca so maybe ah baddest from south central will rough him up a lil bit and he go bring dat intensity on de court.
Post by: Peong on May 14, 2012, 06:07:13 AM
Wade and Lebron really turned it on in the 2nd half.  I hope Bosh is not out for too long. 
Post by: Bitter on May 14, 2012, 09:09:59 PM
OKC come out firing on all cylinders.
I thought they would be rusty, but instead they were apparently just restless waiting for the 2nd round.

Plenty time though, both in this game and this series.
Post by: Bitter on May 14, 2012, 09:32:42 PM
Westbrook is abusing Blake in this 3rd qtr.
Post by: Bakes on May 14, 2012, 10:24:59 PM
OKC put down ah serious cutass on the Lakers tonight... Metta wasn't much of a factor, Durant did his thing and Metta couldn't really get physical with him.  They need Perkins to heal up though, they'll need that size against the Lakers bigs going forward.  Kobe not likely to have another bad night like he had tonight and some of them OKC jumpers might not fall in LA.  They need to keep getting in the lane and to the line... dribble penetration killed LA tonight, particularly off the pick and roll.
Post by: soccerman on May 14, 2012, 11:30:30 PM
We got a good old fashioned southwest beat down!
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 15, 2012, 07:18:22 AM
 :whistling: :whistling: :whistling:
Post by: Dutty on May 15, 2012, 10:51:24 AM
OKC come out firing on all cylinders.
I thought they would be rusty, but instead they were apparently just restless waiting for the 2nd round.

Plenty time though, both in this game and this series.
dais de problem..all dem old veteran team does always win on grit and experience
Post by: weary1969 on May 15, 2012, 11:18:41 AM

While 2 work
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 15, 2012, 11:20:54 AM

While 2 work
eh
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on May 15, 2012, 07:53:12 PM
what MVP doesn't close games, misses 2 free throws at the end and doesn't take the last shot? lbj making it easy for the haters. 
kobe and mj cud be 0-20 and would still take that 3 to win

durant was robbed and he would have also closed that game out
Post by: giggsy11 on May 15, 2012, 08:28:06 PM
what MVP doesn't close games, misses 2 free throws at the end and doesn't take the last shot? lbj making it easy for the haters. 

The man pass the ball tuh Wade and instead of making himself available tuh a possible return pass, ( he was open for that by the way if he just move tuh the top of the key) stay where he was and then decide tuh run in tuh get a possible rebound after Wade flipped a shot up! Lebron is a posser!
Post by: giggsy11 on May 15, 2012, 08:29:58 PM
Lebron is the first superstar I see that his peers have no problem calling him out in media! It does not appear that he is liked very much by his peers! Fraud that he is!
Post by: Peong on May 15, 2012, 08:40:01 PM
Heat playin timid.
Post by: giggsy11 on May 15, 2012, 08:58:25 PM
I wish Lebron would just admit he is Robin and Wade is Batman so people will stop having these expectations of him! Just not fair!
Post by: Bakes on May 15, 2012, 10:54:09 PM

Anybody who criticizing LeBron over that play simply doh know basketball.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 16, 2012, 07:02:09 AM
Doctor: Bulls' Rose out 8-12 months

CHICAGO (AP)
The doctor who operated on Derrick Rose's knee insists the Chicago Bulls' star can dominate again.

It will take time, though.

Rose faces a recovery of eight months to a year.

The assessment by team physician Dr. Brian Cole on Tuesday means the point guard could return around mid-January to early February, or miss next season. The doctor added there is a chance Rose could be back sooner, but ''we're not going to rush it.''

The Bulls had already said Rose has a torn anterior cruciate ligament in his left knee. Cole said there were also two tears in his meniscus cartilage.

He said Rose is ''doing great,'' that the surgery went ''extremely well'' and he can still be an explosive player.

''It's impossible to predict tomorrow,'' Cole said during a news conference at Chicago's Rush University Medical Center. ''Statistically, he should be that player and then some. That doesn't mean he's guaranteed. It's a whole lot better than we were accustomed to years ago. The ligament is one thing and the meniscus is another. Getting all the things to heal appropriately is really our goal in the early phases. Then, it's rehab, conditioning — getting his brain connected to his knee, basically.''

General manager Gar Forman insisted the Bulls won't rush Rose, that they are more focused on the long term than the short-term hit they'll take without him. The GM is ''hopeful'' and ''optimistic'' his franchise player will return next season but isn't sure he will.

''In putting this team together, everything was looking at the big picture, long term,'' Forman said. ''I think it's our job to stay focused on that and to continue to look at what we feel is a long window of opportunity to have success and that's how we'll approach it.''

Rose had surgery on Saturday after being injured two weeks earlier in Chicago's playoff-opening win over Philadelphia, a major blow for a team eyeing its first championship since the Michael Jordan-Scottie Pippen era. The Bulls simply weren't the same without their superstar point guard and bowed out in six games, making them the fifth top seed to lose to an eighth seed.

Chicago was closing out a 103-91 victory in Game 1 and Rose was showing his MVP form when everything changed.

He came to a jump stop in the lane with about 1:20 left and his leg buckled. He went up again and passed to Carlos Boozer in midair before crashing to the court, sending a chill through the arena.

That certainly wasn't what the Bulls envisioned after capturing home-court advantage throughout the playoffs for the second straight season despite a long list of injuries. They were eyeing another big run after losing to Miami in the Eastern Conference finals last season, but with their leading scorer sidelined, they made an early exit, becoming the second No. 1 seed in two years to fall in the first round.

Rose averaged 21.8 points and 7.9 assists, but had trouble staying healthy after capturing the MVP a year ago. He missed 27 games because of groin, back, toe, foot and ankle problems that the team does not think led to the ACL tear.

''This could be anything from a completely random event — which in a non-contact injury, most of the time that's what it is — to maybe conditioning,'' Cole said. ''We'll never know with certainty. My feeling is it's more likely than not a very random even that happened. If you watch the video, you can see ... the forces are just right to tear the ligament.''

He also pointed out that Rose did not tear the medial collateral ligament, making the preparation for the surgery easier.

Cole said patients generally start running about three months after surgery, and trainer Fred Tedeschi said players start shooting around that time. From there, they progress to cutting activities and increase the workload from there.

Whether Rose spends part of his offseason working out in Los Angeles as he usually does or stays in Chicago, Tedeschi said the Bulls will have someone with him monitoring his rehab.

Cole also said Rose should play once he's ready, that he doesn't necessarily recommend sitting out the season as a precaution.

RING ME UP
LeBron wants off this list of the best NBA players without a title.
''There's a lot of benefit to playing when he's safe,'' Cole said. ''Whether he has to go 40 minutes, that's a different story. Just getting out there and playing when he's able, that's when his exponential growth is going to come. Lots of athletes go back and play at a very high level but not necessarily initially at the level they were pre-injury.''

The Bulls were a different team in the playoffs once Rose went down, after going 18-9 without him in the regular season.

Making matters worse, they lost center Joakim Noah to a sprained left ankle in Game 3 and fell into a 3-1 hole before injecting some drama back into the series.

Besides the injuries to Rose, they were without Richard Hamilton for most of the year because of a variety of ailments.

Then, there's All-Star Luol Deng. He played a significant portion of the season with a torn ligament in his left wrist and has said several times that he plans to represent Britain at the Olympics in London.

Forman basically sidestepped questions about that, saying, ''We want to sit down with him and have that conversation with him and our medical staff. I think it would be premature to speculate on anything until we've had a chance to sit down with him. Obviously, we know it's very, very important to him and we want to support our players. The biggest thing is Luol's health.''

Forman also said the Bulls will exercise their contract option for next season on coach Tom Thibodeau and will try to negotiate a new deal.
Post by: weary1969 on May 16, 2012, 08:29:22 PM

While 2 work
eh

U eh know d sayin?
Post by: Peong on May 16, 2012, 10:18:56 PM
Thunder just come from behind to win a tough game.  Hard luck LA.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 16, 2012, 10:53:41 PM
thunder was very poor tonite....but them came like a tief in de last 2 minutes and blister kobe bottom.
Post by: Bakes on May 16, 2012, 11:04:31 PM
Lakers up 75-68 and Harden made a lay up, to cut it to 75-70.
Side out of bounds, Kobe throws the ball to Durantula with 1:48 left, Durant scores 75-72.
Next play, Blake passes to Kobe on the wing, Kobe fumbles it out of bounds with 1:39 left... Thunder ball but they fail to score. Ball went right thru Kobe's hand as he got distracted by Westbrook's challenge.

Next possession missed Laker shot, Harden goes coast-to-coast 75-74.

Next Laker possession Artest forces his way into the lane and is stripped, ball falls to Kobe at the top of the key... jacks up a 3... missed shot with :38 secs left. Thunder ball down one.

Durant drives baseline and puts Thunder ahead 75-76. :18 secs left.

Kobe brings the ball up, taking his sweet time, playing for the last shot (this one you MIGHT be able to put on Mike Brown), why play for the last shot down 1? Yeah, it's Kobe and all that, but if you miss you don't give yourself a shot at the rebound. Plus the Thunder had a foul to give so foul with 5 secs left threw a spoke in the wheel.

Play ran for Kobe to flare far side, but Artest, perhaps wary of the 5 second clock... passes to... a WIDE OPEN Steve Blake. Seriously... you gonna blame Mike Brown for a gift chance to win the game falling into the Lakers' lap and Blake gagging in the moment? He just said Kobe was option 1 and 2 but there were secondary plays, such as Blake in the short corner that he drew up. Blake just missed the shot, bless his not-so-ready-for-prime-time heart.

...but folks want to blame Mike Brown
Post by: Dutty on May 17, 2012, 07:54:20 AM
Look like weary jump off de bandwagon just in time ;)
Post by: warmonga on May 17, 2012, 01:10:35 PM
espn bunch of jokers eh.. di asking if Kobe is a clutch player .. Kobe is di baddest player since MJ retired in this freeking league..
allyuh remember wey I sey right OKC and Miami heat final and Durant guh tek out his fustration over his  MVP award gaven to Lebron..

warmonga
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 17, 2012, 02:08:50 PM
Plenty people muck up lass night, Blake on de errant pass to Kobe, TO # 2, Kobe and de horrible lob to Gasol, TO #1, Blake again on de open 3, cyar miss a wide open 3 to win de game, no pressure, plenty time etc

Say wha, will be able to go to bed early jus now  :frustrated:
Post by: Bakes on May 17, 2012, 03:19:15 PM
Plenty people muck up lass night, Blake on de errant pass to Kobe, TO # 2, Kobe and de horrible lob to Gasol, TO #1, Blake again on de open 3, cyar miss a wide open 3 to win de game, no pressure, plenty time etc

Wait, Blake throw it right to Kobe... how yuh faulting him on dat?  Kobe failed to close his hands on the ball as it arrived, likely because his mind tell him Westbrook was about to make contact with the ball. In other words, he get distracted.

Kobe turn it over twice, had a shot blocked by Harden and jack up a three in that sequence... but he getting a pass? lol
Post by: Peong on May 17, 2012, 04:21:16 PM

Wait, Blake throw it right to Kobe... how yuh faulting him on dat?  Kobe failed to close his hands on the ball as it arrived, likely because his mind tell him Westbrook was about to make contact with the ball. In other words, he get distracted.

Kobe turn it over twice, had a shot blocked by Harden and jack up a three in that sequence... but he getting a pass? lol

Man that was a pull stones pass.  Westbrook was too close, he shoulda aborted.
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 17, 2012, 05:28:54 PM
Yeah Bakes, cyar agree wid yuh dey, Blake pass was poor in judgement, knowing an opponent was threatening, Kobe eh geh no pass from me, he screw up on pass to Pau, as ah say before, de shot wid de clock winding down was a hard luck, overall poor team possession/passing on dat play.

All in all, piss poorly executed lass 2 mins of de quarter, is almost like dey sey, cool, game done, 1-1, we heading back home, wid 2 mins stil on de clock
Post by: Bakes on May 17, 2012, 06:38:35 PM

Dai'z shit talk... plain and simple.  The ball hit Kobe in he two hand... Westbrook eh even touch it.  Kobe heself would tell yuh that he shoulda have that one.  If dat's de case then ah guess he excuse on the Durant turnover/fastbreak dunk was that "Durant was too long..." ::)

Yeah Bakes, cyar agree wid yuh dey, Blake pass was poor in judgement, knowing an opponent was threatening, Kobe eh geh no pass from me, he screw up on pass to Pau, as ah say before, de shot wid de clock winding down was a hard luck, overall poor team possession/passing on dat play.

All in all, piss poorly executed lass 2 mins of de quarter, is almost like dey sey, cool, game done, 1-1, we heading back home, wid 2 mins stil on de clock

I didn't see Kobe complaining about de pass.  Westbrook eh even touch it... doh act like Kobe eh used to ketching pass in tight situations.  Kobe does be ketching pass with two man on he shoulder... 'bout Westbrook was too close LOL
Post by: fari on May 17, 2012, 06:58:41 PM
ok pacers are growing on me the more i see them play.  i wish granger or hibbert or somebody hit lebron one hard slap (a la metta world peace)...nah scratch that, i wish hansbrough or some one of the bench men hit lebron a hard slap...these heat dudes are b!tches straight up and down...my god.
Post by: Bitter on May 17, 2012, 07:18:54 PM
If it wasn't for Chalmers, where would the heat be?
Post by: Bakes on May 17, 2012, 07:41:41 PM
Rumor has it that Pat Riley was seen browsing over the weekend...

(http://www.strongsigns.net/images/Lighted%20Sign%20Can%20Rent%20A%20Center.jpg)
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 17, 2012, 07:49:11 PM

Dai'z shit talk... plain and simple.  The ball hit Kobe in he two hand... Westbrook eh even touch it.  Kobe heself would tell yuh that he shoulda have that one.  If dat's de case then ah guess he excuse on the Durant turnover/fastbreak dunk was that "Durant was too long..." ::)

I didn't see Kobe complaining about de pass.  Westbrook eh even touch it... doh act like Kobe eh used to ketching pass in tight situations.  Kobe does be ketching pass with two man on he shoulder... 'bout Westbrook was too close LOL
nah bakes right...de ball pass between he hands....infact it touch him above the wrist.westbrook had no chance of interceptin it
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 17, 2012, 07:50:47 PM
pacers put ah proper cutass on heat tonite....if lebron join the ranks ah stockton,sir charles,ewing and knick killer he might hang heself.
Post by: Bakes on May 17, 2012, 08:27:39 PM
pacers put ah proper cutass on heat tonite....if lebron join the ranks ah stockton,sir charles,ewing and knick killer he might hang heself.

Allyuh still on LeBron?  Wha' bout D-Wade? He supposed tuh be suspended for that flagrant foul on Collison. Like he feel guilty and decided not to show up tonight lol
Post by: weary1969 on May 17, 2012, 08:41:12 PM
Look like weary jump off de bandwagon just in time ;)

:rotfl: I on d bandwagon but d glass lookin 1/2 empty. As I said b4 once Miami eh get it I goodoo
Post by: Peong on May 17, 2012, 09:59:00 PM

nah bakes right...de ball pass between he hands....infact it touch him above the wrist.westbrook had no chance of interceptin it

So what if the pass did get through?  Allyuh talkin like if iz robots playin out there.  If a man get as close as Westbrook did it could easily throw you off.  Kobe probably expected it to go out off Westbrook's hand.  Allyuh never play a sport before or wha?

Miami get a beat-down tonight boy, even the coach say it was a good old-fashioned ass-whooping.
No Bosh and Wade with 5 points, is like we play 2 men short.
Miami's bench is terrible.
Post by: fari on May 18, 2012, 07:58:19 AM
outplayed, out-thought, outfought....some of them miami men ent have no heart
Post by: warmonga on May 18, 2012, 08:34:04 AM
wey boi .. pressure for miami.. without bosch miami looking like they innah bag a problems.. This is what Miami needs to do to get back in this .. let chalmers play the role of bosch and anothony needs to step his game up with thge rebounding and of course wade and lebron needs to get there game on point .. otherwise miami out of this thing..  I tell you something right now .. wade looks hurt he has no elevation..

Post by: fari on May 18, 2012, 10:20:11 AM
wey boi .. pressure for miami.. without bosch miami looking like they innah bag a problems.. This is what Miami needs to do to get back in this .. let chalmers play the role of bosch and anothony needs to step his game up with thge rebounding and of course wade and lebron needs to get there game on point .. otherwise miami out of this thing..  I tell you something right now .. wade looks hurt he has no elevation..

war please explain to me what u mean by "let chalmers play the role of bosh"
Post by: Bitter on May 18, 2012, 08:49:44 PM
I can't believe that the celtics lost this game. But Much respect for Doug Collins and his team.
The celtics look unbeatable in the 1st half and look old in the 2nd.
Post by: soccerman on May 18, 2012, 09:20:11 PM
Yea boy Celtics like they got complacent after that big lead at the start of the game...this is the playoffs you can't relax bc every team will make a run at some point.

Right now Lakers looking on point! Hopefully we play with like that throughout the game :beermug:
Post by: Bitter on May 18, 2012, 09:52:11 PM
These refs like they wearing purple and gold.
Some of these calls are ... interesting.
Post by: Bakes on May 19, 2012, 01:48:55 AM
These refs like they wearing purple and gold.
Some of these calls are ... interesting.

Refs give the Lakers a lifeline... ridiculous.  Joey Crawford tee up Perkins for overreacting to a foul call, later Kobe had the same reaction and rush in Marc Davis face... he eh even blink.  Then the Harden "fouls" on Kobe... of the four that were called, maybe... MAYBE one was merited.  Meanwhile Kobe palming, traveling all kinda thing lol
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 19, 2012, 10:58:23 AM
Never realize how ABLA dis forum was, keep chanting "beat LA" we rebuilding so u will get your wish
Post by: Bitter on May 19, 2012, 11:17:18 PM
Westbrook kills the lakers again, with a big assist from Kobe.
Post by: Bakes on May 19, 2012, 11:38:28 PM
OKC won inspite of the refs again... pay attention to that shot Kobe hit to close the third quarter on the highlights, dude traveled TWICE lol.

Good job by OKC stealing one.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 20, 2012, 12:02:00 AM
excellent win by okc......composure, confidence and freakin drive.....de ball hog AGAIN cost them de game 2 for 10 in de 4th and mr. softee fraid to shoot.
Post by: Bitter on May 20, 2012, 07:46:25 AM
We have to give the Spurs their due.
That team is ruthless and unflappable.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 20, 2012, 12:02:57 PM
ah feel de heat goin 3-1 today.
Post by: Bitter on May 20, 2012, 03:53:49 PM
Wade and James putting on a show.
Post by: Peong on May 20, 2012, 04:18:32 PM
Miami played like killers today!  Lebron and Wade put some ridiculous 2nd half numbers.
Post by: Bitter on May 21, 2012, 07:27:13 AM
Spurs into the conference final. They had to break a sweat in them last 2 games, but I think that was more a case of playing with their food. The clippers learn fast though. They will be back next year.
Post by: Peong on May 21, 2012, 10:58:24 AM
The west real strong boy, OKC blowin out a big side like the Lakers and beatin them at home, Spurs cold and calculated, while the two East semis are tied at 2-2.
Post by: Bitter on May 21, 2012, 10:20:02 PM
Lakers gone fishin. Only Kobe showed up.
Post by: soccerman on May 21, 2012, 10:43:40 PM
Mitch have his work cut out this summer, we need to add some depth to the team....congrats to OKC though, they have a lot of young talent and a fun team to watch.
Post by: Bakes on May 21, 2012, 10:47:09 PM
Can't blame the rest of the cast and say only Kobe show up... that Laker offense has been dysfunctional for some time, the difference now is that Kobe run into somebody younger, quicker, more athletic, more hungry and possibly as skilled as he is.  Plus de Black Mamba getting ah li'l gray.  OKC step up and snatch de torch tonight.
Post by: soccerman on May 21, 2012, 11:22:30 PM
Checkout solider playing Stephen A Smith on SNL
http://www.youtube.com/v/pJykk-oNWdY
Post by: Dutty on May 22, 2012, 12:41:30 PM
well yes, after one time is two oui

I never tort I woulda see de day when ball hog look like ah old fellah.
Post by: Peong on May 22, 2012, 06:54:33 PM

He scored 42 points.
Post by: Bakes on May 22, 2012, 07:05:07 PM

He scored 42 points.

...and looked very old in the process, taking 33 shots to score those 42 points.
Post by: Peong on May 22, 2012, 07:18:27 PM

He scored 42 points.

...and looked very old in the process, taking 33 shots to score those 42 points.

Alright I didn't watch the game, but he shot better than 50%.  What did he do that made him look old?
Post by: Bitter on May 22, 2012, 09:09:39 PM
Fight Night in Miami. Ridiculous fouls right through. Haslem should have gotten tossed, probably gets suspended for the next game.
That Miami bench warmer at the end did his best Metta World Peace impression, he will be gone for 7 or 8 games.
The refs let this one get out of hand.

But in between the rough stuff, there was a basketball game. I think Miami has flipped the switch.
Post by: Bakes on May 22, 2012, 09:20:22 PM
Fight Night in Miami. Ridiculous fouls right through. Haslem should have gotten tossed, probably gets suspended for the next game.
That Miami bench warmer at the end did his best Metta World Peace impression, he will be gone for 7 or 8 games.
The refs let this one get out of hand.

But in between the rough stuff, there was a basketball game. I think Miami has flipped the switch.

Dwayne Wade went to sleep at some point last week and wake up a bitch.  Don't forget his cheapshot on Collison from behind in Game 2 (?) when he should have been suspended.  It only permeating to the rest of the team.  Haslem's foul was ridiculous, but Pittman take de cake.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 23, 2012, 06:54:21 AM

He scored 42 points.

Alright I didn't watch the game, but he shot better than 50%.  What did he do that made him look old?
only game 5 he shot >50%.....he come out with guns blazin boy....but unfortunately for him one man CYAR win ah game......NO 6th RING FUH KOBE.......he want to stand out bad bad
Post by: Dutty on May 23, 2012, 01:03:30 PM

He scored 42 points.

Old being a relative term,, ah mean de man was still splittin double teams an ting...but in comparison to westbrook with he stutter steps and fancy footwork...starboy moves look ancient

he doh steal ball no more and the dunks have no lift.....whey yuh go do, yuh cyah fight de reaper
Post by: soccerman on May 23, 2012, 02:18:24 PM

He scored 42 points.

Old being a relative term,, ah mean de man was still splittin double teams an ting...but in comparison to westbrook with he stutter steps and fancy footwork...starboy moves look ancient

he doh steal ball no more and the dunks have no lift.....whey yuh go do, yuh cyah fight de reaper

The guy's been in the league for 16 years, a lot of wear and tear on those knees.
Post by: Bakes on May 23, 2012, 03:48:52 PM
The guy's been in the league for 16 years, a lot of wear and tear on those knees.

Not even some downright 'generous' calls in his favor was enough to stem the tide that swamped the Lakers' boat.
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 23, 2012, 10:22:47 PM
kupchak say changes ah comin.
Post by: soccerman on May 24, 2012, 10:14:56 PM
Well Pacers had their chance against a depleted Miami side
Post by: Peong on May 25, 2012, 06:23:02 PM
I know allyuh love how the Heat wrap up the series like a roti.
Post by: fari on May 26, 2012, 11:05:33 AM
can't wait for the okc spurs series...ppl done calling the winner of that series the champion
Post by: Peong on May 26, 2012, 08:44:44 PM
Let them west boys tire each other out, they won't have any gas left to run around after Miami.   :praying:
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 26, 2012, 10:45:02 PM
Let them west boys tire each other out, they won't have any gas left to run around after Miami.   :praying:
say wuh yuh want...de champ comin from de west
Post by: weary1969 on May 26, 2012, 11:29:21 PM
say wuh yuh want...de champ comin from de west

Wait we agree on sumting in basketball. A RED LETTER DAY.
Post by: weary1969 on May 26, 2012, 11:30:07 PM
can't wait for the okc spurs series...ppl done calling the winner of that series the champion

CO-SIGNNNNNNN
Post by: fari on May 27, 2012, 09:12:16 PM
first blood san antonio...i ent go lie i thought okc woulda come out with guns blazing but the spurs played a good game, they are a very cerebral ball club, making adjustments when needed, sticking to the plan at other times.   ginobili (barkley's fave player) played like a man posessed.  go be a good series man
Post by: Bitter on May 27, 2012, 09:16:58 PM
I now hearing KMC song playing in the arena while they interviewing Manu Ginobili.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rt2je2usSXY

Regardless, Spurs win after a huge 4th qtr from Manu. Another game, another Spurs win.
Post by: soccerman on May 27, 2012, 09:32:15 PM
GINOBILIIIIIIIIII
Post by: Bakes on May 27, 2012, 09:43:18 PM
BS charge calls on the Thunder... slight contact fouls on Parker and Ginobili... typical homer calls.  And yeah the Spurs executed.
Post by: Bitter on May 28, 2012, 09:53:24 PM
Only game one, but a serious statement by the Heat. 93-79
Post by: Peong on May 29, 2012, 03:05:29 PM
Miami gettin good production out of the non-superstars.  Keep it up!
Post by: fari on May 29, 2012, 09:49:37 PM
I want some nasty!
Post by: capodetutticapi on May 30, 2012, 06:47:33 AM
i backin okc but this spurs team is ah wreckin crew.......parker is ah boss.
Post by: weary1969 on May 30, 2012, 06:54:45 AM

Once dey wreck d team from d east I go b happy like pappy.
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 30, 2012, 08:25:40 AM

Nuttin fuh Miami, not even carnival
Post by: weary1969 on May 30, 2012, 09:37:04 AM

Nuttin fuh Miami, not even carnival

ENTTTTTTTT
Post by: warmonga on May 30, 2012, 11:03:27 AM

There is no match up for Parker.. Parker going to kill them this entire series which will last 4 games... I pick OKC and heat  for di final but spurs way to good for okc.. .. anyway if okc gonna have a chance to win 1 game they gonna have to tell fisher to forget about scoring .. we need you to take parker.. Fisher is di only okc player who can match up with parker at this moment , but he has to forget about scoring and be used as a defensive player..

warmonga

Post by: soccerman on May 30, 2012, 10:45:49 PM
Great game tonite, Miami pulled it off despite an extraordinary game by Rondo....that no call by the refs when Rondo got hacked with the game tied spoiled the damn game in the end. Entertaining game overall, not sure if Celtics will have it in them for game 3 though with one day off, the Heat is younger and has more energy.
Post by: Peong on May 31, 2012, 06:36:15 AM
Yeah I doh know how the refs miss that blow to the face.  That could have been pivotal and it give all the Lebron/Miami haters something to complain about.  Ray Allen had a big three to tie it in regulation, but Lebron shoulda done better on that final shot.
Good close game.
Post by: weary1969 on May 31, 2012, 09:26:27 AM
Yeah I doh know how the refs miss that blow to the face.  That could have been pivotal and it give all the Lebron/Miami haters something to complain about.  Ray Allen had a big three to tie it in regulation, but Lebron shoulda done better on that final shot.
Good close game.

D fella still lokkin 4 d last quarter he still only have 75 cents.
Post by: Peong on May 31, 2012, 10:33:56 PM
OKC came out lethal tonight.  This series better go to 7.
Post by: Bakes on June 01, 2012, 12:26:33 AM
There is no match up for Parker.. Parker going to kill them this entire series which will last 4 games... I pick OKC and heat  for di final but spurs way to good for okc.. .. anyway if okc gonna have a chance to win 1 game they gonna have to tell fisher to forget about scoring .. we need you to take parker.. Fisher is di only okc player who can match up with parker at this moment , but he has to forget about scoring and be used as a defensive player..

warmonga

You were saying?
Post by: Bitter on June 01, 2012, 03:32:00 AM
That was a cut-ass.
Now we'll see what the Spurs are made of. In past years, this type of loss would precipitate a collapse.
I want to see this series go 7 so i could enjoy more of it. I think the celtics are done. They might stretch it a bit, but they are just too beat up to go all the way.
Post by: Peong on June 01, 2012, 08:08:07 PM
Miami stalled badly in the 2nd quarter.  Still I not worried, the 2nd half is when they go to work.
Post by: elan on June 01, 2012, 09:05:16 PM
These refs really clearing the way for Miami to win. San Antonio will dismantle that Heat team.
Post by: Peong on June 02, 2012, 09:07:56 AM
Miami went 8 mins without scoring in the second quarter.  That will never happen again.
Post by: fari on June 02, 2012, 07:26:28 PM
watching the game while i doing some work here...what the eff is up with the spurs...them dudes like they shook or sumn...okc is getting dunk after dunk...pop now call a time out...more to follow...
Post by: Bakes on June 02, 2012, 08:02:45 PM
watching the game while i doing some work here...what the eff is up with the spurs...them dudes like they shook or sumn...okc is getting dunk after dunk...pop now call a time out...more to follow...

I tell allyuh long time... refs does be calling some shit.  If they call this game fairly OKC would be 2-1 right now.  Them first two games in SA was nonsense... now don't get me wrong, Spurs played very well, but Game 1 in particular Harden was made a non-factor by fouls.
Post by: weary1969 on June 02, 2012, 09:11:01 PM
2-2 lets c what happen in game 5 on Monday. Durant playin like an MVP. I sure he will leave King James with d MVP and take the ring.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 02, 2012, 09:27:01 PM
u have no respect fuh OKC......spurs aint do nutten wrong,they had a good game...but tonite they were outplayed.....if OKC could tief game 5 monday it go b all over in game 6.
Post by: weary1969 on June 02, 2012, 09:57:50 PM
u have no respect fuh OKC......spurs aint do nutten wrong,they had a good game...but tonite they were outplayed.....if OKC could tief game 5 monday it go b all over in game 6.

CO-SIGNNNNNN
Post by: warmonga on June 03, 2012, 09:00:07 PM
boston guh gave me a f**king heart attack..
Post by: Bitter on June 03, 2012, 09:45:23 PM
Boston got worn down in the 2nd half after a red-hot first half.
Wade come within ah nnnnnn of going back home up 3-1.
As it is, both series tied 2-2. Home teams eh loss yet. Stern must be well pleased.

Any of the four teams could end up in the finals. But I'd give the teams with home court advantage the edge now. If I had to pick an upset, it would be OKC over the Spurs.
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2012, 10:11:12 PM
GAME 5 KEY BOTH SERIES
Post by: soccerman on June 03, 2012, 11:19:13 PM
Both series tied up....the NBA getting their monies worth!!!
Post by: weary1969 on June 04, 2012, 07:41:56 AM
Both series tied up....the NBA getting their monies worth!!!

ENTTTTTTT
Post by: warmonga on June 04, 2012, 08:23:59 AM
I believe the league wants Miami to win som ugly calls last night against Boston..
Post by: Bakes on June 04, 2012, 08:31:17 AM
I believe the league wants Miami to win som ugly calls last night against Boston..

The League want Miami to win... that's why LeBron fouled out on a complete non-foul?  Let's not even mention the "double-foul" on him and Garnett in the 3rd quarter.
Post by: Peong on June 04, 2012, 10:17:44 AM

I see this shit in the comments section on ESPN many times.
Miami gets its share of bad calls, last night included.  Yuh can't watch that game and say Miami had the refs' favour.
Ray Allen stepped about a foot out of bounds and then assisted on a three.

Anyway if Boston struggle so much at home then they dead when they reach Miami.  No more wins for Boston.
Post by: fari on June 04, 2012, 09:48:14 PM
well yes...thunder pulled it off.   man like danny green for the spurs need to take a long hard look at themselves.   hard luck tim duncan but them bigs for okc was just too much for yuh.    ginobili and parker as always real fight the game.   diaw is a sorf man.     i want thunder to put a hurting on heat in de finals though.
Post by: soccerman on June 04, 2012, 10:08:04 PM
The Thunder is firing on all cylinders now. Why Westbrook like to play hero in critical times? Sometimes I feel like he ignores Durant just to look for glory, he should be looking for Durant everytime he comes down the court.
Post by: Peong on June 04, 2012, 10:56:41 PM
Huge result.  Thunder not makin joke.
Post by: weary1969 on June 04, 2012, 11:15:08 PM
well yes...thunder pulled it off.   man like danny green for the spurs need to take a long hard look at themselves.   hard luck tim duncan but them bigs for okc was just too much for yuh.    ginobili and parker as always real fight the game.   diaw is a sorf man.     i want thunder to put a hurting on heat in de finals though.

OKC OKC but a hurt is joke.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 05, 2012, 10:08:19 AM
vex ah miss the okc game lastnite.....but it may be the end of the line fuh spurs tom.
Post by: fari on June 05, 2012, 10:12:12 AM
The Thunder is firing on all cylinders now. Why Westbrook like to play hero in critical times? Sometimes I feel like he ignores Durant just to look for glory, he should be looking for Durant everytime he comes down the court.

the amount of bad shot he take i swear he woulda make them lose the game.   james harden hit a dagger three late on the whole crowd get quiet oui.  i so glad i on summer break from school i staying up late, late to watch basketball ;D
Post by: warmonga on June 05, 2012, 12:04:45 PM
Bakes this question is for you since I does like wey yu does be saying when it comes to basketball.. hear this .. Miami 21 sec left on the time clock and last posesion with game tie in regulation time in game 4 .. what will you have ask the players to do for miami if you was the coach. if you look at it miami almost run out of time with the last shot...
This is the play I will have drawn up for Miami if I was the coach of this team.. I will have drawn up a play for a very very quick shot .  Possibly a dunk  only , not a jump shot put a play to where Miami could get a dunk..I think that will have thrown Boston in a shock .. Now Boston will have had the ball and a chance to tie or win in regular  time  and miami defence could have win the game for them . I think it was serious bad coaching in miami part.. what you think...
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 05, 2012, 06:11:50 PM
Bakes this question is for you since I does like wey yu does be saying when it comes to basketball.. hear this .. Miami 21 sec left on the time clock and last posesion with game tie in regulation time in game 4 .. what will you have ask the players to do for miami if you was the coach. if you look at it miami almost run out of time with the last shot...
This is the play I will have drawn up for Miami if I was the coach of this team.. I will have drawn up a play for a very very quick shot .  Possibly a dunk  only , not a jump shot put a play to where Miami could get a dunk..I think that will have thrown Boston in a shock .. Now Boston will have had the ball and a chance to tie or win in regular  time  and miami defence could have win the game for them . I think it was serious bad coaching in miami part.. what you think...
1st time the man type proper english oui........now to yuh question.....if i is coach...run the clock down.put the ball in hands of wade because lebron did foul out,either way flash was gettin the last shot off with or without lebron on court.and let wade hopefully hit the final shot with minimal time on the clock not givin celtics any much time to penetrate the paint just enough time to ketch and shoot.

P.S. seein the question was directed at bakes consider me he paralegal.
Post by: weary1969 on June 05, 2012, 08:26:37 PM
vex ah miss the okc game lastnite.....but it may be the end of the line fuh spurs tom.

BETTA B
Post by: Bakes on June 05, 2012, 09:21:00 PM

Well me eh no expert, except in mih own mind... and in my mind's eye I do one of two things:

1) Pick and roll with Wade and James with Wade handling the ball.  That way Wade either gets an open jumper at one of the elbows, or James (who's setting the pick) gets an open shot from the free throw line.  I run the play with about 8 seconds on the clock to allow for a rebound in case of a miss.

2)  I post James up on the right block and surround him with shooters... Battier, Miller, Chalmers... with Wade flashing into the paint from the top of the circle. LeBron should be able to post up anybody on Miami... Garnet included.  If they double then you dish to a cutting Wade or kick out to a wide open shooter.
Post by: Bakes on June 05, 2012, 09:22:42 PM
Miami well choke dis one away lol.  All them juss come Heat fans was talking too much shit... Peong that means you.
Post by: weary1969 on June 05, 2012, 09:29:41 PM
Winning on d road now 4 u guys 2 win it at home.
Post by: Peong on June 05, 2012, 09:33:39 PM
Miami well choke dis one away lol.  All them juss come Heat fans was talking too much shit... Peong that means you.

Miami in 7.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 05, 2012, 09:49:20 PM
miami season comin to an end thursday
Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2012, 07:49:49 AM
miami season comin to an end thursday

CO-SIGNNNNNNNN
Post by: fari on June 06, 2012, 08:18:19 AM
i is a knicks fan....but i hadda give props to the celtics...them breddas have heart!!   paul pierce is the truth for real....man had a crap game but hit a big 3 down the stretch, pietrus (i like he since he was with magic) had a good game on both ends.  all the same tho i want okc or whoever come out the west to steam roll them
Post by: Peong on June 06, 2012, 08:42:17 AM
Those threes deep in the 4th were big.  Miami doh have that clutch long-range shooter.
I see some replays where they expose the lack of urgency in the Miami team.  Looks like they doh know what it takes to win a game/series like this one.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on June 06, 2012, 09:45:30 AM
New coach in Miami will be on the way if they don't win the title (which they won't)....just another excuse.  I thought Miami could have gone all the way this year.  They lacking a PG and a closer...Fisher would have fit right in.

them breddas have heart!!   paul pierce is the truth for real....man had a crap game but hit a big 3 down the stretch,

that's a team leader, willing to take that shot, I've seen him miss them too but he knows come crunch time, he's taking that shot...
Post by: soccerman on June 06, 2012, 02:35:31 PM
I've been saying to my friends all year that Rondo is the best point guard this year in the NBA, that man is ballin!
Post by: Dutty on June 06, 2012, 03:00:26 PM

Miami in 7.
I eh so sure bout dat no more nah,, it seems like it dont have an actual 'go-to' guy on that team

de refs did done have to buse lebron in de first half about his incessant whining about phantom fouls
dat fellah have sooo much skillz but like he destined to become a permanent runner up

Post by: capodetutticapi on June 06, 2012, 04:18:13 PM
I've been saying to my friends all year that Rondo is the best point guard this year in the NBA, that man is ballin!
nah man westbrook and cp3 better than he.
Post by: Bakes on June 06, 2012, 04:35:43 PM
nah man westbrook and cp3 better than he.

Dem men on crack with this Rondo fanboy thing.  Force Rondo to go left or shoot and see how ordinary he becomes.  Doh let all dem illegal screens Garnett does set to free him up bad up allyuh head.
Post by: fari on June 06, 2012, 07:52:55 PM
stephen jackson getting on nasttyyyyy
Post by: soccerman on June 06, 2012, 09:34:16 PM
Congrats OKC but de refs fack it up fuh Spurs tonite
Post by: weary1969 on June 06, 2012, 09:39:28 PM
OKC congrats now go win d whole ting. D only good ting from the east is d Wisemen who went looking 4 baby Jesus.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 06, 2012, 09:54:06 PM
okc hungry boy,they out for blood........lebron must be sayin please let boston cut we ass tomorrow.KD go kill meh.
Post by: Peong on June 06, 2012, 10:06:21 PM
It goin to be real tough for Miami to win in OKC. Tough but doable.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 06, 2012, 10:36:53 PM
It goin to be real tough for Miami to win in OKC. Tough but doable.
they could hire u after they fire spoelstra.
Post by: Bakes on June 06, 2012, 11:03:19 PM

How so??

Allyuh cyah be serious... OKC reach up and take that crown, refs ent make ah 18 point lead with 3 mins to go in the first half disappear.
Post by: warmonga on June 07, 2012, 09:38:53 AM
no bad refs here .. OKC young guns just came out firing in the second half.. congrats but I eh like di celebration thing to win a conference title.

Post by: futbolfan on June 07, 2012, 10:14:01 AM

How so??

Allyuh cyah be serious... OKC reach up and take that crown, refs ent make ah 18 point lead with 3 mins to go in the first half disappear.

OKC deserve this victory because they are a better, deeper, and younger team.
I am surprised that no one eh chastising or second guessing coach Pop for his tactics. The Spurs won the first two games and most people were ready to crown them as the greatest team ever...Cyah lose an 18 point lead in a close out game....
Post by: Peong on June 07, 2012, 10:34:36 AM
no bad refs here .. OKC young guns just came out firing in the second half.. congrats but I eh like di celebration thing to win a conference title.

If the league givin them a trophy they should celebrate.
I find it weird that there's a trophy for that though, like giving a trophy for making the CL final.

Last night I see an ad for a movie with Kevin Durant starring.  So now we know who the league really wants to win.
OKC winning the title will give that movie a nice little box office bump.
Post by: Bakes on June 07, 2012, 12:38:43 PM
I find it weird that there's a trophy for that though, like giving a trophy for making the CL final.

Last night I see an ad for a movie with Kevin Durant starring.  So now we know who the league really wants to win.

Nothing at all "weird" about it... you acting like yuh not living in America.  Sure if yuh want to compare it to football it might seem "weird", but in the context of American sports where typically there are two divisions, usually West and East, there's a 'minor' trophy for winning the Division/Conference. This is true of American football, MLB, MLS, NHL... all the major sports even the NCAA where teams compete for their Conference title, in addition to going on for the national title.
Post by: FF on June 07, 2012, 02:04:06 PM

Nothing at all "weird" about it... you acting like yuh not living in America.  Sure if yuh want to compare it to football it might seem "weird", but in the context of American sports where typically there are two divisions, usually West and East, there's a 'minor' trophy for winning the Division/Conference. This is true of American football, MLB, MLS, NHL... all the major sports even the NCAA where teams compete for their Conference title, in addition to going on for the national title.

Also, you should add many of these leagues were separate, with their own separate title before they merged to create one major national title. e.g. NFC and AFC in the NFL and so on
Post by: soccerman on June 07, 2012, 06:23:01 PM

How so??

I'm not saying OKC wasn't the better team and didn't have the talent, I was watching the game as a neutral fan and to be honest when OKC was making their run in the 3rd aand 4th quarter the refs made some questionalble calls that gave Spurs no favors and helped OKC gain momentum.
Just off the top of my head:
1) Stephen jackon scored a 3 and they gave him a technical for taunting, when players do that all the time.
2) Leonard pulled a offensive rebound, Westbrook blatantly slapped him in his head, he stumbled out of bound and the ref gave OKC the ball.
3) Ginobili drove to the basket dished to Leonard (I think) in the corner, Harden ran into Manu flopped...offensive foul on Ginobili, 5th foul.

It just seemed like it was going to bad to worse and the home team were benefitting from the calls. It's hard to win in OKC when the momentum switches and refs are not helping, not with that crowd.
Post by: Peong on June 07, 2012, 06:59:18 PM

You qualify for a regional tournament by playing a national tournament, then you play a national final. Very weird.
Post by: Bakes on June 08, 2012, 02:46:53 AM
I'm not saying OKC wasn't the better team and didn't have the talent, I was watching the game as a neutral fan and to be honest when OKC was making their run in the 3rd aand 4th quarter the refs made some questionalble calls that gave Spurs no favors and helped OKC gain momentum.
1) Stephen jackon scored a 3 and they gave him a technical for taunting, when players do that all the time.
2) Leonard pulled a offensive rebound, Westbrook blatantly slapped him in his head, he stumbled out of bound and the ref gave OKC the ball.
3) Ginobili drove to the basket dished to Leonard (I think) in the corner, Harden ran into Manu flopped...offensive foul on Ginobili, 5th foul.

It just seemed like it was going to bad to worse and the home team were benefitting from the calls. It's hard to win in OKC when the momentum switches and refs are not helping, not with that crowd.

Nah dred... I remember them three plays and really the only one Spurs could have beef with was the incidental blow to Leonard head by Westbrook... I've seen that called although I thought at the time it was a good non-call since it really didn't have any effect on the game.  Hard to really say that is what cause Leonard to stumble out of bounds. 

Now looking at the stats the Spurs shot 18 FTs while OKC shot 31 so you could say the refs favored OKC... but Durant shot 15 of those foul shots by himself, with Westbrook shooting 7.  Yeah Durant is a star, but he hasn't really been getting star treatment all series... remember when Jackson rough him up in Game 1 and Spurs was boasting about getting tough and in particular about Jackson's defense? Notice he didn't have the same effect the next 5 games?  Because refs weren't going to let him get away with the bumping and grabbing again. 

So that possibly explains why Durant took so many foul shots.  Westbrook... yuh really cyah argue with his 7 free throws because that means only three or four fouls.  You easily could argue that there was many more plays on him at the rim when fouls could have been called and weren't.

Taunting... Mario Chalmers get hit with a tech for taunting Keyon Dooling right after Chalmers made a big 3 in Game 4.  That aside... Jackson was taunting Mo' Cheeks... and it wasn't just a quick something either... he said something for about 3-5 seconds which is an eternity.  How you gonna trash talk a coach?  Especially somebody with a gentleman's rep like Mo' cheeks... and especially when you have a rep like Jackson's?  Refs are human, and they take all these things into consideration "this guy's a hot-head... we need to watch him".  Ask Artest, lol.

The foul on Ginobili... you really can't be serious calling that a flop dred, lol.  Ginobili drove towards the baseline and Leonard floated to the left corner for a three.  Harden was chasing Leonard and Ginobili body-checked him in trying to set a pick.  Even if you want to say Harden made a meal of it... which I don't think he did... you can't set a pick if you're not set and Ginobili wasn't... by a country mile.
Post by: Bakes on June 08, 2012, 02:50:42 AM
You qualify for a regional tournament by playing a national tournament, then you play a national final. Very weird.

Nah... you qualify for a regional tournament (playoffs) by playing a regular season schedule.  Once you qualify you get put into two Groups (the regional 'tournaments') and each winner gets a trophy for winning their group and then advance to meet in the finals. If you looking for a European analogue you won't find any... but plenty exists in American sports. 

Besides, as FF say, some of this is left over tradition from the days of the AFL (now the AFC) and NFL (now the NFC) in American football... and the ABA and NBA in professional basketball.  American football actually has three trophies... Division (like the NFC East, West etc.) then Conference (NFC/AFC) then SuperBowl.
Post by: soccerman on June 08, 2012, 09:17:05 AM

Nah... you qualify for a regional tournament (playoffs) by playing a regular season schedule.  Once you qualify you get put into two Groups (the regional 'tournaments') and each winner gets a trophy for winning their group and then advance to meet in the finals. If you looking for a European analogue you won't find any... but plenty exists in American sports. 

Besides, as FF say, some of this is left over tradition from the days of the AFL (now the AFC) and NFL (now the NFC) in American football... and the ABA and NBA in professional basketball.  American football actually has three trophies... Division (like the NFC East, West etc.) then Conference (NFC/AFC) then SuperBowl.

Fair enough...when Ginobil

Nah dred... I remember them three plays and really the only one Spurs could have beef with was the incidental blow to Leonard head by Westbrook... I've seen that called although I thought at the time it was a good non-call since it really didn't have any effect on the game.  Hard to really say that is what cause Leonard to stumble out of bounds. 

Now looking at the stats the Spurs shot 18 FTs while OKC shot 31 so you could say the refs favored OKC... but Durant shot 15 of those foul shots by himself, with Westbrook shooting 7.  Yeah Durant is a star, but he hasn't really been getting star treatment all series... remember when Jackson rough him up in Game 1 and Spurs was boasting about getting tough and in particular about Jackson's defense? Notice he didn't have the same effect the next 5 games?  Because refs weren't going to let him get away with the bumping and grabbing again. 

So that possibly explains why Durant took so many foul shots.  Westbrook... yuh really cyah argue with his 7 free throws because that means only three or four fouls.  You easily could argue that there was many more plays on him at the rim when fouls could have been called and weren't.

Taunting... Mario Chalmers get hit with a tech for taunting Keyon Dooling right after Chalmers made a big 3 in Game 4.  That aside... Jackson was taunting Mo' Cheeks... and it wasn't just a quick something either... he said something for about 3-5 seconds which is an eternity.  How you gonna trash talk a coach?  Especially somebody with a gentleman's rep like Mo' cheeks... and especially when you have a rep like Jackson's?  Refs are human, and they take all these things into consideration "this guy's a hot-head... we need to watch him".  Ask Artest, lol.

The foul on Ginobili... you really can't be serious calling that a flop dred, lol.  Ginobili drove towards the baseline and Leonard floated to the left corner for a three.  Harden was chasing Leonard and Ginobili body-checked him in trying to set a pick.  Even if you want to say Harden made a meal of it... which I don't think he did... you can't set a pick if you're not set and Ginobili wasn't... by a country mile.

:beermug: Fair enough, I'll admit 1) and 3) could've gone either way.... but I'll argue that when Ginobili drove, dished to Leonard and set that pick, to me Harden made a meal of it lol. Smart play by him though and I don't blame him but the way he threw himself back was a bit excessive from the force of Manu's pick.
I really wanted to see Durant and Jackson go at it bc Stephen came out with all guns blazing and Popovich kept taking him out when he had the hot hand for most of the game which (to me) didn't make much sense because his bigs in Diaw and Splitter weren't cutting it that night.
Post by: soccerman on June 08, 2012, 09:23:10 AM
Lebron was BEAST last night, I made a statement saying he wasn't ready to go fishing.
Post by: weary1969 on June 08, 2012, 09:47:37 AM
Lebron was BEAST last night, I made a statement saying he wasn't ready to go fishing.

Boston look old last nite.
Post by: Dutty on June 08, 2012, 10:34:50 AM

Boston look old last nite.

True, starboy finally stop complainin and put on a clinic...pressure does buss pipe

Leh we see if he could mount de team on he back again for game 7
Post by: Peong on June 08, 2012, 10:47:55 AM

Except that the "regular season schedule" is a national tournament.

Lebron poo-poo on a lot of people last night, not just the Celtics.  Too many ppl get caught up in the anti-hype about him and they needed a reminder.
Wilt Chamberlain and Lebron, that is an exclusive club.
Post by: futbolfan on June 08, 2012, 12:37:04 PM

Except that the "regular season schedule" is a national tournament.

Lebron poo-poo on a lot of people last night, not just the Celtics. Too many ppl get caught up in the anti-hype about him and they needed a reminder.
Wilt Chamberlain and Lebron, that is an exclusive club.

He cyah do no wrong...De man had 45, 15 and 5, single handly stave off elimination to force ah game 7. But people still bawlin de game wasn't close and he did not hit de game winning shot.....
Post by: Bitter on June 09, 2012, 09:06:25 PM
The new big 3 take over this game in the 4th.

Only Rondo do anything for the celtics
Post by: Peong on June 09, 2012, 09:50:17 PM
Lebron abused Rondo early on, what happen to the pushups that time?
Then he scared the whole of Boston with that big dunk.  Bosh was sorely missed in this series.
Post by: Bakes on June 10, 2012, 12:47:36 AM
Last year I was torn on who to root for... I never EVER liked Miami as a team, ever since Benedict Riley fax he resignation to the Knicks without even bothering to talk to the players and say laters... after preaching that whole "we go to war together" nonsense.  That said, always been a LeBron fan and a big part of me was rooting for him last year to silence he detractors and win a ring and rub it in de Cavaliers owner face.  But... ah was also rooting fuh mih peoples... Dirk, Cuban and de Mavs organization, for whom a couple pardnas was working at the time.

This year... ah still want LeBron to get he ring... but not as much.  Ah find de Heat transform deyself into some bitches this year, with LeBron steady flopping and bitching tuh de refs, and Wade with some unnecessarily hard fouls on players.  Couple that with the fact that OKC playing much more team oriented, and exciting basketball.  OKC eh have nobody to guard LeBron, whereas LeBron could try and Stephen Jackson/Artest Durant.  If the refs let them physical him it could take him out of his game, though not necessarily.  Miami doh have anybody to guard Westbrook or Harden either... although I'm sure Wade will try.  I think Ibaka could neutralize Bosh but he have tuh be wary of early fouls.

All in all OKC will win it in 6, but it won't be easy... may even go 7.
Post by: warmonga on June 11, 2012, 11:57:39 AM
Miami can not and will not win out simple reason is because the NBA will loose a lot of money .. nobody in this world wants Lebron to win anything . Its sickening when you Buy a championship ... The league will not allowed Miami to win even if dey play good..... I called it though Miami and OKC... anyway am gonna call it again ... OKC in 6
War
Post by: Peong on June 11, 2012, 12:41:30 PM
Miami can not and will not win out simple reason is because the NBA will loose a lot of money .. nobody in this world wants Lebron to win anything . Its sickening when you Buy a championship ... The league will not allowed Miami to win even if dey play good..... I called it though Miami and OKC... anyway am gonna call it again ... OKC in 6
War

So it's not ok for Miami to buy the biggest players, or as you refer to them, "a championship" (don't they still have to win games?), but it's ok for the league to purposely prevent Miami from winning a championship? 

And how will the NBA lose money?  Miami's games 5, 6 and 7 against Boston each broke viewership records.  Everybody wants to see Lebron and the league is making a ton of money because of that.
Post by: Bakes on June 11, 2012, 03:12:33 PM
War

Didn't the Celtics "buy a championship" when they signed the "big three"?  What about when Jerry West gift-wrapped Pau Gasol and send him to LA in essence fuh Kwame Brown... LA didn't buy championship then?  Or, what about when they signed Shaquille O'Neal from Orlando?  Dat was ah borrow... not ah buy?
Post by: warmonga on June 12, 2012, 01:40:11 PM
I going to start a new thread .. lemme see  who wah see lebron..

Post by: Peong on June 12, 2012, 08:07:14 PM
I going to start a new thread .. lemme see  who wah see lebron..

All de Lebron haters like you who not livin anywhere near Oklahoma will be watching.
Post by: Peong on June 12, 2012, 09:45:34 PM
OKC are powerful! Durant dunkin from half court oui. That was an uncharacteristic strong start by Miami, I doh know what to make of it.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 12, 2012, 09:51:14 PM
okc does start 3rd quarters like ah bat outta hell boy.big games by KD and westbrook.
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2012, 02:47:04 AM
Some numbers...

Miami scored 40 pts in the second half after putting up 54 in the first half.  Of those 40 second half points 21 was scored in the 4th quarter, meaning that they only scored 19 in the 3rd.  OKC on the other hand scored 58 second half points, including 27 in the third.  OKC didn't take it's first lead until Westbrook's 3-point play with :16 secs left in the quarter... to put them up 74-73.  OKC then outscored the heat by 10 pts (31-21) in the 4th to seal the game.  While Miami was putting up those 21 points, Durant was scoring 17 by himself.

That in a nutshell tells the story of OKC's resilience in bouncing back from a slow start, and Miami's struggles after a good early start.  Perhaps too it's an indictment of Spoelstra's coaching.  While I think he's an easy target for haters, and that the whole "Big 3" and "not 1, not 2..." hype machine (combined with the oversized presence of Riley) sets him up for failure, I think he has reasonably opened up himself to criticism as well. 

For instance, why did he start the game with Bosh on the bench, opting instead for Shane Battier (who in fairness, shot the ball very well early) and ending up with James guarding Perkins in the post.  Better play-calling from OKC would have seen him end up in foul trouble early, but they didn't and lived to tell the tale.  Then there's the fact that he played a largely six-man rotation with Bosh coming off the bench and Miller and Anthony playing a total of 12 mins. No explanation as to why he didn't go deeper... but one has to wonder whether fatigue (especially after a long layoff) played a factor for the starters... they tailed off to precipitously in the second half for there not to be some sorta explanation.

Without going on too much... compare that to the contribution from the OKC bench... Fisher in particular. Not huge numbers, but he's a calming presence for a young team when on the floor.  And then there's Harden... of which enough has been said, but despite a sub-par game, made all the right passes and took his turn defending Wade and James.  Then finally, one of the most underrated players this post-season in Nick Collison.  Not only does he bang when needed, but he has a keen sense for spacing, making himself available in the paint for pocket passes leading to easy lay ups.  He's also a very good rebounder... just a quality player.

Miami will bounce back... too much talent among their star players.  What tonight demonstrates though is that OKC are for real... for those still harboring doubts.  We've seen a young team grow up before our eyes this season, and now we are front seat witnesses to them elevating their game on the fly, setting the table for a thrilling series.
Post by: soccerman on June 14, 2012, 05:27:17 PM
Well said Bakes, OKC has always been a resilient team, all season in every series thus far they've come from behind in the fourth chipping away huge deficits starting with the Mavs, Lakers, Spurs and now the Heat. There were many games where it looked like those teams would've come away with a win only for OKC to rise to the occasion and seal the deal. Durrant has ice in his viens in the 4th, that man has the clutch gene!!!!
Post by: Bakes on June 14, 2012, 07:02:35 PM
Tonight will be pressure... you know James and Wade will be fired up, but fired up only counts for so much.  I want to see what adjustments Spoelstra will make to contain Westbrook and Durant.  If James guarding Perkins again I'd love to see OKC dump it in to him and try force James to make a play (and possibly foul him).  They can't let James hide on defense and rest whole game so.  At the same time they shouldn't get away from their offense.. but nice to use it as a change up every now and then, especially if Perk have him pinned deep.
Post by: Bitter on June 14, 2012, 09:35:05 PM
I will have to start calling OKC the children of the corn. Them fellas doh dead for nothing.
Post by: Bakes on June 14, 2012, 09:51:39 PM
You really hate to complain about the officiating... but wow.  Just WOW.
Post by: soccerman on June 14, 2012, 09:55:29 PM
I done complain, dias not the first one major missed call they messed up in the playoffs
Post by: Bakes on June 14, 2012, 10:15:48 PM
I done complain, dias not the first one major missed call they messed up in the playoffs

I really doh know what de fack Tom Washington was really looking at on that play.  It's very cliched to complain about the officiating, but when you consider some of the soft fouls they were calling earlier... it was just a very inconsistently officiated game.  Case in point:

- Sefalosha was called for a foul on LeBron where he swiped and missed both James' head and the ball.  Van Gundy say they call the foul because his left hand was in James' back.

- Wade slipped and fall with the ball as the clock was winding down, Fisher fell on top of him (Wade fell at his feet) and foul was called with :02 secs on the shot clock.

- Durant got called for a charge, giving him 4 fouls (he later committed his fifth).  It was clear from the review that Battier was still moving.  Later on... same exact play, Battier was called for the foul instead.

- Same thing on the Harden offensive foul on Chalmers... but no call when James did the same thing to Harden later on.
Post by: Peong on June 14, 2012, 10:52:08 PM
 :wavetowel:
Post by: D.H.W on June 14, 2012, 10:55:44 PM
Miami will win the title
Post by: soccerman on June 15, 2012, 09:53:49 AM

I really doh know what de fack Tom Washington was really looking at on that play.  It's very cliched to complain about the officiating, but when you consider some of the soft fouls they were calling earlier... it was just a very inconsistently officiated game.  Case in point:

- Sefalosha was called for a foul on LeBron where he swiped and missed both James' head and the ball.  Van Gundy say they call the foul because his left hand was in James' back.

- Wade slipped and fall with the ball as the clock was winding down, Fisher fell on top of him (Wade fell at his feet) and foul was called with :02 secs on the shot clock.

- Durant got called for a charge, giving him 4 fouls (he later committed his fifth).  It was clear from the review that Battier was still moving.  Later on... same exact play, Battier was called for the foul instead.

- Same thing on the Harden offensive foul on Chalmers... but no call when James did the same thing to Harden later on.

Yup all those fouls were questionalble, but it's sometimes inexcusable in critical moments of the game like that when refs miss blatant calls, especially when the ref is right there on the baseline in front of the play. Maybe it might've of been difficult for him to observe from the angle he was standing but he had 3 different opportunites to call the foul on that one play lol.
That said, I'm happy Miami won because now we have series and more basketball to watch so like yuh self Peong :wavetowel: :beermug:
Post by: Peong on June 15, 2012, 01:28:31 PM
This is from the Miami New Times.  Funny stuff.

Miami Heat Withstand Thunder Rally, Tie Series 1-1

Holy assballs it almost happened again.

After the Miami Heat held the lead from the opening tip, just like in Game 1, and held a double-digit lead, just like in Game 1, the Oklahoma City Thunder almost rallied back to steal Game 2, just like Game 1.

But thanks to LeBron James hitting a slap-yo-momma-and-pay-the-rent-bankshot and two free throws at the end, Miami was able to hang on for the 100-96 win, tying up the NBA Finals 1-1, and avoiding the unbridled chaos and awfulness that would have buried us all today had they blown this f**king game.

- LeBron James brought the Cobradick for the second-straight game in these Finals, dropping 32 points (the highest scoring total he's put together in a Finals), grabbing 8 rebounds and going 12-for-12 from the free throw line. With a dong harder than volcanic rock and a willingness to attack the rim with a series of vicious dick slaps, LeBron scored the majority of his points in the paint. And his aggressiveness earned him twelve trips to the charity stripe, which -- as shitty as he can be from that place -- always bodes well for Miami.

Read more. (http://blogs.miaminewtimes.com/riptide/2012/06/miami_heat_withstand_thunder_r.php)
Post by: Dutty on June 15, 2012, 02:39:16 PM
It have a 'get away be the skin of yuh teeth' emoticon?
Post by: Peong on June 15, 2012, 07:43:34 PM

Like Durant get away from foulin out and not bein there to hit 5 more points?
And get away from what, overtime?  I guess once it goes to overtime OKC guaranteed to win.
OKC's season is over.
Post by: Bakes on June 15, 2012, 10:02:16 PM

Like Durant get away from foulin out and not bein there to hit 5 more points?
And get away from what, overtime?  I guess once it goes to overtime OKC guaranteed to win.
OKC's season is over.

He never would have fouled out because his fourth foul (charge on Battier) was not a foul.  OKC wasn't guaranteed to win, but with momentum, at home... yeah, de Heat get away.  We go see how loud yuh crowing next weekend.
Post by: Peong on June 15, 2012, 10:21:04 PM
Also if Durant got 2 frees, then it was Heat's ball with 11 seconds to go.  Enough time to score or at least get fouled.
Post by: Bakes on June 15, 2012, 10:31:54 PM
Also if Durant got 2 frees, then it was Heat's ball with 11 seconds to go.  Enough time to score or at least get fouled.

Perhaps... or the Heat woulda turn it over again, with no natural ball-handler on the club.
Post by: Peong on June 17, 2012, 09:07:04 PM
Post by: Bakes on June 17, 2012, 09:20:34 PM
More generous calls by the refs... and poor decisions by OKC down the stretch cost them this game.
Post by: futbolfan on June 18, 2012, 06:20:02 AM
More generous calls by the refs... and poor decisions by OKC down the stretch cost them this game.

OKC needs there "Big Three" to put up points consistently in every game. Harden cyah go 2-10 and expect the team to win.
Westbrook is not a traditional PG, but this notion that all of a sudden he is supposed to morph into John Stockton, eh happening.
He needs to score, Harden has to put up some more points and Durant has to stay out of foul trouble... Dem fellas just missing open shots....

Post by: Peong on June 18, 2012, 09:12:22 AM
OKC missed 9 free throws, Miami missed 4.
Lebron missed 1 late in the 4th, so I guess the haters still have that to hold on to.

Wade gave away the ball late in the game AGAIN.  This time he tried to cross-over I think 3 times and Sefalosha wasn't having it.
I thought after game 2 the coach woulda get in his face about that particular giveaway that cost 3 points, trying to dribble when he had an open pass to Lebron.
Obviously he didn't learn from that mistake.

Not to mention James' defensive dominance of Durant in the 4th.
Beast.
Post by: futbolfan on June 18, 2012, 10:39:24 AM
OKC missed 9 free throws, Miami missed 4.
Lebron missed 1 late in the 4th, so I guess the haters still have that to hold on to.

Wade gave away the ball late in the game AGAIN.  This time he tried to cross-over I think 3 times and Sefalosha wasn't having it.
I thought after game 2 the coach woulda get in his face about that particular giveaway that cost 3 points, trying to dribble when he had an open pass to Lebron.
Obviously he didn't learn from that mistake.

Not to mention James' defensive dominance of Durant in the 4th.
Beast.

Get in his face.... ;D The last time Spolstera try to correct Wade in de Indiana series, is all kinda buff and cuss he collect on de sidelines. So yuh could imagine wha does go on behind closed doors....

OKC's inexperience go cause dem to lose this series.
Post by: Dutty on June 18, 2012, 11:07:57 AM

arrrite that one was well deserved
Post by: Peong on June 18, 2012, 11:16:50 AM
This game was a dogfight, plenty turnovers.  Miami driving to the hole and getting rejected or having to pass back out.  Thunder missing jumpers.  I could only imagine how the next one will be with OKC desperate not to go 2 games down.
A desperate OKC is very dangerous.
Post by: soccerman on June 19, 2012, 09:44:17 PM
This is Miami's year...the lights too bright for Harden
Post by: Bakes on June 19, 2012, 09:44:55 PM
OKC imploded down the stretch... but once more, at pain of sounding like a broken record, the officiating was dreadful and OKC paid the price.  There is no way Miami wins any of these games without the b.s. calls/non-calls.  First time in NBA Finals history (not my stat, ESPN's stat) that an All-Star has been in foul trouble.  Game 4 Durant wasn't in foul trouble, but they found other scapegoats in Harden and Ibaka.  Anyone who argues that the fouls haven't impacted the series, or who argues that they haven't gone overwhelmingly in Miami's favor just aren't being honest.
Post by: Bakes on June 19, 2012, 09:45:46 PM

Harden??  Is Harden you posting about dread? lol

Okay... yes.
Post by: D.H.W on June 19, 2012, 09:58:06 PM
James get cramp like a bitch. Man could barely walk
Post by: soccerman on June 19, 2012, 10:05:49 PM

Harden??  Is Harden you posting about dread? lol

Okay... yes.

Nah Bakes Harden is key to OKC's success, he is the 3rd option....he has to step up to take them over the hump. He had 3 games where he under performed and they lost all of them. With that being said, he's not the sole reason as they still could've won but he's not been himself for most of this series.
Post by: Peong on June 19, 2012, 11:06:41 PM
Post by: futbolfan on June 20, 2012, 06:32:01 AM
OKC should have been swept in this series....
Miami had and lost a double digit lead in the first game.
One thing people fail to realize is that although the Western conference have the better offensive teams, defensively they are not on par with the top teams in the Eastern conference.
Post by: futbolfan on June 20, 2012, 07:21:36 AM
OKC imploded down the stretch... but once more, at pain of sounding like a broken record, the officiating was dreadful and OKC paid the price.  There is no way Miami wins any of these games without the b.s. calls/non-calls. 
OKC imploded down the stretch... but once more, at pain of sounding like a broken record, the officiating was dreadful and OKC paid the price.  There is no way Miami wins any of these games without the b.s. calls/non-calls.  First time in NBA Finals history (not my stat, ESPN's stat) that an All-Star has been in foul trouble.  Game 4 Durant wasn't in foul trouble, but they found other scapegoats in Harden and Ibaka.  Anyone who argues that the fouls haven't impacted the series, or who argues that they haven't gone overwhelmingly in Miami's favor just aren't being honest.
Trouble, but they found other scapegoats in Harden and Ibaka.  Anyone who argues that the fouls haven't impacted the series, or who argues that they haven't gone overwhelmingly in Miami's favor just aren't being honest.

Nah Bakes, one or two bad calls here and there usually even out for both teams over a 7 game series.
There are other factors contributing to OKC's demise.
1.James 'need to cut yuh beard' Harden eh pulling he weight.
2. For all dey length, size and athleticism the team is getting beaten on de boards and lose balls.
3.Mental errors killing dem fellas bad. Case in point, in the  last game coach call a timeout, draw up a play and dey eh even get a chance to run it cause on de inbound pass Sefolosha give de ball right back to de Heat. Ah next example was last night in the closing seconds they were down by three. There was a jump ball situation and de coaching staff told de entire team that if Miami win de tip dey go have only 5 secs on de shot clock. Westbrook get ah brain cramp and foul Chalmers with 1 second off de clock...
4.They were up by 17 in the first quarter and at the time even VanGundy said that he eh like how de team playing cause is one setta 1v1 ball. Heat went on ah 30-16 run and it was all she wrote.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 20, 2012, 11:41:19 AM
all them bad calls on durant affectin the man play,it clear as f**kin day.......OKC COMIN BACK IN THE NEXT 3......i like LBJ but he playin nasty.
Post by: Bakes on June 20, 2012, 01:57:24 PM
Nah Bakes, one or two bad calls here and there usually even out for both teams over a 7 game series.
2. For all dey length, size and athleticism the team is getting beaten on de boards and lose balls.
3.Mental errors killing dem fellas bad. Case in point, in the  last game coach call a timeout, draw up a play and dey eh even get a chance to run it cause on de inbound pass Sefolosha give de ball right back to de Heat. Ah next example was last night in the closing seconds they were down by three. There was a jump ball situation and de coaching staff told de entire team that if Miami win de tip dey go have only 5 secs on de shot clock. Westbrook get ah brain cramp and foul Chalmers with 1 second off de clock...
4.They were up by 17 in the first quarter and at the time even VanGundy said that he eh like how de team playing cause is one setta 1v1 ball. Heat went on ah 30-16 run and it was all she wrote.

"one or two bad calls"??  Have you been watching the series?  Name me ONE Miami player that has been in  foul trouble in this series.  Lemmih get comfortable because I know it will take you a while.  That aside, is WHO the foul trouble has been on as well... OKC needs Durant and Ibaka on the floor and thanks to the refs, it not happening.  Okay, you say that OKC has been fouling more... perhaps, but there's no way you can convince me that a team that plays as physically as Miami does, is fouling more than OKC.

Last night Ibaka had, I think 4 fouls, and of those three was absolute bullshit.  The first was on a challenge on a Wade shot.  Wade released the ball, Ibaka blocked it THEN made contact with Wade... who fall to the floor like a breadfruit and a full second later the whistle blew for a foul.  The next one, Bosh went after a loose ball and Ibaka tripped over him as Bosh dove to the floor. Ibaka tried his best not to land on him and they still called the foul on him.  The third b.s. call was on a pick that Ibaka set on LeBron.  For one thing he barely made contact with LeBron, for another, his sneaker must been half an inch on the white line... ref called him for setting a pick "out of bounds".  Are you f**king kidding me??  This is the NBA Finals and that is the bullshit that getting called?  Incidental contact on a loose ball and some marginal  screen out of bounds call?  Let's not even talk about the phantom foul on a Wade missed layup where Durant blocked the ball clean.  The called the foul on Durant, then changed it to Westbrook, even though Westbrook didn't even make a play on Wade.   Now let's try to list the bad fouls on Miami this series..... exactly.

Easy to say "they even out" but that's bullshit, for one thing it gets players in foul trouble to the point that they can't contribute to their team (see, Harden) and for another it sends the opposing team to the line, and gets the "fouling" team into the penalty early... aka free points.  All of these games have been close games.  With Durant on the floor in Game 3 Miami likely loses.  Same with Ibaka to battle Bosh.  Let's  not even talk about the non-f**king foul on LeBron at the end of Game 2.  Whenever yuh ready to weigh in on the bad calls against Miami feel free.

As for the "mental errors" only Westbrook's foul counts as a mental error.  The coach didn't mention anything about the clock to them because there wasn't any timeout before the jump ball.  Not only wasn't there a timeout but no one from the OKC bench said anything... so blame the bench for that. 

Sefalosha was up against the 5 second count on that sideline inbounds play and Westbrook took a jab step to the sideline to receive the pass then fake out Sefalosha by coming to the top of the key.  How is that a "mental error"?

The only legitimate thing you mention is the hustle points for rebounds and loose balls, and the bad shots.  Those I will agree with.
Post by: Peong on June 20, 2012, 05:24:49 PM
In game 3 Durant was on the floor for the 4th quarter and scored 4 points.  Yet OKC were likely to win if he was on in the 3rd quarter?
Post by: Bakes on June 20, 2012, 06:54:20 PM
In game 3 Durant was on the floor for the 4th quarter and scored 4 points.  Yet OKC were likely to win if he was on in the 3rd quarter?

You slow of understanding??

When Durant sat with those fouls Miami went on a run to close out the third and take a lead going into the 4th.  Durant was in a rhythm at that point and scoring virtually at will... good chance that OKC would have continued scoring to match the Heat and not lose the lead going into the  4th.  After having sat out the end of the third and most of the 4th he came back in cold.  What so hard to comprehend about that?  In fact so much did his absence have on the outcome that many were critical Brooks for taking him out when he did.  I understand yuh bias towards yuh Heat but it really ent that hard to understand.  Strange too that we never hear peep outta yuh before "The Decision, but so it is with allyuh waggonist Heat fans.
Post by: Dutty on June 21, 2012, 09:22:39 AM
3.Mental errors killing dem fellas bad. Case in point, in the  last game coach call a timeout, draw up a play and dey eh even get a chance to run it cause on de inbound pass Sefolosha give de ball right back to de Heat. Ah next example was last night in the closing seconds they were down by 30-16 run and it was all she wrote.

Agree with 1 and 3

Plus what is a little disconcerting is why lebron mudder kissin everybody on dey mout after de game
Post by: futbolfan on June 21, 2012, 09:31:38 AM

"one or two bad calls"??  Have you been watching the series?  Name me ONE Miami player that has been in  foul trouble in this series.  Lemmih get comfortable because I know it will take you a while.  That aside, is WHO the foul trouble has been on as well... OKC needs Durant and Ibaka on the floor and thanks to the refs, it not happening.  Okay, you say that OKC has been fouling more... perhaps, but there's no way you can convince me that a team that plays as physically as Miami does, is fouling more than OKC.

Last night Ibaka had, I think 4 fouls, and of those three was absolute bullshit.  The first was on a challenge on a Wade shot.  Wade released the ball, Ibaka blocked it THEN made contact with Wade... who fall to the floor like a breadfruit and a full second later the whistle blew for a foul.  The next one, Bosh went after a loose ball and Ibaka tripped over him as Bosh dove to the floor. Ibaka tried his best not to land on him and they still called the foul on him.  The third b.s. call was on a pick that Ibaka set on LeBron.  For one thing he barely made contact with LeBron, for another, his sneaker must been half an inch on the white line... ref called him for setting a pick "out of bounds".  Are you f**king kidding me??  This is the NBA Finals and that is the bullshit that getting called?  Incidental contact on a loose ball and some marginal  screen out of bounds call?  Let's not even talk about the phantom foul on a Wade missed layup where Durant blocked the ball clean.  The called the foul on Durant, then changed it to Westbrook, even though Westbrook didn't even make a play on Wade.   Now let's try to list the bad fouls on Miami this series..... exactly.

Easy to say "they even out" but that's bullshit, for one thing it gets players in foul trouble to the point that they can't contribute to their team (see, Harden) and for another it sends the opposing team to the line, and gets the "fouling" team into the penalty early... aka free points.  All of these games have been close games.  With Durant on the floor in Game 3 Miami likely loses.  Same with Ibaka to battle Bosh.  Let's  not even talk about the non-f**king foul on LeBron at the end of Game 2.  Whenever yuh ready to weigh in on the bad calls against Miami feel free.

As for the "mental errors" only Westbrook's foul counts as a mental error.  The coach didn't mention anything about the clock to them because there wasn't any timeout before the jump ball.  Not only wasn't there a timeout but no one from the OKC bench said anything... so blame the bench for that. 

Sefalosha was up against the 5 second count on that sideline inbounds play and Westbrook took a jab step to the sideline to receive the pass then fake out Sefalosha by coming to the top of the key.  How is that a "mental error"?

The only legitimate thing you mention is the hustle points for rebounds and loose balls, and the bad shots.  Those I will agree with.

Harden, along with his face being on de side of ah milk carton for this series is just flat out a bad defender. He received some accolades in the Lakers series for going up against Kobe but Lebron is just a different animal. I think that it is a combination of having to guard Lebron and sometimes Wade that is causing him to exert tremendous energy and hence his offensive game is suffering. cyah expect to go 2-10 in back to back games.
You stated that if Durant was on the floor in game 3 Miami would have lost, but yuh forget to mention that it was Scott Brooks who pulled Westbrook from the game with no foul trouble problems mind you. One superstar in foul trouble and you decide to pull the other one from the game to calm him down. That eh make no sense because Miami went on ah run and the rest is history.

Lebron did foul Durant at the end of game 2 and dat was a blatant missed call by de ref. But worse case scenario would have been Durant going to the line for 2 shots  (not ah guarantee cause he already missed two for de game). Lets say he makes both free throws, and the score was tied, There were still  7 seconds left on the clock which would have been enough time for Miami to run a play and possibly win de game.

Ibaka getting called for some cheap fouls, but in time he go learn to pick his spots when playing aggressively. I do agree some of his fouls can be considered cheap and ticky tac  in nature but between he and Perkins (who should give way to Collison) are allowing Lebron  to drive consistently to de basket.  Quite possible he may thinking about getting into foul trouble, who knows….

Sefalosha getting beaten off de dribble but de help defense is always late. I think Perkins role in this series is to look intimidating and argue wid de ref but it eh wuking.

I believe if Fisher was 5 years younger he would have been the difference maker in this series. His leadership and experience would have worked wonders but sadly he legs and conditioning eh allowing him to perform to the best of his ability. Chalmers woulda have nightmares after every game.

This is ah tweet from Ric Bucher who was sitting next to the Thunder bench.
Ric Bucher ‏@RicBucher
Twittersphere hammering Scott Brooks. I'd swear I saw him tell his team 5 ticks were on shot clock. Every player looked up at it. RW, too.
Even in the press conference Westbrook acknowledged that he made a mental error and it was his fault.

Come nah man, you doe see that as a mental error? Coming out of a time out , you cyah inbound de ball. Even  if he was up against the 5 second count and he eh like wha going down, all he had to do was take another time out.

Trust meh, like you, de whole population of "Barry Farms" complaining about de officiating in this series. They were all expecting ah OKC sweep and for Durant to come parade de trophy in de summer league....  ;D

Post by: soccerman on June 21, 2012, 09:43:35 AM

Plus what is a little disconcerting is why lebron mudder kissin everybody on dey mout after de game

Same ting I was sayin...ah wonder if it was the Heat and Mavs if West woulda get a lil sumting too
Post by: Dutty on June 21, 2012, 09:50:22 AM
delonte coulda run ah parry right dey in de hallway
Post by: Bakes on June 21, 2012, 10:20:13 AM
Harden, along with his face being on de side of ah milk carton for this series is just flat out a bad defender. He received some accolades in the Lakers series for going up against Kobe but Lebron is just a different animal. I think that it is a combination of having to guard Lebron and sometimes Wade that is causing him to exert tremendous energy and hence his offensive game is suffering. cyah expect to go 2-10 in back to back games.
You stated that if Durant was on the floor in game 3 Miami would have lost, but yuh forget to mention that it was Scott Brooks who pulled Westbrook from the game with no foul trouble problems mind you. One superstar in foul trouble and you decide to pull the other one from the game to calm him down. That eh make no sense because Miami went on ah run and the rest is history.

Lebron did foul Durant at the end of game 2 and dat was a blatant missed call by de ref. But worse case scenario would have been Durant going to the line for 2 shots  (not ah guarantee cause he already missed two for de game). Lets say he makes both free throws, and the score was tied, There were still  7 seconds left on the clock which would have been enough time for Miami to run a play and possibly win de game.

Ibaka getting called for some cheap fouls, but in time he go learn to pick his spots when playing aggressively. I do agree some of his fouls can be considered cheap and ticky tac  in nature but between he and Perkins (who should give way to Collison) are allowing Lebron  to drive consistently to de basket.  Quite possible he may thinking about getting into foul trouble, who knows….

Sefalosha getting beaten off de dribble but de help defense is always late. I think Perkins role in this series is to look intimidating and argue wid de ref but it eh wuking.

I believe if Fisher was 5 years younger he would have been the difference maker in this series. His leadership and experience would have worked wonders but sadly he legs and conditioning eh allowing him to perform to the best of his ability. Chalmers woulda have nightmares after every game.

This is ah tweet from Ric Bucher who was sitting next to the Thunder bench.
Ric Bucher ‏@RicBucher
Twittersphere hammering Scott Brooks. I'd swear I saw him tell his team 5 ticks were on shot clock. Every player looked up at it. RW, too.
Even in the press conference Westbrook acknowledged that he made a mental error and it was his fault.

Come nah man, you doe see that as a mental error? Coming out of a time out , you cyah inbound de ball. Even  if he was up against the 5 second count and he eh like wha going down, all he had to do was take another time out.

Trust meh, like you, de whole population of "Barry Farms" complaining about de officiating in this series. They were all expecting ah OKC sweep and for Durant to come parade de trophy in de summer league....  ;D

Harden is a "flat out a bad defender"?? Wow... yeah, you on yuh own with that.  If yuh say he struggling to contain LeBron then yeah... but "flat out a bad defender"?  Okay, lol.

Didn't say with Durant on the floor Miami would have lost, I said OKC likely would not have given up the lead and therefore likely the outcome would have been different.  Brooks pulling Westbrook wasn't as significant to me, because Westbrook wasn't having a good game (remember how Magic rip him following the game?).  Can't begin to even mention that with Durant's absence if you ask me.

Who knows how Game 2 would have played out had they sent Durant to the line... as we both agree he deserved to?  As it stood they didn't and the Thunder didn't get a chance to tie the game.  My point is that Miami is benefiting (and it not even close) from the whistles.

Collison is mih boy... always liked that fella, but it hard for him to play Bosh down low, undersized as he is, without fouling. They need him to spot Perk, he cyah really replace him in my mind.  But agree that the Heat getting to the rim too easy... as is Westbrook, except Westbrook eh getting foul calls... go figure.

As for the reminder about the 5 seconds... Westbrook said "that was a miscommunication on my part", if yuh want to chalk that comment up to meaning a 'mental error' then fine... but what else was he to say?  As for what the bench said to them in the huddle, I really can't say, but the studio fellas on ESPN yesterday (Bucher, Steven A., Jay what he name from First Take and Skip Bayless) were blaming Brooks for not taking a timeout and reminding everyone, so I assuming he didn't.  Maybe he did...

The inbounds play is just a turnover... I not even sure they had another timeout to take.  Besides, the play came after they called a time out.  I don't think you can call back to back time outs, that's a technical foul.

Whey you know about "Barry Farms"? lol
Post by: Peong on June 21, 2012, 12:56:05 PM

You slow of understanding??

When Durant sat with those fouls Miami went on a run to close out the third and take a lead going into the 4th.  Durant was in a rhythm at that point and scoring virtually at will... good chance that OKC would have continued scoring to match the Heat and not lose the lead going into the  4th.  After having sat out the end of the third and most of the 4th he came back in cold.  What so hard to comprehend about that?  In fact so much did his absence have on the outcome that many were critical Brooks for taking him out when he did.  I understand yuh bias towards yuh Heat but it really ent that hard to understand.  Strange too that we never hear peep outta yuh before "The Decision, but so it is with allyuh waggonist Heat fans.

Dude you are being wildly speculative by saying that Miami would likely lose if Durant did not sit out that period.
Maybe if you said OKC would have kept or built the lead that they had yuh wouldn't sound so off, but that was with more than a quarter to go, there's no likely winner or loser at that point.

If your understanding was as good as you believe, you would talk about Brooks taking Westbrook out soon after Durant in the last part of the third.  OKC minus their two best is not going to do well against the Heat.
Try and nail down the salient points if yuh want to rant.

So you said he came back on cold.  How much time does Durant need to get warm again?  He couldn't be cold all quarter right? He played the entire 4th and got 4 points, despite all your requirements for him scoring (Durant on the court and warm) being met.

It's not that your points are hard to comprehend, it's that you're talking emotional bullshit.
Post by: Bakes on June 21, 2012, 02:39:28 PM
Dude you are being wildly speculative by saying that Miami would likely lose if Durant did not sit out that period.

I say that?  Where??

Maybe if you said OKC would have kept or built the lead that they had yuh wouldn't sound so off, but that was with more than a quarter to go, there's no likely winner or loser at that point.

Isn't that what I said genius?
"good chance that OKC would have continued scoring to match the Heat and not lose the lead going into the  4th."

If your understanding was as good as you believe, you would talk about Brooks taking Westbrook out soon after Durant in the last part of the third.  OKC minus their two best is not going to do well against the Heat.

Already addressed... or is de English giving yuh problems?

"Brooks pulling Westbrook wasn't as significant to me, because Westbrook wasn't having a good game (remember how Magic rip him following the game?)."

So you said he came back on cold.  How much time does Durant need to get warm again?  He couldn't be cold all quarter right? He played the entire 4th and got 4 points, despite all your requirements for him scoring (Durant on the court and warm) being met.

It's not that your points are hard to comprehend, it's that you're talking emotional bullshit.

Same "emotional bullshit" that is being discussed by analysts and people who know de game.  To ah frontrunning waggonist like you who clearly doh know shit about the game the finer points will continue to prove elusive.
Post by: Peong on June 21, 2012, 05:48:01 PM

I say that?  Where??

Already addressed... or is de English giving yuh problems?

"Brooks pulling Westbrook wasn't as significant to me, because Westbrook wasn't having a good game (remember how Magic rip him following the game?)."

Yuh want to get short with me after yuh initially talk a pack of ass? 
Ok it's good that you qualified that it wasn't significant to YOU, because that is highly subjective.
His game so far didn't mean he had to underperform for the rest of the game, and he did outscore Durant in the 4th.

The emotiononal bullshit is the part about Miami likely losing if Durant was on more and no, no experts are saying that.

And yuh didn't address this part that I said about Durant when he came back on.  I guess they shoulda kept him on the bench.

Post by: soccerman on June 21, 2012, 08:24:27 PM

Same ting I was sayin...ah wonder if it was the Heat and Mavs if West woulda get a lil sumting too

Everybody getting kisses at de half...things might be nice if they win de Championship tonight
Post by: soccerman on June 21, 2012, 09:14:31 PM
What a 3rd quarter by the Heat :challenge:
Post by: weary1969 on June 21, 2012, 09:47:34 PM
Who bettin Supa will make an appearance?
Post by: soccerman on June 21, 2012, 09:51:04 PM
Who bettin Supa will make an appearance?
Supa whey you deya
Post by: Bakes on June 21, 2012, 09:58:13 PM
Best game of the series for Miami.  Westbrook couldn't follow up his great game with even a decent effort.  It was all on Durant tonight and not even he was stopping the Heat.  I blaming Brooks on this one, he put Sefolosha on LeBron to start, which is arrite... but then when he needed more offense and put Harden in the game he had him guard James... and Harden brought nothing to the table tonight, not even defensive effort.  Time after time LeBron would get in the paint, allowing for all those 3-pointers.  Durant was never in foul trouble for a change... he needed to put him on James and have everybody play straight up.  He never made a defensive adjustment.  Happy for LeBron and Juwan Howard... everybody else could haul dey ass.
Post by: fari on June 21, 2012, 09:59:15 PM
stern get a setta boos when he start to talk.   he ent give a eff tho...he going and trow wine in miami tonight :)
Post by: soccerman on June 21, 2012, 10:04:26 PM
Best game of the series for Miami.  Westbrook couldn't follow up his great game with even a decent effort.  It was all on Durant tonight and not even he was stopping the Heat.  I blaming Brooks on this one, he put Sefolosha on LeBron to start, which is arrite... but then when he needed more offense and put Harden in the game he had him guard James... and Harden brought nothing to the table tonight, not even defensive effort.  Time after time LeBron would get in the paint, allowing for all those 3-pointers.  Durant was never in foul trouble for a change... he needed to put him on James and have everybody play straight up.  He never made a defensive adjustment.  Happy for LeBron and Juwan Howard... everybody else could haul dey ass.
:rotfl: :rotfl: Yuh cracking me up here....Juwana Man finally win sumting after 18 seasons
Post by: fari on June 21, 2012, 10:08:24 PM
u know what...okc coming out hotter nex year.  dem fellas going and learn from this experience and once they keep that hunger they will win a ring or two
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 21, 2012, 10:30:42 PM
cyar say ah too upset...i eh mind lbj win he ring....really wanted okc to win...lbj finally get he championship.
Post by: Peong on June 21, 2012, 10:38:24 PM

Broko Mike Miller rain threes on OKC tonight.  That was some crazy shit.  Game was done before the 3rd quarter was over.
Post by: royal on June 21, 2012, 10:59:11 PM
MIA congrats !!!!!!!!
Post by: Bakes on June 21, 2012, 11:00:27 PM
:rotfl: :rotfl: Yuh cracking me up here....Juwana Man finally win sumting after 18 seasons

Ah hattuh add Rony Turiaf too... but I eh go lie, ah vex that Wade and he bitchassedness dis get one, and ah vex that Benedict Riley get another one.  But say what... I doh believe in the NBA conspiracy talk... but one thing I don't doubt is that the refs does call bias calls.  I think in their minds fellas does have to earn certain calls.  Two years ago, maybe even last year... I was complaining about LeBron driving hard tuh de lane and not getting the calls he get this year.  Mark my words, if OKC end up in the Finals again next year Durant eh getting in foul trouble, and Westbrook will get like Wade where yuh cyah breathe on him without whistle blowing.

Looking forward to OKC growing and getting better.  Brooks said it best... last three years they lost to the eventual NBA Champs... Lakers in 2010, Dallas in 2011 and now Miami... each year they went further too.  Sky's the limit for that team.
Post by: Dutty on June 22, 2012, 07:54:06 AM

Broko Mike Miller rain threes on OKC tonight.  That was some crazy shit.  Game was done before the 3rd quarter was over.

wave yuh towel breds....yuh right game did done in the 3rd...when bosh swing that three and they went up by 18, ah see OKC body language droop...game done
miami play like ah actual team
only problem is lebron promise allyuh SEVEN more :D
Post by: Deeks on June 22, 2012, 09:53:37 AM
I am glad for LBJ and Battier. I know a lot of people doh like him because he from Duke. But he was always an excellent role player. But I also have to admit I feel sorry for the entire OKC team. Yes they fell short but it was refreshing to see a small market team making a run for it. KD and Westbrook were great despite falling short. KD personality is the thing that catches the eye. Plus, he origin from PG, Maryland. Good luck
Post by: futbolfan on June 22, 2012, 10:37:13 AM
u know what...okc coming out hotter nex year.  dem fellas going and learn from this experience and once they keep that hunger they will win a ring or two

Alot of people think is a given that OKC go be back in de finals for years to come. But for all the talent they have I don't see them representing the West no time soon. Because the West is so much more competitive and there are more hurdles to overcome.
This season was cut short by the lockout and playing and grinding for 82 games is alot harder on yuh body.
Kobe and de Lakers going and reload.
De Clippers are  a new force to be reckoned with.
Mark Cuban going and open up he check book after being swept in de first round.
Memphis is another young dangerous team.
San Antonio eh as old as people think and they coming back strong.
Post by: Peong on June 22, 2012, 10:44:26 AM
Harden in the finals
(http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa133/peong21/harden.jpg)

(http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa133/peong21/lebron.gif)

Bosh with his strange self
(http://assets.sbnation.com/assets/1199637/heatmenageatrois_medium.gif)
Post by: futbolfan on June 22, 2012, 10:52:20 AM

Ah hattuh add Rony Turiaf too... but I eh go lie, ah vex that Wade and he bitchassedness dis get one, and ah vex that Benedict Riley get another one.  But say what... I doh believe in the NBA conspiracy talk... but one thing I don't doubt is that the refs does call bias calls.  I think in their minds fellas does have to earn certain calls.  Two years ago, maybe even last year... I was complaining about LeBron driving hard tuh de lane and not getting the calls he get this year.  Mark my words, if OKC end up in the Finals again next year Durant eh getting in foul trouble, and Westbrook will get like Wade where yuh cyah breathe on him without whistle blowing.

Looking forward to OKC growing and getting better.  Brooks said it best... last three years they lost to the eventual NBA Champs... Lakers in 2010, Dallas in 2011 and now Miami... each year they went further too.  Sky's the limit for that team.

Yeah I happy for men like Juwan Howard, he is de only man from de fab five to still be playing in de league and to win ah title. Battier, I hated  when he was at Duke, but he is a must have on yuh team. Turiaf, from getting drafted and then finding out yuh have ah heart condition that needed surgery is ah real depressing thing. But de man work he way back and now he have ah ring....
Post by: futbolfan on June 22, 2012, 10:53:32 AM
Harden in the finals
(http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa133/peong21/harden.jpg)

(http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa133/peong21/lebron.gif)

Bosh with his strange self
(http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa133/peong21/boshshower_medium.gif)

Ah man say Harden is all beard and no brains......

As for Bosh....SMH...
Post by: soccerman on June 22, 2012, 12:03:06 PM

I too does try to refrain from the ref conspiracy talk but this playoffs has been the some of the worst officiating I've witnessed since I've been following the league....and by some very good and experienced officials too. Anyway hats off to Miami though, their role players stepped up in different games in the finals and that's what it takes to get you over the hump so Lebron the haters have to respect you now for your accomplishment. But according to  what LBJ said "it's about damn time" esp now with 3 franchise players on one team.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 22, 2012, 04:11:03 PM

Alot of people think is a given that OKC go be back in de finals for years to come. But for all the talent they have I don't see them representing the West no time soon. Because the West is so much more competitive and there are more hurdles to overcome.
This season was cut short by the lockout and playing and grinding for 82 games is alot harder on yuh body.
Kobe and de Lakers going and reload.
De Clippers are  a new force to be reckoned with.
Mark Cuban going and open up he check book after being swept in de first round.
Memphis is another young dangerous team.
San Antonio eh as old as people think and they coming back strong.
i tink that is quite the opposite.....spurs geriatric......lakers downhill for ah couple years to come......okc only threat is denver.
Post by: Peong on June 25, 2012, 09:38:42 AM
Miami Heat parade live stream.
http://www.nbcmiami.com/news/local/Fans-Stream-Into-Downtown-For-Miami-Heat-Victory-Parade-160227615.html

Looks like it's also on espn3 if yuh have access.
Post by: AirMan on July 28, 2012, 08:13:50 PM
I know King James felt a load of pressure after winning this championship. A lot of people said he will never win a championship

http://myvoicetv.net/look-at-me-now/