Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on May 22, 2012, 04:07:11 PM

Title: Willis Plaza Thread
Post by: Tallman on May 22, 2012, 04:07:11 PM
Plaza on target in Sai Gon
ttproleague.com

San Juan Jabloteh forward Willis Plaza has already scored three goals in four starts for Navibank Sai Gon FC since joining the Vietnamese club last month.

The 24 yearold Trinidad and Tobago international on loan to the V-League club opened his account with a pair of goals against Hai Phong in a 2-2 draw two weeks ago and notched his third for Sai Gon on Saturday in a 2-0 win over League leaders Ha Noi TT.

Sai Gon coached by Cong Loc Pham currently occupies sixth position on the standings with 25 points from 18 games, while Ha Noi TT maintains top position with 33 points.

Plaza finished the 2011-12 TT Pro League season as Jabloteh’s top scorer netting in all competitions, and finished second behind Defence Force forward Richard Roy (14 goals) with 10 goals in the Digicel Pro League.

He was signed on a four-month loan deal by Sai Gon, joining the V-League of fellow countryman Hughtun Hector who plays for fourth positioned Song Lam Nghe An.

(http://www.ttproleague.com/images/stories/domestic-2012/willis%20plaza.jpg)
Title: Re: Plaza on target in Sai Gon
Post by: Tallman on May 27, 2012, 09:44:03 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/TrNxrlqiPPQ
Post by: Big Magician on May 27, 2012, 09:45:57 PM
play de fitball kid
Post by: Flex on July 06, 2012, 05:34:36 AM
Promising times for Plaza in Vietnam.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

Former San Juan Jabloteh striker Willis Plaza is at least one player who should be counting his blessings after taking up an offer to switch alliances to Vietnam, earlier this year.

The 24-year-old former Arima Senior player joined Vietnamese club Navibank Sai Gon on a four-month deal but has already agreed to a new one-year deal with Song Lam FC for next season following his impressive start in Sai Gon colours.

Plaza has netted four goals with four assists in six matches. He has guided Sai Gon to sixth place on the league table. “It’s been a tremendous experience here in Vietnam so far.

The league is very active and the fans make the stadium a very exciting place to be,” Plaza said. “This is a first time experience away from Trinidad for me so I wasn’t sure what to expect especially in a place like Vietnam where I didn’t think football would be this popular. Being away from my family was hard at first but as time passed I became more settled.”

He’s saddened by Jabloteh’s drop from the Pro League but relieved that he doesn’t have to worry about earning a stable income for at least another year or more.

“Things are looking very promising for me over here in Vietnam and I focus on training hard every day and doing as best as possible for Sai Gon. I signed for four months with my current team but I have signed a one year deal with Song Lam (team of Trinidadian teammate Hughtun Hector) for next season.

Hopefully, I can keep up my good form and do even better next season,” Plaza added. Plaza has two international appearances and one goal for T&T in a 4-0 whipping of Antigua and Barbuda in February.

“That has been the highlight of my career so far, being able to make it on the national team. The Pro League was a good start for me because the football is good in the League  but it just needs more exposure.

“It is difficult to have much of a future as a player because of the lack of money. I am happy to be out here playing my game and earning more at the same time as well as improving my game.”

Post by: frico on July 06, 2012, 01:11:07 PM
Willis Plaza?I follow TT football and have never heard of this fella and suddenly he good enough th get contract in Viet Nam joining a few more TT players,who by the way were more popular names than this Plaza boy.
Post by: truetrini on July 06, 2012, 02:11:28 PM
Willis Plaza?I follow TT football and have never heard of this fella and suddenly he good enough th get contract in Viet Nam joining a few more TT players,who by the way were more popular names than this Plaza boy.

hahahahahaha  they shift the rock off your head?  You follow T&Tball and never heard of him...lol too funny..what T&T football do you follow?  steups.  Back under that Sheperd's Bush rock fool.
Post by: Deeks on July 06, 2012, 05:02:49 PM
I go give Frico a bligh this time. Because for a while I myself  thought he was Dom. Rep. or Puerto R. until I realized he was indeed Trini. All this mixup. Afro-french Creole-Spanish-Indian-Chinese does cause all this damn confusion
Post by: truetrini on July 06, 2012, 05:40:24 PM
I go give Frico a bligh this time. Because for a while I myself  thought he was Dom. Rep. or Puerto R. until I realized he was indeed Trini. All this mixup. Afro-french Creole-Spanish-Indian-Chinese does cause all this damn confusion

nah no bligh for he..NONE!
Post by: Trinidad Sports Reality on July 06, 2012, 06:14:39 PM
Plaza been playing for Jab and always up there on the Scoring Chart which TT Football u following EFA
Post by: truetrini on July 06, 2012, 06:24:06 PM
Plaza been playing for Jab and always up there on the Scoring Chart which TT Football u following EFA

Post by: frico on July 06, 2012, 06:39:43 PM
I may have seen the name Plaza but never took notice like I do when I see a name like Jorsling or Jones or even Molino,but Plaza and straight away I think Puerto Rican or as Deeks say Dominican Rep.Sometimes I see names in TT and there must be names of people from every part of the world,the place mix bad.
Thank yuh for the bligh Deeks much appreciated.
Post by: frico on July 06, 2012, 06:46:10 PM
EFA?
Post by: truetrini on July 06, 2012, 07:11:21 PM
Extremely Foolish Asswipes
Post by: frico on July 07, 2012, 02:28:26 AM
Extremely Foolish Asswipes
I didn't expect it to be an Hons.Degree in Physics from Warwick University,I am pleased to see that you do know your subject,did Palmer teach yuh.How di Hill deze days,better dan Bush I spose.
Title: Willis Plaza Thread
Post by: Spursy on November 16, 2013, 04:02:57 PM
Mr. Hart Bring back Willis Plaza Please !

The kid is awesome.. He is a awesome player. Kinda shocked  he was left out of the squad.

Anyone have any information?

Title: Re: Plaza Back in the team Please Hart!
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 16, 2013, 04:18:59 PM
he was not picked because he is not active ....
Post by: Football supporter on November 16, 2013, 08:07:12 PM
He returned to T&T in September and trained with Central. We tried to sign him but despite an appeal, it was denied by FIFA as the transfer window was closed. Central offered him a stipend to stay with the squad until we could sign him, but he declined. Although Central still want to sign him, I believe he now wants to return to Vietnam.
Post by: dreamer on November 17, 2013, 07:27:14 AM
Interesting :thinking:
Yeah he is definitely good player. Made his mark at Jabloteh
T&T Pro League has definitely been a success in grooming some players for international exposure and I think the momentum of production is going to increase. No more blacklists, sabotage and negativity.
Go Warriors
Post by: Spursy on November 18, 2013, 02:33:29 PM
Something tells me he will be one of the main guys for our team.  Really love him as a player, on the field he seems to have nice touches, he is just brilliant to watch and he adds that hope to the team. Wish him the best, and hope to see him been a regular in the team.

There is greatness about this player.. just wait and see.
Post by: Tiresais on November 18, 2013, 02:43:07 PM
Not seen much of him - is he really taht good?
Post by: Spursy on November 18, 2013, 03:12:51 PM
We were 3-nil down against UAE, Plaza steps up and absolutely buries a header, he ignited this team, gave us hope. Never ever before have we seen tnt away from home come back from that kind of deficit and plaza was the center of it. Had he not scored there it would have remained 3-0. Any player that can lift a team spirits in such a situation is quality. Yes I am not the head coach, perhaps he has poor defensive qualities, but I think what he showed in that game is sheer class, motivation and the unwillingness to go silently into defeat.

He is worth holding on to Mr. Hart. 

The away game to JA that number 13 player who received the ball directly on the head and didn't score, plaza would of put that one it.. it was a sitter. we need players who can score when the ball on on their head 10 yards from the goal..
Post by: Tiresais on November 18, 2013, 03:26:27 PM
Well I look forward to seeing him plying his trade sometime! Shame he can't play in T&T now :(
Post by: Spursy on November 18, 2013, 03:46:35 PM
Great players shine, we will see a lot more from him.. my spidey senses is telling me great things are in the works for him and our national team.
Title: Re: Mr. Hart Bring back Willis Plaza Please !
Post by: AB.Trini on November 18, 2013, 04:31:24 PM
No doubt about potential but yuh cyar put ah man on the team if he is not in shape and has been competitively inactive? If it's one thing to admire with the change of the guard is the emphasis on DISCIPLINE. In the past too many men were on the team  just by name and who they were connected with.

Take K.Daniel for instance- emphatically should not be close to this team until  he has a disciplined and committed allegiance to himself as a professional, his teammates and the national football organization. The same should be for all players. You either commit to represent or stay with yuh club- yuh cyar be on and off the wagon when it have men who are fighting to represent and going through all kinda ah battles  then just so some players does waltz in and feel they entitled to wear that jersey!!!!

If yuh not on a team, hope yur link up and yuh practicing so when an opportunity comes calling yuh fit ready and could perform.
Post by: Spursy on November 18, 2013, 04:35:56 PM
Thanks AB. I didn't know he wasn't match fit.  :beermug:
Post by: Football supporter on November 18, 2013, 04:39:24 PM
We were 3-nil down against UAE, Plaza steps up and absolutely buries a header, he ignited this team, gave us hope. Never ever before have we seen tnt away from home come back from that kind of deficit and plaza was the center of it. Had he not scored there it would have remained 3-0. Any player that can lift a team spirits in such a situation is quality. Yes I am not the head coach, perhaps he has poor defensive qualities, but I think what he showed in that game is sheer class, motivation and the unwillingness to go silently into defeat.

He is worth holding on to Mr. Hart. 

The away game to JA that number 13 player who received the ball directly on the head and didn't score, plaza would of put that one it.. it was a sitter. we need players who can score when the ball on on their head 10 yards from the goal..

Everybody and their Mum agrees with this statement. However, Plaza is, what? 26? That makes him 31 by 2018. Winchester is 19. He will be 24 in 2018. Was Plaza scoring every chance for T&T at 19? Had anyone heard of him at 19?

Give Winchester a break, bro. This time last year he was playing Super League. Give him the room to mature and improve. To me, Winchester still has work to do. In fact, I'd say Quintero has more potential in the long term. Not many players play a full 90 minutes away to Jamaica after only 5 mins international experience. He probably sh*t his shorts when that cross fell on his head!
Post by: Spursy on November 18, 2013, 05:06:23 PM
 Good point. 2018 long way ahead, International football is cruel in that sense where players are calculated to be too old for an event. It would be nice to see him in the Caribbean cup and maybe even the gold cup.

I understand it's important to plan for the future, under Latapy it is clear now what his plans were, he did spot Peltier and Molino, were we wrong to treat him the way we did as head coach, maybe his timing in the introduction of these guys were off, also as a tactician he did favor an offensive style of play rather than a defensive structured team as Mr.Hart. looking back at latas career in coaching he did good things for us and maybe it's too late to say thank you latas, but I am doing it anyway.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on November 18, 2013, 07:56:09 PM
Both Winchester and Plaza are players that were overlooked by national selectors during their junior years. And as such they were late bloomers, not having the benefit of the best available coaching and international experience. Its to both their credits that they have turned into top prospects for the national team. 

Title: Re: Willis Plaza Thread
Post by: Pointman on November 20, 2013, 03:56:28 PM
real good player
Post by: Controversial on November 20, 2013, 04:40:36 PM
talk about lack of an eye for talent, dem men must be blind down there..

the first 3 mins i see the man play i was wondering why he wasn't even given the chance.. i could imagine how many more players go undiscovered bc men just dont know what is good for our football
Post by: Deeks on November 20, 2013, 04:44:43 PM
What is the issue with Willis? Is he not on the national team? He played in last tour in the Gulf states. I don't think is excluded from the team. Is he not playing Viet Nam at the moment?
Post by: Football supporter on November 20, 2013, 05:57:56 PM

the first 3 mins i see the man play i was wondering why he wasn't even given the chance.. i could imagine how many more players go undiscovered bc men just dont know what is good for our football

Contro, how the hell can you say this when the very answer is here on this thread? So who's blind now?
Instead of looking for fault with coaches, why don't you look at the cause of Plaza's absence? HE chose to chase the money in Vietnam, which is fair enough, but it has impacted on his international career. Plenty coaches wanted to sign him and I'm sure Hart will bring him back in February if he's played half a dozen games and is match fit.
Post by: Football supporter on November 20, 2013, 05:59:00 PM
What is the issue with Willis? Is he not on the national team? He played in last tour in the Gulf states. I don't think is excluded from the team. Is he not playing Viet Nam at the moment?

Again, the answer is right here in this thread!
Post by: Spursy on November 20, 2013, 06:08:08 PM

Contro, how the hell can you say this when the very answer is here on this thread? So who's blind now?
Instead of looking for fault with coaches, why don't you look at the cause of Plaza's absence? HE chose to chase the money in Vietnam, which is fair enough, but it has impacted on his international career. Plenty coaches wanted to sign him and I'm sure Hart will bring him back in February if he's played half a dozen games and is match fit.

There isn't really much information on this player at all. To be fair is the football in Vet better than our Pro league? Or does it pay better?
It don't matter, very thankful to what he has done so far. He is an exciting player to watch and I will be checking out the vods from his team in vet for sure!

Either way, he is a late bloomer and I really wish he was used for earlier camps where we needed a good provider especially after latas departure but he wasn't.. atleast he was found eventually. Honestly thought he was drafted from another country like birchall was .. kinda looks Honduran?

Anyway, kinda late /not really going to help anyone to point fingers. I made this topic because there was limited info on this player, because of this and the introduction of new faces I thought he was left out of the squad completely or something to that nature, so it was concerning after his performances in the middle east.

I have to say though our new head coach with the introduction of these quality local based players is just the start we need to bring everyone back together so we can sort out our current state so it can be improved for the country and the children who worship the National team.
Post by: Football supporter on November 20, 2013, 06:31:32 PM

There isn't really much information on this player at all. To be fair is the football in Vet better than our Pro league? Or does it pay better?
It don't matter, very thankful to what he has done so far. He is an exciting player to watch and I will be checking out the vods from his team in vet for sure!

Either way, he is a late bloomer and I really wish he was used for earlier camps where we needed a good provider especially after latas departure but he wasn't.. atleast he was found eventually. Honestly thought he was drafted from another country like birchall was .. kinda looks Honduran?

Anyway, kinda late /not really going to help anyone to point fingers. I made this topic because there was limited info on this player, because of this and the introduction of new faces I thought he was left out of the squad completely or something to that nature, so it was concerning after his performances in the middle east.

I have to say though our new head coach with the introduction of these quality local based players is just the start we need to bring everyone back together so we can sort out our current state so it can be improved for the country and the children who worship the National team.

In some cases the money is much better, but the football is below Pro League level, I believe.
Post by: Spursy on November 20, 2013, 08:15:19 PM
Plus new adventure in a bigger country, the experience of a different culture etc. Sounds fun  :beermug:
Post by: Deeks on November 20, 2013, 08:16:01 PM
I have to believe the money is much better.
Post by: Tiresais on November 21, 2013, 09:07:32 AM
It really is - Yohance Marshal played in Burma and the money was better than in the US (he got into the all-star team too!). You'd have to ask him or Plaza for a comparison - I know Yohance was looking to play in Vietnam at some point as the money and level aren't bad. The real problem in SE Asia is the politics when it comes to picking teams...
Post by: Football supporter on November 21, 2013, 12:19:23 PM
It really is - Yohance Marshal played in Burma and the money was better than in the US (he got into the all-star team too!). You'd have to ask him or Plaza for a comparison - I know Yohance was looking to play in Vietnam at some point as the money and level aren't bad. The real problem in SE Asia is the politics when it comes to picking teams...

Hmmm, I hear Yohance doesn't want to go back to the Far East. Yes, the money is better, and it's a great experience fora while, but I don't think players really enjoy spending years there.
Post by: Tiresais on November 21, 2013, 01:58:32 PM
Yea Yohance wants to be based in the Western Hemisphere for the future - best ask him himself he's one of the nicest guys I've ever met - total professional,
Post by: Banter Banton on January 07, 2014, 12:34:41 PM
Anyone have highlights of Plaza goals for club and country ?

will be very appreciated
Title: Plaza of dreams.
Post by: Flex on May 24, 2014, 03:44:38 AM
Plaza of dreams.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

He was perhaps the most pulsating forward in the T&T Pro League this season and capped off a prolific season with Central FC  with selection on the National Men’s team for the two upcoming friendly internationals against Argentina and Iran.

Willis Plaza scored 19 goals in 21 matches for Central this season and was a major factor in the team’s runners up finish in the League and their qualification for the Caribbean Club Championship. Also helping the club to the to the Lucozade Sport Goal Shield a  few weeks ago.

At age 26, Plaza has five goals in ten matches for T&T, including a goal with his first touch of the game in T&T’s 3-3 regulation time draw with United Arab Emirates in Riyadh last year.

“It’s something that I just like doing… scoring goals,” the usually animated Plaza said.

“I like to have fun but when I’m on the field, I get to express myself. I work  as hard as I can and I  always play for my team to win. I don’t care what it takes out of me but once I can give my best then I’m going to do it,” added the former Arima Senior Comprehensive and Arima Boys Government player.

So while he may followed the likes of a Dwight Yorke at the Old Trafford “Theatre of Dreams” hoping to emulate him and his other favourite player Zinedine Zidane, the man from  Arima has his been living his own set of dreams and has more to fulfill.

“I came from a poor home. We didn’t have much opportunities back then but I realized football was something I could play well. When I started with a small team named Pelota in Santa Rosa Heights. Then I met Terry Fenwick at Jabloteh and he spoke to me and he tried to put me on the right track.

It’s hard sometimes but I keep fighting because I want a good life and I know I have to grab the opportunity when it’s there. I spent some time in Thailand and it was a good experience to see part of that world but I like Trinidad also so I came back and I enjoyed playing with Central this season. But if there is that chance, then I would like to go and play outside (of T&T) again.”

Post by: Tallman on May 30, 2014, 09:14:44 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/Mqf88pEQpAM
Title: Enough is enough. Time for some news on Willis Plaza
Post by: dreamer on July 13, 2014, 08:33:41 AM
Daiz me boy. Who signing him up? Or should I say which clubs is HE interviewing?
Time to start making bigger steps outside.
Football supporter, buss de files nah, if not a player / club security issue.
Title: Re: Enough is enough. Time for some news on Willis Plaza
Post by: Football supporter on July 13, 2014, 11:15:19 AM
Daiz me boy. Who signing him up? Or should I say which clubs is HE interviewing?
Time to start making bigger steps outside.
Football supporter, buss de files nah, if not a player / club security issue.

Central want him, Central are talking to him! But in the end, the decision is his!
Post by: dreamer on July 13, 2014, 03:17:47 PM
I could see why there is a quiet before the storm. This is a crucial year for Central FC ... and Plaza. Central FC could be taking off so fast that it go be duss in dey face for Horner and company. As a matter of fact, Horner is unusually quiet these days, as if he realized he lorse de race. Plaza could help CFC move further into CONCACAF club qualification. Then his shop window / marketing value would increase exponentially, thus increasing the chance that he would have more leverage to check out a good quality club abroad the following year.

Plaza, if yuh reading this, I'm inclined to advise  ... stay with Central 1 more year and sign. You will be fine. Iz a win win for both parties with a bigger win for you. Instead of going to some cold abusive backwater eastern europian hole, you might strike a better "gold" with a better place 1 yr later with your resume looking more deadly. Doh fret breds.

Sancho, meh breds, you will have to give a nice raise. Iz as simple as that. He is your hit man to shake up the local and Caribbean clubs ... and beyond.
Post by: Mikeype on July 13, 2014, 06:45:14 PM
I agree that Plaza would be better off signing for another year with Central. Continue his goal scoring form in the Pro League and CFU Club Championship. The same clubs, if not clubs in better leagues, will still be there in one year's time. I feel that it is always a balancing act for Pro League players. Play in the league and get called in for the national team or leave for Europe or Asia and likely not get called for matches due to travel expenses for TTFA, new club agreeing to release him, and keeping in Hart's eyes.
Post by: Flex on July 17, 2014, 03:37:48 PM
Plaza is heading to Belgium, no official club but has offers from 1 Swiss club and two from Belgium, off course CS Visé is leading the race.
Post by: Tiresais on July 17, 2014, 03:53:28 PM
Plaza is heading to Belgium, no official club but has offers from 1 Swiss club and two from Belgium, off course CS Visé is leading the race.

Heard he's going to check the facilities
Post by: dreamer on July 17, 2014, 04:52:10 PM
Ok Plaz. No matter what you do with this trip, your value going up.
Check  out the character of the managers and owners of these institutions.
You eh going begging. Snoop around as much as possible and always have careful legal representation.
I feel you can do better than 3rd division Belgium even though is nice to get yuh foot in Europe even with ketcharse wages.
Keep an eye on Vranes and Sancho as Central is ready to take off and they might raise the pay to keep you when you pass tru T&T to make de final decision
All the best breddah.
Post by: Tiresais on July 17, 2014, 05:30:40 PM

Flex you're famous :P I hear from a little birdie that the 7:30 sports news in Trinidad basically ran with your post here lol.
Title: Willis Plaza - Video Player Profile
Post by: Tallman on January 05, 2015, 06:04:44 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/WUOx-sDpSnE
Post by: Spursy on January 06, 2015, 02:37:58 PM
<3  :beermug:
Post by: Flex on March 19, 2015, 01:54:59 AM
Plaza eyes Panama test, Gold Cup pick.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Central FC forward Willis Plaza is setting his sights on playing in his first CONCACAF Gold Cup when T&T challenges the best in the region in the July showcase event in the United States and Canada.

Plaza has been recalled to the national team for next Friday’s friendly international against Panama at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva, making his return to the team for the first time since last June when he was selected by Stephen Hart for the away matches to Argentina and Iran in which he came off the bench in both matches in the build up to the 2014 World Cup Finals

The 27-year-old Plaza has scored five goals in 12 appearances for T&T. Before joining Central FC for the current T&T Pro League season, Plaza had a stint with Belgian club CS Vise and also appeared in Vietnam with Song Lam Nghe and Sai Gon FC. He first made a name for himself while at San Juan Jabloteh under Terry Fenwick.

“The experience in Belgium was good because I think for players like us coming out of the Pro League, once you get to a big football country like Belgium then there is a lot you can learn and the standard is always higher. Now I am back in Trinidad and hoping to help Central get some success,” Plaza said.

But the taking the Gold Cup field tops his list of priorities at the moment.

“I’ve never been to the Gold Cup and I think this year it’s going to happen. I know competition is always tough for selection but I really have my eyes on the Gold Cup. That’s the big stage for me and hopefully I can make the coach’s cut and go out and impress.”

Looking ahead to the Panama match, in which the Central Americans are coming with full force as they also are preparing for the Gold Cup and 2018 World Cup qualifiers, Plaza said: “Panama is a strong team. I think this game is a really good test for us and some of the other players based in Trinidad will have to rise to the call and put on a good showing. This a great chance for a lot of them to impress and try to make the squad for the Gold Cup.”

Kick off time on March 27 is 7pm. T&T meantime will face off with Guatemala, Cuba and Mexico at the CONCACAF Gold Cup in the United States in July.

Title: Meet forward Willis Plaza
Post by: Tallman on July 07, 2015, 07:37:40 AM
https://www.youtube.com/v/nqSrjPfCpjA
Post by: Tallman on November 21, 2015, 04:39:22 PM
WATCH: Willis Plaza Highlights
https://www.youtube.com/v/3XDpJzebcVQ
Post by: dreamer on November 21, 2015, 05:06:52 PM
Good stuff Willis. 2 footed shooter. Go and snap up yuh contract
Post by: coache on November 23, 2015, 12:29:21 AM
Coach Hart has to figure out how to utilize this prolific striker...Yes K Jones is the man but with both strikers employed more goals would result.

I am aware that his system doesn't accommodate for both players but it's possible the maintain the balance while playing both strikers.

At the moment  Hart has penetration and service from both flanks...the targets to be served are K Jones, Hyland and whoever else wants it in the box...

This situation demands a lot of effort and work from these players throughout the course of a game..

The work that K Jones have to put out is tremendous ..he has to defend, hold the ball up, make runs in the box with and without the ball...all this while engaging in physical battles with a multitude of players.

Willis Plaza could be featured in the game for ten or fifteen minutes by sacrificing Hyland...Ken Jones can play down ladder and hold up the vertical ball while Plaza  is available up ladder. Both are available to deal with the service from the flanks.

The triangle in the midfield would still be strong or even stronger because K Jones would be now part of that triangle..

If this was done against the US I believe we would have won this game ....the substitutions made were not adjustments to change the game but merely replacements with a different look to achieve the same objective which was to hold the game to a draw by making sure the ball was far away from our end of the pitch for the longest period of time.

We are rich in the dept of service....Abu Bakr from the back, Cyrus, Cato, J Jones et al ...these players can penetrate and serve incessantly...to whom...?  Hyland... when K Jones is down ladder and the obvious ... it is time for Willis Plaza...he is by Trinidad standards top class.. get him in the game.
Post by: kounty on November 23, 2015, 01:15:03 AM
good opinion. i myself thought jones was bun with about 20-30 minutes to left in the game & would have liked to see him replaced.
Post by: Spursy on November 23, 2015, 01:20:45 PM
For me Plaza brings that energy to the team but it also opens up the team a bit more, because he don't hold on to the ball well as KJ does. Plaza is great if we are trailing and need a goal but if we are ahead like we saw against Guatemala he- like any good striker wants to come in and make an impact. His game could use a bit of work in terms of holding on to the ball but he drops back well. For me he is a natural striker and could be used alongside KJ. It's a good weapon off the bench though and like I said his work rate is great when he comes on and during practice as well. Expect Plaza to shine vs teams like Haiti and SVG.
Post by: Tallman on December 29, 2015, 12:26:56 PM
Forward Willis Plaza has signed with Salvadoran Primera División club, Alianza FC. Plaza has been brought in to replace Argentine striker, Jonathan Philippe. Plaza is scheduled to arrive in El Salvador on January 10th, 2016.
http://www.alianzafutbolclub.com.sv/willis-plaza-nuevo-refuerzo-albo/
Post by: de_redman on December 29, 2015, 12:43:02 PM
Good for him  :beermug:
Post by: soccerman on December 29, 2015, 12:46:13 PM
Congratulations Plaza, all the best  :beermug:
Post by: asylumseeker on December 29, 2015, 04:07:08 PM
Forward Willis Plaza has signed with Salvadoran Primera División club, Alianza FC. Plaza has been brought in to replace Argentine striker, Jonathan Philippe. Plaza is scheduled to arrive in El Salvador on January 10th, 2016.
http://www.alianzafutbolclub.com.sv/willis-plaza-nuevo-refuerzo-albo/

Philippe is moving to Guatemala because his former coach at Alianza is now at Universidad de San Carlos and the coach requested him as a reinforcement. As such, that move made way for Plaza to join the Salvadoran champs.
Post by: Dutty Love on December 29, 2015, 08:33:38 PM
Philippe was making too much at Alianza to move to Univ San Carlos. Looks like he is heading to Peru First Division. Philippe got his start at Boca Juniors.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 30, 2015, 03:04:49 AM
Philippe was making too much at Alianza to move to Univ San Carlos. Looks like he is heading to Peru First Division. Philippe got his start at Boca Juniors.

Ah doh doubt it, but I am unaware of reliable confirmation of that move. As far as wages, everything is relative and players, of course, hold the discretion of declining offers. Nonetheless, it's certain that the offer in Guatemala was on the table.

Peru has an additional foreign player slot ... so that might be influential, but the only signing from Central America of which I am aware is that of Renán Addles who will move from Panama's Árabe Unido to Juan Aurich.

Best of luck to Plaza.
Post by: Flex on January 07, 2016, 05:42:15 AM
Plaza has faith in teammates.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Central FC forward Willis Plaza is not certain whether he will follow Friday’s match between Trinidad and Tobago and Haiti online on one of the available live streams. But one thing’s for sure, he will be saying some extra prayers for his teammates before kick off.

Plaza was ruled out of the contest with a dislocated shoulder while on duty with his club and is expected to be sidelined for at least another month. The former Jabloteh player was the lone scorer early in the first half the last time the two countries met in a closed-door encounter in Fort Lauderdale prior to the Concacaf Gold Cup.

“I am sad that I will not be able to play but once the coach and the doctor spoke to me I knew I would have to miss the game,” Plaza said.

“I feel this game will be harder but the boys have the qualities to pull off the win. I know they will be positive. The chance to play in the Copa America is like a once in a lifetime opportunity,” Plaza said.

Post by: Flex on January 09, 2016, 04:04:08 PM
(https://scontent-lga3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfa1/v/t1.0-9/12510372_1023613234364584_1784863922043105120_n.jpg?oh=11b015ab6901b22cba465f8c4baf232d&oe=573FEB08)
Plaza in action for his new club yesterday.

Post by: de_redman on January 09, 2016, 04:42:54 PM
Wtf  ???
I hope hart watching this
Post by: socalion on January 09, 2016, 05:49:37 PM
Wtf  ???
I hope hart watching this
Ah thought  plaza was injured ?   .......... Well Well Well  :o
Post by: amielisadore on January 09, 2016, 09:23:10 PM
The game was a pre season friendly. Plaza should now he gaining back fitness after he dislocated his shoulder against MCU in December. The article states that he just "observed" the game.

http://www.alianzafutbolclub.com.sv/estreno-con-triunfo-sobre-platense/ (http://www.alianzafutbolclub.com.sv/estreno-con-triunfo-sobre-platense/)
Post by: Dutty Love on January 10, 2016, 12:17:47 PM
He played 60 mins. It was vs a second division team. He is not 100% yet.
Post by: Dutty Love on January 17, 2016, 03:26:55 PM
Plaza live now in his debut http://telesal.tv/canal-4/
Post by: maxg on January 17, 2016, 04:02:33 PM
How he looking ?
I forget he went there, I was now go and send him Sunderland by kev
Post by: Dutty Love on January 17, 2016, 04:30:48 PM
So far he missed two chances. One was open net...
Post by: Dutty Love on January 17, 2016, 04:59:36 PM
2 assists by Plaza. Alianza up 2-0.
Post by: Tallman on January 18, 2016, 07:34:00 AM
WATCH: Willis Plaza marks an impressive debut for Alianza FC with two assists in their 3-0 win over C.D. Universidad de El Salvador.

https://www.youtube.com/v/nONypi8PPmA?start=122
Post by: dreamer on January 18, 2016, 10:11:35 AM
Plaza you looked, as Machel would say, like a boss!! dey breds. Smooth and skillful and friggin' fast.
From the video alone, those Salvadoreans would have realized that they have nabbed a quality player.
This stint will do you good and you will come back to T&T with new fire and belief for the qualifiers against St. Vincent, Guate and most importantly USA where by that time you will be in pipin' form.
You are a quality player who just needs to taste scoring NT international goals instead of your historical pattern of club goals
Post by: FireBrand on January 18, 2016, 10:37:48 AM
Looking good out there Plaza. Keep it up.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 18, 2016, 11:31:39 AM

Central FC forward Willis Plaza is not certain whether he will follow Friday’s match between Trinidad and Tobago and Haiti online on one of the available live streams. But one thing’s for sure, he will be saying some extra prayers for his teammates before kick off.

Plaza was ruled out of the contest with a dislocated shoulder while on duty with his club and is expected to be sidelined for at least another month. The former Jabloteh player was the lone scorer early in the first half the last time the two countries met in a closed-door encounter in Fort Lauderdale prior to the Concacaf Gold Cup.

“I am sad that I will not be able to play but once the coach and the doctor spoke to me I knew I would have to miss the game,” Plaza said.

“I feel this game will be harder but the boys have the qualities to pull off the win. I know they will be positive. The chance to play in the Copa America is like a once in a lifetime opportunity,” Plaza said.

was he really injured ?
Post by: Peong on January 18, 2016, 11:39:26 AM
Nice moves for real
Post by: amielisadore on January 18, 2016, 02:24:29 PM

was he really injured ?

Lol he was he was. I don't know about that "at least a month" prediction though. Initial doctor assessment was that he should be back in the second week of January
Post by: Deeks on January 18, 2016, 03:10:45 PM
The GK and the defense, like they doh want to play or what?
Post by: maxg on January 18, 2016, 05:36:34 PM
The GK and the defense, like they doh want to play or what?
I fine it look like Plaza get some pap to drink dey
Post by: Dutty Love on January 23, 2016, 03:23:47 PM
Watch Plaz live today vs Isidro Metapan at 6 pm local time (8 pm T&T): http://telesal.tv/canal-4/
Post by: Dutty Love on January 31, 2016, 10:19:42 AM
Live Willis Plaza and Alianza vs Pasaquina at 3.15 pm local time (5.15 pm Trinidad)

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=5LEPm8T9kFs
Post by: Rastaman on February 01, 2016, 09:59:18 AM
Live Willis Plaza and Alianza vs Pasaquina at 3.15 pm local time (5.15 pm Trinidad)

Give we some results nah ???
Post by: Tallman on February 01, 2016, 11:19:41 AM

Alianza 1-1 Pasaquina. Plaza with another assist.

https://www.youtube.com/v/mlYZ7EDW2-M
Post by: Rastaman on February 02, 2016, 08:44:28 AM

Thanks Tallman
Post by: weary1969 on February 02, 2016, 02:04:17 PM

Tallman not you do with this assist it is not basketball.
Post by: Dutty Love on February 06, 2016, 06:36:09 PM
LIVE Willis Plaza and Alianza vs Aguila at 7 pm local time (9 pm T&T) http://telesal.tv/canal-4/ 
Post by: Dutty Love on February 06, 2016, 07:02:05 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=5Dt8XSdeBgg
Post by: pull stones on February 06, 2016, 08:55:23 PM
this is really awful football, i can't watch anymore.
Post by: Dutty Love on February 06, 2016, 09:36:59 PM
The fans are getting really hungry https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=10153482583158981&id=187850333980
Post by: Dutty Love on February 10, 2016, 08:29:16 PM
Live Plaza https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bf6j0lzL2yU
Post by: Tallman on February 11, 2016, 06:16:27 AM
WATCH: Willis Plaza scores his first goal for Alianza, but they lose 2-1 to Santa Tecla

https://www.youtube.com/v/lMk-os-QMhA?start=88
Post by: Peong on February 11, 2016, 08:51:03 AM
That #29 wicked boy, he slice that clearance in the 93rd minute.

Nice body fake for Plaza's goal.
At the end there I doh know if he coulda get the ball to the other striker nah. It was tight. Maybe he coulda played it across the goal and hope the striker slide in at the far post.
Post by: Dutty Love on February 13, 2016, 06:36:25 PM
Willis Plaza and Alianza vs FAS live at 7 pm local time, 9 pm T&T: https://youtu.be/sCx8jbwJGoY
Post by: Tallman on February 25, 2016, 07:40:12 PM
WATCH: Willis Plaza scores his second goal in the last three games for Alianza. It came against C.D. Luis Ángel Firpo.

https://www.youtube.com/v/chwuB_mQFwE?start=85
Post by: Dutty Love on February 28, 2016, 02:00:06 PM
LIVE Willis Plaza and Alianza vs Dragon at 3 pm local time (5 pm T&T) http://telesal.tv/canal-4/
Post by: Dutty Love on March 05, 2016, 06:51:15 PM
WATCH Willis Plaza and Alianza now vs Sonsonate now http://sdflive.blogspot.com/p/stream-4.html
Post by: Tallman on March 17, 2016, 06:01:47 AM
WATCH: Willis Plaza scores his third goal of the Torneo Clausura during Alianza’s 6-1 rout of Atlético Marte

https://www.youtube.com/v/kdhyVzQ8sr4?start=161
Post by: Deeks on March 17, 2016, 06:07:49 AM
Congrats. But pathetic defending.
Post by: Peong on March 17, 2016, 02:26:43 PM
Lovely technique by plaza for the goal
Post by: Dutty Love on March 18, 2016, 12:39:42 PM
The GK was a forward because they had no subs left and the first one was redcarded earlier
Post by: Dutty Love on March 18, 2016, 08:09:37 PM
Congrats. But pathetic defending.

Looked like MLS defending/GKs combo
Post by: Dutty Love on April 10, 2016, 02:52:31 PM
Willis Plaza live in the Clasico Alianza vs Aguila kick off at 3.15 pm local time, 5.15 T&T https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=-9vaNel9wdU
Post by: Dutty Love on April 13, 2016, 09:35:47 PM
The fans of Alianza are trash. This page needs to be taken down or invaded: https://www.facebook.com/AlianzaFutClub/posts/983107645059445
Post by: asylumseeker on April 13, 2016, 09:43:40 PM
The fans of Alianza are trash. This page needs to be taken down or invaded: https://www.facebook.com/AlianzaFutClub/posts/983107645059445

Are you surprised?
Post by: Dutty Love on April 14, 2016, 06:49:50 AM

Are you surprised?

Yes, because Marshall, Samuel and Weslie John have had no issues there
Post by: Deeks on April 14, 2016, 07:41:51 AM
The issue with Willis is .... He is a goal scorer. His job is to score goals. If he is not doing that on a regular basis, and it appears that he is not doing that, then they want him out. Imagine if he was scoring like Cornel, all the fans will love. They would even claim that he grandfather from El Salvador.
Post by: soccerman on April 14, 2016, 08:01:34 AM
Did he squander some golden opportunities or something?
Post by: Dutty Love on April 14, 2016, 08:22:48 AM
I watched the games and yes he has had the chances. Doesn't help that his 3 goals came in two 2-1 losses and as the 4th goal of a game won 6-1 vs the bottom team. 17 games have gone by and he is still not adjusted. But I think it's the rough and not direct style that doesn't fit him. He seems afraid at times to go on headers (he is way taller than most), maybe the shoulder injury impacted his confidence. Samuel has a Colombian teammate (soon to be nationalized by El Salvador) who has 14 goals in 12 starts. That's a rough comparison.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 14, 2016, 09:51:15 AM
Not an easy place to adjust to and the fans are inclined to impatience. Not my cup of tea football but that is what he signed up for. At least he has scored?!
Post by: Tallman on May 03, 2016, 09:41:24 AM
Willis Plaza’s contract with Alianza FC has been terminated by mutual agreement (http://www.alianzafutbolclub.com.sv/willis-plaza-regresa-a-su-pais/)
Post by: maxg on May 03, 2016, 05:05:03 PM
Willis Plaza’s contract with Alianza FC has been terminated by mutual agreement (http://www.alianzafutbolclub.com.sv/willis-plaza-regresa-a-su-pais/)
Dutty love you have observed his game performance (if not practice environment), what in your opinion may have led to his decreased performance ? Was it extrinsic to the the game, climate, language , food, solitude.etc ? Or more  game related,  chemistry, lack of proper team support or just plain slump. Any Ideas ?
Post by: Dutty Love on May 03, 2016, 06:25:03 PM
It's really a combination of things. He arrived recovering from the shoulder injury and never really gained the confidence. Recently he suffered from pubalgia. Unfortunately the environment is not that of MLS (where players are uknown to most of the non fans of the game), and playing for any big side in Latin America comes with a lot of pressure, especially as a forward having a hard time finding the net. The environment of the TT Pro league is playing in empty stadiums and I think that the power of the fans was something he couldnt anticipate. Maybe in USL or the NASL he would perform better, although I did see some tendencies on the field that are those of Balotelli. Those are mental things that can be corrected with the right attitude (getting first on the ball, winning headers especially with shorter players, being more mobile). Overall the Latin America style is very different than T&T style of playing and much less direct. It requires a lot of urgency and less time to think.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 03, 2016, 07:22:12 PM
I hope he bounces back. (Fully endorse the Balotelli comment).

This player has had a lot to deal with in less than two years. CS Visé to Alianza. Destination? Central FC?
Post by: Tallman on December 08, 2016, 12:27:18 PM
WATCH: One on one with San Juan Jabloteh striker Willis Plaza

https://www.youtube.com/v/l4oy3o8P280
Post by: asylumseeker on December 20, 2016, 07:00:25 PM
If Plaza going Dubai, he eh reaching further than the duty free shopping or in-transit lounge. #nothisfinaldestination
Post by: Tiresais on December 21, 2016, 01:26:17 PM
If Plaza going Dubai, he eh reaching further than the duty free shopping or in-transit lounge. #nothisfinaldestination

He could do a job - the quality out there is artificially inflated by expensive imports. Given his style he could cause some trouble initially - don't know if over time they'll find him out though.
Title: East Bengal agree terms with Trinidad and Tobago striker Willis Plaza
Post by: Tallman on December 23, 2016, 03:18:41 PM
East Bengal agree terms with Trinidad and Tobago striker Willis Plaza
By Đức Đồng (goal.com)

The Red and Golds have lagged some way behind their arch-rivals in completing their foreign contingent, but are trying to catch up now.

Kolkata giants East Bengal have agreed terms with Trinidad and Tobago international Willis Plaza, two weeks before starting their I-League campaign.

Plaza, who now plays for Trinidad based club San Juan Jabloteh FC, has been a regular member in the national squad. However, he has rarely enjoyed first team football, having made only six starts in last four years for the Soca Warriors.

The Trevor James Morgan-coached outfit has two foreigners in their ranks right now - Haitian striker Wedson Anselme and Ugandan defender Ivan Bukenya. They have also roped in FC Goa winger Romeo Fernandes, after signing the likes of Jackichand Singh, Rowllin Borges and David Lalrinmuana.

The side played a practice match at Siliguri on Thursday and won the contest 3-0 with Wedson scoring one and setting up the other two. They will start their I-League campaign at home against Aizawl FC in the curtain-raiser act on 7th January.
Kingfisher East Bengal FC are set to rope in Trinidad & Tobago striker Willis Plaza for I-League 2016-17
eastbengaltherealpower.com

East Bengal are likely to seal the deal with a striker from Trinidad and Tobago.

29 year old Willis Plaza has played 23 matches for his country. He has scored 7 goals with the national team. His last international goal came against China in the last FIFA Friendly Trinidad and Tobago played in June. The 6ft 2 inches tall striker also scored 5 goals in 8 appearances for his present club San Juan Jabloteh in this season.

Willis name has been referred by East Bengal’s new assistant coach Warren Hackett, who also hails from the Caribbean islands. Hackett hails from St Lucia but has spent most of his career in England. The striker has recently played a match against Ma Pau on Wednesday in the Trinidad & Tobago Pro League. The match ended in a 1-1 stalemate.
Post by: Deeks on December 23, 2016, 04:34:55 PM
6-2. I did not know he was that tall. Good luck. Go make some money, Breds!!!!
Post by: asylumseeker on January 07, 2017, 11:32:39 PM
Plaza made his debut in the I-League coming off the bench at the start of the second half. He had a sniff of goal off a sequence of play that followed a free kick, but was unable to convert. Final score East Bengal 1 Aizawl FC 1 following EB FC's 90' equalizer. Aizawl scored through an EB FC own goal in first half stoppage time.

Match was the season opener.
Title: East Bengal striker Willis Plaza recalls his cricket days with Sunil Narine
Post by: Tallman on January 11, 2017, 10:17:33 AM
East Bengal striker Willis Plaza recalls his cricket days with Sunil Narine
By Sujata Sarkar (oneindia.com)

East Bengal's new foreign recruit Willis Plaza, who is a former Trinidad and Tobago national team striker is the latest sensation among the club fans.

Coach Trevor James Morgan too was impressed by Plaza’s silky footwork and his approach like a quality opportunistic striker in the team’s opening I-League match against Aizwal FC.

But the international footballer, who has represented Trinidad and Tobago at the senior level 23 times and scored nine goals, has an interesting story. Plaza in his school days was a cricket player. He revealed: “I was so serious that I had planned my career in the school days that I would be a cricketer in future.”

That time Plaza’s close friend was Sunil Narine, the prolific spinner from West Indies who stole the heart of the cricket in the IPL through his unorthodox but piercing bowling.

Plaza further said: “Narine was a very close friend of mine. We used to study in the same school. We used to practice cricket almost together.

"I also used to bowl but at the same time, I used to bat also in the middle-order. We had the same idol that time.

"That was Brian Lara. We used to dream of becoming famous like Brian Lara. But finally, I had to depart from cricket.”

The football coach of Plaza’s school advised him to leave cricket and start playing football.

He added: “Actually, my football coach knew about the financial condition of my family. My father was not a rich man.

"He had to struggle to feed us. So, my football coach in the school advised me to start playing football.

"He said I would not be able to continue with cricket later as it is an expensive game comparing to football. Today, I thank him for the perfect advice.”

Sunil Narine had made debut in international cricket in 2011. Plaza had his debut with Trinidad andTobago in the very next year.

Plaza, however, informed that he is still in touch with the West Indian spin bowler. The 29-year old striker said, “I still have communication with Narine over the telephone.”
Post by: Tallman on January 15, 2017, 08:08:17 AM
Debutant Plaza shines to hand East Bengal Club their first win (http://blog.cpdfootball.de/2017/01/14/debutant-plaza-shines-to-hand-east-bengal-club-their-first-win/)

(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/16114061_10154934378009314_1824769302400628539_n.jpg?oh=5a5309e9f7ba73b98a38b7e7404d728b&oe=591A08C0)
Post by: congo on January 15, 2017, 03:32:32 PM
But that 10000 when converted to USD is only about 200usd. Them cyah be serious
Post by: vb on January 15, 2017, 07:12:34 PM

This is India notEngland.

That's about 50-60 chicken  roti on  the street.
Post by: andre samuel on January 15, 2017, 11:09:58 PM

That is 200 US more than what he would get for a MoM performance in the pro league
Post by: asylumseeker on January 16, 2017, 12:14:00 AM
Not even $200. About $150. But nothing to sneeze at given the cost of living. Also nothing to sneeze at given TT Pro League wages.
Post by: congo on January 16, 2017, 10:36:51 AM
Agreed with the opinions expressed above. I just thought that the way the stadiums seemed fullish there may have been more money involved.  ???
Post by: Deeks on January 16, 2017, 10:53:13 AM
It may be more than they saying. Maybe they don't want the bandits in TT to know how much he really making.
Post by: Tallman on February 01, 2017, 11:32:13 AM
WATCH: A first-half brace by Willis Plaza gives East Bengal FC a 2-0 win over Densill Theobald's Mumbai FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/BUaC7v5LwiQ
Post by: Mose on February 01, 2017, 12:26:26 PM
That 2nd goal was sweet.
Post by: Deeks on February 01, 2017, 03:53:58 PM
That 2nd goal was sweet.

Was a classique!!!!
Post by: andre samuel on February 02, 2017, 07:25:04 PM
Look Densil Theobald yes, lol
Post by: Tallman on February 05, 2017, 07:04:03 PM
WATCH: Willis Plaza notches his fifth goal of the season in East Bengal’s 3-0 win over Chennai City

https://www.youtube.com/v/89gX9rDHjO4?start=657
Post by: maxg on February 05, 2017, 07:30:01 PM
big difference receiving allmost perfect passes, eh?
Post by: pull stones on February 05, 2017, 07:47:19 PM
i guess plaza finally found his level.
Post by: maxg on February 05, 2017, 10:03:27 PM
based on the Highlights, passes, control, finishes, defending, what level would you determine that to be ?
Post by: pull stones on February 06, 2017, 08:41:30 AM
based on the Highlights, passes, control, finishes, defending, what level would you determine that to be ?
the level where he could score in back to back games netting a brace and looking like revaldo while doing so.
Post by: maxg on February 06, 2017, 09:51:45 AM
How about, the level where he can get the kind/quality of service and/or the team structure, allowing him to do so   ;)
Post by: palos on February 06, 2017, 02:10:25 PM
How about, the level where he can get the kind/quality of service and/or the team structure, allowing him to do so   ;)

Yuh think any of them teams in that league could beat Ma Pau?
Post by: chelsealife on February 06, 2017, 02:48:40 PM
Indian league not at a bad level. Diego Forlan struggling for goals in this same league. Plaza deserves his credit
Post by: FF on February 06, 2017, 02:58:15 PM
Just for clarification. Forlan was in the Indian Super League. Which is an 8 team big money tournament that attracts big name former stats.

Plaza and Theobald playing in the I-League which is the Indian domestic league.
Post by: maxg on February 06, 2017, 03:27:21 PM

if they beat Central, I wouldn't be surprised. Would you really ?
Post by: Peong on February 06, 2017, 03:33:52 PM
Nice run by Plaza
Post by: palos on February 06, 2017, 03:34:52 PM

if they beat Central, I wouldn't be surprised. Would you really ?

As much as of a surprise as Sutton United beating Leeds United in the FA Cup
Post by: Dinner Mints on February 06, 2017, 03:45:29 PM
Is the service better or is the defending of that service worse?
Post by: maxg on February 06, 2017, 06:31:40 PM
Is the service better or is the defending of that service worse?
not sure, but watching the rest of the game available, the zone coverage seemed ok, the man marking a little relaxed..but if the defending WAS overall relatively weak, then they won't need a Plaza to be scoring, any decent striker would..about the goals doh, he still had to work, he made the right runs and received the correct passes, on his goals, defense made decent attempts without fouling.
 I would say he better than this league, but he was a top scorer in our league too... what I did see, the passers were seeking him out rather than hitting him a 'btw, since yuh here', as occurred for him in the few practiced Ntl setup.  Football is decent everywhere, but I think Plaza may be capable of stronger leagues given the right circumstance and of course a run of luck..all strikers need a good dose of that
Post by: Tallman on February 15, 2017, 07:30:49 AM
WATCH: Willis Plaza’s goal earns East Bengal a 1-1 draw with Shillong Lajong

https://www.youtube.com/v/k67uhzKARB8?start=87
Post by: Tallman on March 13, 2017, 06:56:28 AM
WATCH: Willis Plaza nets his seventh goal of the season in East Bengal’s 2-1 loss to Chennai City.

https://www.youtube.com/v/yiFEtZljRQo?start=25
Post by: Rastaman on March 15, 2017, 08:55:20 AM
Like Plaza side have a shop keeper  :D
Post by: Tallman on April 29, 2017, 05:49:36 PM
WATCH: Willis Plaza’s brace leads East Bengal to a 4-0 win over Mumbai FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/LCad8A9MoC8?start=51
Post by: Tallman on September 16, 2017, 07:20:00 PM
WATCH: Willis Plaza scores a late equalizer in East Bengal FC’s 2-2 draw with Mohammedan SC

https://www.youtube.com/v/9QKtjyBmeU4?start=65
Post by: soccerman on September 16, 2017, 07:45:44 PM
India pulling big crowds for football games too
Post by: asylumseeker on September 16, 2017, 10:50:53 PM
From here on ah feel ppl jaded by any word of equalizers by Plaza. By any mention of goals by Plaza ...
Post by: Tallman on September 19, 2017, 09:08:55 AM
WATCH: A hat-trick from Willis Plaza leads East Bengal FC to a 5-0 win over Tollygunge Agragami

https://www.youtube.com/v/LqsFootdd28
Post by: pull stones on September 19, 2017, 03:34:02 PM
WATCH: A hat-trick from Willis Plaza leads East Bengal FC to a 5-0 win over Tollygunge Agragami

he finally found his level. Three easy chances vs panama and he scoffed all three missing a big gaping open empty net and failing to even convert one of those clear cut chances to make the game interesting, what a big fat waste of time.
Post by: Dutty Love on September 20, 2017, 08:21:40 AM

he finally found his level. Three easy chances vs panama and he scoffed all three missing a big gaping open empty net and failing to even convert one of those clear cut chances to make the game interesting, what a big fat waste of time.

India League is probably worse than the worst Central American league like Nicaragua
Post by: pull stones on September 20, 2017, 10:50:07 AM

India Leaguxxge is probably worse than the worst Central American league like Nicaragua
mate with the exception of kenwin all our forwards are terrible in front of goal and are not great finishers regardless where in the world they ply their trade. in the last ten years stern John and kenwin was the best we could have cooked up in the goal scoring department up front and it showed in our campaign where molino a midfielder was our top scorer with two goals. and if we are to see another world cup or even gold cup then we better come up with a clinical striker a world class goal keeper and four spanking brand new defenders who plays on a very high level or it's more beatings waiting for us down the line.
Post by: Tallman on December 16, 2017, 09:19:47 AM
WATCH: A Willis Plaza brace gives East Bengal a 3-2 win over Churchill Brothers. First goal at 1m52s, second at 5m32s.

https://www.youtube.com/v/mQbjiBIYLLs?start=117
Title: Willis Plaza released by East Bengal
Post by: Tallman on January 22, 2018, 04:05:35 PM
Willis Plaza released by East Bengal
sportscrunch.in

After a debacle on Sunday in the form of a 2-0 loss to arch-rivals Mohun Bagan, East Bengal have decided to part ways with out-of-form striker Willis Plaza.

The former Trinidad and Tobago international has received the backing of coach Khalid Jamil all throughout the season so far but after the derby loss where his performance was once again disappointing, the club officials didn’t want to retain his services any more.

As a matter of fact, Plaza has been in poor form all throughout the season starting from the Calcutta Football League last year. But despite all the criticism, Jamil had always backed the Trinidadian to find his scoring boots. Even in the ongoing I-League, Plaza has failed to make any impact whatsoever barring a brace against low-ranked Churchill Brothers and thus, while the transfer window is still active, East Bengal wanted to do away with him and find an able replacement.

Even Jamil, who had won the I-League with Aizawl FC last year has come under pressure after he has failed to deliver in both the matches against Mohun Bagan. After losing 1-0 to arch-rivals just last December, the Red and Golds failed to go past Mohun Bagan once again and in the post-match press conference, Jamil admitted that it was all his fault.

“I admit that it is 100% my fault. I don’t want to blame any player,” he said accepting that he had made tactical errors.

“The players weren’t ready and I should have made my defense a bit strong,” he added.

After the two first-half goals, the East Bengal half of the crowd at the Salt Lake stadium on Sunday had turned silent and were occasionally screaming, “Khalid Jamil go back.” Commenting on this, he said, “The supporters have the right to say this. I will not give any excuse and I take all the blame. We have made mistakes and I take responsibility for it.”
Title: Mohammedan Sporting land coup, sign T&T striker Willis Plaza
Post by: Tallman on January 26, 2018, 04:25:56 PM
Mohammedan Sporting land coup, sign T&T striker Willis Plaza
arunfoot.com

Kolkata’s Mohammedan Sporting Club have pulled off a coup ahead of the 2017/18 Second Division League by strengthened their squad with the signing of Trinidad and Tobago striker Willis Deon Plaza only days after he was released by city rivals East Bengal.

The 30-year-old Caribbean marksman becomes the Black Panthers’ first foreign signing for the Second Division League and the first ever North American player at the club.

General Secretary Ghazal uz Zafar was delighted with the latest addition to the squad and said, “I am extremely happy to have secured the services of Plaza. He is a proven talent and he has plenty of top level experience. I am confident that he will be an asset to the squad in the upcoming season. I wish him all the very best for the season.”

Having completed formalities, an excited Plaza said, “I have heard a lot about Mohammedan Sporting Club. It’s an honour to be a part of such a big club. I can’t wait to join my teammates and begin training.”

Plaza, who joined East Bengal Club from San Juan Jabloteh FC ahead of 2016/17 I-League, scored 14 goals for the Red and Golds in all competitions. He also represented his country 23 times and scored seven goals.
Title: Why Willis Plaza will succeed at Mohammedan SC
Post by: Tallman on January 27, 2018, 01:21:10 PM
Why Willis Plaza will succeed at Mohammedan SC
mohammedansportingindia.com

All eyes will be on Willis Plaza when Mohammedan Sporting Club kick-off their I-League 2nd Division campaign in March.

The jury is out as to whether the Trinidadian is the right man to lead the line for the Black Panthers, but there is quiet optimism at the 127-year-old club.

There will be an obligatory heap of pressure riding on Plaza’s shoulders. This will no doubt be amplified by his experience in Kolkata, as the striker failed to breakthrough at East Bengal despite making a blistering start last season scoring 5 goals in first 8 matches.

As a result, it is imperative that the 30-year-old hits the ground running for the sake of Mohammedan SC, and his own career progression.

The best way to do that, of course, is by rattling in the goals and Plaza won’t be fussy over how he justifies his status as top marksman.

His critics will raise questions about his work rate by saying that he scored only 7 goals this season in 17 appearances, but statistics don’t always tell the full story.

It’s a fact that strikers will always be judged on how many goals they score. Goals win games and that is why they are always the most important players in the squad.

However, the modern game has changed. Strikers have to do more than that in most tactical systems and Plaza’s ability to play as a lone forward, or with a partner up front, makes him extremely attractive.

Strong in the air, technically sound and quick enough to cause panic, Plaza can play for a team that looks to dominate teams through possession. He can either play on the shoulder of the last defender, or with his back to goal. He can be a link man as well as an out and out striker.

The Trinidadian has never lacked ambition or self-confidence and he can surely match up to the best, and this is his chance to prove that.
Post by: Tallman on March 05, 2018, 06:59:43 AM
Willis Plaza's contract with Mohammedan SC has been terminated by mutual consent.
Post by: maxg on March 05, 2018, 09:40:41 AM
Willis Plaza's contract with Mohammedan SC has been terminated by mutual consent.
??? ???
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 05, 2018, 12:31:02 PM
From "Kolkata’s Mohammedan Sporting Club have pulled off a coup..." to "contract with Mohammedan SC has been terminated by mutual consent" in less than 6 weeks?!!!  ???
Post by: Dutty Love on March 06, 2018, 02:59:35 AM
From "Kolkata’s Mohammedan Sporting Club have pulled off a coup..." to "contract with Mohammedan SC has been terminated by mutual consent" in less than 6 weeks?!!!  ???

Second Division India
Title: Former East Bengal striker Willis Plaza replaces Siyo at Churchill Brothers
Post by: Tallman on March 06, 2018, 02:57:19 PM
Former East Bengal striker Willis Plaza replaces Siyo at Churchill Brothers
By Anselm Noronha (goal.com)

Churchill Brothers have signed Willis Deon Plaza to replace Jeancy Zunapio Siyo who has been released by the club, Goal can confirm.

The Trinidad and Tobago forward's previous I-League stint was with East Bengal and his last bout for the Red and Golds was when Mohun Bagan clinched the Kolkata derby by a 2-0 victory in January this year.

He had clocked 649 minutes under the Khalid Jamil-led East Bengal side this season wherein he scored twice from the eight appearances. Interestingly, he scored both those goals against Churchill Brothers and it included a late injury time winner that helped his side edge a five-goal thriller in Kolkata.

Plaza was last contracted to  I-League second division side Mohammedan Sporting who have roped in Ethiopian attacker Fikru Tefera Lemessa as a replacement.

He would be available for selection for Churchill Brothers' final game of the season against Minerva Punjab that may well save his current team from the clutches of relegation while possibly jeopardising the Punjabi team's title quest.

"We had to release (Mechac) Koffi who had a fracture in his foot. He played with pain for three matches but he could not continue like that. It was better to replace him with another striker and we got these two strikers who did not deliver for us," Fernandes had lamented after losing against Mohun Bagan on Saturday.

The Goans are currently ninth, with 17 points from as many games, in the I-League. Below them are Indian Arrows (15) while a place above them are Chennai City (19), who have both wrapped up their campaign.

However, as Churchill Brothers look to avoid the drop with a win on Thursday, the conundrum of Chennai City's 'relegation immunity' may well play a role over the Varca-based team's fate as seventh-placed Gokulam Kerala (20) are already immune to relegation and Shillong Lajong (22) are out of reach.
Post by: maxg on March 06, 2018, 04:05:33 PM
Real Paladin thing.. they sign him for one game.   If he scores for them they will give him ah 00 designation for sure
Post by: Tallman on April 01, 2018, 09:15:54 PM
WATCH: Willis Plaza scores the opening goal in Churchill Brothers’ 2-1 loss to Mohun Bagan in the Indian Super Cup.

https://www.youtube.com/v/pdFKamlnmsU
Post by: Tallman on November 15, 2018, 03:37:40 PM
WATCH: Willis Plaza scores a hat-trick to propel Churchill Brothers to a 4-2 win over Shillong Lajong. Goals are at 1:37, 5:08, and 5:41.

https://www.youtube.com/v/TvbPb0h9Z6o
Post by: Tallman on November 30, 2018, 01:46:47 PM
WATCH: Willis Plaza's brace propels Churchill Brothers Goa to a 3-0 win over Mohun Bagan

https://www.youtube.com/v/0q0hsKknUTI?start=275
Post by: Tallman on November 30, 2018, 05:21:15 PM
WATCH: Willis Plaza's goal earns Churchill Brothers Goa a 1-1 draw with Gokulam Kerala FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/QmWgmkF8_AU
Post by: Tallman on December 20, 2018, 10:25:22 PM
WATCH: Willis Plaza scores an early goal in Churchill Brothers' 2-1 loss to East Bengal

https://www.youtube.com/v/KEMMT0FxkJ0?start=26
Post by: Tallman on March 11, 2019, 05:59:08 AM
Willis Plaza scores his 21st goal of the season yesterday, to finish top-joint goalscorer in the Indian I-League. This is the highest goalscoring season ever in his professional career. It is also the most amount of goals scored by a Trinidadian player in a foreign league since Jason Scotland scored 29 goals for Swansea City in all competitions in 2007/2008.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D1TCzWJXQAAOfYD.jpg:large)
Post by: asylumseeker on March 11, 2019, 08:31:22 PM
Congrats to Plaza. :applause: It could have been another journey without any production.
Post by: Tallman on March 29, 2019, 10:32:42 AM
WATCH: Willis Plaza - 2018/19 Highlights. See all of his goals, assists, and skills. This is an excellent video.

https://vimeo.com/323477308
Post by: Cocorite on March 29, 2019, 01:12:07 PM
Excellent indeed!

But he can't seem to replicate it for the NT. Is it that we don't play to his strengths? Or the lever is higher.

I honestly think it is a combination of both.Great to see the variety of goals he scores. He is in the mold of the typical T&T striker. But how would he fare with stingier defences. . .
Post by: soccerman on March 29, 2019, 01:52:30 PM
Excellent indeed!

But he can't seem to replicate it for the NT. Is it that we don't play to his strengths? Or the lever is higher.

I honestly think it is a combination of both.Great to see the variety of goals he scores. He is in the mold of the typical T&T striker. But how would he fare with stingier defences. . .

I thought he played well vs Wales, he was holding the ball up, turning and dribbling past defenders. Just he only got to play the first half but to me he was one of our better players.
Post by: Cocorite on March 29, 2019, 05:06:10 PM
Excellent indeed!

I thought he played well vs Wales, he was holding the ball up, turning and dribbling past defenders. Just he only got to play the first half but to me he was one of our better players.

Great to hear. Didnt get to see the game. Just highlights. I couldn't come to conclusions from that
Post by: Tallman on December 02, 2019, 08:08:05 AM
WATCH: Willis Plaza gets off the mark with his first goal of the 2019/20 I-League season in Churchill Brothers FC Goa's 3-0 win over Minerva Punjab FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/XtjceroRRr4?start=272
Post by: Tallman on December 11, 2019, 12:30:30 PM
WATCH: A brace by Willis Plaza and goals by Robert Primus and Radanfah Abu Bakr lead Churchill Brothers FC Goa to a 4-2 win over Mohun Bagan.

https://www.youtube.com/v/MGD0_jUok9M?start=20
Post by: soccerman on December 11, 2019, 12:58:24 PM
Nice, the T&T players with the 4 goals. Stadium looks full, Plaza and those guys must feel good playing in front of a big crowd. Also look like quite a few foreign players plying their trade in this league.
Post by: andre samuel on December 12, 2019, 07:00:26 AM
Cyrus there doing his thing in defense, lol.

"Another mistake by Daniel Cyrus"
Post by: asylumseeker on December 12, 2019, 07:25:56 AM

That "another" is de kicker.

Post by: pull stones on December 12, 2019, 02:08:41 PM

That "another" is de kicker.
He’s shit in a poor league against weaker opponents. I rest my case. get rid from our national team, I don’t care who else he destroys as long as it’s not us.
Post by: Peong on December 12, 2019, 07:42:01 PM

Oh gyad Daneil, Poojarie send yuh skatin from the box to de corner flag.
Doh let dem do yuh dat nah man!
Post by: Tallman on January 07, 2020, 07:34:50 AM
WATCH: A Willis Plaza header gives Churchill Brothers a 1-0 win over East Bengal

https://www.youtube.com/v/E6SJgfzwGgg?start=496
Post by: Tallman on July 15, 2020, 07:08:09 PM
Willis Plaza Roped in by Mohammedan Sporting for new season of I-League Second Division
voiceofindiansports.com

Mohammedan Sporting Club ahead of the forthcoming 2nd Division League beefed up their squad with the signing of Trinidadian ace Willis Deon Plaza.

The 33-year-old marksman becomes the Black Panthers’ second foreign signing for the 2nd Division League and the first ever Caribbean player at the club.

General Secretary Mr. Sk. Wasim Akram was delighted with the newest addition to the squad and said, “We are very excited to get a player who will be committed and focused. It is vital as well to have players who have experience, because we have a very good bunch of young players but you also need a good weight of experience in your team and Plaza will contribute to that.”

Football Secretary Mr. Dipendu Biswas said Plaza’s addition was an important one, given his penchant for scoring. “Plaza has a proven track-record when it comes to scoring and this is an area we needed to strengthen on the squad. The goals aside, he even has an eye for a quality final pass and we’re looking forward to working with him.”

Plaza, who was in talks with the Black Panthers after getting released by East Bengal in January 2018 before the deal didn’t materialize, said he was glad to have finally made the move.

Having completed formalities, an excited Plaza said, “I am delighted to sign for Mohammedan Sporting Club. It’s a great club with top players and passionate fans. I want to score goals for the club and help the club to qualify for I-League.”

“When I got the offer from Mohammedan Sporting Club, I didn’t hesitate for one moment that I want to be here,” the former East Bengal striker added.

“I am excited for the new challenge, I am here to make my contribution and I will be doing my job as best I can,” Plaza concluded.

Plaza, who began his journey in Indian football with East Bengal in 2016, showed his class with Churchill Brothers. Plaza scored 43 goals for Churchill in all competitions since joining the Club in March 2018.

RELATED NEWS

Plaza signs with I-League Second Division Black Panthers.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T striker Willis Plaza has signed with Mohammedan Sporting Club ahead of the forthcoming Indian 2nd Division League on a free transfer.

The 33-year-old marksman becomes the Black Panthers’ second foreign signing for the Second Division League and the first-ever Caribbean player at the club.

General Secretary Sk. Wasim Akram was delighted with the newest addition to the squad and said, “We are very excited to get a player who will be committed and focused. It is vital as well to have players who have the experience because we have a very good bunch of young players but you also need a good weight of experience in your team and Plaza will contribute to that.”

Football Secretary Dipendu Biswas said Plaza’s addition was an important one, given his penchant for scoring. “Plaza has a proven track record when it comes to scoring and this is an area we needed to strengthen on the squad. The goals aside, he even has an eye for a quality final pass and we’re looking forward to working with him.”

Plaza, who was in talks with the Black Panthers after getting released by East Bengal in January 2018 before the deal didn’t materialize, said he was glad to have finally made the move.

Having completed formalities, an excited Plaza said, “I am delighted to sign for Mohammedan Sporting Club. It’s a great club with top players and passionate fans. I want to score goals for the club and help the club to qualify for I-League.”

“When I got the offer from Mohammedan Sporting Club, I didn’t hesitate for one moment that I want to be here,” the former East Bengal striker added.

“I am excited about the new challenge, I am here to make my contribution and I will be doing my job as best I can,” Plaza concluded.

Plaza, who began his journey in Indian football with East Bengal in 2016, showed his class with Churchill Brothers.

A former San Juan Jabloteh and Central FC striker, Plaza scored 43 goals for Churchill Brothers in all competitions since joining the Club in March 2018.

In the abrupted 2019 season, Plaza who also enjoyed two years in Vietnam netted eight goals in 14 matches, after topping the scoring chart in 2018/2019 with 21 goals, his best output as a professional.

Post by: Tallman on October 11, 2020, 11:46:10 AM
WATCH: Willis Plaza opens the scoring with a low shot past the keeper in Mohammedan SC's 4-1 win over ARA FC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/lekUWKYHwYM
Post by: Flex on November 18, 2020, 03:14:31 PM
Plaza wins I-League promotion
T&T Express Reports.

WILLIS Plaza’s stay in the third tier of Indian football was short-lived. The 33-year-old Trinidad and Tobago international has won promotion with his new club Mohammedan SC.

After just a few matches with his new team, Mohammedan Sporting Club have been promoted to the I-League First Division, the second tier competition created after the fusion this season of India’s two major football leagues. The “Black Panthers” enjoyed an unbeaten run in the Hero I-League Qualifiers 2020 that took place from October 8-19, within an isolated bubble in Kolkata and Kalyani. It was the first sporting tournament to be held in the nation after the Covid-19 lockdown. The competition saw Mohammedan get the better of local rivals Bhawanipore FC 2-0 in their penultimate match which amounted to a virtual final. The I-League First division begins this month.

Although Plaza’s club emerged as the champions of the Hero I-League Qualifier, Mohammedan general secretary Wasim Akram isn’t willing to get into celebration mode right at this very moment.

“The results in the Hero I-League Qualifiers are something we are proud of. But I won’t call it a success because I feel it’s a place we deserve to be forever, and we have just reached there. Once we compete in the Hero I-League and win it, then I would label it a success,” Akram added.

“Qualifying to the Hero I-League means a lot. From the time I joined this club, looking at the support base and the pan-India presence we have, I realised that playing in the second division is not something we want to do. The relation of the Hero I-League and Mohammedan is far from over. Now, we are here. Better late than never. We were unbeaten in the qualifiers and we want to carry forward the same spirit and energy in the I-League as well,” the club general secretary said.

Post by: Tallman on November 20, 2020, 05:44:15 PM
WATCH: India-based forward Willis Plaza joined the Senior Men's Team training this week and told us his thoughts on playing under Terry Fenwick again. Fenwick first signed Plaza at San Juan Jabloteh.

https://www.youtube.com/v/DM66FwgcXZE
Title: Plaza confident T&T football can return to its best days
Post by: Tallman on November 21, 2020, 07:56:42 AM
Plaza confident T&T football can return to its best days
T&T Guardian

India-based T&T senior national football team striker Willis Plaza is confident that this country can get back to playing its best football of recent times under new coach, Englishman Terry Fenwick.

The 33-year-old Plaza was speaking after a national team training session yesterday (Friday) at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo, at which re-installed Normalisation Committee chairman Robert Hadad paid a visit and addressed the national squad and its staff.

Signed by Mohammedan SC during the off-season in the Indian I-League and a key part of their successful promotion run, Plaza said working with Fenwick can also serve to work in his favour.

A former Central FC and San Juan Jabloteh striker, Plaza who was joint top-scorer in the I-League in 2019 said, "Actually, it’s a plus for me working with Fenwick knowing the type of football he plays and the type of person he is, and know that I played with him before I know I can fit in his system and I am just happy to be here.”

Reflecting on his time in India during the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic and having to stay in lockdown for most of that period, Plaza said, “Trust me, it was a real break down in your mindset when it comes to being a bread winner for your family and being away from your family and just being away from your country, it was really difficult.

"You lose the love, the vibe and everything especially when you are out there alone and I am just grateful to be back in Trinidad and I have now started to find back the love for the football and everything."

Commenting on the state of the professional game in India where he has been plying his trade for the past three seasons with Churchill Brothers and now with Mohammedan, Plaza said it's difficult now because the football has taken a hit.

He added, "The game has moved from 10/10 to about 6/10 because the money has dropped, the support has also dropped and I think it all has to do with India being so high risk with the coronavirus.

"The social distancing is very strict over there in India and I don’t think it’s a life for a footballer at present, and I am not sure if I will be going back as well.”

Looking ahead to his training stint Fenwick and the national team, Plaza said everyone can expect to see him working hard and aiming to make the country proud again.

"We are a bit behind so we now have to try and catch back that level and bring the country back to where it was in our football. I'm confident we can get there because I know coach Terry Fenwick has been working towards it behind the scenes during the pandemic and most of the players understand what it will take and are willing to work hard and I think we will get there," said Plaza.

RELATED NEWS

Willis Plaza recalls dealing with pandemic in India.
T&T Express Reports.

Covid struggles

LIVING with the Covid-19 pandemic has made life so difficult in India that striker Willis Plaza is considering not returning to Mohammedan SC where he signed just a few months ago, and scored a few vital goal during their 2020 promotion qualifiers which began on October 8, with five teams vying for a spot in the I-League.

The round-robin competition ended on October 19, with Kolkata giants Mohammedan Sporting Club drawing 0-0 with Bengaluru United, taking them up to the I-League (second flight) for the first time since 2015, by registering three wins and a draw in four games.

Plaza, 33, was 2019 joint top-scorer in the I-League and had played in India since 2017, while also having stints in El Salvador and Belgium. Despite recent successes and having had multiple seasons in India with the East Bengal and Churchill Brothers clubs, Plaza is wondering whether India is the place to be now, given that the country has over nine million cases of Covid-19.

“The money has dropped, the support has also dropped and I think it all has to do with India being so high-risk with the coronavirus,” Plaza said. “The social distancing is very strict over there in India and I don’t think it’s a life for a footballer at present. I am not sure if I will be going back.”

Plaza spoke of the difficulty of isolation in India and having to do it because he is the breadwinner for his family. Under such conditions football became more of a job than a passion.

“It was really difficult,” he stated, “you are out there alone and I am just grateful to be back in Trinidad and I have now started to find back the love for the football and everything.”

Plaza is also glad to be back in the national team under coach Terry Fenwick, under whom he won TT Pro League titles at local clubs San Juan Jabloteh and Central FC. Speaking at Fenwick’s session on Friday, Plaza felt comfortable working with the Englishman again.

“It’s a plus for me working with Fenwick knowing the type of football he plays and the type of person he is, and knowing that I played with him before, I know I can fit in his system and I am just happy to be here.”

Plaza hopes to regain a place in the national team for the Concacaf and FIFA World Cup qualifiers next year, having last played for Trinidad and Tobago in a 1-0 friendly loss away to Wales under head coach Dennis Lawrence in early 2019. Plaza thinks a lot of hard work is needed leading up to next year’s competitions.

“We are a bit behind so we now have to try and catch back that level and bring the country back to where it was in our football,” Plaza said, “ most of the players understand what it will take and are willing to work hard and I think we will get there.”

Video - Plaza : I'm eager to reconnect with Fenwick (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DM66FwgcXZE&feature=emb_title)

Post by: Tallman on August 27, 2021, 11:39:15 AM
Willis Plaza returns to India to join Delhi FC.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E9zn0vLX0AErasG?format=jpg&name=medium)
Post by: Tallman on September 08, 2021, 02:08:17 PM
WATCH: Willis Plaza gets his first goal for Delhi FC when he scores the opener in their 2-1 loss to Indian Navy.

https://www.youtube.com/v/rxgrHoCukAw
Post by: Tallman on September 18, 2021, 09:04:46 AM
WATCH: Delhi FC's Willis Plaza bags a brace in a thrilling 2-2 draw with Bengaluru FC. Plaza's performance earned him the Man of the Match award.

https://www.youtube.com/v/TbNsoCYwOgA?start=18
Post by: Tallman on September 21, 2021, 09:42:26 AM
WATCH: Willis Plaza's goal ensured that Delhi FC advanced to the quarterfinals of the 2021 Durand Cup after defeating Kerala Blasters 1-0. Plaza is currently the top scorer in the tournament with four goals to his name.

https://www.youtube.com/v/cRdk0YeQA6I?start=11
Post by: Tallman on October 11, 2021, 12:52:52 PM
WATCH: A Willis Plaza header sparks Delhi FC's 5-1 come-from-behind win over Corbett FC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/fNiQAeDXwqY?start=109
Post by: Tallman on April 23, 2022, 11:12:37 AM
WATCH: A Willis Plaza brace leads Aizawl FC to a 3-2 win over Real Kashmir (https://twitter.com/socawarriors/status/1517905275247898626)