Sports => Football => Topic started by: Trevor on June 01, 2012, 11:25:19 AM

Title: Lincoln Phillips Joins Loyola Women's Soccer Coaching Staff
Post by: Trevor on June 01, 2012, 11:25:19 AM
Lincoln Phillips joins Loyola women's soccer coaching staff.
potomacsoccerwire.com.

31 May, 2012

The Loyola University Maryland women’s soccer team and head coach Katherine Vettori have brought on Lincoln Phillips as an assistant coach.

Phillips, a native of Trinidad and Tobago, spent the last seven years as the Technical Director of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation Men’s Senior National Team, where he helped guide the small islands of Trinidad and Tobago to their first-ever World Cup appearance in 2006.

“We are excited to welcome Lincoln to the Loyola women’s soccer family,” said Vettori. “His experience at all levels of soccer, including coaching and playing at the highest level internationally, will be an asset and give a new perspective at Loyola. Lincoln’s knowledge of the game and desire to teach will help our student-athletes grow both on and off the field.”

Phillips was a former U.S. National Team Goalkeeper Coach and is one of only 12 FIFA Licensed coaches.  He is regarded by many as the best goalkeeper that Trinidad and Tobago has ever produced.

Throughout his professional career, which included stints both overseas and in the United States, Phillips was a goalkeeper for Maple from 1960-63 and the Defence Force from 1964-67 before coming to the Baltimore area, where he played for the Baltimore Bays and the Washington Darts from 1968-73.

Following his playing career, Phillips spent three years as the goalkeeper coach for the U.S. National Team from 1992-94, helping the squad qualify for the 1994 World Cup. He then served as a FIFA Staff Goalkeeper instructor from 1994-05, conducting coaching development workshops for FIFA in the Caribbean and Asia.

Phillips began his coaching career at Howard University, where he led the men’s soccer team to two NCAA Division I National Championships in 1971 and 1974, becoming the first African-American coach to win an NCAA title.

Following a 10-year stint with the Bison, Phillips became the athletic director at Newport Preparatory Schools in Kensington, Md., where he served from 1981-86.

He then spent three years as the Head Coach/General Manager of the Maryland Bays, before taking on the challenge as head coach of the men’s soccer team at Virginia Commonwealth from 1991-95. While at the helm of the Rams’ program, he led VCU to its first-ever top-25 ranking.

During that period, Phillips had also already been running the Lincoln Phillips Soccer School, which had a 20-year run from 1975-1995. He also served as a National Schools Staff Instructor from 1983-2001.

Phillips brings 50 years of coaching and playing experience to Loyola, and is also the author of two books. One was an instructional book released in 1996 entitled, “Soccer Goalkeeping: The Last Line of Defense, the First Line of Attack,” and the other an autobiography called, “KEEPER! Rising Above and Beyond the Crossbar: An Autobiography.”

A goalkeeper at Burke’s College from 1954-57 and then for Queen’s Royal College from 1958-59, Phillips received both his Bachelor’s and Master’s Degrees in physical education from Howard.

Title: Re: Lincoln Phillips Joins Loyola Women's Soccer Coaching Staff
Post by: Dutty on June 01, 2012, 12:10:51 PM
One hell of a resume :beermug:

Congrats to the original Tiger on a new challenge

Post by: Jack Horner on June 01, 2012, 06:12:39 PM
7 years he spent in T&T as TD and has nothing to show for it and you guys impress with his resume ?

Wonder why the USA cut him if he was that good ?

Now he tries to distant himself of the TTFF old regime and he was all part of it, like the rest, getting paid to do nothing and then telling the public he wasn't given the support but yet he accept 7 years of horror.

I wonder what happed with the big combine he did the other day ? Did anything came out of it ? did Sounders come back or kept tabs with any T&T players or are they waiting for hand outs from the T&T government ?

If he is so known in the US he shouldn't have a problem getting sponsors !!

Post by: Deeks on June 01, 2012, 08:49:56 PM
7 years he spent in T&T as TD and has nothing to show for it and you guys impress with his resume ?

Wonder why the USA cut him if he was that good ?

Now he tries to distant himself of the TTFF old regime and he was all part of it, like the rest, getting paid to do nothing and then telling the public he wasn't given the support but yet he accept 7 years of horror.

I wonder what happed with the big combine he did the other day ? Did anything came out of it ? did Sounders come back or kept tabs with any T&T players or are they waiting for hand outs from the T&T government ?

If he is so known in the US he shouldn't have a problem getting sponsors !!

Aye, Aye Jack you back!!! what is your problem now?
Post by: AB.Trini on June 02, 2012, 07:35:45 AM
Ah prophet is truly never hpnoured in his own country. All this knowledge and expertise and we cannot allow for our own nationals to work  in ways to  develop and  effectively run our national programs? all this knowledge and we cyar come together with national coaches to beat them  other islands ? yuh really have tuh wonder about how we make decisions  and how we manage our national treasures?

iIt is a a gargantuan shame  to see the state of our football at the mens national level when you read about the talented footballers we have playing on foreign soil. It is even more shameful, to watch  lesser know countries in our region competing for a place at the next wworl cup and we are mere minnows feeding on the ocean bottom. Shame shame woe is we  shame and scandal bring we down.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on June 02, 2012, 08:53:08 AM

If I remember well Lincoln problem was Wim..... and its too bad cause Wim wuz moving d team in d right direction...iz ah pity when ah foreigner could tell yuh how it iz and call ah spade ah spade..

Anyway off u go Lincoln....enjoy Loyola!! Good Riddins....

Post by: Mango Chow! on June 02, 2012, 09:52:34 AM
Ah prophet is truly never hpnoured in his own country. All this knowledge and expertise and we cannot allow for our own nationals to work  in ways to  develop and  effectively run our national programs? all this knowledge and we cyar come together with national coaches to beat them  other islands ? yuh really have tuh wonder about how we make decisions  and how we manage our national treasures?

iIt is a a gargantuan shame  to see the state of our football at the mens national level when you read about the talented footballers we have playing on foreign soil. It is even more shameful, to watch  lesser know countries in our region competing for a place at the next wworl cup and we are mere minnows feeding on the ocean bottom. Shame shame woe is we  shame and scandal bring we down.

We doh need Lincoln Phillips wit he old fart self!  We have Alvin and Anton and mccomie!!
Post by: tempo on June 02, 2012, 10:33:06 AM
Lincoln didn't have a problem with Wim; they had an altercation that Wim clearly instigated. The TTFF used that as a pretext to fire Wim because they wanted to get out of the contract. So go ahead and reward the person who really irreversably damaged T&T football by electing him to the government and cast off folks who actually brought a workable plan to the TTFF only to have it undermined by the Warner/Corneal/Shabazz triumvirate.

Horner, the reason why people impress with the man's resume is because it's impressive. Name one football figure from T&T that has an equal or superior resume; just one. And by the way, the pro league was given a report that listed the players Seattle is keeping an eye on and the coaches are planning to come back next year.

Poti, you sound like a totee with dat foolishness. When T&T fails to sniff a hex for the next couple of WC cycles and the youth teams continue to decline, you and others may recognize LP's contributions when he was TD. As Chow says, you all have the Corneals and McComie to guide the football now so T&T future bright!   ::)
Post by: Errol on June 02, 2012, 11:17:35 AM
To be honest Tempo, Anton Corneal resume is impressive to, but does that mean he is/was good ?

Post by: tempo on June 02, 2012, 12:17:44 PM
All due respect Errol; Anton's resume is not impressive or distinguished. There are a number of coaches in the US struggling to find work with his credentials. In addition, the most important element missing from Anton's resume is championships. What significant championship has he accomplished and EARNED as a player, coach, or administrator?

What he has done is attend and excel in a lot courses, networked well, and is fairly articulate. I just don't see that as particularly substantive nor believe in what he's done and his accomplishments anywhere close to that of LP, St. Clair, Hart, or even Fenwick. Now that the Corneals got what they wanted and Anton is the TD, he should be judged on what the national programs accomplish. In the social media world Anton's skills may earn him a high klout score but in football results matter; and he has very little to show.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 02, 2012, 12:28:48 PM
What he has done is attend and excel in a lot courses, networked well, and is fairly articulate. I just don't see that as particularly substantive nor believe in what he's done and his accomplishments anywhere close to that of LP, St. Clair, Hart, or even Fenwick. Now that the Corneals got what they wanted and Anton is the TD, he should be judged on what the national programs accomplish. In the social media world Anton's skills may earn him a high klout score but in football results matter; and he has very little to show.

For a very long time I have been wanting to put to words exactly how I see anton as coaching material and you just nailed it right there.  Thank you.  Alvin and his brrod has always been in a unique position to bring things to Trinidad Football that they have known fro a very lovg time was lacking but instead, I find they have done more to feed their own agenda than to really ""educate" Trinidad Football, "coaching school" notwithstanding.
Post by: vb on June 02, 2012, 02:31:43 PM
Lincoln was not the GK at QRC. He played outfield.

the GK was Gregor Hinkson. The QRC team of that era had a 50 year reunion in 2009. Both LP and Gregor were there.

years ago around 1989 or so the Guardian printed a team photo of QRC with Greg, the GK, LP and the rest of the team. When Greg's son saw in Canada I had no choice but to give it to him. Stupid me I shoulda photocopy it.

Post by: rotatopoti3 on June 02, 2012, 05:44:38 PM
Tempo..d only reason yuh could gallarie yuhself iz because Lincoln catch d last cycle of the train..of we best players since 89.  I would love to see Terry Fenwick  given that post.....he could reinvigorate...this program more than Lincoln IMHO....!!
Post by: tempo on June 02, 2012, 08:37:48 PM
Tempo..d only reason yuh could gallarie yuhself iz because Lincoln catch d last cycle of the train..of we best players since 89.  I would love to see Terry Fenwick  given that post.....he could reinvigorate...this program more than Lincoln IMHO....!!

Between 1989-2002 with access to what some would say were better players, in their prime, and the US not as dominant a factor, T&T did not qualify. So LPs contribution to the team that finally qualified for the WC went far beyond mere timing. The issue for the longest while was never the players but rather the coaching and administration. For two years, 2004-2006, LP had Jack's ear and presented a sustainable programme of year round preparation, coaches development,  overseas tours, and player identification beyond T&T borders. that resulted in the WC qualification for both the senior and youth national teams.

Post by: Jack Horner on June 03, 2012, 05:13:39 AM

Between 1989-2002 with access to what some would say were better players, in their prime, and the US not as dominant a factor, T&T did not qualify. So LPs contribution to the team that finally qualified for the WC went far beyond mere timing. The issue for the longest while was never the players but rather the coaching and administration. For two years, 2004-2006, LP had Jack's ear and presented a sustainable programme of year round preparation, coaches development,  overseas tours, and player identification beyond T&T borders. that resulted in the WC qualification for both the senior and youth national teams.

Pal, so LP was the reason why T&T qualify for the World Cup.   :rotfl:

It is so self fish to think so.

LP was TD for 7 years in T&T and hide behind his desk for 6 and a 1/2.

Which T&T player that went to the 2006 WC did LP identified ?

If LP wants to go out with a bang and prove he is really good, he owe's T&T and he should return and coach the team for free, time to pay back.

Post by: tempo on June 03, 2012, 06:50:55 AM
Horner, you obviously can't back up your stupid resume point so go back under your rock. As for the player, LP urged Beenhakker to bring Latapy on to the team. Beenhakker didn't want to but was eventually convinced by LP and Yorke. Instead of bumpin ya gums, be a good man servant to your boy in Chaguanas and find the missing Haiti money. Be useful for a change.