Sports => Trinbago, NBA & World Basketball => Topic started by: 100% Barataria on June 15, 2012, 07:23:09 AM

Title: Lakers Thread
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 15, 2012, 07:23:09 AM
Should have started this a few years ago when we won titles  ;D  anyway, for the LA fans, who you want to see in the mix next season and for whom?  KG is a free agent, a little older but I think he would be a good addition if he wants to come to LA in place of Pau. 

Is Aaron Brooks a free agent?  Would like to see him in the mix at the point, not really sold on Sessions.

During the off season Kareem needs to work w/Bynum some more, he still missing some umph
Title: Re: Lakers Thread
Post by: soccerman on June 15, 2012, 04:45:29 PM
If we can get Aaron Brooks and James Harden we will be legit! They could take anybody with the exception of Kobe and Bynum....and maybe Hill, he has potential.
Post by: weary1969 on June 15, 2012, 05:31:05 PM
All yuh good oui. I had enuff of Bynum and d spaniard.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 15, 2012, 06:03:58 PM

Nah man Weary, Bynum have what it takes to be a franchise player or at least supporting co-star, but yeah, de Spaniard ha to go, dey never put de south central baddest on him, so he's a lorse cause

Soccerman yuh wha Harden,  :rotfl:, OKC not breakin up dat team, dey good to go.
Post by: weary1969 on June 16, 2012, 10:28:39 PM

Nah man Weary, Bynum have what it takes to be a franchise player or at least supporting co-star, but yeah, de Spaniard ha to go, dey never put de south central baddest on him, so he's a lorse cause

Soccerman yuh wha Harden,  :rotfl:, OKC not breakin up dat team, dey good to go.

Just neva was into Bynum.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 17, 2012, 12:00:06 AM
If we can get Aaron Brooks and James Harden we will be legit! They could take anybody with the exception of Kobe and Bynum....and maybe Hill, he has potential.
u tink harden leavin OKC.thunder have more potential in years to come than LA.
Post by: weary1969 on June 17, 2012, 05:31:59 PM
u tink harden leavin OKC.thunder have more potential in years to come than LA.

Dreams are free why nt have  big 1.
Post by: soccerman on July 06, 2012, 09:44:20 AM
Nobody ain post nutten bout that Steve Nash trade yet ;D If he stays healthy, we might stand a damn good chance but I still think we need one more explosive type player to keep up with dem OKC players.

One another note ah see de Knicks pick up Kidd to mentor Lin dey say, now they hadda try and keep Lin from going to Houston.
Post by: soccerman on August 09, 2012, 11:10:54 PM
We land Dwight :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

Blocks and rebounds, that's the main thing we want
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 10, 2012, 06:18:32 AM
Serious?  Been so engrossed in the olympics did not see this.  Interesting, personally don't think the performance gap at center between Dwight and Bynum is our biggest concern to motivate a Dwight trade, I think we have a bigger gap with the other twin tower
Post by: Deeks on August 10, 2012, 07:14:47 PM
Yep Olimpics kind of kept this in the background. So now is earthquate in the Staple center. Orlando just can't keep superstars, sorry for them. But I think it is the right thing to do. The impasse with the Magic management was becoming a next LeBron episode. Well we will see was KD and the Thunder are made of. Boy imagine if DH was on the US Olimpic team. Maaannn!
Post by: Dumplingdinho on August 10, 2012, 09:09:20 PM
We land Dwight :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

Blocks and rebounds, that's the main thing we want

still licks for allyuh next season.... ;D

seriously lakers could a make a strong run for the next 2 seasons.
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 10, 2012, 09:42:00 PM
Capo, whey yuh?  ;D
Post by: capodetutticapi on August 11, 2012, 11:40:30 AM
old man kobe need all de help he could get....still he eh gettin no more ring
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 11, 2012, 12:07:14 PM

wha iz yuh wager?
Post by: Dutty on August 17, 2012, 12:57:24 PM

wha iz yuh wager?

ah willin to bet Kobe wife...since she gorne on record saying she does only deal wit champions

look like Kevin Durant getting a outside wife nex year
Post by: soccerman on October 28, 2012, 07:50:12 PM

Yuh see hoss, Harden gone to Houston as he rejected the $55.5 mil deal OKC offered him. I knew it would've been hard for them to keep him with the current CBA when they signed Durrant and Westbrook to blockbuster deals.

The sad thing is Houston only paying him $60 mil, I figured he could've made that with endorsements and such at OKC as they'll be a contender for years to come but I guess he wants to blaze his own trail. Hope this moves works out for him :beermug:
Post by: soccerman on October 30, 2012, 11:23:34 PM
We have some work to do, still need to gel....allowed Mavs to dictate the pace of the game and it cost us
Post by: Bakes on November 01, 2012, 12:27:00 AM
Allyuh like playing generous hosts or what... or de defense still in pre-season?
Post by: futbolfan on November 01, 2012, 01:22:21 AM
Mike Brown is ah shyt coach....all he good for is eating sunflower seeds.
If Phil had this team they would run through the west with the only possible obstacles being OKC and San Antonio.
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 01, 2012, 09:00:02 AM
Ahrite, ah late, was pre-occupied w/other stuff

Soccerman, hard luck on Harden, yuh was rite, I was wrong, in de end dollars talk.

As for this pre-season game vs Dallas, ah hear we was absent.  No seen, ah geh a tweet from Kobe after sayin there minds was on de east coast, so again, no seen, all yuh leave meh side alone, we still need to gel wid all de new additions.

Futbolfan, yuh rite, I eh no big Mike Brown fan, so if at de end ah dis season we doh challenge, Kupchak bette show him de door
Post by: soccerman on November 01, 2012, 09:59:28 AM
We started 0-2 last year as well so I'm not too worried since we have 80 games to play. Was Nash firgure out how to orchestrate this offense and making passing to players in the spots they like, we go be rolling. I'm giving them until Feb or so to get everything sorted out, once we balling after de all-star break we go be legit!
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 02, 2012, 09:04:46 AM
Tell dem nah soccerman, we comin strong!  BTW, yuh handle real funny when yuh say it fast in trini fashion :rotfl:
Post by: soccerman on November 02, 2012, 10:30:41 AM
Tell dem nah soccerman, we comin strong!  BTW, yuh handle real funny when yuh say it fast in trini fashion :rotfl:
Dias de ketch dey ;D
Post by: Bakes on November 03, 2012, 09:14:07 AM
Kobe say is time tuh panic... Christmas might bring coal fuh Mike Brown.
Post by: sinned on November 03, 2012, 06:11:18 PM
Lakers will be fine... as long as they fire Mike Brown.

Mike Brown on Nash running same pick-and-roll offense he did in PHX. "They won a lot of games. It was fun to watch. Where were they in May?"
https://twitter.com/ArashMarkazi/status/264157546464555008

Umm... Mike Brown, Phoenix's offense wasn't the problem... Where's your ring anyway?
Post by: Bakes on November 05, 2012, 04:02:04 PM
I having this same dialogue with a few clowns on FB... this whole "fire Mike Brown" talk.  Firing Mike Brown wouldn't improve the defense, wouldn't make the bench stronger and wouldn't make Kobe, Gasol, and Nash younger... and most importantly, wouldn't make Howard back better.  But it will make a bunch of people happy... and I guess happiness counts more than eventual results.
Post by: futbolfan on November 09, 2012, 12:13:44 PM
I having this same dialogue with a few clowns on FB... this whole "fire Mike Brown" talk.  Firing Mike Brown wouldn't improve the defense, wouldn't make the bench stronger and wouldn't make Kobe, Gasol, and Nash younger... and most importantly, wouldn't make Howard back better.  But it will make a bunch of people happy... and I guess happiness counts more than eventual results.

ah just hear ah rumor that Mike Brown get the axe....
after he received the dreaded vote of confidence from management, I knew the writing was pretty much on the wall...
Post by: soccerman on November 09, 2012, 12:47:52 PM
Yea we ain waste time atal...

Lakers fire coach Mike Brown

By Marc J. Spears and Adrian Wojnarowski | Yahoo! Sports –

After losing four of five games to start the season, the Los Angeles Lakers fired coach Mike Brown on Friday.

Brown's agent, Warren LeGarie confirmed the firing, saying Brown had informed him of his dismissal.

It is unclear whether the organization will make a run at bringing back Phil Jackson, but one candidate prominently being discussed as a long-term possibility: Mike D'Antoni.

D'Antoni has been without a job since leaving the New York Knicks in 2011. D'Antoni had knee replacement surgery in the past couple weeks and not yet on his feet. Would still need time to rehabilitate before he could go back to work.

Indiana Pacers assistant Brian Shaw also could become a candidate – though that's a dicier proposition, given the acrimony that ensued between the Lakers front office and Shaw after the team chose to replace Jackson with Brown over Shaw.

USA Today first reported Brown's firing.

In conversations held over the previous two days, Brown made a case to management that he could get the Lakers into championship contention, sources said.

Lakers ownership made clear that buying out the remaining three years on Brown's original $18 million four year contract wasn't an obstacle to making a coaching change.

Within the organization, there was a sense that Brown has frayed his connection to the locker room with long practices and game-day shootarounds, sources said. Brown began to address that issue recently with shortened sessions.

The irony is that Jerry Buss' son who runs the day-to-day operations of the franchise, Jim – and not Lakers general manager Mitch Kupchak – was the primary advocate in the hiring of Brown and the firing of him. Kupchak was partial to Rick Adelman as a replacement, sources said. Nevertheless, the Buss family lost patience with the team's sluggish start to the Princeton offense, and didn't accept the excuses of a weak bench with such a star-studded starting five of Kobe Bryant, Pau Gasol, Dwight Howard and Steve Nash.

Nash is sitting out with a broken bone in his foot, and won't return to the lineup until later this month.
Post by: Bakes on November 09, 2012, 08:02:17 PM
Fans love the move... most basketball people (at least those who are commenting publicly) panning the move.  Brown is very well-respected and many don't like what went down, but is Buss and dem ball.
Post by: soccerman on November 11, 2012, 09:17:14 PM
Fans love the move... most basketball people (at least those who are commenting publicly) panning the move.  Brown is very well-respected and many don't like what went down, but is Buss and dem ball.
TBH I really wanted to see Brown do well and possibly even win a championship, I was rooting for the man and was upset when they fired him. After listening to all the comments by analysts etc. I see where Lakers management was coming from, this team is built to win NOW!!! With Kobe and Nash on the twilight of their careers, the highest payroll in the league and more importantly they want to sign Howard when he becomes a free agent after the season so they have to be a championship contender. The Princeton offense was taking too long to implement plus going 0-8 in the pre-season and 5-1 to start the season certainly wasn't helping the cause.
Post by: Bakes on November 11, 2012, 10:17:12 PM
How de ass they go win "now" and nobody could play any defense and the bench thin as hell?  Mark my words, unless they magically ketch lightning in a bottle that team eh winning shit.  They need Howard to be dominant in order to have a chance and he won't be dominant for another season or two... if EVER again.
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 12, 2012, 07:54:58 AM
Sigh, another few years in the wilderness, reminiscent of the Dunleavy/Del Harris era.  Hard luck Kobe, the ride was good...
Post by: soccerman on November 12, 2012, 10:47:06 AM
D'Antoni?????
Post by: weary1969 on November 12, 2012, 01:39:55 PM
Sigh, another few years in the wilderness, reminiscent of the Dunleavy/Del Harris era.  Hard luck Kobe, the ride was good...

CO-SIGNNNN

D'Antoni?????

CO SIGHHHHHHH
Post by: Bakes on November 12, 2012, 03:09:21 PM
Be careful what you wish for, because you just might get it. Oh... and apparently Big Chief Triangle has started believing the rumors of his own genius.
Post by: soccerman on December 06, 2012, 04:44:23 PM
Kobe in the 30,000+ club, he hanging with elite company but I doubt he can catch up with Kareem to take the overall points record though
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 06, 2012, 08:21:18 PM
Kobe in the 30,000+ club, he hanging with elite company but I doubt he can catch up with Kareem to take the overall points record though

Correk is right
Post by: Bakes on December 06, 2012, 09:54:19 PM
Well firing Mike Brown certainly fixed the Lakers' problems.
Post by: soccerman on December 06, 2012, 11:22:58 PM
Well firing Mike Brown certainly fixed the Lakers' problems.
Seriously...still can't understand the D'Antoni hire when Phil was ready to come back....Damn Jim Buss :banginghead:
Post by: soccerman on December 12, 2012, 12:22:44 AM
We hit a new low tonite...lost to Cavs
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 12, 2012, 06:39:44 AM
Look for me with the "Fire Mike, bring back Phil" banner tomorrow
Post by: soccerman on December 12, 2012, 11:38:03 AM
You will be at the MSG?
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 12, 2012, 02:06:53 PM
You will be at the MSG?

Yeah man, yuh comin thru?
Post by: soccerman on December 12, 2012, 02:57:33 PM
You will be at the MSG?

Yeah man, yuh comin thru?

Nah boy, I wish...I'll watch it on TNT
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 18, 2012, 05:00:49 PM
Kobe's ego is Lakers' big problem

The return of Pau Gasol and Steve Nash to the lineup is likely to mask most, if not all, the symptoms afflicting the underachieving Los Angeles Lakers. But the perennial all-stars will do nothing to address the disease lurking deep inside the foundation of the Lakers, the malady that will prevent the high-priced collection of veterans from getting past the Thunder, Spurs or even the Grizzlies come playoff time.

The disease isn’t bungling, overmatched executive vice president Jim Buss. It’s not bungling, overmatched coach Mike D’Antoni.

The root cause of the Lakers’ dysfunction has been consistent for 15 years. It is Kobe Bryant’s ego, his desperate pursuit of Michael Jordan’s legacy. L.A.’s Dwight Howard experiment is going to explode and implode in spectacular fashion unless someone in the Lakers organization is bold enough to kill Kobe’s Michael Jordan avatar so that Howard’s Bill Russell avatar can emerge and lead the Lakers.

You follow?

The wrong player is driving the Lakers. Dwight Howard is the second-most talented player in the league. He’s the single-most gifted defensive player the NBA has seen since Bill Russell. On a properly functioning, championship-chasing team, Howard cannot be a sidekick, a No. 2, Scottie Pippen. Can’t happen. The Heat tried it with LeBron James in Year 1 of the Big Three, and we know how that ended. Dwyane Wade is an awesome basketball player and a terrific leader, but he had to surrender the soul of the Heat to LeBron in order for the Heat to win a title.

Kobe has to let go and let D12. Has to.

Kobe has to accept that he is not the 34-year-old Michael Jordan. You see, at 34 Jordan was taking his final victory lap in Chicago, completing his second three-peat, securing his sixth title, winning his fifth MVP award and 10th scoring title. Kobe wants to duplicate that feat. He’s putting up MVP-like numbers. He leads the league in scoring. He’s shooting a career-high .478 percent from the field. He’s averaging five rebounds and five assists. He’s knocking down 38 percent of his three-pointers. Oh, the numbers look great. The results? The Lakers stink.

You can blame that on the injuries to Gasol and Nash. You can blame it on the incompetence of D’Antoni.

I blame Kobe. He’s the guy stopping Howard from eating. Kobe is the guy giving Howard room to lose himself in his immaturity and hide. Here’s what Kobe has never understood about the Los Angeles Lakers. It’s an organization built to house and nurture giants. From George Mikan to Wilt Chamberlain to Kareem Abdul-Jabbar to Shaquille O’Neal, the Lakers function best when the once-in-a-generation big man the organization acquires is allowed to be the man of the house.

Kobe emasculates his big men. Andrew Bynum politely admitted this week that Kobe stunted his growth.

“I think Dwight is a great player, but he’s going to have to get accustomed to playing with Kobe and not touching the ball every single play,” Bynum said.

The problem is deeper than touches. It’s a mentality that a big man must have in order to lead his team. Dwight Howard must enter every NBA arena with this mindset: “If I don’t hunt and kill, no one eats tonight.”

That’s Kobe’s mindset. But at 34, having played 1,186 regular-season games and 220 playoff games, Kobe doesn’t hunt and kill as effectively as Howard. Kobe isn’t the same as a 34-year-old Jordan. At this stage in his career, Jordan had played 873 regular-season games and 158 playoff games. Jordan was still a force of nature. Don’t get fooled by Kobe’s numbers. He’s not Kevin Durant or Carmelo Anthony, and Kobe damn sure isn’t LeBron James.

James, Durant and Melo can impose their will on the opposition. Over the course of a seven-game playoff series, they can mentally bludgeon an opponent into submission. We saw James do it to the Pacers and the Celtics in last year’s playoffs. Kobe is smart. He can be efficient. But he’s trying too hard right now. That’s why he leads the league in turnovers with 97. Kobe’s days of imposing his will in a playoff series are over. Howard’s days should just be beginning.

But Kobe’s ego is in the way. Howard can’t be the man of the house with Kobe sitting at the head of the table eating the biggest plate of food. As long as everything revolves around Kobe, as long as Kobe is on TV sitting across from Stephen A. Smith speaking in hushed, dark tones about the state of the Lakers, Howard gets to hide, gets to feel like the Lakers family can eat regardless if he chooses to hunt.

Kobe needs to fall back. He’s Dr. J right now and he needs to let Dwight Howard be Moses Malone. That does not mean turn the offense over to Howard. It means building a strategy and philosophy that revolves around Howard’s many gifts, which are mostly at the defensive end (and make the hiring of D’Antoni even more ridiculous). It means forcing Howard to mentally and verbally take full responsibility for the success of the team.

Howard is immature. We know that. We watched him in Orlando. Put some pressure on his ass. Make Howard explain why this team is underachieving.

I know this column will appear to many as hatred of Kobe. I don’t hate Kobe. He’s a wonderful player and terrific competitor. He simply has to make the mental adjustment that Dwyane Wade made last season. Come May and June, the Lakers are going as far as Dwight Howard can take them. Nash and Gasol might help the Lakers recover and get into the playoffs. And Kobe is certainly capable of continuing to put up big numbers.

But the Lakers are not winning a title if their second-best player continues to stunt the growth of their best player.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 19, 2012, 07:09:29 PM
Good talk, but I think that's a piece of the current problem.  D'Antoni's coaching style does not suit an aged LA team, running offence w/o defence, really?
Post by: soccerman on December 25, 2012, 12:09:44 AM
Let's see what we can do with Nash now, he had trouble defending Jack on the Warriors (too quick) but it was his first game back so hopefully the only way here is up!
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 25, 2012, 11:28:36 AM
Sukkerman, he is a defensive liability, dais not why he dey, the defense has to assist, he cyar hold felton, but he culd probably hold Kidd, too ah dem geriatric alike.  Anyway, curious to see how we play NY in LA on xmas day, would be a good xmas present for de LA faithful. We still under 500  :frustrated:
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 05, 2013, 10:19:26 AM
Good local battle in Staples last night, CP3 was amazing, so was Benjamin Button, but defensively we still struggling, so one more for CP3 and company.  Jalen and Magic real rip into Mike at HT, going as far to say he's not even a good coach.  Wonder who would last longer, Mike or Raffa
Post by: Bakes on January 05, 2013, 01:48:18 PM
Police looking fuh CP3... when last seen he was abusing some chile in a Lakers jersey on national TV.  At one point I half-expected them to stop the game and check de court fuh moisture... he had Darius Morris skating so much.
Post by: soccerman on January 05, 2013, 05:19:48 PM
Time to get rid of Gasol, this man stesses me out too much....this man did not even show up last night, 2pts in 25 mins. There was one play in particular he got a pass below the basket and didn't even jump to lay it in, in fact I don't even know what he did but the ball didn't even hit the rim. This was a meaningful game and he was very nonchalant and passive, I need to see more effort from him. How about we trade him to the Knicks for Stoudemire  ;D

As for D'Antoni, don't even know what to say....pretty soon before the players publicly loose faith in him if we keep on going like this. Kobe already came out and said they're "too old" to be running up and down the court like jack rabbits. Plus Jamison came out and said he's unhappy riding pine, how this man is not is not playing given the current roster. Phil better hurry and get married to Jeanie and inherit the franchise from Jim Buss.

Post by: soccerman on January 05, 2013, 05:30:58 PM
Police looking fuh CP3... when last seen he was abusing some chile in a Lakers jersey on national TV.  At one point I half-expected them to stop the game and check de court fuh moisture... he had Darius Morris skating so much.

CP3 played a helluva game and yes gave Morris an ice skating lesson. The showdown between him an Kobe at the end was entertaining until Dwight picked up a silly foul by jumping in Paul with 1 sec left on the 24 sec shot clock under a min down by 2
I'll give him credit he's really orchestrating that offense and leading his team, he even took more shots than Kobe so he's doing everything
Post by: Bakes on January 05, 2013, 06:11:30 PM
Time to get rid of Gasol, this man stesses me out too much....this man did not even show up last night, 2pts in 25 mins. There was one play in particular he got a pass below the basket and didn't even jump to lay it in, in fact I don't even know what he did but the ball didn't even hit the rim. This was a meaningful game and he was very nonchalant and passive, I need to see more effort from him. How about we trade him to the Knicks for Stoudemire  ;D

As for D'Antoni, don't even know what to say....pretty soon before the players publicly loose faith in him if we keep on going like this. Kobe already came out and said they're "too old" to be running up and down the court like jack rabbits. Plus Jamison came out and said he's unhappy riding pine, how this man is not is not playing given the current roster. Phil better hurry and get married to Jeanie and inherit the franchise from Jim Buss.

So he could run it from Brooklyn?  ;D
Post by: soccerman on January 12, 2013, 01:43:55 PM
Don't worry Laker fans, our season starts tomorrow against the Cavs
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 12, 2013, 03:52:28 PM
a
ah tink last meetin cavs did cut allyuh ass.
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 12, 2013, 03:59:49 PM
a
ah tink last meetin cavs did cut allyuh ass.

:rotfl:  soccerman, we done for the year. Enjoy de season
Post by: Bakes on January 12, 2013, 05:09:44 PM
Fire Mike Brown!
Post by: AirMan on January 18, 2013, 04:58:11 AM
Miami just finished whipping Lakers and Kobe in LA  :D
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 18, 2013, 06:44:16 AM
like all yuh self, only one way for us to go after this season, reminiscent of the Del Harris days...
Post by: Bakes on January 18, 2013, 10:06:32 AM
Fire Mike Brown D'Antoni!
Post by: soccerman on January 18, 2013, 02:23:29 PM
Turnovers killed us last night and in the end cost us the game....esp with Nash, 4 dunks for the Heat for their first 8pts all off of turnovers.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 18, 2013, 10:17:07 PM
coconut turnovers u talkin bout.
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 19, 2013, 08:36:20 AM
 :rotfl:  capo, yuh like shit eh
Post by: soccerman on January 19, 2013, 11:42:58 AM
coconut turnovers u talkin bout.
How you mean...and if we continue at this rate we could open ah bakery.
Post by: maxg on January 19, 2013, 01:39:40 PM
allyuh won't have to worry much, when allyuh come the Jurassic (or is that Geriatric, nah we young) centre tomorrow...
 we go start off in our lately typical Raptor fashion (srsrsrsrsrs....- cyah decide if we suppose to hiss or roar), ripping allyuh ah new hole...but by the 2nd qtr, we does get blood crazy, lose the plot, and when the final whistle blow..find out the hole we was ripping is we own  ::)
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 19, 2013, 04:01:23 PM
Somebody translate dat fuh meh nah
Post by: Bakes on January 19, 2013, 06:28:17 PM

He mean doh worry, allyuh will get healthy against de Raptors.
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 19, 2013, 10:19:45 PM
Thanks Bakes, ah guess meh facetiousness tough to ketch
Post by: maxg on January 20, 2013, 12:25:41 PM
we does play good, but find ways to lose  >:(
Post by: maxg on January 20, 2013, 03:27:17 PM
 :o lakers have bigger problems than we yes, more expensive too
Post by: weary1969 on January 22, 2013, 12:03:08 PM
like all yuh self, only one way for us to go after this season, reminiscent of the Del Harris days...

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNN
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 23, 2013, 10:47:58 PM
Here nah, wha is we worse eva record?  Ah wonder if we on course to beat dat, who say we doh have nutten to play for dis season

Baby Buss runnin de franchise in de ground
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 23, 2013, 11:33:55 PM
Here nah, wha is we worse eva record?  Ah wonder if we on course to beat dat, who say we doh have nutten to play for dis season

Baby Buss runnin de franchise in de ground
season 1957-58   W19   L53   .264          coaches Kundla (10-23), Mikan (9-30)
Post by: Bakes on January 24, 2013, 12:48:47 AM
Kobe calling out Dwight... meanwhile word from a Laker fan pardna of mine (who was one leading the charge to fire Mike Brown) is that the rest of the team don't want to play with Kobe.  The end is near, lol
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 24, 2013, 06:46:11 AM
Kobe calling out Dwight... meanwhile word from a Laker fan pardna of mine (who was one leading the charge to fire Mike Brown) is that the rest of the team don't want to play with Kobe.  The end is near, lol

Dais 50% (or more) of it, de Buss family power tussle at wuk too.  Nice to have a big franchise as yuh playground, ask Abramo
Post by: weary1969 on February 18, 2013, 10:55:00 AM
Updated Feb 18, 2013 11:44 AM ET       
Los Angeles Lakers owner Jerry Buss has died after a battle with cancer.

Buss, 79, had been hospitalized and had not attended any games this season after being a fixture in his luxury suite halfway up the arena behind the Lakers' bench. He maintained an extremely low public profile last year, emerging briefly to release a complimentary statement about Derek Fisher when the longtime Lakers guard was traded in a rare cost-cutting move in March.

Kobe Bryant, Pau Gasol, Shaquille O'Neal, Magic Johnson and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar all visited Buss in the hospital at various stages after finding out about his condition, which was diagnosed at an unknown point last year.

Buss had been in the hospital numerous times the past two years. He underwent an undisclosed surgery last August and was admitted a month earlier for what the team called dehydration. He also was hospitalized in December 2011 for blood clots in his leg caused by excessive travel, according to the team.

Over the years, Buss gradually handed more power to his daughter Jeanie, in charge of the business side of the team, and son Jim, who oversees basketball operations.

Before his most recent medical issues, Buss continued to take part in decision making for the Lakers.

Buss weighed in on the hiring of Coach Mike D'Antoni in November and, a few months before that, was eager to meet Dwight Howard and Steve Nash, high-profile Lakers additions who visited him separately after being acquired.

"I just know how much he loved the game," said Clippers forward Lamar Odom, who won two championships in seven years with the Lakers, when he learned of Buss' declining health. "I know how much he put into it, whether it was traveling with us or just his effort that he put into us winning. He was the best. He was always close to his team and his players. It's tough to hear about that."

OWN UP TO IT
Franchise success or failure often can be traced to the top. We rank the five best and five worst NBA owners.
Buss received a doctorate in physical chemistry from USC, but it was a $1,000 investment in a Los Angeles apartment building that ultimately sparked a career in real-estate investment.

In 1979, Buss bought the Lakers from Jack Kent Cooke, along with the Forum, the NHL's Kings (which he later sold), and a ranch in the Sierra Nevada for a total of $67.5 million.

The Lakers franchise, buoyed by a lucrative TV deal with Time Warner Cable, was recently valued at $1 billion by Forbes magazine. Only one other NBA franchise, the New York Knicks, was deemed more valuable.

The Lakers have won 10 NBA championships since Buss purchased the team and 16 overall, one behind the Boston Celtics.

They are continually among the top-spending teams in player salary, and this season is no different. They have a $100-million payroll, the NBA's highest, and face luxury-tax penalties of another $30 million in an overwhelmingly disappointing season so far.

"When it comes down to it, Dr. Buss is a competitor," Lakers General Manager Mitch Kupchak said when Howard was acquired in a four-team trade in August. "And when it comes down to a decision about making a couple of dollars or a million dollars or $10 million or putting another banner up, he can't help himself. He chooses to go for the banner."

The Associated Press and Los Angeles Times contributed to this report.

Post by: 100% Barataria on February 18, 2013, 01:36:51 PM
 :salute:

RIP Senior Buss
Post by: Bakes on February 18, 2013, 06:49:43 PM
:salute:

RIP Senior Buss

Big loss for the Laker faithful.  I obviously didn't know him personally, but nothing but good things being said about him by former players and associates.  Turned a $1,000 dollar investment into some apartment complexes into a real estate empire, according to ESPN.  Bought the Lakers, the LA Kings and the Great Western Forum (precursor to the Staples Center for those who remember the Showtime Lakers of the 80s... when I was a fan) for $62 million.  What an investment it turned out to be.
Post by: soccerman on February 18, 2013, 10:58:45 PM
One of the greatest owners in team sports history!!!
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 09, 2013, 12:26:23 AM
Laker faithful, amazing 4th qtr and OT vs TO at Staples, Benjamin put down some amazing plays, including back to back 3's to send into OT.  Now we 1/2 game away from the 8th spot.  So question, we making the playoffs?  Tough final schedule, I think 8 of the last 10 on the road...
Post by: soccerman on March 09, 2013, 01:21:57 PM
Laker faithful, amazing 4th qtr and OT vs TO at Staples, Benjamin put down some amazing plays, including back to back 3's to send into OT.  Now we 1/2 game away from the 8th spot.  So question, we making the playoffs?  Tough final schedule, I think 8 of the last 10 on the road...
We're making a run for the 6th spot...
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 10, 2013, 09:13:20 PM
In 8th spot now, hope you are right, spurs 1st round would not be good
Post by: weary1969 on March 10, 2013, 09:19:30 PM

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNNN
Post by: soccerman on March 10, 2013, 10:03:47 PM

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNNN

Niether OKC
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 13, 2013, 09:58:39 PM
ah hear kobe break he ankle,he out fuh 6 months. :joker:
Post by: soccerman on March 14, 2013, 07:45:29 AM
Kobe will be back soon, some iodex and advil and he'll be good to go
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 14, 2013, 01:47:28 PM
he go have plenty time to rub them ankles and finger he ass......they aint makin playoffs.
Post by: futbolfan on March 14, 2013, 02:30:07 PM
Kobe will be back soon, some iodex and advil and he'll be good to go

Stupesss.....Dwight Howard and he injury prone self rubbing off on Kobe...
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 14, 2013, 07:29:18 PM
he go have plenty time to rub them ankles and finger he ass......they aint makin playoffs.

dais not a qu no more, only qu is what seed.
Post by: soccerman on March 15, 2013, 05:48:30 PM
Kobe started tonight...tru warrior!
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 15, 2013, 08:07:39 PM
Only play de 1st qtr tonite and we still pull thru at Indiana.  I fully expect him to play on Sunday and next week de Spaniard back.  Hopefully he spent some time in south central recovering from injury
Post by: davyjenny1 on March 31, 2013, 04:42:46 PM
What an achievement another Laker                              Kobe ( The Black Mamba) Bryant
is fourth on all time NBA scoring list. Next milestone is to pass Michael Jordan. I am saying with pride.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_National_Basketball_Association_career_scoring_leaders
Post by: soccerman on April 11, 2013, 02:58:11 PM
Who say we making de playoffs??? And watch capo come wid some shit lol
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 11, 2013, 09:38:05 PM
cyar stop we.  "hey Lebron, have you seen my 5 championship rings, lol"
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 12, 2013, 10:35:00 PM
cyar stop we.  "hey Lebron, have you seen my 5 championship rings, lol"
he have 2 de first 3 is shaq's own
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 13, 2013, 12:40:42 AM
D'antoni so Desperate to win and prove everybody wrong, he ran the classic benz into the ground and blew up the engine.
 :pissedoff: :'( :frustrated: :cursing: :( >:( :bs: :banginghead:
Post by: futbolfan on April 13, 2013, 02:08:18 AM
I Hope that it is nothing serious, because to lose him now would be travesty to both the Lakers and the NBA.
Post by: giggsy11 on April 13, 2013, 09:49:18 AM
I Hope that it is nothing serious, because to lose him now would be travesty to both the Lakers and the NBA.

Achilles-possibly season and career ending.
Post by: soccerman on April 13, 2013, 10:01:07 AM

Achilles-possibly season and career ending.

Yup....it looks like he could be out till sometime next season from by all accounts. Lakers couldn't get a break this season, someone is always getting hurt.
Post by: weary1969 on April 13, 2013, 07:11:17 PM
ABC7

Kobe Bryant underwent surgery today on his torn Achilles tendon, ending the season for the LA Lakers star.

The 34-year-old star took to Facebook early today to vent his frustration over the injury:

"Do I have the consistent will to overcome this thing? Maybe I should break out the rocking chair and reminisce on the career that was. Maybe this is how my book ends. Maybe Father Time has defeated me… Then again maybe not!"

Teammates and coaches say Bryant is determined to return quickly from the biggest injury of his career.

ABC7 reporter Amy Powell will be live in downtown Los Angeles with reactions from fans on Eyewitness News at 4pm.

Post by: D.H.W on April 13, 2013, 08:31:46 PM
He done. I would not risk playing on that again at his age. But say what im not a doctor.
Post by: giggsy11 on April 13, 2013, 09:01:04 PM
From what I have heard it is a difficult injury for a basketball player to comeback from, especially an older player.  Kobe have an old arse body, lot of wear and tear!
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 14, 2013, 12:48:11 AM
well well well,this is how de cookie crumble...no more bball fuh kobe.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 14, 2013, 07:28:18 PM
he'll be back next season, now whether or not that makes sense is up to debate.  But rest assured he'll be back, barring some life changing/mirage appearing experience and no, this injury does not really qualify as life changing (for this guy)
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 15, 2013, 05:06:38 AM
Wow, we beat Spurs w/o KB yes, truly shocked, well done lads
Post by: weary1969 on April 15, 2013, 10:58:09 AM
Wow, we beat Spurs w/o KB yes, truly shocked, well done lads

You eh hear the threat Magic made against d big fella who should have remained in Orlando. he say take us to the playoffs and we will give u d big contract. Howard a total waste. Take us to the playoffs but still show him him the door.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 17, 2013, 08:59:40 PM
Jazz, lose, no matter what happens tonight against Houston we lock up de 8th seed.  If DH wants to be considered a franchise player he should really try and step up against the thunder.  You can smile off the court, on the court you need to be a beast, step up Dwight!

Edit: we beat Houston into 7th place, bring on SA
Post by: weary1969 on April 18, 2013, 01:15:01 PM
Jazz, lose, no matter what happens tonight against Houston we lock up de 8th seed.  If DH wants to be considered a franchise player he should really try and step up against the thunder.  You can smile off the court, on the court you need to be a beast, step up Dwight!

Edit: we beat Houston into 7th place, bring on SA

April 18, 2013, 9:19am

Lakers Coach Mike D'Antoni will be back next season, General Manager Mitch Kupchak said Wednesday.

"Yeah, he's back. I think he's done a great job," Kupchak told The Los Angeles Times. "There's been no discussions otherwise.

"He's made adjustments. He's been flexible. He's evaluated how he coaches as the season's progressed. He's listened to the players. He's very easy to work with and we think in particular since the meeting the day of the Memphis game, yeah."

D'Antoni is 40-32 since taking over as the Lakers' coach, though the Lakers are 28-12 since the day after a team meeting called by D'Antoni in Memphis in January.

D'Antoni, 61, has two more guaranteed years for a total of $8 million. The Lakers also owe former coach Mike Brown about $6 million over the next two years. Brown was fired five games into this season.

The Lakers have remained patient with D'Antoni.

"Much has been made of the injuries, and the coaching change [in November] and no training camp, which is certainly a part of it," Kupchak said of their up-and-down season.

"It takes a while. You're in New York coaching and you see the Lakers once or twice a year, you don't know the personnel. And the injury situation when he got here, Steve Nash had the broken leg. There's just too much going on to really look at it any other way."

D'Antoni resigned from the New York Knicks toward the end of last season.

Kobe odds
Gambling website Bovada doesn't think Kobe Bryant will return in time for the Lakers' season opener in the fall.

The site was offering 3-to-1 odds he would be back in time and 1-to-5 odds he would not return for the season opener, which usually occurs near Oct. 31.

Bryant is out at least six to nine months because of a torn left Achilles' tendon.

Bovada also established two interesting over-unders for Bryant next season — games played (54.5) and scoring average (22.5). He played 78 games this season and averaged 27.3 points.

-Mike Bresnahan

Post by: soccerman on April 20, 2013, 01:41:35 PM
We make de 7th seed vs the Spurs :whew: Stand a better chance than playing OKC
Post by: futbolfan on July 05, 2013, 06:56:00 AM
Things possibly getting from bad to wusss....
If Howard leaves and all signs point to him departing, who will LA depend on until Kobe gets healthy....
Also, this maybe the first time that I recall in Laker history, that a superstar is bolting from the Staples Center to ply his trade elsewhere.
Post by: weary1969 on July 05, 2013, 08:00:40 AM
If Howard leaves and all signs point to him departing, who will LA depend on until Kobe gets healthy....
Also, this maybe the first time that I recall in Laker history, that a superstar is bolting from the Staples Center to ply his trade elsewhere.

Superstar is really a misused word.
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 05, 2013, 09:08:59 AM
Fuh real, Dwight has immense talent but is yet to realize his potential. Seems mental to me
Post by: futbolfan on July 05, 2013, 10:32:20 AM
Fuh real, Dwight has immense talent but is yet to realize his potential. Seems mental to me
Totally agree...He supposedly slighted because Kobe want to teach him how to win...Stupesssss
Post by: Dutty on July 05, 2013, 10:34:23 AM

Oh gorm, you and weary face de truth nah....is de poison in de lakers dat killin de vibes :devil:

So far de poison run:
Shaq
He Parents
Mailman Malone
Howard
De aussie swimmer
All future championships banners
Post by: futbolfan on July 05, 2013, 10:35:12 AM

I think you still upset because yuh Celtics had a fire sale... ;D
Post by: soccerman on July 05, 2013, 11:25:17 AM

Oh gorm, you and weary face de truth nah....is de poison in de lakers dat killin de vibes :devil:

So far de poison run:
Shaq
He Parents
Mailman Malone
Howard
De aussie swimmer
All future championships banners
???
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 05, 2013, 03:52:32 PM
Dutty is kix oui  :rotfl:  Dutty, yuh have to stop eating de stale crix, it startin to affect yuh ability to construct arguments  ;D
Post by: soccerman on July 05, 2013, 04:51:51 PM

He's off to the Rockets :peace:
Post by: Bakes on July 05, 2013, 05:33:57 PM
Totally agree...He supposedly slighted because Kobe want to teach him how to win...Stupesssss

Who wouldn't?  Personally I woulda tell Kobe about ten different ways to go fack himself.  Can Kobe teach him a better offensive system than D'Antoni's?  Can he teach him how to help his teammates play better?  Can he teach him how to heal his right shoulder?
Post by: weary1969 on July 05, 2013, 09:31:13 PM

NAH I just sic of Howard a man have 5 rings and he say he want 2 teach u how 2 win and u upset then go Houston and win the championship. I never wanted him in LA so I eh crying he gone GOOD RIDDANCE
Post by: futbolfan on July 06, 2013, 04:33:29 AM

Who wouldn't?  Personally I woulda tell Kobe about ten different ways to go fack himself.  Can Kobe teach him a better offensive system than D'Antoni's?  Can he teach him how to help his teammates play better?  Can he teach him how to heal his right shoulder?

LoL...Kobe is not one to mince words, so I understand what he is trying to say but with his usual arrogance, it just come out bad.
I think D'Antoni had a big part in his decision because his offense is not 'big man' friendly. But if he went to the owners and ask for D'Antoni's removal, he would have had the coach killer stigma attached to his name.
Post by: futbolfan on July 06, 2013, 04:34:41 AM

NAH I just sic of Howard a man have 5 rings and he say he want 2 teach u how 2 win and u upset then go Houston and win the championship. I never wanted him in LA so I eh crying he gone GOOD RIDDANCE

Kobe's intentions were sincere but the delivery was poor.
Post by: Deeks on July 06, 2013, 05:34:18 AM
Lord if that was Labron, the press would have killed him. Howard remind me of Dion Sanders, Terrell Owens, Ochocinco.  But look the was not happy at LA and he bolt. LA don't have what it takes to keep him there. Maybe he will find his true "love" in Houston. Man that will be action in the West next season.
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 06, 2013, 06:11:48 PM
As far back as i can remember within recent times all big men that went to the Rockets end up under-performing and fade away.
Post by: Bakes on July 06, 2013, 07:38:17 PM
As far back as i can remember within recent times all big men that went to the Rockets end up under-performing and fade away.

A curious comment.  First off there haven't been that many big men of note... secondly those who went to Houston who were of note actually played well:  Yao Ming, Dikembe Mutombo (as Yao's backup), Omer Asik last season... setting career highs in every category but FG %.  Maybe you meant the Comets...
Post by: futbolfan on July 17, 2013, 11:50:53 AM
Lakers eyeing Melo, LeBron

The Los Angeles Lakers, whose plan to re-sign center Dwight Howard did not pan out this offseason, are poised to rebuild fast by focusing on the two biggest free agents of 2014 -- LeBron James and Carmelo Anthony, front-office sources have told ESPN.

Nathaniel S. Butler/Getty ImagesThe Lakers would be able to immediately rebuild by adding LeBron James, left, and Carmelo Anthony in the same free-agent haul in 2014.

Opinions are split on whether the Lakers can actually land James or Anthony, with one source calling it "realistic" and another saying it was "far-fetched at this point." Nonetheless, the Lakers have made it clear they are positioning themselves for a run at one and perhaps even two of the superstars who could become free agents in 2014 by refusing to commit to any contract past this next season, multiple sources have said.

Dwyane Wade, Amare Stoudemire and Chris Bosh also have early-termination options on the five-year deals they signed in the summer of 2010. Luol Deng, Danny Granger, Andrew Bogut and Dirk Nowitzki will be unrestricted free agents next summer.

James, of course, is the biggest prize. But unlike in 2009, when James' free-agency options the following summer were on his mind, sources have told ESPN that James isn't even considering his 2014 decision yet.

"It's all wishful thinking at this point," a league source with knowledge of the situation told ESPN. "Teams are doing more wishing than LeBron is wanting right now.

"It's not about where LeBron wants to go [to win]. He already has two rings. If LeBron moved to Reno, teams would come to him."

Anthony's plans also remain unclear for next summer, but one source close to the situation told ESPN that it would "make sense" for him to exercise the early-termination option on his contract after next season to become a free agent and secure either a four- or five-year extension.

Basking in the glow of a second title, James recently completed a Nike camp in Las Vegas and has a promotional tour planned to the Philippines and China. Then he will turn his focus to his wedding, which is planned for September in San Diego.

More on the Lakers

For more news, notes and analysis of the Lakers, check out the Lakers Index. Blog

James likely will not seriously look at his choices until the end of next season. At that time, he is expected to use the same guiding principles as he did back in 2010: the talent on the prospective rosters and the chances they can lead to multiple chances at championships. Three years ago, teams chasing James like the New York Knicks and the then-New Jersey Nets were pitching the idea of pairing him with a second star.

The Heat ultimately won James' services largely because they were the only team that was able to put him next to two stars with Wade and Bosh. James likely would be looking for a similar set of circumstances, which is why he's currently happy in Miami.

That makes it a challenge to handicap the Lakers' chances because their roster after this season is mostly a blank slate at this point. There's nothing to sell to James yet. Not even Kobe Bryant, who is in the final year of his contract, is guaranteed to be in the fold.

Bryant told ESPN last week that said that he wants to play at least two or three more seasons, but since there have not yet been any extension talks with the Lakers as he recovers from a ruptured Achilles tendon, it's pointless to talk about what he'd be willing to play for.

Bryant will be the highest-paid player in the league next season with a $30.5 million salary. For the Lakers to maintain enough room to pursue two max-level free agents, he'd need to play for quite a bit less.

"As a businessman the goal is always to not take a pay cut," Bryant said. "But ..."

Bryant told ESPNLosAngeles.com's Dave McMenamin last week that he intends to be involved in the Lakers' recruiting efforts for 2014 and is looped into the team's decision-making.

"It's an open conversation, via text and also meeting in person and just picking up the phone and calling," Bryant said of his involvement. "They've kept me in the loop pretty well."

If Howard had re-signed with the Lakers, the team would have had room to make a run at only one player next summer and sign him to a maximum-level contract. Now that he's gone, the Lakers have only Steve Nash ($9.7 million) and Robert Sacre ($915,243) on the books for 2014-15, leaving them with enough space to make a run at two max-level players.

The new collective bargaining agreement would allow the Lakers to waive Nash in the final year of his contract and "stretch" that $9.7 million out over three years, meaning only $3.2 million would count against their 2014-15 salary cap. So even if Bryant extends his contract for another couple of seasons, at between $10-15 million per season, the Lakers still theoretically would have enough room to pursue two max-level players.

ESPN.com
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 17, 2013, 03:28:57 PM
Why would Lebron leave Miami?  Also cannot see him meshing well w/KB, mainly b/c of KB.  I think Melo and KB would mesh well though given their relationship.  Next year is real sour grapes fuh LA w/o landing some big names though
Post by: weary1969 on July 18, 2013, 10:23:23 AM
Why would Lebron leave Miami?  Also cannot see him meshing well w/KB, mainly b/c of KB.  I think Melo and KB would mesh well though given their relationship.  Next year is real sour grapes fuh LA w/o landing some big names though

I nearly gave up my membership card when d Mailman became a Laker like they want me 2 Burn it if Lebron become a laker. I know is a wilderness period I willing to go through it.
Post by: soccerman on July 18, 2013, 11:30:59 AM
I seriously doubt lebron or even Carmelo will join the Lakers next year. I say we shouldn't put in a significant amout of effort into those two and start looking at other free agents.
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 18, 2013, 01:17:10 PM
Del Harris ghost strikes again
Post by: soccerman on July 18, 2013, 01:24:24 PM
If everyone's healthy this year (when Kobe comes back) we can still be a decent team with the signings this summer of Nick Young, Jordan farmer and Chris Kaman. I think we can be competitive not in the top 3 but we can be a 5 seed or so.
Post by: weary1969 on July 20, 2013, 08:10:30 AM
Del Harris ghost strikes again

Post by: capodetutticapi on October 27, 2013, 10:24:21 AM
look like black mamba go b makin he debut bout xmas time........lakers go b lucky if they make playoffs this season.
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 27, 2013, 12:11:19 PM
look like black mamba go b makin he debut bout xmas time........lakers go b lucky if they make playoffs this season.

:violin:
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 25, 2013, 08:52:18 AM
like d'antoni starting to go senile.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 25, 2013, 10:19:06 AM
Only Del Harris has him beat
Post by: soccerman on December 31, 2013, 11:18:24 AM
Ah seeing a new trade report for Gasol, sending him to Cleveland for Bynum. Bynum is currently banned by the Cavs from all team activities.
Post by: weary1969 on January 02, 2014, 06:22:46 PM
Ah seeing a new trade report for Gasol, sending him to Cleveland for Bynum. Bynum is currently banned by the Cavs from all team activities.

Bynum a total waste
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 10, 2014, 03:44:36 PM
In a season w/little +ves, I'll take this one  :beermug:

http://blog.lakers.com/lakers/2014/03/10/meeks-career-day-leads-lakers-to-victory/
Post by: soccerman on March 10, 2014, 09:39:40 PM
In a season w/little +ves, I'll take this one  :beermug:

http://blog.lakers.com/lakers/2014/03/10/meeks-career-day-leads-lakers-to-victory/

Another potential + from this season is we will get a high draft pick :beermug:
Post by: soccerman on May 01, 2014, 10:35:42 PM
Aaaaaamen, aaaaaamen, aaaaaaamen, amen, amen....everybody sing :applause:
Post by: weary1969 on May 02, 2014, 09:15:59 AM

In Madea's voice HALLEUJAHHHHHH. D man have time resign b4 they give him d axe.
Post by: soccerman on May 02, 2014, 11:06:18 AM

In Madea's voice HALLEUJAHHHHHH. D man have time resign b4 they give him d axe.

Smart move by him!! I wonder who we'll get though....I'm praying Doc Rivers jump ship and come to the good side of LA :praying:
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 16, 2015, 07:53:57 AM
Following wha going on with Lamar, hope he pull through
Post by: Deeks on October 16, 2015, 10:47:35 AM

Real sad. Hopes he pulls through.
Post by: soccerman on October 16, 2015, 11:07:05 AM

Real sad. Hopes he pulls through.

That man has been in a state of depression ever since the Lakers let him go, I knew he had a rough upbringing but sad to see him like this. I too hopes he pulls through.
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 05, 2016, 04:15:57 PM
2nd worse record so far.....looks like Kobe beef will be goin fishing early this year.
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 05, 2016, 06:28:06 PM
2nd worse record so far.....looks like Kobe beef will be goin fishing early this year.

Wha vibes capo? Right now we like de WI test and one day teams, we rebuilding  ;D
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 06, 2016, 11:05:49 PM
Xmas come and gone,we ain't even knock a glass.
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 07, 2016, 09:48:48 AM
Xmas come and gone,we ain't even knock a glass.

Wuz dat one, leh we make de Russian flex  ;D. Will organize a link wid yuh, look out for meh sms

Post by: weary1969 on March 03, 2016, 01:30:47 PM

Wha vibes capo? Right now we like de WI test and one day teams, we rebuilding  ;D

Once we eh turning the corner for over 20 years.
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 03, 2016, 06:01:29 PM
Doh study capo, we cut bklyn backside 2 nights ago  ;D
Post by: weary1969 on March 08, 2016, 02:04:12 PM
Doh study capo, we cut bklyn backside 2 nights ago  ;D

Post by: weary1969 on April 13, 2016, 09:20:11 AM
Kobe thanks for the 5 rings.
Post by: soccerman on April 13, 2016, 09:23:18 AM
5 rings and 20 seasons....not a bad career at all.
Post by: weary1969 on April 13, 2016, 10:52:34 AM

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNN
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 13, 2016, 05:46:21 PM

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNN

:applause: :notworthy:
Post by: weary1969 on April 13, 2016, 11:00:49 PM
That is how you go out 17 straight points and an assist.
Post by: soccerman on April 13, 2016, 11:13:28 PM
60 point game to end the chapter .....all guns blazing :flamethrower:
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 13, 2016, 11:50:51 PM
 Mamba thrilled fans on his last game at the Staples tonight, what a way to end a successful career there were nothing like it ever in the history of the NBA.
60 points; mamba out!!  :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :cheers:  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

:whip:       :whip:      :whistling: :whistling: :whistling: :whistling:
Post by: royal on April 14, 2016, 05:28:24 AM
Not with a whimper but a bang: Kobe lights up for 60 in finale

LOS ANGELES -- Drenched in sweat, Kobe Bryant wrapped his arms around his head coach and teammates, one by one, then the dozens of former teammates that gathered nearby.

The Los Angeles Lakers icon took the microphone after a masterpiece performance in his final NBA game, and, standing at midcourt, Bryant addressed a sold-out Staples Center crowd that was on its feet.

“Man!” Bryant said after scoring 60 points in a 101-96 win over the Utah Jazz on Wednesday to close out his storied 20-season NBA career, all with the Lakers.

“You know, I can’t believe how fast 20 years went by. This is crazy. This is absolutely crazy.”
Harry How/Getty Images

Bryant gave the fans quite a show for his curtain call. He scored his most points since Feb. 2, 2009, when he scored 61 points against the New York Knicks at Madison Square Garden.

It was the sixth time the five-time champion has scored 60 or more points in an NBA game, this time setting a career-high for field-goal attempts, surpassing his previous high of 47 in a 2002 overtime loss to the Celtics in Boston.

He scored 15 of his team’s final 17 points, including a go-ahead jumper with 31.6 seconds left. And with 14 seconds left, like Michael Jordan, Bryant's final two career points came at the free throw line.

At the end of a memorable night filled with video tributes, endless cheers and standing ovations, Bryant told the fans that he appreciated how they stuck by him through ups and downs in his career. He told them how much it meant to only play for the Lakers, the team he loved ever since childhood.

“To be drafted and then traded to this organization and then to spend 20 years here, you can’t write something better than this,” Bryant said. “All I can do here is thank you guys. This has been absolutely beautiful. I can’t believe this comes to an end.”

“No words can describe how I feel about you guys. Thank you, thank you from the bottom of my heart. God, I love you guys.”

Bryant thanked his wife and two daughters before turning back to the crowd.

“What can I say?” Bryant said with a huge smile. “Mamba out.”

http://espn.go.com/video/clip?id=espn:15201150

(http://a.espncdn.com/combiner/i?img=%2Fphoto%2F2016%2F0413%2Fr73793_1296x729_16%2D9.jpg&w=570)
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 14, 2016, 04:29:34 PM
Mamba out!

Nice man, wonderful   :beermug:

Hey capo?
Post by: weary1969 on April 14, 2016, 10:01:32 PM
Mamba out!

Hey capo?

Mixing Haterade and sharing with some of the  ESPN Analysts.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 15, 2016, 05:44:19 AM
Mamba out!

Hey capo?

:rotfl:  could see Capo in a one on one w/Steven A Smith  :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on April 15, 2016, 09:59:32 AM
Mamba out!

Hey capo?

:rotfl:  could see Capo in a one on one w/Steven A Smith  :beermug:

Post by: Controversial on May 19, 2016, 06:31:50 PM
De roZen is coming... You heard it here first..
Post by: soccerman on May 20, 2016, 08:34:42 AM
De roZen is coming... You heard it here first..
Yes De Rozen is a prospect but I have a feeling Lakers may try to see if Klay Thompson becomes available first because the warriors could consider making a move for Durant.
Post by: weary1969 on May 20, 2016, 10:10:17 AM
Nope leave Durant at OKC. We will take Klay so his papa can see him in the Lakers colours
Post by: soccerman on May 20, 2016, 11:13:55 AM
Nope leave Durant at OKC. We will take Klay so his papa can see him in the Lakers colours
And he have a relationship with Luke Walton....but we'll see, just all speculation now.
Post by: weary1969 on May 23, 2016, 09:13:45 PM
And he have a relationship with Luke Walton....but we'll see, just all speculation now.

Yep Brian Shaw to join Luke.
Post by: soccerman on May 23, 2016, 09:36:58 PM

Yep Brian Shaw to join Luke.
Post by: royal on November 05, 2016, 12:55:03 PM
Lakers stun Warriors 117-97, end Steph's 3-point streak

http://www.nba.com/games/20161104/GSWLAL#/recap
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 06, 2016, 06:17:25 AM
When the la la hits yuh!
Post by: royal on November 07, 2016, 01:52:11 PM
Luke Walton praises the Lakers’ maturity after win over Suns

http://www.silverscreenandroll.com/2016/11/7/13548568/la-lakers-news-luke-walton-julius-randle-byron-scott-maturity-phoenix-suns-recap-podcast
Title: Lebron to Lakers
Post by: Sando prince on July 01, 2018, 07:22:37 PM

$154M over 4 years

I will see this as a good move only if the Lakers is going to bring star players around him to be an immediate championship contending team.

Otherwise its just a move for money
Title: Re: Lebron to Lakers
Post by: royal on July 02, 2018, 07:59:47 AM

$154M over 4 years

I will see this as a good move only if the Lakers is going to bring star players around him to be an immediate championship contending team.

Otherwise its just a move for money

Although Lebron is about winning I think this move is also about his post basketball life because he could have chosen Philly also.   
Post by: royal on July 02, 2018, 08:59:45 AM
In 20 minutes after Lebron's confirmation , the lowest Lakers season tickets being sold on StubHub went from $3,499 apiece to $5,800 apiece.
Post by: soccerman on July 02, 2018, 11:01:04 PM
Lakers also got Lance Stephenson, Javale MaGee and Rajon Rondo.

Warriors added DeMarcus Cousins (5 all stars)....just give GS the trophy
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 03, 2018, 05:22:57 AM
Back in business soccerman  :beermug:

One for you Weary!  RIP sistren
Post by: Sando prince on July 06, 2018, 09:58:25 AM
Boi ah wonder what Weary would say about this Lebron to Lakers move, ah remember how much she loved Lakers but disliked Lebron
Post by: soccerman on July 06, 2018, 09:20:38 PM
Boi ah wonder what Weary would say about this Lebron to Lakers move, ah remember how much she loved Lakers but disliked Lebron
True, LeBrick in LaLa Land...she would've supported everyone on the team except LeBron lol
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 08, 2018, 12:30:09 PM
Only weary could answer that one, I remember how she couldn't stand Pau, I used to say to her "I know he's a soft player but he coming into his own", she would say nah, lol.  RIP sistren, hoping we bring home a championship soon  :beermug:
Post by: royal on November 01, 2018, 05:26:42 AM
Inexperienced Lakers starting to wear on LeBron

Just seven games into the season, LeBron James is starting to run out of patience with the mistakes of his young Los Angeles Lakers teammates.

The Lakers are 2-5 following a 124-120 loss at Minnesota on Monday night and have given up an average of 122.3 points per game, 29th in the league. The Lakers haven't been able to keep opponents off the boards -- they surrendered 20 offensive rebounds to the Timberwolves -- nor have they been able to shut them down on crucial possessions.

"We talk about patience but you can't have reoccurrence of the same thing," James told reporters after the loss to the Timberwolves. "If you are doing the same things over and over and over and expecting the same result then that's insanity.

"So we have to get better. We can't keep having the same mistakes over and over."

When James left an aging Cleveland team behind and signed with the Lakers in free agency in the offseason, he acknowledged he was moving to a young team that he would need to nurture and teach. Already, though, he's grown tired of losing.

"You probably don't want to be around when my patience runs out," added James, who turns 34 in December. "I'm serious."

The Lakers' young core -- Brandon Ingram, Lonzo Ball and Kyle Kuzma -- has shown potential but James expects more from the Lakers.

"We got to figure it out," James said. "It is not one guy. We are all in this together, so, we got to figure it out. We got another one on Wednesday (against Dallas) on our home floor and we got to be really good."

For his part, James is ninth in the NBA in scoring, averaging 27.6 points per game. He is tied for third in minutes played with an average of 36.0.

--Field Level Media
Post by: soccerman on January 30, 2019, 02:39:57 PM
This Antony Davis saga causing real drama. If he end up on Lakers I feel it will cause some bacchanal similar to the Chris Paul trade.
Post by: royal on March 03, 2019, 06:58:58 PM
LeBron James, Lakers Suffer Disappointing 118-109 Loss to Last-Place Suns

The Los Angeles Lakers' season reached a new low point as they fell 118-109 to the NBA's worst team, the Phoenix Suns, on Saturday at Talking Stick Resort Arena in Phoenix.
https://bleacherreport.com/articles/2823197-lebron-james-lakers-suffer-disappointing-118-109-loss-to-last-place-suns?utm_source=cnn.com&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=editorial
Post by: soccerman on March 04, 2019, 02:39:46 PM

The Los Angeles Lakers' season reached a new low point as they fell 118-109 to the NBA's worst team, the Phoenix Suns, on Saturday at Talking Stick Resort Arena in Phoenix.
https://bleacherreport.com/articles/2823197-lebron-james-lakers-suffer-disappointing-118-109-loss-to-last-place-suns?utm_source=cnn.com&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=editorial
Don't look like playoffs is possible this year. Royal you're a basketball man, do you think LBJ and his team are affecting the young players on the team? Our future looks bright in 3-5 years but in order to keep James happy, they tried to get rid of 5 good young players and a 1st round draft pick to get Anthony Davis. Madness! Since that trade talk surfaced everything went in a downward spiral just as they were starting to gel.
Post by: royal on March 21, 2019, 10:49:19 PM

Don't look like playoffs is possible this year. Royal you're a basketball man, do you think LBJ and his team are affecting the young players on the team? Our future looks bright in 3-5 years but in order to keep James happy, they tried to get rid of 5 good young players and a 1st round draft pick to get Anthony Davis. Madness! Since that trade talk surfaced everything went in a downward spiral just as they were starting to gel.

Agreed. However they would get rid of Luke Walton.
Post by: davyjenny1 on December 08, 2019, 11:27:01 PM
What a difference a season makes. Basketball is back in Los Angeles something that the fans are accustomed to,through thick and thin they supported the team all the way and now... spring is gonna be exciting. Season record thus far is 21 wins and 3 losses.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 09, 2019, 10:50:11 AM
When the LA LA hits ya!  RIP Weary, laker sistren
Post by: asylumseeker on January 26, 2020, 01:42:54 PM
RIP Kobe.
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 26, 2020, 08:18:33 PM
Very Rough day for the Laker faithful, RIP Kobe and all those who lost their lives today
Post by: soccerman on January 27, 2020, 07:52:09 AM
My favorite athlete of all time! RIP Kobe, will always be a legend in my book.
RIP to Gianna and the other lives lost, heartbreaking.
Post by: royal on January 28, 2020, 07:59:03 PM
My favorite athlete of all time! RIP Kobe, will always be a legend in my book.
RIP to Gianna and the other lives lost, heartbreaking.

Very heart wrenching sooo sudden, makes you ask questions about life. Today you’re here tomorrow you’re gone. Life is like a vapor
Post by: Sando prince on January 29, 2020, 06:09:41 AM

RIP to a legend - Kobe Bryant
Post by: soccerman on February 24, 2020, 12:31:43 PM
Watching all these Kobe stories before his memorial today have me thinking (Laker bias aside), has there been an athlete to have such an impactful legacy worldwide after they've passed away like the way Kobe did? I'm actually surprised to see how many people were fans of his, I thought he had more haters. It's funny to see how many of them are still grieving and are still in shock up to this day, I thought it was just me.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 24, 2020, 07:38:32 PM
WATCH: Michael Jordan eulogizes Kobe Bryant like a boss.

https://www.youtube.com/v/y1zlbsG_wk8

Post by: soccerman on February 25, 2020, 07:48:05 AM
Credit to MJ for sure, pure class :applause:
I really hope the internet gives him a pass on this crying meme lol
Post by: davyjenny1 on October 12, 2020, 12:08:09 AM
****************************L.A.LAKERS 2020 NBA CHAMPS********************************
******************************ITS SHOWWW TIMEEE*************************************