Sports => What about Track & Field => Olympic Discussion => Topic started by: Bakes on July 26, 2012, 09:34:04 AM

Title: The Official London 2012 Olympics Thread
Post by: Bakes on July 26, 2012, 09:34:04 AM
(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2012/7/26/1343294269887/olympics2012_620x60.png)

I know we have several threads following the activities of TnT athletes at the games already, so this thread is not intended to detract from those other ones, but rather to serve as a repository for all other noteworthy Olympic news and results.
Title: Re: The Official London 2012 Olympics Thread
Post by: Bakes on July 26, 2012, 09:52:06 AM
London 2012: Greece expel triple jumper over racist Twitter remark

(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/SPORT/Pix/pictures/2012/7/25/1343231130931/Voula-Papachristou-008.jpg)

• Voula Papachristou expelled from London 2012 over tweet
• Triple jumper issued apology: 'I respect all people and races'
Guardian staff
guardian.co.uk, Wednesday 25 July 2012 11.46 EDT

Voula Papachristou has been expelled from the Greek Olympic team. Photograph: Str/AFP/Getty Images
The Greece Olympic team have expelled their triple jumper Voula Papachristou after she made a racist remark on Twitter, days before she was due to compete at London 2012.

Papachristou, 23, who was part of the 105-strong Greek team in London, had commented on the widely reported appearance of Nile-virus-carrying mosquitoes in Athens by tweeting: "With so many Africans in Greece, at least the mosquitoes of West Nile will eat homemade food." She subsequently deleted the message.

The comment provoked a furious reaction on Twitter, with responses including: "If you are serious, the Greek Olympic Team should put you on the first plane and send you back", and "Xenophobic comments from a Greek athlete in the Olympic mission are unacceptable. We are ashamed."

An announcement from the Greek Olympic Committee condemned the comment as "contrary to the values ​​and ideals of the Olympic movement".

Papachristou said in a statement: "I would like to express my heartfelt apologies for the unfortunate and tasteless joke I published on my personal Twitter account. I am very sorry and ashamed for the negative responses I triggered, since I never wanted to offend anyone, or to encroach human rights.

"My dream is connected to the Olympic Games and I could not possibly participate if I did not respect their values. Therefore, I could never believe in discrimination between human beings and races.

"I would like to apologise to all my friends and fellow athletes, who I may have insulted or shamed, the National Team, as well as the people and companies who support my athletic career. Finally, I would like to apologize to my coach and my family."

Papachristou's coach, George Pomaski, said the expulsion was unduly harsh. "It's too much, the penalty should not have been so strict. She has already apologised for her remarks.

"This is a big disappointment not only for her but for her family and for myself, and anyone involved in the Greek team."

© 2012 Guardian News and Media Limited or its affiliated companies. All rights reserved.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2012/jul/25/london-2012-greece-racist-twitter/print
Post by: pecan on July 26, 2012, 11:37:29 AM
ahmm  .. Bakes, yuh have permission to use the Olympic logo in this thread (or is that why you truncated the top of the logo?)  ;)

http://sports.nationalpost.com/2012/07/23/olympic-brand-police-out-in-full-force/

LONDON — As almost everyone in the world must know by now, there may not be enough guards to provide security for the 2012 London Olympics because of a planning and hiring fiasco.

Alas, there are no such concerns about the number of enforcement officers and lawyers charged with checking for violations of the Games’ oppressive brand protection regulations.

The Orwellian-sounding Olympic Deliverance Committee has 280 Olympic brand enforcers authorized by the government fanning across Britain this week to ensure nobody uses the five hallowed rings for any purpose unless they have paid a fortune to Olympic organizers to do so.

The London Organizing Committee (LOCOG) has a second team of zealots doing similar work on behalf of the rich and powerful.

Among the offences these sleuths are ferreting out under the Olympic Games Act (2006) are putting two of the words “games” “2012” “Twenty Twelve,” “gold,” “bronze” or “medal” in the same sentence.

Offenders could be on the hook for fines of more than $30,000.

Heck, there is even said to be a legal ban on spectators uploading personal photos of the London Games onto social networking sites such as Facebook.

Predictably, the British media, which has never seen an underdog it didn’t love, has been in high dudgeon over what it regards as a matter of free speech. The roundup by the authorities has so far implicated an 81-year-old grandmother of six from Norfolk who made a tiny sweater with the Olympics rings for a child’s doll that her knitting circle intended to sell through a church charity for $1.63.

Joy Tomkins was ordered to withdraw the offending doll from sale to avoid possible legal action.

Also at risk of being put in the docket is a south London cafe, which had the temerity to hang five bagels in its window. Community wardens ordered the offending bagels to be removed or legal action would follow.

(http://nationalpostsports.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/olympicbagels.jpg?w=620)

The parents of the Duchess of Cambridge — Kate Middleton, whose partner, Prince William, may one day rule Britannia — may have run afoul of the law, too. The Middletons’ potential offence was advertising trinkets such as mugs for sale on their catering website using the words “2012” and “Games.” The London Organizing Committee has launched an investigation.

Lord Coe, who as plain Seb Coe was once a world-class middle-distance runner, might be described as “the lord of the rings.”

http://www.london2012.com/documents/brand-guidelines/guidelines-for-non-commercial-use.pdf

Post by: Bakes on July 26, 2012, 12:31:21 PM
I not using it for personal or financial gain and all sources are attributed, so I good.
Post by: ribbit on July 27, 2012, 08:06:17 AM
wda??
==

Legally blind archer sets Games' first world records (http://news.yahoo.com/south-korean-archer-sets-olympics-first-world-record-110358925.html?_esi=1)

Legally blind archer Im Dong-Hyun set the first world record of the London Olympics on Friday and then added another as South Korea broke the team record.

In the men's preliminary round, held at the Lord's cricket ground, Im scored 699 points from 72 arrows to beat his own record of 696 set in May this year.

Along with Kim Bubmin and Oh Jin-Hyek he also helped register a 216-arrow total of 2,087 -- smashing the world record also set in Turkey in May by 18 points.

The 26-year-old Im from Chungbuk is legally blind in his left eye with 20/200 vision. That means he needs to be 10 times closer to see an object than someone with perfect 20/20 vision. His right eye has 20/100 vision.

He won team gold at the 2004 and 2008 Olympics to add to his four world titles and four Asian Games gold medals.

Despite his records, Im wasn't getting carried away, preferring to concentrate on the push for a gold medal when the competition resumes on Saturday.

"This is just the first round so I will not get too excited by it," he said.

South Korea coach Jang Young-Sool also warned his team against complacency ahead of the medals clash.

"We will have a day of rest now and prepare for tomorrow," said Jang.

Jang's fellow coach Oh Seon-Tek praised the performance of Kim Bubmin who had struggled in practice, but rasied his game on Friday.

"It was a surprise that Kim had done so great in the first half," said Oh.

"It was his first Olympics shooting so I expected some nervous breakdowns but he did a fantastic job for breaking his personal record.

"He didn't even do that good on the practice. I think the training on mind controls have worked with Kim."
Post by: Dutty on July 27, 2012, 09:38:11 AM
Maybe he have sonar
Post by: Bakes on July 27, 2012, 01:34:34 PM
Lol... legally blind doh mean he cyah see eh.  Ah think they could only see a certain distance... outside ah 25 feet yuh safe.
Post by: Dutty on July 27, 2012, 02:48:59 PM
Lol... legally blind doh mean he cyah see eh.  Ah think they could only see a certain distance... outside ah 25 feet yuh safe.

still,,is archery...yuh eyesight hadda be eagle good
Post by: Dutty on July 27, 2012, 02:52:05 PM
I watchin this openin ceremony dis ting REAL lackin.....someting or everyting oui
mr bean runnin in ah chariots of fire 'skit' is entertainment?

or maybe I comparin it to the opening show from china too much
Post by: dinho on July 27, 2012, 03:01:56 PM
I now come to post that I feel I was spoiled by the opening ceremony in China...

This production just too lacking in uniformity and complexity for me. No real wow moments or choreographed routines, alot of people just walking out in the melee.. My bro just pull up a skit from Beijing opening ceremony on youtube and is chalk and cheese.

Also, allyuh check the one token black man in every historical skit. The industrial revolution parts, wha ah black man doing dey?? How come it didn't have a token white man when they portray the West Indian immigrants coming to the UK?

Maybe my standards too high. That opening ceremony in China was truly a tribute to the human race.
Post by: Toppa on July 27, 2012, 05:32:27 PM
I now come to post that I feel I was spoiled by the opening ceremony in China...

This production just too lacking in uniformity and complexity for me. No real wow moments or choreographed routines, alot of people just walking out in the melee.. My bro just pull up a skit from Beijing opening ceremony on youtube and is chalk and cheese.

Also, allyuh check the one token black man in every historical skit. The industrial revolution parts, wha ah black man doing dey?? How come it didn't have a token white man when they portray the West Indian immigrants coming to the UK?

Maybe my standards too high. That opening ceremony in China was truly a tribute to the human race.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JsDY1Ha83M8&feature=colike
Post by: D.H.W on July 27, 2012, 07:27:05 PM
That was like watching paint dry
Post by: Deeks on July 27, 2012, 09:09:07 PM
oh gorm! Allyuh the The Brits ah break nah!!
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 27, 2012, 10:05:47 PM
Like watchin de english football team play ball
Post by: royal on July 28, 2012, 05:19:17 AM
Roger Daniel competes today
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 28, 2012, 11:48:02 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JsDY1Ha83M8&feature=colike

The NBC announcers were trying their best to rate the opening ceremony highly, although on the whole, its standard was nowhere near that of Beijing in 2008. In fairness though, China was always going to be a hard act to follow and the Chinese had something to prove, so they spared no expense.
Post by: Bakes on July 29, 2012, 01:42:18 PM
People spoiled by Beijing... yuh have tuh rate each on their own merits though.  Agree however that it was dry in stretches.  Loved the various pop culture references though, to wit: pop culture contributions made by the Brits.

Epic water polo match between the US and Montenegro just now.  Not much of a fan, kinda end up watching by default... but I always marvel at them men ability to tread water and rise above the surface, all without being allowed to touch the bottom of the pool.  Down to the wire...8-7 to the US, Montenegro had a chance to tie with :17 secs left.
Post by: AirMan on July 29, 2012, 01:55:40 PM
Ah want to see how good this kid really is...rooting for him to do well

http://myvoicetv.net/john-orozco-journey-from-the-bronx-to-training-for-gold/

Post by: Bakes on July 29, 2012, 02:14:40 PM

Yeah ah missed the gymnastics earlier today, but ah want to see him and the other Latino fella do well.
Post by: Peong on July 29, 2012, 09:29:16 PM
How dat Frenchman pass Lochte so easy?  Lochte look like he was goin backwards.
Post by: Bakes on July 29, 2012, 10:13:40 PM
Ah having ah hard time coordinating the viewing of the various events... steups.  Not really captivated by the swimming this time around, but still want to see Phelps do well.

Saw a bit of the women's gymnastics tonight... I keep forgetting how much I enjoy women's gymnastics.  I like the men's competition too, but I love watching these little ladies perform, their grace, bravery... and yes, athleticism... is really a pleasure sometimes.
Post by: Dutty on July 30, 2012, 03:13:04 PM
China killin in de pool

Phelps run real hoes in de off season or wha?

Why is racewalking still a sport?
Post by: D.H.W on July 30, 2012, 06:06:17 PM
Phelps old. And he forget to take his drugs
Post by: AirMan on July 30, 2012, 11:03:55 PM

Yeah ah missed the gymnastics earlier today, but ah want to see him and the other Latino fella do well.

Yeah well dem fellas disappoint..dem went from first to fifth
Post by: maxg on July 30, 2012, 11:25:22 PM
Couldn't find the Olympic bacchanal thread .."

Top athletes want cut of IOC billions as Richards-Ross leads protest

The wife of a multi-millionaire American footballer is leading a campaign to let athletes at Olympic Games share the marketing billions of dollars made by the International Olympic Committee.

Full Story:
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/olympics/article-2181241/London-2012-Olympics-S
Post by: pecan on July 31, 2012, 10:58:53 AM
I am sitting on the fence on this call ...

An Olympic Fencer Refuses To Leave The Floor

In the match that would decide who would fence for the gold, Germany's Britta Heidemann landed a match-clinching touch. But was it in time? South Korea's Shin A Lam didn't think so. So she refused to leave.

Video and commentary in this link

http://www.buzzfeed.com/ktlincoln/an-olympic-fencer-refuses-to-leave-the-floor-after (http://www.buzzfeed.com/ktlincoln/an-olympic-fencer-refuses-to-leave-the-floor-after)
Post by: JRtheWriter on July 31, 2012, 09:54:32 PM

In the match that would decide who would fence for the gold, Germany's Britta Heidemann landed a match-clinching touch. But was it in time? South Korea's Shin A Lam didn't think so. So she refused to leave.

http://www.buzzfeed.com/ktlincoln/an-olympic-fencer-refuses-to-leave-the-floor-after (http://www.buzzfeed.com/ktlincoln/an-olympic-fencer-refuses-to-leave-the-floor-after)

HA!!!!!!!! I see what you did there sir!  ;D
Post by: Bakes on August 01, 2012, 12:45:01 AM
Great women's gymnastics today... USA put a proper cut-ass on the field today.  Incredible vault by McKayla Maroney:

http://www.youtube.com/v/6RWS1i6p060
Post by: vb on August 01, 2012, 08:48:50 AM

Where exactly is that video?
Post by: dinho on August 01, 2012, 11:45:32 AM
Yo dey rheeeellll oppressing de black man in this gymnastics here dread. He had a bad pummel horse routine with errors and they bull de man with a 12. something score even though he stayed through to finish ... a next man clean fall off the horse and start over and get 13.6+..

Men falling off apparatus and getting 14s wdmc

Post by: Bakes on August 01, 2012, 02:57:12 PM
The American men pop dung as usual in gymnastics... but I haven't seen any of the performances yet.  Will try to get in in time to check them out tonight.
Post by: AirMan on August 01, 2012, 03:48:11 PM
..just read Michael Phelps is now the most decorated Olympian of ALL TIME...
Post by: Michael-j on August 01, 2012, 04:47:46 PM
The American men pop dung as usual in gymnastics... but I haven't seen any of the performances yet.  Will try to get in in time to check them out tonight.

A shame indeed...I was really rooting for Orozco though...
Post by: Bakes on August 01, 2012, 07:24:06 PM
..just read Michael Phelps is now the most decorated Olympian of ALL TIME...

Yeah man yuh late... 19 medals, most in Olympic history.
Post by: elan on August 01, 2012, 08:40:48 PM
How many individual gold has Phelps won this time around?
Post by: D.H.W on August 01, 2012, 08:55:07 PM
None
Post by: Bourbon on August 01, 2012, 11:17:40 PM
Yo dey rheeeellll oppressing de black man in this gymnastics here dread. He had a bad pummel horse routine with errors and they bull de man with a 12. something score even though he stayed through to finish ... a next man clean fall off the horse and start over and get 13.6+..

Thought it was just cynical me seeing that.
Post by: Bakes on August 02, 2012, 01:19:55 AM

Thought it was just cynical me seeing that.

Nah fellas... I just had a chance to check it out.  Now I eh go carry on like I is some kinda gymnastics expert, especially Men's Gymnastics.  But... listening to the American commentator explain it as it happened, Orozco had a dreadful Pommel Horse.  Near the end he made a mistake and end up improvising, which yuh can't do, yuh have to do the routine the judges expecting to see. 

Not only did he improvise, but in improvising he end up doing a scissor/flare (I forget which one they call it) and not a full circle which (according to the commentator) yuh have to do in order to do a dismount.  Without a full circle leading up to your final move there is no official "dismount".  Worse yet, in de midst of doing the dismount that wasn't a dismount, he end up pinning he pants leg against the horse with his left palm going into the handstand... forcing an awkward pause and re-adjustment on the fly. I don't think he could argue with the deductions.  As for how they score the falling off the horse thing.. that I don't know about.
Post by: JRtheWriter on August 02, 2012, 07:32:28 AM
George Bovell of Trinidad and Tobago qualified fastest in the 50 free, with defending champion Cesar Cielo of Brazil right behind.

Bovell touched in 21.77 seconds to win the sixth of eight heats in swimming's glamour event. The 29-year-old four-time Olympian is solely focused on the 50 at these games after winning his country's first swimming medal at the 2004 Athens Olympics in the 200 individual medley. The former Auburn swimmer once owned the 200 IM world record.

Let's GET EM!!!!!
http://espn.go.com/olympics/summer/2012/swimming/story/_/id/8225072/2012-london-olympics-george-bovell-cesar-cielo-top-two-50-meter-freestyle-preliminaries
Post by: dinho on August 02, 2012, 08:52:15 AM
Dread, even in a subsequent rotation when Orozco had the high bar... He put down a solid routine, i didn't see any faults and neither did the commentators... His dismount and landing was not perfect but just a slight hop.

I watching gymnastics whole day and everyone who did flawless routines with a slight stumble on landing was getting between 15.3 and 15.7.. I make ah joke and say, "watch and see, dey go give de black man 14.something"... Yuh know dey really give him a sour 14.96.

Not too long after that, the German fella on the same high bar miss the whole bar and fall flat on his face.. Get up, jump back on and finish his routine.. I make a next joke and say, "well ah guess he go get a 14.something too like the black man"... Yuh know the man get a 14.3 or something so.  ???

Maybe is me eh understand the scoring, but something seem real off about that to me.. Even the people i was watching it admit it.
Post by: elan on August 02, 2012, 11:28:18 AM
Ah find they playing down Gabby Douglas too.

They trying hard to push that Weiber girl........don't like her at all.
Post by: weary1969 on August 02, 2012, 12:58:18 PM

Nah she hair is d issue. If I was her I would say despite my bad hair day I am still d all around champ.
Post by: Bakes on August 02, 2012, 01:29:46 PM

Yuh doh like she why... because she white?  The girl is the reigning world champion, yuh expect them to play up Gabby Douglas ahead of her?  Besides, every interview I see involving the Women's team is Wieber and Douglas they interviewing.  I didn't even know Ross, Maroney and Raissman existed until the team finals.  Douglas has been getting a lot of play, almost as much as Wieber.

Anyways they eh go be downplaying Gabby... she just win the individual all around gold.
Post by: Bakes on August 02, 2012, 01:33:25 PM

Add the 200 IM medley to the tally...

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2012/aug/02/london-2012-olympics-swimming-finals-live
Post by: AirMan on August 02, 2012, 01:38:56 PM

He just win one so he is really doing it all..he is now on 20 medals
Post by: Bakes on August 02, 2012, 01:44:52 PM
Boxing again...

Olympic boxing: referee sent home after Satoshi Shimizu wins appeal

(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Sport/Pix/pictures/2012/8/2/1343895164195/Satoshi-Shimizu--008.jpg)

A boxing referee from Turkmenistan was expelled from the London Olympics on Thursday for his handling of a bout in which the result was overturned on appeal.

Boxing's governing body, AIBA, released a statement saying the referee Ishanguly Meretnyyazov "is on his way back home".

The AIBA also suspended the German referee Frank Scharmach for five days, for his decision to disqualify an Iranian heavyweight, and expelled the technical official Aghajan Abiyev of Azerbaijan.

"I deeply regret that we had to take these decisions," the AIBA president, CK Wu, said. "However, our main concern has been and will always be the protection of the integrity and fair play of our competitions. I will take all possible steps to reinforce this."

Both sanctioned referees made unusual decisions during Wednesday night's card.

In a bantamweight bout Magomed Abdulhamidov of Azerbaijan fell to the canvas six times in the third round against Satoshi Shimizu of Japan, yet still won a 22-17 decision.

Meretnyyazov allowed the fight to continue after each tumble and he enraged the Japanese team by fixing the headgear worn by Abdulhamidov, who had to be helped from the ring after winning.

AIBA overturned the result late on Wednesday night, saying Meretnyyazov should have counted at least three knockdowns and stopped the bout.

The Iranian heavyweight Ali Mazaheri was disqualified in his bout with Cuba's Jose Larduet after several warnings for holding from Scharmach, who finally waved off the fight midway through the second round.

The stoppage seemed quick to the booing crowd, and Mazaheri, who stood with his arms outstretched, eventually left the ring without shaking hands with Larduet or Scharmach. Mazaheri claimed the result was "a fix" and "a set-up".

Scharmach is suspended through Tuesday's Olympic fights but the disqualification stands.

The AIBA did not specify what Abiyev had done to earn expulsion, saying only that he had committed "a number of breaches" of its code of conduct.

International technical officials are not referees or judges but perform numerous duties around the ring during competition regarding everything from the draw to medical rulings and equipment management.
Post by: Bakes on August 02, 2012, 01:46:09 PM

...16 of which have now been Gold Medals.
Post by: vb on August 02, 2012, 02:24:06 PM

FAWWWWKKK!!!!

That man win more medals than TT in history.

Title: Re: Re: The Official London 2012 Olympics Thread
Post by: D.H.W on August 02, 2012, 02:28:17 PM

FAWWWWKKK!!!!

Lol
Post by: Bakes on August 02, 2012, 02:44:10 PM

FAWWWWKKK!!!!

Not just TnT... He has more gold medals than even Jamaica, with all their sprint success.

If Michael Phelps Were a Country How Would His Medal Haul Compare? (http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/datablog/2012/aug/01/if-michael-phelps-were-a-country?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter)
Post by: elan on August 02, 2012, 03:25:47 PM

Yuh doh like she why... because she white?  The girl is the reigning world champion, yuh expect them to play up Gabby Douglas ahead of her?  Besides, every interview I see involving the Women's team is Wieber and Douglas they interviewing.  I didn't even know Ross, Maroney and Raissman existed until the team finals.  Douglas has been getting a lot of play, almost as much as Wieber.

Anyways they eh go be downplaying Gabby... she just win the individual all around gold.

What white have to do with it?  She is a lil Bi@#h.......I watched her the night of the US trial and when Gabby was coming off the floor she was saying something mean about Gabby and hushed when the other girls turned away (Crap just sound like a lil biatch myself). Don't like her, rather Maroney.
Post by: Bakes on August 02, 2012, 05:10:33 PM

What white have to do with it?  She is a lil Bi@#h.......I watched her the night of the US trial and when Gabby was coming off the floor she was saying something mean about Gabby and hushed when the other girls turned away (Crap just sound like a lil biatch myself). Don't like her, rather Maroney.

How you know what she was saying?  How come it hasn't been picked up in the media (ah know, dey biased against Gabby too  ::))?  From all accounts they aren't best of friends, but are supportive of each other.  I'd be the first to say that I prefer Gabby and precisely because she black I supported her from jump... and over Wieber at the trials... but hating on Wieber fuh no reason is taking it to a next level, lol
Post by: STEUPS!! on August 02, 2012, 08:14:48 PM
(https://twitpic.com/show/large/aep171)

Washington Post

(https://twitpic.com/show/large/aer5z0)

I guess these two newspapers didnt have any photo with all five of them right ::). This was after the Team USA won gold. Where d fack Gabby is in these photos? Why couldnt they print a photo with her included. If that's not deliberate I dont know what is.
Post by: Peong on August 02, 2012, 10:02:59 PM

Washington Post

I guess these two newspapers didnt have any photo with all five of them right ::). This was after the Team USA won gold. Where d fack Gabby is in these photos? Why couldnt they print a photo with her included. If that's not deliberate I dont know what is.

Look Gabby Douglas on the left facing the other direction, along with the coach.  Track pants.
Post by: elan on August 02, 2012, 10:24:23 PM

How you know what she was saying?  How come it hasn't been picked up in the media (ah know, dey biased against Gabby too  ::))?  From all accounts they aren't best of friends, but are supportive of each other.  I'd be the first to say that I prefer Gabby and precisely because she black I supported her from jump... and over Wieber at the trials... but hating on Wieber fuh no reason is taking it to a next level, lol

Yeah like the media will run with that.......   

I could be wrong maybe she was planning a suprise congratulations party for Gabby on winning the trials. Hence the reason she had to shut up quickly as Gabby approached.

Mind you this was the very first I had seen of either of these girls. My attention was drawn to the girl who had her knee replaced and fell twice during trials on the uneven bars.
Post by: elan on August 02, 2012, 10:32:26 PM

Washington Post

Look Gabby Douglas on the left facing the other direction, along with the coach.  Track pants.

Gabby joined them right after that happened. They all posed and then the coach[es] joined in. 

I crazy I don't know what I seeing.
Post by: elan on August 02, 2012, 10:35:21 PM
(http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/ll314/Chunkycj/073112-usa-ftr-149583433.jpg)
(http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/ll314/Chunkycj/London_Olympics_Artis_Reyn_t607.jpg)
(http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/ll314/Chunkycj/1343758546_jordyn-wieber-gabrielle-douglas-kayla-maroney-alexandra-raisman-kyla-ross-lg.jpg)
(http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/ll314/Chunkycj/womens-gold_jpg_CROP_rectangle3-large.jpg)
Post by: Bakes on August 02, 2012, 11:21:42 PM

Washington Post

Steups yuh realize that these two are the same picture from different angles, right?  In both of them the shot was taken while Gabby was off celebrating just to the side.  We don't know the context of the shot... did they want to capture the emotions just as it became apparent that the team won... and it just so happens that Gabby wasn't in that particular shot?

Here's another shot Elan posted of them right after these above...

(http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/ll314/Chunkycj/073112-usa-ftr-149583433.jpg)
Post by: Bakes on August 02, 2012, 11:25:00 PM
Btw... here are a couple other threads chronicling the Olympics this summer:

Thread for the London Olympics 2012 (http://http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=55073.0)

George Bovell Summer Olympics Thread (http://http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=57622.0)
Post by: Dutty on August 03, 2012, 07:17:43 AM
I self did notice the lil bias in team photos prior to the medals,  weiber out front overshadowin everybody and the “squirrel” deep in the background like diana use to do the supremes but to be fair,weiber was supposed to be the team stargyirl.

I suspect the real litmus test is if Douglas end up on a wheaties box by herself or get a flurry of commercials

The tension between those two however, even on tv, is palpable
Post by: AirMan on August 03, 2012, 09:20:43 AM
Anyone think its time the name "Dream Team" is retired ?

http://myvoicetv.net/change-the-name-of-the-dream-team/
Post by: Conquering Lion on August 03, 2012, 11:24:46 AM
Dread, even in a subsequent rotation when Orozco had the high bar... He put down a solid routine, i didn't see any faults and neither did the commentators... His dismount and landing was not perfect but just a slight hop.

I watching gymnastics whole day and everyone who did flawless routines with a slight stumble on landing was getting between 15.3 and 15.7.. I make ah joke and say, "watch and see, dey go give de black man 14.something"... Yuh know dey really give him a sour 14.96.

Not too long after that, the German fella on the same high bar miss the whole bar and fall flat on his face.. Get up, jump back on and finish his routine.. I make a next joke and say, "well ah guess he go get a 14.something too like the black man"... Yuh know the man get a 14.3 or something so.  ???

Maybe is me eh understand the scoring, but something seem real off about that to me.. Even the people i was watching it admit it.

So iz you blight de man?............................ ;D ;D
Post by: FireBrand on August 03, 2012, 12:46:22 PM
Phelps just mash dem up again in de 100m butterfly! 17/21
Post by: Toppa on August 03, 2012, 02:12:59 PM
I self did notice the lil bias in team photos prior to the medals,  weiber out front overshadowin everybody and the “squirrel” deep in the background like diana use to do the supremes but to be fair,weiber was supposed to be the team stargyirl.

I suspect the real litmus test is if Douglas end up on a wheaties box by herself or get a flurry of commercials

The tension between those two however, even on tv, is palpable

(http://cdn.eurweb.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/GabrielleDouglas-on-Today-2.jpg)

(http://static.thehollywoodgossip.com/images/gallery/gabby-douglas-corn-flakes_380x567.jpg)

Gabby Douglas, the West Des Moines-trained Olympic gold medalist, will be vaulting off the TV screen and onto your cereal box this fall. Douglas, 16, will be the newest Corn Flakes cover girl following her gold medal wins in the Olympic gymnastics team and all-around competitions. The Gabby cover is expected to hit store shelves nationwide this fall.

From the Kelloggs Press Release ...
To celebrate U.S. gymnast Gabby Douglas' gold medal in the women's all-around at the 2012 Olympic Games in London, Kellogg's announced today that she will be featured on special-edition boxes of Kellogg's® Corn Flakes® which will be on shelves this fall. Kellogg Company is an official sponsor of the United States Olympic Committee and USA Gymnastics.

"I'm so proud to be part of this gold-medal winning team and I'm thrilled I was able to bring home the all-around gold for Team USA as well," said Douglas. "The support from fans around the country has been amazing, and it's a huge honor to see ourselves on a cereal box that our fans can all own and enjoy!"

"We are proud to support the potential of our young athletes and our amazing team of U.S. gymnasts," said Doug VanDeVelde, senior vice president of Morning Foods, Kellogg Company. "Over the course of the past week, we have all shared in the thrilling moments and passion of USA Gymnastics, and we are excited to bring that into the homes of families across the country."

"Gabby Douglas has helped Team USA make history this week. The team gold was the first since the 1996 Olympic Games and this is the first time that USA Gymnastics has captured both the team gold and the individual all-around gold medal," said USA Gymnastics President, Steve Penny. "She also became the third consecutive American gymnast to win the all-around gold medal, making this an even more significant accomplishment."

The cereal company will not only bring your favorite gymnasts to your breakfast table, they are the title sponsor of the 2012 Kellogg's Tour of Gymnastics Champions, a 40-city national tour featuring Team USA's top performing gymnasts which will kick off in San Jose, California on September 8, 2012. For tickets go to www.kelloggstour.com.

http://www.desmoinesregister.com/article/20120803/SPORTS/120803001/0/CONTACTS02/?odyssey=nav%7Chead&nclick_check=1
Post by: D.H.W on August 03, 2012, 02:24:05 PM
KKK boys ain't eating flakes for a while
Post by: Bakes on August 03, 2012, 02:28:43 PM
Toppa beat mih to it.

By the way... some nice stories coming out of Judo... Teddy Riner of France (by way of Guadeloupe) continues his rise as Judo's biggest star (http://www.sacbee.com/2012/08/03/4689596/teddy-riner-wins-mens-plus-100k.html)

Wojdan Shaherkani became the first woman (http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/london-2012-olympics-blog/2012/aug/03/saudi-wojdan-shaherkani-women-olympics?fb=optOut) to represent Saudi Arabia at the Olympics.

Kayla Harrison suffered years of sexual abuse (http://www.nytimes.com/2012/08/03/sports/olympics/kayla-harrison-overcame-horror-to-win-judo-gold.html?pagewanted=all) by a former coach, until as a 13-year old she said "enough" and had him prosecuted and convicted.  Today she is now the Gold medal champion in the 78 kg class.

Meanwhile Idalys Ortiz of Cuba made sure Gabby wasn't the only black woman taking home a gold medal from these games, winning the over 78 Kg judo title (http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/08/03/us-oly-judo-juw79k-idUSBRE8721DE20120803).
Post by: Cocorite on August 03, 2012, 02:41:16 PM
Very nice indeed! I was wondering if she would get the same kinda endorsements as . . .the others
Post by: Bakes on August 03, 2012, 03:57:40 PM

Yup another medal... his 21st... another Gold, his 17th ever... slacker.
Post by: AirMan on August 03, 2012, 05:54:59 PM

what ah way to exit the Olympics..

anyway anyone hear about the US Men Basketball team setting a new record yesterday...  the most points scored in an Olympic game
Post by: Dutty on August 03, 2012, 06:05:24 PM

(http://cdn.eurweb.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/GabrielleDouglas-on-Today-2.jpg)

*steeeuuups**...kellogs on ah jim crow vibes..everybody know people does put Corn Flakes on de back of de shelf
gabby shoulda lash de box out he hand and demand she wheaties cover

If weiber end up on ah box of Cinnamon Toast Crunch ah go cuss bad bad
Post by: D.H.W on August 03, 2012, 06:47:26 PM
Captain crunch! Lol
Post by: Cocorite on August 03, 2012, 06:51:57 PM
How about on a pack a Sunshine Snacks Corn Curls for Thompson 'an dem
Post by: vb on August 04, 2012, 03:38:58 AM
Quow DNS... :(

Anybody know why?

Post by: D.H.W on August 04, 2012, 03:49:16 AM
45.81 Lendore 5th and out.
Post by: D.H.W on August 04, 2012, 07:03:55 AM
Boom Philips mash up the velodrome track today. Man could ride dread, pass the New Zealand man. Crowd shocked lol
Post by: D.H.W on August 04, 2012, 07:55:44 AM
Olympics-Men's cycling-track sprint qualification results

LONDON, Aug 4 (Reuters) - Britain's Jason Kenny beat France's Gregory Bauge in
the Olympic men's cycling-track sprint qualification at the 2012 London Games on
Saturday.
Kenny won 9.713 at the Velodrome in London to reach the next round.
Results Table

Race :
1. Jason Kenny (Britain) 9.713 seconds Q
2. Gregory Bauge (France) 9.952 Q
3. Shane Perkins (Australia) 9.987 Q
4. Robert Foerstemann (Germany) 10.072 Q
5. Denis Dmitriev (Russia) 10.088 Q
6. Hersony Canelon (Venezuela) 10.123 Q
7. Seiichiro Nakagawa (Japan) 10.144 Q
8. Zhang Miao (China) 10.155 Q
9. Edward Dawkins (New Zealand) 10.201 Q
10. Njisane Nicholas Phillip (Trinidad and Tobago) 10.202 Q
11. Azizulhasni Awang (Malaysia) 10.226 Q
12. Jimmy Watkins (U.S.) 10.247 Q
13. Pavel Kelemen (Czech Republic) 10.311 Q
14. Damian Zielinski (Poland) 10.323 Q
15. Bernard Esterhuizen (South Africa) 10.350 Q
16. Hodei Mazquiaran Uria (Spain) 10.604 Q
17. Zafeirios Volikakis (Greece) 10.663 Q

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/07Dvcfada6gLX/610x.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0gcI7Ljc1PgNM/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/00801Bo4ctfHM/610x.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0cij5K58tk8Am/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0eihbw89wzchv/610x.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/05lUcjZ8mr1Ne/610x.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0aO87cu0fIaJT/610x.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0cI20QMatC82C/610x.jpg)
Post by: FF on August 04, 2012, 09:14:53 AM
Nsijane look like he having fun...

Enjoy it young fella!
Post by: D.H.W on August 04, 2012, 09:51:40 AM
Philip has just beaten Foerstemann the German. He is into the quarters. Big result
Post by: Michael-j on August 04, 2012, 09:55:53 AM
Philip has just beaten Forsteman the German. He is into the quarters. Big result

Philip seems to be a crowd favourite! That German fella looked like a real beast though.
Post by: D.H.W on August 04, 2012, 10:47:36 AM
Philip has just beaten Forsteman the German. He is into the quarters. Big result

Philip seems to be a crowd favourite! That German fella looked like a real beast though.

D German legs Huge!
Post by: elan on August 04, 2012, 12:23:38 PM
No love for Serena  ???    Totally distressed Sharapova (6-0, 6-1) this morning to win gold.

(http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/ll314/Chunkycj/2012-08-04T151954Z_480807036_TB3E88416KSM0_RTRMADP_3_OLY-TENN-TEWSIN-TEW001101.jpg)
(http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/ll314/Chunkycj/2012-08-04T143425Z_964523444_TB3E88414GZH1_RTRMADP_3_OLY-TENN-TEWSIN-TEW001101.jpg)
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 04, 2012, 01:02:45 PM
No love for Serena  ???    Totally distressed Sharapova (6-0, 6-1) this morning to win gold.

(http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/ll314/Chunkycj/2012-08-04T151954Z_480807036_TB3E88416KSM0_RTRMADP_3_OLY-TENN-TEWSIN-TEW001101.jpg)
(http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/ll314/Chunkycj/2012-08-04T143425Z_964523444_TB3E88414GZH1_RTRMADP_3_OLY-TENN-TEWSIN-TEW001101.jpg)

Amazing match, was over before it begun it seems.  She looked completely invincible
Post by: D.H.W on August 04, 2012, 01:04:16 PM
The Queen has returned. Them girls was warming she seat
Post by: STEUPS!! on August 04, 2012, 01:10:03 PM
Kelly is into the 100M Women Final as a fastest 'loser' at 11:00 secs. I remember when 11:00 secs was enough to win a medal. Not again nah.  That final goin to be so stink. Those women are just beasts
Post by: Bakes on August 04, 2012, 02:00:47 PM
Nsijane look like he having fun...

Enjoy it young fella!

De way he tongue hanging out he mouth mid-race, look like he conditioning was a factor.

God Elan... complaining is part ah yuh DNA or what? lol

I surprise yuh eh talk about the false controversy brewing over the Crip Walk she do when she win.
Post by: fari on August 04, 2012, 04:19:12 PM
njisane is a beast sah...i watch that race w/ meh mouth agape
Post by: Bakes on August 04, 2012, 06:05:34 PM
Nice scene with Mo Farrah winning Gold for the UK in the 10,000... amazing sprint down the stretch to hold off his American training partner and an Ethiopian challenger.
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 08:42:50 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/XPOlMIVQTGI&

http://www.youtube.com/v/aCGDPH13g04&
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 08:45:53 AM
Yesterday

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/098MdyW5TWcWq/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/08ce91A4Mh11j/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0anP5nN705dt9/610x.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0fe04yBc8nbEM/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0dqmd2P3Vc0J8/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/07QS4X4aASdax/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/040RcePh2S3bp/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/030c0UpdbL2mC/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0fVz7ml7mQghR/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/07ye3jS5L48CO/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0aJF8i88dB28a/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/08VhbyF6wWbN4/610x.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0anP5nN705dt9/610x.jpg)
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 08:58:28 AM
Cycling coverage start on TV6
Post by: FireBrand on August 05, 2012, 09:08:54 AM
T&T athletes competing today

Roger Daniel - Shooting 9am (eliminated)

Njisane Phillip - Cycling quarterfinals 11:43am

Janeil Bellille - W400m hurdles Round 1  2:24pm

Keston Bledman - 100m semis 2:45pm

Richard Thompson - 100m semis 2:53pm

Rondell Sorrillo - 100m semis 3:01pm

Lolonde Gordon - 400m semis 3:40pm
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 05, 2012, 09:48:00 AM
And Njisane wins his first round.
Post by: FireBrand on August 05, 2012, 09:50:01 AM
This youth BAAAAAD!!!!!!!
Post by: FF on August 05, 2012, 09:50:34 AM
Photo finish!!

So you have to win 2 out of 3 to advance?
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 05, 2012, 09:54:01 AM
Think so.

Cyah even see it. No TV and mih stream get ban.
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 09:55:30 AM
Ah nervous. Fellah have pace dread way sah
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 10:00:02 AM
Canadian commentator talking about the swagger from Phillip which is prevalent in Trinidad & Tobago...as evidenced by the flamboyance of Carnival...

Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 10:25:09 AM
Second race coming up
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 10:27:08 AM
Think so.

Cyah even see it. No TV and mih stream get ban.

click fast

http://www.launchlive.tv/channel.php?v=ufcdshuxhcgvhmhygfjtyedjt

http://www.vcaster.tv/channel.php?v=HitSportsNet_254
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 10:35:02 AM
boommmmmm!!!!!!!
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 10:37:00 AM
say wha!!!

Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 10:43:38 AM
He now has a chance to medal.
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 05, 2012, 10:45:23 AM
His semi-final tough. They put him against the British fella who set the Olympic record yesterday.
Post by: big dawg on August 05, 2012, 10:45:58 AM
final four..

semi finals and finals to take place tomorrow. (Monday)

Semi-Final: 11:00 am

Final: 12:43 pm
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 10:48:32 AM
His semi-final tough. They put him against the British fella who set the Olympic record yesterday.

He Ranked 1st, Phillip 10th...

It not gonna be easy but Phillip is there to win it...swag
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 10:51:30 AM
Tactics will be the key. If not he will have to cycle for Bronze
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 05, 2012, 10:53:32 AM
Look like we almost make him do like Kerron Clement: http://www.jayblessed.com/2011/12/26/cyclist-njisane-phillip-wants-to-ride-for-us-olympic-team-after-tt-dissed-him/
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 10:57:22 AM
Only positiveness!
He riding for us now, and getting a lot of respect and fans along the way.
He is already the most successful athlete for us this olympics so far because the worst he can place is 4th.
He took a risk and it paid off, stayed loyal.  He will have a lot more to gain now from this showing.
Post by: AirMan on August 05, 2012, 11:24:58 AM
Big win for Murray over Federer in front his home crowd
Post by: Mango Chow! on August 05, 2012, 01:25:20 PM

Very classy move on Federer's part to let him win.....especially in straight sets.
Post by: weary1969 on August 05, 2012, 02:10:06 PM

Very classy move on Federer's part to let him win.....especially in straight sets.

Post by: Cocorite on August 05, 2012, 02:55:14 PM

It look so in trute yuh know. Look waaaaaaaaaaaay too easy dread ;)
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 03:48:54 PM
(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0bK716ofa8bax/610x.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/09VbdlqbLE0yY/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0gJtdn3bm2bsU/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/09B45nCbf32iA/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0d1n5L38oRbDs/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0abUfOrbTR5VT/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0fY31hy6b33ge/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/02Sy64l61SdjF/x610.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0bevgljb90ayw/x610.jpg)
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 05:45:50 PM

The British fellah set that without competition i believe It was a straight race alone, like a time trial. He looks ordinary when the right tactics are used just need someone to test him. Philip was ranked tenth but he is in the final four now
Post by: elan on August 05, 2012, 06:04:10 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/rUUJtL1QT7g&feature=player_embedded
Post by: elan on August 05, 2012, 08:34:48 PM
De gymnastic scoring is some :bs:
Post by: Bakes on August 05, 2012, 10:16:57 PM
Look like we almost make him do like Kerron Clement: http://www.jayblessed.com/2011/12/26/cyclist-njisane-phillip-wants-to-ride-for-us-olympic-team-after-tt-dissed-him/

Came across this article yesterday too... was really surprised.  Obviously something is horribly wrong with the state of athletics in TnT.

Doh forget Federer played a 19-set match against Del Potro just the day before.
Post by: soccerman on August 05, 2012, 11:02:15 PM
Trinidad cyclist Phillip living the dream

By Julian Guyer |

For Trinidad's Njisane Phillip, just being at the Olympic Games is an achievement in itself.
Yet after another impressive display at the London Velodrome on Sunday, the 21-year-old is within sight of one of the more unlikely track cycling medals of this or any other Olympics.

Phillip, the lone rider at this Games from a Caribbean island better known for its cricketers than its cyclists, won through to the semi-finals of the men's sprint with a 2-0 victory over Denis Dmitriev of Russia.
He now finds himself up against Britain's Jason Kenny, silver medallist in this event in Beijing four years ago and now the favourite for gold.

But that daunting prospect made no dent whatsoever in Phillip's joy at riding through to the last four, having just edged out Dmitriev in a desperately close first of two races before powering past his opponent in the second.
"I don't know, the goal was just to come here and race," an elated Phillip said Sunday.
"Just being here is a blessing, and being able to step up to the plate and do this it's just incredible."
Phillip started riding at the age of nine when he migrated to the United States to live with his father.
But, aged 13, he was back in Trinidad and had given up cycling, mainly because his mother wanted him to concentrate on his studies.
However, Phillip was an unruly pupil -- he described himself as suffering from ADD (attention deficit disorder) in a recent interview with a Trinidad newspaper. His concerned mother sent him back to cycling and he started to do well in local competitions.

Phillip kept cycling when he returned to the US and when he travelled to Trinidad for a meet, local officials were so impressed they encouraged him to turn pro and attend a school for promising riders run by cycling 's world governing body, the UCI, in Aigle, Switzerland.
After six months, Phillip left and moved to California where he currently resides and trains.

His original target had been the 2016 Games in Rio de Janeiro but success in UCI qualifiers got him to the Olympics ahead of schedule.
"It's been a long road. Being the only cyclist from Trinidad, going to all the World Cups to qualify. I had to go to all of them.
"I really love the sport, I really want to be good, I want to be on a big circuit, I want to be recognised by the Australians and the Great Britain team," Phillip said.

His fairytale story has helped make Phillip a hit with a crowd who, most of the time, are understandably cheering for the numerous British champions who've been dominating track cycling in London.
"For a small island like Trinidad and Tobago to be out here, getting this love from this crowd at the Olympics is just a wonderful feeling," Phillip said. "I already made it here, so I am happy with that.
"I don't know what it is, I hear a lot of them rooting for me, so it's great."

@yahoosports on Twitter, become a fan on Facebook
Post by: soccerman on August 05, 2012, 11:03:18 PM

Came across this article yesterday too... was really surprised.  Obviously something is horribly wrong with the state of athletics in TnT.

Doh forget Federer played a 19-set match against Del Potro just the day before.

Very true
Post by: AirMan on August 06, 2012, 12:00:26 PM
Watch Serena Williams Crip Walking after she beat Sharapova tail lol

http://myvoicetv.net/video-serena-williams-strikes-again-this-time-for-the-olympic-gold/

Post by: Bakes on August 06, 2012, 06:34:19 PM
Algeria's Taoufik Makhloufi thrown out of Olympics for not trying

(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Sport/Pix/pictures/2012/8/6/1344261725604/Taoufik-Makhloufi-008.jpg)

• Algerian did not try in his 800m heat
• Twenty-four-year-old was due to run in 1500m final

The Algerian 1500m medal contender Taoufik Makhloufi has been thrown out of the London Olympics for not trying in his 800m heat, the International Association of Athletics Federations have said.

Makhloufi, who won his 1500m semi-final in 3min 42.24sec, had been forced to run in the two-lap race after his team failed to withdraw him from it by Sunday's deadline, an IAAF spokeswoman said.

The 24-year-old lined up at the start of heat five at the Olympic stadium on Monday morning but was already well behind the field at the start of the back straight before stopping running completely another 100m into the race and wandering back across the infield past the pole vault area.

"The referee considered that he had not provided a bona fide effort and decided to exclude him from participation in all further events in the competition," read an IAAF statement.

Makhloufi stormed past the Olympic and world champion Asbel Kiprop in a stunning finish to his 1500m heat on Sunday, marking him out as a title contender.

The IAAF spokeswoman said he could be reinstated for Tuesday's 1500m final if he could get a medical certificate from a local doctor.

The exclusion is the latest in a string of incidents at the Games where athletes have not tried to win in order to manipulate results or draws in their ultimate favour. Four pairs of women's doubles players, including the top seeds, were thrown out of the Olympics for trying to deliberately lose group stage matches to engineer easier quarter-final draws.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2012/aug/06/algeria-taoufik-makhloufi-olympics-out
Post by: Deeks on August 06, 2012, 06:48:20 PM
I saw this guy in the heats. He was pretty fast.
Post by: D.H.W on August 06, 2012, 07:19:51 PM
So he could not pull out of running the race?
Post by: Bakes on August 06, 2012, 07:27:00 PM

From what they say the local Fed didn't withdraw him in time.  He play de ass though... he shoulda throw down heself or run a slow lap or two.  I feel for him though because I saw his semi-final run in the 1600... that man walk down de leaders to win his heat.  He was a definite threat.  The Algerians better run some money and get a British doctor to issue a medical... NYtriniwhiteboy whey yuh  ;D
Post by: Bakes on August 06, 2012, 07:35:17 PM
Sex and the Olympic Games...

Will you still medal in the morning?

(http://a.espncdn.com/photo/2012/0711/mag_g_olyvillage_576.jpg)

By Sam Alipour
ESPN The Magazine

The village will be protected by electric fences and 24/7 surveillance cameras.
This story appears in ESPN The Magazine's July 23, 2012 Body Issue. Subscribe today! (https://w1.buysub.com/pubs/ES/ESN/AR_SplitTest.jsp?cds_mag_code=ESN&addata=2012_MAGNB_COM_ART_SUB_TXT)

AMERICAN TARGET SHOOTER Josh Lakatos faced a conundrum. Halfway through the 2000 Summer Olympics in Sydney, he and his rifle-toting teammates were finished with their events, and the U.S. Olympic Committee and team officials had ordered them to turn in the keys to their three-story house and head back to the States. But Lakatos didn't want to leave. He knew from his experience four years earlier in Atlanta, where he'd won silver, that the Olympic Village was just about to erupt into a raucous party, and there was no way he was going to miss it. So he asked the maid at the emptied-out dwelling if she'd kindly look the other way as he jimmied the lock. "I don't care what you do," she replied.

Within hours, word of the nearly vacant property had spread. Popping up once every two years, the Olympic Village is a boisterous city within a city: chock-full of condos, midrises and houses as well as cafés, barbershops, arcades, discos and TV lounges. The only thing missing is privacy -- nearly everyone is stuck with a roommate. So while Lakatos claimed a first-floor suite for himself, the remaining rooms were there for the taking. The first to claim space that night were some Team USA track and field fellas.

"The next morning," Lakatos says, "swear to God, the entire women's 4x100 relay team of some Scandinavian-looking country walks out of the house, followed by boys from our side.
:rotfl: :rotfl: And I'm just going, 'Holy crap, we'd watched these girls run the night before.'"

And on it went for eight days as scores of Olympians, male and female, trickled into the shooter's house -- and that's what everyone called it, Shooters' House -- at all hours, stopping by an Oakley duffel bag overflowing with condoms procured from the village's helpful medical clinic. After a while, it dawned on Lakatos: "I'm running a friggin' brothel in the Olympic Village! I've never witnessed so much debauchery in my entire life."

TAKE YOUR MARK

Home to more than 10,000 athletes at the Summer Games and 2,700 at the Winter, the Olympic Village is one of the world's most exclusive clubs. To join, prospective members need only have spectacular talent and -- we long assumed -- a chaste devotion to the most intense competition of their lives. But the image of a celibate Games began to flicker in '92 when it was reported that the Games' organizers had ordered in prophylactics like pizza. Then, at the 2000 Sydney Games, 70,000 condoms wasn't enough, prompting a second order of 20,000 and a new standing order of 100,000 condoms per Olympics.

Many Olympians, past and present, abide by what Summer Sanders, a swimmer who won two gold medals, a silver and a bronze in Barcelona, calls the second Olympic motto: "What happens in the village stays in the village." Yet if you ask enough active and retired athletes often enough to spill their secrets, the village gates will fly open. It quickly becomes clear that, summer or winter, the games go on long after the medal ceremony. "There's a lot of sex going on," says women's soccer goalkeeper Hope Solo, a gold medalist in 2008. How much sex? "I'd say it's 70 percent to 75 percent of Olympians," offers world-record-holding swimmer Ryan Lochte, who will be in London for his third Games. "Hey, sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do."

GET SET ...

The games begin as soon as teams move in a week or so before opening ceremonies. "It's like the first day of college," says water polo captain Tony Azevedo, a veteran of Beijing, Athens and Sydney who is returning to London. "You're nervous, super excited. Everyone's meeting people and trying to hook up with someone."

Which is perfectly understandable, if not to be expected. Olympians are young, supremely healthy people who've been training with the intensity of combat troops for years. Suddenly they're released into a cocoon where prying reporters and overprotective parents aren't allowed. Pre-competition testosterone is running high. Many Olympians are in tapering mode, full of excess energy because they're maintaining a training diet of up to 9,000 calories per day while not actually training as hard. The village becomes "a pretty wild scene, the biggest melting pot you've been in," says Eric Shanteau, an American who swam in Beijing and will be heading to London.

The dining hall is among everyone's first village stops. "When I walked in for the first time in Atlanta," says women's soccer player Brandi Chastain, "there were loud cheers. So we look over and see two French handballers dressed only in socks, shoes, jockstraps, neckties and hats on top of a dining table, feeding one another lunch. We're like, 'Holy cow, what is this place?'" Many liken it to a high school cafeteria, "except everyone's beautiful," says Julie Foudy, who has two golds and one silver from playing soccer in three Olympics and is now an analyst for ESPN. "We'd graze over our food for hours watching all the eye candy, wondering why I got married."

From one end of the village to the other, flags hang from windows and music blares from balconies. "Unlike at a bar, it's not awkward to strike up a conversation because you have something in common," Solo says. "It starts with, 'What sport do you play?' All of a sudden, you're fist-bumping." BMXer Jill Kintner, who won bronze in Beijing, says the Italians are particularly inviting: "They leave their doors open, so you look in and see dudes in thongs running circles around each other."

On the way to practice fields, "the girls are in skimpy panties and bras, the dudes in underwear, so you see what everybody is working with from the jump," says Breaux Greer, an American javelin thrower. "Even if their face is a 7, their body is a 20." In Beijing, even the adolescent female gymnasts got sassy with the water polo and judo boys who shared their training room. "That's where most of my socialization took place -- in a tub, up to my chest in ice water," says silver medalist Alicia Sacramone, then 20, who served as den mother to her teammates. "The younger girls would try to flirt with stuff like, 'Look at that butt on him!' I'm like, 'Excuse me, did that just come out of your mouth? Don't pay attention to his butt!'"

Quickly the reality sinks in that the village is "just a magical, fairy-tale place, like Alice in Wonderland, where everything is possible," says Carrie Sheinberg, an alpine skier at the '94 Winter Games and a reporter for subsequent Olympics. "You could win a gold medal and you can sleep with a really hot guy."

And no matter your taste, the village has got you covered. The soccer girls? "All hot, and they dress like rock stars," one male swimmer says. Male gymnasts? "They are like lovable little Ewoks," Kintner says. Sacramone has a few favorites of her own: "As far as best bodies, it's swimmers and water polo players, because that's an insane workout. And the track guys, they're sneaky-cute. Very serious, but when they lighten up, you're like, 'Oh, you're kind of adorable.'"

The challenge athletes face is what to do with their urges and when. "If you don't have discipline, the village can be a huge distraction," Solo admits. Some swear off sex until their events are done; others make it part of their pre-event routine. American shot-putter and silver and bronze medalist John Godina thought he'd seen it all in Atlanta: late-night hookups, friends disappearing for days at a time. But he hadn't seen anything like the dorm room in Sydney he shared with a javelin thrower, which had instantly become a revolving door of women without backstories. "It's like Vegas," Godina explains. "You learn not to ask a lot of questions."

That randy roommate of Godina's, Greer, picks up the story: Each day, the shaggy blond was visited by three women, sometimes just hours apart -- an accomplished pole vaulter and former flame; a mighty hurdler who "tried to dominate me," Greer says; and a "very talented" vacationer from Scandinavia. Greer says his Olympian partners were, like him, looking to "complete the Olympics training puzzle." When his event did come around, Greer nailed Athens' longest toss in prelims before a knee injury sidelined him. "I was a happy man going into competition," he says. "If you find somebody you like and who likes you, your world's complete for a second, and you compete well."

Still, some coaches try to limit late-night activities by enforcing 11 p.m. noise curfews, banning alcohol consumption or, in the case of USA Swimming, forbidding cross-gender visitation in bedrooms. Amanda Beard, with two golds, four silvers and one bronze medal to her name, was in a relationship with another swimmer during the 2000 Games but says, "People would walk around for miles to try to sneak somewhere."

Many on-the-prowl athletes maintain that they're driven by a simple human need: intimacy, if only for a moment or three. For most Olympians, the ramp-up to the Games is lonely. Not unlike movie stars on a far-flung movie shoot, the Olympics present the perfect opportunity to find a partner who understands where they're coming from. "Think about how hard it is to meet someone," Azevedo says. "Now take an Olympian who trains from 6 a.m. until 5 p.m. every day. When the hell are you supposed to meet someone? Now the pressure is done, you're meeting like-minded people ... and boom."

GO!

Typically, the swimmers are some of the lucky ones who wrap up early. For Lochte, that typically means "hitting a local pub and drinking with the soccer hooligans," he says. But a teammate in Athens had a better idea: sex on his village balcony. "Another team saw it, which led to a big argument because they accused me. I said, 'No, I'm innocent,'" Lochte says, laughing. "I'm always innocent." After his team finished its events in Beijing, "our coach sat us down and gave us what I can only describe as the birds-and-the-bees talk," says gold medalist Cullen Jones. "We're like, 'Okay, this is extremely awkward.'"

Just outside the village are sponsors parties. But what most Olympians want, in the end, is to bring the party back to the village.

The athlete compound soon becomes the site of an uneasy dance between jocks on a post-competition bender and those who have yet to compete. Says Swiss swimmer Dominik Meichtry: "I'd get home from the clubs at 6 or 7 a.m., and I'd feel bad for the track and field guys. They're getting on a bus and we're intoxicated, wearing fedoras, looking like crap." As the curtain falls on more events, the action accelerates. Displaced roommates become commonplace, with the standard sock-on-doorknob serving as the signal for "please go away." Before long, Foudy says, "it turns into a frat party with a very nice gene pool." And heaps of stamina. "Athletes are extremists," Solo says. "When they're training, it's laser focus. When they go out for a drink, it's 20 drinks. With a once-in-a-lifetime experience, you want to build memories, whether it's sexual, partying or on the field. I've seen people having sex right out in the open. On the grass, between buildings, people are getting down and dirty."

Those who desire a little privacy can borrow a hotel room from their agents or visiting friends. "You can get pretty much whatever you want if you flash your medal," says one American female. "That usually does the trick." Not quite everything. At the Lillehammer Games in 1994, two German bobsledders tried using their medals as currency. "They made it clear that they'd trade me their gold for all kinds of other favors," Sheinberg says. "I said jokingly, 'Thanks, but Tommy Moe has a medal. I'll play with his.'" The Germans were hoping for some group fun, which is not uncommon in the village. One skier tells a story from the Vancouver Games in 2010, when six athletes -- "some Germans, Canadians and Austrians" -- got together at a home outside the Whistler village. "It was a late-night whirlpool party. It turned into a whirlpool orgy."

"I was too locked in in Beijing. This time, when I'm done leaving my legacy on the track, I'll make sure London remembers me." - LaShawn Merritt, U.S. sprinter, Beijing 2008
"This is a diplomatic relations trip," says Godina, "maybe because they feel they never have to see each other again." Adds Sheinberg: "It's also about finding something new. Olympians are adventurers. They look for a challenge, like having sex with someone who doesn't speak their language."

The sense of discovery can be powerful. At the 1976 Montreal Games, three-time Olympic diver and four-time gold medalist Greg Louganis, appearing in his first Olympics at age 16, developed a kinship with the boys on the Soviet Union diving team and soon found himself partying in their rooms. "Once events were over, our entire diet was caviar, vodka and Russian champagne. It was crazy," Louganis says. He was particularly struck by the Russians' sense of sexual liberation. "Culturally, they're more openly affectionate toward each other, which I just drank up, since I was still discovering who I was. But I had my eyes on one Soviet. I'd curl up in his lap; we'd hug and cuddle. I felt so protected." It didn't progress beyond that, Louganis says. "He was hooking up with one of the other male divers on the team" -- not to mention married.

AND KEEP GOING ...

By the eve of the closing ceremonies, all of the events have wrapped, all bets are off and the home team often hosts one hell of a party. That was certainly the case in Sydney, where Australia's baseball and women's soccer teams threw a joint bash complete with a massive bonfire. "Who knew the village furniture could burn so well," kids Alicia Ferguson, an Aussie footballer. "We did involve the fire wardens, who were very accommodating, and then we started hooking up around our very own Olympic Village bonfire."

And after the men's hockey gold medal game in Vancouver, which Canada won, a dry lounge in the village exploded into a full-blown rager. "If you were walking by, you would've thought it was a high school party," says NHLer Bobby Ryan of the silver-winning American squad. "I'm talking booze, people randomly making out, everybody else cheering them on. And that was the PG stuff. Then everything went inside."

And then there's the one party that can't be missed: the closing ceremony. Says Ferguson: "They basically throw us all in a stadium and say, 'Just go for it, party hard, get drunk and do some groping.' Which we did, with some Canadians." Here's what you don't see on TV: all of the athletes who arrive inebriated and, throughout the ceremony, sneak back and forth between the infield and the stadium with drinks. Somewhere in the middle of this party, typically, is America's women's soccer team, whose tournament runs the duration of the Games. "This is our chance to let loose," Chastain says. "Our hair is on fire, we're leaving the next morning, and we're going to enjoy our last 24 hours." After the Beijing Games, the women went, well, Hollywood. Solo recounts the story: "I probably shouldn't tell you this, but we met a bunch of celebrities. Vince Vaughn partied with us. Steve Byrne, the comedian. And at some point we decided to take the party back to the village, so we started talking to the security guards, showed off our gold medals, got their attention and snuck our group through without credentials -- which is absolutely unheard of." And, she adds, "I may have snuck a celebrity back to my room without anybody knowing, and snuck him back out. But that's my Olympic secret." The best part, according to Solo? "When we were done partying, we got out of our nice dresses, got back into our stadium coats and, at 7 a.m. with no sleep, went on the Today show drunk. Needless to say, we looked like hell."

And then it's over -- for most Olympians, anyway. For a few and the most committed, the games continue -- all the way home. On a United Airlines flight from Sydney to Los Angeles in 2000, nearly 100 Olympians were among the passengers, causing the flight attendants to begin the flight with a warning: "Ladies and gentlemen, anybody who wishes to sleep, trade seats with someone in the front of the plane. Everybody else to the back with the Olympians." After that, the story gets fuzzy.

"Everybody partnered up fairly rapidly, and when they'd bring a drink cart through, we'd send it back dry," says Lakatos, who met a girl and "comfortably occupied row 50-something for roughly half an hour." Greer ended up in the bathroom with a famous Olympian he will not name. "We're going at it, and then -- boing. I accidentally turn on the assistance light." Happily for them, once Greer assured the flight attendant of their Olympic credentials, they were able to return to their business. "And we stayed in there a long time."

It's tales like these -- of connections made and just as easily ditched -- that have London-bound Olympians dreaming of the possibilities. "My last Olympics, I had a girlfriend -- big mistake," Lochte says. "Now I'm single, so London should be really good. I'm excited." So is American runner LaShawn Merritt, the reigning Olympic gold medalist in the 400 meters. "An Olympics to remember has to have those stories," Merritt says. "But I was too locked in in Beijing. This time, when I'm done leaving my legacy on the track," he says, laughing, "I'll make sure London remembers me."

Taylor Phinney too is looking forward to a do-over in London for two reasons. In Beijing, he was an 18-year-old wunderkind American cyclist who night after night sat on his balcony, one floor below the gymnastics team terrace, and tossed Shawn Johnson prohibited Snickers bars. "She was a superstar," Phinney says of the then-16-year-old, "and I was a lowly cyclist with a massive crush." After Johnson won gold and moved to a hotel with her parents, Phinney moved his courtship to the lobby, where they closed some blinds and had a "kissing session." But Phinney's long trip to first base may have also derailed his medaling hopes. "This is going to sound stupid, but I almost forgot I had to race."

After a Skype relationship forced by their globe-trotting careers, they are now on hiatus. But Phinney can't wait for London, where Johnson, who retired in June, will be on hand to fulfill her sponsorship obligations. "I'll try to hang out with her as much as I can," he says before he doubles back, still clearly flummoxed. "And I'm going to try very hard to stay away from females." In that case, he might want to stay away from the Olympic Village altogether.

Follow The Mag on Twitter (@ESPNmag (http://twitter.com/#!/ESPNmag)) and like us on Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/ESPNMagazine).

http://espn.go.com/olympics/summer/2012/story/_/id/8133052/athletes-spill-details-dirty-secrets-olympic-village-espn-magazine
Post by: Bakes on August 07, 2012, 12:58:39 AM

From what they say the local Fed didn't withdraw him in time.  He play de ass though... he shoulda throw down heself or run a slow lap or two.  I feel for him though because I saw his semi-final run in the 1600... that man walk down de leaders to win his heat.  He was a definite threat.  The Algerians better run some money and get a British doctor to issue a medical... NYtriniwhiteboy whey yuh  ;D

Aapssss so said, so done...

Two doctors examine him and say he hurt he knee... but should recover in time for the 1600 lol.  Ato was quoted in the article supporting him too.

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/08/07/sports/olympics/algerian-runner-makhloufi-expelled-then-reinstated-at-olympics.html
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2012, 04:06:30 AM
Hahahaha nice
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on August 07, 2012, 06:36:41 AM
LOL not me and dat...he cudda shout me and link me with some athletic tickets!
Post by: Dutty on August 07, 2012, 08:25:56 AM

Will you still medal in the morning?

3 A.M.--GMT
(http://media.nzherald.co.nz/webcontent/image/jpg/201232/145f1d92df6f11e1a73722000a1e8a9f_7_460x230.jpg)

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10825246 (http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10825246)
Post by: Bakes on August 07, 2012, 09:06:20 AM
I have no idea what de "W" stand for... but in case he saying "three" I could count too... and dai'z how much bull I seeing waiting fuh him in dat pic.
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 07, 2012, 09:31:46 AM

http://espn.go.com/olympics/summer/2012/story/_/id/8133052/athletes-spill-details-dirty-secrets-olympic-village-espn-magazine
Lol, was listening to the radio this morning and a Washington Post reporter say he try to interview a female Trini athlete about this and get cuss up. He editor insist he have to interview a woman, but after that he say he done.
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2012, 11:02:24 AM
Philips finishes 7th in Kierin , won his final Race  :applause: nice tactic he use , went all out in last last lap , they could not catch him.
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 07, 2012, 11:12:44 AM
Philips finishes 7th in Kierin , won his final Race  :applause: nice tactic he use , went all out in last last lap , they could not catch him.
He just below that top shelf right now. Hopefully, there's more to come from him.

Although, I doh study cycling at all until Olympics.
Post by: Dutty on August 07, 2012, 12:07:29 PM
He just below that top shelf right now. Hopefully, there's more to come from him.

Although, I doh study cycling at all until Olympics.

according to him, he was really targeting the 2016 games..and he miss the medal by ah pips....so now that he have the experience under his belt,,I feel he go be a beast in brazil..and he eh even need oaktree sized legs like da german rider to do it
Post by: warmonga on August 07, 2012, 12:27:30 PM
Oh god I swear dem gal from DR and hooker from the USA driving mi facking crazy.. dem gal sexy to bloddclawt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: fari on August 07, 2012, 02:15:06 PM
sydney la roux from usa soccer team sassy too bad boy..lorddd
Post by: AirMan on August 07, 2012, 03:19:25 PM
Boy every team think they have a chance against the US basketball mens team after the first couple mins dem games always close, but midway through the third quarter you see the Dream team pulling away with 20 to 30 point leads. Same story line every game..Ah waiting for the US vs Spain match up..I want to see the Gasol brothers and Ibaka matchup against the US in the paint. US is a smaller team than Spain
Post by: Bakes on August 07, 2012, 03:24:24 PM

I getting ah real butch vibe from she... maybe is de neck tattoos (ah next Natasha Kai?), but yeah, ah was peeping she.  Desiree Scott, de midfield general fuh Canada win fuh me doh... lawd she sweet.
Post by: fari on August 07, 2012, 04:18:22 PM

I getting ah real butch vibe from she... maybe is de neck tattoos (ah next Natasha Kai?), but yeah, ah was peeping she.  Desiree Scott, de midfield general fuh Canada win fuh me doh... lawd she sweet.

Yes jedd...that lil smallie thick
Post by: Bourbon on August 07, 2012, 06:11:17 PM
http://www.medalspercapita.com/#medals-per-capita:2012
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2012, 06:34:14 PM

Yes jedd...that lil smallie thick

Not bad

(http://canadasoccer.com/files/1b8e96fc0b5a72d64c67e8ac7503284a.jpg)
Post by: Peong on August 07, 2012, 07:30:09 PM
I have no idea what de "W" stand for... but in case he saying "three" I could count too... and dai'z how much bull I seeing waiting fuh him in dat pic.

W for Wood.
Post by: Bakes on August 07, 2012, 09:59:44 PM

Aapssss so said, so done...

Two doctors examine him and say he hurt he knee... but should recover in time for the 1600 lol.  Ato was quoted in the article supporting him too.

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/08/07/sports/olympics/algerian-runner-makhloufi-expelled-then-reinstated-at-olympics.html

Man run away with de gold yes... blow away de field in the home stretch.  But the run fuh me was Leo Manzano for silver, dude start the home stretch in sixth place and in the final 60 meters walk down 4 men to get silver.  Matt Centrowitz, the other American finish fourth, but ah wanted him to get a medal... he mother from Guyana and he father have Georgetown ties.
Post by: soccerman on August 07, 2012, 10:49:19 PM
http://www.medalspercapita.com/#medals-per-capita:2012
One more and we up dey wid Estonia, providing everything remains constant ;D
Post by: JRtheWriter on August 08, 2012, 07:54:09 PM

(http://beermugsports.com/picture/sydney%20leroux%20hot%204.jpg?pictureId=15735761&asGalleryImage=true)
Post by: fari on August 09, 2012, 07:36:36 AM
france have two of the most beautiful soccer players...#14 necib and #2 renard...lorddd
Post by: JRtheWriter on August 09, 2012, 07:41:31 AM
france have two of the most beautiful soccer players...#14 necib and #2 renard...lorddd

(http://farm8.static.flickr.com/7175/6684658705_b40163875b.jpg)
(http://www.mode-et-femme.com/wp-content/uploads/Wendie-Renard.jpg)

Remind me to never let you set me up on a blind date homie!
Post by: fari on August 09, 2012, 07:45:50 AM

is not the looks alone...they just graceful and feminine...not hard and gruff like some others
Post by: D.H.W on August 09, 2012, 08:26:03 AM
I will take Necib anyday, plus people have different taste in women so I cah knock fari for that.
Post by: JRtheWriter on August 09, 2012, 08:29:45 AM
I will take Necib anyday, plus people have different taste in women so I cah knock fari for that.
True...this is my soccer crush.
(http://www1.pictures.zimbio.com/gi/Colombia+Women+Official+Olympic+Football+Team+t3siJiSRUMxl.jpg)
Post by: D.H.W on August 09, 2012, 08:37:01 AM
Nice!
Post by: fari on August 09, 2012, 08:52:58 AM
second that
Post by: fari on August 09, 2012, 10:10:58 AM
australia and usa in a bball shootout now. 
Post by: fari on August 09, 2012, 10:47:17 AM
(http://i50.tinypic.com/35a7lax.jpg)

this chick is killing the us...she has 19 points at the half.  a beast in every sense of the word.  they interviewing lisa leslie and she sounding worried
Post by: Bakes on August 09, 2012, 11:30:08 AM
(http://i50.tinypic.com/35a7lax.jpg)

this chick is killing the us...she has 19 points at the half.  a beast in every sense of the word.  they interviewing lisa leslie and she sounding worried

We on the same wavelength... I had to go look her up, she was killing them.  US adjusted at halftime though, after 19 first half points they shut she out thus far with only 4 mins left in the game.  US look like they finally seized control.... want them to win, but a big part of me was rooting for the Aussie women as well.
Post by: Dutty on August 09, 2012, 11:48:03 AM

lol!! allyuh wicked oui..

everybody have dey preference, I could wink sweet eye at Delie all day
Post by: elan on August 09, 2012, 09:49:04 PM
(http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/ll314/Chunkycj/428936_10151032909948143_1642395496_n.jpg)
Post by: kaliman2006 on August 10, 2012, 06:59:51 AM
There seems to be a bit of friction between Usain Bolt and Carl Lewis (just a bit).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bolt: No respect for Carl Lewis over drug slurs

Newly-crowned "greatest-ever sprinter" Usain Bolt has said he had lost all respect for Carl Lewis, the man whose on-track exploits he has surpassed with his unique Olympic double-double but who still leads the way in self-regard.

By Reuters | Eurosport – 13 hours ago.. .

American Lewis is the only other man to win two Olympic 100m gold medals, the second coming in 1988 when he was promoted from second place after the disqualification of Ben Johnson.

He won the 200m in 1984 but managed only silver four years later. He did, however, have a remarkable run of success in the long jump, winning that event in four successive Games for a tally of nine golds in all.

In the wake of Bolt's triple-gold record success in Beijing Lewis was quick to point the finger of suspicion at him and Jamaica in general.

"I think there are some issues," he said at the time.

"Countries like Jamaica do not have a random (drugs testing) program, so they can go months without being tested. I'm not saying anyone is on anything, but everyone needs to be on a level playing field.

"I'm not saying they've done anything for certain. I don't know. But how dare anybody feel that there shouldn't be scrutiny, especially in our sport?" He has continued to fire broadsides ever since but Bolt, now with his sprinting record unquestionably superior, hit back.

"I'm going to say something controversial right now, Carl Lewis - I have no respect for him," Bolt said, having cited 1936 quadruple champion Jesse Owens as a man he held in the highest regard.

"The things he (Lewis) says about the track athletes, it's really downgrading for another athlete to be saying something like that about other athletes.

"I think he is just looking for attention really because nobody really talks much about him. It was really sad for me when I heard the other day what he was saying, it was upsetting.

"So, for me, I've lost all respect for him, all respect.

"It was all about drugs, about drugs stuff for me. For an athlete to be out of the sport saying that was really upsetting for me. As far as I am concerned he is just looking for attention."

Lewis tested positive three times for a stimulant before the 1988 Games but had the results overturned by American officials.

He was named "Athlete of the 20th Century" by the IOC, the IAAF, and American magazine Sports Illustrated and has always seemed uncomfortable with the idea that someone from the 21st century could surpass his achievements.

Asked before the London Games what he thought of Bolt, he said: "It's just... interesting.

"I watch the results like everyone else and wait... for time to tell."

Even after Bolt won his second 100m title, Lewis's congratulations were wrapped in barbed wire.

"He repeats and he's tremendous and he's the second person to do it and congratulations," he said last week.

"The thing for me, what I really admire about anyone, is longevity. We still have to have the longevity and dominance through the era because for me performance-wise, you really have to put longevity in.

"I'm really not trying to take anything away from his performance because it was tremendous, but you've got to see the consistency over a period of time because as of now it's just a four-year period and you really have to see a continuous dominance.

"We'll see."

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/news/bolt-respect-carl-lewis-drug-slurs-234538050.html
Post by: ribbit on August 10, 2012, 08:47:10 AM
Bolt damn right. lewis should STFU. his credibility with respect to drugs is zero; US T&F is one of de worst serial offenders.
Post by: AirMan on August 10, 2012, 09:15:04 AM
Allyson Felix win leads big day for US

(http://myvoicetv.net/Uploads%20storage/2012/08/Allyson-Felix.jpg)

U.S. track and field athletes win three of four events and seven of 12 medals Wednesday. Allyson Felix snags her first individual Olympic gold in 21.88 seconds

It took the Los Angeles native (Alyson Felix) until her third Olympics to develop that edge, an odyssey that included silver medals in the 200 meters at Athens and Beijing and a fifth-place finish in the 100 meters last week. When it all clicked in her mind Wednesday, she hunted down her dream instead of gliding toward it and finally realized her golden vision.

Allyson Felix’s win leads big day for United States : My VoiceTv (http://myvoicetv.net/allyson-felixs-win-leads-big-day-for-u-s/)
Post by: D.H.W on August 10, 2012, 10:15:11 AM
Carl sour like lime
Post by: giggsy11 on August 10, 2012, 01:45:03 PM
Carl sour like lime

He never had any class and he shouldn't be talkin after getting positive tests overturned. Shameless prima donna, who need tuh come of the closet if is attention he lookin for!
Post by: warmonga on August 10, 2012, 03:11:55 PM
kaliman dais normal american fi di world..  dem love to point fingers once somebody is better than them... ley he haul he mudda Bumbo hole ... Bolt right fi cuss he Mudda so and so....

Post by: Deeks on August 11, 2012, 10:44:27 AM
anything about Keshorn
Post by: Deeks on August 11, 2012, 10:52:24 AM
I watching the walking race. When they show the walkers' upper body, it appears like they running. I see the official went in the race and pull out some walkers for illegal contact. Meaning their feet mechanics are not  kosher.
Post by: D.H.W on August 11, 2012, 11:04:47 AM
anything about Keshorn

the man aint throw yet, in the next hr it will start
Post by: TdotTrini on August 11, 2012, 12:31:57 PM
83.51 National Record.

Rank 1 with half the field to throw still.
Post by: big dawg on August 11, 2012, 01:20:15 PM
still 1st
Post by: big dawg on August 11, 2012, 01:22:33 PM
LAST ROUND TO GO

STILL 1ST PLACE.. 
Post by: big dawg on August 11, 2012, 01:27:15 PM

GOLD
Post by: Bakes on August 11, 2012, 01:58:58 PM
Niceness :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: fari on August 11, 2012, 02:30:20 PM
plus a bronze in the relay...hard luck dey canada!
Post by: Bakes on August 13, 2012, 02:28:06 PM
Repost from elsewhere...

http://www.youtube.com/v/4KjxO22PXy4&feature=colike