Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on August 03, 2012, 04:39:24 PM

Title: McComie suspended pending investigation.
Post by: Flex on August 03, 2012, 04:39:24 PM
McComie suspended pending investigation.
By Inshan Mohammed.

Trinidad and Tobago national U-20 team head coach Michael McComie has been suspended by the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) because of disciplinary reasons; pending an investigation.

This information has been relayed on the Soca Warriors Online (SWO) forum from a reliable source.

It all happened following an incident with W Connection player Alvin Jones, the brother of Trinidad and Tobago international defender Joevin Jones. Both of whom are sons of former T&T footballer and Police FC head coach Kelvin Jones.

The source further stated: “The U-20 players were playing a practice game against Caledonia AIA on Friday 27th July, 2012 at Larry Gomes Stadium, when apparently Jones (Alvin) made an error in the game around the 5th minute.”

“McComie immediately withdrew the player from the game and had him run continuously around the Stadium from about the 8th minute of the game, throughout the entire half time interval and then throughout the entire second half of the game. An additional 20 minutes was played and McComie had him run through that entire period as well.”

“As a result the player eventually collapsed during the coach's team talk.  The player nails were beginning to turn blue, other staff members had to work overtime to eventually revive him from suspected dehydration, and thankfully they did on time or else the players could have died.”

“Jones saw the team’s doctor and it was confirmed that he suffered a serious dehydration case as a result of running over 70 laps around the stadium nonstop.”

“The source mentioned that: “This to me is a criminal act and Michael McComie should be prosecuted and should never ever coach any team ever again.”

“Imagine, during the same incident young Jones asked if he could stop and was told no by McComie, he then asked for water and was refused.”

“After he was collapsed one of his teammates ran to his assistance and McComie stopped him in his tracks, asking in return if he were a doctor?

“McComie is known for causing stirs at times and had a personal vendetta against former San Juan Jabloteh coach Terry Fenwick where he was constantly lashing out at Fenwick for no obvious reasons. There are also lots of other incidents involving McComie, ended the source.”

Meanwhile, this is not the first time McComie has had run ins with players.  It was previously reported that the former Ma Pau SC coach tried to block Kevin Molino from signing a contact for Orlando City in 2011 and was demanding Orlando pay a fee to him. Eventually the matter was resolved by FIFA.

McComie of all people should know that coaching young footballers is process that requires patience, as he too has had some shortcomings as a national player.

He has had some success on the field and was part of the National Under 20 team that qualified for the Youth World Cup finals in Portugal (1991), that was led by captain Dwight Yorke. However his success with the team was short lived as T&T crashed in the first round and was sent home packing.

T&T lost all of their group stage games against; Australia (2-0), Soviet Union (4-0) and Egypt (6-0). McComie, a goalkeeper played in two of the games conceding eight goals in the process. Clayton Ince was McComie’s back-up.

He was also in goal for Joe Public during the 1998 Concacaf Champion League Cup game against MLS team DC United when they were drummed 8-0 and, as a result, to date it’s the worst defeat by any T&T teams at that level of competition.

McComie has also had unsuccessful stints as coach for both T&T’s Under 20 and Under 23 teams respectively in the past. In 2007 his Under 23 team was eliminated  from the 2008 Olympic qualifications by Cuba (3-0 L) and Grenada (3-2 L). McComie blamed the lack of support he got from the Pro League clubs for the his team's poor showing.

Meanwhile, TTFF Media man Shaun Fuentes reported: “Former National Senior team assistant coach Ross Russell has been given the position of Interim head coach of the Under 20 team pending an ongoing investigation into a matter involving Michael McComie who served as head coach of the squad and a player from the current squad."

Further details on the outcome of the investigation will be released in due course.” (see below for full report).

RELATED NEWS

Russell takes charge of U-20 men's team.

Former National Senior team assistant coach Ross Russell has been given the position of Interim head coach of the Trinidad and Tobago Men’s Under 20 team pending an ongoing investigation into a matter involving Michael McComie who served as head coach of the squad and a player from the current squad.

Further details on the outcome of the investigation will be released in due course.

Russell previously served as an assistant coach and goalkeeping coach of the current Under 20 squad and is the most experienced coach on the current staff which also includes Anthony Rougier and Clint Marcelle.

Russell has been on the coaching staffs of several past national youth teams including the Under 17 team that qualified for the 2007 FIFA Under 17 World Cup in South Korea and was also a previous Senior Men’s Team assistant coach. He also led Defence Force to the 2010/2011 T&T Pro League title.

The final squad for the upcoming Caribbean Football Union U-20 qualifying tournament in St Vincent/Grenadines will be announced on Saturday.

The team will travel to St Vincent on a Caribbean Airlines chartered flight on Monday afternoon. T&T will engage in battle with the hosts, Guyana and Suriname on August 8-12.

The group winner will advance to the CFU Finals in Jamaica November on 3-11. Five of the six teams from the final round of Caribbean qualifying will advance to the CONCACAF championship in Puebla, Mexico, February 18-March 2, 2013 towards the 2013 FIFA Under 20 World Cup in Turkey.

Title: Re: Coach McComie suspended pending termination?
Post by: ZANDOLIE on August 03, 2012, 05:36:28 PM
If these allegations are truthful, this is a new low, even for McComie. Its one thing to demand discipline but entirely another to run a man to near death. You could teach these fellas all the latest Dutch models and they still don't get that the physical techniques is matters not if you can't pass along the conceptual framework. If the player can't get the concept then just maybe the coach has failed to impart it properly. But these fellas don't see their own faults.

Title: Re: "Mc Commie suspended pending investigation".
Post by: D.H.W on August 03, 2012, 05:37:55 PM
Crucify him!
Title: Re: "Mc Commie suspended pending investigation".
Post by: Dutty on August 03, 2012, 06:14:33 PM
Absolutely reprehensible.

Title: Re: McComie suspended pending investigation.
Post by: Bakes on August 03, 2012, 06:45:41 PM
That man should not be allowed anywhere near to a sideline again for a very long time... I ever! That is beyond ridiculous.
Post by: amwood on August 03, 2012, 06:52:35 PM
Fellas I wouldn't be too quick to jump to conclusions abt the incident, had a chance to talk to Mike yesterday and he explained what "played off." He stated that what is being speculated is highly exaggerated - in fact he is quite certain that once he explains his side of the situation to the federation, things will be resolved. He mentioned that his session was video taped and the entire situation has been captured on tape - hence he believes that what transpired will be clearly seen by all involved....that's the man's side of it. What's really troubling however, is the horrific dynamic of the staff involved with this team. There are coaches simply undercutting each other at every opportunity. I couldnt imagine working in a set up like that - the technical director should have done something a long time ago because nothing can be accomplished in such an environment...ultimately the team will suffer!
Post by: Sando on August 03, 2012, 07:39:57 PM
I don't feel sorry for McComie, he have issues with everyone.

As for cut throat, what's new, you get what you pay for.

Rougier and Marcelle is food for thoughts coaches.

McComie felt he was bigger than the game.

Good job on the Write up Flex as I know the TTFF will cover it up.

Post by: Mango Chow! on August 03, 2012, 07:41:33 PM
Fellas I wouldn't be too quick to jump to conclusions abt the incident, had a chance to talk to Mike yesterday and he explained what "played off." He stated that what is being speculated is highly exaggerated - in fact he is quite certain that once he explains his side of the situation to the federation, things will be resolved. He mentioned that his session was video taped and the entire situation has been captured on tape - hence he believes that what transpired will be clearly seen by all involved....that's the man's side of it. What's really troubling however, is the horrific dynamic of the staff involved with this team. There are coaches simply undercutting each other at every opportunity. I couldnt imagine working in a set up like that - the technical director should have done something a long time ago because nothing can be accomplished in such an environment...ultimately the team will suffer!

He better hope dat video tape doh show de young boy running laps for more than 10-15 minutes........Even so.... a man make a error in a (practice) game and your method of coaching to correct it is to make him run laps?!  For a man of mc comie's.........qualifications, dat is pure jackassness........mc comie want f**kin' lix oui!
Post by: royal on August 03, 2012, 08:39:15 PM
UNBELIEVABLE !!!!!! not even in 1950 were coaches in Trinidad sooo stupid.
Post by: loyalist on August 03, 2012, 09:07:15 PM

He better hope dat video tape doh show de young boy running laps for more than 10-15 minutes........Even so.... a man make a error in a (practice) game and your method of coaching to correct it is to make him run laps?!  For a man of mc comie's.........qualifications, dat is pure jackassness........mc comie want f**kin' lix oui!
well said....thats one of the reasons why our football has regressed....
Post by: truetrini on August 03, 2012, 10:51:44 PM
I understood that some players even wanted to beat he ass Ahab the man collapsed
Post by: Bakes on August 03, 2012, 11:09:54 PM
I reading this thing and first thing come to my mind is Korey Stringer.
Post by: warmonga on August 04, 2012, 02:03:41 AM
First of all lets gave thanks to god that the yute nuh dead .  Mc Comie should be sack and a criminal investigation should be launched.

Post by: JDB on August 04, 2012, 04:11:11 AM
From the time I see the headline on the main page the first thing cross my mind was that McComie was being an asshole.

McComie could say what he want he is an egotistical, power-tripping ass. Hope the young man is okay.
Post by: Sam on August 04, 2012, 05:08:58 AM
If I was de father of that kid, McComie woulda been dead all now..

All de time he big and bad and he could huff and puff real good, now he boil down like butter on hot galvanise.

Post by: Dinner Mints on August 04, 2012, 05:12:51 AM
My only concern is the extent of the punishment, if true.
I'm ok with the punishment itself. I doh mind tough love coaching at all.
Post by: Flex on August 04, 2012, 05:47:12 AM
http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2012-08-03/russell-steps-suspended-mccomie

Post by: Errol on August 04, 2012, 03:47:33 PM
In America he would have gotten a law suit in he backside.

Only in Trinidad you get a slap on your wrist, watch McComie back on the job soon, that is Anton boy.

Discipline is good, but McComie went overboard and needs to get penalize, he always do some crap.

Post by: Big Magician on August 04, 2012, 05:32:06 PM
ah did shame
Post by: Insider on August 04, 2012, 05:59:41 PM
I spoke to McComie 2 days ago and he is standing by his decision.

The man is heartless and said all will be reveal soon.

He said that the TTFF got his back on this and told me that W Connection is overacting.

More to come.

Title: Re: Re: McComie suspended pending investigation.
Post by: D.H.W on August 04, 2012, 06:06:15 PM
I spoke to McComie 2 days ago and he is standing by his decision.

The man is heartless and said all will be reveal soon.

He said that the TTFF got his back on this and told me that W Connection is overacting.

More to come.

Thanks
Post by: Small Change on August 04, 2012, 06:50:28 PM
McComie is a c**t!
Post by: kingman on August 05, 2012, 03:09:18 AM
It is alleged that Anthony Rougier resign because Anton Corneal offer the U-20 interim job to Ross Russell instead of him. I tell you, Anton set up a bag of wire. This whole thing reach 400 and dipping.

Post by: Sam on August 05, 2012, 05:03:42 AM
Anton Corneal dont listen...

Anthony Rougier, Clint Marcelle and Michael McComie is real imps....

Rougier I always respect as a player but when he became a coach he tun real ass...

Marcelle only on money, he still living in he father house in Cocorite, big man like he who spend over 10 years in England playing Pro football.

So Rougier and Marcelle was gunning for McComie and now they plan get back fire...   :rotfl: :rotfl:

Real cut throat thing sah..

Post by: Cowen on August 05, 2012, 05:44:59 AM
ah did shame

like u see it live big mag?
Post by: Jack Horner on August 05, 2012, 06:00:02 AM
When these fools done with Trinidad and Tobago Football it will be no coming back.

You guys will see how important Jack Warner was to T&T football and all he did.

Now sit down and enjoy the ride, watch Anton Corneal destroy T&T football beyond fixable.

Its a friend business now. You guys feel Jack was bad, Anton is worst and he do not listen, he knows everything, he could talk the pants of a football but to put it into action on the field, he clueless and he is spiteful to, players cant make mistakes around him or else they done, no second chance, asked Jake Thomson.

I had McComie at Joe Public coaching once and had to fire him, the guy is a real idiot.

Jack will rise again !!!!!!!!

Post by: Football supporter on August 05, 2012, 06:47:35 AM
When these fools done with Trinidad and Tobago Football it will be no coming back.

You guys will see how important Jack Warner was to T&T football and all he did.

Now sit down and enjoy the ride, watch Anton Corneal destroy T&T football beyond fixable.

Its a friend business now. You guys feel Jack was bad, Anton is worst and he do not listen, he knows everything, he could talk the pants of a football but to put it into action on the field, he clueless and he is spiteful to, players cant make mistakes around him or else they done, no second chance, asked Jake Thomson.

I had McComie at Joe Public coaching once and had to fire him, the guy is a real idiot.

Jack will rise again !!!!!!!!

Daryl, your father made Anil in his own image so we expect nothing less. As with football, Jack is now being exposed in politics as Jack of no trades and master of none. Calder Hart saving the house next door in Florida for you all.
Post by: Mango Chow! on August 05, 2012, 08:00:35 AM
In America he would have gotten a law suit in he backside.

Only in Trinidad you get a slap on your wrist, watch McComie back on the job soon, that is Anton boy.

Discipline is good, but McComie went overboard and needs to get penalize, he always do some crap.

In Jamaica.....mc comie woulda done get a serious cutarse by now.......LONG before this incident even.
Post by: kaiser on August 05, 2012, 09:13:09 AM
give the u20 wuk to grosvenor he know how to get the best out of that age group
Post by: Arimaman on August 05, 2012, 10:09:15 AM
If this is in fact true, that is nothing really new in T&T youth football.  I can tell you the one and only Dwight Yorke was asked to run for the duration of practice and he did it.  Now fortunately, nothing happended to Yorke, but I've seen that before in person.  In fact, I joke about it all the time but as youth coach now, I fully understand that was a stupid thing for the coach to do.  The irony of the situation was that McCommie was on that team and I'm pretty certain he was there when this happened with Yorke.  Doesn't surprise me in the least but I would think with football today this would never happen.
Post by: MEP on August 05, 2012, 10:39:08 AM
wow unbelievable......
I give de yute credit the mere fact that he didn't stop running says a lot about him.
Post by: Errol on August 05, 2012, 10:44:53 AM
If this is in fact true, that is nothing really new in T&T youth football.  I can tell you the one and only Dwight Yorke was asked to run for the duration of practice and he did it.  Now fortunately, nothing happended to Yorke, but I've seen that before in person.  In fact, I joke about it all the time but as youth coach now, I fully understand that was a stupid thing for the coach to do.  The irony of the situation was that McCommie was on that team and I'm pretty certain he was there when this happened with Yorke.  Doesn't surprise me in the least but I would think with football today this would never happen.

I am sure Yorke got water though.

Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 10:45:27 AM

Ah sure Yorke get at least water?
Post by: Football supporter on August 05, 2012, 11:50:56 AM
wow unbelievable......
I give de yute credit the mere fact that he didn't stop running says a lot about him.

Alvin Jones is one of the best defenders I have seen at that age. Very composed, good positional sense. That mistake he made will serve him well in the future. If he doesn't play overseas, it will be because this nation failed him.
Post by: Mango Chow! on August 05, 2012, 11:52:19 AM
The reason that men like mc comie and them have taken coaching courses and been appointed in the positions they hold, is to educate the youth and help build a a proper program...part of ttat is about moving away elevating yourselves and the youth from these old, colonialist type training methods.  "Running laps" is always going to be a (dreaded) part of football and I agree, there are times when you have to get a little stern with your charges.  But it can and should never be (especially nowadays) to the point of the abject humiliation of a young player, be it male or female, and most certainly never to the detriment of their health and well being.  michael mc comie, to me, is a man that was extremely talented and was an excellent young GK....for many years he has been in a great position to share his knowledge, experiences and all else that he has, along with all the training HE has received, with these youth and try to help build T&T Football in a POSITIVE way......but instead, he just can't help but to be a total prick and a shed tool.  He is probably one of the most disliked figures in T&T football. 
Post by: asylumseeker on August 05, 2012, 12:33:15 PM
On one level, running laps is f**kery. Some of the literature even suggests that physically punitive measures (as part of a coaching tool box) are counterproductive.
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 05, 2012, 12:38:19 PM
So has the under 20 squad been named
Post by: Arimaman on August 05, 2012, 01:22:43 PM

To be honest, he may or may not have, difficult to remember something 25 years ago...  But I remember the coach forget he was actually running so it's possible he may not have.  Either way that is the environment McCommie grew up in, nontheless, things have changed now.  In that era being thirsty was a weakness, a sign of being unfit.  Truth be told, until I left trini in '91, we were brainwashed with that sh!t.... In fact, two coaches who threw out that facade was Kenny Thomas (Gustine's coach) and Mike Grayson (my Arima coach at the time)... Why did they? They both were educated in the US....  Sad that this nonsense could still be going on....
Post by: ragga on August 05, 2012, 02:25:24 PM
Today's youth coaching education promotes - "No L's"

No Laps.
No Lines.
No Lectures.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 05, 2012, 02:29:16 PM

To be honest, he may or may not have, difficult to remember something 25 years ago...  But I remember the coach forget he was actually running so it's possible he may not have.  Either way that is the environment McCommie grew up in, nontheless, things have changed now.  In that era being thirsty was a weakness, a sign of being unfit.  Truth be told, until I left trini in '91, we were brainwashed with that sh!t.... In fact, two coaches who threw out that facade was Kenny Thomas (Gustine's coach) and Mike Grayson (my Arima coach at the time)... Why did they? They both were educated in the US....  Sad that this nonsense could still be going on....

Good talk.
Post by: MEP on August 05, 2012, 03:32:11 PM
This whole situation is emblematic of why our football isn't going anywhere.....does the punishment make the yute a better player? If McCommie thinks so he needs to be elsewhere maybe a prison officer. It's that lack of creativity in trying to teach the game that hinders the development of our game and players.
Post by: Football supporter on August 05, 2012, 03:55:15 PM
This whole situation is emblematic of why our football isn't going anywhere.....does the punishment make the yute a better player? If McCommie thinks so he needs to be elsewhere maybe a prison officer. It's that lack of creativity in trying to teach the game that hinders the development of our game and players.

And this extends to teachers and even good parenting. The days of corporal punishment should be long gone, but children still getting licks. Constant negative comments and actions create just that...negativity. Positive reinforcement and correction is more effective on the field, in the classroom and in the home. This does not mean there is no respect or discipline, in fact, quite the opposite.
Post by: Fyzoman on August 05, 2012, 07:31:41 PM
Ah wait ah few days to post in response to this...it's a well establish fact that mccomie is ah big c*&t, he could give whatever explanation he want, he is a c*&thole.

Somebody mention bout he father?
Speculation Alert-maybe this c*&t have it in for JunyBoy and decide to take it out on he son, that is the ONLY reason I going with, but then again it's a well established fact that this man is ah c*^t, so expect anything at anytime?

Boy somebody woulda surely be riding for he if was my son yes.
Post by: terron on August 05, 2012, 09:14:46 PM
Mike have to go.... Anton love Mike because he played with Alcons... Mike said that he was in the US coaching but i can tell you he was only gambling in the US.
Post by: Bakes on August 05, 2012, 10:10:50 PM
Mike have to go.... Anton love Mike because he played with Alcons... Mike said that he was in the US coaching but i can tell you he was only gambling in the US.

Haha.. I clean forget about that yes... I too hear of the Vegas stories, except this was no story.

Post by: Sam on August 07, 2012, 06:21:04 AM
I meet ah youthman from Carenage after de Molino incident, them men wanted to ride for McComie we..

Hard luck, they didn't meet up with him.

One day he go bark up de wrong tree and somebody go light him up real fast.

Ah wonder what daddy Kelvin doing or did the TTFF ask him to drop de case.

Post by: Arimaman on August 07, 2012, 09:56:48 AM
I meet ah youthman from Carenage after de Molino incident, them men wanted to ride for McComie we..

Hard luck, they didn't meet up with him.

One day he go bark up de wrong tree and somebody go light him up real fast.

Ah wonder what daddy Kelvin doing or did the TTFF ask him to drop de case.

That is just ignorant and foolish.... So now man want to beat the man.... How ignorant a people are we? 
Post by: KND2 on August 07, 2012, 11:52:35 AM
He should get diciplined and the entire staff should learn from the event. Banning him from coaching is not necessary.

Things happen

you face punishment and learn from it.

Players and staff as awhole should be educated about dehaydration so they can learn the early signs especially in a hot climate like trinidad.

running laps whole day is an important part of football conditioning but players must be allowed to rehydrate frequently.

A national U20 players should be able to undergo 2 hrs of strenous exercise with frequent water breaks no problem.

This could happen in a regular session if the coach is not smart enough to allow water breaks.

the fact that is happen as punishment is irrelevant.

This should be a learning experience for both coaches and players...
Post by: futbolfan on August 07, 2012, 12:26:53 PM
He should get diciplined and the entire staff should learn from the event. Banning him from coaching is not necessary.

Things happen

Players and staff as awhole should be educated about dehaydration so they can learn the early signs especially in a hot climate like trinidad.

running laps whole day is an important part of football conditioning but players must be allowed to rehydrate frequently.

A national U20 players should be able to undergo 2 hrs of strenous exercise with frequent water breaks no problem.

This could happen in a regular session if the coach is not smart enough to allow water breaks.

Studies have shown and it has widely been documented that running laps "whole day" do not enhance your conditioning. Unless yuh training for a marathon. It was reported that the player ran over 70 laps and he was not allowed to stop not even for ah piece of ice.
So again let me hear how this was beneficial to the player?
Post by: tempo on August 07, 2012, 12:28:25 PM

Things happen

What McComie did was flat out wrong, negligent, and borderline criminal as he showed a reckless disregard for the youth's welfare and health. There is simply no place for using running laps as conditioning much less a punitive tool. First of all, running at one pace around the perimeter does not improve conditioning and secondly it does nothing to replicate the quick burst-type of running that is a major part of football.

Like many other coaches and leaders in general in the country, McComie severly abused his power and took advantage of an impressionable youth; and we wonder why young people have little faith in institutions or authority.

If McComie wants to continue coaching, he should, at his own expense, be required to enroll in accredited courses and workshops on youth coaching and youth development. Otherwise, he should not be allowed anywhere near a touchline. I would also place considerable responsibility on the technical and medical staff as well. Unless the coach has a medical background, the training staff and doctors should have the final say on the physical strain a player can withstand. To do otherwise is to invite a horrible tragedy because far too many of our coaches are driven by ego and petty power trips.
Post by: elan on August 07, 2012, 12:37:31 PM

Where you get that from. Only people who eh know anything about football does still subscribe to that.
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2012, 12:41:16 PM
Ban his f**king ass, if the boy had dead would he be so cool about it? That is criminal what he did, not even in track training men does get treat so. You Must drink.
Post by: Mango Chow! on August 07, 2012, 01:00:42 PM

Things happen

You are way behind, Dred, real talk.   mc comie (is supposed to) have all kinda coaching badge and coaching experience!  Yuh tink dem courses he take only was teachin' him about wall passes and shuttle runs?  Is not a matter of if mc comie was or wasn't "smart enough to allow water breaks" dred.  He knows better of what he was doing but chose on that day to be a bigger c**t than he already is, for whatever reason.  He need to go somewhere and cool he ass in a corner.     
Post by: asylumseeker on August 07, 2012, 01:13:21 PM

Where you get that from. Only people who eh know anything about football does still subscribe to that.

It's not even a good use of time vis-a-vis economy of movement.
Post by: Arimaman on August 07, 2012, 01:48:06 PM
I have a question, where was the physio, ass't coaches etc?  I hope Ross and dem just didn't watch the youthman run laps whole day...Something cyar be right here...at least I hope not.

To piggy back what someone said, football is an anerobic sport (lots of short sprints) not an aerobic sport (marathon) running, so agreed, running laps not doing much.....
Post by: rastarocket7 on August 07, 2012, 03:15:16 PM
why didnt the kid just stop running? ???
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 03:34:14 PM
is facking KND a man who buss he toe kicking a lime...steups
Post by: elan on August 07, 2012, 08:54:50 PM
I have a question, where was the physio, ass't coaches etc?  I hope Ross and dem just didn't watch the youthman run laps whole day...Something cyar be right here...at least I hope not.
To piggy back what someone said, football is an anerobic sport (lots of short sprints) not an aerobic sport (marathon) running, so agreed, running laps not doing much.....

Daiz  what I say. If them stand up and watch that, how the he[double hockey sticks] they could promote someone from that staff to take over. Everyone should be suspended. Is all adults and one must have stepped up and put a stop to it.
Post by: Cocorite on August 07, 2012, 09:07:13 PM
With all the coaching badges these guys suppossd to go through, you mean to say they ain't cover disciplinary measures?
Post by: KND2 on August 08, 2012, 07:49:13 AM
Alyuh crazy
Sustained long distance running is an important part of football training to build conditioning and stamina.

of course it is not the only thing and of course football is a short sprint game.

long distance running is an importnat part of preparation especially in pre season.

There is not a reputable team in this world that does not do long distance running at a steady pace for about 30 min  or more at a time maybe once or twice a week especially in pre season.

Dont get tie up with the american talk bout no laps no lines no lectures

That is in reference to U10 players who play football twice a week and base ball on the other two days with piano on Friday.

If this case you want to maximize touches on the ball bc the player is playing soccer for 3 hrs a week and running is not developing ball skills

I talking about national team players who are training twice a day 6 days a week

In this kind of setting long distance running is essential to development and in building endurance.

Especially in the pre season

obviously there are other football related fitness that is involved with short sprints changing direction jumps etc.

but running is essential

especially in the pre season.

But this has nothing to do with what Mc commie did, which was a form of punishment.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 08, 2012, 08:32:33 AM
 :)
Post by: Football supporter on August 08, 2012, 08:46:22 AM
Alyuh crazy
Sustained long distance running is an important part of football training to build conditioning and stamina.

of course it is not the only thing and of course football is a short sprint game.

long distance running is an importnat part of preparation especially in pre season.

There is not a reputable team in this world that does not do long distance running at a steady pace for about 30 min  or more at a time maybe once or twice a week especially in pre season.

That is in reference to U10 players who play football twice a week and base ball on the other two days with piano on Friday.

If this case you want to maximize touches on the ball bc the player is playing soccer for 3 hrs a week and running is not developing ball skills

I talking about national team players who are training twice a day 6 days a week

In this kind of setting long distance running is essential to development and in building endurance.

obviously there are other football related fitness that is involved with short sprints changing direction jumps etc.

but running is essential

But this has nothing to do with what Mc commie did, which was a form of punishment.

I disagree. Preseason is the only time for any extensive running, and even then, only in the first week or two to develop a level of stamina. After that, its is much better to do series of short sprints and jogs interspersed with plenty of ball play in squares of various dimensions, small pitch games and some full size match play.

You will notice from the Olympics that medium distance runners have different muscle sculpture than sprint athletes. Ideally, footballers should look like 400m hurdlers not 3,000m steeplechasers. Hence why Bolt now feels he wants a Man U trial!!
Post by: Errol on August 08, 2012, 08:48:09 AM
Alyuh crazy

but running is essential

But without even a drink of water ?

You dont know the full details.

Post by: D.H.W on August 08, 2012, 09:57:20 AM
Alyuh crazy

but running is essential

But without even a drink of water ?

You dont know the full details.

EXACTLY The laps is not the main problem here. But starving a young man almost to death.
Post by: Mango Chow! on August 08, 2012, 10:03:15 AM
for all the men that trying to find or explain some kinda justification for mc comies'.....actions(?) in this incident, I wonder hummuch scientific (aerobic and anaerobic) justification allyuh woulda be tryin' to friggin' come up with if this was YOUR f**kin' son, meeting the same fate under this same coach with his same baggage under these same circumstances.  Allyuh good!  Loud f**kin' steups oui!!   
Post by: elan on August 08, 2012, 10:14:51 AM
Alyuh crazy

but running is essential

KND on a national team, it eh have no preseason.

If your players coming in 3-5 days before an international and you using that time to get man fit, then good luck.

In a Pro setting endurance is built through Intervals, developed and applied at variation which will achieve endurance fitness. A footballer does not need to be able to run consistently for 30 minutes as this never happen in a game. Training MUST mirror the real game. The game consist of a series of short forward movement interspersed with Jumping, side shuffling, back peddling, fighting for the ball, falling down and getting up, with a lot of walking.

Therefore, a soccer player need to be trained in such a manner as much as possible. Even on recovery, club are trying really hard not to allow players to run to much, hence the reason for massages, ice baths, rolling rods, and other crazy concoction. A Pro player like Ronaldo or Messi does not need to be running any more than is necessary, with the amount of games they play in a calendar year.

To break it down even more, a defensive midfielder fitness ciriculum will be different than that of a winger or fullback. Same goes for a center back and a center forward, in comparison to the goalkeeper. Fitness goes away most times from the team to "What does the individual player need?" This is where hear rate monitors come into play during training and preseason games. A look at a player statistics from the heart rate monitor will tell a training staff how hard or not a players need to work.

It's a different time my friend, and playing the game with the head is even more revelant now than it was before.

As Adidas say "Smart soccer has arrived."
Post by: Mango Chow! on August 08, 2012, 10:19:34 AM
As Adidas say "Smart soccer has arrived."

but it departs when men like mc comie enter de room.
Post by: Big Magician on August 08, 2012, 10:22:15 AM
allyuh still trying to work out this shit ??...is shit...dats it...was punishment

i still want to know what was the mistake ....
Post by: futbolfan on August 08, 2012, 11:10:31 AM
allyuh still trying to work out this shit ??...is shit...dats it...was punishment

Big Mag....I have ah funny suspicion that you was dey, if so let we hear what went down.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on August 08, 2012, 02:06:12 PM
for all the men that trying to find or explain some kinda justification for mc comies'.....actions(?) in this incident, I wonder hummuch scientific (aerobic and anaerobic) justification allyuh woulda be tryin' to friggin' come up with if this was YOUR f**kin' son, meeting the same fate under this same coach with his same baggage under these same circumstances.  Allyuh good!  Loud f**kin' steups oui!!   

Dan I owe yuh ah drink fuh dat oui!!  I readin dis ting an I cah lie it make meh blod boil ah lil bit oui!  I doh understand why anybody tryin to justify dis lunacy
Post by: giggsy11 on August 08, 2012, 02:22:47 PM

Or because the youthman didn't die.
Post by: weary1969 on August 08, 2012, 02:37:28 PM

Big Mag....I have ah funny suspicion that you was dey, if so let we hear what went down.

Cosignnnn
Post by: Fyzoman on August 08, 2012, 05:29:39 PM

Exact-facking-ly!!!

I reading bout all this aerobic dis and anaerobic dat and only steupsing yes (no disrepect eh fellahs).

Somebody tell me if ONE (!!!) good player-treatment related cutass wouldna take care of dis backsidehole treatment of he players.

So somebody please tell we again the benefits of running laps or not running laps, please, for we edifi-facking-cation nah, steups!!!
Post by: Sando on January 08, 2014, 03:43:38 AM
Anything came out of this?

Post by: Tallman on January 12, 2014, 09:31:57 AM
Anything came out of this?

I doh think so, but he fly out soon after. He coaching in Miami.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 12, 2014, 10:50:19 AM
Fuh who?
Post by: Tallman on January 12, 2014, 10:53:52 AM
Fuh who?

Kendall Soccer Coaliton. I eh know if is full time.
Post by: vb on January 13, 2014, 06:16:39 PM
Fuh who?

Kendall Soccer Coaliton. I eh know if is full time.

http://www.kendallsoccer.com/tryouts/630185.html
Post by: Tallman on January 30, 2014, 05:03:29 PM
McComie back home to clear his name
https://www.facebook.com/socawarriors.net/posts/10151896949478093
Post by: Sam on January 30, 2014, 05:49:53 PM
Please, any man in they right head will not believe this fool.

De youth just hold back and don't really want to say anything.

I hope the TTFA don't take chain up.

We do not need big headed pigs like McComie around our players.

Fresh people we need.

Not de Angue Eve and de McComies...

Post by: Tiresais on January 31, 2014, 04:15:31 AM
I'm trying not to judge the man before the investigation, although I don't have that much faith that it can be carried out satisfactorily
Post by: Sam on January 31, 2014, 04:34:10 AM
Please Tiresais, this is Trinidad, everybody know somebody.

Investigation my ass.

Probably some drunk up investigator who sell out for a Roti and a Carib.

I know someone close to de family and McComie was wrong, he took it to de extreme even after pleads from de youth.

De other member of de team was vex but nobody eh want to say nothing now.

Like Terrance Marcelle.

Post by: Sam on April 29, 2014, 05:39:46 PM
Alvin Jones is developing into a very good player like his brother Joevin.

Good job by W Connection.

Title: Important George Mathison Scoreboard interview ...
Post by: dreamer on March 22, 2015, 04:22:58 PM
Very revealing interviews in Tobago during the over 40 Masters' Tournament from late last year.
Along the way we see interviews with Tony Rougier, Anthony Dwarika
and a very long sleek interview with Michael McComie (coach at that time of Guaya) who spoke fluidly & gave some insights into the business directorship problems of the TT Proleague and the handicaps of immaturity of TT youths ballers and TT youths as a whole c/w their international counterparts.
You will have to fastforward sometimes as the interviews are interspersed throughout the video with McComie in the latter part.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pV7muWpkY4Q
All in all, a must see interview especially for Sam who has a problem with McComie and tends to lose it on the sight of this former TT player.
Post by: Tallman on December 04, 2018, 05:03:57 PM
Michael McComie passed away a short while ago from complications due to a brain tumor. :(
Post by: Cocorite on December 04, 2018, 05:16:50 PM
Michael McComie passed away a short while ago from complications due to a brain tumor. :(

Oh my! Shocked to hear this! Had no idea.
Condolences to family and loved ones
Post by: soccerman on December 04, 2018, 05:22:21 PM
Wow, shocking! RIP McComie.