Sports => What about Track & Field => Olympic Discussion => Topic started by: D.H.W on August 04, 2012, 11:39:21 AM

Title: Mens 100m & 200m: London 2012 Olympics competition schedule & results
Post by: D.H.W on August 04, 2012, 11:39:21 AM
Heat 1

1   3217     GAY Tyson   10.08   Q      +
2   3051     THOMPSON Richard   10.14   Q      +
3   3365     PHIRI Gerald   10.16   Q   SB   +
4   2598     SAIDY NDURE Jaysuma   10.28         +
5   1636     RODRIGUEZ Angel David   10.34         +
6   2985     THEMEN Jurgen   10.53         +
7   1417     MONTOYA Isidro   10.54         +
8   2917     YEO Foo Ee   10.69   

Heat 2

1   3216     GATLIN Justin   9.97   Q      +
2   1098     ATKINS Derrick   10.22   Q      +
3   3049     SORRILLO Rondel   10.23   Q      +
4   2657     KUC Dariusz   10.24         +
5   1215     ANDRE Nilson   10.26      SB   +
6   2220     ERIGUCHI Masashi   10.30         +
7   2618     AL-HARTHI Barakat Mubarak   10.41         +
8   2061     LUMAIN Fernando   10.90   

Heat 7

1   1803     CHAMBERS Dwain   10.02   Q   SB   +
2   1769     VICAUT Jimmy   10.11   Q   SB   +
3   3038     BLEDMAN Keston   10.13   Q      +
4   1101     FRASER Warren   10.27         +
5   2745     LOPEZ Miguel   10.31         +
6   1273     KOBEANE Gerard   10.48         +
7   2530     COIFFIC Fabrice   10.59         +
2920     COLLINS Kim   DNS
Title: Re: Mens 100m: London 2012 Olympics competition schedule & results
Post by: weary1969 on August 04, 2012, 12:13:14 PM
Sorillo should concentrate on d 200 and Burns should have run d 100.
Post by: royal on August 04, 2012, 03:42:24 PM
So Kim Collins get booted out by the St Kitts federation  ???
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 04, 2012, 08:30:55 PM
We get a bit lucky...
Bleds didn't get Bolt and Blake, but will have Gatlin & Powell..He could get through
...check the line up for the semis starting 2:45pm EST

let's see what Richard comes out with....he have it the hardest with Bolt and the Baileys, and Chambers has home advantage but it is RT

Wish Sorrillo the best with Gay & Blake! He looked good today

Lane   Bib   Athlete   PB   SB   +
2   2547     MARTINA Churandy   9.93   10.18   +
3   1797     SANNEH Suwaibou   10.21   10.21   +
4   2184     POWELL Asafa   9.72   9.85   +
5   1769     VICAUT Jimmy   10.07   10.11   +
6   1401     MEITE Ben Youssef   10.06   10.06   +
7   3216     GATLIN Justin   9.80   9.80   +
8   3038     BLEDMAN Keston   9.86   9.86   +
9   1805     DASAOLU James   10.09   10.13

2   2919     ADAMS Antoine   10.10   10.10   +
3   1360     SU Bingtian   10.16   10.19   +
4   2170     BOLT Usain   9.58   9.76   +
5   1803     CHAMBERS Dwain   9.97   10.02   +
6   1016     BAILEY Daniel   9.91   10.10   +
7   3205     BAILEY Ryan   9.88   9.88   +
8   3051     THOMPSON Richard   9.85   9.96   +
9   3365     PHIRI Gerald   10.06   10.16

2   1327     HYMAN Kemar   9.95   9.95   +
3   3049     SORRILLO Rondel   10.03   10.03   +
4   3217     GAY Tyson   9.69   9.86   +
5   2241     YAMAGATA Ryota   10.07   10.07   +
6   2169     BLAKE Yohan   9.75   9.75   +
7   1809     GEMILI Adam   10.05   10.05   +
8   1098     ATKINS Derrick   9.91   10.09   +
9   1303     WARNER Justyn   10.09   10.09
Post by: keelz on August 05, 2012, 07:01:39 AM
So Kim Collins get booted out by the St Kitts federation  ???

I READ THIS ARTICLE ON OBA THOMPSN'S TAKE ON KIMS ISSUE AND HE MENTIONED 'AB';
 http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=504118039614586&set=a.144071805619213.27975.141522192540841&type=1&theater
Post by: asylumseeker on August 05, 2012, 12:41:59 PM
In need of a link ... PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 12:47:53 PM
Bleds, what happened?  he didn't show up to London

came 4th at 10.04.  Only luck will get him through
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 05, 2012, 12:48:35 PM
http://www.thefirstrow.eu/watch/134021/6/watch-olympic:-athletics---finals.html
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 05, 2012, 12:49:17 PM

Peak too early, maybe?
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 05, 2012, 12:56:09 PM
No finals for Bledman.
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 05, 2012, 12:56:50 PM
Richard have a chance depending on how fast this last race is.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 12:57:00 PM
Well Bleds is out.
RT will have to wait, 3rd at 10.02....where this Ryan Bailey fella come from?

I hope RT can make it
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 12:57:09 PM
stress
Post by: vb on August 05, 2012, 12:57:38 PM

Peak too early, maybe?

Not really surprisin considering the form he showed in Round 1.
Torpedo might get through, but honestly based on his form over the last two years, a medal is not a realistic possibility.

However, we got a shot in the relay and our future is in good hands.

Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 12:58:35 PM
Look like relays is we only hope
Post by: soccerman on August 05, 2012, 01:01:27 PM
Big 100M semi finals going on now and I'm seeing women's water polo....allyuh help me out here, Thompson qualified for the final?
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 01:02:51 PM
RT qualified!!!!!
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 05, 2012, 01:03:16 PM
RT is in.
Post by: soccerman on August 05, 2012, 01:03:54 PM
Okay great....Thanks :beermug:
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 01:03:58 PM
Lard Sorrillo. Only RT in final
Post by: FF on August 05, 2012, 01:05:27 PM
Sorrillo now do a trinniberg
Post by: weary1969 on August 05, 2012, 01:08:57 PM
Big 100M semi finals going on now and I'm seeing women's water polo....allyuh help me out here, Thompson qualified for the final?

DOH KILL MEH PLS
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 05, 2012, 01:09:49 PM
Bledman looks as if he stumbled out of the blocks.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 01:10:07 PM

DOH KILL MEH PLS

NBC stream...that's ridiculous when TnT running.
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 05, 2012, 01:13:51 PM
Sorillo too almost land on his face.
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 05, 2012, 01:14:26 PM
9.86 at our trials but struggles when it come to the big meets ....  these athletes baffle me
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 01:15:45 PM
Feeds

http://www.sportwebz.com/live/163623-london-olympic-summer-games-london-united-kingdom-day-9/watch/live/stream/online/free/feed/p2p/vivo/gratis/tv/

http://www.sportwebz.com/live/164540-olympic-athletics-finals/watch/live/stream/online/free/feed/p2p/vivo/gratis/tv/

http://www.sportwebz.com/live/164125-london-olympic-summer-games-london-united-kingdom-day-9/watch/live/stream/online/free/feed/p2p/vivo/gratis/tv/

http://www.sportwebz.com/live/164124-london-olympic-summer-games-london-united-kingdom-day-9/watch/live/stream/online/free/feed/p2p/vivo/gratis/tv/

http://www.sportwebz.com/live/164118-london-olympic-summer-games-london-united-kingdom-day-9/watch/live/stream/online/free/feed/p2p/vivo/gratis/tv/
Post by: soccerman on August 05, 2012, 01:17:57 PM

Peak too early, maybe?

Not really surprisin considering the form he showed in Round 1.
Torpedo might get through, but honestly based on his form over the last two years, a medal is not a realistic possibility.

However, we got a shot in the relay and our future is in good hands.

So doh get meh hopes up for this final
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 01:19:01 PM
FINAL.. 4:50pm EST

2   3051     THOMPSON Richard   9.85   9.96   +
3   2184     POWELL Asafa   9.72   9.85   +
5   2169     BLAKE Yohan   9.75   9.75   +
6   3216     GATLIN Justin   9.80   9.80   +
7   2170     BOLT Usain   9.58   9.76   +
8   3205     BAILEY Ryan   9.88   9.88   +
9   2547     MARTINA Churandy   9.91   9.91

Post by: soccerman on August 05, 2012, 01:25:33 PM
9.86 at our trials but struggles when it come to the big meets ....  these athletes baffle me
I believe our athletes need to have a sports psychologist on staff to help them mentally prepare in an effort to boost their performance in big events like these.
Post by: Quags on August 05, 2012, 01:30:32 PM
FINAL.. 4:50pm EST

2   3051     THOMPSON Richard   9.85   9.96   +
3   2184     POWELL Asafa   9.72   9.85   +
5   2169     BLAKE Yohan   9.75   9.75   +
6   3216     GATLIN Justin   9.80   9.80   +
7   2170     BOLT Usain   9.58   9.76   +
8   3205     BAILEY Ryan   9.88   9.88   +
9   2547     MARTINA Churandy   9.91   9.91

holy cow what a lineup never seen anything like it ! So any other trinis running soon .
Or is it gonna be a speed walking maraton now ,gosh these games boring .all they show is water polo and volley ball .
so any other trinis soon.
Post by: soccerman on August 05, 2012, 01:32:49 PM

DOH KILL MEH PLS

NBC stream...that's ridiculous when TnT running.

Hopefully they bring the final live...I mean this is the main event of the Olympics
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 01:39:10 PM
That final look like the fastest ever on paper , waiting to see the results of that
Post by: Brownsugar on August 05, 2012, 01:43:46 PM
That final look like the fastest ever on paper , waiting to see the results of that

Boy, men making sub-10 and cruising to the finish line.   Ah want dem Jakans cut Justin Gatlin arse good and proper.  Make me fall in love with he cute face in 2004 only to find out he on drugs......steups!!  Broke my heart.... :'(
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 01:46:48 PM

Boy, men making sub-10 and cruising to the finish line.   Ah want dem Jakans cut Justin Gatlin arse good and proper.  Make me fall in love with he cute face in 2004 only to find out he on drugs......steups!!  Broke my heart.... :'(

HAHA  :devil:
Post by: futbolfan on August 05, 2012, 01:48:17 PM

Like Birchall?    :whistling: :whistling: :whistling:
Post by: weary1969 on August 05, 2012, 02:08:01 PM

Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 02:54:10 PM
May i be the first one to say f**k USA , Mash dem up Bolt , nice try Richard you made us proud. Everybody under 10
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 02:56:10 PM
Richard did make us proud....

Ran his heart out in the first 50
Post by: Michael-j on August 05, 2012, 02:59:45 PM

Indeed he did!!  Imagine, 9.98 and he came last!! wow!
Post by: Brownsugar on August 05, 2012, 03:00:32 PM

For real......thanks Richard.....was always going to be tough.....
Post by: Brownsugar on August 05, 2012, 03:01:24 PM

For two seconds I swore it was Palos that posted this..... ;D
Post by: weary1969 on August 05, 2012, 03:01:59 PM
Tell Gaitlin go pee in a cup.
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 05, 2012, 03:02:02 PM

Richard has peaked ......
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 03:07:25 PM
Tell Gaitlin go pee in a cup.

Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 03:08:47 PM
who runs the anchor? RT or KB?
Post by: futbolfan on August 05, 2012, 03:09:01 PM

Nah Asafa come eeen last... Congrats to Richard  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: soccerman on August 05, 2012, 03:09:41 PM
Damn Jamaica breeds sprinters...great job Richard, keep your head up!
Post by: che on August 05, 2012, 03:10:54 PM
Despite not winning any medals yet, our athletes are really representing T&T well. :applause:
Post by: Socapro on August 05, 2012, 03:13:31 PM
I think Bledman starts and RT anchors in the 4 x100m relay; Hopefully we can win a medal there for the Men and hopefully the ladies too! 

Our Men's 4 x400m relay will hope spur a few surprises especially if Quow get over his injury in time! :beermug:
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 03:14:17 PM
Despite not winning any medals yet, our athletes are really representing T&T well. :applause:

:beermug: :beermug:
Still have faith in our athletes to deliver us a medal
Post by: soccerman on August 05, 2012, 03:14:46 PM
We a contender in this event?
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 03:17:00 PM
I think Bledman starts and RT anchors in the 4 x100m relay; Hopefully we can win a medal there for the Men and hopeflully the ladies too! 

Our Men's 4 x400m relay will hope spur a few surprises especially if Quow get over his injury in time! :beermug:

RT remains cool as a cucumber, the man is ice. Hope he captaining that 4x100
Post by: futbolfan on August 05, 2012, 03:17:30 PM
Churandy from de Netherlands need to upgrade that gold tooth to ah platinum grill...
Post by: Socapro on August 05, 2012, 03:18:05 PM
Yeap!!
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 03:18:42 PM

why not?
JA, US and TnT, and we all know anything could happen in relays.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 03:19:19 PM
Am I the only one questioning Asafa injury?
maybe he pulled up seeing how the race was going?
Post by: weary1969 on August 05, 2012, 03:20:00 PM

Well we came 2nd last olympics so let that be your guide.
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 03:20:50 PM

that was a legit injury.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 03:22:38 PM

that was a legit injury.

if so, then it opens up the 4 x 100. 
Post by: Socapro on August 05, 2012, 03:27:41 PM

that was a legit injury.

Jamaica doesn't need Asafa to win the 4x100m, in fact they may do better without him on the squad because Asafa missed a lot of relay practise while they were at the Pre-Olympic Camp.

I think if everything goes smoothly and none of the top teams foul up with baton passing etc that T&T is good for a bronze in the 4x100m relay behind JA and the USA.  :beermug:
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 03:28:04 PM

that was a legit injury.

Looks so , because he said he is not sure if he can run the 4x100m i highly doubt he will run it , after a groin injury like that.
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 03:30:49 PM

that was a legit injury.

Jamaica doesn't need Asafa to win the 4x100m, in fact they may do better without him on the squad because Asafa missed a lot of relay practise while they were at the Pre-Olympic Camp.

I think if everything goes smoothly and none of the top teams foul up with baton passing etc that T&T is good for a bronze in the 4x100m relay behind JA and the USA.  :beermug:

USA dropping batton again, so you can scratch them out
Post by: Socapro on August 05, 2012, 03:34:41 PM

that was a legit injury.

I highly doubt that this time round.
We need to stop relying on others not doing their best if we really think we deserve to medal anyway!

I want T&T to win a medal with all the top teams in the race and performing at their best!
That way no one can grouse us of our medal.  :beermug:
Post by: asylumseeker on August 05, 2012, 03:37:35 PM
http://www.thefirstrow.eu/watch/134021/6/watch-olympic:-athletics---finals.html

Thanks! Ah still eh see the race doh ... initially it was sticking and then ah click on download and things froze up fuh a while. By the time they ketch up, I heard Bolt celebrating.  :(
Post by: weary1969 on August 05, 2012, 03:40:40 PM

that was a legit injury.

We need to stop relying on others not doing their best if we really think we deserve to medal anyway!

I want T&T to win a medal with all the top teams in the race and performing at their best!

When last d USA in d relay finals? It always have some drama with them.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 05, 2012, 03:43:10 PM

that was a legit injury.

agreed,

however US screwing themselves at last Worlds also end up screwing us out of a medal...
Post by: Socapro on August 05, 2012, 03:46:40 PM

that was a legit injury.

I feel they bad luck will run out this time and they will be in the 4x100m relay final and would medal once they make the final.

Hopefully T&T will medal as well!

All thinks going smoothly if all the top three relay teams perform to their potential then I see T&T coming home with at least a bronze medal in the Men's 4x100m relay!  :beermug:
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 05, 2012, 03:51:13 PM
Meh boy say if JAM rest Blake and Bolt, then JAM might struggle to make 4x100 final... I laugh......

I thought about what he was saying. And he might have a point. If JAM goes with Frater, Carter, Bailey-Cole and Weir, they might have to work to get into the finals. Although, this team has the raw speed, they havent faced strong competition... most of all they havent run together as yet. Could be interesting.
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 05, 2012, 03:52:54 PM

that was a legit injury.

I feel they bad luck will run out this time and they will be in the 4x100m relay final and would medal once they make the final.

All thinks going smoothly if all the top three relay teams perform to their potential then I see T&T coming home with at least a bronze medal in the Men's 4x100m relay!  :beermug:

Medals coming tomorrow for TT
Post by: Socapro on August 05, 2012, 03:59:23 PM

that was a legit injury.

Medals coming tomorrow for TT
Yeah, lets all say an overnight prayer for the two Gordon's to do what the pundits never predicted!  :beermug:
Post by: Socapro on August 05, 2012, 04:00:24 PM
Also we could get a 3rd medal on the cycle track?!  :beermug:
Post by: D.H.W on August 05, 2012, 05:49:20 PM
Thompson needs to run 200m more
Post by: Socapro on August 05, 2012, 05:55:40 PM
All our 100m sprinters need to run more 200metres, i.e. KAB, Ayhe, Bledman, Burns and Thompson!

I think if Rondell was more sensible he would have given up his spot to Burns in the 100m and concentrate on running the 200m and being a member of the 4x100m relay team.
Rondell is not a 1st tier 100m sprinter and never stood a chance of even making the 100m final but Burns based on recent form stood a decent chance.

Rondell could be a world class 1st tier 200m sprinter with some work and after putting on some more muscle. He is lacking in sprinting power but can still make the 200m final if he performs at his very best.
Post by: royal on August 05, 2012, 06:53:44 PM
All our 100m sprinters need to run more 200metres, i.e. KAB, Ayhe, Bledman, Burns and Thompson!

I think if Rondell was more sensible he would have given up his spot to Burns in the 100m and concentrate on running the 200m and being a member of the 4x100m relay team.
Rondell is not a 1st tier 100m sprinter and never stood a chance of even making the 100m final but Burns based on recent form stood a decent chance.

Rondell could be a world class 1st tier 200m sprinter with some work and after putting on some more muscle. He is lacking in sprinting power but can still make the 200m final if he performs at his very best.

Cosign
Post by: truetrini on August 05, 2012, 07:22:52 PM

Try this   (http://www.visionworks.com/promotion/images/2012-July-BOGO/bogo-offer.gif)
Post by: soccerman on August 05, 2012, 10:09:42 PM
Anyone was the bottle that was tossed out on the track from the stands when the runners were in their blocks just before the start gun went off? I noticed before the race and I saw it in the replay, I heard the guy got arrested though....they should jail his arse :cursing:
Post by: Brownsugar on August 06, 2012, 06:00:36 AM

Try this   (http://www.visionworks.com/promotion/images/2012-July-BOGO/bogo-offer.gif)

Oh gorm Truetrini......he was a good looking fella back in 2004.......didn't mind seeing him on my TV screen all de time...... :) :)
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 06, 2012, 09:19:18 AM
Anyone was the bottle that was tossed out on the track from the stands when the runners were in their blocks just before the start gun went off? I noticed before the race and I saw it in the replay, I heard the guy got arrested though....they should jail his arse :cursing:

They should send him on a trip to Jamaica......
Post by: Blue on August 06, 2012, 12:28:51 PM
Was down at the stadium last night to see the flashbulbs poppin and watch the real beast retain his crown. My video of the champ before the race...the big man for the big occasion :beermug:

http://www.youtube.com/v/XM4irwtWn4w
Post by: truetrini on August 06, 2012, 12:35:24 PM
Was down at the stadium last night to see the flashbulbs poppin and watch the real beast retain his crown. My video of the champ before the race...the big man for the big occasion :beermug:

http://www.youtube.com/v/XM4irwtWn4w

nice...!
Post by: Tallman on August 06, 2012, 06:19:10 PM
(http://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-snc7/391313_4282273773024_2098583358_n.jpg)
Post by: Deeks on August 06, 2012, 06:52:53 PM
anything with Lalonde? This 400 is a Carbbean clean sweep. Gre, DR, TT?
Post by: truetrini on August 06, 2012, 06:55:10 PM
anything with Lalonde? This 400 is a Carbbean clean sweep. Gre, DR, TT?

Yes in that order.
Title: Re: Mens 100m & 200m: London 2012 Olympics competition schedule & results
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2012, 05:01:31 AM
Wtf Sorrillo, Lord
Title: Re: Mens 100m & 200m: London 2012 Olympics competition schedule & results
Post by: Socapro on August 07, 2012, 07:49:33 AM
Wtf Sorrillo, Lord
200 Metres - M HEATS
Qual. rule: first 3 of each heat (Q) plus the 3 fastest times (q) qualified.
Morning session

Heat 2 - 07 August 2012 - 11:58
Wind: -0.1 m/s
Position   Lane   Bib   Athlete   Country   Mark   .    React

1   7   1759   Christophe Lemaitre  FRA 20.34 Q   .    0.161
2   5   2783   Anaso Jobodwana  RSA 20.46 Q   .    0.174
3   8   1283   Aaron Brown  CAN 20.55 Q   (=PB)   0.166
4   3   1987   Likoúrgos-Stéfanos Tsákonas  GRE 20.56 q   .    0.153
5   4   3049   Rondel Sorrillo  TRI 20.76    .    0.147
6   2   1560   Carlos Jorge  DOM   21.02    .    0.168
7   9   1336   Cristián Reyes   CHI 21.29    .    0.164
8   6   2927   Ibrahim Turay  SLE 21.90    (PB)   0.182

I am not surprised by Sorrillo's sub-standard performance in the 200m Heats.
What was I telling you guys about Sorrillo needing to concentrate on keeping his energy up for the 200m rounds and letting Burns who is in much better 100m form than Sorrillo himself, run the 100m rounds.
I believe Burns even stood a decent chance of making the 100m final unlike Sorrillo.

Our NAAA should have been wise and professional enough to make the decision for Sorrillo if Sorrillo wasn't mature enough to see what would be the better strategy to help him at least make one final for this Olympics.
Sorrillo tried to bite off more than he could chew in tackling both the 100m and 200m at the Olympics as he is not a Yohan Blake or Usain Bolt and he needs to recognise that.
A painfull lesson he has now learnt a little too late!   :(
Post by: STMB on August 07, 2012, 08:34:59 AM
TRUE
Post by: Peong on August 07, 2012, 08:54:46 AM
So we have nobody left in the 200m.  I see our 110m hurdles rep got into the semis.  Davis, I not even goin to pretend I know him.  Anyone have any background?
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 10:01:41 AM
Why should Sorillo have given up his place in the 100m to Marc?

We had trials, Marc had his time, he has run in several Olympics.  Sorillo beat him and EARNED his place.  How is Marc in better 100m form?

The Olympics come every 4 years and athletes live and die for this moment.

Sorillo did his part, he should not even consider such action as giving up his place EXCEPT in the case of injury.

The Olympics is about competing right?

Sorillo competed and did his best, I say well done, if Marc wanted to run in the 100m he should have beaten Sorillo in the nationals..easy as that!

I hope that the lesson learned is that if you want to compete in the Olympics bring your A game when it matters the most or sit in the stands and cheer those who do!
Post by: Deeks on August 07, 2012, 10:29:23 AM
Trini, I could not agree with you more on the Sorillo/Burns issue. What!!!! like you reading the Bible now since we win the Bronze. All praise to Allah and Jesus.  ;D
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 10:35:14 AM
Trini, I could not agree with you more on the Sorillo/Burns issue. What!!!! like you reading the Bible now since we win the Bronze. All praise to Allah and Jesus.  ;D

Amen!

Yuh know some people here so homophobic me eh undestand when they praying how dey could bring deyself to say a-MEN
Post by: Socapro on August 07, 2012, 10:37:38 AM
Why should Sorillo have given up his place in the 100m to Marc?

We had trials, Marc had his time, Sorillo beat him and EARNED his place.  How is Marc in better 100m form?

The Olympics come every 4 years adn athletes live and die for this moment.

Sorillo did his part, he should not even consider such action as giing up his place EXCEPT in the case of injury.

The Olympics is about competing right?

Sorillo competed and did his best, I say well done, if Marc wanted to run in the 100m he should have beaten Sorillo in the nationals..easy as that!

I hope that the lesson learned is that if you want to compete in the Olympics bring your A game when it matters the most or sit in the stands and cheer those who do!
For the same reason that Christophe Lemaitre gave up his 100m place on the advice of his French coach to concentrate on the 200m where he stands a realistic chance of medalling.

Sorrillo stood absolutely zero chance of making the 100m semis much less making the 100m final as he is not a 1st tier 100m sprinter. Why was he deluding himself like that?

Marc Burns based on recent form of running a 10 flat in the 100m in Europe and beating Sorrillo convincingly in the process just before Olympics was the way better option for T&T in the 100m at this Olympics.

It would also have benefitted Sorrillo to save his energy like Lemaitre did and concentrate on the 200m and we can see the result of that big strategic error by Sorrillo and his coach/management team where he could not even progress from the Heats.

The proof is in the pudding! Making the clever decisions can make all the difference between progressing and doing well at Olympics and underperforming when it matters most.

Sorrillo and his coach/management team errored by having him split his energy between both the 100m and 200m as he is not a Yohan Blake or Usain Bolt. Sorry to say it but it is the truth.
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 07, 2012, 10:51:14 AM
Sorrillo stood absolutely zero chance of making the 100m semis
but...
Post by: Socapro on August 07, 2012, 10:57:13 AM
but...
But he stood a decent chance of progressing in the 200m if he had managed his energy more cleverly!

Too late too late shall be the cry, bad decisions not based on what is logical to help your athlete based on his ability to progress to a particular final.
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 11:04:27 AM
Christophe Lemaitre coach is an ass.   He made his man drop out the race becasue he ranked 10th in the world....what was Richard Thompson's rank in the 100 m 2008 prior to the Olympics?

What was Lalonde Gordon's rank this year in the 2400m prior to the Olympics?

Christophe Lemaitre's coach stated that his runner is ranked 4th in the 200m and based on that he feels he has a better chance in that race rather than the 100m...maybe he will live to regret that, maybe not.  But this is the Olympics and as I said it comes once every 4 years, based on National trials Sorillo won the RIGHT to compete.  Saying that Marc ran a better race in Europe beating Sorillo is not evidence that he would have run better than Sorillo at the Olympics for obvious reasons.  And Marc's time  10.08 had a whopping 3. something wind behind his back too! he then ran a pedestrian 10.27 for a second behind Kim Collins, even Callender beat him up this year..nah..he eh deserve to run over Sorrillo.

Let us see if Christophe Lemaitre win a medal, and even if he does it still does not justify dropping Sorillo..not an iota.

Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 11:05:53 AM
Sorillo had no chance of making the finals..steups.
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 07, 2012, 11:09:24 AM
but...
But he stood a decent chance of progressing in the 200m if he had managed his energy more cleverly!

No, you said he had zero chance of even making the semis. I'm saying, but... he did.
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 07, 2012, 11:12:06 AM
Poor decision by Sorrillo and TTOC. Sorrillo should have focused on the 200. Marc would have made finals over Richard or even Asafa and Churandy.
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 11:17:43 AM
Poor decision by Sorrillo and TTOC. Sorrillo should have focused on the 200. Marc would have made finals over Richard or even Asafa and Churandy.

Madness....Based on what?

Madness or some little demon in your backside?

MArc was not progressing out the first rounds
Post by: Socapro on August 07, 2012, 11:21:26 AM
Christophe Lemaitre coach is an ass.   He made his man drop out the race becasue he ranked 10th in the world....what was Richard Thompson's rank in the 100 m 2008 prior to the Olympics?

What was Lalonde Gordon's rank this year in the 2400m prior to the Olympics?

Christophe Lemaitre's coach stated that his runner is ranked 4th in the 200m and based on that he feels he has a better chance in that race rather than the 100m...maybe he will live to regret that, maybe not.  But this is the Olympics and as I said it comes once every 4 years, based on National trials Sorillo won the RIGHT to compete.  Saying that Marc ran a better race in Europe beating Sorillo is not evidence that he would have run better than Sorillo at the Olympics for obvious reasons.  And Marc's time  10.08 had a whopping 3. something wind behind his back too! he then ran a pedestrian 10.27 for a second behind Kim Collins, even Callender beat him up this year..nah..he eh deserve to run over Sorrillo.

Let us see if Christophe Lemaitre win a medal, and even if he does it still does not justify dropping Sorillo..not an iota.

What are you talking about TC?
Marc ran in a race which included Sorrillo after that windy race you are referring to.
Marc ran a 10 flat in legal wind conditions and tied with one of the top Jamaican sprinters for 3rd in the race while Sorrillo looked dreadful and ran almost last!
I think the video is posted on this very forum in one of the threads; I’ll try to find it!

When I make my statements its based upon what is in the best interest of our athletes and not based on stroking an athlete's ego and leaving them to embarass themself.
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 11:24:37 AM
ok so yuh mean the Lucerne race?  ok so what?   I maintain that Athletes train for a spot in the Olympics and if Burns wanted a spot execute when it matters...simple really
Post by: Socapro on August 07, 2012, 11:26:29 AM
but...

No, you said he had zero chance of even making the semis. I'm saying, but... he did.
Ok cool I forget that he did get to the 100m semis by the skin of his teeth but ask yuhself what good did that do him after seeing his 200m performance in the Heats and he is supposed to be our T&T 200m champion? Was that not an embarassing 200m performance by Sorrillo?
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 11:28:24 AM
but...

Ok cool I forget that he did get to the 100m semis by the skin of his teeth but ask yuhself what good did that do him after seeing his 200m performance in the Heats and he is supposed to be our T&T 200m champion? Was that not an embarassing 200m performance by Sorrillo?

What was embarassing?  He did his best.  What was his time in the 100m?   What were his best times in the 200 this year?  par for the course fren.
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 11:32:27 AM
ANd Pro, yuh done know I like Marc Burns as a sprinter eh.  experience etc..always seems to find a way to make it, but rules is rules, and while I always want the best....the selection criteria is what it is, man have a chance to run in Olympics and allyuh want him to give up he palce..dais madness.

Is de Olympics.
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 11:35:59 AM
Bolt winning that 200m in a world record time I feel  nah...allyuh see the way he run that opening round 200m by Bolt?  nah..nah nah
Post by: Socapro on August 07, 2012, 11:41:48 AM
but...

What was embarassing?  He did his best.  What was his time in the 100m?   What were his best times in the 200 this year?  par for the course fren.
You are missing my point!

Sorrillo's best 200m time this year SB is 20.40 and his PB is 20.16 that he ran at the T&T Champs last year.

If Sorrillo had concentrated on the 200m and had ran nearer to his SB in the 200m Heats then he would have easily progressed to the 200m Semis and may have even had the potential to make 200m final if he was able to run near to his PB in the Semis.

200 Metres - M HEATS
Qual. rule: first 3 of each heat (Q) plus the 3 fastest times (q) qualified.
Morning session

Heat 2 - 07 August 2012 - 11:58
Wind: -0.1 m/s
Position   Lane   Bib   Athlete   Country   Mark   .    React

1   7   1759   Christophe Lemaitre  FRA 20.34 Q   .    0.161
2   5   2783   Anaso Jobodwana  RSA 20.46 Q   .    0.174
3   8   1283   Aaron Brown  CAN 20.55 Q   (=PB)   0.166
4   3   1987   Likoúrgos-Stéfanos Tsákonas  GRE 20.56 q   .    0.153
5   4   3049   Rondel Sorrillo  TRI 20.76    .    0.147
6   2   1560   Carlos Jorge  DOM   21.02    .    0.168
7   9   1336   Cristián Reyes   CHI 21.29    .    0.164
8   6   2927   Ibrahim Turay  SLE 21.90    (PB)   0.182

Sorrillo running near to his season best earlier today would have seen him easily in the top 3 in his 200m Heat but he was unfortunately spent after trying his hand at the 100m and scrapping thru to the 100m semis after which he stood zero chance of progressing as he is not a 1st tier 100m sprinter.

Bad management decisions by TTOC and our NAAA once again. What ah waste!
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 12:15:05 PM
If Bledman ahd run anything close to his personal best he was in the finals too...it jes doh work so breds.
Post by: Socapro on August 07, 2012, 01:00:35 PM
If Bledman ahd run anything close to his personal best he was in the finals too...it jes doh work so breds.
Bledman has been coming back from a recent injury he had to get treatment for hence why he did not run in the 4x100m relay at Crystal Palace in London after aggravating/sustaining the injury in the 100m.

I am dealing with what was most likely based on our athlete’s most recent form minus injury!

Based on most recent form Burns had just as good a chance of making the 100m final as RT had if not better while Sorrillo did not. Lets be realistic here nah man?!

Here is video of the 100m final on 17th July in Lucerne with both Burns and Sorrillo.

Meeting Luzern- M100m Yohan Blake Wins in 9.85s
http://www.youtube.com/v/mYz14hltt_A
100m Men - A-Final
 Date: 17/07/2012 Time: 19:39
 Wind: +1.6
 Rk   StNr   Name   Jg   Nat.   Association   Performance

First   35   Yohan Blake   1989   JAM   Jamaica   9.85   1st / I
 Second     38   Michael Frater   1982   JAM   Jamaica   10:00   2 / I
 Third   99   Marc Burns   1983   TRI   Trinidad and Tobago   10:00   3 / I
 4th   36   Lerone Clarke   1981   JAM   Jamaica   10:12   4 / I 
 5   A   Daniel Bailey   1986   ANT   Antigua and Barbados   10:12   5 / I 
 6th   19   James Dasaolu   1987   GBR   Great Britain   10:19   6 / I 
 7th   100   Rondel Sorrillo   1986   TRI   Trinidad and Tobago   10:23   7 / I 
 8th   67   Fongue Rolf Malcolm   1987   SUI   GG Bern   10:53   8 /

The message was written for me in plain black and white since I saw this race last month featuring both Burns and Sorrillo that Burns was the far safer candidate to get to the 100m final at the Olympics in London than Sorrillo was.
Post by: Deeks on August 07, 2012, 02:56:07 PM
If Marc should have run the 100 instead of Sorillo, then why have the national trials. Just select men on their tour performance.
Post by: Socapro on August 07, 2012, 03:10:51 PM
If Marc should have run the 100 instead of Sorillo, then why have the national trials. Just select men on their tour performance.
Our National Trials served its purpose but use you intelligence nah man and read what I said properly!

Sorrillo running the 100m worked against him in performing at his best in his pet event the 200m. He was spent after attempting the 100m and wasting his time as he stood no chance of making the 100m final! Burns on the other hand stood a much better chance of making the 100m final, as good a chance as RT had based on his most recent performances.

T&T is now passed the stage of countries like the Solomon Islands of just taking part in the Olympics to make up numbers.

We now expect all our best athletes to at least make the finals in their pet event and to hopefully be medal contenders once they make the final.

We need to have the mindset of a 1st world athletics nations like the USA and Jamaica and to get rid of the underachieving mindset of 3rd world athletics nations.

This is why I am disappointed with Sorrillo running the 100m when we have someone else with the A standard 100m qualification time who was clearly a better candidate to make the 100m final.

The bigger picture is that Sorrillo should have given Burns the 100m spot for T&T's as well as his own benefit! He would now be looked upon as an honourable hero athlete of T&T especially if Burns had made the 100m final and Sorrillo himself had progressed onto the 200m semis as he was well capable of doing after saving his energy for the event in which he stood a realistic chance of making the final in.

Too many of us are thinking in a selfish manner and not looking at the bigger picture that is the problem. :beermug:
Post by: 100% Barataria on August 07, 2012, 06:31:00 PM
Pro, you make sense and I think most agree.  I think the real question then becomes (for the future), what procedure to employ to make such "last min" changes.  After national trials perhaps have a meeting immediately preceding the games/WC to re-finalize the team in light of any recent developments?  No expert in these regards, but I don't think you are wrong, the qu is how to execute in a manner equitable to all and of benefit to team TT
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 06:42:08 PM
Nonsense!  Again the question is why have National Championships then?

The selection criteria is clear, in the USA, in Canada, in Germany, In Jmaica and in Trinidad and Tobago.

To run finish in the top three or yuh is an alternate.

Simple and no brainer.

I trian all year and win my place on the team and you telling me nah yuh he running, the man yuh beat getting yuh spot?

WTF?

You could beat e all year and as soon as Championships come that is when yuh need to do it to cement yuh spot on the team.

This is the facking Olympics and as I stated before atheletes all dream of running ot competing there...steups.
Post by: Socapro on August 07, 2012, 08:16:17 PM
Nonsense!  Again the question is why have National Championships then?

The selection criteria is clear, in the USA, in Canada, in Germany, In Jmaica and in Trinidad and Tobago.

To run finish in the top three or yuh is an alternate.

Simple and no brainer.

I trian all year and win my place on the team and you telling me nah yuh he running, the man yuh beat getting yuh spot?

WTF?

You could beat e all year and as soon as Championships come that is when yuh need to do it to cement yuh spot on the team.

This is the facking Olympics and as I stated before atheletes all dream of running ot competing there...steups.
What you are arguing there TC would make sense if Sorrillo was a 100m specialist and was a hot contender to make the 100m final and did not already have a spot secured in the 200m in which he has specialised.

The truth is Sorrillo is a 200m specialist and stood a realist chance of making the 200m final but blew his chance by trying to bit off more than he could chew.

If you had any concern about what would have been more beneficial for Sorrillo in the long term you won't even be trying to argue with me about my point which has been proven by Sorrillo’s sub-par performance earlier today in the 200m. His tank was empty from wasting his time in the 100m.

Maybe you love to see our athletes just making up numbers and underachieving but I don't.
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 09:01:52 PM
What you fail to realize is that if I entered the race and won I would be at the Olympics...so the non specialist beat the specialist and yuh still vex???
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 07, 2012, 09:10:16 PM
What you fail to realize is that if I entered the race and won I would be at the Olympics...so the non specialist beat the specialist and yuh still vex???

Didnt Kai beat Michelle in the trials?
Post by: gawd on pitch on August 07, 2012, 09:16:25 PM
Yes Kai did beat Michele at the trials in the 100m... Michelle still ran the 100m at the Olympics.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=57347.60

Plain and simple...Marc should have replaced Sorrillo. They did it for the women.
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 09:18:40 PM

Didnt Kai beat Michelle in the trials?

Yes I think so, and your point is?

They did it or did she make a decision to only run one race?  And based on what criterion should Marc have replaced Sorillo (the same Sorillo that did not receive funding from the T&T Government)?   Allyuh forgetting that the team was already chosen when Marc buss his best time for three years?  Steups..No way should he have been chosen ahead of Sorillo..NO FACKING WAY!
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 09:24:30 PM
Why allyuh eh say choose him infront of Bledman?  the same Bledman who struggled to make any times of consequence after Trials?  TYRIALS...see the name  ???
Post by: Socapro on August 07, 2012, 09:35:53 PM
Why allyuh eh say choose him infront of Bledman?  the same Bledman who struggled to make any times of consequence after Trials?  TYRIALS...see the name  ???
Why yuh like to behave so dotish sometimes TT?
Yuh very well know that Bledman got injured at the Crystal Palace meet in London that took place last month (after our National Trials) and has been recovering from his injury ever since. Hence why he did not perform like he has done for most of this year at meets outside of T&T as well as at our National Trials.

Sorrillo screwed himself by trying to behave like he is a Yohan Blake or Usain Bolt. He should have saved his energy for the 200m rounds and he would have been into the semis and still be in the reckoning all now.

At least Kai had a little more sense than Sorrillo by allowing Michelle the 100m specialist with the A standard to run and decided to concentrate on the 200m which she is better at and I must commend her for having a lot of common sense unlike Sorrillo and his management team.
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 09:42:45 PM
So why not replace the injured man, not at his best..not doing so is dotish not me....The Olympics is not about fren and team in individual events breds...WHy must a man train all year to make a team and then give it up?   Running and making it out the rounds can make cash...the man already did not get financial support from the government as the others did...now allyuh want him to give up all his hard work and sacrifice for what again?

And how de hell you or anyone else can guess that he did not perform to his peak in the 200 because he ran the 100?  That is shit talk...in fact it is dotish talk.

His times in the 200 are consistent with what he has run all year, is not like he was doing anything close to his PB all his races...steups.

Again Marc did not earn his spot, this is not some fan popularity competition is National CHAMPIONSHIPS And he earned his spot!

Talk done
Post by: Socapro on August 07, 2012, 10:00:11 PM
So why not replace the injured man, not at his best..not doing so is dotish not me....The Olympics is not about fren and team in individual events breds...WHy must a man trian all year to make a team and then give it up?   Running and making it out the rounds can make cash...the man already did not get financial support from the government as the others did...now allyuh want him to give up all his hard work and sacrifice for what again?

And how de hell you or anyone else can guess that he did not perform to his peak in the 200 because he ran the 100?  That is shit talk...in fact it is dotish talk.

His times in the 200 are consiostent with what he has run all year, is not like he was doing anything close to his PB all his races...steups.

Again Marc did not earn his spot, this is not some fan popularity competition is National CHAMPIONSHIPS And he earned his spot!

Talk done
You really like to pretend yuh dumb sometimes just for argument sake eh?!

Sorrillo does not run the 100m seriously and only started running the 100m a bit more this year to help improve his top end speed to help cut down his 200m times. He even mentioned this in one of his interviews during National Trials.

The fact of the matter is that he screwed himself by trying to bite off more than he could chew for the London Olympics as there was no way he was making the 100m final having never run a sub-10 in his life unlike our 3 other top tier 100m sprinters RT, KS and MB.

Some of allyuh fellas really like to try to justify underachievement yuh know.

Regards Bledman he got injured at Crystal Place but they were obviously banking on him getting back to sub-10 shape in time for the 100m rounds at the London Olympics as it wasn’t a serious injury but he obviously was not quite there yet.
However Bledman’s track record of running quite a few sub-10s this year meant that he was always a way better bet than Sorrillo in making the 100m final as was proven by his quicker times than Sorrillo in the 100m rounds despite not being back to the top shape he was in before and up to our National Trials.

I done with this argument as you obviously don’t want to see the logic just for argument sake so take win. :beermug:
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2012, 10:13:34 PM
Yuh talking shit.   SO imagine a man who jes starting running the 100 beating yuh favored specialist and yuh still want to put the loser infront of him to run in the olympics?

Running a sub 10 in the past is no guarantee of making any finals or medaling so try again.  If that was the case we might as well of sent Brown to run too!

And if that is the so-called logic you and anyone else wants to sue justify the times and medal Lalonde won!  nah he never run sub 45 before was not even on allyuh radar yet..Semis fastest time, national record...then bronze in dey pweffen...nah yuh wrong yuh dead wrong!

The logic you seeing is from a fan perspective, not from an athletes's perspective.  I train, I diet, I scarifice I beat you and you want to go in front of me?   And why is Sorillo so different from all the other professional athletes that he cannot double as it taking so much from him?

Underachievement my ass.  The man went to the Championships and won..look at every sport has a championship and the champions are the winners...not so?  Marc did not make the top 3..ergo he did not run..that is fair.  If yuh let the man who finished fourth run ahead of the man who came third that is encouraging underachievement and what incentive do I have to train and run my ass and heart off if you can just put the person I beat ahead of me?

How is that fair?  Imagine a man listed as an elite athlete and getting funding and Sorillo eh get nutten and still beat him when it matters the most!  hahahaha

And if as you say Bledman was injured then he is the one that should have been replaced NOW that is logic...yuh doh agree?

Marc only ran a 10 flat in Lucerne, his best time for three facking years..AFTER the National Championships and after the team was already selected...maybe he shoulda bring that 10 flat in the Sagicor Championships!

You looking at this as medals for T&T...you feel them athletes running for some misguided patriotic reasons?  lol    Breds them fellas and girls running, jumping and throwing for themelves FIRST!  In the relays and in team sports is a different scenario...where they have to depend on each othjer, when yuh in them blocks is everyman for himself..if you want to amke team..perform when it matters or stay home and watch it like me.

Now the talk done!
Post by: Socapro on August 07, 2012, 10:47:48 PM
Even from a selfish perspective what Sorrillo did makes little logical sense and was not to his personal benefit!

If I was Sorrillo I was concentrating on the 200m whether or not there was another T&T runner available to take my 100m spot as I stood a decent chance of making the 200m final and making more money as an athlete from Meet invites as I could boast on my CV that I was a London 2012 200m Olympic finalist.

Sorrillo beat Burns once in his life at National Trials so what? Kai also beat Michelle at National Trials in the 100m. However Kai also qualified for the 200m which she specialises in and so did not lose out by allowing Michelle to have her 100m spot.
So all I am saying is that Sorrillo was in a similar position to Kai and could have done the honourable thing especially as it could have benefitted his performance in the 200m where he stood a decent chance of making the 200m final if he did had not waste so much of his energy on trying to double.
Remember Sorrillo made the 200m finals at World's last year so he was somewhat expected to do similar at Olympics and has now lost a lot of stripes as a 200m runner as a consequence of his failure to progress. Where is the selfish logic in that? I could see the dotishness but not the logic!

Anyway as I said take win as you just want to drag out this thing into a long time consuming argument.  :beermug:
Post by: Dumplingdinho on August 08, 2012, 07:43:23 AM
sorrillo ran the 100 in the college but i agree he shouldnt have ran that event in the olympics.  He is not strong enough to do those 2 events.  His focus should have been only the 200.
Post by: weary1969 on August 08, 2012, 08:05:41 AM
sorrillo ran the 100 in the college but i agree he shouldnt have ran that event in the olympics.  He is not strong enough to do those 2 events.  His focus should have been only the 200.

ENT/CO-SIGNNNNN
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 08, 2012, 08:07:22 AM
So Sorillo shoulda give up his achievement of a 100M Olympic semis, so he could concentrate on the achievement of a semis in 200 instead?
Post by: truetrini on August 08, 2012, 09:25:29 AM
So Sorillo shoulda give up his achievement of a 100M Olympic semis, so he could concentrate on the achievement of a semis in 200 instead?

Exactly, forget National trials, forget training, forget rewarding excellence, give it to someone else in the name of T&T...the same T&T dat refused to give him financial support.

And the assness that he is not strong enough to run both events, the same both events he ran in Nationals and beat Marc in and everyone else in the 200!

yeah..dats it.
Post by: Socapro on August 08, 2012, 09:56:15 AM
You are really slow Dinner Mints.

Based upon Sorrillo's SB 20.40 and PB 20.16 he had a great chance of making the 200m semis and final at this Olympics as he did at World Champ's last year.

But he chose to waste vital energy on the 100m and suffered for it when he tackled the 200m.
Doubling at T&T National Trials is not even quarter as difficult as doubling at Olympics unless you are a world class athlete at both events like a Yohan Blake or a Usian Bolt.

Had Sorrillo prioritised and made the 200m semis and final as he was well capable of doing he would have gained more international respect for his consistency as a 200m runner and would be invited to more international Meets to run the 200m and so be able to earn some decent money on the T&F circuit after the Olympics. He basically shot himself in the foot but let’s hope he has learnt his lesson now.

Sorrillo decision to double was not a clever one but it was his choice and he now has to live with his failure to progress in his pet event the 200m at Olympics in which he is the current T&T National Champion.

I don't know about you guys but I expect my National Champion in any T&F event barring injury to at least make the Olympic finals! Maybe my standards are too high for some of allyuh here!  :beermug:
Post by: truetrini on August 08, 2012, 10:12:21 AM
Sorillo was not making the 200m finals.

So a man who make the semis in the 200m and the finals in worlds is not a world class athlete?

steups.

His running the 100m is his decision and he deserved the opportunity
Post by: Socapro on August 08, 2012, 10:16:41 AM
There was no way Sorillo was making the 200m finals. not a chance.
We can say that with assurance about the 100m but not the 200m.

Sorrillo made 200m finals at Worlds last year and if he was able to run near his SB in his Heat he would have been 2nd and thru to the semis. Then if he was able to run near is PB in the semis he would have been able to make the final.

Sorrillo was well capable of making the 200m final but blew his chance once he tackled the 100m rounds as he is not a Yohan Blake or Usain Bolt. That is the reality but bad athlete management based on his capablities blew his chance.
Post by: truetrini on August 08, 2012, 10:26:46 AM
Pro what is de vibes in dem fete and dem in London? 
Post by: Socapro on August 08, 2012, 10:30:08 AM

So a man who make the semis in the 200m and the finals in worlds is not a world class athlete?

steups.

Like yuh dotish or what?

It means he is a world class athlete at the 200m, not at the 100m!

So many slow people round here, I hope allyuh wasn't T&T athletes in the past else no wonder we have underperformed!  ::)
Post by: Socapro on August 08, 2012, 10:30:51 AM
Pro what is de vibes in dem fete and dem in London? 
Really nice, things heating up for Notting Hill!  :beermug:
Post by: truetrini on August 08, 2012, 10:35:51 AM

steups.

Like yuh dotish or what?

So many slow people round here, I hope allyuh wasn't T&T athletes in the past else no wonder we have underperformed!  ::)
eh heh well I was..and I was not that slow.  Sorillo making it to the semis and he is not world class is news, thanks for the education
Post by: Socapro on August 08, 2012, 10:55:01 AM

steups.

Like yuh dotish or what?

eh heh well I was..and I was not that slow.  Sorillo making it to the semis and he is not world class is news, thanks for the education
If you want to believe that Sorrillo is currently a top tier world class 100m sprinter then you can keep deluding yourself.

I prefer to live in the real world. Do you know what is Sorrillo's current 100m world ranking?

Bet you he is ranked much higher in the 200m than in the 100m but after that performance in the 200m Heats we can expect his 200m ranking to fall drastically after this Olympics.

It's unfortunate because Sorrillo is a nice fella and did try his best in the 200m but his tank ran empty after the first 150m.
Post by: truetrini on August 08, 2012, 11:00:29 AM
lol, abd that was due to the 100m right?  lol
Post by: Socapro on August 08, 2012, 11:03:02 AM
lol, abd that was due to the 100m right?  lol
:idea: Eureka!! Took you a while to switch on the light bulb but glad you finally did!  :beermug:
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 08, 2012, 02:09:12 PM
Semoy 8th in de final. 22.87.
Post by: truetrini on August 08, 2012, 07:56:46 PM
I hope you see how close the Frenchie whose coach made him give up the 100 for only the 200 came to getting the boot eh.  In only as the fastest loser. The Jackasses.
Post by: Socapro on August 08, 2012, 08:11:39 PM
I hope you see how close the Frenchie whose coach made him give up the 100 for only the 200 came to getting the boot eh.  In only as the fastest loser. The Jackasses.

No his coach made a wise decision as Christophe Lemaitre had a much lower chance of medalling in the 100m than in the 200m.

Christophe Lemaitre may still not medal in the 200m but at least he knows that's his better race where he stands a better chance of medalling so why waste vital energy in the 100m on a lost cause?

Christophe Lemaitre will not run lower than 5th in the final and may even medal if Warren Weir and Wallace Spearmon disappoint.
Post by: truetrini on August 08, 2012, 08:25:10 PM
ell looking at Spearmon it looks like he ran in the 100m also becasue he almost get caught by Frenchie....Once you make the finals anything can happen but I doubt he getting a medal although..ALTHOUGH that fella from France have a serious abd mind too.
Post by: ribbit on August 09, 2012, 02:53:54 PM
congrats to jamaica for their 1-2-3 in the men's 200m. wow.
Post by: D.H.W on August 09, 2012, 03:53:46 PM
Hit by a lightning bolt, attacked by a beast and bitten by a warewolf
Post by: pecan on August 17, 2012, 12:05:47 PM

This was an image that flashed up on the screen when Bolt won the 200m. I happened to be recording the event and when I played it back I noticed it and took a picture of the image on the screen. It was on the screen for a fraction of a second.

The colours of the watermelon match the Jamaican colours but I have to conclude that this family did not know the watermelon stereotype.

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/CIMG6708.jpg)
Post by: Dutty on August 17, 2012, 12:39:48 PM
dais ah yankee ting oui

island people does eat dey watermelon and fried chicken stigma free
Post by: pecan on August 17, 2012, 01:40:22 PM
dais ah yankee ting oui

island people does eat dey watermelon and fried chicken stigma free

oh ho. dat is why the KFC in POS so successful?
Post by: D.H.W on August 17, 2012, 01:44:03 PM
Can I have some corn with that?