General => General Discussion => Topic started by: vb on August 16, 2012, 10:49:24 AM

Title: VB coming to Toronto
Post by: vb on August 16, 2012, 10:49:24 AM
Guys,

I usually work abroad but will be home for about six weeks in mid Sept.

I initially will stay at around Bay/Bloor. If you all know of any good WI restaurants or Roti places nearby let me know.

Anybody want to bounce up. Just give me a hail.

Title: Re: VB coming to Toronto
Post by: truetrini on August 16, 2012, 11:28:00 AM
Canada is a foreign country so yuh should feel right at home.
Post by: vb on August 16, 2012, 11:33:20 AM

Well seeing that I have a home there.
There is no place like home.  ;D
Post by: pecan on August 16, 2012, 01:45:40 PM

doh get sick, dat is all I can tell yuh. We go have to ship you to the USA. But Buffalo close by. As long as it have no fire or snow, you should be OK.
Post by: vb on August 16, 2012, 02:02:20 PM

doh get sick, dat is all I can tell yuh. We go have to ship you to the USA. But Buffalo close by. As long as it have no fire or snow, you should be OK.

You comment confuses me. I have OHIP. Is there something else I should know.
Post by: truetrini on August 16, 2012, 03:13:08 PM

Health care in the USA jes superior..dais all
Post by: vb on August 16, 2012, 03:53:40 PM

I'll make sure and remember that the next time I go to the Dr. or hospital for free. And have been doing so for the last 27 years.  ;D
Post by: truetrini on August 16, 2012, 03:59:40 PM
free...yuh get what yuh pay for, and in Canada they trying to reduce doctors pay..a dangerous precedent..try to remember dat too
Post by: vb on August 16, 2012, 04:16:39 PM
free...yuh get what yuh pay for, and in Canada they trying to reduce doctors pay..a dangerous precedent..try to remember dat too

I'll remember that as we don't turn away the poor from hospitals or any citizen can visit a Dr. any time.

Post by: Controversial on August 16, 2012, 04:34:17 PM
alis roti shop get bun down

best roti shops on the west end, leelahs in sauga, drupatis and radicas in brampton

hit me up on fb breds, we will go for a drink

bless :beermug:
Post by: vb on August 16, 2012, 04:36:02 PM

best roti shops on the west end, leelahs in sauga, drupatis and radicas in brampton

You in Scarborough. Right?
Post by: vb on August 16, 2012, 04:37:07 PM
There's a good place at Dundas/Yonge. But I looking for one nearer to Bay station.

Post by: Controversial on August 16, 2012, 04:40:53 PM

You in Scarborough. Right?

nah breds, im in the west end, brampton and sauga until i go back to LA, never heard of that one at dundas and yonge, whats the name?
Post by: vb on August 16, 2012, 04:58:26 PM
Yuh kidding. It was just east of the intersection for years.

Then I think in the 90s they moved West of Dundas and Yonge on Dundas.

Walk past Eatons, cross the street and just keep looking on the left. Completely forget the name. But I only visit TO these days. ;-)

Good food though. The rest. was bought over by two women a Trini and a Guyanese.

Post by: truetrini on August 16, 2012, 07:18:12 PM

I'll remember that as we don't turn away the poor from hospitals or any citizen can visit a Dr. any time.

And where in the US do Hospitals turn away the poor?
Post by: pecan on August 16, 2012, 07:44:41 PM

It was directed at TT and his comments about Canadian healthcare ... I was kicksin'  :D
Post by: vb on August 17, 2012, 02:44:37 AM

It was directed at TT and his comments about Canadian healthcare ... I was kicksin'  :D

All I ask for was a place to find roti yes.  :(
Post by: Sam on August 17, 2012, 09:26:23 AM
VB coming to Toronto !!!!...

SO ?

what we suppose to do now ?

Jump and fart ?

Post by: vb on August 17, 2012, 09:52:12 AM
VB coming to Toronto !!!!...

SO ?

what we suppose to do now ?

Jump and fart ?

Seeing that you don't live in TO and the post does not concern you.
You can simply fawk off. No need to fart.
You stink enough.

Post by: pecan on August 17, 2012, 09:54:50 AM

All I ask for was a place to find roti yes
.  :(

Click Here ===> The Best Roti in Toronto (http://www.blogto.com/toronto/the_best_roti_in_toronto/)
Post by: vb on August 17, 2012, 10:19:49 AM

Click Here ===> The Best Roti in Toronto (http://www.blogto.com/toronto/the_best_roti_in_toronto/)

Useful. Thank you.

Post by: Mr Fix-it on August 17, 2012, 11:08:11 AM

Useful. Thank you.

I would say Drupati's Doubles and Roti Shop is just north of Ellesmere on Bellamy
Went there a couple weeks back and see RasIred in dey with he wife.
Decent doubles and Roti
Post by: vb on August 17, 2012, 11:21:37 AM
I only come in and out of TO occasionally.

However, I remember one at the Jane/Finch Mall next to MacDonald's.
The one just West of Dundas/YOnge.

Well I will be liming downtown and in Scarborough. So we go see  ;D
Post by: ribbit on August 17, 2012, 11:30:23 AM
drupati's does a nice roti but a never try de doubles.

for a brief time a few years back dey had a place open up on yonge just north of dundas on the east side in a shop that is now a schwarma joint. dey was selling doubles. vb, is that the same place yuh mention?
Post by: vb on August 17, 2012, 12:09:17 PM

for a brief time a few years back dey had a place open up on yonge just north of dundas on the east side in a shop that is now a schwarma joint. dey was selling doubles. vb, is that the same place yuh mention?

Nah not dat one. I think this one is Palm Grove or some kinda sht like dat. Around about 20 yrs now.
Post by: Mr Fix-it on August 17, 2012, 01:10:13 PM

Nah not dat one. I think this one is Palm Grove or some kinda sht like dat. Around about 20 yrs now.
Would even venture to say Roti King, but I move from that area years now so I doh know.  When I lived in the ares his roti was king :beermug:
Post by: Dutty on August 17, 2012, 01:35:52 PM
4 de bestest
Roti Hut off McCowan for Roti

ACR on Ellesmere for Doubles & polorie

VB, ah think palm grove somwhere in 'sauga
Post by: pecan on August 17, 2012, 01:42:42 PM
4 de bestest

Roti Hut better than Mona's and Drupati (the one on Albion)?
Post by: Dutty on August 17, 2012, 01:51:58 PM
4 de bestest

I'll concede drupati roti skin more sorf and buttery ...but for ah overall roti, yuh cyah beat de hut, bigger, more meat
and if yuh gih de gyirl behind de desk ah sweeteye she go put extra punkin inside
Post by: pecan on August 17, 2012, 01:57:36 PM
4 de bestest

I'll concede drupati roti skin more sorf and buttery ...but for ah overall roti, yuh cyah beat de hut, bigger, more meat
and if yuh gih de gyirl behind de desk ah sweeteye she go put extra punkin inside

all this time in TO, I have never been to the Roti Hut and I in the neighbourhood all the time.  I will have to check it out next time.
Post by: Dutty on August 17, 2012, 02:10:07 PM

well, with all de hourly gun shot wounds and de monthly mass shootings I would be shocked if it wasnt superior

afterall yuh hadda have de bess medicine in ah war zone
Post by: truetrini on August 17, 2012, 09:21:55 PM

well, with all de hourly gun shot wounds and de monthly mass shootings I would be shocked if it wasnt superior

So since the USA specialises in treating victims of mass shootings and gun shot wounds why Canucks coming dey for again?  Thought so foolish Canadian....Most medical breakthroughs and advancements in medicine and science comes from the USA..get used to it.
Post by: vb on August 18, 2012, 11:07:23 AM
The truth is I've been speaking to a lot of you for more than a decade now but only met a few. The few times I go to TO or TT I'm just there for a while and have to do the family thing.

Had the pleasure of meeting Deeks in Ist. a few years back.

This time I should be in TO for about six weeks.

Post by: pecan on August 18, 2012, 12:37:57 PM

So since the USA specialises in treating victims of mass shootings and gun shot wounds why Canucks coming dey for again?  Thought so foolish Canadian....Most medical breakthroughs and advancements in medicine and science comes from the USA..get used to it.

naturally, the population of the US is >300 million and so it stands to reason that many breakthroughs will result when comparing to Canada (30 million). By the same token, the size of the population will ensure that US have a lot of dotish people too.  So for every breakthrough, it have a lot of dotish people who frequent Walmart and belong to the NRA.

Post by: truetrini on August 18, 2012, 10:37:17 PM

naturally, the population of the US is >300 million and so it stands to reason that many breakthroughs will result when comparing to Canada (30 million). By the same token, the size of the population will ensure that US have a lot of dotish people too.  So for every breakthrough, it have a lot of dotish people who frequent Walmart and belong to the NRA.

So how come Jamaica has more world class sprinters than Canada given the population sizes? 
Post by: vb on August 19, 2012, 03:34:45 AM

So how come Jamaica has more world class sprinters than Canada given the population sizes? 

Because the Canadians sprint on ice. They're called hockey players.  :)
Post by: Jumbie on August 19, 2012, 06:15:02 AM

dem jamaicans accustomed to running when they hear gun shot. next olympics they starting all races with ah buzzer.
Post by: Jumbie on August 19, 2012, 06:19:57 AM
VB, I don't usually be in the core, but I do make trips out on the outskirts. Leela's is not bad..cheap doubles as well ($1.25) and on Tuesdays they have the $3 roti special (chicken and goat I believe). I'm also partial to Drupatis (BTW, is 3 sisters with ah roti monopoly in Toronto eh.. Leelas, Drupatis and Lenas) doh the husband need an attitude adjustment.

Link meh and if I around I'll try to meet up.
Post by: vb on August 19, 2012, 06:28:42 AM
Cool. Jumbie.
Post by: Controversial on August 19, 2012, 09:15:46 AM
VB, I don't usually be in the core, but I do make trips out on the outskirts. Leela's is not bad..cheap doubles as well ($1.25) and on Tuesdays they have the $3 roti special (chicken and goat I believe). I'm also partial to Drupatis (BTW, is 3 sisters with ah roti monopoly in Toronto eh.. Leelas, Drupatis and Lenas) doh the husband need an attitude adjustment.

Link meh and if I around I'll try to meet up.

allyuh vibes meh when yuh liming, i ent see jumbie in years either  :beermug:
Post by: pecan on August 19, 2012, 01:35:00 PM

yam
Post by: truetrini on August 20, 2012, 12:56:09 AM
Yuh get jam so yuh coming with Yam?  Doh try dat!
Post by: pecan on August 20, 2012, 07:17:55 AM
Yuh get jam so yuh coming with Yam?  Doh try dat!

yam and cassava, green banana, ackee and saltfish, breadfruit, plantain, chocho, bami, escovitch, solomon-a-gundy, callaloo, corn meal porridge

actually, that is what my mother-in-law does make for me when I visit.

anyways, I eh get Jam. I speaking in generalizations. Who really knows why Jamaica have so many work class sprinters? do you know? 
Post by: Daft Trini on August 22, 2012, 10:41:38 AM
Guys,

I initially will stay at around Bay/Bloor. If you all know of any good WI restaurants or Roti places nearby let me know.

I visited Toronto for the first time over the 4th of July week! From the 5th to the 8th! Was a good experience, I enjoyed the China town part of it! Fruits and food galore! A lot of burn outs and hippies, but the ambiance was nice. People were generally nice! The wife organized a edge walk of the CN Tower, very nice experience. Found some nice restaurants along Dundas and Queens Street! We visited the beaches, because it was hot! Kinda cool being in the water, half of your body cold, the upper half warm. A lot of the museums and art galleries, you had to pay for them (we're from DC, so all of it is free) The Bata Museum was very interesting, another fun thing we did was the brewery tours! Nice place, police are kind of silly in their approach to certain things (had an item stolen, and their incompetence was rampant). The downtown waterfront street performances were also an added bonus!
Post by: Dutty on August 22, 2012, 12:11:27 PM
Guys,

I visited Toronto for the first time over the 4th of July week! From the 5th to the 8th! Was a good experience, I enjoyed the China town part of it! Fruits and food galore! A lot of burn outs and hippies, but the ambiance was nice. People were generally nice! The wife organized a edge walk of the CN Tower, very nice experience. Found some nice restaurants along Dundas and Queens Street! We visited the beaches, because it was hot! Kinda cool being in the water, half of your body cold, the upper half warm. A lot of the museums and art galleries, you had to pay for them (we're from DC, so all of it is free) The Bata Museum was very interesting, another fun thing we did was the brewery tours! Nice place, police are kind of silly in their approach to certain things (had an item stolen, and their incompetence was rampant). The downtown waterfront street performances were also an added bonus!

wah de?!?!? on the holiest of high holidays , you went and visit ah foreign country?!?
like yuh wuh TT to lorse de lil piece of he mind dat left & call de IRS on yuh or wha?
Post by: Daft Trini on August 22, 2012, 12:45:32 PM
Guys,

wah de?!?!? on the holiest of high holidays , you went and visit ah foreign country?!?
like yuh wuh TT to lorse de lil piece of he mind dat left & call de IRS on yuh or wha?

hahahaha nice try dutty! No on 4th July we stood on the borderline of rainbow bridge. I stood on the American side of the bridge to watch the fireworks. Silly thing is my buddy (who is a border patrol) told me the best view would be on the canadian side of the falls! No I did not want to answer on those clearance forms that I traveled out of the country to watch 4th of July fireworks on the Canadian side of the border. Crazy thing is that I was charged roaming while being on the american side! I was wearing my department of the navy shirt for some patriotism!

Originally we were going to see the reenactment of the french and indian wars, but my wife had some asian friends in Toronto... so we headed there!

On the contrary I found Toronto and canada as a whole, very business friendly!
Post by: Daft Trini on August 22, 2012, 12:52:26 PM
Dutty, why canadians does feel the need to rev and speed between intersections and lights?
Post by: vb on August 23, 2012, 04:37:09 PM
Dutty, why canadians does feel the need to rev and speed between intersections and lights?

So red light doh catch we.  :)