Sports => Football => Topic started by: Bakes on October 26, 2012, 07:17:52 PM

Title: NBC Sports Network Outbids Fox Soccer for EPL Broadcast Rights
Post by: Bakes on October 26, 2012, 07:17:52 PM
(http://graphics8.nytimes.com/images/blogs_v3/goal/goal_print.png)

OCTOBER 26, 2012, 6:53 PM
NBC Sports Group Outbids Fox for E.P.L. Rights

By KEN BELSON AND RICHARD SANDOMIR
Fox Soccer has lost the rights to broadcast English Premier League games in the United States, the latest blow to a channel that once dominated the soccer scene on American television.

Fox and ESPN jointly bid for the three-year contract starting in 2013 to show E.P.L. games, but they appear to have been outbid by the NBC Sports Group, which has been eager to find must-see sports shows for its recently rebranded NBC Sports Network.

Fox has broadcast the E.P.L. in the United States for nearly two decades, growing along with the world's most popular league. ESPN broadcast about 80 of Fox's E.P.L. games each year under license.

But NBC has bid about $85 million a year for the new E.P.L. rights, just under four times more than Fox currently pays for the rights, according to a person with knowledge of the negotiations. Greg Hughes, a spokesman for NBC Sports Group, declined to comment.

If NBCSN wins the E.P.L. rights, which will be announced in the coming days, it would boost their struggling lineup. NBCSN wildly exceeded all its past records during the London Summer Olympics, but it is without any N.H.L. games because of the ongoing lockout. Its other programming includes Major League Soccer, cycling, boxing, college sports, bull-riding, hunting and fishing, as well as a variety of studio shows.

But it does not carry N.F.L games, and the NBC Sports Group chose not to spend lavishly to acquire the rights to Major League Baseball.

Sports Business Daily first reported that Fox and ESPN had been outbid by NBC Universal.

In a statement, Lou D'Ermilio, a spokesman for Fox, said: "We were disappointed to learn today that English Premier League has elected to move forward with a different media partner despite Fox Sports Media Group's aggressive bid."

Fox Soccer still has the rights to broadcast a sizable number of games, including the UEFA Champions League, UEFA's Europa League, the F.A. Cup, the Concacaf Champions League and Gold Cup. Fox also will broadcast the World Cup and Women's World Cup beginning in 2015.

Viewership of E.P.L. games on Fox Soccer peaked in the 2009-10 season at 149,000 viewers. This season, the league's games have averaged 136,000 viewers.

beIN Sport, a new sports network started by Al Jazeera that has aggressively bid for soccer rights, declined to say whether it has bid for the United States rights to the E.P.L.

In August, beIN Sport won the rights to broadcast the top leagues from Spain, Italy and France in the United States, as well as the American national team's World Cup qualifying road games. GolTV lost the rights to La Liga, Spain's top league, and Fox Soccer was outbid for the rights to show Ligue 1 from France and Serie A from Italy.

beIN Sport is available in far fewer households than Fox Soccer, ESPN and NBC Sports Network.

http://goal.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/10/26/nbc-sports-group-outbids-fox-for-e-p-l-rights/
Title: Re: NBC Sports Network Outbids Fox Soccer for EPL Broadcast Rights
Post by: D.H.W on October 26, 2012, 07:21:13 PM
So ummm this means T&T salting then ? Cause we don't have that channel
Post by: Bakes on October 26, 2012, 07:23:15 PM
So ummm this means T&T salting then ? Cause we don't have that channel

That was one of the main subsidiary channels that NBC used for broadcasting the Olympics... I sure somebody will pick it up.  I kinda sorry to see Fox lose the rights, but on the flip side NBC Universal free on DirecTV (although that might change now), whereas FSC is part of the premium "Sports Pack".
Post by: Deeks on October 26, 2012, 07:47:59 PM
Man, I can't keep up with these acquisitions. I have universal sports, so it appears I cool for now. But like Bakes said, it is a bit sad to see Fox go. They did a real good job with football.
Post by: Football supporter on October 26, 2012, 08:05:09 PM
Viewership of E.P.L. games on Fox Soccer peaked in the 2009-10 season at 149,000 viewers. This season, the league's games have averaged 136,000 viewers.

I'm surprised that this figure is still so low. Thats less than attendance at 3 games. I really thought it would be in the millions, given the audience reach of the broadcasts.
Post by: Bakes on October 26, 2012, 08:19:18 PM

I'm surprised that this figure is still so low. Thats less than attendance at 3 games. I really thought it would be in the millions, given the audience reach of the broadcasts.

What reach?  FSC isn't on free TV... not even on basic or premium cable.  You to pay completely separate from whatever your cable package is in order to get FSC and BeIN... even more is you want FSP (Fox Soccer Premium).  Also, considering the fact that many games are broadcast early on a Saturday morning when people getting caught up on errands they can't do during the work week... I'm not surprised.  I'm surprised the average viewership level has decreased though.
Post by: Football supporter on October 26, 2012, 09:51:52 PM

What reach?  FSC isn't on free TV... not even on basic or premium cable.  You to pay completely separate from whatever your cable package is in order to get FSC and BeIN... even more is you want FSP (Fox Soccer Premium).  Also, considering the fact that many games are broadcast early on a Saturday morning when people getting caught up on errands they can't do during the work week... I'm not surprised.  I'm surprised the average viewership level has decreased though.

OK, I'm not familiar with US programming! I watch FSC free in T&T as part of the Flow standard package!! 
Post by: Bakes on October 27, 2012, 01:01:37 AM
I musta been high when I typed that... or more tired than I thought.
Post by: mukumsplau on October 27, 2012, 03:34:30 AM

OK, I'm not familiar with US programming! I watch FSC free in T&T as part of the Flow standard package!! 

d free FSC aint shit. FS Plus have most of the games. And sportsmax. honeslty i dont cater where the EPL games go as that doesnt interest me. serie a/ la liga/ bundesliga cool. i even added RAI for more serie a. hope flow picks up on beinsports
Post by: Andre on October 29, 2012, 09:02:19 AM
the scene changing from FSC and GolTV in the 2000s to NBC and beinsport for the next few years yes.
Post by: injunchile on October 29, 2012, 01:36:26 PM
I was sad to See Goltv go but Being TV AND fOXSPORTS GAVE ME - ENGLAND- FRANCE _ SPANISH LEAGUE .
 BeIng Sports are also giving me the South American World Cup Qualifiers. So I am not complaining
Post by: elan on October 29, 2012, 03:37:01 PM
I watch all the games on FoxDeportes, GolTv and ESPNDeportes. Not paying $15 extra for FSC.
Post by: MEP on October 29, 2012, 04:19:15 PM
Fox just have to be more creative now if they really care about the game
Post by: giggsy11 on October 29, 2012, 04:35:21 PM

Have you seen that shite they showing now called Fox Soccer News? They replaced they changed the nightly show into one that seems pop cultureish and lacking any real substance. They changed the hosts and analyst who actually presented as credible with younger, "hippy" people, who sound forced, when they commenting on the sport. is like dey tryin tuh become ESPN.
Post by: MEP on October 29, 2012, 11:07:46 PM
sounds like yuh fall out of the 18-49 demographic giggsy boy....
Post by: Andre on October 30, 2012, 09:47:23 AM

all dat analysis they have is shit.

kara lang is a boss presenter though. tat it up!
Title: Re: Re: NBC Sports Network Outbids Fox Soccer for EPL Broadcast Rights
Post by: D.H.W on October 30, 2012, 10:05:05 AM

all dat analysis they have is shit.

kara lang is a boss presenter though. tat it up!

She sweet. Wish she was playing still
Post by: dinho on October 30, 2012, 10:36:47 AM

Have you seen that shite they showing now called Fox Soccer News? They replaced they changed the nightly show into one that seems pop cultureish and lacking any real substance. They changed the hosts and analyst who actually presented as credible with younger, "hippy" people, who sound forced, when they commenting on the sport. is like dey tryin tuh become ESPN.

They totally mess up the nightly show with this new format.. Its like they intentionally dumb it down and try to 'americanize' it to make it more palatable to an ignorant audience....

Watching the fox soccer news now does make me feel like i watching highlights on E-tv.. The presenters offer zero substance and often times they cannot even pronounce even household names like Demba Ba.

The Kara Lang ting looking good, but on any other football network like Sky, BBC, the good looking presenters does know dey football too. They "kardashianize" de forking show.

For EPL highlights, right now i download BBC Match of the Day off Piratebay on a Sunday night and run with that.

Fox Soccer News is unwatchable.
Post by: giggsy11 on October 30, 2012, 10:46:14 AM

They totally mess up the nightly show with this new format.. Its like they intentionally dumb it down and try to 'americanize' it to make it more palatable to an ignorant audience....

Watching the fox soccer news now does make me feel like i watching highlights on E-tv.. The presenters offer zero substance and often times they cannot even pronounce even household names like Demba Ba.

The Kara Lang ting looking good, but on any other football network like Sky, BBC, the good looking presenters does know dey football too. They "kardashianize" de forking show.

For EPL highlights, right now i download BBC Match of the Day off Piratebay on a Sunday night and run with that.

Agreed. The female sportscasters on Sky Sports News when they interviewing during the show does come hard and direct with their line of questioning. They know their sports and confident in their abilities to hold their own. The female sportscasters FSC had before also knew their football. Plus the best thing they had going for them was Bobby Mc, who they seemed to have phased out. I even think the show now based in LA instead of Canada.
Post by: giggsy11 on October 30, 2012, 10:48:46 AM
sounds like yuh fall out of the 18-49 demographic giggsy boy....

Nope, I am 44. I just prefer substance over style.
Post by: dinho on October 30, 2012, 11:10:10 AM

Agreed. The female sportscasters on Sky Sports News when they interviewing during the show does come hard and direct with their line of questioning. They know their sports and confident in their abilities to hold their own. The female sportscasters FSC had before also knew their football. Plus the best thing they had going for them was Bobby Mc, who they seemed to have phased out. I even think the show now based in LA instead of Canada.

I had actually done some research after because I didnt want to think it was just me realize just how bad the show is.

Apparently, they are repackaging the old FSC show with the old cast into a new show for the Canadian audience.

I really feel it for Bobby though, must be hard for him trying to talk ah sense and having to sit amongst them other know nothing presenters.
Post by: Andre on October 30, 2012, 11:19:09 AM
kara lang is a grapevine trini. look proof.

(http://25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_leikgp4ZNT1qc7r23o1_400.jpg)
Post by: Reggaefan on November 02, 2012, 08:22:03 AM
This is a good move for football lovers. FSC is a premium channel, meaning you have to pay big bucks to get it on most systems.
Post by: giggsy11 on November 09, 2012, 10:21:53 PM
Best football talk show on tv is ESPNFC Press Pass. Only problem is it is on ESPn 2 at 2am, Mon-Fri, just have to tape it.  Good intelligent discussions about the various leagues and what is making headlines, can be a little EPL top heavy, but still covers the 4 leagues.
Post by: Bakes on November 09, 2012, 10:27:02 PM
This is a good move for football lovers. FSC is a premium channel, meaning you have to pay big bucks to get it on most systems.

Now it looks as though NBC Universal will be moving to a subscription tier on DirecTV as well.
Post by: giggsy11 on November 24, 2012, 11:16:16 AM
It would be nice if Fox pick up Bundasliga. You can't get a sniff on tv since Bein take over from GolTv. And that is the league with the most competitive and uptempo matches. I don't want to see the damn SPL.
Post by: JRtheWriter on November 24, 2012, 04:38:25 PM
NBC is trying to take over a market that excludes Baseball and NFL.  They also outbid versus and some other channel for formula 1 racing.  They already show Division 2 college sports and "extreme" sports as well.  Taking out competitors Fox soccer, Cbs sports, versus, etc (American channels) I'm pretty sure this is going to be the first of many steps for NBC to try and become if not take over the number 1 sports market that ESPN is.
Post by: Bianconeri on November 24, 2012, 04:45:50 PM
ummmmmmm
they lose EPL.. so what?
hopefully it means FSC will pick up more spanish, italian, german and french football and throw away scottish football

how scottish football even gets any airtime is beyond me!?
AND rangers not even in it
Post by: giggsy11 on November 24, 2012, 04:46:17 PM
NBC is trying to take over a market that excludes Baseball and NFL.  They also outbid versus and some other channel for formula 1 racing.  They already show Division 2 college sports and "extreme" sports as well.  Taking out competitors Fox soccer, Cbs sports, versus, etc (American channels) I'm pretty sure this is going to be the first of many steps for NBC to try and become if not take over the number 1 sports market that ESPN is.

To be honest, I just want a station that showing only football. Not one where they fit in football matches and showing a bunch of other sports when there are matches they can show. ESPN shows one EPL match a week, no replays. The beauty about Foxsoccer is that it is football 24/7. Bein unlike Goltv shows football and other sports. Not interested, especially if none showing Bundasliga or football matches people who love the sport want to see.
Post by: giggsy11 on November 24, 2012, 04:48:12 PM
ummmmmmm
they lose EPL.. so what?
hopefully it means FSC will pick up more spanish, italian, german and french football and throw away scottish football

Yep, as long as they keep showing the other leagues. SPL is boo!
Post by: JRtheWriter on November 24, 2012, 04:51:58 PM
ummmmmmm
they lose EPL.. so what?

Yep, as long as they keep showing the other leagues. SPL is boo!

Didn't they lose their Italian soccer rights as well?
Post by: giggsy11 on November 24, 2012, 04:54:33 PM
Yeah, Bein showing it. 
Post by: JRtheWriter on November 24, 2012, 05:05:38 PM
So NBC has EPL and MLS.
FSC has... French and Scottish?
Post by: Bakes on November 24, 2012, 05:49:48 PM

FSC never had the rights to Serie A.
So NBC has EPL and MLS.

beIN owns the rights to Ligue 1, La Liga and Serie A.  GOL still owns the US broadcast rights for the Bundesliga, which means the games are unavailable on DirecTV.
Post by: giggsy11 on November 24, 2012, 06:06:18 PM

FSC never had the rights to Serie A.
So NBC has EPL and MLS.

beIN owns the rights to Ligue 1, La Liga and Serie A.  GOL still owns the US broadcast rights for the Bundesliga, which means the games are unavailable on DirecTV.

Bake the Douche,  Foxsoccer extended their rights to show Serie A in 2010 up until 2012. Up until the end of last season Foxsoccer was showing Serie A. Always in a hurry tuh post like yuh know. Shhhhhhhhhhhhh!
Post by: giggsy11 on November 24, 2012, 06:11:15 PM
Exclusive: Al Jazeera Sports Network Wins Serie A US TV Rights, Say Source

Posted on March 19, 2012 by The Gaffer

EXCLUSIVE: Al Jazeera Sports Network has won the US TV rights to Serie A, beginning with the 2012-13 season, according to a source.

The news comes hot on the heels of last week’s exclusive story by sister site La Liga Talk that Al Jazeera has also won the US TV rights to La Liga for seasons 2012-13 onwards. With La Liga and Serie A under their belt, Al Jazeera now owns rights to two of the top European soccer leagues that are aired on US television and the Internet.

FOX Soccer currently owns the US rights to Serie A, and will continue to broadcast Serie A games for the remainder of the season with commentators Christian Miles and Christopher Sullivan. When reached for a reaction to the news, a FOX Soccer spokesperson said ‘no comment.’

Questions surrounding how Al Jazeera Sports Network plans on broadcasting Serie A and La Liga games next season remain unanswered. Expect more details to be announced in the coming months.

Post by: D.H.W on November 24, 2012, 06:16:40 PM
Fragmentation
Post by: Bakes on November 24, 2012, 06:39:18 PM
Fragmentation

Right you are.

Bake the Douche,  Foxsoccer extended their rights to show Serie A in 2010 up until 2012. Up until the end of last season Foxsoccer was showing Serie A. Always in a hurry tuh post like yuh know. Shhhhhhhhhhhhh!

For a woman... or whatever you are, pushing 50, you really ought to show a bit more maturity than childish name-calling... but perhaps you can't help your true nature.  That said... how does Fox own the US rights to Serie A when the 2012-2013 games are also being broadcast on GOL TV (http://www.goltv.tv/en/scores_seriea_en)?  That of course indicates the absence of exclusive rights being held by either broadcaster... but don't let facts and rationality get in the way of your emotional flailing.

The US broadcast rights to Serie A has long been held by a company called MP & Silva, which then packaged and sold the games to GOL and Fox.  Starting next season, exclusive US rights to Serie A will be held by RAI (http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/rai-italia-serie-a-soccer-364790)... who will package and sell most games to other broadcasters here such as beIN and GOL.
Post by: giggsy11 on November 24, 2012, 07:23:18 PM
Fragmentation

Right you are.

For a woman... or whatever you are, pushing 50, you really ought to show a bit more maturity than childish name-calling... but perhaps you can't help your true nature.  That said... how does Fox own the US rights to Serie A when the 2012-2013 games are also being broadcast on GOL TV (http://www.goltv.tv/en/scores_seriea_en)?  That of course indicates the absence of exclusive rights being held by either broadcaster... but don't let facts and rationality get in the way of your emotional flailing.

The US broadcast rights to Serie A has long been held by a company called MP & Silva, which then packaged and sold the games to GOL and Fox.  Starting next season, exclusive US rights to Serie A will be held by RAI (http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/rai-italia-serie-a-soccer-364790)... who will package and sell most games to other broadcasters here such as beIN and GOL.

Fragmentation

Right you are.

Douchebag, just calling you what you are and how you  present yourself on this forum. You have also inserted my name in discussions/threads I was not a part of, so don't try, and act  like you have morals and that you are not immature, gutless and petty.

Post by: JRtheWriter on November 24, 2012, 07:39:58 PM
I thought FCS had Serie A games that usually came on around 2ish, though I haven't watched FCS since last year.
Post by: Bakes on November 24, 2012, 07:49:22 PM
Douchebag, just calling you what you are and how you  present yourself on this forum. You have also inserted my name in discussions/threads I was not a part of, so don't try, and act  like you have morals and that you are not immature, gutless and petty.

Righto... and when yuh done toting yuh feelings, maybe we could get back to discussing the broadcasting of European football in the US.
Post by: Bakes on November 24, 2012, 07:50:35 PM
I thought FCS had Serie A games that usually came on around 2ish, though I haven't watched FCS since last year.

JR they did broadcast games... as part of a non-exclusive deal with MP & Silva who holds the actual rights.
Post by: giggsy11 on November 24, 2012, 08:34:02 PM

Righto... and when yuh done toting yuh feelings, maybe we could get back to discussing the broadcasting of European football in the US.

Douchebag I am not toting any feelings, but apparently you are, since you like to insert my name up in threads/discussions. We know you can't help yourself, because being on this forum, gives you the opportunity to act like you would, if you were walking around invisible. Carry on son  ;)

The bottom line is FSC has not shown SerieA matches after last season which is when they had the broadcasting rights to show the matches. Which is what the orignal question was about. Bein/Goltv now owns those rights and now shows those matches.
Title: Massive coverage of the EPL on NBC
Post by: StoreBayLimer on July 30, 2013, 01:22:09 AM

NBC is really committed to broadcasting soccer.  The upcoming schedule is simply incredible.

http://www.sbnation.com/2013/7/29/4568642/2013-14-nbc-epl-tv-schedule (http://www.sbnation.com/2013/7/29/4568642/2013-14-nbc-epl-tv-schedule)

NBC announces massive EPL schedule to open season

NBC, NBCSN and CNBC will combine to televise 69 games through Dec. 1.

Well, Premier League fans were promised coverage like they'd never seen before, and the NBC Sports Group appears to have delivered.

The network announced its EPL schedule through December 1 on Monday, and it features an impressive commitment to the league. NBC itself will air 10 matches live on Saturday afternoons, while NBC Sports Network (soon-to-be rebranded as NBCSN) will air 57 matches on Saturdays, Sundays and Mondays. CNBC will chip in with two additional Sunday matches, while Telemundo and mun2 will handle Spanish-language broadcasts of 27 matches.

NBC will also make every game available via TV Everywhere (the NBC Sports Live Extra App) and via a new package that works similar to the MLB Extra Innings or NFL Sunday Ticket packages. This is known as Premier League Extra Time. To date, AT&T U-Verse, Cablevision, Comcast, DIRECTV, DISH and Suddenlink have opted to carry the Extra Time package. Verizon hasn't agreed to carry Extra Time, but does grant access to the NBC Sports Live Extra app. 100 other partners have also opted in. If you'd like a definitive yes or no, perhaps leave the name of your provider in the comments and we'll get it sorted out.

The way things work is as follows: typically, NBCSN will air a game at 7:45 a.m. ET that has already been scheduled. At 10 a.m. ET, they will air a match that will be determined as the season goes along (a spokesman for NBC told me to expend the announcement of the first month soon). NBC will air 10 matches between now and Dec. 1 live at 12:30 p.m. ET. It is the largest-ever commitment to EPL (or really any soccer league) by a broadcast network in the United States.

Arlo White is the lead play-by-play man for the EPL on NBC. He'll call two matches per week with either Lee Dixon or Graham Le Saux. Rebecca Lowe hosts NBC's studio show for all Premier League coverage.

What follows is NBC's 69-game schedule of EPL matches through Dec. 1. Note that some matches are subject to change due to things like Europa League matches moving games back from Saturdays to Sundays, but most of the matches listed here are fairly set in stone.

Date    Time    Match    Network
Aug. 17    7:45 a.m. ET    Liverpool vs. Stoke    NBCSN
Aug. 17    10 a.m. ET    TBD    NBCSN
Aug. 17    12:30 p.m. ET    Swansea vs. Manchester United    NBC
Aug. 18    8:30 a.m. ET    Crystal Palace vs. Tottenham    NBCSN
Aug. 18    11 a.m. ET    Chelsea vs. Hull    NBCSN
Aug. 19    3 p.m. ET    Manchester City vs. Newcastle    NBCSN
Aug. 21    2:30 p.m. ET    Chelsea vs. Aston Villa    NBCSN
Aug. 24    7:45 a.m. ET    Fulham vs. Arsenal    NBCSN
Aug. 24    10 a.m. ET    TBD    NBCSN
Aug. 24    12:30 p.m. ET    Aston Villa vs. Liverpool    NBC
Aug. 25    11 a.m. ET    TBD    NBCSN
Aug. 26    3 p.m. ET    Manchester United vs. Chelsea    NBCSN
Aug. 31    7:45 a.m. ET    Manchester City vs. Hull    NBCSN
Aug. 31    10 a.m. ET    TBD    NBCSN
Aug. 31    12:30 p.m. ET    Crystal Palace vs. Sunderland    NBC
Sept. 1    8:30 a.m. ET    Liverpool vs. Manchester United    NBCSN
Sept. 1    11 a.m. ET    Arsenal vs. Tottenham    NBCSN
Sept. 14    7:45 a.m. ET    Manchester United vs. Crystal Palace    NBCSN
Sept. 14    10 a.m. ET    TBD    NBCSN
Sept. 14    12:30 p.m. ET    Everton vs. Chelsea    NBC
Sept. 15    11 a.m. ET    Southampton vs. West Ham    NBCSN
Sept. 16    3 p.m. ET    Swansea vs. Liverpool    NBCSN
Sept. 21    7:45 a.m. ET    Norwich vs. Aston Villa    NBCSN
Sept. 21    10 a.m. ET    TBD    NBCSN
Sept. 21    12:30 p.m. ET    Chelsea vs. Fulham    NBCSN
Sept. 22    8:30 a.m. ET    Arsenal vs. Stoke    CNBC
Sept. 22    11 a.m. ET    Manchester City vs. Manchester United    NBCSN
Sept. 28    7:45 a.m. ET    Manchester City vs. Everton    NBCSN
Sept. 28    10 a.m. ET    TBD    NBCSN
Sept. 28    12:30 p.m. ET    Swansea vs. Arsenal    NBC
Sept. 29    8:30 a.m. ET    Stoke vs. Norwich    NBCSN
Sept. 29    11 a.m. ET    Sunderland vs. Liverpool    NBCSN
Sept. 30    3 p.m. ET    Everton vs. Newcastle    NBCSN
Oct. 5    7:45 a.m. ET    Manchester City vs. Everton    NBCSN
Oct. 5    10 a.m. ET    TBD    NBCSN
Oct. 5    12:30 p.m. ET    Sunderland vs. Manchester United    NBC
Oct. 6    8:30 a.m. ET    Norwich vs. Chelsea    NBCSN
Oct. 6    11 a.m. ET    West Brom vs. Arsenal    NBCSN
Oct. 19    7:45 a.m. ET    Newcastle vs. Liverpool    NBCSN
Oct. 19    10 a.m. ET    TBD    NBCSN
Oct. 19    12:30 p.m. ET    West Ham vs. Manchester City    NBC
Oct. 20    11 a.m. ET    Aston Villa vs. Tottenham    NBCSN
Oct. 21    3 p.m. ET    Crystal Palace vs. Fulham    NBCSN
Oct. 26    7:45 a.m. ET    Crystal Palace vs. Arsenal    NBCSN
Oct. 26    10 a.m. ET    TBD    NBCSN
Oct. 26    12:30 p.m. ET    Southampton vs. Fulham    NBCSN
Oct. 27    9:30 a.m. ET    Chelsea vs. Manchester City    NBCSN
Oct. 27    12 p.m. ET    Sunderland vs. Newcastle    NBCSN
Nov. 2    8:45 a.m. ET    Newcastle vs. Chelsea    NBCSN
Nov. 2    11 a.m. ET    TBD    NBCSN
Nov. 2    1:30 p.m. ET    Arsenal vs. Liverpool    NBC
Nov. 3    8:30 a.m. ET    Everton vs. Tottenham    CNBC
Nov. 3    11 a.m. ET    Cardiff vs. Swansea    NBCSN
Nov. 9    10 a.m. ET    TBD    NBCSN
Nov. 9    12:30 p.m. ET    Norwich vs. West Ham    NBC
Nov. 10    7 a.m. ET    Tottenham vs. Newcastle    NBCSN
Nov. 10    9 a.m. ET    Sunderland vs. Manchester City    NBCSN
Nov. 10    11 a.m. ET    Manchester United vs. Arsenal    NBCSN
Nov. 23    7:45 a.m. ET    Everton vs. Liverpool    NBCSN
Nov. 23    10 a.m. ET    TBD    NBCSN
Nov. 23    12:30 p.m. ET    Manchester City vs. Tottenham    NBC
Nov. 24    8:30 a.m. ET    West Ham vs. Chelsea    NBCSN
Nov. 24    11 a.m. ET    Cardiff vs. Manchester United    NBCSN
Nov. 25    3 p.m. ET    West Brom vs. Aston Villa    NBCSN
Nov. 30    7:45 a.m. ET    Tottenham vs. Manchester United    NBCSN
Nov. 30    10 a.m. ET    TBD    NBCSN
Nov. 30    12:30 p.m. ET    Newcastle vs. West Brom    NBC
Dec. 1    8:30 a.m. ET    Hull vs. Liverpool    NBCSN
Dec. 1    11 a.m. ET    Chelsea vs. Southampton    NBCSN
Post by: sammy on July 30, 2013, 08:33:05 AM
I know we have NBC here..... but what about the rest of the NBC stations?
Post by: de_redman on July 30, 2013, 09:19:24 AM
I assume Flow, Greendot, Blink, DirecTV, etc are all ahead of the game by replacing FSC with NBCSN  :-\ By the way Fox Soccer Channel is shutting down and all of its programming is being absorbed into Fox Sports 1  :yellowcard: (a new channel which is starting up in a couple days)
Post by: mukumsplau on July 30, 2013, 09:56:08 AM
i hadda talk to flow bout beinsports...yall epl guzzlers good for you..ah sufferin here..
Post by: SHOTTA on July 30, 2013, 09:02:20 PM
I assume sportsmax will still give us their share of games ie rights to the caribbean footage of bpl my concern is the early game the 730am and the choice of different games ie those that were on FOX pLUS
Post by: Banter Banton on July 30, 2013, 09:39:23 PM
I called FLOW today and asked about this

She said Sportsmax are launching Sportsmax 2 and they will replace Fox Soccer Plus in the Max Pack and Fox Soccer Plus will be added to the basic lineup (possibly becoming channel 78)

I guess Fox Soccer will naturally become Fox Sports 1

Hopefully Sportsmax 1 and 2 will be good enough because they are sketchy with quality

If Flow were smart they would bring NBC and all their sport channels and make one Football package ..also in HD

It is 2013 stewps
Post by: banton on August 02, 2013, 07:46:48 AM

To be honest, I just want a station that showing only football. Not one where they fit in football matches and showing a bunch of other sports when there are matches they can show. ESPN shows one EPL match a week, no replays. The beauty about Foxsoccer is that it is football 24/7. Bein unlike Goltv shows football and other sports. Not interested, especially if none showing Bundasliga or football matches people who love the sport want to see.

tru dat
Post by: mukumsplau on August 02, 2013, 11:08:46 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/LFzrxxaNHlg
Post by: Bakes on August 06, 2013, 09:17:30 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/6KeG_i8CWE8
Post by: Bally on August 07, 2013, 05:39:29 AM
funnyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
Post by: supporter on August 07, 2013, 10:41:11 AM
Yeah Storebay, the NBC lineup looks great! European league football on a major network! Love to see the sport growing!! Glory, glory ManUtd!
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 11:59:46 AM
Meanwhile salt for trini
Title: Re: Re: NBC Sports Network Outbids Fox Soccer for EPL Broadcast Rights
Post by: D.H.W on August 07, 2013, 12:01:04 PM
I called FLOW today and asked about this

She said Sportsmax are launching Sportsmax 2 and they will replace Fox Soccer Plus in the Max Pack and Fox Soccer Plus will be added to the basic lineup (possibly becoming channel 78)

I guess Fox Soccer will naturally become Fox Sports 1

Hopefully Sportsmax 1 and 2 will be good enough because they are sketchy with quality

If Flow were smart they would bring NBC and all their sport channels and make one Football package ..also in HD

It is 2013 stewps

I see NBC sports available but you have to pay extra
Post by: Bakes on August 07, 2013, 12:14:32 PM
Yeah Storebay, the NBC lineup looks great! European league football on a major network! Love to see the sport growing!! Glory, glory ManUtd!

This itself isn't new... Fox has been showing EPL games (live and re-broadcasts) on their regular network channel for at least the past three seasons in the 4 o'clock slot on Sundays.  The main difference here is that NBC is committing to showing one game each week on their network channel.  The rest of games will be on NBC Universal... a cable/satellite channel, and via online streaming.
Post by: supporter on August 07, 2013, 03:54:57 PM

This itself isn't new... Fox has been showing EPL games (live and re-broadcasts) on their regular network channel for at least the past three seasons in the 4 o'clock slot on Sundays.  The main difference here is that NBC is committing to showing one game each week on their network channel.  The rest of games will be on NBC Universal... a cable/satellite channel, and via online streaming.

That's been a very infrequent occurrence on Fox, and certainly not weekly; and if you understood the main difference between your point and mine then why even comment? Don't be contrarian just for the sake of it.
Post by: Bakes on August 07, 2013, 05:32:26 PM
That's been a very infrequent occurrence on Fox, and certainly not weekly; and if you understood the main difference between your point and mine then why even comment? Don't be contrarian just for the sake of it.

For me to be "contrarian" I would have to disagree with you. I am not disagreeing as much as I am clarifying your statement. Now unbunch yuh panty from yuh ass crack.
Post by: supporter on August 07, 2013, 08:41:59 PM

For me to be "contrarian" I would have to disagree with you. I am not disagreeing as much as I am clarifying your statement. Now I bunch yuh panty from yuh ass crack.

But you haven't clarified anything. If anything, you've misinformed since Fox was very infrequently (and only recently at all) airing EPL matches on the main network.
Post by: Bakes on August 08, 2013, 12:55:35 PM
But you haven't clarified anything. If anything, you've misinformed since Fox was very infrequently (and only recently at all) airing EPL matches on the main network.

The clarification is there for all to see, you just assumed that there was some kinda fight down and so yuh responded as though somebody shit in yuh cornflakes.  You mentioned "European league football on a major network" as though this was new, when in fact it wasn't.  The broadcasts weren't frequent, this is true, but often enough that those who follow the way the sport is marketed here in the US stood up and took notice.  Nothing new about it either... it goes back three/four seasons.

The more important clarification is that your post seemed to imply that the games would be on "NBC", when in fact the majority of games will be on NBC Universal... not a "major network".  In short, in terms of visibility for the sport, not much will change. The weekly broadcasts are a very good thing, as is availability of all the games... but most games will still be out of reach to the casual viewer.  That has to change in order for us to reall "see the sport growing".
Post by: supporter on August 08, 2013, 07:45:26 PM

The clarification is there for all to see, you just assumed that there was some kinda fight down and so yuh responded as though somebody shit in yuh cornflakes.  You mentioned "European league football on a major network" as though this was new, when in fact it wasn't.  The broadcasts weren't frequent, this is true, but often enough that those who follow the way the sport is marketed here in the US stood up and took notice.  Nothing new about it either... it goes back three/four seasons.

The more important clarification is that your post seemed to imply that the games would be on "NBC", when in fact the majority of games will be on NBC Universal... not a "major network".  In short, in terms of visibility for the sport, not much will change. The weekly broadcasts are a very good thing, as is availability of all the games... but most games will still be out of reach to the casual viewer.  That has to change in order for us to reall "see the sport growing".

Sigh..all I said was that its great to see European football on major network tv in the U.S. on this level. It was a simple post just happy to see a big step up for the game's visibility. Yes, Fox aired some games, but it wasnt on this level of publicity and visibility (even with NBC being once a week). That's all it was. There's no need to 'clarify' anything, or argue what I implied, or argue that this isn't a big deal. It's historic and will be great for the game. If you disagree, fine, but I couldn't see how anyone could see this as anything but a positive. I don't mind debating it but Fox wasn't a very good comparable; and does such a simple, positive topic, that most would agree is historic, have to be turned into a debate?
Post by: Bakes on August 08, 2013, 08:58:12 PM
Sigh..all I said was that its great to see European football on major network tv in the U.S. on this level. It was a simple post just happy to see a big step up for the game's visibility. Yes, Fox aired some games, but it wasnt on this level of publicity and visibility (even with NBC being once a week). That's all it was. There's no need to 'clarify' anything, or argue what I implied, or argue that this isn't a big deal. It's historic and will be great for the game. If you disagree, fine, but I couldn't see how anyone could see this as anything but a positive. I don't mind debating it but Fox wasn't a very good comparable; and does such a simple, positive topic, that most would agree is historic, have to be turned into a debate?

Fella who is debating?  Again, for there to be a "debate" there has to be disagreement.  I "clarified", "elaborated" on your post... whatever you want to call it, and you took umbrage at that.  Look thru this entire thread and you'll see several points where people express excitement at the thought that we getting football on 'free' or 'regular' TV... or implied that to be the case.  I clarified that point and yuh responded in a petulant manner, now yuh questioning why it turn into debate, lol.  Okay. :peace:
Post by: supporter on August 08, 2013, 10:14:12 PM

Fella who is debating?  Again, for there to be a "debate" there has to be disagreement.  I "clarified", "elaborated" on your post... whatever you want to call it, and you took umbrage at that.  Look thru this entire thread and you'll see several points where people express excitement at the thought that we getting football on 'free' or 'regular' TV... or implied that to be the case.  I clarified that point and yuh responded in a petulant manner, now yuh questioning why it turn into debate, lol.  Okay. :peace:

Aight, Im sure we're both just looking forward to watching the EPL this season. Should be fun.
Post by: Bakes on August 09, 2013, 05:18:55 AM
Well as it stands Liverpool level on points at the top of the table so is the best time of the season fuh me, lol. But seriously, it will be interesting to see what NBC's broadcast looks like. I'm definitely not excited at the prospect of Arlo White being lead commentator.
Post by: supporter on August 09, 2013, 09:23:11 AM
Well as it stands Liverpool level on points at the top of the table so is the best time of the season fuh me, lol. But seriously, it will be interesting to see what NBC's broadcast looks like. I'm definitely not excited at the prospect of Arlo White being lead commentator.

That I agree with you on 100%. Wish they could just simulcast the British broadcast.... I saw NBC's soccer daily show and it looks well done. The production value looks sweet.
Post by: 2cents on August 09, 2013, 11:41:58 AM

What's wrong with Arlo White?
Post by: Bakes on August 10, 2013, 06:20:16 PM
What's wrong with Arlo White?

He does a decent enough job judging from the few Sounders games I've seen, he's not bad... but he's no Martin Tyler, who I'm sure was available.
Post by: 2cents on August 11, 2013, 09:05:29 AM
Hmm aight papa. When last u listen to Martin Tyler...cuz even though he still a boss he is not d 2002 Martin Tyler anymore. Arlo been doing the MLS games since NBC got the contract and he does well, may not be excitable as previous/current commentators...but excitable ain't everybody scene. Once u know what u talking about and don't try to dumb down the action for first time American viewers u off to a great start and he doesn't do that. Also he gonna be paired with ppl like Le Saux in the booth...NBC make excellent hires thus far (except Kyle Martino). Rebecca Lowe, Lineker, Robbie Earle, Robbie Mustoe...they making the right moves and before doing a single game have already surpassed what FSC offered.
Post by: soccerman on August 11, 2013, 08:48:56 PM
Hilarious!
Post by: Bakes on August 11, 2013, 10:46:21 PM
Hmm aight papa. When last u listen to Martin Tyler...cuz even though he still a boss he is not d 2002 Martin Tyler anymore. Arlo been doing the MLS games since NBC got the contract and he does well, may not be excitable as previous/current commentators...but excitable ain't everybody scene. Once u know what u talking about and don't try to dumb down the action for first time American viewers u off to a great start and he doesn't do that. Also he gonna be paired with ppl like Le Saux in the booth...NBC make excellent hires thus far (except Kyle Martino). Rebecca Lowe, Lineker, Robbie Earle, Robbie Mustoe...they making the right moves and before doing a single game have already surpassed what FSC offered.

Sounds like you more up on things than I am then... Martin Tyler not excitable, but he has a certain gravitas, that was even on display during the Community Shield match between Man U. and Wigan.
Post by: supporter on August 13, 2013, 11:06:46 AM
Arlo white has very little commentating experience and, I think, no experience at all calling EPL. He also better be calling the game live and on location.
Post by: SHOTTA on August 15, 2013, 11:23:16 AM
taking a look at sportsmax2 today. seems to be basically bpl 24/7 and some episodes of sportsmax zone in the mix havnt seen any skysports news though and i kinda liked that
Post by: Banter Banton on August 15, 2013, 11:26:36 AM
taking a look at sportsmax2 today. seems to be basically bpl 24/7 and some episodes of sportsmax zone in the mix havnt seen any skysports news though and i kinda liked that

sportsmax never had Sky Sports News

Only FSC and they about to fold up... I imagine Fox Sports 1 will bring back Sky Sports News when they come to life on the 17th

Right now FLOW replaced FSC with Fox Soccer Plus and SportsMax2 took channel 315 which was vacated by Fox Soccer Plus which is now channel 77

If things go accurately Fox Sports 1 should take channel 78 on Saturday when they absorb Speed
Post by: SHOTTA on August 15, 2013, 12:04:22 PM
flow didnt mention fox sports 1 coming back and when i checked the fs1 preview i dont think they have room for skysports news there

but we shall see
Post by: Bakes on September 28, 2013, 07:54:12 AM
(http://graphics8.nytimes.com/images/misc/nytlogo153x23.gif)

September 27, 2013
Premier League Coverage Pays Off for NBC
By RICHARD SANDOMIR

STAMFORD, Conn. — It was teatime here in NBC’s Studio 3 as Liverpool began playing Southampton in England’s Premier League on Sept. 21.

“How stereotypical,” said Rebecca Lowe, the host of “Premier League Live,” referring to drinking tea as she held a full Royal Wentworth cup.

Lowe is part of the pervasive British flavor of the NBC Sports Group’s coverage of Premier League soccer, which began last month under a three-year contract. Her tea-drinking co-analysts that day, Robbie Earle and Robbie Mustoe, former players, are also British. All the games are produced in England by Sky Sports, BT Sport or the league, and are called by British announcers. Only the analyst Kyle Martino, a former Major League Soccer player who joins Lowe, Earle and Mustoe in the studio, is American.

In addition to the analysts’ expertise, NBC might be banking on the authenticity and familiarity that British voices and productions bring to the Premier League as the soundtrack for its coverage. But the network has taken an American approach to promoting the group, with billboards in Times Square and a humorous video starring the actor Jason Sudeikis as an American coach in England who does not know the rules of the game. The video promotion has been viewed online by more than 5.7 million visitors.

Lowe was tickled that she has delivered Premier League reports Sundays on NBC’s “Football Night in America” pregame show, bringing Wayne Rooney to an audience far more familiar with Dan Rooney.

“I’ve never been with a company that has invested so much on marketing,” said Lowe, who previously worked for ESPN U.K. and the BBC.

So far, the formula is working. NBCSN’s 22 telecasts have been seen by an average of 391,000 viewers, 70 percent better than the average game last season on Fox Soccer, which carried most of the games, and ESPN and ESPN2, which broadcast about one game a week in a licensing deal. NBCSN, however, has about twice as many subscribers as Fox Soccer. More important, at least to NBC, is that NBCSN’s daily viewership from Aug. 17 to Sept. 22 swelled 67 percent, to 77,000 viewers.

That is still a fraction of ESPN’s 1.2 million in that period and fewer than the month-old Fox Sports 1’s 121,000. But the highs are getting higher. Last Sunday afternoon, 852,000 viewers watched Manchester City trounce Manchester United, 4-1, in one of the Premier League’s marquee early-season matches. That was the biggest audience so far on NBCSN.

John Guppy, a veteran soccer executive who founded Gilt Edge Soccer Marketing, said, “What they’ve done — and it’s not that Fox didn’t do it, but maybe it comes across more directly to consumers — is they’ve made the Premier League feel special and important.”

NBCSN has become the NBC Sports Group’s Premier League centerpiece, filling as many as 40 hours a week on the cable network. Mark Lazarus, chairman of the NBC Sports Group, said the kickoff times of Premier League games, as early as 7:45 a.m. on Saturdays on the East Coast, had helped. Even the day’s latest matches start before American football games begin to dominate the channel lineup.

“They’re largely in windows without live sports,” Lazarus said. “It’s not totally unencumbered, with college football Saturday afternoon and the N.F.L. on Sunday. But the beauty of this league is that it goes from August to May.”

The Premier League’s success has helped Major League Soccer, which also has games on NBCSN. Viewership of the eight M.L.S. games on the network since coverage of the Premier League began on NBCSN has jumped 60 percent, and the number of unique visitors to M.L.S. games streamed by NBC has soared 322 percent. All of that should help M.L.S. in talks to extend its contract beyond next season.

For the NBC suite of networks, the Premier League was a property to covet. NBC wanted to capitalize on the league’s popularity and to breathe oxygen into NBCSN, which will show 154 of the 196 games that the NBC family of networks is televising; NBC is showing 21 games this season, with others on CNBC, USA, Telemundo and Mun2.

Another 184 games, which are not being televised, are available free at Premier League Extra Time, a service available to cable, satellite and telephone subscribers. The entire season of 380 games is being streamed on NBC Sports Live Extra.

Lazarus is politic enough not to declare that NBCSN’s identity has quickly become tied inextricably to the Premier League. That would irk other leagues it carries or longtime properties, like the Tour de France. NBCSN also carries the Olympics every two years.

Still, during an interview here at NBC Sports international broadcast center, Lazarus said: “It’s part of our definition, but you have to put it up with the N.H.L. This adds another pillar product to go with the N.H.L., and I think Nascar will be the third.”

NBC is paying the Premier League $250 million over three years, still triple what Fox Soccer was paying annually. NBC’s winning bid defeated one made jointly by Fox Soccer and ESPN. Fox Soccer folded and became FXX, an entertainment channel, but plans were in place during the bidding process to show Premier League games on Fox Sports 1.

Richard Scudamore, the Premier League’s chief executive, said in an interview last week that some American club owners were nervous about shifting the United States rights to NBC.

“But now they’re saying it’s the best thing we’ve ever done,” he said. 

Still, John Henry, the owner of Liverpool, one of the Premier League’s cornerstone clubs, said he had no skittishness about selling the league’s rights to NBC. “I thought Fox and ESPN did a great job,” he said in an e-mail message, “but I knew NBC was serious about their commitment, and they have done everything right thus far.”

For any network that shows soccer, one large financial oddity exists: there are no commercial breaks during the games — except for advertisers’ names and logos that poke out of the corner score boxes during play.

That is why NBCSN is awash in Premier League programming: pregame, halftime, postgame studio shows; game replays,  previews, reviews and news shows; and the weekly “Manchester Mondays.” Some of it is seen in the wee hours, especially before games on Saturdays, Sundays and Mondays.

Seth Winter, the executive vice president of sales for NBC Sports, said improved viewership and the Premier League’s increasing appeal to young, affluent viewers 18 to 49 has helped advertisement sales.

The network’s expenses are relatively modest: it does not produce the games it televises — paying only satellite access fees — and sends announcers to only two of the six games it shows each week.

Mark Noonan, a former executive at the United States Soccer Federation and Major League Soccer, said that NBC stepped into the Premier League at an appropriate moment, with a young, multicultural audience enamored with world sport.

“I don’t even think it’s reached  a tipping point,” he said. “NBC’s timing couldn’t be better.”

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/09/28/sports/soccer/premier-league-coverage-pays-off-for-nbc.html?partner=rss&emc=rss
Post by: triniairman on September 28, 2013, 10:31:14 AM
I like NBC, for a number of reasons. The main one being, I can watch it for free on their app, as long as I got it on one of the providers they are on.
Post by: Bakes on September 28, 2013, 12:28:23 PM
I like NBC, for a number of reasons. The main one being, I can watch it for free on their app, as long as I got it on one of the providers they are on.

ESPN had that as well... but only had a handful of games.  NBC has every single game available for streaming.  Incredible!  Public responding too.  Premier League about to make a mint in three years when contract up for renewal, if the numbers keep up like this.
Post by: triniairman on September 28, 2013, 12:45:09 PM

ESPN had that as well... but only had a handful of games.  NBC has every single game available for streaming.  Incredible!  Public responding too.  Premier League about to make a mint in three years when contract up for renewal, if the numbers keep up like this.
I hope they don't get cheap like FSC and lose it to another sports channel that charges people extra to watch. I like that I can pick any game I want to watch.
Post by: Bakes on September 28, 2013, 01:14:12 PM
I hope they don't get cheap like FSC and lose it to another sports channel that charges people extra to watch. I like that I can pick any game I want to watch.

If they have to pay a premium to re-up the deal they might look to pass some of that onto consumers though... meaning we might have to start paying for some games.
Post by: KND2 on September 29, 2013, 08:20:49 PM
NBC is crap I prefer fox because they had football all all day
When I turn to nobs and formula one is one I does get frustrated bc I miss the game
At least with fox they would show a rerun

Is football all day

NBC will kill the football is the us
Post by: 2cents on September 29, 2013, 08:57:01 PM
Funny oui...NBC at least 10 times better than Fox. There is something call DVR...no reruns and u complaining? I can watch Man Utd game on my tv, man city game on my ipad, another game on my phone...this is heaven. Tonight I can watch Match of the Day, they have premier league news show, premier league match pack, premier league download etc. They showing games on the main NBC channel...Fox showed delay. They far from killing football
Post by: Bakes on September 29, 2013, 09:15:31 PM
NBC is crap I prefer fox because they had football all all day
When I turn to nobs and formula one is one I does get frustrated bc I miss the game
At least with fox they would show a rerun

Is football all day

NBC will kill the football is the us

Regular NBC channel doh show the re-runs, but NBC Sports does be running replay regular.  I know because no matter how ah program mih DVR (that reach by you yet? :D) tuh record only first run programs, ah does still end up with 4-5 games by Tuesday.

Plus like 2cents say... yuh could watch across all yuh devices and stream online for free.  Fox used to make yuh pay fuh dat.
Post by: Andre on September 30, 2013, 12:16:38 PM
REPLAY HACK for NBC Website

This is via a hack where I changed the “PID” of the match on NBC’s website. I noticed that the Chelsea match had an ID of 105 last week Saturday so figured I’d +2 it for the Sunday midday match. NBC hasn’t announced its replay availability so I cannot guarantee if it will stream in its entirety. If it does then you can tape over your Betamax cassette.

http://stream.nbcsports.com/premier-league/index_premier-league-auth.html?pid=107