Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on November 13, 2012, 07:00:28 AM

Title: Thread for the T&T vs Cuba Game (18-Nov-2012).
Post by: Flex on November 13, 2012, 07:00:28 AM
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Cuba Caribbean Cup qualifiers at the Dwight Yorke Stadium (19:00) on the 18th of November 2012 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

1. Chat Room (http://chat.socawarriors.net).

Possible Online Streams.
To be updated.

Possible TV Station.
To be updated.

T&T Squad

GK - Marvin Phillip (Central FC), Jan-Michael Williams (W Connection).

DF - Kern Cupid (W Connection), Seon Power (North East Stars), Kareem Moses (North East Stars), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver Whitecaps—Canada), Aubrey David (Caledonia AIA).

MF - Kevon Carter (Defence Force), Hughtun Hector (Song Lam Nghe—Vietnam), Clyde Leon (W Connection), Joevin Jones (W Connection), Keyon Edwards (Caledonia AIA), Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA), Ataullah Guerra (Caledonia AIA), Kendall Jagdeosingh (Chainat FC—Thailand).

FW - Devorn Jorsling (Defence Force), Richard Roy (Defence Force), Jamal Gay (Caledonia AIA), Hashim Arcia (W Connection).

Cuba Team

To be updated.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.
Title: Warriors in crucial cup qualifier with Cuba.
Post by: Flex on November 17, 2012, 03:04:56 PM
Warriors in crucial cup qualifier with Cuba.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

The stage is set for Trinidad and Tobago’s redemption when it comes to engaging in battle with Cuba on the football field as this country’s senior men’s team will have it all to do on Sunday from 6pm at the Dwight Yorke Stadium if they are to maintain their hopes of qualifying for the 2012 Caribbean Cup Finals and the CONCACAF Gold Cup next year.

The “Soca Warriors” on four points, will be keeping a close watch on Sunday’s opening match between Suriname and St Vincent/Grenadines (two points) as a victory for St Vincent will see T&T needing a win to guarantee progress to the next stage or at least a draw and a better goal difference. A draw in the early encounter will make life easier for T&T against the Cubans who have four points also.

But Cuba have proven to be a nemesis for T&T in the Regional tournament, beating the Hannibal Najjar coached team 3-1 in 2003, again winning 2-1 in the 2005 Digicel Cup and then getting the better of T&T in the Finals in Martinique back in 2010 under Russell Latapy. T&T have an overall record of eleven wins to Cuba’s three in all senior international competition and friendly matches.

Instrumental midfielder Densill Theobald, who was rock solid in Friday’s 3-0 win, believes his team can pull it off. He said T&T’s 1-0 win over Bahrain on November 16th back in 2005 was also on his mind.

“I was aware of it. It’s a significant date in our history. There was no way I would have slept comfortably if lost to Suriname today,” Theobald told TTFF Media after the match which was witnessed by Sports Minister Anil Roberts, TOP Leader Ashworth Jack and TTFF President Raymond Tim Kee.

“We have been working very hard as a team and I think we have been improving every game.  On Sunday our aim is to win the match but we know it’s not going to be easy. Once we do our part, everything else is in God’s hands,” Theobald added.

“This current squad is yet to play to its fullest potential. We’ve not played pretty and we’ve made mistakes. We know that come Sunday it’s now or never for us. We need to  advance because if we don’t make it to the Gold Cup, I know it’s going to be an even harder road back to some form of success for us.

Captain Jan Michael Williams had led his team well thus far, urging his teammates to pull out all the stops in this campaign.

“I think by now every player knows that we have to dig deeper than ever. The challenge for this squad has been greater than some of the other national teams in recent past. We have had a lot of struggles and I think this has made the boys stronger but in saying that we have to put out the effort on the pitch and grind out results, especially on Sunday,” Williams added.

Head coach Hutson Charles described the performance by defender Aubrey David as “Excellent” on Friday. And he wants the rest of the team to take pattern from the Guyana-born player.

“If we can have all the guys on the same page, putting in the same kind of effort and keeping their heads on then we definitely can bring this one home and continue to push on for the rest of the tournament.

This team has ability. Yes some of them are new to the international stage but they must believe in their abilities and demonstrate that on the field of play. That’s all we are asking of them,” Charles said.

David was buzzing after scoring his first international goal in his maiden full competitive appearance for T&T.

“First of all I am thankful to God for this opportunity. He is in charge and we got this victory after putting in the work with his guidance. I felt good out there. I was comfortable because I’ve worn the national shirt before and I just gave my best out there tonight,” David said.

“Of course I would have loved to have scored for the country of by birth but this is how it turned out and I’m equally grateful to be playing a role in Trinidad and Tobago’s football. Our ambition is to qualify for the Finals and go on to restore some pride and respect in our football.”

Sunday’s game kicks off at 6pm with Suriname facing St Vincent from 4pm. The top two teams will advance to next month’s Caribbean Cup Finals in Antigua.

Title: Re: Thread for the T&T vs Cuba Game (18-Nov-2012).
Post by: just cool on November 17, 2012, 04:05:10 PM
Yuh see al this mayhem in we football, all that is as a result of oliver camps lacks attitude towards football, bc yuh see if that man didn't sit on his old arse and got up and actually bat for football, then we would not be fighting up with the liks of guyana, grenada and st vincent who don't have a professional league.

all this is his ugly fault, not jack, not the players, not the coach, but camps fault only!! and i will go as far as to sat that if our ranking was tip top we would have been nicely instead of fighting up with these teams, plus we would  have had academies in place teaching our extraordinary God bless talented youth to be world beaters.

fack olli camps , bc he fack we football and set us back ah whole other 20 something yrs.
Post by: Big Magician on November 17, 2012, 06:47:15 PM
good luck and blessings to the boys
Post by: Big Magician on November 17, 2012, 06:57:53 PM
is only 3 players from the U23 team ???...hmmmmm
Post by: frico on November 18, 2012, 10:52:44 AM
It seems as though Vincy is not a bad team at all as I felt all along,the draw we had with them could or should have been a win for us but we missed too many and so the draw.What are we saying about the Cuba  Vincy draw,who was the better team in that match,didn't Cuba put 5 pass Suriname while we could have done the same.I feel if we could put away our chances we will beat Cuba,ah putting meh head on de block tonite,is ah win for we 2-1. :beermug:
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 18, 2012, 12:34:31 PM
In our won backyard we sweating to beat these teams .... look where we reach
Post by: theworm2345 on November 18, 2012, 03:14:55 PM
Seems Suriname beating Saint Vincent 1-0 thanks to a penalty (which was taken by their keeper)
Post by: Observer on November 18, 2012, 03:21:19 PM
In our won backyard we sweating to beat these teams .... look where we reach

This is an away game, they in Tobago  ;D

Seriously, I am pleased to see the games being played in Tobago.
Post by: theworm2345 on November 18, 2012, 03:33:45 PM
Radio station for the match is down  :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead:
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 03:50:31 PM
Wehs de score now?
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 03:51:08 PM
Radio station for the match is down  :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead:
Seems Suriname beating Saint Vincent 1-0 thanks to a penalty (which was taken by their keeper)
Wehs de score now?
Post by: Brownsugar on November 18, 2012, 03:54:29 PM

Oh.  Ah thought was just me......oh well......
Post by: Banter Banton on November 18, 2012, 03:56:18 PM
Wired868 ‏@Wired868

Cuba and Trinidad and Tobago qualify as Suriname shock St Vincent 1-0 in Caribbean Cup football action.

Cheers Suriname!  :beermug:
Post by: royal on November 18, 2012, 03:58:01 PM
Wired868 ‏@Wired868

Cuba and Trinidad and Tobago qualify as Suriname shock St Vincent 1-0 in Caribbean Cup football action.

Cheers Suriname!  :beermug:

well well we have a lot of work to do.
Post by: Banter Banton on November 18, 2012, 03:58:13 PM
If we top the group we will go into the group with Antigua, Martinique and one of Grenada French Guayana and Haiti...  come 2nd and its the Yardies, DR and one of the 3 mentioned

Wonder if our management staff even know this

Come on Warriors..win the game, top the group
Post by: dreamer on November 18, 2012, 04:14:40 PM
Great news. T&T real geh a gift dey.Phew. Next rongs must bring more willing ammunition with Molino, Roberts if fit, Plaza, Peltier if ready to play, Birchall. Anybody knows if Kerry Baptiste is ok as he is usually a sure pick. Nuff respect to the mostly local Warriors who are crucial now and later ... and who are braving the storm. Local based and some foreign based will make a new renaissance team for the upcoming reload. Go T&T. Hope to see a new active fan base and remodelled TTFF that can regain trust from the public by its deeds.

Now let's enjoy the 6 pm game
Post by: theworm2345 on November 18, 2012, 04:18:34 PM

Oh.  Ah thought was just me......oh well......
Only Caribbean football  :banginghead: :banginghead:
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 04:19:56 PM
Whats the line up?
Post by: FireBrand on November 18, 2012, 04:24:25 PM
T&T starting line up vs Cuba: 1.Jan-Michael Williams (capt); 4.Kern Cupid, 6.Kareem Moses, 20.Seon Power, 8.Aubrey David, 18.Densill Theobald, 3.Joevin Jones; 14.Hashim Arcia, 16.Keyon Edwards, 7.Hughton Hector; 13.Richard Roy.
Post by: Tierra on November 18, 2012, 04:30:37 PM
I would nice if we still beat Cuba tough.
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 04:32:08 PM
We better beat cuba, or else is the jamaica group we goin in.
Post by: lefty on November 18, 2012, 04:40:54 PM
and so? if ever there would be a test of their grit that would be it, better yet if we get two bites of dat cherry.....no guts no glory dread
Post by: lefty on November 18, 2012, 04:43:25 PM
also it seems like we parkin d bus
Post by: gawd on pitch on November 18, 2012, 04:44:19 PM

We losing to Cuba. We will be in JA group. We lucky that Suriname save we skin
Post by: royal on November 18, 2012, 04:55:42 PM
any link? ah could actually listen to a Trinidad game without pressure so ah want to take ADVANTAGE of it.
Post by: lefty on November 18, 2012, 04:58:53 PM
it eh wukkin, I listenin on mih cell
Post by: FireBrand on November 18, 2012, 05:02:47 PM
Halftime: 0-0
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 05:04:06 PM
Well geh we ah score nah?
Post by: lefty on November 18, 2012, 05:05:07 PM
Well geh we ah score nah?

0-0 second half now start
Post by: royal on November 18, 2012, 05:20:21 PM
so wait nah,ah now ketch meh self. we had to go thru 2 rounds of qualifiers to be in ah CFU finals.Oh how de mighty have fallen
Post by: Tallman on November 18, 2012, 05:32:58 PM
T&T 1-0 Cuba. Guerra scores.
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 05:33:29 PM
so wait nah,ah now ketch meh self. we had to go thru 2 rounds of qualifiers to be in ah CFU finals.Oh how de mighty have fallen
Our ranking too low horse, if we was in ah better position then we would have never even met guyan, burmuda and barbados.
Title: Re: Re: Thread for the T&T vs Cuba Game (18-Nov-2012).
Post by: D.H.W on November 18, 2012, 05:34:26 PM

Yes!
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 05:34:55 PM
good job guerra, ah know yuh had it in yuh.
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 05:37:09 PM
Tallman, is this the same cuban team that played in the last WCQ against canada and honduras?
Post by: Tallman on November 18, 2012, 05:48:26 PM
Tallman, is this the same cuban team that played in the last WCQ against canada and honduras?

Yeh, is more or less de same side, but ah tink dey have ah different coach.
Post by: FireBrand on November 18, 2012, 05:49:47 PM
Tulla!!!!!  :wavetowel:
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 05:51:05 PM

i though so but wasn't sure bc i don't think they allowed their players to play outside of cube due to defection. one more thing. do they have a pro league?
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 05:51:30 PM
Tula!!!!!  :wavetowel:
He score again??
Post by: Tallman on November 18, 2012, 05:55:03 PM
Game done, we win 1-0.
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 05:55:13 PM
Wehs de scene, allyuh??
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 05:55:53 PM
Well done baba!!  :applause: :applause:
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 05:56:37 PM
Charles like he actually know what he's doing, could this be our tappa whitmore?
Post by: Tallman on November 18, 2012, 05:59:02 PM

i though so but wasn't sure bc i don't think they allowed their players to play outside of cube due to defection. one more thing. do they have a pro league?

Dey have ah league called Campeonato Nacional de Fútbol de Cuba, but me eh know if is ah professional one.
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 06:00:23 PM

Dey have ah league called Campeonato Nacional de Fútbol de Cuba, but me eh know if is ah professional one.
Thanx tallman, much appreciated.
Post by: trini_stallion on November 18, 2012, 06:00:32 PM
Amen...the journey continues! Happy for we warriors, they deserve it, especially with the state of our affairs
Post by: frico on November 18, 2012, 06:04:41 PM
Charles like he actually know what he's doing, could this be our tappa whitmore?
I was thinking that when we beat Suriname and I also feel that the match against Vincy was a good pointer coz we shudda beat them and they not easy.It looking likely that my Caribbean holiday might come true. :beermug:
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 06:06:49 PM
Now it's time to get our better players in for the final round, peltier, cato, roberts, cyrus, molino, primus, hyland and hopefully J.lloyd, and maybe kenwyne bc he's not getting hrs for his club, so he might as well get some playing time with us.
Post by: Deeks on November 18, 2012, 06:13:31 PM
 Congrats WARRIORS. I am surprise some people eh realize that Cuba is still an orthodox communist country. They don't have "pros". China and Russia have moved on, Cuba and North Korea still "commies". They don't allow professional sport. The state sponsor everything. Of course, baseball gets the lion share of the resources. That is why players in all sports, musician and artists tend to defect. I remember boxing promoters tried to talk the Cuban gov't into letting Teofelo Stevenson box professionally and they refused.
Post by: D.H.W on November 18, 2012, 06:25:13 PM
win is a win i taking that  :beermug:
Post by: vb on November 18, 2012, 06:27:14 PM
Congrats WARRIORS. I am surprise some people eh realize that Cuba is still an orthodox communist country. They don't have "pros". China and Russia have moved on, Cuba and North Korea still "commies". They don't allow professional sport. The state sponsor everything. Of course, baseball gets the lion share of the resources. That is why players in all sports, musician and artists tend to defect. I remember boxing promoters tried to talk the Cuban gov't into letting Teofelo Stevenson box professionally and they refused.

They had a great fighter, Diabalys Hurtado. He won the world amateur title and they give him a bicycle. He defect one time and had a great career in the US.

Post by: gawd on pitch on November 18, 2012, 06:34:58 PM
Now it's time to get our better players in for the final round, peltier, cato, roberts, cyrus, molino, primus, hyland and hopefully J.lloyd, and maybe kenwyne bc he's not getting hrs for his club, so he might as well get some playing time with us.

Yeah. Dont forget Daniel, Bateau and Edwards.

It will be crtitical to get our 8 MLS players into the mix. JA makes lots of use of their 13 MLS players.
Post by: Big Magician on November 18, 2012, 06:38:39 PM
top of the group...well done boys...teams and staff
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 18, 2012, 06:43:13 PM
Indeed, onto the next rounds, press on  :beermug:
Post by: dreamer on November 18, 2012, 06:45:30 PM
Wow!!!!

Fellahs this is big big news and all I can say is salute  :applause: :notworthy: :salute: to these warriors and to the coach who fought these battles and the diehards who were there to support in Tobago. I am sure most of us believed the team, saddled with multiple injuries, missing many lynchpin players, feeling fan base dismissal, having pockets of questionable self esteem, definitely surpassed our expectations alhough we all prayed and hoped for a result like this.

Let's not waste this opportunity to resurrect T&T football and start afresh. These players who won tonight  made a statement tonight that they are to be counted and respected without the luxury of having Molino, Keon Daniel, Peltier, Plaza, Cato, Birchall, Kenwyne, Carlos, Scotland (who retired anyway), Julius James, Bateau, Mitchell and some of the other stars of the U23 team and many others playing abroad in far away countries.

Happy for Guerra to have made such a telling contributrion with his goal. Maybe that will change his life.
The Pro league is definitely to take some credit for producing players who can hold their own with the likes of no nonsense Cuba, a country that often gives us beans.

Nothing sweet like winning to create a cool vibes on this message board.
Post by: D.H.W on November 18, 2012, 06:47:32 PM
Now can Anil give the fellas the money they need? Imagine that c**t didn't want to help the team. I sure he vex they qualify to the next round.
Post by: gawd on pitch on November 18, 2012, 06:48:57 PM
Now can Anil give the fellas the money they need? Imagine that c**t didn't want to help the team. I sure he vex they qualify to the next round.

Yeah.. It means he wont get his "Bonus"
Post by: injunchile on November 18, 2012, 06:49:34 PM
Congratulations and best wishes, Forward ever , backward never. The Football now start so let us put the starting blocks in place and move to the next level. Congrats to the coach and the team, from reports it seems that they were passionate. A good start to the future. Now with some season MLS players and some under 23's, plus some European base - Who knows what the future brings?
Post by: socalion on November 18, 2012, 07:15:22 PM
 :applause: First up congrats to the all de players ,coach  hutson charles and his entire coaching  staff  a job well done , you all stayed the course and  fought a a battle and came through inspite of all the challenges , nuff compliments  barber charles ,   your assistants and players  well done ah going and  have a lil drink to celebrate this win ah  feeling  nice  ah aint go lie  :beermug:
Post by: maxg on November 18, 2012, 07:25:46 PM

It will be crtitical to get our 8 MLS players into the mix. JA makes lots of use of their 13 MLS players.
hmnn..just a few more names, and the coach could start over from scratch with a completely new more talented batch...and go through, get releases and making calls, and waiting to see who coming, and the whole 9 yards again....me doh think so nah...One or two additions, but eh eh, doh start over coaching
Post by: Banter Banton on November 18, 2012, 07:30:42 PM
We have to take a stronger core of players to Antigua..  the MLS boys, and hopefully the Europe based (not UK) such as Hyland etc

I would like to see names such as Birchall, JL Samuels, Hyland, Primus, Cyrus, Molino, Peltier, Cato , K.Daniel involved with the local based team
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 07:32:05 PM

Daniel you say??!!

that man may never wear the national colors again and rightfully so!! he bailed on the team without even prior notice and to add insult, when they tried to contact him he wasn't responding, what ah fickle lil biatch move dat was!

IMO no byoi eh better than the team, and if ah man livin like that, then we don't fackin need him, and baba show where we doh fackin need him bc we won without his services which goes to show there's always another bull waitin tuh take yuh place when yuh walk away.

that kinda unprofessional behavior don't belong in football! so fack he and he mavrick style! who needs it.

as for edwards, he cyar make it bro, the finals starts on the 3 and runs to the 16th of december, and there's no international break during that period, plus i doubt ipswich will let their capitan ride out on ah non fifa date. kenwyne might get away with that better than carlos.
Post by: AB.Trini on November 18, 2012, 07:38:31 PM
In as much as I have been critical of the selection and the approach of out players in the light of the recent tournament play, let me at this time congratulate these players for battling and getting the job done.

What a predicament to be in now? do you go with the 'warriors' that got you to the show? should these players be rewarded for their loyalty and achievements? or do you bring in players now who you believe is better skilled for the next  rounds?

Which players actually wanted to make the trip but had legitimate reasons to be excused which were just  sitting on the fence waiting to see?

Do we build with players that would be the core  for the lead up to 2018? or do we need  to look at instant fixes and success  for our program?

As we  celebrate our success, I think in my humble opinion there is a bigger picture that we need to consider as be rebuild our football program.
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 18, 2012, 07:45:21 PM
Do we know the real story wid Daniel?  I know he could not be reached, but do we know why?
Post by: Fyzoman on November 18, 2012, 07:45:42 PM
Congrats and on to de next rounds.

But in de immortal words of, "The Wolf" from Pulp Fiction, "Let's not starting sucking each others di%$s quite yet."

AH noticing nuff men talking bout-and I was coming to do de same thing-about all who should be on de team for next rounds...dat is provided Coach-and he ego-eh decide that he got de job wid ah mostly local squad, so he now thinks he's ah best coach and doh really need no men who playing outside.

Is it too late for KJ to go back being ah defender for we:)

Post by: Fyzoman on November 18, 2012, 07:46:24 PM
Do we know the real story wid Daniel?  I know he could not be reached, but do we know why?

Yeah ah would like to know de real story before ah bun fire on him:)
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 07:48:51 PM
Wow!!!!

Fellahs this is big big news and all I can say is salute  :applause: :notworthy: :salute: to these warriors and to the coach who fought these battles and the diehards who were there to support in Tobago. I am sure most of us believed the team, saddled with multiple injuries, missing many lynchpin players, feeling fan base dismissal, having pockets of questionable self esteem, definitely surpassed our expectations alhough we all prayed and hoped for a result like this.

Let's not waste this opportunity to resurrect T&T football and start afresh. These players who won tonight  made a statement tonight that they are to be counted and respected without the luxury of having Molino, Keon Daniel, Peltier, Plaza, Cato, Birchall, Kenwyne, Carlos, Scotland (who retired anyway), Julius James, Bateau, Mitchell and some of the other stars of the U23 team and many others playing abroad in far away countries.

Happy for Guerra to have made such a telling contributrion with his goal. Maybe that will change his life.
The Pro league is definitely to take some credit for producing players who can hold their own with the likes of no nonsense Cuba, a country that often gives us beans.

Nothing sweet like winning to create a cool vibes on this message board.

Dreamer i feel yuh son, and i'm there with you on the congratulatory tip, but don't get it twisted, we will not make it out the group stage if we don't bring in re-enforcements.

right now we in ah group with martinque, and they have pro french boys this time around, antigua barbuda who, or you could just say antigua barracudas, the same fellas who almost beat the USA last month and gave jamaica a ways to go, plus they are @ home so we need more ammo fuh dem.

then we have between haiti , french guiana and grenada our nemeses in this competition, and we all know how we fare against them the last time out.

even baba would say that we need more grit on the team, he said it the last time and i'm sure he'll say it again. right now this is good, let ppl fight for their shirt, no mo reservations and big boy thing, no one has a spot a place cemented on the team, earn yuh pick i say, campetition for spots would only make fellas play with more purpose JMO.
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 07:54:57 PM
We beat cuba with a all local squad, what ah ting! almost all the team with the exception of hector is local based, and we had about six or seven debutants. good stuff, ah lil nerve racking but good stuff.
Post by: truehaitian on November 18, 2012, 07:58:53 PM
It’s all over in Grenada, here is the Caribbean final, Haiti 2 Grenada 0
Group A
Antigua
Haiti
Trinidad
Martinique

Group B
Jamaica
Cuba
Dominican Republic
French Guiana
Title: Match Report TnT - Cuba
Post by: Rastaman on November 18, 2012, 07:59:28 PM
Well peoples, ah make sure ah reach the stadium early, only miss about 10 mins of the first game. I have two things about the first game:
1. The wrong SVG team showed up today. They were mostly dominated bu Suriname and should have lost by at least 3 or 4 goals.
2. Suriname is not as bad as the first 5-nil loss indicated, but they cannot score to save their life...their only goal in this tournament came from their goal keeper via a penalty.

Nuff said about that. Got a copy of the starting line up and realize, much to me despair that Hashim Arcia playing, I guess we short of players. Charles keeping faith with Roy and it seems that Joevin Jones staying as an attacking midfielder.

T&T starting line up vs Cuba: 1.Jan-Michael Williams (capt); 4.Kern Cupid, 6.Kareem Moses, 20.Seon Power, 8.Aubrey David, 18.Densill Theobald, 3.Joevin Jones; 14.Hashim Arcia, 16.Keyon Edwards, 7.Hughton Hector; 13.Richard Roy.

Game start and TnT looking solid. Charles seems to have them playing a solid defensive structure. They marking and tracking back and keeping their shape....

This was the mode throughout the game with the both teams content to sit back and defend the ball when they were not in possession. This game was a real chess match. Theobald was leading his team with composed and controlled possession playing from between the two stoppers. And when we lost it the transition to defense was quick and efficient.

Now there was no Carlyle Mitchell due to suspension so No. 6 Kareem Moses started and he did not look out of place.A few mistakes were made and there was the occasional lapse in concentration that allowed Cuba through, but between Power and Jan Micheal Williams, we kept them out. And we had the occasional chance too but we were not able to find the break through.

Jan Micheal Williams seemed to get stamped in the first half, so it was not a total surprise that he was replaced in the 2nd half by Marvin Phillip, although it might just have been to give him some meaningful time between the sticks. He too did not look out of place and made a few saves to help preserve the clean sheet.

Charles them made the change of the game, bringing on Atulla Guerra who proceeded to run on to the field and run straight into the penalty box and score.... It was fantastic, he was hungry and fought through a tackle loose the ball and get the rebound off of Edwards and rifle the ball pass the Cuban goalie. The Stadium was on their feet. 1-nil we up.

I must say that until he was replaced Arcia actually had a better game than on Firday night, but the Tobago crowd did not forget him and once again he was wildly cheered when he was replaced.... by the time the cheering had stopped the ball was in the back of the net.

After that Charles replaced Richard Roy with I believe was Curtis Gonzales, who played wing back in the first game. This time he was deployed as a defensive midfielder alongside Theobald to shore up the defense. This worked like a charm and the chess game that was this match was ours after that. Edwards was served up one on a platter by the off and on trickers of Huton Hector, but by this time he was so tired, now as the lone striker that he could not muster the energy to push anything but his chest to the passing ball with the goal at his mercy. That would have been 2-nil game over, but TnT hung on to the 1-nil scoreline and the rest they say is history.

We have won the group with 7 pts with Cuba also going through with 4 pts.

Tonight this TnT team showed me something that I have not seen since Don Leo days....popper defensive structure. I can hardly wait till Charles has more players to chose from, and the time to get the team playing like this. This sort if display is what is going to be needed to beat the likes of Jamaica. The team can only go up from here....once Charles has the resources to do so.

Now let me tell you about Seon Power...... the boy remind me of Aurtis Whitley. He have the fight, the ability all the attributes to go very far with this team. He as stopper has the licence to spread the ball to all parts of the field. The ball will be knocked around the back and he is the one to make the forward pass(long). Once it going short it is through Theobald. Power in some coaches' opinion could even be deployed in midfield if we have good enough cover at the back. On a few occasions he has picked up the ball in defense and made it all the way to the opposing penalty box. His vision, skill with the ball, work rate and never say die attitude make him my player of the tournament.
Post by: kiffysmooth on November 18, 2012, 07:59:36 PM
We dont know d whole story behind Daniel... but I would say dis

1.  I am sure Daniel read and saw that Hutson made numerous attempts to reach him
2.  Daniel was very much aware of the qualifiers taking place this week... all d overseas players who wasnt even call still following and know what going on
3.  Even if yuh phone was dead, or yuh had no reception, or yuh was in ah meeting and miss d call... why not have d decency to call back Hutson and say someting
4.  I dont know d real story, but unless he was in mourning, I cannot and will not buy any excuse from Daniel... dat type of behaviour and attitude is unacceptable...  I agree with JC, I like Daniel, but he deserves a suspension if Hutson decides to go that way..  Keon needs to understand that it was national duty that paved his way to Philly
Post by: Sam on November 18, 2012, 08:00:01 PM
just cool, I agree with you on Daniel.

He should never be called again, he is another basket case.

F00ck him.

A simple phone call would have been fine.

He always have some blasted seceret problem.

Post by: warmonga on November 18, 2012, 08:11:53 PM
It’s all over in Grenada, here is the Caribbean final, Haiti 2 Grenada 0
Group A
Antigua
Haiti
Trinidad
Martinique

Group B
Jamaica
Cuba
Dominican Republic
French Guiana

somebody tell me how french guiana  get in there please? who the hell did they beat?

Title: Re: Match Report TnT - Cuba
Post by: royal on November 18, 2012, 08:19:33 PM
thanks Rastaman,much appreciated.
Post by: dreamer on November 18, 2012, 08:36:45 PM
Thanks Rastaman. Very heartening comments.
Post by: royal on November 18, 2012, 08:45:58 PM
hey de guardian saying we loose de game 1-0 and it was a Guerra from Cuba who score for dem  ???

T&T’s Soca Warriors advanced to next month’s Caribbean Cup finals without kicking a ball, after the first match of the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet, double-header, yesterday resulted in a 1-0 victory for Suriname over St Vincent and the Grenadines.

Despite the win, which came as a result of a converted penalty from Suriname’s captain and custodian Ronny Aloema in the latter stages of the first half, neither team was able to advance, leaving the other two teams in its group T&T and Cuba to scrap for top spot in the night’s second match, despite both teams progressing. T&T lost 1-0 to Cuba, who topped the group with T&T finishing second.

Cuba’s goal came in the 28th minute through Artulo Guerra.
Post by: jr sams on November 18, 2012, 09:01:03 PM
Nah, doh study dat...Rasatman went to de game and giwwe ah nice Match Report confirming de victory for we.
Post by: FF on November 18, 2012, 09:02:42 PM
hey de guardian saying we loose de game 1-0 and it was a Guerra from Cuba who score for dem  ???

T&T’s Soca Warriors advanced to next month’s Caribbean Cup finals without kicking a ball, after the first match of the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet, double-header, yesterday resulted in a 1-0 victory for Suriname over St Vincent and the Grenadines.

Despite the win, which came as a result of a converted penalty from Suriname’s captain and custodian Ronny Aloema in the latter stages of the first half, neither team was able to advance, leaving the other two teams in its group T&T and Cuba to scrap for top spot in the night’s second match, despite both teams progressing. T&T lost 1-0 to Cuba, who topped the group with T&T finishing second.

this is shameful shameful reporting and the game was right dere in Tobago. Arturo Guerra yes lmao
Post by: AB.Trini on November 18, 2012, 09:04:56 PM
But wait nah; ent Rastaman  put up ah report and he was there at the game:

Charles them made the change of the game, bringing on Atulla Guerra who proceeded to run on to the field and run straight into the penalty box and score.... It was fantastic, he was hungry and fought through a tackle loose the ball and get the rebound off of Edwards and rifle the ball pass the Cuban goalie. The Stadium was on their feet. 1-nil we up.
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 09:09:38 PM
Yes dready, nice read.

question, what do you think of power's recovery speed, somehow when ah defender like going forwrd he need not be caught out especially on a counterattack, does he have the speed to do so? and one more thing, please rate kern cupid and houton hector's performance in this tourney?       thank you.
Post by: just cool on November 18, 2012, 09:16:15 PM
Allyuh studying these mdacnt backward arse journalist we have home who can't even write ah proper article with the correct and appropriate information. trinidad need tuh step the fack up and stop skylarking, it's about fackin time T&T!!!!!
Title: Re: Re: Thread for the T&T vs Cuba Game (18-Nov-2012).
Post by: D.H.W on November 18, 2012, 09:55:58 PM

He get the time, player name, and team wrong. Who write that shit. Talk about poor reporting.
Post by: E-man on November 18, 2012, 10:24:54 PM

He get the time, player name, and team wrong. Who write that shit. Talk about poor reporting.

Clayton Clarke was the author

http://guardian.co.tt/sport/2012-11-18/warriors-caribbean-cup-finals

http://guardian.co.tt/category/byline-authors/clayton-clarke

doesn't seem to write about football much, mainly other sports - running, tennis, cycling.
Post by: elan on November 18, 2012, 10:51:49 PM
We win and we moving on Tim Kee wukking ahready. This is rel celbration ting.
Post by: Jah Gol on November 19, 2012, 06:02:31 AM
We need to win the whole thing.
Post by: Big Magician on November 19, 2012, 06:42:22 AM
rasta...cheers
Post by: Big Magician on November 19, 2012, 06:42:49 AM
" TULLA...TULLA...There's only one TULLA..There's only one TULLA
Post by: Flex on November 19, 2012, 06:43:49 AM
somebody tell me how french guiana  get in there please? who the hell did they beat?

They beat Haiti and Grenada to get there..

Post by: Big Magician on November 19, 2012, 06:49:36 AM
" TULLA...TULLA...There's only one TULLA..There's only one TULLA
Post by: Rastaman on November 19, 2012, 08:30:28 AM
Yes dready, nice read.

question, what do you think of power's recovery speed, somehow when ah defender like going forwrd he need not be caught out especially on a counterattack, does he have the speed to do so? and one more thing, please rate kern cupid and houton hector's performance in this tourney?       thank you.
Yes his recovery speed is good. At this level the man have everything. I am anxious to see how he would perform at the next level.

Kern Cupid really I cannot say much because I am not too familiar with him but he was part of the defense that looked assured, solid and compact.

Huton Hector was his usual self but he seemed to drift in and out of the game. He was solid in midfield and created some spark and trickery when switched to the wing. And remember that they were switched often as soon as hole was found in our defense, it would be closed up then later in the game they would switch back.

The main emphasis was on defensive structure and but for a few lapses they were excellent....every player.
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 19, 2012, 08:52:35 AM
well we are in a hard group ..... Haiti the host and Martinique  ....  bets of luck to the boys
Post by: Dinner Mints on November 19, 2012, 09:25:01 AM
He always have some blasted secret problem.
Lol, this true though.
Post by: truehaitian on November 19, 2012, 11:54:30 AM
From CFU database web site , it looks like Martinique was sent to group A and DR will replace Martinique in Group B. The returning champion(Jamaica) would have all the second place finishers while A & B will have all the first place finishers.
So it will be Trinidad, DR, Haiti, A&B
Post by: FireBrand on November 19, 2012, 12:32:07 PM
Good stuff again Rasta!!! :thumbsup:   Hope Guerra takes this success and runs with it. Would love to see this kid succeed in football.  Regarding Seon Power... well in terms of his improvement he seems just like this generation's Cyd Gray. Keep it up baller! As Big Mag say...POWER to the people!
Post by: dreamer on November 19, 2012, 12:41:18 PM
Good. We could do without Martinique.
Post by: truehaitian on November 19, 2012, 12:56:32 PM
Yeah, I would rather have DR. . I don't remember them being in the CFU finals before. I think that's their first trip into the finals. I would rather play them  rather than Martinique..
Post by: Fyzoman on November 19, 2012, 01:15:03 PM

YO!!! I find this real funny...Like he get de news from somebody on de phone, and misheard de Atullah? But what about de actual score and who finish on top, how he arrive by dat??
Post by: soccerman on November 19, 2012, 02:22:30 PM
Yes Rasta Bless :beermug:
Post by: soccerman on November 19, 2012, 02:35:47 PM

YO!!! I find this real funny...Like he get de news from somebody on de phone, and misheard de Atullah? But what about de actual score and who finish on top, how he arrive by dat??

Only in Trinidad dread
Post by: just cool on November 19, 2012, 03:48:50 PM
When iz the actual dates for the finals. i read it starts on the 3rd and end on the 16th of december. can anyone confirm?   :beermug:
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 19, 2012, 05:44:34 PM
Highlights?  Wah see Tulla run and bullet
Post by: D.H.W on November 19, 2012, 07:54:51 PM
Highlights?  Wah see Tulla run and bullet

http://www.youtube.com/v/q8csBtzk4Qo
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 19, 2012, 09:16:42 PM
Bless up DHW  :beermug:
Post by: Madd Ras#13 on November 19, 2012, 10:48:28 PM
watch dah sweet ball Hector cross fuh Edwards tuh score nah and de man miss it yes...wish ah was in Bago tuh see mih boi Hector play some ball...good result, hope we keep improving now