Sports => Trinbago, NBA & World Basketball => Topic started by: Bakes on December 06, 2012, 10:15:57 PM

Title: New York Knickerbockers Thread
Post by: Bakes on December 06, 2012, 10:15:57 PM
(http://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/150151_10151003172994616_363807242_n.jpg)

It's about time we get this thread started.  Knicks are relevant again for the first time in over ten years  and sitting atop the Eastern Conference after yet another blow out win over Miami.  Still early in the season but there's still only ONE team in New York and they play their basketball at Madison Square Garden!!!
Title: Re: New York Knickerbockers Thread
Post by: fari on December 07, 2012, 05:12:38 PM
you beat meh to the punch... a a look we beat the heat las night...without melo to boot

knicks fans stand up!
Post by: Bakes on December 07, 2012, 07:44:53 PM
Yes I-yah... NBA needs the Knicks to be relevant, only Miami really been making noise out the East the past couple seasons.  Celts get old and everybody else lacking components.  The Nets on the come up and the Knicks on the comeback... should make things interesting.  Dancehall nice again!
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 07, 2012, 08:48:21 PM
only team unbeaten at home.
Post by: Bakes on December 08, 2012, 12:25:30 AM

Aye ayy... they let yuh go boy?  Long time...  ;D
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 08, 2012, 05:15:41 PM

So I will be in maroon and gold come this Thurs in sect 223; hoping for us to show up against de run of play for de season, go Lakers!  :devil:
Post by: Bakes on December 08, 2012, 05:47:57 PM
So I will be in maroon and gold come this Thurs in sect 223; hoping for us to show up against de run of play for de season, go Lakers!  :devil:

I trying tuh score some tickets... keeping mih fingers crossed.  Btw... "maroon and gold"?  Allyuh eh sure what allyuh colors is or what... sometimes is purple and gold, sometimes navy blue and gold... could never figure that one out ;D
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 08, 2012, 06:49:19 PM

I trying tuh score some tickets... keeping mih fingers crossed.  Btw... "maroon and gold"?  Allyuh eh sure what allyuh colors is or what... sometimes is purple and gold, sometimes navy blue and gold... could never figure that one out ;D

:rotfl:  hard luck dey, yeah, purple and gold.  We went to stubhub, other sites were much higher...
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 08, 2012, 08:13:52 PM

on good behaviour.lol.......when u comin up NY
Post by: Bakes on December 08, 2012, 09:15:58 PM
on good behaviour.lol.......when u comin up NY

Might try to make a run before the holidays... ent see Babs in like 4-5 years, ah shame.  Plus we need to lime man.
Post by: Bakes on December 08, 2012, 09:19:27 PM
Knicks down 7 with :56 secs to play against the Bulls.  Doubt they'll pull this one out, no pick and roll defense, and missing too many shots.  J.R. Smith will be the death of me.  I never see a man take more indisciplined shots than he.  steups
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 11, 2012, 03:35:51 PM
big game to nite in msg......go NEW YORK
Post by: Bakes on December 11, 2012, 06:40:59 PM
big game to nite in msg......go NEW YORK

Coulda swear tonight's game was going to be at MSG as well... but it's in the Barclay's.  Leh we see how long before they start calling it de "Bank"  ::)
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 11, 2012, 08:59:42 PM
sweet sweet victory...melo come out to play tonite.kidd was not bad.
Post by: Bakes on December 12, 2012, 12:12:29 AM
sweet sweet victory...melo come out to play tonite.kidd was not bad.

Drop 45 on dem... Nets will be tough, even without Lopez they put up a good fight, but we had to show up and let them know who still running things in NY.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 12, 2012, 09:23:03 AM
Mello is kix yes, after de win last night he say "it's hard to come into hostile territory and win away from home"

Really Mello?  Will excuse him, he not from tri-state
Post by: FF on December 12, 2012, 09:25:46 AM
Mello is kix yes, after de win last night he say "it's hard to come into hostile territory and win away from home"

What? de man from Brooklyn
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 12, 2012, 02:03:07 PM

DFMU and he dare claim Brooklyn is a hostile environment?   :rotfl:
Post by: Bakes on December 12, 2012, 08:06:56 PM

DFMU and he dare claim Brooklyn is a hostile environment?   :rotfl:

fuhgive him he left when eh was young lol  But seriously, de man was living right dey in Red Hook up until de age ah 8.
Post by: Bakes on December 13, 2012, 09:52:37 PM
Lakers made it close... but only because Anthony sat out most of the second half with an ankle sprain.  I not a betting man, but a Lakers fan pardna ah mine let he mouth write ah dinner check that I'll be cashing at the next reunion in June  ;D
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 13, 2012, 11:12:53 PM
Lakers made it close... but only because Anthony sat out most of the second half with an ankle sprain.  I not a betting man, but a Lakers fan pardna ah mine let he mouth write ah dinner check that I'll be cashing at the next reunion in June  ;D

Hard luck fuh dat soldier.  Yeah, Mello injury definitely made it interesting.  The fans were having a field day with chants of "Bring back Jackson", "Kobe No means No O" and so on.  Anyway, I think once our starters come back and we continue to lose Mike's days will be short, maybe he can compete w/Rafa to see who stays in their role the longer of the two.  Word on the street is that there is some power struggle in the Buss family re-who should be head coach.
Post by: Bakes on December 14, 2012, 12:20:26 AM

Hard luck fuh dat soldier.  Yeah, Mello injury definitely made it interesting.  The fans were having a field day with chants of "Bring back Jackson", "Kobe No means No O" and so on.  Anyway, I think once our starters come back and we continue to lose Mike's days will be short, maybe he can compete w/Rafa to see who stays in their role the longer of the two.  Word on the street is that there is some power struggle in the Buss family re-who should be head coach.

I wouldn't be surprise... Jeanie and Jerry obviously would be advocating Phil.  The fact that Magic savaging Jim doesn't help that perspective either.
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 14, 2012, 11:01:25 AM
NOT IN DE GARDEN.lakers get ah sound cutass.hahahha.......barataria yuh backin ah lorse cause.yuh tink them makin playoffs....ah know it early,but ah love to dream.
Post by: Controversial on December 14, 2012, 11:35:08 AM
i remember the days when you would sit down and relish the moments when jordan would step onto the hardwood at msg to face ewing and the knicks in the playoffs and you always wondered, will jordan put down a 50 point game that nite at the garden and steal the dreams away from the knicks fans...

i can't wait to see the knicks make a playoff run, i think i will be there with spike on the floor cheering ;D :beermug:
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 14, 2012, 12:25:00 PM
NOT IN DE GARDEN.lakers get ah sound cutass.hahahha.......barataria yuh backin ah lorse cause.yuh tink them makin playoffs....ah know it early,but ah love to dream.

:rotfl:  I iz a laker bredda, win or lose, no worries, ah doh tink any laker now doh realize dat de team in a downturn right now.  Even when Nash, Pau and Blake return, I personally have no faith in the D'Antoni system, so looks like Del Harris era re-born.  But we all remember what happened thereafter.  Dais de nature of sports, is a ebb and flow.  Playoffs, meh eh know, hard to say right now. 

What I do know though, we still the # 1 basketball franchise name WW, no matter what  :devil:
Post by: Bakes on December 15, 2012, 11:43:25 PM
Still undefeated at The Garden... but by a whisker.  Kyrie Irving give we all we could handle... and Varejao miss a free throw that would have tied the game with one second left.  Team playing decent when Anthony not in de line up, but that is not a recipe for success, to be doing that too much.  We need Stoudemire to get healthy quick to be a decent fall back option.  Felton and Chandler killing that pick and roll... reminiscent of Paul-to-Chandler back in the days of the Charlotte Hornets a couple years back.
Post by: fari on December 17, 2012, 08:33:26 PM
my god what is going on tonite...just turn on the game and see 94-71 houston in de 4th quarter ??? ??? ???
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 17, 2012, 09:49:43 PM
had to b lin and them blasted rockettes to throw sand in we rice.
Post by: Bakes on December 18, 2012, 01:35:43 PM
No defense... Lin only have a right hand yet man allowing him to drive right time after time.  Even in pick up basketball man would shade yuh to go left.  Same for Harden... left-handed yet man allowing him to drive left. No basket protection or whoever drives the lane dishes for open lay up or jumper.  Forget Anthony not being there, the issue was defense.  To lose to Lin and the Rockets of all teams... steups.
Post by: Bakes on December 19, 2012, 04:00:44 PM
Knicks v. Nets part trois tonight...
Post by: soccerman on December 19, 2012, 06:39:45 PM
It seem like every week is Knicks vs Nets lol
Post by: Bakes on December 20, 2012, 12:15:52 AM
It seem like every week is Knicks vs Nets lol

Yeah boy, season just start and this is the third time we playing them already.  Show them who still running things in New York though.
Post by: fari on December 20, 2012, 08:01:44 PM
we put the hammer down on em 4th quarter...game was close before that...stat still to come back too!
Post by: Bakes on December 22, 2012, 01:25:36 AM
Horrible game against the Bulls tonight... Knicks couldn't make shots and the Bulls couldn't miss.  Make it worse we get stuck with some D-League refs.  They let too much shit go in the earlies then try to clamp down after the fact.  End result is Anthony, Chandler and the coach, Woodson getting ejected in a 4-point loss.  Scoreline flattered to deceive though.
Post by: soccerman on December 25, 2012, 12:04:39 AM
3PM today everybody
Post by: Bakes on December 25, 2012, 01:52:40 PM
3PM today everybody

Yes I, it coming.  Nash will make a difference in getting the offense going, but allyuh still have to stop Anthony and the pick and roll with Felton... all while covering the shooters.  If the Knicks shot falling then we hard to beat.  Problem is that we've been spotty the past couple games.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 25, 2012, 04:58:51 PM
Talk nah
Post by: Bakes on December 25, 2012, 05:23:12 PM
Talk nah

Please... I doh have to talk, what is allyuh record?  Lakers got every call in their favor today.  About the only iffy call was Artest's 6th foul... but considering how he was manhandling Anthony all game nobody should complain about that.  Game started to turn after that idiot ref with the porn moustache rule the ball went out of bounds when it never did... while D'Antoni was standing on the court which should have been a technical foul.  I won't even talk about that phantom 6th foul or the tech on Chandler.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 25, 2012, 05:46:23 PM
Bakes, garbage, firse time ah see so much away team favored calls, beyond de artest 6th foul, count de 5th foul, de out of bounds ball off kidd, sorry Kobe.

Doh be a sore loser, we now geh we startin 5 back, doh worry bout we record,de 16th championships speak for themselves, when lass u win one?  Tink ah was 5 den.  Starks for 3!
Post by: Bakes on December 25, 2012, 07:37:56 PM
Bakes, garbage, firse time ah see so much away team favored calls, beyond de artest 6th foul, count de 5th foul, de out of bounds ball off kidd, sorry Kobe.

Doh be a sore loser, we now geh we startin 5 back, doh worry bout we record,de 16th championships speak for themselves, when lass u win one?  Tink ah was 5 den.  Starks for 3!

Is historical records yuh talking about?  I thought we talking about which team better?  If dai'z de case then allyuh forever worse than de Celtics then?

As for the "away team calls"... LOL  The only thing the crowd complain about whole night was the out of bounds that they review and on that play Kobe clearly flick the ball out with his left hand as Anthony was trying to gather it in. I dunno what out of bounds off Kidd yuh talking about I didn't see that play.  As for "count de fifth" again... I dunno what yuh talking about.  If yuh talking about Artest allyuh really can't argue any call on Artest because he was fouling Anthony every time he guard him.  Let's not even count de accidental elbow that knocked Novak out the game... just because it was an accident (isn't it always with Artest??) don't mean it wasn't a foul. 

Yuh eh say nutten about Chandler's 6th when even the announcers was saying how the refs blew that call.  Both Chandler and Smith hit ball at the same time.  If they was going to call foul it definitely couldn't be on Chandler.  Then they hit him earlier with a technical for protesting a call, meanwhile Artest dance and prance after his 6th and they just ignore it.  I still waiting to hear about the blown sideline call, not only was the ball never out of bounds, but D'Antoni standing on the court in the way of the play... that musta been one ah dem away calls yuh talking about.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 25, 2012, 07:54:18 PM
Bakes, take win bredda, ah understand NY fans anxiety, plenty years in de doldrum, but take tings in stride, season long.  I know my side will not compete for de championship dis year for reasons on de LA thread which I have exhausted.  But new yorkers need to hold dat enthusiasm a little, season still young and de last two games reveal how this team can readily be beaten. 

PS:  LA will win anodder title before Boston, dey only a few away
Post by: Bakes on December 25, 2012, 08:12:36 PM
Bakes, take win bredda, ah understand NY fans anxiety, plenty years in de doldrum, but take tings in stride, season long.  I know my side will not compete for de championship dis year for reasons on de LA thread which I have exhausted.  But new yorkers need to hold dat enthusiasm a little, season still young and de last two games reveal how this team can readily be beaten. 

PS:  LA will win anodder title before Boston, dey only a few away

??

What that have to do with anything?  If I was anxious and just thinking title I wouldn't be worrying about one loss to de Lakers fella... I know NY making the playoffs, me eh even worried about that.  I also don't think we have enough to win the title, we need a consistent post up player, which even when Stoudemire come back we not guaranteed to have.

I was responding tuh yuh "talk nah" talk... like the Lakers do something.  Your team get help from the refs... that is what I talking about.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 25, 2012, 08:54:29 PM
Ah guess that is where we disagree, I saw a # of calls that were unfair/biased in both directions
Post by: FF on December 26, 2012, 09:59:25 AM
Well I is not a Lakers man but I go drink some of that bush tea for yuh... consider this a christmas gift.

aye Bakes  ;D

(http://www.iruntheinternet.com/lulzdump/images/gifs/lakers-fans-crowd-sunglasses-deal-with-it-1353454103d.gif)
Post by: Bakes on December 26, 2012, 12:08:01 PM
Well I is not a Lakers man but I go drink some of that bush tea for yuh... consider this a christmas gift.

aye Bakes  ;D

(http://www.iruntheinternet.com/lulzdump/images/gifs/lakers-fans-crowd-sunglasses-deal-with-it-1353454103d.gif)

We go have to take dat fuh now, doh look like we play the Fakers again this season but I feel better about we chances than theirs.
Post by: soccerman on December 26, 2012, 02:40:16 PM
Lol it was 1 game of a marathon season and it was an entertaining game too, glad Lakers pulled it off....doh frighten NY allyuh could still win the est conference, we needed this game more and you guys to restore some faith and confidence in the team AND most importantly the coach...Knicks safe still
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 26, 2012, 09:20:24 PM

aye Bakes  ;D

We go have to take dat fuh now, doh look like we play the Fakers again this season but I feel better about we chances than theirs.

No real Laker fan especting much this season or expected much the last season, pound for pound you could argue LA could chill for another 5 years before fans really start to get antsy.  NY on the other hand need to bury de starks ghost, once and for all
Post by: Bakes on December 26, 2012, 10:35:43 PM
Real heartstopper tonight in Phoenix.  No 'Melo, no Felton.. no problem.  Almost.  J.R. Smith at the buzzer to win it for the Knicks 99-97.
Post by: Deeks on December 27, 2012, 09:10:21 PM
The Nets fire Avery. How come that man can't hold down a job, man?
Post by: Bakes on December 27, 2012, 09:34:13 PM
The Nets fire Avery. How come that man can't hold down a job, man?

That was only he second wuk... he did alright in Dallas.  Nets weren't even supposed to contend this year.  In a sense he became a victim of his own (early) success.  They get teased by the 11-4 record they posted over the first 6 weeks and all ah sudden start having caviar dreams with crix talent.
Post by: Bakes on December 29, 2012, 07:13:13 AM
Heartbreak loss to the Kings... down 21 at the half I turn off the game and gone in my bed.  Give up 71 pts to the Kings in the first half I say is ah waste watching the rest.  Woodson show he coaching mettle... halftime changes limit the Kings to 35 pts all second half, Knicks up two with :14 secs left and Kidd turn the ball over.  Mad scramble at the end and some nobody on the Kings roster make he first three-pointer to stick de dagger in we heart at the buzzer.  Poor first half, but great fight to make it a game in the end by the Knicks, especially w/o Felton and Anthony.
Post by: soccerman on December 29, 2012, 02:08:15 PM
What's up with Anthony? Injured?
Post by: Bakes on December 29, 2012, 02:57:05 PM
What's up with Anthony? Injured?

Yeah he hurt he knee Christmas day against yuh boys.
Post by: Bakes on January 03, 2013, 10:27:58 PM
J.R. Smith... with the sickness!!

http://www.youtube.com/v/jwbyRhdLpLI
Post by: fari on January 04, 2013, 03:33:02 PM
didn't see the game but reading about the dunk on fb..thanks for sharing...it's even sicker than my pardnas described!!
Post by: soccerman on January 04, 2013, 04:55:52 PM
Nasty!!!
Post by: Bakes on January 04, 2013, 05:52:22 PM
Poor Nando de Colo making everybody highlight reel dis year lol

...the best part for me was how the Garden erupted when he slammed it (can you imagine how sweet it is to hear that as a player in Smith's position?).  That, and the reaction of the Knicks' bench.
Post by: soccerman on January 05, 2013, 05:40:46 PM
Always been a fan of JR Smith, to me he has that "it" factor though he can be a loose cannon at times. I just think the guy is naturally talented and it looks like he's maturing and is playing a lot more disciplined, maybe Woodson's system suits him more but since his early days at Denver he was one who could've always provided an instant spark with his plays to ignite his team.
Post by: Bakes on January 05, 2013, 06:14:58 PM
Always been a fan of JR Smith, to me he has that "it" factor though he can be a loose cannon at times. I just think the guy is naturally talented and it looks like he's maturing and is playing a lot more disciplined, maybe Woodson's system suits him more but since his early days at Denver he was one who could've always provided an instant spark with his plays to ignite his team.

Could never stand him... even last year I more tolerated him on the roster.  This year though??  Dude's been a godsend.  I started hating on him some years back when there was a big fight between NY and Denver when Mardy Collins foul Anthony hard and JR bitch ass rush in to start something, like he was 'Melo man or something.  But I've come to realize that they're legitimately boys... which is why JR end up signing with the Knicks after 'Melo was traded for.   Like you say, he's really maturing, not as many wild shots, a commitment to on-the-ball defending and rebounding.  He still freelances too much for me, but he's also bailed us out of a lot of situations, earning that right this year.
Post by: soccerman on January 08, 2013, 08:14:01 PM
Melo vs KG = Must see TV.....Melo went and wait on him by de bus after de game yes lol, MSG security surround him papparazzi but nutten play off
Post by: Bakes on January 08, 2013, 10:47:23 PM
Kevin Garnett "allegedly" said that Carmelo's wife "tastes like Honey Nut Cheerios."  I woulda break he facking jaw and send mih check to the League office.
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 09, 2013, 03:39:19 PM
Kevin Garnett "allegedly" said that Carmelo's wife "tastes like Honey Nut Cheerios."  I woulda break he facking jaw and send mih check to the League office.

Where did you get this from? 
Post by: giggsy11 on January 09, 2013, 06:36:07 PM
Carmello forkin weak minded for letting Garnett rent space in his head. He open the door to opposing fans taunting him with Honey Nut Cheerios chants. Stupid.  If Garnett used that line on him, that was some funny shite. At least he didn't say it stunk!
Post by: Bakes on January 10, 2013, 12:55:08 AM
Where did you get this from? 

That talk all over de internet dread, but ah think it started in the Daily News.  Anthony would neither confirm nor deny, only saying that Garnett said something that you "should not say to another man."

Carmello forkin weak minded for letting Garnett rent space in his head. He open the door to opposing fans taunting him with Honey Nut Cheerios chants. Stupid.  If Garnett used that line on him, that was some funny shite. At least he didn't say it stunk!

That "weak minded" comment is shit talk... Zidane wasn't "forkin weak minded" when he head-butted Materazzi in the World Cup final fuh talking shit about he mother and sister, but Anthony weak minded for getting upset?  Trash talk is trash talk but as a man you don't talk about another man family... specifically his wife and children, that is crossing the lines.
Post by: giggsy11 on January 10, 2013, 07:45:05 AM
That "weak minded" comment is shit talk... Zidane wasn't "forkin weak minded" when he head-butted Materazzi in the World Cup final fuh talking shit about he mother and sister, but Anthony weak minded for getting upset?  Trash talk is trash talk but as a man you don't talk about another man family... specifically his wife and children, that is crossing the lines.

They were both weak minded-in their responses to what was said. People can say a lot of things but if you want to give it life by reacting like is true then so be it. Even if it is true, are the words being spoken by a friend/somebody you care about or somebody looking to push your buttons? Carmello huffed and puffed all through the game and accomplished nothing. Zidane got sent off. There are ways to get back at opponents when they come at you without losing your cool-which Carmello admitted he did.
Post by: daryn on January 10, 2013, 04:44:29 PM
That's on Melo. I think he is a very strong minded individual/player but he did come up short in that moment. Lesson learned so now time to move on and hopefully not hurt the team like that going forward.

I have doubts about whether the comment that tripped him off actually was what everyone says it is. As far as anyone can tell the only source is a single courtside fan who claims to have heard that.
Melo bouncing ball his whole life I would be surprised if KG came up with something that was inherently more hurtful than all the other trash talk he would have heard in the league/college/playground. Or that KG in possession of some super dangerous trash talk and was just waiting for Monday night to unleash it on the league.

Maybe there's something going on Melo's personal life currently that he's sensitive to. I remember when Vernon Maxwell went into the stands and say that the fan was heckling him about his wife losing a baby or something like that.

Post by: Bakes on January 10, 2013, 05:01:43 PM
That's on Melo. I think he is a very strong minded individual/player but he did come up short in that moment. Lesson learned so now time to move on and hopefully not hurt the team like that going forward.

I have doubts about whether the comment that tripped him off actually was what everyone says it is. As far as anyone can tell the only source is a single courtside fan who claims to have heard that.
Melo bouncing ball his whole life I would be surprised if KG came up with something that was inherently more hurtful than all the other trash talk he would have heard in the league/college/playground. Or that KG in possession of some super dangerous trash talk and was just waiting for Monday night to unleash it on the league.

Maybe there's something going on Melo's personal life currently that he's sensitive to. I remember when Vernon Maxwell went into the stands and say that the fan was heckling him about his wife losing a baby or something like that.

a) He's not the first NBA player she's dated
b) The marriage on the rocks right now, they've been separated the past several weeks, even spending New Years separately. 

All that said, the reaction to the comment didn't hurt the team... I watched the game, Melo's shot was off all night... 6 for 26.  The comment was made in the fourth quarter.  It hurting the team tonight that we have to play the Pacers without him, but otherwise didn't affect him the way the papers making it out to be.  Unless he was waiting for the comment whole night and it had him distracted.
Post by: daryn on January 10, 2013, 06:12:53 PM
I also watched the game. The game was still close when the blow-up happened and certainly didn't help him or the team in the last few minutes. The Knicks go to Melo down the stretch of close games regardless of what transpired in the first 40something minutes.

But yes, the game tonight is the bigger part of the reason I say it hurt the team. I hate to say it but I was already bracing for a tough loss once I see Paul Pierce heating up to start the 4th. Feels like I've watched the same game about 8 times in the last 2 and a half seasons. 

The one thing I don't like about the Woodson era is that the Knicks are never the cooler headed team when things get heated.

Post by: Bakes on January 10, 2013, 06:24:11 PM
I also watched the game. The game was still close when the blow-up happened and certainly didn't help him or the team in the last few minutes. The Knicks go to Melo down the stretch of close games regardless of what transpired in the first 40something minutes.

But yes, the game tonight is the bigger part of the reason I say it hurt the team. I hate to say it but I was already bracing for a tough loss once I see Paul Pierce heating up to start the 4th. Feels like I've watched the same game about 8 times in the last 2 and a half seasons. 

The one thing I don't like about the Woodson era is that the Knicks are never the cooler headed team when things get heated.

That's not an indictment of Woodson, that's a product of the players on the team.  Anthony and Chandler (in particular, even under D'Antoni) have long been near the top of the League in techs.  Then we gone and sign Rasheed Wallace too?  lol

The game where Anthony, Chandler and Woodson were ejected (against the Bulls) was som b.s. The officials lost control of the physicality of the game then tried to clamp down late.  Woodson take one fuh de team.

Anyways... glad to see I'm not the only one who recognizes that trash talk can cross the line where a man's family is concerned:

Rivers did admit that players can cross the line when it comes to trash talking, particularly if the language is racial in nature or is directed at another player's family, but he said Garnett knows where that line is and doesn't cross it.

"It's pretty crude, I can tell you," Rivers said. "Out there at times, you hear some crazy stuff. But when it gets racial or personal to family, then that crosses the line. But I'm going to say it again: In this case, that didn't happen.

http://espn.go.com/boston/nba/story/_/id/8831758/boston-celtics-coach-doc-rivers-says-kevin-garnett-make-rumored-comments-carmelo-anthony-wife
Post by: Bakes on January 12, 2013, 01:21:38 AM
Rough patch of losses... we struggling without Felton running de show.  Prigioni too tentative and inconsistent, Kidd too slow sometimes, and the three teams (Celtics, Pacers and Bulls) really keyed on the pick and roll.  Helped that the Knicks was missing shots they normally make.  Not worried yet, need rest and to get healthy and we'll be arrite... but we have to get healthy.
Post by: Bakes on January 24, 2013, 07:15:32 PM
Cerealgate Pt. II... good early start to the game with the Celtics, though Melo's shot is off.
Post by: Bakes on January 24, 2013, 11:39:50 PM
Nice victory at the Garden tonight... snapping a streak of 11 straight losses there.  Last win was back in 2007 I think, Marbury, Steve Francis and Eddy Curry were the stars that night... lol
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 25, 2013, 07:46:12 PM
Nice victory at the Garden tonight... snapping a streak of 11 straight losses there.  Last win was back in 2007 I think, Marbury, Steve Francis and Eddy Curry were the stars that night... lol

He was a real kix man yes, I remember we see him a time in Manhattan with a sports car, man park de car, gone in a store and leave de engine runnin,  :rotfl:
Post by: Bakes on January 25, 2013, 11:08:38 PM
He was a real kix man yes, I remember we see him a time in Manhattan with a sports car, man park de car, gone in a store and leave de engine runnin,  :rotfl:

I was always a Marbury fan once he turned pro, despite all the nutty behavior.  Wasn't a huge fan... actually, didn't like him at all at Ga. Tech. and was happy when AI light up Tech the one time they played in college.  Marbury had a good game too from what I recall... here's the first half highlightsl, second half also available on YouTube:

http://www.youtube.com/v/AFLxcurnIBA
Post by: Bakes on January 27, 2013, 10:13:53 PM
Ugly loss to the Sixers Saturday night... Knicks could hit anything and Jrue Holiday was lighting up who ever they put on him.  Good bounce back win against the Hawks.
Post by: maxg on February 15, 2013, 10:29:02 AM
Ahem....ahem...just clearing me Torote, oops throat
Post by: Peong on March 04, 2013, 10:12:24 PM
I doh blame Carmello for wanting to be like Lebron, but he shouldn't try to hurt his knee on purpose.
15 in a row.....
Post by: Bakes on April 10, 2013, 10:05:47 AM
13 in a row... but that eh really mean nothing.  More importantly, wrapped up we first Atlantic Division title in nearly 20 years.  Long, slow climb back up to relevance.  Still eh accomplish anything yet... need to win one, hopefully two first round series before we could really talk.  We have the horses to make ah outside push for the title, but so many ah we moving parts brittle and frail, lol.
Post by: futbolfan on April 13, 2013, 02:25:44 AM
The first round matchup between the Knicks and Boston will be good. The winner of this series will definitely play the Heat in the East finals...
Post by: Bakes on April 22, 2013, 06:05:43 PM
Monday, April 22, 2013

J.R. Smith wins Sixth Man Award

ESPN.com news services

https://www.youtube.com/v/WQOnCswuJiY

GREENBURGH, N.Y. -- Knicks guard J.R. Smith, who came into the season thinking he would start for New York, came away with the NBA's Sixth Man Award on Monday.

"He didn't like it," coach Mike Woodson said, "but he bought in."

Smith received 484 points, including 72 first-place votes, from a panel of 121 writers and broadcasters. The Clippers' Jamal Crawford finished second with 352 points, getting 31 first-place votes.

"I just wanted to show everybody that I could be a team guy and it's all about the team," Smith said at a news conference attended by his family, teammates and coaches.

Smith averaged 18.1 points in 80 games, all off the bench. He had 29 games in which he scored 20 points as a reserve, tying Crawford for the NBA lead.

"Couldn't have happened to a better guy," said Woodson. "I'm so proud of him, in terms of buying in to what we wanted him to do earlier in the season. And it started this summer. I wasn't going to start him, coming into this year, and I knew that. And he bought in. He didn't like it, but he bought in. And it couldn't have happened to a better person, because he put in the time and he worked his butt off to get to this point, and he got rewarded for it. I'm happy for him."

Smith helped the Knicks win the Atlantic Division title for the first time since 1994. New York is the No. 2 seed in the Eastern Conference and leads the Boston Celtics 1-0 in their first-round playoff series.

It's the second individual award in two years for the Knicks, following Tyson Chandler's Defensive Player of the Year honor last season.

Smith is the third player in Knicks history to win the NBA's Sixth Man Award, joining John Starks (1996-97) and Anthony Mason (1994-95).

Despite not making a start, Smith was one of the Knicks' most important players. He played more than 40 minutes seven times and was often their only scoring threat behind Carmelo Anthony.

Anthony, who teamed with Smith for 4½ seasons in Denver, noted that Smith had a more mature approach to the game this year.

"I think there comes a point in time in your life where you're almost forced to grow up, you're almost forced to mature. You gotta be willing to want to do those things. I think right now, this season, J.R. has done that," Anthony said. "I think J.R. was forced to grow up, he was forced to be mature and he was willing to take on that challenge, too."

For most of the season, it seemed like Smith would take second place to Crawford.

He struggled for much of January, shooting 36 percent from the floor in that month, including just 25 percent from beyond the arc.

But during the Knicks' 13-game winning streak late in the regular season, the New Jersey native was a model of consistency. He scored 23.2 points per game on 49 percent shooting; prior to the winning streak, Smith averaged 16.7 points per game on 40 percent shooting.

Smith doubled the percentage of shots he took in the restricted area during the winning streak (15.6 percent before March 18; 33 percent in the 13 games following it).

"He went through a phase when he [was] just shooting jump shots and jump shots and finally a green light went off and he started taking the ball to the bucket," Woodson said.

Smith had three straight 30-point games March 26-29, the first time that was done by a reserve since Milwaukee's Ricky Pierce in 1990.

Smith ended the season leading all bench players in points per game (18.1). Crawford was second with 16.5 points per game. Golden State's Jarrett Jack finished third, followed by Kevin Martin of Oklahoma City and Ryan Anderson of New Orleans.

Smith came to the NBA out of high school in 2005 and admittedly made a number of mistakes along the way. He clashed with coaches and pleaded guilty to reckless driving in a 2007 auto accident that killed his friend, spending 24 days in a New Jersey correctional facility and getting suspended by the NBA for the first seven games of the 2009-10 season.

"I've been known to make so many mistakes I haven't been making recently," said Smith, thanking his veteran teammates and Woodson for helping him. "Just keeping my head, mentally on the court and off the court."

http://espn.go.com/new-york/nba/story/_/id/9199154/jr-smith-new-york-knicks-wins-sixth-man-award
Post by: royal on June 03, 2013, 12:08:06 PM

Kidd Retires - ESPN

Jason Kidd announced his retirement Monday after 19 seasons as one of the best passing and rebounding point guards in NBA history.

The thought of retirement first began to creep into the New York Knicks point guard's mind around the All-Star break. But he didn't think seriously about it until recently. Over the weekend at a wedding in Georgia he made the decision.

The two things that are probably tied for first are winning a championship with the Mavericks and also being able to win a gold medal -- two gold medals with Team USA. And then underneath that will probably be sharing Rookie of the Year with Grant [Hill].

-- Jason Kidd, on what he's most proud of in his career
"I think it is the right time," Kidd told ESPNNewYork.com. "When you think about 19 years, it has been a heckuva ride. Physically, I want to be able to participate in activities with my kids so it has taken a toll. It is time to move on and think about maybe coaching or doing some broadcasting.

"Jeff [Schwartz] and I and my family had been talking this past weekend," Kidd added of his agent. "We talked a lot and we felt it was the right time to move on and so we notified the Knicks. They were kind of taken aback. We told them [earlier] that I wanted to come back and play. But this weekend was when we got a chance to relax [and really think about it]. It is the right thing to do."

Kidd, 40, leaves the game as a sure-fire Hall of Fame point guard. The 10-time All-Star led the NBA in assists five times and finished second all-time in assists and steals behind John Stockton.

Kidd, who had two years remaining on his contract at just more than $3 million per year, leaves with a legacy that includes an NBA championship with the Dallas Mavericks and two Olympic gold medals with Team USA.

"The two things that are probably tied for first are winning a championship with the Mavericks and also being able to win a gold medal -- two gold medals with Team USA," Kidd said of what he's most proud of in his career. "And then underneath that will probably be sharing Rookie of the Year with Grant [Hill]."   

Hill, also 40, announced his retirement on Saturday.

During his prime, the versatile Kidd was like an instant fast break due to his uncanny court vision, instincts and ability to rebound. The 6-foot-4 Oakland, Calif., native, who was one of the most hyped high school prospects of his generation, had more triple-doubles (107) than anyone outside of Oscar Robertson and Magic Johnson.   

Kidd averaged 12.6 points, 8.7 assists, 6.3 rebounds and 1.9 steals in 1,391 regular-season games. He took great pride in his ability to make teammates better and his knack for turning teams around. 

Knicks Blog
Looking for more Knicks news? ESPNNewYork.com has you covered. Blog »

"The biggest thing is winning," Kidd said of what he wants to be remembered for. "No matter what percentage, no matter what my numbers say in the sense of points, assists, rebounds and steals, it's always been about winning. And it will always be about winning … making my teammates better."   

The second overall pick out of California in the 1994 draft entered the league as part of the "Three J's" with Jim Jackson and Jamal Mashburn in Dallas. Kidd sparked the Mavericks to a 36-win season -- a 23-game improvement from the season before -- to earn co-Rookie of the Year honors with Hill.

After being dealt to the Suns two and a half seasons later, Kidd led the team to a 16-game improvement in his first full season in Phoenix in 1997-98.

And then after being traded to New Jersey in 2001, Kidd transformed the Nets into instant contenders. With Kidd playing at an MVP level, the Nets won 52 games -- a 26-game leap from the season before. It was the Nets' first 50-win season in their NBA history. Kidd also lifted the franchise to the first of two consecutive NBA Finals appearances.

"What we accomplished in New Jersey with the Nets, from the bottom and being able to get to the Finals, back to back, that was really special," Kidd said.

After losing to Shaquille O'Neal and Tim Duncan in back-to-back NBA Finals, Kidd finally got his coveted championship ring as a Maverick. Teaming up with Dirk Nowitzki, Kidd topped LeBron James and the Heat in six games in 2010-11. In his 19th and final season, Kidd signed with the Knicks and helped them win 54 games, an 18-game improvement from the season before. It was the franchise's first 50-win season since 1999-2000.

The Knicks, though, were eliminated in the second round by Indiana in six games. Kidd struggled in the postseason, failing to make a basket in his last 10 playoff games.

Kidd said his struggles at the end did not factor heavily into his decision to retire.

"Everybody will probably say that [it did]," Kidd said. "But I didn't come into the league as a shooter or scorer and I guess I won't be leaving as one. I just tried to play the game the right way. As you get older, Father Time is undefeated. The ball just wouldn't go in for me at the end. I thought I had a great season."

The Knicks will now have to find a backup guard to replace Kidd either through the draft with the 24th overall pick or free agency.

"They got a good group of guys," Kidd said of the Knicks' prospects for next season. "Most people felt that was an old team but we knew that the core of the team -- Melo [Carmelo Anthony], Tyson [Chandler] and J.R. [Smith] -- they are young.

"We had some success so I think they are sitting in a good spot and [general manager] Glen Grunwald and [owner James] Dolan and [coach Mike] Woodson are figuring out the pieces that can help them be a championship-type team."

"Jason's value to the Knicks and the National Basketball Association cannot be quantified by statistics alone," Grunwald said in a statement. "Everyone here in New York saw firsthand what a tremendous competitor he is and why Jason is considered to be one of the best point guards, and leaders, the game has ever seen."

Woodson said in the statement that Kidd "provided an incredible voice inside our locker room and I considered it an honor to say I coached him."

Kidd was often a centerpiece for a contending team. He retires after making the playoffs in 17 consecutive seasons. He finished with a playoff average of 12.9 points, 8.0 assists, 6.7 rebounds and 1.9 steals in 158 career postseason games.

"It's a grind," Kidd said of playing all these years. "Physically, I feel good. Mentally, I might be just a little tired because of the grind. And once if your mind is not into it 100 percent, then you are not going to be successful and bad things can happen with the sense of injuries. I don't want to go down that road. It is time for me to look forward to doing something new."
Post by: Bakes on June 03, 2013, 04:59:26 PM
Fitting that Kidd and Hill came into the League together, won co-Rookies of the Year in 1994, and now they go out together.  Two classy guys... about the only black mark on Kidd's career were his charges for abusing his wife, and for DUI (yet unresolved).  For Hill it was his decision to go to Duke rather than Georgetown.
Post by: Bakes on June 27, 2013, 09:44:11 PM
With the 24th pick in the 2013 NBA draft, the New York Knicks select... Tim Hardaway, Jr.  :applause: :applause: :applause:

(http://a.espncdn.com/photo/2013/0404/ncb_u_hardawayt2_600.jpg)
Post by: Dutty on June 28, 2013, 11:18:46 AM
way sah,, he have ah crossover like he old man?
Post by: Bakes on June 28, 2013, 11:42:19 AM
Nah... he's more of a jump shooter, more like Glen Rice.  Needs to improve his handles.  If he does he'll be nice for a long time.  Good size.
Post by: Bakes on July 01, 2013, 01:19:53 PM
Knicks send Camby, Novak, Quentin Richardson and a 2016 first-round pick to Toronto for Andrea Bargnani.  As one-dimensional as Novak was I'm not happy to see him go... that and Bargnani being a bust so far.  A seven-foot jumpshooter hardly helps us with rebounding... but I suppose it will pull the likes of Roy Hibbert out the paint.

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/07/02/sports/basketball/knicks-swap-novak-camby-for-bargnani.html
Post by: Quags on July 01, 2013, 03:18:00 PM
Knicks send Camby, Novak, Quentin Richardson and a 2016 first-round pick to Toronto for Andrea Bargnani.  As one-dimensional as Novak was I'm not happy to see him go... that and Bargnani being a bust so far.  A seven-foot jumpshooter hardly helps us with rebounding... but I suppose it will pull the likes of Roy Hibbert out the paint.

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/07/02/sports/basketball/knicks-swap-novak-camby-for-bargnani.html
What !!
Could Camby still block shots  ? Would he want to return  ? Richardson is he still a killer or is he old now  ? Who is novak ?.
Andrea might trive in an Italian vibrant city like NY .If he ever puts it all together Knicks win .big if
Post by: Dutty on July 02, 2013, 10:26:48 AM

What !!
Andrea might trive in an Italian vibrant city like NY .If he ever puts it all together Knicks win .big if
*steuups* thrive...de only ting he go thrive at is ketchin flies when he mout always open

he is to de raptors what 'big country' reeves was to vancouver...a giant money bust
Post by: Quags on July 02, 2013, 03:11:37 PM

What !!
*steuups* thrive...de only ting he go thrive at is ketchin flies when he mout always open

he is to de raptors what 'big country' reeves was to vancouver...a giant money bust
Not his fault man ,Colangelo was stupid to pick a European with the number one .Not sure anymore who we shoulda pick ,but not him.
1    TOR    Andrea Bargnani    Italy
2    CHI    LaMarcus Aldridge    Texas
3    CHA    Adam Morrison    Gonzaga
4    POR    Tyrus Thomas    Louisiana State
5    ATL    Shelden Williams    Duke
6    MIN    Brandon Roy    Washington
7    BOS    Randy Foye    Villanova
8    HOU    Rudy Gay    Connecticut
9    GSW    Patrick O'Bryant    Bradley
10    SEA    Mouhamed Sene    Senegal
11    ORL    J.J. Redick    Duke
Post by: capodetutticapi on July 16, 2013, 06:13:58 AM
knicks reach deal with metta world peace.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on July 16, 2013, 12:52:29 PM

What !!

Not his fault man ,Colangelo was stupid to pick a European with the number one .Not sure anymore who we shoulda pick ,but not him.
1    TOR    Andrea Bargnani    Italy
2    CHI    LaMarcus Aldridge    Texas
3    CHA    Adam Morrison    Gonzaga
4    POR    Tyrus Thomas    Louisiana State
5    ATL    Shelden Williams    Duke
6    MIN    Brandon Roy    Washington
7    BOS    Randy Foye    Villanova
8    HOU    Rudy Gay    Connecticut
9    GSW    Patrick O'Bryant    Bradley
10    SEA    Mouhamed Sene    Senegal
11    ORL    J.J. Redick    Duke

Should have gone LaMarcus but then who would have guessed, team dynamics, etc play other factors. 
I would have never gone Euro first though personally

Spaghetti Sauce will flourish in NY.  Watch and see....

1. De man don't like pressure as the go to guy but still averaged around 15 ppg. He can score. 
2. If Carmelo kick de ball out to him, NY will add to an already good offense.
3. ex Raps who have a bad relationship at trade usually have a good career...VC, Tmac, Camby, Bosh
4. Glen Grunwald still have hard feelings...will do his best to have Spaghetti sauce fit in to show Raps up for firing him
Post by: Bakes on July 17, 2013, 07:09:07 PM
Knicks pick up Metta... negotiating with Kenyon Martin.
Post by: OutsideMan on July 21, 2013, 05:58:48 PM
The Metta deal is one of the best moves the Knicks have made in years...one of the best defenders who can also shoot the 3 and the medium range jump shot.  Both Metta World Peace and Kenyon Martin on that roster already makes the Knicks better.

IMO, Metta is more valuable to the Knicks than the soft Chandler. 
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2013, 06:00:21 PM
The Metta deal is one of the best moves the Knicks have made in years...one of the best defenders who can also shoot the 3 and the medium range jump shot.  Both Metta World Peace and Kenyon Martin on that roster already makes the Knicks better.

You have to be mad.
Post by: OutsideMan on July 21, 2013, 06:15:07 PM

You have to be mad.

This past season, K. Martin was more threatening on defense than Chandler for the Knicks.  And I would take Ron Artest (Metta) any day of the week over Chandler.  Metta is basically the 2nd coming of Charles Oakley...something that the Knicks have been lacking for over 12 years.

Chandler is good, but he does not strike fear in the other team, and does not do head-games.  A fella like Metta, with his unstable manerisms and demeanor, is the kind of X-factor New York's been missing. 

So yeah, I stand by what I said.
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2013, 07:44:19 PM
This past season, K. Martin was more threatening on defense than Chandler for the Knicks.  And I would take Ron Artest (Metta) any day of the week over Chandler.  Metta is basically the 2nd coming of Charles Oakley...something that the Knicks have been lacking for over 12 years.

Chandler is good, but he does not strike fear in the other team, and does not do head-games.  A fella like Metta, with his unstable manerisms and demeanor, is the kind of X-factor New York's been missing. 

You could stand by it... doesn't mean it making any sense.

This past season Chandler averaged 10 pts, 10 rebounds and 1 block per game... shooting 70% from the field.

Martin averages 7 pts, 5 rebounds and 1 block per game... shooting 60%, but playing in only 18 games.  He gives you half as many blocks and 3 rebounds less per game and had trouble staying on the court due to fouls and injury.  Exactly how was he "more threatening on defense"?  On top of which he was coming in off the bench, meaning most of his minutes was against the other team's back up center.

I won't even bother trying to argue with you if Metta would be more valuable than Chandler.  He won't give you any inside defense, can't get you 10 boards a game... especially when rebounding was the Knicks biggest weakness last season.  When Metta grows three more inches and can defend the post then you might have an argument.
Post by: OutsideMan on July 21, 2013, 08:12:23 PM

You could stand by it... doesn't mean it making any sense.

This past season Chandler averaged 10 pts, 10 rebounds and 1 block per game... shooting 70% from the field.

Martin averages 7 pts, 5 rebounds and 1 block per game... shooting 60%, but playing in only 18 games.  He gives you half as many blocks and 3 rebounds less per game and had trouble staying on the court due to fouls and injury.  Exactly how was he "more threatening on defense"?  On top of which he was coming in off the bench, meaning most of his minutes was against the other team's back up center.

I won't even bother trying to argue with you if Metta would be more valuable than Chandler.  He won't give you any inside defense, can't get you 10 boards a game... especially when rebounding was the Knicks biggest weakness last season.  When Metta grows three more inches and can defend the post then you might have an argument.

Bakes, you do understand that you just killed your own point, right? 

The NY Knicks with 7 footer Chandler was among the WORST rebounding teams in the NBA.  Bear in mind, I didn't say I did not like Chandler or get rid of Chandler...but I do stand by what I said.  Metta would be much more of an asset to the Knicks than a Chandler. 

Btw, rebounding doesn't exactly have much to do with height.  It has a lot to do with positioning, reading the play, and attitude.  This is what Metta brings. 

Also, Chandler is a great defender, but he is not really known as an intimidating defender.  Ron Artest (Metta) brings that intimidating X-Factor the Knicks sorely needs.     

Anyway, regarding comparing points for Kenyan vs Chandler, it's a real poor comparison, especially since Chandler has been with NY for 2 seasons and has special plays run for him by the coach...vs K. Martin who joined the team during the course of the season and more or less scored on BROKEN plays, and one or 2 simple set pieces during the latter part of the season. 

There was much more time to draw-up plays for Chandler during the off season practice sessions, so 10 PPG was at minimum expected from the fella.  The fact that the Knicks got even 7 PPG from Martin (who had NO set plays), is a remarkable feat considering.
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2013, 09:16:12 PM

The NY Knicks with 7 footer Chandler was among the WORST rebounding teams in the NBA.  Bear in mind, I didn't say I did not like Chandler or get rid of Chandler...but I do stand by what I said.  Metta would be much more of an asset to the Knicks than a Chandler. 

Btw, rebounding doesn't exactly have much to do with height.  It has a lot to do with positioning, reading the play, and attitude.  This is what Metta brings. 

Also, Chandler is a great defender, but he is not really known as an intimidating defender.  Ron Artest (Metta) brings that intimidating X-Factor the Knicks sorely needs.     

Anyway, regarding comparing points for Kenyan vs Chandler, it's a real poor comparison, especially since Chandler has been with NY for 2 seasons and has special plays run for him by the coach...vs K. Martin who joined the team during the course of the season and more or less scored on BROKEN plays, and one or 2 simple set pieces during the latter part of the season. 

There was much more time to draw-up plays for Chandler during the off season practice sessions, so 10 PPG was at minimum expected from the fella.  The fact that the Knicks got even 7 PPG from Martin (who had NO set plays), is a remarkable feat considering.

You're joking right?  How did you arrive at that conclusion?  You claim that Metta is more valuable than Chandler.  As bad as the Knicks were, with Chandler being the only consistent defender and rebounder, you're suggesting that a guy who pulls down half as many rebounds (Metta) would be a more valuable defender??  Madness. There's no way a perimeter defender such as Metta is more valuable than a post defender like Chandler.

As for Martin vs. Chandler on offense... come on dude.  Chandler was killing on offense in the pick and roll until teams started keying on him to take away the lobs at the rim.  Martin doesn't receive half the same defensive attention as Chandler.  I have to give Martin points for his hustle... that's about it.  It gets him help-side blocks and offensive putbacks, but he's not the same threat on the boards or scoring the ball.  And how you gonna go from talking about last years numbers and all of a sudden you talking about him being on the team two years?  Not only that, but it just shows that you eh no real basketball fan.  Last year we had Jeremy Lin running point... and Lin was known for pounding the rock intot the ground and not moving the ball... that is why he and 'Melo didn't see eye to eye.  Felton is the one who came in and started moving the ball around and finding Chandler on the lobs.  And you knocking Chandler scoring 10 pts a game... like you forget he was battling neck, back and elbow injuries all season.  All that and he still averaged a double-double.
Post by: OutsideMan on July 21, 2013, 09:34:41 PM

You're joking right?  How did you arrive at that conclusion?  You claim that Metta is more valuable than Chandler.  As bad as the Knicks were, with Chandler being the only consistent defender and rebounder, you're suggesting that a guy who pulls down half as many rebounds (Metta) would be a more valuable defender??  Madness. There's no way a perimeter defender such as Metta is more valuable than a post defender like Chandler.

As for Martin vs. Chandler on offense... come on dude.  Chandler was killing on offense in the pick and roll until teams started keying on him to take away the lobs at the rim.  Martin doesn't receive half the same defensive attention as Chandler.  I have to give Martin points for his hustle... that's about it.  It gets him help-side blocks and offensive putbacks, but he's not the same threat on the boards or scoring the ball.  And how you gonna go from talking about last years numbers and all of a sudden you talking about him being on the team two years?  Not only that, but it just shows that you eh no real basketball fan.  Last year we had Jeremy Lin running point... and Lin was known for pounding the rock intot the ground and not moving the ball... that is why he and 'Melo didn't see eye to eye.  Felton is the one who came in and started moving the ball around and finding Chandler on the lobs.  And you knocking Chandler scoring 10 pts a game... like you forget he was battling neck, back and elbow injuries all season.  All that and he still averaged a double-double.

Bakes, Did you just start watching basketball last year or something? 

If you read my last comment carefully you would note that I was referring to CHANDLER being on the Knicks for the past 2-3 years....Chandler joined the team after the 2009-2010 season in Dallas.  Kenyon on the other hand only joined the Knicks a few months ago, earlier this year in 2013 DURING the course of the season.

And the point I made was that you cannot compare the PPG of Chandler vs the PPG of Martin this past season on the Knicks, since Martin was a late addition who did not have any set-plays drawn up for him.  Martin's points with the Knicks came MOSTLY via broken plays, and opportunistic points --- nothing much was drawn up for him on the offense --- again as I made extremely clear, Martin was a LATE addition to the Knicks. 

Another thing...I was not knocking Chandler's points.  I was simply stating my opinion that regardless of all that, I see Martin and Metta as more valuable to the Knicks than Chandler.  You are the one that took it personally as a knock against Chandler which it was not.  Now if I had said that some bum is more valuable to the Knicks than Chandler, then THAT would be an insult.

Again...I don't own or work for the Knicks, but THEY themselves went out and got Metta and are in the process of re-signing Martin.  Their own feelings on the subject is being proven right now in the Knicks Front office by their recent signings.  Just saying.   

What about the above confuses you???
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2013, 10:32:01 PM

If you read my last comment carefully you would note that I was referring to CHANDLER being on the Knicks for the past 2-3 years....Chandler joined the team after the 2009-2010 season in Dallas.  Kenyon on the other hand only joined the Knicks a few months ago, earlier this year in 2013 DURING the course of the season.

And the point I made was that you cannot compare the PPG of Chandler vs the PPG of Martin this past season on the Knicks, since Martin was a late addition who did not have any set-plays drawn up for him.  Martin's points with the Knicks came MOSTLY via broken plays, and opportunistic points --- nothing much was drawn up for him on the offense --- again as I made extremely clear, Martin was a LATE addition to the Knicks. 

Another thing...I was not knocking Chandler's points.  I was simply stating my opinion that regardless of all that, I see Martin and Metta as more valuable to the Knicks than Chandler.  You are the one that took it personally as a knock against Chandler which it was not.  Now if I had said that some bum is more valuable to the Knicks than Chandler, then THAT would be an insult.

Again...I don't own or work for the Knicks, but THEY themselves went out and got Metta and are in the process of re-signing Martin.  Their own feelings on the subject is being proven right now in the Knicks Front office by their recent signings.  Just saying.   

You're not making any kinda sense whatsoever.  The Knicks proved that Metta more valuable than Chandler because they went out and signed him?  By that spurious logic I guess he more valuable than Anthony as well then.  Martin and Metta add depth to the team... the basketball equivalent of "squad" players.  You really don't want to get into a basketball argument with me.  Your own statements doom the argument yuh trying to make... there's no way you could say that Martin, based on 18 games all regular season, was "more threatening" on defense than Chandler.  That is naive talk... you go get laughed out ah any basketball discussion talking like that.  I also doh know why you feel the need to repeat all that talk about Chandler being on the team 2 years and Martin being a late addition... I addressed both of those already.  It ent changing the points I already made.  Simply repeating the same irrelevant points won't make them any more persuasive the second time around.

As for me taking anything personally, doh be ridiculous... I just pointing out the illogical arguments yuh making.  Tyson Chandler eh my friend and he not paying my bills. 
Post by: OutsideMan on July 21, 2013, 11:25:40 PM

You're not making any kinda sense whatsoever.  The Knicks proved that Metta more valuable than Chandler because they went out and signed him?  By that spurious logic I guess he more valuable than Anthony as well then.  Martin and Metta add depth to the team... the basketball equivalent of "squad" players.  You really don't want to get into a basketball argument with me.  Your own statements doom the argument yuh trying to make... there's no way you could say that Martin, based on 18 games all regular season, was "more threatening" on defense than Chandler.  That is naive talk... you go get laughed out ah any basketball discussion talking like that.  I also doh know why you feel the need to repeat all that talk about Chandler being on the team 2 years and Martin being a late addition... I addressed both of those already.  It ent changing the points I already made.  Simply repeating the same irrelevant points won't make them any more persuasive the second time around.

As for me taking anything personally, doh be ridiculous... I just pointing out the illogical arguments yuh making.  Tyson Chandler eh my friend and he not paying my bills. 

Bakes, you're making an ass of yourself right now, because it's clear that you cannot read a simple statement.

You said that Martin only averaged 7 PPG last Season with the Knicks, while Chandler averaged 10 PPG last season.  My point to you was that Chandler having been with the Knicks since he signed in the Summer of 2010, already had SET-PLAYS DRAWN- UP for him during that time.  Martin on the other hand, only joined the team earlier 2013, and yet was still able to muster 7 PPG, WITHOUT having any set-plays.  Martin only averaged 3 PPG less than Chandler...and Chandler had set-plays drawn up for him.  Point is, there is no big difference between having either Chandler or Martin in the post.  If Chandler were to be injured for the entire 2013-2014 season (which I hope does not happen), the Knicks will still be in great hands with Martin and Metta.

Also, Chandler has not been strong in the playoffs where it really counts.  He was shamefully dismal and absent against Indiana...and could barely contain old-age Garnett against Boston.  Chandler is not a giant in the big games for the Knicks...just pretty decent during the regular season. 

But you seem to be a huge Chandler fan...maybe he'll send you an autograph of his jock-strap or something.  ;) 
Post by: Bakes on July 22, 2013, 10:12:35 AM
Bakes, you're making an ass of yourself right now, because it's clear that you cannot read a simple statement.

You said that Martin only averaged 7 PPG last Season with the Knicks, while Chandler averaged 10 PPG last season.  My point to you was that Chandler having been with the Knicks since he signed in the Summer of 2010, already had SET-PLAYS DRAWN- UP for him during that time.  Martin on the other hand, only joined the team earlier 2013, and yet was still able to muster 7 PPG, WITHOUT having any set-plays.  Martin only averaged 3 PPG less than Chandler...and Chandler had set-plays drawn up for him.  Point is, there is no big difference between having either Chandler or Martin in the post.  If Chandler were to be injured for the entire 2013-2014 season (which I hope does not happen), the Knicks will still be in great hands with Martin and Metta.

Also, Chandler has not been strong in the playoffs where it really counts.  He was shamefully dismal and absent against Indiana...and could barely contain old-age Garnett against Boston.  Chandler is not a giant in the big games for the Knicks...just pretty decent during the regular season. 

But you seem to be a huge Chandler fan...maybe he'll send you an autograph of his jock-strap or something.  ;) 

You either have to be dotish or real skilled at pretending to be dotish.  Chandler played hurt all season... maybe you missed that part.  Despite his numerous injuries, he still only missed 16 games... less games than Martin actually played in.  Martin averaged 7 ppg over 18 games against backups and you trying to compare that to a man who averaged more points over 4 X as many games?  You trying to  compare a player who was Defensive Player of the Year in 2011-12 to a fella who was playing in China and had a good 18 game showing and saying Martin better.  That's like arguing a striker who plays 5 games and scores 10 goals is better than one who plays all 38 Premier League games and scores 38 goals... because the one who played 5 games have a higher scoring average.  You ent see you have to be ah real tun tun.

And not only that, trying to argue that Martin didn't have plays drawn up for him when it was clear to anybody watching that they ran pick and rolls for him, just as they did for Chandler, who's been with the Knicks since 2011, not 2010.  Stick to talking about what yuh know about... in other words keep yuh ass quiet since yuh doh know nutten.  Better yet, give yuh bamsee ah rest and stop riding Martin dick so hard.
Post by: OutsideMan on July 22, 2013, 11:30:09 AM

You either have to be dotish or real skilled at pretending to be dotish.  Chandler played hurt all season... maybe you missed that part.  Despite his numerous injuries, he still only missed 16 games... less games than Martin actually played in.  Martin averaged 7 ppg over 18 games against backups and you trying to compare that to a man who averaged more points over 4 X as many games?  You trying to  compare a player who was Defensive Player of the Year in 2011-12 to a fella who was playing in China and had a good 18 game showing and saying Martin better.  That's like arguing a striker who plays 5 games and scores 10 goals is better than one who plays all 38 Premier League games and scores 38 goals... because the one who played 5 games have a higher scoring average.  You ent see you have to be ah real tun tun.

And not only that, trying to argue that Martin didn't have plays drawn up for him when it was clear to anybody watching that they ran pick and rolls for him, just as they did for Chandler, who's been with the Knicks since 2011, not 2010.  Stick to talking about what yuh know about... in other words keep yuh ass quiet since yuh doh know nutten.  Better yet, give yuh bamsee ah rest and stop riding Martin dick so hard.

Reading your responses tells me that you're not adept at paying attention or comprehending a sentence.  Because you TOTALLY missed de ENTIRE point.  I was making the point that you CANNOT COMPARE Chandler and Martin's PPG.  I made it extremely clear in my earlier comments that YOUR ATTEMPTS TO COMPARE THEIR PPGs DID NOT MAKE SENSE.  And now, without realizing it, you're AGREEING WITH MY EARLIER ASSERTION --- the assertion that I made, that you cannot compare the two (as you tried to do earlier in one of YOUR responses).

Now you're back-pedaling, and making my point.  Jeez....I'm embarassed for you.  :rotfl:
Post by: Bakes on July 22, 2013, 11:49:23 AM
Reading your responses tells me that you're not adept at paying attention or comprehending a sentence.  Because you TOTALLY missed de ENTIRE point.  I was making the point that you CANNOT COMPARE Chandler and Martin's PPG.  I made it extremely clear in my earlier comments that YOUR ATTEMPTS TO COMPARE THEIR PPGs DID NOT MAKE SENSE.  And now, without realizing it, you're AGREEING WITH MY EARLIER ASSERTION --- the assertion that I made, that you cannot compare the two (as you tried to do earlier in one of YOUR responses).

Now you're back-pedaling, and making my point.  Jeez....I'm embarassed for you.  :rotfl:

I take back what I said... you are not just a tun tun... but a supreme tun tun at that.

I posted all the relevant stats for both Chandler and Martin... then SPECIFICALLY shifted the focus to their defensive contributions "He gives you half as many blocks and 3 rebounds less per game and had trouble staying on the court due to fouls and injury.  Exactly how was he 'more threatening on defense'?"

You decided to get into this back and forth about how Martin supposedly better because despite "no set plays" for him, he still averaged only 3 points less:

I missed the part where you said one cannot compare their respective PPGs.  Maybe it was lost amid the effort yuh was making so hard to compare them.
Post by: OutsideMan on July 22, 2013, 11:55:34 AM

I take back what I said... you are not just a tun tun... but a supreme tun tun at that.

I posted all the relevant stats for both Chandler and Martin... then SPECIFICALLY shifted the focus to their defensive contributions "He gives you half as many blocks and 3 rebounds less per game and had trouble staying on the court due to fouls and injury.  Exactly how was he 'more threatening on defense'?"

You decided to get into this back and forth about how Martin supposedly better because despite "no set plays" for him, he still averaged only 3 points less:

I missed the part where you said one cannot compare their respective PPGs.  Maybe it was lost amid the effort yuh was making so hard to compare them.

Well you obviously missed it, when I said it NUMEROUS times over the conversation (but obviously you pick and choose something from much LATER in the conversation when you yourself was making the comparison, and I briefly humoured you):

"And the point I made was that you cannot compare the PPG of Chandler vs the PPG of Martin this past season on the Knicks, since Martin was a late addition who did not have any set-plays drawn up for him." 
Post by: Bakes on July 22, 2013, 12:43:57 PM

"And the point I made was that you cannot compare the PPG of Chandler vs the PPG of Martin this past season on the Knicks, since Martin was a late addition who did not have any set-plays drawn up for him." 

So read in context (doh worry, you could watch the pictures instead) one cannot compare because Chandler had plays drawn up for him and Martin did not.  The bald inaccuracy of that statement aside... it was not an absolute statement, but a relative one... one which you went about deconstructing by making your own comparison.  Makes sense... in your parallel universe.

No need to respond because I won't be wasting any more time going back and forth with you.  Bottomline is that Metta and Martin together aren't as valuable as one Tyson Chandler.  To say otherwise is pure ass talk.
Post by: OutsideMan on July 22, 2013, 12:51:59 PM

So read in context (doh worry, you could watch the pictures instead) one cannot compare because Chandler had plays drawn up for him and Martin did not.  The bald inaccuracy of that statement aside... it was not an absolute statement, but a relative one... one which you went about deconstructing by making your own comparison.  Makes sense... in your parallel universe.

No need to respond because I won't be wasting any more time going back and forth with you.  Bottomline is that Metta and Martin together aren't as valuable as one Tyson Chandler.  To say otherwise is pure ass talk.

Jeez.....now you're going in circles.  I made the point in many other comments that you CANNOT compare the two, since one player only just now joined the team, did not play enough games, and did not have many plays drawn up for him...vs another player that has been with the team for 3 years, obviously played much more games, and has lots of plays drawn up for him.

So what confuses about de above?  We're back to Square 1...since it seemed like you AGREED with me, but want to argue anyway.  Then I even re-iterated yet AGAIN that you cannot make a fair comparison of the two players on PPG, and yet you STILL argue like a lil' frustrated housewife.

You on your period or wha?   ;) 
Post by: daryn on October 29, 2013, 07:23:52 AM
OK, basketball is officially back today.

Starting off with a back-to-back against the Bucks and the Bulls tomorrow and Thursday.

Looking for a big season from Shump, the usual from Melo and I'm hopeful about Il Mago.
Post by: Bakes on October 31, 2013, 10:15:49 PM
Tough loss to the Bulls.  Too much reliance on Anthony down the stretch instead of running the regular sets that got us the lead in the first place.
Post by: daryn on November 01, 2013, 07:27:19 AM
Real tough. Yeah, I would like to see Felton be more assertive in running the offence in those situations.

Big shot by Rose. Progress from Bargnani I thought.

Onto the next one.
Post by: Bakes on November 01, 2013, 12:09:12 PM
Real tough. Yeah, I would like to see Felton be more assertive in running the offence in those situations.

Big shot by Rose. Progress from Bargnani I thought.

Onto the next one.

Good game by Bargnani in limited minutes.  Too many fouls... but overall he should improve as time goes on.  Nice stretch big, should help open up the lane for us against teams like Indiana.
Post by: Bakes on November 04, 2013, 01:11:42 PM
Caught the second half of the game against Minnesota... good fight to challenge at the end, but no excuse for falling into such a deep hole against Milwaukee.  Kevin Love is a beast and Rick Adelman proves why he's one of the best coaches in the game in my mind.
Post by: daryn on November 06, 2013, 10:32:44 AM
Caught the second half of the game against Minnesota... good fight to challenge at the end, but no excuse for falling into such a deep hole against Milwaukee.  Kevin Love is a beast and Rick Adelman proves why he's one of the best coaches in the game in my mind.

Didn't want to say anything after the Wolves game.

If there's no excuse for falling into a hole then I don't know what to say about falling behind Charlotte.
Post by: Bakes on November 06, 2013, 04:40:32 PM

If there's no excuse for falling into a hole then I don't know what to say about falling behind Charlotte.

Team playing shit... no excuses.  No defense whatsoever, and God knows what will happen now that Chandler out for a month with a tibula fracture.  You let Charlotte come into your house and beat you, ending a 16-game losing streak on the road.  Losing 3 of the first 4 is never acceptable, not for a team with professed championship ambitions.
Post by: futbolfan on November 08, 2013, 05:28:29 PM

Team playing shit... no excuses.  No defense whatsoever, and God knows what will happen now that Chandler out for a month with a tibula fracture.  You let Charlotte come into your house and beat you, ending a 16-game losing streak on the road.  Losing 3 of the first 4 is never acceptable, not for a team with professed championship ambitions.

I believe the team will struggle this year and losing Chandler will not help. JR Smith coming back should spark up the offense, but defensivley they entire team has alot of work to do. One major factor that I think they miss is the presence of Jason Kidd around the team. His influence and vision both on and off the court propelled the Knicks during his tenure. As good a player as Carmello is, I don't think he has what it takes to be a true leader for the Kincks. I think players in their locker room will quicker listen to Metta or Chandler because of their pedigree. I can't even believe that I just listed Metta as a leader... ;D
Post by: Bakes on November 14, 2013, 10:28:19 PM
Good fight by the Knicks tonight against the Rockets.  We were very competitive throughout, but played poor defense... especially Shumpert, surprisingly.  Parsons and Lin got to the bucket far too easily against him.  Some really questionable calls, at least from my partisan standpoint against the Knicks by the refs.  They kept putting Harden on the line every time he drove, yet Anthony had to fight and scratch just to get a call.  The most dubious was the foul they called on Felton to send Harden to the line for three late in the game with a three point lead.
Post by: daryn on November 18, 2013, 08:38:16 AM
Woodson has to bench someone if he wants to keep his job.

First up is Felton: atrocious D, not making shots, not finishing at the basket and has no chemistry with Bargnani. After that is JR. Doesn't necessarily have to be permanent but they can't be getting 30+ minutes while playing that badly.

Post by: Bakes on November 21, 2013, 01:45:26 PM
Knicks having no kinda luck with the officials this early part of the season.  I understand why they didn't give 'Melo continuation against Houston, but then they blow a continuation call against the Pistons and now this pure bullshit call putting George on the line at the end of regulation.  We did very well to even be in the game at the end given the clear advantage the Pacers have in the paint and on the boards.  Bargnani has been a very pleasant surprise thus far.
Post by: daryn on November 21, 2013, 01:53:02 PM
doh know what to say after that one.

The offensive foul call on Melo was the most inexplicable call to me. Never seen anyone draw a charge leaving their feet before.
Post by: Bakes on November 21, 2013, 03:54:41 PM
doh know what to say after that one.

The offensive foul call on Melo was the most inexplicable call to me. Never seen anyone draw a charge leaving their feet before.
Yeah I had that one in the back of my head as I was typing, but ah say leh mih leave it alone.  And the commentators stay talking about how Hibbert is the master at "the principle of verticality"... GTFOH!  Dude backing up and jump with both hands straight up, but then angle his hands forward (violating said "principle"), only for them to call the foul on Anthony.  f**king madness.
Post by: Bakes on November 28, 2013, 12:55:01 PM
(https://scontent-b-iad.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn2/1476371_566657030073510_1565907675_n.png)

They need to make one for that Jamal Crawford travel that wasn't called last night...

http://www.youtube.com/v/UjcoySSPgF0
Post by: daryn on November 29, 2013, 04:37:04 PM
Need a win tonight. One way or the other.
Post by: Bakes on December 01, 2013, 10:36:20 PM
Is that 9 or 10 in a row... I loss count.  Steups.

Early still.
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 01, 2013, 11:05:13 PM
ah eh know who stressing me out more......friggin knicks or meh wife......9 in a row. :frustrated:
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 02, 2013, 07:54:45 AM
ah eh know who stressing me out more......friggin knicks or meh wife......9 in a row. :frustrated:

:rotfl:  like yuh better off a LA fan Capo
Post by: capodetutticapi on December 02, 2013, 11:08:44 AM

yeah the clippers not too bad. ;D
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 02, 2013, 11:55:45 AM

yeah the clippers not too bad. ;D

:rotfl:  good one  :beermug:
Post by: daryn on December 05, 2013, 09:33:16 AM
3 day break was good.

Fellas just completely out of sorts.
Is that 9 or 10 in a row... I loss count.  Steups.

Early still.

Yes it is. There will still be 60% of the season left when Chandler comes back. And of course the conference is bad. The danger is that the team throws it in too early.

Fellas just completely out of sorts. Finding all different kinda ways to lose. Let's hope they take care of Jersey tonight.
Post by: Bakes on December 05, 2013, 03:25:19 PM

Yes it is. There will still be 60% of the season left when Chandler comes back. And of course the conference is bad. The danger is that the team throws it in too early.

Fellas just completely out of sorts. Finding all different kinda ways to lose. Let's hope they take care of Jersey tonight.

Yeah... absolutely cannot lose to that garbage team, especially with them having now added Pierce, Garnett and Terry.
Post by: daryn on December 06, 2013, 06:35:01 AM
(http://cdn3.sbnation.com/imported_assets/1952935/garnettisold_medium.gif)
Post by: Bakes on December 06, 2013, 01:08:18 PM
^^^ Dutty and the rest ah Raptors fans must be spitting mad that Bargnani wasn't playing like that for them.  He real abuse Garnett last night.... was all up inside he head.
Post by: daryn on December 09, 2013, 11:45:03 AM
this team eh
Post by: Dutty on December 09, 2013, 08:22:47 PM
^^^ Dutty and the rest ah Raptors fans must be spitting mad that Bargnani wasn't playing like that for them.  He real abuse Garnett last night.... was all up inside he head.

Boy we see this movie for 7 seasons arready oui

1 OR 2 games he does play like BEAST....and for the next 80 games does lumber around de court breathin troo he mout

Allyuh think is Melo and dem causin de Knicks to have such a dismal run,, is not dem, is dat Roman blight,, until allyuh get rid ah he Knicks go play like de Raptors
Post by: daryn on December 13, 2013, 06:43:46 PM

Boy we see this movie for 7 seasons arready oui

1 OR 2 games he does play like BEAST....and for the next 80 games does lumber around de court breathin troo he mout

Allyuh think is Melo and dem causin de Knicks to have such a dismal run,, is not dem, is dat Roman blight,, until allyuh get rid ah he Knicks go play like de Raptors

I realise that in some ways he's an inherently inefficient player. Long 2 point shots are the worst shots to take but that is his strong point. He is not quite consistent enough from 3 point range to capitalise on it as a skill.

If you play him at one of the forwards then your other forward has to be an above average rebounder who can guard a quick small forward.

On nights that he's lights out it works but his game doesn't really have any margin of error.
Post by: daryn on December 17, 2013, 10:07:11 AM
well, last night take the cake.
Post by: daryn on January 03, 2014, 02:08:34 PM
50+ games to go.

Undefeated in 2014. Rockets tonight.

Post by: Bakes on January 03, 2014, 08:04:57 PM
50+ games to go.

Undefeated in 2014. Rockets tonight.  Good games by Shumpert and JR.

Good fight, good win against the Spurs.
Post by: Bakes on January 03, 2014, 09:54:57 PM
Good effort by the Knicks against the Rockets tonight but sad to say the Knicks are not going to win anything with J.R. Smith on the team. He plays very little defense, and generally does nothing more than shoot the ball. A solid 75% of his shots are either forced shots or just plain bad shots. That entire sequence was precipitated by his failure to recognize time and score. Your team gets an offensive rebound and kicks it out to you with the game tied, on the road and the shot clock turned off... and you immediately jack up a three?? Cost us the game, plain and simple. To compound matters, on the final play he doesn't even look for Anthony, but passes to Beno Udrih instead? Can't be serious.
Post by: Bakes on January 10, 2014, 12:03:37 AM
Following the shenanigans against Houston... the Knicks have gone on to beat San Antonio, Dallas, Detroit and now Miami.  No sweat for JR tonight, like what I saw of Toure Murray, Bargnani, Stat and Hardaway, Jr.  On top of that, great games by Anthony, Shumpert and Felton.  Need to tighten up the lane defense though... no Chandler meant too many points in the paint for Miami, even though we weathered the storm.  Bynum is an intriguing option but don't think the Knicks would go for him... not with his salary demands.  They might want to give Tyler a look first.
Post by: soccerman on January 10, 2014, 03:27:56 PM
Knicks played well last night, esp in the 2nd half. Those 3's by Shumpert really got things going and the team played with determination. Felton made big baskets in the end and had 14 assists. The Heat got a bit discombobulated and made some careless turnovers, which is unlike them but I was glad for the Knicks and if they can play consistently like how they have been the last 3 games, they can be a force to reckon with.
Not sure of the Knicks salary restrictions but the Heat, Clippers and Mavs and the top 3 teams looking at Bynum and I'm not sure how much Miaimi can really pay him considering their payroll. With the chance of winning a title coupled with south beach will be enticing for him to go to the Heat, so I think he may end up there.
Post by: soccerman on January 10, 2014, 03:40:47 PM
@MySportsLegion post this on twitter last night lol "JR Smith made $67,866 for doing absolutely nothing tonight"
Post by: Bakes on January 10, 2014, 04:59:57 PM
Knicks played well last night, esp in the 2nd half. Those 3's by Shumpert really got things going and the team played with determination. Felton made big baskets in the end and had 14 assists. The Heat got a bit discombobulated and made some careless turnovers, which is unlike them but I was glad for the Knicks and if they can play consistently like how they have been the last 3 games, they can be a force to reckon with.
Not sure of the Knicks salary restrictions but the Heat, Clippers and Mavs and the top 3 teams looking at Bynum and I'm not sure how much Miaimi can really pay him considering their payroll. With the chance of winning a title coupled with south beach will be enticing for him to go to the Heat, so I think he may end up there.

Commentators were playing down the chance of Bynum joining the Heat owing to the presence of Oden on the roster, and they still have Joel Anthony coming back from injury.  Not that he wouldn't be a significant upgrade to either one of those two, and I haven't really looked into the issue, but my guess is that the obstacle would be financial more than personnel/logistic.  As for the Clippers, apparently they could only offer him the veteran's minimum of about $1.3 mil.  I still see the Sporting News have them and the Heat as the favorites to sign him though.

As for J.R.  the whole shoelace thing is a complete overreaction by the League.  I get that they told him to cut it out and the fact that he played like he was trying to untie Monroe's shoe set them off but come on, get off your period NBA.  It would be one thing if he actually untied Monroe's laces after being warned, but all the shit that goes on during games and that is what allyuh cracking down on? GTFOH
Post by: daryn on April 14, 2014, 08:06:31 AM
Officially eliminated on Saturday.

Yesterday was the first meaningless game since 2010.

I think this was the most disappointing season ever. Don't remember such a disparity between expectations and results.
Post by: Bakes on April 14, 2014, 04:23:28 PM
Officially eliminated on Saturday.

Yesterday was the first meaningless game since 2010.

I think this was the most disappointing season ever. Don't remember such a disparity between expectations and results.

It's all about managing expectations... injuries more than anything else.
Post by: royal on June 25, 2014, 05:10:41 PM
Big trade Chandler, Felton to Dallas

http://sports.yahoo.com/news/report-mavs-knicks-nearing-major-212122221--nba.html

Post by: soccerman on June 26, 2014, 02:11:57 PM
Big trade Chandler, Felton to Dallas

http://sports.yahoo.com/news/report-mavs-knicks-nearing-major-212122221--nba.html

Phil can be onto something here...
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 26, 2014, 02:16:37 PM
So we go land king James next week?
Post by: Controversial on June 27, 2014, 08:10:53 AM

i wish... but that is far from the truth...

bron taking a pay cut to free up room to bring mello...

Post by: capodetutticapi on June 29, 2014, 06:34:24 PM

I feel melo will end up back on de westcoast
Post by: Controversial on July 03, 2014, 09:06:51 AM

I feel melo will end up back on de westcoast

it's a possibility but i believe bron want him in miami...
Post by: royal on February 28, 2015, 08:24:35 AM
Former Knicks fan favorite Anthony Mason dies at 48
Post by: royal on June 27, 2015, 10:13:50 AM
Watch Knicks Press Conference to introduce their Drafts picks
http://www.nba.com/knicks/drop-box-nykqanda1062615msgrad.mp4?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=tweets&utm_content=twitter_1435420484
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CIhL4iIWIAA-nfO.jpg)
Post by: royal on June 29, 2015, 04:38:19 PM
Sources: Knicks emerging as frontrunners to sign Arron Afflalo
By Adrian Wojnarowski

The New York Knicks are emerging as the frontrunners to sign free-agent guard Arron Afflalo, league sources told Yahoo Sports.

(http://l3.yimg.com/bt/api/res/1.2/Ovqxn2QChj.xNFk0xSW11A--/YXBwaWQ9eW5ld3M7cT04NQ--/http://media.zenfs.com/en_us/Sports/ap/201504042133776094291)
Arron Afflalo (Getty Images)

For months, the Knicks and rival executives have believed that New York is the likely destination for Detroit fre- agent forward Greg Monroe, and now it appears that Afflalo is the most likey target to potentially join him with Carmelo Anthony in New York, league sources told Yahoo Sports.

With Monroe expecting to command a maximum contract on the market, Afflalo could earn a deal in the neighborhood of three years, $36 million-$38 million, league sources said.

The Knicks have the salary-cap space to sign both, pairing them with All-Star Carmelo Anthony in the starting lineup.

Afflalo finished the past season in Portland, where he had been traded at the February deadline from Denver. Afflalo averaged 13.3 points on the season. Across his seven seasons, including stops in Detroit, Denver, Orlando and Portland, he has averaged 11 points a game.
Post by: Controversial on June 29, 2015, 07:03:10 PM
Of all picks, stein and turner would have been better choices by far.. Why does everyone feel they will unearth a Dirk N.. That's  a one in ten million chance..
Post by: royal on July 02, 2015, 07:37:10 AM
    ESPN.com news services

(http://a4.espncdn.com/combiner/i?img=%2Fphoto%2F2015%2F0219%2Fnba_g_affalo1x_1296x729.jpg&w=267)

The New York Knicks and Arron Afflalo agreed to a two-year deal worth $16 million on Thursday, a source told ESPN.com's Ramona Shelburne.

The agreement includes a player option for the second year of the deal, sources said, which could allow Afflalo to again test free agency after next season.
Arron Afflalo averaged 13.3 points for Denver and Portland last season, and he has made 38.5 percent of his 3-point attempts over his career. Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images

The deal with Afflalo is the Knicks' first move in free agency but one that should help the struggling franchise, which is coming off a 17-65 season. And it comes at a reasonable cost considering all the money spent on the opening day of free agency Wednesday across the league.

Afflalo is the type of two-way player Knicks coach Derek Fisher can use and should be able to provide the kind of shooting that departed when Tim Hardaway Jr. was traded on draft night in exchange for drafting Notre Dame combo guard Jerian Grant. Afflalo is a 38.5 percent 3-point shooter over his eight-year career and averaged career-highs of 18.2 points and 42.7 percent 3-point shooting during the 2013-14 season with the Orlando Magic.

Afflalo is also familiar with Knicks star Carmelo Anthony; the two were teammates with the Denver Nuggets from 2009 to February 2011.

Afflalo, 29, was traded to the Portland Trail Blazers by the Nuggets last February in exchange for Will Barton, Victor Claver, Thomas Robinson and a 2016 lottery-protected first-round pick. He appeared in 25 games (19 starts) for Portland.

The 6-foot-5 shooting guard proved a crucial piece late in the season for the Blazers after guard Wesley Matthews was lost for the season with a torn Achilles. Afflalo averaged 10.6 points in 30.1 minutes per game, shooting 40 percent from 3-point range. For the season, he averaged 13.3 points in 78 games.

Prior to the 2014-15 season, Afflalo was traded from the Magic to the Nuggets in exchange for Evan Fournier and Roy Marble. In 2012, he was the centerpiece for the Magic in the four-team Dwight Howard trade. He had a career season in Orlando in 2013-14, averaging 18.2 points per game while hitting 42.7 percent from 3.

Afflalo was drafted 27th overall out of UCLA by the Detroit Pistons. In eight seasons, Afflalo has played for four teams, which includes two stops with the Nuggets. For his career, he's averaging 11.4 points in 577 games.

Afflalo was an unrestricted free agent after exercising a $7.75 million player option.

ESPN.com's Ohm Youngmisuk and Royce Young contributed to this report.
Post by: royal on July 07, 2015, 09:56:08 AM
Why Phil Jackson Aced this Offseason.

By IsaacMiller

An optimistic look at the Knicks offseason.

I want put my thoughts out there about the Knicks situation and the players we got on this squad.

I've been hearing so many fans complain about Phil and Melo. So much damn negativity. I'm sick and tired of it. I love what he is doing with this team. Building sustainable success while winning as many games as possible. He's the only Knicks president with the balls to rebuild. He is bringing in the right players. Not the quick fix.

Many Knicks fans are tired of hearing about the triangle. Many are upset that we haven't acquired a star talent to play alongside Carmelo Anthony. Phil Jackson set out this offseason with a plan. To find the players with youth, some defense and potential, that fit his system (The Triangle).

We saw with the Hawks this year. They proved that you don't need superstar talent to succeed if you have the right role players in the right system. And thats exactly what he is doing.

Now this process may take a year or two. But I think we can really win some games even this year with the roster Phil has put together.

The Triangle is mainly predicated on 3 things. Big men that can pass or score out of the high post, cutters that can finish down low, and shooters that can spread the floor for kickouts when either the double team comes on the high post man or when the defense loads up down low to defend the players cutting to the basket.

In my opinion the Kyle O'Quinn signing could be a steal. He averaged 13 points, 10 rebounds, 2.6 assists, 2.1 blocks, and shot over .500 percent per 36 minutes. The 6"10 250 pound 25 year old Power Forward - Center has tons of potential especially in the Triangle system.

His passing ability is really really good for a big man. He is almost like a point guard in that regard. Operating out of the high post his passes to cutting players will be highly effective. His defense as well, is a big plus as he is a tough, gritty, and long defender with a 7 foot 4 wingspan.

Here is a link to a great scouting report on Kyle O'Quinn. http://jacobeisenberg.com/2015/06/18/kyle-oquinns-analytical-scouting-report/

Of course, the triangle will mainly operate through Melo in the high post which is a huge threat for opposing defenses as he can create his own shot if he is left 1 on 1 or pass out of the double team. The knock on Melo has always been that he is selfish, not a willing passer, takes too many shots and doesn't run the floor. While I understand those concerns, he never really played with the right players around him or with the right system around him. The burden of scoring 30 points a night is quite a heavy one. I understand the Knicks fans that were expecting a superstar to come over and be the Robyn to Melos Batman with all the cap space we had. But that was near impossible because we sucked last year. Now while he doesn't have a superstar playing alongside him, I think he has the correct role players for the system to change the way he plays just a little. For him to embrace the triangle and the passing, teamwork, and equal scoring opportunities the triangle brings to the players around him.

Which brings me to the shooters and cutters. We all know how upset many fans were with the Kristaps Porzingis pick at the number 4 selection of the draft. I think many fans post draft went and watched some tape or highlights of this guy and opinions were quickly changed. I love this kid. Man, can he shoot! And he's 7"3!! You can't block him! He's fast, can finish down low and loves to slam it home with authority on jams.

While the knocks on Porzingis is that he is not NBA ready, needs to bulk up, and needs to work on post defense, I have faith that the Knicks trainers will spend a lot of time with him in the gym and giving him Creatine shakes and whatnot. I trust that Derek Fisher and his coaching staff will develop his offensive and defensive game as well in due time. In the meantime, while his game developes, his talent that is NBA ready, namely his shooting, will be perfect in the triangle for kickouts to the perimeter. He will have wide open shots. If Porzingis is developed well by this Knicks coaching squad, he very well may end up, like many analysts have said, as the best player out of this years draft.

Arron Afflalo is another example of Phil bringing in a player that fits his system. He is a good defender and a great shooter from mid range and a solid 3 point shooter. While the numbers say that his play is declining slightly, he is still considered a great starter in this league and could very well be the second scoring option on this team. For his contract at 2 years 16 million he came as a bargain to the Knicks, as similar players were receiving 10 to 15 million per year. Heck, Iman Shumpert got 4 years 40 million!

Robyn Lopez was the biggest signing of the offseason. After missing out on Greg Monroe, Phil signed the next best center on the market. To me the difference between Monroe and Lopez is negligible. Yes, Monroe is a far better offensive player but his defense is not very good, to put it mildly. Lopez is a jack of all trades, master of none, but he is very close to a master rim protector and defensive anchor down low in the paint. He rebounds very well and can score on putbacks and mismatches. His offensive game is solid. He plays with an aggressive, tough mindset and is strong enough to battle tough centers like Timofey Mozgov, Joakim Noah and others down low in the paint. Another plus to having Lopez down low is that you can have him on the court together with Porzingis and have him clean up Kristaps' mistakes he might make as he develops into an NBA quality defender.

Jerian Grant. Son of former NBA player Harvey Grant, nephew of NBA player Horace Grant, and brother of 76er Jerami Grant. Basketball is in this kids DNA. He is the Knicks point guard of the future and in my humble opinion, the steal of the draft. As a four year starter at Notre Dame, he is ready for the NBA. He was the leader of that team and his coaches rave about his basketball IQ. He is a good passer, great penetrator, and a decent long range shooter. Not the greatest triangle fit but he will be able to be a good cutter, a light perimeter threat, and will run the pick and roll to perfection when the Knicks are not running a triangle play. Grant is also big at 6"5 and can be used as a combo guard. He is a very good defender on the perimeter which has been a major weakness of the Knicks for many years. I love this kids game and I expect him to come in and contribute right away.

Derick Williams was the second overall pick in the 2011 draft. He was picked there for a reason. He obviously has potential. Played for some really bad teams in Minnesota and Sacramento. Career averages of 9.3 points per game, 4.3 rebounds per game, 0.3 blocks per game. His field goal percentage is a respectable .429. Clearly a bench / depth player. He is a terrible defender though. Hopefully Knicks coaching will get him to play better at that end. I'm not expecting amazing play from him but I think he will have his moments.

Then we've got some of the players from last year. Langston Galloway, everyone loved him. He made second all rookie team. Averaged 11.8 points per game and 3.3 assists. I'm expecting a step up from him as he will be an integral part of our offense off the bench. He'll play big minutes. He's got good potential as a solid role player that can be a perimeter threat in the triangle and score in the paint.

Jose Calderon. He has to play better than last year. I really don't know why he just didn't have it last year. Maybe he was playing with a nagging injury or perhaps playing with a squad that wasn't very good allowed opposing defenses to focus on him more.

But if we can have him back to his old self he can be one of the best 3 point shooters in the game. He can run the offense very well, create plays for other players, and brings good veteran leadership to what's turning into a very young basketball team.

CleAnthony Early showed flashes of what he can do. Hopefully in his second year he'll have a better grasp of the NBA game speed and difficulty. Early can score, create his own shot or be a spot up shooter. Not much of a defender. He was heralded last year as a great pick by the Knicks at 33 overall. Hopefully he can a reach some of that potential in his second year.

There are still a couple roster spots to fill. Hopefully Phil can bring in another scorer to come off the bench and provide a punch. Maybe even bring back Alexey Shved who played well in his time here last year.

All in all, I love what Phil has done with this roster given the choices he had. He was not going to bring in a star. Why would LaMarcus Aldridge come here instead of the Spurs?! Greg Monroe? The Bucks are a really amazing young team. Of course he chose them. And look at them! They lost the most games in the NBA in 2013-2014. That was 1 year ago!!! Now look at them.

This Knicks team was not a destination that most free agents wanted to come to and Phil was still able to build a really nice roster despite that. Maybe if we win a respectable amount of games this year then next year we might be a free agent destination.

We are a young team on the rise. Our future success depends on the play of our young players. If Kristaps Porzingis can develop into a star, if Jerian Grant, Langston Galloway, and Kyle O'Quinn into really good rotation players and maybe even Derrick Williams, CleAnthony Early and Thenasis Antetokounmpo become good options off the bench. Then we have a great young nucleus of players surrounding Carmelo and our veterans. A whole lot must go right, but this Knicks team can get to the playoffs.

And then there is next offseason. Kevin Durant?

Thanks for reading and go Knicks!

Post by: Controversial on July 07, 2015, 10:44:03 AM
Why Phil Jackson Aced this Offseason.

By IsaacMiller

An optimistic look at the Knicks offseason.

I want put my thoughts out there about the Knicks situation and the players we got on this squad.

I've been hearing so many fans complain about Phil and Melo. So much damn negativity. I'm sick and tired of it. I love what he is doing with this team. Building sustainable success while winning as many games as possible. He's the only Knicks president with the balls to rebuild. He is bringing in the right players. Not the quick fix.

Many Knicks fans are tired of hearing about the triangle. Many are upset that we haven't acquired a star talent to play alongside Carmelo Anthony. Phil Jackson set out this offseason with a plan. To find the players with youth, some defense and potential, that fit his system (The Triangle).

We saw with the Hawks this year. They proved that you don't need superstar talent to succeed if you have the right role players in the right system. And thats exactly what he is doing.

Now this process may take a year or two. But I think we can really win some games even this year with the roster Phil has put together.

The Triangle is mainly predicated on 3 things. Big men that can pass or score out of the high post, cutters that can finish down low, and shooters that can spread the floor for kickouts when either the double team comes on the high post man or when the defense loads up down low to defend the players cutting to the basket.

In my opinion the Kyle O'Quinn signing could be a steal. He averaged 13 points, 10 rebounds, 2.6 assists, 2.1 blocks, and shot over .500 percent per 36 minutes. The 6"10 250 pound 25 year old Power Forward - Center has tons of potential especially in the Triangle system.

His passing ability is really really good for a big man. He is almost like a point guard in that regard. Operating out of the high post his passes to cutting players will be highly effective. His defense as well, is a big plus as he is a tough, gritty, and long defender with a 7 foot 4 wingspan.

Here is a link to a great scouting report on Kyle O'Quinn. http://jacobeisenberg.com/2015/06/18/kyle-oquinns-analytical-scouting-report/

Of course, the triangle will mainly operate through Melo in the high post which is a huge threat for opposing defenses as he can create his own shot if he is left 1 on 1 or pass out of the double team. The knock on Melo has always been that he is selfish, not a willing passer, takes too many shots and doesn't run the floor. While I understand those concerns, he never really played with the right players around him or with the right system around him. The burden of scoring 30 points a night is quite a heavy one. I understand the Knicks fans that were expecting a superstar to come over and be the Robyn to Melos Batman with all the cap space we had. But that was near impossible because we sucked last year. Now while he doesn't have a superstar playing alongside him, I think he has the correct role players for the system to change the way he plays just a little. For him to embrace the triangle and the passing, teamwork, and equal scoring opportunities the triangle brings to the players around him.

Which brings me to the shooters and cutters. We all know how upset many fans were with the Kristaps Porzingis pick at the number 4 selection of the draft. I think many fans post draft went and watched some tape or highlights of this guy and opinions were quickly changed. I love this kid. Man, can he shoot! And he's 7"3!! You can't block him! He's fast, can finish down low and loves to slam it home with authority on jams.

While the knocks on Porzingis is that he is not NBA ready, needs to bulk up, and needs to work on post defense, I have faith that the Knicks trainers will spend a lot of time with him in the gym and giving him Creatine shakes and whatnot. I trust that Derek Fisher and his coaching staff will develop his offensive and defensive game as well in due time. In the meantime, while his game developes, his talent that is NBA ready, namely his shooting, will be perfect in the triangle for kickouts to the perimeter. He will have wide open shots. If Porzingis is developed well by this Knicks coaching squad, he very well may end up, like many analysts have said, as the best player out of this years draft.

Arron Afflalo is another example of Phil bringing in a player that fits his system. He is a good defender and a great shooter from mid range and a solid 3 point shooter. While the numbers say that his play is declining slightly, he is still considered a great starter in this league and could very well be the second scoring option on this team. For his contract at 2 years 16 million he came as a bargain to the Knicks, as similar players were receiving 10 to 15 million per year. Heck, Iman Shumpert got 4 years 40 million!

Robyn Lopez was the biggest signing of the offseason. After missing out on Greg Monroe, Phil signed the next best center on the market. To me the difference between Monroe and Lopez is negligible. Yes, Monroe is a far better offensive player but his defense is not very good, to put it mildly. Lopez is a jack of all trades, master of none, but he is very close to a master rim protector and defensive anchor down low in the paint. He rebounds very well and can score on putbacks and mismatches. His offensive game is solid. He plays with an aggressive, tough mindset and is strong enough to battle tough centers like Timofey Mozgov, Joakim Noah and others down low in the paint. Another plus to having Lopez down low is that you can have him on the court together with Porzingis and have him clean up Kristaps' mistakes he might make as he develops into an NBA quality defender.

Jerian Grant. Son of former NBA player Harvey Grant, nephew of NBA player Horace Grant, and brother of 76er Jerami Grant. Basketball is in this kids DNA. He is the Knicks point guard of the future and in my humble opinion, the steal of the draft. As a four year starter at Notre Dame, he is ready for the NBA. He was the leader of that team and his coaches rave about his basketball IQ. He is a good passer, great penetrator, and a decent long range shooter. Not the greatest triangle fit but he will be able to be a good cutter, a light perimeter threat, and will run the pick and roll to perfection when the Knicks are not running a triangle play. Grant is also big at 6"5 and can be used as a combo guard. He is a very good defender on the perimeter which has been a major weakness of the Knicks for many years. I love this kids game and I expect him to come in and contribute right away.

Derick Williams was the second overall pick in the 2011 draft. He was picked there for a reason. He obviously has potential. Played for some really bad teams in Minnesota and Sacramento. Career averages of 9.3 points per game, 4.3 rebounds per game, 0.3 blocks per game. His field goal percentage is a respectable .429. Clearly a bench / depth player. He is a terrible defender though. Hopefully Knicks coaching will get him to play better at that end. I'm not expecting amazing play from him but I think he will have his moments.

Then we've got some of the players from last year. Langston Galloway, everyone loved him. He made second all rookie team. Averaged 11.8 points per game and 3.3 assists. I'm expecting a step up from him as he will be an integral part of our offense off the bench. He'll play big minutes. He's got good potential as a solid role player that can be a perimeter threat in the triangle and score in the paint.

Jose Calderon. He has to play better than last year. I really don't know why he just didn't have it last year. Maybe he was playing with a nagging injury or perhaps playing with a squad that wasn't very good allowed opposing defenses to focus on him more.

But if we can have him back to his old self he can be one of the best 3 point shooters in the game. He can run the offense very well, create plays for other players, and brings good veteran leadership to what's turning into a very young basketball team.

CleAnthony Early showed flashes of what he can do. Hopefully in his second year he'll have a better grasp of the NBA game speed and difficulty. Early can score, create his own shot or be a spot up shooter. Not much of a defender. He was heralded last year as a great pick by the Knicks at 33 overall. Hopefully he can a reach some of that potential in his second year.

There are still a couple roster spots to fill. Hopefully Phil can bring in another scorer to come off the bench and provide a punch. Maybe even bring back Alexey Shved who played well in his time here last year.

All in all, I love what Phil has done with this roster given the choices he had. He was not going to bring in a star. Why would LaMarcus Aldridge come here instead of the Spurs?! Greg Monroe? The Bucks are a really amazing young team. Of course he chose them. And look at them! They lost the most games in the NBA in 2013-2014. That was 1 year ago!!! Now look at them.

This Knicks team was not a destination that most free agents wanted to come to and Phil was still able to build a really nice roster despite that. Maybe if we win a respectable amount of games this year then next year we might be a free agent destination.

We are a young team on the rise. Our future success depends on the play of our young players. If Kristaps Porzingis can develop into a star, if Jerian Grant, Langston Galloway, and Kyle O'Quinn into really good rotation players and maybe even Derrick Williams, CleAnthony Early and Thenasis Antetokounmpo become good options off the bench. Then we have a great young nucleus of players surrounding Carmelo and our veterans. A whole lot must go right, but this Knicks team can get to the playoffs.

And then there is next offseason. Kevin Durant?

Thanks for reading and go Knicks!

food for thought... i support Phil and his decisions but the prozingis experiment i am not in favor of...
Post by: royal on July 15, 2015, 11:10:36 AM
Knicks’ Carmelo Anthony ‘trusts’ Phil Jackson — for now
By Marc Berman
(https://thenypost.files.wordpress.com/2015/07/knicks-21.jpg?w=720&h=480&crop=1)
Carmelo Anthony and Knicks team president Phil Jackson Photo: Getty Images; Bizuayehu Tesfaye

LAS VEGAS — Carmelo Anthony is good with Phil Jackson … for now.

Knicks officials have been in contact with Anthony in the last 24 hours and got a strong sense he has been bothered by rumors about his disillusionment with Jackson’s free-agent haul. Anthony made it clear he still “trusts Phil’’ and is trying to enjoy a vacation before ramping up his summer rehab training.

Of course, Anthony’s mood could change if the new Knicks embark on another miserable season resembling last season’s 17-65 disaster, but for now he is still believing and withholding judgment.

The Post reported back in December that Anthony was so depressed about losing, he told a confidant he would consider waiving his no-trade clause if Jackson came up with a deal to a contender.

After the season, Anthony confirmed, in December, he was “second-guessing’’ his decision to re-sign with the Knicks, but Jackson regained his trust during a dinner in London.

When asked by The Post Monday at the summer league if he has spoken to Anthony about his free-agent catches, highlighted by Robin Lopez and Arron Afflalo, Jackson said he had not. That, along with Afflalo’s disclosure he hadn’t heard from Anthony, set off speculation Anthony must not be thrilled with the star-less cast Jackson has assembled.

Knicks general manager Steve Mills had debriefed Anthony on the free-agent scenarios and combinations they were trying to snare. Nevertheless, the $29 million did not snare an All-Star-caliber player such as centers DeAndre Jordan or Greg Monroe.
Post by: royal on August 14, 2015, 06:58:53 AM
Noted Knicks critic Charles Barkley praises New York's offseason moves

Ian Begley, ESPN Staff Writer

This may stun some Knicks fans, but longtime critic Charles Barkley says he actually liked team president Phil Jackson's moves this offseason.

“I actually disagree with all the criticism that people are giving the Knicks. I think the Knicks should be on national television this year. They actually got NBA players,’’ Barkley, a TNT analyst, said Wednesday night on NBA TV's show to reveal the NBA schedule.

Barkley added: "Robin Lopez is an NBA player, Arron Afflalo is an NBA player, [draftee] Jerian Grant is an NBA player. That’s three NBA players that they did not have last year. And they're going to get Carmelo [Anthony] back. [First-round draft pick Kristaps] Porzingis is going to be a good player, maybe not right now, but he's going to be a good player."

Barkley rarely praises the Knicks. He's ripped the team several times over the years, and last season he got in a war of words with Jackson over the triangle offense and the Knicks' president's use of Twitter.

Barkley also said last year that the Knicks shouldn't be on national television.

"There were times we showed the Knicks — and I’m not trying to badmouth the Knicks,’’ Barkley said. “They had players who should be playing in the D-League or overseas. That’s just a fact. They didn’t have legitimate NBA players. But I give Phil Jackson credit."

The Knicks may have added legitimate NBA players this season, but the national networks didn't show much interest in airing their games.

New York is on national television (ABC/ESPN/TNT) just seven times this season following their forgettable 17-win 2014-15 campaign. That's 18 fewer games than the maximum allotment and 12 fewer than the Los Angeles Lakers.
Post by: royal on September 05, 2015, 08:23:47 AM
Knicks fans don't get too excited but Kevin Durant is being recruited for next year

http://probasketballtalk.nbcsports.com/2015/09/04/report-kevin-durant-considering-knicks-being-recruited-by-carmelo-anthony/?ocid=Yahoo&partner=ya5nbcs
Post by: royal on October 21, 2015, 02:27:02 PM
Ian Begley ‏@IanBegley

Barring something unforeseen, Kristaps Porzingis will start on opening night for the #Knicks. Details here: http://es.pn/1W4TUsd
(https://o.twimg.com/2/proxy.jpg?t=HBhYaHR0cDovL2E0LmVzcG5jZG4uY29tL2NvbWJpbmVyL2k_aW1nPSUyRnBob3RvJTJGMjAxNSUyRjEwMTIlMkZyMTY0NTFfMTI5NngxMjk2XzElMkQxLmpwZxSgFBTMChwUhAYUlAMAABYAEgA&s=G99MBq9bjq38pKjWPQxyLjMkVEHUyBWKZVg9egZ0zlw)
Post by: royal on January 15, 2016, 08:12:17 AM
Matt Barnes on seeing Derek Fisher: 'I don't talk to snakes'
Ohm YoungmisukESPN Staff Writer

Matt Barnes won’t have anything to say to Derek Fisher on Saturday when the former teammates and friends see each other again.

“I don’t talk to snakes,” Barnes told the New York Daily News on Thursday night.

The New York Knicks visit Memphis this weekend and all eyes will be on Barnes and Fisher. The two former Lakers teammates were involved in an off-the-court altercation at the home of Barnes' ex-wife in Los Angeles on Oct. 3.

Barnes was suspended for two games by the NBA and the NBA Players Association filed a grievance for the salary lost when he served the ban. Barnes referred to Fisher as “snitch.”

“I never wish for another man’s downfall,” Barnes told the News when asked if he wanted to see Fisher disciplined for the confrontation last year. “I always knew the NBA would come down hard on me, so I wasn’t surprised... Cause I’m the bad guy.”

As Barnes spoke, Memphis teammates Mario Chalmers and Courtney Lee shouted “because you won (the fight)” according to the News.

“Probably,” Barnes said. “Because I didn’t snitch.”

“I know I got to keep my mouth shut because then he’ll run and tell,” Barnes added. “So we’re focused on playing that team (the Knicks). And when I’m retired, him and I will cross paths again.”
Post by: royal on February 09, 2016, 07:39:09 AM
Knicks fired Derek Fisher and has Kurt Rambis as interim Head Coach
Post by: soccerman on February 25, 2016, 11:17:33 AM
Rambis have to be careful with the "like" button on twitter
Post by: royal on May 23, 2016, 08:07:08 AM
The Knicks coaching merry go round continues

http://abcnews.go.com/Sports/jeff-hornacek-knicks-coach-sources/story?id=39284586
Post by: royal on June 02, 2016, 12:15:27 PM
Jeff Hornacek Hired as Knicks Head Coach
Post by: weary1969 on June 09, 2016, 09:04:55 AM
Jeff Hornacek Hired as Knicks Head Coach

Rambis his assistant
Post by: royal on July 26, 2016, 05:19:00 PM
Amare Stoudemire signs a contract with the Knicks then retires. He wanted to retire a Knick.
Post by: Deeks on August 21, 2016, 04:02:26 PM
Can't satisfy some American. This basketball team has been vilified for being professionals, staying in luxury liner, winning opening games by blowouts, then winning 3 close games and finally winning the final by 33 pts. Some want the college players to come back. Bunch ah losers.
Post by: royal on November 05, 2016, 09:22:23 AM
Life is good for Derrick Rose, Knicks in return to Chicago

http://www.espn.com/blog/new-york-knicks/post/_/id/65509/life-is-good-for-derrick-rose-knicks-in-his-return-to-chicago
Post by: royal on November 23, 2016, 11:51:15 AM
Derrick Rose’s late heroics help Knicks move to .500

(https://s.yimg.com/lo/api/res/1.2/IMCGe2mVvZl8PYhq4YdrtQ--/YXBwaWQ9eW15O3E9NzU7dz02NDA7c209MQ--/http://slingstone.zenfs.com/offnetwork/2ad3421ec0044bd196102c91bfc1f2fa)

https://www.yahoo.com/news/m/8e3652c3-d3a0-3309-9fad-51d2e65c1e74/ss_derrick-rose%E2%80%99s-late-heroics.html
Post by: royal on December 10, 2016, 07:23:32 AM
is this the year the Knicks have a respectable season? 
Post by: royal on January 10, 2017, 09:50:51 AM
After game absence, Derrick Rose's Knicks future is uncertain

(https://s.yimg.com/uu/api/res/1.2/tjFB4RSX3QeP2HcP1WN_VQ--/Zmk9c3RyaW07aD00NDc7dz02NDA7c209MTthcHBpZD15dGFjaHlvbg--/http://media.zenfs.com/en/homerun/feed_manager_auto_publish_494/bc5b5195e7ee1c8b6e077699e7499a11)

Derrick Rose is averaging 17.3 points this season. (AP)

After failing to inform New York Knicks officials of his intentions to skip Monday night’s game at Madison Square Garden, Derrick Rose’s future with the franchise has become increasingly uncertain.

Knicks officials didn’t hear from Rose that he was OK until after an embarrassing loss to New Orleans, a confirmation that sources said began the next conversation within the organization: What do they do with Rose now?

In the aftermath of going AWOL at The Garden, Knicks officials need to further determine Rose’s passion to return to the team and continue playing.

Rose has put into peril his short-term role – with the possibility of a suspension, sources said – and the longer-term chances to land a lucrative contract extension with the Knicks in July, league sources told The Vertical.

Rose, the 2011 NBA Most Valuable Player and a three-time All-Star, has suffered through several serious injuries and has diminished as an elite point guard in the league. He’s had an up-and-down season for the Knicks, who have lost eight of nine games and dropped to 17-21.

New York had been undecided about how deep of a commitment it wanted to make to Rose in free agency, and his failure to attend the Knicks’ 110-96 loss to the Pelicans without informing team officials – regardless of the reason – left them livid and embarrassed on Monday night, sources said.

Knicks officials were unable to reach Rose by phone – nor get responses from his closest confidants – in the immediate hour and minutes before the opening tip.

Rose typically arrives at 5:30 p.m. for a 7:30 p.m. ET start, teammates say, and Rose hadn’t informed anyone within the Knicks that he might be late – never mind miss the game all together.

The Knicks declared him “not with the team” prior to tipoff but offered no detail.

Rose has been increasingly frustrated with how this Knicks season has unfolded, culminating with him privately fuming over his diminished late-game role in Friday night’s victory in Milwaukee, sources said. Knicks coach Jeff Hornacek played undrafted rookie Ron Baker over Rose in the fourth quarter.

Rose has been privately critical of Hornacek, but no one in the locker room – or management – has expressed any issues with how Hornacek has coached Rose, league sources said.

Rose, 28, has averaged 17.3 points, 4.5 assists and 3.9 rebounds in 33 games this season. The Knicks acquired Rose in an offseason trade with the Chicago Bulls, an immense investment for Knicks president Phil Jackson.
Post by: soccerman on January 10, 2017, 11:38:41 PM
He move bad by not contacting the coach.
Post by: royal on January 17, 2017, 03:17:04 PM
Phil Jackson, Carmelo Anthony Reportedly Meet to Discuss Star's Knicks Future

Carmelo Anthony and Phil Jackson reportedly had “contentious" meeting today to discuss his future with the Knicks

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2687579-phil-jackson-carmelo-anthony-reportedly-meet-to-discuss-stars-knicks-future?utm_source=twitter.com&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=programming-national
Post by: royal on February 02, 2017, 06:28:48 AM
Carmelo trade rumors flying all over de place.
Post by: Controversial on February 05, 2017, 10:48:09 AM
He can't  be traded, he has a no trade clause in his contract... I had a nice discussion with the analyst of their d league team who was giving some insight into what's really going on with melo, it's a very tough situation .... the lakers are in the market for a big name lol but it's melo choice now, the Knicks hands are tied

What they hell is going on with rose? Just when you think the Knicks may have life again, the team goes into cardiac arrest ...

Schupss...
Post by: ribbit on February 10, 2017, 09:12:32 PM
Wow - Oakley banned for life from MSG.

Dolan spent a whole interview smearing the guy.

Oakley is a legend.

Knicks are complete mess.
Post by: royal on February 27, 2017, 12:16:04 PM
Knicks formally announce that they've signed Chasson Randle and waived Brandon Jennings.
Post by: royal on March 25, 2017, 09:17:57 AM
Knicks center Joakim Noah tested positive for a banned over-the-counter supplement Banned for 20 games
Post by: royal on June 28, 2017, 06:26:28 AM
so Phil is gone. His inability to adapt to changing times was one of his biggest downfalls just like any individual or business.     
Post by: royal on November 08, 2017, 06:14:47 AM
Knicks fans doh get carried away but your team is outperforming themselves right now winning 5 of its last 6. No Melo, no Phil, no problem.   
Post by: Deeks on November 08, 2017, 08:10:32 AM
Bakes, where is you?
Post by: royal on November 22, 2017, 01:45:58 PM
Are the Knicks for real? | The Jump | ESPN

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NLzRmUyLwk
Post by: royal on March 17, 2018, 07:55:58 AM
so how many years will the Knicks be tanking ?
Post by: soccerman on March 17, 2018, 04:04:57 PM
so how many years will the Knicks be tanking ?
It's been a struggle for the big market teams Knicks, Bulls, Lakers, like they can't attract superstars anymore...though it looks like Lakers has a bright future.
Post by: royal on March 20, 2018, 11:08:07 AM
Knicks doh even know how to tank properly. This is about de 3rd year dey fail at dat too

Knicks lose Tank Bowl with victory over lowly Bulls
https://www.yahoo.com/sports/m/6d3689da-24bb-38f0-aa7b-8dbaa09f393a/ss_knicks-lose-tank-bowl-with.html
Post by: Deeks on March 20, 2018, 05:03:41 PM
Funny thing about American sports. The worst place team is "entitled" to the best player providing that team don't owe another team a draft pick.They lamenting that the Knicks lose the tank bowl, but mark Cuban is fined for admitting his Dallas team had tanked in previous years.
Post by: royal on January 31, 2019, 04:33:57 PM

Adrian Wojnarowski

@wojespn

New York has agreed with Dallas on trade that includes Kristaps Porzingis, Courtney Lee, Tim Hardaway Jr., for Wesley Matthews, Dennis Smith Jr. and DeAndre Jordan, league sources tell ESPN. Players and agents are being notified of particulars. Deal may include more draft assets.
3:50 PM - Jan 31, 2019
Post by: royal on February 11, 2019, 08:58:59 PM
What's up with the Knicks ?

The Knicks’ loss to Cleveland on Monday is their 17th straight. That’s the longest single-season losing streak in franchise history. They lost 16 in a row in 2014-15, when they finished with a franchise-low 17 wins. NYK (10-46) has the worst record in the NBA & has lost 30 of 32

Post by: soccerman on February 12, 2019, 07:54:57 AM

The Knicks’ loss to Cleveland on Monday is their 17th straight. That’s the longest single-season losing streak in franchise history. They lost 16 in a row in 2014-15, when they finished with a franchise-low 17 wins. NYK (10-46) has the worst record in the NBA & has lost 30 of 32

They tanking for iron, like a lion in Zion
Post by: royal on February 13, 2019, 10:53:31 AM

They tanking for iron, like a lion in Zion

Post by: royal on June 13, 2020, 11:13:46 AM
Report: Ex-Knicks guard Gerald Wilkins arrested twice, hospitalized for mental health evaluation

Former New York Knicks guard Gerald Wilkins was reportedly arrested twice in the past two weeks in Georgia and sent to a hospital for a mental health evaluation, according to the New York Daily News.
Wilkins, who played for the Knicks from 1985-1992, reportedly locked himself inside his girlfriend’s room for more than two hours on June 6 before disabling the fire alarm and pouring “accelerants and other liquids through cracks on the door repeatedly,” including rubbing alcohol, bleach, soap, Epsom salt, water and urine, according to the report.
https://www.yahoo.com/sports/new-york-knicks-gerald-wilkins-arrested-hospitalized-mental-health-evaluation-dominique-damien-213744223.html