Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on December 12, 2012, 05:48:25 PM

Title: Thread for the T&T vs Martinique Game (14-Dec-2012)
Post by: Flex on December 12, 2012, 05:48:25 PM
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Martinique Caribbean Cup game in Antigua (18:00) on the 14th of December 2012 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:
1. Chat Room (http://chat.socawarriors.net).

Possible Online Streams.
1. Ustream (http://www.ustream.tv/channel/kick-off2)
2. Caribbean Cup Antigua (http://www.facebook.com/CaribbeanCupAntigua2012?ref=hl)

Possible TV Station.
To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers
1.Jan-Michael Williams (W Connection), 21.Marvin Phillip (Central FC).

Defenders
5.Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver Whitecaps), 2.Aubrey David (Caledonia AIA), 20.Seon Power (North East Stars), 3.Joevin Jones (W Connection), 4.Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), 6.Kareem Moses (North East Stars), 17.Daneil Cyrus (Song Lam Nghe).

Midfielders
10.Kevin Molino (Unattached), 7.Hughtun Hector (W Connection - Injury), 12.Lester Peltier (Slovan Bratislava - Injury), 11.Kevon Carter (Defence Force), 16.Keyon Edwards (Caledonia AIA), 18.Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA), 8.Ataullah Guerra (Caledonia AIA), Clyde Leon (W Connection - Possible call-up).

Forwards
14.Willis Plaza (Song Lam Nghe), 13.Richard Roy (Defence Force), 9.Devorn Jorsling (Defence Force), 15.Jamal Gay (Caledonia AIA), Jason Marcano (St Ann's Rangers - Possible call-up).

Martinique Squad

To be updated.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.
Title: Re: Thread for the T&T vs Martinique Game (14-Dec-2012)
Post by: Tallman on December 12, 2012, 06:52:29 PM
We cyah play de ass wit Martinique nah. We beat dem in de last two encounters, but before dat, dey beat we three times in a row including a match at de Gold Cup.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 12, 2012, 07:07:13 PM
Time to say some novena
Post by: frico on December 12, 2012, 07:20:16 PM
We cyah play de ass wit Martinique nah. We beat dem in de last two encounters, but before dat, dey beat we three times in a row including a match at de Gold Cup.
Man we have played crap in all the games so far and we may just play an absolute blinder against Martinique,stranger things have happened.
Post by: just cool on December 13, 2012, 04:26:04 AM
We dun over achieve already, anything from here on in is gravy. ;)
Post by: frico on December 13, 2012, 09:58:10 AM
I still think there could be a big surprise waiting,the thing is we played badly in all the matches so far and "the law of averages" we are due at least one good match...a win against Martinique,now that would be better than gravy.There is also the fact that the boys may feel better because the weight is off their shoulders now,lets hope they play the football we know they can play.
Post by: dreamer on December 13, 2012, 10:14:26 AM
Good point frico. You could be right, the pyschological stress was more than we might have known. In the video, keeper Jan was just sobbing and sobbing nonstop ?with joy like a man heavily traumatized silently by a prolonged painful high stakes war. That to me is evidence of hidden weight on his shoulders. So now they can play and ramajay! Push Molino up front and wide and pull 3 defenders with him on the left, Marcano on the right to pull 2 with his dribbling, layoff to the centre and BAM! Leon blasts a 25 yard corker down the center and T&T is back! Daiz a page from de playbook for Friday people. Iz all tactics and we had become too predictable and neutralized up front. Have to have some surprises and constantly changing tactics. Dem martiniquans eh stupid atall
Post by: weary1969 on December 13, 2012, 10:55:37 AM

CO-SIGNNNNNNN
Post by: theworm2345 on December 13, 2012, 10:57:42 AM
I don't know if any of you have watched Martinique in this tournament, but they have been very good.  Very well organized, solid at the back, and capable going forward.  I think for T&T to have a chance they have to avoid conceding, certainly in the first 70 or so minutes of the match.  Plus, T&T have lacked any creativity going forward.  One thing that may help is their winger/full back Gael Germany was injured yesterday (not sure how bad) and he has been influential.  If the coaches are smart they will watch the video of Guadeloupe 3 - 3 Martinique, as that is the only time in the Caribbean Cup they have conceded more than one, and its a relatively similar team.  Martinique do have weaknesses, its just that I'm not sure T&T can exploit them.
Post by: socalion on December 13, 2012, 11:56:29 AM
w.a.f.r ..sigh  !!  lawd ah feel like ah weight just come off meh shoulder ., by saying so it must also be a huge relief psychologically for all the players involved to achieve the first goal of getting to the gold cup .. it wasn't pretty  but i will take that anyday ... so with that said  let me congratulate jan michael williams and and his team mates for getting there ( to the goldcup )  ..... and  wishing the team  more success for  the remainder of the tournament....  to jan micheal williams a special word of encouragement to you not forgetting what you had to endure  over the past year .. your strength is  remarkable   continue to inspire  your team mates ....  you all have my best wishes  congrats once again ... looking forward to seeing  you guys at the goldcup next year ....ah cyar wait......
Post by: frico on December 13, 2012, 01:06:11 PM
dreamer:
You have made a good summing up of the situation and Jan Williams showed the weight of stress by all dem tears he shed,as i say we are due a good game and who knows if the Martiniqans isn't due a stinker,I feel like there is more surprises to come.Hope has risen again and whatever happens we can look at the future with a smile,i would love to see Jan smilling to-morrow.
Post by: truetrini on December 13, 2012, 01:29:04 PM
I don't know if any of you have watched Martinique in this tournament, but they have been very good.  Very well organized, solid at the back, and capable going forward.  I think for T&T to have a chance they have to avoid conceding, certainly in the first 70 or so minutes of the match.  Plus, T&T have lacked any creativity going forward.  One thing that may help is their winger/full back Gael Germany was injured yesterday (not sure how bad) and he has been influential.  If the coaches are smart they will watch the video of Guadeloupe 3 - 3 Martinique, as that is the only time in the Caribbean Cup they have conceded more than one, and its a relatively similar team.  Martinique do have weaknesses, its just that I'm not sure T&T can exploit them.

Listen I like you a lot.  BUT.....according to all your predictions/analyses we were not supposed to progress.  T&T is a better team than we have thus far shown and now the pressure is off, we will see a different team.

T&T 3 Martinique 0

We will not only prevail, the Cup is ours for the taking.
Post by: theworm2345 on December 13, 2012, 03:06:31 PM
Listen I like you a lot.  BUT.....according to all your predictions/analyses we were not supposed to progress.  T&T is a better team than we have thus far shown and now the pressure is off, we will see a different team.

T&T 3 Martinique 0

Where did I say that?  Even if I had said that I wouldn't have been far off  ;D.  I assure you T&T will not beat Martinique 3-0.
Post by: FireBrand on December 13, 2012, 03:11:38 PM

T&T 3 Martinique 0

Where did I say that?  Even if I had said that I wouldn't have been far off  ;D.  I assure you T&T will not beat Martinique 3-0.

So what's your prediction worm?
Post by: D.H.W on December 13, 2012, 03:21:06 PM
Game will finish 2-1 Trinidad , i have spoken
Post by: kaliman2006 on December 13, 2012, 03:59:16 PM

I agree. I remember when our team hammered seven goals past Marinique at the Queen's Park Oval. That was one of the greatest days for T&T football and was a great sports day on the whole. On that day, Brian Lara was on his way to breaking Sobers' record at the time.

But that was back in 1994....

Now, we live in a different time, where the golden generation has long departed into the sunset and we now find ourselves in the midst of a veritable footballing dystopia, where our team just barely qualifies for a Caribbean Cup semi.

Sorry, did not mean to ramble or sound so nostalgic. It is just I remember what T&T football used to be.
Post by: mukumsplau on December 13, 2012, 04:07:50 PM
to tell u how tnt football has realy disillusioned me over the past couple years is wrapped up in this question...

why are we playing martinique? i see its a recent date...
Post by: Tallman on December 13, 2012, 04:08:38 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/_NuI1S9f5Hc
Post by: theworm2345 on December 13, 2012, 04:44:06 PM
So what's your prediction worm?
Hard to call, as someone pointed out who knows if T&T will all of the sudden play to their capability.  If form holds, I'd say 1- or 2-0 to Martinique.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 13, 2012, 04:46:50 PM
The only way we resting 3 on Martinique is if we score early and/or some seriously freaky shit happens  (which is not to say we can't win the game).
Post by: Flex on December 13, 2012, 05:36:20 PM
Apart from Hector and Peltier (injury), Aurbey David is also out (two yellow cards).

Post by: Flex on December 13, 2012, 05:42:18 PM
T&T face off with Martinique.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men’s team will attempt to accomplish another goal in the Caribbean Cup finals, this time to overcome semi-final opponents Martinique and secure a spot in Sunday’s Final when both countries clash in the opening game of a double header at the Antigua Recreation Ground, St John’s from 5pm on Friday.

T&T are already assured US $30,000 for reaching the last four but they have a keen eye on the Caribbean Cup and the winners cheque valued at US$ 100,000. The other two semi-finalists Haiti and Cuba will square off from 7pm,also looking to book a place in Sunday’s Final at the Sir Vivian Richard’s Stadium.

The two losing semi-finalists will meet in the third place playoffs at the same venue. The Runners-up will take home US $75,000 with third and fourth placed teams will take away US $50,000 and US $30,000 respectively.

Read More (http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/12021-tat-face-off-with-martinique.html)

Post by: Big Magician on December 13, 2012, 09:41:14 PM
I WANT THE CUP
Post by: KND2 on December 13, 2012, 09:52:58 PM
Martinique have a good squad including France and England based players but we might take them since this group has a good vibes and fighting spirit....... TheY have been down and out and rise to the occasion and with Jamaica  out TNT have a chance to take it
Post by: D.H.W on December 13, 2012, 09:54:54 PM
T&T will win. I'm thinking positive
Post by: asylumseeker on December 13, 2012, 10:32:55 PM
The Cuba-Haiti game should be entertaining. Tune eeen.
Post by: Jah Gol on December 14, 2012, 07:11:24 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/_NuI1S9f5Hc
Shuan need a mic with a decent windscreen and filter for the camera.
Post by: injunchile on December 14, 2012, 11:35:30 AM
T&T vs Haiti - Finalist for the Caribbean Cup. Christmas coming early for the Forumites.
 Believe and the miracle will happen, An early goal and then catch them on the counter. Get the ball to Guerra who could run down the middle and 3-0 is possible.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 14, 2012, 12:11:10 PM
Backing Cuba!
Post by: theworm2345 on December 14, 2012, 01:41:26 PM
Backing Cuba!
Only way I see them getting through is a penalty shootout.
Post by: theworm2345 on December 14, 2012, 02:59:39 PM
Match about to start, I take back what I said, seems half the Martinique team is gone.
Post by: Banter Banton on December 14, 2012, 03:07:11 PM
f**king stream off air
Post by: Forever Warrior on December 14, 2012, 03:08:51 PM
now going and ask if anybody have a link
Post by: kaliman2006 on December 14, 2012, 03:10:12 PM
The usstream link is back up

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/kick-off2
Post by: soccerman on December 14, 2012, 03:13:43 PM
we in de chat room allyuh
Post by: FF on December 14, 2012, 03:27:03 PM
Match about to start, I take back what I said, seems half the Martinique team is gone.

how you mean? dey gone back to France?
Post by: theworm2345 on December 14, 2012, 03:28:31 PM

how you mean? dey gone back to France?
I think some are just rested, some went back.  They are missing 6 players who started all of the first three matches.  Their starting XI is all local-based.

chat.socawarriors.net (http://chat.socawarriors.net)
Post by: D.H.W on December 14, 2012, 03:29:34 PM
gooood gooood !  :worried:
Post by: Jah Gol on December 14, 2012, 03:47:29 PM
Two syllables , Geh - Ra. It not hard.
Post by: Rastaman on December 14, 2012, 04:04:28 PM
Two syllables , Geh - Ra. It not hard.
lol...ah now ketch.....was saying the same thing.
Post by: Fyzoman on December 14, 2012, 04:31:07 PM
So we ha to listen to dis clown saying Guerrera whole effing game...Steups!!!
Post by: jr sams on December 14, 2012, 04:32:20 PM
Martinique score...nice goal.
Post by: jr sams on December 14, 2012, 04:32:50 PM
1-0 Martinique...76min
Post by: MEP on December 14, 2012, 04:33:59 PM
tnt is a tactically poor team...like that terrorist cyah even coach he way out of a paper bag
Post by: jr sams on December 14, 2012, 04:38:02 PM
aimless passes...too much long ball from within the TnT half into the Martinique half..
Post by: truetrini on December 14, 2012, 04:39:13 PM
So we ha to listen to dis clown saying Guerrera whole effing game...Steups!!!

de man spend 3 years in Carerra..wha allyuh want?  lol
Post by: jr sams on December 14, 2012, 04:40:26 PM
Um....almost a 2nd...big save by Jan
Post by: truetrini on December 14, 2012, 04:40:52 PM
This Martinique is not a better team though.  WE lacking a forward and an atacking midfielder..Why Molino was on the bench to start?  Poor choice by the coaching staff.
Post by: truetrini on December 14, 2012, 04:43:04 PM
Coaching, Coaching and coaching...that is the difference in this game.
Post by: jr sams on December 14, 2012, 04:43:32 PM
This Martinique is not a better team though.  WE lacking a forward and an atacking midfielder..Why Molino was on the bench to start?  Poor choice by the coaching staff.
Agreed...just a brilliant play by the goal scorer
Post by: truetrini on December 14, 2012, 04:45:14 PM
Gay like a log.  the ball just bouncing off the man....now score
Post by: FF on December 14, 2012, 04:46:37 PM
i now thinking we toothless and we score
Post by: truetrini on December 14, 2012, 04:46:50 PM
GOAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: jr sams on December 14, 2012, 04:47:00 PM
Goal TNT!!!!!1

1-1

Roy
Post by: Fyzoman on December 14, 2012, 04:47:18 PM
A A look bacahnal Roy equalize!!!!
Post by: MEP on December 14, 2012, 04:47:46 PM
no we are lacking a midfield
Post by: D.H.W on December 14, 2012, 04:48:01 PM
Goaaal
Post by: Bally on December 14, 2012, 04:52:55 PM
boy them fellas can't make a proper pass
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 14, 2012, 04:54:32 PM
no we are lacking a midfield
This.
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2012, 04:58:18 PM
What game you watching dude?
Post by: jr sams on December 14, 2012, 04:58:42 PM
Amazing to me that at this level, fundamentals like trapping, passing and crossing are causing men problems
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2012, 04:59:16 PM
I think the boys looking real good, i like their knock.
Post by: Deeks on December 14, 2012, 05:00:29 PM
This tournament is well attended, boy!
Post by: chelsealife on December 14, 2012, 05:01:03 PM
What game you watching dude?
Wondering the same. I dont think the team is playing badly, not world class but this is our best game so far in this tournament
Post by: D.H.W on December 14, 2012, 05:06:43 PM
Two nasty drag on that left side. Oh gord
Post by: Deeks on December 14, 2012, 05:06:50 PM
Allyuh eh see them 2 drag. Go Trini, Go!
Post by: chelsealife on December 14, 2012, 05:07:31 PM
"Guerera" (sic) is a beast  ;D
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2012, 05:07:47 PM
Come on molino yuh have to score dat mannnnnnnn!!!!
Post by: jr sams on December 14, 2012, 05:07:55 PM
Guera hit two drag and square up nice for Molino...
Post by: Deeks on December 14, 2012, 05:07:58 PM
So far this is the best I see these guys play.
Post by: jr sams on December 14, 2012, 05:09:07 PM
Game seem to change when Molino came on
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2012, 05:23:28 PM
Jamal gay is real ded wood yes.
Post by: chelsealife on December 14, 2012, 05:24:16 PM
^^ lol is best Keyon take up d friggin ball and pelt it steupssssssssss
Post by: de_redman on December 14, 2012, 05:26:04 PM
well last has tnt been involved in a penalty shootout?
Post by: Bally on December 14, 2012, 05:31:59 PM
long ball  :banginghead: :banginghead:
Post by: Flex on December 14, 2012, 05:32:21 PM
Down to penalties for T&T and Jan is known for saving penalties for W Connection.

FT - Martinique 1 (Kevin Parsemain 76) v T&T 1 (Richard Roy 90)
Title: Re: Re: Thread for the T&T vs Martinique Game (14-Dec-2012)
Post by: D.H.W on December 14, 2012, 05:32:45 PM
well last has tnt been involved in a penalty shootout?

Can't remember
Post by: D.H.W on December 14, 2012, 05:37:19 PM
Stress
Post by: Flex on December 14, 2012, 05:37:31 PM
Martinique up first, number 12 taking it.

Scores...

Post by: Flex on December 14, 2012, 05:38:41 PM
Theobald up now...

Goal !!!!

1-1

Post by: Flex on December 14, 2012, 05:39:33 PM
Martinique number 8 their captain scores...

2-1

Post by: de_redman on December 14, 2012, 05:39:57 PM
cah take this... be back in 5  :nailbiting:
Post by: Flex on December 14, 2012, 05:40:14 PM
Molino scores...

2-2

Post by: Flex on December 14, 2012, 05:40:56 PM
Martinique number 7 scores...

3-2

Post by: Flex on December 14, 2012, 05:41:42 PM
Mitchell scores...

3-3

Post by: Dinner Mints on December 14, 2012, 05:42:38 PM
Martinique gon choke just now.
Post by: Flex on December 14, 2012, 05:42:42 PM
Martinique number 17 Parsemain scores

4-3

Post by: Flex on December 14, 2012, 05:43:09 PM
Gonzales scores...

4-4

Post by: chelsealife on December 14, 2012, 05:44:04 PM
and he Neymar's it
Post by: Flex on December 14, 2012, 05:44:11 PM
Martnique number 9 now...

Jan saves it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Post by: de_redman on December 14, 2012, 05:44:38 PM
 :nailbiting:
Post by: jr sams on December 14, 2012, 05:44:44 PM
Big Save Jan!!!!
Post by: Flex on December 14, 2012, 05:44:57 PM
Guerra wins it for T&T....

5-4

Post by: Dinner Mints on December 14, 2012, 05:45:08 PM
Braap.
Post by: Bally on December 14, 2012, 05:45:21 PM
yessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
Post by: D.H.W on December 14, 2012, 05:45:29 PM
Boom!
Post by: de_redman on December 14, 2012, 05:45:36 PM
 :applause:
Post by: FF on December 14, 2012, 05:45:43 PM
good going fellas... keep de dream alive.

work in progress.
Post by: Observer on December 14, 2012, 05:46:15 PM
Congratulations! Good composure on the PK's
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 14, 2012, 05:46:43 PM
Well done lads, well done, keep pressing
Post by: Deeks on December 14, 2012, 05:46:47 PM
Congrats, Guys! Well played. This is the best I have seen them played in years. Tell me ah lie.
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 14, 2012, 05:47:04 PM
Bad news: Ah have to hear 'Guerrera' for another 90 minutes.
Post by: Bally on December 14, 2012, 05:47:12 PM
bess penalty kick off i seen in ahh while
Post by: jr sams on December 14, 2012, 05:47:19 PM
Have to say, well struck penalties..
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 14, 2012, 05:48:16 PM
Congrats, Guys! Well played. This is the best I have seen them played in years. Tell me ah lie.
In years? I'd say Costa Rica under Latas.
Post by: D.H.W on December 14, 2012, 05:48:33 PM
At least we ain't England
Post by: Fyzoman on December 14, 2012, 05:50:21 PM
Is it me or is Guerrera-ah mean-Guerra ah rel friggin BALLA!?!?!?!
Post by: D.H.W on December 14, 2012, 05:50:38 PM

Yeh that was a nice brand
Post by: Big Magician on December 14, 2012, 05:51:22 PM
IT'S COMING HOME   IT'S COMING HOME
Post by: chelsealife on December 14, 2012, 05:53:20 PM
Come on Haiti, give Cuba some licks so we could thank allyuh with a beating in d final  ;D
Post by: theworm2345 on December 14, 2012, 05:53:50 PM
As I said in the chat, seems someone up there is smiling on T&T
Post by: chelsealife on December 14, 2012, 05:54:52 PM
Viv Richards Stadium pitch much better than this one so hopefully we play even better on Sunday
Post by: kaliman2006 on December 14, 2012, 05:54:56 PM
At least we ain't England

Yuh eh nice eh, but I see your point

Post by: Fyzoman on December 14, 2012, 05:55:32 PM
Sorry ah didn't read what other men had to say bout Guerra drag them...but is not de drag dem (though dem drag was Yorke-esque) alone man, fella look hungry and skillful and like to take on man!!!
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2012, 05:55:55 PM
Ah tell allyuh tuh leavveee meh fackin boyss alone, it's only me and bigmag who had faith in the lads, now allyuh runnin tuh butter them up.  anyway, good win lads!!!!!!!!! allyuh played like real warriors!! :applause: :applause:
Post by: D.H.W on December 14, 2012, 05:56:06 PM
Game will finish 2-1 Trinidad , i have spoken

T&T will win. I'm thinking positive

:)
Post by: Observer on December 14, 2012, 05:56:12 PM
Dam Friday night in Antigua, nobody watching football.  :-\
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2012, 05:56:47 PM
Congrats to the coaching staff, ah real big up to hustsonn baba charles our talisman.
Post by: truetrini on December 14, 2012, 05:57:31 PM
The better team won.
Post by: chelsealife on December 14, 2012, 05:57:39 PM
Sorry ah didn't read what other men had to say bout Guerra drag them...but is not de drag dem (though dem drag was Yorke-esque) alone man, fella look hungry and skillful and like to take on man!!!
Yea he come alive today. Hope this is finally his time  :beermug:
Post by: truetrini on December 14, 2012, 05:58:11 PM
Sam  talk nah.
Post by: D.H.W on December 14, 2012, 05:58:24 PM

dem still sour
Post by: Big Magician on December 14, 2012, 05:58:30 PM
TULLA TULLA TULLA

Post by: Deeks on December 14, 2012, 05:59:16 PM

OK, I stretchin it a bit.
Post by: chelsealife on December 14, 2012, 05:59:43 PM
Ah tell allyuh tuh leavveee meh fackin boyss alone, it's only me and bigmag who had faith in the lads, now allyuh runnin tuh butter them up.  anyway, good win lads!!!!!!!!! allyuh played like real warriors!! :applause: :applause:
Lol i dont think anybody would've been here if they were not supporting the team but know whey yuh coming from.  :thumbsup:
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2012, 06:00:11 PM

dem still sour
Boyyyyiii ! dem men still sour even as i type! like they though somebody was supposed to hand dem the cup bc they host the ting or what?
Post by: bingie man on December 14, 2012, 06:00:45 PM
4 REAL Guerrera REAL BALLA ( SKILLA'Z) LOL
Post by: Deeks on December 14, 2012, 06:01:43 PM
Viv Richards Stadium pitch much better than this one so hopefully we play even better on Sunday

Yep, the surface much, much beter. The ARG was terrible.
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2012, 06:01:51 PM
Haiti have ah better defense than cuba, it wiil be hard for cuba to score on them.
Post by: soccerman on December 14, 2012, 06:02:00 PM
Is it me or is Guerrera-ah mean-Guerra ah rel friggin BALLA!?!?!?!
He's a balla...he real rip tonight
Post by: kaliman2006 on December 14, 2012, 06:02:23 PM

dem still sour

Good for dem!! That will teach their groundskeepers not to chase our boys off the field while they are still training.

No stinking broughtupcy
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2012, 06:03:20 PM
Jamal gay and jorslin will have to step up next game yes, they real fackin up boy!
Post by: frico on December 14, 2012, 06:04:46 PM
These boys have improved with every match so it just tells you how good they could be if they get some quality opposition to play against.Today was their best match but their passing and holding and shielding the ball needs some work,some of their first touches were also in need of work.The Martinique forwards looked more threathening in front of goal than we looked but who is bloody complaining,BRAVO TO OUR LOCAL BOYS.
I have been waiting 6 years for something good about TT football and finally,finally I will smile again when I talk about TT football,we are back on track although we have work to do,I am reminded of an old Chinese proverb,"EVERY JOURNEY STARTS WITH A SINGLE STEP",we have made that step. :beermug:
Post by: kaliman2006 on December 14, 2012, 06:05:17 PM
Alright, I hope that Shabazz and Charles are scout Cuba and Haiti well.
Post by: Big Magician on December 14, 2012, 06:05:49 PM

sing it over and over and louder and louder
Post by: D.H.W on December 14, 2012, 06:06:07 PM

dem still sour

Good for dem!! That will teach their groundskeepers to chase our boys off the field while they are still training.

No stinking broughtupcy

Post by: soccerman on December 14, 2012, 06:06:17 PM
9th title :beermug:
Post by: lefty on December 14, 2012, 06:11:55 PM
TT v jamaica goh be one heeeelll of a final boy ah cyar wait  :beermug: :devil:
Post by: kaliman2006 on December 14, 2012, 06:14:11 PM

Easy, yuh know the yardies go come back wit how dey have bigger fish to fry. Remember, we say the same thing when the situation was reversed some time ago.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 14, 2012, 06:14:20 PM
good stuff. theobald played some good football tonight. if carter can keep regaining form he could challenge peltier at right wing or play at the level of hector or guerra.
Post by: chelsealife on December 14, 2012, 06:17:20 PM
play at the level of hector or guerra.
What level Hector does play @??  ??? ??? ???
Post by: Observer on December 14, 2012, 06:19:21 PM
Haiti have ah better defense than cuba, it wiil be hard for cuba to score on them.
[/q

Cuba up 1-0 They eh letting Haiti breath.
Post by: Big Magician on December 14, 2012, 06:19:56 PM
plz confirm if we have any suspended players for the final  ( Bleeder ??)
Post by: kaliman2006 on December 14, 2012, 06:22:02 PM
In the chatroom, some people were saying that the T&T's equalizer was offside. I honestly could not tell from the angle I saw it at.

Anyone think our goal was offside?
Post by: Big Magician on December 14, 2012, 06:22:49 PM
who gives a f@ck
Post by: chelsealife on December 14, 2012, 06:23:55 PM
In the chatroom, some people were saying that the T&T's equalizer was offside. I honestly could not tell from the angle I saw it at.

Looked like it, seemed as if he was tracking back but hell, whats done is done and we deserved our win :)
Post by: Flex on December 14, 2012, 06:25:38 PM

No, he will play in the finals...
Post by: D.H.W on December 14, 2012, 06:26:49 PM

Yeh looked off side , but without a proper side on slow motion replay , cant be sure. I could be wrong though
Post by: Dinner Mints on December 14, 2012, 06:28:02 PM
He look way offside to me. But say wha. I eh see too many Martiniquan complaints. If they ain't worried, I ain't.
Post by: Big Magician on December 14, 2012, 06:28:19 PM
thanks Flex
Post by: kaliman2006 on December 14, 2012, 06:30:07 PM

Looked like it, seemed as if he was tracking back but hell, whats done is done and we deserved our win :)

I'm inclined to think so. I had a slight attack of conscience, but given what our football has been through since 2006, I think we deserve some sort of luck.
Post by: jr sams on December 14, 2012, 06:33:48 PM
Bleeder picked up his first yellow today so he safe...
Cyar remember who else got carded today, but here are the previous cards (based on stats I found on Wiki)
Molino in the Haiti game
David in the Antigua game
David in the DR game (so I assume he missed the game today)
Gonzales in DR game
Carter in DR game
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 14, 2012, 06:36:13 PM
play at the level of hector or guerra.
What level Hector does play @??  ??? ??? ???

the most consistent and effective attacking midfielder we have actually. this is not the spanish national team, or god forbid chelsea. this is little t&t.
Post by: lefty on December 14, 2012, 06:50:39 PM

Easy, yuh know the yardies go come back wit how dey have bigger fish to fry. Remember, we say the same thing when the situation was reversed some time ago.

nah jus poking at d d arrogant f'ers lil bit d opportunities have been so few these last few years :(
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2012, 06:57:49 PM
Dem fawkin antiguan commentators real shameless boy! they eh givin we no credit @ all for reaching the finals "oh how we goals was offside, how we had to scrape back from one down to equalize, how penalty kicks save us, how we haiti saved us," and all kinda fackry!  ah tell llyuh dem was nasty ppl.    :shameonyou:
Post by: weary1969 on December 14, 2012, 06:58:12 PM

I agree. I remember when our team hammered seven goals past Marinique at the Queen's Park Oval. That was one of the greatest days for T&T football and was a great sports day on the whole. On that day, Brian Lara was on his way to breaking Sobers' record at the time.

Now, we live in a different time, where the golden generation has long departed into the sunset and we now find ourselves in the midst of a veritable footballing dystopia, where our team just barely qualifies for a Caribbean Cup semi.

Sorry, did not mean to ramble or sound so nostalgic. It is just I remember what T&T football used to be.

U 4got it was d same weekend Lara was goin after Sobers record and updates were bein provided.
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2012, 07:00:04 PM
Allyuh worried bout offside, that ref wasn't givin we nutten! who knows if the goal was offside anyway, did allyuh go back and check it out. i seriously doubt that a fifa licensed lines man would make such a huge mistake especially during the semis of a big regional tourney.
Post by: palos on December 14, 2012, 07:16:39 PM
Congrats T&T.  I have been pessimistic all along...mostly frustration with the state of the game in T&T.  Ah know I give nuff blows to de team fuh how dey play but ah know dem fellas tryin dey best which is all you can ask.

Congrats too to the coahing staff.  I eh agree with shabazz co coachin or whatever...but results is wha matter so I will eat meh crow and always hope against hope that T&T....administration, coaches, and players...will come together and achieve their potential.

Post by: che on December 14, 2012, 07:19:24 PM
Dem fawkin antiguan commentators real shameless boy! they eh givin we no credit @ all for reaching the finals "oh how we goals was offside, how we had to scrape back from one down to equalize, how penalty kicks save us, how we haiti saved us," and all kinda fackry!  ah tell llyuh dem was nasty ppl.    :shameonyou:

Anybody else heard them the other night say that any one of Haiti , Mart , and Cuba are strong contenders to win the cup? The only mention of T&T was that we were not as good as we were in the past.
Post by: Tierra on December 14, 2012, 07:20:08 PM
We in the finals i"m glad lets hope the team step it up and use this win as motivation to bring home the cup.
Post by: che on December 14, 2012, 07:25:50 PM
Congrats T&T.  I have been pessimistic all along...mostly frustration with the state of the game in T&T.  Ah know I give nuff blows to de team fuh how dey play but ah know dem fellas tryin dey best which is all you can ask.

Congrats too to the coahing staff.  I eh agree with shabazz co coachin or whatever...but results is wha matter so I will eat meh crow and always hope against hope that T&T....administration, coaches, and players...will come together and achieve their potential.

I too have to eat a snack pack of crow. I stayed at work to drink beer with the boys. I thought  that when I got home I would see that Mart beat us. So I Have to Congratulate and Apologize to the Soca Warriors for my lack of faith.
Post by: theworm2345 on December 14, 2012, 07:35:43 PM

I too have to eat a snack pack of crow. I stayed at work to drink beer with the boys. I thought  that when I got home I would see that Mart beat us. So I Have to Congratulate and Apologize to the Soca Warriors for my lack of faith.
I'll be eating a Thanksgiving dinner's worth after my earlier predictions (even if I thought Martinique would have their A squad)
Post by: kaliman2006 on December 14, 2012, 07:57:55 PM

U 4got it was d same weekend Lara was goin after Sobers record and updates were bein provided.

I eh forget. I thought I had alluded to it in the bolded part of the my quoted post.

Sorry for the misunderstanding.
Post by: Fyzoman on December 14, 2012, 08:12:23 PM
YO!!!!

We Lebron James look-alike keeper deserves special mucho kudos for dat save in dying minutes to keep we ass in de game, I though for sure dat was ah goal!!!!

Big up yuhself skipper!!!
Post by: dreamer on December 14, 2012, 08:13:26 PM
Fellahs dat was de most gratifying victory fuh T&T in years. Years ah tell yuh. Ah take a while to post to let it sink een.

First, congrats to those who made it possible to see this game .... live!
Boy, what to say. Daiz do or die T&T diggin' deep, on show. I sayin' what comes to mind ..

1. We looked like a purposeful team with some real pedigree again, occasional lapse, but yuh could see that this is a footballing nation. Even the jealous commentators saying, to paraphrase, "T&T clearly has technical ability, one thing yuh cyah take away from them" as they watched Molino, Bleeder, Guerra etc. dancing with the ball in swarming Martiniquan traffic.
2. Guerra boy. A new star has finally established himself and out of the li'l-boy-geyyin'-disciplined-by-Fenwick syndrome. Strong like a beast, run fuh 120 minutes, skillful ... and nerves of steel to handle de final penalty.
3. Molino. Great. Just great.
4. Coach tactics good to save Molino for the end.
5. Penalty taking fluidity something to behold. Nuff respect for this. Take a bow Proleague.
6. Jan !! Penalty saving KING ... again!!  Borse!
7. Roy! Waiss. Yuh real real represent as a super sub in de dying minutes dread. Wow! If it wasn't for your equalizer, it woulda be real tears and civil war on this site. Cool calm finish, honed by the practice in T&T's Proleague again! Skeenos ... yuh smilin' eh?
8. Power. Respec'. All those who call yuh name with disrepect, dey go choke and sing yuh praises now. We all make errors but yuh never gave up even as yuh muscles was breakin' down after 120 minutes. Yuh fought hard and you will be surely selected again. Thank you.
9. Gonzales. Newcomer and big penalty. Respec' breds.
10. Cyrus. Mr big throw. Yuh real run down ball and tried yuh best to track back to the left wing back during Marinique's counter attacks.
11. Gay. Yuh struggled today. I eh lorse faith in yuh so do frighten. It eh easy out dey playing Stern-stylee with yuh back to the Martinique defense. Everybody go geh dey turn to shine and star. Yesterday Roy was de bobolee and today he is a star. So it go.
12. Mitchell. Nice penalty star. Cool as a cucumbah.
13.  Bleeder. Rock of forkin Gibraltah. Mr super dependable, simple and sweet, find man open, change play. Borse.
14. And no Hector!!!!! ... and we still get tru? Could you believe it. One of T&T's most exciting, creative, intelligent and talented players to watch. The sacrifice to come here and risk yuh Vietnamese club career was worth it. If Song Nam Totee (or whetever is dey fleckin' name) doh want yuh should you geh injured, tell dem to eff deyself, ... yuh go be on a sweet new shop window soon, come Gold Cup. Tell dem to scrunt wit' dey stinkin' noodles.
15. Jones and de rest, thanks eh. Nice playin'. Carter nice going on de right, yuh coming back. .. and doh fuhget Edwards, an under-recognized talent in midfield. Watch out for him.

Real nailbiting drama, I eh go lie. We comin' back folks. Lots of work to be done but this is a GREAT start to a sweet fairytale story.
Post by: just cool on December 14, 2012, 08:28:47 PM
Bleeder get ah rating of 10 from me, the man marshall dat fackin midfield like ah real general!    :salute: :salute:
Post by: BESBRAHN on December 14, 2012, 08:31:27 PM
Love dreamer's synopsis,lol. As Shabazz said before the game T&T football has to take baby steps to get back to where it was...basics still missing like trapping etc but good grit by the Warriors. Cuba will be tough but Warriors can do it. Been waiting a while for Guerra to get a proper run in the team as he is the most talented midfielder in T&T..natural skill like that. With the addition of the foreign based we can put up a good showing in the Gold cup...still not sold on Hutson Charles as coach but well done all the same.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 14, 2012, 08:47:14 PM
If Song Nam Totee (or whetever is dey fleckin' name) doh want yuh should you geh injured, tell dem to eff deyself, ... yuh go be on a sweet new shop window soon, come Gold Cup. Tell dem to scrunt wit' dey stinkin' noodles.

oh lawwwddd!!!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:  :busshead:
Post by: D.H.W on December 14, 2012, 08:53:56 PM
They knock around the ball decent today. still losing possession in the attacking 3rd , but the best ive seen them play whole tournament
Post by: Deeks on December 14, 2012, 08:56:07 PM
Bleeder get ah rating of 10 from me, the man marshall dat fackin midfield like ah real general!    :salute: :salute:

Yes, I have been one of his critic. He is a WC veteran and should make his prescence be felt in the middle. Today was justification. As a matter of fact the TT the defence was good. I did not see Mart. running thru we middle like DR. We were more compact. Good luck on Sunday.
Post by: Peong on December 14, 2012, 09:13:14 PM
Some good news tonight.  Well done fellas!
Post by: truetrini on December 14, 2012, 09:30:52 PM
This Trini team is very decent defensively.  very!

We need to have Molino on song and we need Peltier to stay focused and committed.   The biggest hurdle in this team is the penetration in the attacking third, once that is addressed we will be alright.

Belief and consistency are key.   The team spirit is superb, the core of this team has been together for a while, with many coming up under Anton Corneal.  (who vex lorse.)

I am no fan of the two coach system, but I feel that will be resolved shortly.

We will beat Cuba in the final, w e are a good passing team, and apart from the lapses in the group stages we look better passing the ball than any other team bar Dominican Republic.

Post by: asylumseeker on December 14, 2012, 09:54:03 PM
This Trini team is very decent defensively.  very!

We need to have Molino on song and we need Peltier to stay focused and committed.   The biggest hurdle in this team is the penetration in the attacking third, once that is addressed we will be alright.

Belief and consistency are key.   The team spirit is superb, the core of this team has been together for a while, with many coming up under Anton Corneal.  (who vex lorse.)

I am no fan of the two coach system, but I feel that will be resolved shortly.

We will beat Cuba in the final, w e are a good passing team, and apart from the lapses in the group stages we look better passing the ball than any other team bar Dominican Republic.

What gave that away? :devil:
Post by: kiffysmooth on December 14, 2012, 10:04:54 PM
Well finally people seeing bleeder true potential! And all yuh eh see nutting yet! Good win TNT
Post by: asylumseeker on December 14, 2012, 10:22:46 PM
Well finally people seeing bleeder true potential! And all yuh eh see nutting yet! Good win TNT

I doh think 'potential' is the right word.
Post by: truetrini on December 14, 2012, 10:58:13 PM

you is mr pessimistic.

Eat up!

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_6JPrNHnRVZI/SW5WXZh6soI/AAAAAAAAC9E/zPAPSK8gqJo/s400/eat-crow.jpg)
Post by: truetrini on December 14, 2012, 11:01:20 PM

I'll be eating a Thanksgiving dinner's worth after my earlier predictions (even if I thought Martinique would have their A squad)

(http://www.heinz.com/media/downloads/1024x768/ketchup_2.jpg)

Use Liberally!
Post by: injunchile on December 14, 2012, 11:35:27 PM
Well in all fairness to the commentators, one did say we were technically competent and technically better in running into spaces and reading the game. from what i saw we tend to play with passion when we are a goal down. Congrats to the coaching staff and players. Guerra could be our next standout player. At least he can take the ball and run to goal. He understands the main thing must be the main thing.- Going for goal.
Post by: truetrini on December 15, 2012, 12:23:41 AM
Well in all fairness to the commentators, one did say we were technically competent and technically better in running into spaces and reading the game. from what i saw we tend to play with passion when we are a goal down. Congrats to the coaching staff and players. Guerra could be our next standout player. At least he can take the ball and run to goal. He understands the main thing must be the main thing.- Going for goal.

Molino and Peltier too, these guys run at the defenders.   Molino is very skillful and can pass the ball like a true professional.  Gay wants to play with his back to the goal alone...and when he does run it is the little short runs, he needs to have the confidence to go at the defenders.

At times he looks pedestrian and other times he is speedy...confidence???
Post by: just cool on December 15, 2012, 04:45:15 AM

Molino and Peltier too, these guys run at the defenders.   Molino is very skillful and can pass the ball like a true professional.  Gay wants to play with his back to the goal alone...and when he does run it is the little short runs, he needs to have the confidence to go at the defenders.

I dun tell you bout this gay fella already, but go head, keep wishing on stars.    :-[
Post by: dreamer on December 15, 2012, 10:43:52 AM
A point worth mentioning, hinted at before, is that this team that did us proud in Antigua by reaching the Caribbean Cup finals was largely a local based side, playing against very tough competition with players like those in Martinique exposed to French league play or strikers for English Premier League teams such as the striker from West Ham.

Fellas, Trinidad & Tobago football has to be improving thanks to the Proleague when players in that same league cyah geh pick such as my favourite Kerry Baptiste, Glen, Shadon Winchester, Britto, Hayden "legendary-scorer-in-Mexico" Tinto, right wing back Kern Cupid, Jayson " super-right-wing-sub-in-Guadalajara" Joseph, Bartholomew, Leon, Adams, Central FC's Anthony Wolfe, and many others as seen below in the Proleague website .. not to mention there is not much anxiety with the absence of Keon Daniel, Birchall etc. Even just cool eh feelin' de need as much to crusade for Roberts selection for Caribbean Cup level. We seem to be finally reaching the point where we almost do not need the foreign based Carlos, Bateau, Primus, Peltier, Kenwyne, Julius James, George, Birchall, Cato, Mr midfielder in Belgium ... Hyland, Boucaud, Roberts, JLloyd Samuel to resue us at Caribbean Cup level. Note as we step up we WILL need some of them, so doh geh me wrong as a propagandist for buy-local only.

http://www.ttproleague.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=972%3Awi-sports&catid=26%3Apromotions&Itemid=1

This is exactly what the team managers, new PR people in the trenches like Central FC's Football Supporter, league stakeholders like Skeene, advertisers, TV stations, radio stations, businessmen want to see and will help shed a spolight on the local league. Before, people who don't really follow the league would have said, " who de hell is Guerra. I eh going to see no football with shittongs like he. Where he come from? Where? Nah, not me and people like dem." Now, even some of the cynical ones on this site might dare to pay attention when Richard "who-de-hell-is-he" Roy scores for Def Force. Stars are becoming  .... local. More league attention --> more crowds and waggonists ---> more league stature ---> more media coverage ---> more sponsor money ---> more prize money ---> higher player morale --> more player effort ---> standards rise --> player slaries go up  ---> more players get contracts --> T&T wins more tournaments --> ranking reach above 70, more europe picks, more international prestige for T&T, less resistance by euro/ US employers to new T&T talent abroad... and on and on.
Post by: truetrini on December 15, 2012, 10:53:49 AM

I dun tell you bout this gay fella already, but go head, keep wishing on stars.    :-[

Gay is a good striker bro.  I am not sure if he is told to play with his back to teh goal as a lone striker, but when he is on..he is on.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 15, 2012, 11:14:57 AM
I don't see the pro league games, but thought it was surprising Tinto did not feature in the 23 (re-dreamer's pt), has he dropped off?

We come like Italy 1982, I will take it
Post by: theworm2345 on December 15, 2012, 12:23:46 PM
A point worth mentioning, hinted at before, is that this team that did us proud in Antigua by reaching the Caribbean Cup finals was largely a local based side, playing against very tough competition with players like those in Martinique exposed to French league play or strikers for English Premier League teams such as the striker from West Ham.
All of Martinique's French players were rested after the Group Stage.  The team that started last night was all local-based.
Post by: FireBrand on December 15, 2012, 12:24:24 PM
Highlights.

https://www.youtube.com/v/a7gL7qH-NYo
Post by: D.H.W on December 15, 2012, 12:53:59 PM
Dem two drag at 11 sec. Nasty
Post by: soccerman on December 15, 2012, 04:34:02 PM
De 11 min mark you mean...but yea I watched it like 3 times
Post by: truetrini on December 15, 2012, 04:59:10 PM
All of Martinique's French players were rested after the Group Stage.  The team that started last night was all local-based.

Hey that is a lame excuse...like the crow feathers stuck in your craw?

If their coach in his infinite wisdom rested his players he did so thinking he was strong nought to defeat T&T.

No way h would simply "
rest" players in arguably their biggest match to date for several years!

If they had won the game he would have been lauded as being tactically astute, because he did bring in his two most influential players to date and one of them did score.

We are a better team than Martinique..and at full strength we will put a further separation still.

get it right.
Post by: D.H.W on December 15, 2012, 05:11:09 PM
De 11 min mark you mean...but yea I watched it like 3 times

Yeh minutes sorry. Don't know why I put seconds lol
Post by: just cool on December 15, 2012, 06:21:22 PM
Then that's their own fault. why rest your best players in such a crucial match.

BTW didn't i not see piqiuone or what ever his name iz blow a penalty?  :thinking:
Post by: theworm2345 on December 15, 2012, 07:02:43 PM
Then that's their own fault. why rest your best players in such a crucial match.

BTW didn't i not see piqiuone or what ever his name iz blow a penalty?  :thinking:
No question its their own fault, clearly their priority was to make the Gold Cup.  However, he did say that T&T were up against those players, which was the point I was making (that they weren't).  That's not to take anything away from T&T's accomplishment either.

You know as well as I do that penalties are essentially a crap shoot as well.
Post by: truetrini on December 15, 2012, 07:08:54 PM
well dey had 90 minutes plus 30 in extra time to dispatch our rag tag warriors and could not do it, and then we out performed them in teh "crap shoot."

See them in the God Cup.  If their priority was ONLY o make the world cup den he should have kept his aces on the bench...mission  accomplished.

The FACT that he brought them on shows otherwise.
Post by: theworm2345 on December 15, 2012, 08:00:07 PM
well dey had 90 minutes plus 30 in extra time to dispatch our rag tag warriors and could not do it, and then we out performed them in teh "crap shoot."

See them in the God Cup.  If their priority was ONLY o make the world cup den he should have kept his aces on the bench...mission  accomplished.

I'm not sure what point you're trying to make.
Post by: StoreBayLimer on December 15, 2012, 08:29:28 PM
Highlights.

Thanks for the clip!
Post by: sub1 on December 15, 2012, 08:48:26 PM

I'm not sure what point you're trying to make.

I think he is trying to make you out to be an ass
Post by: Big Magician on December 16, 2012, 07:40:41 AM
"F#CK DEM"...
Post by: kaliman2006 on December 16, 2012, 09:06:39 AM
Highlights.

https://www.youtube.com/v/a7gL7qH-NYo

Thanks for posting the highlights Firebrand. I cannot express enough how proud I am of the performance in the penalty shoot in particular, especially when T&T were down 4-3 and then had a chance to win after Martinique's fifth miss.

Another impressive aspect of the shootout that the Warriors were also kicking from behind, in the sense that the score was always 1-0, 2-1, 3-2. 4-3, etc. The composure from the guys was amazing.

Both teams actually did very well in the shootout. They could teach some of the more established teams a thing or two about penalty shootouts.