Sports => Football => Topic started by: amwood on January 03, 2013, 11:06:34 PM

Title: Building An Academy In Trinidad
Post by: amwood on January 03, 2013, 11:06:34 PM
 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f9cu3AVfMsY
Title: Re: Hoping to Build The Best Academy In Trinidad, Bar None (Arsenal Opportunity)
Post by: amwood on January 04, 2013, 08:37:30 PM
Didn't mention in the video that we hope to be a principally sponsored by Nike, a rep will be here in one week's time to check things out. Fingers crossed! And happy new year to all men on the forum, may we all experience some great T&T football this year! Bless!!
Title: Re: Hoping to Build The Best Academy In Trinidad, Bar None (Arsenal Opportunity)
Post by: congo on January 04, 2013, 09:21:31 PM
I want in on this. Anything to do with Arsenal I there. Even if is to just pick up cones.
Post by: amwood on January 04, 2013, 10:11:28 PM
I think that any young players who is good enough from T&T being sent to Arsenal will have to be prepared to go there - technically (lots of functional type sessions before they leave), must be supremely fit, and most of all - psychologically ready (you only get one week to make an impression). Most kids at 14, 15 are just not psychologically ready to jump off a plane and be at their very best within a day or two. There are so many adjustments to unfamiliar conditions that will need to be made in a very short space of time, most kids are just simply too nervous! It's allot for a any 14, 15 year old to come to terms with. It's really why so much advance preparation is need to simply be ready for one week of football. I think that this is what may have affected WooLing. What is impressive about Arsenal is that the boss himself makes the time to look over the player, he handles them himself - its not an academy, or youth coach (they do the sessions, but the boss interacts with the player and his family). 
Post by: congo on January 04, 2013, 11:28:52 PM
Not only that. He also ensures that the player gets an education. Jermaine Pennant became literate at Arsenal. The philosophy is one that encourages holistic development. I believe that the environment creates the player. I have seen some players in secondary school who come from tough areas and they have a natural fight about them but they lack in the technical and intelligent areas. I have also seen players who come from affluent backgrounds who  have accessed top quality coaching and possess tremendous technical ability but they lack courage and fight. If we could get the right balance then I'm sure you will have a player who is able to withstand the scrutiny. Our youth development is too far behind to ask so much of a player. In the USA they are accustom to travelling across states for youth tournaments etc.
Post by: amwood on January 04, 2013, 11:47:35 PM
You've hit the nail on the head man, its not easy to have kids sometime endure a 4 hours drive to play a game, jump out the car and begin a warm up 1 hour before kick off - and they are expected to perform. They don't know it - but mental toughness is being developed. Playing a game at 7:45 am in the morning in December where the field has frost on it, or at 2:00 pm in the middle of summer. Again, psychologically challenging situations that all leads to a mentally stronger player....that's part of the edge that exist as it relates to American players compared to Trinidadians. But there are people who have now bought into the philosophy that these things can change, and are willing to put their money into creating an environment that will facilitate these changes (with total financial transparency provided of-course.) And this is really encouraging!       
Post by: congo on January 05, 2013, 01:11:27 AM
I think our culture also allows the game to be played for "fun" up to a very late age. That could explain why our players seem to be less combative and competitive. Overseas each year another group of players "bite the dust" and need to find another academy or some other place to play football. Football is their bread and butter and is the difference between living a council estate and a flat in Kensington. Alot of our youth players are not exposed to professional footballers to really see how they are revered  by the surrounding community and then national community. It really is a different culture when it comes to producing players. Have you thought about expanding the search to England as well, maybe players who have trini blood but are not "mainstream" so to speak. They may not be good enough for Arsenal or Tottenham but getting them in Trinidad for a summer or winter break to interact with those down here could do both parties good. Not to mention if they actually get exposure in the national colours then it'll probably be easier for them to get trials etc and they should be able to adapt quickly to the conditions in comparison to the local ones.
Post by: morvant on January 05, 2013, 06:41:29 AM
meh pores raise

amoungst other things :-\
Post by: amwood on January 05, 2013, 08:13:07 AM
Post by: ZANDOLIE on January 05, 2013, 10:19:09 AM
its not easy to have kids sometime endure a 4 hours drive to play a game, jump out the car and begin a warm up 1 hour before kick off - and they are expected to perform. They don't know it - but mental toughness is being developed. Playing a game at 7:45 am in the morning in December where the field has frost on it, or at 2:00 pm in the middle of summer. Again, psychologically challenging situations that all leads to a mentally stronger player....that's part of the edge that exist as it relates to American players compared to Trinidadians.

I think our culture also allows the game to be played for "fun" up to a very late age. That could explain why our players seem to be less combative and competitive. Overseas each year another group of players "bite the dust" and need to find another academy or some other place to play football. Football is their bread and butter and is the difference between living a council estate and a flat in Kensington.

congo and amwood: excellent discussion!
Post by: Observer on January 05, 2013, 10:44:30 AM
When you are in an environment that has strong rewards at the end of it, providing you make the sacrifices, have the talent and luck. Then it is likely that you will be willing to endure. Once involved, you realize or learn the competition is fierce, you are conditioned towards it. You learn the need to have an edge mentally, physically, technically, it is survival. In T&T it is a game we play & enjoy, those that make it are an exception (fluke) rather than the rule. Quite frankly this is true for all our sports.

This is fantastic news, lets hope it becomes a reality. :applause:
Post by: amwood on January 05, 2013, 11:40:40 AM
Well said gentlemen! The academy is definitely a reality - the facility (which is always the biggest challenge in T&T), financial backing is there, and of-course, the determination of the people involved to make sure that the kids succeed. It will be a be success God willing.
Post by: amwood on January 07, 2013, 10:39:35 PM
Nike in town on Thrusday, we are hoping for the best, it would be massive to actually have them establish something here in Trinidad...
Post by: congo on January 08, 2013, 03:02:30 AM
Good luck. I'm really hoping this works out. I was watching a video featuring Arsenal u11 vs Barca's u11. These kids are incredible. The way they understand the game and play the game is remarkable. Would be nice to get our youths up to that standard. We have so much talent in every sector here and we should seek to maximize that potential to the fullest.
Post by: amwood on January 08, 2013, 05:37:22 AM
Appreciate that man! Actually, not really that interested in creating an affiliation as it pertains to Nike gear and uniforms and so forth - you can acquire that stuff on your own. However, what we are hoping to explore is Nike's global influence as it relates to the possibility of bringing to Trinidad - youth teams the likes of an Arsenal, Man U, maybe one day a Barcelona, all playing a quadrangular tournament against our local kids. Opportunity to expose our Academy Kids to the manner in which these guys operate. Expose local coaches, to maybe - a week long opportunity to see what types of things these guys focus on in their approach to preparing their teams for competition. I think that's where everyone could benefit, not just our guys...
Post by: just cool on January 08, 2013, 07:02:19 AM
This has been ah long time coming, i hope it does materialize and become trend on the island.
Post by: elan on January 08, 2013, 01:29:11 PM
You've hit the nail on the head man, its not easy to have kids sometime endure a 4 hours drive to play a game, jump out the car and begin a warm up 1 hour before kick off - and they are expected to perform. They don't know it - but mental toughness is being developed. Playing a game at 7:45 am in the morning in December where the field has frost on it, or at 2:00 pm in the middle of summer. Again, psychologically challenging situations that all leads to a mentally stronger player....that's part of the edge that exist as it relates to American players compared to Trinidadians. But there are people who have now bought into the philosophy that these things can change, and are willing to put their money into creating an environment that will facilitate these changes (with total financial transparency provided of-course.) And this is really encouraging!       

I've said it before on the board here. The USA is and will be ahead of us for those reasons. By the time a US youth player make it to the NT, s/he has had so many experience in different places, against different players and teams. So many players wake up in a hotel on a Saturday morning or Sunday morning and go out and play that the newness to going somewhere to play is behind them.

You even see it in the videos that Fuentes post that the travel is still a major event for our administrators and players. This is something that we need to figure out and make the game the focus of the players and administrators. These players in the US play so much and winning is at the forefront of everything that by the time we figure out how to win these players have been knowing how to win from U11 -12. Now they even starting to allow U8 in tournaments, just not to keep scores. By the time these players are U16, they are mentally way ahead of us by years.

We, even on this board still saying a 25 year old player is a youth. That say so much about how we view, interpret and understand the modern game.
Post by: amwood on January 08, 2013, 01:57:15 PM
Great points!
Post by: King Deese on January 08, 2013, 02:27:42 PM
The late great Vince Lombardi once said "Winning isn't everything, it's the only thing". But don't misunderstand the man, he knew what went into making a winning team and the preparation and people behind such a winning organization. After all the NFL Super Bowl trophy is named after him.
Post by: Observer on January 08, 2013, 05:35:03 PM
Good luck. I'm really hoping this works out. I was watching a video featuring Arsenal u11 vs Barca's u11. These kids are incredible. The way they understand the game and play the game is remarkable. Would be nice to get our youths up to that standard. We have so much talent in every sector here and we should seek to maximize that potential to the fullest.

Interesting Congo! I watched those games and I rather like the philosophy behind the youths (not to mention the brand). Teach them to play football properly, maximize and encourage their talents, encourage them to be good individuals away from football and the rest will come.

Post by: amwood on January 08, 2013, 06:04:27 PM

Interesting Congo! I watched those games and I rather like the philosophy behind the youths (not to mention the brand). Teach them to play football properly, maximize and encourage their talents, encourage them to be good individuals away from football and the rest will come.

That video got allot of attention outside, allot of people questioned the level of the Arsenal team but what stood out for me was the level of understanding those young kids demonstrated. They knew when to go forward and seemed to understand the concept of patience - very rare at that age. That alproach can be taught, but it takes real commitment of the part of the coaches to be educators as opposed to results seekers...the results will come after...
Post by: Observer on January 11, 2013, 09:53:24 AM
Another example of teach them right and its amazing what can be achieved. In this case Greece.
Not connected to a professional Academy

Made more impressive by what looks like a poor field

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/video/2013/jan/07/greek-children-goal-video (http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/video/2013/jan/07/greek-children-goal-video)
Post by: amwood on January 11, 2013, 11:29:59 AM
Another example of teach them right and its amazing what can be achieved. In this case Greece.
Not connected to a professional Academy

Made more impressive by what looks like a poor field

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/video/2013/jan/07/greek-children-goal-video (http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/video/2013/jan/07/greek-children-goal-video)

It can be done with the really young one in Trini, but it must be an environment where kids are rewarded initially for
their ability to consistently pass the ball, as opposed to how many goals the team scores. Victory for us at nine and 10 must be 10, 12 passes at speed with pressure on the ball. Success in front of goal, we worry about after.
Title: Sherwood launches Football Academy in Gulf View.
Post by: Flex on January 12, 2013, 05:40:40 AM
Sherwood launches Football Academy in Gulf View.
T&T Newsday Reports.

FORMER Presentation College and Trinidad and Tobago youth team player Anthony Sherwood has returned to Trinidad and Tobago to launch an elite football academy based in Gulf View, La Romain. The Academy will begin on February 1.

Sherwood has represented Trinidad and Tobago at every age group, beginning with the national Under-14 team. He was a member of the first team in Trinidad and Tobago’s history to qualify for an Under-20 World Cup in Portugal in 1991 — a team that included captain Dwight Yorke, Angus Eve, Clayton Ince, Jerren Nixon and Michael McComie.

For the past 15 years, Sherwood has been based in the United States where he attended Virginia Commonwealth University on a full athletic scholarship and obtained a Bachelor of Science degree in Business.

He became an elite youth football coach with the Richmond Strikers, a Nike Premier youth soccer club which is affiliated with Arsenal FC.

Read More (http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/12116-sherwood-launches-football-academy-in-gulf-view.html)

Post by: Controversial on January 12, 2013, 11:32:44 AM
great idea  :beermug: wish you all the best with it and i hope to see some great players come out of this, as i know tt is full of untapped talent
Post by: Sam on January 12, 2013, 11:42:19 AM
Like Sherwood only catering for f00cking rich white people or wha, Gulf View (Please nigga)...., why he eh come in de ghetto up Arima and run ah piece.

Them local whites real racial yuh know, who remember Brad Boyce, ah hate that f00cker...

But them indian and creole doh stick up for each other...

Glad for Sherwood, atleast he making a better effort than Yorke, Lara, Hislop and Latapy (de rich boys),,,,,, just be fair, thas all.

Post by: Dumplingdinho on January 12, 2013, 11:58:16 AM
Like Sherwood only catering for f00cking rich white people or wha, Gulf View (Please nigga)...., why he eh come in de ghetto up Arima and run ah piece.

Them local whites real racial yuh know, who remember Brad Boyce, ah hate that f00cker...

But them indian and creole doh stick up for each other...

Glad for Sherwood, atleast he making a better effort than Yorke, Lara, Hislop and Latapy (de rich boys),,,,,, just be fair, thas all.

sam yuh like shit....gulf view have black ppl....gulf view right de corner from la romaine and embacadere (walking distance) so the niggas are close by if they want to attent the academy.

he from south so he set up his academy in south...why yuh get vex with east men like demmin who eh come back home and set up one in arima.

cyah please blasted trinis at all.

as for brad boyce that is another story....i eh know how u could mention his name in the same sentence with sherwood...that is equivalent to talking about great football talent and mentioning messi and maurice alibey in the same sentence.
Post by: Tallman on January 12, 2013, 01:01:33 PM

The announcement came at the launch of the ACE programme, chaired by former national goalkeeper and ESPN football commentator Shaka Hislop, at the Port of Spain Ballroom of the Hyatt Regency Trinidad hotel yesterday.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/Atlantic_invests_in_youth_coaching-186568701.html
Post by: grskywalker on January 12, 2013, 01:02:52 PM
amwood you are on the right track as most people would agree, the stumbling blocks to making a legacy unfrotunately remain. You remain in my mind one of the best players of the 80's era along with yorke, latas , rocke, you all had one of the most solid squad of players. I wish you all the best and truly hope your idea comes to fruition. It is my wish you will do well
Post by: amwood on January 12, 2013, 01:10:18 PM
Very legitimate issues raised there fellas, one problems is that there are not too many facilities available in south Trinidad (San Fernando in particular.) And if people are willing to come forward and put forth their resources, then you have to grab that opportunity, where ever it presents itself. The concept with respect to the academy is that the rich will pay those who do not have the means. It's a very simple model to be honest, but what it ensures is that everyone will benefit. Any youth player in Trinidad with real ability will be provided for, hence the importance of the potential arrangement with Nike. The academy will seek to have kids from Cedros, to Point Fortin, anywhere for that matter and as long as they show signs that they have passion and ability- they will be provided for. The difference here however, is that they will all have to understand the value of the opportunity, so both rich and poor will be heavily involved in activities that will see them giving back to those who might need a little hand in the community. Stay tunned to what will be achieved...
Post by: amwood on January 12, 2013, 01:17:46 PM
And keep the concerns, criticisms, suggestions coming. It will all contribute to something better. The goal is to use Nike's global reach to bring big youth teams to Trini to expose our kids to how it's played outside, but giving them these opportunities early enough so that they understand the level that they have to attain to be the best! We Doh care about kit, it's about exposure, development and success.
Post by: Observer on January 12, 2013, 02:04:38 PM
Very legitimate issues raised there fellas, one problems is that there are not too many facilities available in south Trinidad (San Fernando in particular.) And if people are willing to come forward and put forth their resources, then you have to grab that opportunity, whereever it presents itself. The concept with respect to the academy is that the rich will pay those who do not have the means. It's a very simple model to be honest, but what it ensures is that everyone will benefit. Any youth player in Trinidad with real ability will be provided for, hence the importance of the potential arrangement with Nike. The academy will seek to have kids from Cedros, to Point Fortin, anywhere for that matter and as long as they show signs that they have passion and ability- they will be provided for. The difference here however, is that they will all have to understand the value of the opportunity, so both rich and poor will be heavily involved in activities that will see them giving back to those who might need a little hand in the community. Stay tunned to what will be achieved...

try looking at Presentation Grounds in Union Hall
Post by: amwood on January 12, 2013, 09:50:38 PM
lots of commotion regarding that facility, the gulf view facility has tremendous potential, stadium lighting will be used, and there is serious room for expansion - five acres...
Post by: ragga on January 13, 2013, 09:08:18 AM
good move - just do it !
Post by: Thomo on January 13, 2013, 10:48:56 AM
Tried my best not to bring myself down to your level but Sam you sound absolutely ignorant!! keep up the good work Sherwood!
Post by: Sam on January 14, 2013, 08:06:48 PM
I just love to ole talk, doh study me.

Sherwood, do yuh ting man, glad for u and ah hope yuh become successful.

Post by: amwood on January 15, 2013, 08:46:24 AM
I just love to ole talk, doh study me.

Sherwood, do yuh ting man, glad for u and ah hope yuh become successful.

Yeah I know you was only kicking man, but any feedback from you fellas that will make things better for the development of the players is always greatly appreciated - good, bad or otherwise. Bless!
Post by: fari on January 15, 2013, 08:56:54 AM
Very legitimate issues raised there fellas, one problems is that there are not too many facilities available in south Trinidad (San Fernando in particular.) And if people are willing to come forward and put forth their resources, then you have to grab that opportunity, whereever it presents itself. The concept with respect to the academy is that the rich will pay those who do not have the means. It's a very simple model to be honest, but what it ensures is that everyone will benefit. Any youth player in Trinidad with real ability will be provided for, hence the importance of the potential arrangement with Nike. The academy will seek to have kids from Cedros, to Point Fortin, anywhere for that matter and as long as they show signs that they have passion and ability- they will be provided for. The difference here however, is that they will all have to understand the value of the opportunity, so both rich and poor will be heavily involved in activities that will see them giving back to those who might need a little hand in the community. Stay tunned to what will be achieved...

try looking at Presentation Grounds in Union Hall

yeah it had some kinda commess with that grounds i heard.     i trying to figure out where this grounds is in gulf view..5 acres is plenty space man.  i like this program, this is the kinda thing that we need to do to help get the youth ready. a program of this sort as congo and others have said helps to prepare the youths in many other ways besides football..this is good life training here as well.   i wish you guys all the best mr sherwood.
Post by: amwood on January 28, 2013, 12:36:35 PM
Wanted to document a few concepts about how we approach the development of our youth academy players - benchmarks, establishment of goals, what we communicate, the total footballer concept, what went wrong with allot of players of the 80s generation. As always any feedback greatly appreciated! Bless!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cP13jVcI8f0
Post by: amwood on February 15, 2013, 02:51:32 PM
Fellas,
First Week Of Academy Training Down! We have some very talented kids, and one in particular will be a tremendous player - 8 years old. He's from deep south...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dL8XRPotxDs

Post by: asylumseeker on February 15, 2013, 03:15:43 PM
Post by: Big Magician on February 15, 2013, 05:23:21 PM
keep going AMWOOD
Post by: congo on February 15, 2013, 05:33:01 PM
I love it. I like the fact that they are so young but you have already started 'barking" orders at them. I've seen some youth session where the coaches really cuddle and pussyfoot around the players.

What do you think about players so young wearing brands like Nike and Adidas etc? I read somewhere where clubs in Europe used to instill player discipline by making all their youth players wear plain black boots until they sign professional. Apparently it really made the players work hard and not develop an entitlement attitude.
Post by: amwood on February 15, 2013, 06:55:02 PM
I love it. I like the fact that they are so young but you have already started 'barking" orders at them. I've seen some youth session where the coaches really cuddle and pussyfoot around the players.

What do you think about players so young wearing brands like Nike and Adidas etc? I read somewhere where clubs in Europe used to instill player discipline by making all their youth players wear plain black boots until they sign professional. Apparently it really made the players work hard and not develop an entitlement attitude.

Appreciate the feedback man! I agree with your concept entirely! In fact, we have secured Nike game day gear for the kids, however, they do not  get those until they have earned the right to wear them. It's something that they know they will have to work very hard to have - in a small way - it's an incentive for them to keep grinding. In fact, Fuentes posted a video about the Nigerian national Under 20 team and how they train in regular "street kit"....players were wearing Madrid, Man U Jerseys at a national team session. The coach talked about the fact that no one wears the kit until they have secured selection. This is the video I believe.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vQdB0F-LYXA&list=WL9142E7155F80EA3A&feature=mh_lolz
Post by: amwood on February 15, 2013, 07:12:13 PM
keep going AMWOOD

Appreciate the feedback fellas! Any ideas you all may have, we are totally open to suggestions...
Post by: Quags on February 15, 2013, 09:41:39 PM
Am kinda sad that am no longer living in Trini so that I could have my kids taught by you... Anthony .  Woulda been great ,Good Luck Coach.

Post by: Cocorite on February 15, 2013, 09:58:27 PM
Have a good feeling about this. Gives me hope for T&T's footballing future. Hoping for the best
Post by: amwood on February 16, 2013, 09:09:16 PM
Am kinda sad that am no longer living in Trini so that I could have my kids taught by you... Anthony .  Woulda been great ,Good Luck Coach.

Have a good feeling about this. Gives me hope for T&T's footballing future. Hoping for the best

Big respect fellas! We have two kids right now in the group that we bringing the Arsenal man to see in July..the instincts they demonstrating at 8, and 9 respectively is very different at this stage...
Post by: coache on February 16, 2013, 11:16:59 PM
Why we getting carried away with this nonsense?
Post by: asylumseeker on February 17, 2013, 12:13:14 AM

A chapter out of Jack Horner ... :devil:
Post by: amwood on February 17, 2013, 12:43:57 AM

Coache, I see you're a St.Benedicts College man/fan, an Ivan Sampson fan as well, Ivan should be back in Trinidad soon and I'm hoping he will link up with us in south to do what we can to make things a little better. Interestingly, we have kids who's parents played for St.Benedicts currently training with us. Anyway, come thru one day if you're around and I would love to hear yuh thoughts in person! Your impressions - good, bad or otherwise will always be welcomed! Bless!
Post by: Sam on February 17, 2013, 06:42:18 AM
To have a good academy.

1. You have to get the parents involved.

2. You have to teach the kids- book knowledge (tactics and reading), fitness (like Barcelona) and discipline (manners and respect) before they even kick a ball.

Caribbean players are always good but one thing they lack, ball sense, you have to make them smarter footballers.

Focus on 4 things, trap, pass, make yourself available for de ball at all times and shoot.

Talk to Flex, he could teach you a thing or two, this is where I learn it from, we play ball a long time now.

Post by: Fyzoman on February 17, 2013, 09:27:22 AM

Ah rel confused with this...amwood doing something positive here as far as I could tell?

What nonsense we getting carried away with?
Post by: socalion on February 17, 2013, 09:49:18 AM
just want to add words of support ,!!! wishing the very best to you amwood , along with all those involved in youth academy ....... it augurs well for the future best wishes once again ...... nuff respect
Post by: coache on February 17, 2013, 10:51:20 AM
Why do we like to entertain ourselves with nonsense? Sherwood is a businessman, so is La Foucade,these men are making a living..they know where the real talent is but they choose to do otherwise.
Post by: Quags on February 17, 2013, 11:07:55 AM
Why do we like to entertain ourselves with nonsense? Sherwood is a businessman, so is La Foucade,these men are making a living..they know where the real talent is but they choose to do otherwise.
So what you want him to do coache ,go play small goal up in the hills to find talent ? Well take him up there if you all cool up there.
Post by: Football supporter on February 17, 2013, 11:21:21 AM

If he's not a businessman, he's wasting his time. Football is a business. Until coaches start thinking business first, they will achieve very little. It takes a lot of investment to launch and run a decent academy. Good coaches need paying. If you don't like this, then send your kids to the piper man  who once played in intercol and lines up 30 kids to kick one ball. But if you want good coaches, good equipment and quality organisation you have to pay. Eventually, the cream will rise to the top and at that point a different approach is needed. In life, you get what you pay for, it may not be fair, but that's how it goes.

The question is, how do we find and develop the talented kids who can't afford to pay?
Post by: asylumseeker on February 17, 2013, 11:46:55 AM

I thought iz something sensible yuh had to contribute. Yuh bring a very one-dimensional bias to the table dey. Moreover, de man projecting into "Deep South". Lehwe see what kind of conscientious administration Sherwood brings to the table before lambasting him.

(That stated, amwood ah still waiting on yuh to share with the youths how yuh ended up in VA. Two-way street brodda).
Post by: Dumplingdinho on February 17, 2013, 12:02:23 PM

I thought iz something sensible yuh had to contribute. Yuh bring a very one-dimensional bias to the table dey. Moreover, de man projecting into "Deep South". Lehwe see what kind of conscientious administration Sherwood brings to the table before lambasting him.

(That stated, amwood ah still waiting on yuh to share with the youths how yuh ended up in VA. Two-way street brodda).

didnt he go to school in VA?
Post by: Dumplingdinho on February 17, 2013, 12:04:40 PM

so coache what u doing to improve football?...from ur name it sounds like u are a coach but i hope your coaching skills better than your spelling skills.  I understand you are a benedicts man but that does not mean you have to hate stuff done by Pres or Naps men.  That is secondary school behavior (I am assuming you are an adult).
Post by: Deeks on February 17, 2013, 12:21:12 PM
If remembered correctly, he was at Virginia Commonwelath(correct me). LP was there for a season or 2. I remembered vaguely VA playing Howard at DC. Can't remember the score. He and a Russian or Ukrainian were the standout of the team. Of the little I remembered of the game, he had good first touch and good ball movement. that's about it.
Post by: Deeks on February 17, 2013, 12:28:35 PM
As to the statement that Sherwood is a business man like LaFoucade. Well, welcome to reality. Football acadamies are a business. They are also benevolent associations to a point. The money they get may assist in bringing in a couple players who have no means of attending the academies. And one of those said players might turn out to be a Dwight Yorke, Latapy, Raheem Sterling or Messi.
Post by: Deeks on February 17, 2013, 12:34:18 PM
they know where the real talent is but they choose to do otherwise.

If allyuh know where the real talent is, allyuh should be opening allyuh own academies and turning out the next Yorke, Latapy, etc.  Since Dwight, who have we produce to international acclaim? Zilch.  Maybe Dwight was a "fluke".
Post by: amwood on February 17, 2013, 03:15:14 PM
Fellas, again I have no issues with Coache's criticisms, the only thing that I hope is that his criticisms are not coming from a place of bias. The fact that he is a Benedicts/ Ivan Sampson fan means that he would be aware of all players playing in south in that era and he may remember one or two games involving Benedicts and Presentation College of which I would have been a part of. He should also know that Ivan has a coaching academy in Washington DC and does quite well with that, most of those kids are coming from the suburbs of Virginia. I did attend and play for Presentation College for a little while, but grew up just outside Point (Gonzalez Village) and spent two years going to Vessingny Secondary School. Both Ivan and I actually sat the same exam to transfer into Pres on the same day in the same office. Many Benedicts fans would be surprised to know that Ivan could have been at Pres had things worked out differently. The point is - I hope that Coache's response/criticism is not based on the fact that I attended one of his rival schools. I doubt it very much, but say what! As far the academy being established to make money, what I can tell you is that nothing I do in Trinidad will ever compensate me in manner that is remotely close to what I earned in the States. One or two guys on the forum knew me in the States and can attest to that, I still have a home in the US and allot of people questioned why I would leave that life to come back to Trinidad to do football of any kind, the answer is simple - I feel that with the talent that's here in this country, allot can be done if a professional developmental environment is created for them! I have seen it work in the States, and I strongly believe that it can be done here in Trini.
Now that said, it does cost money to run this thing, I have 6 people on payroll right now, there is office space to pay for, ground maintenance, equipment, uniforms, little things that you never think off (a Portable toilet as required by law is $1200 mthly)....and none of it is free - but it is simply the cost of running any organization in a professional manner.
Secondly, I do know where the talent is in south, and I have good football men in places like Point, La Brea, Siparia, Santa Flora, in fact I am going up to Moruga on Tuesday to see a 10 year old up there - apparently the youth man is a very talented and comes highly recommended from a gentleman who coaches a primary school up there. His school would have been playing in Tobago but lost in Arima in the regional finals - Coache should know what competition I am referring too. So believe me, I know where the talent is, however, our biggest challenge is working out the logistics of getting kids from those areas to come up here in San Fernando to train. We are working on those issues as we speak. One of the major problems today is that some parents/players are not as willing to make the necessary sacrifices as was the case in the old era. As an 11/12 year old, I already knew what it meant to take a taxis/bus at 5:30 in the morning from Gonzales to San Fernando, to Curepe and then to St Augustine for national under 14 training - only the rich had cars in those days so if you wanted it bad enough that's what you had to do as a south man. The parents of these kids that we are looking at today are just not willingly to do that, and most of them actually have cars. What they are hoping is that we can make arrangements to have their kids picked up, and, we are willingly to do just that - but again, its not free! So I do want Coache to know that I am fully aware of the location of allot of the talent in south and efforts are being made to get talented kids to a place that can afford them a better opportunity. I am very much man of these areas, and I know them well. In fact, there is a young man from Santa Flora that has already benefitted from the type of opportunities that we can provide - he has an offer of a full scholarship to one of the biggest schools in the US pending an SAT. There has never been a Trini playing at this type of University before. In fact, we have already secured scholarships for three players from the same school here in south to attend universities in the States, these players (high profile college footballers) had no options prior (which was very surprising).  These schools will ensure that these players, once they perform - will have MLS opportunities and a chance of a better life.
The academy is set up for one purpose: to develop young players, expose them to outside competition, and lastly - to create opportunities for them. Our model is that those who "HAVE" will essentially pay for those who do not. My hope is that guys like Coache will come out from the disguise of the key board and make a contribution. I have received a few phone calls from a number of guys with "coaching schools" pretending to parents of interested players seeking information as what we hope to do differently, and I hope Coache aint one of them. As I stated to these people http://usportt.com/archives/32158 we hope to work in unison with everyone and anyone for the betterment of players who want to be exceptional! In fact, this is the quote so ur doh have to go through the article:

“Lastly, I would like to state that we are here to work in unison with anyone who is
passionate about producing great kids and great players. I feel that in a country this
small, we simply cannot afford to be opposed to collaboration and the exchanging of
ideas that will ultimately contribute to the development of our players here in Trinidad
and Tobago. The only thing that we ask for is professionalism.”

Alright fellas, ah going and take a sweat in PVILLE, sorry bout the long response... Bless!         
Post by: Fyzoman on February 17, 2013, 06:02:49 PM
First of all ah big 'BIG UP' to coache!!!

...“Lastly, I would like to state that we are here to work in unison with anyone who is
passionate about producing great kids and great players. I feel that in a country this
small, we simply cannot afford to be opposed to collaboration and the exchanging of
ideas that will ultimately contribute to the development of our players here in Trinidad
and Tobago. The only thing that we ask for is professionalism.”

Alright fellas, ah going and take a sweat in PVILLE, sorry bout the long response... Bless!         

If not for he comment Sherwood might not have had to clarify (even more) what/why/and how he does what he does.

'they know where the real talent is but they choose to do otherwise.'

I guess he does know where the real talent is and he choosing to go get it.

I just mention dat Pville sweat in another post today yes, niceness :)
Post by: amwood on March 07, 2013, 11:32:42 AM
Fellas, just wanted to share a little update, we one month into the little academy setup and the youths are really getting the concept...focus continues tuh be on developing sound technique, introducing concepts of dynamic movement, and very importantly - executing at SPEED. Used some of the youths in the video to kindda demonstrate those concepts...Bless!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_HYtjlU9JQs
Post by: Observer on March 07, 2013, 12:33:10 PM
Fellas, just wanted to share a little update, we one month into the little academy setup and the youths are really getting the concept...focus continues tuh be on developing sound technique, introducing concepts of dynamic movement, and very importantly - executing at SPEED. Used some of the youths in the video to kindda demonstrate those concepts...Bless!

Thanks for the update.

If I may. How often do these players train in the Academy?
             What is the training to game ratio?
Post by: coache on March 07, 2013, 12:36:50 PM
No Best Academy in Trinidad..not in this lifetime...
Post by: amwood on March 07, 2013, 12:46:49 PM

Thanks for the update.

If I may. How often do these players train in the Academy?
             What is the training to game ratio?

We are going three times per week initially, once the lightning comes online - we are planing on going 4 times per week. What ive come to realize is that allot of parents are not accustomed to the concept of training regularly. Allot of our players were training once a week elsewhere...
Post by: amwood on March 07, 2013, 01:02:03 PM
No Best Academy in Trinidad..not in this lifetime...

We trying coache, we trying....ah hiring and if you want, we can offer you a little end, as I mentioned to you before - doh be afraid to come thru and show your face man. Interesting thing fellas is that our players are seeing cars belonging to other coaches. I wish these guys would just come thru, take a look, make ah suggestion or two. Collaboration and discussion can only make the things better..
Post by: coache on March 07, 2013, 01:39:50 PM
Awright pardner..I apologize..I watch the video and I see allyuh in need of  plenty help but it's a damn good start. We must bear in mind the reason for the Academy..if it's just to teach the game or to develop elite players. In order to develop elite players we must identify elite athletes.
 Now ..not too many of your players from the video  dont have those qualities but you need them to pay the bills.
An evalution system should be in place to identify these types of players. Longtime footballers played football ..nowadays everybody want to play..A philosophy of speed should be adopted  maybe a track coach should be part of your staff .
Post by: diamondtrim on March 08, 2013, 05:37:26 AM

Difference between, Mexico, Brazil etc and Trinidad?....Technical Speed.........

If this is one of the basic concepts this academy is teaching, big big big respect!!!

Post by: Jack Horner on March 08, 2013, 05:44:29 AM
Sherwood should stick to building car amps.

Post by: Deeks on March 08, 2013, 02:11:41 PM
Sherwood should stick to building car amps.

:cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :busshead:
Post by: amwood on March 08, 2013, 03:15:46 PM

Difference between, Mexico, Brazil etc and Trinidad?....Technical Speed.........

If this is one of the basic concepts this academy is teaching, big big big respect!!!

Playing at speed is the key, I was bun in 15 mins in a u20 World Cup game against Australia, and the coaches all thought we were fit. We simply were not prepared to play at that speed - under that type of pressure. Everything we ask our Academy kids to do is based on their ability to execute with maximum speed relative to their ability...
Post by: diamondtrim on March 08, 2013, 08:58:56 PM

Playing at speed is the key, I was bun in 15 mins in a u20 World Cup game against Australia, and the coaches all thought we were fit. We simply were not prepared to play at that speed - under that type of pressure. Everything we ask our Academy kids to do is based on their ability to execute with maximum speed relative to their ability...

I didn't learn about technical speed until I was more or less done with the whole competitive football thing....and I've been on national teams from u17 to u23...smh

So I'm really glad to see this being done at this early stage.....best of luck in this endeavour.....if there's anything I may be able to help with I'm there......
Post by: coache on March 08, 2013, 10:14:37 PM
Speed is something I focus on in my training..that's why I stick with African players..they love to use it.
When I went to conferences in Brazil I noticed that one club in particular had a very scientific approach to getting players to play faster.
I went to Holland a few years later and saw that PSV had a scientific approach to this thing called speed.
I have been implementing these training methods as well as methods of my own at the amateur level..one of my players went to Romania on contract and now he's back and is the main man for the Atlanta Silverbacks..Borfor Carr..he would be a nice player for our National team..Personally I feel we should go to Africa and look for some players to Nationalize.
Post by: coache on March 08, 2013, 10:34:40 PM
Talent ..plenty in the south ..that is true..Three of the most important elements for this academy:
#1: Resources
#2: Resources
#3: Resources

Allocation of resources is most important..It's great that Mr Sherwood has vision b/c most of us don't.
Sponsorship for transportion i.e taxi service from the various areas to get the kids ..to  bring them to the training facility.
At Ajax they make an arrangement with the school the get the kids early then bring them back to the Academy where the kid would  get a meal then get help with their school work before they train.
Ajax only recruit kids from  within a 50 mile radius of the city of Amsterdam
They also have something called 'Talent Day' where the club open it's doors for new  kids to come in and have a weekend of screenings ..the coaches watch..select and give a yea or nay for a second look.
You could do something similar or work towards something similar..You need lots of financial help
but a man of your history in the south would be able to connect with a lot of people.
The thing I see in Trinidad is that people want to call all kinds of club set up an academy
Post by: Deeks on March 09, 2013, 11:08:23 AM
coache, you do bring out some good points, but bringing African players and naturalizing them is a joke! Right!!!
Post by: coache on March 09, 2013, 12:55:56 PM
Well padnah my experience with African players is that these guys live for the sole purpose of playing football. Many of them in Africa especially the refugees have enormous talent. They play countless hours in refugee camps..they play long hours to escape their reality (hardship). African players are undoubtedly in my mind the best football atheletes on the planet with the exception of Cristiano Ronaldo
I feel he is part african...there has to be African blood in there..If I had the power I would go to Africa and bring players back to Trinidad. I am working with some right now young talent..that's why Dwight Yorke did so well..skillwise Sherwood was as good as or better than Yorke..even Ivan Sampson ..but the genetic makeup is what made Yorke an outstanding player. So.. genes..very important quality to get an elite player..
Post by: coache on March 09, 2013, 01:19:15 PM
A good academy should first have a vision and a philosophy . The staff should comprise of not only football coaches but a nutritionist, trainers, academic tutors, and physical therapy staff.
At Ajax  for example the kids are tutored in academia before training;there are days the kids do Judo..I asked why Judo..the response was that while the boys are young and growing they have to  grow without the fear of getting hurt. Judo is a sport which involves lots of grappling, tumbling, falling etc..the flexibility increases and the strength between ligaments and joints increases. That's  why Messi is like a rubber ball. Messi was at PSV ..PSV copied Ajax's  program and added their own scientific beliefs for example PSV takes genetic makeup into consideration...why? because a kid could be a childstar but when he becomes  an older teen  to adult he becomes average. Ajax on the other hand have not adopted the science and as a result Ajax lost their lustre a bit.
What I am trying to say there's  a lot that's involved to get players to play at the next level.
It's easier to just go to Africa and bring players who developed themselves through their process of survival of the fittest.
Post by: congo on March 09, 2013, 03:10:37 PM
A good academy should first have a vision and a philosophy . The staff should comprise of not only football coaches but a nutritionist, trainers, academic tutors, and physical therapy staff.
At Ajax  for example the kids are tutored in academia before training;there are days the kids do Judo..I asked why Judo..the response was that while the boys are young and growing they have to  grow without the fear of getting hurt. Judo is a sport which involves lots of grappling, tumbling, falling etc..the flexibility increases and the strength between ligaments and joints increases. That's  why Messi is like a rubber ball. Messi was at PSV ..PSV copied Ajax's  program and added their own scientific beliefs for example PSV takes genetic makeup into consideration...why? because a kid could be a childstar but when he becomes  an older teen  to adult he becomes average. Ajax on the other hand have not adopted the science and as a result Ajax lost their lustre a bit.
What I am trying to say there's  a lot that's involved to get players to play at the next level.
It's easier to just go to Africa and bring players who developed themselves through their process of survival of the fittest.

And at the end of it all, they'll be lucky if they could get 3 to turn pro out of the class. I don't think ppl understand the type of investment that is involved in modern day sports. We've been surviving purely on luck and raw talent.
Post by: Observer on March 09, 2013, 06:17:10 PM
Well padnah my experience with African players is that these guys live for the sole purpose of playing football. Many of them in Africa especially the refugees have enormous talent. They play countless hours in refugee camps..they play long hours to escape their reality (hardship). African players are undoubtedly in my mind the best football atheletes on the planet with the exception of Cristiano Ronaldo
I feel he is part african...there has to be African blood in there..If I had the power I would go to Africa and bring players back to Trinidad. I am working with some right now young talent..that's why Dwight Yorke did so well..skillwise Sherwood was as good as or better than Yorke..even Ivan Sampson ..but the genetic makeup is what made Yorke an outstanding player. So.. genes..very important quality to get an elite player..

Ajax lost its luster due to 90km ruling in Holland. they simply no longer get first pick of the cream of the crop. Almost every team in Holland now have a PDP of high quality. This has created competition for selection. All the judo & science aside, talent is first and foremost a matter of scouting the bread basket programs of the amateur clubs. Outside of all the professional clubs in Holland, their exist over 3600 amateur clubs, that is an astonishing number. Holland recognizes that the survival of all football lays in its amateur structure. France as an example has just realized that their amateur structure has been ignored, as a consequece they are not getting he same quality to select from. The same has been identiied in most of the UK. Genetic do play a major factor in athletic ability but necessarily in football. This is why this game is so unlike many sports, there exist room for all. Spain, Argentina & Mexico as  examples recognized that their genetic make up is not exactly, for lack of a better term "athletic," yet they have found a way to survive & even find success in our sport
Post by: Observer on March 09, 2013, 07:06:10 PM

And at the end of it all, they'll be lucky if they could get 3 to turn pro out of the class. I don't think ppl understand the type of investment that is involved in modern day sports. We've been surviving purely on luck and raw talent.

Serious money sah! Not counting the facilities. Ajax 6 million Euro, Arsenal 3 million Euro, Sporting 4 million Euro, Newcastle 3 million Euro. Lens 6 million Euro, Bayern 3 million Euro. However, almost all admit the uncertainity of player development. Sporting as an example, indicated that since they have this elaborate new structure they have yet to produce another CR, Figo or Nani, these players came from the old gravel pitches in their respective cities.
Post by: coache on March 09, 2013, 07:23:20 PM
Well..padnah observer I did say talent is important but Anthony Sherwood and Ivan Sampson had loads of it..I made that point Leonson Lewis didn't have the kind of talent those two had, but he got much farther because of his athletic ability ..the man is a machine..Dwight Yorke is a machine..
I have coached Mexicans and played against them many years...padnah these people are AZTECS ..original people their genes  allowed these people to have unbelievable strength.. they built pyramids and causeways in Mexico ;their looks are deceiving
The people from south america to include Argentina,Brazil, Peru they are Incas and other types of Indian..very strong people..look at Messi ,Maradonna,Aguero,these people are not Northern europeans ,look at Ronaldinho he is part  aboriginal Indian and african ..that's real power..Don't get tie up with these people..why you think Mexican could run so fast?
Ajax produce top players like Edgar Davids, Clarence Seedorf Aaron Winter, the list of black players go on these are black players from Suriname ..genetics..
The majority of top footballers in Europe ..African players ..spread all across europe in various leagues..genetics..
The U.S NBA..virtually all black..the NFL..all black..genetics..GENES make a HUGE difference in the quality of the athlete ..some of the most talented players I have seen come from Japan but them fellas don't have what an African player got with half the skill
Didier Drogba ..started with no touch but yet the man made millions b/c he is a machine..a player of similar talent is playing right now in Skinner Park but that player don't have the athletic ability..genes.
Yorke and Latapy ..fete whole night then go play a big match the next day.. no problem..Genetics..
Post by: Football supporter on March 09, 2013, 08:26:19 PM
I'm enjoying this thread now. People talking serious business. Like coache, I truly believe that genetics has a huge part to play. However, no matter what your genetic background, you still need professionalism. Yes Yorke can party hard, but he was also very professional in training, so I've been told. I have said before that there are extremely talented players in T&T, but the reason that they don't get their chance in the big leagues is the coaching system here in T&T. Intercol kills the development of professional footballers. I know extremely talented 17 and 18 year old boys who will not join a Pro League team because they are big stars in Intercol. They don't study, they don't improve their education. Yet they are encouraged to stay in school. For what? At least if they entered Pro League football they'd have a chance at a career.

These talented kids should be identified by the age of 14 and nurtured, coached, educated so that they develop a professionalism that complements their "genetic" talent.

My favourite analogy is T&T's oil industry. If we just took oil out of the ground and shipped it, we'd be lucky to find a market and when we do, we'd earn bottom dollar. But we refine it so it meets the demands of the global market and fetches top dollar.

We don't refine our football product. And we ship it overseas with a lot of work still to do. Until we have a true national academy, this will always be the case.
Post by: Observer on March 09, 2013, 09:44:01 PM
Well..padnah observer I did say talent is important but Anthony Sherwood and Ivan Sampson had loads of it..I made that point Leonson Lewis didn't have the kind of talent those two had, but he got much farther because of his athletic ability ..the man is a machine..Dwight Yorke is a machine..
I have coached Mexicans and played against them many years...padnah these people are AZTECS ..original people their genes  allowed these people to have unbelievable strength.. they built pyramids and causeways in Mexico ;their looks are deceiving
The people from south america to include Argentina,Brazil, Peru they are Incas and other types of Indian..very strong people..look at Messi ,Maradonna,Aguero,these people are not Northern europeans ,look at Ronaldinho he is part  aboriginal Indian and african ..that's real power..Don't get tie up with these people..why you think Mexican could run so fast?
Ajax produce top players like Edgar Davids, Clarence Seedorf Aaron Winter, the list of black players go on these are black players from Suriname ..genetics..
The majority of top footballers in Europe ..African players ..spread all across europe in various leagues..genetics..
The U.S NBA..virtually all black..the NFL..all black..genetics..GENES make a HUGE difference in the quality of the athlete ..some of the most talented players I have seen come from Japan but them fellas don't have what an African player got with half the skill
Didier Drogba ..started with no touch but yet the man made millions b/c he is a machine..a player of similar talent is playing right now in Skinner Park but that player don't have the athletic ability..genes.
Yorke and Latapy ..fete whole night then go play a big match the next day.. no problem..Genetics..

Coache yuh all over the place with your argument. I will leave you dey. ???
Post by: coache on March 09, 2013, 09:58:13 PM
Refining our talents ..very good point. You know that in the late 50's and 60's Dom Basil realized there were a lot of talent in the deep south. He decided to refine the talent and brought Auguste Wooter from Suriname to do just that. These were were natural talents as well as phenominal athletes. Jan Steadman, Leroy Deleon,Warren Archibald, Steve David all  11 secs in a 100m dash. These guys were naturally fast. When you get that kind of talent to nuture ..ofcourse you'll have something great..I remember I sat down in a sportsday and watched Leonson Lewis run below 11secs...we have the athletes we have the talent but like you said development is key.
On the other hand you can't take a slow  wimpy kid  with no coordination, running on his heels and expect to produce an elite player ..at best you'll get average ..even with the best coaching..I know ..I have done it for years. I know Sherwood have it too..usually the parents of those kids are very enthusiastically involved.
Post by: coache on March 09, 2013, 10:15:25 PM
Sorry if I lost you Mr Observer but the clubs actually look at the kid's parents. If the parents  are  tall, athletic, have a history in playing sports etc..  ..I feel that  if they could put the parents thru tests they would do that too. You see they invest a lot of money so they want to make sure that when the kid grows up the kid has desirable characteristics.
the anomolies in the game right now are Messi, Iniesta, Xavi..but what I have learned is that if a player is below 2m in  height ...that player must be able to carry his little body as fast or faster than the standard 2m player  by moving his legs at a rate of so many revolutions per min... it's actually measured...I think it's 2m correct me but it's about 5ft 9inch would be the shortest they'd like to go with.
Post by: coache on March 09, 2013, 10:20:31 PM
90km rule applies to all the clubs in Holland..so science have  come into the picture to improve on the talents you have to work with..thus concepts such as the economy of motion  were developed.
Post by: amwood on March 09, 2013, 10:26:27 PM
Coache it does appear that you have some serious perspective man, hence, one of the reasons that I  responded to all of your criticisms - not in a defensive or abusive  manner, but more so with an approach that has resulted in you revealing your insight. It could have started off that way from the onset. But anyway, I agree with you to some degree on the concept of genetics. It is very true that Dwight was significantly stronger than any of us from that era. He had great technique of-course, but even at 14, he was very strong. I recall many times sitting and observing how difficult it was for even senior type players to get that ball off him. Dwight grew up on the beach in Tobago, the man could swim like a fish and I believe that much of his physical strength came from the fact that he spent so much time swimming and running in the sand. Sounds a bit far fetched, but I think that it played a significant role in what he was able to achieve - even at a young age. As you all would know, allot of training facilities in Europe have "sand filled" areas where players do some of their strength and conditioning work. Now that said, I would always take a player of high technique over a player who has more raw strength and decent technique at a very young age. I believe that it is more feasible to develop a player's physical attributes as opposed to the scenario where a player is not very gifted technically, but is very strong. We are talking very young players. Physical development can come with a proper training environment, diets etc. However, I believe that touch and technique is god given...   
Post by: Deeks on March 09, 2013, 10:37:13 PM

the fact that he spent so much time swimming and running in the sand. Sounds a bit far fetched,  

Not far-fetched star. probably gave him the edge over others to succeed.
Post by: coache on March 09, 2013, 10:49:45 PM
Mr Sherwood agree..I feel that cumulatively we are all in agreement and all points taken into consideration we would want  the best players the ones with football skills as well as physical.
So ..starting out with the young talent ..doing the best you can for the player is all we can ask for.
I commend you for the journey that you have decided to embark upon in my beloved southland.
I supported you 110% as a player ..I intend to support you in what you are doing now..we need more like you.
By the way I played in College with a Liberian fella ..Pape James ..he always talked about you.. I guess he knew you from the D.C area.
Post by: coache on March 09, 2013, 10:56:57 PM
Also dat strength thing you talk bout with Yorke..these African boys I have here amazing me with that all the time..they look like men and the boys them young..young..Africa..I am convinced ..but like you said silk touch is God given..I have touches men too but when the game turn to Mourinho style tempo..counter attack ..warlike  ting and monkey wrench drop on dah soft touch man..pressure oui..
Post by: Football supporter on March 09, 2013, 11:28:34 PM
I can agree with both Amwood and Coache is some respects. When my son was signed to Gillingham at 6 years old, he was naturally two footed, had great vision and awareness, a very good first touch and control and was fearless and aggressive in his play, but was on the small side and not particularly fast.

He could pass well, tackle and read the game, but when he tried to run past players they could easily catch him and muscle him off the ball. When I talked to the coaches (I didn't think he had the physical attributes to play at a good level) they told me they would be putting bands from his wrists to his elbows so that he would "pump" as he ran and develop more speed. They also said they would develop his technique to ride a challenge and retain possession.

These techniques did help him improve, but by age 8 he just couldn't compete at that standard. The coaches told me he was a great left back, but he just wasn't physically strong enough.

So, yes, having ability is good, but you also need the physical prowess. In some you can develop the talent, in some you can develop the physical requirements. But you have to recognise when it's time to stop trying to fit a square peg into a round hole.

For all the hours spent teaching my son technique, he was never going to be a good enough athlete. But we had great times and even now I love nothing more than kicking a ball around with him.
Post by: Observer on March 10, 2013, 06:59:27 AM
Sorry if I lost you Mr Observer but the clubs actually look at the kid's parents. If the parents  are  tall, athletic, have a history in playing sports etc..  ..I feel that  if they could put the parents thru tests they would do that too. You see they invest a lot of money so they want to make sure that when the kid grows up the kid has desirable characteristics.
the anomolies in the game right now are Messi, Iniesta, Xavi..but what I have learned is that if a player is below 2m in  height ...that player must be able to carry his little body as fast or faster than the standard 2m player  by moving his legs at a rate of so many revolutions per min... it's actually measured...I think it's 2m correct me but it's about 5ft 9inch would be the shortest they'd like to go with.

Coach you have not lost me at all, genetics and athleticism have long been discussed & debated, especially when it pertains to West Africans and those of West African descent. However, my point is in OUR SPORT it is not the be all and end all. I have spent significant time throughout Europe, Central and South America  (in particular Holland). Yes everyone is looking for an edge, but at the end of the day this game has shown that players can come from any back ground (genetic make up) and be effective and successful. As a matter of fact Cruyff recently chastised Dutch football for not producting players beyond what he called Arbitrary Passers of the Ball. He was highly critical of Ajax approach which he felt over emphasized running at a young age. I believe his words were "drop all the rubbish and get back to football on the field." This game has accommodated many small players whom as I said simply have to be evasive, many will argue that the best players the game has seen have been smaller players. All these pro clubs Academy as you well know look at hundreds of players and the truth is less than 45% make it. As you are aware Ajax wants two players per year from its investment. I was at PSV when Afellay was around 15, Koeman & Vanenburg told me that the entire U16 team (18 players) existed for Afellay, because he was the one they felt would make it. Now I believe 3 players went on from that squad to the pro level, two at lower leagues. For all the talk about the Dutch, they are falling behind in the production of players. These things go in cycles, because the truth is no one has a blue print. Presently everyone looking at Belgium & Spain. Beyond the legends you identified for Spain, they also have the likes of Mata, Silva, Villa, Cazola, Isco, Callejon the list goes on
What Mr Sherwood is doing is light years away from what we are discussing, let him do his thing & maybe just maybe, like Bertil,  he will find a diamond in the rough that gets the break which will allow him to flourish in the game. Mr Sherwood just do your thing.
Post by: Feliziano on March 10, 2013, 08:05:18 AM
Keep up the good work Sherwood...we have to start somewhere if we want to see a better future  :)
Post by: Deeks on March 10, 2013, 09:50:24 AM
What Mr Sherwood is doing is light years away from what we are discussing, let him do his thing & maybe just maybe, like Bertil,  he will find a diamond in the rough that gets the break which will allow him to flourish in the game. Mr Sherwood just do your thing.

:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
Post by: coache on March 10, 2013, 08:35:18 PM
Mr Sherwood is light years ahead..hmm..what is La Foucade doing in Port-of Spain? What is different ? Can anyone tell me please.
A man talk about what the Spaniards are doing ..the Spaniards always produced some of the world's finest players..silkiest of touches etc..etc..etc.. can we do that in Trinidad?  Have we ever produced any player like Mata, or Xavi or Iniesta? Would we ever do it?  Absolutely not.
We have however, produced Warren Archibald, Jan Steadman, Leroy Deleon, Steve David, Tony Douglas, Everald Cummings, Leroy Spann, Victor Gamaldo, Michael Maurice, Shaka Hislop, Dwight Yorke, Leonson Lewis,Russel Latapy, Jap Brown,Sedley Joseph, Richard Chinapoo.....I don't know if we getting a visual of the players I am calling out..
These players are all naturals ..they developed themselves as kids ..they did it   by  natural selection..survival of the fittest as you may call it  surfaced to the top and made a name for themselves internationally..there was  one player ..whom I have never seen play football who I failed to mention is Bobby Sookram.
We have a way of doing things in Trinidad where we like to reinvent the wheel..especially where football is concerned..all I am saying is we should take a more streamlined approach when we talking bout Academy..in every major sporting country on this planet, an Academy is a place where the BEST possible prospects are sorted out based on whatever the criteria established ( measured for consistency)
are housed, fed, educated and trained for that particular sport.
If that's what Mr Sherwood is doing then.. and only then.. he is light years ahead.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 10, 2013, 08:45:52 PM
He said "light years away from what we are discussing" (where your genetics bias took the exchange), not "light years ahead". Sherwood's project is in it's infancy.
Post by: coache on March 10, 2013, 08:57:27 PM
Sorry breds my apologies..
Post by: amwood on March 10, 2013, 10:51:24 PM
He said "light years away from what we are discussing" (where your genetics bias took the exchange), not "light years ahead". Sherwood's project is in it's infancy.
Mr Sherwood is light years ahead..hmm..what is La Foucade doing in Port-of Spain? What is different ? Can anyone tell me please.
A man talk about what the Spaniards are doing ..the Spaniards always produced some of the world's finest players..silkiest of touches etc..etc..etc.. can we do that in Trinidad?  Have we ever produced any player like Mata, or Xavi or Iniesta? Would we ever do it?  Absolutely not.
We have however, produced Warren Archibald, Jan Steadman, Leroy Deleon, Steve David, Tony Douglas, Everald Cummings, Leroy Spann, Victor Gamaldo, Michael Maurice, Shaka Hislop, Dwight Yorke, Leonson Lewis,Russel Latapy, Jap Brown,Sedley Joseph, Richard Chinapoo.....I don't know if we getting a visual of the players I am calling out..
These players are all naturals ..they developed themselves as kids ..they did it   by  natural selection..survival of the fittest as you may call it  surfaced to the top and made a name for themselves internationally..there was  one player ..whom I have never seen play football who I failed to mention is Bobby Sookram.
We have a way of doing things in Trinidad where we like to reinvent the wheel..especially where football is concerned..all I am saying is we should take a more streamlined approach when we talking bout Academy..in every major sporting country on this planet, an Academy is a place where the BEST possible prospects are sorted out based on whatever the criteria established ( measured for consistency)
If that's what Mr Sherwood is doing then.. and only then.. he is light years ahead.

Coache we are only one month in bro, Lawdd! Give me at least six months before you start comparing us to what others are doing, you keep calling La Foucade's name for some reason as if to suggest that he and I have the same objectives. I think yuh hear Gulf View and you see one or two white kids in a video and you have jumped to some preconceived notion as to what you believe we are about. What I would want to make clear is that we hope to create an environment that will equip players with the tools necessary to make an impression on colleagues of mine who have sent players at 14, 15 to a club like Arsenal. Between you and me, the responsibility of a full blown residential academy should be that of the TTFF, the ability to do that on our own at this moment is definitely light years away. So to make it clear, my aspiration is to take gifted players at a young enough age - developed them technically, prepare them physically, and equally as important - strengthen them psychologically to be able to - at 14 or 15, impress at a one week trial at a club like Arsenal. Why Arsenal? Well prior to coming back to Trinidad, I had a player who was taken at 14 on trial and was personally invited by Wenger himself to be part of Arsenal's academy. What it did essentially, is provided me with a benchmark as to qualities a club of that magnitude looks for in young players. If we can produce one of those in the near future then that represents success. With the other kids coming to us who are talented but not quite at that level, then we will seek other opportunities via US scholarships etc. Within the space of two weeks and a few phone calls, we were able to secure scholarship offers for three players who had no opportunities prior. What it means is that these guys now have the opportunity for a better life. Hopefully that clears up allot of this talk about what u feel we are about and what u think our objectives are. We are here to develop players, expose them to the highest level of competition that our resourses will allow, and then create opportunities for them based on their potential. As I've said it's been only one month since we got started...
Post by: coache on March 11, 2013, 10:31:32 AM
Seems like you have a good plan. You have the experience made inroads into the system..understand what's required have a good connection.. go on and help the kids ..I would be happy to come and volunteer some of my time and work with some of the kids if you would allow.
Post by: ANC2 on March 11, 2013, 11:57:26 AM
Coa
coache I have read all your post, you need to put down the bottle before you type. At least read the post before you respond. Your discussions like the post above are so contradictory it is not funny. Maybe like Shabazz you have too much knowledge, which most seem to come from a book. What exactly outside of coaching courses & some youth coaching have you actually done in football. Did you play? Have you ever coached a professional team and actually had to manage the players & team. ODP, Academy anything.
You giving advice  left right & center based on what I can gather coaching some youths in the US. Which one of your intelligent players that your produce playing on a top class team. You talking about coaching & development, then on the other hand describing Trinidad & Tobago legends as Naturals. If players of that pedigree  can reach where they reach Naturally, then why  would you think coaching is the only way forward.
Take time settle down.

Post by: coache on March 11, 2013, 05:04:54 PM
That's why Trinidad Football is in the state that it is in because people like you have all the answers.
Post by: coache on March 11, 2013, 05:12:12 PM
ANC2 I appreciate that you took time to read all my posts ..means that there must be something there worth reading. By the way I doh put water in meh mouth to talk..
Post by: coache on March 11, 2013, 07:35:05 PM
Mr ANC2..I have never coached a professional team ..I have never coached at an academy, I have never coached an ODP team. I have been coaching kids since 1988. I coach at the club level four days a week with games on the weekend. I work with inner city players one day a week with one game on the weekend and I play recreationally when I have the time.
I have the USSF A lic and the NSCAA Premier Diploma also a Professional Development Diploma from the NSCAA. I have done many symposiums and conferences over the years and travelled to Brazil, Panama and Holland. I started coaching in Panama in 1988. I played football at the club level in Trinidad.
I played in two NAIA Colleges between 1992-1996. I am at best an average player that's why I played for two Colleges I was having trouble getting playing time so I tranferred.
The school I transferred from had a team that was made up of players who were former pros and many of the players who are still my close friends  were big name players for their National team (senior team) players such as Dionsyius Sebwe, Pape James (full professional who played with David Nakhid and Shaka Hislop at the Baltimore Blast) Diego Gutierez from Columbia who ended up  playing on the US national team.. and others.
I at the time didn't feel I was treated fairly by the coach Ben Popoola, so I left. Looking back if I was coaching I wouldn't have picked me either.
I have decided on coaching at a higher level and I knew that if I  played in College it's a lot easier to get a coaching licence. College players and ex pros get to start at a higher level.
I live and coach in the suburbs. The kids that I coach are suburban. Most of them drop the game when they go off to college. Some go on to play in College, few of them become Pros..truthfully I don't keep track.
The football culture here for the most part is one of apathy. Most of the kids do not watch the game..they'd prefer to watch baseball, basketball, NFL, whatever except "soccer" it's too boring to watch..
I am supposed to be involved in the ODP process ..that program is dying..the problem is that the best talent is not in ODP. The most talented kids are usually the kid form Africa or Mexico but there might only be two scholarships; the foreign kid would be selected but the parents can't afford the fees so the spot would go to the suburban kid who didn't make the cut in the first place.
It gets old after a while..you workin so hard and you know that the kid wouldn't amount to much as a player even if the kid got some potential.They only touch the ball when they come to practice they don't play pick up games and they don't watch the game.
So,  I get my satisfaction by working with the foreign athletes in the underground leagues like the African League and the Mexican league and the best time of the year ..summer tournaments. I work with players who played professional in Africa, Bosnia, Mexico, Germany (Iranian and Bosnian players),Romania, Costa Rica, I also get Trinidad College Players who come and play in the summer..all of them have represented Trinidad at the youth level.
I have coached a PDL team in the past  the PDL is supposedly a feeder for the Pro leagues. I have coached many top quality players and won many a tournament. These players are dreamers like myself we come out and take our work  seriously and train hard and we travel about and play for money and win..sometimes we lose. I have players who left and went back and played for their country in the African Nations Cup ( Simon Mulama for Kenya).
I can't say that I produced any player. All the quality players I have been exposed to came to me with their gifts.They entrusted me with their gifts and most of them say that I have helped their game in some form or another.
Some players may not like me I don't know ..I know that we had a lot of fun together and that is ultimately the objective ..it is a game;  they all call me Coach ..the Trinis call me Coachman..and my Nigerian assistant calls me Coache.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 12, 2013, 09:59:46 AM
Coache, are you a former junior national team player?
Post by: amwood on March 21, 2013, 12:44:26 AM
Week 6, a good friend who is a big coach in Trini said that he finds that it is difficult to teach one or two touch football in Trinidad, said it's a cultural thing. I disagreed with him, and on top of that, I told him it can be done if the mentality is instilled early enough. I also mentioned that our players can be taught what it means to have an excellent attitude towards defending. We are working on those two concepts right now 6 weeks in...the players' average age is 8 & we have some who are 6 and 7 in the video. One older kid who is 13, his old man is a massive supporter of the Academy but everyone is aware of it - little compromise in that regard.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g1P64BIzp-M
Post by: coache on March 21, 2013, 02:18:18 PM
football is football ..ofcourse you can teach one touch football...that's one of the ways to increase speed of play and get players to make earlier decisions...you can do anything in Trinidad because the talent is there! It's just that the Trinis don't realize it..Jamaicans on the other hand have a different mentality they truly believe they can do anything that's why they are the best in the world at something.
Post by: amwood on March 21, 2013, 02:45:44 PM
football is football ..ofcourse you can teach one touch football...that's one of the ways to increase speed of play and get players to make earlier decisions...you can do anything in Trinidad because the talent is there! It's just that the Trinis don't realize it..Jamaicans on the other hand have a different mentality they truly believe they can do anything that's why they are the best in the world at something.

Exactly!
Post by: asylumseeker on March 21, 2013, 02:52:52 PM
Less importantly ... does no one in the football industry make bibs or pinnies for children? It seems usual to see kids drowning in those things.
Post by: amwood on March 21, 2013, 03:32:59 PM
Less importantly ... does no one in the football industry make bibs or pinnies for children? It seems usual to see kids drowning in those things.

Hahaa! They do man, unfortunately they sent us the wrong sizes...
Post by: doc on March 21, 2013, 05:12:56 PM
There's joy in repetition... say cha-cha-cha ;D
Post by: BESBRAHN on March 21, 2013, 06:48:35 PM
Had a look at the video you posted Sherwood and I love the work you are doing with the kids and the ideas you are trying to get across. I am an aspiring coach myself. One day soon I hope to get some badges here and get my feet wet. So far I have been able to get a diploma in Phys Ed and I may get a chance to assist with a coaching school in South. It is very encouraging to see guys who played college ball from South giving back to the kids. Keep it up!
Post by: Observer on March 21, 2013, 07:17:19 PM
Week 6, a good friend who is a big coach in Trini said that he finds that it is difficult to teach one or two touch football in Trinidad, said it's a cultural thing. I disagreed with him, and on top of that, I told him it can be done if the mentality is instilled early enough. I also mentioned that our players can be taught what it means to have an excellent attitude towards defending. We are working on those two concepts right now 6 weeks in...the players' average age is 8 & we have some who are 6 and 7 in the video. One older kid who is 13, his old man is a massive supporter of the Academy but everyone is aware of it - little compromise in that regard.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g1P64BIzp-M

???
Post by: Sam on March 22, 2013, 05:35:03 PM
Dont study nobody Sherwood, T&T culture need to break because it sucks.

One touch football is the way forward, we should have been playing that since 1974 when the world moved forward and left T&T back.

T&T use to have culture, de youth f00cking everything up now.

Big senior players in T&T still can't trap, pass and shoot, even Kenwyne is a culprit.

Keep working hard bro, you have the right idea.

Post by: coache on April 04, 2013, 08:48:36 PM
I would like to reopen this topic because what Mr Sherwood is doing in Trinidad is very important for our future. He is doing a great service to his country by returning to contribute .
The age group which he has focused is the most critical of all age groups and he is the right man for them.
It is also at this age group where a lot of new research is being focused. The President of the United States have commissioned scientists to map and study the brain because our knowledge of the brain is very limited.
Researchers are finding that because the brain is developing at a very rapid rate during those years ,certain parts of the brain grow faster than other parts..e.g parts of the brain that has to do with reasoning tend to lag behind the part that responsible for pleasure that's why kids want to have fun vs  understanding a tactical concept.
There are  new concepts used by Barcelona for instance which have turned traditional concepts upside down.
What I do like about Mr Sherwood main themes are fun and technique.
Post by: BESBRAHN on April 08, 2013, 09:15:27 PM
Agree with Sam 100%.. Also with Coache...the age group Sherwood is targetting is what we need to focus on..getting them to play one touch and two touch football it will eventually become automatic when they start getting older and then the other skills can come in and complement. Sad to say I looked at a show on sportsmax highlighting college football some months ago and they showed Jamaican intercol and also ours. Marked difference...the Jamaican kids clearly have better technique and can trap,pass and cross the ball very well. Shows that the youths are better coached out there..hate to admit it but it was glaring.
Post by: Football supporter on April 09, 2013, 05:23:37 AM
Agree with Sam 100%.. Also with Coache...the age group Sherwood is targetting is what we need to focus on..getting them to play one touch and two touch football it will eventually become automatic when they start getting older and then the other skills can come in and complement. Sad to say I looked at a show on sportsmax highlighting college football some months ago and they showed Jamaican intercol and also ours. Marked difference...the Jamaican kids clearly have better technique and can trap,pass and cross the ball very well. Shows that the youths are better coached out there..hate to admit it but it was glaring.

Is there any real coaching in Intercol? Seems to me that these teams are only interested in winning. When kids leave school football, they are years behind their overseas contemporaries. Even trying to partner with some schools to help develop the kids in a professional environment are rebuffed. I know at least one 16 year old who I could send to an academy in England, but he wants to play Intercol. Instead of advising that this opportunity only exists at his current age and will be lost forever, he's encouraged to play school football and, by the way, he doesn't attend classes, so he's not there for educational reasons!!

However, the passion and support for Intercol exceeds the Pro League, so I guess I can see the short term attraction for the players, but they can't see the long term damage to their careers.
Post by: amwood on April 18, 2013, 04:38:27 PM
"I Want Quick Feet" ah little quote from one of the 7 year olds at training! In addition to "all" of the technical work that is done in Trini by coaches, I think allot of emphasis should be placed on dynamic movement as it pertains to the development of "football related speed"...I think kids need to be stronger down here as well...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tY_bgpu4_B0
Post by: asylumseeker on April 18, 2013, 06:45:59 PM
"I Want Quick Feet" ah little quote from one of the 7 year olds at training! In addition to "all" of the technical work that is done in Trini by coaches, I think allot of emphasis should be placed on dynamic movement as it pertains to the development of "football related speed"...I think kids need to be stronger down here as well...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tY_bgpu4_B0

"I Want Quick Feet" I want dem "cleats" :). Bredrin wearing de very same blue adidas indoors ah trying to replace ... my pair served me well. Want another pair. Very comfy.
Post by: amwood on April 18, 2013, 06:51:40 PM
Good gear is hard to find down here, plenty imitation in the place, or so it seems...
Post by: amwood on May 10, 2013, 08:48:33 AM
Back again with ah little update fellas...massive progress being made, the mentality of the kids is now at a very good level....it's interesting to see how they operate once they hit the training ground - there's is a seriousness about them. From day one, we have emphasized the importance of fundamentals and the ability to execute at speed - while in the States I sent allot of kids to some of the most established university programs, UVA, UNC Chapel Hill etc. a few to the US national youth teams as well, a few who are now in the MLS. What separated those kids was the fact that at 8 and 9 they were in very demanding training environments where all areas of player development was handled and addressed - technical, tactical and mental. They knew it was about the football, but they also knew it was about "belly" as well. Ah now feel like i'm making some great strides with some of the kids down here. In fact I feel like we have a few of the best around (U10s) and they are really committed which is key. Of-course we have a few who's involvement will allow us to be financially self sufficient - which is key as well - we don't hide that. Anyway, always sharing a little info and insight as to what going on. We have all kinda people on Facebook viewing the videos and responding as well, but I always like to leave something here because ah feel like this is the only place where true Trinidad football interest exist. Also, ah hoping that others will come in and share what is happening in other training environments as well, we have to get to a point where we can not only develop, but we must be at a point where we can expose and market our football organizations. Anyway bless. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dRdOmbd6vbE
Post by: King Deese on May 10, 2013, 10:50:20 AM
Back again with ah little update fellas...massive progress being made, the mentality of the kids is now at a very good level....it's interesting to see how they operate once they hit the training ground - there's is a seriousness about them. From day one, we have emphasized the importance of fundamentals and the ability to execute at speed - while in the States I sent allot of kids to some of the most established university programs, UVA, UNC Chapel Hill etc. a few to the US national youth teams as well, a few who are now in the MLS. What separated those kids was the fact that at 8 and 9 they were in very demanding training environments where all areas of player development was handled and addressed - technical, tactical and mental. They knew it was about the football, but they also knew it was about "belly" as well. Ah now feel like i'm making some great strides with some of the kids down here. In fact I feel like we have a few of the best around (U10s) and they are really committed which is key. Of-course we have a few who's involvement will allow us to be financially self sufficient - which is key as well - we don't hide that. Anyway, always sharing a little info and insight as to what going on. We have all kinda people on Facebook viewing the videos and responding as well, but I always like to leave something here because ah feel like this is the only place where true Trinidad football interest exist. Also, ah hoping that others will come in and share what is happening in other training environments as well, we have to get to a point where we can not only develop, but we must be at a point where we can expose and market our football organizations. Anyway bless. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dRdOmbd6vbE

Amwood, this is great to see the kids so enthused about the game, Continue the good work. I just have a couple questions. Please forgive me if they have been asked already. At what point in the kids development do you enter them into some kind of invitatonal tourney? Have you identified your strikers, attacking mids, defensive mids, your defenders, and goalies? Rebecca is definitely one for the future. At what point do you start developing game intelligence, crossing the ball from the wings, the different types of passing, combination plays, good nutritional habits, the importance of a good education, etc.?
Steven Short of the USL & IMG Academy NextGen Series sent me an email about the IMG academy and in searchng for a video on the academy I stumbled onto these videos, so I thought I would pass them onto you to help you with your training techiques. As I was looking at these clips I realized that so many of our junior and senior national teams don't know how to play the game in it's simplest form because of poor coaching, poor technical skills (poor first touch), lack of footballing intelligence, lack of confidence on the ball. Results in recent games against Belize and Peru and the junior mens and womens teams in the just concluded qualifiers are proof of that. That trend has to be broken for our football to move forward to a better place if we are to command respect from other countries in our region and around the world.
You are blazing a trail Amwood, the journey is going to be tough, stay the course and your academy will reap the rewards.

Peace.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jm3-A-LaAAo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gegiHKuUrZ8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NzSWyzBfeOM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4oiDU03eOvE
Post by: amwood on May 10, 2013, 12:07:08 PM
Appreciate the videos man! After 13 weeks of work, our emphasis with the young ones - U10, u11s has been solely on developing their understanding of what it means to be in a training environment - mindset, competitiveness, respect and commitment - the ability to reflect on their performances in training and make a determination as to whether or not they are happy with the quality of their work based on a benchmark that has been established - "accountability." Secondly, we have focused on instilling into the kids what is involved in acquiring/enhancing good technique, in other words - we have conveyed to them what good technique is all about - the mechanics involved etc. however, what we are trying to really get across to them is that they must work to get to a point where they understand what is involved in correcting mistakes - essentially they must start understanding how to solve technical problems themselves as opposed to being corrected by a coach every time  - first touch was not good, then they must know why and how to fix it. As far their involvement in tournaments etc. our approach here is a bit different compared to our approach abroad. Our guys outside are competing in tournaments and league play as early as 9, but these are kids who have been in a training set up since they were 7. i am solely focused on good technique, once I feel comfortable that the guys are in a good place, we will then start looking for a few friendlies etc. My feeling is that at the younger age groups their should be more focus on developing their technique. Tactics is something that comes a bit later once you're comfortable that your kids are fundamentally sound. That said, at these young ages, you can obviously see that some are more predisposed to attacking type positions and some actually enjoying a bit of defending. Whether they eventually become attacking or defensive players, they should all be able to control ah ball and pass it under pressure. Sorry bout the long response, but I could talk abt this stuff all day. Appreciate the feed back man......Bless! 
Post by: King Deese on May 10, 2013, 12:24:31 PM
Appreciate the videos man! After 13 weeks of work, our emphasis with the young ones - U10, u11s has been solely on developing their understanding of what it means to be in a training environment - mindset, competitiveness, respect and commitment - the ability to reflect on their performances in training and make a determination as to whether or not they are happy with the quality of their work based on a benchmark that has been established - "accountability." Secondly, we have focused on instilling into the kids what is involved in acquiring/enhancing good technique, in other words - we have conveyed to them what good technique is all about - the mechanics involved etc. however, what we are trying to really get across to them is that they must work to get to a point where they understand what is involved in correcting mistakes - essentially they must start understanding how to solve technical problems themselves as opposed to being corrected by a coach every time  - first touch was not good, then they must know why and how to fix it. As far their involvement in tournaments etc. our approach here is a bit different compared to our approach abroad. Our guys outside are competing in tournaments and league play as early as 9, but these are kids who have been in a training set up since they were 7. i am solely focused on good technique, once I feel comfortable that the guys are in a good place, we will then start looking for a few friendlies etc. My feeling is that at the younger age groups their should be more focusing on developing their technique. Tactics is something that comes a bit later once you're comfortable that your kids are fundamentally sound. That said, at these young ages, you can obviously see that some are more predisposed to attacking type positions and some actually enjoying a bit of defending. Whether they eventually become attacking or defensive players, they should all be able to control ah ball and pass it under pressure. Sorry bout the long response, but I could talk abt this stuff all day. Appreciate the feed back man......Bless! 

No, no, I appreciate the respnse, my brother. As I said man, stay the course, good work and as they say "Many rivers to cross".

God Bless.
Post by: coache on May 10, 2013, 09:31:55 PM
Aye good stuff boi Sherwood ..real patience..real patience..results will come ...give it  ah good five years..
Post by: amwood on May 11, 2013, 06:34:21 AM
Appreciate the feedback fellas, keep in mind I'm all about the criticism just the same! Bless!
Title: Passing It Till We Drop...
Post by: amwood on May 08, 2016, 06:22:05 PM
Making some real progress on the football front...
https://youtu.be/LMPhJZiW1h0
Title: Re: Passing It Till We Drop...
Post by: maxg on May 08, 2016, 08:56:09 PM
nah nah amwood..yuh preppin south alone ?  Please sir, can North have equal service please
Post by: Mose on May 09, 2016, 12:09:17 AM
Niceness. Liking the pace and intensity of the session!!   :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Posession is A Life Style on May 09, 2016, 08:07:55 PM
Sherwood seems to be doing some good work.  Anyone know if he brings any of his teams to America?
Post by: Tallman on May 09, 2016, 08:15:47 PM
Sherwood seems to be doing some good work.  Anyone know if he brings any of his teams to America?

Hasn't done so as yet.
Post by: Posession is A Life Style on May 09, 2016, 08:26:34 PM
I would like for him to consider bringing a couple of teams up ,,, I think it could be a good trip.  We have a program that might provide a good experience.  It have a few young Trinis in the program also ...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Is16bYUmf2E&feature=youtu.be

Post by: maxg on May 09, 2016, 09:44:51 PM
I would like for him to consider bringing a couple of teams up ,,, I think it could be a good trip.  We have a program that might provide a good experience.  It have a few young Trinis in the program also ...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Is16bYUmf2E&feature=youtu.be

I'm sure Mr Sherwood would have his ideas. And although this will be a nice, and probably good exchange of ideas and environmental, and challenging experience. I don't really see the cost effective benefit as this age. It's to young for amateur showcase.
Furthermore, be aware we have issues getting some National teams as well as our Pro League teams to their games, working men, besides the fact of getting a one or two players to tryouts being a challenge. I think getting amateur youth team(s) to go on tour might be financially difficult in the near future even with proper and organized fundraising for a young, although growing academy . We have talented players and coaches like amwood academy, but unfortunately the financial support and foundation is not a priority for sport in TT. It's all seems to be a matter of numbers, players, people, finances and priorities.
 I would suggest some establishment of contact and maybe a pre-host and_or arranged tournament visit by one of your teams. The country and academy i'm sure would appreciate the visit and test. Otherwise, it's not really worth it at this age. Just my thoughts. or are my thoughts flawed ? Amwood ? anybody ?
Post by: amwood on May 10, 2016, 02:30:30 AM
Appreciate the little feedback as always fellas...as it pertains to taking a team to the US - the cost is just too much at the moment...additionally, ah feel like I have a fairly good grasp of the level that US youth soccer is at having coached in the States for such a long time. We would struggle to be competitive against some of the top US Development Academies (Red Bulls, LA Galaxy etc) but we have only been at this for 36 months. What would be interesting is taking a couple of teams to a place like Holland and getting a sense of where we are against that type of opposition, that is something we hope to do in the near future...that would be a meaningful benchmark. Also, it's insane that in this country there are only 10 youth teams in all of T&T that have guaranteed games to play come ah Sunday. The rest have nothing other than the occasional frendlies that they attempt to arrange with other grassroots clubs. We are failing massively in this regard, there are players in areas like Mayaro, Moruga, etc who will never know what it means to be involved in competitive football until they get to secondary school...that's a travesty as it relates to the development of the game locally...
Post by: asylumseeker on May 10, 2016, 02:53:29 AM
Brilliant closing sentence.
Post by: Posession is A Life Style on May 10, 2016, 05:08:13 AM
Appreciate the little feedback as always fellas...as it pertains to taking a team to the US - the cost is just too much at the moment...additionally, ah feel like I have a fairly good grasp of the level that US youth soccer is at having coached in the States for such a long time. We would struggle to be competitive against some of the top US Development Academies (Red Bulls, LA Galaxy etc) but we have only been at this for 36 months. What would be interesting is taking a couple of teams to a place like Holland and getting a sense of where we are against that type of opposition, locally...

Sherwood thanks for the feedback.  For clarity, are you saying you would not be competitive against US  Academies, so you want to see how you will do against European competition?  Are you suggesting the European competition is lower?

Having played against competition in both European and UK competition ... i.e. Man City etc., we can provide a different perspective coming out of America than you are accustom to.

Thanks anyhow for your response.

Post by: Posession is A Life Style on May 10, 2016, 08:01:36 AM
US Talent with T&T ties ...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wz-WuJpblRQ&feature=youtu.be
Post by: Big Magician on May 10, 2016, 08:01:52 AM
Also, it's insane that in this country there are only 10 youth teams in all of T&T that have guaranteed games to play come ah Sunday. The rest have nothing other than the occasional frendlies that they attempt to arrange with other grassroots clubs. We are failing massively in this regard, there are players in areas like Mayaro, Moruga, etc who will never know what it means to be involved in competitive football until they get to secondary school...that's a travesty as it relates to the development of the game locally...

or i could say it in my normal hardcore way...F#C%ING MADNESS.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on May 10, 2016, 08:21:32 AM
Appreciate the little feedback as always fellas...as it pertains to taking a team to the US - the cost is just too much at the moment...additionally, ah feel like I have a fairly good grasp of the level that US youth soccer is at having coached in the States for such a long time. We would struggle to be competitive against some of the top US Development Academies (Red Bulls, LA Galaxy etc) but we have only been at this for 36 months. What would be interesting is taking a couple of teams to a place like Holland and getting a sense of where we are against that type of opposition, locally...

Sherwood thanks for the feedback.  For clarity, are you saying you would not be competitive against US  Academies, so you want to see how you will do against European competition?  Are you suggesting the European competition is lower?

Having played against competition in both European and UK competition ... i.e. Man City etc., we can provide a different perspective coming out of America than you are accustom to.

Aside from the expense, it sounds more like he saying he have a fair grasp of the coaching and expected level for youth soccer in the US which allows him to gauge/compare his youth'.  Bay contrast, a trip to Europe would offer more in terms of assessment for him and his group as a benchmark for what they need to be aiming for/achieving.
Post by: Posession is A Life Style on May 10, 2016, 09:43:30 AM

Aside from the expense, it sounds more like he saying he have a fair grasp of the coaching and expected level for youth soccer in the US which allows him to gauge/compare his youth'.  Bay contrast, a trip to Europe would offer more in terms of assessment for him and his group as a benchmark for what they need to be aiming for/achieving.

Please correct me if I am wrong, but what I am hearing is that programs based in the USA is not good enough to Play against the likes of Sherwood's Academy without even getting the opportunity to prove it or learn from him? 

As someone who had success against top European academies I would contend, that during Sherwood's absence from the USA, a lot has changed and there are grassroots programs here that will provide challenges similar to what he would get in Europe.  The opportunities for CONCACAF level grass roots programs to play against top European academies are not easily accessible.

Just a thought!!

Post by: lefty on May 10, 2016, 09:59:11 AM
Amwood said struggle to compete against US academies, I imagine they would struggle against European academies as well, but FOR HIM there maybe more to gain exposure wise from the Europe experience since he has already experienced the US system.......

Maybe is just me, but that's what got from what he said, not slight or disrespect.

Sent from my BLU ADVANCE 4.0 using Tapatalk

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on May 10, 2016, 02:18:59 PM
Amwood said struggle to compete against US academies, I imagine they would struggle against European academies as well, but FOR HIM there maybe more to gain exposure wise from the Europe experience since he has already experienced the US system.......

Maybe is just me, but that's what got from what he said, not slight or disrespect.

Sent from my BLU ADVANCE 4.0 using Tapatalk

Seems about right to me
Post by: amwood on May 10, 2016, 10:58:31 PM

I enjoyed watching your video and I'm aware of the work that you guys do...I remember reading an article about the trip and the games that you all played in Europe - someone actually inboxed me with a link on this very site...what I'm saying is that I know what the Development Academies have to offer in the US - I have colleagues who coach with those organizations and we speak occasionally, & in truth, I feel that we could prepare a team to compete against them with the required approach. Europe is still the benchmark though and doing well against youth teams in Holland or England could send a more impactful message to those who may pay attention to these things in this part of the world. Taking a couple of youth teams from T&T and doing well against AZ ALKMAAR OR AJAX or ah Man City would resonate more heavily within our football circles than us doing well against CASL or the New York Bulls. There is no disrespect intended of course, because I know how challenging soccer is in the US and the level of investment that is being pumped into the development of the game...respect and continue the good work that you all are doing...incidentally, would love to see any footage that you all may have of your time in Europe - I read a blog post about it - I believe, but some footage, if you have any would be fantastic. Bless...
Post by: Posession is A Life Style on May 11, 2016, 07:46:45 PM

I enjoyed watching your video and I'm aware of the work that you guys do...I remember reading an article about the trip and the games that you all played in Europe - someone actually inboxed me with a link on this very site...what I'm saying is that I know what the Development Academies have to offer in the US - I have colleagues who coach with those organizations and we speak occasionally, & in truth, I feel that we could prepare a team to compete against them with the required approach. Europe is still the benchmark though and doing well against youth teams in Holland or England could send a more impactful message to those who may pay attention to these things in this part of the world. Taking a couple of youth teams from T&T and doing well against AZ ALKMAAR OR AJAX or ah Man City would resonate more heavily within our football circles than us doing well against CASL or the New York Bulls. There is no disrespect intended of course, because I know how challenging soccer is in the US and the level of investment that is being pumped into the development of the game...respect and continue the good work that you all are doing...incidentally, would love to see any footage that you all may have of your time in Europe - I read a blog post about it - I believe, but some footage, if you have any would be fantastic. Bless...

Thanks for your feedback on the video, I was hoping you would provide some constructive criticism, as a football person I am always interested in feedback from good football minds … I agree with your position that Europe is a good benchmark and doing well against "AZ ALKMAAR OR AJAX or ah Man City” etc. would be a better measurement and have a more impactful message, hence the reason we go to Europe.  However, dominating your immediate and surrounding environment would send an even stronger message when you decide to go abroad. 

In addition, you seem to be painting all football organizations in America with the same very broad brush.  Having been in America for a long time I am sure you are aware that most of the kids we work with here are coming from families with absolutely no football in their background.  In our program in particular, we have been able to take these same kids, provide them with a football education and be competitive in Europe in a very consistent way.

If I was in your position seeking to prepare kids to be successful in Europe, I would find tremendous value in coming to North America, if only so that your players can experience what it takes to play in adverse weather conditions, something they cannot experience in the caribbean.  This will ensure they are better prepared for Europe.

With that said, in my opinion, at the moment, we are as good as many of the European youth teams.

Regarding your request for video from our time in Europe against the pro clubs … as you may or may not know, having experienced many big clubs in Europe, i.e. FCB, Man City, Spurs, Norwich City, to name few … because of "Child Protection Laws" professional football clubs in Europe and the UK do not allow anyone to take photos or video recording on their facility during events involving children. 

In the future, if you see any value in collaborating with programs in the North America that is committed to providing a Football Education to youths and preparing them to play at the highest level, but does it different to what you have experienced in America while you lived here, we are open to those types of relations.

Keep up the good work!!

Post by: Tiresais on May 12, 2016, 12:49:34 AM

Regarding your request for video from our time in Europe against the pro clubs … as you may or may not know, having experienced many big clubs in Europe, i.e. FCB, Man City, Spurs, Norwich City, to name few … because of "Child Protection Laws" professional football clubs in Europe and the UK do not allow anyone to take photos or video recording on their facility during events involving children. 

You would still be able to take photos or videos, depending on the situation. You might need to have a written consent form from parents, or these clubs might already have a written consent form that covers your situation. You need to check far in advance in order to be able to write up a standard permission form. If you get some accepting but others rejecting, depending on the situation you might have to blur out the kids and destroy the originals, or be denied any video or photo.

Best to check with the club - I know as a teacher the school I work at asks for permission in specific circumstances from the first day they come in, such as at sporting events.
Post by: Tobago28 on May 12, 2016, 06:11:35 AM
Amwood and Possession for Life, the brotherhood of football and the tone you guys showing is very positive. Its good to travel to USA, good to travel to Europe and test your boys when funds are available.  In the interim you guys can be a great resource for each other on how to technically and tactically improve your/our players to compete against Europe and America.

I would ask both of you why we are not discussing our boys competing against South American youth teams.  Other than players coming out of Belgium and France;  Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Columbia, Chile, Peru, Ecuador and Bolivia are the largest producers of players on the planet. The cost to travel to South America maybe less and the quality of players certainly higher. The top European leagues shop for players  in South America, then refine then in Europe. Would we be better off going to the source of the development>
Post by: maxg on May 12, 2016, 12:36:59 PM
Amwood and Possession for Life, the brotherhood of football and the tone you guys showing is very positive. Its good to travel to USA, good to travel to Europe and test your boys when funds are available.  In the interim you guys can be a great resource for each other on how to technically and tactically improve your/our players to compete against Europe and America.

I would ask both of you why we are not discussing our boys competing against South American youth teams.  Other than players coming out of Belgium and France;  Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Columbia, Chile, Peru, Ecuador and Bolivia are the largest producers of players on the planet. The cost to travel to South America maybe less and the quality of players certainly higher. The top European leagues shop for players  in South America, then refine then in Europe. Would we be better off going to the source of the development>
For development sure..but to be seen for showcase, the source is Europe. If it runs like a duck, talks like a duck, dribbles and skills like a duck..it's not necessarily a duck (Brazilian). Why take a Trinidadian who can play as good as a Brazilian, when you can probably get a bonafide Brazilian for the same price  or cheaper.
The thing is, Levi representing is not just Trinidad as a whole, but amwood as a bonfide developer, and it is good sense to use that iron while it is hot.. Going back to the US from whence he came, where we can barely get players in the major league, none with big name, is kinda "been there done that"i would imagine. At present, ppl know Latas, Yorke, Jones, maybe even John. there is a couple here and there in lower leagues, Birchall...and now Levi in Holland - a 1st youngster. If Levi continue his development and stays the course, this is good for Amwood academy and other TT players. So why play like a South American, when south America not giving us career. We have to play like a graduate of a Amwood academia and try to make the connections. So it makes perfect sense a trip to Holland NOW.
For the above reasons I couldn't understand why PIALS wasn''t seeing this. Why did he take team to Man City and not LA academy or Mexico or Brazil. Obviously the same reasons. It cannot be just about play experience, the cost is to great.
 Anyway, i think amwood on the right track and quite aware of the scene. The only thing we can get in US now is glorified fete match, when we have more of our senior players in the top leagues there, and/or their senior teams trashing us on the regular, then it would make sense to invest in such development trips to USA.  If IDF willing to host and partially sponsor a trip , that's a different story, but to go to play some games ?  maybe the Dutch clubs might be able to afford this.. TT ppl not making US dollars ( doh we try to live a US life  ::) )
Hope i'm not sounding harsh, just being practical. Putting myself in those shoes per se, and choosing a road, not really knowing what the best route is.
Post by: Tobago28 on May 12, 2016, 06:19:08 PM
MaxG,

You not harsh at all, your perspective is appreciated. You pointed out the ability to show case players where I was focused on competitive matches for Amwood to measure the level of hisnplayers. I understood that he understands the USA environment but wanted level set against Europe but was facing a cost factor. Therefore, I suggested South America not as a place to place players but to evaluate them for development.

I understood(maybe incorrectly) that many of Amwoods players were not at the age to challenge for signings similar to Levi. In addition, qe have to be honest about a lot of these trips to Man City and other clubs, they are primarily marketing opportunities the clubs and not serious recruiting. The exposure and experience is fantastic for those selected but we know how these massive clubs recruit and its not like that.

I think that boys 13-17 playing against South American competition is an excellent way to guage themselves and develop. Again my focus was development where you were more targeted at securing contract opportunities. Nothing harsh about that.
Post by: maxg on May 12, 2016, 09:02:46 PM
MaxG,

You not harsh at all, your perspective is appreciated. You pointed out the ability to show case players where I was focused on competitive matches for Amwood to measure the level of hisnplayers. I understood that he understands the USA environment but wanted level set against Europe but was facing a cost factor. Therefore, I suggested South America not as a place to place players but to evaluate them for development.

I understood(maybe incorrectly) that many of Amwoods players were not at the age to challenge for signings similar to Levi. In addition, qe have to be honest about a lot of these trips to Man City and other clubs, they are primarily marketing opportunities the clubs and not serious recruiting. The exposure and experience is fantastic for those selected but we know how these massive clubs recruit and its not like that.

I think that boys 13-17 playing against South American competition is an excellent way to guage themselves and develop. Again my focus was development where you were more targeted at securing contract opportunities. Nothing harsh about that.
but I m also touching on development..Contrary to grassroots belief football training and development is not rocket science. However, like any amateur sport the dedication required by both players and coaches/trainers is extremely high with very little percentage of successful returns. Luck, contact  and being seen, actually sometimes play a greater role, especially in team sports. There are billions  of kids playing football and there are comparatively few professional positions available, added to the fact that it's a relatively short active playing span, even for top players (of course  there are exceptions). So one has to consider priorities, family structure and support, background, education (physical & mental), alternatives, and possible careers. Questions arise what are they developing to and for. Not all will be good enough to gain contractual employment from a professional club, so if u have 25 solid young players in a academical club, how many would be actually be good enough to get a look at even a regional team, given the other clubs around, how many would make a semipro team or National program. Is the investment worth it for them or should they be investing their time in more feasible sound ventures. Many kids will say they want to be a Pilot (my time) and in reality barely get to finish highschool. Yet, if they are lucky they may still be a pilot one day. On the other hand, one can dream to be as good as Messi, train everyday, has the best coach and trainer, and if they are not given a opportunity in that limited time, say by 14 or 15 they won't get a sniff of reaching whatever they were developing for.  Many professional coaches in the football academia sell a dream, that is the business they are in, yet very few achieve such, but some do, and the success stories are shown to million every Saturday. We don't pay to see the many that don't make.
My point therefore is, why have non-rich parents invest in trip to anywhere for a group of kids, when it is quite obvious one or none wouldn't even get a chance. Even with the exhorbitant salaries paid today, there are more financially sound people who hardly play sport than those that do.
A experienced trainer can observe a kid on a daily basis and can tell if he has a shot or not. So why push the rest that way. The development for me therefore is self, being the best they can be, and for the enjoyment and appreciation of how far they reach with the work they have put in. but to throw funds behind such development, it should be minimal. Amwood boys are lucky to have someone of his caliber and experience return home to help them along this part(and path, los), keep them out of trouble, having fun and gaining confidence is themselves. From observation  afar, he seems to be doing a fine job. yet, i don't think he was in the business of making stars, that's god,jah,allah or buddha's job.
Title: It's been a while!
Post by: amwood on September 18, 2017, 09:36:26 PM
Hope things good with everyone - haven't posted in quite sometime. Sadly the football vibe in the country is absolutely awful but we persevere....2016 was a decent year for our guys and in 2017, we are starting to see some positive results. Until things change for the better, we've (as a group) - come to the conclusion that we will rely on those outside to further the development of our players - getting them equipped at a young enough age is now the goal. Bless!

https://youtu.be/ykHSaNdL84A

https://youtu.be/zgd3512qMjc
Title: Re: Building An Academy In Trinidad
Post by: maxg on January 26, 2018, 09:28:47 AM
Amwood, come in nah. Haven't heard from you in awhile. Academy report, state of the community, area, nation, region..something. Respect always
always good to hear from the ppl in the trenches.
Post by: Tallman on January 26, 2018, 05:13:45 PM
Amwood, come in nah. Haven't heard from you in awhile. Academy report, state of the community, area, nation, region..something. Respect always
always good to hear from the ppl in the trenches.

Friend him on Facebook, he does be giving regular updates there with videos. You can also subscribe to the Anthony Sherwood Football YouTube Channel (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_a25YkW_nUy1GnEs93o4Eg).
Post by: maxg on January 26, 2018, 05:45:22 PM
thanks Tman
Post by: amwood on March 20, 2018, 07:57:02 PM
Respect to everyone....football coming along, lots of challenges but that is what makes it interesting. Bless!

https://youtu.be/atxbicmHdfQ
Post by: Sam on March 22, 2018, 05:01:04 AM
Judah look real good.

De under 17 in black right?

Post by: maxg on March 22, 2018, 03:29:09 PM
Judah look real good.

De under 17 in black right?

Sam, Unfortunately, ah doh think so nah. Must be biased highlights.  :-[