Sports => Football => Topic started by: asylumseeker on February 18, 2013, 06:45:25 PM

Title: CONCACAF U-20 Championship 2013 edition
Post by: asylumseeker on February 18, 2013, 06:45:25 PM
Haitians appear have given the game away on the back of an early penalty kick and an insurance item. Scoreline was 2-0 at the half.

See the schedule of matches here (http://www.concacaf.com/page/Under20s/Schedule/0,,12813,00.html)
Title: Re: CONCACAF U-20 Championship 2013 edition
Post by: Deeks on February 18, 2013, 08:45:16 PM
anylinks?
Post by: Fyzoman on February 18, 2013, 08:50:49 PM
anylinks?
Haiti looking lil ok now there get one back.

Feel Haiti could equalize and maje this a good game.

I watching on tv Fox soccer so sorry no links >:(
Post by: Fyzoman on February 18, 2013, 08:56:18 PM
Nah Maurice for Haiti is naked fire, he score the equalizer and now sex two men in a row and make ah decent cross....ah have him to score again in this game, and Haiti go qualify for de WC.

Post by: Observer on February 18, 2013, 09:02:23 PM
Nah Maurice for Haiti is naked fire, he score the equalizer and now sex two men in a row and make ah decent cross....ah have him to score again in this game, and Haiti go qualify for de WC.

CONCACAF TV
Post by: asylumseeker on February 18, 2013, 09:25:37 PM
Free 7 Day Trial: Fox online streaming... http://www.foxsoccer2go.com/?WT.mc_id=email_3

When I checked ah wasn't gehhin nutten on CONCACAF TV.
Post by: Fyzoman on February 19, 2013, 08:56:35 AM
How again Curacao ended up here and we didn't??
Post by: Observer on February 19, 2013, 09:19:35 AM

Because they won their game against us. Simple!  ;D
Post by: ZANDOLIE on February 19, 2013, 09:31:47 AM

lol allyuh bringing some bad memories! our team was beaten out by curacao. truth be known their football has been improving leaps and bounds at youth level for at least the past 2-3 years
Post by: theworm2345 on February 19, 2013, 09:52:34 AM
I watched the Haiti match on TV and I hate to put it on mute because the American commentators were so awful...they couldn't even call the Haitian players names.  I watched the Cuba match on a stream from Univision Deportes and those commentators were great.
Post by: Fyzoman on February 19, 2013, 03:01:36 PM

Because they won their game against us. Simple!  ;D

Hahahahaha, repressed memory clearly at work here. I see Curacao on de schedule and say, "wait nah Curacao make it and we didn't?"

Post by: Fyzoman on February 19, 2013, 03:42:43 PM
I watch this game and I thought the announcers did a fantastic job of pronouncing the Haitian's names.

They pronounced them all with the necessary french accents, Saint Louis, Voltaire, Elusma, Estama, Horat et al.

Yesterday I made a concerted effort to pay attention to the announcers, Costigan let his bias shine thru at times, the other fellah didn't  really.

Post by: elan on February 19, 2013, 05:17:39 PM
Haiti gave them a nice lil scare. The US finished shaky.
Post by: Fyzoman on February 19, 2013, 08:37:09 PM
Haiti gave them a nice lil scare. The US finished shaky.
I was backing Haiti to win, ah man miss ah sitter late. Hopefully the US beat Costa Rica and Haiti beat them too.

And ah forget the name-Latino/Hispanic-of Haiti coach but he look Cuban, and somebody here did talk bout Haiti and their Cuban coaches.
Post by: Fyzoman on February 19, 2013, 10:21:27 PM
i only saw the 2nd half, but I could see how Curacao beat us, they have skillful players...granted it was kinda backs and forwards 2nd half with Mexico up 3-0.

Oh and the American announcers kinda did an ok job pronouncing the Mexican and Curacaon names ;)

Post by: Observer on February 21, 2013, 02:49:41 PM
Cuba through to the next rounds with two wins already:
Post by: Fyzoman on February 21, 2013, 09:35:19 PM
US and Costa Rica too cause Costa Rica beat Haiti too >:(
Title: Congrats Cuba - Qualifies for Under-20 world Cup
Post by: Reggaefan on February 27, 2013, 01:19:43 PM
This is a nice addition to your recent Caribbean cup Triumph.
Post by: Observer on February 27, 2013, 03:03:13 PM
Congratulations to Cuba on a convincing performance against Costa Rica. :applause:

I hope CONCACAF Nations paying attention. Cuba were very fit and had two exceptional players attacking Hernandez and Reyes. My understanding is that these players playing Mens' football, but the squad is gathered, trained as a unit and play in the League. Just from watching the game, Cuba were very fit and powerful, recovered well once the ball was lost and attacked with pace and invention.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 27, 2013, 05:57:21 PM
The cousins up 1-0 v El Salvador.
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 27, 2013, 07:56:08 PM
Sylum, ah outta touch, lol, excuse meh, who's dat chick?  Have some resemblance to Kerri Washington
Post by: asylumseeker on February 27, 2013, 10:00:42 PM
Sylum, ah outta touch, lol, excuse meh, who's dat chick?  Have some resemblance to Kerri Washington

I din see the resemblance at first buh after perusing some pics ... yeah kinda see it.
Post by: FireBrand on February 27, 2013, 10:40:05 PM
Mex 4 - Ja 0

Pan 1 - ESA 3

This is the first time El Salvador has qualified for a FIFA tournament.
Post by: Observer on February 28, 2013, 05:37:02 AM
Mex 4 - Ja 0

Pan 1 - ESA 3

This is the first time El Salvador has qualified for a FIFA tournament.

Do you mean a FIFA Youth Tournament? I asking because EL Salvador was at the FIFA WC 1970 and 82
Post by: asylumseeker on February 28, 2013, 08:05:18 AM
PAN squandered its chances to put the game out of reach. (Ah real vibes de motocicleta celebration doh). The quality of ELS' equalizer told me that PAN was going to regret not finishing clinically. Could be a costly mistake with consequences for a generation.
Post by: Mango Chow! on February 28, 2013, 08:20:49 AM
PAN squandered its chances to put the game out of reach. (Ah real vibes de motocicleta celebration doh). The quality of ELS' equalizer told me that PAN was going to regret not finishing clinically. Could be a costly mistake with consequences for a generation.

It was very disappointing to see them squander all their first half chances and then come out so flat in the second.  I think they were letting ELS play get to them as well....the referee (in the Panamanian players' minds) may very well have been an issue as well because, to me, in spite of all the praises the 2 american "announcers" were heaping upon him, being a referee from the mls msl misled, I think he did a poor job in allowing some unwarranted physical play by ELS......
Post by: asylumseeker on February 28, 2013, 05:40:32 PM

It was very disappointing to see them squander all their first half chances and then come out so flat in the second.  I think they were letting ELS play get to them as well....the referee (in the Panamanian players' minds) may very well have been an issue as well because, to me, in spite of all the praises the 2 american "announcers" were heaping upon him, being a referee from the mls msl misled, I think he did a poor job in allowing some unwarranted physical play by ELS......

I don't disagree.
Post by: asylumseeker on March 03, 2013, 05:06:05 PM
Just result in the 3rd place game. However, in Turkey, I sense Cuba will do better than El Salvador.

Reyes (Cuban skipper) will have a platform on the world stage. He could even stay in Europe by mutual agreement.
Post by: giggsy11 on March 03, 2013, 06:05:28 PM
Wey, that US starting line up has at least 7 players with Spanish/Latin surnames. Ah can't afford tuh jus listen, cause ah might think dey talking about a Mehico player. 1- nil Mehico already.

Chris Sullivan on the mic!
Post by: Deeks on March 03, 2013, 06:11:40 PM
Mex leading 1-0.
Post by: Cocorite on March 03, 2013, 08:36:34 PM
Final Mexico 3-USA-1

Should have been 4-1
Post by: Deeks on March 03, 2013, 09:33:11 PM
Could have been 6-5 Mexico
Post by: elan on March 03, 2013, 11:17:15 PM
Any highlights anywhere?
Post by: elan on March 03, 2013, 11:26:13 PM
Ok saw it, that Mexico GK is ta least 25.
Post by: Fyzoman on March 04, 2013, 07:35:27 PM
Jesus Corona is NAKED FIRE, ah was only shaking meh head like when ah watching Messi and Ronaldo, he is ah guaranteed superstar, Sir Alex better had been on de horn already!

I almost turned off the tv after the 2nd blatant penalty for the US wasn't called, but decided it had too much future stars on display.

Good thing I continued cause I got to see my boy...the beh-beh, most non-footballer-looking Julio Gomez. As ah see him coming on, I say to mehself he going and score, sure enough Mr. Man score yes.

On to Turkey!

Post by: Mango Chow! on March 04, 2013, 08:22:32 PM
....I find the officiating in this entire tournament was poor...the final between usa and Mexico was rife with cheap shots and studded tackles (american kick dong a man in de first 2 minutes, no yellow card.) but it was poor on both sides...and that penalty called against Mexico was a bullshit penalty.  the american 'keeper will need to learn to calm he self down, too....too much screamin' and yelling at his defenders (for absolutely NO reason) and he was lucky not to get sent off for kicking out at and tripping the 2nd Mexican goal-scorer as he wheeled away to celebrate his goal. (shades of the Mexican 'keeper, Osvaldo Sanchez of a couple years ago) and that 4th Mexican goal was nowhere near any offside....the goal scorer was about a yard to 2 yards onside of th e last defender when the initial shot was taken. 

Post by: Sam on March 26, 2013, 08:14:48 AM
U.S. squad handed tough U20 road
March 25, 2013
By Associated Press

ISTANBUL -- Tournament-favorite Spain will play the United States, France and an African team to be determined in one of toughest groups at the FIFA Under-20 World Cup.

FIFA conducted the draw Monday in Istanbul and placed host nation Turkey with Colombia, Australia and El Salvador.

England will face Iraq, Chile and the winner of the Under-20 African Championship being decided this week. Egypt, Ghana, Mali and Nigeria have reached the semifinals there.

Mexico heads a group with Paraguay, Greece and an African team. Uruguay is with New Zealand or Fiji, Uzbekistan and Croatia.

Portugal, which was runner-up in 2011, will play Cuba, South Korea and an African team.

Defending champion Brazil failed to qualify. The tournament will be played June 21-July 13 in seven Turkish cities.