Sports => Football => Topic started by: Feliziano on April 02, 2013, 06:39:02 PM

Title: RIP Daft Trini
Post by: Feliziano on April 02, 2013, 06:39:02 PM
Just wanted to let you folks know that last Friday night we lost a brother who frequents these parts.
RIP Chris Lalchan aka Daft Trini and the Englishman :cheers:
Title: Re: RIP Daft Trini
Post by: just cool on April 02, 2013, 06:42:43 PM
Just wanted to let you folks know that last Friday night we lost a brother who frequents these parts.
RIP Chris Lalchan aka Daft Trini and the Englishman :cheers:
Just fackin soo!! well @ least elaborate nah hoss, wehs dah one.

daft was ah cool one, really enjoyed his stories, he will be missed, @ least by me.  RIP soldier.
Post by: truetrini on April 02, 2013, 06:48:08 PM
Sad...RIP fella.   Life can be really facked up yes. 

But according to Controversial I may be faking my death
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 02, 2013, 06:52:13 PM
RIP Bro..

He and TC could continue the S/W forum across on the next horizon.  :(
Post by: truetrini on April 02, 2013, 06:53:19 PM
RIP Bro..

He and TC could continue the S/W forum across on the next horizon.  :(

Boy I was just thinking about TC last week yes....steups

Mudmas will never be the same to me after the passing ah TC
Post by: Preacher on April 02, 2013, 06:54:01 PM
RIP...Chris
Post by: D.H.W on April 02, 2013, 06:57:03 PM
Wtf! I now get the news. Lord
Post by: FF on April 02, 2013, 06:57:29 PM
Doh fack meh up? Let us know if you able to provide details.
RIP Daft Trini
Post by: pecan on April 02, 2013, 07:00:14 PM
RIP ... speechless
Post by: Preacher on April 02, 2013, 07:03:21 PM
This is what I found on google. 
http://homicidewatch.org/2013/03/29/judge-orders-dianna-lalchan-held-for-shooting-husband-christopher/

Very sad...very sad.
Post by: Flex on April 02, 2013, 07:04:34 PM
WOW... sorry to hear this.

RIP brother.

Post by: Deeks on April 02, 2013, 07:05:56 PM
Just so!!!. RIP Warrior!!!!Jah Bless!!!!
Post by: ZANDOLIE on April 02, 2013, 07:07:37 PM
So sad to hear of this news! RIP brother, you will be missed
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 02, 2013, 07:19:49 PM
Sad boy, wow, never put faces to many handles on the site but you realize the closeness when something like this happens.  Sad sad, RIP.

Who is TC posted on above?  I only know of Baygo Boy who passed, did someone else pass?
Post by: dreamer on April 02, 2013, 07:27:38 PM
Sorry to hear about DT. Condolences to his family. Very sad story.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 02, 2013, 07:30:56 PM
Doh fack meh up? Let us know if you able to provide details.
RIP Daft Trini

This echoed my thoughts precisely. Buh now ah in de know. Selah.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 02, 2013, 07:33:16 PM
De official babes thread going to take a hit.
Post by: FF on April 02, 2013, 07:37:37 PM
If allyuh only read Daft last post on this board. i only shaking my head
Post by: TdotTrini on April 02, 2013, 07:42:05 PM
This really sad news. RIP Daft Trini.
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 02, 2013, 07:45:15 PM
.....rel, rel sad boy....my sincerest condolences to Daft Trini family.  Life is really short boy.
Post by: theworm2345 on April 02, 2013, 07:50:44 PM
RIP Daft Trini, always a shock when something like this happens and you know (sort of, anyway) the person.  Puts whatever problems you may be having in perspective.
Post by: Socapro on April 02, 2013, 07:50:52 PM

Judge Orders Dianna Lalchan Held for Shooting Husband, Christopher Lalchan (http://homicidewatch.org/2013/03/29/judge-orders-dianna-lalchan-held-for-shooting-husband-christopher)
Posted March 29, 2013, 4:31 p.m. by Penny Ray

Judge Karen Howze ordered Dianna Yvone Lalchan held Friday in connection with a charge of second-degree murder in the shooting death of her husband, Christopher S. Lalchan.

Dianna Lalchan was arrested Thursday morning after Christopher Lalchan died of a gunshot wound to the head.

Charging documents in the case state that Dianna Lalchan called 911 shortly after midnight on March 28. “I shot my husband,” she told the operator, according to the documents.

Later, she told detectives that she was in fear of her life.

MPD announced Dianna Lalchan’s arrest Friday afternoon, but did not release the name of the victim in the case.

According to charging documents, the couple had been married for four years. During a police interrogation, Dianna Lalchan told detectives that Christopher Lalchan had abused her. No reports of abuse were ever filed, according to the documents.

Dianna Lalchan said that on the evening of March 27 her husband called her and asked her to come home; she arrived home around 5 p.m.

Charging documents state that the couple had four weapons in the house: two .40 caliber handguns, a Black Powder .44 caliber antique gun, and a .38 caliber revolver.

Over the course of the evening the two argued several times, Dianna Lalchan told police. She said her husband placed one of the .40 caliber guns on a television stand in the living room, telling her he was placing the gun on the stand so she’d feel safe, the documents say.

As Christopher Lalchan walked away from the stand, Dianna picked up the pistol and fired it three times. She told detectives that she was in fear of being attacked, so she fired the weapon as her husband approached her.

When officers arrived at their home in the 1200 block of 4th Street Southwest, they found Christopher Lalchan lying on the living room floor with a gunshot wound to the back of his head.

Dianna Lalchan told police that although she was fearful, she was not physically assaulted or threatened that night.

A preliminary hearing is scheduled for April 3.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Very sad...very sad.
Yeah, very sad! Condolences to DT's friends and family, he will be missed!  :'(

Wonder if his wife is Trini/Caribbean or American?
Post by: ribbit on April 02, 2013, 08:02:51 PM
geezan .... ah always looked forward to DT's posts.

RIP Christopher Lalchan aka Daft Trini.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 02, 2013, 08:09:27 PM

Brace!
Post by: Bourbon on April 02, 2013, 08:11:56 PM
JEEZ!

RIP!
Post by: giggsy11 on April 02, 2013, 08:17:39 PM
May you rest in peace Daft Trini!
Post by: Deeks on April 02, 2013, 08:31:14 PM
Wow!. Where this happened, in Canada? Man this is real news to me.This kind of like the Oscar the Blade Runner incident. Jeez, life is a beach full of sand with bottle break up in it. man oh man!!! This really happen to one of we forumite! Go with the almighty.
Post by: dinho on April 02, 2013, 08:33:49 PM
This is crazy..

RIP.
Post by: lefty on April 02, 2013, 08:36:07 PM
wah d ass boy ??? jeezanages ??? :'( he was a good soldier
Post by: doc on April 02, 2013, 08:38:35 PM
Sad boy, wow, never put faces to many handles on the site but you realize the closeness when something like this happens.  Sad sad, RIP.

Who is TC posted on above?  I only know of Baygo Boy who passed, did someone else pass?
TC passed nine years ago last month.
Post by: doc on April 02, 2013, 08:43:16 PM
Condolences to his friends and family.
Post by: triniairman on April 02, 2013, 08:49:39 PM
He is my friend on FB, I recently wrote him about a scene with Blackwater... He was either going on a tour or was on one. This is truly shocking news for me. If I am not mistaken, his wife is Asian..... R.I.P Brother, look out for meh in Brazil, cause I know you will be there!!!

This is him and his wife...not sure if it will work, but this is the link of a pic on FB

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10100211530967055&set=a.679848191625.2263521.1416308&type=1&theater
Post by: ragga on April 02, 2013, 09:00:57 PM
RIP soldier.
Post by: D.H.W on April 02, 2013, 09:15:38 PM
Her story sounds suspect.

He look familiar.
Post by: triniairman on April 02, 2013, 09:21:05 PM
Her story sounds suspect.

He look familiar.

Did the link I provided work? He has more pics on there, he liked fishing and was a veteran with prior service in the Navy, he also worked for Academi (Blackwater)
Post by: elan on April 02, 2013, 09:35:49 PM
This is absolute madness.....alyuh sure is daft boy. Whey sah

RIP fella.  :'(
Post by: E-man on April 02, 2013, 09:44:04 PM
This is crazy. Sorry to hear about this. RIP.  Yeah the link works, triniairman.
Post by: soccerman on April 02, 2013, 09:45:37 PM
This is shocking news. Yes Daft's wife was Asian because he mentioned it a few times and even posted one or two pics with her. I only really got to know him a little better through trying to plan a Soca Warriors sweat in the DC area that came to no avail. Maybe we might have to do one now in his honor because he was an active member who contributed a lot to the forum. If all his stories were on point, he did live an exciting and interesting life....RIP bro
Post by: soccerman on April 02, 2013, 09:47:32 PM

Brace!

What did he say?
Post by: E-man on April 02, 2013, 09:55:29 PM

Brace!

What did he say?

Not so much what he said, but what he highlighted

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=59090.msg842492#msg842492
Post by: Peong on April 02, 2013, 10:09:22 PM
Condolences to his loved ones.
Post by: Bakes on April 02, 2013, 10:14:20 PM
I real struggling with this.. Daft and I never... I mean NEVER saw eye to eye, not here, not on Facebook, but he was a good fella.  Is three years now we exchange numbers and was supposed to lime, yet every time ah went back DC we was never able to link up.  I fed up "cuss" him about he right-wing rantings on Facebook, and yuh does get suckered into taking people's existence for granted.  Though we wasn't close, I feel this one.  A man not supposed to die in the presumed sanctity of his own home... and certainly not at the hands of a supposed loved one. 
Post by: Trini Madness on April 02, 2013, 10:26:45 PM
that last post made by daft trini gave me chills.....

RIP brother!
Post by: Cocorite on April 02, 2013, 10:55:13 PM
Very Sad indeed. Hurt by this very unfortunate news.
Post by: capodetutticapi on April 02, 2013, 11:28:51 PM
i spoke to de man a few times,everything seem fine.....yuh never know what goin on in the privacy of they home.........RIP pardnah,ah true warrior.
Post by: truetrini on April 03, 2013, 03:43:09 AM
http://www.washingtonpost.com/local/woman-charged-with-second-degree-murder-in-fatal-shooting-of-husband/2013/03/29/d95cc090-98a6-11e2-b68f-dc5c4b47e519_story.html

By Annie Gowen and Keith L. Alexander, Published: March 29

The last time Sophie Chang heard from her sister, Diana Lalchan, was Tuesday night, when she called around 10 after a dispute with her husband, Christopher.

The couple had not been getting along and planned to split up, Chang said, but Lalchan, 27, a pharmacist at Walter Reed National Military Medical Center, wasn’t ready for Chris to list his status as “separated” on Facebook.

“I knew they had been fighting, and I knew that things weren’t going well and she was frightened, but she wouldn’t say anything else,” Chang, 25, a student in Massachusetts, said Friday.

Early Thursday morning, just after midnight, court papers say, Diana Lalchan called 911 to report a shooting in the couple’s apartment on Fourth Street SW in the District.

On Friday, police charged Diana Lalchan with second-degree murder in the death of her husband.

When they had arrived at the apartment Thursday morning, they found him in the living room. He had been shot in the back of the head.

At Lalchan’s arraignment Friday, a D.C. Superior Court judge ordered her held in the D.C. jail until her preliminary hearing Wednesday.

According to charging documents filed in D.C. Superior Court, Lalchan waived her rights and told officers that on Wednesday evening, her husband of four years had telephoned her and asked her to return home. Lalchan said that when she arrived at the apartment, she and her husband got into “several arguments.”

During the course of the arguments, Lalchan said, her husband placed a .40-caliber pistol on the TV stand in the living room. Lalchan told police that as her husband walked away from the TV stand, she picked up the gun and fired it at him three times.

Lalchan told police that she was in fear of being attacked and fired the gun as her husband approached her, court papers say. She told them her husband did not physically assault her or threaten her that night, but said she had been a victim of domestic abuse. There is no record in D.C. Superior Court of an abuse case involving the couple.

Lalchan did not have any injuries at the time of her arrest, except for a small bruise on her left arm, court papers say. She told police that she suffered the bruise while training in a martial-arts self-defense class.

Chang said she and her sister grew up in Bethlehem, Pa., the daughters of a physician and his wife who were immigrants from Taiwan.

Diana met Chris Lalchan, a native of Trinidad, at a Maryland church around the time she was getting her pharmacy degree at the University of Maryland Baltimore County.

The couple married and moved to the District, eventually moving into the apartment near the Waterfront Metro station in Southwest. Chris Lalchan, who Chang said worked at Reagan National Airport, loved to cook and usually prepared Thanksgiving dinner for his extended family.

The couple shared a love of the outdoors, Chang said, and Chris Lalchan enjoyed hunting. Police later found three other firearms in Lalchan’s home, including another .40-caliber handgun, a .44-caliber antique black-powder gun and a .38-caliber revolver, authorities said in court papers. They said none of the guns was registered by Diana Lalchan or her husband.

Chang said that in their conversation Tuesday night, her sister would only hint at the disintegrating state of her marriage.

“She felt like things were going to get much worse, and she said she didn’t really want to talk about it,” Chang said.

Police said they have not determined a motive in the incident.

Jennifer Jenkins contributed to this report.
Post by: truetrini on April 03, 2013, 03:43:29 AM
By the way...guns are illegal in D.C.
Post by: D.H.W on April 03, 2013, 04:44:13 AM
Ah want Justice.! Sound like pure murder!
Post by: Sam on April 03, 2013, 05:21:39 AM
But that de ass is this boy !@!!!!

Meh bredda dead !!!!!

RIP meh boy.

Fire go bun she...
Post by: Jah Gol on April 03, 2013, 05:53:52 AM
I met Chris in Washington a couple years ago. RIP buddy.
Post by: just cool on April 03, 2013, 05:55:12 AM
Forgive me for being presumptuous knowing this is very sad time on the forum, but it sound to me that this braod might have been stepping out on dude, and when he found out it look like he send for she tuh tell she he know what de fack she's been up too and might have pulled out his ting tuh scare she maybe tellin she tuh stop and the biatch got pissed that she was busted and pelt corn behind dude, and then went on about she was being abused.

i came to this conclusion bc she shot dude in his head back, that means he was going away from her. she wasn't no fearful for no damn life! she got caught in fackry and hated the fact that homie wont let her ride out tuh play she self so she retaliated.

no woman doh love ah man and buss corn on him while he was walking away from her, it's either shes ah black widow (pure killer) or she mad no arse! the only time ah woman does become so resentful is when she have another dude lined up, and she doh want no one get in the way of that.

i sure she must have told him "if i had ah gun right now i would shoot you", and he probably called her bluff and went for his ting loaded it and put it on the table and said "now yuh have a gun, shoot meh nah". 

why else would you pull out ah gun on ah bitch yuh does normally man handle, guns are for formidable opponents.     JMT.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 03, 2013, 05:58:09 AM
http://homicidewatch.org/2013/03/29/judge-orders-dianna-lalchan-held-for-shooting-husband-christopher/

Very sad...very sad.

What??!!  Noooooo!!! Nooooo!!!.....never met him in person (unless he was in that group I met in Nashville and cyar remember him) but we were friends on facebook......ah will miss those pro-Republican sentiments......

Ah cyar belive this...... :( :(
Post by: Tallman on April 03, 2013, 06:12:13 AM
ABC TV News Report (http://bcove.me/vm4ga7i9)

(http://htmlimg2.scribdassets.com/26t60lakxs29idb9/images/1-a6278f58d7.jpg)
(http://htmlimg3.scribdassets.com/26t60lakxs29idb9/images/2-c9d74cc971.jpg)
Post by: Mr Fix-it on April 03, 2013, 06:21:14 AM
Sad day for everyone. Condolences to DT family
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 03, 2013, 06:32:32 AM
So shocking .. RIP
Post by: asylumseeker on April 03, 2013, 06:44:59 AM
Forgive me for being presumptuous knowing this is very sad time on the forum, but it sound to me that this braod might have been stepping out on dude, and when he found out it look like he send for she tuh tell she he know what de fack she's been up too and might have pulled out his ting tuh scare she maybe tellin she tuh stop and the biatch got pissed that she was busted and pelt corn behind dude, and then went on about she was being abused.

i came to this conclusion bc she shot dude in his head back, that means he was going away from her. she wasn't no fearful for no damn life! she got caught in fackry and hated the fact that homie wont let her ride out tuh play she self so she retaliated.

no woman doh love ah man and buss corn on him while he was walking away from her, it's either shes ah black widow (pure killer) or she mad no arse! the only time ah woman does become so resentful is when she have another dude lined up, and she doh want no one get in the way of that.

i sure she must have told him "if i had ah gun right now i would shoot you", and he probably called her bluff and went for his ting loaded it and put it on the table and said "now yuh have a gun, shoot meh nah". 

why else would you pull out ah gun on ah bitch yuh does normally man handle, guns are for formidable opponents.     JMT.

Best yuh din say nutten.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 03, 2013, 06:46:56 AM
story here .... wow

http://www.wjla.com/articles/2013/03/diana-lalchan-charged-with-killing-her-husband-in-sw-shooting-86865.html
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 03, 2013, 06:47:49 AM

Best yuh din say nutten.

tell him man
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 03, 2013, 06:48:57 AM

JC.....allyuh men is kicks oui! Come, jed, lewwe go on de "Stretford End" thread and bad-talk manu and dem. Lewwe go -------> sssssSO!
Post by: asylumseeker on April 03, 2013, 06:49:20 AM
This has the hallmarks of an incident that might become front and center ... and stay there for a while.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 03, 2013, 06:54:22 AM
... I have mixed feelings about her waiving her Miranda rights. But ... It is what it allegedly is. Jah guide.
Post by: Pur_Trini on April 03, 2013, 06:58:12 AM
Condolences to Chris' family and friends.
Post by: just cool on April 03, 2013, 07:02:07 AM

Best yuh din say nutten.
Eh wehs your scene boy??!!

wehs the infatuation wid me all of ah sudden fella, how every time i post you come riding on meh dick like i eat yuh white fowl??

if is war yuh want wid me then declare it punk!! lets get it on if is war yuh want then lets gooooo bring it biatch!! or stop fackin riding me like ah mdfkn crack whore!  you've been warned !!!
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 03, 2013, 07:03:19 AM
... I have mixed feelings about her waiving her Miranda rights. But ... It is what it allegedly is. Jah guide.

Ditto......unless when it's some of these useless-ass criminals that just out here f**kin' up society that are 100% guilty and op'm dey mout' and confess.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on April 03, 2013, 07:05:38 AM
Damn....
This one sad boy.  This remind me of my cuz last year.
He was an ex Navy man too and get shot by his wife last year too...court case still going on.  SOmething wasn't right there

Something not right here neither....

RIP Daft and condolences to your family and friends
Post by: Dumplingdinho on April 03, 2013, 07:23:18 AM
RIP soldier.
Post by: weary1969 on April 03, 2013, 07:42:20 AM
RIP Draft not a good way to start the day.
Post by: D.H.W on April 03, 2013, 08:46:26 AM
Stueps I angry boy. I could lash she down.
Post by: Andre on April 03, 2013, 08:55:51 AM
RIP Daft Trini.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 03, 2013, 08:56:54 AM

Best yuh din say nutten.

wehs the infatuation wid me all of ah sudden fella, how every time i post you come riding on meh dick like i eat yuh white fowl??

if is war yuh want wid me then declare it punk!! lets get it on if is war yuh want then lets gooooo bring it biatch!! or stop fackin riding me like ah mdfkn crack whore!  you've been warned !!!

Iron sharpeneth iron. Somebody had tuh tell yuh.

What you wrote was inappropriate. Based on the facts presented, many of us have opinions and could engage in presumption and speculation, but frankly that would only inflame the thread, and what you wrote opened the door for just that. Let's not dishonor the man's passing by descending into baseless nonsense.

In other words, ah not riding for yuh. I just stated what others were thinking.

The other thing I want to say ... and this thread seems as appropriate as any ... is the following:

The forum has been riled up this week with a back and forth on race. While I think there's a space on this forum for discussion on race, I also think such discussion has to be constructive rather than destructive - even where asserted "truths" are "uncomfortable".

Daft was a man, a soldier, a husband, a football fan, an outdoorsman who fished and hunted, a law student, a political activist ... many, many things ... including being Indo-Trini. At the end of the day, I gleaned all those things about him without meeting him in person. The only one of those things that is a revelation to me subsequent to his death is his ethnicity ... and it matters not one ras to me. (If he posted under a different name before, I might even have known it before ... thinking of a poster who lived in the DC area). My point is ... now would be a good time to take stock of what the rules of engagement involving matters of race and ethnicity on the board are ... De bredda's passing is a collective loss, and just like his ethnicity is the last thing I learned about him ... It is the last thing we should remember given this week's exchanges.

I ponged Daft's political perspective openly and without regret. It needed ponging. But I did so respectfully. I can take that to my grave.

Like me, Daft was a sinologist. RIP soldier! It also caught my attention when he mentioned being in law school in the midst of all his "adventures". I will recall the photo of him fishing with his back to the camera (maybe taken by his wife) as emblematic of a man doing what he loved.

So ... JC, you iz ah man I would be open to siddung with and drink a cold one and reason. No doubt ... buh if yuh look in de mirror, yuh would see yuh was outta timing ... And in yuh heart yuh know it because of the words you used to start yuh comments.

Guidance.
Post by: FireBrand on April 03, 2013, 09:01:44 AM
Madness! To lose one of our brethren is hard enough, but to lose him so young and in such a manner is heart wrenching. God speed Daft.
Post by: mal jeux on April 03, 2013, 10:15:20 AM

Best yuh din say nutten.

What you wrote was inappropriate. Based on the facts presented, many of us have opinions and could engage in presumption and speculation, but frankly that would only inflame the thread, and what you wrote opened the door for just that. Let's not dishonor the man's passing by descending into baseless nonsense.

The other thing I want to say ... and this thread seems as appropriate as any ... is the following:

The forum has been riled up this week with a back and forth on race. While I think there's a space on this forum for discussion on race, I also think such discussion has to be constructive rather than destructive - even where asserted "truths" are "uncomfortable".

Daft was a man, a soldier, a husband, a football fan, an outdoorsman who fished and hunted, a law student, a political activist ... many, many things ... including being Indo-Trini. At the end of the day, I gleaned all those things about him without meeting him in person. The only one of those things that is a revelation to me subsequent to his death is his ethnicity ... and it matters not one ras to me. (If he posted under a different name before, I might even have known it before ... thinking of a poster who lived in the DC area). My point is ... now would be a good time to take stock of what the rules of engagement involving matters of race and ethnicity on the board are ... De bredda's passing is a collective loss, and just like his ethnicity is the last thing I learned about him ... It is the last thing we should remember given this week's exchanges.

I ponged Daft's political perspective openly and without regret. It needed ponging. But I did so respectfully. I can take that to my grave.

Like me, Daft was a sinologist. RIP soldier! It also caught my attention when he mentioned being in law school in the midst of all his "adventures". I will recall the photo of him fishing with his back to the camera (maybe taken by his wife) as emblematic of a man doing what he loved.

So ... JC, you iz ah man I would be open to siddung with and drink a cold one and reason. No doubt ... buh if yuh look in de mirror, yuh would see yuh was outta timing ... And in yuh heart yuh know it because of the words you used to start yuh comments.

Guidance.

well said, we all needed to hear this.

RIP Daft, condolences to all affected.
Post by: Bakes on April 03, 2013, 10:48:52 AM
By the way...guns are illegal in D.C.

Actually they're not... only handguns were illegal, and Heller changed that in 2008.
Post by: Bakes on April 03, 2013, 10:51:44 AM

This kinda ignorance defies belief.
Post by: Bakes on April 03, 2013, 11:03:23 AM

Guidance.

Well said... and it needed saying.  You have infinitely more patience than I could have mustered.  Despite what you might think just cool, I too have nothing against you, never have, despite your frequent protestations.  My biggest issue with you, if you could call it that is the constant victim mentality, and your apparent belief that since you see yourself as a victim of oppression, that gives you the right to foist your negative perception on the community here whenever you feel so moved, propriety of the forum for doing so notwithstanding.  I know this will engender some kinda unnecessary response, so I will post my thoughts on Daft separately.
Post by: Quags on April 03, 2013, 11:04:16 AM
Oh shoot ,now seeing this tread ,really sad to hear this ,loved his stories ,some where  tall tales but I give him the benefit of the doubt,had great animal pics too ...snakes bad snakes he took .So sorry for him guess he married one .
Just Cool ,I will never give a angry woman a loaded gun ,love oh no love ....I always remember we are not really totally related to our other half .
Hell I will miss him.
Post by: Bakes on April 03, 2013, 11:15:38 AM
Chris (then known as 'dctrini) and I became 'friends' following a heated disagreement some 5 years ago here on the forum, when he made some real idiotic comments about Eduardo when the latter had his ankle broken by Matt Taylor of Birmingham.  I excoriated him in the thread, as did others, but for some reason he reached out to me in PM afterwards to explain his side.  At that point we became friends on Facebook and our very first interaction was him giving me grief for posting a picture of myself in a Thierry Henry yellow Arsenal jersey from 2007.  That begun what would prove to be a spirited series of exchanges over the years... largely regarding his madcap comments about President Obama and the Democratic party/policies.

I exaggerated last night when I said we never agreed... we disagreed frequently on politics and sadly enough, the gun debate.  Daft was not a law student, he took a legal course at Catholic U., just as he pursued a master's in information technology at my alma mater... that was another thing that bonded us.  One of the things that drove me crazy about Chris was his seeming penchant for exaggeration/embellishment, but I came to not dislike him, but more to humor him in a "Big Fish (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Fish)" kinda way, it was just part of his character.  He lived five minutes around the corner from my old neighborhood in SW DC and we occasionally chatted about how the neighborhood was changing. 

It mattered not ONE IOTA to me that Chris was Indo-Trini... and if you were privy to his friends list on FB or the tributes being paid to him on his wall you would appreciate that his ethnicity was the least interesting thing about him.  I am sitting here both sad and upset with myself because he reached out to me all those years ago and suggested we link up whenever I came thru the old neighborhood.  I could use the excuse that life got a whole lot busier, and the truth is that I traveled less and less to DC the past few years as other priorities took hold.  But even so, I could have made it happen, and I should have made it happen.  This is the second friend, or in the least, close acquaintance I have now lost in the span of as many months, and not only does it remind me of my own mortality (as if one ever really needs such reminder), it makes me realize that I need to stop and just appreciate the people in my life that much more.  It doesn't matter the degree of emotional connection or physical proximity... there is nothing like the death of your peers to remind you of the fragility of life and I urge each and every one of you to consider that as you interact with each other going forward.
Post by: Quags on April 03, 2013, 11:21:37 AM
Remember when he said he worked with Chocodile hunter..Steve Erwin with animal planet ,and it was a lot of fake stuff on the show lol ,this boy if true had a really exciting short life .I believed him f**k it . 
Post by: FF on April 03, 2013, 11:41:14 AM
Now is time to pay respects and not for speculation.

It will have plenty time for that. Godspeed on your way Daft.
Post by: truetrini on April 03, 2013, 12:01:03 PM
No one should really speculate.  Imagine if he NEVER gave her a gun, supposed she pulled it our a drawer or something?  See that?  he is NOT able to give his story...forensics, ballistics etc. will!

Wait for the evidence!
Post by: soccerman on April 03, 2013, 12:23:06 PM
I know I might be premature here, I've never met Chris but I noticed he reached out to the forum and shared a lot of stories, photo's and even opened up sometimes with his personal life (which most tend not to do on a social network such as this). Anyway in reading Bakes and others posts, I know Chris was trying to host a football sweat for us on here in his hometown and was very hospitable in making arrangements we didn't get enough people interested.
How about if we try to do something in his honor since we lost a fellow warrior, along the lines of having a sweat/get together this summer. I know many on here may go to a Gold Cup game or two so for example the first game is a Mon in NJ (I thingk), how about we do something the Sun in the NY/NJ area? I'll make the drive for that and stay overnight for the game, maybe others would? Just a thought since it was something he tried to do. Also it might be a nice way to get together and ease the tension of all the heated debates occurring lately.
Again I don't mean to come with any out of timing talk but it could be something we can consider.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 03, 2013, 01:00:11 PM
Good idea. Might be one of several.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 03, 2013, 01:01:20 PM
Chris (then known as 'dctrini) and I became 'friends' following a heated disagreement some 5 years ago here on the forum, when he made some real idiotic comments about Eduardo when the latter had his ankle broken by Matt Taylor of Birmingham.  I excoriated him in the thread, as did others, but for some reason he reached out to me in PM afterwards to explain his side.  At that point we became friends on Facebook and our very first interaction was him giving me grief for posting a picture of myself in a Thierry Henry yellow Arsenal jersey from 2007.  That begun what would prove to be a spirited series of exchanges over the years... largely regarding his madcap comments about President Obama and the Democratic party/policies.

I exaggerated last night when I said we never agreed... we disagreed frequently on politics and sadly enough, the gun debate.  Daft was not a law student, he took a legal course at Catholic U.,just as he pursued a master's in information technology at my alma mater... that was another thing that bonded us.  One of the things that drove me crazy about Chris was his seeming penchant for exaggeration/embellishment, but I came to not dislike him, but more to humor him in a "Big Fish (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Fish)" kinda way, it was just part of his character.  He lived five minutes around the corner from my old neighborhood in SW DC and we occasionally chatted about how the neighborhood was changing. 

It mattered not ONE IOTA to me that Chris was Indo-Trini... and if you were privy to his friends list on FB or the tributes being paid to him on his wall you would appreciate that his ethnicity was the least interesting thing about him.  I am sitting here both sad and upset with myself because he reached out to me all those years ago and suggested we link up whenever I came thru the old neighborhood.  I could use the excuse that life got a whole lot busier, and the truth is that I traveled less and less to DC the past few years as other priorities took hold.  But even so, I could have made it happen, and I should have made it happen.  This is the second friend, or in the least, close acquaintance I have now lost in the span of as many months, and not only does it remind me of my own mortality (as if one ever really needs such reminder), it makes me realize that I need to stop and just appreciate the people in my life that much more.  It doesn't matter the degree of emotional connection or physical proximity... there is nothing like the death of your peers to remind you of the fragility of life and I urge each and every one of you to consider that as you interact with each other going forward.

That's what I thought ... dctrini ... I couldn't recall the name.

Thanks for the clarification regarding the second bold. I was inclined to qualify the comment with apostrophe marks, but on a day like today I left it alone. Truth be told, in responding to JC I was going to respond "Bakes will deal with you", but under the circumstances I decided to press fwd ... in part because I wanted to set a certain tone immediately and nip things in the bud.
Post by: Quags on April 03, 2013, 01:14:39 PM
oh shoo Daft was DC Trini ,will he going back a long was to the start of this site then .Cant remember if I had known that.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 03, 2013, 02:30:40 PM
Now is time to pay respects and not for speculation.

It will have plenty time for that. Godspeed on your way Daft.

Was he in Germany?  I don't recall, sad sad, will say so again.  This is very saddening
Post by: boss on April 03, 2013, 02:31:33 PM
RIP  :'(
Post by: Socapro on April 03, 2013, 02:34:38 PM
story here .... wow

http://www.wjla.com/articles/2013/03/diana-lalchan-charged-with-killing-her-husband-in-sw-shooting-86865.html
Diana Lalchan charged with killing Christopher Lalchan in SW shooting (http://www.wjla.com/articles/2013/03/diana-lalchan-charged-with-killing-her-husband-in-sw-shooting-86865.html)
By Jennifer Donelan
March 29, 2013 - 11:08 am

http://www.youtube.com/v/KziM3JsDuCk

A 27-year-old pharmacist with Walter Reed is in custody and charged with second-degree murder in her husband's death in Southwest Washington.

The shooting took place at the Carrollsburg Condominiums on 4th Street SW Thursday. Police say the victim, Christopher Lalchan, and the suspect, Diana Lalchan, were married for four years. The homicide is being investigated as a domestic incident.

According to court documents, Lalchan called 911 just after midnight and told the operator she had shot her husband. She later told police she was the victim of domestic abuse, but detectives said no reports of abuse were ever filed.

Her husband was found face down in the living room with a bullet wound to his head.

“I am really taken aback,” says neighbor Alexandria McBride. “I have seen them on the elevator a few times. They seemed like a normal couple.”

“No, we don’t know and honestly no one is saying anything,” says Leon Tarrant, also a neighbor.

Court records show police found four unregistered handguns inside the home.

“This speaks to the gun violence,” says McBride. “I don’t agree with anyone having guns.”

Lalchan reportedly explained she and her husband had been arguing that night and that he put a gun on the television stand. According to court records, she said her husband told her he was placing the gun on the stand to make her feel safe. As he walked away, without provocation, she picked up the .40 caliber pistol and fired it at him three times, striking him once in the head. Court documents show Lalchan said her husband “did not physically assault her that night nor did he threaten physical harm.”

“I just heard this through the grapevine and am just wondering what in the world is going on. It is bizarre,” says Tarrant.

Walter Reed stated it can't comment on the incident.

"We are aware of the charge and we cannot comment about an ongoing investigation," says Sandy Dean, spokesperson for Walter Reed in Bethesda.
Post by: futbolfan on April 03, 2013, 02:38:35 PM
RIP Daft Trini aka dctrini.... you will be missed. :(
I still can't believe that this happened.
Post by: FF on April 03, 2013, 02:52:53 PM
The next thing, I want to follow this case but I feeling ahow.

Today was the wife court date. Any news? Maybe we need another thread for that.
Post by: vb on April 03, 2013, 02:54:21 PM
Jeez,

the man and I are friends on FB. He used a slightly different name Chrish Mclachlan.

The truth is I have forgotten some of my FB's friends SWN names so I didn't make the connection right away.

Was always cool with me when we communicated. Had a very beautiful Asian wife. He was a big mofo so I am not surprised to hear he was in some kinda security business.

Got the impression that he wanted to get into politics. Also that he was an ex Modsec man.

RIP my brother.

Post by: vb on April 03, 2013, 03:00:08 PM

Boy, all yuh could do is shake yuh head.

You know this kinda sh*& is make me appreciate my fellow SWN members more.

RIP Chris. Ah feeling it.

Post by: Bakes on April 03, 2013, 03:06:22 PM
Boy, all yuh could do is shake yuh head.

You know this kinda sh*& is make me appreciate my fellow SWN members more.

RIP Chris. Ah feeling it.

Yuh eh lie... under all the shit up and shit talk, this is precisely what I was getting at.

The next thing, I want to follow this case but I feeling ahow.

Today was the wife court date. Any news? Maybe we need another thread for that.

Today was just the prelim... nothing significant would have happened.  In fact my guess is that it was waived.  I plan on making the trip for the court dates as time permits.... I'd hate to drive down there only for it to get continued for another day.
Post by: Dutty on April 03, 2013, 03:26:37 PM

R.I.Peaceful Journey Chris,,,, you will be missed.
Post by: vb on April 03, 2013, 03:58:41 PM
Is strange although Chris listed himself as separated, just last month his wife put up a romantic photo of the two of them and there are numerous photos of them as of late last yr. going out and looking like a happy couple.

I don't know the facts but I hope they come out at the trial.

Post by: Reaper2004 on April 03, 2013, 06:22:37 PM
R.I.P Daft
Post by: NUFF on April 03, 2013, 06:37:10 PM
R.I.P soldier.  Condolences to the family. 
Post by: Bakes on April 03, 2013, 07:58:57 PM
Dianna Lalchan Held in a Halfway House on Voluntary Manslaughter Charge

Posted April 3, 2013, 6:57 p.m. by Penny Ray | Leave a Comment

Judge Robert Morin ruled Wednesday that there was probable cause to hold Dianna Lalchan, 27, at a halfway house on suspicion of voluntary manslaughter in connection with the shooting death of her husband, Christopher Lalchan, last week.

Prosecutors had pursued first-degree murder charges in the case. Defense attorneys argued Wednesday that the killing was in self-defense.

In making his finding of voluntary manslaughter, Judge Robert Morin said Wednesday that “even if [Dianna Lalchan] acted in self-defense, the force was excessive.”

Dianna Lalchan, a pharmacist at Walter Reed Medical Center in Bethesda, was arrested last week on a charge of second-degree murder in connection with her husband’s death. Police found Christopher Lalchan lying on the couple’s living room floor with a gunshot wound to the back of his head.

According to 911 call records, Dianna Lalchan called 911 that night. A portion of that call was played in court Wednesday.

On the recording, at the beginning of the call, Dianna Lalchan hesitates to speak. After the dispatcher obtains the address of the incident, Dianna finally says, “My husband was getting violent, and, umm…”

Lalchan paused, and the dispatcher asked where her husband was.

“On the floor,” Dianna Lalchan replied. “I shot him.”

When police arrived they found that Christopher Lalchan had suffered a single gunshot wound to the back of his head. Two other fired bullets were recovered from the scene: one was lodged in the kitchen wall, and the other was fragmented and lodged in the floor right next to Christopher Lalchan’s head, Metropolitan Police Detective Robert Cephas testified Wednesday.

Dianna Lalchan told detectives that she shot her husband as he charged at her. But a medical examiner determined that the bullet entry wound in the back of Christopher Lalchan’s head had a downward angle, which was inconsistent with that description, Cephas testified.

Prosecutors believe that Christopher Lalchan may have ducked and fell when an initial shot did not strike him; then was struck by a subsequent bullet.

Dianna Lalchan told police the evening was the deadly culmination of years of domestic abuse. The abuse “started from the beginning” of their marriage, and Christopher Lalchan would often slap and choke her, she said.

“In the past it got to the point where he would strangle me,” Dianna Lalchan told detectives. “But if he wanted to kill me, I would be dead by now.”

No reports were ever filed with police.

Matthew Hanna, an investigator with the D.C. Public Defender Service, testified that he spoke with several of Dianna Lalchan’s friends and colleagues, and that they all said that Dianna Lalchan had been victimized.

One of the witnesses told Hanna that Dianna Lalchan never reported the abuse because “her husband was going into politics and she didn’t want anything on his record,” Hanna said.

On the evening of March 27, Christopher Lalchan called Dianna around 5 p.m. and asked her to come home so they could “talk about their marriage,” Detective Cephas said.

Dianna Lalchan told detectives that the argument lasted all evening, and at one point Christopher Lalchan picked up a bicycle and threw it across the apartment.

Moments before the shooting, Christopher Lalchan picked up a plastic mop and held it above his head like a baseball bat, Dianna Lalchan told police. They struggled over the mop for a while, but Dianna Lalchan wrestled it from him. The two argued for a few minutes more, then Dianna Lalchan told her husband that she didn’t feel safe. So Christopher Lalchan retrieved a handgun from the bedroom closet and placed it on a television stand in the living room.

In the police interrogation video played in court Wednesday, Dianna Lalchan is seen telling police, “I pretend like I’m scared,” and that she “talked him into getting the gun out of the closet.”

Dianna Lalchan told police that shortly after Christopher Lalchan placed the gun on the television stand so that she would “feel safe,” he lunged at her. So she grabbed the gun and fired three shots.

Assistant U.S. Attorney Cynthia Wright argued that Dianna Lalchan showed no remorse in the 911 call, and that there was no description of the violence that occurred that night given to the dispatcher.

“The government is certainly sympathetic to the battered woman syndrome,” Wright said. “But the typical things that one would hear in a domestic violence call just weren’t there.”

Judge Morin scheduled a felony status conference on Judge Ronna Beck’s calendar for May 10.

http://homicidewatch.org/2013/04/03/judge-orders-walter-reed-pharmacist-dianna-lalchan-held-in-a-halfway-house-in-connection-with-death-of-husband/
Post by: ChipChipSilver on April 03, 2013, 08:25:59 PM
So sad, haven't posted in while but had to come in to say my thoughts and prayers are with his family. May God comfort them and give them strength in this difficult time. RIP
Post by: Tallman on April 04, 2013, 10:47:57 AM
D.C. judge orders pharmacist accused of killing husband released from jail
By Keith L. Alexander (Washington Post)

A D.C. Superior Court judge found enough evidence Wednesday to support the possibility that a Walter Reed pharmacist accused of killing her husband last week acted in self-defense.

Judge Robert E. Morin reduced the charge against Diana Lalchan from second-degree murder to voluntary manslaughter and ordered that she be released into a halfway house and placed on Global Positioning System monitoring until her trial. Lalchan is accused of fatally shooting her husband, Christopher Lalchan, in their Southwest Washington condo on March 28.

Lalchan's attorney, Arthur Ago of the District’s Public Defender Service, said his client was battered by her husband during their four-year marriage. Lalchan told friends, according to an investigator, that she never filed assault charges or sought a restraining order because her husband had plans to enter politics.

Prosecutors initially charged Lalchan with second-degree murder and, at Wednesday’s preliminary hearing, indicated they had plans to elevate the charge to first-degree murder. They said that Christopher Lalchan, 36, was shot in the back of the head and that evidence showed his wife was walking toward him as she fired. At the hearing, Morin said he wanted more information about the report that Lalchan was killed by a bullet to the back of the head. “I need clarity on that,” Morin said.

Diana Lalchan, 27, sobbed when marshals escorted her into the courtroom and she saw her parents and friends sitting in the audience. During most of the hearing, she sat with her head bowed in her hands, her hair covering her face. At times, she rocked back and forth. At one point Morin became concerned with Lalchan's behavior and asked her attorney to inquire about his client’s condition.

Lalchan grew up in Bethlehem, Pa., the daughter of a physician and his wife, who emigrated from Taiwan. Argo described his client as a highly motivated woman who graduated from high school in three years, finished college in two years and earned a doctorate degree in pharmaceuticals. He said that after her arrest, she was placed on paid administrative leave from her job at Walter Reed National Military Medical Center in Bethesda. Argo said his client had no prior arrests or history of drug use.

Lalchan told detectives she met her husband in church but had never met his family, who are from the Caribbean island of Trinidad. None of Christopher Lalchan’s family members attended the hearing.

Assistant U.S. Attorney Cynthia Wright repeatedly argued she was concerned about Lalchan's mental state. Wright played the 911 call in which Lalchan, sounding calm, told the operator that her husband “was getting violent. I shot him. He’s on the floor.” When the operator asked whether she wanted an ambulance, Lalchan instead requested police. Wright argued that women who are victims of domestic abuse are often hysterical after a violent incident.

Homicide Detective Robert Cephas Jr. testified that Lalchan told police she and her husband were arguing the night he was killed and that he never struck her. She told police that her husband had grabbed a mop and lunged at her but that she was able to take the mop from him. Lalchan said she told her husband she was afraid of him and that he went into a room, took out a .40 caliber pistol, placed it on a TV stand and told her “you should feel safe now.”

Lalchan, who also had a knife with her the night her husband died, told detectives her husband then lunged at her and she grabbed the gun and fired, striking her husband once in the back of the head. Cephas testified that preliminary results showed Lalchan was pointing the gun downward when she shot her husband, as though he were on the floor.

Lalchan told detectives she and her husband were in the process of separating.

The case was sent to a grand jury. Jurors could, based on additional evidence, indict Lalchan on additional charges, including second-degree murder. A follow-up hearing was scheduled for May 10.
Post by: Bakes on April 04, 2013, 11:12:10 AM
This judge is a f**king moron... from the article I posted:

Two other fired bullets were recovered from the scene: one was lodged in the kitchen wall, and the other was fragmented and lodged in the floor right next to Christopher Lalchan’s head, Metropolitan Police Detective Robert Cephas testified Wednesday.

Dianna Lalchan told detectives that she shot her husband as he charged at her. But a medical examiner determined that the bullet entry wound in the back of Christopher Lalchan’s head had a downward angle, which was inconsistent with that description, Cephas testified.

How the hell could you downgrade the charge to voluntary manslaughter when her story not adding up?  He supposedly put the gun on the TV stand and start to walk away then suddenly turn and charge at her... and in that short space of time she happen the grab the same gun and squeeze off three shots??  He charged at her and what... turned his head?  The medical examiner indicated that the bullet entered his head at a downward angle; the detective testify that another round was lodged in the floor right next to his head.  That mean she not only shot him in the back of the head, but likely as he was ducking to get away.  Then after the first shot put him down she stood over him and fired one more time at his head, just missing him.  She family and friends show up... but nobody there to represent Daft.  That have to change.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 04, 2013, 11:16:25 AM
Next issue is how long will the family persist with the PD?
Post by: Quags on April 04, 2013, 11:19:36 AM
That
This judge is a f**king moron... from the article I posted:

Two other fired bullets were recovered from the scene: one was lodged in the kitchen wall, and the other was fragmented and lodged in the floor right next to Christopher Lalchan’s head, Metropolitan Police Detective Robert Cephas testified Wednesday.

How the hell could you downgrade the charge to voluntary manslaughter when her story not adding up?  He supposedly put the gun on the TV stand and start to walk away then suddenly turn and charge at her... and in that short space of time she happen the grab the same gun and squeeze off three shots??  He charged at her and what... turned his head?  The medical examiner indicated that the bullet entered his head at a downward angle; the detective testify that another round was lodged in the floor right next to his head.  That mean she not only shot him in the back of the head, but likely as he was ducking to get away.  Then after the first shot put him down she stood over him and fired one more time at his head, just missing him.  She family and friends show up... but nobody there to represent Daft.  That have to change.

Something like that happen to John F .Kennedy .
Post by: Peong on April 04, 2013, 11:34:55 AM
In the police interrogation video played in court Wednesday, Dianna Lalchan is seen telling police, “I pretend like I’m scared,” and that she “talked him into getting the gun out of the closet.”

So she said that she convinced him to bring the gun for her to feel safe, pretending to feel scared.  Doesn't that sound like she was planning to kill him at that point?  And if she really felt so unsafe that she might have to fire a weapon, why not leave? She felt shooting him was the better deal?
This is such a damn shame.
Post by: D.H.W on April 04, 2013, 11:51:16 AM
If it was a man who shoot the woman he would be on murder charge.
Post by: Trevor on April 04, 2013, 12:14:18 PM
But what is this!!  RIP brother!
Post by: Socapro on April 04, 2013, 02:47:45 PM
This is no doubt about it whatsoever based on what I've read so far in this thread and elsewhere that this was pre-meditated murder on behalf of DT's wife. No wonder he was looking to break-up with that woman.

This trial should be for nothing else but first-degree murder, the evidence obtained so far clearly points to that!

I hope Christopher will have some family and friends that care about justice for him present at the next hearing and the murder trial.
Post by: vb on April 04, 2013, 05:59:44 PM
Many here seem to think they know the facts.

Granted it strange a man running towards you and get a shot in the back of the head.
She will have to explain that in court, unless she close she eye and shoot.

Post by: trini_stallion on April 04, 2013, 06:46:54 PM
wayyyy sahhh...RIP brother! this rel sad
Post by: weary1969 on April 04, 2013, 07:13:46 PM
A girlfriend of mines just took up a posting in the Washington High Commission. The first thing to meet her on her desk was a report from ICE informing them of Draft's death.
Post by: Feliziano on April 04, 2013, 08:45:35 PM
A girlfriend of mines just took up a posting in the Washington High Commission. The first thing to meet her on her desk was a report from ICE informing them of Draft's death.
Weary can you find out anything from your friend concerning a funeral?
How his family coping?..etc

Sad that he had no one there physically at the hearing on his behalf.
Can't believe she get sent to a half-way house either..steups
Post by: weary1969 on April 04, 2013, 08:52:20 PM

I will see what I can find out.
Post by: Big Magician on April 04, 2013, 10:31:07 PM
dedicated a song to him last night at a gig I played....
met him at a mod sec football reunion...
blessings man
Post by: Socapro on April 04, 2013, 10:42:09 PM
blessings man
Post by: Bakes on April 04, 2013, 11:18:51 PM
This is no doubt about it whatsoever based on what I've read so far in this thread and elsewhere that this was pre-meditated murder on behalf of DT's wife. No wonder he was looking to break-up with that woman.

This trial should be for nothing else but first-degree murder, the evidence obtained so far clearly points to that!

I hope Christopher will have some family and friends that care about justice for him present at the next hearing and the murder trial.

It actually does not, second-degree murder was the proper charge and under present facts manslaughter could also be justified.  All that said, I can't tell people how to think, but my focus isn't just on choosing sides simply because I "knew" Chris... my focus is on justice.  I say that to say this: the facts of this particular case aside, domestic violence is real and it is unacceptable, no matter which spouse is doing the abusing.  Things don't have to get this far... please, if any one of you, or people allyuh know in a situation like this, urge them to get help, there are resources out there for abuser and abused alike.

Good stuff Big Mag  :beermug:
Post by: Jah Gol on April 05, 2013, 06:57:43 AM
If it was a man who shoot the woman he would be on murder charge.
Indeed.
Post by: fari on April 05, 2013, 07:46:23 AM
blessings man

RIP bro...u kickin ball in heaven now
Post by: fari on April 05, 2013, 07:48:45 AM

It actually does not, second-degree murder was the proper charge and under present facts manslaughter could also be justified.  All that said, I can't tell people how to think, but my focus isn't just on choosing sides simply because I "knew" Chris... my focus is on justice.  I say that to say this: the facts of this particular case aside, domestic violence is real and it is unacceptable, no matter which spouse is doing the abusing.  Things don't have to get this far... please, if any one of you, or people allyuh know in a situation like this, urge them to get help, there are resources out there for abuser and abused alike.

i agree...domestic abuse normally occurs in cycles...but help is available...there are resources out there
Post by: Fyzoman on April 05, 2013, 08:42:12 AM

Great post bredda...in my neck of the woods (as it should be in all necks of the woods), this is indeed a huge issue...I believe that the forum shouldn't be place to cast aspersions on either the perpetrator or the victim in situations like this, however I am SURE most forumites are familiar with DV episodes (if not involved in them themselves?) so without being privy to all the facts it's hard to say what the hell was really going on in them people's lives.

Also my girl explanation is kinda jokey, but again who really know what was going on with them that caused it to come to a head the way it did...RIP DC Trini.
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 05, 2013, 09:21:18 AM
I reading this thread from the time it has been initiated and I am amazed at how we allow our "emotions" to make us jump to conclusions.  from Just cool to king jackass, men speculating and lambasting the judge and playing forensic expert all at the same time....Even for the people on here that knew him with some personal degree of intimacy, no one know in intimate detail what was going on in that household and marriage and unless anybody spent time in their home, or has seen the CSI reports/photos, no one can or should speculate (especially publicly) what happened or how it happened, where it happened or the sequence of events.  Sure, her story doesn't make sense to any of us on the outside but none of us were there and there is not enough "evidence" to say how things happened one way or another....and since we bringing up the issue of "domestic violence". people have to bear in mind that it doesn't always have to come in the form of a physical application.  There are a myriad of ways to "threaten" a person without saying a word. For me, the best way t respect the dead is to pray that he finds peace and safe passage in whatever realm and however he would have wished for it as is applicable to his faith. Especially in this case!
Post by: weary1969 on April 05, 2013, 09:43:58 AM

I will see what I can find out.

She had ltd info they got an address in Gasparillo but no phone number whichwas forwarded to ICE. They made no more contact with the embassy so it os believed that the wife provided more info. So if anybody here from Gasparillo they might be able to give some more info.
Post by: Observer on April 05, 2013, 10:12:44 AM
Blessing & Condolences to the family. Will be missed
Post by: Tenorsaw on April 05, 2013, 10:21:49 AM
RIP fella.  Condolences to the family.
Post by: warmonga on April 05, 2013, 11:19:03 AM
heard the news today and decided to visit this forum . Althouh not Knowing Daft personally I fealt the pain  when one of my friend call me and told me the news of a warrior passing. I wanna say RIP to a fallen warrior, war's deepest sympathy to Daft  and his love ones.
warmonga..
Post by: john_public on April 05, 2013, 03:32:54 PM
rip bro
Post by: kaliman2006 on April 05, 2013, 03:41:22 PM
Already posted in the "Fallen Warrior" thread, but I will post it again:

My condolences to Daft Trini and to his family and his wife's family. This is a tough time and I will pray that both families can get some sort of solace during this trying time.
Post by: Pointman on April 05, 2013, 06:05:30 PM
Wow! RIP Daft... enjoy yuh football from de odda side TnT forever :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: StoreBayLimer on April 05, 2013, 08:51:36 PM

Condolences to the family of dctrini … . 

I never met or talk to dctrini, and only knew him from his posts. Yet this news has hit hard. To hear of that kind of loss and under those circumstances really makes one ponder, and suggest that we should always carefully examine the circumstances/situation that we are sometimes ensnared in or get ourselves into.

Post by: King Deese on April 06, 2013, 01:25:56 AM
To a fallen warrior :beermug: :beermug:...Peace. Someday we"ll meet on the other side, and we"ll talk about this and that, that and this.
Post by: giggsy11 on April 06, 2013, 08:02:35 AM
I reading this thread from the time it has been initiated and I am amazed at how we allow our "emotions" to make us jump to conclusions.  from Just cool to king jackass, men speculating and lambasting the judge and playing forensic expert all at the same time....Even for the people on here that knew him with some personal degree of intimacy, no one know in intimate detail what was going on in that household and marriage and unless anybody spent time in their home, or has seen the CSI reports/photos, no one can or should speculate (especially publicly) what happened or how it happened, where it happened or the sequence of events.  Sure, her story doesn't make sense to any of us on the outside but none of us were there and there is not enough "evidence" to say how things happened one way or another....and since we bringing up the issue of "domestic violence". people have to bear in mind that it doesn't always have to come in the form of a physical application.  There are a myriad of ways to "threaten" a person without saying a word. For me, the best way t respect the dead is to pray that he finds peace and safe passage in whatever realm and however he would have wished for it as is applicable to his faith. Especially in this case!

Ent! Well put.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 08, 2013, 07:04:22 PM
Mods, could we stick a pin on this thread?
Post by: samo on April 08, 2013, 08:13:12 PM
Condolences to the family..

I never met daft, but we did exchange a few emails when he was still using his dctrini handle. Was always cordial and straight forward. very sad..
Post by: Bakes on April 08, 2013, 10:36:06 PM
Mods, could we stick a pin on this thread?

It was pinned at first... then the decision was made to unpin it.
Post by: che on April 08, 2013, 10:45:31 PM
RIP Daft Trini  :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Controversial on April 09, 2013, 12:59:12 AM
wow, i now reading this, all i can say is my prayers are with chris family, my condolences and blessings, may God take his soul into his kingdom...

wow, im speechless because the man was a friend on fb, i didn't know he was dc trini, that goes back to the earlies, on fb his name is different, its not lalchan...

i hope justice prevails...
Post by: davidephraim on April 09, 2013, 08:43:57 AM

Ent! Well put.

Human nature forces us to want to make sense of what seems senseless. Tools like speculation, reasoning and even suspicion, are all in the arsenal.

Respect is paramount but clarification, to de human mind, in my opinion, is more addictive than pharmaceuticals and when there is no one to provide that clarification then therein lies the problem.  Love to de brother and condolences to those that loved him.

As StoreBay implied, let us check for situations that may ensnare us.  Check for it big and serious too!
Post by: Bakes on April 15, 2013, 11:40:41 PM
For those of you in the DC area, and those close enough who would like to make the trip and attend, Daft's family will be celebrating his life this Saturday,  April 20, 2013 from 5 pm - 8 pm at De Vol Funeral Home, 2222 Wisconsin Avenue, NW, Washington, DC

(http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c311/Aikibro/Miscellaneous/Daft.jpg)
Post by: weary1969 on April 16, 2013, 09:21:44 AM
For those of you in the DC area, and those close enough who would like to make the trip and attend, Daft's family will be celebrating his life this Saturday,  April 20, 2013 from 5 pm - 8 pm at De Vol Funeral Home, 2222 Wisconsin Avenue, NW, Washington, DC

(http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c311/Aikibro/Miscellaneous/Daft.jpg)

sw.net/WN crew please go represent.
Post by: Carib-Briton on April 16, 2013, 09:37:41 AM
RIP!
Post by: Peong on April 16, 2013, 02:28:42 PM

I not dey but I appreciate d info.
Post by: Bakes on April 16, 2013, 02:46:15 PM
I trying to see if I could juggle mih schedule and make de drive mihself.
Post by: Tallman on April 23, 2013, 10:31:44 AM

Did you get a chance to go?
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2013, 12:25:25 PM

Did you get a chance to go?

Couldn't make it in the end, by the time I was finished with what I had to do, the earliest I would have gotten there would have been 7-7:30.
Post by: Bakes on May 27, 2013, 11:26:09 AM
Wife released into High Intensity Supervision Program... trial scheduled to start March 3, 2014.  Suprising that she being represented by a Public Defender, this fella in fact (https://www.facebook.com/arthur.ago), the Deputy Chief of DC's Defender Service.
Post by: vb on May 30, 2013, 06:21:13 AM
Wife released into High Intensity Supervision Program... trial scheduled to start March 3, 2014.  Suprising that she being represented by a Public Defender, this fella in fact (https://www.facebook.com/arthur.ago), the Deputy Chief of DC's Defender Service.

Ten months for the trial to start. Me eh no expert but dat normal?
Post by: Bakes on May 30, 2013, 06:47:23 AM

Ten months for the trial to start. Me eh no expert but dat normal?

Quite.  In some cases even longer.
Title: Diana Lalchan charged with murder of husband Christopher in DC
Post by: Tallman on December 24, 2013, 03:35:05 PM
Diana Lalchan charged with murder of husband Christopher in DC
wusa9.com

A D.C. woman has been charged with first degree murder while armed and possession of a firearm in the shooting death of her husband.

Twenty-eight-year-old Diana Lalchan pleaded not guilty to the charges at her arraignment today in the Superior Court of the District of Columbia.

According to the government's evidence, on March 28 at approximately 12:05 a.m., Lalchan called 911 and reported that she had just shot her husband inside their apartment in the 1200 block of Fourth Street SW. Officers found her inside the apartment, holding a cell phone. Police found her 36-year-old Christopher Lalchan lying on the floor, unconscious and unresponsive. Mr. Lalchan was suffering from an apparent gunshot wound to the back of the head.

Authorities say a semi-automatic handgun was recovered and three shell casings were found on the floor.

According to evidence, Lalchan told police that her husband had asked her to come home on the evening of March 27 so they could talk about their marriage. After dinner, Lalchan said that an argument ensued that escalated and de-escalated for several hours. According to forensic evidence she fired three shots at her husband: one into the kitchen, another into the back of Mr. Lalchan's head and a third next to his head.

Lalchan has a trial date of March 3, 2014. She faces a potential sentence of life in prison if she is convicted.
Post by: Tallman on December 24, 2013, 03:36:11 PM
Daft would have been 37 today. :(  :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on December 24, 2013, 03:45:39 PM

Meant to post this this morning... sad post by his younger brother some weeks back, about missing him.
Post by: vb on December 24, 2013, 04:47:36 PM

Meant to post this this morning... sad post by his younger brother some weeks back, about missing him.

Meant to do the same thing myself earlier today.

It was weird wishing him happy B'day on FB.

RIP Bredren.

Post by: asylumseeker on December 24, 2013, 05:18:04 PM
Been thinking about this in recent days ... year end reflection ting. Thanks for the update.
Post by: Jefferz on December 25, 2013, 07:11:14 AM
Sad, sad, sad. May he rest in peace away from the madness of this world.
Post by: Bakes on December 25, 2013, 10:19:33 AM
Diana Lalchan charged with murder of husband Christopher in DC
wusa9.com

A D.C. woman has been charged with first degree murder while armed and possession of a firearm in the shooting death of her husband.

Twenty-eight-year-old Diana Lalchan pleaded not guilty to the charges at her arraignment today in the Superior Court of the District of Columbia.

According to the government's evidence, on March 28 at approximately 12:05 a.m., Lalchan called 911 and reported that she had just shot her husband inside their apartment in the 1200 block of Fourth Street SW. Officers found her inside the apartment, holding a cell phone. Police found her 36-year-old Christopher Lalchan lying on the floor, unconscious and unresponsive. Mr. Lalchan was suffering from an apparent gunshot wound to the back of the head.

Authorities say a semi-automatic handgun was recovered and three shell casings were found on the floor.

According to evidence, Lalchan told police that her husband had asked her to come home on the evening of March 27 so they could talk about their marriage. After dinner, Lalchan said that an argument ensued that escalated and de-escalated for several hours. According to forensic evidence she fired three shots at her husband: one into the kitchen, another into the back of Mr. Lalchan's head and a third next to his head.

Lalchan has a trial date of March 3, 2014. She faces a potential sentence of life in prison if she is convicted.

Somehow I missed this yesterday.  I'm surprised that they charged her with first-degree murder... but I'm not complaining.
Post by: Bakes on December 25, 2013, 10:29:07 AM
Dianna Lalchan Charged with First-Degree Murder While Armed in Slaying of Her Husband (Homicidewatch.org)

Posted Nov. 23, 2013, 6 a.m. by Clara Pak | Leave a Comment

Dianna Lalchan pleaded innocent to two new charges brought against her in connection with the death of her husband, Christopher Lalchan.

A grand jury indicted Dianna Lalchan, 28, on charges of first-degree premeditated murder while armed and possession of a firearm during a crime of violence.

Lalchan was arrested and initially charged with second-degree murder, but a judge reduced that charge to voluntary manslaughter at a preliminary hearing. Lalchan has been staying with family under high supervision since May, when Judge Ronna Beck allowed her to leave a halfway house.

On Friday, Prosecutor Cynthia Wright said new evidence in the government’s case against Lalchan led to Thursday’s indictment. While Lalchan’s attorney, Arthur Ago, argued the killing was in self-defense, the prosecutor argued that not once during the couple’s five-year marriage did Dianna Lalchan call 911 or have restraining orders issued against her husband. There is also no record of an abuse case in D.C. Superior Court.

“This case is about money,” Wright said. “She didn’t want to pay alimony. The defendant chose money over everything else.”

On the night of Christopher Lalchan’s death, in the middle of an escalating argument, it was Lalchan who told her husband to go retrieve the gun and lay it on the table, Wright said.

According to forensic evidence, three shots were fired that night. “The first shot was fired into the kitchen,” Wright said. “The second shot was fired into the back of her husband’s head. The third shot was fired next to his head when he was on the ground.”

Wright argued that because Dianna Lalchan, a pharmacist at Walter Reed Medical Center, often went to the shooting range for recreational purposes, her precision in shooting would be quite good.

On March 28, at approximately 12:05 a.m., Lalchan called 911 and said, “I shot my husband,” inside their apartment in 1200 block of Fourth Street Southwest, according to charging documents.

The government requested a motion that Lalchan be held without bond. Judge Beck denied the motion because of her track record. “If you think she is a danger to the community, get your case ready for trial.”

Her trial is scheduled to begin March 5, 2014.
Post by: D.H.W on December 25, 2013, 10:31:08 AM
Good
Post by: Deeks on December 25, 2013, 12:05:47 PM
RIP and Merry Christmas wherever you are!!!
Post by: Pointman on December 26, 2013, 08:22:29 PM
wha de ass i reading here???? geeezan  :pissedoff: jus so boy... RIP Trini
Post by: Tallman on March 11, 2014, 07:02:26 PM

I eh see nothing in de news. Bakes, check it out nah.
Post by: Toppa on March 11, 2014, 09:51:17 PM
So sad... :(
Post by: Bakes on March 12, 2014, 12:38:54 PM

I eh see nothing in de news. Bakes, check it out nah.

Not much to report, sadly... hearing held, right now she's free on personal recognizance with high intensity monitoring (PR-HISP "mentioned below").  Another hearing is set for August.

03/06/2014   Event Resulted - Release Status:   Event Resulted - Release Status: PR-HISP. Motions to be heard during trial readiness hearing. New trial date set. Motions due 06-20-2014. Responses due 07-25-2014. AUSA: Carol Wright

The following event: Status Hearing scheduled for 03/06/2014 at 9:30 am has been resulted as follows:

Result: Hearing Held
Judge: REID WINSTON, RHONDA Location: Courtroom 316
DIANNA Y LALCHAN (Defendant (Criminal)); ; ARTHUR AGO (Attorney) on behalf of DIANNA Y LALCHAN (Defendant (Criminal)); Judge RHONDA REID WINSTON
Post by: Bakes on August 16, 2014, 07:40:05 AM
A lot of procedural activity but no real movement yet on this case.  The prosecution were successful in convincing the grand jury to indict on a first-degree murder charge after the first judge unbelievably reduced the initial second-degree charge to voluntary manslaughter.  A trial date is tentatively scheduled for October 20.

Event Scheduled

The following event: Trial Readiness Hearing scheduled for 08/08/2014 at 11:30 am has been rescheduled as follows:

Event: Trial Readiness Hearing
Date: 09/26/2014 Time: 9:30 am

Post by: Brownsugar on April 03, 2015, 05:47:30 AM
Anything happen since on the case?
Post by: Bakes on April 03, 2015, 12:29:09 PM
Trial schedule for later this summer... just a lot of procedural hearings since the last update.
Post by: Bakes on May 23, 2015, 02:12:35 PM
Event Scheduled
Event: Jury Trial
Date: 09/15/2015 Time: 9:30 am
Post by: Deeks on May 23, 2015, 02:19:41 PM
Bakes, on my birthday?.
Post by: vb on May 24, 2015, 11:26:16 PM
Event Scheduled

I was thinking about this just yesterday. Was planning to enquire.

Thanks
Post by: sub1 on May 25, 2015, 10:46:07 AM
A lot of procedural activity but no real movement yet on this case.  The prosecution were successful in convincing the grand jury to indict on a first-degree murder charge after the first judge unbelievably reduced the initial second-degree charge to voluntary manslaughter.  A trial date is tentatively scheduled for October 20.

Event Scheduled

The following event: Trial Readiness Hearing scheduled for 08/08/2014 at 11:30 am has been rescheduled as follows:

Event: Trial Readiness Hearing
Date: 09/26/2014 Time: 9:30 am

Why would the prosecutor seek 1st degree? It doesn't look too Kosher. Every single element would have to be proven or hopefully he gives the jury an alternative to second if unable to prove beyond a reasonable doubt. If he can't, she walks!! We can only hope for the best.
Post by: Bakes on May 25, 2015, 12:25:07 PM
Why would the prosecutor seek 1st degree? It doesn't look too Kosher. Every single element would have to be proven or hopefully he gives the jury an alternative to second if unable to prove beyond a reasonable doubt. If he can't, she walks!! We can only hope for the best.

"Every single element would have to be proven" no matter what the charge.  First degree murder is the proper charge as there is enough evidence to support it.  All of the lesser included offenses are included/simultaneously charged, including second-degree murder and manslaughter.
Post by: sub1 on May 25, 2015, 05:46:06 PM

"Every single element would have to be proven" no matter what the charge.  First degree murder is the proper charge as there is enough evidence to support it.  All of the lesser included offenses are included/simultaneously charged, including second-degree murder and manslaughter.
Obviously Bakes you have an idea about the law. but having an idea and knowing the law are two different things. let me just say that you are wrong. I shouldn't have to go any further.
Post by: Deeks on May 25, 2015, 06:07:45 PM
Sub1, think Bakes is a lawyer!
Post by: sub1 on May 25, 2015, 06:50:31 PM
Sub1, think Bakes is a lawyer!
I would want to believe so also. But I have also met many who don't fully understand the law especially the easiest area which is criminal law. Is he in T&T or the US? If T&T I apologize but if the US his third sentence is dead wrong. No pun intended.
Post by: Bakes on May 25, 2015, 07:04:04 PM
Obviously Bakes you have an idea about the law. but having an idea and knowing the law are two different things. let me just say that you are wrong. I shouldn't have to go any further.

I have no interest in measuring dicks online, it profits me none, but I'm admitted in state, federal and military courts, with pending admission before the US Supreme Court.  I've not only prosecuted criminal cases, but I've defended them as well, all the way up the appellate chain.  Suffice to say I have more than just a passing familiarity with the law, particularly criminal law.  I'm also 100% confident that when First Degree murder is charged, all of the lesser included offenses apply.  Any prosecutor worth their salt would simply ask the judge to include an instruction to the jury on the lesser-included offenses.  I don't need to convince you of this, as you are entitled to your own opinion.  Whether you "go further" or not is up to you, makes no real difference to me.
Post by: sub1 on May 25, 2015, 07:20:31 PM

I have no interest in measuring dicks online, it profits me none, but I'm admitted in state, federal and military courts, with pending admission before the US Supreme Court.  I've not only prosecuted criminal cases, but I've defended them as well, all the way up the appellate chain.  Suffice to say I have more than just a passing familiarity with the law, particularly criminal law.  I'm also 100% confident that when First Degree murder is charged, all of the lesser included offenses apply.  Any prosecutor worth their salt would simply ask the judge to include an instruction to the jury on the lesser-included offenses.  I don't need to convince you of this, as you are entitled to your own opinion.  Whether you "go further" or not is up to you, makes no real difference to me.
No dick measuring here son.You stand by your belief and I stand by mine. But when you get before the US Supreme CT please do inform us. And congrats on all your other admissions. True trini also let me have it.
BTW a de facto system of racism is not apartheid. Otherwise going on your logic America would be, today, an apartheid country but with a black President.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 06, 2015, 08:56:27 AM
Event Scheduled

The hour approacheth.
Post by: Mr Fix-it on September 07, 2015, 12:45:46 PM
Following...
Post by: asylumseeker on September 17, 2015, 06:33:14 AM
Bakes, doh lapse on that hefty retainer we paying yuh.
Post by: Bakes on September 17, 2015, 10:54:37 AM
There was a hearing held following a discovery motion by the defense, apparently they argued that the prosecution failed to turn over exculpatory information.  The judge granted a three-week continuance, but the fact that it's marked "FINAL continuance" suggests that while there was merit to the defense's complaint, whatever they complained about wasn't that materially important to warrant anything more than a three-week delay.

Event Resulted - Release Status: PR PSA
defense motion to continue trial date addressed, GRANTED by the court as a FINAL continuance; government to file motions no later than 10/9/2015 - defense to file their responses no later than 10/26/2015.
AUSA - Cynthia Wright

COURT REPORTER: Donna Hawkins

The following event: Trial Readiness Hearing scheduled for 09/10/2015 at 10:30 am has been resulted as follows:

Result: Hearing Held
DIANNA Y LALCHAN (Defendant (Criminal)); ; ARTHUR AGO (Attorney) on behalf of DIANNA Y LALCHAN (Defendant (Criminal)); Judge RHONDA REID WINSTON
Post by: ribbit on September 17, 2015, 04:40:57 PM
thanks bakes.  :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on September 17, 2015, 04:58:33 PM

No problem  :beermug:
Post by: StoreBayLimer on September 18, 2015, 12:06:51 AM

Me too, thanks very much Bakes. 

I am interested in this case. In spite of the distance and unfamiliar elements it feels very local.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 18, 2015, 09:35:46 AM
More of a wait, but so it goes. :beermug:

Where is the defendant?
Post by: Bakes on September 18, 2015, 06:51:19 PM
Out on bail, either on house arrest or with an ankle monitor, I can't quite remember.
Post by: Tallman on April 02, 2019, 12:53:17 PM
Jury Finds Wife Guilty of Shooting Husband
By Rebekah Herman (dcwitness.org)

Exactly six years after shooting her husband, a defendant was found guilty of killing her spouse during a violent argument.

On March 28, a jury found Dianna Lalchan guilty of voluntary manslaughter while armed and possession of a firearm during a crime of violence for shooting her 36-year-old husband, Christopher

Lalchan, on the 1200 block of 4th Street, SW on March 28, 2013. She is scheduled to be sentenced June 14. She is being without bail.

Throughout the trial, the prosecution refuted the defense’s theory that Dianna, 33, acted in self-defense because Christopher was shot in the back of the head. During closing arguments, the prosecutor said the gunshot wound is consistent with Christopher being shot while he was unarmed and face-down on the ground.

An expert said that when the bullet hit the back of his head, Christopher was close to the wall and not more than 18 inches from the floor. The expert also told the jury that Dianna fired three times and that Christopher was killed by the second or third shot. Bloodstain analysis can determine that Christopher was killed after a bullet struck the floor near his head. However, the sequence of the three shots cannot be determined.

Also, the prosecution said there was no evidence that suggested that Dianna was abused. Throughout the trial, multiple witnesses testified that they never saw bruises on Dianna and had no knowledge of any domestic abuse. However, a few witnesses said they were aware of violent arguing in the relationship.

The prosecution said Dianna committed premeditated murder for varying reasons, including being ashamed of the divorce, not wanting her family to find out that she was a lesbian and to avoid paying alimony. The prosecution said Dianna was a “manipulative and cold” person who was “setting up a ruse,” by using domestic violence to get out of her marriage and avoid paying alimony.

Emails from Dianna to her husband and friends showed that she meticulously tracked and questioned Christopher’s expenses.

“It was all about money,” the prosecutor said. “She shot him to solve all her problems.”

However, the defense told a different story.

According to the defense, the couple had violent arguments and were planning to separate. When she called 911, Dianna told police that she was a victim of domestic abuse. However, she said she didn’t report the abuse because she didn’t want to jeopardize her husband’s future.

During opening arguments, the defense described Christopher as the “Hulk,” saying he was unable to control or stop himself. He had apparently strangled Dianna to unconsciousness in the past. Dianna was “living in daily fear,” the defense said.

An instructor at Krav Maga, a DC martial arts school where Dianna took self-defense classes, said Dianna told him about the domestic abuse she was enduring. The instructor told the jury that he offered to help Dianna leave her home and relationship, but she refused because she was afraid Christopher would retaliate.

According to court documents, police found guns, gun memorabilia, thousands of rounds of ammunition and a tactical vest in the home, all of which apparently belonged to Christopher. Police also said there were no signs of a struggle in the home and that Dianna didn’t have any physical injuries.

The defense counsel also challenged the prosecution’s theory that Dianna was only concerned with her own financial situation, saying she didn’t want to leave her husband until he was financially stable. Her counsel said that as a pharmacist who made a six-figure salary, Dianna was happy to support Christopher.

“She lost her best friend,” the defense said. “She didn’t shoot Christopher Lalchan, she shot the Hulk.”

Read more about the trial on D.C. Witness’s site (http://dcwitness.org/?s=Dianna+lalchan).
Post by: vb on April 02, 2019, 07:35:21 PM
I have been thinking  of Daft Trini over the last few months and was wondering what the hell happened with this trial. Becz couldn't find  head nor tail of the trial on the net.

Thanks Tallest.

Post by: royal on April 03, 2019, 05:43:12 AM
Sad
Title: Former pharmacist sentenced to 7½ years in fatal shooting of husband
Post by: Tallman on September 04, 2020, 07:16:30 PM
Former pharmacist sentenced to 7½ years in fatal shooting of husband
By Keith L. Alexander (Washington Post)

September 6, 2019

A former Walter Reed pharmacist who told authorities she acted in self-defense when she fatally shot her husband in the back of the head in 2013 was sentenced Friday to 7 ½ years in prison.

After a nearly four-week trial in March, Diana Lalchan, 33, was convicted of voluntary manslaughter while armed in the March 28, 2013, shooting of her husband of nearly five years in their Southwest Washington condominium.

Lalchan told authorities that she was afraid Christopher Lalchan, 36, was going to kill her. During her Superior Court trial, she took the witness stand, sobbing at times, and testified that her husband often wrapped his hands around her throat during fits of rage. But then, she said, she decided to fight back.

Assistant U.S. Attorney Cynthia Wright argued in court Friday that Diana Lalchan had fabricated the domestic abuse allegations. She said Lalchan wanted to leave her husband but did not want to pay alimony or shame her parents and wanted to live a new, single life as a lesbian.

Wright said there was no sign of a struggle and no 911 call from Lalchan before the shooting asking for help and no hospital or police records of abuse.

“She learned her true sexual identity later in life and was in an environment that did not allow her to be her true self. So she developed a plan, all of which led to this shooting,” Wright said.

Wright said she initially believed that Lalchan was a victim of abuse. She said she changed her mind after examining some 52,000 emails between Lalchan and friends in which, Wright said, Lalchan hatched a plan to get out of her marriage.

The trial jury rejected the original charge of first-degree murder. Jurors said they believed Lalchan had been abused but concluded that her reaction was extreme.

Diana Lalchan fired three shots at her husband that evening. Wright argued that Christopher Lalchan was not struck by the first two shots but took cover. It was while he was on the floor, Wright said, citing the trajectory of the bullet that struck him, that Diana Lalchan fired the fatal shot.

Lalchan, as she did during her sentencing Friday, sobbed on the witness stand while talking about her life with her husband.

She said she lost “the only person I had in the world” that day. “He was all I had. He was my world,” she said. “But he lost control of himself. And because I did not love myself, I believed I deserved the treatment I endured.”

After the sentencing, Christopher Lalchan’s family expressed disappointment at the sentence. “We did not get justice,” his mother, Pearl, said.

“This was more painful than the trial,” Christopher Lalchan’s brother Mark added.

They both flew in from Trinidad in the Caribbean for the hearing.

Addressing members of the Lalchan family, Judge Ronna L. Beck said she was “sorry” for their loss, which she said she was sure was “immeasurable.”

But Beck also said that in 24 years on the bench, she had never received so many letters of support on behalf of a defendant in a murder case, nodding to the dozens of family members and friends sitting on one side of the courtroom.

Although prosecutors asked Beck to sentence Lalchan to at least 15 years, the judge said such a lengthy sentence was not warranted. Lalchan had to be sentenced to at least five years in prison, which was a mandatory minimum for using a gun during a crime of violence in the District.

Beck praised Lalchan for working with women in the jail, as her attorneys described. “I hope you continue to be a positive force and a major contributor to other women. You have good qualities and considerable talents and can be a positive role in the community,” the judge said.

Before finalizing her sentence, Beck asked Lalchan’s attorneys whether they wanted Lalchan sent to a particular prison so she could reflect that in her recommendation to Federal Bureau of Prisons. One of Lalchan’s attorneys requested a prison in Connecticut.

Then Lalchan’s attorneys requested that their client be given the opportunity to hug her elderly grandmother, who came from Taiwan to attend the hearing. Beck referred the request to the U.S. marshals in the court, who rejected the request.

But after the majority of spectators had left the courtroom, and after Beck left the bench, a U.S. marshal allowed Lalchan’s grandmother to be escorted to the cellblock to greet the prisoner, two people familiar with the incident said. A spokesman for the U.S. Marshals Service said he was looking into the matter.
Post by: Deeks on September 04, 2020, 11:12:18 PM
Wow!. RIP Draft Trini Lalchan. God Bless!!!
Post by: Flex on September 05, 2020, 03:48:25 PM
7 years for murder, wow, that aint nothing.

Post by: Tallman on September 05, 2020, 04:09:20 PM

She got convicted for voluntary manslaughter.
Post by: Flex on September 05, 2020, 04:12:41 PM

Murder is murder...

;)

Post by: Tallman on September 05, 2020, 05:32:47 PM

Murder is murder...

;)

Yuh could say she kill him. but murder is ah legal term.