General => General Discussion => Topic started by: FF on April 15, 2013, 01:27:45 PM

Title: Bombing at the Boston Marathon
Post by: FF on April 15, 2013, 01:27:45 PM
I hope all forumites in the area safe.

http://www.wcvb.com/news/local/metro/Explosions-reported-near-Boston-Marathon-finish-line/-/11971628/19757044/-/ktnc1wz/-/index.html?hpt=hp_t1

**Not for the faint hearted**
http://i.imgur.com/C9ephSF.jpg
Title: Re: Bombing at the Boston Marathon
Post by: Bitter on April 15, 2013, 01:36:08 PM
What the hell is going on in this world?
Post by: boss on April 15, 2013, 01:37:10 PM
CNN saying "6 hurt" and Fox News saying "3 dead and 30 injured" - Anyone nearby, please stay safe
Post by: D.H.W on April 15, 2013, 01:47:23 PM
Hit them when they guard down.
Post by: fari on April 15, 2013, 01:51:02 PM
so sad...what a world.   thoughts and prayers with families of the victims
Post by: kaliman2006 on April 15, 2013, 02:10:49 PM
Watching it now; the blood stained sidewalk is upsetting, to say the least.
Post by: triniairman on April 15, 2013, 02:34:57 PM
It was an explosion, the facts are not out yet... So it's a lil premature to say it was a bombing. I however must say it has the ingredients to be one. I say this because it was two SEPERATE explosions (coincidence maybe), and it was at a mass gathering for an event. I am not saying it was a bombing, more of it has potential to be one.

Here is a video of the explosion.... http://www.bloomberg.com/video/boston-marathon-explosion-captured-on-video-ahWSSGq4RHGowbqVucWOJA.html
Post by: Trini Madness on April 15, 2013, 02:44:12 PM
on NY1 they say numerous devices were found. other than the first 2 that went off, 2 more bombs went off. one was by bomb squad the other went off on its own. 3 other devices were found as well.
Post by: triniairman on April 15, 2013, 02:46:29 PM
on NY1 they say numerous devices were found. other than the first 2 that went off, 2 more bombs went off. one was by bomb squad the other went off on its own. 3 other devices were found as well.
These facts are very disturbing, I did say it had the potential to be a bombing. Sorry FF, I needed facts to call it a bombing.
Post by: Bitter on April 15, 2013, 03:00:51 PM
NYT Live blog has the best feeds I think. I can't listen to hours of mindless speculation by the talking heads on TV

http://thelede.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/04/15/live-updates-explosion-at-boston-marathon/

Also, this will sound harsh, but I can't help but wonder how someone in Iraq or Afghanistan or Syria or any number of places would react to this? We're certainly desensitized to news of bombings in many places.
Post by: pecan on April 15, 2013, 03:28:29 PM
NYT Live blog has the best feeds I think. I can't listen to hours of mindless speculation by the talking heads on TV

http://thelede.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/04/15/live-updates-explosion-at-boston-marathon/

Also, this will sound harsh, but I can't help but wonder how someone in Iraq or Afghanistan or Syria or any number of places would react to this? We're certainly desensitized to news of bombings in many places.

When it far from home, it's less disturbing but bring it to a venue where this is not typical, it then becomes incomprehensible.

Welcome to globalization.

Post by: Tallman on April 15, 2013, 03:31:44 PM
Trinidad and Tobago nationals affected by blasts in Boston may contact the T&T embassy at 202-467-6490.
Post by: FF on April 15, 2013, 03:42:16 PM
These facts are very disturbing, I did say it had the potential to be a bombing. Sorry FF, I needed facts to call it a bombing.

Doh dig no horrors... my post was knee jerk. I couldn't believe what I was seeing. I didn't have all de facts neither.
Post by: boss on April 15, 2013, 03:49:03 PM
Obama to deliver statement on Boston incident at 6:10 pm EDT in the White House briefing room
Post by: E-man on April 15, 2013, 04:17:26 PM
So way before the explosions - Boston.com tweeted this:

12:53 PM - 15 Apr 13
https://twitter.com/BostonDotCom/status/323886877746790402

Officials: There will be a controlled explosion opposite the library within one minute as part of bomb squad activities.

edit. That time stamp is a different time zone - 3:53 PM ET.
Post by: D.H.W on April 15, 2013, 04:28:03 PM
Watch the 8th pic. Make sure yuh belly could take it.

http://www.theatlantic.com/infocus/2013/04/photos-of-the-boston-marathon-bombing/100495/
Post by: D.H.W on April 15, 2013, 05:32:13 PM
More

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=072_1366065507
Post by: Brownsugar on April 15, 2013, 06:02:57 PM
I cyar believe yuh gone to run in a marathon or just be a spectator and yuh leg blown off.....madness!!
Post by: pecan on April 15, 2013, 06:37:04 PM
Watch the 8th pic. Make sure yuh belly could take it.

http://www.theatlantic.com/infocus/2013/04/photos-of-the-boston-marathon-bombing/100495/

I cyar believe yuh gone to run in a marathon or just be a spectator and yuh leg blown off.....madness!!

madness indeed
Post by: truetrini on April 15, 2013, 06:50:32 PM
http://www.cbc.ca/news/world/story/2013/04/15/iraq-bombings-wave-attacks.html

(http://www.cbc.ca/gfx/images/news/topstories/2013/04/15/li-iraq-bombing-attacks-620.jpg)

ooops my bad...wrong thread.

Post by: Deeks on April 15, 2013, 06:52:54 PM

Doh dig no horrors... my post was knee jerk. I couldn't believe what I was seeing. I didn't have all de facts neither.

So Triniairman, what other facts you need?
Post by: pecan on April 15, 2013, 06:54:23 PM

(http://www.cbc.ca/gfx/images/news/topstories/2013/04/15/li-iraq-bombing-attacks-620.jpg)

point made ...
Post by: D.H.W on April 15, 2013, 08:17:13 PM
"We started grabbing tourniquets and started tying legs. At least 25 to 30 people have at least one leg missing, or an ankle missing, or two legs missing."

http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-22160691#TWEET724773 (http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-22160691#TWEET724773)
Post by: E-man on April 15, 2013, 08:26:18 PM
"We started grabbing tourniquets and started tying legs. At least 25 to 30 people have at least one leg missing, or an ankle missing, or two legs missing."

http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-22160691#TWEET724773 (http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-22160691#TWEET724773)

Why did this seem to predominately tear up peoples legs?
Post by: truetrini on April 15, 2013, 08:37:08 PM

probably where it was planted and maybe due to fragmentation
Post by: Bakes on April 15, 2013, 08:41:06 PM

point made ...

What "point" would that be?
Post by: triniairman on April 15, 2013, 08:59:43 PM

So Triniairman, what other facts you need?
follow the post Deeks... I said I needed facts to call it a bombing before it was reported they found other explosive devices. They were reporting it to be an explosion. I did say that it had potential to be a bombing by the way the timing, amount or explosions in close proximity of each other and place in which it occured.  :beermug:
Post by: pecan on April 15, 2013, 09:03:02 PM

point made ...

as much as I think his posting is misguided, do I really need to explain?
Post by: Bakes on April 15, 2013, 09:28:43 PM

point made ...

You seem to understand... so by all means, enlighten us.
Title: Re: Re: Bombing at the Boston Marathon
Post by: D.H.W on April 15, 2013, 09:57:27 PM

It was in the dustbin. And probably what ever they use to make it.
Post by: Sam on April 16, 2013, 05:22:45 AM
I guess it was an explosive race !!...  ;D

But in all seriousness, I hope they find de bastards who did this.

Unacceptable.

These guys who do this is cowards.

Post by: pecan on April 16, 2013, 06:20:52 AM

point made ...

You seem to understand... so by all means, enlighten us.

I'll let GTFOOHWDBSA explain ... is his post.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on April 16, 2013, 08:18:20 AM
I agree TT as Pecan say..yuh have ah point!  I agree too
Post by: Cantona007 on April 16, 2013, 08:50:12 AM

Well done....
Post by: Pur_Trini on April 16, 2013, 09:06:52 AM
The Boston Marathon and U.S. Drone Attacks: a Tale of Two Terrorisms

"To murder several runners using bombs at a sporting event is terrorism.

To murder 175 children using military drones is U.S. policy.

We should accept neither. We should fight against both."

http://earthfirstnews.wordpress.com/2013/04/15/the-boston-marathon-and-u-s-drone-attacks-a-tale-of-two-terrorisms/
Post by: ribbit on April 16, 2013, 10:44:57 AM

http://earthfirstnews.wordpress.com/2013/04/15/the-boston-marathon-and-u-s-drone-attacks-a-tale-of-two-terrorisms/

well, de point a little clearer on dis one.
Post by: D.H.W on April 16, 2013, 10:53:17 AM
Where is the outrage for that?
Post by: Bakes on April 16, 2013, 12:03:47 PM
There is a certain false equivalence at play when you juxtapose what's going on in Iraq... or the Drone attacks in Pakistan/Afghanistan, with the acts of terrorism in Boston yesterday, and it's shocking really that supposedly intelligent people can't understand the difference.
Post by: Peong on April 16, 2013, 12:35:09 PM
There is a certain false equivalence at play when you juxtapose what's going on in Iraq... or the Drone attacks in Pakistan/Afghanistan, with the acts of terrorism in Boston yesterday, and it's shocking really that supposedly intelligent people can't understand the difference.

What puzzlin is why you juxtapose what happened in Iraq in that picture, with drone attacks elsewhere.
Post by: kaliman2006 on April 16, 2013, 12:41:20 PM

Well, trying to distill your point from your post which is typically couched in condescension, I can see your point. Iraq, Pakistan, and Afghanistan are all mired in a continual state of instability and are rife with violence; basically, they are still war zones. The incidents of yesterday occurred in city accustomed to a city which has not had to deal with the war-torn conditions of Iraq and Afghanistan, and Boston is not a war zone.

That said, I can understand what GTFOOHWDBSA was trying to allude to; specifically, where is the outrage when people in Iraq die, and why the lack of coverage? Perhaps, it can be down to conflict fatigue on the part of a public being fed a daily diet of the carnage being visited upon many Iraqis.

With that said, I will make an additional point: the events of Boston are going to hit harder because it is closer to home. It is akin to a personal relative being the victim of a violent crime even in the midst of stories of numerous violent crimes being committed in your area. This is where I see the failure in GTFOOHWDBSA's point.
Post by: Bakes on April 16, 2013, 02:54:34 PM
What puzzlin is why you juxtapose what happened in Iraq in that picture, with drone attacks elsewhere.

That really "puzzlin" tuh you that I am the one making the juxtaposition?  Was I the one who posted unrelated info about bombings in Iraq or drone attacks in Pakistan/Afghanistan?

-------------------------------

Well, trying to distill your point from your post which is typically couched in condescension, I can see your point.

Dred if you doh like the points I make or the way I make them, yuh doh have to respond... plain and simple.  If is de Miss Manners or Headmistress job yuh want den just apply fuh it and doh study my posts.  Not that hard.
Post by: kaliman2006 on April 16, 2013, 03:04:02 PM

That really "puzzlin" tuh you that I am the one making the juxtaposition?  Was I the one who posted unrelated info about bombings in Iraq or drone attacks in Pakistan/Afghanistan?

-------------------------------

Well, trying to distill your point from your post which is typically couched in condescension, I can see your point.

Dred if you doh like the points I make or the way I make them, yuh doh have to respond... plain and simple.  If is de Miss Manners or Headmistress job yuh want den just apply fuh it and doh study my posts.  Not that hard.

For all of your brilliance, you still have not grown up. I guess maturity and education/professional advancement do not necessarily go hand in hand.

As I have remarked before, you are nothing if not predictable.

Carry on soldier; all I would say is don't act surprised when people respond to the aggressive manner in which you post. If you don't give a hoot, fine. Just don't act too surprised.

Carry on.
Post by: ribbit on April 16, 2013, 03:25:51 PM
has any group claimed responsibility for the attack yet?
Post by: boss on April 16, 2013, 03:52:28 PM
has any group claimed responsibility for the attack yet?

No.
Post by: Bakes on April 16, 2013, 05:12:14 PM
For all of your brilliance, you still have not grown up. I guess maturity and education/professional advancement do not necessarily go hand in hand.

Carry on soldier; all I would say is don't act surprised when people respond to the aggressive manner in which you post. If you don't give a hoot, fine. Just don't act too surprised.

Carry on.

I really spend my days worrying about the fact that you don't think I'm grown and mature...
Post by: fari on April 16, 2013, 06:07:05 PM

Well, trying to distill your point from your post which is typically couched in condescension, I can see your point. Iraq, Pakistan, and Afghanistan are all mired in a continual state of instability and are rife with violence; basically, they are still war zones. The incidents of yesterday occurred in city accustomed to a city which has not had to deal with the war-torn conditions of Iraq and Afghanistan, and Boston is not a war zone.

That said, I can understand what GTFOOHWDBSA was trying to allude to; specifically, where is the outrage when people in Iraq die, and why the lack of coverage? Perhaps, it can be down to conflict fatigue on the part of a public being fed a daily diet of the carnage being visited upon many Iraqis.

With that said, I will make an additional point: the events of Boston are going to hit harder because it is closer to home. It is akin to a personal relative being the victim of a violent crime even in the midst of stories of numerous violent crimes being committed in your area. This is where I see the failure in GTFOOHWDBSA's point.

i sympathize with those affected by the bombing...i really do...but i kinda see it from the other side as well
Post by: E-man on April 16, 2013, 06:15:15 PM

i sympathize with those affected by the bombing...i really do...but i kinda see it from the other side as well

The outrage is for Iragi bombings is largely in Iraq and if you watch Iragi news all day they would probably be reporting on it.

Watch US based news all day and you get US based stuff.
Post by: Peong on April 16, 2013, 06:19:47 PM

GTFOOHWDBSA's contrasted Boston's and Iraq's bombings, pur_trini did the same but with Boston and drone attacks.
One is relevant and the other is not, so you can't objectively lump Iraq's bombings with drone attacks, and you're the only one who posted as such in here.
Post by: kaliman2006 on April 16, 2013, 07:03:33 PM

Carry on.

I really spend my days worrying about the fact that you don't think I'm grown and mature...

Thank you for proving my point. And I noticed that you did not even address the substance of my post in your initial reply and instead resorted to some infantile insult about "Miss Manners" or something or the other; whatever.

You simply made yourself look even more childish.

As I've said I hope you don't conduct yourself like this in real life, but whatever. As you say, daiz your business.

Go ahead and be the forum bully.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 16, 2013, 07:54:02 PM

I saw a feed in which the highest placed American man was interviewed (4th place overall), but the same outlet expressed no interest in interviewing either Desisa or Jeptoo (respective men's and women's winners). Ok, so they interviewed the Japanese winner of the wheelchair category ... but that was before the elite men's and women's segments were completed.
Post by: truetrini on April 16, 2013, 08:26:20 PM
U

The outrage is for Iragi bombings is largely in Iraq and if you watch Iragi news all day they would probably be reporting on it.

US news?  Parochial?  Living in a bubble?
Post by: truetrini on April 16, 2013, 08:52:51 PM
What is an abberation for me is a way of life for you!  And it is compounded if I made your situation the way it is...!

I stand in shock and awe.  and sometimes (although this (Boston) may not be the case), these are the results of meddling and interference!

Post by: Quags on April 16, 2013, 09:12:27 PM
The eagle has an olive branch in one talon and arrows in the other ,nations have to pick one.Its the way this nation was built .
Post by: Bakes on April 16, 2013, 10:32:30 PM
GTFOOHWDBSA's contrasted Boston's and Iraq's bombings, pur_trini did the same but with Boston and drone attacks.
One is relevant and the other is not, so you can't objectively lump Iraq's bombings with drone attacks, and you're the only one who posted as such in here.

What??

Did you miss the "or" in my sentence?

There is a certain false equivalence at play when GTFOOHWDBA juxtapose what's going on in Iraq... with the acts of terrorism in Boston yesterday.

There is a certain false equivalence at play when Pur_Trini juxtapose the Drone attacks in Pakistan/Afghanistan... with the acts of terrorism in Boston yesterday.

Hope that helps.
Post by: Bakes on April 16, 2013, 10:38:03 PM
Thank you for proving my point. And I noticed that you did not even address the substance of my post in your initial reply and instead resorted to some infantile insult about "Miss Manners" or something or the other; whatever.

As I've said I hope you don't conduct yourself like this in real life, but whatever. As you say, daiz your business.

What is this fixation with me, some stranger on the internet fella?  You had an opportunity to focus on substance, instead you chose to preface your 'substance' with some ad hominem dig at me... now yuh bellyaching about me not paying attention tuh yuh substance... lol

It really not that serious... let it go.
Post by: Quags on April 16, 2013, 10:40:28 PM
Hey bakes,when you have time ...this could be a domestic treat ,don't yeah think ?
Post by: Bakes on April 16, 2013, 10:48:11 PM
What is an abberation for me is a way of life for you!  And it is compounded if I made your situation the way it is...!

I stand in shock and awe.  and sometimes (although this (Boston) may not be the case), these are the results of meddling and interference!

This makes your post... and all the talk about drone strikes all the more, premature and inappropriate.  We don't yet know the genesis for this attack, and even if it turns out this was some sort of misguided attempt at retribution for the foreign policies of the US government, it is hardly appropriate in my mind to politicize this tragedy at a time when people are dying or lying wounded in the hospital. Or to imply that this is somehow appropriate or just.  But that's just me.
Post by: Bakes on April 16, 2013, 10:50:11 PM
Hey bakes,when you have time ...this could be a domestic treat ,don't yeah think ?

The low-budget nature of it strikes me as domestic... but then again, Al Qaeda has become even more and more "low-budget" since 9-11, looking at the shoe and the underwear bombers.  Not only that, but the fella with the vending cart, and then the Pathfinder full of explosives in NYC (there was also a pressure cooker bomb in his car).  I honestly don't know... and really, to me it doesn't matter.
Post by: Quags on April 16, 2013, 11:00:37 PM
It matters bro ...that hurt .
Post by: Bakes on April 16, 2013, 11:03:56 PM
It matters bro ...that hurt .

You think it matters to the family of the 8-year old killed whether it was foreign or domestic terrorists?  You think it matters to the 170 people maimed, hurt and dismembered?  Okay.
Post by: Quags on April 16, 2013, 11:09:47 PM
If it start a global war ,it would lol .
Post by: mal jeux on April 17, 2013, 06:07:18 AM
Why do we insist on continuously hurting each other?
Post by: fari on April 17, 2013, 06:21:37 AM
http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2013/apr/16/boston-marathon-explosions-notes-reactions
Post by: pecan on April 17, 2013, 07:10:38 AM
http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2013/apr/16/boston-marathon-explosions-notes-reactions

This article (amongst many others) illustrates that opinions on Boston vs. other horrific events in the world, are not universal shared.

To quote the author of this Article:

"There's nothing wrong per se with paying more attention to tragedy and violence that happens relatively nearby and in familiar places. Whether wrong or not, it's probably human nature, or at least human instinct, to do that, and that happens all over the world. I'm not criticizing that. But one wishes that the empathy for victims and outrage over the ending of innocent human life that instantly arises when the US is targeted by this sort of violence would at least translate into similar concern when the US is perpetrating it, as it so often does (far, far more often than it is targeted by such violence)."

Comment such as " ... it's shocking really that supposedly intelligent people can't understand the difference." (Bakes) suggests that  anyone who dares to draw parallel between these events are not thinking intelligently.

Post by: Pur_Trini on April 17, 2013, 08:56:35 AM

This article (amongst many others) illustrates that opinions on Boston vs. other horrific events in the world, are not universal shared.

"There's nothing wrong per se with paying more attention to tragedy and violence that happens relatively nearby and in familiar places. Whether wrong or not, it's probably human nature, or at least human instinct, to do that, and that happens all over the world. I'm not criticizing that. But one wishes that the empathy for victims and outrage over the ending of innocent human life that instantly arises when the US is targeted by this sort of violence would at least translate into similar concern when the US is perpetrating it, as it so often does (far, far more often than it is targeted by such violence)."

Comment such as " ... it's shocking really that supposedly intelligent people can't understand the difference." (Bakes) suggests that  anyone who dares to draw parallel between these events are not thinking intelligently.

There are those who will refuse to see anyone else's point of view, or try to understand it, for no rational reason.  If this is not a perfect illustration of ignorance, I am unsure what is. 
Post by: Pur_Trini on April 17, 2013, 09:32:46 AM

Carry on.

You realise is Bakes you responding to, right?  ;D

(Doh vex Bakes, is only joke ah makin'!)
Post by: Peong on April 17, 2013, 09:55:23 AM

What??

Did you miss the "or" in my sentence?

There is a certain false equivalence at play when GTFOOHWDBA juxtapose what's going on in Iraq... with the acts of terrorism in Boston yesterday.

There is a certain false equivalence at play when Pur_Trini juxtapose the Drone attacks in Pakistan/Afghanistan... with the acts of terrorism in Boston yesterday.

Hope that helps.

Yeah I already acknowledged that you think that the two situations are interchangeable, my point is they are not.  Boston and Iraq were terror bombings with civilians as the targets, drone attacks don't target civilians.  Use "or" or a slash, it's still wrong.
Post by: Pur_Trini on April 17, 2013, 09:59:04 AM

Yeah I already acknowledged that you think that the two situations are interchangeable, my point is they are not.  Boston and Iraq were terror bombings with civilians as the targets, drone attacks don't target civilians.  Use "or" or a slash, it's still wrong.

They don't - the civilians are merely (acceptable) collateral damage.
Post by: boss on April 17, 2013, 11:22:17 AM
Investigators believe they have identified a suspect in the Boston Marathon bombings, a source tells CNN. 
Post by: boss on April 17, 2013, 11:54:42 AM
Investigators believe they have identified a suspect in the Boston Marathon bombings, a source tells CNN. 

And now arrested  :beermug:
Post by: boss on April 17, 2013, 12:30:00 PM
Now another man on CNN saying his source says no one has been arrested, and they don't know the identity of the suspect.  ???
Post by: pecan on April 17, 2013, 01:02:36 PM
Now another man on CNN saying his source says no one has been arrested, and they don't know the identity of the suspect.  ???

Both BBC and CBC also saying the same thing. Boston police deny that a suspect has been arrested.
Post by: Bakes on April 17, 2013, 02:11:47 PM

My comments "suggests" no more or no less than you would interpret from them as a reader... if that is your interpretation then say that is your interpretation.  My exact comment was that there was a "false equivalence" being made between what's happening in Iraq and Afghanistan/Pakistan... and what's happened in Boston.  I'm sure you're smart enough to figure out the meaning of "false equivalence" (aye, look... more 'condescension' fuh yuh Kaliman).

Posited as the photograph of the bombing in Iraq and the article about drone attacks were in the thread, they were used as in the face reminders of either:

1) The chickens of American foreign policy coming home to roost; or
2) Equal destruction taking place elsewhere and no one bothering to comment on it.

React however you will, not really my concern, but neither of these are positions that I would expect presumably intelligent people to make.  I have interacted with both Pur_Trini and Truetrini outside of the forum that they should know better than to take my comment personally, and if they do then that is on them.  If you or Kaliman want to take umbrage to my statement and drink tea for dem fellas cough then is neither here nor there to me.

That said, on a very superficial level there are similarities among all three incidents/series of incidents referenced... on a very superficial level.  Whatever your position on drone strikes, war is a very nasty, and often necessary proposition.  No matter how far up the causal chain you want to take the analysis, the US did not start the fight with Al Qaeda/the Taliban.  We could argue that on some rhetorical level, but there's a great deal more utility in listening to the words of America's enemies in this regard: Bin Laden himself didn't state that 9-11 was in response to any specific American act or provocation, but rather it was for America's support of Israel and what he considered to be it's sacrilegious presence on holy Saudi land.  So, whether we want to dicker about justifiably provocative those incidents were in giving rise to 9-11, here we are.

With that being said... no one can reasonably, or "intelligently" say that drone attacks either deliberately, or recklessly target civilians in Afghanistan/Pakistan.  The US is not allowed a physical presence in Pakistan because that only inflames sensitivities, and provides anti-American forces in Pakistan with ammunition to target the ruling government.  The uncomfortable compromise arrived at is the drone policy, with Pakistan granting the US permission to target insurgents inside of Pakistan.  To do so the US relies on a network of spies and informants and often times either the 'intelligence' proves imperfect... either way, civilians are not targeted... AND there has been, and there continues to be significant debate over the US drone policy.

With regards to Iraq, the discussion doesn't even need to be that long... it's just a silly comparison, relevant for no other purpose other than shock value.  The US isn't perpetrating the bombings in Iraq, nor is it the cause.  Of course one can talk about the instability fomented by
Bush's unnecessary war and that is legitimate.  But to say that the US is responsible for that is to absolve those who are actually carrying out the bombings of true responsibility.  So it is hardly appropriate, or "intelligent" to posit that as a chicken coming home to roost story... especially since we don't even know that the bombing in Boston is at all related to US foreign policy.  As for the second prong... certainly no one could argue that there hasn't been enough talk about death and destruction in Iraq or that it is somehow improper to fixate on Boston why Iraqis are dealing with daily bombings.  But I'll let the very article that you cite address the juxtaposition:

"There's nothing wrong per se with paying more attention to tragedy and violence that happens relatively nearby and in familiar places. Whether wrong or not, it's probably human nature, or at least human instinct, to do that, and that happens all over the world. I'm not criticizing that.[/b]

It isn't unintelligent... it is just plain silly, to somehow infer that we shouldn't focus too much on Boston when similar occurrences are taking place elsewhere in the world.  There is already a thread devoted to drone strikes, if the issue was NOT to draw focus from Boston but rather to put focus on drone strikes, the point could have been made there.  Same goes for Iraq.
Post by: Bakes on April 17, 2013, 02:14:47 PM

What de hell you smoking??  I merely chose to respond to Truetrini and Pur_Trini in the same comment... to say that neither terror bombings in Iraq nor drone attacks in Afghanistan/Pakistan are the same as the situation in Boston. How de ass from that you get that I saying that the situation with terror attacks and drone strikes are "interchangeable".

Anyways... moving on.
Post by: Bitter on April 17, 2013, 02:17:32 PM

Just turn off the TV.
The news shows right now are just a jobs program for "experts" speculating about everything from backpacks to pressure cookers.
Title: 4chan, Reddit users claim to identify potential suspects in Boston Marathon
Post by: truetrini on April 17, 2013, 06:16:31 PM
http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/lookout/4chan-reddit-users-claim-identify-potential-suspects-boston-195842168.html

(http://l3.yimg.com/bt/api/res/1.2/b1CiYfQKXL5dNGfh3H7W4w--/YXBwaWQ9eW5ld3M7cT04NTt3PTYzMA--/http://media.zenfs.com/en/blogs/thelookout/4chan_photo.jpg)
4chan.org

BOSTON—As investigators continue to probe Monday's deadly bombings at the Boston Marathon, self-deputized Internet detectives shifted into overdrive on Wednesday—with users of two popular online bulletin boards claiming they had identified the culprit.

On 4chan, an image-driven message board, users zeroed in on a surveillance image showing a man near the marathon's finish line wearing black pants, black shirt and white hat and carrying a black backpack similar to the one recovered near the site of one of the blasts.

In subsequent aerial images, the man is seen without the backpack.

Like a nerdy episode of "CSI," "4channers," as they like to call themselves, proceeded to debate the veracity of the find, even launching a shared Google spreadsheet to organize the armchair intel.

Other 4chan users spotted another man carrying a black backpack whom they deemed suspicious.
Meanwhile, Reddit users were engaged in a similar debate over both photos.

While some fellow users were quick to mock their fellow faux forensics, the FBI and local law enforcement have been asking the public for help, soliciting photos and video that may help solve the crime. Redditors and 4channers are simply following instruction.

http://m.theatlanticwire.com/national/2013/04/reddit-and-4chan-are-boston-bomber-case/64312/
http://www.dailydot.com/news/4chan-boston-marathon-bomber-photo-evidence/
Post by: Peong on April 17, 2013, 07:02:21 PM

What de hell you smoking??  I merely chose to respond to Truetrini and Pur_Trini in the same comment... to say that neither terror bombings in Iraq nor drone attacks in Afghanistan/Pakistan are the same as the situation in Boston. How de ass from that you get that I saying that the situation with terror attacks and drone strikes are "interchangeable".

Anyways... moving on.

Because you think both are so different from Boston that the comparison shouldn't be made between Boston and either of them, despite Iraq having the very same kind of attack as Boston.
Yes best yuh move on.
Post by: Deeks on April 17, 2013, 07:23:34 PM
get ready to register your pressure cooker with Homeland Security.
Post by: kaliman2006 on April 17, 2013, 07:31:10 PM

What is this fixation with me, some stranger on the internet fella?  You had an opportunity to focus on substance, instead you chose to preface your 'substance' with some ad hominem dig at me... now yuh bellyaching about me not paying attention tuh yuh substance... lol

It really not that serious... let it go.

This is precisely what you do and you proved my point again. Whatever point you do make is lost in between the "ad hominem" digs that you hurl he way of other posters themselves. It really is a case of the pot calling the kettle black.

And I purposely made the "ad hominem" to get my point across and to show you what you do.

Hopefully you get the point.

I jess doh care too much for cyber-bullying daiz all, and you always feel the need to put down others while making your point.
Post by: pecan on April 18, 2013, 05:27:17 AM

My comments "suggests" no more or no less than you would interpret from them as a reader... if that is your interpretation then say that is your interpretation.  My exact comment was that there was a "false equivalence" being made between what's happening in Iraq and Afghanistan/Pakistan... and what's happened in Boston.  I'm sure you're smart enough to figure out the meaning of "false equivalence" (aye, look... more 'condescension' fuh yuh Kaliman).

Posited as the photograph of the bombing in Iraq and the article about drone attacks were in the thread, they were used as in the face reminders of either:

1) The chickens of American foreign policy coming home to roost; or
2) Equal destruction taking place elsewhere and no one bothering to comment on it.

React however you will, not really my concern, but neither of these are positions that I would expect presumably intelligent people to make.  I have interacted with both Pur_Trini and Truetrini outside of the forum that they should know better than to take my comment personally, and if they do then that is on them.  If you or Kaliman want to take umbrage to my statement and drink tea for dem fellas cough then is neither here nor there to me.

That said, on a very superficial level there are similarities among all three incidents/series of incidents referenced... on a very superficial level.  Whatever your position on drone strikes, war is a very nasty, and often necessary proposition.  No matter how far up the causal chain you want to take the analysis, the US did not start the fight with Al Qaeda/the Taliban.  We could argue that on some rhetorical level, but there's a great deal more utility in listening to the words of America's enemies in this regard: Bin Laden himself didn't state that 9-11 was in response to any specific American act or provocation, but rather it was for America's support of Israel and what he considered to be it's sacrilegious presence on holy Saudi land.  So, whether we want to dicker about justifiably provocative those incidents were in giving rise to 9-11, here we are.

With that being said... no one can reasonably, or "intelligently" say that drone attacks either deliberately, or recklessly target civilians in Afghanistan/Pakistan.  The US is not allowed a physical presence in Pakistan because that only inflames sensitivities, and provides anti-American forces in Pakistan with ammunition to target the ruling government.  The uncomfortable compromise arrived at is the drone policy, with Pakistan granting the US permission to target insurgents inside of Pakistan.  To do so the US relies on a network of spies and informants and often times either the 'intelligence' proves imperfect... either way, civilians are not targeted... AND there has been, and there continues to be significant debate over the US drone policy.

With regards to Iraq, the discussion doesn't even need to be that long... it's just a silly comparison, relevant for no other purpose other than shock value.  The US isn't perpetrating the bombings in Iraq, nor is it the cause.  Of course one can talk about the instability fomented by
Bush's unnecessary war and that is legitimate.  But to say that the US is responsible for that is to absolve those who are actually carrying out the bombings of true responsibility.  So it is hardly appropriate, or "intelligent" to posit that as a chicken coming home to roost story... especially since we don't even know that the bombing in Boston is at all related to US foreign policy.  As for the second prong... certainly no one could argue that there hasn't been enough talk about death and destruction in Iraq or that it is somehow improper to fixate on Boston why Iraqis are dealing with daily bombings.  But I'll let the very article that you cite address the juxtaposition:

"There's nothing wrong per se with paying more attention to tragedy and violence that happens relatively nearby and in familiar places. Whether wrong or not, it's probably human nature, or at least human instinct, to do that, and that happens all over the world. I'm not criticizing that.[/b]

It isn't unintelligent... it is just plain silly, to somehow infer that we shouldn't focus too much on Boston when similar occurrences are taking place elsewhere in the world.  There is already a thread devoted to drone strikes, if the issue was NOT to draw focus from Boston but rather to put focus on drone strikes, the point could have been made there.  Same goes for Iraq.

much written (word count > 700); too much too read. Cheers :beermug:
Post by: Quags on April 18, 2013, 03:32:41 PM
are you guys good at where waldo ?
http://www.infowars.com/boston-bombing-culprits-found/
Post by: D.H.W on April 18, 2013, 03:40:44 PM
infowars, that site is nothing but government conspiracy.

Anyway the FBI just released the photos of the real suspects. With video

(http://msnbcmedia.msn.com/j/MSNBC/Components/Photo/_new/130418-fbi-suspects-combo-531p.grid-6x2.jpg)

http://usnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2013/04/16/17784776-fbi-releases-video-of-two-dangerous-suspects-in-boston-bombing?lite
Post by: mukumsplau on April 18, 2013, 03:43:55 PM
are you guys good at where waldo ?
http://www.infowars.com/boston-bombing-culprits-found/

wow...lots of ppl with alo of time on their hands...and it wasnt even any of them
Post by: D.H.W on April 18, 2013, 03:55:39 PM
More photos.

http://www.fbi.gov/news/updates-on-investigation-into-multiple-explosions-in-boston/photos
Post by: D.H.W on April 18, 2013, 04:02:47 PM
Video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M80DXI932OE
Post by: Peong on April 18, 2013, 04:07:17 PM
BTW anybody notice the Trini flag about 5th from right in the video of the blast?
Post by: Bitter on April 18, 2013, 07:32:36 PM
APRIL 17, 2013
THE SAUDI MARATHON MAN

POSTED BY AMY DAVIDSON
http://www.newyorker.com/online/blogs/comment/2013/04/the-saudi-marathon-man.html

A twenty-year-old man who had been watching the Boston Marathon had his body torn into by the force of a bomb. He wasn’t alone; a hundred and seventy-six people were injured and three were killed. But he was the only one who, while in the hospital being treated for his wounds, had his apartment searched in “a startling show of force,” as his fellow-tenants described it to the Boston Herald, with a “phalanx” of officers and agents and two K9 units. He was the one whose belongings were carried out in paper bags as his neighbors watched; whose roommate, also a student, was questioned for five hours (“I was scared”) before coming out to say that he didn’t think his friend was someone who’d plant a bomb—that he was a nice guy who liked sports. “Let me go to school, dude,” the roommate said later in the day, covering his face with his hands and almost crying, as a Fox News producer followed him and asked him, again and again, if he was sure he hadn’t been living with a killer.

Why the search, the interrogation, the dogs, the bomb squad, and the injured man’s name tweeted out, attached to the word “suspect”? After the bombs went off, people were running in every direction—so was the young man. Many, like him, were hurt badly; many of them were saved by the unflinching kindness of strangers, who carried them or stopped the bleeding with their own hands and improvised tourniquets. “Exhausted runners who kept running to the nearest hospital to give blood,” President Obama said. “They helped one another, consoled one another,” Carmen Ortiz, the U.S. Attorney for Massachusetts, said. In the midst of that, according to a CBS News report, a bystander saw the young man running, badly hurt, rushed to him, and then “tackled” him, bringing him down. People thought he looked suspicious.

What made them suspect him? He was running—so was everyone. The police reportedly thought he smelled like explosives; his wounds might have suggested why. He said something about thinking there would be a second bomb—as there was, and often is, to target responders. If that was the reason he gave for running, it was a sensible one. He asked if anyone was dead—a question people were screaming. And he was from Saudi Arabia, which is around where the logic stops. Was it just the way he looked, or did he, in the chaos, maybe call for God with a name that someone found strange?

What happened next didn’t take long. “Investigators have a suspect—a Saudi Arabian national—in the horrific Boston Marathon bombings, The Post has learned.” That’s the New York Post, which went on to cite Fox News. The “Saudi suspect”—still faceless—suddenly gave anxieties a form. He was said to be in custody; or maybe his hospital bed was being guarded. The Boston police, who weren’t saying much of anything, disputed the report—sort of. “Honestly, I don’t know where they’re getting their information from, but it didn’t come from us,” a police spokesman told TPM. But were they talking to someone? Maybe. “Person of interest” became a phrase of both avoidance and insinuation. On the Atlas Shrugs Web site, there was a note that his name in Arabic meant “sword.” At an evening press conference, Ed Davis, the police commissioner, said that no suspect was in custody. But that was about when the dogs were in the apartment building in Revere—an inquiry that was seized on by some as, if not an indictment, at least a vindication of their suspicions.

“There must be enough evidence to keep him there,” Andrew Napolitano said on “Fox and Friends”—“there” being the hospital. “They must be learning information which is of a suspicious nature,” Steve Doocy interjected. “If he was clearly innocent, would they have been able to search his house?” Napolitano thought that a judge would take any reason at a moment like this, but there had to be “something”—maybe he appeared “deceitful.” As Mediaite pointed out, Megyn Kelly put a slight break on it (as she has been known to do) by asking if there might have been some “racial profiling,” but then, after a round of speculation about his visa (Napolitano: “Was he a real student, or was that a front?”), she asked, “What’s the story on his ability to lawyer up?”

By Tuesday afternoon, the fever had broken. Report after report said that he was a witness, not a suspect. “He was just at the wrong place at the wrong time,” a “U.S. official” told CNN. (So were a lot of people at the marathon.) Even Fox News reported that he’d been “ruled out.” At a press conference, Governor Deval Patrick spoke, not so obliquely, about being careful not to treat “categories of people in uncharitable ways.”

We don’t know yet who did this. “The range of suspects and motives remains wide open,” Richard Deslauriers of the F.B.I. said early Tuesday evening. In a minute, with a claim of responsibility, our expectations could be scrambled. The bombing could, for all we know, be the work of a Saudi man—or an American or an Icelandic or a person from any nation you can think of. It still won’t mean that this Saudi man can be treated the way he was, or that people who love him might have had to find out that a bomb had hit him when his name popped up on the Web as a suspect in custody. It is at these moments that we need to be most careful, not least.

It might be comforting to think of this as a blip, an aberration, something that will be forgotten tomorrow—if not by this young man. There are people at Guanátanmo who have also been cleared by our own government, and are still there. A new report on the legacy of torture after 9/11, released Tuesday, is a well-timed admonition. The F.B.I. said that they would “go to the ends of the earth” to get the Boston perpetrators. One wants them to be able to go with their heads held high.

“If you want to know who we are, what America is, how we respond to evil—that’s it. Selflessly. Compassionately. Unafraid,” President Obama said. That was mostly true on Monday; a terrible day, when an eight-year-old boy was killed, his sister maimed, two others dead, and many more in critical condition. And yet, when there was so much to fear that we were so brave about, there was panic about a wounded man barely out of his teens who needed help. We get so close to all that Obama described. What’s missing? Is it humility?
Post by: Bakes on April 19, 2013, 12:14:28 AM
(http://graphics8.nytimes.com/images/misc/nytlogo153x23.gif)

April 19, 2013

Explosives Detonated in Massachusetts Standoff

By RAVI SOMAIYA

Two young men, armed with guns and explosives in what appeared to be backpacks, engaged in a violent standoff with dozens of police on a street in Watertown, Mass., Thursday night, a resident said.

Andrew Kitzenburg, 29, said he looked out of this third floor window to see two young men of slight build in jackets shooting at dozens of police officers from behind a black Mercedes SUV. The officers and the men were 70 yards apart, he said, and engaged in “constant gunfire.”

A police SUV “drove towards the shooters,” he said, and was shot at until it was severely damaged. It rolled out of control, Mr. Kitzenberg said, and crashed into two cars in his driveway.

The two shooters, he said, had a large and unwieldy bomb. “They lit it, still in the middle of the gunfire, and threw it. But it went 20 yards at most.” It exploded, he said, and one of the two men ran towards the gathered police officers. He was tackled, but it was not clear if he was shot, Mr. Kitzenberg said.

The other, he said, got back into the SUV, turned it towards officers and “put the pedal to the metal.” The car “went right through the cops, broke right through and continued west.”

The two men left “a few backpacks right by the car, and there is a bomb robot out there now.” Police had told residents to stay away from their windows, he said.

The standoff came within hours of an incident at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, located across the Charles River from Watertwon, in which a campus police officer was shot and killed.

The officer, who was not named, responded to a report of a disturbance near Vassar and Main Streets, the Middlesex County District Attorney Michael Pelgro said in a statement early Friday. He was found, the statement said with “multiple gunshot wounds” and taken to Massachusetts General Hospital where he was pronounced dead.

M.I.T. said in an update on its campus alert Web site after midnight that the “shooter remains at large, police continue to search the campus,” and asked students to stay indoors until further notice.

At the campus, helicopters whirred overhead, and police cars were dotted through the streets. A crime scene was cordoned off, and at least one dog unit was on the scene.

The two incidents came as the area was already on edge following the bombings at the Boston Marathon on Monday.

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/04/20/us/explosives-detonated-in-massachusetts-standoff.html?src=twr
Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2013, 05:05:36 AM
One dead.
Post by: Brownsugar on April 19, 2013, 05:25:14 AM
Papa!!  Ah miss real bachanal overnight.....
Post by: FF on April 19, 2013, 05:28:38 AM
Papa!!  Ah miss real bachanal overnight.....

ditto  :o
Post by: grimm01 on April 19, 2013, 05:33:16 AM
Not even a week since the bombing and men identified and dead already! That is police work...
Post by: Brownsugar on April 19, 2013, 06:06:38 AM
Not even a week since the bombing and men identified and dead already! That is police work...

Yeah boy.....dem yankees doh play!!!
Post by: asylumseeker on April 19, 2013, 06:10:04 AM

Carry on.

This is some genuinely funny shit. Hidden disclaimer coloured in white and all. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: pecan on April 19, 2013, 07:08:42 AM
Boston under lockdown. 1,000,000 people affected.

Like the movies
Post by: pecan on April 19, 2013, 07:16:57 AM

This is some genuinely funny shit. Hidden disclaimer coloured in white and all. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

LOL - did not catch the hidden disclaimer.
Post by: ribbit on April 19, 2013, 08:31:06 AM
these fellas seem to be chechnyan. can't see how this will do their cause any good.
Post by: fari on April 19, 2013, 08:34:05 AM
these fellas seem to be chechnyan. can't see how this will do their cause any good.

this story is so strange...listening to npr today and robin young interviewed her nephew who was friends with the suspect at large, after the interview she claimed to have pics of the youth from his prom.  a really strange story.  also they are saying that they may be from one of the countries near russia but they not sure if they are ethnic chechens.   
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 19, 2013, 08:41:53 AM

Yeah boy.....dem yankees doh play!!!
Yuh Damn right!!!!! this is a real first world nation.
Post by: pecan on April 19, 2013, 08:58:04 AM
Breaking news ...

http://www.boston.com/metrodesk/2013/04/18/mit-police-officer-hit-gunfire-cambridge-police-dispatcher-says/UAbtwLVGLwBE5VI7BUyQuL/story.html

04/19/2013 10:48 AM

WATERTOWN — Police have surrounded a home and car in Watertown, a community just outside Boston, as part of a massive manhunt for one of the suspects in the deadly Boston Marathon terror bombing attacks. The standoff comes after a chaotic, violent night in which a second suspect died in a firefight with police, and one police officer was killed and another was seriously wounded.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 19, 2013, 09:16:53 AM

this story is so strange...listening to npr today and robin young interviewed her nephew who was friends with the suspect at large, after the interview she claimed to have pics of the youth from his prom.  a really strange story.  also they are saying that they may be from one of the countries near russia but they not sure if they are ethnic chechens.   

... possibly Kyrgyz.
Post by: ribbit on April 19, 2013, 12:04:38 PM
aunt from toronto saying de youths are innocent.

uncle from states saying de dead youth "got what he deserves".

father from russia saying doh kill the remaining youth or "there will be hell to pay".

if ever putin wanted a free hand in whereever de 4k dese idiots from, he get it now.
Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2013, 12:08:47 PM
aunt from toronto saying de youths are innocent.

uncle from states saying de dead youth "got what he deserves".

father from russia saying doh kill the remaining youth or "there will be hell to pay".

if ever putin wanted a free hand in whereever de 4k dese idiots from, he get it now.

Ent.

The Aunt sounding crazy dread.
Post by: ribbit on April 19, 2013, 12:36:46 PM

... possibly Kyrgyz.

here's a clip from de uncle on CNN:

http://edition.cnn.com/video/?hpt=hp_c2#/video/us/2013/04/19/nr-briefing-uncle-bombing-suspects.cnn

at de end he talk about how de youths shamed de entire "chechen ethnicity"

tough spot for de uncle - he hit de right notes though.
Post by: Bitter on April 19, 2013, 12:48:54 PM
The full comments from the uncle:

http://www.politico.com/multimedia/video/2013/04/boston-bombing-suspects-uncle-ruslan-tsarni-full-remarks-.html

He might be the saving grace on this whole thing. Distancing these "losers" from Islam and his family.
The internet is abuzz with people denouncing Islam.
Post by: Dutty on April 19, 2013, 01:07:16 PM

He might be the saving grace on this whole thing. Distancing these "losers" from Islam and his family.

Tantie and uncle needed some media trainin but yuh right he say de words to keep he house from gettin vandalized

Like DHW say  de Tantie soundin and lookin mental no ass...she on ah full conspiracy theory vibes.
De least de woman coulda do is pass ah comb troo she hair before commin on international tv to mouth off dah madness.
Post by: fari on April 19, 2013, 01:36:04 PM

http://www.politico.com/multimedia/video/2013/04/boston-bombing-suspects-uncle-ruslan-tsarni-full-remarks-.html

you mean more than usual?
Post by: pecan on April 19, 2013, 01:48:03 PM

CNN is so full of "fill in the blank"

They find another Uncle who is obviously distraught, says he had nothing to do with the boys (not unlike the other Uncle who trying to put distance between himself and the suspects).

The reporter watch him and ask him "So how do you feel?"

Post by: fari on April 19, 2013, 01:51:40 PM
now hearing on npr that the entire 2011 class of cambridge rindge and latin school changing their facebook profile pics to feature pics of them with him...a real show of solidarity
Post by: Bitter on April 19, 2013, 01:57:38 PM

you mean more than usual?

if it's possible - yes!
Post by: asylumseeker on April 19, 2013, 01:58:53 PM
Reporter: "What do you do for a living?"

Uncle Ruslan: "I work .... and please stay off my property."

Tell dem bumboclaat heheheh. :)
Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2013, 01:59:55 PM
Hahaha
Post by: grimm01 on April 19, 2013, 02:00:42 PM
now hearing on npr that the entire 2011 class of cambridge rindge and latin school changing their facebook profile pics to feature pics of them with him...a real show of solidarity

Solidarity??? Do they know what that means? smh
Post by: fari on April 19, 2013, 02:02:15 PM
now they saying that the suspects in the marathon bombing did not carjack the suv last night...buh wha de arse
Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2013, 02:03:16 PM
Death photo of bomber NSFW

http://cdn.wwtdd.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Death-Photo-of-Boston-Bomber.jpg
Post by: asylumseeker on April 19, 2013, 02:03:46 PM

Tantie and uncle needed some media trainin but yuh right he say de words to keep he house from gettin vandalized

Like DHW say  de Tantie soundin and lookin mental no ass...she on ah full conspiracy theory vibes.
De least de woman coulda do is pass ah comb troo she hair before commin on international tv to mouth off dah madness.

I eh see Tantie yet ...
Post by: asylumseeker on April 19, 2013, 02:04:57 PM

http://cdn.wwtdd.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Death-Photo-of-Boston-Bomber.jpg

Imagine we get to see him but not ObL et al.
Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2013, 02:05:36 PM

I eh see Tantie yet ...

Look she

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VH5UW3W9hJM&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Post by: fari on April 19, 2013, 02:07:38 PM

Imagine we get to see him but not ObL et al.

god rest his soul
Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2013, 02:09:51 PM
Devil seeing about this one.
Post by: pecan on April 19, 2013, 02:34:26 PM

is that pic legit?
Post by: fari on April 19, 2013, 02:35:39 PM

is that pic legit?

i does always wonder how dese things does get out...dem hackers dat good?
Post by: Michael-j on April 19, 2013, 02:41:47 PM

Looks like they actually attempted to resuscitate him.....I probably wouldn't have made the effort.
Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2013, 02:45:49 PM

is that pic legit?

TMZ claims it is
Post by: truetrini on April 19, 2013, 02:50:55 PM
Can you imagine the fear, anxiety and stress those Bostonians are feeling right now...sequestered in their own homes, being told, for your own safety, do NOT step outside...give the police and FBI more time to find the killer????

I hope this allows Americans to emphasize with peoples in other lands who suffer through this on an almost daily basis.

Much of it caused by the US Government and their "intervention," in another sovereign nations...Yuh hear dat Mr. W?
Post by: truetrini on April 19, 2013, 02:58:29 PM
(http://l1.yimg.com/bt/api/res/1.2/Jlh5CirBKqAqL9r7B._i3w--/YXBwaWQ9eW5ld3M7Zmk9aW5zZXQ7aD0xMDI0O3E9Nzk7dz0xNDM0/http://media.zenfs.com/en_us/News/ap_webfeeds/d45031e22c03820d2f0f6a70670018ed.jpg)
Associated Press/David Green - This Monday, April 15, 2013, shows a man who was dubbed Suspect No. 2 in the Boston Marathon bombings by law enforcement, in the upper center of the frame, wearing a white baseball cap, walking away from the scene of the explosions. The FBI identified him as 19-year-old college student Dzhokhar Tsarnaev, who along with his brother Tamerlan, 26, previously known as Suspect No. 1, killed an MIT police officer, severely wounded another lawman and hurled explosives at police in a car chase and gun battle during a night of violence, early Friday, April 19, 2013. Tamerlan Tsarnaev was killed overnight, officials said, while his brother Dzhokhar remains at large. (AP Photo/David Green)

Fla. runner gets photo of suspect fleeing Marathon
By RUSS BYNUM and TERRY SPENCER | Associated Press – 31 mins ago

JACKSONVILLE BEACH, Fla. (AP) — Seconds after the Boston Marathon bombs exploded, David Green pulled out his smartphone and took a photo of the chaos developing a couple hundred yards in front of him — the smoke, the people running in panic.

The Jacksonville businessman then put his phone back in his pocket and went to help the injured. It wasn't until Thursday, when officials released surveillance video of the two suspects in the twin blasts, that Green realized what he had — a picture of 19-year-old Dzhokhar A. Tsarnaev, distinctive in his backward white baseball cap, walking away from the scene.

Tsarnaev, known to the FBI as Suspect No. 2, was still on the run Friday, prompting authorities to shut down the city of Boston and its western suburbs and warn residents to stay inside with their doors locked while police and federal agents hunted him down.

Tsarnaev's older brother, 26-year-old Tamerlan Tsarnaev, identified as Suspect No. 1, was killed overnight, officials said.

When Green's photo of one of the Boston bombing suspects fleeing the scene first surfaced, there was considerable doubt as to its authenticity because of the very low resolution of the image, which made the photo appear to be a composite image. When Green later provided the high-resolution frame directly from his cellphone, editors of The Associated Press were able to establish its authenticity based on the improved resolution as well as the time the photo was taken.

The AP has established an exclusive arrangement for distribution of the photograph.

Green, back at his home in Florida, wore his yellow and blue Boston Marathon jersey as he talked about the now-famous photo, his finisher's medal from the race propped on a shelf in his home office.

(http://l.yimg.com/bt/api/res/1.2/Ei8C8eScVJkJ1L0pXcohhw--/YXBwaWQ9eW5ld3M7Zmk9aW5zZXQ7aD0xMDI0O3E9Nzk7dz0xNTQy/http://media.zenfs.com/en_us/News/ap_webfeeds/e5c1f4ef2c54840d2f0f6a706700781e.jpg)

Green, 49, had finished Monday's marathon in 3 hours and 17 minutes, about an hour before the blasts. An avid endurance athlete and CEO of 110% Play Harder, a sportswear company, it was his first Boston Marathon and four of his co-workers had come to the finish line to cheer for him.

After he recovered, he went back to Boylston Street, where the finish line is located, to watch the rest of the race with his friends. He realized his phone was dying, so he went into a nearby store with a recharging station.

About 15 minutes later, he was walking back to his friends when the first bomb went off.

"I thought maybe it was a cannon," Green said. Then the second one exploded as he was walking toward it.
"When I saw it, I pulled out the camera and immediately took that picture," Green said.

He then put it back in his pocket and went to help the injured, including a boy and others who were missing limbs.
"It was like battle — a lot of noise, a lot of smoke, people coming at me in a panic," he said.

A short time later, his friend Jason Lubin texted him and asked if he was OK. He replied with the photograph and a note: "It was just in front of me."

Lubin said Thursday night, after the FBI released photos of the two suspects, that he decided to take a closer look at Green's photograph — on the off chance Green had captured anything unusual. He pulled up the photo on his smartphone and zoomed in on the crowd.

There in the lower left corner was Tsarnaev walking around a corner, his backward white baseball cap standing out amid the dozens of panicked people fleeing. He appeared to be buttoning his jacket.

"I literally had to sit down," Lubin said.

He said he immediately sent Green a text message.

"I told him in my view it was a 100 percent match with the guy on TV," Lubin said.

That prompted Green to contact the FBI, which told him to send them a copy of the photograph.

He said that looking at the photo now, he is struck by two things: Tsarnaev isn't carrying the backpack the surveillance videos show him with before the bombings, and he is acting very differently from everyone around him.
"He is calmly walking, without panic," Green said.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 19, 2013, 04:26:32 PM

Depends on how one interprets her comment. In sum, she's saying that agents of the government dropped the ball and that's not so far-fetched. Her comments alone suggest that when the dust settles we might be in for a treat. Uncle Ruslan's comments somewhat mesh with her comments. When he says that they were "unsettled" or something to that effect ... that caught my attention as a story there.

He seemed to dodge the question: why Cambridge? His reasons for personal distance might have had to do with the gov't snooping around the sons.

Her narrative could legitimately be wrought from being fed 2 lines of bullshit (one from the gov't ... we're looking out for their best interests as the gov't sought to explore their radical involvements; the other from the sons: mama, we're not on that kinda vibe). If she really expected the gov't to extricate her kid from radical forces, she was naive.

Let's see what the 2 daughters are up to and to whom, if anyone, they're married.

I thought of Fort Dix and the Albanian pizza deliverers when this event started to gain more dimension. Same also with that scene from North Carolina where one of the miscreants was from Kosovo. Next up - while everyone looking for the next stereotypical Muslim - it might turn out to be a Uighur who was otherwise angelic. After all, there has been a terrorist parade of ethnicities. There's been Richard Reid, the Kenya embassy ppl, the baby-faced Underwear bomber Umar Farouk Mutallab, Mohammed Atta and company, and the Hispanic man in Chicago (Jose Padilla) and others (Jose Pimentel and Carlos Almonte). 
Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2013, 05:16:27 PM
BBC Breaking News (@BBCBreaking) tweeted at 7:11 PM on Fri, Apr 19, 2013:
US media reporting new gun shots in #Watertown and new police warnings for residents to stay in their homes http://t.co/1VLRsMoY0O
(https://twitter.com/BBCBreaking/status/325386087075823617)

Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2013, 05:31:22 PM
Suspect surrounded
Post by: Brownsugar on April 19, 2013, 05:40:01 PM
Suspect surrounded

Bachanal!!!....
Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2013, 06:28:08 PM
Suspect surrounded

Bachanal!!!....

(http://images.4chan.org/b/src/1366415669125.jpg)
Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2013, 06:44:53 PM
Suspect in custody
Post by: Bakes on April 19, 2013, 06:49:31 PM
Suspect in custody

Say what you want about the US...
Post by: truetrini on April 19, 2013, 06:54:51 PM
Suspect in custody

Single minded purpose..in T&T he woulda be on a plane to Pigeon Point and soaking in de sun all now.
Post by: Bakes on April 19, 2013, 06:58:21 PM
Single minded purpose..in T&T he woulda be on a plane to Pigeon Point and soaking in de sun all now.

Police in TnT cyah find ah pick pocket in WASA fete... FBI pic he out ah crowd ah thousands.  Woulda be SoE in we ass... and calls fuh Soldiers to have powers of arrest.  How many soldiers was involved in this operation?
Post by: truetrini on April 19, 2013, 06:59:27 PM

Woulda be SoE in we ass... and calls fuh Soldiers to have powers of arrest.  How many soldiers was involved in this operation?

SoE  hahahahahahahahaha
Post by: asylumseeker on April 19, 2013, 07:01:02 PM
Suspect in custody

Doh bite de hand that feed yuh tings and more tings. Teach Die Hard de words.  :devil: (http://www.youtube.com/v/l4DSVPvDp4A)
Post by: truetrini on April 19, 2013, 07:04:08 PM
Suspect in custody

Doh bite de hand that feed yuh tings and more tings. Teach Die Hard de words.  :devil: (http://www.youtube.com/v/l4DSVPvDp4A)

Just for you AS

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UctriMuXYS0 (ftp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UctriMuXYS0)
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 19, 2013, 07:08:35 PM
Just gettin a feeling, those two are being framed.  :-\
Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2013, 07:10:10 PM
He would not be found in Trinidad because we have no cameras. Plus we police dunce.
Post by: truetrini on April 19, 2013, 07:10:40 PM

lol  Yeah framed...as in someone frame dem with they camera
Post by: Bakes on April 19, 2013, 07:11:06 PM

Has nothing to do with that actually... and everything to do with ruthless efficiency.

But all joke aside, of all de boats in de Greater Boston area tuh get away in... and you find de one that tie up in somebody backyard, lol
Post by: truetrini on April 19, 2013, 07:11:57 PM
Suspect in custody

起來!不願做奴隸的人們!
把我們的血肉,築成我們新的長城!
中華民族到了最危險的時候,
每個人被迫著發出最後的吼聲。
起來!起來!起來!
我們萬眾一心,
冒著敵人的炮火,前進!
冒著敵人的炮火,前進!
前進!前進!進!
Post by: D.H.W on April 19, 2013, 07:12:15 PM
Just gettin a feeling, those two are being framed.  :-

Stueps. -_-
Post by: Bakes on April 19, 2013, 07:13:38 PM

Possible... I feel is photoshop they photoshop dem in dem pictures.  And on de film too... yuh know how tricksy dem American hobbitses is.  De carjack victim probably lying too.. when he say they tell him that it was dem who responsible fuh de marathon bombing.  Like de tantie say, all police have is picture of dem walking down de street... fella juss lorse he bookbag in de scramble.
Post by: truetrini on April 19, 2013, 07:14:41 PM

Possible... I feel is photoshop they photoshop dem in dem pictures.  And on de film too... yuh know how tricksy dem American hobbitses is.  De carjack victim probably lying too.. when he say they tell him that it was dem who responsible fuh de marathon bombing.  Like de tantie say, all police have is picture of dem walking down de street... fella juss lorse he bookbag in de scramble.

Yankee propaganda!! Bakes I feel you is Captaing America de second coming yuh know!  Dey get frame, dem flims lie is CGI

Post by: asylumseeker on April 19, 2013, 07:18:56 PM
Suspect in custody

起來!不願做奴隸的人們!
把我們的血肉,築成我們新的長城!
中華民族到了最危險的時候,
每個人被迫著發出最後的吼聲。
起來!起來!起來!
我們萬眾一心,
冒著敵人的炮火,前進!
冒著敵人的炮火,前進!
前進!前進!進!

I was paying attention in de Bird's Nest. (http://www.youtube.com/v/UctriMuXYS0)  :P
Post by: STEUPS!! on April 19, 2013, 07:21:46 PM

Haven't posted in here in a while.. and I now remember why. carry on.  ::)
Post by: Bakes on April 19, 2013, 07:23:47 PM

Yankee propaganda!! Bakes I feel you is Captaing America de second coming yuh know!  Dey get frame, dem flims lie is CGI

Now you juss being condescending :(
Post by: truetrini on April 19, 2013, 07:25:04 PM

Now you juss being condescending :(

wha dat mean...ah moving from gas to liquid?
Post by: Bakes on April 19, 2013, 07:26:10 PM

Wait... you come and ress ah conspiracy theory on we, I flesh it out fuh yuh and yuh vex with mih? Okay  :-\
Post by: asylumseeker on April 19, 2013, 07:31:53 PM
Suspect in custody

Just for you AS

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UctriMuXYS0 (ftp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UctriMuXYS0)

Ah need ah password tuh open that link.
Post by: truetrini on April 19, 2013, 07:37:38 PM
Suspect in custody

Just for you AS

Ah need ah password tuh open that link.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UctriMuXYS0

try it now
Post by: asylumseeker on April 19, 2013, 07:43:06 PM
Mind yuh lose yuh security clearance.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 19, 2013, 09:30:53 PM
"He liked cars; he liked soccer." (http://www.nytimes.com/2013/04/20/us/details-of-tsarnaev-brothers-boston-suspects-emerge.html?hp&_r=0)
Post by: pecan on April 20, 2013, 05:48:40 AM

well you kinda walked into that one.
Post by: ribbit on April 20, 2013, 08:15:16 AM
This kinda lower the standard for terrorist ent? The 9/11 operation compared to this is like EPL vs SSFL. Looks like de war on terror going good.
Post by: truetrini on April 20, 2013, 09:21:17 AM
This kinda lower the standard for terrorist ent? The 9/11 operation compared to this is like EPL vs SSFL. Looks like de war on terror going good.

yuh is ah real cunnie yes.
Post by: AirMan on April 21, 2013, 07:04:26 AM

5 Days That Shook Boston

By Steve Painter-

What started in Boston on the afternoon of April 15th during the Boston Marathon ended last night, April 19th in Watertown, a Boston suburb, when Dzhokhar Tsarnaev was captured and taken to Mt. Auburn Hospital. His older brother, Tamerlan, who may have been the leader of this duo, was  already dead from having been run over by Dzhokhar after a firefight with police the night before, he now clings to life at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, where several of their victims are also recovering from their horrific week of terror.

Two bombs, packed with shrapnel such as nails, BB’s, and ball bearings and placed in pressure cookers, exploded near the finish line of the Marathon last Monday, killing 3 and injuring 176, along a crowded street, packed with spectators and runners alike. The bombs sent hundreds into panic and running for cover. Many of the injured were severely wounded and at least a dozen amputations have been performed by surgeons at local hospitals. The bombs were strong but not sophisticated. The projectiles from the bombs were designed to blow horizontally outward to fulfill the purpose of the bombers, which was to maim and kill as many as possible.

The profile of these two brothers is interesting. Tamerlan had dropped out of college at Bunker Hill Community College, where he was studying to become an engineer, and was married with a young girl, age 3, but had not visited his wife, Katherine Russell, in over a year. Katherine and her daughter currently reside with her parents in Providence, R.I. Neighbors says that Tamerlan would visit on weekends but stopped visiting for unknown reasons. He was athletic and enjoyed boxing as a hobby. Evidently, money was not an issue for both men as Tamerlan drove a Mercedes. There has been no word if, or where, he was employed. But Tamerlan had a dark side. In fact, on his YouTube page, he had a folder to house terrorism videos, which was created only 5 months ago. That folder was empty, it is unclear if he emptied it, or YouTube deleted the contents. In addition, he had videos of Amir Abu Dudzhan and Timur Mutsuraev, both in their own rights, are Muslim leaders  who call for jihad, with Dudzhan saying, “Jihad is the duty of every able-bodied Muslim.” On his Amazon wish list, he had such things as “How to make Driver’s Licenses and other ID on your home computer” and “The I.D. Forger: Homemade Birth Certificates & Other Documents Explained” as well as “Secrets of a Back Alley ID Man: Fake ID Construction Techniques Of The Underground” and “The Lone Wolf And the Bear: Three Centuries of Chechen Defiance of Russian Rule” and, notably “How to Win Friends & Influence People.” Tamerlan has been quoted as saying he didn’t smoke or drink anymore, believing “God said no to alcohol.” He went on to say “There are no values anymore,” and worried that “people can’t control themselves.” But Tamerlan was not known at local Mosques in Boston. Although obviously a Muslim, it appears he was not very religious, and certainly not faithful. Interestingly, he traveled to Russia last year, where his father lives in Dagestan, and stayed there for 6 months. Also of note is the fact that the FBI was asked by an unknown foreign nation to investigate him because of his extremism,  believing he was involved in nefarious activities. The FBI interviewed him in 2011, and finding nothing amiss, concluded the case and then requested more information from this foreign nation, but never heard from them again.

Dzhokhar, is 19 and a college student at UMass – Dartmouth, which is located about an hour south of Boston. It has been reported that he was about to fail out of school, but the college has not made any such statement.  He lived on the third floor of Pine Dale dormitory and was even seen on campus Wednesday, two days after the bombing and is said to have slept there that night, in his room. He kept up an active presence on a Russian social networking site, Vkontakte, he has indicated some interest in conflicts and causes that have been connected to terrorist activities, there is no solid evidence to suggest that he is motivated by religious or nationalist causes. Indeed, he seems like a pretty normal young adult, has friends and classmates that had thought highly of him before he was identified as one of the bombers. He had a habit of smoking cigarettes and pot, even smoking pot quite often, almost every day, according to friends. On his Vkontakte page, he has posted video messages sympathetic to the cause of Chechen independence, and also for rebel fighters in Syria. In one of the videos, the Russian subtitles of the video read, “They are killing your brothers and sisters without any reason, simply because they say our Lord is Allah.” It should be noted that the rebel forces in Syria are comprised mostly by Sunni Muslims and another video on his page indicates a sympathy for Salafi Islam, an extreme form of Sunni Islam. Like his brother, he was not known to local Mosques and doesn’t seem that religious. Additionally, he was active on Twitter, having the handle of @j_tsar. In fact, you can view his most interesting tweets here: Dzhokhar’s Tweets. Jahar, as he is known to friends, was captured Friday night in Watertown, a suburb of Boston. Read More http://myvoicetv.net/blog/5-days-that-shook-boston/

Post by: ribbit on April 22, 2013, 11:47:09 AM
ah reading de FBI missed out on a report on tamerlan, de older brother, because someone misspell he name. ah mean really?!!?!  ah surprise dey eh pick up timbaland and charge he with terrorism. steups.

Post by: asylumseeker on April 22, 2013, 12:17:43 PM
Reason prevails: the defendant is to be tried in civilian court.
Post by: ribbit on April 22, 2013, 01:25:21 PM

Why does America lose its head over 'terror' but ignore its daily gun deaths? (http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2013/apr/21/boston-marathon-bombs-us-gun-law)

The marathon bombs triggered a reaction that is at odds with last week's inertia over arms control

by Michael Cohen

The thriving metropolis of Boston was turned into a ghost town on Friday. Nearly a million Bostonians were asked to stay in their homes – and willingly complied. Schools were closed; business shuttered; trains, subways and roads were empty; usually busy streets eerily resembled a post-apocalyptic movie set; even baseball games and cultural events were cancelled – all in response to a 19-year-old fugitive, who was on foot and clearly identified by the news media.

The actions allegedly committed by the Boston marathon bomber, Dzhokhar Tsarnaev and his brother, Tamerlan, were heinous. Four people dead and more than 100 wounded, some with shredded and amputated limbs.

But Londoners, who endured IRA terror for years, might be forgiven for thinking that America over-reacted just a tad to the goings-on in Boston. They're right – and then some. What we saw was a collective freak-out like few that we've seen previously in the United States. It was yet another depressing reminder that more than 11 years after 9/11 Americans still allow themselves to be easily and willingly cowed by the "threat" of terrorism.

After all, it's not as if this is the first time that homicidal killers have been on the loose in a major American city. In 2002, Washington DC was terrorised by two roving snipers, who randomly shot and killed 10 people. In February, a disgruntled police officer, Christopher Dorner, murdered four people over several days in Los Angeles. In neither case was LA or DC put on lockdown mode, perhaps because neither of these sprees was branded with that magically evocative and seemingly terrifying word for Americans, terrorism.

To be sure, public officials in Boston appeared to be acting out of an abundance of caution. And it's appropriate for Boston residents to be asked to take precautions or keep their eyes open. But by letting one fugitive terrorist shut down a major American city, Boston not only bowed to outsize and irrational fears, but sent a dangerous message to every would-be terrorist – if you want to wreak havoc in the United States, intimidate its population and disrupt public order, here's your instruction booklet.

Putting aside the economic and psychological cost, the lockdown also prevented an early capture of the alleged bomber, who was discovered after Bostonians were given the all clear and a Watertown man wandered into his backyard for a cigarette and found a bleeding terrorist on his boat.

In some regards, there is a positive spin on this – it's a reflection of how little Americans have to worry about terrorism. A population such as London during the IRA bombings or Israel during the second intifada or Baghdad, pretty much every day, becomes inured to random political violence. Americans who have such little experience of terrorism, relatively speaking, are more primed to overreact – and assume the absolute worst when it comes to the threat of a terror attack. It is as if somehow in the American imagination, every terrorist is a not just a mortal threat, but is a deadly combination of Jason Bourne and James Bond.

If only Americans reacted the same way to the actual threats that exist in their country. There's something quite fitting and ironic about the fact that the Boston freak-out happened in the same week the Senate blocked consideration of a gun control bill that would have strengthened background checks for potential buyers. Even though this reform is supported by more than 90% of Americans, and even though 56 out of 100 senators voted in favour of it, the Republican minority prevented even a vote from being held on the bill because it would have allegedly violated the second amendment rights of "law-abiding Americans".

So for those of you keeping score at home – locking down an American city: a proper reaction to the threat from one terrorist. A background check to prevent criminals or those with mental illness from purchasing guns: a dastardly attack on civil liberties. All of this would be almost darkly comic if not for the fact that more Americans will die needlessly as a result. Already, more than 30,000 Americans die in gun violence every year (compared to the 17 who died last year in terrorist attacks).

What makes US gun violence so particularly horrifying is how routine and mundane it has become. After the massacre of 20 kindergartners in an elementary school in Newtown, Connecticut, millions of Americans began to take greater notice of the threat from gun violence. Yet since then, the daily carnage that guns produce has continued unabated and often unnoticed.

The same day of the marathon bombing in Boston, 11 Americans were murdered by guns. The pregnant Breshauna Jackson was killed in Dallas, allegedly by her boyfriend. In Richmond, California, James Tucker III was shot and killed while riding his bicycle – assailants unknown. Nigel Hardy, a 13-year-old boy in Palmdale, California, who was being bullied in school, took his own life. He used the gun that his father kept at home. And in Brooklyn, New York, an off-duty police officer used her department-issued Glock 9mm handgun to kill herself, her boyfriend and her one-year old child.

At the same time that investigators were in the midst of a high-profile manhunt for the marathon bombers that ended on Friday evening, 38 more Americans – with little fanfare – died from gun violence. One was a 22-year old resident of Boston. They are a tiny percentage of the 3,531 Americans killed by guns in the past four months – a total that surpasses the number of Americans who died on 9/11 and is one fewer than the number of US soldiers who lost their lives in combat operations in Iraq. Yet, none of this daily violence was considered urgent enough to motivate Congress to impose a mild, commonsense restriction on gun purchasers.

It's not just firearms that produce such legislative inaction. Last week, a fertiliser plant in West, Texas, which hasn't been inspected by federal regulators since 1985, exploded, killing 14 people and injuring countless others. Yet many Republicans want to cut further the funding for the agency (OSHA) that is responsible for such reviews. The vast majority of Americans die from one of four ailments – cardiovascular disease, cancer, diabetes and chronic lung disease – and yet Republicans have held three dozen votes to repeal Obamacare, which expands healthcare coverage to 30 million Americans.

It is a surreal and difficult-to-explain dynamic. Americans seemingly place an inordinate fear on violence that is random and unexplainable and can be blamed on "others" – jihadists, terrorists, evil-doers etc. But the lurking dangers all around us – the guns, our unhealthy diets, the workplaces that kill 14 Americans every single day – these are just accepted as part of life, the price of freedom, if you will. And so the violence goes, with more Americans dying preventable deaths. But hey, look on the bright side – we got those sons of bitches who blew up the marathon.
Post by: elan on April 22, 2013, 01:54:47 PM
This thing rel jokey, is just for Agent Jack Bauer to come out the shadows now. This just not right.

Why did they not place them on a "no fly list"?
Why won't they play the audio of the parents speaking?
Why not follow up on the allegations from the moms as they follow up on less during the hunt.
The whole western world looking for you and how do you hide? Shoot a cop, rob a gas station and steal a bimmer telling the driver look is we who bomb, but kill the police because he recognize alyuh?

Boston Supremacy!
Post by: Bakes on April 22, 2013, 06:14:50 PM
This thing rel jokey, is just for Agent Jack Bauer to come out the shadows now. This just not right.

Why not follow up on the allegations from the moms as they follow up on less during the hunt.
The whole western world looking for you and how do you hide? Shoot a cop, rob a gas station and steal a bimmer telling the driver look is we who bomb, but kill the police because he recognize alyuh?

Boston Supremacy!

On the basis of what?  Because of their ethnicity?  The older one HAD to go back to Chechnya as a condition of being naturalized.  They killed the cop because he could follow them, shoot at them, notify other cops on the way... any number of reasons why they shot him and not the hostage.  Too many conspiracy theorists out there.
Post by: ribbit on April 23, 2013, 09:05:00 AM

Boston Supremacy!

On the basis of what?  Because of their ethnicity?  The older one HAD to go back to Chechnya as a condition of being naturalized.  They killed the cop because he could follow them, shoot at them, notify other cops on the way... any number of reasons why they shot him and not the hostage.  Too many conspiracy theorists out there.

de us govt was contacted by a foreign govt about the older brother. really, anybody that receives "military training" from rebel groups (non-NATO) ought to be on some kind of list.
Post by: elan on April 23, 2013, 09:59:41 AM

Boston Supremacy!

Bakes you serious? How the thousands on the no fly list got on it, volunteer? Are you not following the plot?

Now the excuse is they got on the flight because his name was misspelt.  :bs:  Your ticket has one name and your ID has another name and no red flags?
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2013, 12:39:48 PM
de us govt was contacted by a foreign govt about the older brother. really, anybody that receives "military training" from rebel groups (non-NATO) ought to be on some kind of list.

You only get de abridged version of de memo in Canada or what?  With the limited info the Russians give them about his contact with Chechen muslims what was the US supposed to do with that.  He from Chechnya and all his family still there, of course he will have "contact" with Chechen muslims.  The FBI investigated and even interviewed him and didn't have enough info to do anything else.  They ask the Russian for more info and never hear back from them.

Bakes you serious? How the thousands on the no fly list got on it, volunteer? Are you not following the plot?

Now the excuse is they got on the flight because his name was misspelt.  :bs:  Your ticket has one name and your ID has another name and no red flags?

You need to stop reading from dem conspiracy manuals yuh find on de net.
Post by: ribbit on April 23, 2013, 01:01:34 PM

You only get de abridged version of de memo in Canada or what?  With the limited info the Russians give them about his contact with Chechen muslims what was the US supposed to do with that.  He from Chechnya and all his family still there, of course he will have "contact" with Chechen muslims.  The FBI investigated and even interviewed him and didn't have enough info to do anything else.  They ask the Russian for more info and never hear back from them.

thing is, in de recent past de us govt "rendition" people on similar evidence. anyway, if russia asking about someone in one of their restive areas and dey eh answering questions on them, dey should put that name on a list and only take it OFF de list when de russians respond in the negative. that would be de prudent thing to do.
Post by: Bakes on April 23, 2013, 02:19:44 PM
thing is, in de recent past de us govt "rendition" people on similar evidence. anyway, if russia asking about someone in one of their restive areas and dey eh answering questions on them, dey should put that name on a list and only take it OFF de list when de russians respond in the negative. that would be de prudent thing to do.

Uhm... yeah the US never "render" a citizen. Can't do it, actually.   FBI had no legal basis to act on the info the Russians gave them.  Funny how allyuh does bitch about the US excesses... den bawl fuh it in de same breath.
Post by: Cantona007 on April 23, 2013, 02:46:58 PM

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2013/apr/22/boston-marathon-terrorism-aurora-sandy-hook/print

Why is Boston 'terrorism' but not Aurora, Sandy Hook, Tucson and Columbine?

Two very disparate commentators, Ali Abunimah and Alan Dershowitz, both raised serious questions over the weekend about a claim that has been made over and over about the bombing of the Boston Marathon: namely, that this was an act of terrorism. Dershowitz was on BBC Radio on Saturday and, citing the lack of knowledge about motive, said (at the 3:15 mark): "It's not even clear under the federal terrorist statutes that it qualifies as an act of terrorism." Abunimah wrote a superb analysis of whether the bombing fits the US government's definition of "terrorism", noting that "absolutely no evidence has emerged that the Boston bombing suspects acted 'in furtherance of political or social objectives'" or that their alleged act was 'intended to influence or instigate a course of action that furthers a political or social goal.'" Even a former CIA Deputy Director, Phillip Mudd, said on Fox News on Sunday that at this point the bombing seems more like a common crime than an act of terrorism.

Over the last two years, the US has witnessed at least three other episodes of mass, indiscriminate violence that killed more people than the Boston bombings did: the Tucson shooting by Jared Loughner in which 19 people (including Rep. Gabrielle Giffords) were shot, six of whom died; the Aurora movie theater shooting by James Holmes in which 70 people were shot, 12 of whom died; and the Sandy Hook elementary school shooting by Adam Lanza in which 26 people (20 of whom were children) were shot and killed. The word "terrorism" was almost never used to describe that indiscriminate slaughter of innocent people, and none of the perpetrators of those attacks was charged with terrorism-related crimes. A decade earlier, two high school seniors in Colorado, Eric Harris and Dylan Klebold, used guns and bombs to murder 12 students and a teacher, and almost nobody called that "terrorism" either.

More...
Post by: ribbit on April 23, 2013, 03:12:24 PM

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2013/apr/22/boston-marathon-terrorism-aurora-sandy-hook/print

Two very disparate commentators, Ali Abunimah and Alan Dershowitz, both raised serious questions over the weekend about a claim that has been made over and over about the bombing of the Boston Marathon: namely, that this was an act of terrorism. Dershowitz was on BBC Radio on Saturday and, citing the lack of knowledge about motive, said (at the 3:15 mark): "It's not even clear under the federal terrorist statutes that it qualifies as an act of terrorism." Abunimah wrote a superb analysis of whether the bombing fits the US government's definition of "terrorism", noting that "absolutely no evidence has emerged that the Boston bombing suspects acted 'in furtherance of political or social objectives'" or that their alleged act was 'intended to influence or instigate a course of action that furthers a political or social goal.'" Even a former CIA Deputy Director, Phillip Mudd, said on Fox News on Sunday that at this point the bombing seems more like a common crime than an act of terrorism.

Over the last two years, the US has witnessed at least three other episodes of mass, indiscriminate violence that killed more people than the Boston bombings did: the Tucson shooting by Jared Loughner in which 19 people (including Rep. Gabrielle Giffords) were shot, six of whom died; the Aurora movie theater shooting by James Holmes in which 70 people were shot, 12 of whom died; and the Sandy Hook elementary school shooting by Adam Lanza in which 26 people (20 of whom were children) were shot and killed. The word "terrorism" was almost never used to describe that indiscriminate slaughter of innocent people, and none of the perpetrators of those attacks was charged with terrorism-related crimes. A decade earlier, two high school seniors in Colorado, Eric Harris and Dylan Klebold, used guns and bombs to murder 12 students and a teacher, and almost nobody called that "terrorism" either.

More...

the prez call the bombing an act of terrorism in the earlies. a mistake?
Post by: kaliman2006 on April 23, 2013, 09:59:00 PM
Big up to Saro Thompson! A classmate from Pres days.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Trini-nabs-suspect-in-Boston-bombing-204396361.html

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Trini nabs suspect in Boston bombing

By Richard Charan

THE man who captured and handcuffed Boston Marathon bombing suspect Dzhokhar Tsarnaev at the end of a city-wide hunt last week, is a Trinidad and Tobago national now a police officer living in the United States.

Saro Thompson was credited with taking into custody terror suspect Dzhokhar Tsarnaev as he attempted to hide in a boat behind a suburban home.

Tsarnaev’s brother, 26-year-old Tamerlan Tsarnaev, who is believed to have masterminded the bombings, was killed hours before.

Thompson and members of the Transit Police SWAT team gave an account of the capture during a press conference on Monday.

Shortly after the story was carried on cable news networks, Thompson was recognised by his schoolmates at Presentation College, San Fernando, where he attended from 1991.

Many were surprised that Thompson had turned out to be a police officer, since he was described as quiet and unassuming.

Others were shocked that Thompson had been involved in the arrest of a man linked to one of the worst acts of terror on American soil since the September 11, 2001 attacks.

But all were proud, said President of PREStige (the school’s alumni association), Steven Samlalsingh, who said Twitter and Facebook lit up as Thompson’s brother, Robin Thompson, shared the good news.

Samlalsingh said the college has had much to celebrate recently, with the appointment of past pupils Anthony Carmona to the Presidency, and past pupil Lt Commander Don Polo as his aide de camp.

Last week Monday, two bombs exploded near the finish line of the famed Boston Marathon, killing three and injuring almost 200 persons.

The identities of the suspects were unknown until law enforcement released their images last Thursday, sparking a fast moving series of events during which a Massachusetts Institute of Technology campus police officer, and a second officer, were wounded.

Tamerlan Tsarnaev was killed and his brother escaped into a residential area of Watertown.

It was a home owner who tipped off police officers when he found blood on the boat.

According to an article in the Boston Globe newspaper, Thompson said that as officers approached the boat where the suspect was hiding last Friday night, they felt no fear.

“At a time like that, training kicks in. We knew we gotta get him out, get him down.” he said.

Thompson, who is originally of Dow Village, South Oropouche, later visited a hospital to deliver the news to the police officer who was wounded during the firefight with terror suspects.

“We got him,” Thompson said he told fellow officer Richard Donahue.

According to the article, Donahue, 33, was injured during a shootout between the police and the suspects in Watertown early Friday morning, after Donahue and other transit officers joined in pursuing the suspects.

After the fire fight, transit officers, including Thompson, were part of the search for the suspect who remained at large, but were dismissed at 6.30 p.m., after authorities announced that they believed the suspect had escaped their perimetre.

Minutes later, the SWAT team was called back to the scene after the suspect was located.

Thompson said Tsarnaev had already indicated to law enforcement officers that he was willing to surrender.

However, he said officers were unsure whether the suspect had improvised explosive devices (IEDs).

Thompson said at the press conference, “When we first started moving up to the boat, he was laying on the side of the boat. He was in and out of consciousness. When we got to about ten or 15 yards of him, he sat back up. We moved from behind the shield cover and we pulled him down and put the cuffs on him”.

The Express was told that both Thompson and his brother were pupils of Presentation College but emigrated to the US in 1994. Their father, Dr Robin Johnson, is deceased, and mother Merle Johnson is a nurse. Samlalsingh said, “We hope to host both Saro and the President at our upcoming annual reunion in early June, and at a gala event for the President later in the year”.
Post by: Dutty on April 24, 2013, 07:09:49 AM
we really have a 'look' or a 'finish' in trute oui

last night on cbs they had the four swat members..a vietnamese,2 white fellahs and the thompson guy...but he sound like he from "Doorchestah"

ah tell mih wife, "dat fellah look like he parents is trini's"
she say " that's stupid, how could you possibly know that?"

ah goin an print out Kaliman post as mih victory and demand some extra kinky slackness tonight
Post by: Quags on April 24, 2013, 07:24:08 AM

last night on cbs they had the four swat members..a vietnamese,2 white fellahs and the thompson guy...but he sound like he from "Doorchestah"

ah goin an print out Kaliman post as mih victory and demand some extra kinky slackness tonight
Really eh ,thats big news , great ,happy to hear  :beermug:.
Post by: kaliman2006 on April 24, 2013, 07:25:13 AM

Ahmm, glad to be of assistance I guess.....  :( :o ;D
Post by: Jah Gol on April 24, 2013, 07:40:56 AM

2010 Christmas I was in New York .The UPS man reach, an indian guy with an imperfect American accent. I watch his haircut and notice a gold chain so I asked him if he's a Trini he answered 'yeah , I'm from Penal mayne.

In January in New York again I got searched in Customs. The officer was an indian guy. I don't how to describe it  but yes it's a look ,I tell myself this man is a Trini .Then I see Bridgelal on the nametag that confirmed it for me. He ask me if I bring doubles.
Post by: Dutty on April 24, 2013, 08:02:19 AM
he say 'mayne' and he livin new york ?:laugh:

we freshwaters does mix up we regions
Post by: Jah Gol on April 24, 2013, 08:32:14 AM
he say 'mayne' and he livin new york ?:laugh:

we freshwaters does mix up we regions
Yeah mayne.
Post by: Cantona007 on April 24, 2013, 08:40:12 AM

More...

An egregious mistake.
Post by: Bitter on April 24, 2013, 08:49:50 AM

More...

An egregious mistake.

Actually, President Obama pointedly did NOT call it terrorism at first. This was a hot right-wing talking point all week.
http://www.newyorker.com/online/blogs/closeread/2013/04/obama-on-boston-the-question-of-terror.html
http://www.breitbart.com/Big-Government/2013/04/15/Obama-speech-Boston-attack
http://www.mediaite.com/tv/why-does-it-matter-if-president-obama-calls-the-boston-marathon-bombing-an-act-of-terror/

By Thursday, when I guess he had better information he used the term "act of terror" which is parsing, i know, but this is a country where they have serious discussions about flag lapel pins.
http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/2013/04/16/obama-boston-marathon-bombing-remarks/2087565/

From the mediaite article:

For a violent act to be considered “terrorism,” it not only needs to produce a fear, it also needs to have an underlying political objective. This is why incidents like the Newtown shooting, in which a lone shooter committed a random act of violence for no discernible reason, is not considered an “act of terror,” despite the fact that is terrifying. While the attacks today in Boston certainly resemble other “terrorist” acts like the 2007 London subway bombings and others, without knowing who is responsible and what the real motives were, it would be irresponsible to call them “terrorism.”
Post by: Jah Gol on April 24, 2013, 08:52:28 AM
I just heard on Fox news that the bomber's parents were receiving welfare from the State.
Post by: fari on April 24, 2013, 08:54:56 AM
he (saro)  went pres...left after form 3...his bigger brother was legendary pres keeper robin thompson
Post by: ribbit on April 24, 2013, 12:11:41 PM

Uhm... yeah the US never "render" a citizen. Can't do it, actually.   FBI had no legal basis to act on the info the Russians gave them.  Funny how allyuh does bitch about the US excesses... den bawl fuh it in de same breath.

if yuh could kill them with a drone, yuh could rendition them. yuh have such faith in your govt's virtue let alone competency even now.

um, bawling about us excesses?! ... clearly is time yuh get to know your forumites now yuh is a moderator. yuh receive de orientation package yet? ah know flex and tallman real happy dey could now claim for dat tax credit for employeeing de mentally handica..... never mind.

today's reports indicate the russians contacted the us govt a few times (http://www.bostonglobe.com/news/nation/2013/04/23/russia-contacted-fbi-multiple-times-concerns-about-alleged-boston-marathon-bomber/ND0bhUdq1Tp1mRuC8xlb8N/story.html?s_campaign=sm_tw). now it reading like a similar story as 9/11 - failure to connect the dots.

another report showing that they had timbaland's name on a few lists but no resources to cover the names on the list. government 101.

I just heard on Fox news that the bomber's parents were receiving welfare from the State.

dat is something eh. de wife working 80 hours/week, he at home on de internet playing jihadist. waiz dat saying about de devil and idle hands?
Post by: Bakes on April 24, 2013, 02:16:05 PM
if yuh could kill them with a drone, yuh could rendition them. yuh have such faith in your govt's virtue let alone competency even now.

It actually has nothing to do with "faith", but given your limited comprehension is no surprise that's what you thinking.  The FBI is the agency that responsible for investigating crimes on US soil.  The CIA is responsible for renditions.  The CIA has no domestic jurisprudence... so even if they wanted to render these fellas into foreign hands for interrogation, they couldn't do it because they are US citizens here on US soil.  Drone targets are different because of the fact that they are enemy combatants, something these fellas were not, and because those enemy combatants have placed themselves beyond the reach of US law.  See how simple that is?  Then again, no matter the level of simplicity it will still continue to elude yuh.

um, bawling about us excesses?! ... clearly is time yuh get to know your forumites now yuh is a moderator. yuh receive de orientation package yet? ah know flex and tallman real happy dey could now claim for dat tax credit for employeeing de mentally handica..... never mind.

today's reports indicate the russians contacted the us govt a few times (http://www.bostonglobe.com/news/nation/2013/04/23/russia-contacted-fbi-multiple-times-concerns-about-alleged-boston-marathon-bomber/ND0bhUdq1Tp1mRuC8xlb8N/story.html?s_campaign=sm_tw). now it reading like a similar story as 9/11 - failure to connect the dots.

"Employeeing" yuh say... and yuh talking about mentally handicapped?  Is that what de front ah yuh t-shirt reads... or yuh having trouble understanding what de words mean?  I shudder to think that the 6-year olds you "teaching" might be smarter than you.
Post by: Jah Gol on April 24, 2013, 02:19:53 PM

dat is something eh. de wife working 80 hours/week, he at home on de internet playing jihadist. waiz dat saying about de devil and idle hands?
(http://cdn02.cdnwp.thefrisky.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/22/katherine-russell-220x220.jpg)
Watch the lady.

Post by: elan on April 24, 2013, 02:39:15 PM

It actually has nothing to do with "faith", but given your limited comprehension is no surprise that's what you thinking.  The FBI is the agency that responsible for investigating crimes on US soil.  The CIA is responsible for renditions.  The CIA has no domestic jurisprudence... so even if they wanted to render these fellas into foreign hands for interrogation, they couldn't do it because they are US citizens here on US soil.  Drone targets are different because of the fact that they are enemy combatants, something these fellas were not, and because those enemy combatants have placed themselves beyond the reach of US law.  See how simple that is?  Then again, no matter the level of simplicity it will still continue to elude yuh.

"Employeeing" yuh say... and yuh talking about mentally handicapped?  Is that what de front ah yuh t-shirt reads... or yuh having trouble understanding what de words mean?  I shudder to think that the 6-year olds you "teaching" might be smarter than you.

Bakes you could talk all yuh want this stinks. They could have  done more, much more IF THEY WANTED TO. But, for some reason they let this slip by. Don't take people for some simpletons.  All yuh posturing can't change the fact that they dropped the ball.
As men talking about their family being on welfare, the fellas were living high on the hog. Where the money come? Why so long to look into their financial dealings? There are many questions that are not being explored and glossed over.
Post by: AirMan on April 25, 2013, 09:08:24 AM
'In a surprising report, evidently Tamerlan, Jahar’s 26 year old deceased brother, was in fact taking care of his 3 year old daughter on a daily basis while his wife Katherine worked as a home health care aide. Previously, neighbors of Katherine’s parents, whom the couple lived with, had stated they had not seen Tamerlan for about a year. Katherine had been a student at Suffolk University, when she met him at a nightclub. Raised a Christian, she converted to Islam sometime after meeting her future husband. Her parents home is about an hour and fifteen minutes from Boston off of I-95. The FBI is in the process of interviewing her now'.... http://myvoicetv.net/blog/5-days-that-shook-boston/
Post by: AirMan on April 25, 2013, 09:09:04 AM

(http://cdn02.cdnwp.thefrisky.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/22/katherine-russell-220x220.jpg)
Watch the lady.

Yup I was thinking the same
Post by: ribbit on April 25, 2013, 01:38:28 PM

More...

An egregious mistake.

Actually, President Obama pointedly did NOT call it terrorism at first. This was a hot right-wing talking point all week.
http://www.newyorker.com/online/blogs/closeread/2013/04/obama-on-boston-the-question-of-terror.html
http://www.breitbart.com/Big-Government/2013/04/15/Obama-speech-Boston-attack
http://www.mediaite.com/tv/why-does-it-matter-if-president-obama-calls-the-boston-marathon-bombing-an-act-of-terror/

By Thursday, when I guess he had better information he used the term "act of terror" which is parsing, i know, but this is a country where they have serious discussions about flag lapel pins.
http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/2013/04/16/obama-boston-marathon-bombing-remarks/2087565/

From the mediaite article:

For a violent act to be considered “terrorism,” it not only needs to produce a fear, it also needs to have an underlying political objective. This is why incidents like the Newtown shooting, in which a lone shooter committed a random act of violence for no discernible reason, is not considered an “act of terror,” despite the fact that is terrifying. While the attacks today in Boston certainly resemble other “terrorist” acts like the 2007 London subway bombings and others, without knowing who is responsible and what the real motives were, it would be irresponsible to call them “terrorism.”

yeah, de political objective difficult to ascertain. de washington sniper woulda get de terrorist treatment in this climate.
Post by: ribbit on April 25, 2013, 01:39:47 PM

Watch the lady.

she have on burqa now and de papers say she only crying. i never see a happy woman in a burqa to be honest.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 25, 2013, 04:10:23 PM
... so many angles to this thing.

* De mother in Russia has shoplifting charges pending in the US.
* She says she thinks the scene was contrived with actors and red paint etc.
* Son #2 is said to have been unarmed at the time of discovery in the boat
* They did NOT rob the convenience store (that was an entirely separate incident)
* Video from Lord & Taylor was NOT sourced
Post by: pecan on April 25, 2013, 06:43:11 PM

Watch the lady.

she have on burqa now and de papers say she only crying. i never see a happy woman in a burqa to be honest.

Ann Coulter said she should be in prison for wearing a burqa (or something to that effect) ...
Post by: fari on April 25, 2013, 06:56:54 PM

Watch the lady.

Ann Coulter said she should be in prison for wearing a burqa (or something to that effect) ...

good god...why somebody eh put something in coulter big mouth...smh
Post by: Bakes on April 25, 2013, 10:25:50 PM
Bakes you could talk all yuh want this stinks. They could have  done more, much more IF THEY WANTED TO. But, for some reason they let this slip by. Don't take people for some simpletons.  All yuh posturing can't change the fact that they dropped the ball.
As men talking about their family being on welfare, the fellas were living high on the hog. Where the money come? Why so long to look into their financial dealings? There are many questions that are not being explored and glossed over.

What ah go tell yuh... you know better than me and better than de experts and dem.

(http://graphics8.nytimes.com/images/misc/nytlogo153x23.gif)

April 25, 2013

Russia’s Warning on Bombings Suspect Sets Off a Debate

By SCOTT SHANE, MICHAEL S. SCHMIDT and ERIC SCHMITT.

WASHINGTON — In March 2011, the Russian security service sent a stark warning to the F.B.I., reporting that Tamerlan Tsarnaev was “a follower of radical Islam” who had “changed drastically since 2010” and was preparing to travel to Russia’s turbulent Caucasus to connect with underground militant groups. Six months later, Russia sent the same warning to the C.I.A.

On April 15, law enforcement officials say, Mr. Tsarnaev and his younger brother, Dzhokhar, set off bombs at the Boston Marathon, killing three people and maiming many others.

The Russian warnings to the F.B.I. and the C.I.A. also raised questions about Mr. Tsarnaev’s mother, Zubeidat, according to two senior American officials. The Russians were most concerned about Mr. Tsarnaev because they had information that he planned to travel to Russia, according to one of the officials. “The Russians were concerned that mother and son were very religious and strong believers, and they could be militants if they returned to Russia,” the other official said.

The mother, the officials said, did not fit the profile of a potential extremist, leading American counterterrorism officials to not express much concern about her. They did not set up a travel alert on her, for instance, one of the officials said. But they nonetheless added her name to the Terrorist Identities Datamart Environment, or TIDE database, when Tamerlan’s name was added to it in October 2011, the official said.

Should the Russian warnings — seemingly confirmed in part last year when the counterterrorism task force in Boston learned that Mr. Tsarnaev was traveling to Russia — have permitted American officials to foil the marathon plot? That question emerged on Thursday as the crux of a debate among members of Congress, counterterrorism officials and outside experts about whether, and how, the security system failed.

F.B.I. officials have defended their response to the Russian tip, which prompted agents to interview Mr. Tsarnaev and his parents and check government databases and Internet activity. The bureau found nothing.

On Thursday, some members of Congress and former government officials said Tamerlan Tsarnaev’s six-month visit to Dagestan last year was a missed opportunity to refocus attention on him and potentially prevent the attack. Others suggested that the criticism was 20-20 hindsight, and that the F.B.I.’s performance was reasonable under the circumstances.

The critical moment came in January 2012, when a Customs database sent an alert about Mr. Tsarnaev’s plan to travel to Russia to a Customs agent assigned to the F.B.I.-led Joint Terrorism Task Force in Boston, according to a Congressional official. It is unclear who else saw the information, but it does not appear to have prompted any new scrutiny of Mr. Tsarnaev at the time or when he returned to the United States that July.

“If there was a failure at any time, maybe it was at that point, to get a follow-up interview,” said Representative Mike Rogers, Republican of Michigan and chairman of the House Intelligence Committee, a former F.B.I. agent. “But even so, it’s hard to say they did something wrong. Travel in and of itself is not derogatory information, and that area is far down on our priority list.”

Across Capitol Hill, senators from both parties emerged from a classified briefing on the bombings sounding generally supportive of the F.B.I. “I wish there would have been more,” said Senator Jeff Flake, an Arizona Republican on the Intelligence Committee, “but I’m not in a position to say that I would have done it differently.” Senator Carl Levin, a Michigan Democrat who leads the Armed Services Committee, said, “Unless there’s additional information that pops up, I’m not critical of their actions.”

But Senator Lindsey Graham, Republican of South Carolina, said in earlier remarks to reporters that the Boston bombing case “is becoming, to me, a case study in system failure.”

“You have Russian intelligence services contacting two agencies within our federal government responsible for our national security, the F.B.I. and the C.I.A.,” he said. “They tell us, ‘We believe you have a radical Islamist in your midst.’ ” Despite the warning and the F.B.I.’s initial follow-up, Mr. Graham said, Mr. Tsarnaev was able to visit Dagestan and return unnoticed, and discuss “killing Americans” openly on the Internet undetected.

Jimmy Gurulé, a former counterterrorism official who teaches at Notre Dame Law School, said the alert about Mr. Tsarnaev’s travel plans should have prompted new attention, since it appeared to give weight to the Russian warning. He said that the authorities should have sought a court warrant to monitor his cellphone and e-mail while he was in Russia. “When he came back to the United States, they should have pulled him out of the Customs line, inspected his belongings, looked at his laptop and cellphone and questioned him about what he had done in Dagestan,” said Mr. Gurulé.

But law enforcement officials said it was unrealistic to expect the F.B.I., which had already taken a hard look at Mr. Tsarnaev, to reopen the case merely because of his travel. The TIDE database has roughly 700,000 names in it, a senior law enforcement official said, and Customs officials get 20 or 30 alerts every day about travel by people in various databases.

In addition, the official said, it would have violated Justice Department guidelines to keep pursuing Mr. Tsarnaev after the initial assessment found no evidence of a crime. “You pursue the original information, come to conclusions,” he said.

The official said that the F.B.I. would certainly have looked at Mr. Tsarnaev again if the Russians had told the bureau that they had developed more information on him during his trip. “That is all that would have taken,” the official said.

One factor in the failure to follow up may have been Mr. Tsarnaev’s ethnicity as a Chechen and his destination, Dagestan, according to both government officials and independent specialists. While those might have set off suspicions in Russia, militants from the Caucasus have generally not targeted the United States.

The authorities would most likely have given Mr. Tsarnaev a closer examination when he returned to the United States if he had traveled to Yemen or Pakistan, where multiple plots against American cities have been hatched.

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/04/26/us/russia-told-us-bomb-suspect-was-radical-islamist.html?pagewanted=2&_r=0

When yuh have even Republicans saying they not sure anything could have been done differently... the same Republicans who lining up at every opportunity to fly up Obama ass for breathing the wrong way... then you know that the criticism in some quarters is unreasonable.  As for that Gurulé fella from Notre Dame, I respect the fact that he's supposed to be some terrorism expert, and a criminal law professor at that... but he on serious shit.  You can't go searching people cellphone and laptop just because of where they traveled, especially when where they travel to is not a terrorism hotspot.
Post by: pecan on April 26, 2013, 06:55:02 AM

here is the interview

1:15  "also, why not just shoot up the boat [referring to suspect #2], we are not going to talk to him to get any information ... they should have just kept shooing when they caught him in the boat ... get him an automatic death penalty there .."
2:40  "... she ought to be in prison for wearing a hijab"

https://www.youtube.com/v/FIQV9T_J-EU
Post by: ribbit on April 26, 2013, 08:47:39 AM

here is the interview

1:15  "also, why not just shoot up the boat [referring to suspect #2], we are not going to talk to him to get any information ... they should have just kept shooing when they caught him in the boat ... get him an automatic death penalty there .."
2:40  "... she ought to be in prison for wearing a hijab"

https://www.youtube.com/v/FIQV9T_J-EU

2.56 "did she get a clitorectomy too?"
       "well uhhh i don't know the answer to that."

Post by: Dutty on April 26, 2013, 08:53:49 AM

de woman so bold she blamin america....one setta dotish talk bout america was supposed to take care of she boys and how america take way she boys
dem blame america people does real irritate me oui

wait? is me who jus type dat?
Post by: pecan on April 26, 2013, 09:00:40 AM

de woman so bold she blamin america....one setta dotish talk bout america was supposed to take care of she boys and how america take way she boys
dem blame america people does real irritate me oui

wait? is me who jus type dat?

as much as we make fun of the grand ole US of A, there is no country I would rather have as a neighbour.

the onliest thing is that they now starting to talk about charging visitor fees for Canadians.
Post by: asylumseeker on April 26, 2013, 11:02:42 AM
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Dutty and pecan, allyuh throwing corn fuh fowl?  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: asylumseeker on April 26, 2013, 11:04:39 AM
So de man who geh carjacked has been described as "Danny, a young Chinese entrepreneur". He trying his best tuh stay outta de limelight.
Post by: Toppa on April 26, 2013, 03:13:53 PM
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Dutty and pecan, allyuh throwing corn fuh fowl?  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

haha
Post by: ribbit on April 29, 2013, 08:52:50 AM
this thing getting stranger as days pass.

the mother is being said to have played a key role in radicalizing her sons. the FSB have a wiretap with the younger one talking about jihad with the mother.

is that what jihad has come to mean for islamic youth? an incoherent "struggle" against something you don't (or can't) appreciate? there was no political objective with this bombing. it's looking like this bombing was the older brother's personal struggle with faith - his proof that he was muslim. cheaper than a ticket to mecca i guess. that is messed up.
Post by: elan on April 29, 2013, 09:46:55 AM

the mother is being said to have played a key role in radicalizing her sons. the FSB have a wiretap with the younger one talking about jihad with the mother.

is that what jihad has come to mean for islamic youth? an incoherent "struggle" against something you don't (or can't) appreciate? there was no political objective with this bombing. it's looking like this bombing was the older brother's personal struggle with faith - his proof that he was muslim. cheaper than a ticket to mecca i guess. that is messed up.

Was this before or after they could have put them on a no fly list?
Post by: pecan on April 29, 2013, 10:18:54 AM
Four Enduring Mysteries About the Boston Bombings (from Time Mgazine on-line)

http://swampland.time.com/2013/04/29/four-mysteries-about-the-boston-bombings/?xid=newsletter-daily

1) Did They Really Act On Their Own?
2) How Much Does Vladimir Putin Know?
3) Did U.S. Intelligence Officials Fail to ‘Connect the Dots’ Again?
4) Who Is ‘Misha’ and Where Is He?

Read more: http://swampland.time.com/2013/04/29/four-mysteries-about-the-boston-bombings/#ixzz2RrzSGXmn

Post by: ribbit on April 29, 2013, 10:36:10 AM

Was this before or after they could have put them on a no fly list?

here's the link (http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/apr/28/boston-marathon-suspects-father-cancels-trip). it sounds like it was 2011 when they did the wiretap, so before.
Post by: kounty on April 29, 2013, 10:48:36 AM

This was on NPR last friday.
http://www.thisamericanlife.org/radio-archives/episode/493/picture-show?act=1#play (http://www.thisamericanlife.org/radio-archives/episode/493/picture-show?act=1#play)
I am not muslim, and I don't understand the struggle. But I could possibly try to understand oppression. And I wouldn't be as flippant as bolded.
Post by: ribbit on April 29, 2013, 12:43:32 PM

http://www.thisamericanlife.org/radio-archives/episode/493/picture-show?act=1#play (http://www.thisamericanlife.org/radio-archives/episode/493/picture-show?act=1#play)
I am not muslim, and I don't understand the struggle. But I could possibly try to understand oppression. And I wouldn't be as flippant as bolded.

what oppression these fellows know? these 4kers been living usa for 10 years. man have an american wife and kid. sell that line somewhere else.
Post by: kounty on April 29, 2013, 04:47:03 PM

what oppression these fellows know? these 4kers been living usa for 10 years. man have an american wife and kid. sell that line somewhere else.
Homes, usually I just let ignorance be. But you still displaying a great misunderstanding of what it means to be muslim. The idea of the ummah is so central, as it was the context in which the muslims viewed themselves during the revelation of the Quran. So to say that these dudes grow up in new jersey (hyp) so they shouldn't feel injustice halfway across the globe against "their people" personally is just...ignorant. What you reading? Do you view yourself as belonging to anything greater than you or your family?
Post by: Bakes on April 29, 2013, 06:00:10 PM
Homes, usually I just let ignorance be. But you still displaying a great misunderstanding of what it means to be muslim. The idea of the ummah is so central, as it was the context in which the muslims viewed themselves during the revelation of the Quran. So to say that these dudes grow up in new jersey (hyp) so they shouldn't feel injustice halfway across the globe against "their people" personally is just...ignorant. What you reading? Do you view yourself as belonging to anything greater than you or your family?

Didn't you just finish say that you're not Muslim and you don't understand the struggle?
Post by: kounty on April 29, 2013, 07:04:37 PM
lawd! Tallman!!!! this fella need some more wok to do!!!! And TT not here for him to love up so now we to ketch!
Al-muqtasidatun (The moderate one, aka the maco-rator :) ), Is there any contradiction in what I just type sir? Let me break it down 4 u. Ribbit referring to Jihad and I telling him that I'm not muslim so I don't know  about (understand) Jihad (the struggle). But, by the same token 99.999% of those ('terrorists') surveyed cite what? what these boston dudes say? I didn't say I was a moron did I? So please join me oh moderate one, and correct sir ribbit  in his incorrect statement about islamic youth in a general fight against what they don't appreciate. or fix up my grammar dey. either way ignorance is why we still here all these years after GWB proclaim it true that "they hate our freedom." So if you or the man really didn't know, please don't stop him from knowing, so we could really get somewhere in this battle.
Post by: Bakes on April 29, 2013, 08:11:00 PM
lawd! Tallman!!!! this fella need some more wok to do!!!! And TT not here for him to love up so now we to ketch!
Al-muqtasidatun (The moderate one, aka the maco-rator :) ), Is there any contradiction in what I just type sir? Let me break it down 4 u. Ribbit referring to Jihad and I telling him that I'm not muslim so I don't know  about (understand) Jihad (the struggle). But, by the same token 99.999% of those ('terrorists') surveyed cite what? what these boston dudes say? I didn't say I was a moron did I? So please join me oh moderate one, and correct sir ribbit  in his incorrect statement about islamic youth in a general fight against what they don't appreciate. or fix up my grammar dey. either way ignorance is why we still here all these years after GWB proclaim it true that "they hate our freedom." So if you or the man really didn't know, please don't stop him from knowing, so we could really get somewhere in this battle.

I ask you one question and is all dis yuh come with?  Carry on fella, never mind me.
Post by: D.H.W on April 29, 2013, 08:19:15 PM
The moderate one haha.
Post by: AirMan on April 30, 2013, 06:54:13 AM
This guy is ignorant

Intelligence information has discovered that, about four years ago, Al Qaeda began looking to recruit outside of those areas in anticipation of a US border lock down. In my opinion they achieved their goal in the Caucuses region of Russia. Islamic extremists have been waging jihad against the Russians there for decades now. A growing number of the region of Chechnya has become predominantly Muslim–and not in the secular Turkey or Jordan kind.

These “Stans”: as in Dagestan, Khuzestan, and others pose a profiling difficulty. Our intelligence eyes have been weakly focused on Egypt, Somalia, Saudi Arabia, and this area opens a second front on the War on Terror. A growing number of radical Islamists are immigrating into Europe. Our closest friend, England, has some of the most outspoken and prolific spreaders of Jihad against western civilization that can be found anywhere.

Just as I am writing this I am changing my mind: we may need to venture into the uncharted waters of banning a specific faith from coming and sharing what we have here in America. Do we, as a people, want to continue to take the risk for the need of an engineer or a doctor or a laborer? Can we afford another incident because we are so sensitive to political correctness that we fail to secure our borders?.. http://myvoicetv.net/blog/shut-the-borders-down/

Post by: ribbit on April 30, 2013, 12:30:31 PM

kounty, being a "muslim" may involve these connections with other muslims via the ummah. what i'm saying is that this is not their ENTIRE life experience and these clowns in particular had ample exposure to the non-muslim way of life which makes their plot all the more mystifying. how was this bombing supposed to help muslims and/or the ummah? this is why i'm describing this attack as an incoherent jihad.

the link you sent dealt mainly with the palestinians - not sure if this is relevant in this particular situation. these a**holes were more familiar with the issue of chechen independence from russia. which raises the question, why didn't they attack some russian embassy or something? i figure they know how america does put on kid gloves for terrorist while russia woulda haul he idiot parents and their family in for some old-fashioned soviet-style re-education.

i don't see how their choice of target conveyed a specific message. i mean, bin laden target a major financial centre. these fools here in canada were going after a toronto to nyc train. they pick an international sporting event? i don't get it. the last major terrorist operation from chechnya was beslan - the message there by comparison was loud, unambiguous, clear and precise. it really seems their choice of target come from convenience more than anything.

so, this thing is not terrorism and it's not political although it is sociopathic. i haven't read of any islamic militant reaction that praised these actions - could be i missed it. maybe some salafist cleric in the middle of nowhere in SA is giving a talk now on how great and noble these idiots are but it seem that the reaction is largely indifference and confusion.
Post by: ribbit on May 01, 2013, 07:53:53 AM
geez, ah reading today that tamarlan had his visa app to visit mecca rejected in dec 2011. that means he was obligated to engage in jihad to be a true muslim by his interpretation. And Saudi officials warned US intel about Tamarlan in 2012.

so it wasn't just russia, but also saudi arabia that warn the usa about tamarlan tsarnaev.
Post by: ribbit on May 09, 2013, 09:40:54 AM
dey finally found a place to bury dis dude. de rejection by most of the surrounding communities to allow de burial is unprecedented. even russia was refusing to take de body. real bad mind. ah feel any chechens in de usa start to play dey is russian :o  again, de political reasoning behind de attack still doh make sense.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 09, 2013, 09:42:25 AM
dey finally found a place to bury dis dude. de rejection by most of the surrounding communities to allow de burial is unprecedented. even russia was refusing to take de body.

... and he's their citizen. smh.
Post by: ribbit on May 22, 2013, 11:23:43 AM
next twist. fbi swoop in on an acquaintance of the brothers in florida. they question the man for 5 hours and was about to take a statement. dude pulls out a knife and stabs the fbi agent. fbi kill the man. they figure this guy along with the brothers murdered three others in a separate attack on the anniversary of 9/11.

http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/lookout/ibragim-todashev-fbi-shooting-boston-tsarnaev-134458251.html

so were these murders acts of terrorism? if any muslim take a life or attempt to take a life on or around 9/11, is that terrorism?

boy, it was so much easier when bush was telling us what colour de terror alert was and how fraid we should be.
Post by: elan on May 22, 2013, 10:50:36 PM
next twist. fbi swoop in on an acquaintance of the brothers in florida. they question the man for 5 hours and was about to take a statement. dude pulls out a knife and stabs the fbi agent. fbi kill the man. they figure this guy along with the brothers murdered three others in a separate attack on the anniversary of 9/11.

http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/lookout/ibragim-todashev-fbi-shooting-boston-tsarnaev-134458251.html

so were these murders acts of terrorism? if any muslim take a life or attempt to take a life on or around 9/11, is that terrorism?

boy, it was so much easier when bush was telling us what colour de terror alert was and how fraid we should be.

So the great and mighty FBI question ah terror suspect for 5 hours and eh search he?   :bs:  :bs:   :bs:   :bs:   

Them FBI wukking 10 days or what?  Covering tracks is what it is.
Post by: Bakes on May 22, 2013, 11:18:56 PM
So the great and mighty FBI question ah terror suspect for 5 hours and eh search he?   :bs:  :bs:   :bs:   :bs:   

"Search him" for what? He wasn't under interrogation, they were sitting in his home... one of several interviews they've had with him since last month.
Post by: elan on May 30, 2013, 09:56:03 AM

"Search him" for what? He wasn't under interrogation, they were sitting in his home... one of several interviews they've had with him since last month.

Bakes this is  :bs: and you are starting to realize it.

Post by: elan on May 30, 2013, 09:59:57 AM
Why'd the FBI Kill Tamerlan Tsarnaev's Accomplice-to-Be if He Was Unarmed? (http://news.yahoo.com/whyd-fbi-kill-tamerlan-tsarnaevs-accomplice-unarmed-130805832.html)

Law enforcement officials are walking their claims of self-defense all the way back a week after the shooting of Ibragim Todashev — the 27-year-old man who was about to officially confess to a triple murder in Massachusetts and finger Boston Marathon bomber Tamerlan Tsarnaev while he was at it — in his Orlando home by an FBI agent. The Washington Post and Orlando's NBC affiliate   both now report that Todashev was unarmed and alone in a room with the single FBI agent when he was killed early on the morning of May 22, two evolving details that continue to raise questions about why investigators used lethal force against a man who may not have posed a lethal threat but who definitely had key information on Tsarnaev.

The Post's Sari Horwitz and Peter Finn report that Todashev "lunged at the agent and overturned a table," at which point, according to Orlando's WESH, "the FBI agent believed he could have possibly been going for his gun or the sword in the room, and that's when the agent opened fire." So, yes, there may have been a giant sword somewhere in Todashev's apartment near Universal Studios, and there could yet be missing pieces in the bizarre public puzzle of this terrorism subplot — the FBI said in a second statement about the case Wednesday that an internal review of the incident was still underway, and the Boston bombing investigation has not been short on misinformation coming from anonymous law enforcement officials. But some initial reports after the Jack Bauer-style saga surfaced last Wednesday insisted that Todashev, after orally confessing to a grisly 2011 killing in Waltham, Massachusetts, attacked the agent with a knife. Within a day, but under the radar, some of the anonymous officials began to change their story, backtracking about the Todashev confession standoff and telling outlets like the AP that "it was no longer clear what had happened." The FBI has only said in a statement that "a violent confrontation was initiated by the individual."

Todashev's family and the Council on American-Islamic Relations, which pressed for a separate Department of Justice inquiry on Wednesday, have insisted that he did not have access to a weapon and that the killing "was not justified." Of course, at that point Todashev was a half-confessed murderer in the grisly throat-slitting of a drug-deal setup turned violent killing himself, but at his apartment late last Tuesday night, he was clearly outnumbered and outgunned: After weeks of cooperating with investigators, Todashev was being interviewed for multiple hours by multiple federal agents and, according to the FBI, at least two Massachusetts state police officers and other law enforcement officials. The narrative floating around the press had been that Todashev, a mixed martial arts fighter and friend of Tsarnaev back in Boston, was going to or could have killed someone.

The Washington Post's sources may debunk that:
An agent sustained non-life-threatening injuries, later described by one law enforcement official as "some cuts and abrasions."
An official said that according to one account of the shooting, the other law enforcement officials had just stepped out of the room, leaving the FBI agent alone with Todashev, when the confrontation occurred.

Again, pass the salt with this anonymous reporting, and we still don't have details on the confrontation between this would-be Bauer and Tsarnaev's would-be accomplice. But that "some cuts and abrasions" line does jibe with what FBI officials told CNN on May 23 — that the agent "sustained non-life-threatening injuries," and if Todashev was alone with one agent, well, maybe he wasn't exactly outnumbered and maybe he made his move. Increasingly this is becoming a sideshow between one agent and one strange man when it might have been something of a major break in the case against the Tsarnaev brothers — at the very least, a written confession from Todashev before he died would have provided a legally justified sign that Tsarnaev had been a drug dealer or a killer before he took what had been thought as the fateful trip to Russian in 2012, that he had been criminally violent before he was hypothetically radicalized.

But if we are now discounting stories about the knife and a standoff with multiple agents, what makes us so sure those stories about how Todashev was supposed to sign a confession implicating him and Tsarnaev are so solid themselves? Todashev's father is now stating that the 2011 triple homicide in Waltham, which Todashev reportedly confessed to, was not part of Todashev's earlier interrogations with the FBI. No, that's not supposed to make you feel better.
Post by: ribbit on May 30, 2013, 11:58:58 AM
nice post elan. must say, is a good thing fools like bakes, that believe anything de police say, eh involved in the judicial proc...... steups.......
Post by: Bakes on May 30, 2013, 12:56:14 PM

So you's ah mind reader now?  You know what I thinking and what I starting to "realize"?  Yuh little b.s. flag tell yuh dat?  If is one thing I doh do is argue with ignorant people.  The fact is that the police wasn't interrogating this fella, he was a "person of interest" to the investigation, not a suspect.  The same way they interviewed Tamerlan wife and Dzhokhar three roommates is how they interviewed this fella.  Further police (FBI) was interviewing him in his house, police can't just search people because they feel like it, they have to have probable cause to search.  If he didn't pose a threat the previous two times why would they have had reason to think that he'd be a threat on this occasion?  But for argument's sake, let's say that they DID search him... apparently you having problems understanding that the fella was in his house and not in custody... so he easily could have got up and go get a knife... none of us was there to know the exact circumstances.  Now you more than free to read whatever nonsense yuh want to read on de internet and believe that this was all some big conspiracy... but I am under no obligation to continue to indulge you in this jackassery.
Post by: elan on May 30, 2013, 02:02:55 PM

So you's ah mind reader now?  You know what I thinking and what I starting to "realize"?  Yuh little b.s. flag tell yuh dat?  If is one thing I doh do is argue with ignorant people.  The fact is that the police wasn't interrogating this fella, he was a "person of interest" to the investigation, not a suspect.  The same way they interviewed Tamerlan wife and Dzhokhar three roommates is how they interviewed this fella.  Further police (FBI) was interviewing him in his house, police can't just search people because they feel like it, they have to have probable cause to search.  If he didn't pose a threat the previous two times why would they have had reason to think that he'd be a threat on this occasion?  But for argument's sake, let's say that they DID search him... apparently you having problems understanding that the fella was in his house and not in custody... so he easily could have got up and go get a knife... none of us was there to know the exact circumstances.  Now you more than free to read whatever nonsense yuh want to read on de internet and believe that this was all some big conspiracy... but I am under no obligation to continue to indulge you in this jackassery.

Bakes sometimes I think people does be right yes, like you does just want to be right. He a person of interest who "just confess" to multiple murder and about to sign as such and you have no reason to think he might be dangerous. The guy was being investigated.

Even the FBI back tracking on the original report.
Post by: Bakes on May 30, 2013, 03:31:06 PM
Bakes sometimes I think people does be right yes, like you does just want to be right. He a person of interest who "just confess" to multiple murder and about to sign as such and you have no reason to think he might be dangerous. The guy was being investigated.

Even the FBI back tracking on the original report.

Do you have anything official or see an official quote from law enforcement that says he confessed?  You could argue and say I just trying to right if that makes yuh feel better, but this is the field in which I work, it is my job to be skeptical in the absence of fact and FACT is that none of us have any facts on which to go right now.  You initially posited that you find it hard to believe the police didn't search this fella... I responded by telling you it's not at all unreasonable based on the information provided in the reports.  I never tell you what happened from what didn't happen, because I wasn't there.  All I will say is that yes police does kill innocent, unarmed people... however, this guy potentially held a good deal of information that could help solve two major investigations.  Yet the conspiracy nutjobs out there want us to believe that police kill him just so... to do what, silence him?  If you find that make sense and want to ride with that then feel free.