General => General Discussion => Topic started by: lefty on May 07, 2013, 11:34:14 AM

Title: windows 8: anybody else use one...........
Post by: lefty on May 07, 2013, 11:34:14 AM
.....and try to pelt dey 'puter out d window.............my family bring a laptop for me the check a issue..........lawd have mercy what d fuuck is dat......WTF MS was smoking..........is just like when dey jam dat dotish MS office ribbon interface dong we throat.....dis time it backfire on dem (http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/05/07/after-bumpy-start-microsoft-rethinks-windows-8/?partner=socialflow&smid=tw-nytimesbusiness), ah wonder if people goh have to pay for d windows blue update..............who making all dese decisions

dat is real strange pattern boy:

win2000/win98 = good
winME = bad
winXP = good
vista = bad
win7 = bess
win8 =  :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :pissedoff: :pissedoff: :pissedoff: :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead: >:( >:( >:( :cursing: :cursing: :cursing:

Title: Re: windows 8: anybody else use one...........
Post by: D.H.W on May 07, 2013, 11:41:48 AM
Shit OS
Post by: pecan on May 07, 2013, 11:52:35 AM
wait ... so stick to Windows 7? Considering buying a windows 8 touch screen - ...
Post by: fari on May 07, 2013, 11:58:16 AM
wait ... so stick to Windows 7? Considering buying a windows 8 touch screen - ...

yeah me too...seems like is best i wait a while and see
Title: Re: Re: windows 8: anybody else use one...........
Post by: D.H.W on May 07, 2013, 11:58:29 AM

Windows 8 offers nothing different to what 7 does already, just a few optimizations. Its made for touch screen devices like tablets mainly definitely not desktop systems, despite what Microsoft says. And dont buy any Windows 8 RT tablets even more shit. They even take out the start menu button.
Post by: pecan on May 07, 2013, 12:55:04 PM

Windows 8 offers nothing different to what 7 does already, just a few optimizations. Its made for touch screen devices like tablets mainly definitely not desktop systems, despite what Microsoft says. And dont buy any Windows 8 RT tablets even more shit. They even take out the start menu button.

thanks for the feedback

I have a i7 desktop with win7 and that works very well for my work needs when I in the office. I use a net book to take notes when I meet my clients - that works in most cases expect when I need a larger screen with my Excel files. 

I have been debating whether to get the Samsung Notes 2 (or 3 ?)and use that to take longhand notes and just forget about the net book (except for Excel the odd time I need it). I would like a new phone in any event - the Samsung Captivate I have acting up.

Still undecided though .. Notes 2 vs a new laptop with Win 7.  Sigh.

Post by: lefty on May 07, 2013, 03:08:33 PM

yeah me too...seems like is best i wait a while and see
you have to do damn near everything through "metro" which adds atleast one unnecessary step .......dat means from an interactivity POV it actually slower to use, d control panel is even more of a mess and although I real like win7 me eh no fan of d control panel layout in dat neither, I doh understand need to stick browser styled  interfaces on everyting.....d trend of "dumbing down" interfaces, does actually slow productivity