Sports => Football => Topic started by: FireBrand on May 09, 2013, 07:32:04 PM

Title: Andre Fortune Thread
Post by: FireBrand on May 09, 2013, 07:32:04 PM
Fortune favors Andre.
By Inshan Mohammed.

In the past not many American-born players ever got the opportunity to represent Trinidad and Tobago on the football field. However, one of T&T's latest imports Andre Fortune, feels fortunate to have been given the chance to play for a country he so dearly admires and loves.

The hard-nose midfielder is not short of skill and technique and has rightfully claimed a permanent spot on the Junior Warriors team. His place on the team came at the expense of the well talked about Matthew Woo-Ling, a player who is regarded as one of the better youth midfielders currently based in T&T.

Current TTFF Technical Director Anton Corneal lived in High Point, North Carolina which is just about 90 miles away from Fortune's home and he has kept tabs on the player's progress which eventually led to a T&T call-up.

In 2009 Andre was invited to play with Trinidad's SKHY FC in the Dallas Cup. He was invited by Club owner and current TT Pro League CEO Dexter Skeene. Andre was instrumental in helping them win their first game. Current U-17 captain Brendon Creed was also on the team.

Andre meanwhile brings a lot to the table for T&T’s Junior Warriors. He can make tackles, his passing is superb, he makes himself available at all times and can strike the ball from long distances; hence the reason he finished as T&T's top goal scorer in the recently concluded U-17 Youth World Cup qualifiers in Panama.

One of his goals will always be remembered by many T&T fans and despite Brent Sam's spectacular free-kick against Costa Rica it was Fortune who really got things going for T&T. His 33rd minute goal seemed to have shocked the Costa Ricans as T&T ran away 2-0 winners. The victory was the first for any T&T team over Costa Rica in competition since the 2000 CONCACAF Gold Cup when goals by Arnold Dwarika and Mickey Trotman sent T&T into the semifinals. T&T had never beaten Costa Rica in a World Cup qualifier at any level until that fateful day.

After T&T eliminated the Junior Ticos they qualified for the quarterfinals where they had to play the host and if Panama had done their homework they would have known that Fortune was the danger-man on the team. So said, so done, it happened again, the young starlet managed to sneak in and score an almost identical goal that gave T&T a 1-0 lead. Unfortunately though, T&T lost 4-2 against Panama and was eliminated from the tournament in the process.

The talented midfielder is not letting the ball out of his sight though and still feels that he has a long way to go. He told the Soca Warriors Online (SWO) that he felt a joy in his heart when he scored for T&T that he still cannot get over, but he is not letting it go to his head.

Fortune calls T&T his second home and one of his favorite places in the world that he likes to visit. He loves the food, the climate and the culture. He is also very grateful to be given the chance to play for T&T and always cherishes his time with the team.

Fortune has always been encouraged to play football by his family from a tender age. He views his dad (Andre Sr.) especially as the one who has played a major role in his life and helped him become the player he is today.

In early 2011 Andre was invited to train with the United States U-15 team and was also part of the U.S. U-15 Academy League. At age eleven he was spotted by former Tottenham Hotspurs player Steve Archibald while he was in the U.S on business.  Archibald was so impressed by what he saw, that it led to Fortune being given the opportunity to spend two weeks at European giants FC Barcelona’s Football Academy. In August 2011 Andre was also invited to train with Manchester City where he suffered a fractured leg in his third scrimmage game with City's U-15 team.

The Dre experiment.

1. Andre, prior to playing for the Trinidad and Tobago National Under 17 football team, did you ever visit Trinidad and Tobago?  If yes, how was your visit and what was your general impression of the country?
AF: Yes. As I grew up, my parents made a strong effort to ensure that I understood the culture and the country. I visited Trinidad & Tobago around 7 or 8 times prior to travelling for the national team. It has always been a place that I enjoy visiting because of the weather, food and the people. It is by far my favorite place to be. I like to think of it as my second home.

2. Was it hard for you to adjust to your new teammates, coach and country, if so to speak?
AF: It was not too difficult simply because I grew up as a part of the culture and I have been used to the accent for a while. Because I had been able to travel to the country before, I was fairly accustomed to the customs. My teammates and coaches welcomed me to the team and were very friendly, which also made for a reasonable transition.

3 Who on the current U-17 team do you admire the most as a player and why?
AF: One player that I have grown to admire over my time with the team is Shannon Gomez. His professionalism on and off the field is truly remarkable to me. He is one of the few guys that you will always find doing everything to the best of his ability, with no complaints. I have been able to learn from everyone on the team, but I think I learned the most valuable information from him.

4. You finished the recently concluded U-17 World Championship Qualifiers in Panama as T&T's top goal scorer. You seem to be heading in the direction of being another high scoring midfielder. You also displayed a lot of grit in your game as well. Describe the feeling after scoring those goals and what made you take those outside shots.
AF: Talking to my dad after the Canada game and a couple of the coaches during training the day before the Costa Rica game, I was reminded of a couple opportunities to shoot that I had not taken. This caused me to be keener in taking advantage of any space I had around the box to shoot. A lot went through my mind as I scored both goals, but the most prominent thought at that moment was the fact that I scored an important goal in an important international game while representing myself, my family and my country. I had even envisioned one of the many times my dad and I were out training on a local field by my house working on finishing with both feet. It was a mixed moment of happiness and disbelief. Up to two years ago, I can remember watching U-17 tournaments on the television and I couldn't imagine being able to represent a national team, yet alone scoring goals. They are moments I will never forget.

5. If the U.S. U-20 team comes knocking on your door will you consider playing for them, or can we look forward to seeing you suit up for the T&T U-20 team in the future?
AF: I have thoroughly enjoyed my time spent with the T&T U-17 team and greatly look forward to representing a national team for Trinidad & Tobago again. However, I cannot take my participation in the previous team for granted and assume I am in the plans of the coach for the U-20 team. With that said, I would love to play for Trinidad & Tobago again.

6. T&T played the U.S. National U-17 team in Florida in preparation for the qualifiers in Panama and I assume you played both games (4-0 L and 2-2 T). Was it hard to play against your country of birth and possibly some of your former teammates? As you may already know, the U.S team did not qualify for the finals either, were you surprised?
AF: There was no difficulty in playing against them for me. It was similar to playing against some of them at the club level, but this was just on a higher level with more at stake. I made a decision to represent Trinidad & Tobago and that is where my mind was during the game. Knowing some of my opponents had no effect during the game, given that it was a competitive international friendly. In preparation for the tournament, I believe everyone viewed the U.S. as a powerful team, but in football, as in every other sport, the games have to be played and anything can happen. It was not the expected result for most, but it happens.

7. Playing at the international level is a totally different experience from playing in a school league or for a club academy. What exactly did you learn and would you say that your game has improved as a result of this experience?
AF: Comparing the international level to my past experiences, it is a lot faster and generally has an extra value, or passion, since everyone is representing his/her country. I had never played in such an atmosphere before, surrounded by that many fans and media. It supported the idea of having to block out anything from the side and staying focused to accomplish the task at hand.

8. Are you currently attached to any club academy and what school do you go to?
AF: I am currently playing for CASL Chelsea Academy based in Raleigh, North Carolina while attending Needham B. Broughton High School, also in Raleigh, North Carolina.

9. Who would you say is responsible for helping you to be the player you are today?
AF: There are many people that have made contributions to me as I have been developing in the game, such as my extended family (grandparents, cousins, uncles and aunts), coaches and family friends; but those mainly responsible are my parents and my younger brother. They have been heavily involved with my football from the beginning and have always supported me in my aspirations. I've spent countless hours with my dad and brother on the field, occasionally joined by my mom, to help better me as a player. My dad has invested a lot of his time and energy in making my brother and I better players, and my brother has used that to also push me and keep me on my toes so I can keep improving. Despite the fact that my mother has not played football, she still has an extensive knowledge and is always offering specific, unbiased information on how I am performing and where I need to improve. My parents' influence has kept me relatively on track and has been worth a lot to me. I may not thank them enough for it, but they are heavily responsible and I am thankful and grateful for all of their hard work to help me get towards where I want to be.

10. What are your future plans as far as football (soccer) goes?  Do you have aspirations to play in Europe one day?
AF: As you know, I have been blessed with the opportunity to represent T&T in the 2013 CONCACAF under 17 World Cup qualifiers. With the talent that God has given me, if I keep working hard who knows what may happen in the future.  If by the grace of God, and with the support of my family and others , I do make it as a professional footballer, it would be a dream come true.

11. Who would you say is your idol and which player/s do you admire the most? Which team is your favorite, both internationally and at club level?
AF: My favorite players are probably Andres Iniesta, David Silva and Neymar. I really admire their dribbling abilities and ability to pick a pass while still being considered as goal scoring midfielders. At the club level I am a huge supporter of FC Barcelona and Arsenal FC. Internationally, I like Spain and Brazil, and naturally support Trinidad & Tobago whenever they (we) play.

12. The 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup will be hosted in the USA. Are you planning on making any trips to support T&T? And have you ever seen the T&T senior team play? Tell us a bit about the T&T games or players you like.
AF: Because of where the games are, there are no current plans to see the team play, but I would love the opportunity to go and support. I was fortunate enough to travel to Germany in 2006 for the World Cup and watch all three of the games the senior team participated in. It was one of the first experiences I had watching live games and it kept me fully entertained throughout. I was entertained by the team on the field and the enthusiasm of the fans. I met players like Shaka Hislop, Avery John, Marvin Andrews, Brent Sancho and Keon Daniel when I was younger, so naturally I have supported them in their endeavors, but I make an effort to follow as many players as I can.

13. Have you ever visited the Soca Warriors Online (SWO) and if yes, what can we do to help make your visit more frequent?
AF: I have been on the website a couple of times when I am free just to catch up on any news on the teams. As with many people, I'm sure I would visit a mobile app more often.

14. To all the fans out there who follow you, would you like to say something to them?
AF: I think I can speak for the team and the staff in saying thank you for the support. Everyone on the team appreciates it and it helps us to move forward. We understand that there are some disappointments because we were unable to qualify, but hopefully we can try again in the future. In every prayer, we thank God for each other, our families and the people at home. The support is very important to us and we hope it can continue.

Copyrights of the Soca Warriors Online - Any press using the following article written by Inshan Mohammed are welcome to do so, provided that they reveal the source and writer. Furthermore, no portion of this article may be copied without proper credit as well.

Title: Re: Fortune favors Andre.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 09, 2013, 08:07:50 PM
Cyah help but note how Trini he sounds for a foreign-born kid ... at least when communicating to TTFF/TT media. Like that. Bright future ahead of him.
Post by: 100% Barataria on May 10, 2013, 05:45:24 AM
All in how you are able to raise the youth, can relate to his experience observing many of my cousins born in TT but raised in BKLYN/Queens.  Of course tri-state, Mia, DC makes that easier, but still possible outside of these parts
Post by: Errol on May 10, 2013, 06:52:38 AM
Nice that Anton keep tabs on him. He has a way to go still but seems a good prospect and by his parents being active in his life can only help him.

T&T needs a defensive midfielder so Andre can play a more free role and you will see his true potential. I believe T&T coach does not know how to use him or as yet.

Good luck to the youth.

Great stuff by Flex, you are one of the top sport writers from T&T today Flex, I hope one day the reward pays off.

Post by: Cocorite on May 10, 2013, 08:37:39 AM
Most likely these guys have help writing their responses from their Trini parents. Great job. Balanced, level-headed, and thoughtful responses.

Flex, I was thinking. It would be nice to get a lil background on the Trinbago parents of these kids as part of the bigger story. Who they are, their own footballing past, where in Trinbago they grew up. I think they will appreciate it and the readers will also love it as it completes the story. Just a thought.

Thanks to both for the interview.

All the best with your future football career Andre
Post by: Flex on May 10, 2013, 11:06:58 AM
Most likely these guys have help writing their responses from their Trini parents. Great job. Balanced, level-headed, and thoughtful responses.

Flex, I was thinking. It would be nice to get a lil background on the Trinbago parents of these kids as part of the bigger story. Who they are, their own footballing past, where in Trinbago they grew up. I think they will appreciate it and the readers will also love it as it completes the story. Just a thought.

I agree, however, sometimes they prefer not to be revealed....

But I will still double check.

Regards.

Post by: KND2 on May 10, 2013, 12:01:09 PM
wonder if he was ever on the Radar for the US team.....

he played well in the tournament and the US team did not look extraordinary, I wonder if he was even on a regional team or something.

A lot of good players are falling through the cracks in the US

Loss for the US ...gain for TnT
Post by: Sam on May 10, 2013, 01:45:32 PM
Hope he don't turn out to be a next Aaron Maund.

He have some skill, but still green both him and Gomes is two good players.

Good luck youth, keep shooting.

Post by: CK1 on May 10, 2013, 02:33:55 PM
wonder if he was ever on the Radar for the US team.....

he played well in the tournament and the US team did not look extraordinary, I wonder if he was even on a regional team or something.

A lot of good players are falling through the cracks in the US

Loss for the US ...gain for TnT
He was recommended to the Region III staff and did well to make the region team, from there he went to National camp and later was invited to the residency program at the same time as Shaq Moore, he just chose to play for T&T. Seeing T&T in Germany 2006 had a tremendous impact on many fans around the world. It's a shame that all that momentum just went down the toilet.
Post by: CK1 on May 10, 2013, 02:37:15 PM

Perhaps got a few pointers from his parents, however, this is an exceptional young man with excellent intellect and attitude. A young professional in the making. He's Ivy League eligible academically too!
Post by: Cocorite on May 10, 2013, 03:30:09 PM

Regards.

:thumbsup:
Post by: Cocorite on May 10, 2013, 03:33:04 PM

Perhaps got a few pointers from his parents, however, this is an exceptional young man with excellent intellect and attitude. A young professional in the making. He's Ivy League eligible academically too!

Wow! Very good for him and the family. Didn't know. Thanks  :salute:
Post by: Sando on May 11, 2013, 05:20:48 AM
Does anyone have a clip with the both goals he scored ?

Post by: CK1 on May 11, 2013, 07:20:46 AM

Regards.

Flex: this is another outstanding piece of journalism. I'm very impressed with the introduction and the specific questions you ask, it really helps to frame the opportunity for the fans to learn a bit more about the player. Keep up the excellent work.
Post by: Sando on May 11, 2013, 07:56:50 AM
I've heard that it was Andre senior who was the one who got Keon to sign for Philly ?

Post by: Star Child on May 11, 2013, 05:27:14 PM
I liked what I saw in this kid.

Good luck to him. He has the right attitude.

I hope to see him on the T&T Under 20 team.

Both him and Johan Welch are two good find for T&T.

They both should argue well for T&T in the future.

Post by: Sam on May 12, 2013, 08:54:37 AM
Fortune goal was ah BOSS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

De youth have good technique.

Costa Rica

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RElwW7AreUo

Panama

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CE7EvCiyGFA

Post by: amwood on May 12, 2013, 04:22:30 PM
He is in an excellent setup in CASL, they always produce very good players..
Post by: CK1 on May 12, 2013, 05:44:29 PM
He is in an excellent setup in CASL, they always produce very good players..
Sorry to say, but CASL had nothing to do with this player's development or football journey, this is the first season that he is playing with them. He previously played with the Academy program in Greensboro which is a 2 hour drive from his home. I didn't see any of CASL players in the US U - 17 team either...CASL is way overrated in the area of player development, (IMO) they could recruit players to put some decent teams on the field, but they not developing any players themselves!
Post by: amwood on May 12, 2013, 09:29:55 PM
In my experience having been involved in many encounters with CASL, they traditionally put forth very good teams. I don't know this kids history, I'm just going on the info stated in the piece. Also in any given year, there are always CASL players represented in the US teams, they send allot of players to very big Div 1 programs - the current coach of UNC Chapel Hill is a coach at CASL. I rate their set up, that said there are other very good club in NC as well. Sounds like you have a little beef with the CASL organization.
Post by: CK1 on May 13, 2013, 08:49:17 AM
In my experience having been involved in many encounters with CASL, they traditionally put forth very good teams. I don't know this kids history, I'm just going on the info stated in the piece. Also in any given year, there are always CASL players represented in the US teams, they send allot of players to very big Div 1 programs - the current coach of UNC Chapel Hill is a coach at CASL. I rate their set up, that said there are other very good club in NC as well. Sounds like you have a little beef with the CASL organization.
I'm not sure why you got the idea that I have some kind of beef with their organization. I have a good rapport with many of their staff, even the CEO. I look at football development with a microscopic lens and have my opinion on what I am seeing. In fact, what I see you doing in some of your videos is more development that most of those guys attempt to do. I come across many of these guys in my work and challenge them with hard questions about things they do or say they are doing in the interest of developing players...you would be very suprised to hear some of the answers or non answers (that's not just CASL either).
I hope that you are not using "very Big D I college programs" as your a standard for development; if a player from any part of the world could run 100 mph around the field all game, they could play in any of those programs; why you think you don't see as many players with abilities like yours playing in those programs anymore? The Chapel Hill coach is only there for 2 purposes...(1) to recruit people who could galavant up and down the field & (2) to create an illusion for parents and players that CASL has something good going on. There is no individual player development happening there only recruiting to build teams...not players. I have more insight on these things than "any beef"with them.
I'm watching your work closely too and listening/reading what you are saying (hope you don't mind being under the microscope, because accountability is important for proper development to take place)...keep up the good work you have started and please don't jump to any conclusions that I am looking for any "beef" with you or anyone else; that's not my style  nor interest in posting any responses or opinions on this topic or any other topic that I carefully choose to respond to. Respect!
Post by: Flex on May 13, 2013, 08:55:46 AM

Off course his parents PROBABLY helped in a way, I would do the same for my kid just to make sure it rightly and respectfully done.

Andre Jr. Answered all the questions by himself, his father just double check it.

Post by: asylumseeker on May 13, 2013, 09:01:25 AM
Yeah, CASL is sort of a facade. The organization is huge (arguably too huge?). I have to agree with CK1.

I think CASL as it was growing did very accomplished things, but today the organization seems more opportunistic than rooted in coherent development principles. The attempt at growing other clubs in the neighborhood seems to be a response/recognition of CASL's issues. I don't know the situation intimately, but the couple CASL coaches I'm aware of seem to be feeding at the trough while embarking on their own developmental ventures.

Nonetheless, the association with Chelsea turns heads and attracts parents.
Post by: Bakes on May 13, 2013, 11:07:25 AM

Off course his parents PROBABLY helped in a way, I would do the same for my kid just to make sure it rightly and respectfully done.

Andre Jr. Answered all the questions by himself, his father just double check it.

Agree with that strategy too... good job by the parents raising such an obviously intelligent young man.  Great goal against Pana too  :beermug:
Post by: KND2 on May 13, 2013, 12:23:33 PM
If he is on the US radar and had a chance to play for the US then he should use that opportunity, It will be better for his development.
More consitient competition and better structure for the program

honestly TnT youth program is not good at talent development and worse yet he is not living in trinidad so all he is doing is getting together for youth tournaments and games.

if he is not getting a look in for the USA and wants to play for TnT then that is a different story because it will bring him some exposure.

Facts is facts

he born and bread in the US and plays in the US football system.

All he really did was fill a huge gap in our football development.
Without fortune and the GK both US players the performance of the U17 team would go from decent to poor.
So all they are doing is hiding the weaknesses in the program that they are trying to help.

in the GK case I can understand since he did not make the US team.

But if this youth was in line to play for the US he should have stay there in the long run in would have gotten better training and exposure and would end up being a better player.

Once he gets to be an adult if he wants to play for his "Love" trinidad then by all means you done big already.

But at youth level development comes first.

if he were my kid I would advise him otherwise.

Post by: amwood on May 13, 2013, 01:43:37 PM
I'm not sure why you got the idea that I have some kind of beef with their organization. I have a good rapport with many of their staff, even the CEO. I look at football development with a microscopic lens and have my opinion on what I am seeing. In fact, what I see you doing in some of your videos is more development that most of those guys attempt to do. I come across many of these guys in my work and challenge them with hard questions about things they do or say they are doing in the interest of developing players...you would be very suprised to hear some of the answers or non answers (that's not just CASL either).
I hope that you are not using "very Big D I college programs" as your a standard for development; if a player from any part of the world could run 100 mph around the field all game, they could play in any of those programs; why you think you don't see as many players with abilities like yours playing in those programs anymore? The Chapel Hill coach is only there for 2 purposes...(1) to recruit people who could galavant up and down the field & (2) to create an illusion for parents and players that CASL has something good going on. There is no individual player development happening there only recruiting to build teams...not players. I have more insight on these things than "any beef"with them.
I'm watching your work closely too and listening/reading what you are saying (hope you don't mind being under the microscope, because accountability is important for proper development to take place)...keep up the good work you have started and please don't jump to any conclusions that I am looking for any "beef" with you or anyone else; that's not my style  nor interest in posting any responses or opinions on this topic or any other topic that I carefully choose to respond to. Respect!

Well I appreciate the feedback man. I don't really know the inner workings of the Casl organization, I'm just referring to the fact that as a club they have always been an organization that is well respected thorough out the US, what they do internally I couldn't really comment on to be honest. It's a mere observation as an outsider. Also I agree with you on many fronts as it relates to the big DIV 1 programs...totally.  That said as someone who has coached in the "travel soccer" set up for the past 15 years my objective has always been to get kids to these Big div 1 programs. It is the aspiration of all of our kids to attend these school - thus my success as a coach was based on my ability to get kids at these programs. That was my job as determined by my employers and that meant getting these kids into these programs whether or not I agreed with the football philosophy at UVA or UNC etc. Parents essentially enrolled their kids in any given program because they feel there is a greater chance for success at one organization as opposed to another - players fees essentially allow clubs to exist and grow, so it's all performance based. The mentality is that this club has sent allot of kids to "big programs" thus this is where we will spend our money. It's the business of youth soccer in America. Again I appreciate the feedback about the academy. The views that I am expressing are based on that of an outsider. You obviously have more insight into the CASL organization. Bless!

Post by: Trini _2026 on August 24, 2014, 09:35:23 AM
Is he part of the under 20 squad
Post by: Tallman on August 24, 2014, 09:57:12 AM
Is he part of the under 20 squad

Yes.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 19, 2016, 08:10:29 PM
with Rochester Rhinos  now
http://www.uslsoccer.com/roster_players/11680856
Post by: Sando on September 22, 2016, 07:41:55 AM
Wonder how he's doing at Rhinos?

He was a decent player for us.

Post by: Tallman on September 22, 2016, 08:30:10 AM
Wonder how he's doing at Rhinos?

He was a decent player for us.

A bit-part player this season. Only started one league game.
Title: North Carolina FC adds depth to roster with signing of Andre Fortune
Post by: Tallman on March 17, 2017, 03:25:55 PM
North Carolina FC adds depth to roster with signing of Andre Fortune
northcarolinafc.com

North Carolina FC has announced the signing of midfielders Dre Fortune and Lance Laing. As per club policy, terms of the contracts were not disclosed.

Fortune is a local product and former Capital Area RailHawks Development Academy standout. He is the first former Academy player in the organization’s history to sign a professional contract with the club.

“We’re happy to have a young, local kid as our first Academy player to sign a pro contract,” said Head Coach Colin Clarke. “He’s a very good player technically, and he’s someone we feel is going to help our team a lot this year.”

The 20-year-old Raleigh native spent last season with the United Soccer League’s Rochester Rhinos, where he played in nine games. He played with Servette FC in Switzerland prior.

Fortune has international experience as well, having played with the U17 and U20 Trinidad & Tobago National Teams, and the U.S. U15 National Team.

“I’m excited to be with the team,” Fortune said. “I grew up in the area and played for the Academy team, so signing a professional contract is a really big accomplishment for me. I’m ready for a good season.”

Laing is a dependable veteran NASL midfielder who was the first player to be named to the NASL’s Best XI three times.

“Lance is a player who has been very good in our League over the last few years and he’s someone who we’ve been interested in getting here for quite some time,” Clarke said. “He’s an experienced, very athletic left-sided player who has great ability on set plays, and who is a leader that is going to bring a lot to the team.”

The 29-year-old Jamaica native began his career in Jamaica, playing for Harbour View and Village United of the Jamaican National Premier League, before signing with the Fort Lauderdale Strikers as a defender for the 2011 and 2012 seasons.

Laing next played for FC Edmonton from 2013-2015, where he made a switch from defender to midfielder, and scored 16 goals in 71 appearances. He led the Eddies in goals and assists in 2014, with seven and six respectively.

Laing spent last season with Minnesota United FC. Overall, he has made 128 NASL appearances with 19 goals and 16 assists.

Like Fortune, Laing also has international experience, as he has made seven appearances for the Jamaican national team since 2008, including the 2015 Copa America and 2015 Gold Cup.

“I’m really happy to be here, and I’m pumped up about what this organization is doing,” Laing said. “The group has been brilliant so far, one of the very best I’ve ever been a part of, and I’m grateful to be a part of this team. I’m excited to be a part of it all, and I’m looking forward to seeing the fans out there this season.”

Fortune, Laing and the club will begin the 2017 NASL campaign on March 25 against Miami FC at 7:30 p.m. North Carolina FC season tickets are now on sale. Fans interested in more information about membership should visit www.NorthCarolinaFC.com or call the NCFC Box Office at 919-459-8144.

Current North Carolina FC Roster:

Goalkeepers (3): Brian Sylvestre, Macklin Robinson, Matias Reynares

Defenders (6): Christian Ibeagha, Connor Tobin, Steven Miller, Kareem Moses, Paul Black, James Marcelin

Midfielders (10): Tiyi Shipalane, Nazmi Albadawi, Austin da Luz, Marcel Kandziora, Alex Molano, Bolu Akinyode, Jonathon Orlando, Saeed Robinson, Lance Laing, Dre Fortune

Forwards (3): Matt Fondy, Brian Shriver, Billy Schuler
Post by: Tallman on August 16, 2017, 10:56:57 AM
WATCH: Andre Fortune scores his first goal of the season in North Carolina FC’s 2-1 loss to FC Edmonton

https://www.youtube.com/v/NyqT1B0WPl8?start=18

WATCH: Andre Fortune scores his second goal of the season in North Carolina FC’s 2-2 draw with Jacksonville Armada

https://www.youtube.com/v/3FMgmX6KYFM?start=113
Post by: Sam on August 17, 2017, 05:01:14 AM
This is one youth I always admire.

We cant forget him.

Title: Fortune selected to the NASL Team of the Week
Post by: Tallman on August 17, 2017, 04:14:33 PM
Fortune selected to the NASL Team of the Week
northcarolinafc.com

After an impressive performance in the team’s 2-2 draw against Jacksonville Armada FC, Dre Fortune has landed on the NASL Team of the Week for Week 3 of the NASL Fall Season.

Fortune, who has emerged as one of the league’s top young talents, scored once and helped set up the game-tying goal. In addition to the offense to help the team level the match, the young midfielder logged 90 minutes on the pitch while completing 35-out-of-38 passes.

The Raleigh native has scored twice this season and made eight appearances. The Team of the Week selection marks his first of the season.

(http://nasl.ezitsolutions.com/teamuploads/ncfc/images/DHTM1xmXsAE8pJi.jpg)
Post by: Tallman on August 23, 2017, 11:36:40 AM
Dre Fortune, midfielder, North Carolina FC – Still just 21 years old, Dre Fortune had to do the same thing as a lot of other players his age - wait his turn. The Raleigh native, who represents Trinidad and Tobago at the youth international level, scored in his first NASL start on July 7, giving the North Carolina coaching staff a taste of what he can do at this level. Since then, the youngster has featured in all five of North Carolina’s games, starting the last three. He added his second goal of the campaign on August 12 in a 2-2 draw against Jacksonville. For a player who only saw action in five Spring Season games, Fortune is one to watch down the stretch.

http://www.nasl.com/news/2017/08/23/emerging-stars--meet-10-players-who-have-kicked-it-up-a-notch-in-the-fall-season
Post by: Tallman on October 01, 2017, 08:05:25 PM
WATCH: Andre Fortune’s free-kick caps off the scoring in North Carolina FC’s 5-0 win over Indy Eleven

https://www.youtube.com/v/nT-SNKE807U?start=240
Post by: Tallman on October 16, 2017, 07:49:50 PM
VOTE for North Carolina FC’s Dre Fortune for the 2017 NASL Young Player of the Year award (http://www.nasl.com/news/2017/10/16/vote--2017-nasl-young-player-of-the-year)
Title: North Carolina FC re-signs Dre Fortune
Post by: Tallman on January 30, 2018, 06:46:13 PM
North Carolina FC re-signs Dre Fortune
By NCFC Communications

Dre Fortune and Nelson Blanco have re-signed with North Carolina FC for the upcoming 2018 USL season, adding quality and depth to a developing roster. The moves are pending league and federation approval.

The midfield duo returns for their second season with the club and will look to continue their successful play that helped lead North Carolina FC to the postseason in 2017.

“We’re very excited to have Dre back with us this year," said NCFC Head Coach Colin Clarke. “He had a good breakout year with us last season. He’s a good kid with a lot of potential and he can accomplish big things. He has a bright future in the game and will go a very long way.”

“Nelson is a young kid that we brought in last year. He can play wide. He’s got pace and good one-on-one ability. It’s an important year for him to step up, get minutes on the field and contribute to the team. I think he’s another exciting young talent.”

In 2017, Fortune worked his way into a starting role in the midfield and played over 1,300 minutes across all competitions. The Raleigh native tallied three goals and added three assists during the season. In addition to Fortune’s midfield prowess, the talent is also known for his accuracy on free kicks and set pieces, which will bring an added element to NCFC’s attack.

“This is another big year for the club, particularly with the transition to the USL and I’m happy to be a part of it,” said Fortune. “We’ll be looking to establish ourselves as a dominant force in the league and hopefully go on to win the title.”

Fortune is part of a thriving pipeline between the senior team and NCFC Youth Academy. The midfielder became the first ever Academy prospect to sign a professional contract with the club in 2017. The Raleigh native is one of three players currently on the roster that have also starred with the Academy, joining D.J. Taylor and George Marks.
Post by: Tallman on June 08, 2019, 09:03:22 PM
WATCH: Andre Fortune with the brace to lead North Carolina FC to a 3-1 win over Tampa Bay Rowdies

https://www.youtube.com/v/L7pjJdQ10Mc
Post by: Tallman on June 12, 2019, 09:40:40 AM
North Carolina FC's Dre Fortune voted USL Championship Player of the Week
NCFC Communications

North Carolina FC midfielder Dre Fortune has been voted the USL Championship Player of the Week for Week 14 of the 2019 season. Fortune scored a pair of goals as NCFC took a 3-1 victory on the road against the Tampa Bay Rowdies on Saturday night, handing the Eastern Conference-leading Rowdies their first regular-season loss of 2019.

Fortune received 35 percent of the poll conducted by a national panel of independent media representing every USL Championship market. Phoenix Rising FC’s Junior Flemmings and Sacramento Republic FC’s Cameron Iwasa finished tied for second on 24 percent after each notching a pair of goals in their respective club’s victories this past weekend.

A Raleigh native, Fortune is the first former NCFC Academy player to sign a professional contract with the senior team. The 22-year-old midfielder is currently in his fourth professional season and his third with NCFC, having debuted for the club in 2017.
Post by: Deeks on June 13, 2019, 01:09:48 AM
All these youths should be the U-23 team for Olympic qualifying.
Post by: Tallman on June 15, 2019, 08:19:38 PM
WATCH: Dre Fortune scores his third goal in two games during North Carolina FC's 2-0 win over Swope Park Rangers

https://www.youtube.com/v/bYZTTB_VFvg?start=48
Post by: Tallman on August 04, 2019, 06:31:19 AM
WATCH: Andre Fortune curls one into the top right corner from outside the box during North Carolina FC's 2-1 loss to Indy Eleven.

https://www.youtube.com/v/cRmxlrwJl88?start=91
Post by: Tallman on August 17, 2019, 09:09:01 PM
WATCH: Dre Fortune gives a Man of the Match performance with a brace and an assist in North Carolina FC's 5-0 drubbing of Pittsburgh Riverhounds.

https://www.youtube.com/v/HIUSVItQ6FA?start=40
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 18, 2019, 02:46:32 AM
Dre could be scoring till september and still would get  no call up
Post by: Tallman on August 20, 2019, 12:41:26 PM
North Carolina FC midfielder Dre Fortune named USL Championship Player of the Week
NCFC Communications

North Carolina FC midfielder and Raleigh native Dre Fortune has been voted the USL Championship Player of the Week for Week 24 of the 2019 season. Fortune recorded two goals and one assist, and completed 64 of 67 passes overall in NCFC’s 5-0 victory against Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC Saturday night at Sahlen’s Stadium at WakeMed Soccer Park.

An NCFC Youth Academy product, the 23-year-old Fortune has six goals on the season. Fortune is one of only two players to be named USL Championship POTW twice this season.

Fortune received 45 percent of the poll conducted by a national panel of independent media representing every USL Championship market. New Sacramento Republic FC acquisition Thomas Enevoldsen finished second on 25 percent after recording two goals on his debut for the club in its victory against Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC.
Post by: soccerman on August 20, 2019, 01:11:41 PM
A next player who's been doing well and deserves recognition.
Post by: Tallman on August 21, 2019, 08:45:01 PM
WATCH: Dre Fortune leads off the scoring in North Carolina FC's 4-2 win over Tampa Bay Rowdies

https://www.youtube.com/v/ZpMKdQ9CObo?start=15
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 22, 2019, 07:36:35 AM
rajitsingh , Noah powder , leland archer , shannon gomez , andre fortune panos nahkid ... nick deleon recall john bostock  give the national  team a face lift recruit two players   rebuild the national team ....
Post by: Tallman on September 05, 2019, 07:06:01 AM
WATCH: Midfielder Dre Fortune reacts to his first call-up to the Trinidad and Tobago Men's Senior Team

https://www.youtube.com/v/Wvr8DFwby8s
Title: Re: Andre Fortune Thread
Post by: Tallman on October 24, 2019, 07:02:51 AM
WATCH: Dre Fortune with another trademark goal from distance during North Carolina FC's 3-2 loss to Birmingham Legion FC

https://www.youtube.com/v/-r9Rrb76eFI?start=63
Post by: maxg on October 24, 2019, 10:05:10 AM
This is the same Fortune who barely getting run with our team, nice technique. Must be the only outstanding play he ever do. Maybe DL starters might be able to run rampant in this league if those teams wanted them.  ::)
Post by: Tallman on October 24, 2019, 11:06:06 AM
This is the same Fortune who barely getting run with our team, nice technique. Must be the only outstanding play he ever do. Maybe DL starters might be able to run rampant in this league if those teams wanted them.  ::)

And Fortune been scoring goals like dat since at de youth level with T&T.
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 24, 2019, 11:58:46 AM
WATCH: Dre Fortune with another trademark goal from distance during North Carolina FC's 3-2 loss to Birmingham Legion FC

this guy get call up only get around 10 mins in 4 games ... nice goal
Post by: pull stones on October 24, 2019, 05:07:28 PM

this guy get call up only get around 10 mins in 4 games ... nice goal
you sound puzzled? this kind of insane behavior from dennis lawrence is quite normal. he benches one of our main goal scoring contributors (jovin jones) he refuses to play a highly accredited goal keeper who won the golden gloves twice in the USL including the USL league cup who now p,as in the MLS. not only did he have a chance to cap him vs guyana in the gold cup but he refuses to play him in friendlies.

he sits neval hackshaw on the bench while he insist on leston paul a bloke who never made a pass that resulted in a goal, this player is pure dead wood he has no speed no skill going forward and is yet to score a goal yet played almost every game under dennis lawrence, I hope he enjoys because his and dennis’s days are numbered.

and there are other players like Curtis gonzales, Sean da silver, Jonathan Glenn, ball pest, trevin ceasar, Noah powder, rondel Winchester and abu bakar who don’t ever get a call up from dennis, though he claims that Winchester has domestic problems, so I’m definitely not surprised that he leaves Judah garcia and Andre fortune on the bench. dennis lawrence is a very stubborn mule headed coach.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 19, 2020, 05:34:45 AM
I see dre is at NYCFC trial i suppose

https://www.youtube.com/v/B_sCqxPAB7I
Title: Re: Re: Andre Fortune Thread
Post by: Tallman on January 19, 2020, 08:07:20 AM
I see dre is at NYCFC trial i suppose

Yes he is on trial. He is on the pre-season roster.
Post by: Trini Madness on February 06, 2020, 08:37:54 PM
Any word on how his trial is going?
Title: North Carolina FC secures return of midfielder Dre Fortune
Post by: Tallman on February 28, 2020, 02:20:20 PM
North Carolina FC secures return of midfielder Dre Fortune
By NCFC Communications

In a move that brings back one of its most promising young players, North Carolina FC has signed midfielder and Raleigh native Dre Fortune to a contract ahead of the 2020 USL Championship season, the club announced on Friday. The transaction is pending league and federation approval, and no further details were disclosed, per club policy.

Fortune, 23, is entering his fourth consecutive season with NCFC and is coming off a 2019 campaign that saw the Trinidad & Tobago international notch nine goals and two assists in 29 matches across all competitions.

“For us as a club, to have Dre back and to continue where we left off is important,” NCFC head coach Dave Sarachan said. “He became a guy that was capable of creating goals, both as a goalscorer and also by setting up his teammates. Having him back again, his starting point will be that much further, and I think he’s going to be a guy who can continue to increase his production.”

A product of the NCFC Youth Academy, Fortune had a career year in 2019, setting personal highs in games (29), minutes played (2,179) and goals (nine). A crafty midfielder with an attacking flair, Fortune twice earned USL Championship Player of the Week honors last season, as he scored twice in a Week 14 win at previously unbeaten Tampa Bay and recorded a two-goal, one-assist performance in a Week 24 victory against Pittsburgh.

Fortune’s excellent form throughout the 2019 season led to Trinidad & Tobago naming him to its senior squad for the first time in September. In November, Fortune made his senior international debut against Ecuador.

After developing in the NCFC Youth Academy, Fortune began his professional career with the Rochester Rhinos in 2016 before returning to his hometown club in 2017. In three seasons with NCFC, Fortune has recorded 13 goals and seven assists in 70 matches.

With Fortune added, NCFC’s roster includes: goalkeepers Alex Tambakis, Trace Alphin and Paulo Pita; defenders Caleb Duvernay, Sam Brotherton, Conor Donovan, Alex Comsia, DJ Taylor, Akeem Ward, Adam Armour and Malick Mbaye; midfielders Ben Speas, Nazmi Albadawi, Steven Miller, Graham Smith, Pecka, Manny Perez, Luke Hille and Dre Fortune; and forwards Robert Kristo, Hadji Barry and Daniele Proch.

NCFC opens its 2020 USL Championship regular season at home on March 7 at 2:30 p.m. against Louisville City FC at Sahlen’s Stadium at WakeMed Soccer Park.
Post by: Flex on July 18, 2020, 02:57:57 PM
T&T's Fortune inspires North Carolina fightback.
By Nigel Simon (Guardian).

USA-born T&T midfielder Andre Fortune was among the goals as his North Carolina FC rallied from 0-2 down to earn a 2-2 draw with FC Tampa Bay Rowdies in the United Soccer League (USL) Championship Division at Al Lang Stadium, Progress Energy Park, St Petersburg, Florida on Friday night.

North Carolina had the first real look in the fifth minute when Robbie Kristo dragged a shot across the face of goal and just wide of the right post.

Two minutes later, however, the Rowdies opened the scoring as Leo Fernandes kept a play alive on the left side after a low cross by Sebastian Guenzatti, and Fernandes’ return ball across the six-yard area found Guenzatti, who fired home from a narrow angle into the left corner.

The visitors had a chance to reply when they kept the play alive after a free-kick was half-cleared to Pecka, who fired through a crowd in the penalty area from 25 yards, only for Rowdies goalkeeper Evan Louro to hold onto the effort in the slick conditions.

Tampa Bay doubled its lead in the 22nd minute, and Fernandes was in the middle of the play again.

After the side was awarded a kick just outside the top-right corner of the penalty area, the Brazilian curled a left-footed delivery that eluded everyone and found the left corner of the net. North Carolina thought it had pulled a goal back eight minutes later, but Kristo was ruled offside as he turned home a cross.

North Carolina threatened again early in the second half and Louro had to be sharp to keep out a low shot from Ben Speas six minutes after the break.

The Rowdies goalkeeper had little chance to keep out 24-year-old Fortune’s shot in the 56th minute when an errant pass by Lucky Mkosana after a corner kick came to the midfielder, and his first-time shot powered into the left corner.

The visitors continued to pressure throughout the second half, and with seven minutes to go, it paid off.

A short passing movement on the right side allowed a chance for DJ Taylor to deliver a deep cross, and Kristo rose above his marker and sent a header back into the right corner of the net to level the score, earning his side a point.

Also on Friday night, Cordell Cato picked up a 36th-minute yellow card in Oklahoma City Energy FC's 3-1 spanking of Austin Bold FC.

Saturday (July 18), Noah Powder and reigning champions Real Monarchs, who suffered 1-0 loss to San Diego Loyal, were scheduled to battle Colorado Springs Switchbacks while national defender Neveal Hackshaw will be keen to add to his winning strike versus Saint Louis FC as Indy Eleven faces Sporting Kansas City II, and the trio of Leston Paul, Triston Hodge and Duane Muckette and Memphis 901 FC travel to Atlanta United II.

Leland Archer and Kierron Mason will be the last T&T players to see action in the opening week when their Charleston Battery battles Birmingham Legion FC on Sunday (July 19) while Shannon Gomez’ Sacramento Republic meets Reno 1868 FC.

Overall, 11 T&T international footballers will feature in the league’s revised schedule for the 2020 USL Championship season.

Post by: Tallman on August 02, 2020, 05:54:22 PM
WATCH: Andre Fortune pounces on a defensive error to begin North Carolina FC's the come-from-behind 2-2 draw with Tampa Bay Rowdies

https://www.youtube.com/v/qkykYR8b6S8?start=108
Post by: Tallman on August 02, 2020, 05:54:46 PM
WATCH: Dre Fortune drills a shot into the bottom right corner of the net to give North Carolina FC a 1-0 win over Birmingham Legion FC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/DwODKO04a2U?start=78
Post by: Tallman on September 03, 2020, 11:07:23 AM
WATCH: Dre Fortune earns and scores a penalty to give North Carolina FC a 2-1 win over Birmingham Legion FC, thereby breaking a three-game losing streak.

https://www.youtube.com/v/gQY0Kxhb608?start=54
Post by: Tallman on September 05, 2020, 10:22:37 PM
WATCH: Dre Fortune scores his team-leading fourth goal of the season in North Carolina FC's 3-1 loss to Charlotte Independence

https://www.youtube.com/v/0XQxA6mbsyU?start=133
Post by: Peong on September 10, 2020, 06:41:31 PM
3 trinis on the field in the USL game NC vs Memphis. Dre Fortune, Muckette and Leston Paul
Post by: Tallman on September 11, 2020, 07:04:57 AM
3 trinis on the field in the USL game NC vs Memphis. Dre Fortune, Muckette and Leston Paul

But only Fortune started.
Post by: Tallman on September 27, 2020, 11:05:16 AM
WATCH: Dre Fortune's well placed penalty turns out to be the game-winner in North Carolina FC's 2-1 win over Birmingham Legion

https://www.youtube.com/v/mAEIVAd8PzY?start=85
Post by: Tallman on September 30, 2020, 07:00:19 PM
WATCH: Dre Fortune earns and scores a penalty in North Carolina FC's 3-0 win over New York Red Bulls II. This is Fortune's 3rd successful penalty of the season and sixth goal overall.

https://www.youtube.com/v/pggaDC3k1mU?start=22
Post by: Tallman on October 07, 2020, 12:15:21 PM
Dre Fortune named North Carolina FCs' Offensive Player of the Year

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EjunsfnXkAAYLL1?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: Tallman on October 07, 2020, 04:12:01 PM
North Carolina FC's Youth to Pro pipeline comes to light as Dre Fortune highlights 2020 NCFC team awards as Most Valuable Player
By Morgan Birkedal (northcarolinafc.com)

The North Carolina Football Club has announced the winners of the 2020 NCFC Team Awards. The Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Most Valuable Player, and Leadership Award are all voted on by the NCFC players. The Community Service Award recipient is selected based on community initiatives completed and the Select PT Comeback Player of the Year is selected by the team athletic trainer.

Dre Fortune was selected by his teammates as the Offensive Player of the Year and the Most Valuable Player. Fortune has continued to grow and evolve as a player since 2017 where he became the first North Carolina FC Youth academy player to sign a contract with the first team. This season he led NCFC in scoring with six goals, which was equal to 35% of the team’s total goals. The midfielder had a 100% conversion rate on penalty kicks, scoring three of his goals from the mark.

“It is an honor to be named the team Offensive Player of the Year and the team MVP,” said Fortune. “This club means a lot to me as it has provided the platform for me to grow into the player I am today. In a year of many ups and downs, a tremendous amount of credit goes to the support of my family, the fans, my teammates, and the staff. Thank you to everyone whose hard work went into making the 2020 season a safe possibility for us.”

Fortune had 19 shots throughout 14 matches and 971 minutes. His distribution was also key to North Carolina FC’s game plan as he was second behind teammate Ben Speas in chances created. He touted an 89.4% overall passing accuracy over 568 passes. In his own half, Fortune had an astonishing 96.8% passing accuracy, leading the team. This is Fortune’s first time winning Offensive Player of the Year and MVP.

Conor Donovan was awarded the Defensive Player of the Year in his first season with North Carolina FC since his days as a North Carolina FC Youth Academy player. Donovan started and played every minute of the 14 games played after the USL restart in July. The center back led the North Carolina FC backline and also caused havoc on set pieces. He scored his first goal for NCFC on a corner kick header against Memphis 901 on September 13.

Donovan had a team-high in nearly every defensive category including passes (894), clearances (47), blocks (13), aerial duels (65), and aerial duels won (41).

Nazmi Albadawi was given the Leadership Award in his third season captaining North Carolina FC. The midfielder leads both on and off the field as one of the club’s all-time greats. On the field, Albadawi moved up the ranks in the all-time record books in games started and minutes played in 2020. He ranks fourth in club history with 27 goals and continues to be the all-time assist leader for North Carolina FC. He made his 150th appearance with the club on

For his recovery from a nerve contusion in his foot in July, Albadawi was named the Select PT Comeback Player of the Year. After sitting out two matches due to the contusion, the team captain returned to the pitch better than ever. Both of Albadawi’s goals in 2020 came after his recovery. The Select PT staff and athletic trainers were there with #10 through his entire recovery process to ensure his safe return to the game.

A true homegrown player that has been with the North Carolina Football Club for nearly the entirety of his career, Albadawi’s leadership in the community showed as he did numerous virtual appearances with youth players during the break in soccer due to the pandemic. He also exemplifies leadership as he is a member of the North Carolina Football Club’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Task Force. This is Albadawi’s first Leadership Award with the club. The midfielder was named the Offensive Player of the Year in 2017 and team MVP and Offensive Player of the Year for the Carolina RailHawks in 2016.

Graham Smith was named the recipient of the Community Service Award for 2020. Smith kickstarted a campaign where he and his teammates sent videos of themselves reading children’s books to local non-profit Read and Feed. The books chosen included stories of diversity and inclusion that were sent to children who may not have the resources to read at home. Smith also participated in Sponsor To-Go Week in April by visiting local restaurant partners who were in need during the difficult first months of the pandemic. The North Carolina Football Club is proud to present the award to Smith for his contribution to the club’s community-driven initiatives.
Post by: maxg on October 07, 2020, 04:16:37 PM
 :applause: :applause: :applause: :chilling:  These Corona days was scruntin for a postive to drink one, especially with Levi going down and Kevin just back. Well done Young man.
Title: Andre Fortune II is the next breakout star in football
Post by: Tallman on November 24, 2020, 08:26:06 PM
Andre Fortune II is the next breakout star in football
The Peach Review

One of the most underrated positions in football is the central midfielder. Whether attacking or defending, a solid midfield can make the difference wherever you’re lacking.

For example, the unsung hero of Atlanta United was Darlington Nagbe. As you’re reading this you might be thinking, “What is this guy talking about?” “Where are his goals? His assists?” Nagbe recorded the type of stats that would require a deeper dive into numbers than your basic goals and assists. The tandem of Darlington Nagbe and Eric Remedi was so effective that teams would face Atlanta and strictly attack on the wings because the middle was locked down. When you have a solid defensive midfield, it can cause chaos for your opponent.

On the other hand, a solid attacking midfield will be successful at creating chances, launching successful counterattacks, and scoring goals. The likes of Kevin De Bruyne, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Thomas Müller are just a few global superstars that are known for their attacking style of play in the midfield. But there’s a name you should know stateside that’s been garnering attention as well. A young man out of North Carolina that’s on the verge of becoming a breakout star. An attacking midfielder with flair, technical ability, and confidence. That name my friends, is Andre Fortune II.

Known simply as “Dre”, Fortune was destined to be a baller. “When I was raised I had a ball at my feet,” he said smiling. That’s another thing he does often outside of megging opponents and nailing bangers outside the 18. “Yea… I smile a lot, hahaha.”

A smile is a reflection of happiness and the beautiful game is what makes him happy. So it’s no wonder his style of play is influenced by one of the game’s best, Ronaldinho. “I’ve always appreciated his ability to do what he wanted on the field and enjoy every test he had,” he said. He gave nods to Iniesta, De Bruyne, and Paul Pogba as well, but the man who directly influenced him the most was his father. “I’ve trained all my life with my dad so I think he’s had the most influence directly. I’m a pretty technical player and that comes from us working years on the technical side.”

His father, Andre Fortune, has been heavily involved with the game since Dre was a child. Having coached and played himself, it was only natural that his son would have a desire to play. “I’ve always enjoyed watching and being a part of it,” Dre said. “It was natural for us to have that kind of bond.”

That desire for footy-immersion and his zest for the sport earned him opportunities at clubs like FC Barcelona and Manchester City. Having those opportunities from ages 11 to 15, plus his dad constantly by his side, it shouldn’t be any surprise that he’s currently a force to be reckoned with at age 24.

As difficult as it is to get a club’s attention, Dre continuously received opportunities to show his skills on the big stage in Europe. He’s been that good and clubs knew it, but unfortunately, the not-so flowery side of the game reared its head repeatedly. At Vitória FC in Portugal, the intermediary withheld crucial info that could’ve landed him a contract with the club. With AGF Aarhus in Denmark, he was offered a contract, but, the club went bankrupt before he could make a move. Even with Servette FC in Switzerland, things were looking up while he was on trial, and even had the coach in his corner supporting him. But every American footballers nightmare, the “work visa”, reared its ugly head and relinquished any chance of playing in Switzerland at the time. You’d think three consecutive let downs would kill a kid’s aspirations and dreams, but it was just the opposite. “Another invaluable experience that I enjoyed. It’s unfortunate, but you try to learn from it and keep going.” A class act all the way.

With things not going as planned overseas, he weighed his options back in the U.S., and boy, did he have options. “College? I looked into that,” he said smiling. “With all the opportunities in front of me it was a tough choice (going to college or going pro). I was talking to a few schools at the time but Princeton was the one that stood out.”

The box-to-box midfielder was called up by his national team not too long ago. Although he was involved with U.S. Soccer at the U-15 level, he spent U-17 and U-20 with Trinidad & Tobago, so it made sense to continue with them if the opportunity came about. “I’m still searching for words to describe that,” he said smiling. “There’s a lot of pride involved in that, representing your country. It’s a moment I’ll always remember and cherish.” The island nation has been keeping track of this rising star for his consistent performances with his club North Carolina FC.

As the graphic boasts, he earned not only Offensive Player of the Year honors, but the Most Valuable Player on top of that. In 2017, he was the first North Carolina FC Youth academy player to sign a contract with the first team, so this year’s honors are a big deal for both him and the club. His 100% conversion rate on penalty kicks, eight goals, and team-high 94.1% passing accuracy (with 1,000+ passes) capped off a spectacular season.

What’s most impressive about Fortune, even more-so than his eye-popping statistics, is his attitude. In sports as a whole, it’s not very often you can describe a player as “unselfish” or “class”, but it’s very easy to describe Andre as a “class act” without hesitation. “I have a certain confidence about me and – I don’t think its cocky, I do think it’s confidence – that I’ve been able to showcase myself in certain ways. I’ve always been spoken to about humility and I really take that seriously,” he told me. “I try to go through every day, work hard, and get the most out of it. That’s a big part of who I am and who I try to be: humble but confident.”

I have no doubt that Dre would make a valuable addition to any club, but definitely the likes of one in Europe. As a fan of Pep Guardiola and big-time follower of FC Barcelona, I’m sure he’ll be making the most of his week watching UEFA Champions League. As I head off to watch Chelsea (hopefully) tackle Rennes, millions of others, including Dre, will measure the Blaugrana’s chances against Dynamo Kyiv.

Perhaps, one day we’ll see the lad in similar colors.
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 01, 2021, 07:30:22 AM
Any news on this player ?
Post by: Tallman on May 01, 2021, 08:19:50 AM
Any news on this player ?

Looking for a club.
Title: Memphis adds talented attacking midfielder, Dre Fortune, to squad
Post by: Tallman on May 11, 2021, 11:59:52 AM
Memphis adds talented attacking midfielder, Dre Fortune, to squad
Memphis 901 FC

Memphis 901 FC announced the signing of young attacking midfielder and Trinidad and Tobago international Dre Fortune on Tuesday pending league and federation approval.

As a Raleigh, N.C. native and member of the North Carolina FC Youth Academy early on in his career, Fortune developed his skills early and garnered international attention. In 2011, the attacking midfielder was invited to train with FC Barcelona and Manchester City FC’s academies where he suffered a fractured leg with the latter.

Involved at the international level early, Fortune worked with his native United States’ U-15 organization before pledging his services to his parents’ native Trinidad and Tobago where he would represent the Caribbean nation at the U-17 and U-20 levels before appearing with the senior team three times since 2019.

Despite nearly signing with three European teams in Vitória FC, Aarhus Gymnastikforening and Servette FC if not for logistical troubles, Fortune signed his first professional contract with the then-USL Championship club Rochester Rhinos in 2015. In Rochester, Fortune made ten appearances and scored his only goal as a Rhino in a U.S. Open Cup victory.

In 2017, Fortune returned to his home state and signed with North Carolina FC to become the club’s first academy product to sign with the first team. Fortune’s career took off in Cary as the midfielder would go on to make 56 appearances for NCFC and score 14 times for the club.

Fortune remained with NCFC until 2020—the same year in which the North Carolinian was named the club’s Offensive Player and Most Valuable Player of the Year after recording a 100 percent penalty kick conversion rate and a team-leading 89.6 percent passing accuracy.

Bringing a youthful, attacking midfield presence to AutoZone Park, Fortune will team up with fellow Trinidadian Leston Paul as well as Mitch Guitar, Kadeem Dacres, Dominic Oduro, Roland Lamah and Laurent Kissiedou.

“Dre is a player we have had our eye on for a few years now, so we are thrilled to be welcoming him to Memphis,” James Roeling, Assistant Sporting Director said. “He will bring another attacking element to our midfield as a capable goal-scorer who can also provide assists. We like his experience in this league and believe he will be a big part of our success this year.”
Title: Dre Fortune at the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup
Post by: Tallman on July 31, 2021, 04:16:31 PM
Dre Fortune at the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup
memphis901fc.com

From converting a penalty and earning tournament qualification to holding a continental giant scoreless, Fortune shares his experiences from Concacaf's premier national team competition.

Away from Memphis for nearly a month, Dre Fortune was on the road with the Trinidad and Tobago national team as he competed in the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup. Taking Mexico down to the wire and progressing through the group stage, Fortune’s time in the tournament was an opportunity of a lifetime.

Before helping the small Caribbean nation to Gold Cup play, Fortune was born in Raleigh, N.C., and it was his upbringing that led him to represent the Trinidad and Tobago national team. 

“I was born and raised in a household with Trinidad culture,” Fortune explained. “I even went to the 2006 FIFA World Cup, and I got to see all three of Trinidad’s matches there. With my parents being from Trinidad and having that experience at the World Cup, it really propelled me and towards playing with the national team. Having the opportunity to represent them at the youth level pushed that desire even more.”

Building on five previous caps with Trinidad—including two appearances in Concacaf Qualifiers for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022, Fortune returned to the national team to guide the Soca Warriors through Gold Cup qualification in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.

Trinidad and Tobago took care of Monserrat in the first round of qualification with ease. In the second round of qualification, the Trinidadians played French Guiana to an initial draw after 90 minutes of defensive action resulted in a crucial penalty shootout to determine which side would move on to the full tournament.

“That was the first time that I had ever taken part in a professional penalty shootout,” Fortune explained. “I was a little nervous from that and from knowing that if we lose, we’re out. Walking up to the penalty, I just tried to remind myself and give myself the confidence to make it as normal as possible.

Fortune slotted home a vital penalty as Trinidad and Tobago won on a saved penalty after an 8-7 shootout.

“I was happy to contribute,” Fortune said. “When we ended up winning, I struggled to remember a time that I had felt as happy as I was in that moment.”

From Florida, the Soca Warriors traveled to Texas where they prepared for their fourth Gold Cup appearance in five tournaments. Placed into a daunting Group A which featured Concacaf-giant Mexico, El Salvador and Guatemala, Trinidad opened tournament play against Mexico in front of 40,000 at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

Despite a FIFA ranking disparity of nearly 100 spots, Trinidad and Tobago played Mexico to a scoreless draw, shutting out the Mexicans for the only time during the tournament thus far. As Trinidad sent out a heavily defensive lineup, Fortune was an unused substitute during the match.

“I understood what the team goal was and what the team game plan was,” Fortune said. “It was incredible to be able to come out of there with a draw. Honestly, our coach felt like we should have won, and I can’t fault him for that.”

After the Mexico match, Trinidad and Tobago played their final two group stage matches at FC Dallas’ Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas. Fortune earned more than 70 minutes of playing time in matches against El Salvador and Guatemala.

Despite exiting the tournament after the group stage, Fortune relished in the opportunity to represent his country and remains excited for the future for the team.

“We had a new coach going into it, and he did a really good job to get everyone on the same page,” Fortune said. “I think the overall energy and vibe from the team throughout the tournament—despite the ups and downs—was really good. I think everyone was proud of the effort that we put forth.” 

Fortune looks to bring his experiences from Gold Cup back to the pitch in Memphis to elevate the group to a new level.

“They’re two completely different environments, but you hope to maintain a certain level of professionalism and standards in both,” Fortune said. “One thing that we talk about in Memphis is trying to maintain a certain standard and expectations from each other. For me, playing in the Gold Cup was a good leadership opportunity, and I’ll able to learn from certain aspects of what Trinidad does to bring that back to Memphis.” 

Although his time with Trinidad is done for now, Fortune was pleased with the support and response from the boys in Memphis.

“It was great,” Fortune said. “Obviously, Leston [Paul] being a Trinidadian was watching the games. The rest of the guys were more than aware of what was going on and how things were going for us. I was really happy to come back to a warm welcome.” 
Post by: Bourbon on September 13, 2021, 03:00:42 PM
Trifactor Podcast got a chance to sit with Andre Fortune recently. Good Stuff.

https://www.youtube.com/v/iTHSAz_QL68
Post by: Tallman on September 20, 2021, 03:39:03 PM
WATCH: Dre Fortune's corner kick is headed in by Skylar Thomas to help Memphis 901 FC to a 3-0 win over New York Red Bulls II.

https://www.youtube.com/v/xa-MdCQTAiM?start=53
Post by: Tallman on October 28, 2021, 09:14:41 AM
WATCH: Dre Fortune hits a first-time shot into the bottom-left corner of the net to score his first goal of the season during Memphis 901 FC's 3-2 win over FC Tulsa.

https://www.youtube.com/v/vj1hSa6_ebM?start=74
Title: Dre Fortune signs 3-year contract with Estonian club, Nõmme Kalju FC
Post by: Tallman on February 07, 2022, 02:47:59 PM
Dre Fortune signs 3-year contract with Estonian club, Nõmme Kalju FC
jkkalju.ee

Nõmme Kalju's first footballer from America, Trinidad and Tobago international Andre Fortune has signed a three-year professional contract with the club.

"I am very excited to start this journey with Kalju. Of course, I am grateful for the opportunity and I look forward to competing in Europe with my teammates. I clearly understand Nõmme Kalju's ambition and I am honored to be a part of the history of this club, ” said Dre Fortune, who played in the USA's USL Championship last season.

"I look forward to the start of the Premium Liiga and getting to meet our club's fans," added Dre.

"Dre joined the team during pre-season training at the beginning of January and during that time I have had a good opportunity to get to know him better. He is a highly technical, talented midfielder who brings a lot of quality to our offense. ”, said Kalju head coach Eddie Cardoso.

Kalju Sports Director Argo Arbeiter added: “One important link is in place. In Dre we get the necessary creativity and quality in the midfield, he is a good goalscorer who can also be a playmaker.”

Andre Fortune

Dre was a member of Memphis 901 FC last season in the American USL Championship, and he also represented Trinidad and Tobago.

Born in Raleigh, North Carolina, the footballer began his career at the North Carolina FC Youth Academy. Dre's good technical skills quickly gained international attention and in 2011 the offensive midfielder was invited to train at FC Barcelona and Manchester City academies. Unfortunately, the journey ended with a fractured leg  and the young footballer returned to America.

Andre was close to signing a professional contract at Vitória FC, Aarhus Gymnastikforening and Servette FC, but eventually signed with then USL Championship club Rochester Rhinos in 2015. In 2017, Fortune returned to his home state and signed with North Carolina FC, where he played until 2020 and won the MVP award.
Post by: Deeks on February 08, 2022, 08:10:21 AM
Good Luck!!!!
Post by: asylumseeker on February 09, 2022, 06:36:31 AM
Good Luck!!!!

Absolutely!
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 09, 2022, 12:33:09 PM
A new destination for our NT players now ? I hope not ...
Post by: asylumseeker on February 09, 2022, 01:34:37 PM
A new destination for our NT players now ? I hope not ...

One person is hardly a trend. Regardless, not a bad step for his profile and a step ahead of where several others are (clubless!).
Post by: Tallman on March 08, 2022, 08:06:04 AM
WATCH: Dre Fortune provides two assists during Nõmme Kalju FC's 3-2 away win at Paide Linnameeskond. On the first assist, Fortune's fleeting footwork sees him weave past three defenders before serving the ball on a platter to Alex Tamm.

https://www.youtube.com/v/5LhBIu5PL1Q?start=33
Post by: Tallman on March 09, 2022, 02:31:25 PM
Nõmme Kalju FC' Dre Fortune has been named to the Estonian Premium Liiga Team of the Week (#2) for his two assists in a 3-2 win over Paide Linnameeskond.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FNbx-rzWYAMHztk?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: Tallman on August 29, 2022, 01:39:10 PM
Nõmme Kalju FC midfielder Dre Fortune had an eventful match against Tallinna FCI Levadia. He came on as a substitute in the 69th minute, scored a long-range free kick equalizer two minutes later, and earned a red card in the 83rd minute. Take a look at the sublime free kick.

https://www.youtube.com/v/wdJdtdTPul0?start=117
Post by: Tallman on August 19, 2023, 07:01:25 PM
Captain for the day Dre Fortune scores Nõmme Kalju FC'second goal in their 3-3 draw with Pärnu JK Vaprus. Dre drives the ball forward from just. inside Vaprus's half, works a one two with Alex Tamm before sweeping the ball past the lunging goalkeeper.

https://www.youtube.com/v/sdVDyRgIZ6g?start=48
Post by: Tallman on August 28, 2023, 07:20:02 AM
Dre Fortune scores in consecutive matches as he takes a one-time shot from outside the area to spark Nõmme Kalju FC's 4-1 come-from-behind win over FC Kuressaare.

https://www.youtube.com/v/A_sw2u82qII?start=59
Post by: Deeks on August 28, 2023, 01:56:56 PM
Trini_2026, at least they in Euro. But we just not producing the exceptional players currently like we used to do before.
Post by: Tallman on September 23, 2023, 03:33:30 PM
Dre Fortune leads off the scoring in Nõmme Kalju FC's 4-1 win over Tartu JK Tammeka.

https://www.youtube.com/v/O8shogqSdao?start=20
Post by: Tallman on October 04, 2023, 11:59:15 AM
Warrior Profile: Fit-again Andre hopes to bring fortune
By David Scarlett (T&T Newsday)

ENTERPRISING T&T midfielder Andre "Dre" Fortune II does not leave a lot to chance, instead preferring to make his own luck on the football pitch. However, he has had the misfortune of multiple injuries which have curtailed his career. But a return to fitness and form have seen Fortune banging in the goals once more for Nõmme Kalju FC in the Estonian Premier League.

With four goals and one assist this season, his impressive form has caught the eyes of many across the world. Deservedly, his performances earned him the league’s Player of the Month award for August.

Fortune was born in North Carolina in the United States to Trinidadian parents in 1996. He is the older of two siblings, his brother being the budding starlet – Ajani Fortune.

He is primarily a central midfielder but can also play in an attacking midfield role, as a winger on both flanks and as a second striker.

He made his Kalju debut against Kuressaare on March 2, 2023 and, by his second match, he registered two assists.

Unfortunately, the injury bug bit him and curtailed Fortune's bright start. He fought his way back playing with the Kalju U-21 team, in the Esiliiga B – the third division of Estonian football – to regain his fitness and form.

Back with the senior team, Fortune is one of the club’s top scorers this season and is aiming to help the team to qualify for the UEFA Champions Champions League. Kalju are currently fourth in the league standings with 42 points, tied with Paide, who boast a better goal difference.

Fortune said, “I’ve had two surgeries (shoulder) in the last year and a half and missed a lot of time on the pitch. (Now I’m) happy to be fit and playing again.”

The midfielder continued, “The goal now for us (Kalju) collectively is to finish in third place and secure a European spot for next season. Personally, I’ll do whatever I can to help with that. So, every game I want to do what’s required, especially in the attacking third with goals and assists as much as possible.”

He described the contrast between life in Estonia and America as more intense, mainly because of the demands of Kalju supporters keen to see the club add to their two league titles and cup title.

Fortune believes that the more exposure local players have, the more they can learn – both on and off the pitch – which will be key when representing T&T on the international stage.

Fortune represented the US at the U-15 level before making the switch to T&T. He played for the T&T U-17s between 2013 and 2018, and the U-20s in 2019 – scoring five goals in eight appearances. His impressive performances at youth level earned him a call-up to the senior national team in September 2019, and he was later included in the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup squad.

“My first senior team call-up was a great honour for me. (Being) at that level with some of the country’s biggest names was a big accomplishment,” he said.

“My overall experience has been up and down; I think anyone would agree there’s room for improvement. But the opportunity to be a part of something that few people get to experience is never lost on me.”

He continued, “The (2021) Gold Cup was a special moment. I got to play in front of some friends and family. Of course we would’ve liked to have a better showing, but I was proud to represent my family and my country in a major tournament. It’s a memory I’ll always keep.”

His brother Ajani also represents T&T and made an impact in the 2023 Gold Cup. The Atlanta United midfielder made the most impressive debut as his beaming strike from 30 yards against St Kitts and Nevis helped the Warriors to a 3-0 victory.

Fortune, who was in T&T coach Angus Eve's provisional 2023 Gold Cup squad, injured his shoulder and missed the tournament. However, he expressed delight in the possibility of playing alongside his brother.

He said, "Playing with my brother (would be) surreal. We are quite close and always support each other in any way we can. We had similar paths as he represented at the youth level also. It’s something we’ve always wanted to accomplish, and I hope we get more opportunities to represent together.”

Off the pitch, Fortune is a simple man. According to him, he speaks to his parents and brother daily, plays video games, watches movies, and mostly stays at home to “stay out of trouble.”

Having said many parts of his upbringing were based on Trinidadian culture. “Everything at home reflects the culture, like waking up to soca on the weekends or my brother and I helping mom to make doubles when we’re home. We often surprise people with how much of the culture we appreciate and understand.”

He added, “I love to watch football. My favourite team is Arsenal, but I also enjoy watching Manchester City and Barcelona. Often, I spend time playing Call of Duty with my friends; I’ve gotten quite good at that.

“Food-wise, my favourites – I don’t get to enjoy as much as I’d like. They aren’t exactly the best foods for an athlete. (But) I would say top five are doubles, roti, French fries, salmon, and oxtail – mom’s, of course.”