Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on June 27, 2013, 07:46:18 AM

Title: New Soca Warriors coach Hart looking for good mix of players.
Post by: Flex on June 27, 2013, 07:46:18 AM
New Soca Warriors coach Hart looking for good mix of players.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

BEST FIT

New Trinidad and Tobago national coach Stephen Hart is searching for the best combination of players to field for the  CONCACAF Gold Cup and not necessarily only the big names.

Former Canada national coach Hart  is preparing Trinidad and Tobago for the Gold Cup, the region’s premier football competition which runs from July 8-28 in the United States. Trinidad and Tobago open the competition in New Jersey against El Salvador on July 10, before playing Haiti (July 12) and Honduras (July 15).

San Fernando-born Hart, 53, was having only a third day with the Soca Warriors yesterday, and was searching for the best players to piece together.

“When you pick a team you don’t necessarily pick the best players. It’s the best fit,” Hart said. “When you put a national team together its about relationships and how players fit in with each other.  It’s a team we are picking and everybody has different roles and functions based on the abilities they have.”
There were no obvious “star player” attitudes on show yesterday. Instead, the Soca Warriors trained hard under hot conditions.

Most of the  foreign-based players were present including Stoke City striker Kenwyne Jones, Darryl Roberts, Justin Hoyte, Keon Daniel, Chris Birchall and Carlos Edwards. Also in the training squad were local standouts including Densill Theobald, who captained the team during the Caribbean Cup, Joevin Jones, Clyde Leon, Devorn Jorsling, Daneil Cyrus and Kevon Carter, among others.

Read More (http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/senior-team-news/senior-team-news/12593-new-soca-warriors-coach-hart-looking-for-good-mix-of-players.html)

Title: Re: New Soca Warriors coach Hart looking for good mix of players.
Post by: King Deese on June 27, 2013, 07:58:46 AM
But isn't that the same f@#king deadbeat team that lost to Romania, Estonia, Peru, and tied a lame horse team in Belize. Best fit my arse. What happen to players like Rundell Winchester, Darren Mitchell, Molino, and some of the younger players that might be the best fit for the team. These are the same dead beat players. What the f@#k?????
You know like dude said to me in a different post. Give him a chance. Yeah, we will see. You ain't a miracle worker, huh. Okay.
Post by: Mose on June 27, 2013, 08:33:13 AM
But isn't that the same f@#king deadbeat team that lost to Romania, Estonia, Peru, and tied a lame horse team in Belize. Best fit my arse. What happen to players like Rundell Winchester, Darren Mitchell, Molino, and some of the younger players that might be the best fit for the team. These are the same dead beat players. What the f@#k?????
You know like dude said to me in a different post. Give him a chance. Yeah, we will see. You ain't a miracle worker, huh. Okay.
??? Yuh lorse mih dey breds. Kenwyne, Carlos and Keon played in those games? ???
Post by: maxg on June 27, 2013, 08:34:54 AM

BEST FIT

New Trinidad and Tobago national coach Stephen Hart is searching for the best combination of players to field for the  CONCACAF Gold Cup and not necessarily only the big names.

Most of the  foreign-based players were present including Stoke City striker Kenwyne Jones, Darryl Roberts, Justin Hoyte, Keon Daniel, Chris Birchall and Carlos Edwards. Also in the training squad were local standouts including Densill Theobald, who captained the team during the Caribbean Cup, Joevin Jones, Clyde Leon, Devorn Jorsling, Daneil Cyrus and Kevon Carter, among others.Read More (http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/senior-team-news/senior-team-news/12593-new-soca-warriors-coach-hart-looking-for-good-mix-of-players.html)

Yuh do't know all ho there, however if he throw in new & untested players and get 5 or win 1st round even...what will you say then ? Fine line between miracle worker and damn fool.
nah...in reality, I don't expect real results from any coach(Hart or BeenE included) until maybe next year CFU/Gold Cup. Don't see how a coach could take over 2 weeks before and start winning games, where we were catching hell before..Even if it happens, it would be pure luck
Post by: lefty on June 27, 2013, 08:50:38 AM
I not "expecting" anyting, I am hoping for a bit more organization and some kinda visible plan goin' on, right now we have to forget 'bout shake an beats and concentrate on doing the simple tings as best as we can, I tink we can surprise in the tournament, if we can execute a solid defensive plan and counter attack.....without the "boom kicking" though Power has good passing skills, just wish he would use them more....and if Theobald gonna be playing he has to show some courage with his forward play.
Post by: Rodney on June 27, 2013, 09:18:22 AM

Unless you make a mistake an actually meant Shadon Winchester and Carlyle Mitchell, them players aint in the 35 so it would be pointless using them at this point. Molino was recently in the European squad so if he is missing maybe Hart an Charles are already suitably aware of his capabilities in relation to what he could offer the GC squad. Read into that what you want.
Post by: Tallman on June 27, 2013, 10:19:09 AM

Remember, Hart can only work with the 35 players that the TTFA already submitted to CONCACAF. Molino is absent because he played in a U.S. Open quarterfinal last night against the Chicago Fire.
Post by: Mose on June 27, 2013, 10:20:32 AM

BEST FIT

San Fernando-born Hart, 53, was having only a third day with the Soca Warriors yesterday, and was searching for the best players to piece together.

“When you pick a team you don’t necessarily pick the best players. It’s the best fit,” Hart said. “When you put a national team together its about relationships and how players fit in with each other.  It’s a team we are picking and everybody has different roles and functions based on the abilities they have.”
There were no obvious “star player” attitudes on show yesterday. Instead, the Soca Warriors trained hard under hot conditions.

Read More (http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/senior-team-news/senior-team-news/12593-new-soca-warriors-coach-hart-looking-for-good-mix-of-players.html)

Important distinction that!
Post by: just cool on June 27, 2013, 10:27:46 AM

Remember, Hart can only work with the 35 players that the TTFA already submitted to CONCACAF. Molino is absent because he played in a U.S. Open quarterfinal last night against the Chicago Fire.
molina , caryle mitchel and winchester is in the 35 man squad, but some players are in europe conducting club business and will join the team in florida, allyuh hold tight and wait for the full report before jumping out the window nah.
Post by: coache on June 27, 2013, 10:36:27 AM
Dem same players goin and do rel damage in de GC ..especially Kenwyn Jones he goin and mash dem up..
Post by: fitzinho on June 27, 2013, 12:09:04 PM
Dem same players goin and do rel damage in de GC ..especially Kenwyn Jones he goin and mash dem up..
They put u so or what?
Post by: coache on June 27, 2013, 01:03:41 PM
Anyting I say is a problem fuh dese people I thought I was suppose to be able to talk meh talk..I cyah say nothing negative about the staff nor the team again..I sayin something positive ..man vex.. allyuh want me off dis forum because I talkin truth ..well go ahead nah man I will say what I have to say until allyuh put a stop to it.
Post by: Deeks on June 27, 2013, 02:41:54 PM

providing there is consistency in the mid-field.
Post by: King Deese on June 28, 2013, 07:49:59 AM
??? Yuh lorse mih dey breds. Kenwyne, Carlos and Keon played in those games? ???
What do you mean, you're lost? You didn't see the lame horse game or what? Yes, K. Jones and K. Daniel played in that game. Did they make a difference? The answer is "no". Even if they didn't like the system they were using, or was clueless of what was expected of them, their quality of play should have still shine through..  The cream always rises to the top. They looked clueless, skillless, and didn't make a difference. Keon Daniel might be a good club player but when it comes to international play he is f@$king clueless. As far as Mr. Jones is concerned, it's like beating a dead horse, he is useless. That's my perception of those two players until they prove otherwise.
Post by: Mose on June 28, 2013, 08:05:36 AM
What do you mean, you're lost? You didn't see the lame horse game or what? Yes, K. Jones and K. Daniel played in that game. Did they make a difference? The answer is "no". Even if they didn't like the system they were using, or was clueless of what was expected of them, their quality of play should have still shine through..  The cream always rises to the top. They looked clueless, skillless, and didn't make a difference. Keon Daniel might be a good club player but when it comes to international play he is f@$king clueless. As far as Mr. Jones is concerned, it's like beating a dead horse, he is useless. That's my perception of those two players until they prove otherwise.
No, I did not see any of the games. And I was under the impression that they, Kenwyne, Carlos and Keon, along with several others weren't part of the team for those games. That and the fact that no actual team had been named is what confused me about your statement.
Post by: doc on June 28, 2013, 08:18:11 AM
So who in the current squad have demonstrated that they could cut it?
Post by: King Deese on June 28, 2013, 08:24:04 AM
Thanks for reminding me about the list of 35. I had forgotten about that. Hart's hands are tied to the list and that is unfortunate, but it is what it is.
I am not expecting this team to win this tournament, you could fuhgettaboutdat. I am not even expecting them to go very far, like the coach said he ain't a miracle worker and it would truly take a miracle to win this tournament. So, I am not expecting miracles, but what I would like to see is good quality of play. I am no different from the paying public who is paying to see a good game with a high standard of football. I mean, for crying out loud, if you don't know how to play then at least act like you know. All I want to see from this team is intelligent movements, accurate passes, skills on the ball, one touch or even two touch passing dissecting the defense, etc.. Give the paying audience a chance to say, ah "ooh", and ah "ahh". If they can do that then I will be happy. I am not asking for much for this tournament.
Show the paying fans some respect and play the game the way it should be played, beautifully.
Post by: King Deese on June 28, 2013, 09:28:26 AM
And that is a good question. Maybe I should ask you the same question. For me, personally, no one. After seeing those four scoreless international friendlies and the way they played in those games made me realize how far football has fallen in TnT. I was very disappointed with what I saw. It was a reflection of everything that is wrong with football in Trinidad.
Nevertheless, I was looking at certain players to excel but they didn't. Players like Joevin Jones, Kevin Molino, Darren Mitchell, Marcus Joseph, Shahdon Winchester, Attaulah Guerra, and Cornell Glen.
Post by: just cool on June 28, 2013, 09:36:59 AM
Do worry, he will shine in the gold cup, watch!
Post by: just cool on June 28, 2013, 10:06:58 AM
And that is a good question. Maybe I should ask you the same question. For me, personally, no one. After seeing those four scoreless international friendlies and the way they played in those games made me realize how far football has fallen in TnT. I was very disappointed with what I saw. It was a reflection of everything that is wrong with football in Trinidad.
Nevertheless, I was looking at certain players to excel but they didn't. Players like Joevin Jones, Kevin Molino, Darren Mitchell, Marcus Joseph, Shahdon Winchester, Attaulah Guerra, and Cornell Glen.

This is ah very perplexing and provocative statement, bc before the strike squad and after the 73 squad, we basically was uneventful on the international stage, yeh during and after the strike squad we saw some success in the region.

we won ah few "shell' cups, but that was CFU, and though we basically dominated CFU from ever since,  we never made a dent outside the region after 1973 squad,  and ate real licks there after.

i remember going to watch WCQ and gold cup matches, and boy did we look poor! i remember me and my old man breddren bingo, who mind you, passed away in january and was decked off in his brazil uniform in his coffin (thank God he had brazil to fall back on) god rest his soul,  we both saw a lot of beatings and trashings to last a life time!

i still have nightmares of angel "el madtador" hernandez of club"america" cutting through our defenders like butter, that man was ah real trini killer! i believe that stokely mason and marlon rougier does still have flash backs of the blond tornado.

but my point is, we was never good after the strike squad, and i may catch some flack for this, but this crop of players (our best players @least) are the best i've seen in yrs.  i'm optimistic.

Post by: doc on June 28, 2013, 10:36:56 AM

I think we have quite a few who can cut it.... the key is finding the right balance on the field between "Chiefs and Indians"... In my opinion we don't have enough "legs and lungs" and as a result we get stretched way too easily and exploited as a result. Men always crying down functional players as unskilled without appreciating their value to the team on a whole... the "unsung heroes".

Post by: Deeks on June 28, 2013, 10:53:31 AM
Our squad is a work in progress. Not one mid-fielder in that bunch can punch his weight on the international circuit. If I wrong correct me.
Post by: Dutty on June 28, 2013, 12:02:10 PM
Our squad is a work in progress. Not one mid-fielder in that bunch can punch his weight on the international circuit. If I wrong correct me.

Granted!

...but keep in mind Hart say is not necessarily the best players he selectin,, but the best fit for the team, so yuh never know dem fellahs might be fluid with each other.
Post by: Trinitozbone on June 28, 2013, 05:19:08 PM
I hear this man on Fazeer this morning and the man sound clueless . He does not have a philosophy. Canada is not first rate and this guy reach as far as intercol. Sounds visionless to me but I am keeping my fingers crossed. And he ain't seem to have contract. We still not sure wey de money coming from ? This sounds like a next set of confusion and secret under the table deal. It ain't sitting right fellas!
Post by: vb on June 28, 2013, 05:27:56 PM
I hear this man on Fazeer this morning and the man sound clueless . He does not have a philosophy. Canada is not first rate and this guy reach as far as intercol. Sounds visionless to me but I am keeping my fingers crossed. And he ain't seem to have contract. We still not sure wey de money coming from ? This sounds like a next set of confusion and secret under the table deal. It ain't sitting right fellas!

Wondering what u really know about him.

No he in general says he stays away from philosophies in football.
But played for TT at every age level and was training with the NT when he left TT at age 20.

Has taken C'da U-16 and U-18 teams as far as the quarters in the respective WCs.
Took an unfancied Canada to the semis of the GC when no one gave a C'da a hope of reaching that far.

I eh saying he is the Messiah but is CV is far superior to ANY Coach in TT.

Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 28, 2013, 07:12:10 PM

But played for TT at every age level and was training with the NT when he left TT at age 20.

Has taken C'da U-16 and U-18 teams as far as the quarters in the respective WCs.
Took an unfancied Canada to the semis of the GC when no one gave a C'da a hope of reaching that far.

u cant please ppl, some ppl feel we could hire del bosque, mourinho, pep, etc.
Post by: Deeks on June 28, 2013, 07:26:27 PM
we won ah few "shell' cups, but that was CFU

What wrong in being winners in your sub-zone.
Post by: Sam on June 28, 2013, 07:28:04 PM

Good talk Vb, don't matter who is coach people in Trinidad never happy.

Jack Warner was right when he say T&T have 1.5 million coaches.

Fazeer is ah cont and a half.

Post by: congo on June 28, 2013, 07:30:37 PM

Ask Australia
Post by: Deeks on June 28, 2013, 07:38:04 PM

Granted!

...but keep in mind Hart say is not necessarily the best players he selectin,, but the best fit for the team, so yuh never know dem fellahs might be fluid with each other.

SH can say what he want. If he can't get our mid-field situation resolved, he might as well go back TO. Creativity and control from who guys have been poor.  Our guys making bad passes, getting knock off the ball easily. coordination from mid to defence and from mid to the forwards is shakey at best.
Post by: Deeks on June 28, 2013, 07:41:56 PM

Ask Australia

We are in Concacaf also. I feel the CFU tournament is important for the up and coming players(u23/24). And we should win it all the time. We need to at least come 4th to go to Concacaf. That is why it is important. At leat to me.
Post by: congo on June 28, 2013, 08:01:59 PM
Yeah but what sense does it make to keep dominating the weaker teams in the region and boasting about it if we keep getting knocked down by the big guns. We can't use our dominance of CFU as a realistic gauge of our abilities to perform on the big stage. Take Australia for example, for years they dominated Oceania and when is time for the play off against South America etc they keep getting washed. We haven't even been dominating CFU for quite a while now which is even worst.
Post by: Deeks on June 28, 2013, 11:03:01 PM
Yeah but what sense does it make to keep dominating the weaker teams in the region and boasting about it if we keep getting knocked down by the big guns. We can't use our dominance of CFU as a realistic gauge of our abilities to perform on the big stage. Take Australia for example, for years they dominated Oceania and when is time for the play off against South America etc they keep getting washed. We haven't even been dominating CFU for quite a while now which is even worst.

We have been in Concacaf since 62. We have always and will continue to struggle. Our admin is never consistent of the running of football. Always something to screw up the progression in football. Either no money, dictator or both. I think we should take both seriously. Like I said, use the younger players to get their feet wet in CFU. But our goal is to win the GC. Apart from the semi-finals a couple years ago and the 73 Wc in Haiti, we have performed disappointedly in all the tournaments.