Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on July 16, 2013, 05:48:07 PM

Title: A message to the T&T football team.
Post by: Flex on July 16, 2013, 05:48:07 PM
We are quick to condemn the players when they do bad and now we have to be quick to compliment them when they do good.

First off; congrats to the coaching staff for the good job they are doing and showing good coaching fundamentals.

Secondly, the players, everyone of them, thank you for showing you can compete at this level. The  way they did vs Honduras really brought back a shinning light in T&T football since 2006. Everyone can play, some do better and some not so good. Let the ones that do good inspire you to lift your game, because everyone can play on his day.

We have to give the players a little more respect here, they are not our enemies, we are all on the same team. We must remember, everyone have off days and good days. And if some is better than the other, so what, changes will come but in a respectable way. These guys slave for our country.

When T&T lost to Haiti, I was hurt to, but refrain from damaging the team, instead I post something that was a little more constrictive while trying to get my points across. I to am guilty sometimes but most times I try to keep things in prospective.

No one is saying you cannot make arguments but let it be constructive ones. We need to keep the SWO the number one T&T Football website and by us having constant negative things to say it destroys the site image.

I want to wish them the very best vs Mexico and I know they have the ability to win. I don't expect a miracles but if you lose at least go down like real Warriors.

Special thanx to Sheldon Phillips as well, he has been very supportive of the SWO and has kept me updated.

Come one guys, lets show "our" team a little support. Some off us will not be there to support them come Saturday, but at least they know we have their backs.

Big up T&T !!!!

PS: Anything negative on this thread will be deleted.

Title: Re: A message to the T&T football team.
Post by: Banter Banton on July 16, 2013, 05:53:19 PM
Good stuff... we are all one..the team, fans etc

All we want to see is effort..win lose or draw put your hearts on your sleeves and give your absolute all

If I had the opportunity to play for my country I would rather die than leave the field thinking I could have done more

Congrats to the Staff and Players for their success so far...this is only the beginning.. the big picture is the years to come.... the experience gained at this Tournament is priceless for young players like Molino, Cyrus, J.Jones etc

Let's give it a huge 90 minutes on Saturday...If we lose we lose..but If everyone gives 110% we can keep this journey going

I believe... join the train
Post by: soccerman on July 16, 2013, 05:59:29 PM
Well said Flex, we do have a tendancy to get emotional and overreact when things don't go how we'll like and super excited when we get the desired result. I wish the squad all the best and win, loose or draw I'm supporting 100% :beermug:

De journey now start #japsnstag (Flex doh vex wid meh is KJ who start it ;D)
Post by: lefty on July 16, 2013, 06:04:00 PM
blood sweat and tears my warriors blood sweat and tears.................give 'em hell :beermug:
Post by: D.H.W on July 16, 2013, 06:04:47 PM
#japsnstag Remember that video before every game. That is all.  :beermug:

Post by: vb on July 16, 2013, 06:07:34 PM
Well, win lose or draw I'm a Soca Warrior. All I want to see is effort.

I'm in Istanbul, Turkey and I stay up some god awful hours to see this team play.
Back in 2005, I used to be in an internet cafe until sometimes 5 am ...listening to radio commentary becz there was no stream for me.

I went to bed at 7 am on Tuesday after watching the victory over Honduras.

Yes, sometimes we criticize - it's because we live and breathe this team. The joy of watching us win major games is indescribable, it makes my week.

Good luck vs. Mexico TT.

Post by: AB.Trini on July 16, 2013, 06:11:17 PM
Well I am encouraged by this initiative Flex; as you can see I started a similar thread  awhile back to cretae that sense of encouragement for the team:

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=60037.msg860825#msg860825

Keep up the work fellas the journey is now about to start; people will se that we are for real!!!
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 16, 2013, 06:14:49 PM
Good post VB, as fans we know how we can get.  But like others have said, it's because many of us live and breathe this game and wear our RWB heart on our sleeves.  Let's press on on Sat, we can get a +ve result, but what really matters is leaving it all on the pitch irrespective of the result.  Good progress thus far lads, let's build on the monetum and press on  :beermug:
Post by: Brownsugar on July 16, 2013, 06:18:08 PM
Quarter Finals baby!!!  Ah love it!!!  Good going guys.....thanks to team for giving me a reason to wave mih rag and flag again..... :applause: :applause:

#japsandstag  ;D
Post by: AB.Trini on July 16, 2013, 06:19:43 PM
Celebrate the win -Definitely but the bigger fish yet to fry . Yuh think Mexico and USA  shooting for just making quarterfinals? We have to start setting the standard and the bar higher to win the ultimate prize; we have to see ourselves in the same vein as the Mexicans.
Take out the im and see possibilities.

While I do not disagree that the challenge may seem insurmountable; however if we continue to subscribe to deficit thinking and to look at limitations to what could be I don't see us moving forward. One of our impediments and trapping we have found ourselves in is this ' small island' 'minnow' mentality. Mexico does not look invincible in this tournament. This could possibly be one of the weaker Mexican team- this is not to say that they cayr put down ah lickks on we. But look at their performance against Martinique? ummmm if not for that penality we talking a 1-0 victory hardly decisive for a team of Martinique's composition , ranking and absence at any Confederation Cup or Olympic qualifier? At the end of teh day we have to strive for more than just saying we not there yet. WE HAVE TO STOP TALKING ABOUT REBUILDING AND SAY THIS IS THE TEAM WE HAVE NOW AND GO WITH  IT!!!
Ent we go rebuild again after this tournament? no team is ever in a state of being completely build- yuh always tweaking and looking for who could be the warriors that could battle  the giants. David slew Goliath !!!!!!! Leh we go and  take on all comers ; we have the depth and the men to do it!!!
Post by: OutsideMan on July 16, 2013, 06:20:41 PM
Well said, Flex! 

I too am guilty of the same negativity sometimes, but that's only because I love my country, and grew up on T&T football.  I may sound naive, but despite how we may play over the years (good or very bad), I prefer to watch the T&T brand of football over any other brand on this planet. 

Good job so far the fellas have done on this outing...and regardless of the result on Saturday against Mexico, as long as the team shows effort and fight, I'm happy.  BIG UP to the Warriors!  Just play our brand of football, show no fear!

(Btw, I truly believe we could actually win this tournament, eh...just saying).    :)

Warrior for life!  :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on July 16, 2013, 06:22:28 PM
Congratulation on a job well I lost my voice watching the game but it was worth it.
Post by: Sam on July 16, 2013, 06:23:15 PM
Kenwyne Jones I never liked you, I am sorry, you made me eat my words, you are a boss player and I hope you continue to lead by example and damage them defenders and goalkeepers. I am really mipress by your overall play.

Glen, you are the man, they cant stop you bro. You all over de place, buss they net come Saturday..

Jan Michael, guard your net like a spider. Time to stamp your authority.

Hyland, we Mikel, you will be miss.

Hoyte, I am gald you came to play for us.

Birchall, you are our ironman !!!!!!!! we need you bro, yuh time go come, grab it with both hands!!!!

Theobald, I am not to happy with your play so far, but I know you have great ability and a positive attitude, thank you for allowing to take a back seat, please work hard to regain your place on the team.

Jamal Gay, I have fate in you bro, some kids walk earlier than others, your time will come.

Mitchell, Power, Aubrey, Abu Bakr and Cyrus, you guys have real HEART and soul !!!!! win or lose you fight like pit bulls.

Boucaud, my boy, you was boss yesterday, keep it up bro, we need you vs Mexico. Shoot at goal every chance you get

Joevin, you getting a contract soon, your game is growing every game.

Molino, same with you meh boy, your desire his second to none, you deserve to be on Chelsea side soon.

Keon Daniel, we need you bro, you are the engine in T&T side, your technical ability is amazing to watch.

Carlos Edwards, we need another rolls royce goal, it due, start smacking them in again bro, you have de talent, buss them Mexico goal. Keep your chin up bro, I know what you can do, you score some of de best goals I every saw for a skinny man, yuh can hit them in.

Roberts, much better game vs Honduras, I like your fighting attitude, ah sorry for bashing you de other day. You does get de job don't and you humble and nice.

Carter, keep working hard youth, dont be down, learn from your mistakes.

Curtis Gonzales, Cleon John and Marvin Phillip, thanks for being soca warriors, all good back up players to have.

Shaun, thanks for de vids.

Sheldon, big up, yuh putting yuh father in de shade.

Good luck vs Mexico, fight to de end !!!!!!!!!!
Post by: trini_stallion on July 16, 2013, 06:24:16 PM
VB ah like that post. De socawarriors means so much too me...from being home sick to being deployed...Doh mind de heartbreak at times, joyous moments and the passion they are showing representing the red white and black is just refreshing.  News negative, but sports...sports can heal any nation...I remeber de unity in Trinidad and Tobago whwn we beat bahrain...it was mas....that's the power you guys have....keep up the goood work....if all yuh didnt win lass nite...my gf...she honduran...i wlda win for all yuh....japs nd stag alll d way...big up guys...keep it moving...win or lose we are fighters!!!
Post by: Deeks on July 16, 2013, 06:29:53 PM
Dear Warriors, This Forum is about Die-Hard fans(not Waggonists) who have you guys in their thoughts and in their hearts. Many at time we get serious anxiety when things don't go our way, hence the  negative comments. But remember we are armchair quarterbacks who feel we have all the answers to the football problems. That goes for fans all over the world. The fact is you are the ones on the field. You are the ones who getting the butts and kicked, not us. So go ahead and play the game to the best of your abilities. When you win, you is ah hero. When you lose, we will cuss.  Blessings and Good luck.  Trinbago's finest!!!!!
Post by: Tenorsaw on July 16, 2013, 06:34:14 PM
Once a Warrior, always a Warrior.  Great to see that the team is buying into Hart's philosophy, after such a short time.  Last night, I could see the confidence growing in the players, with each possession.  I saw a team that pressed hard for 90 mins and stifled Honduras, as they attempted to come out of their half.  The conditioning is improving, as the fellas were able to keep the intensity up for 90+ mins.  Let's keep this up versus Mexico.  Fly the flag high, and keep believing.  Cheers...
Post by: Anbrat on July 16, 2013, 06:40:17 PM
We can do it! GO Soca Warriors!!!
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 16, 2013, 06:46:04 PM
Hey Fellas, keep up the good works. Stick with the game plan. Concentrate and keep the shape for all 93 mins. you richly deserve our support. Keep the T&T flag flying high and show Concacaf that we are the fighting spirit of the Caribbean while our aim is to be the best team in the region, from here on out the only way to go is up.  Play with pride heart and soul... We salute you Warriors.....

PS: Play in RED on Saturday that is the color of true champions.
Post by: Jack Horner on July 16, 2013, 06:49:41 PM
Use your size, height and phsical advantage, let them know you are warriors

Shoot more

Keep the ball in their half

Mexico is beatable and T&T must believe in themselves.

Joe Public won in Mexico once and no one expected them too

Good luck to the guys

I am impress with the coaches also, them made changes many would dear to do

Post by: ckhan on July 16, 2013, 07:00:28 PM
Stay positive, stay strong, have faith...go Soca Warriors!
Post by: CK1 on July 16, 2013, 07:11:02 PM
Flex: Big respect to you for starting this post, and big respect to the staff and players for the renewed approach to the game displayed yesterday. We are looking forward to seeing each of you raise the standard up another notch or two on Saturday. Warrior Nation is backing all of you in this soon to be epic battle against Mexico!
Blessings!
Post by: Cocorite on July 16, 2013, 07:12:53 PM
Respect VB!

Well, I am a man of few words. But I certainly believe in positive reinforcement.

It is important to say thank you and to let hard workers know they have our support.

Thank you to the new Administration who appears to be making the tough decisions. Thank you to the Coaching staff who also make tough decision with who  to play and when to play them etc.

And of course to the players who are in the trenches and must perform despite niggling injuries, mental and emotional challenges and the pressure of representing a nation.

We are in your corner ALL THE WAY.

Don't be afraid to pull the trigger when the opportunity is there . . .things WILL happen.

Proud to be T&T to de BONE
Post by: Bally on July 16, 2013, 07:21:18 PM
Let’s go warriors we can beat Mexico
Post by: maxg on July 16, 2013, 07:21:52 PM
Proud of these guys, proud of this coach, proud of this adminstration. Goes to show, when we all move in the same direction, we could make things shake. Let's go TT, some pull, some push, is up we going.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 16, 2013, 07:24:04 PM
I felt a aire of optimism from some of the decisions made by the Association since late last year. And almost as if a new spirit arrived in our football that translated into better results and now better performances on the park.  This Goal Cup tournament his been inspirational to me. I've missed following my team. To be honest I'm not even surprised by the good performances performances. Even against Estonia and Romania I saw better passing and overlapping runs etc.

I can't say how encouraged I am because I feel we have a legitimate chance of progressing even further in this competition.  If we 'run with blood in our shoes' and remain focused we will show CONCACAF we're back regardless of the result.

To the players I would like to thank them for the efforts and urge them push harder now. We believe in you , lets finish off the Mexicans.
Post by: sammy on July 16, 2013, 07:37:26 PM
Great win last night guys... i know we can beat Mexico on Saturday. This team is giving us great hope and belief in T&T football once again.

We may be overly critical sometimes without fully understanding what it is to be out there, but at the end of the day, we are the fans and we still depend on you to be our Warriors for T&T.

Go Warriors Go!
Post by: Reaper2004 on July 16, 2013, 08:00:35 PM
Let the events of the 2000 Gold Cup be their motivation! We made to the semis back then I am sure we can go all the way this year!
Post by: triniairman on July 16, 2013, 08:14:16 PM
We as fans want to see you guys do good, because you guys represent our country, so when you put that uniform on, we expect nothing less than 100% from you. We will love you through thick and thin as long as we see you guys really giving an effort and not the star boy behavior. You guys fought in both the first and last game, and we appreciate it. Thank you!!

To the senior players, please continue to show your professionalism and help groom the younger players, who will one day take your positions.
To the new players who joined us on this competition, thank you, and we look forward to seeing you dawn the Red White and Black for future games as well. Now go out against Mexico and mash dem up, if we lose, then, do it fighting till the end, and that will also make us proud!!

Post by: Touches on July 16, 2013, 08:17:40 PM
Gents give thanks, for all that you have achieved thus far.

Thank you to all those who got us to where we are today, including past coaches, players and staff.

It is a journey, and while we are not at our best, we are good enough to beat all the opponents put before us. Mexico will feel the hurt come saturday.

To all the players realise this...you are special, you are representing all of us in the diaspora and here at home.

Those in the stands who travelled far and wide and who spent their hard earned money and take pressure to see you, all they want is repayment in effort and commitment...which is why alyuh does get cuss when alyuh pull stones.

While it may be war on the field, dont feel those in the stands ent taking pressure too from the opposing fans.

Lastly, things home ent nice...its plenty death, suffering, corruption, Jack vs Kamla and ketch arse. Even those who have money...they taking real pressure, either to get the wealth, maintain what they have or they living in fear from bandits.

The 90 minutes you guys are on the field, give us an escape and when victorious a moment of joy to savor. You guys are the small blessing to help us forget the pressure down here and we appreciate every one of you. Thank you again for all your efforts and may you continue to be a source of joy and pride to your nation.

Post by: de_redman on July 16, 2013, 08:23:09 PM
Win, lose or draw... RED, WHITE and BLACK FOREVER!
Post by: Cantona007 on July 16, 2013, 08:30:21 PM
I was at the game last night and I have to say my heart swelled to see the effort and SKILL on display. When the team saluted the fans at the end and the fans retuurned the tribute... well the connection was real. Good luck to the team.
Post by: davidephraim on July 16, 2013, 08:41:36 PM
thanks Jah (Gol) for reminding that this started before the players even kick a ball.  It actually began with the administration. They took plenty flak, they made changes; took daring risks, and now it is paying off.

So to the team, great job once again and De win against Mexico is quite attainable.  To the administration, whom I have so readily run-up meh mouth against; allow me to do so one more time...

Great Job to Mr. Tim Kee and his team for showing initiative and taking the bull by the horns even when others couldn't and many hoped that he wouldn't. Ballz of steel so far!

Keep working hard for TnT- football sirs and madaams!
Post by: FF on July 16, 2013, 08:46:22 PM
Good job by the Administration.

The plan was to get the football world talking about Trinidad and Tobago and get the fan base energized again. I dare say they have succeeded. Hopefully this leads to better friendlies and invitations, then a move up the rankings and makes our players more attractive to potential clubs.

Play your best guys. We are all proud of you.
Post by: dreamer on July 16, 2013, 08:50:44 PM
Gents give thanks, for all that you have achieved thus far.

Thank you to all those who got us to where we are today, including past coaches, players and staff.

It is a journey, and while we are not at our best, we are good enough to beat all the opponents put before us. Mexico will feel the hurt come saturday.

To all the players realise this...you are special, you are representing all of us in the diaspora and here at home.

Those in the stands who travelled far and wide and who spent their hard earned money and take pressure to see you, all they want is repayment in effort and commitment...which is why alyuh does get cuss when alyuh pull stones.

While it may be war on the field, dont feel those in the stands ent taking pressure too from the opposing fans.

Lastly, things home ent nice...its plenty death, suffering, corruption, Jack vs Kamla and ketch arse. Even those who have money...they taking real pressure, either to get the wealth, maintain what they have or they living in fear from bandits.

The 90 minutes you guys are on the field, give us an escape and when victorious a moment of joy to savor. You guys are the small blessing to help us forget the pressure down here and we appreciate every one of you. Thank you again for all your efforts and may you continue to be a source of joy and pride to your nation.

Lovely and deadly honest piece of writing by Touches.
Also fantastic leadership example set by Flex in shaping this thread and giving people a space to be just grateful without being criticized for doing so.
Post by: grskywalker on July 16, 2013, 09:35:50 PM
Warriors have a tough game but Mexico can be beaten, we hve to go toe to toe with them with the marking and tracking  and we have to shoot more. I am hoping Birchie get a run out and let loose that cannon he have
Post by: royal on July 16, 2013, 09:48:42 PM
want to say thanks to the administration,technical and coaching staff and players for working sooo hard to make T&T proud those home and abroad.
your efforts do not go unnoticed and in dis day of social media please remember you are our ambassadors.

thank you Mr Tim Kee for giving us hope after 7 appalling years of football

thank you Mr Phillip of bringing some sporting administrative professionalism for a sport dat needs it

thank you Mr Hart a SWO member for heeding the call

thank you Mr Charles and Mr King for putting T&T before self. 

thank you players for playing like warriors

finally by best moment so far in this Gold Cup is not seeing those 4 goals we scored so far, or Jan Michael save against El Salvador all good but is to see Cornell injured after de Molino goal against Honduras,knowing he couldn't go no more,still celebrating on de ground. Now dais ah warrior !!!!   
Post by: Controversial on July 16, 2013, 09:56:43 PM
the coach and team have my full support, win, lose or draw, we need to start re-building from somewhere :beermug:
Post by: fari on July 16, 2013, 09:59:49 PM
let us invoke the spirit of a few years ago on the road to germany when we thrashed those mexicans in our backyard.  in football anything is possible and i know that our warriors with the support of those at home and in the diaspora can do the task at hand..vibes it up!!!
Post by: Bakes on July 16, 2013, 10:15:03 PM
Congrats to the players, coaches and administration... I particularly want to single out Coach Stephen Hart and General Secretary, Sheldon Phillips for praise for their stewardship in righting the severly listing ship that was Trinidad Football.  Unfortunately I couldn't find a bar in Miami showing last night's game and had to settle for a bootleg stream that was more banner and adware than stream, so I can't really assess the players. 

I still mad allyuh sell mih ah cat in bag... good game against El Sal... followed by ah serious pile in the one game ah make, against Haiti. But it is very encouraging given the dispirited performance against Haiti, to see the fight, commitment and execution of the players.  Great result against Honduras... I don't care who say it was a A, B or C team.  Those 11 players in white didn't lie down and roll over, not even after they were rightly reduced to 10. 

I will offer something that Leroy DeLeon said to his son Nick as the youngster prepared to play a key match for DC United.  He told him something to the effect of "you have to believe you are the best player on the pitch... that you can do whatever you set your mind to."  We all know there are bigger names in the Mexican lineup, but they put their pants on one leg at a time just like you do.  Stick to your fundamentals, stick to your coaching, play your game and shock the world fellas  :beermug:
Post by: fishs on July 16, 2013, 11:03:13 PM

Hey guys I personally have never siad anything derogative about anybody that plays or has played for the natinal team and there are many reasons for that.
I love football and recognise how talented you have to be to play on the national team

To be picked to play for Trinidad and Tobago means you are in the top 30 or 40 footballers in the land

If I was talented enough to make the national team then that qualifies me to make bad comments.

It is my right as a fan to criticise performances but never to denigrate a player as some do.

The best thing a fan could ask for is for the team to win every game it plays, in sport no team has ever been able to do that.

The realistic expectation is the team plays the best it can and when you as players put on the Red White and Black you play for yourself, for me and most importantly your nation.

I am happy to know the comments that people make hurt you because then we know how much you care and how much hard work you have done.

This team is the best team T&T has right now, you are the best players T&T has right now.

GO FORWARD and make us PROUD
Post by: Socapro on July 17, 2013, 01:08:05 AM
WELL DONE to all our players, to the head coach SH & the rest of the management team for a good job so far in this Gold Cup!

Your performances against El Salvador & Honduras have given T&T football fans and supporters around the world hope that things are now on the up and we can soon restore our football back to the world class level and respect that we commanded back in 2006.
Hopefully with our performances in this tournament we can bring our football back to a high level of respect within the CONCACAF region and from there move our football up to an even higher level that can regularly match any of the top teams on world stage in the days, weeks, months & years to come!

Let’s show the world that we are truly Soca Warriors and Fighters who should never ever be written off in any football tournament once we put on our red white and black uniforms!!

Maximus Dan - Fighter
http://www.youtube.com/v/pPxN8BAdVVA

All the best against the Mexicans on Saturday!! If you continue to play like you did again Honduras and improve on your possession, speed of movement on and off the ball and finishing of chances you will create as a result then I can see T&T pulling off a shock result against the Mexicans that will soon have the world and the some of these biased commentators all singing another tune where T&T football is concerned.

And remember guys, our team has no room for prim-donnas, and no one is guaranteed a spot under SH if they do not perform their designated roles and so justify their spot and time on the field. And finally let’s keep the ball, move it forward with patience and skill and make sure we take more shots at goal than the Mexicans are allowed to do at ours on Saturday as goals win matches.

Everyone on our team is important, including those sitting on the bench because "Together We Aspire & Together We Will Achieve!"  :beermug:
Post by: 9th wonder on July 17, 2013, 03:41:29 AM
 To my Trinidad & Tobago National team, It has always been a kinda marriage situation with u guys. Because no matter  how much u guys piss
me off at times, i never stop showing my luv and support for T&T football. I know what T&T Is capable of when it comes to Football, and every time i sit to watch a game.  I think to myself today is the day, they going to empress me and play the way i know they are capable of playing. The Honduras Game gave me a slight glimpse from certain players of that. they showed aggressiveness, and urgency at times and the opportunities came. Special shout outs to Molino,Glenn and Cyrus . Good luck going forward "Warriors Forever".
Post by: injunchile on July 17, 2013, 07:01:52 AM
My friends laugh at me and say I am a succor for Trinidad & Tobago football. I tell them in life one has to be passionate about something.
 Since the glamour boys- Malvern days to today- T&T gives me goosepimples and a racing heart , when ever they play. Johnny walker black is my only companion , when the boys don the red - white- black. I told my Honduran friends on Monday that we were going to win 2-0.
 2-0 we did with plenty prayers. Come Saturday the scoreline will be the same- T&T 2 vs Mexico 0
Post by: Sando on July 17, 2013, 07:04:21 AM
I am backing Kenwyne and Glen to buss net this Saturday.

Come on guys, fall on your knees and ask the all mighty for guidance, favor and strength to get pass the Mexicans.

Good luck to the Soca Warriors team.

Come on King Kenwyne lead your troops with dignity and heart !!!!

Love you T&T..

Post by: Sam on July 17, 2013, 07:13:22 AM
Come on guys, lets get some more positive messages to de fellas, they need all the support they can get.

Post by: samo on July 17, 2013, 07:33:51 AM
Good Luck Warriors!!!

Play with heart and you will always have our support!!

Win Lose or Draw!!! I supporting 110%
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 17, 2013, 08:16:58 AM
I am glad to see this thread!  Far too often we are caught complaining about anything and everything and we doesn't often offer kind nor encouraging words so I like this a lot.  I am always a proud warrior win lose or draw and I am happy to see our warriors get a good result and looking good in the process.  Though sometimes shaky all our defenders at one point or another have been eye catching in the group stage and to think we have a few others who can still fill roles gives me lots of optimism.  The midfield is looking very good and with a few more games under our current HC I can envision even better play.  To our forwards keep going!  Everybody here know I does defend meh boy KJ to de bone so I am happy that he has finally pleased many of us with his impact thus far.  Not to be left out is his leadership that was very much evident when he was graced with the captain's armband.  Despite how we often sound I know is because we passionate.  Sometimes ah does want to tell man tone dong de negativity buh as fans we only get so frustrated because we care! 

So fellas when allyuh read de forum doh take de tings we say personal because is all in love fuh team and country!
To the staff and the new and improved TTFA thank you for all your efforts and keep it going.  We the diehards will always be here, the waggonist an dem comin jess now doh fraid!
Post by: fordy on July 17, 2013, 08:46:48 AM
Well done Flex for the thread.

Warriors best of luck Saturday! I will be there in the Dome supporting hard. Congrats to the coaching staff for making the necessary adjustments to have the best team, formation and style of play to make the players available to you be successful as a team. As a coach that's all you can ask for! I'm looking forward to the Mexico game....a very winable game if we fight hard as a unit!  :beermug:
Post by: dinho on July 17, 2013, 08:53:51 AM
Congratulations to the team on the big win against Honduras and qualification to the quarterfinals.

By any measure, this tournament has been an unqualified success. With limited preparations and a far from ideal lead up to the Gold Cup, I personally wasn't expecting much. Speaking to Mr. Beenhakker in NJ, he indicated as much when he said that this tournament was more about gauging the level we are at. So to get to the quarterfinals is to be applauded.

Kudos to Mr. Tim Kee, Mr. Phillips, Mr. Fuentes and the rest of the administration for the renewed spirit and energy that has been brought into our national team program. As a long suffering fan, its been a long time since we've had much to be cheerful about with T&T football, so its refreshing to see the initiatives, the new direction and some semblance of a "feel good" factor back again.

Special big up to Stephen Hart, Leo Beenhakker and the entire coaching staff for putting a team together with less than ideal prep and no warmup matches to compete and qualify. I hope that you guys continue the good work and take it forward from here to get us back to the level we know we can reach.

To all of the players, congrats on the accomplishment! Let us not rest on our laurels, I say let us push on from here and let our new goal be to win the entire tournament!! Recognize this is an opportunity for a defining moment in your careers and wear your heart on your sleeve. Leave it all out on the pitch. Believe!!

Also don't take the criticism on here personal, at the end of the day we are all on this forum because we all love T&T football and want to see it prosper. Keep everything in perspective, you will get over pong when you fail and over big up when you succeed, its just the nature of fandom in this information age. As professional footballers its going to be a part and parcel of the game, and well just to add to that we are Trinis and notoriously hard to please.  ;)

Finally, big up Flex for this initiative. As a resource for T&T football fans, let us look for more ways to positively contribute to the team's success. This new administration should be treated as a new beginning, let us see how best the SWO could be a stakeholder from here forward.
Post by: sjahrain on July 17, 2013, 09:08:26 AM
Warriors thanks for being positive,I am enjoying the rush
Just remember to bring the effort and Warrior fighting sprit,my day will be made
SH said his goal was to get to the quater final,now we have achieved that our goal should be to win it all,one game at a time
Jah bless
Post by: palos on July 17, 2013, 11:01:45 AM
All de best Team T&T!

Had some time on meh hands so come up wit dis lil bit a chupidness.  Allyuh doh cuss meh too much.

Portrait of Trinidad & Tobago

Taken from the original Portrait of Trinidad by the Mighty Sniper with some lyrical "adaptations"

T&T is my team and of which I am proud and glad
But I can't understand why some people does talk it bad
All ah them wey running they mouth
Doh know what they talkin bout
They will paint here black every day
And the right things they will never say

Kenwyne Jones has been rated among the best
he take and passed every test
And put us right alongside the best
Our spirit is the greatest one of its kind
Our talent and potential is really refined
So you see my friends this is a real King Solomon's mine

We have come a long way in a real short period of time
From a place of darkness where people rob we football blind
Of course we have we delinquents to face, just like any other place
But this is a brand new day, so my people hear what I say

Because my team is daily making progress
Without any form of stupidness
And in this way we must gain success
For when we moving, we all move as one body
No bickering between you and me
All for the benefit of T&T

Keon Daniel, Carter, Joevin Jones, Hyland and Power
Marvin Phillips, Birchall, Theobald & Abu Bakr
Cyrus, David, Hoyte & Mitchell
Go give all de opposition hell
Edwards, Gay, Glen, Boucaud, Molino
Roberts, John, Gonzales good to go

So beware all teams, this I want you recall
It doesn't matter if you big or small
On the field we out to play ball
We come out to win, fear & intimidation is nil
Positive vibes reinforced within
And we team and fans say tek goal in yuh pweffen

We are Soca Warriors, from a land called sweet T&T
Whoever playing we, know that we play for we country
Play with Pride, Passion, and Skill
Whatever de outcome still
We will support I'll tell you why
Soca Warriors until we die

Because my people doh mind when we cuss and frown
Sometimes our sorrows we will even drown
in some carib, puncheon and rum
T&T...this lovely land of our birth
Our team small but overwhelming in worth
And for us we team is the greatest team on de earth

Post by: ragga on July 17, 2013, 11:25:29 AM
ah like dis.. POSITIVE VIBRATIONS !! (thx for bringing it out Flex).
Post by: damiangoal on July 17, 2013, 11:31:06 AM
 :)
WELL DONE to all our players, to the head coach SH & the rest of the management team for a good job so far in this Gold Cup! :)

Your performances against El Salvador & Honduras have given T&T football fans and supporters around the world hope that things are now on the up and we can soon restore our football back to the world class level and respect that we commanded back in 2006.
Hopefully with our performances in this tournament we can bring our football back to a high level of respect within the CONCACAF region and from there move our football up to an even higher level that can regularly match any of the top teams on world stage in the days, weeks, months & years to come!

Let’s show the world that we are truly Soca Warriors and Fighters who should never ever be written off in any football tournament once we put on our red white and black uniforms!!

Maximus Dan - Fighter
http://www.youtube.com/v/pPxN8BAdVVA

All the best against the Mexicans on Saturday!! If you continue to play like you did again Honduras and improve on your possession, speed of movement on and off the ball and finishing of chances you will create as a result then I can see T&T pulling off a shock result against the Mexicans that will soon have the world and the some of these biased commentators all singing another tune where T&T football is concerned.

And remember guys, our team has no room for prim-donnas, and no one is guaranteed a spot under SH if they do not perform their designated roles and so justify their spot and time on the field. And finally let’s keep the ball, move it forward with patience and skill and make sure we take more shots at goal than the Mexicans are allowed to do at ours on Saturday as goals win matches.

Everyone on our team is important, including those sitting on the bench because "Together We Aspire & Together We Will Achieve!"  :beermug:
This video reminded me of the 2006 WC campaign. No Guts, no glory! The Mexicans don't have home advantage so grind them into the dust. It's all about the Warrior Spirit!
Post by: Big Magician on July 17, 2013, 11:35:35 AM
nah...dem is a set ah shithongs....
Post by: Big Magician on July 17, 2013, 11:36:06 AM
just joking of course...

tnt forever....play de fitball
Post by: pecan on July 17, 2013, 11:50:39 AM
Good thread. Too often, the negative criticism over shadows the positive vibes.

Show Mexico that T&T footballers can rise to the occasion.

Good luck guys.   :beermug:

Post by: Errol on July 17, 2013, 12:15:20 PM
Good luck to the T&T team and staff.

Maybe Lasana or Fuentes could do a piece on this to show we behind them all the way?

Post by: giggsy11 on July 17, 2013, 12:30:06 PM
Thank you for an enjoyable match against Honduras and your effort. Best wishes fellas against Mehico; you can do it! 
Post by: doc on July 17, 2013, 12:58:05 PM
Oh Ponchinello little fellow  ;)
Post by: futbolfan on July 17, 2013, 01:18:34 PM
Audentis fortuna iuvat- Fortune favors the brave!

As warriors you have fought and continue to excel with little to no preparation. I commend both the team and the training staff for their exemplary display of hard work and professionalism. Good Luck!
Post by: Football supporter on July 17, 2013, 02:01:14 PM
Once more unto the breach, dear friends, once more;
Or close the wall up with our Trini dead.

In peace there's nothing so becomes a man
As modest stillness and humility:
But when the blast of war blows in our ears,
Then imitate the action of the tiger;
Stiffen the sinews, summon up the blood,

Disguise fair nature with hard-favour'd rage;
Then lend the eye a terrible aspect;
Let pry through the portage of the head
Like the brass cannon; let the brow o'erwhelm it
As fearfully as doth a galled rock
O'erhang and jutty his confounded base,
Swill'd with the wild and wasteful ocean.
Now set the teeth and stretch the nostril wide,
Hold hard the breath and bend up every spirit
To his full height. On, on, you noblest Trinis.
Whose blood is fet from fathers of war-proof!

Fathers that, like so many Alexanders,
Have in these parts from morn till even fought
And sheathed their swords for lack of argument:
Dishonour not your mothers; now attest
That those whom you call'd fathers did beget you.
Be copy now to men of grosser blood,
And teach them how to war. And you, good yeoman,
Whose limbs were made in Trinidad & Tobago, show us here
The mettle of your pasture; let us swear
That you are worth your breeding; which I doubt not;

For there is none of you so mean and base,
That hath not noble lustre in your eyes.
I see you stand like greyhounds in the slips,
Straining upon the start. The game's afoot:
Follow your spirit, and upon this charge
Cry 'God for Kamla, Trinidad & Tobago, and SocaWarriors.net!'

By William Shakespeare & Football Supporter   ;)
Post by: D.H.W on July 17, 2013, 02:07:44 PM
All that boy FS yuh feeling philosophical today lol
Post by: MilkyX on July 17, 2013, 02:09:58 PM
Good post. No one is perfect. Sometimes people deserve a good roasting. But there must be balance and commendation should be given when its due. Well done. ;D
Post by: Sando on July 17, 2013, 03:07:05 PM
Good luck to the T&T team and staff.

Maybe Lasana or Fuentes could do a piece on this to show we behind them all the way?

Good idea, maybe Lasana, but Fuentes, not sure if he would do this.

Post by: Football supporter on July 17, 2013, 03:10:42 PM
All that boy FS yuh feeling philosophical today lol

LOL. Just thought I'd send some inspirational Henry V fighting talk!!
Post by: Fyzoman on July 17, 2013, 05:07:28 PM
The last time I felt like this was when ah cry like ah baby after Dennis Lawrence scored in Manama.

Flex big up yuhself!!!

I fully expect us to beat Mexico now, this positive vibes will resonate with our Soca Warriors and spur them on to higher heights.

This (thread) is truly a defining moment for me as ah die-hard supporter of our football team, Flex again brotha, give nuff thanks.

Strength and Honor Ye Mighty Socawarriors, do allyuh thing!!!!
Post by: AB.Trini on July 17, 2013, 08:48:42 PM
very impressed by the humility and the desire to learn by Mr.Charles. As a matter of fact in the formative stages of the Caribbean Cup prior to another co coach joining him, I thought he had the younger players responding well and the team was actually holding their own. I see this coach with a future in developing local talent and grooming players for our national teams.

I hope when this tournament is over that these coaches are part of a restructuring program working with our U-15-, U17,U20 and U23 team.Not only the players but also the coaches. Mr.Hart having being familiar with the Canadian regional and provincial programs could probably assist in structuring regional programs on the islands and reframing the game at the college level. I think with the assistance of government funding, initiatives like this could benefit greatly than a band aid approach  of spending millions to bring a Shaq O Neil for a basketball token appearance and prize money and resulting in no sustainable  improvement in the social fabric or game in TnT. Our performance in this tournament could serve as the catalyst to move our program in a new direction. I believe that we have the personnel from the new administrators to the coaching staff to forge ahead for a rebirth of our football legacy.
Post by: OutsideMan on July 17, 2013, 10:49:04 PM
To the SocaWarriors:

I commented earlier in this post, but will say it again --- we believe in you, and we need YOU to also believe in you.  Although many of us may have been critical of the play in the first two games, it was all because we truly love the team, and have a real passion for T&T football.  You proved many of us wrong in the Honduras match, and you clearly displayed that you do indeed possess the heart and desire to win. 

You also did something else that was extremely special in that match, and we hope you continue to do so;

In the attacking 3rd, you moved quite well WITHOUT the ball. 

In the attacking 3rd, you played the ball very nicely into the spaces, and not necessarily directly and predictably to a teammate's feet. 

You also showed true intelligence in the attacking 3rd by employing 'MIS-DIRECTION' in attack.  Those are extremely potent and admirable, and creates havoc against any opposing defenses. 

If you keep using those tactics, and improving upon them you will be a threat to ANYONE...even a threat to FIFA Top 10 ranked countries.  Keep up the great play, and the smart attacking --- we'll be world beaters! 

GO WARRIORS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!     
Post by: Trinidogg on July 18, 2013, 07:09:39 AM
Hard work pay off, so to the Warriors keep fighting. To our captain despite all the lashing he been getting we know if you go out there and put on a good show we will give you credit as with any other player. Keep working hard fellas and the reward will come.
Post by: Mose on July 18, 2013, 10:29:04 AM
Let's go fellas!
Red=Blood (Don Leo say play with blood in yuh boots!)
Black=Sweat (Don't stop sweating. Leave it all on de field!)
White=Fete (I eh tink ah have to explain dis one but just in case #japsnstag)

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: CAPITANO on July 18, 2013, 11:52:27 AM
Congratulations to Our Soca Warriors on all they have accomplished so far within this tournament.  We all know it hasn't been that easy the past few years.  Please know that no matter how tough things may get on the field and no matter how much criticism you get from the fans we still support you guys
Good luck and much respect!!!!
Title: Who Let The Dogs Out!!!!! Lets Go Soca Warriors........
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 18, 2013, 12:53:08 PM
Anslem Douglas: Who let the dogs out: 

Enjoy..........

http://youtu.be/O27fagObxaM
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 18, 2013, 01:13:21 PM
bunji garlin: we ready

http://youtu.be/6wIceAz0xI8
Post by: Flex on July 18, 2013, 01:55:20 PM
Thanx for all the positives talk here guys.

Please remember, we are playing MEXICO so there is a STRONG possibility we could lose; therefore, lets not go back to blasting the team and so on. Constructive criticism is ok, just keep it real.

Those guys are grateful for the support but you need to be consistent with it.

Not saying we will lose eh, just one step at a time, nothing is impossible.

Mexico may not field their A team but they are still good enough to reach the finals and while they are not so strong in defence and their goalkeeper is suspect- going forward they can cause havoc.

So lets make our support genuine and real, the guys have to dig deep and play for 90 mins.

Just the other day they couldn't beat Guyana, so reaching the quarter finals is a Hugh accomplishment.

Against Honduras was certainly one of the best performances I have seen from T&T in a long while.

Regards.
Post by: ckhan on July 18, 2013, 04:24:41 PM
All I ask for is effort. If we win or lose, we must leave everything on the field and have no regrets. I am a fan of the game and I want to see the boys win; however, the task at hand is a grand one and so my expectations are level headed. Fellas, just stick to the game plan, have trust in the system and your teammates and we will see what happens.

Bless!!
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on July 18, 2013, 07:58:44 PM
Glad allyuh win a game allyuh was suppose to win.........now win a game as the undisputed underdog
Post by: Majestic on July 19, 2013, 08:25:14 AM
keep up d vibes broddas...same energy
Post by: palos on July 19, 2013, 10:43:15 AM
Glad allyuh win a game allyuh was suppose to win.........now win a game as the undisputed underdog

Dat is yuh positive message?

Bess yuh didn't post nutting.
Post by: weary1969 on July 19, 2013, 11:02:05 AM

Some people cyah help it.
Post by: Andre on July 19, 2013, 01:03:25 PM
win, lose or draw we red, white and black for life.

http://www.youtube.com/v/8m0m_qZjkDk
Post by: jingleheimer_Schmidt on July 19, 2013, 03:25:49 PM
90 minutes of red, white and black tomorrow!!!
Post by: che on July 19, 2013, 03:35:36 PM
I was to busy to post before. But better late than never. Congrats Soca Warriors. Let's play the game of our lives on Saturday.  GO WARRIORS GO.
Post by: Socapro on July 19, 2013, 06:32:29 PM
Message from Keevo TV to the team and the coach! 

WELL DONE T&T but the Japs'n'Stag and ball watching has to go!
http://www.youtube.com/v/8DymzIS2LWI
Post by: just cool on July 19, 2013, 06:34:02 PM
Just glad i get to see more football , thanx guys. 

good luck tomorrow. from one of your biggest fans.               :beermug:
Post by: Gazza on July 19, 2013, 09:31:49 PM
Good luck lads.i know we will do well. i think the desire is there. we have the talent. its not the players fault when we dont do well. its just the system we grow up in compared to other footballers internationally.
Post by: E-man on July 19, 2013, 10:59:36 PM
Leave it all out on the field tomorrow guys!! If you hit rock bottom dig deeper!!
GO WARRIORS!
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on July 20, 2013, 12:04:50 AM

its all a matter of perspective..........but I felt very positive about the message either way
Post by: OutsideMan on July 20, 2013, 09:55:16 AM
Just play your game with confidence, Soca Warriors.

TODAY IS THE DAY!

GO SOCA WARRIORS
Post by: Majestic on July 20, 2013, 10:10:41 AM
run at dem T&T!!!! be physical...dey doh like tempo
Post by: Peong on July 20, 2013, 11:12:20 AM
Mash dem up today! 
Post by: Socapro on July 20, 2013, 11:32:58 AM
Hyland wishes T&T team well for quarter final fixture
http://www.youtube.com/v/aoqdo9cJLfY
Post by: socalion on July 20, 2013, 01:00:18 PM
To the  soca warriors  team players, and  coaching staff  wishing each and everyone  of you the very best against all comers including todays game versus mexico , i believe in our team's abilities , talents and skills with high hopes of improving still and here is why cause , its a god given gift , know that <<<<.....now is your moment to shine as a team , for your nation , believe it....  so now relax brothers go do yourselves proud ,  we're  behind you all  the way  best wishes  warriors . ah have ah feeling today is gonna be a good day  god bless soca warriors play ur ball
Post by: Cocorite on July 20, 2013, 01:31:04 PM
The following is a modification of a useful quote I came across some time ago . . .

"It doesn’t matter what the pressure is, but where the pressure lies; whether it lies on top of you to crush you or it lies underneath you to lift you to higher heights"

:bringiton:
Post by: che on July 20, 2013, 01:37:21 PM
Win, Win or Win. Warriors for life. GO T&T GO.  :wavetowel:
Post by: Jah Gol on July 20, 2013, 02:35:36 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/MzpY1ly1jEU

Post by: kounty on July 20, 2013, 03:24:44 PM
Bless up team TnT!! We are proud of the way you are representing us in this tournament (win and lose). Fight it to the end and I know this mexico side good for 2!
Post by: kounty on July 20, 2013, 06:28:10 PM
 :applause: WARRIORS!!!  If you play every game like that my heart will BURST with pride!
Post by: Peong on July 20, 2013, 06:30:28 PM
Good fight, after 6 years in the wilderness we came back in and made a real mark on CONCACAF. 
Is about time we remind them who we are!
It real hurt me every time Gold Cup roll around and we weren't there. 
My heart swelled with pride every time I heard the T&T anthem play, and I even got to sing it in the stadium in Miami.
Thank you and keep it up Warriors!
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 20, 2013, 06:47:08 PM
I am a proud warrior.  Meh boy Jones had a very solid tournament.  The team is looking better organized and things can only get better! 
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on July 20, 2013, 07:02:38 PM
This team played with the heart and determination of true Warriors. Looking forward to the future of this regime.
Post by: dinho on July 20, 2013, 07:07:28 PM
Proud of you my Soca Warriors!!

Great effort tonight, you left with your heads held high...

Excellent stuff!
Post by: Cocorite on July 20, 2013, 07:11:54 PM
I am a proud warrior.  Meh boy Jones had a very solid tournament.  The team is looking better organized and things can only get better! 

YES!!!  :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Very proud of the effort
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on July 20, 2013, 07:41:13 PM
decent game.  we need to start develop an attacking to win culture and not a defensive waiting to loss............
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 20, 2013, 07:46:16 PM
Go back in yuh closet
Post by: D.H.W on July 20, 2013, 08:06:35 PM
Waggon train
Post by: Bakes on July 20, 2013, 08:11:52 PM
Well done fellas... coaches and administration as well.  We fell short, but this is the start of a new era... great things to come  :beermug:
Title: Re: Re: A message to the T&T football team.
Post by: D.H.W on July 20, 2013, 08:26:29 PM
f**k off

I love you too
Post by: ckhan on July 20, 2013, 08:28:37 PM
Well done soca warriors! We did not win tonight but we held our own and had a chance to win. Looking forward to seeing us play soon! Again, thank you and well done!
Post by: OutsideMan on July 20, 2013, 08:35:56 PM
You can hold your heads-high fellas.  You played hard and with desire to win.  This is a good start for the team, and we look forward to the product of the hard work and direction that would be applied in the coming months.

Again...great effort!  More to come...we'll get there. 
Post by: FireBrand on July 20, 2013, 09:11:28 PM
I'm proud of each and every one of you my Soca Warriors! You left it all on the field tonight and that is all we could really ask of you. And to those "fans" who wanted more from the team, how quick are you to judge and demand 100%, but when it comes to supporting you don't even give half that effort.

To SH and his supporting staff, given the limited time you had to get our boys prepared for the Gold Cup...you did an outstanding job. Thank you!

Credit to the TTFA for bringing it all together and giving us hope for a bright future. The patient rebuilding has begun...so lets get all hands on deck (fans too) and continue to work hard on getting our football program back to its place of prominence. I believe.... 
Post by: soccerman on July 20, 2013, 10:08:02 PM
Great job tonight fellas, you guys played with heart, effort and left it all on the field. A sign of positive things to come :applause:
Post by: AB.Trini on July 20, 2013, 10:47:31 PM
To the management staff coaches and players you did TnT proud this tournament.